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FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE



By: Benjamin H. Hardy, Research Analyst

You asked which states mandate paid leave under family and medical leave acts (FMLAs).  You also wanted an explanation of how FMLA leave works in Connecticut, and how many people have used it here.

SUMMARY

Only one state, Colorado, broadly mandates paid FMLA leave.  Connecticut’s FMLA closely parallels federal law.  In Connecticut, employees have used FMLA leave more than 130,000 times since 1990.

PAID FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE

In general, state statutes follow the federal Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (PL 103-03), but with some variations from state to state.  These variations usually deal with 

1. whether public or private employers, or both, must offer it; 

2. whether employees use sick, personal, or annual leave, leave without pay, or some combination of these;

3. the number of people an organization must employ to be subject to FMLA requirements; 

4. time-in-service requirements for employee eligibility; 

5. rules on eligibility for part-time, conditional, or probationary employees; and

6. employment rights and benefits protections.

Colorado mandates paid sick leave for state employees who take FMLA leave.  Kansas and Ohio provide paid sick leave to state employees in particular circumstances or for short periods.  Three other states require that state employees on FMLA leave use accrued sick, personal, or annual leave before going on leave without pay.  All six states are among the many that offer FMLA leave only to state or public employees.  Washington, which permits FMLA leave to both private and public employees, requires them to use sick leave first.

CONNECTICUT’S FMLA

Our FMLA (CGS §§ 31-51kk through 31-51qq) regulates only private employers with 75 or more employees.  By law, to be eligible an employee must have been working for the employer at least 12 months and have at least 1,000 hours of service during the 12 months prior to the leave.  

The reason for FMLA leave can be birth or adoption of a child; care for a spouse, offspring, or parent who has a serious health condition; or the employee’s serious health condition.  To the extent practicable, the employee must give advance notice of need for FMLA leave.  Where the reason is a health condition, the employee must also try to schedule FMLA leave to avoid disrupting work operations.  The law specifies conditions under which an employer may require certification of the need for FMLA leave.

An eligible employee can take up to 16 work weeks of leave without pay during a 24-month period beginning with the first day of FMLA leave.  If both parents work for the same employer, they can take a total of 16 weeks for birth, adoption, or care for a sick parent.

An employer may provide paid FMLA leave.  For birth, adoption, or family illness an employee may use vacation leave, personal leave, or leave without pay to complete the 16 weeks if paid FMLA leave is insufficient.  For family or personal illness an employee may also use medical or sick leave.  In some circumstances FMLA leave may be intermittent or on a reduced leave schedule.  

The law protects the employment rights, benefits, and confidentiality of medical records (with certain exceptions) of an employee who takes FMLA leave.  It also protects an employee’s rights to file charges, institute proceedings, testify, or give information regarding FMLA cases.  An employer may not discharge or otherwise discriminate against an employee for exercising those rights.

USE OF FMLA LEAVE IN CONNECTICUT

According to the state Department of Labor, Connecticut workers took FMLA leave on 133,418 occasions between 1990 and 1998, as follows:

YEAR
LEAVES REPORTED




1990 (6 months)
9,000

1991
10,406

1992
8,791

1993
17,181

1994
18,174

1995
18,518

1996
14,082

1997
16,758

1998
20,508


During 1998, the 20,508 leaves lasted a total of 138,694 weeks, for an average duration of 6.8 weeks per leave.  There were 5,830 birth or adoption leaves, 1,567 for family illnesses, and 13,111 for employee medical reasons.  Birth or adoption leaves averaged 8.2 weeks; family leaves, 4.3 weeks; and medical leaves, 6.4 weeks.  

The labor commissioner’s June 21, 1999 annual report to the General Assembly contains these figures and similar information for earlier years.  It is available in the Legislative Library.
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