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	By: Saul Spigel,  Chief Analyst


You asked how other states help parents maintain control over 16- and 17-year olds and for options the legislature might consider here.

SUMMARY

Connecticut parents who are having trouble controlling their 16- and 17-year olds face four problems created by state law: (1) the state’s court-supervised program for helping parents with difficult children, the Family With Service Needs (FWSN) program, does not serve youths this age; (2) police do not have a statutory duty to look for youths this age and report to parents if they find them: (3) youths can legally drop out of school at age 16 without their parents’ consent or without their parents even being notified; and (4) parents are liable for up to $5,000 in property or personal damages their children may cause.

Most other states extend their court programs for supervising difficult children to 16- and 17-year olds, and some have extensive community-based programs the courts can call on to help families.  In at least two other New England states police look for runaway youths, tell parents where they are if they find them, and can place the child with a service-providing agency.  Like Connecticut, most states allow children to drop out of school at age 16, but a growing number are extending the school leaving age to 17 or 18 and some require parental permission.  

Finally, parental financial liability for damages their children cause varies from $1,500 to $10,000 among New England states.  One state makes parents liable only if a court finds they had not exercised reasonable supervision over the child.

Connecticut legislators could look at all of these areas to help parents who are having trouble controlling their older adolescents.  It could extend the FWSN program, provide community-based crisis intervention or other services to this population, require police to tell parents when they have found a runaway youth, raise the school leaving age or require parental permission for dropping out, or limit parents’ financial liability to those who fail to reasonably try to control their children.

THE PROBLEM FOR CONNECTICUT PARENTS

Connecticut law gives parents the legal right and responsibility to care for and control their children.  And it authorizes them to make major decisions affecting their children’s welfare, including, but not limited to, consent determinations regarding (1) marriage; (2) enlistment in the armed forces; and (3) major medical, psychiatric, and surgical treatment (CGS § 45a-604(5)).

Although parents are responsible for providing support and care for their minor children, they have few legal means for controlling them.  Connecticut law allows parents to use reasonable force to discipline their children (CGS § 53a-18).  It specifically allows a parent to use physical force, which would otherwise constitute a crime, when and to the extent they reasonably believe necessary to maintain discipline or to promote the child’s welfare. 

But as children become adolescents, force loses its effectiveness as a means of control, and parents sometimes need outside help.  But Connecticut parents whose 16- or 17-year olds run away from home or are difficult to control face a unique problem.  In most other states juvenile court services are available to help parents in this situation through families or children in need of services programs.  But the Connecticut Superior Court’s FWSN program (CGS § 46b-149) does not serve 16- and 17-year olds.  Consequently the courts cannot help parents by directing them and their children to services, imposing orders on the youths, or, ultimately, placing them under Department of Children and Families supervision.

Parents whose 16- or 17-year old runs away face another problem: two laws may deter police from looking for the children and returning them home.  One limits to children under age 15 a requirement that police departments receiving a report of a missing child must immediately accept the report and notify all on-duty officers and other appropriate law enforcement agencies (CGS §7-282c).  The other makes departments that locate a missing child responsible for notifying the parents and returning the child home only if the child is under age 16 (CGS § 46b-150).

While Connecticut parents have the statutory authority to make many major decisions for their children, this authority does not extend to the decision to drop out of school.  Children may do this without their parents’ consent or knowledge once they turn age 16.

Finally, Connecticut parents are liable until their children turn age 18 for up to $5,000 in personal or property damages their children cause through willful or malicious acts, including damaging a car they steal (CGS § 52-572).

HOW OTHER STATES TREAT 16- AND 17-YEAR OLDS

Families With Service Needs

Children who are beyond their parents’ control, who run away from home, and who are frequent truants are often referred to the juvenile court system, which can use its authority to counsel or coerce the youth and his family to change behavior.  These courts usually view the situation as a family problem for which all members share responsibility.  They are usually authorized to provide a wide array of services and impose an equally wide array of sanctions.  

Unlike Connecticut, most states extend their juvenile court supervision of difficult youths to 16- or 17-year olds. Nearby, Massachusetts serves youths up to age 17 who refuse to obey their parents or persistently run away from home or up to age 16 if they are habitual truants (MGLA 119 § 21).  New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont cover all such youths until they turn age 18 (NHRSA § 169-D2; RIGL t.14-1-3; 33 VSA § 5502).


Community-Based Services.  Formal court intervention is usually a last resort in dealing with youths in these situations; the courts first try to find community-based systems to help.  New Jersey, for example, established juvenile-family crisis intervention units, which provide 24-hour on-call service, interview the youth and his family, provide family counseling and crisis stabilization services, and refer the family to community-based services.  Only if the crisis continues despite these services is the matter referred to court (NJ Stat. Ann. 2A:4A-76) Louisiana law establishes an informal family services plan agreement that identifies the parent or child’s conduct that needs to change, describes the action that each person is expected to take and services that are needed to help, and sets a timeframe for accomplishing goals (LA Stat. Ann. t.VII, § 744).  And Washington requires the state’s social services agency to provide family reconciliation services such as suicide prevention, psychiatric or medical, and legal or educational services to families in conflict or having problems with “at-risk” youth (RCW §12.32A).


Court-Ordered Sanctions.  If the youth refuses to take advantage of these services or continues to act out, the court can find him in contempt and impose sanctions.  These typically include compelling him to attend counseling or school or perform community service or placing him in a residential facility.  If the youth still refuses, the court can ultimately place him in juvenile detention.  

Florida courts can sanction a youth for contempt by directing the Motor Vehicle Department to withhold issuing or to suspend a driver’s license for up to one year or to issue a restricted license that permits him only to drive to work (West FSA § 984.09).  Virginia also authorizes suspending driver’s license (VA Stat. § 16.1-292(E)).  This kind of sanction may be especially compelling to a 16- or 17-year-old.

Police Response to Runaway Youth

Maine requires police who locate a runaway up to age 18 to take the youth into temporary care (up to six hours, or longer if the youth consents) and notify the parents of his or her whereabouts.  At the same time the officer must contact the Department of Human Services, which must designate a shelter placement for the youth and encourage the family to accept social services (Me. Stat. Ann. t. 15 § 3501).  Police in Vermont can take a runaway up to age 18 into custody and can bring him or her to a shelter designated by the social and rehabilitation services commissioner.  The youth can stay there up to seven days during which time shelter personnel must notify the parents of the youth’s whereabouts and try to mediate the family’s problems.  When the seven days ends, the youth must either return home or be referred to juvenile court.  (33 V.S.A. § 5510-12). 

Keeping Youths in School Longer

Like Connecticut, most other states permit students to drop out of school when they turn age 16.  But a growing number have raised their school leaving age to age 17 (e.g., Maine, Arkansas, Louisiana, and South Carolina) or age 18 (e.g., California, Indiana, Ohio, Utah).  And some states (Indiana, Hawaii, and Kentucky) require parents’ written permission before a child can withdraw from school.

Parental Liability for Damages Caused by Youth

Like Connecticut, other New England states require parents to pay for property or personal injury damages their children cause willfully or maliciously.  The amount of liability varies from $1,500 in Rhode Island to $5,000 in Massachusetts and Vermont, to $10,000 in New Hampshire.  But before New Hampshire parents must pay restitution to the victim’s of their children’s vandalism, a court must find that they failed to exercise reasonable supervision (NH RSA, 169-B:45).  

OPTIONS FOR CONNECTICUT

Extending FWSN

Connecticut could extend its FWSN program to 16- or -17 year olds, or both.  Or a separate court and community-based system could be established just for this age group.  The FWSN extension was endorsed in 1997 and 1998 by a legislative task force that reviewed the issue (see attachment 1 for a copy of the group’s 1997 report), and the separate youth program was proposed in 1998.  

The initial proposal for a separate youth program included a community-based crisis intervention component modeled on New Jersey.  And both proposals mirrored Florida and Virginia’s drivers’ license suspensions as a sanction for youths who failed to follow the court’s orders.  Both failed to reach the floor.  The Department of Children and Families and the Judicial Branch oppose the ideas, largely because of their cost.   

Giving Parents Control Over Their Children Leaving School

Under current law, Connecticut children can drop out of school when they turn age 16 without their parents either knowing or consenting.  One legislative option would be to require parents to give their consent before their children drop out or at least to acknowledge that they have been informed of their child’s action. 

But, unless the legislature also raised the school leaving age to 17 or 18, requiring parental consent at age 16 would be ineffective since nothing would require the youth to stay in school and no sanctions would be available to compel attendance.  This alternative was also proposed in 1998.  It failed for several reasons: (1) school officials feared that youths compelled to stay in school because their parents would not consent to their dropping out might disrupt school operations; (2) alternative school settings for such students (which was included in the proposal both to better serve them and to prevent school disruptions) would be expensive, and (3) keeping 16- and 17-year olds in school would require more staff, material, and space and would be expensive.

Extend Police Responsibility to Runaway Youths 


The legislature could help parents whose 16- or 17-year old runs away by making the police clearly responsible to look for and, at least, notify the youth’s parents of his whereabouts if they find him.  Such legislation might acknowledge that youths this age sometimes run away because of serious problems with parents (as opposed to strictly personal problems) and authorize police to return the youth home only with his permission.  It might also give police the option to bring the runaway to a youth service bureau or other service agency; they already have this option when they locate a runaway under age 16 (CGS § 46b-149a).

Limit Parents’ Liability for Damages Their Children Cause

Connecticut could follow New Hampshire’s example and make parents liable for damages their children cause only if a court finds that they (the parents) failed to exercise reasonable supervision.  But this approach would create an extra judicial step and potentially reduce victims’ compensation.
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