September 21, 1999
TEMPORARY AND DURATIONAL TEACHING CERTIFICATES
By: Judith S. Lohman, Chief Analyst
You asked us to summarize the state qualifications for temporary teaching certificates and durational shortage area permits.
The qualifications for a nonrenewable temporary certificate are specified in state law and State Department of Education (SDE) regulations, though the regulations call the temporary certificate an “interim educator certificate.” The certificate is good for one year and is issued to (1) a teacher from out-of-state who meets all the requirements for a regular teaching certificate in Connecticut except for taking the state teacher assessment test and (2) a teacher hired by a charter school after July 1 who meets requirements for the alternate route to certification program.
Temporary 90-day teaching certificates are issued at the request of a local or regional board of education to those who complete the alternate route to certification. Such a person must pass the state teacher competency test and participate in the Beginning Educator Support and Training (BEST) Program.
A durational shortage area permit allows someone to teach in a subject area with a shortage of certified personnel, if the person's employing board of education asks for it. The permit holder must have a bachelor's degree and enroll in a teacher preparation program. The durational permit is good for 12 months and can be renewed up to twice more if the holder meets additional requirements.
NONRENEWABLE TEMPORARY CERTIFICATE/INTERIM EDUCATOR CERTIFICATE
Nonrenewable Temporary Certificate
State law allows someone to receive a nonrenewable temporary teaching certificate, good for one year, in three situations:
● The applicant lived in another state in the year before applying, is certified in that state, taught successfully for at least a year at a public or approved private school there, and meets all requirements for Connecticut certification except the competency test.
● The applicant graduated from an out-of-state teacher preparation program and meets all requirements for Connecticut certification except the competency test.
● The applicant is hired by a charter school after July 1 for a teaching position in the coming school year and can reasonably be expected to meet the requirements of the alternate route to certification by the beginning of the following school year (CGS § 10-145f(c)).
Interim Educator Certificate
SDE regulations refer to the nonrenewable temporary certificate as an “interim educator certificate,” but the qualifications and duration are the same as those listed above. The regulations also allow the SDE to issue an “interim educator certificate with coursework deficiency” to:
● Someone who meets the requirements for a regular initial teaching certificate except for the required special education course.
● Someone who is eligible for certification in a field for which a bachelor's degree is not required, or for an endorsement in agriculture education, health occupations, marketing education, or practical nurse education in vocational-technical schools, but still lacks not more than six hours of course credit and the required special education course.
In the first instance, the certificate lasts for one year and is nonrenewable. In the second, it may be renewed for an additional year (Regs. of Ct. State Agencies, § 10-145d-413).
SDE regulations allow the commissioner to issue a temporary 90-day teaching certificate at the request of an employing board of education to an applicant who meets all of the following:
● Holds a bachelor's degree from an approved institution with a major closely related to the subject he will be teaching.
● Successfully completes an alternative route to certification program approved by the State Board of Education.
● Passes the state teacher competency tests.
● Has an undergraduate GPA of at least B or, if he has at least 24 graduate credits, a graduate GPA of at least B.
● Has appropriate experience working with children.
The commissioner can waive the last two requirements for good cause (CGS § 10-145b(c)(1); Regs. of Ct. State Agencies, § 10-145d-414).
SDE regulations allow the commissioner to issue a one-year durational shortage area permit instead of a teaching certificate when a local board of education:
1. establishes a shortage of certified personnel,
2. requests the permit in writing for a specific position,
3. attests there is no certified teacher available to fill the position and outlines its attempts to secure a certified person,
4. attests that the person to whom the permit is given will be given special supervision, and
5. attests that the permit holder will participate in the BEST program, if available.
If the permit is for a special service, administrator, or supervisor the employing board must also establish that appointment as critical.
The person receiving the permit must:
1. make a written application,
2. pass the basic competency test,
3. have a bachelor's degree from an approved institution,
4. enroll in a planned program leading to certification in the field for which the permit is issued, and
5. have completed at least 12 semester hours of credit in the subject for which the permit is issued.
Permits may be reissued a maximum of twice under the following conditions:
1. the employing board requests reissue,
2. the permit holder is enrolled in a planned program leading to certification in the subject area,
3. the permit holder is in good academic standing in the program and has completed at least nine additional semester hours of credit in the program (the SDE may defer this condition for good cause at the request of the employing board), and
4. the permit holder has completed the BEST assessment.