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SEX OFFENDERS: REGISTRATION, SUPERVISION, 

AND TREATMENT

The criminal justice system has struggled for years over what to do with sex offenders.  California adopted the first sex offender registration law in 1947, but forty years later only a handful of states had followed suit.  Washington state enacted the first community notification law in 1990 along with a provision for civil commitment of sexually violent predators.  But it was the sexual assault and murder of a seven-year old New Jersey girl named Megan Kanka in 1994 that ignited widespread public interest in registration and community notification and prompted the federal government and most states to pass “Megan’s laws.”

	HISTORY OF CONNECTICUT’S LAW
	Connecticut passed its first sex offender registration law in 1994.  It required registration only for the six most serious penal code sex offenses.  The registration period was one year, and the information was confidential, shared only among law enforcement agencies.  The next year the legislature added risk of injury to a minor involving sexual contact to the offense list, extended the registration period to 10 years, and required people found not guilty of the covered crimes due to mental disease or defect to register.



	
	In 1997 the legislature made registration information public, allowing anyone to inspect it or obtain copies under the Freedom of Information law.  Information was kept by local police departments and resident state troopers, which meant there was no central registry of all offenders.

(



	CURRENT LAW 

(PA 98-111)


	The new law created an expanded, more detailed, and comprehensive sex offender registration system.  It added 11 new crimes to those triggering registration and divided them into two categories (crimes against minors and sexually violent crimes).  For some crimes, everyone must register; for others, only those whose victims are minors must register.  The act also requires offenders the court finds have committed a felony for sexual purposes to register.



	
	Offenders must register when they are released into the community, whether (1) on probation or other conditional release, (2) from prison, (3) on parole, or (4) from a mental health or retardation facility or the custody of the Psychiatric Security Review Board.  

For many offenders the registration period remains 10 years, but sexually violent offenders must remain registered after the 10 years if they cannot satisfy the court that they are unlikely to commit another offense.  The Department of Public Safety (DPS) must periodically verify the addresses of all registrants: every 90 days for sexually violent offenders and annually for all others.



	
	DPS must establish (by January 1, 1999) and maintain a central sex-offender registry and inform local and State Police where the registrant will live.  Registration information remains a public record, available from DPS and local and state police during normal business hours.  DPS must put the registration information on the Internet and publicize its availability.  The act specifically authorizes police agencies to notify organizations and individuals about the presence of registered offenders when necessary to protect the public.



	
	The act establishes an 11-member sexual offender registration committee to report to the governor and the General Assembly on its implementation.

(


	FEDERAL NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS


	As a condition for receiving federal funds under the Byrne Grants (for drug enforcement and system improvements), states must adopt an acceptable sex offender registration and notification system.  The law requires state agencies to “release relevant information that is necessary to protect the public concerning a specific person required to register.”  Justice Department guidelines help the states determine what they have to do to comply with the federal requirements.



	
	The guidelines allow passive systems, which make the information available to interested people on request, or active systems, which require agencies to affirmatively notify organizations or people about 

registrants.  States cannot comply with a system that gives 

information only to law enforcement agencies.  But they can use risk assessments and limit notice about low-risk offenders to law enforcement, while notifying community organizations about higher risk offenders and neighbors about the highest risk offenders.  States can also establish categories of offenders that it considers more dangerous, child molesters for example, and require notification only for this class of offender.

(


	INTENSIVE PROBATION SUPERVISION PROGRAM


	The Office of Adult Probation is operating two pilot intensive supervision programs for sex offenders in New London and New Haven.  The programs feature very low caseloads for the probation officers and frequent contacts.  Offenders must participate in treatment as a condition of their probation.  The Center for the Treatment of Problem Sexual Behavior provides the treatment, which features weekly group therapy sessions including offenders, probation officers, therapists, and in New Haven the victim advocates. 



	
	Offenders must report weekly to their probation officer, and the officers make surprise home visits and also visit areas in the neighborhoods where they suspect offenders may appear and that are not appropriate for them.  Victim advocates also participate in the New Haven program, bringing a victim’s perspective to treatment sessions and advancing their interest during the time an offender is on probation.

(


	TREATMENT AND RECIDIVISM


	Whether sex offenders can be cured is an issue about which many practitioners disagree.  Some contend that there is no cure, and that all treatment programs can do is keep the offender under such a tight rein that he is less likely to reoffend.  Others believe that certain types of sex offenders can be treated successfully.  



	
	People often tend to link all sex offenders together, but there are significant differences depending on the crime.  The two principal types of offenders are rapists and child molesters, but others include incest perpetrators and exhibitionists.  Some practitioners think that people who commit incest have the best chance of treatment success.



	
	Although the assertion is often made that sex offenders have the highest recidivism rates of any type of offender, research studies do not bear this out.  A major U.S. Department of Justice study found that property offenders had higher recidivism rates than violent 

offenders and that rapists and other sex offenders had lower recidivism rates than the average for all violent offenders.  When 

rearrest for the same crime was used as a measure, rapists were 

found to have the lowest recidivism rates of any criminal category other than murderers.

(


Issues regarding sex crime victims present several special considerations.  Sex crimes are estimated to be among the most under-reported crimes, and victims are often significantly traumatized.  Many sex crime victims know the assailant, and in some situations they will have some contact with him in the future.  Being a victim of certain types of sex crimes, such as 

	molestation as a child, can increase the risk of someone becoming an adult offender.  Studies have shown that many of the people who molest children were molested themselves as children.


	

	
	Publicizing registration of people who commit incest poses a special problem, particularly in instances where the offender and his family successfully undergo counseling and stay together.  If such offenders have to register, the information becomes public and it could become available at the victim’s school.  This could result in the child being victimized again by the publicity.

(


	POSSIBLE ISSUES
	The legislature could visit a number of issues regarding effectively dealing with sex offenders.  Some of these arose in the context of the PA 98-111 committee’s discussions.

· Should a risk assessment model be developed so that offenders would be evaluated and treated differently depending on their dangerousness;

· Should special provisions be developed to deal with the particular problems of incest offenders;

· Should statutory rape offenders, say a 17-year old who has sex with a 15-year old, be treated differently than the other offenders required to register;

· What guidelines should the police follow in deciding who specifically should be notified about the presence of a registered offender in the neighborhood;

· Should special provisions be adopted governing how schools
     handle registration information when the parent of a student is         a registrant; and

· Should a civil commitment system be developed similar to that in Washington and several other states so that very dangerous offenders are detained in mental health facilities when they are released from prison.


FURTHER READING

The following Office of Legislative Research reports on this issue may be of interest.  Call the Legislative Library at 240-8888 or visit our Intranet Web page at http://cgalites/olr.

	Summary of 

PA 98-111


	Summarizes Connecticut’s new sex offender registration law (5 pages).

	98-R-1102


	Discusses the applicability of the registration requirement on people who were convicted and released into the community prior to the law’s effective date (2 pages).



	98-R-1195


	Gives a brief history of Connecticut’s sex offender registration laws 

(2 pages).



	98-R-1143


	Discusses issues of public access to the registration information 

(2 pages).



	98-R-1091


	Describes federal sex offender notification requirements applying to the states (2 pages).



	97-R-1220


	Discusses whether sex offenders have higher recidivism rates than other types of offenders (3 pages).



	97-R-1451


	Discusses whether treatment lessenS the chances of a pedophile committing another offense (5 pages).



	97-R-0850


	Summarizes and compares the Kansas and Washington sexual predator civil commitment laws (9 pages).



	97-R-0834


	Summarizes U.S. Supreme Court decision upholding Kansas’ sexual predator civil commitment law (7 pages).

	96-R-0499


	Summarizes the sexual predator laws in California and Oregon (5 pages).
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