House Bill No. 6078
               House Bill No. 6078

               PUBLIC ACT NO. 97-16


    Be  it  enacted  by  the  Senate  and House of
Representatives in General Assembly convened:
    Section  1.  Section  51-344  of  the  general
statutes, as amended by section 7  of  public  act
88-230,  sections  1  and  2 of public act 89-141,
section 2 of public act 90-98, sections 60 and  61
of  public  act  92-11 of the May special session,
section 7 of public  act  93-142,  section  92  of
public  act  93-435  and  section  5 of public act
95-220,  is  repealed   and   the   following   is
substituted in lieu thereof:
    For   purposes   of  establishing  venue,  the
Superior Court  shall  consist  of  the  following
judicial districts:
    (1)  The judicial district of Ansonia-Milford,
consisting of the towns of Ansonia, Beacon  Falls,
Derby,  Milford,  Orange, Oxford, Seymour, Shelton
and West Haven;
    (2)   The   judicial   district   of  Danbury,
consisting of the  towns  of  Bethel,  Brookfield,
Danbury,    New   Fairfield,   Newtown,   Redding,
Ridgefield and Sherman;
    (3)   The   judicial  district  of  Fairfield,
consisting of the  towns  of  Bridgeport,  Easton,
Fairfield, Monroe, Stratford and Trumbull;
    (4)   The   judicial   district  of  Hartford,
consisting  of  the  towns  of  Avon,  Bloomfield,
Canton,  [Cromwell,]  East  Granby, East Hartford,
East Windsor,  Enfield,  Farmington,  Glastonbury,
Granby,    Hartford,    Manchester,   Marlborough,
Newington, Rocky Hill,  Simsbury,  South  Windsor,
Suffield,  West  Hartford,  Wethersfield, Windsor,
and Windsor Locks;
    (5)   The  judicial  district  of  Litchfield,
consisting of the towns of Barkhamsted, Bethlehem,
Bridgewater,  Canaan, Colebrook, Cornwall, Goshen,
Hartland, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, New
Hartford,  New  Milford,  Norfolk,  North  Canaan,
Roxbury, Salisbury, Sharon, Thomaston, Torrington,
Warren, Washington and Winchester;
    (6)   The   judicial  district  of  Middlesex,
consisting  of  the  towns  of  Chester,  Clinton,
CROMWELL,  Deep  River,  Durham, East Haddam, East
Hampton, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, Middlefield,
Middletown, Old Saybrook, Portland and Westbrook;
    (7)  The  judicial  district  of  New Britain,
consisting  of  the  towns  of  Berlin,   Bristol,
Burlington,  New Britain, Plainville, Plymouth and
    (8)   The  judicial  district  of  New  Haven,
consisting of  the  towns  of  Bethany,  Branford,
Cheshire,  East  Haven, Guilford, Hamden, Madison,
Meriden, New Haven, North Branford,  North  Haven,
Wallingford and Woodbridge;
    (9)  The  judicial  district  of  New  London,
consisting of the  towns  of  Bozrah,  Colchester,
East  Lyme,  Franklin,  Griswold, Groton, Lebanon,
Ledyard,  Lisbon,  Lyme,  Montville,  New  London,
North  Stonington,  Norwich,  Old  Lyme,  Preston,
Salem,   Sprague,   Stonington,   Voluntown    and
    (10)      The     judicial     district     of
Stamford-Norwalk,  consisting  of  the  towns   of
Darien,  Greenwich, New Canaan, Norwalk, Stamford,
Weston, Westport and Wilton;
    (11)   The   judicial   district  of  Tolland,
consisting  of  the  towns  of  Andover,   Bolton,
Columbia,  Coventry, Ellington, Hebron, Mansfield,
Somers,  Stafford,  Tolland,  Union,  Vernon   and
    (12)   The  judicial  district  of  Waterbury,
consisting of the towns of Middlebury,  Naugatuck,
Prospect, Southbury, Waterbury, Watertown, Wolcott
and Woodbury; and
    (13)   The   judicial   district  of  Windham,
consisting of  the  towns  of  Ashford,  Brooklyn,
Canterbury, Chaplin, Eastford, Hampton, Killingly,
Plainfield, Pomfret, Putnam,  Scotland,  Sterling,
Thompson, Windham and Woodstock.
    Sec.  2.  This act shall take effect September
1, 1998.

Approved May 6, 1997