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NOTICE TO USERS 
 
 
 
 This publication summarizes all public acts passed by the 2001 regular session, and 2001 
June Special Sessions of the Connecticut General Assembly.  Special acts are not summarized. 
 
Use of this Book 
 
 The Office of Legislative Research encourages dissemination of this material by 
photocopying, reprinting in newspapers (either verbatim or edited), or by other means.  Please 
credit the Office of Legislative Research when republishing the summaries. 
 The office strongly discourages using the summaries as a substitute for the public acts.  The 
summaries are meant to be handy reference tools, not substitutes for the text.  The public acts are 
available in public libraries and can be purchased from the secretary of the state. They are also 
available online from The Connecticut General Assembly’s Website (http://www.cga.state.ct.us). 
 
Organization of the Book 
 
 Bills sent directly to the floor without committee action (emergency certification) are placed 
in chapters according to subject matter.  Within each chapter, summaries are arranged in order by 
public act number. 
 In the back of the volume is a list of acts by public act number.  A table on penalties, 
appearing on the next page, describes the fines and prison sentences for various types of 
offenses. 
 
Vetoed Act 
 
 The governor vetoed three public acts: PA 01-54, An Act Concerning Video Games; PA 01-
107, An Act Concerning Clean Air Standards for Certain Power Plants; and PA 01-189, An Act 
Concerning Procedures for State Employee Collective Bargaining.  
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TABLE ON PENALTIES 
 
 

Crimes 
 
 The law authorizes courts to impose fines, 
imprisonment, or both when sentencing a convicted 
criminal.  They must specify the period of 
incarceration for anyone so sentenced.  The prison 
terms below represent the range within which a judge 
must set the sentence.  The judge also sets the exact 
amount of a fine, up to the established limits listed 
below.  Some crimes have a mandatory minimum 
sentence or a minimum sentence higher than the 
minimum term specified in the table.  Repeated 
offenses may result in a higher maximum than 
specified here. 
 
Classification 
   of Crime  Imprisonment                    Fine 
 
Capital felony execution or life         — 
Class A felony (murder) 25 to 60 years up to  $20,000  
Class A felony 10 to 25 years up to    20,000 
Class B felony 1 to 20 years up to    15,000 
Class C felony 1 to 10 years up to    10,000 
Class D felony 1 to 5 years up to      5,000 
Class A misdemeanor up to 1 year up to      2,000 
Class B misdemeanor up to 6 months up to      1,000 
Class C misdemeanor up to 3 months up to         500 
 
Violations 
 
 CGS § 53a-43 of the Penal Code authorizes the 
Superior Court to fix fines for violations up to a 
maximum of $500 unless the amount of the fine is 
specified in the statute establishing the violation.  
CGS § 54-195 on criminal procedure requires the 
court to impose a fine of up to $100 on anyone 
convicted of violating any statute without a specified 
penalty. 
 A violation is not a crime; thus a violator does 
not have a criminal record.  Most statutory violations 
are subject to Infractions Bureau procedures which 
allow the accused to pay the fine by mail without 

making a court appearance.  As with an infraction, 
the bureau will enter a nolo contendere (no contest) 
plea on behalf of anyone who pays a fine in this way.  
The plea is inadmissible in any criminal or civil court 
proceeding against the accused. 
 
Infractions 
 
 Infractions are punishable by fines, usually set 
by Superior Court judges, of between $35 and $90, 
plus an additional fee based on the amount of the fine 
and a $20 surcharge.  In some instances, there can be 
an additional $15 cost.  In addition, certain motor 
vehicle infractions are subject to a Transportation 
Fund surcharge of 50% of the fine.  Finally, certain 
infractions committed in designated construction, 
utility work, and school zones or when a driver fails 
to yield to a bicyclist have additional fees equal to 
100% of the basic infraction fine. This means some 
violators could have to pay $361, although most have 
to pay less than that and many pay less than $100. 
Parking tickets and seat belt violations can be less 
than $35.  An infraction is not a crime; thus, violators 
do not have criminal records and can pay the fine by 
mail without making a court appearance. 
 
Larceny 
 
 There are six different classifications of larceny, 
generally depending on the value of the property 
illegally obtained. 
 
Degree of                            Amount of 
Larceny                       Property Involved        Classification 
 
First Degree Over    $10,000     Class B felony 
Second Degree Over        5,000     Class C felony 
Third Degree Over        1,000     Class D felony 
Fourth Degree Over           500     Class A misdemeanor 
Fifth Degree Over           250     Class B misdemeanor 
Sixth Degree      $250 or  less        Class C misdemeanor 
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PA 01-119—sHB 6909 
Select Committee on Aging 
Human Services Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
Legislative Management Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE LONG-TERM 
CARE PLANNING COMMITTEE 
 
SUMMARY: This act expands the Long-Term Care 
Planning Committee’s scope to include establishing a 
long-term care plan for all people in need of long-term 
care instead of only the elderly.  It adds to the 
committee’s membership one representative of the 
Department of Children and Families (DCF) appointed 
by the DCF commissioner and the executive director of 
the Office of Protection and Advocacy for Persons with 
Disabilities, or his designee.  It also requires the 
committee to evaluate long-term care issues in light of 
the U.S. Supreme Court decision in Olmstead v. L.C.  
That decision requires states to place people with 
disabilities in community settings rather than in 
institutions when (1) it is appropriate, (2) the individual  
does not oppose the transfer to a less restrictive setting, 
and (3) the community placement can be reasonably 
accommodated. 

The act also: 
1. changes the committee’s legislative reporting 

deadline for its long-term care plan from every 
two years to every three years;  

2. requires the plan to serve as a guide for state 
agencies’ developing and modifying programs 
that serve people needing long-term care; 

3. requires any state agency, when developing or 
modifying any program that, wholly or 
partially, assists or supports people with long-
term care needs to include, to the extent 
feasible, provisions that (a) support care-giving 
by family members and other informal 
caregivers and (b) promote consumer-directed 
care. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2001 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
Long-Term Care Planning Committee 

 
The interagency Long-Term Care Planning 

Committee is composed of representatives from 
executive agencies and legislators.   

The committee's charge is to exchange information 
on elderly long-term care issues, coordinate long-term 
care policy development, establish a statewide long-

term care plan for the elderly, and study related issues.  
It is advised by a larger Long-Term Care Advisory 
Council, composed of legislators, providers of long-
term care services, and consumers’ advocates.   

 
Related Court Case 

 
On June 22, l999, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled 

that the unjustified isolation of mentally disabled 
patients in institutional settings constitutes 
discrimination based on disability (Olmstead v. L. C., 
119 S.Ct. 2176 (1999)).  The majority decision affirmed 
the key holdings of an April l998 ruling of the U.S. 
Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit.  That court 
found that Georgia health officials violated the 
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) by segregating 
two mentally retarded women in a psychiatric hospital 
instead of providing them with appropriate community-
based care. 
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PA 01-6—sSB 1066 
Banks Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING DEPOSITS IN TRUST 
AT CREDIT UNIONS 
 
SUMMARY: This act extends to all Connecticut and 
federal credit unions existing provisions for establishing 
trusts.  Under prior law, these provisions applied only to 
banks.  The act broadens the scope of trusts to allow a 
person to create a trust in a credit union (“share 
account”) as well as a bank (“deposit account”).  The 
provisions for trusts in credit unions mirror existing 
language for trusts in deposit accounts in banks. 

By law, if the named beneficiary of a trust is alive 
when the depositor dies, the depositor’s death 
terminates the trust, unless the document creating the 
trust says otherwise.  Under the act, the beneficiary gets 
the title to the share account, unless he is ineligible to 
become a member of the credit union.  A beneficiary 
who is not or cannot become a member of the credit 
union can take the money to a different financial 
institution. 

The act applies the provisions relating to the 
establishment of a trust and accompanying writings to 
all share accounts established at Connecticut credit 
unions and federal credit unions (1) on or after October 
1, 2001, and (2) before October 1, 2001 if the depositor 
at any time provides a writing specifying the terms of 
the trust. 

The act requires a trustee establishing or 
maintaining a share account under a will or trust 
agreement, other written document, statute, or court 
order to give the bank or credit union a writing 
identifying the document, statute, or order.  The 
depositor of a trust whose trustee is named by a will, 
trust agreement, or other written document must file a 
certified copy of the instrument if the credit union so 
requests.  The credit union is protected in paying out 
money from the trust and has no duty to ask about the 
intended use of the funds.  These provisions apply to all 
share accounts, regardless of when they were 
established. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-9—sSB 791 
Banks Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING COMMUNITY 
REINVESTMENT BY COMMUNITY CREDIT 
UNIONS 
 

SUMMARY: This act subjects community credit 
unions to community reinvestment requirements similar 
to those that currently apply to banks.  It defines a 
"community credit union" as a Connecticut-chartered 
credit union with at least $10 million in assets and a 
membership limited to people in a well-defined 
community, neighborhood, or rural area.  Smaller credit 
unions and those whose members work for the same 
employer or belong to the same association or other 
group not based on geography are exempt.  By law, 
credit unions are owned by and can serve only their 
members. 

The act requires community credit unions to 
undergo periodic assessments of the ir efforts to help 
meet the credit needs of their local communities, 
including low- and moderate-income neighborhoods.  It 
requires them to designate non-discriminatory 
“assessment areas” for the banking commissioner to 
evaluate and specifies the criteria and rating scale he 
must use. 

The act requires the commissioner to provide the 
state treasurer, annually, with a list of community credit 
unions he has not given a satisfactory rating or better in 
meeting community credit needs.  Listed credit unions 
cannot receive state, municipal, or trust fund deposits.   

The act also permits the commissioner to consider a 
community credit union’s community reinvestment 
performance in its requests to (1) open or relocate 
offices, (2) change its “field of membership” (people 
eligible to become members of the credit union), or (3) 
merge.  He may withhold approval or make it 
conditional. 

Finally, the act requires community credit unions to 
(1) permit the public to see and obtain copies of 
evaluations and (2) post public notices.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 

 
ASSESSMENT AREAS 

 
The act requires each community credit union, by 

January 1, 2002, to specify at least one assessment area 
for the banking commissioner to use in evaluating how 
well it is reinvesting in its community.  The act defines 
“assessment area” as one or more geographic areas 
chosen by a community credit union that (1) consist of 
one or more cities and their surrounding suburban areas 
(“metropolitan statistical areas”) or one or more 
adjoining counties, cities, towns, or other political 
subdivisions; (2) include areas where the credit union 
has its principal office, subsidiary offices, and share-
taking ATMs; and (3) include surrounding areas in 
which the credit union makes or buys a large percentage 
of its loans.   

 



10 BANKS COMMITTEE 

 
2001 OLR PA Summary Book 

The act prohibits community credit unions from 
designing assessment areas that illegally discriminate or 
arbitrarily exclude low- or moderate-income 
neighborhoods.  Assessment areas may not extend 
substantially beyond the borders of a state or urban area, 
unless they are located in a multistate metropolitan 
statistical area.  A community credit union can adjust 
the boundaries of its assessment area to include only the 
portions of areas it can reasonably be expected to serve.  
But it must file any change with the commissioner 
immediately. 

 
COMMISSIONER’S ASSESSMENT OF 
COMMUNITY CREDIT UNIONS 

 
The act requires the commissioner to assess 

periodically a community credit union’s community 
reinvestment performance consistent with the credit 
union’s safe and sound operation.  He must consider:  

1. the credit union's record of making qualified 
investments to help meet the credit needs of its 
assessment area or a larger area that includes 
its assessment area;  

2. the availability and effectiveness of its retail 
credit union services and the extent and 
originality of its community development 
services;  

3. its loan-to-share ratio given its size and 
financial condition, the credit needs of its 
assessment area or areas, and other “lending-
related activities” (such as loan origination for 
sale to secondary markets and community 
development loans), considering seasonal 
variations;  

4. its percentage of the assessment area’s total 
loans and lending-related activities;  

5. its record of lending to borrowers of different 
income levels, and businesses and farms of 
different sizes;  

6. the geographic distribution of its loans;  
7. any action taken in response to written 

complaints about its community reinvestment 
performance; and 

8. its efforts to resolve delinquent residential 
mortgage issues with unemployed or 
underemployed customers. 

The commissioner must also consider any written 
comments he receives.  The act requires him to make a 
written evaluation of the credit union’s community 
reinvestment performance and give it to the credit 
union.  The evaluation must include (1) the 
commissioner’s assessment of the community 
reinvestment performance and the facts supporting his 
assessment and (2) his performance rating and an 

explanation.  The act establishes four rating levels: 
outstanding, satisfactory, needs improvement, and 
substantial noncompliance in meeting community credit 
needs.   

 
PUBLIC ACCESS TO COMMISSIONER’S 
ASSESSMENT 

 
The act requires each community credit union to 

keep a copy of the commissioner’s most recent 
assessment in a public file.  It must place the assessment 
in the file within 30 days of its receipt, and may include 
its response.  The public can look at the performance 
evaluation for free at the community credit union’s 
principal office and at each of its subsidiary offices in 
Connecticut.   

A credit union that receives a rating of “needs to 
improve” or “substantial noncompliance” must also 
include in the file a description of what it is doing to 
improve its performance and meet the community’s 
credit needs.  It must update the description quarterly 
until the commissioner gives it a satisfactory rating or 
better.    

The act requires the credit unions to make copies of 
the commissioner’s most recent assessment available to 
the public upon request.  They may charge a fee, but not 
more than the cost of copying and mailing the 
assessment.   

 
NOTICE TO PUBLIC 

 
The act requires each community credit union to 

post a notice in the lobby of its principal office and each 
of its subsidiary offices in Connecticut telling the public 
that the commissioner evaluates its record of helping to 
meet the community’s credit needs consistent with safe 
and sound operations.  The notice must also inform the 
public that:  

1. the commissioner may consider its record 
when deciding on certain applications it 
submits;  

2. public involvement is encouraged;  
3. the public may review its most recent 

community reinvestment performance 
evaluation;  

4. the public may send written comments about 
its community reinvestment performance to the 
commissioner, which he will consider, along 
with any response by the credit union, in his 
next community reinvestment performance 
evaluation; and  

5. the public may ask to look at any comments the 
commissioner receives.   
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The act contains a sample notice. 
 
 
PA 01-10—sHB 6605 
Banks Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING TECHNICAL 
REVISIONS TO THE BANKING AND 
SECURITIES STATUTES 
 
SUMMARY: This act makes technical revisions to 
certain banking and securities statutes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-34—sHB 6131 
Banks Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING ABUSIVE HOME LOAN 
LENDING PRACTICES 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires lenders to make certain 
disclosures to prospective borrowers seeking high-cost 
home loans, including the interest rate and the 
consequences of mortgaging a home.  It prohibits 
lenders from including certain loan provisions or from 
taking certain actions with respect to such loans, like 
charging unwarranted or excessive fees or providing 
incomplete information.  It also imposes conditions on a 
lender’s ability to sell credit insurance to a borrower. 
The act creates new penalties for lenders who violate its 
provisions.   

The act prohibits lenders from charging a fee for 
the first payoff statement requested each year except 
when it is delivered on an expedited basis pursuant to an 
agreement with the borrower.  The act also makes minor 
technical changes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 

 
DISCLOSURES IN HIGH-COST HOME LOANS 

 
The act requires a lender to make certain 

disclosures to prospective borrowers seeking high-cost 
home loans.  It defines a “lender” as a person who 
makes one or more high-cost home loans.  A “high-cost 
home loan” is a mortgage (1) for a one-to-four family 
residence; (2) made to someone who lives or plans to 
live there; and (3) whose interest rate when it is made is 
more than 10% higher than the most recent rate for 
Treasury bills, notes, and bonds.  High-cost home loans 
do not include reverse mortgages. 

 

The lender must tell the buyer that he is not 
required to complete the loan agreement and the 
consequences of putting a mortgage on his home, 
including the possibility of losing the home.  The act 
sets out the precise language the lender must use.  The 
lender must also disclose the interest rate, the payments 
that will be due, and information about possible changes 
in interest rates and the amount of the single maximum 
monthly payment for variable-rate mortgages. 

 
LIMITATIONS ON LOANS AND LENDERS 

 
The act requires lenders to follow certain rules 

when making high-cost home loans.  A lender or its 
assignee must refund or credit the borrower for any 
default charges, prepayment penalties, or prepaid 
finance charges collected in excess of the limits 
established under the act. 

 
Prohibited Provisions in High-Cost Home Loans 

 
The act prohibits the following terms in high-cost 

home loans:  
 
1. a payment schedule that does not fully pay off 

the principal balance by the end of the term for 
a loan with a term of less than seven years; 

2. a payment schedule that causes the principal 
balance to increase;  

3. a payment schedule that consolidates more 
than two payments and pays them in advance 
from the proceeds;  

4. an increase in the interest rate after default or 
default charges of more than 5% of the amount 
in default;  

5. an interest refund calculated by a method less 
favorable than applying payments first to 
finance charges, with any remainder applied to 
the principal;  

6. a charge for paying all or part of the principal 
before it is due (“prepayment penalty”), except 
in the first three years of the loan; 

7. a mandatory arbitration clause or waiver of 
participation in a class action suit; and  

8. a call provision allowing the lender, in its sole 
discretion, to accelerate the indebtedness.  This 
prohibition does not apply when the loan is 
repaid on an accelerated basis because of actual 
default, under a due-on-sale clause provision, 
or another provision of the loan agreement 
unrelated to the payment schedule, such as 
bankruptcy or receivership. 

The act allows a lender to assess a prepayment 
penalty during the first three years of the loan, with the 
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maximum permissible penalty being 3% in the first 
year, 2% in the second, and 1% in the third. But the 
lender can charge this penalty only if (1) the borrower’s 
prepayment funds are not from a refinancing by the 
lender or its affiliate and (2) the borrower’s total 
monthly debts at the start of the loan, including amounts 
owed for the high-cost home loan, are not more than 
50% of his monthly gross income. 

 
Prohibited Actions by Lenders Making High-Cost Home 
Loans 

 
When making a high-cost home loan, a lender may 

not: 
1. pay a contractor under a home improvement 

contract from the proceeds of the loan, except 
by an instrument payable to the borrower or 
jointly to the borrower and contractor or, if the 
borrower chooses, through a third-party escrow 
agent under the terms in the written agreement; 

2. sell or otherwise assign the loan without giving 
prescribed notice to the purchaser or assignee 
that the loan is subject to the rules of the act 
and the purchaser or assignee could be liable 
for any claims the borrower has against the 
lender; 

3. advertise that refinancing preexisting debt with 
a high-cost home loan will reduce a borrower’s 
monthly debt payments without also disclosing 
that the loan may increase the borrower’s total 
number of payments and the total amount the 
borrower will pay over the term of the loan; 

4. recommend or encourage default on an existing 
loan or debt before closing on a refinancing 
high-cost home loan; 

5. make a high-cost home loan that refinances an 
existing loan unless the new loan will truly 
benefit the borrower;  

6. charge the borrower fees for services that are 
not legitimate, reasonable, or actually 
performed; or 

7. require the borrower to pay charges, such as 
points, as a condition of the loan before closing 
(“prepaid finance charges”) more than 5% of 
the principal amount of the loan or $2,000, 
whichever is greater.  The same limits apply to 
prepaid finance charges on refinancing and 
earlier loans the lender made within two years 
before it or its affiliate makes a new 
refinancing loan to the borrower.  A lender 
may, however, impose other prepaid finance 
charges up to 5% of any “additional proceeds” 
(the amount by which the new loan exceeds the 
current principal amount of a closed-end loan, 

or the amount that the line of credit on the new 
loan exceeds the maximum credit limit on an 
existing open-end loan) that the borrower 
receives. 

A lender may not charge a borrower any fees to 
modify, renew, or extend a loan if the loan will continue 
to be a high-cost home loan, or, if no longer a high-cost 
home loan, the interest rate will not be reduced by at 
least 2%.  A lender can charge prepaid finance charges 
of up to 5% of additional proceeds the borrower 
receives as a result of modifying, renewing, or 
extending the loan. These provisions do not apply if the 
loan is 60 or more days past due and is modified, 
renewed, or extended as part of a work-out process. 

Finally, a lender may not (1) make a high-cost 
home loan with an unconscionable interest rate or (2) 
make the loan unless it reasonably believes that the 
borrower will be able to make the payments, based on 
the borrower’s income, debts, employment status, and 
other financial factors.  The interest rate must be based 
on appropriate factors, such as creditworthiness, other 
risk-related standards, and sound underwriting, or it 
may be considered unconscionable.  The borrower is 
presumed to be able to make the payments if his 
monthly debts, including the mortgage, are not more 
than 50% of his gross monthly income. 

 
REPORTING REQUIREMENT 

 
Under the act, a lender making a high-cost home 

loan must annually report the borrower’s payment 
history to a nationally recognized credit reporting 
agency while the lender holds or services the loan. 

 
CREDIT INSURANCE OFFERS 

 
As of January 1, 2002, a lender who offers a high-

cost home loan borrower the option to buy individual or 
group credit life, accident, health, disability, or 
unemployment insurance on a prepaid single premium 
basis must also offer him the option to buy the insurance 
on a monthly premium basis.  A borrower who buys the 
insurance may cancel it at any time and get a refund of 
any unearned premiums paid.  The lender must notify 
the borrower of his right to cancel, by mail, between 10 
and 30 days after making the loan.  The notice must also 
state the type of insurance purchased, its cost, and 
cancellation procedures. 

 
PENALTIES FOR VIOLATIONS  

 
The act allows the banking commissioner to charge 

up to a $15,000 civil penalty per violation to any lender 
who (1) fails to make required disclosures to a 
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prospective borrower about a high-cost home loan or 
credit insurance, (2) includes prohibited terms in a high-
cost home loan, (3) fails to report annually a borrower’s 
payment history to a credit bureau, (4) assesses 
excessive charges or penalties, or (5) engages in other 
prohibited behavior in making a high-cost home loan.   

The act allows the commissioner to assess up to a 
$15,000 civil penalty against any lender who receives 
notice from the commissioner of a violation of the act 
and does not request a hearing within the time specified 
or fails to appear at the hearing.   
 
DISCLOSURE OF INFORMATION 

 
The act gives the commissioner the option of 

exempting creditors who comply with the Connecticut 
Truth-in-Lending Act from inconsistent provisions of 
state banking law regarding disclosure of information.  
Under prior law, he had to exempt them by regulation.  
The act specifies that its provisions concerning abusive 
home loan lending practices may not be deemed 
inconsistent with the Truth-in-Lending Act and will 
control where applicable. 
 
PROHIBITED ACTIONS BY LENDERS MAKING 
FIRST MORTGAGE LOANS 

 
The act prohibits a lender making a first mortgage 

loan (whether or not it is a high-cost home loan) from 
requiring the borrower to pay prepaid finance charges 
totaling more than 5% of the principal amount of the 
loan or $2,000, whichever is greater.  The same limits 
apply to prepaid finance charges on refinancing and 
earlier loans made by the lender within two years before 
a new refinancing loan it or its affiliate makes to the 
borrower.  A lender may, however, impose other 
prepaid finance charges up to 5% of additional proceeds 
that the borrower receives for the refinancing. 

 
EXCEPTION TO PROHIBITED ACTIONS BY 
LENDERS MAKING SECONDARY MORTGAGE 
LOANS 

 
The act adds an exception to the law prohibiting a 

broker or lender in the secondary mortgage loan 
business from imposing loan fees, points, commissions, 
transaction fees, or similar prepaid finance charges in 
accordance with the Connecticut Truth-in-Lending Act 
which, when added to the broker’s fee or commission, 
total more than 8% of the loan principal.  It allows 
lenders and brokers to charge an additional fee for 
allowing a buyer to pay the purchase price in 
installments (“time-price differential”) rather than in 
one lump sum.  The total of the time-price differential 

and any broker’s fee or commission can exceed the 8% 
limit.  The act defines a “broker” as a person who is 
paid to negotiate, solicit, arrange, place, or find a home 
loan for a lender to make.   
 
CHARGE FOR PAYOFF STATEMENT 

 
The law requires a lender to give the borrower, his 

agent, or his attorney, upon request, a statement 
showing the loan account status, sums due, and daily 
interest rate (“payoff statement”).  The act prohibits the 
lender from imposing any fee or charge for the first 
payment statement requested each year, unless the 
person making the request agrees to pay a fee for 
expedited delivery of the payoff statement and the 
lender delivers it on time. 
 
 
PA 01-48—sHB 6130 
Banks Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE CONNECTICUT 
UNIFORM SECURITIES ACT AND NOTICES 
ISSUED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF BANKING 
 
SUMMARY: This act applies the same provisions that 
govern withdrawal from registration as a broker-dealer, 
investment adviser, or agent to withdrawal of 
applications for registration.  It also allows the banking 
commissioner to accelerate the effective date of the 
withdrawal unless a denial is pending when the 
application is filed.  It amends the definitions of 
“broker-dealer” and “investment adviser” to conform to 
federal securities law.  

The act allows the commissioner to accept a 
consent order from any person he notifies after finding 
that the person violated any provision of the Uniform 
Securities Act.  It expands delivery options for notices 
and orders pursuant to the act to include any express 
delivery carrier that provides a dated delivery receipt.  It 
also requires parties sending notices and orders by 
registered mail to request a return receipt. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
WITHDRAWAL OF REGISTRATION 
APPLICATION 

 
The act adds to the provisions governing 

withdrawal from registration the withdrawal of an 
application for registration as a broker-dealer, agent, 
investment adviser, or investment adviser agent.  It also 
applies the effective date of the withdrawal of the 
registration application, currently 90 days after receipt 
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of an application to withdraw, to receipt of a notice of 
intent to withdraw an application for registration.   

The act allows the commissioner to accelerate this 
effective date unless a denial is pending when the 
application or notice is filed, or a proceeding to deny is 
instituted within 90 days after filing.  Prior law allowed 
the commissioner to hasten the effective date unless a 
revocation or suspension proceeding was pending when 
the application was filed, or a proceeding to revoke, 
suspend, or impose conditions on the withdrawal was 
instituted within 90 days. 

The act also allows the commissioner to start a 
denial proceeding within one year after withdrawal 
becomes effective, even if withdrawal had already 
become effective for lack of an earlier proceeding.  The 
law already allowed the commissioner to begin a 
revocation or suspension proceeding within one year 
under these circumstances.   

 
VIOLATIONS OF CONNECTICUT UNIFORM 
SECURITIES ACT 

 
The act allows the commissioner to order any 

person who directly or indirectly controls someone who 
has violated a regulation, rule, or order adopted or 
issued under the Connecticut Uniform Securities Act to 
make restitution or repay any money obtained as a result 
of a dishonest or unethical practice or a violation of the 
act. 

Under prior law, after the commissioner ordered a 
person to cease and desist violating the act or make 
restitution or repayment as a result of a violation, he 
could accept a respondent’s agreement to enter into a 
written consent order instead of having a hearing.  The 
commissioner had complete discretion over whether to 
accept the consent order.  The act applies the provisions 
governing consent orders to the commissioner’s option 
of sending notice to anyone he finds, after an 
investigation, has violated the act.  This permits him to 
accept a consent order from anyone he finds violating 
the act. 

 
DELIVERY SERVICES 

 
The act allows the commissioner to send by any 

express delivery carrier that provides a dated delivery 
receipt: (1) notice to a person charged with violating the 
Uniform Securities Act or Business Opportunity 
Investment Act and (2) a copy of an order assessing a 
fine for violating either act or failing to appear at a 
related hearing. Prior law permitted him to send only by 
certified or registered mail, return receipt requested. 

The act allows the commissioner to send notice by 
any express delivery carrier that provides a dated 

delivery receipt to (1) any person he finds, after an 
investigation, has violated banking law; (2) a licensee 
whose license he issued and intends to suspend, revoke, 
or refuse to renew; (3) any person he believes has 
violated, is violating, or is about to violate any provision 
of banking law; (4) any officer or director of any 
Connecticut bank or Connecticut credit union that he 
finds, after an investigation, has engaged in prohibited 
activities; and (5) a mortgagor, if he finds that a 
mortgage servicing company has violated banking law 
and owes restitution.  Prior law allowed the 
commissioner to send these notices only by registered 
mail, return receipt requested.   

The act allows plaintiffs to send notice that process 
was served at the commissioner’s office and a copy of 
the process to the defendant or respondent by any 
express delivery carrier that provides a dated delivery 
receipt.  It also requires the plaintiff, if he sends the 
notice and copy by registered mail, to request a return 
receipt.  These provisions apply to actions arising from 
violations of the Uniform Securities and Business 
Opportunity Investment Acts. 

The act also allows the commissioner to send notice 
by any express delivery carrier that provides a dated 
delivery receipt to the lessee of any safe, vault, or box at 
a Connecticut branch of a foreign bank that he is 
liquidating.  Under prior law, he could send notice only 
by registered mail.  The act requires him to request a 
return receipt if sending the notice by registered mail. 
 
 
PA 01-56—sSB 793 
Banks Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING MONEY 
TRANSMISSION 
 
SUMMARY: This act expands licensing requirements 
for people and businesses wishing to engage in money 
transmission.  It requires license applications to include 
information on additional shareholders and on the 
applicants’ legal and criminal histories.  It also specifies 
that bond and surety investment proceeds may still be 
considered held in trust even if commingled with other 
funds.  It establishes new guidelines for the banking 
commissioner to use when examining licensees and 
their agents, as well as for approving, investigating, and 
revoking licenses.   

The act changes the name of the act governing 
money transmission from “Money Order and Travelers 
Check Licensees Act” to “Money Transmission Act.”  It 
specifies banking entities that are exempt from its 
provisions.  It also makes minor and technical changes. 
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EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001  
 
LICENSE APPLICATIONS 

 
Identity of Applicants 

 
Under prior law, a license application for a 

corporation had to include the name and address of any 
shareholder owning 20% or more of each class of 
securities.  The act reduces that threshold to 10% or 
more.  It also requires corporations and associations to 
include information about the applicant, partners, 
directors, trustees, principal officers, and shareholders 
owning at least 10% of each class of securities.  Under 
the act, the information must be sufficient for the 
commissioner to make necessary findings concerning 
the applicants’ financial condition and integrity before 
granting the license.  Prior law already required 
submission of the applicants’ names and addresses. 

 
Material Litigation and Criminal Convictions 

 
The act requires an application to include a history 

of any material litigation and criminal convictions for 
the five years before the application for (1) an 
individual applicant and (2) the partners, if the applicant 
is a partnership.  Corporate and association applications 
must contain the history and sufficient information 
about the litigation and convictions for the directors, 
trustees, principal officeholders, and shareholders 
owning 10% or more of each class of securities.  The act 
defines “material litigation” as any litigation that is 
significant to a person’s financial health and would need 
to be reported in a financial statement or report to 
shareholders. 

 
Statement of Activities 

 
The act adds a requirement that an applicant for a 

new or renewed license state whether he will engage in 
the business of money transmission.  Prior law required 
an applicant to state whether he would issue money 
orders, travelers checks, or electronic payment 
instruments.  The act defines “money transmission” as 
engaging in the business of receiving money for 
transmission or transmitting money by payment 
instrument, wire, facsimile, electronic transfer, or other 
means.   

 
Application Fees 

 
The act explicitly removes the $500 investigation 

fee for a renewal license.  This eliminates a conflict 
between two statutes, one imposing the $500 fee and the 

other exempting licensees from it.   
 
Conditional License 

 
The act adds to the findings the commissioner must 

make before conditionally approving any license 
application.  He must find the applicant or applicants to 
be properly qualified and of good character.  This 
provision applies to individuals; partners; and each 
association or corporation’s president, executive 
committee chairman, senior officer responsible for the 
corporation’s business, chief financial officer, and other 
people performing similar functions, as well as the 
directors, trustees, and shareholders owning 10% or 
more of each class of securities. 

 
SURETY BONDS AND INVESTMENTS 

 
Under the law, applicants for a new or renewed 

license have to file a corporate surety bond with the 
commissioner or invest a like amount instead.  The 
amount of the bond varies depending on the volume of 
the applicant’s business.  Each licensee is also required 
to maintain investments worth at least the amount of its 
outstanding payment instruments.   

The act specifies that bond and surety investment 
proceeds, even if commingled with other funds, will be 
considered held in trust for the benefit of anyone who 
brings a successful claim against the licensee.  The 
funds can be used to pay the claimant the amount a 
bankrupt licensee owes for the receipt, handling, 
transmission, or payment of money for selling or issuing 
a payment instrument or money transmission.  The 
bank’s creditors or judgment holders cannot attach the 
proceeds. 

 
EXAMINATION OF A LICENSEE 

 
The act removes the commissioner’s annual 

examination requirement, but it authorizes him to 
examine a licensee’s agents and subagents.  It allows 
him to accept any other state or federal supervisory 
agency’s report, or that of an affiliated organization or 
independent accounting firm, instead of conducting his 
own examination, and to consider this as an official 
examination report.  Prior law allowed him to accept 
only a report from an independent certified public 
accountant in place of the annual examination.  The act 
allows the commissioner to enter into cooperative, 
coordinating, and information-sharing agreements with 
any of these groups regarding examinations, 
examination fees, or other supervision of people 
engaged in the business of money transmission. 
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LICENSEE’S LIABILITY 
 

The act makes a licensee liable for any loss caused 
to a buyer or holder of the licensee’s payment 
instruments because of an agent or subagent’s failure to 
forward money received for transmission to the 
licensee.  Under prior law, licensees were liable for their 
agents’ failure to deliver money when they sold or 
delivered travelers’ checks, money orders, and 
electronic payment instruments. 

 
INVESTIGATION AND REVOCATION 

 
Investigation of a Licensee 

 
The act broadens the commissioner’s ability to 

investigate licensees’ conduct by allowing him to 
investigate and hold hearings to determine if someone is 
about to violate a provision regarding money 
transmission. The law continues to require the 
commissioner to investigate and conduct hearings to 
determine if a licensee or other person has violated a 
provision of banking law.  And it allows him to ask for 
an injunction, restitution, or civil penalty when it 
appears someone is about to violate the law.   

 
Revocation of a License 

 
By removing the requirement that a violation of 

money transmission laws be willful before the 
commissioner may suspend or revoke a license, the act 
allows him to suspend or revoke a license for any 
violation of money transmission laws. 

 
Termination of Agency Relationship 

 
The act allows the commissioner to order a licensee 

to end its agency relationship with any agent or any 
subagent who refuses to allow an examination of its 
books and records regarding the licensee’s business. 

 
EXEMPTIONS 

 
The act specifies the banking entities that are 

exempt from the provisions of the Money Transmission 
Act.  Under prior law, only banks insured by the Federal 
Deposit Insurance Corporation were exempt.  The act 
specifically exempts federally insured banks, out-of-
state banks, and Connecticut, federal, and out-of-state 
credit unions, provided they do not issue or sell payment 
instruments or transmit money through agents or 
subagents that are not also exempt.  These entities are 
subject to the act in their capacities as agents of the 
licensee.  The act also exempts a person whose activity 

is limited to the electronic funds transfer of 
governmental benefits for a governmental, quasi-
governmental, or government-sponsored entity.  It 
removes an obsolete provision exempting telegraph and 
cable transmission companies. 
 
 
PA 01-76—sHB 6132 
Banks Committee 
General Law Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING FINANCIAL PRIVACY 
 
SUMMARY: This act brings state law governing 
privacy of financial records into compliance with the 
federal Gramm-Leach-Bliley Financial Modernization 
Act of 1999.   It repeals obsolete provisions and makes 
consumer protection laws applicable to bank branches’ 
disclosure of financial records. 

The act also makes certain technical changes.   
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 

 
FINANCIAL PRIVACY 

 
The act requires a bank, a Connecticut credit union, 

a federal credit union, an out-of-state bank that 
maintains a branch in Connecticut, an out-of-state trust 
company or credit union that maintains an office in 
Connecticut, a licensee under Connecticut banking law, 
or any person subject to the jurisdiction of the banking 
commissioner under Connecticut securities law to 
comply with the financial privacy provisions of the 
Gramm-Leach-Bliley Financial Modernization Act of 
1999 and associated regulations.  The act provides that 
to the extent that Gramm-Leach-Bliley conflicts with 
state law, the law that gives customers greater 
protection controls. 

 
CONSUMER PROTECTION 

 
The act applies state disclosure of financial records 

laws to Connecticut branches of out-of-state banks.  It 
also applies existing consumer protection provisions to 
an out-of-state bank’s merger with, or acquisition of, a 
branch of an out-of-state bank with a branch in 
Connecticut.   

By law, consumer protection provisions applicable 
to Connecticut branches of out-of-state banks include 
those related to deposits, types of identification required 
to establish an account at a Connecticut bank or credit 
union, interest on savings deposit accounts, deposit 
account contracts, creditors’ collection practices, 
interest and finance charge rebates, consumer credit 
reports, mortgages, retail installment sales financing, 
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and consumer collection agencies. 
 

BACKGROUND 
 

Gramm-Leach-Bliley Financial Modernization Act of 
1999 

 
Subtitle A of Title V of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley 

Financial Modernization Act of 1999 is entitled 
“Disclosure of Nonpublic Personal Information” (15 
U.S.C. §6801, et seq.).  It limits the circumstances under 
which a financial institution can disclose nonpublic 
personal information about a consumer to nonaffiliated 
third parties.  It also requires financial institutions to 
disclose to their customers the institution’s financial 
privacy policies and practices with respect to affiliated 
and nonaffiliated parties. 
 
 
PA 01-175—sHB 5732 
Banks Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING IDENTIFICATION 
REQUIRED FOR CHECK CASHING AND 
CONCERNING STATE AND NATIONAL 
CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORDS CHECKS 
 
SUMMARY: This act (1) expands the circumstances 
under which people seeking certain state licenses or 
state contracts must undergo criminal records checks, 
(2) establishes a generic criminal records check 
procedure and mandates its use when any state statute 
requires such checks, and (3) requires banks to cash 
checks up to $500 if proper identification is presented 
and certain conditions are met.   

It specifies that a criminal records check must be 
requested from the Department of Public Safety's (DPS) 
State Police Bureau of Identification and apply only to 
the individual identified in the request. It (1) specifies 
that the "requesting party" must arrange for 
fingerprinting or conducting other methods of positive 
identification that the bureau or Federal Bureau of 
Investigation (FBI) may require; (2) directs the state 
bureau to conduct the state criminal history records 
check; and (3) if a national criminal history records 
check is requested, directs the bureau to submit the 
fingerprints or other positive identifying information to 
the FBI, unless the FBI permits the requesting party to 
submit them directly.  The act incorporates these 
procedures into existing statutes requiring criminal 
history records checks and some that require 
fingerprinting for unspecified purposes.  

The act requires checks of applicants for nursing 
home operator licenses, Connecticut Lottery 

Corporation contractors, and some parole board jobs, 
but it eliminates checks previously required for people 
caring for children at retail "drop in" facilities. 

The act also establishes a generic fee structure, 
which replaces the specific fees prescribed under some 
of the affected laws. 

Some of these changes are required to conform 
state laws to a federal law limiting the FBI's authority to 
conduct national criminal history records checks.   
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001, except the check 
cashing and school job applicant criminal records check 
provisions take effect October 1, 2001. 
 
CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORDS CHECKS 

 
Changes to the Laws 

 
The act's new procedures apply to, and replace 

existing requirements for, checks of: 
1. public school job applicants; 
2. prospective Division of Special Revenue 

(DSR) employees and racetrack, fronton, 
parimutuel, casino, and lottery corporation 
license applicants; 

3. school bus driver endorsement applicants; 
4. applicants for jobs in licensed child day care 

centers and homes; 
5. unlicensed nonrelative caregivers applying for 

child care subsidies under the Department of 
Social Services' (DSS) child care program; 

6. unlicensed relative caregivers whom DSS 
suspects of having been convicted of a crime 
that makes them ineligible for child care 
subsidy payments; 

7. job applicants for Correction Department 
positions that involve direct contact with 
inmates; 

8. pawnbroker and precious metals dealer license 
applicants (checks are at the discretion of local 
police chiefs or first selectmen); 

9. Department of Environmental Protection 
permit, registration, certificate, or other license 
applicants and proposed transferees (checks are 
at the department's discretion); 

10. hand gun permit and eligibility certificate 
applicants; 

11. bail bondsman, surety bail bond agent, and bail 
enforcement agent license applicants;  

12. private detective and investigator and 
watchman, guard, and patrol service license 
applicants; and  

13. applicants for licenses to store, transport, or use 
explosives. 
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Prior Background Check Laws 
 
These state and national criminal history records 

check requirements replace prior fingerprinting only 
requirements for DRS license and job applicants and 
applicants for licenses as bail bondsmen; private 
detectives or investigators; explosives handlers; and 
watchman, guard, or patrol service operators.  They also 
require state and national checks of Lottery Corporation 
employees and contractors.  Prior law authorized, but 
did not require, criminal records checks for lottery 
employees, and required state checks only for 
contractors.   

The act also permits local officials to require 
pawnbrokers and jewelers to submit to both state and 
national checks, rather than national checks only, and 
makes the same requirement mandatory for pistol 
permit and bail enforcement agent license applicants.  
Finally, it requires state and national checks of DCF 
licensees, who under prior law were subject to 
undefined "criminal records checks." In most cases, 
these changes conform with current practices. 

 
Nursing Home Owner and Operator License Applicants 

 
Prior law required the State Police to assist the 

Public Health Department with criminal background 
investigations of people applying for licenses to 
establish, conduct, operate, or maintain a nursing home. 
Under the act, applicants must submit to state and 
national criminal history checks instead. 

 
Lottery Corporation Prime Contractors 

 
By law, the DSR director cannot award contracts 

for providing facilities, components, goods, or services 
to any person or corporation unless the bidder submits 
to a State Police background investigation or already 
has a special revenue vendor license. The act requires 
such bidders to submit also to state and national 
criminal history background checks. It specifies that the 
State Police background investigation must follow the 
statute governing the division's licensing of racetrack, 
jai alai, and off-track betting personnel and entities. The 
statute cited in the act does not address State Police 
investigations, but in practice, the State Police 
investigates the background of people seeking these 
licenses. 

 
Parole Board Employees 

 
The act requires the Parole Board chairman to 

require each applicant for a position involving direct 
contact with inmates or parolees or allowing access to 

criminal history information to (1) tell whether he has 
ever been convicted of a crime or has criminal charges 
pending and (2) submit to state and national criminal 
history records checks.  
 
Fees 

 
The act permits DPS to pass on to state agencies the 

FBI's fee when they request a national criminal history 
check. It specifies that agencies must reimburse DPS, 
and can pass this charge on to the individual identified 
in the request, unless the law requiring the particular 
check provides otherwise. By law or regulation, 
agencies already can pass on the FBI fee to school 
employee, bus driver, and some childcare personnel 
applicants.  

When a person asks for the check, DPS can charge 
both the FBI fee and its own fee (if both national and 
state checks were requested).  

 
IDENTIFICATION REQUIRED FOR CHECK 
CASHING 

 
The act requires the main and branch offices of 

Connecticut and federal banks to cash checks for up to 
$500 that are payable at the bank or are drawn on an 
account held at the bank.  The bank’s duty is 
conditioned on: (1) the check being presented to the 
bank by the person listed as the payee on it, (2) the 
account containing enough money to pay the check, and 
(3) the person cashing the check providing sufficient 
identification and such other information as the bank 
requires for reporting and recordkeeping.  The act 
prohibits a bank from requiring more than two forms of 
identification when the customer provides: (1) a U.S. 
passport, (2) a driver’s license, or (3) a Department of 
Motor Vehicles identity card.   

The act allows a bank to disregard these provisions 
and refuse to pay a check if it determines such action is 
necessary to protect its customer or itself against 
potential fraud or loss, or to otherwise comply with 
applicable law. 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
Federal Law 

 
Under PL 92-544, the FBI can comply with states' 

requests for national criminal records checks only if the 
state law:  

1. authorizes it, 
2. requires fingerprinting of the applicant, 
3. expressly or by implication authorizes use of 

FBI records for screening the applicant, 
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4. is not against public policy, and 
5. specifically identifies the category of 

applicants or licensees for which FBI checks 
are authorized. 

 
Related Acts 

 
PA 01-30 modifies some of the criminal 

background check procedures for gun permit applicants. 
PA 01-173 requires criminal records checks of 

public assistance recipients placed in schools through 
employment programs if their positions involve direct 
contact with students.  It also shortens the time within 
which school employees must submit to these checks. 
 
 
PA 01-183—SB 1064 
Banks Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING BANK TRANSACTIONS 
 
SUMMARY: This act changes and reorganizes bank 
transaction fees and amends the requirements for bank 
examination by accountants. It addresses establishing, 
converting, and closing Connecticut banks and 
branches, including conversion to an uninsured bank.   
It replaces an outdated provision for troubled banks with 
new powers for the banking commissioner when banks 
are in danger of insolvency.  

The act also makes technical changes, including 
changing the word “expand” to “convert” when 
describing a community bank’s change to another type 
of bank to more accurately reflect the conversion 
process.   
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage, except the section 
on transaction fees, which takes effect July 1, 2001.  
 
FEES 

 
The act reorganizes bank transaction fees based on 

the type of transaction involved and reduces, eliminates, 
and establishes certain application fees.  The fee for 
selling a branch is still $2,000, except that there is no 
fee for selling a branch of a Connecticut bank to another 
Connecticut bank or a Connecticut credit union.  Fee 
changes are as follows: 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Transaction Prior Fee New Fee 
Establishment of an 
out-of-state branch 

None Up to $2,000 

Establishment of an 
out-of-state limited or 
mobile branch 

None Up to $1,500 

Relocation of a branch 
or a limited branch 

$1,500 $500 

Conversion from a 
branch to a limited 
branch 

Up to $2,000 $500 

Conversion of a limited 
branch to a branch 

Up to $2,000 $500 

Conversion to an 
uninsured bank 

None $15,000 

Expanding community 
and uninsured banks’ 
powers 

None $2,500 

Buying, altering, or 
improving real estate 

None $500 

Application to sell a 
special need or mobile 
branch 

Up to $1,500 None 
 

Investigating and 
processing an 
acquisition statement 

None $2,500  

Miscellaneous 
investigations 

$150 per day Actual cost of 
investigation 

 
ORGANIZATION OF COMMUNITY BANK 

 
The act eliminates the 9.9% cap on the amount of 

the bank’s capital stock that any person organizing a 
capital stock community bank may acquire. 
 
ANNUAL EXAMINATION BY ACCOUNTANTS 

 
Connecticut Banks 

 
The law requires each Connecticut bank’s 

governing board to choose accountants to examine or 
audit the bank annually.  The act requires the 
accountants to agree to provide related working papers, 
policies, and procedures to the banking commissioner 
upon request.  They must also submit their signed report 
to the board within a reasonable period of time after the 
examination.  Under prior law, the accountants had to 
submit the report within 90 days after the audit or 
examination began.  The act requires the bank to keep 
the report on file and file a copy with the commissioner.   
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Bank Subsidiaries of Holding Companies 
 
The act allows the governing board of a holding 

company’s subsidiary bank to file a signed consolidated 
report of the audit or examination of the holding 
company, instead of that of the bank, so long as the 
bank’s governing board agrees to accept the report as 
satisfactory before it hires an accountant, and the 
commissioner approves.  The accountants must follow 
the same procedures as accountants examining a 
Connecticut bank.  The bank must keep the report on 
file and file a copy with the commissioner. 

 
CONVERTING, ESTABLISHING, AND CLOSING 
BANKS AND BRANCHES 

 
Capital Stock Bank to National Bank 

 
The act requires a capital stock Connecticut bank 

converting to a national bank to notify the banking 
commissioner of its intent to convert when it submits its 
application to the Office of the Comptroller of the 
Currency.  It must also submit its charter to the 
commissioner when the conversion takes place. 

 
Limited Branch to Branch 

 
The act allows a limited branch to convert to a 

branch with the commissioner’s approval, so long as he 
considers the same factors as he does when approving 
the establishment of a branch. These factors include 
whether (1) establishing the branch will result in too 
many banks or branches in the town or surrounding 
area, (2) establishing the branch is consistent with safe 
and sound banking practices in the town or surrounding 
area, (3) the Connecticut bank seeking approval plans to 
operate the branch on a long-term basis, and (4) the 
Connecticut bank will continue to maintain a reasonable 
ratio of loans made in the state to deposits received from 
state residents.  The commissioner must also find that 
the bank has an excellent record of community 
reinvestment and can meet the banking needs of all 
community residents.  

 
Fiduciary Bank to a Bank Accepting Deposits 

 
The act permits a Connecticut bank organized to 

function solely in a fiduciary capacity to convert to a 
bank authorized to accept retail deposits.  It requires a 
converting fiduciary bank to follow the same procedures 
as a converting uninsured bank, including filing a 
proposed plan of conversion and obtaining the 
commissioner’s approval. 

 

Establishing a Special Need Limited Branch 
 
The act renames a limited branch that a Connecticut 

bank may establish to serve the special needs of the 
branch’s neighborhood as a “special need limited 
branch.”  

 
Closing a Branch, Limited Branch, or Mobile Branch 

 
The act requires a Connecticut bank that wants to 

close a mobile branch to notify the commissioner of the 
proposed closing at least 30 days before the closing 
date.  The notice must include a detailed statement of 
the bank’s reasons and statistical and other information 
to support the decision.  A bank that proposes to close 
any predetermined location of a mobile branch must 
notify the commissioner before closing it. 

The act authorizes the commissioner, upon 
receiving notice of a branch, limited branch, or mobile 
branch’s intent to close, to require the bank to provide 
additional information.   

 
COMMISSIONER’S POWERS REGARDING BANKS 
IN DANGER OF INSOLVENCY 

 
The act repeals outdated provisions regarding 

troubled banks. It authorizes the commissioner to 
require certain Connecticut banks to pledge sufficient 
assets to meet the commissioner's costs and expenses if 
the bank is placed in receivership or conservatorship. 
He may do this for financially troubled uninsured banks 
and banks organized to function solely in a fiduciary 
capacity that may be unable to pay their obligations in 
the normal course of business or are likely to incur 
losses that could deplete all or almost all of their capital. 
He may also invoke this authority for uninsured banks 
that are unlikely to be able to meet their depositors' 
demands. The commissioner can choose the bank in 
which the assets will be deposited, the form in which 
the assets will be deposited, and the conditions to which 
they will be subject.  

 
HOLDING COMPANY AND BANKING 
CORPORATION SUBSIDIARIES 
 

The act eliminates the requirement that a holding 
company or a banking corporation’s subsidiary first get 
the banking commissioner’s approval and pay him a 
processing fee before establishing or maintaining an 
office in Connecticut to engage in banking activities 
other than deposit services.   
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CONVERSION FROM INSURED TO UNINSURED 
BANK 

 
Requirements for Conversion 

 
The act establishes a procedure for an insured 

Connecticut bank to convert to an uninsured bank.  It 
must file a proposed plan of conversion and a copy of 
the proposed certificate of incorporation, along with a 
certificate from the converting bank’s secretary that a 
majority of the governing board and at least two-thirds 
of the bank’s stockholders or corporators approved them 
both.  Any stockholder can file a written objection with 
the bank’s secretary on or before the date of the 
shareholder vote on conversion and can make written 
demand within 10 days after the vote for payment of the 
fair value of his stock.  He will have the same rights as a 
shareholder who dissents from the merger of two or 
more capital stock Connecticut banks. 

Once the banking commissioner has approved the 
conversion, the converting bank must liquidate all of its 
retail deposits.  It must file with the commissioner: (1) 
written notice of its intent to liquidate; (2) its liquidation 
plan; and (3) its proposed notice to depositors, approved 
and executed by a majority of the governing board.  The 
commissioner may not approve a sale of the bank’s 
retail deposits if it would result in the purchasing 
insured depository institution and its affiliates 
controlling 30% or more of the deposits in Connecticut-
insured depository institutions, unless the commissioner 
allows a greater percentage.  Both converting and 
purchasing banks must also file with the commissioner a 
written agreement approved and executed by a majority 
of each bank’s governing boards and specifying the 
terms and conditions of the sale. 

 
Commissioner’s Approval 

 
The act requires the commissioner to approve a 

conversion if he determines that the converting bank 
has: (1) complied with applicable laws; (2) equity 
capital of at least $5 million (unless the commissioner 
allows a lower level); (3) received satisfactory ratings 
on its most recent state or federal safety and soundness 
examination; and (4) liquidated all of its retail deposits 
and has no Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation-
insured deposits.  The commissioner must also 
determine that the proposed conversion is in the public’s 
interest. 

 
 
 
 
 

Authority of Resulting Bank 
 
Once the commissioner approves a bank’s 

conversion, the act requires the bank to file the approval 
and the bank’s certificate of incorporation with the 
secretary of the state and with the clerk of the town 
where the bank has its principal office.  Once it has 
filed, the bank becomes an uninsured bank and cannot 
accept retail deposits.  It has all of the rights, privileges, 
and powers of an uninsured Connecticut bank and 
retains all of its assets and business.  It is subject to all 
of the duties, relations, obligations, trusts, and liabilities 
of the predecessor Connecticut bank (which the act calls 
the “converting bank”), whether as a debtor, depository, 
registrar, transfer agent, executor, administrator, or 
otherwise, and is liable to the same extent and has the 
same duties as if it had acquired the obligations itself.  
The rights of the predecessor bank’s creditors and 
lienholders survive the conversion, and the uninsured 
bank is entitled to receive, accept, collect, hold, and 
enjoy gifts, bequests, devises, conveyances, trusts, and 
appointments in the predecessor bank’s favor or name, 
regardless of whether they were intended for the bank 
before or after conversion. 

Unless a bank converted solely to operate in a 
fiduciary capacity, a converted bank cannot exercise any 
fiduciary powers.  This does not apply if the 
commissioner gives the bank express authority or gave 
this authority to the predecessor bank. 

 
Directors’ Powers 

 
Directors named in the original certificate of 

incorporation are directors of the converted bank until 
the first annual election of directors after conversion or 
until their terms expire.  They have the power to adopt 
bylaws and do what is necessary to manage the 
converted bank. 

 
Franchise Tax 

 
The converted bank must pay the franchise tax on 

any increase of its capital stock.  It may subtract from its 
obligation any franchise tax the predecessor bank paid. 
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PA 01-176—SB 546 
Select Committee on Children 
Education Committee 
Human Services Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING CASE PLANNING 
INFORMATION 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires the Department of 
Children and Families (DCF), the Judicial Department, 
entities with which these agencies contract, and boards 
of education to provide school superintendents with any 
educational records in their custody about a serious 
juvenile offender entering or returning to school from 
placement in a juvenile detention center, the 
Connecticut Juvenile Training School, or any other 
residential placement.  They must do this before the 
child returns to or enters school.  It specifies that receipt 
of these records cannot delay a child from enrolling in 
school.  The act requires the school superintendent to 
provide the records to the principal of the school the 
child will attend.  The principal, in turn, must disclose 
them to appropriate staff. 

By law, DCF must notify a superintendent before a 
serious juvenile offender is returned to school from its 
custody if it believes the child may pose an imminent 
risk of physical harm to others.  The superintendent 
must notify the school principal, who can disclose this 
information to selected professionals in order to assess 
the risk the child poses. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 

PA 01-181—sHB 6147 
Select Committee on Children 
Judiciary Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Human Services Committee 
Education Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING GENDER SPECIFIC 
SERVICES AND PROGRAMS FOR JUVENILE 
OFFENDERS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act makes assuring that programs 
for juvenile offenders are gender specific one of the 
goals of the state’s juvenile justice system.  It requires 
the Judicial Branch’s Office of Alternative Sanctions to 
ensure that all of its crime prevention and reduction 
programs for juvenile offenders are gender specific, if 
necessary.  And it requires the Department of Children 
and Families (DCF) commissioner to assure that the 
department’s programs for juvenile offenders under its 
supervision are gender specific.  Under the act, a 

program is gender specific if it comprehensively 
addresses the unique needs of a targeted gender. 

Finally, the act specifies that mental health services 
are included in the community-based programs the DCF 
commissioner is responsible for promoting in order to 
prevent juvenile crime and minimize children’s 
involvement with the juvenile justice system. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 

PA  01-190—HB 5933 
Select Committee on Children 
Human Services Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
Legislative Management Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE CARE OF HIGH-
RISK NEWBORNS 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires the Department of 
Children and Families (DCF) to adopt regulations by 
October 1, 2002, concerning procedures for the 
principal providers of daily direct care to “high-risk” 
newborns in hospitals (e.g., nurses and nursing 
assistants) to participate in ongoing DCF functions 
concerning the infant and in planning for the infant’s 
discharge from the hospital.  The act defines a high-risk 
newborn as one who meets DCF regulatory or policy 
criteria. 

The act also requires all birthing hospitals to 
provide education and training for nurses and other staff 
who care for high-risk newborns on their 
responsibilities as mandated child abuse and neglect 
reporters.  The law requires physicians and interns, 
registered and licensed practical nurses, physician’s 
assistants, and any person paid to care for a child in any 
public or private facility, among others, to report to 
DCF within 24 hours of having reasonable cause to 
believe a child has been abused or neglected and to 
follow up with a written report within 48 hours. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001 
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PA 01-96—HB 6676 
Commerce Committee 
 
AN ACT IMPLEMENTING THE LEGISLATIVE 
COMMISSIONERS' RECOMMENDATIONS FOR 
TECHNICAL REVISIONS TO THE COMMERCE 
STATUTES 
 
SUMMARY: This act makes technical changes to the 
economic development statutes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-153—sHB 6564 
Commerce Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE DUTIES OF THE 
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF CONNECTICUT 
INNOVATIONS, INCORPORATED 
 
SUMMARY: This act eliminates the requirement that 
the executive director of Connecticut Innovations, Inc. 
(CII) serve as its chief administrative and operational 
officer, though he must still direct and supervise CII’s 
administration and management. CII is a quasi-public 
agency that provides funds to individuals, companies, 
and universities researching and developing new 
products and technologies. It is governed by a 15-
member board consisting of state officials and 
gubernatorial and legislative appointees.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-179—sSB 823 
Commerce Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING ISSUANCE OF BONDS 
BY THE CONNECTICUT DEVELOPMENT 
AUTHORITY AND ITS SUBSIDIARIES ON 
BEHALF OF MUNICIPALITIES FOR 
INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY AND 
REMEDIATION PROJECTS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act allows the Connecticut 
Development Authority (CDA) or its subsidiaries to 
issue bonds on behalf of towns for information 
technology (IT) and brownfield remediation projects.  
CDA and its subsidiaries can approve projects for this 
type of financing until June 30, 2005.  They or the 
towns are liable for the bonds, which can be repaid with 

the project’s income and revenue, including incremental 
property tax revenue and payments in lieu of taxes.  
CDA must issue these bonds without a capital reserve 
fund.  It may issue them without the treasurer’s 
approval.  

CDA can already issue bonds on behalf of towns to 
finance a wider range of projects that are part of a plan 
to redevelop a locally designated area. Towns are solely 
liable for these bonds. The act allows CDA’s 
subsidiaries to issue bonds for these projects as well.  

When issuing bonds for town-sponsored projects, 
the act allows CDA or its subsidiaries to require the 
developers to waive some or all of the state-reimbursed 
property tax exemptions available for projects in towns 
with enterprise zones.   

The act allows CDA to buy back its debt.  It also 
allows CDA to grant money to its subsidiaries and 
guarantee their debt.  Under prior law, CDA could only 
lend money to the subsidiaries. The act also updates 
statutory references regarding CDA’s powers.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001   
 
INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY AND 
BROWNFIELD REMEDIATION PROJECTS 
 
Local Legislative Body Authorization 
 

The act allows CDA and its subsidiaries, without 
the state treasurer’s approval, to issue bonds or other 
debt to finance IT and brownfield remediation projects 
towns sponsor. A town’s legislative body must first 
adopt a resolution authorizing the debt, which can be in 
the form of bonds, refunding bonds, notes, temporary 
notes, interim certificates, and debentures or other 
obligations. CDA can use the bond proceeds to cover 
the expense of issuing the bonds and providing the 
funds, which it can grant, lend, or use to guarantee 
loans.  

The law already allows CDA to issue bonds on 
behalf of towns to finance projects redeveloping 
designated areas under redevelopment, municipal 
development, and Manufacturing Assistance Act 
(MAA) statutes.  Towns are liable for the bonds issued 
under these statutes, including those CDA issues on 
their behalf.    
 
Eligible IT Projects 
      

The act limits IT projects CDA and its subsidiaries 
can finance to those located in targeted investment 
communities (17 towns with enterprise zones), 
distressed municipalities (25 towns), or towns with over 
100,000 people (currently 5 towns). The projects qualify 
if they make extensive use of information technologies, 
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create or retain jobs, boost exports, develop innovative 
products or services, or generally strengthen the state’s 
economic base. By law, CDA can use its High 
Technology Infrastructure Fund to finance IT projects 
anywhere in the state if they meet the last criterion.  
 
Eligible Remediation Projects 
 

The act also allows CDA and its subsidiaries to 
finance remediation projects anywhere in the state. A 
project qualifies if it meets all of the following criteria:  

1. Hazardous material was spilled, produced, or 
stored on the property or the Department of 
Environmental Protection or a licensed 
environmental professional approved a plan to 
clean up the property under a covenant not to 
sue. 

2. CDA determines the property’s remediation 
and redevelopment will generate significant 
new economic activity or jobs in the town 
where it is located or provide other economic 
benefits to the town or state. 

3. The project needs CDA funding to attract 
private investment. 

The law already allows CDA and its subsidiaries to 
use CDA’s Environmental Assistance Revolving Fund 
to finance brownfield remediation projects, including 
those towns sponsor. It also allows CDA to create 
subsidiaries specifically for remediating and developing 
brownfields.  
 
Bond Terms and Conditions 
 

The act allows CDA to issue the bonds for IT and 
remediation projects without creating a state-backed 
special capital reserve fund, which it may do when it 
issues bonds for other purposes. But it still requires 
CDA to issue these bonds the same way it issues other 
bonds. The bonds must mature within 30 years. 

Any pledges CDA, its subsidiaries, or the towns 
make to secure the bonds are valid and binding from the 
time they make the pledge.  The act automatically puts a 
lien on the amounts they collect from the sources 
pledged to secure the bonds. It does not require the town 
to record the resolution pledging these amounts.  

The act makes these liens valid and binding against 
all parties having claims of any kind in tort, contract, or 
otherwise against CDA, its subsidiaries, or the town, 
even if the parties did not know about the lien.  In other 
words, the parties can claim these amounts even though 
the amounts were pledged to repay the bonds.  
 
 
 

Securing the Bonds 
 
CDA can secure the bonds with the project’s 

property and all or some of the revenue it generates or 
receives.  This revenue includes income, government 
funds, and new property tax payments attributed to the 
project or payments or grants in lieu of property taxes 
(PILOT).  The act places a cap on the amount of bonds 
that can be backed with state grants in lieu of taxes 
based on the debt service or cost to repay the bonds.  
The total debt service cannot exceed $1 million.    

Towns can assign to CDA the liens they normally 
place on properties to secure the tax payments, thus 
transferring to CDA their powers to enforce the liens.   

The act allows towns to secure the bonds by 
dedicating the increase in real and personal property tax 
revenue the project generates or the increase in the 
amount of PILOTS they receive.  Towns can calculate 
the incremental revenue by using the same method for 
calculating incremental revenue to repay bonds issued 
to finance redevelopment, municipal development, and 
MAA projects.   

The method assumes that the assessed value of the 
real and personal property will increase and, 
consequently, tax revenue or PILOTS will also increase. 
If these values increase, towns must calculate the 
incremental amount and pay it to CDA. They calculate 
this first by determining the amount of revenue the 
unimproved property would have generated by applying 
the current mill rate or PILOT formula against the value 
of the unimproved property. They then subtract this 
amount from the amount the improved property 
generates based on those same rates.   

The act does not allow CDA to issue bonds on 
behalf of several towns implementing a joint project. 
But in describing the method for calculating the 
incremental amount, it refers to PILOTs levied or 
collected by one or more towns, districts, or other public 
taxing agencies—language that also appears in those 
sections of the redevelopment, municipal development, 
and MAA statutes authorizing tax increment financing.  
These laws allow towns to implement joint projects.  

Towns must begin paying CDA once the property’s 
assessed value increases. CDA must deposit the 
payments in a special fund established to secure the 
bonds. It can use the fund only to repay the bonds, buy 
them back, or reimburse the parties holding other forms 
of debt, including letters of credit, bond insurance, debt 
service reserve funds, and other devices used to secure 
debt service on the bonds.  Towns can stop the 
payments after CDA has paid off the debt.     
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Projects Excluded from Enterprise Zone Benefits 
 

CDA can require a project’s developer, as a 
condition of receiving bond financing, to waive some or 
all of the state-reimbursed property tax exemptions 
available to many types of projects in towns with 
enterprise zones. Normally, developers constructing, 
expanding, or rehabilitating facilities for manufacturing, 
information technology, specified services, and 
entertainment uses qualify for real and personal 
property tax exemptions.  The amount and term depend 
on the facility’s location.  The act disqualifies projects 
remediating sites in enterprise zones for residential and 
commercial uses from the seven-year property tax 
phase-in, which is not reimbursed by the state.  
 
Implementing Agencies 
 

The act allows towns to implement CDA-financed 
IT or remediation projects through nonprofit 
development corporations, specified municipal 
development agencies, and other agencies approved by 
the economic and community development 
commissioner. These are the same types of agencies 
towns can use to implement projects under MAA. 
 
LOCAL DEVELOPMENT PROJECTS 
 

As noted above, the law allows CDA to issue bonds 
on behalf of towns for projects they sponsor under the 
redevelopment, municipal development, and MAA 
statutes.  The act allows CDA’s subsidiaries to issue the 
bonds for these projects as well.   

Prior law required towns to repay the bonds solely 
with the revenue pledged when the bonds were issued.  
The act allows them to repay the bonds with all or some 
of the pledged revenue.  
 
EXPANSION OF CDA POWERS 
 

The act expands CDA’s financial powers.  The law 
already allows CDA to sell or lease all or part of a 
project; purchase mortgages banks hold on economic 
development projects; and sell, pledge, or assign these 
mortgages or CDA’s other assets, including loans, 
notes, and revenue.  The act also allows CDA to 
purchase or repurchase its own bonds and sell, pledge, 
or assign them.  It also allows CDA to issue bonds 
generally without creating a special capital reserve fund 
to secure them.    

The act expands the ways CDA can assist its 
subsidiaries financially.  Prior law limited CDA to 
lending money to its subsidiaries under its standard 
lending criteria.  The act allows CDA to grant them 

funds and guarantee their debt.   
 
BACKGROUND 

 
Towns Eligible for IT Bond Financing 

 
The act limits bond financing for IT projects to 

targeted investment communities, distressed 
municipalities, and towns with more than 100,000 
people.  The economic and community development 
commissioner calculates a new distressed municipalities 
list every year, therefore the towns included may 
change. Table 1 lists the towns that meet these criteria. 

 
Table 1: Towns Eligible for IT Bond Financing 

 
Town Targeted 

Investment 
Community 

2000 
Distressed 
Municipality 

Population 
over 100,000 

Ansonia  X  
Bridgeport X X X 
Bristol X X  
Derby  X  
East Hartford X X  
Enfield  X  
Griswold  X  
Groton X X  
Hartford X X X 
Hamden X   
Killingly  X  
Meriden X X  
Middletown X   
Naugatuck  X  
New Britain X X  
New Haven X X X 
New London X X  
Norwalk X   
Norwich X X  
Plainfield  X  
Plainville  X  
Plymouth  X  
Putnam  X  
Southington X   
Sprague  X  
Stamford X  X 
Torrington  X  
Waterbury X X X 
Winchester  X  
Windham X X  
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PA 01-184—sSB 1020 
Commerce Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE PENALTY FOR 
FALSE STATEMENTS ON APPLICATIONS FOR 
FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FROM QUASI-
PUBLIC AGENCIES 
 
SUMMARY:  Under this act, quasi-public agencies 
must require anyone who requests financial assistance 
from them to sign, under the statutory penalty of false 
statement, the application or other document upon 
which the agencies base their decisions.  

The penalty is imprisonment for up to one year, a 
maximum $2,000 fine, or both.  A person is subject to 
the penalty if he: 

1. intentionally makes a false statement under 
oath or on a form warning him that these 
statements are punishable, 

2. intends the statement to mislead a public 
servant performing his duties, and  

3. does not believe that the statement is true.  
Quasi-public agencies can impose the requirement 

on people who complete any application, agreement, 
financial statement, certificate, or other document they 
send to agencies regarding loans, mortgages, 
guarantees, investments, grants, leases, tax relief, bond 
financing, or other types of credit or financial assistance 
they provide.  

The act applies to the following agencies: 
Connecticut Development Authority, Connecticut 
Innovations, Inc., Connecticut Housing Authority, 
Health and Educational Facilities Authority, 
Connecticut Higher Education Supplemental Loan 
Authority, Connecticut Resource Recovery Authority, 
Connecticut Hazardous Waste Management Service, 
Connecticut Coastline Port Authority, Capital City 
Economic Development Authority, and the Connecticut 
Lottery Corporation. The law already allows the 
Connecticut Housing Finance Authority to impose the 
requirement with respect to any program it administers.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PA 01-210—HB 6565 
Commerce Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE TAX 
INCREMENTAL FINANCING PROGRAM 
ADMINISTERED BY THE CONNECTICUT 
DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 
 
SUMMARY: This act extends the Connecticut 
Development Authority’s (CDA) authorization to 
approve projects for funding under the Tax Increment 
Financing Program for four years, from July 1, 2001 to 
July 1, 2005.  Under this program, CDA can issue bonds 
to finance a project if it can generate enough 
incremental sales, admission, and dues tax revenue to 
repay the debt service on the bonds.   

The act also extends the time period during which 
CDA can issue bonds for the proposed Steel Point 
project in Bridgeport for two years, from January 1, 
2003 to January 1, 2005. By law, these bonds cannot 
exceed $120 million or 20% of the projected costs.  
CDA issues the bonds under its own authority and backs 
them with specified state revenue generated in the 
designated project area.    
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2001   
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PA 01-89—sHB 5254 
Education Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE CONNECTICUT 
INDEPENDENT COLLEGE STUDENT GRANT 
PROGRAM 
 
SUMMARY:  Starting with FY 2003-04, this act 
requires the Board of Governors of Higher Education to 
increase its annual appropriation request for the 
Connecticut Independent College Student (CICS) grant 
program from 17% to 25% of General Fund spending 
for each full-time-equivalent University of Connecticut 
(UConn) and Connecticut State University (CSU) 
undergraduate. CICS funds annual grants based on merit 
and financial need to Connecticut undergraduate 
students attending independent colleges in Connecticut.  
Students apply for grants at college financial aid offices. 

By law, the CICS appropriation request is 
calculated by multiplying the specified percentage of 
General Fund spending for each full-time-equivalent 
UConn and CSU undergraduate in the fiscal year two 
years before the request by the number of full-time-
equivalent undergraduates from Connecticut enrolled at 
independent colleges during the fall semester of the 
same year. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-102—sSB 1088 
Education Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE CONNECTICUT 
STUDENT LOAN FOUNDATION 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires the state to withhold the 
state income tax refund of anyone who has defaulted on 
a student loan made or guaranteed by the Connecticut 
Student Loan Foundation (CSLF).  It extends the 
existing notice and appeal procedure that applies when a 
taxpayer’s refund is withheld to satisfy a state debt or 
obligation to refunds withheld to pay student loan 
defaults. The tax refund must be applied to any debts 
the taxpayer owes to the state before being credited 
against the defaulted student loan. 

The act also expands the loans CSLF may acquire, 
sell, and service to include all types of student loans for 
postsecondary education, not just federally subsidized 
and insured ones. CSLF is a nonprofit corporation that 
administers, guarantees, finances, and services student 
loans. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 for the 

provisions dealing with state income tax refund 
withholding; upon passage for the expansion of CSLF’s 
authority to service all types of student loans. 
 
WITHHOLDING INCOME TAX REFUNDS  

 
The act requires CSLF to notify the Department of 

Administrative Services (DAS) commissioner when 
someone entitled to a state income tax refund is in 
default of a CSLF-made or guaranteed student loan.  It 
requires the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) 
commissioner to withhold the defaulter’s state income 
tax refund up to the default amount when notified by the 
DAS commissioner. The DRS commissioner must 
notify the taxpayer that he has a right to a hearing 
before an officer designated by the DAS commissioner 
if he contests the validity or amount of the claim.   

Unless the person asks for a hearing within 60 days 
after the DRS commissioner issues the withholding 
notice, the commissioner must send the withheld money 
to the DAS commissioner who, in turn, must send it to 
CSLF.  If the defaulter requests a hearing, the DRS 
commissioner must remit the tax refund according to the 
hearing officer’s decision or, if the decision is appealed 
to a court, according to the court decision. 

The act requires the commissioners and the CSLF 
president to make an agreement to credit income tax 
refunds against a taxpayer’s defaulted student loans.  
The agreement must include procedures for CSLF to (1) 
notify the DAS commissioner of defaults and the default 
amounts and (2) reimburse DRS and DAS for their 
administrative costs in carrying out the act. 
 
 
PA 01-141—sHB 6630 
Education Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING VARIOUS HIGHER 
EDUCATION ISSUES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act: 

1. authorizes the Board of Governors of Higher 
Education (BOG) to allow the Connecticut 
State University (CSU) to award education 
doctoral degrees for five years; 

2. extends the state commitment to match 
contributions to the CSU, community-technical 
college (CTC), and Charter Oak State College 
endowment funds for an additional five, and to 
the University of Connecticut (UConn) 
endowment fund for an additional seven, years; 
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3. increases the total state matching grant 
commitment for UConn endowment fund 
contributions by $115 million and decreases 
that for Charter Oak College’s endowment by 
$100,000; 

4. increases some annual matching grant limits 
for CSU, CTC, and UConn endowment fund 
donations; 

5. allows certain past alumni donations to the 
individual endowments of CSU universities to 
be eligible for state matching grants; 

6. changes qualifications for future student 
members of the CSU and UConn boards of 
trustees; 

7. eliminates a July 1, 2007 sunset date for the 
Board for State Academic Awards;  

8. eliminates a $60 million annual limit on the 
CSU Board of Trustees’ bonding requests to 
the General Assembly; and  

9. makes a technical change concerning state 
agency foundations and the Freedom of 
Information Act (FOIA). 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 for the CSU 
alumni donation provision and the FOIA change; July 1, 
2001 for the remaining provisions. 
 
CSU AWARD OF DOCTORAL DEGREES 

 
Under the act, the BOG can authorize CSU to 

award education doctoral degrees to students who enter 
the program between May 1, 2002 and January 30, 
2007.  The BOG must evaluate the program. Under 
prior law, UConn was the only public university 
authorized to grant doctoral degrees. 
 
ENDOWMENT FUND MATCHING GRANTS 

 
Extensions 
 

The act allows eligible gifts to the CTC, CSU, and 
Charter Oak College endowment funds to qualify for 
50% state matching grants for an additional five years, 
from FY 2008-09 through FY 2013-14. It allows 
donations to UConn’s endowment fund to qualify for an 
additional seven years, from FY 2006-07 through FY 
2013-14.  
 
Overall Grant Limits 
 

The act increases the state’s overall matching grant 
commitment to UConn and reduces it to Charter Oak 
College but does not change the overall commitment to 
other constituent unit funds (see Table 1).   

 

Table 1: Overall State Matching Grant Limits  
(in millions) 

 
UConn CSU CTCs Charter Oak 

Old New Old New Old New Old New 
$62.5  $177.5  $60  Same $39.5  Same $1 $0.9 
 
Annual Grant Limits  

 
The act also changes annual matching grant limits 

in some years for some constituent units and extends 
annual limits for all units as shown in Table 2. 

 
Table 2: Annual State Matching Grant Limits  

(in millions) 
 
Fiscal 
Year 

UConn CSU CTCs Charter Oak 

 Old  New 
 

Old 
 

New 
 

Old  New  Old  
 New  

01-02 $7.5 Same $5  Same $3  Same $0.1 Same 
02-03 $7.5  Same $7.5  Same $3.5  Same $0.1 Same 
03-04 $7.5  Same $7.5  Same $4  $5  $0.1 Same 
04-05 $7.5  Same $7.5  Same $4.5  $5  $0.1 Same 
05-06 $5  $10  $7.5  Same $5  Same $0.1 Same 
06-07 $5  $10  $7.5  Same $5  Same $0.1 Same 
07-08 No 

grant 
$15  $5  $7.5  $5  Same $0.1 Same 

08-09 No 
grant 

$15  $5  $7.5  $5  Same $0.1 Same 

09-14 
(per 
year) 

No 
grant 

$15  No 
grant 

$7.5  No 
grant 

$5  No 
grant 

$0.1 

 
CSU Alumni Donations 
 

The act makes alumni donations to the foundations 
of the individual CSU universities between July 1, 1997 
and September 30, 2001 retroactively eligible for state 
matching grants, as long as they do not push total 
annual state grants above the limits set in the law and 
the act. 
 
UCONN AND CSU STUDENT TRUSTEES 

 
The act requires a student member of the CSU 

Board of Trustees elected on or after November 1, 2001 
to leave the board if he ceases to be a matriculating, 
full-time undergraduate or full- or part-time graduate 
student in good standing at the state university from 
which he was elected. 

It also requires one of the student members of the 
UConn Board of Trustees to be a full-time 
undergraduate, starting with the student elected to fill 
the term ending June 30, 2003, and one a full-time 
graduate student, starting with the student elected to fill 
the term ending June 30, 2004.  It requires the 
undergraduate board member and his successors to be 
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elected by UConn undergraduates and the graduate 
member and his successors to be elected by UConn 
graduate, law, medical, social work, and dental students. 
 
 
PA 01-166—sSB 1175 
Education Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING HIGH SCHOOL 
GRADUATION AND THE CONNECTICUT 
ACADEMIC PERFORMANCE TEST 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires local and regional 
school boards, by September 1, 2002, to (1) specify the 
basic skills students in the Class 2006 and thereafter 
need to graduate from high school and (2) include a 
process for assessing students in those skills.  Boards 
must use the 10th grade Connecticut Academic 
Performance Test (CAPT) as one, but not the exclusive, 
assessment. They must also identify courses for students 
who have not successfully completed the assessments to 
help them reach satisfactory levels before graduating. 

Public school 10th graders take the CAPT every 
spring.  It assesses students’ knowledge and skill in 
mathematics, editing, literature, science, and 
interdisciplinary subjects. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-173—sSB 1122 
Education Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING REVISIONS TO THE 
EDUCATION STATUTES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act makes many revisions to the 
education statutes.  Among other things, it: 

1. limits remedial education and summer school 
requirements for 4th graders in priority school 
districts to those who fail the reading portion of 
the mastery exam;  

2. subjects high school teachers to the computer 
education professional development 
requirements already applicable to elementary 
and middle school teachers;  

3. exempts from the computer education 
requirement those teachers with demonstrable 
skills in educational technology; 

4. requires criminal history record checks for 
educators and requires the education 
commissioner to revoke or deny an educator’s 

license for commission of certain acts; and 
5. requires the State Department of Education 

(SDE) to study vocational-technical (V-T) 
school accountability. 

The act also makes changes affecting youth service 
bureau grants, minority teacher incentive programs, and 
the special education advisory council. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001, except for the 
sections dealing with youth service bureau grants, 
minority teacher incentive programs, and the special 
education advisory council, which take effect upon 
passage. 
 
REMEDIAL INSTRUCTION AND SUMMER 
SCHOOL REQUIREMENTS FOR 4TH GRADERS  

 
The act limits priority school districts’ duty to 

provide additional instruction to 4th graders to those who 
fail to meet the remedial standards on the reading 
component of the 4th grade mastery exam.  Prior law 
required them to provide extra instruction to 4th graders 
who failed any part of the exam.  The act also requires 
only the 4th graders who fail the reading component of 
the exam to attend summer school.   
 
PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT AND 
COMPUTER EDUCATION FOR TEACHERS  

 
The act exempts teachers who can show they 

successfully completed a national board certification 
assessment in their subject area from the minimum 90 
hours of continuing education they must take every five 
years to maintain state certification.  It requires certified 
high school teachers to comply with the same 15-hour 
requirement of computer training already mandated 
every five years for certified elementary and middle 
school teachers.  It exempts any teacher, regardless of 
grade level, who can demonstrate technology 
competency, in a manner his school board determines, 
based on statewide standards for teacher competency in 
the use of instructional technology. 
 
REVOKING AN EDUCATOR’S LICENSE OR 
DENYING AN APPLICATION 
 
Power to Revoke  

 
The act extends the State Board of Education’s 

(SBE) power to revoke any educator certificate to cover 
authorizations and permits, such as those held by 
athletic coaches, substitute teachers, and teachers 
teaching outside their endorsement area.  The grounds 
for revocation are the same as for certificates, namely if 
the holder (1) obtained it through fraud or 
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misrepresentation of a material fact, (2) has persistently 
neglected to perform the duties for which the credential 
was granted, (3) is professionally unfit to perform the 
duties for which the credential was granted, (4) is 
convicted of a crime of moral turpitude or of such a 
nature that the board feels that allowing the holder to 
keep the credential would impair the credential’s 
standing, or (5) for other due cause.  The act also 
requires SBE to revoke an authorization or permit, as it 
already must a certificate, if the holder breaches the 
security of a statewide mastery examination.   
 
Criminal Convictions as Basis for Revocation 
 

The act extends SBE’s authority to revoke a 
teaching certificate for specific criminal convictions to 
include authorizations and permits.  It also expands 
grounds for revoking a certificate and extends this 
provision to all credentials.   Under prior law, 
revocation was limited to conviction for second- or 
fourth-degree sexual assault and crimes involving child 
abuse.  The act expands the grounds to include 
convictions for (1) a capital felony; (2) arson murder; 
(3) any class A felony; (4) a class B felony, except first-
degree larceny, computer crime, or vendor fraud; (5) 
risk of injury to a minor; (6) deprivation of a person’s 
civil rights by a person wearing a mask or hood; (7) 
second-degree assault of an elderly, blind, disabled, 
pregnant, or mentally retarded person; (8) third- or 
fourth-degree sexual assault; (9) third-degree promoting 
prostitution; (10) substitution of children; (11) third-
degree burglary with a firearm; (12) crimes involving 
child neglect; (13) first-degree stalking; (14) incest; (15) 
obscenity as to minors; (16) importing child 
pornography; (17) criminal use of a firearm or 
electronic defense weapon; (18) possession of a weapon 
on school grounds; or (19) manufacture or sale of illegal 
drugs.   
 
Denial of Certificate Applications 
 

The act extends SBE’s power to deny certificate 
applications to include applications for authorizations or 
permits (1) if the applicant is seeking the credential 
through fraud or misrepresentation of a material fact, (2) 
if the applicant has been convicted of a crime of moral 
turpitude or of such a nature that the board feels that 
granting the credential would impair its standing, or (3) 
for other due cause.  Any applicant denied a credential 
must be notified in writing of the reasons and may 
request the board to review the denial. 
 
 
 

GROUNDS FOR DENIAL OR REFUSAL TO 
REISSUE A CERTIFICATE  
 

The act expands the convictions for which SBE 
may deny or refuse to reissue a certificate to include the 
applicant’s conviction for (1) a crime involving an act 
of child abuse or neglect and (2) second-, third-, or 
fourth-degree sexual assault. It exempts first-degree 
vendor fraud from this provision.   
 
CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD CHECKS  
 

The act reduces, from 90 to 30 days, the time public 
school employees have after they are hired to submit to 
state and national criminal history record checks.  It also 
expands the types of people who must submit to the 
checks to include workers placed in a school under a 
public assistance employment program, if they will have 
direct contact with students.  These employees also have 
30 days to submit to criminal history record checks.  
The act exempts students employed by the school 
district where they attend school from the criminal 
history record checks. 

The act requires a local or regional board of 
education that receives notice that a person holding a 
certificate, authorization, or permit issued by SBE has 
been convicted of a crime to send that notice to SBE. 

The act requires SBE to submit periodically to the 
State Police Bureau of Investigation databases of (1) all 
applicants for an initial issuance of a certificate, 
authorization, or permit as a teacher, school business 
administrator, occupational instructor, or coach and (2) 
all certificate, authorization, or permit holders.  The 
bureau must check the state criminal history records 
against the databases and notify SBE of any person with 
a criminal conviction.  The act prohibits SBE from 
issuing a certificate, authorization, or permit until it 
receives and evaluates the results of the check, and it 
allows SBE to deny an application or revoke a 
credential if the person has been convicted of a crime of 
moral turpitude or another crime that would impair 
SBE’s credentials. 
 
REFERENCE CHECKS  
 

The act requires a local or regional board of 
education to make a documented good faith effort to 
contact an applicant’s former employers for 
recommendations and information about the person’s 
fitness for employment before hiring the candidate. 
 
 
 
 



EDUCATION COMMITTEE 33 

 
2001 OLR PA Summary Book 

VOCATIONAL-TECHNICAL (V-T) SCHOOLS 
 

Expansion of Mortgage Assistance Program for 
Certified Teachers 

 
The act allows certified teachers employed by 

regional V-T schools in priority or transitional school 
districts to qualify for the Connecticut Housing Finance 
Authority’s mortgage assistance for teachers program.  
In order to be eligible for the mortgage assistance, the 
house the teacher wants to buy must be located in the 
district.  The program already applies to teachers who 
(1) are employed by a priority school district, (2) are 
employed by a transitional school district, or (3) teach in 
a subject matter shortage area.   
 
V-T School Admission Test Study 
 

The act requires SDE to study the relationship 
between V-T students’ admission scores and their 
subsequent performance in the V-T system.  The study 
must be based on students in the classes of 2003, 2004, 
and 2005.  SDE must report periodically to the 
Education Committee on the progress and results of the 
study. 

The act establishes the following timetable for SDE 
to report on the progress of the admission score study: 

 

Deadline Required Report Contents 

January 1, 2002 
 

• Number and distribution of students 
in each V-T school, by class. 

• Format and contents of initial study 
database. 

• Measures to be used to assess 
whether parts of the admission score 
accurately predict success, which 
may include 10th grade mastery test 
scores, grade-point average, class 
rank, dropout rates, and trade-
specific tests. 

• Other factors relevant to conducting 
or understanding the study. 

January 1, 2003 • Preliminary results based on data 
analysis through the first quarter of 
the 2002-03 school year, including 
the relevance of individual 
admission score components to 
assessment measures. 

• Statistics on the number of students 
from each of the classes  of 2003, 
2004, and 2005 who have withdrawn 
from V-T schools. 

January 1, 2004 • Final results for the class of 2003, 
including graduation rates and post-
graduate survey results. 

• Using those results, a prediction of 
the probability of a V-T school 
student’s success based on his 

admission score components. 
• An evaluation of the results and 

discussion of any changes needed in 
the V-T school admission process. 

January 1, 2005 • Final results for the class of 2004. 
• An explanation of any differences 

from the class of 2003. 
January 1, 2006 A final report including: 

• Final results for the class of 2005. 
• Using the results, a prediction of a 

V-T student’s probability of success 
in the system based on components 
of his admission score. 

• A description of any changes SDE 
plans to make in V-T school 
admission policies. 

 
V-T School Achievement Goals 
 

The act requires SBE to establish achievement 
goals for V-T school students at each grade level.  SBE 
must also measure the performance of each V-T school 
and identify quantifiable measures to be used, including 
performance on the 10th grade mastery and trade-related 
assessment tests, and dropout and graduation rates.   
V-T School Business Outreach 
 

The act requires each V-T school director to meet 
with business community members in his school’s 
geographic area to develop a plan to assess workforce 
needs and modify the school’s curriculum to address 
those needs. 
 
YOUTH SERVICE BUREAU GRANTS  

 
The act expands the youth service bureaus eligible 

for SDE grants to include bureaus that (1) are eligible in 
FY 2000-01, rather than only those that were eligible in 
FY 1999-00, or (2) applied by June 30, 2001, rather 
than only those that applied by May 15, 2000, after 
receiving approval for their town’s matching 
contribution.  The grants are $14,000 each, with any 
excess funds distributed among bureaus that received 
grants of more than $15,000 in FY 1994-95. 

 
MINORITY TEACHER INCENTIVE PROGRAM  

 
The act allows the Department of Higher Education 

to use up to 2% of the funds appropriated for the 
Minority Teacher Incentive Program for the fiscal years 
ending June 30, 2001 and June 30, 2002 to administer 
and promote the program and for recruitment and 
retention activities aimed at increasing the number of 
minority students pursuing teaching careers at 
Connecticut colleges and universities.   
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SPECIAL EDUCATION GRANT PAYMENTS  
 

The act changes certain parts of the schedule for 
state grants to school districts for special education costs 
for children placed by state agencies or residing on state 
property and any special education costs that exceed 
five times a district’s regular per-pupil expenditures. 
The law allows districts to submit claims for additional 
children not included in their initial December 1 filing 
with SDE.  The act delays the filing deadline for these 
additional claims from February 1 to March 1. 

The law requires the state to pay 75% of the costs 
in February.  The act requires the state to pay the 
balance in May rather than April. 
 
DISCLOSURES TO STATE AGENCY 
FOUNDATION DONORS  

 
The act requires a person soliciting donations for a 

state agency foundation to disclose that the donation is 
to benefit the foundation either at the time of solicitation 
or in the donation receipt, instead of both. 

 
DUTIES OF COMMISSION FOR EDUCATIONAL 
TECHNOLOGY  

 
The act requires this commission to provide all 

public schools access to a core set of on-line full text 
resources.  These provisions already apply to public 
libraries and libraries at institutions of higher education.  
The act also requires the commission to give public 
schools the ability to purchase other collections in 
collaboration with public libraries and libraries at 
institutions of higher education to maximize their 
buying power.   
 
INTERNATIONAL EDUCATION PROGRAMS  

 
The act establishes a state policy to encourage 

students, teachers, administrators, and educational 
policy makers to participate in international study, 
exchange programs, and other activities abroad.  It 
requires the education commissioner to establish an 
international education advisory committee to explore, 
investigate, and compile information on international 
educational opportunities and related curriculum 
materials.  The committee must also (1) recommend to 
the commissioner ways to expand international 
educational opportunities and (2) think of ways to 
encourage participation in them.  It must advise SDE 
and the Education Committee about international 
program opportunities and the availability of federal and 
nonprofit agency funding.  SDE must provide 
information about the opportunities to local and regional 

boards of education. 
 

REGIONAL SCHOOL DISTRICT EXPENSES  
 
The act specifies that the “net expenses” (estimated 

expenditures minus estimated receipts) each member of 
a regional school district must pay after the district’s 
budget is approved include estimated capital 
expenditures.  It also specifies that each town’s share of 
the regional district’s capital outlay includes costs for 
school building projects eligible for state school 
construction grants. 

 
ELIGIBILITY FOR INTERDISTRICT 
COOPERATIVE GRANTS  

 
The act makes nonsectarian nonprofit organizations 

approved by the education commissioner eligible for 
state grants for establishing and operating interdistrict 
cooperative programs.  It also allows interdistrict 
magnet schools to receive such grants for programs only 
if they are (1) conducted at the magnet school and (2) 
primarily serve children not enrolled at the school.   
 
V-T SYSTEM INDUSTRIAL ACCOUNT 

 
The act increases from $350,000 to $500,000 the 

amount that can be left in  SBE’s industrial account 
within the Vocational Education Extension Fund before 
the excess reverts to the General Fund.  The account 
covers expenses in connection with work projects the V-
T schools perform as part of their educational programs. 

 
SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION GRANTS 

 
Education Commissioner’s Authority  

 
The act transfers, from SBE to the education 

commissioner, authority for approving the lease of 
improved buildings to school boards for 20 years or 
more. 

 
Portable Classrooms  

 
The act allows the commissioner to approve school 

construction grant applications for districts to buy and 
install portable classroom buildings without placing the 
projects on the annual priority list for General Assembly 
approval, as long as they do not create a new facility or 
modify an existing facility so that the portable buildings 
make up a substantial percentage of the facility’s total 
area.  The commissioner determines what qualifies as “a 
substantial percentage.” 
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Exemption from Standard Space Limits  
 
The act allows buildings built before July 1, 1951, 

rather than only those built before 1950, to qualify for a 
25% increase in the maximum square-footage-per-pupil 
limit for computing school construction grants.  To 
claim the increase, the local school board must apply to 
SDE by June 30, 2002. 
 
Local Approval for Network Wiring Projects  

 
The act allows a town or regional school district to 

submit final plans and specifications for network wiring 
projects costing less than $1 million to local officials, 
instead of SDE, for code-compliance review and written 
approval.  Local officials already have the authority to 
review oil tank and roof replacement projects regardless 
of cost, and asbestos abatement, code violation, and 
energy conservation projects costing less than $1 
million.   

 
Central Kitchen Projects 

 
The act allows a school district to receive a regular 

school construction reimbursement grant for designing 
and building a central kitchen to provide public school 
food service.  The project may also include the cost of 
altering, expanding, or creating kitchens in individual 
schools to facilitate centralized food preparation.  The 
act exempts these projects from standard space limits as 
long as the education commissioner finds the project’s 
size and scope to be reasonable.   

 
ILLNESS AND SCHOOL PERFORMANCE  

 
The act requires the education and public health 

commissioners to convene a task force to study the 
relationship between illness and children’s school 
performance.  The task force must consider policies and 
programs that would help sick children improve their 
school performance.  The commissioners must report to 
the Education and Public Health committees by 
February 1, 2002 on their recommendations for 
statutory changes to implement the policies and 
programs.   

 
TUITION WAIVERS  

 
The act gives the dependent children of a volunteer 

firefighter or supernumerary or auxiliary police officer 
killed in the line of duty free tuition at the community-
technical colleges, Connecticut State University (CSU), 
and the University of Connecticut (UConn).  By law, 
dependent children of volunteer and paid firefighters, 

municipal police officers, other municipal employees, 
and state employees killed in the line of duty are already 
eligible for free tuition. 

 
UCONN CAPITAL PROJECTS  

 
The act exempts all UConn capital projects from 

the jurisdiction of the Department of Public Works 
(DPW) and the regular requirements for state building 
projects from July 1, 2001 until June 30, 2007.  It allows 
the university to plan, design, and construct any project 
on any of its campuses for the next six fiscal years in 
accordance with procedures that already apply to 
UConn 2000 capital improvements.  The law typically 
requires any non-UConn 2000 project over $2 million to 
be supervised by DPW and meet various other 
procedural requirements.   

 
BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR UCONN HEALTH 
CENTER  

 
The act allows the UConn board of trustees to 

create a board of directors to govern the UConn Health 
Center and delegate to it whatever duties and authority 
the trustees find necessary and appropriate.  It allows 
the chairman of the board of trustees to designate 
trustees and others to serve on the board of directors. 

 
CONNECTICUT LIBRARY NETWORK  

 
The act removes the requirement that the State 

Library plan and develop the Connecticut Library 
Network.   
 
STATE HISTORIAN  

 
The act requires the state historian to (1) be a 

member of the Connecticut Historical Commission, (2) 
edit or supervise editing and publication of the state’s 
public records, (3) inform and advise members of 
government at all levels, (4) help SBE promote the 
teaching of history in schools and teacher preparation 
programs, (5) respond to requests for advice from 
historical societies, (6) respond to requests for 
information on the state’s history, (7) make public 
appearances and addresses on the state’s history, (8) 
prepare bibliographies and other research aids about the 
state’s history, and (9) create informative and 
educational programs to promote the celebration or 
commemoration of significant historical events. 

Under the act, the state historian serves at the 
pleasure of the UConn board of trustees instead of the 
State Library Board. 
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AUTOMATIC SPRINKLER REQUIREMENT  
 
The act requires all building projects eligible for 

school construction project grants and put out to bid on 
or after July 1, 2004 to include an automatic fire 
extinguishing system for each floor. The system must be 
approved by the state fire marshal. 
 
STUDENTS IN INTERDISTRICT PRIVATE 
SCHOOL MAGNET SCHOOLS  

 
The act allows private school students to enroll in 

public part-time interdistrict magnet school programs so 
long as they (1) make up no more than 5% of the 
magnet school’s full-time-equivalent enrollment and (2) 
are not counted for purposes of the state magnet school 
transportation grant of $1,200 per student. 
 
SPECIAL EDUCATION ADVISORY COUNCIL  
 

The act requires the Special Education Advisory 
Council to perform any activity required by federal 
special education law and updates terminology and 
statutory references to conform to federal law.   
 
SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION BONUS FOR 
REGIONAL SCHOOL DISTRICTS  
 

The act removes an obsolete school construction 
bonus for secondary regional school districts under the 
school construction law.  It also makes all regional 
school districts eligible for a 10% school construction 
bonus. 
 
TECHNOLOGY COMMISSION’S EXECUTIVE 
DIRECTOR RETIREMENT OPTIONS  
 

The act allows the executive director of the 
Commission for Educational Technology to choose 
whether to participate in the state employee, alternate, 
or teachers’ retirement system.  (The alternate 
retirement program is a special state retirement program 
for certain higher education employees.) 
 
HIGHER EDUCATION ACCOUNTABILITY 
REPORTS  
 

The act requires the constituent units of higher 
education to submit annual accountability reports to the 
commissioner of Higher Education by January 1.  The 
commissioner must submit an annual consolidated 
accountability report for the state higher education 
system based on individual institution reports to the 
Education Committee by February 1.  This report must 

include accountability measures for UConn, the CSU 
system and its individual institutions, the community-
technical college system and its institutions, and the 
Board for State Academic Awards.  The report must 
include, for the listed units, (1) accountability measures, 
(2) updated baseline and peer comparison data, (3) 
performance improvement targets for each measure, and 
(4) other information as the commissioner deems 
necessary.    By law, constituent units must already use 
accountability measures developed by the Higher 
Education Coordinating Council to assess the units’ 
progress toward meeting specified goals. 
 
TROOPS TO TEACHERS  
 
 The act requires SDE to apply for funding and 
participation in the federal government’s Troops to 
Teachers Program.  It requires SDE, upon receiving 
funding, to establish a program in conformance with 
federal requirements and encourage participation in it. 
 
ECS MINIMUM EXPENDITURE REQUIREMENT  
 

The act extends the prior minimum expenditure 
requirement (MER) calculation for towns under the 
Education Cost Sharing (ECS) grant for the next two 
years.  Under the act, the MER for FYs 2001-02 and 
2002-03 is each town’s MER for the preceding fiscal 
year, plus its ECS aid increase, minus any decrease in 
enrollment from 1999 to 2000 and 2000 to 2001, 
respectively, multiplied by one-half the ECS foundation 
amount ($5,891). 
 
NATURAL LIGHT REQUIREMENTS  
 

The act requires school superintendents applying 
for state grants for new school construction or 
renovations to affirm in their proposals that they 
considered how to maximize natural light. 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
Related Act 
 

Public Act 01-175 establishes a generic criminal 
history record check procedure and mandates its use 
when any state statute requires such checks. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



EDUCATION COMMITTEE 37 

 
2001 OLR PA Summary Book 

PA 01-205—sHB 6751 
Education Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING MASTERY TEST 
EXEMPTIONS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act alters state mastery test 
exemptions to comply with federal law.  It requires a 
special education student’s planning and placement 
team to determine whether an alternate assessment 
instead of the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) is 
appropriate for the student.  The act requires the team to 
use an alternate assessment as specified by the State 
Board of Education.  Under prior law, the team decided 
whether a student should take the CMT or be exempt 
from all testing. 

The act reduces, from 30 to 10 months, the period 
during which bilingual and English-as-a-second-
language students may be exempt from taking the CMT.  
It requires the State Department of Education to review 
the availability, utility, and cost of providing students in 
bilingual programs with subject matter tests in their 
native language.  The education commissioner must 
report to the Education Committee on the feasibility 
review by December 31, 2001. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
Assessment of Special Education Students Under 
Federal Law 

 
Federal law requires states to file information with 

the U.S. secretary of education to show that (1) children 
with disabilities are included in general state and 
district-wide assessment programs, with appropriate 
accommodations and modifications in administration, if 
necessary, and (2) the state developed and began 
conducting alternate assessments for children with 
disabilities by July 1, 2000. 

 
Assessment of Limited English Proficient Students 
Under Federal Law 

 
The U.S. Department of Education sent a 

memorandum to chief state school officers on 
September 7, 2000 detailing the states’ progress in 
demonstrating compliance with Title I of the 
Elementary and Secondary Education Act.  The memo 
dealt with the states’ assessment procedures and 
highlighted certain issues dealing with exemption 
policies.  In addressing assessments of limited English 
proficient students, the department said that “[b]eyond 

allowing exemptions for students who have not been in 
a district for one academic year, state policies that 
require or permit the exemption of limited English 
proficient students on the basis of how long they have 
been in school are not acceptable under any 
circumstances.”   
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PA 01-49—SB 1269 
Energy and Technology Committee 
 
AN ACT IMPLEMENTING THE LEGISLATIVE 
COMMISSIONERS' RECOMMENDATIONS FOR 
TECHNICAL REVISIONS TO UTILITY LAWS 
 
SUMMARY: This act makes technical changes in 
utility laws. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-112—sSB 1244 
Energy and Technology Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING SERVICE AREAS OF 
CERTAIN MUNICIPAL UTILITIES 
 
SUMMARY: This act allows any municipality that 
operates an electric or gas utility to establish a separate 
corporation solely to provide electric, gas, or water 
service in its service territory so long as this territory 
does not encroach on another gas or water utility’s 
service area.  The municipality can do so despite its 
charter, home rule ordinance, or any special act.  The 
action requires approval of the municipality’s chief 
elected official and adoption of an ordinance by two-
thirds of its legislative body or city or town council or 
board of selectmen where the legislative body is a town 
meeting.  The corporation is subject to all laws 
governing business corporations.   
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-144—sHB 6786 
Energy and Technology Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING ELECTRIC FORECAST 
OF LOADS AND RESOURCES 
 
SUMMARY: This act expands the types of entities that 
must provide forecasts to the Connecticut Siting 
Council regarding electric supply and demand, but it 
reduces the forecast period from 20 to 10 years.  Under 
prior law, the reporting requirement applied to any 
entity that generates electric power in the state, other 
than certain nonutility generators.  (By law, entities that 
buy power from the nonutility generators must provide 
information regarding them.)  

The act requires the nonutility generators to report. 
But it limits the requirement to generators (utility and 
nonutility) with more than one megawatt of capacity. 

(Commercial power plants generally have a capacity of 
several hundred megawatts).  The act extends the 
reporting requirement to any entity that transmits or 
distributes power, thereby requiring all municipal 
electric utilities, rather than just those that generate 
power, to report. 

By law, the report must include information on 
various aspects of power generation, transmission, and 
distribution.  The act allows the council to adopt 
regulations specifying filing requirements for 
generators, transmission entities and electric distribution 
companies. (The electric restructuring law separates 
generation from transmission and distribution, with 
different entities performing these functions.) It 
specifies reporting requirements for each of these types 
of entities until the regulations are adopted.   

The act allows confidential, proprietary, and trade 
secret information provided to the council to be 
submitted under a protective order, and thus not subject 
to public disclosure.  The council must review any 
information subject to such an order in executive 
session. 

The act eliminates a requirement that the report 
describe the facilities that will be needed to supply 
system demands in the forecast period. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
FILING REQUIREMENTS 

 
By law, the report must include detailed 

information about electric generation, transmission, and 
distribution. Under the act, until the council adopts 
regulations, electric distribution companies must file: 

1. peak load, resource, and margin estimates for 
each year covered in the forecast; 

2. data on energy use and peak loads for the five 
preceding years; 

3. a description of steps taken to improve existing 
facilities and eliminate overhead transmission 
and distribution lines; and 

4. various information regarding the generating 
facilities of nonutility generators from whom 
the company bought power in the preceding 
year. 

Generators that produce power from facilities that 
are one megawatt or larger must provide: 

1. a list of generating facilities in service;  
2. a list of scheduled generating facilities for 

which property has been purchased, for which 
council certificates have been issued, or for 
which applications for council certificates have 
been made (a council certificate is needed to 
build or modify most types of generating 
plants); 
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3. a list of planned generating units that will be 
needed to meet projected future demand and 
the location of such fac ilities; and 

4. the information described above regarding 
generating facilities owned by nonutility 
generators. 

Finally, entities that transmit power in the state 
must file: 

1. a list of planned transmission lines for which 
route reviews have been undertaken or for 
which council certificate applications have 
been made, and 

2. a description of steps taken to improve existing 
facilities and eliminate overhead transmission 
and distribution lines. 

 
 
PA 01-177—sSB 1319 
Energy and Technology Committee 
Public Health Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
Legislative Management Committee 
 
AN ACT ESTABLISHING A WATER PLANNING 
COUNCIL 
 
SUMMARY: This act establishes a Water Planning 
Council to address issues involving water companies, 
water resources, and the future of the state’s drinking 
water supply. The council consists of the chairperson of 
the Public Utility Control Authority (PUCA), the public 
health (DPH) and environmental protection (DEP) 
commissioners, and the secretary of the Office of Policy 
and Management, or their designees. The act requires 
the council to study specified issues in consultation with 
representatives of water companies, municipalities, 
environmental and agricultural groups, and other water 
users. 

The PUCA’s chairperson must convene the 
council’s first meeting. The council must report its 
preliminary findings and proposed legislation by 
January 1, 2002 to the Public Health, Energy and 
Technology, and Environment committees. It must 
submit its final findings and legislative 
recommendations to these committees by January 1, 
2003. The council terminates on that date or when it 
submits its report, whichever is first. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001 

 
STUDY TOPICS 

 
The study, which must be conducted on a regional 

and statewide level, must address: 

1. the financial viability, market structure, 
reliability of customer service, and managerial 
competence of water companies; 

2. fair and reasonable rates; 
3. protection and appropriate allocation of water 

resources while providing public water supply 
needs; 

4. the adequacy and quality of drinking water 
supplies to meet the state’s current and future 
needs; 

5. an inventory of water company land and land 
use; 

6. the status of current and projected withdrawals, 
river flows, and the future needs of water users; 

7. methods for measuring and estimating natural 
flows in Connecticut waterways to determine 
standards for stream flows that will protect 
their ecology; 

8. the status of river flows and available data for 
measuring them; 

9. the streamlining of the water diversion process; 
10. coordination between the Department of Public 

Utility Control, DEP, and DPH in review of 
diversion permit applications; and 

11. the procedure for coordinating the planning of 
public water supply systems under the statutes. 

 
 
PA 01-185—sSB 1129 
Energy and Technology Committee 
Public Health Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING RIGHTS OF WATER 
COMPANY CONSUMERS AND THE 
DISSOLUTION OF THE NEW HARTFORD 
WATER COMPANY 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires the Department of 
Public Health (DPH) to notify local health directors 
when it seeks to impose civil penalties on water utilities 
for violating water quality laws and regulations.  It 
requires the utility to notify the health director when it 
appeals a penalty.  It entitles the directors to participate 
in administrative proceedings and judicial appeals 
regarding these violations.  The local director, under the 
act, is the health director of a municipality in which a 
violation occurred or which uses the water that was the 
subject of the violation. 

These provisions apply to any privately or publicly 
owned water utility that serves two or more consumers 
(premises) or 25 or more individuals on a regular basis. 

The act requires DPH to develop, within available 
resources and in consultation with water suppliers, 
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educational material on the sources and health effects of 
lead and copper.  The act requires any utility that serves 
250 or more consumers or 1,000 or more individuals to 
provide its residential customers with this material 
annually, without charge, starting July 1, 2002.   

The act requires DPH to (1) amend its current 
regulations to require a public education program for 
any system that violates DPH regulatory standards for 
the copper content of water and (2) develop regulations 
incorporating federal regulations regarding public notice 
of serious drinking water contamination problems.  
After the new regulations are adopted, the act requires 
the DPH commissioner to consider whether a utility has 
complied with its requirements in setting the civil 
penalty for violations of the law. 

Finally, the act validates the town of New 
Hartford’s 1976 acquisition of The New Hartford Water 
Company and dissolves the company. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001, except for the 
provisions on the DPH regulations and The New 
Hartford Water Company, which are effective upon 
passage. 
 
ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEEDINGS 

 
Notice of Violations 

 
By law, DPH can impose civil penalties for 

violations of laws and regulations governing water 
utilities regarding water quality and supply, including 
related provisions of the Public Health Code. DPH must 
send a notice of the proposed penalty to the utility. 
Under the act, DPH must send a copy of the penalty 
notice to the local director of health in the affected 
municipality or municipalities. 

 
Administrative Hearings 

 
By law, the utility can contest the penalty by 

applying to the commissioner for a hearing, which is 
conducted by a person called the presiding officer. The 
act requires the utility to notify the local health director 
of the application for this administrative appeal.  

Under the Uniform Administrative Procedure Act, 
the presiding officer can grant intervenor status to a 
person who petitions the department, thereby allowing 
the petitioner to participate in the proceeding.  The 
petitioner must demonstrate that his participation is in 
the interests of justice and will not impair the orderly 
conduct of the proceeding.  He also must provide 
written notice of the petition to the parties in the case at 
least five days before the  hearing, although the 
presiding officer can waive this requirement for good 
cause. 

However, in a proceeding regarding a proposed 
penalty for water quality and supply law violations, the 
act requires the presiding officer to grant the local 
health director the right to be heard. 

 
Cease and Desist Order 

 
By law, the commissioner can order a person to 

immediately discontinue an activity that he has found is 
causing a condition that violates DPH laws in a way that 
immediately threatens a water supply source.  The 
commissioner can issue the order without holding a 
hearing first, but must hold one within 10 days of 
issuing the order.  The act gives the local health 
directors of the municipalities that use the utility that is 
the subject of the order a right to be heard in this 
proceeding. 

 
JUDICIAL APPEALS 

 
By law, any person or corporation aggrieved by a 

DPH order under its water supply laws can appeal to the 
Superior Court.  This provision covers appeals of DPH 
orders in several areas in addition to those discussed 
above.  Under the act, if a water utility chooses to 
appeal an order, the utility must notify the local health 
director.  The act gives the director a right to be heard in 
the court case. 
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PA 01-12—HB 6556 
Environment Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE AUTHORITY OF 
THE STATE VETERINARIAN 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires the state veterinarian to 
publish annually, and amend as he sees fit, a list of 
reportable bird and animal diseases and laboratory 
findings. He must distribute the list, together with any 
necessary reporting forms and instructions, to licensed 
veterinarians and diagnostic laboratories in the state that 
test birds and animals. Examples of reportable diseases 
are rabies, brucellosis, and foot-and-mouth disease. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-62—sSB 1013 
Environment Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING DOG FUND 
REIMBURSEMENTS TO TOWNS 
 
SUMMARY: This act replaces the state treasurer with 
the agriculture commissioner as the administrator of the 
dog fund. It requires him to return to towns, on a pro 
rata basis, all the funds in the account when it exceeds 
$5,000, and to carry the balance into the next fiscal year 
when the account is $5,000 or less.  

The act waives dog license fees for people who 
have guide dogs of any age placed temporarily with 
them by nonprofit organizations that train guide dogs. 
Under prior law the waiver applied only for dogs 
between six months and one year old. The act also 
extends the license fee waiver to people who have dogs 
placed with them for breeding purposes.  

The act eliminates a requirement that the 
commissioner pay the treasurer money the 
commissioner collects from selling dog tags to 
municipalities, requires towns to send information about 
damage dogs do to domestic animals to the 
commissioner, rather than the treasurer, and requires the 
commissioner to ask the treasurer to reimburse the 
towns in certain such instances. It also changes the 
annual deadline for renewing dog grooming facility 
licenses from December 21 to December 31.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
DOG FUND 

 
Under prior law, municipalities each year paid the 

state treasurer 50% (or 40% if the town has surveyed 
unlicensed dogs) of the money they collected from dog 

and kennel licenses and replacement tags sold by July 1.  
The treasurer returned the balance remaining on August 
1 to municipalities on a pro rata basis, after first 
deducting 10 cents per dog license to fund canine 
disease research at the University of Connecticut 
(UConn). 

The act makes the commissioner the administrator 
of those funds, requiring municipalities to pay the 
money to him instead of the treasurer. The change also 
requires the commissioner to ask the treasurer to 
transfer the money to UConn, and to distribute to the 
towns on a pro rata basis all the money in the fund if the 
balance exceeds $5,000 on August 1. The commissioner 
must carry the balance into the next fiscal year when the 
account contains $5,000 or less.  

 
DAMAGE DONE BY DOGS TO DOMESTIC 
ANIMALS 

 
By law, the treasurer must reimburse towns that 

have paid more than $100 in damages to domestic 
animal owners whose animals were harmed by dogs. 
Such reimbursement is required when the town is 
unable to collect damages from the dog owner. The act 
requires towns to send information about such incidents 
to the commissioner, instead of the treasurer, and 
requires the commissioner to ask the treasurer to 
reimburse the towns.   
 
 
PA 01-77—sHB 6554 
Environment Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE DRUG TESTING 
OF ANIMALS IN DRAWING CONTESTS 
 
SUMMARY: This act authorizes the agriculture 
commissioner to disqualify animals drugged by their 
trainers from drawing contests and to bar the trainer 
from claiming prize money and entering the animal in 
future contests. Under prior law the commissioner could 
only penalize the animal’s owner. The act adds to the 
actions for which owners, trainers, or both, may be 
temporarily barred from participating in drawing 
contests, and it subjects those who violate certain of its 
provisions to a fixed civil penalty of up to $2,500 per 
violation, plus $250 for each day the violation continues 
after the penalty is imposed. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
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DRUG TESTING IN DRAWING CONTESTS  
 
By law, the agriculture commissioner must test 

animals taking part in drawing contests when the 
authority in charge of the contest asks him to do so, and 
he may charge the animal's owner for the costs of the 
test. The commissioner may also conduct such tests on 
his own initiative, if he does so within available 
appropriations.  He may test the animal immediately 
before or after the contest. 

 
VIOLATIONS AND PENALTIES 

 
If the commissioner finds an animal has been 

drugged, he can bar its owner from entering any other 
animal in any drawing contest in the state for between 
one and two years for a first offense, and for between 
two and three years for a second offense. In addition, 
the owner cannot claim prize money from the contest, 
and the animal is disqualified from the contest and 
barred from taking part in any such contest for one year. 
The penalties begin from the time the commissioner 
receives the test results.   

The act extends these prohibitions to animal 
trainers. A trainer is any person responsible for the care, 
training, custody, or performance of an animal, 
including a person who signs an entry form for 
participation in a drawing contest or who controls the 
animal during such a contest.  

The act also applies the penalties to animal owners 
or trainers who: 

1. fail to submit an animal for drug testing, 
2. fail to assist in the drug testing, 
3. fail to provide proper restraint to confine an 

animal for testing, or 
4. interfere with the animal’s restraint or drug 

test. 
The only difference is when the period of 

prohibition begins.  The penalties for these four 
violations begin on the contest date, rather than when 
the commissioner receives the test results. 

The act also subjects any owner or trainer who 
violates any of the above provisions to a maximum, 
fixed civil penalty of $2,500 per violation, plus $250 for 
each day the violation continues after the penalty is 
imposed. 

Lastly, the act bars any owner or trainer from 
entering any animal in a drawing contest in the state for 
between one and two years if the commissioner finds 
that the person owned or trained an animal that tested 
positive for drugs in another state. 
 
 
 

PA  01-87—sSB 1011 
Environment Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE ANIMAL 
POPULATION CONTROL PROGRAM 
  
SUMMARY: This act substitutes a voucher system for 
the system reimbursing veterinarians who sterilize and 
vaccinate impounded, quarantined, and stray dogs and 
cats. It requires the agriculture commissioner to certify 
veterinarians who can take part in the program and 
specifies the certification requirements. It extends the 
program’s operation by reducing the minimum funding 
level that triggers its suspension from $400,000 to 
$300,000.  It requires the commissioner to develop a 
standard dog license form for veterinarians to distribute 
to dog owners. It permits him to spend up to $40,000 a 
year to help charitable organizations sterilize and 
vaccinate feral cats. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 

 
VOUCHER SYSTEM 

 
By law, people who adopt a dog or cat from a state 

or town pound, veterinary clinic, or commercial kennel 
must pay a $45 fee.  Under prior law, $20 of the $45 
was refundable. If the animal was taken to a 
participating veterinarian within 30 days, the program 
paid the veterinarian 80% of the sterilization cost, and 
refunded the $20. Prior law also reimbursed 
veterinarians $10 per vaccination procedure, with a $20 
limit per animal. Under the act, when pet owners pay 
the fee they get a voucher, which they must sign.   

The act requires animal rescue organizations or 
their representatives to pay the $45 fee, instead of a 
nonrefundable $25 adoption fee which they paid under 
prior law.  

 
Medically Fit Animals 

 
The animal owner can use the voucher in the 60 

days following the date of adoption to pay a veterinarian 
to sterilize and vaccinate an animal that is fit for 
surgery. When a veterinarian submits a voucher with his 
signature, the commissioner must pay him $120 to 
sterilize a female dog, $100 for a male dog, $70 for a 
female cat, and $50 for a male cat.  Pet owners must pay 
any sterilization costs that exceed the voucher amount. 
The commissioner also must pay veterinarians $20 per 
voucher for vaccinations given at the time of 
sterilization.  
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Medically Unfit Animals 
 
A dog or cat is considered medically unfit for 

surgery if (1) a veterinarian certifies that surgery within 
the 60-day period may place its life in danger or (2) it is 
under six months old.  The veterinarian must specify 
when the animal may be ready for sterilization, and the 
voucher becomes void if surgery is not performed 
within 30 days of that date.   

The pet owner may apply for a refund of his $45 
fee if an adopted dog or cat was previously sterilized, or 
a veterinarian determines it is permanently unfit for the 
procedure. 

  
VETERINARIAN CERTIFICATION  

 
Any licensed veterinarian may apply for 

certification to participate in the program.  To be 
certified, a veterinarian must: 

1. perform all sterilization procedures either in a 
veterinary hospital facility or a properly-
equipped mobile clinic that meets state 
standards; 

2. make available to the commissioner all records 
relating to care provided, work done, and fees 
received; and 

3. maintain records in accordance with state 
regulations. 

The act eliminates a one-year limit on certification 
and requirements that the commissioner adopt 
regulations for approving participating veterinarians and 
that those veterinarians submit their sterilization fee 
schedule. Under the act, an unreasonable fee schedule is 
no longer grounds for disqualification from the 
program. Complaints about veterinarians’ services 
provided under the program must be referred to the 
Department of Public Health’s Board of Veterinary 
Medicine.  
 
ANIMAL POPULATION CONTROL ACCOUNT 
 

The act permits the commissioner to suspend the 
program when the amount of money in the account 
drops below $300,000.  Previously, he could suspend 
the program when the account balance dropped below 
$400,000. 

  
BACKGROUND 
 
Animal Population Control Program 

 
The commissioner suspended the reimbursement 

program on March 1, 2000 because of depleted funds 
after it had dispensed benefits to more than 20,000 cats 

and dogs in the previous two years.  
 
 
PA 01-98—SB 92 
Environment Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE PERMITTING OF 
POUND NETS 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires additional procedural 
steps before the environmental protection commissioner 
can authorize the erection of a pound net, fish weir, or 
similar fishing structure that was not used before the 
act’s passage.  A pound net is a fish trap that uses a long 
net to direct fish through a check valve into an 
enclosure. 

Under prior law, the commissioner could issue a 
certificate of permission for a wide range of activities in 
an expedited process.  The act prohibits him from 
issuing certificates for the above fishing structures.  
Instead, under the act, he can issue a permit for such 
structures only under the law that governs the placement 
of structures in navigable, tidal, and coastal waters. 
Unlike the certificate of permission, this permit requires 
the applicant to publish a newspaper notice and notify 
various public officials and others. Under the act, if 25 
or more people petition the commissioner for a hearing 
on the permit application during the comment period, he 
must hold one. 

The act adds a freshwater fish producer appointed 
by the governor to the Connecticut Seafood Advisory 
Council, which promotes Connecticut seafood products 
and examines market opportunities.  It allows the 
council to use state, federal, or other funds and to enter 
into contracts to carry out these purposes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 
 
 
PA 01-107—sHB 6365 (VETOED) 
Environment Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
Energy and Technology Committee 
Commerce Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
Legislative Management Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING CLEAN AIR 
STANDARDS FOR CERTAIN POWER PLANTS 
 
SUMMARY: Recently adopted Department of 
Environmental Protection (DEP) regulations impose 
tighter air emission standards on the state’s older fossil 
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fuel power plants.  This act eliminates emissions credit 
trading as a way for these plants to meet the regulation’s 
stage two sulfur dioxide (SO2) standards as of 
December 31, 2004, approximately two years after the 
standard goes into effect under the regulations. But it 
adds another option (a tonnage cap) as of this date. It 
requires plant owners to submit a plan to DEP by July 1, 
2002 showing how they will comply with the standards 
and indicating if they will use the tonnage option. 

The act allows, and in certain cases requires, DEP 
to suspend the stage two standards if there is a shortfall 
in electricity supply. The act appears to supersede a 
provision in the regulations that allows the DEP 
commissioner to waive the standards for a plant that 
normally meets them by burning low sulfur fuel if he 
finds that there is an emergency shortage in the supply 
of such fuel. 

The act includes several provisions, including a 
gross receipts tax exemption on low sulfur oil and 
economic development incentives, to reduce the costs of 
complying with its requirements. It bars owners of units 
that have violated the SO2 and nitrogen oxide standards 
in the regulations more than once from bidding for 
default electric service. By law, the electric utilities 
must bid out the supply of electricity for this service, 
which provides power after January 1, 2004 to people 
who do not choose a competitive supplier.  

The act requires, rather than allows, Connecticut 
Innovations, Inc. (CII) to use the money in the 
Renewable Energy Investment Fund for expenditures 
that promote investment in renewable energy. 

The act requires the Department of Public Utility 
Control (DPUC) to report to the legislature by January 1 
annually on the status of electric power supply, demand, 
and reserves. The report must include projections of 
these variables for the next five years.  It also must 
analyze how the act’s changes affect the provision of 
electricity to customers who do not choose a 
competitive supplier. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 
 
REGULATORY EMISSION STANDARDS 

 

The act eliminates emissions credit trading as away 
power plants can meet certain regulatory emission 
standards. 

The regulations limit SO2 and nitrogen oxide 
emissions from pollution sources built before 1977. The 
SO2 standards apply only to power plants, most of 
which consist of several units. 

Starting January 1, 2002, the regulations’ stage one 
standards require unit owners to (1) burn fuel with an 
average sulfur content of no more than 0.5%, (2) meet 
an emissions rate of not more than 0.55 pounds of sulfur 

per million British Thermal Units (BTUs) of fuel burned 
at the plant, or (3) meet an emissions rate of not more 
than 0.5 pounds of sulfur per million BTUs for all units 
on the premises.  The owner must meet the standard 
using on-site measures.  These are the installation of 
pollution control equipment or fuel or operational 
changes that lower emissions at the facility.  The act 
does not affect these requirements. 

The act codifies the regulations’ stage two 
standards starting December 31, 2004.  (Under the 
regulations, the stage two standards go into effect on 
January 1, 2003.)  Under the regulations and the act, 
plant owners must (1) burn fuel with an average sulfur 
content of no more than 0.3%, (2) meet a maximum 
emissions level of 0.33 pounds per million BTUs of fuel 
burned at the plant, or (3) meet a maximum emissions 
level of 0.3 pounds per million BTU for all of the units 
on the premises.  
 
COMPLIANCE OPTIONS 

 
Under the regulations, the owner can use the on-site 

measures described above or emissions credit trading to 
reduce emissions from the stage one standard to the 
stage two standard. It must continue to meet the stage 
one standard by on-site measures. 

The act eliminates credit trading as a compliance 
option as of December 31, 2004.  It implicitly allows 
trading as a compliance option from January 1, 2003 
until that date.  

Under the act, but not the regulations, the plant also 
can meet the stage two tonnage cap described below. 

 
COMPLIANCE PLAN 

 
The plant owner must submit a compliance plan to 

DEP by July 1, 2002.  The plan must describe the 
measures the owner will take to comply with the stage 
two standards, and include an implementation schedule 
and a notice as to whether the owner will use the 
tonnage cap option.   

Upon receiving the notice, DEP must calculate a 
quarterly tonnage cap for the plant. The tonnage cap 
equals the plant’s representative heat rate multiplied by 
0.3 pounds per million BTUs of fuel burned. The 
representative heat rate is a measure of the unit’s 
efficiency during the period January 1, 1998 to 
December 31, 2000, or the three years for which the 
most recent data is available when DEP calculates the 
cap.  If the heat rate for a given month during the period 
differs by more than 15% from the preceding or 
subsequent quarter, that month must be dropped from 
the calculation.   
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The cap is calculated in tons of emissions per 
calendar quarter. DEP must recalculate the cap 
annually, notifying the owner at least 60 days before it 
goes into effect. Any owner that uses this option must 
continue to meet the stage one SO2 standards contained 
in the regulations.  These provisions do not prevent the 
operation of a “peaker”, i.e., a plant that normally 
operates during the hours of highest daily, weekly, or 
seasonal load. 

 
SUSPENSION OF STANDARDS 

 
The act allows under certain circumstances and 

requires under others the DEP commissioner to suspend 
the stage two SO2 standard. Under the act, if the 
Independent System Operator (ISO—the entity that runs 
the regional power grid) begins to take steps to respond 
to a potential or actual electricity shortage, the DPUC 
chairperson must notify the DEP commissioner. 
Specifically, this provision applies if ISO reaches stage 
three of its Operating Procedure 4, when it begins to 
curtail power to customers on interruptible contracts. 
Upon receiving the notification, the DEP commissioner 
can suspend the stage two standard for up to 30 days.   

But if this stage of Operating Procedure 4 was 
invoked because of a shortage of energy supply to 
Connecticut, the commissioner must suspend the 
standard for up to 30 days. If ISO continues to 
implement Operating Procedure 4 after the 30-day 
period, the commissioner can suspend the standard for 
consecutive periods of up to 30 days as advised by the 
DPUC chairperson.  The commissioner must notify the 
operator of the unit affected by the suspension. 

The commissioner cannot penalize a plant owner 
for violating the standard while a suspension is in effect. 
The commissioner and chairperson must immediately 
notify the chairs and ranking members of the Energy 
and Technology and Environment committees of a 
suspension. The agency heads also must report to the 
committees on the circumstances and duration of such 
suspensions. 

The act appears to supersede provisions in the 
regulations that allow the DEP commissioner to suspend 
the stage two standards for any unit that normally meets 
the standards by burning low sulfur fuel if he finds that 
(1) the supply of the fuel is inadequate to meet the needs 
of the state’s consumers and (2) this shortage constitutes 
an emergency. Under the regulations, the owner of the 
affected units must report the emissions attributable to 
the suspension. If the excess emissions exceed 50 tons, 
the commissioner can require the owner to offset them 
through credit trading. 

 
 

INCENTIVES 
 
The act provides several mechanisms to reduce a 

plant owner’s cost of complying with its requirements. 
Starting October 1, 2001, it exempts, from the 
petroleum products gross receipts tax fuel with sulfur 
content at or below 0.3% sold for use in the plants 
affected by the act.   

The act allows the Department of Economic and 
Community Development and the Connecticut 
Development Authority to provide (1) loans under the 
Manufacturing Assistance Act for installing pollution 
control equipment or rebuilding plants and (2) loans and 
grants to an electric utility to install transmission lines 
to comply with the act. 

DEP must approve a timeline for expediting 
permits needed for pollution control equipment or 
rebuilding a plant when an owner indicates that it will 
pursue these options to meet the stage two limits.  The 
timeline cannot override current requirements for public 
participation in the permitting process.  The act exempts 
the installation of pollution control equipment from 
local zoning and planning regulation. 
 
DPUC REPORT 

 
The act requires DPUC to annually conduct an 

investigation on electric supply demand and related 
issues and report its findings to the General Assembly 
by January 1.  The investigation must be conducted as a 
contested case, i.e., as a quasi-judicial proceeding in 
which the Office of Consumer Counsel is entitled to 
participate as a party. The investigation and report must 
cover: (1) the status of electric demand, supply, and 
reserves available to the state; (2) projections for these 
variables for the next five years; and (3) the necessary 
transmission and distribution system, including repairs 
and enhancements and their costs. 

By law, the distribution companies (electric 
utilities) must provide fixed-rate, standard offer service 
to customers who do not choose a competitive supplier.  
This requirement runs until January 1, 2004, unless the 
legislature extends it. Thereafter, the companies must 
provide default service at market rates to these 
customers.  The act requires that, until the end of 
standard offer, the investigation and report analyze the 
act’s effects on the companies’ ability to provide 
standard offer power at the rate set by statute. 
Thereafter, the investigation and report must analyze the 
act’s effect on the ability of the companies to procure 
power for default service. 
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PA 01-115—SB 735 
Environment Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
Legislative Management Committee   
 
AN ACT CONCERNING RECREATIONAL 
FISHING IN CONNECTICUT 
 
SUMMARY: This act doubles the fines for violating 
various sport and commercial fishing laws and 
regulations. It also requires the Environmental 
Protection and Agriculture departments to report their 
findings and recommendations to the Environment 
Committee by January 1, 2002 on the effect of 
commercial and recreational fishing on the state’s glass 
eel beds.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
SPORT FISHING 

 
The act increases, from $77 to $154, the fine for 

violating specified fishing laws and laws for which there 
are no specific penalties. The former include taking fish 
out of season, taking more than the daily or seasonal 
limit of fish, and taking fish of less than legal length. 
Laws that impose no specific penalties include 
obstructing streams for the purpose of taking fish and 
prohibiting ice-fishing in certain lakes. Certain other 
sport fishing violations entail specific penalties that the 
act does not change, such as using explosives to catch 
fish or selling carp or goldfish as bait fish. 

 
COMMERCIAL FISHING 

 
The act increases, from $50 to $100, the maximum 

fine for violating commercial fishing laws for which no 
other penalty is provided, such as using nets, trawls, or 
seines in areas where their use is prohibited. Certain 
other commercial fishing violations have specific 
penalties that the act does not change, such as stealing 
fish or lobsters from traps or pots. 
 
 
PA 01-118—sHB 6690 
Environment Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING RECORDING FINAL 
ORDERS ON LAND RECORDS AND 
CONSERVATION EASEMENTS 
 
SUMMARY: This act (1) requires certain Department 
of Environmental Protection (DEP) orders, certificates, 

and permits to be filed on the land records and (2) 
exempts conservation easements held by a land trust or 
nonprofit organization from certain provisions of the 
Marketable Title Act.  

Under prior law, DEP had to file orders to correct 
water pollution on the land record.  The act limits this 
requirement to final orders. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
FILING DEP ORDERS ON LAND RECORDS 

 
Under the act, DEP must file orders or certified 

copies or notice of them on the land record of the town 
where the affected property is located. The requirement 
applies to DEP’s (1) final orders to correct, abate, or 
penalize any violation of the laws dealing with 
wetlands, dredging, and structures in navigable waters, 
and areas near the coast that are subject to development 
restrictions and (2) certificates or permits issued under 
these laws or the commissioner’s general powers to 
enforce environmental laws.  The notice or copy serves 
as notice to the owner’s heirs, assignees, and successors. 

Under the act, when a final order is complied with 
or revoked, DEP must issue a certificate to this effect. 
The certificate must be filed on the land record and a 
certified copy sent to the owner’s last known post office 
address. 

 
CONSERVATION EASEMENTS 

 
The Marketable Title Act requires that a property 

owner be able to document an unbroken chain of title to 
the land in order for the title to be marketable.  
Generally, easements on the land become invalid after 
40 years if their holder does not re-record them on the 
land record.  The law exempts easements for utility 
facilities from these provisions. The act extends this 
exemption for easements, in the form of conservation 
restrictions, held by a land trust or nonprofit 
organization. 
 
 
PA 01-120—sHB 6954 
Environment Committee 
Energy and Technology Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE PROTECTION OF 
CONNECTICUT'S AQUACULTURE INDUSTRY 
 
SUMMARY:  In this act, the legislature finds that the 
state’s aquaculture is an integral part of its 
environmental resources and provides an irreplaceable 
economic and recreational asset to its citizens.  The act 
declares that it is state policy to protect the state’s 
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aquaculture resources to the maximum reasonable 
extent. It requires the Connecticut Siting Council, when 
considering the environmental impact of building or 
modifying energy and telecommunications facilities in 
its jurisdiction, to determine whether they conflict with 
state policies regarding aquaculture. 

The act requires the terms of any agreement 
between the person applying for a council certificate 
and any other party with regard to a facility’s 
construction or operation to be part of the proceedings 
on the application and available for public inspection.  If 
any money or other consideration was paid under the 
agreement and the payment was not contained in the 
agreement, this information and the full text of the 
agreement must be filed with the council before it 
makes its decision. However, the act does not require 
the public disclosure of proprietary information or trade 
secrets. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-126—SB 1014 
Environment Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
Legislative Management Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING POWERS OF THE 
COMMISSIONER OF AGRICULTURE 
REGARDING ESTABLISHMENT OF A 
MAINTENANCE, REPAIR AND IMPROVEMENT 
ACCOUNT 
 
SUMMARY:  This act creates a separate, nonlapsing 
General Fund account to maintain, improve, build on, or 
repair property, including houses and other buildings, 
owned by the Department of Agriculture. People 
occupying or using department property must pay rent 
into this “maintenance, repair and improvement 
account,” unless the commissioner specifically signs a 
written agreement, issues a license, or signs an 
instrument stating otherwise. The act authorizes the 
commissioner to deposit money into the account from 
other private or public sources, including the federal and 
municipal governments, and use other funding sources 
to pay to maintain, repair, or build on department 
property. The commissioner must report annually to the 
Appropriations Committee on account activities and 
status. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
 
 
 

PA 01-138—sHB 6553 
Environment Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE 
TRANSPORTATION OF MILK AND A PILOT 
PROGRAM ALLOWING CERTAIN 
PREFABRICATED COMMERCIAL UNITS TO 
BE OPERATED UPON ANY HIGHWAY OR 
BRIDGE 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires owners of milk tanker 
trucks to obtain a permit for each tanker transporting 
milk or milk products to or from farms, milk plants, or 
receiving or transfer stations.  The permit may either be 
from the agriculture commissioner or another state 
whose permit and safety requirements for bulk milk 
pickup, in the commissioner’s opinion, comply with 
federal guidelines.  Each tanker must carry the permit 
and a current safety and sanitation inspection report. 

The act authorizes the commissioner to stop and 
check tanker trucks for the documents or to see whether 
the trucks are safe and sanitary.  He may remove from 
service trucks that need repair or significant cleaning.  
He may issue a new inspection report based on the stop, 
and, if the truck has a permit from another state, send 
the report to the permitting state.  

The act repeals a law requiring out-of-state 
businesses that handle cream intended for sale in 
Connecticut to obtain a cream source permit from the 
commissioner if they do not hold a Connecticut dairy 
plant or milk dealer permit.  By doing so, it allows the 
commissioner to inspect any dairy farm, group of farms, 
receiving plant or station, not just those with cream 
source permits, if it discontinues milk shipments to 
Connecticut markets for 14 consecutive days in July and 
August or any 60 consecutive days.  

The act also requires the transportation 
commissioner to permit the transport of oversized 
manufactured modular classrooms or other 
prefabricated commercial units on highways and bridges 
in a one-year pilot program beginning July 1, 2001.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
TANKER TRUCK PERMITS 

 
Anyone seeking a permit must apply to the 

agriculture commissioner on forms he prescribes. He 
must issue a one-year, renewable permit if he finds the 
tanker complies with milk handling requirements. He 
may adopt implementing regulations. 
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PILOT PROGRAM FOR TRANSPORT OF 
OVERSIZE MODULAR UNITS 

 
The transportation commissioner must issue 

permits allowing the transport of units between 13 feet 
and 14 feet 6 inches high. The commissioner must 
specify in each permit the time period during which the 
unit must be transported and the conditions under which 
it may be transported. He must state his reason for 
denying any permit and include the statement with the 
denial. He must submit his findings and 
recommendations on the program's operation to the 
Transportation Committee by January 1, 2003.  

 
Modular or Prefabricated Commercial Unit  

 
A modular or prefabricated commercial unit is a 

completely assembled and erected building or structure 
including the service equipment designed for 
educational or commercial use.  

 
BACKGROUND 
 
Related Federal Law 

 
Recent changes to the U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration’s Pasteurized Milk Ordinance and 
related documents initiated at the 1999 National 
Conference on Interstate Milk Shipments require states 
to adopt procedures to inspect and permit all bulk milk 
tanker trucks on an annual basis. Previously, the 
ordinance required states to inspect only 10% of bulk 
milk tanker trucks each year and did not require states to 
issue permits. 
 
 
PA 01-150—sHB 6754 
Environment Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
Public Safety Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING NATURAL RESOURCES 
PROGRAMS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF 
ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION 
 
SUMMARY:  This act extends the moratorium on the 
issuance of new commercial fishing licenses for two 
years, until December 31, 2003.  It extends by one year, 
until October 1, 2003, the period in which a person can 
transfer his commercial lobstering license, increases 
fees for nonresident commercial fishing licenses, 
expands reporting requirements with regard to 

commercial fishing, and makes several related changes.  
The act regulates fishing in conjunction with 

environmental tourism. 
The act specifically allows the Department of 

Environmental Protection (DEP) commissioner to ban 
the possession or drinking of alcoholic beverages in 
lands under his control.  But in the case of areas where 
possession or drinking was not prohibited as of October 
1, 1999, he must adopt regulations to prohibit such 
activity.  The commissioner had banned such activity in 
several DEP-controlled areas before October 1, 1999, 
and subsequently banned it in all DEP-controlled areas. 

The act authorizes the DEP to provide, for a fee, 
outdoor recreation-related services at state parks and 
forests. The services may include bicycle, boat, cabin, 
and tent rentals; firewood sales; and camp stores. 
Revenue from such services must be deposited in and 
credited to a new account in the Conservation Fund to 
be used in state park and forest facilities generally. The 
services offered must not compete with a concessionaire 
under DEP contract to provide the same service.  

The act requires the DEP commissioner to 
designate trails in state parks or forests for horseback 
riding. 

The act makes the commissioner, rather than the 
state forester, the state forest fire warden.  It allows the 
state warden to pay fire companies rather than fire 
fighters individually for helping to fight forest fires and 
authorizes him to establish rates for such services and 
equipment and supplies used.  It changes the powers of 
state forest fire personnel and makes several minor and 
corresponding changes. 

The act requires the commissioner to make 
recommendations and take appropriate actions to 
control non-native invasive plant species, prepare 
informational material and conduct educational 
activities regarding these species, and maintain a list of 
them for annual distribution. 

The act subjects a person who kindles a fire in the 
open without authorization from state or local officials 
that does not cause injury or property damage to a fine 
of up to $200, imprisonment for up to six months, or 
both. This penalty already applies to someone who 
kindles a fire that causes injury or property damage. The 
act also imposes this penalty on anyone who burns 
materials that state or local laws prohibit burning.   
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
COMMERCIAL FISHERMEN AND SEAFOOD 
DEALERS 

 
Moratorium on New Licenses 

 
The act extends, from December 31, 2001 to 
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December 31, 2003, the moratorium on the issuance of 
new commercial finfish and fishing licenses. By law, 
the commissioner can issue  such licenses only to people 
who held a license or registration between January 1, 
1980 and January 1, 1995.  The act retains the 
December 31, 2001 deadline for the commissioner to 
issue a new license to a family member of a licensee 
who dies or relinquishes his license. 

On the other hand, the act allows DEP to issue new 
commercial licenses, restricted to taking horseshoe 
crabs as bait, to a person who held a Department of 
Agriculture conch license between January 1, 1995 and 
July 1, 2000. 

The act extends, from October 1, 2002 to October 
1, 2003, the latest date by which a person who holds a 
commercial lobstering license can transfer it without 
payment. Under current law, the licensee must have 
been licensed and landed lobsters in at least three 
calendar years between 1995 and 1998. The act extends 
the latter date to October 1, 2003.  By law, the 
transferee may not have had a commercial fishing 
license, registration, or permit suspended or revoked in 
the 12 months preceding the transfer.  Other restrictions 
apply to the transferee. 

In addition, the act allows the transfer of an active 
lobstering license if the transferor: 

1. does not meet the above eligibility 
requirements because of his medical 
circumstances, which must be verified and 
substantiated and 

2. held the license, landed lobsters, and reported 
his catch to DEP during at least one year in the 
1995 to 1998 period. 

The transferee is limited to the number of pots 
actively fished and reported by the transferor during this 
period. 

 
Fees 

 
The act increases, from $100 to $200, the fee for a 

nonresident commercial fishing license.  It increases, 
from $200 to $500, the fee for a nonresident license to 
take, by hook and lines, a species above its legally 
specified creel limit. (Prior law applied the fee to any 
species subject to a creel limit.)   

The act creates a new license category to take 
lobsters or crabs (other than blue crabs) for personal use 
or for sale by use of 10 or more lobster pots or similar 
devices. The fee for this license is $150 for residents 
and $225 for nonresidents.  If the nonresident’s home 
state does not extend reciprocity to Connecticut 
residents for commercial lobstering licenses, the 
nonresident’s license is only valid for crabs, other than 
blue crabs.  DEP may not issue a nonresident this 

license if his home state’s laws on the taking of lobster 
are less restrictive than Connecticut’s regulations.  The 
law already provides a similar license, with the same 
fees, for the taking of lobsters, crabs, and other species 
using a broader range of devices.  

 
Reporting Requirements 

 
The act requires individuals who engage in 

unlicensed commercial fishing activities to report 
information about their activities to the commissioner as 
he requests.  (This requirement already applies to 
license holders.) The act specifically applies to a person 
who (1) engages in commercial fishing in the state’s 
waters; (2) lands lobsters, sea scallops, finfish, crabs, or 
squid in this state, regardless of where they were taken; 
or (3) purchases any of these species from a commercial 
fisherman for resale. The act also extends the reporting 
requirement to anyone holding a license to take 
menhaden for personal use.  By law, violation of the 
reporting requirements is an infraction but is not subject 
to DEP license suspension. 

 
Environmental Tourism and Fishing 

 
The law requires a DEP permit to use a vessel for 

commercial fishing. The act establishes a separate 
permit for environmental tourism cruise vessels. Under 
the act, such vessels are operated for a fee (1) to observe 
and retain marine and estuarine resources and (2) for 
educational purposes.  No one can operate a vessel or 
use commercial fishing gear for these purposes unless 
DEP has granted the separate permit to the vessel’s 
owner in lieu of the commercial fishing vessel permit. 
The environmental tourism cruise permit must establish 
the conditions for the use of the fishing gear. The permit 
fee is $50. The vessel cannot be used to land any species 
regulated by DEP. A separate permit is not required for 
someone who has a DEP permit to collect wildlife for 
educational and scientific purposes. 

 
Other Fishing Provisions 

 
The act also: 
1. requires that seafood resale dealers be licensed 

only if they buy seafood landed in Connecticut, 
rather than seafood regardless of where it was 
landed; 

2. exempts vessels used to assist commercial 
fishing vessels using pound nets from the 
commercial fishing vessel permit requirement; 
and 

3. specifies that references to crabs in the fishing 
statutes include  horseshoe crabs. 
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By law, no one can take lobsters for personal use by 
hand, skin diving, or scuba diving without a DEP 
license.  The act extends this provision to horseshoe 
crabs.  
 
STATE FOREST FIRE CONTROL AND 
PREVENTION 

 
State Forest Fire Warden and Duties 

 
The act makes the DEP commissioner, rather than 

the state forester, the state forest fire warden and makes 
corresponding changes to transfer the forester’s 
authority to the commissioner. By law, the state warden 
coordinates the state's forest fire prevention and control 
efforts, and he is charged with equipping and 
maintaining forest fire fighting crews when forest fire 
risks are high. 

The act authorizes the commissioner, as state 
warden, to take direct authority over forest fire efforts 
when the governor declares a forest fire emergency. The 
state warden may delegate this authority to other state 
forest fire control personnel. Otherwise, by law and 
practice, the local fire official is generally the officer-in-
command.  

The act narrows the warden's responsibilities by 
eliminating his responsibility to (1) cause forest fire 
violators to be prosecuted and (2) enforce all statutes 
regarding forest and timber land protection. It also 
eliminates his authority to act as an assistant state's 
attorney to prosecute alleged violations of the statutes 
regarding forest and timberland protection and to 
delegate such powers to two other people.  It eliminates 
the responsibility of fire control personnel and district 
and deputy wardens to enforce laws regarding forest and 
timber land protection. 

The act eliminates DEP's responsibility to replace 
equipment provided to and used by fire companies 
called upon to fight forest fires. By law, those 
companies are responsible for maintaining such 
equipment. 

The act eliminates the state warden's ability to add a 
$10 administrative fee to forest fire bills and allows him 
to forgive bills that are less than the administrative 
costs. 
 
State Forest Fire Personnel and Wardens’ Powers 
 

The act eliminates the arrest powers of state forest 
fire personnel and fire wardens for alleged forest fire 
violations. It also eliminates such powers of patrol 
personnel employed by the state warden to act as fire 
lookouts.  

 

The act updates the provisions allowing state forest 
fire personnel to requisition property to help fight fires 
by replacing references to horse and wagons with 
equipment. It also increases, from $100 to $200, the fine 
for refusing or interfering with such efforts or refusing 
or neglecting to assist when summoned.  

 
Payments to Volunteer Fire Companies and Other 
Compensation  

 
The act allows the state warden to pay fire 

companies rather than fire fighters individually for 
assisting in fighting a forest fire and authorizes him to 
establish rates for such services, equipment, and 
supplies used. 

By law, the state warden may call on fire 
companies to help state forest fire crews fight fires. The 
act eliminates the prohibition against paying the fire 
companies for the services of their fire fighters.  Under 
prior law, the state paid the fire fighters individually.  
Under the act, the chief of a volunteer company may, in 
accordance with local ordinances, submit a bill for the 
personnel and equipment used. The bill must be on a 
form the state warden prescribes. 

The act authorizes the state warden to establish 
compensation rates for (1) equipment use, (2) fire-
fighting material and supplies, and (3) volunteer 
company fire fighter and laborer time. The rates may 
differentiate between various kinds of equipment, 
material, and supplies. The rates for fire fighters and 
laborers must be fixed on an hourly basis and be 
approved by the Department of Administrative Services.  
They do not apply to fire fighters who receive a regular 
salary for their services.  

 
Abandoned Roads for Fire Prevention 

 
The act eliminates the state warden’s authority to 

maintain a closed or legally discontinued road it 
maintained for fire prevention purposes after petition of 
and agreement among 75% of abutting property owners. 
 
 
PA  01-180—sSB 1012 
Environment Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Legislative Management Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING NITROGEN 
REDUCTION IN LONG ISLAND SOUND 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires the Department of 
Environmental Protection (DEP) to issue a general 
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permit limiting the total amount of nitrogen discharged 
into Long Island Sound by municipal sewage treatment 
plants.  It also requires DEP to set individual discharge 
limits for each plant, based on the total maximum daily 
load (TMDL) and each plant’s location.  The TMDL, 
established by DEP and approved by the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), is the 
maximum amount of nitrogen that can be discharged 
into the Sound without significantly impairing its water 
quality. 

The act establishes a nitrogen credit exchange 
program. Nitrogen credits are created when a plant 
reduces its nitrogen discharges below the level the 
permit requires. DEP must adjust these credits to 
account for the relatively greater harm to Long Island 
Sound caused by nitrogen discharged from plants that 
are closer to the shoreline.  The resulting credits are 
called equivalent nitrogen credits. Plants can meet their 
discharge limit by purchasing credits through DEP from 
plants that have reduced their discharges below their 
permit levels.  In addition, the act creates state-owned 
credits.  

The act authorizes DEP to (1) establish, oversee, 
and manage the credit exchange program, and (2) create 
a Nitrogen Credit Advisory Board. DEP must consult 
with the board about the program.   

The board must annually propose to DEP the value 
of equivalent nitrogen credits using a formula 
established by the act. The act allows municipalities to 
challenge the value  proposed by the board and creates 
an arbitration process to resolve challenges. DEP or the 
arbitration panel, as applicable, sets the value of the 
credits. 

The act requires DEP, on an annual schedule, to 
purchase all available credits and to make them 
available to plants that would otherwise exceed their 
discharge levels.  DEP may also sell the credits to other 
entities. 

The act authorizes DEP to administer the program 
with money from the purchase and sale of credits. It 
may use money from the Clean Water Fund to operate 
the program if necessary. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
GENERAL PERMIT BASED ON TOTAL 
MAXIMUM DAILY LOAD 
 

The federal Clean Water Act requires states with 
water bodies that do not meet federal water quality 
standards to develop a plan to bring them into 
compliance with the standards.  As part of the process, 
states must determine the TMDL so that the water body 
can meet the standards. 

 

A federally required DEP analysis of water quality 
in the Sound calls for a significant reduction in nitrogen 
loads phased in over 15 years. 

The act requires DEP to establish a general permit 
limiting effluent discharge levels.  These levels 
supersede general and individual discharge limits under 
existing permits.  The act also authorizes DEP to set 
compliance schedules in the general permit or existing 
individual discharge permits, based on the phased-in 
reductions.  

The general permit limits must be based on the 
DEP analysis as approved by EPA.  The general permit 
must establish an annual compliance schedule for each 
plant’s nitrogen reduction. DEP may incorporate these 
schedules into existing permits.  The department may 
require plants to (1) meet the effluent limit or other 
conditions, (2) comply with the permit’s monitoring 
requirements, and (3) comply with any other DEP 
requirements necessary for the general permit. It may 
propose necessary modifications to the general permit. 

 
Setting Plant Limi ts 

 
The load limits assigned to each plant depend on its 

proximity to the Sound.  The further west and closer to 
the shoreline a plant is, the greater the threat. 

DEP must account for the different impact of the 
discharges by setting an “equivalency factor” for each 
plant.  It may revise the equivalency factor at the 
commissioner’s discretion. It must make these 
equivalency factors, and any revisions, available for 
public comment at least 30 days before they are 
implemented. 

DEP must use the equivalency factors to apportion 
the overall statewide limit among plants, and it must 
establish their individual discharge limits. It must 
consider scheduled nitrogen removal construction 
projects when setting individual limits. Plants may meet 
the general permit’s effluent limits by participating in 
the nitrogen credit exchange program.  

A nitrogen credit is the difference between a plant’s 
actual nitrogen discharge and the discharge required 
under the general permit, expressed in terms of pounds 
of nitrogen per day. Multiplying that nitrogen credit by 
the equivalency factor for that plant results in an 
equivalent nitrogen credit.   
 
ESTABLISHING THE NITROGEN CREDIT 
EXCHANGE PROGRAM 
 

The act authorizes DEP, in consultation with the 
advisory board, to oversee and execute the sale and 
purchase of all nitrogen credits.  DEP must establish an 
account to handle the purchase and sale of credits. DEP 
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must use the account to administer the program and for 
nitrogen removal projects, habitat restoration projects, 
and research. It must establish a program to teach 
municipalities about the program and help them 
implement it. It may establish any other procedures 
necessary to carry out the program. 

DEP must maintain a separate account of state-
owned equivalent nitrogen credits. These represent the 
difference between the maximum allowable nitrogen 
discharge from all of the plants under the TMDL and 
their total actual discharge.  DEP must purchase all 
equivalent nitrogen credits created by plants at the 
annual established value.  It must sell available state-
owned credits, including credits purchased from plants 
at the annually established value, so that plants can meet 
their specified nitrogen discharge limits.  When 
practical, DEP must sell any remaining credits to other 
public or private entities. 

The act allows funds from the water pollution 
control account of the Clean Water Fund to be used for 
the program when the program account is exhausted. 

DEP must (1) establish a schedule for and monitor 
all nitrogen removal projects and (2) monitor the annual 
progress made in meeting the 15-year schedule for 
achieving the TMDL.  

 
Annual Schedule 

 
DEP must, by March 31 each year, audit the 

performance of all plants operating for the full previous 
calendar year.   

By that date it must (1) determine  the total number 
of equivalent nitrogen credits for sale and the number to 
be purchased; (2) publish the annual value of equivalent 
nitrogen credits, as determined by the board; and (3) 
notify each plant of its equivalent nitrogen credit 
balance.  

Plants have until July 31 to purchase from DEP 
equivalent credits needed to meet their discharge limit. 
They must purchase the credits by sending a certified 
bank check or money order made payable to the 
Nitrogen Credit Exchange Program, stating on the 
check's face that it is for a “nitrogen credit purchase.”  
DEP must sell the equivalent credits at the established 
value.    

By August 14 annually, DEP must purchase all 
available credits. Apparently, DEP will "settle accounts" 
with buyers and sellers at this time and retain any 
remaining credits. 

 
Valuing Nitrogen Credits 

 
The advisory board must annually propose the 

value of equivalent nitrogen credits according to a 

formula that divides the total annual project cost by the 
amount of equivalent pounds of nitrogen reduced.  The 
total annual project cost is the total annual capital cost 
of a plant's nitrogen reduction capacity, plus the total 
eligible annual cost of its operation and maintenance.  It 
appears that the credit value is specific to each plant. 

Total Annual Capital Costs. A plant's total eligible 
capital cost, as used in the valuation of the credits, is the 
total cost of financing nitrogen reduction through a 
combination 30% grant and 70% loan from the state. 
Under the act, the total annual capital cost is the total 
cost of the loan, divided by a 20-year repayment period. 
Capital costs eligible for the grant and loan are for the 
actual planning, design, and construction of a nitrogen 
removal facility and of the necessary land and 
equipment.  They do not include costs associated with 
improvements for local water quality needs or for any 
modification for purposes other than nitrogen reduction. 
The commissioner, with the board's approval, may 
designate other eligible capital costs associated with the 
improvement of existing plants.   

Eligible Operating and Maintenance Costs. The 
credit calculation for operating and maintenance costs 
reflects the incremental increase in the cost of labor, 
administration, electricity, and chemicals to remove 
nitrogen.  

Resolving Valuation Challenges. The board must 
send written notice of the proposed value to each 
municipality with a municipal sewage treatment plant. 
The commissioner must issue a draft ruling on the 
proposed value, which becomes final if no municipality 
or group of municipalities petitions for its review within 
15 business days. 

The board has 10 business days from the 
submission of such a petition to appoint an arbitration 
panel consisting of: (1) a municipal official from a 
municipality expected to sell credits in the coming fiscal 
year, (2) a municipal official from a municipality 
expected to buy credits in the coming fiscal year, and 
(3) a third member agreed on by the two municipal 
members.  The panel must meet with the commissioner 
and petitioners within 10 business days after its 
appointment and issue a final ruling on the annual value 
of the credits no later than 10 business days after 
convening. 
 
Enforcement  

 
The act authorizes DEP to conduct compliance 

audits of the annual operating data for plants 
participating in the program. Plants that fail to meet 
their individual waste load allocations are subject to the 
existing statutory water pollution control enforcement 
provisions. 
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DEP Policies, Procedures, and Regulations 
 

The act authorizes the commissioner to establish 
other policies or procedures he deems necessary and to 
adopt regulations to carry out the program. 
 

NITROGEN CREDIT ADVISORY BOARD 

The act establishes a Nitrogen Credit Advisory 
Board to assist and advise DEP in administering the 
nitrogen credit exchange program. DEP must consult 
with the board, whose members must, as far as possible, 
represent a balance between buyers and sellers of 
credits, large and small municipalities, and different 
regions of the state.   
 
Board Members 
 

The board consists of nine public members, the 
DEP commissioner, the Office of Policy and 
Management secretary, and the state treasurer, or their 
designees. The commissioner or his designee will chair 
the board.    

The nine public members must include (1) an 
official of a major plant, appointed by the House 
speaker; (2) a municipal public works official, 
appointed by the Senate president pro tempore; (3) a 
representative of a town with more than 20,000 people 
that buys credits, appointed by the House majority 
leader; (4) a representative of a town with fewer than 
20,000 people that sells credits, appointed by the House 
majority leader; (5) a representative of a town with 
more than 20,000 people that sells credits, appointed by 
the Senate majority leader; (6) a representative from a 
town of fewer than 20,000 that buys credits appointed 
by the Senate majority leader; and (7) three people 
having experience in either wastewater treatment, 
environmental law, or finance, one each to be appointed 
by the governor and the House and Senate minority 
leaders.   

All appointments must be made by August 1, 2001.  
The commissioner must schedule the board's first 
meeting by September 1, 2001. Members serve 
staggered three-year terms. At the first meeting 
members must draw lots to determine their initial terms 
of office. The initial terms may be for any combination 
of one, two, or three years provided no more than 50% 
of the members' terms expire in any one year.  
Subsequent terms are for three years. The board must 
elect a secretary.  A majority of members must be 
present at a meeting to transact business. 
 
 
 

Annual Report 
 
The board must report annually to the Environment 

Committee by September 30. Its report must address: 
1. the progress of the nitrogen credit exchange 

program;  
2. the adequacy of the Clean Water Fund to 

support the program and the TMDL;  
3. recommendations to change the program, 

including (a) allowing trades outside the state, 
(b) expanding the general permit and the 
program to include other point and nonpoint 
sources, and (c) allowing trades outside the 
program;  

4. recommendations relating to the use of federal 
funds to help distressed municipalities in the 
planning, design, and construction of nitrogen 
removal facilities in implementing the act's 
provisions; and 

5. identification of other issues that need to be 
resolved.  

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Nitrogen in Water-Bodies 
 

Nitrogen is a naturally occurring nutrient in water 
bodies. It is also a pollutant. Its sources include human 
and animal waste, farming and lawn-care fertilizers, and 
combustion exhaust. 

Nitrogen from human activities may reach a water 
body from (1) discharge from a facility (such as a 
sewage treatment plant), known as a point source; (2) 
runoff after rain or snowmelt, known as non-point 
source; and (3) conversion from nitrogen in the air, 
known as deposition. 

Excessive nitrogen in the Sound is a primary cause 
of "hypoxia," a condition in which there is too little 
dissolved oxygen in the water to sustain aquatic life.  
Hypoxia, which occurs primarily in the western half of 
the Sound, reduces the habitat available to important 
fish and shellfish species that live in the bottom waters 
of the Sound.  Excess nitrogen causes hypoxia by 
fueling the growth of one-celled plants called algae. As 
the algae die, they sink to the bottom of the Sound and 
decompose, consuming oxygen in the process.  The 
more algae there are, the greater the depletion of 
oxygen. 
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PA 01-202—sHB 7000 
Environment Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING WATER DIVERSIONS 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires companies, 
municipalities, and other entities that withdraw 
substantial amounts of water from wells or surface 
waters to provide the Department of Environmental 
Protection (DEP) with information about their water 
diversions. It has different reporting requirements for 
entities that (1) registered their diversions with DEP 
before July 1, 1983 as required by law; (2) were eligible 
to register but did not do so; and (3) were not eligible to 
register and therefore were required to obtain a DEP 
permit for their diversions, but failed to do so. The 
reporting requirements for registrants do not apply to 
fossil fuel power plants that meet certain conditions.  

DEP cannot use the data supplied under the latter 
two provisions to impose civil penalties under existing 
law if the entity applies for a permit by July 1, 2003.  
But it can impose civil penalties if it has independent 
information of the entity’s violation of the law.  An 
entity that fails to file the data required by the act may 
be subject to these civil penalties. Violation of the 
requirements of the water diversion laws carries a civil 
penalty of up to $1,000 per day.  

The data must be reported by July 1, 2002, on a 
form developed by DEP in consultation with the 
departments of Agriculture, Public Health, and Public 
Utility Control.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 
 
REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

 
By law, a diversion is any activity that causes, 

allows, or results in the withdrawal from or alteration of 
the flow of water in the state (wells, reservoirs, 
watercourses, and other bodies of water). Entities that 
engaged in large scale diversions before July 1, 1982 
had to register them with DEP by July 1, 1983 and 
include certain information about them.  The law 
requires entities that began diversions after July 1, 1982 
to obtain DEP permits if they withdraw more than 
50,000 gallons in any 24-hour period or engaged in 
certain other diversions. 

 
Registrants 

 
The act requires registrants whose diversions 

continue as of July 1, 2001 to report their current 
operating data. The report must provide monthly data 
for 1997 through 2001 on (1) actual frequency and rate 

of withdrawals or discharges for diversions that are 
metered or (2) estimates of these data for unmetered 
diversions. An entity that maintains a diversion solely 
for agricultural uses can report estimated water use for 
the reporting period. 

These requirements do not apply to the owner or 
operator of a fossil fuel power plant if (1) the diversion 
is used to meet state or federal environmental laws and 
(2) the owner or operator reports to DEP an estimate of 
the amount of water needed in the future to comply with 
these laws. 

 
Entities that Didn’t Register Eligible Diversions 

 
An entity that was eligible but failed to register a 

diversion that continues to be in use as of July 1, 2001 
must report the same information required of registrants.  
In addition, it must report the information it would have 
had to report had it registered. This is (1) the location, 
capacity, frequency, and rate of withdrawal or 
discharges of the diversion as of July 1, 1982 and (2) a 
description of the water use and water system on or 
before this date. Finally, such entities must provide 
evidence that the diversion was in operation at that time. 

 
Entities that Didn’t Obtain Permits  

 
An entity that maintains a diversion as of July 1, 

2001 that was not eligible to register and did not have a 
permit must (1) report when the diversion began, (2) 
describe the water use and water system, and (3) 
provide the information required of registrants. 
 
 
PA 01-204—sHB 6997 
Environment Committee 
Energy and Technology Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Public Health Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING REVISIONS TO THE 
TRANSFER ACT AND OTHER VARIOUS 
ENVIRONMENTAL STATUTES 
 
SUMMARY: This act makes many changes in 
environmental law. It extensively amends the Transfer 
Act, which regulates the sale or other transfer of (1) 
property where hazardous waste was generated or 
processed and (2) dry cleaners and certain other 
businesses. 

It specifies that, starting July 1, 2002, federal 
regulations adopted as of January 1, 2001 implementing 
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the federal law governing hazardous substances replace 
the corresponding state regulations. The substitution 
does not happen if the Department of Environmental 
Protection (DEP) commissioner publishes notice of 
intent to adopt the federal regulations by January 1, 
2002 and submits them to the secretary of the state by 
June 30, 2002. The effect of this provision is unclear. 

The act exempts from statutory public notice 
requirements: (1) applications for certain minor 
modifications of DEP permits and (2) DEP's tentative 
determinations on these applications. 

The act broadens the DEP commissioner's power to 
issue temporary authorizations for water diversions and 
other activities. It expands a provision under which 
municipalities must pay to the state part of the increased 
property tax derived from contaminated sites that have 
been cleaned up. The payments go into the Special 
Contaminated Property Remediation and Insurance 
Fund. 

By law, electric suppliers must obtain part of their 
power from renewable resources. The act expands the 
eligible resources to include biomass gasification 
facilities that use such things as tree stumps or other 
biomass that regenerates.  It exempts such facilities 
from the laws that restrict where wood burning facilities 
may be located and imposes other environmental 
restrictions. 

The act allows the DEP commissioner to provide 
grants to nonprofit land conservation organizations to 
acquire open space land or enhance natural resources in 
distressed municipalities and municipalities with 
enterprise zones. The maximum grant is 65% of the 
acquisition cost or 50% of the enhancement cost. DEP 
can provide the grants to these organizations only with 
the approval of the municipality’s chief elected official 
or legislative body. 

The act extends, from July 1, 2001 to July 1, 2004, 
the moratorium on the commissioner granting permits 
for asphalt plants. But it allows him to issue permits that 
will improve the environmental performance of an 
existing plant. It also allows him to issue permits for 
replacement plants, so long as they improve 
environmental performance or air quality. 

The act requires that operators of sewage sludge 
incineration plants test their air emissions for mercury, 
metals, and hydrocarbons by January 1 of each year. 
They must conduct the tests and review and report the 
results in accordance with DEP procedures. After 
reviewing the report, DEP can order additional testing 
or control measures if it determines them necessary and 
reasonable to protect human health or the environment. 

By law, the sale or assignment of class I or II water 
company land (watershed land) requires a Department 
of Public Health (DPH) permit. Previously, DPH could 

grant a permit for the sale of such land only to a state 
agency, municipality, or another water company that 
met certain requirements.  The act allows DPH to grant 
a permit for the sale of class II land (land that is not 
located near water supply) or the sale or assignment of a 
conservation restriction or public access easement on 
class I or II land to a private nonprofit land-holding 
organization. It requires that the purchasing entity or 
assignee meet the requirements that apply under 
existing law. 

The act requires DEP to evaluate land owned by 
large private water companies to determine their 
resource value and desirability as open space. The 
companies and land conservation organizations must 
work with DEP to help it evaluate the properties. DEP 
must develop strategies for alternative ways of funding 
the preservation in perpetuity of these lands as open 
space. 

Under prior law, littering was an infraction.  The 
act instead subjects it to a fine of up to $199, with half 
going to the state and half to the enforcing municipality. 

The act modifies the penalties for violating certain 
pesticide application and arboriculture (tree work) laws. 

The act requires that certain municipal employees 
who control and handle animals obtain nuisance wildlife 
control licenses from DEP. It makes several other 
changes with regard to this license.  It specifies that the 
employee’s license is noncommercial, nontransferable, 
and conditional on municipal employment. 

The act modifies three reporting requirements—two 
concerning the Special Contaminated Property 
Remediation and Insurance Fund and one concerning 
carbon dioxide emissions. It eliminates a requirement 
that DEP report on its enforcement activities to the 
Environment Committee by February 1 annually. 

The act allows lake patrolmen to use batons, as well 
as firearms, upon completion of a basic police training 
program. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 for the 
temporary authorization, Transfer Act, littering, and 
lake patrolman provisions; July 1, 2001 for the 
hazardous substances provisions; and upon passage for 
the remaining provision. 
 
TRANSFER ACT AND RELATED PROVISIONS 
 
Definitions 

 
The Transfer Act applies to "establishments," i.e. 

property where a business generated more than 100 
kilograms (220 pounds) of hazardous waste in any one 
month after November 18, 1980. The law exempts from 
this definition property where this amount of waste was 
generated by remediation of polluted soil. The act 
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expands this exception to include remediation of 
contaminated sediment or groundwater. 

Establishments also include properties where 
hazardous waste generated offsite by another party is 
disposed of, recycled, reclaimed, reused, stored, 
handled, treated, or transported.  The act extends this 
provision to cover properties where waste generated 
offsite by the property owner is so processed. By law, 
establishments also include property where dry cleaners, 
furniture strippers, and vehicle body repair shops were 
located on or after May 1, 1967. The act exempts from 
the definitions of establishments, and thus the Transfer 
Act, property where a vehicle painting shop was located 
on or after May 1, 1967. 

As described below, the act expands the Transfer 
Act’s provisions to cover releases of hazardous 
substances at establishments. These substances include 
a broad range of material regulated under federal and 
state law, including petroleum and its by-products. The 
act applies to substances that have remediation 
standards set by state law or a process for calculating 
the numeric criteria of such substance. 

By law, the person who files a Form III or IV for a 
contaminated property is called the certifying party. 
This person must be associated with the transfer. The 
act expands this definition of parties associated with the 
transfer to include (1) the establishment's past owner, 
(2) its past or present operator (business operators are 
already included), and (3) the owner of the property on 
which the establishment is located. Under prior law, the 
certifying party had to agree to remediate the parcel. 
The act instead requires him to remediate pollution 
caused by any release at the establishment. This 
provision and others in the act appear to make the 
certifying party potentially responsible for remediating 
pollution that migrates offsite. The act also refers to the 
person signing a Form I or II but does not require him to 
remediate the parcel. 

 
Exemptions from the Transfer Act 

 
The act exempts from the Transfer Act: 
1.  the acquisition of an establishment by a 

government or quasi-government authority, 
2.  the conveyance of an interest in an 

establishment to a trustee of an inter vivos trust 
created by the transferor solely for the interest 
of the transferor's spouse or blood relative, and 

3.  the issuance of a subsequent series of securities 
of the entity that owns or operates the 
establishment.  (The original issuance is 
already exempt.) 

The law provides exemptions from the Transfer Act 
for property conveyances through foreclosure and 

conveyance of a security interest in the property. The 
act more narrowly defines the types of transactions that 
qualify for these exemptions. 

The act modifies other exemptions. The law 
exempts any lease renewal, and the conveyance, 
assignment, or termination of a lease for less than 25 
years. The act instead exempts such transactions in 
connection with leases of up to 99 years and adds 
executions of leases for up to this period to the exempt 
transactions.  

The law exempts a corporate reorganization that 
does not substantially affect the establishment's 
ownership. Prior law gave as examples of such 
reorganizations dividend and stock distributions arising 
from a merger. The act instead specifies that such 
reorganizations, in order to be considered exempt, must 
restructure a corporation by merger, spin-off, or other 
means, in which the establishment's direct owner 
remains the same.  Prior law exempted the transfer of 
stock or other ownership interests representing less than 
a majority of the voting power of the establishment's 
owner or operator. The act instead exempts transfers of 
less than 40% of the entity's ownership.  

 
Forms I, II, III, and IV 

 
By law, one of four forms must be filed with DEP 

before the transfer takes place.  The type of form 
depends on whether there has been a hazardous waste 
spill on the property, and if so, whether it has been 
remediated.  

Under prior law, a Form I stated, based on an 
investigation that complied with statutory requirements, 
that there has been no hazardous waste releases on the 
parcel. The act instead allows this form to be filed if 
there has been no spill, at the establishment, of 
hazardous waste or hazardous substances, as these terms 
are defined in the act. It also allows this form to be filed 
if (1) there has been no hazardous waste spill and (2) 
any spill of hazardous substances has been remediated 
in accordance with DEP standards.  

By law, a Form II is filed if there has been a 
hazardous waste spill, but (1) it has been remediated or 
(2) DEP has determined that no remediation is needed 
to comply with its remediation standards. The act 
extends these provisions to include properties where 
there has been a spill of a hazardous substance that has 
been remediated or determined by DEP not to need 
remediation. The act also expands the circumstances in 
which this form is filed to include the transfers of 
property for which a Form IV (described below) has 
been filed with the commissioner and since the filing, 
based on an investigation of the parcel, there has been 
no spill of hazardous waste or hazardous substances. 
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The investigation must meet the same standards that 
apply to an investigation for a Form I filing. 

By law, a Form III is filed when (1) a hazardous 
waste spill has occurred on the property or its 
environmental condition was unknown and (2) the 
person signing the form agrees to investigate the 
property and remediate it according to DEP's standards. 
The act expands the applicability of this form to include 
properties where there has been a hazardous substance 
spill. It expands the person's liability by requiring him to 
agree to remediate pollution caused by any release at the 
establishment, rather than just to remediate the parcel 
itself. It appears that this would require the person to 
agree to remediate offsite pollution caused by a spill on 
the site.  

By law, a Form IV is filed when there has been a 
hazardous waste spill and all of the necessary 
remediation tasks have been completed, other than (1) 
postremediation monitoring, (2) monitoring how natural 
processes reduce the contamination, or (3) recording a 
deed that restricts the future use of the land based on the 
degree to which it has been remediated. Under prior 
law, the person signing a Form IV had to agree to (1) 
conduct the monitoring in accordance with DEP's 
remediation standards, (2) conduct further 
investigations, if the monitoring indicates a need to take 
further steps, and (3) remediate the property in 
accordance with DEP's standards. The act expands these 
provisions to apply to properties where there was a 
hazardous substances spill that was remediated. It also 
requires the person to agree to conduct further 
investigation when needed, even if this is not based on 
the required monitoring. 

The act allows any certifying party who submitted a 
Form III or IV prior to its effective date to comply with 
the act rather than the requirements of prior law. The 
certifying party must provide notice to the transferor, 
transferee, and the parcel’s owner (if a different person) 
in order to take advantage of this option. 

 
Procedural Changes 

 
The act makes many changes in the way the above 

forms are prepared and processed. By law, the transferor 
must (1) submit the form to the transferee before the 
transfer and (2) submit it to the commissioner no more 
than 10 days later. The act specifies that the form 
submitted to the transferee must be complete. It requires 
the commissioner to notify the transferor if he considers 
a Form I or II complete within 90 days of its submission 
to him. 

By law, the person submitting a Form III or IV 
must (1) simultaneously submit an environmental 
assessment to DEP and (2) certify that the information 

on the form is correct. The act extends this requirement 
to the certifying party filing a Form I for an 
uncontaminated property. It requires the certifying party 
filing any of these forms to provide DEP, upon the 
commissioner's written request, with technical plans, 
reports, and supporting documents relating to the 
investigation of the parcel or the remediation of the 
establishment, as specified in the commissioner’s 
request. The act requires that a licensed environmental 
professional supervise the preparation of the 
assessment. It also allows people who submitted a Form 
III to DEP before October 1, 1995, to file an assessment 
if they were barred from filing assessments because they 
were subject to enforcement actions. 

Under prior law, if the property did not qualify for a 
Form I or II, the certifying party had to prepare and sign 
a Form III or IV and submit it to the transferee and the 
commissioner. The act instead allows any party to the 
transfer to prepare and sign the form. If no one else does 
this as a certifying party, the transferor must. The 
transferor also must submit the form to the transferee 
and DEP.  

The act increases, from 15 to 30 days, the amount 
of time the commissioner has between the submission of 
a Form III or IV and when he must notify the certifying 
party whether it is complete. 

By law, when a person files a Form III or IV, the 
commissioner must determine whether (1) DEP must 
approve the remediation or (2) a licensed environmental 
professional can verify that the investigation and 
remediation meet DEP standards. The act requires DEP, 
in making its determination, to consider the potential 
risk to human health and the environment posed by a 
release of hazardous substances, as well as hazardous 
waste.  

The act allows the commissioner to order the 
transferor, transferee, or both to file a form if no else 
does or if the filed form is incomplete. 

By law, if the commissioner notifies the certifying 
party that DEP approval is required, the party must (1) 
provide a schedule for submitting certain documents, (2) 
submit these documents on schedule, and (3) perform 
all the work identified in them. The act adds scopes of 
work (overviews of the project) to these documents.  

The act requires that the investigations conducted in 
connection with the law be done in accordance with 
prevailing standards and guidelines. Prior law required 
them to be conducted in accordance with DEP 
regulations, once they are adopted or January 1, 2002, 
whichever is sooner.  

The act requires the certifying party, rather than the 
transferee, to pay the fees required by law. 

The act allows anyone who files a form to petition 
the commissioner to withdraw it. The person must make 
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every reasonable effort to locate the transferor, 
transferee, and certifying party and must notify them by 
certified mail. They have 30 days to object to the 
petition. The commissioner can approve the petition if 
he finds that the property or business was not an 
establishment or the transaction not a transfer when the 
form was submitted. If the commissioner approves the 
petition, the certifying party has no further obligations, 
but DEP keeps the form and fee. 

 
Penalties 

 
Under prior law, a person was subject to a fine of 

up to $100,000 for (1) knowingly giving any false 
information on a document or (2) failing to comply with 
the requirements of the Transfer Act. The act eliminates 
the penalty for these offenses in connection with the law 
that provides for voluntary remediation of sites in areas 
with poor water quality. It subjects these violations to 
DEP's general penalty provisions. Under these 
provisions, the penalty ranges from a fine of up to 
$25,000 for a simple violation to a fine of up to 
$50,000, imprisonment for up to three years, or both, for 
knowing violations. 

 
NOTICE REQUIREMENTS 

 
The act exempts certain permit applications and 

DEP's tentative determinations on them from statutory 
public notice requirements. The exemption applies to an 
application for a minor modification or revision of a 
wide range of DEP permits, if the commissioner has 
adopted regulations establishing criteria for what 
constitutes a minor modification or revision. These 
applications include permits issued under the following 
programs: air pollution, water pollution, solid waste, 
hazardous waste, wetlands, dams and other waterway 
structures, stream channel encroachment, the regulation 
of petroleum and other hazardous material, and the 
federal Water Pollution Control Act (section 401 
permits). 

The exemption also applies to (1) an application for 
a minor modification of a pollution source permitted 
under the Clean Air Act in accordance with federal 
regulations and (2) the commissioner's tentative 
determination on any of the above applications. The 
exemption supersedes other state environmental laws 
and regulations. 

Under prior law, permit applicants had to publish a 
notice in a local newspaper, including detailed 
information about the application. Among other things, 
the notice had to (1) describe the activity for which the 
permit is being sought, its location, and any affected 
natural resources; (2) identify the type of permit being 

sought; and (3) describe how interested persons can get 
copies of the applications. The applicant had to include 
a certification with the application that he will publish 
the notice and send DEP a certified copy of it. The 
applicant also had to notify the chief elected official of 
the municipality where the regulated activity would take 
place. Under the act, these notice requirements, as they 
continue to apply to major modifications and other 
nonexempt applications, would no longer supersede 
requirements in other statutes or regulations. 

Under prior law, the commissioner had to cause a 
similar notice to be published when he makes a tentative 
determination on a permit application. The applicant 
had to pay for this notice, which had to contain 
information similar to that required in the application 
notice. In addition, the notice had to include the 
tentative determination and describe how the public can 
participate in the case, including the amount of time 
they have to submit comments on the application. The 
commissioner had to notify the local chief elected 
official of the determination.  

By law, the notice requirements do not apply to 
applications for a general permit, which are issued for 
minor activities that have minimal environmental 
effects. Nor do they apply to applications for water 
pollution discharges exempted by the commissioner, 
hazardous waste transporter permits, authorizations for 
solid waste facilities to handle special waste, or the 
commissioner's determinations on them. 

 
TEMPORARY AUTHORIZATIONS 

 
The act broadens the commissioner's power to issue 

temporary authorizations. It allows him to issue 
authorizations for a broader range of water resources 
and dam activities rather than just for diversions. By 
law, the commissioner can issue an authorization for 
activities for which he has authority to issue a general 
permit if (1) the activity will last for no more than 30 
days and will not pose a significant threat to human 
health and the environment, and (2) the authorization is 
needed to protect the public interest and does not 
conflict with relevant federal law. 

 
PROPERTY TAX ON REMEDIATED SITES 

 
By law, municipalities must pay the state treasurer 

part of the increased property tax received from 
contaminated sites that have undergone remediation. 
They must pay 20% of the amount by which the tax 
generated after remediation exceeds the greatest amount 
of tax received on the parcel in any of the preceding 
three years. The provision applies to parcels on which 
property tax is assessed and collected between January 
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1, 1999 and December 31, 2005. The money is 
deposited in the Special Contaminated Property 
Remediation and Insurance Fund. The fund is used, 
among other things, for contaminated site assessments 
and investigations. 

Under prior law, the requirement applied to the 
taxes on the parcel in the five assessment years after a 
licensed environmental professional files a final 
remedial action report or the commissioner approves a 
report, i.e., the parcel has been completely remediated. 
(By law, either DEP or the licensed environmental 
professional can conduct the remediation.) The act 
additionally triggers the requirement when a Form IV is 
filed under the Transfer Act.  

Under prior law, the property tax provision did not 
apply to parcels cleaned up under the Urban Sites 
Remedial Action Program. Under the act, it appears that 
this exemption does not apply when a Form IV is filed. 

 
ARBORICULTURE AND PESTICIDE 
APPLICATION PENALTIES 

 
The act eliminates the civil penalty for people in the 

pesticide industry who engage in tree work without a 
DEP arboriculture license. Arboriculture involves 
various types of work, including protecting trees from 
insects or disease and curing them from these conditions 
by spraying.  The people affected are commercial 
pesticide applicators, uncertified people who engage in 
commercial applications, pesticide distributors, and 
various people required to register their pesticides. 
Under prior law, the civil fine ranged from $1,000 to 
$2,000 for a first offense and up to $5,000 for a 
subsequent offense. 

Under prior law, the fines also applied to anyone: 
(1) other than a commercial pesticide applicator who 
performed or sought to perform commercial pesticide 
application or (2) who had an operational certificate for 
commercial applications and performed or sought to 
perform work that required the higher supervisory 
certificate. 

For this group, the act applies the $1,000 to $2,000 
fine for an initial offense for each day the violation 
continues, rather than for the offense regardless of 
duration.   

 
NUISANCE WILDLIFE CONTROL OFFICERS 

 
The act requires municipal employees who control 

and handle animals, including animal control officers 
but excluding employees engaged in the emergency 
control of rabies, to obtain DEP nuisance wildlife 
control licenses.  The DEP commissioner must provide 
the training these employees need for licensure without 

charge.  The license is noncommercial, nontransferable, 
and conditional upon municipal employment. By law, 
the licensure requirement applies to people who engage 
in nuisance wildlife control as a business. The act makes 
an out-of-state resident ineligible for a license if his 
home state does not extend reciprocity to Connecticut 
residents. 

The act also (1) extends the validity of the license 
from one to two years; (2) increases the fee from $50 to 
$100; (3) waives the fee for municipal employees; (4) 
allows the DEP commissioner to set the license renewal 
schedule, rather than requiring that all licenses expire on 
December 31; and (5) requires licensees to report to the 
commissioner by a date he specifies, rather than by 
February 1, annually, on the techniques they used to 
control animals.   

 
REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

 
By law, the Department of Economic and 

Community Development (DECD) can use the Special 
Contaminated Property Remediation and Insurance 
Fund to provide loans for environmental assessments, 
investigations, and demolition costs. Under prior law, 
DECD and a board that advises it on loan applications 
had to report to the Environment Committee annually 
by February 1 on the loan program. The act allows them 
to skip the 2002 report.  

By law, part of the incremental property taxes of a 
contaminated site that has been remediated goes into the 
fund. The act requires the  board to report to the 
committee by February 1, 2003 on (1) whether the 
payments that flow into the fund are sufficient to keep it 
solvent and (2) whether they should continue. 

Under prior law, the Office of Policy and 
Management had to submit a report to the legislature by 
May 1 annually on the net amount of carbon dioxide 
emitted in the state. The act drops the requirement for 
2002 and requires that the report be submitted every 
three years, starting May 1, 2003. 
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PA 01-2—sSB 1221 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING CIGARETTE 
LICENSEES AND NONPARTICIPATING 
CIGARETTE MANUFACTURERS 
 
SUMMARY: This act allows the revenue services 
commissioner to disclose each licensed cigarette 
dealer’s name and where the dealer may sell cigarettes. 
Under prior law, the information was confidential. A 
“dealer” is a cigarette retailer with fewer than five retail 
outlets or 25 vending machines. 

The act also makes it clear that cigarette 
manufacturers not participating in the tobacco master 
settlement agreement must make escrow fund payments 
for cigarettes sold in Connecticut by April 15 of the year 
following the sale year.   
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Cigarette Licenses 

 
Anyone wishing to sell cigarettes in the state must 

have a license from the Department of Revenue 
Services.  There are two kinds of licenses. Cigarette 
manufacturers, wholesalers, and large-scale cigarette 
retailers (those who operate five or more retail outlets or 
25 or more cigarette vending machines) are licensed as 
“distributors.” All other sellers are considered “dealers.” 

 
Nonparticipating Cigarette Manufacturers 

 
Cigarette manufacturers that sell cigarettes in 

Connecticut must either (1) enter into, and perform 
financial obligations under, the master settlement 
agreement between Connecticut and four leading 
tobacco companies or (2) pay into a qualified escrow 
account a specified amount for each cigarette they sell 
in the state. Tobacco companies that choose the latter 
option are considered “nonparticipating manufacturers.” 
These escrow requirements are part of the national 
tobacco settlement’s “model statute,” which the General 
Assembly passed in 2000.  Passage of the model statute 
is a condition of the state receiving its full funding 
allotment under the settlement. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PA 01-187—sSB 1333 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
Appropriations Committee 

 
AN ACT CONCERNING WAIVERS OF 
DEADLINES FOR CERTAIN PROPERTY TAX 
EXEMPTION APPLICANTS, VALIDATION OF 
THE TOWN OF GREENWICH'S 
REVALUATION, VALIDATION OF A NEW 
MILFORD BOND AUTHORIZATION NOTICE, 
VALIDATION OF THE GRAND LIST ABSTRACT 
FOR THE CITY OF BRIDGEPORT, INTEREST 
ON DELINQUENT PROPERTY TAXES IN THE 
TOWN OF ENFIELD, MUNICIPAL OPTION 
PROPERTY TAX RELIEF FOR CIVIL 
PREPAREDNESS STAFF, VALIDATION OF 
CERTAIN TAX LIENS, AND STATE GRANTS-IN-
AID FOR REVALUATION SYSTEMS 

 
SUMMARY:  This act allows a town legislative body to 
adopt an ordinance providing tax relief to its volunteer 
civil preparedness staff members. Towns may already 
provide relief to nonsalaried local civil preparedness 
directors and volunteer firefighters, emergency medical 
technicians, paramedics, and ambulance drivers.  By 
law, the relief may take the form of (1) a tax abatement 
of up to $1,000 in property taxes due in any year or (2) a 
tax exemption of $1 million divided by the mill rate 
(expressed as a whole number per $1,000 of assessed 
value) at the time of assessment. 

The act makes towns that conducted the 
quadrennial property revaluations required by law 
without any delays or extensions, but did not do so 
between January 1, 1987 and December 31, 1996, 
eligible for the Office of Policy and Management’s 
(OPM) grant program for municipalities to develop or 
modify computer-assisted mass appraisal (CAMA) 
systems. Under prior law, only towns that conducted 
required revaluations between 1987 and 1996 were 
eligible. CAMA grants-in-aid range from $25,000 to 
$60,000, depending on population. Each eligible town 
may also receive an additional 10% grant for training 
and installing and modifying systems. The act limits 
towns to one CAMA grant-in-aid and one 10% grant.  

The act also:  
1. allows specific taxpayers to receive property 

tax exemptions in various towns for particular 
years despite having missed the application 
deadlines or understated the exemption’s value 
for those years, if they applied to the local 
assessors for the exemptions by August 9, 2001 
and pay a late fee; 
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2. requires the state to reimburse the towns for 
their resulting revenue losses; 

3. validates a particular grand list for Greenwich 
and a grand list abstract for Bridgeport, 
provided they meet certain specified 
conditions; 

4. validates actions taken at an October 11, 2000 
New Milford special town meeting concerning 
appropriations and bond authorizations for 
downtown improvements; 

5. requires Enfield to forego, and allows it to 
refund, interest on certain delinquent taxes, if 
the delinquency was caused by mail delivery 
problems in particular zip codes; 

6. validates certain tax liens filed by Oxford; and  
7. allows the East Haven Water Authority to 

continue certain liens if it files them with the 
town clerk by August 1, 2001 and the property 
subject to the liens has not changed hands. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage, except for the 
provision concerning tax relief for civil preparedness 
staff, which takes effect on October 1, 2001 and applies 
to tax years starting on or after that date. 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Related Act 
 

Section 20 of PA 01-7, June Special Session, 
contains the same CAMA grant provision as this act. 
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PA 01-14—sSB 1193 
General Law Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING BEER PACKAGING 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires grocery stores and 
package stores to sell bottles or cans of beer either (1) in 
the original packaging in which they were received, (2) 
as individual bottles or cans, or (3) repackaged in a way 
that does not mislead consumers or omit or obscure any 
labels required by statute or regulation.   

The act stipulates that it does not prohibit the stores 
from seeking the replacement of beer delivered to them 
damaged.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-17—sHB 5374 
General Law Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING BOWLING 
ESTABLISHMENT PERMITS FOR 
INTOXICATING LIQUORS 
 
SUMMARY: This act eliminates the requirement that 
bowling alleys holding alcoholic liquor or beer permits 
serve liquor or beer in transparent or clear containers. It 
also allows bowling alleys to sell wine under a beer 
permit, which costs $350 a year. Under prior law, a 
bowling alley could sell wine only under an alcoholic 
liquor permit, which costs $2,000 a year. 

Bowling alleys must have at least 10 lanes to obtain 
permits to sell alcoholic liquor or beer and wine. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA  01-43—sHB 6925 
General Law Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING ALTERNATIVE RETAIL 
PRICING SYSTEMS 
 
SUMMARY: This act allows additional retailers to 
participate in the Department of Consumer Protection 
(DCP) pilot program that tests alternative electronic 
retail pricing systems. By law, retailers who want to 
participate must submit a written request to DCP and 
pay all costs associated with a test audit.  Participating 
retailers are exempt from a law requiring them to mark 
each consumer item with its retail price.  

The act extends the maximum length of test audits 
from six to 12 months.   Previously, participating 
retailers had to be operating at least one store in 
Connecticut on October 1, 1998 and print shelf tags 

meeting item and unit pricing requirements in effect on 
that date.  The act allows retailers with at least one 
Connecticut store on October 1, 2001 to participate and 
eliminates the requirement that they designate a single 
store for auditing. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 

 
BACKGROUND 
 
Electronic Pricing System 

 
An electronic pricing system uses the universal 

product coding (bar code) system, a scanner, and cash 
register to record and total a customer’s purchases.  

 
Test Audit 

 
By law, stores participating in a test audit must 

implement a system that (1) keeps each product’s 
current item and unit price in an electronic database, (2) 
prints shelf tags meeting applicable item and unit price 
requirements, and (3) operates in a way that transmits 
(a) price decreases immediately and directly to the point 
of sale and (b) price increases to the point of sale only 
after new shelf tags the system prints are posted and 
verified in the database.   

The pilot program must operate within DCP’s 
available appropriations. The commissioner may 
designate a private auditing organization to conduct the 
audit and charge participating retailers for it.  He must 
report the results and any recommendations to the 
General Law Committee within three months after an 
audit is completed.  His report must include a copy of 
the audit.  
 
 
PA 01-46—sSB 1078 
General Law Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT PROTECTING PURCHASERS OF 
HOME HEATING OIL 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires all retail home heating-
oil dealers to: 

1. register each year with the Department of 
Consumer Protection (DCP) starting October 1, 
2001; 

2. have at least $1 million of insurance coverage 
for potential environmental damage resulting 
from fuel oil spills they cause; and 

3. put in writing any home heating-oil contracts 
that offer a guaranteed-price plan, and clearly 
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disclose their terms or conditions. 
The act requires dealers offering plumbing and 

heating work to employ only DCP-licensed or -
registered subcontractors to perform this work, and it 
requires the dealers to display those license numbers.  

The act also (1) allows DCP to revoke or suspend 
the registration of retail home heating-oil dealers; (2) 
makes violating the act an unfair trade practice; and (3) 
authorizes the DCP commissioner to adopt 
implementing regulations, including regulations 
regarding license suspension or revocation 
administrative hearings.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 

 
ANNUAL REGISTRATION OF HOME HEATING-
OIL DEALERS 

 
Beginning October 1, 2001, each person, firm or 

corporation engaged in the retail sale of home heating 
oil must register annually with DCP on forms prescribed 
by the department. Applicants must pay a $100 
registration fee and show they have general liability 
insurance and coverage of at least $1 million to pay for 
potential harm to the environment caused by fuel oil 
spills they cause. Each registered dealer must provide 
DCP with evidence of any change in, or renewal of, 
insurance coverage within five days of the change or 
renewal. 

 
LICENSED OR REGISTERED EMPLOYEES 

 
Retail home heating-oil dealers who offer plumbing 

or heating work must submit proof upon registration 
that they employ only DCP-licensed or -registered 
individuals to do this work. They must (1) attest when 
registering that all work will comply with state law; (2) 
display the state license number of the subcontractor or 
individual performing the work on all commercial 
vehicles used in their business; and (3) display the 
license number conspicuously on printed 
advertisements, bid proposals, contracts, invoices, and 
business stationery.  
 
HOME HEATING-OIL CONTRACT 
REQUIREMENTS 

 
All contracts for the retail sale of home heating oil 

that offer a guaranteed-price plan, including fixed-price 
or similar contracts, must be in writing. They must 
disclose their terms and conditions in plain language in 
at least 12-point, boldface type.  These disclosures must 
be stated immediately after the price or service affected.  

 
 

REGISTRATION SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION  
 
The act allows DCP, after notice and an opportunity 

for a hearing, to revoke or suspend a dealer’s 
registration for gross incompetence, malpractice, 
unethical conduct; knowingly making false, misleading, 
or deceptive representations about his work; or violating 
the regulations the commissioner adopts. It makes 
failure to (1) properly register, (2) prepare a proper 
contract, or (3) employ DCP-licensed or -registered 
workers an unfair trade practice under the Connecticut 
Unfair Trade Practices Act (CUTPA). 

  
BACKGROUND 

 
Licensed Workers 

 
Plumbers and heating, piping, and cooling 

contractors and journeymen must be licensed by DCP to 
engage in their trades.  Licensees must carry their 
licenses with them while on the job and show them to 
any properly interested person. Only the licensee may 
use the license, and contractors must display their 
license number on all commercial vehicles used in their 
business, as well as on printed advertisements, 
contracts, and business stationery. 

The plumbing and piping and the heating, piping, 
cooling, and sheet metal work boards may suspend or 
revoke a license if the licensee is convicted of a felony; 
is grossly incompetent; engages in malpractice or 
unethical conduct; or knowingly makes false, 
misleading, or deceptive representations about his work.   

 
Unfair Trade Practices 

 
The law prohibits businesses from engaging in 

unfair and deceptive acts or practices. CUTPA allows 
the DCP commissioner to issue regulations defining 
what constitutes an unfair trade practice, investigate 
complaints, issue cease and desist orders, order 
restitution in cases involving less than $5,000, enter into 
consent agreements, ask the attorney general to seek 
injunctive relief, and accept voluntary statements of 
compliance. The act also allows individuals to bring 
suit. Courts may issue restraining orders; award actual 
and punitive damages, costs, and reasonable attorneys 
fees; and impose civil penalties of up to $5,000 for 
willful violations and $25,000 for violation of a 
restraining order. 
 
Related Law 
 
 PA 01-195 makes a technical change. 
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PA 01-60—SB 1194 
General Law Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING OUT-OF-STATE 
SHIPPER'S PERMITS 
 
SUMMARY: This act specifies that the permit premises 
of the holder of an out-of-state shipper’s permit for beer 
or alcoholic liquor that is not a Connecticut wholesaler 
or manufacturer may be located in Connecticut or out-
of-state. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-65—sHB 6763 
General Law Committee 
Public Health Committee 
 
AN ACT AUTHORIZING RETIRED HOSPITAL 
EMPLOYEES TO OBTAIN DRUGS AT 
HOSPITALS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act permits hospitals to sell 
prescription drugs to their retired employees and their 
spouses if such sales are provided for in the employees’ 
retirement or pension plans. By law, a hospital can sell 
prescription drugs to an employee if a doctor has 
prescribed the drug for the employee, his spouse, or 
dependent children. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 
 
 
PA 01-66—sSB 1081 
General Law Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING LICENSURE OF SHEET 
METAL WORKERS, GLAZIERS, AND 
SWIMMING POOL MAINTENANCE AND 
REPAIR WORKERS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act postpones or extends various 
Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) deadlines 
for licensing certain sheet metal workers, automotive 
glass workers and flat glass workers (glaziers), and 
swimming pool maintenance and repair workers.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

 
SHEET METAL WORKERS 

  
Limited Contractor’s Licenses 

 
The act allows DCP to continue issuing limited 

contractor’s licenses until January 1, 2002 to anyone 
who has worked for at least two years as a sheet metal 

contractor or journeyman.  Under prior law, DCP could 
not issue such licenses after July 1, 2000. 

Starting January 1, 2002, instead of July 1, 2000, all 
applicants for a license must have at least two years 
experience as a sheet metal journeyman. Anyone who 
did such work in another state must provide the Heating, 
Piping, Cooling and Sheet Metal Board with evidence 
that the work was comparable to similar service in 
Connecticut. 

 
Limited Journeyman’s License 

 
The act allows DCP to continue issuing limited 

journeyman’s licenses until January 1, 2002, instead of 
July 1, 2000, to anyone who (1) successfully completed 
a bona fide apprenticeship program, including at least 
four years of work in the trade, or (2) furnishes proof he 
has continuously worked at least 8,000 hours in the 
trade within the previous five years, subject to the 
board’s approval.  

Starting January 1, 2002, instead of July 1, 2000, 
applicants must pass a licensing exam in addition to 
successfully completing the four-year apprenticeship 
program. 

 
AUTO AND FLAT GLASS WORKERS 

 
The act postpones, until January 1, 2002, DCP’s 

authority to issue various licenses on authorization of 
the Examining Board for Automotive Glass Work and 
Flat Glass Work. 

 
Unlimited Contractor’s License 

 
The act postpones, from October 1, 2001 to January 

1, 2002, the date on which DCP may begin issuing an 
unlimited contractor’s license to anyone who (1) served 
as a journeyman in the trade for at least three years, (2) 
furnished the board with satisfactory evidence of 
education and experience, and (3) passed a competency 
examination. If the applicant has worked as a 
journeyman out of state, he must furnish evidence that 
his service was comparable to similar service here.   

It also postpones the one-year period during which 
DCP may issue an unlimited contractor’s license to 
anyone with at least three years experience in the trade 
as a journeyman.  Under the act, the one-year period 
runs from January 1, 2002 to December 31, 2002, 
instead of from October 1, 2000 to September 30, 2001. 

 
Unlimited Journeyman’s License  

 
The act postpones, from October 1, 2001 to January 

1, 2002, the date on which DCP may begin issuing an 
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unlimited journeyman’s license to anyone who 
completes a bona fide apprenticeship program as 
required by the board and passes a licensing exam. 

It also postpones the one-year period during which 
DCP may issue an unlimited journeyman’s license to 
anyone with at least two years experience in the trade as 
a journeyman. Under the act, the period runs from 
January 1, 2002 to December 31, 2002, instead of from 
October 1, 2000 to September 30, 2001. 
 
SWIMMING POOL MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR 
WORKERS 

 
The act allows swimming pool maintenance and 

repair workers engaged in such work before July 1, 
1999 to obtain a limited contractor’s or journeyman’s 
license without an examination if they apply by January 
1, 2002.  There was no application deadline under prior 
law.  By law, applicants for these licenses must 
demonstrate experience and training equivalent to that 
needed to qualify for the appropriate license.  
 
 
PA 01-73—sHB 5193 
General Law Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE USE OF BAR 
CODE SCANNING MACHINES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires stores that (1) have a 
retail sales area of more than 10,000 square feet and (2) 
use an electronic pricing system to provide purchasers 
with plainly visible, item-by-item digital price readouts 
on each consumer commodity and carbonated soft drink 
container as it is scanned, and before accepting 
payment. An electronic pricing system uses the 
universal pricing code (bar code), a scanner, and a cash 
register to record and total a customer’s purchases. 

Under the act, a consumer commodity is any food, 
drug, cosmetic, or other product customarily sold at 
retail for individual consumption, personal care, or 
household use. Alcoholic liquor, prescription drugs, and 
carbonated soft drink containers are not consumer 
commodities.  The act defines carbonated soft drink 
containers as individual, separate, glass or plastic 
bottles, jars, or cartons or metal cans containing a 
carbonated liquid soft drink sold separately or in 
packages of up to 24 individual containers. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2002 
 
 
 
 

PA 01-92—sHB 5585 
General Law Committee 
Transportation Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE USE OF 
TRANSACTION SCAN DEVICES BY SELLERS 
OF ALCOHOLIC LIQUOR AND TOBACCO AND 
THE IMPORTATION OF ALCOHOLIC LIQUOR 
 
SUMMARY:  This act specifically permits alcohol and 
tobacco retailers to use a transaction scan device to 
verify the customer’s age, and it provides them with an 
affirmative defense if they sell alcohol or tobacco in 
reliance on the scan's validity. It prohibits the sale of 
alcohol or tobacco if the information printed on the 
customer’s driver's license or identity card is false or 
fraudulent or does not match the scan results.   

The act does not preclude the retailer, as a 
condition of the sale, from scanning other documents 
that have a scannable magnetic strip or bar code. But 
scanning these documents does not constitute an 
affirmative defense. A violation of the liquor laws is 
punishable by up to a $1,000 fine, up to one year in 
prison, or both. 

The act restricts how retailers can use the scan 
device, restricts the information they can record, and 
forbids selling or distributing information derived from 
the scan to third parties. Violators can be subject to a 
civil fine of up to $1,000. The act also specifies that 
merchants must still comply with other applicable state 
and federal alcohol and tobacco laws.  

The act also permits individuals to import alcoholic 
beverages from outside Connecticut for their own 
consumption without having to be present at the point of 
purchase, and it specifies that they will not be subject to 
penalties that apply to people who dispose of liquor 
without a permit. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE 

 
The act allows alcoholic liquor permittees, tobacco 

sellers, and their agents or employees to use a scan 
device to read the magnetic strip or bar code on a 
driver’s license or Department of Motor Vehicle 
(DMV)-issued identity card. They may not be found 
guilty of selling to a minor if they prove that (1) the 
cardholder presented a driver’s license or DMV identity 
card in attempting to buy the liquor or tobacco, (2) their 
scan of the card indicated it was valid, and (3) the liquor 
or tobacco was sold in reasonable reliance on the 
identification and validity of the scan.  
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In determining whether a permittee, tobacco seller, 
or agent or employee has proven an affirmative defense, 
the court must consider that the use of a scan does not 
excuse a permittee or seller from exercising reasonable 
diligence to determine (1) if the customer is age 21 or 
older in the case of alcohol or age 18 or older in the case 
of tobacco and (2) whether the description and picture 
on the license or card are those of the cardholder. 

 
PURPOSE FOR WHICH SCAN MAY BE USED 

 
The act forbids permittees, tobacco sellers, and 

their agents or employees from using a transaction scan 
device for any purpose other than verifying a customer’s 
age and identity. It prohibits them from recording any 
information from a driver’s license or identity card other 
than (1) the name and date of birth of the person listed 
on the license or card and (2) the expiration date and 
identification number of the license or card. The act bars 
permittees, tobacco sellers, and their agents or 
employees from selling or distributing information 
derived from a transaction scan to any third party for 
such purposes as marketing, advertising, or promotion, 
but allows them to release it if ordered to by a court. 

 
TRANSACTION SCAN DEVICE 

 
Under the act, a transaction scan device is any 

commercial device or combination of devices used at a 
point of sale that can decipher in electronically readable 
format information encoded on the magnetic strip or bar 
code of a driver’s license or identity card. 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
Sale to Minors 

 
Individuals must be at least 21 years old to buy 

alcoholic liquor, beer, or wine. They may use a driver's 
license with a full-face photo for identification, and 
permittees may accept such a license as proof of age. 
People who misrepresent their age or offer someone 
else's driver's license as proof of age are subject to fines 
of between $200 and $500, 30 days in jail, or both.  

Purchasers of tobacco products must be 18 years 
old. People who buy tobacco products or misrepresent 
their age to buy tobacco products are subject to a fine of 
up to $50 for a first offense and between $50 and $100 
for each subsequent offense. 

Permittees or their agents who sell alcohol to 
minors may be fined up to $1,000 or sentenced to one 
year in prison, or both, for each offense. Any person 
who sells tobacco to a minor may be fined up to $200 
for the first offense, up to $350 for a second offense 

within an 18-month period, and up to $500 for each 
subsequent offense within 18 months.   

 
Importation of Alcoholic Beverages 

 
With certain exceptions, alcoholic beverages can be 

shipped or imported into Connecticut only to licensed 
distributors or certain federal authorities. The 
exceptions include individuals who, for their own 
consumption (1) import up to five gallons from within 
the territorial United States in any 60-day period or (2) 
import up to five gallons from outside the territorial 
United States in any 365-day period. 

Individuals importing alcohol for their own 
consumption must pay all applicable taxes to the 
Department of Revenue Services. 
 
 
PA 01-116—sSB 1075 
General Law Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE LICENSING OF 
HOME INSPECTORS 
 
SUMMARY: This act modifies home inspector 
licensing requirements for all applicants, including 
those who meet exemption criteria, and extends the 
exemption deadline until July 2, 2002.  The act adds a 
requirement that all applicants pass a Department of 
Consumer Protection (DCP) competency exam to 
existing requirements that they complete high school or 
its equivalent and pay a $200 fee. In addition, there are 
specific application requirements for exempt and non-
exempt applicants.   
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
NON-EXEMPT APPLICANTS 

 
Under prior law, applicants for licenses must either 

(1) have been engaged as a home inspector for at least 
one year and conducted at least 200 home inspections or 
(2) passed a training program approved by the Home 
Inspection Licensing Board, earned a home inspector 
intern permit, and conducted at least 100 inspections 
under the direct supervision and in the presence of a 
licensed home inspector. Under the act, non-exempt 
applicants do not need to pass the training program, but 
still must earn a home inspector intern permit and 
perform at least 100 supervised home inspections as 
required by law. By law, a licensed home inspector 
must directly supervise the first 10 such inspections, and 
indirectly supervise the remainder.  Under PA 01-9, 
June Special Session, the applicants need conduct only 
10 directly supervised inspections, with the remaining 
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90 indirectly supervised. 
 
EXEMPT APPLICANTS 
 

The act changes licensing requirements for exempt 
applicants by: 

1. extending until July 2, 2002 the deadline for 
the board to issue licenses to people who have 
performed home inspections for pay since at 
least June 30, 2000; 

2. reducing the number of paid home inspections 
such applicants must have conducted from 
160 to 80 and requiring that the 80 inspections 
have been conducted before July 1, 2001; and 

3. adding the requirement that the applicants 
pass the DCP competency test.  

 
Under prior law, people applying under the 

exemption had to have been in business since at least 
June 30, 1998, performed 160 inspections, and applied 
for a license by July 1, 2001.  

 
BACKGROUND 

  
Home Inspector Licensing   

 
Licensing of home inspectors began July 1, 2000. 

An unlicensed person who conducts a home inspection 
is subject to a  $200 fine and a possible civil penalty of 
up to $5,000.  

 
Home Inspector Intern Permit 
    

To be eligible for a home inspector intern permit, 
an applicant must have (1) successfully completed high 
school or its equivalent, (2) completed a board approved 
training program, (3) an identified supervisor who is 
licensed and in good standing as a home inspector, and 
(4) paid a $100 fee. 

 
Supervised Inspections 

 
By law, home inspector interns can only inspect 

homes under a licensed home inspector's supervision. 
For at least the first 10 inspections of the training 
period, the licensed home inspector must be present on 
site with the intern, and must countersign all documents 
the intern prepares and completes. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PA 01-155—sHB 6615 
General Law Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING CONSUMER 
PROTECTIONS FOR HOME IMPROVEMENT 
CONTRACTOR FINANCED PROGRAMS, HOME 
INSPECTORS AND HOME IMPROVEMENT 
CONTRACTORS AND SALESPERSONS 
 
SUMMARY: This act authorizes the consumer 
protection commissioner to refuse to issue or renew the 
home improvement contractor or salesman registration 
of anyone required to register as a sexual offender. 
Similarly, it authorizes the Home Inspection Licensing 
Board to refuse to issue or renew a home inspector 
license or a home inspector intern permit to anyone 
required to register as a sexual offender. 

The act also requires home improvement contracts 
in which a contractor advances or loans money to a 
homeowner or which contain a finance charge, to (1) 
comply with the Truth-in-Lending Act, (2) allow the 
homeowner to pay off the full amount due in advance 
and obtain a partial refund of any unearned finance 
charge, and (3) set a maximum finance charge of 12% 
per year.  It defines “finance charge” as the amount the 
homeowner pays for the ability to pay the contract price 
in installments, not including the cash price of the goods 
and services received.  

The act also declares any agreement relating to a 
building construction or maintenance contract void and 
against public policy if it relieves a person of liability 
arising out of bodily injury or damage to property 
caused by, or resulting from, that person's negligence or 
that of his employees or agents. Under prior law, such 
agreements were void and against public policy only if 
the negligence of the person relieved of liability or his 
employees or agents was the sole cause of the injury or 
damage. Workers' compensation and other insurance 
contracts are exempt under the act, as under prior law. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 

 
DENIAL OF HOME IMPROVEMENT 
CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION 

 
By law, an individual refused a certificate of 

registration is entitled to a hearing before the 
commissioner. Thus, it appears that a person refused a 
certificate because he must register as a sexual offender 
is also entitled to such a hearing. By law, the applicant 
must wait one year to reapply if the commissioner 
sustains his refusal after a hearing. The applicant may 
appeal an adverse decision to Superior Court. 
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DENIAL OF HOME INSPECTOR LICENSES AND 
HOME INSPECTOR INTERN PERMITS 

 
Under the act, the Home Inspection Licensing 

Board, upon a finding that an applicant is subject to the 
sex offender registration requirements may, by a 
majority vote, refuse to issue or renew a home inspector 
license or home inspector intern permit.  It also 
authorizes the board to discontinue, suspend, or rescind 
its action. By law, people aggrieved by the board's 
decisions may appeal to Superior Court. Thus, it appears 
that a person refused a home inspector license or home 
inspector intern permit would be able to appeal the 
decision to Superior Court. 

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Employment and Criminal Records-Related Law 

 
By law, an individual cannot be disqualified from 

engaging in any occupation or trade requiring a license, 
permit, certificate, or registration solely because he was 
convicted of a crime. But the state may deny a license, 
permit, certificate, or registration in such a case if, after 
considering (1) the nature of the crime and its 
relationship to the job, (2) the degree of the applicant’s 
rehabilitation, and (3) the time elapsed since conviction 
or release, it determines the applicant is not suitable for 
the specific occupation or trade. If the state rejects an 
applicant on the basis of a conviction, it must state the 
evidence presented and reasons for the rejection in 
writing, and send it to the applicant by registered mail. 
  
Sex Offender Registration Law 
 

People convicted or found not guilty by reason of 
mental disease or defect of specific sex-related criminal 
offenses or other crimes committed for sexual purposes 
must register when they are released from custody.  The 
registration lasts for 10 years for some offenses and for 
life for others.  The sex offender registry is maintained 
by the Department of Public Safety (DPS).  Registrants 
must report changes of address to DPS. 

 
Truth-in-Lending Act 

 
The act promotes informed borrowing by requiring 

lenders to fully disclose the terms of credit being 
extended.  Disclosure is meant to (1) protect consumers 
from becoming unknowingly obligated to pay hidden 
and unreasonable charges and (2) permit them to 
compare meaningfully terms of credit extended by 
different lenders.   

    

Interest Rate Cap 
 
Current law sets a maximum annual interest rate of 

12% on most loans. The cap does not apply to certain 
loans, including mortgages of real property for more 
than $5,000. 
 
Home Improvement Contracts 

  
The law already requires that home improvement 

contracts (1) be in writing, (2) be signed by the owner 
and contractor, (3) contain the entire agreement, (4) 
include the date of the transaction, (5) contain the 
contractor’s name and address, (6) contain a notice of 
the owner’s cancellation rights, (7) include starting and 
completion dates, and (8) be entered into by a registered 
salesman or contractor. 

Home improvement contracts are also subject to the 
Home Solicitation Sales Act, which gives buyers the 
right to cancel a contract within three days of signing it. 
 
 
PA 01-164—sSB 1323 
General Law Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
Energy and Technology Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS INFRASTRUCTURE 
LAYOUT TECHNICIANS AND THE 
REGISTRATION OF EMPLOYEES OF 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS PROVIDERS 
 
SUMMARY: This act prohibits people from using the 
title of "telecommunications infrastructure layout 
technician" without a Department of Consumer 
Protection (DCP) license.  It sets application, license, 
and license renewal fees and provides for DCP 
sanctions, including fines, against layout technicians 
who are negligent, incompetent, or who mislead or 
defraud DCP or the public.  

By law, DCP may certify employees of utility 
companies engaged in telecommunications electrical 
work as public service technicians, exempt from 
licensing requirements as limited electrical contactors. 
The act extends that certification and exemption to 
employees of certified telecommunications providers 
(long distance carriers) engaged in similar work.  

Under the act, telecommunications infrastructure 
layout technicians need not sign any plans, designs, or 
drawings used by public service technicians in 
connection with telecommunications electrical work. 
The act also exempts licensed professional engineers 
from layout technical licensure. 
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Finally, the act authorizes the commissioner to 
adopt implementing regulations.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  January 1, 2002 
 
LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 

 
To obtain a license, an individual must (1) have 

completed a college-level or other DCP-approved 
program that assures industry standards; (2) have 
submitted an application deemed acceptable by the 
commissioner and a non-refundable application fee of 
$75; and (3) at the time of application and for at least 
five years (a) have held a valid unlimited or limited 
electrical license from the Electrical Work Board, or a 
public service technician registration or (b) have 
equivalent experience and training required for a 
license, as determined by the commissioner. The 
telecommunications infrastructure layout technician 
license fee and the biennial renewal fee is  $250.  
Licenses cannot be transferred. 

“Telecommunications infrastructure” is structured 
cabling for voice and data telecommunications.  

 
LICENSE HOLDERS’ USE OF A SEAL 

 
The license holder must affix a seal, obtained in a 

manner prescribed by DCP, on all documents required 
within the scope of his work. He may sign and apply the 
seal to just one page of multi-page documents that are 
bound together, but must apply the seal to, and sign 
every page of, filing plans for a building permit or 
related structure. The act prohibits license holders from 
signing or applying the seal to documents whose 
preparation they did not supervise. 

 
NATIONAL STANDARDS 

 
Under the act, DCP licenses telecommunications 

infrastructure layout technicians to produce 
telecommunications infrastructure designs that comply 
with specific industry standards, such as the National 
Electrical Code of the National Fire Protection 
Association, the relevant standards set by the American 
National Standards Institute, or equivalent standards as 
determined by the commissioner.  

 
DCP RESPONSIBILITIES 

 
The act permits DCP to order a license holder to 

cease performing negligent or incompetent work if it 
determines, after a hearing, that he is doing so. 
Similarly, DCP may, after a hearing, order a license 
holder to stop conduct that misleads or defrauds the 
department or the public.  It may order restitution of up 

to $1,000, impose a civil penalty of up to $1,000, or 
both. 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Public Service Technician 

 
A public service technician is an employee of a 

utility company engaged in telecommunications 
electrical work who is not otherwise exempt from 
licensing requirements.  Utility companies include 
electric, gas, telephone, water, and cable television 
companies. 

 
Certified Telecommunications Provider 

 
A certified telecommunications provider is a 

company certified by the Department of Public Utility 
Control to provide intrastate telecommunications 
services.  
 
 
PA 01-200—sHB 6617 
General Law Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING RENTAL MOTOR 
VEHICLES AND LEASE RATES FOR MOTOR 
VEHICLES 
 
SUMMARY: This act allows a rental company to 
recover a rental motor vehicle from a lessee if (1) at 
least 72 hours have elapsed since the vehicle was due to 
be returned to the rental company, (2) the vehicle was 
rented for 30 days or less, and (3) the rental company 
and lessee did not agree to extend the rental contract.  
The rental company can go to cour t to recover the 
vehicle or can seek to repossess it without legal action, 
if doing so will not cause a breach of the peace. 

The act postpones, from July 1, 2001 to July 1, 
2002, the implementation of laws that require motor 
vehicle rental companies to (1) calculate the lease rate 
using a specified formula and (2) disclose in the lease 
agreement the lease amount financed, finance charge, 
and rate.   
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001, except that the 
provisions concerning recovery of a rental motor 
vehicle take effect October 1, 2001. 
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PA 01-26—SB 1396 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
AN ACT IMPLEMENTING THE LEGISLATIVE 
COMMISSIONERS' RECOMMENDATIONS FOR 
TECHNICAL REVISIONS TO CERTAIN 
STATUTES RELATED TO GOVERNMENT 
ADMINISTRATION AND ELECTIONS 
 
SUMMARY: This act makes technical, grammatical, 
and formatting changes to the laws related to (1) the 
Department of Administrative Services, (2) freedom of 
information, (3) public works, (4) collective bargaining, 
(5) voter registration, (6) justices of the peace, and (7) 
referenda. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-79—sHB 6624 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
Education Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING TOWN CLERK 
LIABILITY FOR CERTAIN LICENSE FORMS 
AND CHANGING THE OFFICIAL WHO 
RECEIVES CERTAIN FEES FOR THE 
HISTORIC DOCUMENTS PRESERVATION 
ACCOUNT 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires town clerks to send the 
Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) 
commissioner an affidavit annually attesting to the 
accuracy of their annual report to him on fish and game 
licenses. This requirement replaces a prior law that 
made clerks responsible for the face value of all license 
forms the commissioner gave to them. 

The act also requires town clerks to give the money 
they collect to preserve and manage state and local 
historic documents to the state librarian instead of the 
state treasurer.  Under the act, the money must be 
deposited in one of the state treasurer’s accounts and 
credited to the Historic Documents Preservation 
Account.  Under prior law, it was deposited in the 
preservation account. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Fish and Game Licenses 

 
Town clerks must keep a record of the fish and 

game licenses that they issue and annually report to the 

DEP commissioner an accounting of all: 
1. the license forms the commissioner allotted 

them, 
2. licenses they sold or voided, and 
3. unused licenses. 
 

Preservation of Historic Documents 
 
By law, town clerks collect money to preserve and 

manage state and local historic documents by adding a 
$3 surcharge to the fee they charge everyone, except a 
state or town employee engaged in official duties, to 
record land documents.  The clerks keep $1 and give $2 
to the state treasurer for the Historic Documents 
Preservation Account.   
 
 
PA 01-106—sHB 5923 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
Education Committee 
Legislative Management Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING STATE PURCHASES OF 
GOODS AND SERVICES AND COOPERATIVE 
PURCHASING FOR NONPROFIT 
INDEPENDENT HIGHER EDUCATION 
INSTITUTIONS 
 
SUMMARY: This act makes several changes in state 
purchasing laws.  Specifically, it: 

1. makes permanent the Department of 
Administrative Services (DAS) 
commissioner’s and the Legislative 
Management Committee’s authority to award 
state contracts to the highest scoring bidder in a 
multiple-criteria bid; 

2. expands the comptroller’s authority to approve 
state agencies’ purchases of products and 
material produced by the Connecticut prison 
industries; and 

3. allows independent colleges and universities to 
purchase supplies, material, equipment, and 
contractual services at the state’s cost by 
contracting with DAS. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
MULTIPLE-CRITERIA BIDS 

 
The act makes permanent the two-year pilot 

programs that allowed DAS and the Legislative 
Management Committee to award state contracts to the 
highest-scoring bidder in a multiple-criteria bid rather 
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than to the lowest responsible qualified bidder.  The 
multiple-criteria approach allows the commissioner and 
the committee to consider more than price, skill, ability, 
and integrity when awarding a contract.  They may 
award a contract to the bidder whose bid receives the 
highest score for a combination of attributes, including 
such things as product quality and the objective criteria 
the contract establishes.  

The act requires the commissioner to (1) adopt 
regulations by February 1, 2002 specifying the types of 
objective criteria she will use to determine the highest-
scoring bidder in a multiple-criteria bid and (2) submit a 
status report on the regulations to the Government 
Administration and Elections Committee on February 1, 
2002. 

 
PURCHASES FROM THE PRISON INDUSTRIES 
 

By law, the Department of Correction 
commissioner may create a catalog of products and 
services produced by the prison industries and circulate 
it to the DAS commissioner, comptroller, and 
municipalities.  Each state agency must purchase 
necessary products and services from prison industries 
if they are offered (1) at comparable price and quality 
and (2) in sufficient quantity as may be available from 
private vendors to meet the agency’s need.   

Under prior law, the comptroller could approve 
purchases only of those goods and services included in 
the catalog.  The act permits her to approve such 
purchases regardless of their inclusion in a catalog.  
 
 
PA 01-160—sSB 730 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
Legislative Management Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE SUNSET LAW 
 
SUMMARY: This act delays for five years the 
termination of all agencies and programs subject to the 
sunset law. Under the sunset law, 87 licensing, 
regulatory, and other state agencies and programs 
terminate on set dates unless the General Assembly 
reestablishes them after the Legislative Program Review 
and Investigations Committee conducts a performance 
audit of each.  The committee must review the public 
need for each entity according to established criteria and 
report to the legislature its recommendations for the 
entity’s abolition, reestablishment, modification, or 
consolidation.  The act delays the termination dates as 
follows: 

 
 

Prior Termination 
Date 

New Termination 
Date 

July 1, 2003 July 1, 2008 
July 1, 2004 July 1, 2009 
July 1, 2005 July 1, 2010 
July 1, 2006 July 1, 2011 
July 1, 2007 July 1, 2012 

 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-169—sHB 6636 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING PRIVATIZED PUBLIC 
RECORDS 
 
SUMMARY:  By adding to the definition of a public 
agency, this act extends the Freedom of Information 
Act’s (FOIA) provisions to an individual, business, or 
organization’s records and files that relate to the entity’s 
performance of a governmental function.  It defines 
“governmental function” as the administration or 
management of a public agency’s program authorized 
by law to be performed by an entity (1) receiving public 
agency funding; (2) participating in policy formation 
and decisions connected to the program that binds the 
agency; and (3) where the public agency is significantly, 
but not necessarily directly or continuously, involved in 
or regulating the entity’s administration or management. 

The entity’s performance must derive from a 
legally authorized contract of more than $2.5 million.  
The act excludes entities that merely provide goods and 
services to an agency and have no responsibility to 
administer or manage the agency’s program.  And, an 
agreement between a state agency and a foundation 
established to support it is not considered a contract for 
the act’s purposes. 

The contract must provide that the (1) agency is 
entitled to copies of the entity’s covered records and 
files and (2) records are subject to FOIA and disclosable 
to the public.  Anyone who wants to inspect or copy 
them must make his request to the agency.  And, 
pursuant to FOIA, complaints must go to the Freedom 
of Information Commission. 

The act expands the definition of a public record to 
include all records to which a public agency is entitled 
by law or contract.  The FOIA makes public records 
available for inspection or copying and exempts records 
that an agency can keep confidential for a variety of 
specified reasons. It also requires public agencies to 
comply with open meeting requirements.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001  
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BACKGROUND 
 

Court Decisions 
 
In Envirotest Systems Corporation v. Freedom of 

Information Commission (59 Conn. App. 753 (2000)), 
the Appellate Court held that the plaintiff, Envirotest, is 
not the functional equivalent of a public agency even 
though it performs a governmental function (i.e., 
provides emissions inspections for the public).  It found 
Envirotest operates under a contract with the state to 
provide emissions inspections, not because it is required 
to do so by law, and the Department of Motor Vehicles 
does not exert direct or continuous regulatory control 
over its business.  The court concluded, therefore, that 
the company was not subject to the disclosure 
requirements of the FOIA when asked for certain 
material related to state vehicle inspection report forms. 

In an earlier case, Board of Trustees of Woodstock 
Academy et al. v. Freedom of Information Commission 
et al. (181 Conn. 544 (1980)), the Connecticut Supreme 
Court established the criteria that have been used to 
determine the functional equivalence of a public agency 
for purposes of applying the FOIA.  They are: (1) 
whether the entity performs a governmental function, 
(2) the level of government funding,  (3) the extent of 
government involvement or regulation, and (4) whether 
the entity was created by the government. 
 
 
PA 01-172—sSB 794 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
  
AN ACT CONCERNING CONSULTANTS ON 
STATE PROJECTS, THE DEMOLITION OF 
STATE FACILITIES, THE CONNECTICUT 
CAPITOL CENTER COMMISSION AND THE 
CONNECTICUT CAPITOL CENTER MASTER 
PLAN 
  
SUMMARY: This act expands the Department of 
Public Works (DPW) commissioner’s authority to select 
project consultants without sending out a request for 
proposals or going through a formal selection process. It 
permits people to apply to the commissioner for 
inclusion on a consultants list and establishes an 
application process. 

It also authorizes him to award demolition contracts 
to a single contractor most qualified to perform all 
phases of the project rather than to the lowest 
responsible qualified bidder for each project component.  
He may already award new construction contracts and 
contracts for installing mechanical or electrical 
equipment systems on this “total cost basis.”  

Like the other contracts awarded on a total cost 
basis, the (1) demolition contracts must be based on 
competitive proposals and pre-approved by the State 
Properties Review Board, (2) legislature must have 
authorized funds for the contract, and (3) commissioner 
is solely responsible for determining the contractor best 
qualified to do the work.   

The act limits DPW’s administration of most 
Judicial Department construction projects to those with 
consultant services costs over $50,000 and construction 
costs over $500,000 and higher education projects with 
over $300,000 for consultant costs and $500,000 for 
construction costs (over $2 million for UConn 
construction). 

Lastly, the act establishes a 13-member commission 
to review and make recommendations regarding the 
master plan for developing the Capitol Center District in 
Hartford.  It specifically includes residential buildings 
as one of the nongovernmental uses permissible in the 
district.  Social, culture, and retail are the other uses 
specified in law.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
CHOOSING CONSULTANTS 

  
The act allows the commissioner to select project 

consultants from an informal list for higher education 
construction projects above $2 million and all other 
projects above $500,000 as long as actual consultant 
costs remain at $300,000 or less in higher education 
projects and $50,000 or less in all other projects.  By 
law, “consultants” are registered or licensed architects, 
professional engineers, landscape architects, land 
surveyors, accountants, interior designers,  
environmental professionals, administrators, planners, 
construction managers, and financial specialists. 

The act permits people who want to be considered 
for work as project consultants to apply to the 
commissioner, on a form he prescribes, for inclusion on 
the list. At least twice a year, the commissioner must 
advertise for consultants to be included on the list in at 
least one newspaper circulated in each county of the 
state and publications marketed to small businesses. 

 
CAPITOL CENTER COMMISSION 
  

The act establishes a 13-member Connecticut 
Capitol Center Commission to review the master plan 
for developing the Capitol Center District in Hartford 
and report its findings and any proposed changes to the 
plan to the governor and the Government 
Administration and Elections; Appropriations; and 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding committees.  The 
commission must finish the review and submit the 
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report by January 1, 2003 and every five years 
thereafter.  The Office of Policy and Management 
(OPM) secretary must serve as commission chairman 
and schedule the first meeting by December 1, 2001. 

Commission members are:  
1. the OPM secretary, DPW commissioner, 

Department of Economic and Community 
Development commissioner, and the arts 
commission’s executive director or their 
designees; 

2. one appointee by each of the six legislative 
leaders; 

3. the chairman of the Hartford Commission on 
the City Plan; 

4. a Hartford mayoral appointee; and 
5. a representative from the South Downtown 

Neighborhood Revitalization Committee. 
By law, the Capitol Center District generally 

consists of all land in Hartford bounded by Bushnell 
Park and Wells, Main, Buckingham, Wadsworth, and 
Cedar streets.  Where feasible, central state government 
offices must be located within the district, except 
courthouses may be located outside the district.  
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PA 01-44—HB 6628 
Select Committee on Housing 
Planning and Development Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT REQUIRING LANDLORDS TO 
PROVIDE A RECEIPT FOR CASH PAYMENTS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires landlords to provide 
written receipts for cash rent payments. Prior law 
required such receipts only if requested. As under prior 
law, the receipt must show date, amount, and reason for 
payment.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
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PA 01-19—HB 6640 
Human Services Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
AN ACT EXPANDING THE MEMBERSHIP OF 
THE CHILDREN'S BEHAVIORAL HEALTH 
ADVISORY COMMITTEE 
 
SUMMARY: This act adds the executive director of the 
Office of Protection and Advocacy for Persons with 
Disabilities, or his designee, to the 31-member 
Children’s Behavioral Health Advisory Committee.  
The committee was established by PA 00-188 to 
promote and enhance behavioral health service delivery 
for children.  By law, it (1) must submit annual reports  
to the state Advisory Council on Children and Families 
on local systems of care and practice standards of state-
funded behavioral health programs and (2) make 
recommendations every two years to the council about 
service delivery.   
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 
 
 
PA 01-39—sHB 6796 
Human Services Committee 
Insurance and Real Estate Committee 
Legislative Management Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE CHOICES 
HEALTH INSURANCE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 
 
SUMMARY: This act consolidates the statutes 
governing the CHOICES health insurance assistance 
program and the Connecticut Medicare consumers guide 
and updates them to reflect current practice and the 
cooperative roles in the program of the Center for 
Medicare Advocacy and the area agencies on aging. The 
act (1) specifies that the program must be a 
comprehensive Medicare advocacy program that not 
only provides information and advice for Medicare 
beneficiaries, but also legal representation where 
appropriate in the appeals process; (2) allows non-
attorneys to give advice on Medicare benefits and other 
health insurance matters on the program’s toll-free 
phone number; (3) specifies that the program must 
include any functions the Department of Social Services 
(DSS) deems necessary to conform to federal grant 
requirements; (4) defines and codifies the CHOICES 
program, which includes the health insurance assistance 
program; and (5) makes several minor and technical 
changes. 

By law, the insurance commissioner, who 
cooperates in collecting data for the Connecticut 
Medicare consumers guide, must give the governor and 

three specified legislative committees an annual list of 
Medicare organizations that have not filed timely data 
with him.  The act (1) replaces the Public Health 
Committee with the Human Services Committee and (2) 
requires the commissioner to submit the list, by June 1, 
2001, in conjunction with the managed care 
ombudsman.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
CHOICES  

 
The “CHOICES health insurance assistance 

program” is a federally recognized and mainly federally 
funded program run by DSS in cooperation with the 
area agencies on aging and the nonprofit Center for 
Medicare Advocacy.  The program offers senior citizens 
health insurance information and counseling, as well as 
information on Medicare plans, including managed care 
plans. It is part of a collection of senior programs run by 
CHOICES, which is located within DSS’ Division of 
Elderly Services. (CHOICES stands for Connecticut’s 
programs for Health insurance assistance, Outreach, 
Information and referral, Counseling, and Eligibility 
Screening.) 

 
Area Agencies on Aging  

  
The five area agencies on aging in Connecticut are 

local, private nonprofit organizations that serve the 
elderly.  They provide planning and financial support to 
other agencies serving the elderly.  They help 
administer certain federal and state senior programs and 
provide other information and referral services. 

 
Center for Medicare Advocacy 

 
The Center for Medicare Advocacy is a nonprofit 

organization that offers Medicare-related legal advice, 
material, and representation to seniors and people with 
disabilities.  It already cooperates with CHOICES and 
provides legal representation in Medicare appeals, 
where appropriate. 

 
Medicare Consumers Guide 

 
The CHOICES program has issued a comparison of 

Medicare HMOs for several years.  In 1999, legislation 
required the program, in cooperation with the insurance 
commissioner, to create a Medicare consumers guide 
with additional information so Medicare beneficiaries 
can compare different Medicare plans and supplemental 
policies and learn about Medicare appeals procedures. 
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That law allows the insurance commissioner, in 
cooperation with or on behalf of the social services 
commissioner, to require each Medicare organization to 
submit certain information to him to be included in the 
guide.  It also imposes penalties on those that do not file 
the required information. 

Under the law, a Medicare organization is any 
corporate entity, other organization, or group that 
contracts with the federal Health Care Financing 
Administration to provide health care services to 
Medicare beneficiaries in this state as an alternative to 
the traditional Medicare fee-for-service plan. 
 
 
PA 01-61—sSB 1224 
Human Services Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT ESTABLISHING THE EMPLOYMENT 
OPPORTUNITIES PROGRAM FOR 
UNDERSERVED INDIVIDUALS WITH 
DISABILITIES 
 
SUMMARY: This act authorizes the Department of 
Social Services’ (DSS) Bureau of Rehabilitation 
Services (BRS) to receive state and federal funds to run, 
within available appropriations, an employment 
opportunities program for severely disabled people who 
do not qualify for the departments of Mental Health and 
Addiction Services (DMHAS) or Mental Retardation 
(DMR) supported employment programs (e.g., people 
with traumatic brain injury or severe learning 
disabilities). The program must include support services 
that help individuals to keep working. (In practice, BRS 
has run this program for several years.) DSS must adopt 
implementing regulations. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES PROGRAM 

 
Eligibility Criteria 

 
The program must serve people with the most 

significant disabilities.  Only those who (1) have serious 
employment limitations in three or more functional 
areas, such as mobility, communication, self-care, 
interpersonal skills, work tolerance, or work skills or (2) 
will need significant ongoing on-the-job disability-
related services to keep their jobs can qualify. 

 
“Extended” Services 

 
The program must provide “extended” services 

needed to help the clients maintain supported 

employment, as defined in federal regulations. The 
regulations define these as ongoing support services and 
other appropriate services (1) needed to support and 
maintain an individual with a most severe disability in 
supported employment and (2) provided by a state 
agency, private nonprofit entity, employer, or any other 
appropriate resource once the individual has made the 
transition from the vocational rehabilitation support that 
the state rehabilitation services agency provides.  

The act requires these services to include coaching 
and other related services that allow participants to find 
and keep jobs and maximize economic self-sufficiency.  

 
BACKGROUND 

 
BRS Vocational Rehabilitation Services and Supported 
Employment 

 
BRS currently provides vocational rehabilitative 

services to people with disabilities to enable them to 
enter the workforce.  State law defines these services as 
any goods or services needed to render a disabled 
person employable. The services include assessments 
for determining eligibility and vocational rehabilitation 
needs; rehabilitation technology; job development, 
placement, and retention services; extended 
employment; and language therapy.  These services are 
provided for a limited time.  

 
BRS also provides ongoing support services for 

people who have significant disabilities, but who do not 
qualify for DMR or DMHAS supported employment 
services, to maintain employment in the community, 
workshops, or other congregate settings. While some of 
these people may have more than one disability, their 
primary diagnosis is not mental retardation or mental 
illness.  
 
 
PA 01-70—sSB 1094 
Human Services Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING LICENSING 
REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTAIN RELATIVE 
CAREGIVERS 
 
SUMMARY: Starting July 1, 2001, this act requires 
relatives accepting placement for more than 90 days of a 
child in the custody of the Department of Children and 
Families (DCF) to be licensed as foster parents, unless 
DCF has certified them previously as relative 
caregivers.  If they were certified previously, the act 
allows them to maintain this certification as long as the 
child remains with them and they continue to meet 
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regulatory requirements. The act also (1) allows the 
commissioner, on a case-by-case basis for a child placed 
with a relative, to waive any required foster-care 
licensing procedure or standard, other than a safety 
standard, based on the relative’s home and the child’s 
needs and best interests and (2) requires documentation 
of the reason for a waiver. 

Prior law allowed the commissioner to place a child 
with a relative who is not licensed or certified for up to 
45 days, as long as (1) DCF staff visit the home and 
complete a basic assessment of the family and (2) the 
relative attests that neither he nor any adult in the 
household has been arrested or convicted of specified 
crimes.  The act increases the maximum length of such 
a placement to 90 days, but allows the placement only 
when it is in the child’s best interests. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001  

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Foster Care Licensing of Relative Caregivers 

 
Previously, DCF could place children with relative 

caregivers under more relaxed rules than those required 
for non-relative foster parents.   

Federal law requires a single standard of licensure 
for foster parents and relative caregivers for the state to 
qualify for federal funding (42 U.S.C. § 671(a)(10)).   
 
Related Acts 

 
PA 01-159 deletes the statutory provision that this 

act amends, as of October 1, 2001. 
PA 01-142 replaces the deleted statutory provision 

with the same changes as this act (PA 01-70), effective 
October 1, 2001.  
 
 
PA 01-137—sHB 6430 
Human Services Committee 
Education Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING BENEFITS AND 
ELIGIBILITY UNDER THE HUSKY PLAN 
 
SUMMARY:  This act: 

1. eliminates the HUSKY B program’s six-month 
residency requirement for certain children 
adopted from other countries; 

2. reduces, from six to two months, the time that a 
child must have been without employer-
sponsored health coverage to qualify for 
HUSKY B; 

3. allows more entities, consistent with federal 
law, to grant children provisional or  
“presumptive eligibility” for HUSKY Part A 
(i.e., Medicaid for children) benefits; 

4. makes it easier for families to renew their 
HUSKY enrollment by requiring the 
Department of Social Services (DSS) to rely on 
certain available information;  

5. allows the DSS commissioner to seek a federal 
waiver so the state can use its State Children’s 
Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) funds to 
promote HUSKY enrollment for children 
eligible for other income-based assistance 
programs, such as free or reduced price school 
lunches; 

6. requires the DSS and education commissioners 
to share information from National School 
Lunch Program applications to determine 
participants’ HUSKY eligibility and makes 
related changes to ensure more coordination; 
and  

7. provides for electronic transmission of 
HUSKY B enrollment and disenrollment data. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001, except for the 
foreign adoption provision, which is effective upon 
passage. 
 
FOREIGN ADOPTIONS AND HUSKY B 
ELIGIBILITY 
 

The act requires HUSKY B regulations to permit a 
child who is adopted from another country by someone 
who is both a U.S. citizen and a state resident to be 
eligible for HUSKY B benefits as soon as the child 
arrives in Connecticut.  Under prior law, new residents 
who were not citizens could receive only state-funded 
HUSKY B benefits, and these were not available until 
the child had lived in the state for at least six months.  It 
appears that if the adopted child is a citizen, he would 
be eligible for federally funded benefits immediately.  If 
his citizenship is pending while the provisions of the 
federal Child Citizenship Act are being met, his benefits 
would be paid under the act with state funds.  There is 
no durational residency requirement for U.S. citizens 
applying for HUSKY B.  
 
“CROWD OUT” 
 

The act reduces, from six to two months, the time 
that a child must have been without employer-sponsored 
health coverage to qualify for HUSKY B.  Under the 
act, the commissioner can extend this period for up to 
two more months, instead of six, if she determines that 
two months is not enough to deter applicants or 
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employers from discontinuing employer-sponsored 
dependent coverage in order to switch to HUSKY B.  
(The law’s exemptions from this “crowd out” provision 
are unchanged.) 
 
PRESUMPTIVE ELIGIBILITY – QUALIFIED 
ENTITIES 
 

The act broadens and updates the state statute 
concerning who can be a qualified entity for purposes of 
determining “presumptive eligibility” to provisionally 
enroll children in HUSKY A, by referring to federal law 
instead of listing the specific types of entities.  

Prior law defined a “qualified entity” as one (1) that 
provided medical services to HUSKY A recipients and 
was eligible for payments under the state Medicaid plan 
or (2) authorized to determine children’s eligibility for 
the Head Start, Child Care Assistance, or Special 
Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, 
and Children (WIC) programs.  

The federal definition covers these same entities.  
But it also includes (1) those allowed to determine State 
Children’s Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) 
eligibility; (2) elementary or secondary schools; (3) 
state or tribal child support enforcement agencies; (4) 
federally funded organizations providing emergency 
assistance to homeless people; (5) state or tribal offices 
administering state welfare reform programs funded by 
a federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
block grant or that determine eligibility for  federally 
funded public or assisted housing (including Native 
American housing programs); or (6) any other entity the 
state considers qualified, with the secretary of Health 
and Human Services’ approval. 

Under the act the DSS commissioner is still 
responsible for deciding whether these entities are 
capable of determining eligibility.   
 
ELIGIBILITY REDETERMINATION 
 

The act allows the DSS commissioner, as well as 
the single point of entry “servicer” with whom DSS 
contracts (currently Benova, Inc.), as the case may be, 
to redetermine annually a child’s continued eligibility 
for HUSKY A and B and to mail applications to 
program participants for this purpose.  

When conducting such redeterminations, the act 
requires either entity, to the extent permitted by federal 
law, to rely on the family income information provided 
on the application, unless they have reason to believe 
the information is inaccurate or incomplete.  In 
determining continued eligibility for HUSKY, the act 
also requires the commissioner to determine whether the 
individual receives a child care subsidy, food stamps, or 

benefits under any other DSS-administered program to 
ascertain whether DSS has information needed for the 
redetermination. If the information is available, the act 
requires the commissioner to use it for the 
redetermination.   

Both the Medicaid and SCHIP laws require states 
to redetermine eligibility at least once a year.   
 
FEDERAL APPROVAL TO PROMOTE 
ENROLLMENT AND OUTREACH 
 

The act allows the DSS commissioner to seek a 
federal SCHIP waiver, if required, to authorize using 
funds the state receives under the program to promote 
HUSKY enrollment for children eligible for other 
income-based assistance programs, such as free or 
reduced price school lunches.  To the extent federal law 
permits, the act also requires the DSS and education 
commissioners jointly to establish procedures for 
sharing information from applications for free and 
reduced price lunches under the National School Lunch 
Program (NSLP) to determine program participants’ 
HUSKY eligibility.  The DSS commissioner must take 
all actions needed to ensure that children identified as 
eligible enroll in HUSKY.  

The act also requires the education commissioner to 
establish procedures for children to apply for HUSKY 
when they apply for the NSLP. 
 
HUSKY B ELECTRONIC DATA TRANSMITTAL 
 

The act requires the servicer to transmit 
electronically HUSKY B enrollment and disenrollment 
data to the DSS commissioner and allows her to send it 
to the Children’s Health Council. 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
HUSKY Plan, Crowd Out, and  Exceptions 

 
The HUSKY Plan provides subsidized health 

insurance coverage to children up to age 19 living in 
families with incomes up to (1) 185% of the federal 
poverty level (FPL) under Part A and (2) 300% of the 
FPL under Part B.  Families with higher incomes can 
also participate, but the benefits are unsubsidized.  
Families in Part A have no co-insurance requirements; 
those in Part B pay premiums and co-payments.  

The state tries to deter applicants from dropping 
employer-sponsored coverage in order to qualify by 
allowing the DSS commissioner to reject applications 
when families drop the coverage within a certain 
amount of time before applying (crowd out). But DSS 
must grant eligibility if coverage ends within the crowd-
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out period due to a number of factors, such as (1) loss of 
employment due to factors other than quitting, (2) a 
parent’s death, (3) a new job that does not offer 
dependent coverage, or (4) self-employment.  

 
Citizenship for Adopted Children 

 
Effective February 27, 2001, the federal Child 

Citizenship Act (PL 106-395) automatically makes 
adopted children born in another country U.S. citizens, 
if at least one adoptive parent is a U.S. citizen and the 
child (1) is under age 18, (2) has been fully and finally 
adopted, and (3) is residing in the U.S. under a lawful 
admission for permanent residence.  

 
Federal Welfare Reform, Legal Immigrants, and 
HUSKY B 

 
The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity 

Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PL 104-193) placed 
numerous restrictions on legal and illegal immigrants’ 
eligibility for public assistance.  It generally bars 
immigrants who entered the U.S. after August 22, 1996 
from receiving federal entitlements for five years. The 
SCHIP law was passed after the 1996 legislation, and 
makes no provision for assistance to legal immigrants.  

PA 97-2, June 18 Special Session makes certain 
resident immigrants eligible for state-funded assistance, 
including medical assistance. The legislation that 
created HUSKY B (PA 97-1, October 29 Special 
Session) extended these state-funded benefits to 
children who were otherwise eligible for HUSKY B but 
imposed a six-month waiting period for anyone 
determined eligible after July 1, 1997.   

 
Presumptive Eligibility 

 
Federal law allows states to make children under 

age 19 eligible for Medicaid during a “presumptive 
eligibility period,” which begins when an entity, such as 
a hospital, determines, based on preliminary 
information, that the child’s family income is within the 
program’s limits.  The period ends when a final 
eligibility decision is made or, if a child’s application 
has not been filed, on the last day of the month 
following the month when the initial presumption of 
eligibility was made, whichever is earlier (42 U.S.C. § 
1396r-1a, as amended by PL 106-554).  The child's 
medical care is covered during this period.  State law 
requires the DSS commissioner to implement 
presumptive eligibility for children applying for 
Medicaid, in accordance with the federal law, and to 
establish standards and procedures for designating 
organizations as qualified entities.  DSS is in the process 

of authorizing a number of entities to make these 
presumptive eligibility determinations.   
 
Related Act 
 

PA 01-2, June Special Session (JSS), amended by 
PA 01-9, JSS, changes the rules for legal immigrants’ 
eligibility for state-funded public assistance, including 
Medicaid and HUSKY B. It continues this assistance 
indefinitely for people currently enrolled, and generally 
permits DSS to accept new applications only until June 
30, 2002.  
 
 
PA 01-207—sHB 6701 
Human Services Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
Banks Committee 
Public Safety Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING ENHANCEMENTS TO 
THE CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT 
SYSTEM 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires private child support 
collection agencies to be licensed by the state Banking 
Department as consumer collection agencies, gives the 
banking commissioner regulatory authority over them, 
and limits the fees they can charge clients to 25% of the 
overdue child support collected.  It also requires them to 
enter into a written agreement with each client and 
make certain disclosures in the agreement.   

The act changes the name of the Superior Court’s 
Support Enforcement Division to Support Enforcement 
Services in certain statutes to reflect the name change 
already made by the Judicial Branch (PA 01-91 makes 
the same change in other parts of the statute).  This 
entity provides investigative, administrative, clerical, 
and other support to the court’s Family Support 
Magistrate Division, which establishes and enforces 
child and spousal support in “IV-D” and interstate 
cases.  (IV-D cases are those where the family has 
received public assistance or asked the state for help in 
enforcing the support order.) The unit’s child support 
enforcement officers are authorized by law to supervise 
the payment of family support magistrate support 
orders.   

The act also requires the social services 
commissioner to establish an arrearage adjustment 
program in which past due support owed to the state can 
be adjusted.  It specifies factors the commissioner must 
consider in making the adjustment decision.  It further 
requires her to adopt regulations establishing adjustment 
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criteria and procedures for the state’s claims for 
reimbursement for the cash and medical assistance it has 
provided.  The purpose of these adjustments must be to 
encourage noncustodial parents to become positively 
involved in their children’s lives and to begin making 
regular child support payments. 

Finally, the act gives all child support owed to 
families priority over past-due support owed to the state 
and makes other minor, conforming, and technical 
changes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001  
 
PRIVATE CHILD SUPPORT COLLECTION 
AGENCIES 

 
Licensing of Private Agencies 

 
The act includes private child support collection 

agencies in the state's existing Fair Debt Collection Act, 
allowing the Banking Department to license and 
regulate them.  By making someone who owes current 
or past-due child support a "consumer debtor" under the 
act, the act affords them the same protection that other 
debtors have under the law against being called at 
unreasonable hours and other harassing activities. 

The law requires anyone acting as a consumer 
collection agency in Connecticut to first obtain a license 
from the banking commissioner.  It considers an entity 
to be acting in the state if it has a business place (1) here 
or (2) outside the state and collects from in-state 
consumer debtors for in- or out-of-state creditors.  The 
act additionally considers a collection agency to be 
acting in this state if it has an out-of-state business place 
and collects child support for in-state creditors from out-
of-state debtors. 

 
Child Support Collection Fee Limits 

 
The act limits what consumer collection agencies 

can charge for collecting overdue child support to no 
more than 25% of the overdue support actually 
collected.  

The act also prohibits any consumer collection 
agency from imposing a charge or fee for any child 
support payments collected through a government 
agency's efforts.  

In order to charge any fees for collecting child 
support under the act, the collection agency must enter 
into a written agreement with the creditor owed the 
support.  The agreement must specify the charge for 
collecting the support and state, in bold type, that child 
support collection services are offered by the state of 
Connecticut or any other state for a nominal fee (in 
Connecticut this fee is $25).   

SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT SERVICES POWERS 
 
The act allows Judicial branch support enforcement 

officers to request and receive information from all state 
agencies, including law enforcement agencies, about the 
identity and whereabouts of parents who owe child 
support.  It allows the officers to make this information 
available only to federal agencies and public officials 
and agencies of Connecticut, other states, or their 
political subdivisions seeking to locate parents who 
have deserted their children or owe child support.  This 
is the same authority that the administrative services, 
public safety, and social services commissioners already 
have. 

 
CHILD SUPPORT ARREARAGE ADJUSTMENTS 

 
The act requires the social services commissioner to 

establish an arrearage adjustment program in which past 
due child support that has been assigned and is owed to 
the state can be adjusted.  The commissioner, in 
deciding whether to make an adjustment, must consider, 
among other factors, the likelihood that the noncustodial 
parent will comply with the support obligations if an 
adjustment is made, the extent of his involvement in the 
child’s life, and any other contributions to the child’s 
emotional well-being. 

 
STATE REIMBURSEMENT CLAIM 
ADJUSTMENTS 

 
The act requires the commissioner to adopt 

regulations establishing criteria and procedures for 
adjusting the state's claim for reimbursement of welfare 
cash and medical assistance.  It states that the purpose 
of any such adjustment must be to encourage 
noncustodial parents to become positively involved in 
their children’s lives and begin making regular child 
support payments.  By law, when families receive state 
welfare cash assistance, the state acquires a right to 
claim reimbursement from them and other legally liable 
relatives (such as noncustodial parents).  Welfare 
recipients must also assign to the state any rights they 
have to unpaid child support. 

 
DSS SELF-SUPPORT RESERVE NOTICE 

 
The act changes the required contents of a standard 

notice and claim form that the Department of Social 
Services (DSS) must distribute to employers in the state 
for them to give to employees whose wages are subject 
to child support withholding orders.  It specifies that the 
notice, among its other provisions, must disclose the 
amount of disposable earnings that are exempt from 
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income withholding (the “self-support reserve”).  Under 
prior law, the notice specified that $145 was exempt.  
But PA 99-193 reduced the exempt amount to $123.25.   
 
APPLICATION OF LIEN PROCEEDS 

 
The law gives the state a lien on the real and 

personal property of anyone who owes the state $500 or 
more of past-due child support in a IV-D case.  The 
state can foreclose on the lien. When the person owes 
past-due support to both a family and the state, the act 
requires the lien's proceeds to be applied first to the 
family's current and past-due support, then the state's 
past-due support.  The law already requires the money 
to go first to the family's past-due support and then to 
what the state is owed.  

The act updates the statute by requiring the 
Connecticut Lottery Corporation, instead of the state 
comptroller, to withhold unpaid child support from 
lottery winnings.  This makes the statute consistent with 
other existing law and practice. 

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Child Support Collectors 

 
State agencies are the primary collectors of court-

ordered child support.  In Connecticut, these are DSS’ 
Bureau of Child Support Enforcement (BCSE), the 
Judicial Department's Support Enforcement Services 
Unit, and the Office of the Attorney General.  Private 
attorneys who represent the person owed the child 
support may also collect it.   

A person owed child support can also contract with 
a private child support collection agency to collect 
money from someone who has violated a court order by 
not paying the required support.  These private agencies 
were not previously licensed or regulated by any state 
agency and their charges were also not limited.   
 
IV-D Child Support Enforcement Program 
 

The IV-D program is the technical name for the 
government-administered child support enforcement 
program, named after Title IV-D of the federal Social 
Security Act, which is the program’s federal enabling 
statute.  In Connecticut, a case is considered IV-D if (1) 
the family has received welfare benefits or (2) the 
custodial parent has filed an application for services 
with either the BCSE or the Support Enforcement 
Services unit.  The IV-D program must provide services 
to anyone who requests them.  DSS’ BCSE administers 
the program in cooperation with the Office of the 
Attorney General and the Judicial Branch’s Support 

Enforcement Services unit.  The Judicial Branch 
enforces the child support orders and reviews and 
modifies them.  The attorney general provides legal 
representation for the program in court. 

 
Family Support Magistrate Division 

 
By law, the Superior Court’s Family Support 

Magistrate Division has jurisdiction over child support 
cases in which (1) the child is receiving, or has received, 
welfare cash or foster care assistance or (2) where a 
child’s parent or guardian has paid a fee and asked 
BCSE for help to collect support.  It is also the tribunal 
designated by state law to handle interstate family 
support and paternity issues. 
 
Related Acts 

 
PA 01-91 changes the name of the Support 

Enforcement Services Division to Support Enforcement 
Services, (2) allows support enforcement officers to 
serve income withholding orders on employers by first 
class mail, (3) allows support enforcement officers to 
(a) issue the summons for people to attend support 
modification hearings and (b) distribute money from a 
child support escrow account, and (4) allows a child’s 
custodian to ask for review and modification of a 
support order in a non-welfare case.  

PA 01-2, June Special Session, authorizes service 
of child support income withholding orders by first class 
mail if made by support enforcement service officers or 
BCSE investigators.  But it specifies that employers 
who fail to honor such orders cannot be held in 
contempt of court unless the order is served personally 
or by certified mail. 
 
 
PA 01-209—sHB 6939 
Human Services Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING PROTECTIVE 
SERVICES FOR ELDERLY PERSONS 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires the Department of 
Social Services (DSS) commissioner to investigate, 
rather than evaluate, allegations of elder abuse, neglect, 
exploitation, and abandonment and makes conforming 
technical changes.   

It authorizes the commissioner to: 
1. interview the potential elderly victim alone, 

unless he refuses consent or the commissioner 
decides that an interview is not in his best 
interest (these interviews are conducted by 
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DSS’ Elderly Protective Services Division 
staff); 

2. seek a court order to stop a caretaker from 
interfering with the division staff’s ability to 
interview the elderly individual alone; 

3. subpoena witnesses, take testimony under oath, 
and compel the production of documents 
necessary and relevant to the investigation; 

4. ask the attorney general to seek a court order as 
appropriate to enforce the investigation 
provisions; and 

5. subpoena confidential records needed for an 
investigation if she has reasonable cause to 
believe the elderly person is not capable of 
giving consent or if the person’s caretaker has 
refused consent and the commissioner has 
reason to believe the caretaker has abused, 
neglected, exploited, or abandoned the  person 
and ask the attorney general to seek a court 
order to enforce this provision. 

The act allows financial institutions to disclose 
otherwise confidential financial information in response 
to the consent of an elderly person or his representative. 
It specifies that the financial institution has no 
obligation to determine the person’s capacity to consent. 

The act also requires the probate court, when the 
commissioner is seeking conservatorship in an elder 
abuse case, to approve her request for an examination 
by an independent physician, psychologist, or 
psychiatrist if the examination is  

1. needed to determine whether the person is 
capable of managing his affairs, and  

2. in the person’s best interests.  
Under the act, the court must order the examination 

regardless of whether the elderly person or his caretaker 
has already submitted a medical report.  

The act also allows people who have reasonable 
cause to suspect such abuse to report it to the 
commissioner. They can already do so if they have 
reasonable cause to believe the abuse is happening. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2001 
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PA 01-5—SB 1061 
Insurance and Real Estate Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING INSURANCE FRAUD 
REPORTS 
 
SUMMARY: This act changes, from July 31 to March 
31, the date by which insurance companies must file 
with the insurance commissioner an annual report 
detailing information they have received and 
investigations they have conducted on motor vehicle 
insurance fraud claims.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001  
 
 
PA 01-21—SB 192 
Insurance and Real Estate Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING SURETY 
REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTAIN 
GOVERNMENT PROJECTS 
 
SUMMARY: By law, any state or municipal 
construction contract worth over $50,000 must require 
the contractor to furnish a bond to guarantee payment to 
subcontractors providing labor or material. The 
requirement applies to contracts for constructing, 
altering, or repairing state or municipal buildings or 
public work projects. 

This act prohibits contracts for constructing, 
altering or repairing state or municipal buildings or 
public work projects that require the purchase of a bond 
from a specific surety, agent, broker, or producer. It also 
prohibits contracting officers from requiring a bond 
from a specific surety, agent, broker, or producer. By 
law, the surety must be satisfactory to the officer 
awarding the contract. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001  
 
 
PA 01-30—sHB 6712 
Insurance and Real Estate Committee 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING COVERAGE FOR 
NONPROFIT PROVIDERS AND MUNICIPAL 
EMPLOYEES UNDER THE STATE EMPLOYEE 
HEALTH PLAN 
 
SUMMARY: This act adds employees of certain 
nonprofit organizations to the list of employees for 
whom the comptroller, with the Office of Policy and 
Management (OPM) secretary’s approval, is authorized 
to arrange and procure a group hospital, medical, and 

surgical health insurance plan. It also authorizes the 
comptroller, with the OPM secretary’s approval, to 
arrange and procure an alternative health benefit plan 
for municipal and nonprofit organization employees. By 
law, the comptroller procures health benefit plans for 
state employees, legislators, participants in alternative 
retirement plans, and probate court judges and 
employees, among others. 

The act excludes (1) nonprofit organizations that 
obtain coverage through the comptroller from the 
definition of small employer under the statutory Blue 
Ribbon Health Care Plan, unless the comptroller and 
OPM secretary make a written request to the insurance 
commissioner to deem the organization a small 
employer, and (2) new or renewal contracts or policies 
covering the employees of nonprofit organizations and 
municipalities from the premium tax imposed on HMOs 
beginning July 1, 2001. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2001  
 
STATE HEALTH INSURANCE PLAN 
 
Participation Requirements 
 

The act defines a nonprofit corporation as a 
501(c)(3) corporation under contract with the state and 
specifies that it must comply with the following 
conditions to participate in the state health plan: 

1. Participation must be voluntary. 
2. If an employee organization represents 

employees, both the employee organization 
and the nonprofit corporation must agree to 
participate in the plan and neither may submit 
the question of participating to binding 
arbitration without the other’s consent. 

3. No group of employees may be denied 
participation in the plan because of past or 
future health care costs or claims experience. 

4. Rates paid by the state for its employees may 
not be adversely affected, and administrative 
costs of the plan must be paid by participating 
nonprofit corporations at no cost to the state. 

5. Participation in the plan in an amount 
determined by the state must be for the plan 
duration or such other period as mutually 
agreed upon by the nonprofit corporation and 
the comptroller. 

These participation requirements already apply to 
municipal employees. 
 

ALTERNATIVE HEALTH PLAN  
The act authorizes the comptroller to arrange and 

procure an alternative health benefit plan for employees 
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of nonprofit organizations and municipalities. The 
comptroller may offer the plan to municipal employees 
on a fully insured basis and to nonprofit organization 
employees on either a fully insured or risk-pooled basis. 
 
 
PA 01-67—sSB 1247 
Insurance and Real Estate Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE CONNECTICUT 
LIFE AND HEALTH INSURANCE GUARANTY 
ASSOCIATION ACT 
 
SUMMARY: This act revises the laws governing the 
Connecticut Life and Health Insurance Guaranty 
Association (CLHIGA) to identify (1) who and what 
types of policies and contracts are covered and (2) the 
circumstances under which coverage is afforded 
insurers who become financially impaired or insolvent. 
It updates the statutes by (1) covering new life insurance 
products with investment features; (2) modifying 
coverage limitations, restrictions, and exclusions; (3) 
simplifying the provisions that trigger coverage; and (4) 
broadening the association’s authority. 

Specifically, the act:  
1. changes the criteria that determine which 

owners, payees, beneficiaries, and assignees of 
unallocated and structured settlement annuities 
are covered and adds certain types of funding 
agreements and annuities to the list of covered 
products;  

2. adds rules for determining people covered in 
different states to avoid duplicate coverage and 
which state’s statute to use to determine the 
existence and limits of coverage;  

3. sets limits on coverage of rate of return in life 
insurance products with equity-index features 
and excludes coverage for certain claims;  

4. adds per life and aggregate monetary limits for 
certain annuity claimants, a per person 
aggregate limit for health insurance benefits, 
and certain maximum limits on CLHIGA’s 
total financial obligation;  

5. adds authority for CLHIGA to provide certain 
benefits and coverage when an insurer is 
impaired or insolvent and specifies related 
conditions and limitations;  

6. revises CLHIGA’s authority to impose policy 
liens, acquire subrogation and assignment 
rights, and intervene in court and agency 
proceedings;  

7. authorizes CLHIGA to enter into certain 
reinsurance agreements in discharging its 

duties and gives its board of directors greater 
discretion in determining the means by which it 
provides benefits;  

8. makes several changes in the process for 
determining association assessments and 
establishes a procedure for member insurers to 
protest an assessment; and  

9. adds new definitions and revises others. 
Finally, the act expands CLHIGA’s coverage to 

include U.S. citizens residing in a foreign country or a 
U.S. possession, territory, or protectorate that does not 
have an association similar to CLHIGA. It requires that 
they be deemed residents of the state of domicile of the 
insurer that issued the policy or contract. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001   
 
COVERAGE, LIMITATIONS, AND EXCLUSIONS 
 

By law, CLHIGA covers the financial obligations 
of resident owners and certificate holders of individual 
life and health insurance policies or annuity contracts, 
and supplements to them; the beneficiaries, assignees, 
or payees of resident owners and certificate holders; and 
nonresidents if (1) the issuing insurer is domiciled in the 
state; (2) the person resides in a state with an association 
similar to CLHIGA; or (3) the person is not eligible for 
association coverage in any state because the issuing 
insurer was unlicensed at the time specified in the 
state’s law. It also covers group certificates and annuity 
contracts issued by member insurers under life and 
health insurance policies and contracts.  

 
Unallocated and Structured Settlement Annuities  

 
The act changes the criteria for CLHIGA coverage 

of unallocated and structured settlement annuities. 
Under the act, CLHIGA covers the owner of an 
unallocated annuity contract, instead of the contract 
holder, if it is issued to, or in connection with, a benefit 
plan whose sponsor has his principal place of business 
in Connecticut, rather than the state where the contract 
holder is located. An unallocated annuity is an annuity 
that is not issued to and owned by an individual, except 
to the extent of benefits an insurer guarantees.  

The act adds coverage for allocated funding 
agreements and unallocated annuities issued in 
connection with government lotteries, if the owner is a 
resident. 

The act covers payees of structured settlement 
annuities and their beneficiaries, if the payee is 
deceased, and was (1) a resident; or (2) is not a resident 
but the (a) contract owner is a resident, the insurer that 
issued the contrac t is domiciled here and the contract 
owner’s home state has an association similar to 
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CLHIGA; and (b) neither the payee, beneficiary, or 
owner is eligible for coverage from the association in 
the state where they live. Prior law required basing 
structured settlement coverage on where the nominal 
owner resided. A structured settlement annuity is an 
annuity purchased to fund periodic payments to a 
plaintiff or other claimant for personal injuries. 
 
Coverage in Another State 

 
The act prohibits CLHIGA coverage for either an 

unallocated or structured settlement annuity when the 
payee or beneficiary of a resident owner is afforded 
coverage from another state association.  

If another state’s association provides coverage, the 
act prohibits coverage to unallocated annuity owners 
when the benefit plan sponsor has his principal place of 
business here or when the annuity is issued to a resident 
owner in connection with a government lottery. 

To avoid duplicate coverage, the act bars coverage 
to a person who would otherwise receive coverage, 
because he is covered under the laws of another state. In 
determining the application of this prohibition, the act 
specifies that if more than one state’s association could 
cover someone as an owner, payee, beneficiary, or 
assignee, the act must be construed to result in coverage 
by only one association. 
  
Life Insurance Limitation 

 
The act excludes CLHIGA coverage for excess rate 

of return or interest determined by an index or other 
external reference in a life insurance policy. CLHIGA 
may not cover the rate or change in value that exceeds 
(1) the average return over the four-year period before 
the date of impairment or insolvency determined by 
subtracting two percentage points from Moody’s 
Corporate Bond Yield Average for that period or a 
lesser period if the policy was issued less than four 
years before the impairment or insolvency, whichever is 
earlier or (2) on or after the date of impairment or 
insolvency, the rate of return determined by subtracting 
three percentage points from the most recent Moody’s 
Corporate Bond Yield Average. 

 
Exclusion of Certain Claims  

 
The act excludes the following claims from 

CLHIGA coverage: 
1. those not based on the written terms of the 

policy or contract or on marketing material, 
side letters, riders, or other documents that do 
not meet policy form filing or approval 
requirements; and 

2. those based on misrepresentation of policy 
benefits, extra-contractual claims, and claims 
for penalties or consequential or incidental 
damages. 

The act excludes coverage for contractual 
agreements (certain guaranteed investment contracts) 
that establish a member insurer’s obligation to provide a 
book value accounting guaranty for defined contribution 
benefit plan participants. It does so by referencing a 
portfolio of assets owned by the benefit plan or its 
trustee, which is not affiliated with the insurer. It 
excludes interest or changes-in-value claims that are 
determined by an index or external reference and that 
have not been credited to the policy or have been 
forfeited on the date the insurer becomes impaired or 
insolvent, whichever is earlier. If interest or changes in 
value are credited less than annually, the values that are 
not forfeited must be set according to the policy and 
credited as of the date of impairment or insolvency, 
whichever is earlier. The act also excludes claims under 
unallocated annuity contracts protected by the federal 
Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation whether or not 
the corporation is liable for payment. 
 
Monetary Limitations 
 

The act adds the following monetary limits on 
CLHIGA’s obligations for annuities, health, and life 
insurance:  

1. $100,000 in present value annuity benefits, 
including net cash surrender and withdrawal 
values for each payee or his or her beneficiary 
of a structured settlement annuity and up to 
$500,000 in the aggregate to any one 
individual;  

2. $5 million for one owner of multiple individual 
life insurance policies, whether the owner is an 
individual, firm, corporation, or other person, 
and whether the people insured are officers, 
managers, employees or other persons; and 

3. $5 million with respect to one owner under a 
government retirement plan or one plan 
sponsor whose plans own directly or in trust 
one or more unallocated annuity contracts, 
regardless of the number of contracts or plan 
sponsors. If CLHIGA covers one or more 
unallocated annuity contract that are owned by 
a trust or other entity for the benefit of two or 
more plan sponsors, then CLHIGA covers the 
largest interest in the trust or entity owning the 
contract up to $5 million if the plan sponsor 
has his principal place of business in the state. 

The act specifies that CLHIGA’s monetary 
obligations are subject to its subrogation (the right of an 



90                                                                        INSURANCE AND REAL ESTATE COMMITTEE 

 
2001 OLR PA Summary Book 

insurer to recover from a third party the amount paid 
under a policy) and assignment (the transfer of the legal 
right or interest in a policy to another party) rights or its 
ability to pay for benefits out of the impaired or 
insolvent insurer’s assets attributable to the covered 
policies. The act also specifies that CLHIGA’s costs 
may be met through the use of assets attributable to 
covered policies or reimbursed through subrogation or 
assignment rights. 

Finally, the act specifies that CLHIGA’s obligation 
to provide coverage does not require it to directly or 
indirectly guarantee, assume, reinsure, or perform the 
contractual obligations of the impaired or insolvent 
insurer under policies or contracts that do not materially 
affect their economic value or benefit. 

 
PROVIDING BENEFITS AND COVERAGE 

 
If CLHIGA does not guarantee, assume, or reinsure 

the policies or contracts of an insolvent insurer, the act 
requires it to provide benefits and coverage as follows:  

1. excluding conversion and renewal terms, for 
group life and health insurance policies and 
annuity contracts, assure benefit payments for 
premiums identical to those that would have 
been paid under the insolvent insurer’s policies 
and contracts for incurred claims by the earlier 
of the policy or contract’s next renewal date or 
45 days, but in no event less than 30 days after 
it becomes obligated; 

2. in the case of individual life and health 
insurance policies and annuity contracts, assure 
benefit payments for premiums identical to 
those that would have been paid under the 
insolvent insurer’s policies and contracts for 
claims incurred by the earlier of the policy or 
contract’s next renewal date or one year, but in 
no event less than 30 days after it becomes 
obligated; 

3. make diligent efforts to provide 30-day benefit 
termination notices to all known individual and 
group policies or contracts owners, insureds, or 
annuitants; 

4. make available substitute coverage on an 
individual basis to annuitants, insureds, or 
owners of covered individual life and health 
insurance policies or annuity contracts and 
former insureds or annuitants under group 
policies who are not eligible for replacement 
coverage, if they had a right under law, 
terminated policy, or contract to (a) convert to 
individual coverage, (b) continue an individual 
policy or contract until a specified age or time 
during which the insurer could make class 

premium changes or none at all; and 
5. provide substitute coverage by offering either 

to reissue the coverage or issue an alternative 
policy without requiring evidence of 
insurability, a waiting period, or exclusions 
that would not have applied under the 
terminated policy. (CLHIGA may reinsure any 
alternative or reissued policy.) 

 
Alternative Policies 

 
CLHIGA may adopt various types of alternative 

policies for use in the future without regard to any 
particular impairment or insolvency but must get the 
appropriate insurance commissioner and receivership 
court’s approval for policies adopted for a specific 
impairment or insolvency. Alternative policies must 
contain the minimum statutory provisions required in 
Connecticut and provide reasonable benefits in relation 
to premiums charged. CLHIGA must set premiums in 
accordance with a table it adopts, and premiums must 
reflect the amount of insurance provided and the age 
and risk class of each insured, but not changes in the 
insured’s health after the original policy was last 
underwritten. Alternative policies must provide 
coverage similar to that provided by the impaired or 
insolvent insurer. 

 
Reissued Coverage 

 
If CLHIGA elects to reissue coverage at a premium 

rate different from that charged under the terminated 
policy, it must base the premium on the amount of 
insurance provided and the insured’s age and risk class 
and subject to the domiciliary insurance commissioner 
and the receivership court’s approval. 

CLHIGA’s coverage obligation under any impaired 
or insolvent insurer’s policy or contract or any reissued 
or alternative policy or contract ceases on the date the 
owner, insured, or CLHIGA replaces it with another 
policy or contract. 

For policies or contracts with guaranteed minimum 
interest rates, CLHIGA must assure the payment or 
crediting of interest consistent with the limitation on 
interest rate payments. 

The act specifies that CLHIGA’s obligation under 
any guaranteed, assumed, alternative, or reissued policy 
or contract terminates if premiums are not paid by the 
31st day after the date required under the policy or 
contract, except for claims already incurred or net 
surrender values that may be due. Premiums for 
coverage due after an order of insolvency is entered 
belong and must be paid to CLHIGA, which is liable for 
any unearned premiums due the policy or contract 
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owner. 
The act authorizes CLHIGA, subject to the 

receivership court’s approval, to issue substitute 
coverage under an alternative policy or contract for one 
that provides an interest rate or crediting rate 
determined by the use of an index or other external 
reference to calculate returns or changes in value. The 
alternative policy must provide (1) a fixed interest rate, 
in lieu of the index or external reference under the 
original policy, (2) payment of dividends with minimum 
guarantees, or (3) a different method for calculating 
interest or changes in value. No evidence of insurability, 
waiting period, or other exclusion that would not apply 
to the replaced policy can apply to the alternative 
policy, and it must be substantially similar to the 
replaced policy in all other material terms. 

Finally, the act specifies that its protections do not 
apply when the laws of the impaired or insolvent 
insurer’s domiciliary state or jurisdiction provide 
guaranty protection to any Connecticut resident. It also 
specifies that where CLHIGA arranges or provides 
benefits to a covered person under a plan or 
arrangement that fulfills it’s obligation, the person is not 
entitled to benefits from another association in addition 
to or other than those provided under the plan or 
arrangement. 

 
LIENS, MORATORIUMS, INTERVENTION, 
ASSIGNMENT OF RIGHTS, AND SUBROGATION 
 
Liens and Moratoriums 

 
The act requires a Connecticut court’s approval, 

rather than the insurance commissioner’s, for CLHIGA 
to impose permanent and temporary policy or contract 
liens or moratoriums on the payment of cash values or 
policy loans in connection with a guarantee, 
assumption, or reinsurance agreement.  

The act extends this authority to any other right to 
withdraw policy or contract funds and specifies that the 
authority is in addition to any contractual provisions for 
the deferral of cash or policy loan values. It authorizes 
CLHIGA to defer paying cash values, policy loans, or 
other withdrawal rights out of the impaired or insolvent 
insurer’s assets when the receivership court imposes a 
temporary moratorium or moratorium charge on such 
values, loans, or rights. The deferment is for the period 
of the moratorium or moratorium charge imposed by the 
court. Claims paid by CLHIGA in accordance with the 
liquidator or rehabilitator’s hardship procedure and 
approved by the receivership court are exempt. 

In order to impose a permanent lien, CLHIGA must 
find that the (1) amount it assesses member insurers in 
connection with a guarantee, assumption, or reinsurance 

agreement is less than needed to discharge its 
obligations or (2) economic or financial conditions are 
sufficiently adverse to require the imposition of a 
permanent policy or contract lien in the public interest.  
 
Intervention In Proceedings 

 
The act extends CLHIGA’s authority to intervene 

in state court proceedings to the proceedings of state 
agencies with jurisdiction over an impaired or insolvent 
insurer and people or property against which CLHIGA 
may have subrogation rights. By law, CLHIGA has 
standing in connection with state court insolvency 
proceedings. The act also extends CLHIGA’s standing 
and intervention rights to court and agency proceedings 
in other states with jurisdiction over an impaired or 
insolvent insurer and people or property against which 
CLHIGA may have rights or for which CLHIGA is or 
may become obligated. 

 
Assignment of Rights 

 
The act broadens CLHIGA’s authority to require 

people receiving benefits from substitute or alternative 
coverage to assign their rights to CLHIGA, to the extent 
of such benefits. By law, CLHIGA can require 
assignment for payment of contractual obligations or the 
continuation of coverage. The act extends the right of 
assignment to causes of action against people for losses 
arising under, resulting from, or relating to covered 
policies or contracts. Payees, policy or contract owners, 
beneficiaries, insureds, or annuitants can also be 
required to assign their rights or causes of action as a 
precondition to receiving benefits. 
 
Subrogation 

 
The act broadens CLHIGA’s right of subrogation to 

include those rights acquired by succession and under 
common law. It also authorizes CLHIGA to pursue 
other equitable or legal rights that would have been 
available to the impaired or insolvent insurer or any 
owner, beneficiary, or payee of a policy or contract 
against a person responsible for losses for personal 
injury. The right of subrogation includes the pursuit of 
any owner, beneficiary or payee’s right under a 
structured settlement annuity. It exempts people 
responsible for injury while serving as an assignee 
under a qualified Internal Revenue Service assignment. 
By law, CLHIGA’s right of subrogation against the 
assets of an impaired insurer applies to any person 
receiving benefits from CLHIGA. 

The act specifies that if CLHIGA’s rights of 
assignment, including causes of action or subrogation, 
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are held invalid or ineffective against any person or 
claim, CLHIGA is entitled to reduce the amount it pays 
(set off) by the amount realized by such person with 
respect to any covered person or claim. It also specifies 
that CLHIGA is entitled to reimbursement of a portion 
of any recovery attributable to covered policies if it 
provided benefits to cover an obligation and a person 
recovers amounts to which CLHIGA has rights. 

 
REINSURANCE ARRANGEMENT 

 
The act allows CLHIGA to succeed to the rights of 

an impaired or insolvent insurer under any indemnity 
reinsurance agreement it entered into as a ceding insurer 
if it elects to do so within one year after the date it 
becomes obligated to cover the impaired or insolvent 
insurer’s policies or contracts (known as the coverage 
date). The act prohibits CLHIGA from exercising its 
election option if the impaired or insolvent insurer’s 
receiver, rehabilitator, or liquidator does not affirm the 
reinsurance agreement. It can only exercise the option 
after giving the receiver, rehabilitator, liquidator, or 
reinsurer notice. If CLHIGA succeeds to such rights and 
obligations it: 

1. is responsible for all unpaid premiums due 
under the reinsurance agreement for the 
periods before and after the coverage date and 
perform all other obligations related to any 
covered contract after that date, including 
charging each contract or policy the costs of 
reinsurance exceeding CLHIGA’s obligation; 

2. is entitled to amounts the reinsurer pays under 
the agreement for losses or events that 
happened after the coverage date and must pay 
any beneficiary of a policy or contract in which 
CLHIGA only paid a portion of the amount 
due (a) the amount it received that exceeds the 
benefits paid the beneficiary under the policy 
or contract less (b) any loss-related amount 
retained by the impaired or insolvent insurer; 
and 

3. must calculate, within 30 days after its election, 
along with each indemnity reinsurer, the net 
balance due to or from CLHIGA under each 
agreement as of the date of its election, giving 
full credit to the amounts paid by the insurer or 
its receiver, rehabilitator or liquidator, or 
reinsurer during the period between the 
coverage date and the date of CLHIGA’s 
election. CLHIGA or the indemnity reinsurer 
must pay the net balance within five days after 
completing the calculation. If the receiver, 
rehabilitator, or liquidator received any 
amounts due CLHIGA, they must promptly 

remit this to CLHIGA. 
The act specifies that if CLHIGA pays premium 

within 60 days after its election for the periods before 
and after the coverage date, the reinsurer is not entitled 
to terminate the reinsurance agreement or any set off 
against amounts due CLHIGA for any unpaid premium 
due for the periods before the coverage date. 

The act permits CLHIGA to transfer its obligations 
to another insurer, and if the parties agree, the other 
insurer succeeds to CLHIGA’s rights and obligations 
under the reinsurance agreement. If this occurs, (1) the 
indemnity reinsurance agreement is automatically 
terminated unless otherwise agreed to between the 
indemnity reinsurer and the other insurer and (2) 
CLHIGA’s obligation to pay the beneficiary no longer 
applies on or after the date the indemnity reinsurance 
agreement is transferred. 

The act specifies that its reinsurance provisions 
supersede those of any Connecticut law or of any 
affected reinsurance agreement that provides for or 
requires any payment of reinsurance proceeds to the 
receiver, rehabilitator, or liquidator on account of losses 
or events that occur after the coverage date. The 
receiver, rehabilitator, or liquidator remain entitled to 
amounts paid by the reinsurer under the reinsurance 
agreement for losses or events that occur before the 
coverage date subject to any set off. 

The act prohibits, unless it expressly allows, 
alteration or modification of the terms and conditions of 
the insolvent insurer’s reinsurance agreement. It also 
prohibits abrogating or limiting the reinsurer’s right to 
rescind the agreement and specifies that nothing in it 
gives a policy owner or beneficiary an independent 
cause of action against an indemnity reinsurer that is not 
otherwise stated in the agreement. 

 
ADDITIONAL ASSOCIATION POWERS AND 
VENUE  

 
The act authorizes CLHIGA to (1) request 

information from people seeking coverage from it in 
order to aid CLHIGA in determining its obligation and 
requires such people to comply promptly with such 
requests, (2) take necessary or proper action and 
exercise its powers to discharge its duties and 
obligations, and (3) join an organization of other state 
associations to further the purposes and administer its 
powers and duties. 

Finally, the act specifies that lawsuits against 
CLHIGA must be brought in the Hartford Superior 
Court and that CLHIGA is not required to post an 
appeal bond in causes of action brought under the act. 
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ASSOCIATION ASSESSMENTS 
 
CLHIGA imposes assessments on its member 

insurers to raise funds to fulfill its statutory obligations. 
The assessments are based on the amount of premiums 
members write in the state. 

The act modifies CLHIGA’s assessment accounts. 
It includes annuity contracts owned by government 
retirement plans in the annuity sub-account and 
eliminates it from the unallocated annuity sub-account. 

The also act makes several assessment-related 
changes. It:  

1. requires CLHIGA members to pay interest on 
late payment of assessments of  1% per month, 
or any part thereof, and calculate interest from 
the due date to the date of payment;  

2. reduces the classes of assessments, from three 
to two, to reflect the elimination of the 
distinction between an impaired foreign or 
alien insurer and an impaired domestic insurer;  

3. limits class “A” assessments (for 
administrative costs and general expenses) to 
$150 per member in any one calendar year 
when made on a non-pro-rata basis;  

4. allocates class “B” assessments (used to fund 
CLHIGA’s obligations under the Act) 
according to a formula based on the premiums 
or reserves of the impaired or insolvent insurer 
or on standards CLHIGA’s board deems fair 
and reasonable; 

5. changes the basis for class “B” assessments 
from the most recent calendar year of 
information preceding the year in which an 
insurer becomes insolvent or impaired to the 
most recent three years;  

6. requires members to pay all deferred 
assessments  under a repayment plan CLHIGA 
approves once the financial difficulty causing 
the deferral is rectified;  

7. limits the total of all authorized assessments for 
each sub-account (life and annuity), and for the 
health insurance account to 2% of the insurer’s 
average annual premium received in 
Connecticut on policies covered by the 
accounts during the three calendar years 
preceding the year in which the insurer 
becomes impaired or insolvent; 

8. limits the aggregate assessment percentage to 
an amount equal and limited to the higher of 
the three-year average annual premium of the 
applicable sub-account or account when two or 
more assessments are authorized in one 
calendar year; 

 

9. adds assets derived from assignment and 
subrogation in determining excess assets of any 
account for purposes of a refund;  

10. requires CLHIGA to notify members within 
180 days after it authorizes an assessment of its 
pro-rata share of an authorized assessment that 
has not yet been called; and  

11. allows CLHIGA to make pro-rata assessments, 
instead of non-pro-rata assessments only.  

The act specifies that when pro-rata assessments are 
made CLHIGA’s board may credit them against future 
class “B” assessments and extends assessment 
requirements to insurer insolvencies.  

The act defines an “authorized assessment” as one 
passed by resolution of CLHIGA’s board to be 
immediately called or called in the future from member 
insurers for a specified account. A “called assessment” 
is one where CLHIGA has issued notice to member 
insurers requiring an authorized assessment to be paid 
within the time specified in the notice. 
 
Assessment Protest 

 
The act gives member insurers the right to protest 

an assessment, but requires them to pay it when due as 
set forth in the notice. The act specifies that payment 
must be available for CLHIGA to meet its obligations 
during the time a protest or any subsequent appeal is 
pending. Payment under protest requires a written 
statement that payment is made under protest, and the 
grounds for the protest must accompany the payment. 
Within 60 days following payment, CLHIGA must 
notify the member in writing of its decision about the 
protest. It also must notify the member if it needs 
additional time. CLHIGA must notify the protesting 
member about its final decision in writing within 30 
days. Within 60 days after receiving this notice, the 
protesting member may appeal to the insurance 
commissioner. If the protest is based on a question 
about the assessment, CLHIGA may refer the protest to 
the commissioner with a recommendation, instead of 
rendering a final decision. If the commissioner upholds 
the appeal, CLHIGA must return the amount paid in 
error or the excess, in addition to interest to the insurer. 
Interest is paid at the rate it was actually earned. 

The act specifies that CLHIGA may request 
information from member insurers to aid it in setting 
assessments and members must promptly comply with 
the request.  
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PA 01-88—sSB 1395 
Insurance and Real Estate Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING COMMERCIAL REAL 
ESTATE BROKERAGE 
 
SUMMARY: This act permits a real estate broker who 
enters into a commission agreement with a landlord or 
tenant in a commercial lease transaction to enforce the 
agreement against the landlord or tenant or any of their 
grantees, successors, and assignees after the property’s 
sale, transfer, assignment, or other disposition. 

The act requires the broker to provide “notice of 
commission rights” in a certain form, recorded on the 
land records within a specified time period, and signed 
by the broker or his authorized agent. It also requires 
that certain conditions be satisfied before a notice of 
commission rights is binding on any landlord, tenant or 
their grantees, successors, or assignees after disposition 
of the property. 

Finally, the act specifies that the notice of 
commission rights may not be construed as a lien on the 
property. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001  
 
COMMISSION AGREEMENT 

 
The act specifies that a commission agreement, 

under which a landlord or tenant agrees or promises to 
pay the broker for services rendered in connection with 
a written commercial lease, is a binding contractual 
obligation on the landlord or tenant and their grantees, 
successors, and assignees if (1) the broker satisfies the 
requirements for recording a notice of commission 
rights; (2) upon the sale, transfer, or other disposition of 
the property, the succeeding party assumes the benefits 
of the tenancy; and (3) the broker does not waive the 
commission agreement in writing. It specifies that the 
contractual obligation under the commission agreement 
applies to the succeeding party after a sale; transfer; 
assignment; or enforcement of a mortgage, lien, or deed 
to secure a debt or other security instrument of a 
landlord’s interest in the property or the sale, transfer, 
assignment, or other disposition of a tenant’s leasehold 
interest. 

The act specifies that the commission agreement 
constitutes a binding contractual obligation that 
supersedes any provision of law that would otherwise 
consider the agreement the personal obligation of the 
original landlord or tenant named in the lease. 

 
 
 

NOTICE OF COMMISSION RIGHTS 
 
The act requires the broker to record the notice of 

commission rights on the land records in the town 
clerk’s office where the property or leasehold is located 
within 30 days after the lease is signed or the tenant 
takes occupancy, whichever is later.  

To terminate commission rights, the act requires the 
broker to provide the owner, tenant, or mortgagee with a 
statement suitable for recording on the land records.  He 
must do this within 30 days after receiving final 
commission payment under the agreement. 
 
Commission Rights Form 

 
The act requires the notice of commission rights 

form to (1) be filed before the property is conveyed; (2) 
be signed by the broker or his authorized representative; 
(3) contain the owner, landlord, or tenant’s name; the 
date and lease term; the project or building name; and 
the broker’s name, address, and telephone and license 
number; and (4) contain the following statement: 

“The undersigned licensed Connecticut real estate 
broker does hereby publish this NOTICE OF 
COMMISSION RIGHTS to establish that the lease 
referenced below was procured by a real estate broker 
pursuant to a written brokerage commission agreement 
providing for the payment or promise of compensation 
for brokerage services.” 
 
 

PA 01-100—SB 1353 
Insurance and Real Estate Committee 
General Law Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING REAL ESTATE 
APPRAISERS AND NONRESIDENT 
APPLICANTS 
 
SUMMARY: Current law recognizes four appraiser-
licensing classifications: certified, limited, licensed, and 
provisional. Beginning September 30, 2003, this act 
eliminates the licensed appraiser classification and 
prohibits issuing or renewing this license beginning 
October 1, 2003. 

The act specifies that a person licensed in another 
state as a real estate appraiser or real estate broker or 
salesperson may be licensed in Connecticut without 
examination on a reciprocal basis.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001  
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BACKGROUND 
 

Licensing Reciprocity 
 
For licensing on a reciprocal basis, the applicant’s 

state of residence must (1) have licensing requirements 
substantially similar to or higher than Connecticut’s, (2) 
establish competency by written examination, and (3) 
allow licenses to be issued to Connecticut residents 
without examination. Applicants cannot have any 
pending disciplinary proceedings or unresolved 
complaints against them. 
 
 
PA 01-101—SB 524 
Insurance and Real Estate Committee 
Public Health Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING HEALTH INSURANCE 
COVERAGE FOR MEDICALLY NECESSARY 
FORMULA FOR CHILDREN UP TO AGE THREE 
 
SUMMARY: Beginning October 1, 2001, this act 
requires individual and group health insurance policies 
to cover medically necessary specialized nutritional 
formula administered under a doctor’s direction and 
used to treat disease and other conditions in children up 
to age three. The act defines “specialized formula” as a 
nutritional formula for children up to age three that is 
(1) used solely under medical supervision in the dietary 
management of specific diseases and (2) exempt from 
the general nutritional labeling requirements under 
federal Food and Drug Administration's (FDA) statutory 
and regulatory guidelines. 

The requirement applies to hospital and medical 
coverage offered by HMOs and accident-only policies, 
and to health insurance policies that pay for (1) basic 
hospital expenses, (2) basic medical-surgical expenses, 
(3) major medical expenses, and (4) hospital or medical 
services. The plan or policy must be delivered, issued 
for delivery, or renewed in the state on or after October 
1, 2001. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001  

BACKGROUND 
 
FDA Regulations 
 

FDA regulations exempt infant formula from the 
general nutritional labeling requirements that apply, 
with exceptions, to products intended for human 
consumption (21 CFR § 101.9(a) and (j)(7)). Infant 
formula is regulated separately. The infant formula 
labeling regulations exempt certain types of formula 

that are represented and labeled for use by infants who 
have inborn metabolic disorders, low birth weights, or 
unusual medical or dietary problems. FDA distinguishes 
between two types of exempt formulas: those generally 
available at retail and those that are not. The former are 
typically labeled for use to provide dietary management 
for diseases or conditions that are not clinically serious 
or life-threatening, although they can also be labeled for 
use for serious or life-threatening conditions. The latter 
are typically prescribed by physicians and must be 
requested from a pharmacist. They are labeled for 
dietary management of specific diseases or conditions 
that are clinically serious or life-threatening, and are 
generally required for prolonged periods (21 CFR § 
107.50). 
 
 
PA 01-113—sSB 1096 
Insurance and Real Estate Committee 
Government Administration and Elections  Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE LICENSING OF 
INSURANCE PRODUCERS 
 
SUMMARY: This act revises the licensing 
requirements for individuals and businesses seeking to 
sell insurance in Connecticut and satisfies federal 
Financial Modernization Act of 1999 requirements. It 
eliminates barriers to licensing nonresident insurance 
producers here by establishing reciprocity with other 
states and requiring the use of a uniform application 
form. It revises the requirements and qualifications to 
obtain a resident license, adds to the list of people 
exempt from licensing, and expands the grounds for 
disqualifying individuals from obtaining or maintaining 
a license. 

The act also (1) revises the process of appointing 
producers that act on behalf of an insurer; (2) adds 
certain producer reporting requirements; (3) exempts 
bail bond and title insurance from its provisions; (4) 
adds educational requirements for excess-line 
producers; (5) modifies the requirements for temporary, 
renewal, and reinstated licenses; (6) broadens the 
insurance commissioner’s authority to contract for 
certain services; and (7) authorizes the commissioner to 
adopt implementing regulations.  

Finally, the act adds certain definitions to the 
insurance statutes, revises others, makes minor technical 
corrections, and repeals statutes that are inconsistent 
with the act. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: September 1, 2002  
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RECIPROCITY AND UNIFORM APPLICATION 
FORM 

 
Reciprocity 

 
Prior law allowed residents, Connecticut 

businesses, unlicensed nonresidents, and out-of-state 
businesses to obtain a Connecticut resident license and 
licensed nonresidents to obtain a nonresident license if 
they submitted an appropriate application, paid a fee, 
furnished satisfactory evidence of good moral character 
and financial responsibility, and passed a written 
examination. Also, applicants had to either (1) satisfy 
pre-licensing educational requirements of at least 40 
hours for each line of insurance they wanted authority to 
sell or (2) possess equivalent experience or training as 
determined by the commissioner. 

The act establishes reciprocity with other states for 
nonresident insurance producers, including excess and 
limited-line producers if (1) they are currently licensed 
and in good standing in their home state, (2) they submit 
the same application they submitted in their home state 
or a completed uniform application to the 
commissioner, (3) they submit the proper request for a 
license and pay the appropriate fee, and (4) their home 
state awards nonresident licenses to Connecticut 
residents on the same basis.  

The act exempts previously licensed nonresident 
producers who apply for a Connecticut license from pre-
licensing educational requirements and the written 
examination if (1) their application is received within 90 
days of the cancellation of their previous license and (2) 
the other state certifies or the National Association of 
Insurance Commissioner’s (NAIC) producer database 
records indicate that they were in good standing at the 
time of the cancellation. It also exempts currently 
licensed nonresident producers (individuals and 
businesses) who move to Connecticut from these 
requirements if they file their application within 90 days 
of establishing legal residence or their principal place of 
business in the state. Producers moving to Connecticut 
are exempt from paying the licensing fee or submitting 
an application. The act authorizes the commissioner to 
adopt regulations that may require them to satisfy these 
requirements if she so determines. 

The act requires the commissioner to waive any 
pre-licensing requirement for a nonresident license 
applicant if his home state awards nonresident licenses 
to residents of Connecticut on the same basis. The 
applicant must satisfy all other nonresident licensing 
requirements specified under the act. It also permits a 
nonresident producer who satisfies his home state’s 
continuing education requirements to satisfy 
Connecticut’s requirement if the nonresident producer’s 

home state recognizes the satisfaction of its continuing 
education requirements by Connecticut producers on the 
same basis. 

The act authorizes the commissioner to verify the 
status of any licensee through the producer database 
maintained by the NAIC. 
 
Uniform Application Form and Related Requirements 

 
The act requires resident or nonresident individual 

applicants to use the uniform application authorized by 
the NAIC when applying for a license. Applicants must 
declare under penalty of license denial, suspension, or 
revocation that the statements made on the application 
are true, correct, and complete to the best of their 
knowledge and belief.  

Under prior law, applicants who willfully 
misrepresent facts on the application were subject to a 
fine of up to $500, a term of imprisonment up to six 
months, or both. 

The act authorizes the commissioner to require 
applicants to submit documents verifying information 
on the application and adds and revises penalties against 
applicants that provide incorrect, misleading, 
incomplete or materially untrue information in the 
application (see Disqualifying Conduct). The 
commissioner is authorized to deny, suspend, or revoke 
a license, place a licensee on probation, or levy a civil 
penalty against a licensee in such cases. 

Excess and limited-line producers may use another 
application form acceptable to the commissioner.  

The act modifies the commissioner’s 
responsibilities in determining whether an applicant is 
suitable. It requires her to find that such applicant (1) is 
at least 18 years of age; (2) has not committed any act 
that is grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation; and 
(3) where required, has completed a pre-licensing 
course for the lines of authority applied for. 

Prior law required the commissioner to satisfy 
herself that each applicant was properly qualified, 
trustworthy, and that granting a license was in the public 
interest. 
 
Business Entities 
 

The act requires businesses to file the Uniform 
Business Entity Application and designate a licensed 
producer to be responsible for the company’s 
compliance with Connecticut insurance laws, rules, and 
regulations. 

Prior law required a licensed officer of a 
corporation to sign the application or a licensed partner, 
if a partnership, or a licensed principal for other 
business organizations. 
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LICENSING EXEMPTIONS 
 
The act prohibits any person from selling, 

soliciting, or negotiating insurance of any class unless 
licensed for that line of authority and specifies that 
insurance companies are exempt from the licensing 
requirement. It extends an exemption from the licensing 
requirement to the following people if they do not 
receive commissions or sell, solicit, or negotiate 
insurance policies, contracts or their terms and 
conditions: (1) directors of an insurer or insurance 
producer whose activities are executive, administrative, 
managerial, or clerical; (2) officers, directors, or 
employees of an insurer or insurance producer whose 
job is underwriting, loss control, inspecting, or 
processing, adjusting, investigating, or settling claims or 
acting as a special agent or agency supervisor providing 
technical advice and assistance to insurance producers; 
(3) people who provide information about, enroll people 
in, administer, or issue certificates relating to group life, 
property and casualty, annuities or accident and health 
insurance, and people who perform administrative 
services related to mass marketed property and casualty 
insurance; (4) employers or associations and their 
officers, directors, employees, or employee trust plan 
trustees engaged in the administration or operation of an 
employee benefit plan for the employer’s or 
association’s employees or the employees of its 
subsidiaries or affiliates; (5) insurance company 
employees or organizations employed by an insurer 
engaged in the inspection, rating, or classification of 
risks, or supervising the training of insurance producers; 
(6) people who advertise insurance products through 
print or electronic media whose distribution is not 
limited to state residents; (7) licensed nonresidents who 
sell property and casualty insurance covering multi-state 
exposures, including the state where their principal 
place of business is located; and (8) full-time salaried 
employees who advise their employer about its 
insurance needs. 

Prior law exempted an insurer’s salaried officers or 
employees engaged in executive, technical, 
administrative, or clerical duties and who were not 
involved in negotiating or soliciting insurance or 
effecting, changing, or modifying policy terms and 
conditions; salaried employees of an insurance producer 
or insurer engaged in clerical or administrative services 
who did not receive a commission or solicit, negotiate, 
or effect policies or contracts, or change or modify 
terms or conditions of contracts. 

 
 
 
 

DISQUALIFYING CONDUCT 
 
The act broadens the commissioner’s authority to 

impose sanctions on licensees for engaging in certain 
conduct. It authorizes the commissioner to place a 
licensee on probation; suspend, revoke, deny, or refuse 
to renew his license; or levy a civil penalty against a 
licensee for the following reasons: (1) providing 
incorrect, misleading, incomplete, or materially untrue 
information on a application; (2) violating any insurance 
law, regulation, subpoena, or order issued by the 
commissioner of this or another state; (3) obtaining or 
attempting to obtain a license through misrepresentation 
or fraud; (4) improperly withholding, misappropriating, 
or converting money or property in the course of doing 
business; (5) intentionally misrepresenting the terms of 
an actual or proposed contract or insurance policy 
application; (6) conviction of a felony or admitting to or 
being found to have committed any insurance unfair 
trade practice or fraud; (7) using fraudulent, coercive, or 
dishonest practices or demonstrating incompetence, 
untrustworthiness, or financial irresponsibility in the 
conduct of business; (8) having an insurance producer’s 
license, or its equivalent, denied, suspended, or revoked 
in any state, province, district, or territory; (9) forging 
another’s name to an application for insurance or any 
document related to an insurance transaction; (10) 
improperly using notes or reference material to 
complete an insurance licensing exam; (11) knowingly 
accepting insurance business from an unlicensed person; 
(12) failing to comply with administrative or court 
orders for child support; or (13) failing to pay state 
income taxes or comply with administrative or court 
orders directing such payment. 

The act adds authority for the commissioner to 
revoke or suspend a license for the failure of a licensee 
to inform her of any legal name or address change. 

It extends a licensee’s (individual and business) 
right to written notice and an opportunity for a hearing 
in cases where the commissioner refuses to renew his 
license. The act also gives this right to an applicant who 
has been denied a license. Prior law required notice and 
a hearing only when the commissioner suspended or 
revoked a license or imposed a fine of up to $1,000 

The notice must specify the reasons for the denial 
or refusal to renew. The applicant or licensee may 
demand a hearing within 30 days after the notice and the 
hearing must be held within 20 days of the request. 

 
Business License 

 
The act modifies the criteria for suspending, 

revoking, or refusing to renew a business license. 
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Prior law authorized the commissioner to revoke a 
business license and that of its principal, officer, or 
director unless she determines that the principal, officer, 
or director was not personally at fault in the matter for 
which the business was held responsible. 

The act broadens the commissioner’s authority to 
sanction businesses. It allows her to suspend or refuse to 
renew a business license if she finds (1) that an 
individual licensee’s violation was known or should 
have been known by one or more of the partners, 
officers, or managers and (2) the violation was neither 
reported to her nor corrected. In addition to, or in lieu 
of, suspension or revocation, the commissioner may 
impose a fine of up to $1,000. 

The act authorizes the commissioner to prosecute 
violations of its provisions even if a licensee has 
relinquished his license or allowed it to lapse. 

 
APPOINTMENT OF AGENT 

 
The act specifically prohibits a producer from 

acting as an insurer’s agent unless the insurer appoints 
him, and revises the method by which producers are 
appointed.  

To appoint a producer as its agent, the act requires 
the appointing insurer to file a notice of appointment 
within 15 days after the date an agency contract is 
executed or the first insurance application is submitted. 
Filing must be on a form approved by the 
commissioner. The commissioner must verify, within 30 
days of receipt of the filing, that the producer is eligible 
for appointment. If the commissioner determines that 
the producer is ineligible, she must notify the insurer 
within five days of her determination.  

Under prior law, a producer’s authority to act as an 
agent was activated on the date the insurer’s 
representative signed a written appointment form and 
within three business days sent it to the commissioner.  

The act adds authority for an insurer to appoint a 
producer to all or some of its affiliated companies by 
filing a single appointment request and paying the 
appropriate fee, provided the commissioner has (1) 
implemented an electronic system capable of processing 
it and (2) previously notified insurers that such filings 
are acceptable. 

 
REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

 
The act requires producers to report to the 

commissioner any governmental actions or criminal 
prosecutions initiated against them in this and any other 
jurisdiction. Criminal actions must be reported within 
30 days after the initial pretrial hearing. The report must 
include a copy of any order, consent order, hearing 

complaint, or other legal decree or document.  
Prior law required producers to notify the 

commissioner in writing of any bankruptcy, adverse 
administrative action in another state, or felony 
conviction within 30 days of its occurrence and include 
supporting documents. 

 
EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS AND 
TEMPORARY, RENEWAL, AND REINSTATED 
LICENSES 

 
The act adds a requirement that insurers that offer 

limited-line credit insurance to offer their producers a 
program of instruction approved by the commissioner. 
Limited-line credit insurance includes credit life, 
disability, property, unemployment, mortgage, mortgage 
disability, guaranteed auto protection, and other forms 
of coverage offered in connection with an extension of 
credit. 
 
Temporary License 

 
The act revises the commissioner’s authority to 

issue a temporary license for up to 180 days without an 
examination. Prior law permitted her to issue temporary 
licenses to executors or administrators of a deceased 
licensee’s estate, his surviving next of kin, or the 
spouse, next of kin or conservator of an incapacitated 
licensee. The act broadens this authority by allowing the  
commissioner to issue a temporary license to the 
designee of a producer entering military service or in 
other extenuating circumstances she deems in the public 
interest.  

It also adds authority for the commissioner to (1) 
require a temporary licensee to have a licensed producer 
or insurer as a sponsor to assume responsibility for the 
temporary licensee’s acts or (2) impose other 
requirements to protect insureds and the public. The 
commissioner may revoke a temporary license if the 
interest of insureds or the public is endangered. Under 
the act, a temporary license expires when the owner 
sells his business. 
 
Renewal License 

 
If a producer is unable to renew his license because 

of military service, long-term disability, or other 
extenuating circumstances, the act permits him to 
request a waiver from the renewal process and any 
examination, fine, or sanction imposed for failure to 
comply with renewal procedures. 
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Reinstated License 
 
The act reduces from 24 to 12 months after the due 

date of a renewal fee the time period during which a 
producer may reinstate a lapsed license without 
examination. It imposes a penalty of double the renewal 
fee ($80) to reinstate the license. 

 
AUTHORITY TO CONTRACT FOR SERVICES 

 
The act expands the commissioner’s authority to 

contract for services. It permits the commissioner to 
contract with nongovernmental entities, including the 
NAIC to perform any ministerial function related to 
licensing she deems appropriate, including the 
collection of licensing fees. Prior law only allowed her 
to contract with an independent testing service to 
prepare and administer the licensing exam. 

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Federal Law 
 

The Financial Modernization Act of 1999 gives 
states three years to establish uniform laws or a system 
of reciprocity to govern the licensing of insurance 
producers (individuals and entities authorized to sell, 
solicit, or negotiate insurance). If the states do not enact 
reciprocity by November 12, 2002, the act establishes 
the National Association of Registered Agents and 
Brokers (NARAB). The association would be a quasi-
governmental entity that could preempt existing state 
laws governing producer licensing (15 USC § 6801 et. 
seq.). 
 
 
PA 01-139—SB 1069 
Insurance and Real Estate Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING MINOR CHANGES TO 
THE INSURANCE STATUTES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act makes several changes to the 
insurance statutes. It: 

1. allows a foreign insurance company’s designee 
to receive a copy of any legal process served 
on the insurance commissioner as agent for 
service of process instead of the insurer’s 
corporate secretary; 

2. requires insurers to file financial statements 
and related information with the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners 
electronically rather than by mail; 

 

3. permits the merger or consolidation of a 
Connecticut-domiciled insurer with a foreign 
insurer without requiring a license if the 
surviving insurer is a Connecticut corporation; 

4. extends the insurance commissioner’s authority 
to order automobile insurance companies to 
stop improper business activity, including the 
failure to adjust and pay losses when they 
become due to self-insurers of private 
passenger motor vehicle liability risks; 

5. permits the liquidator of an insolvent insurance 
company to apply to the Superior Court for 
authority to (a) hold unclaimed funds for two 
years and then distribute them to claimants, if 
economically feasible or (b) allow the state 
treasurer to hold the funds in an account on 
behalf of the insurance commissioner and 
allow him to use them in his capacity as 
receiver to defray administrative costs and 
expenses of other insolvent insurers when 
assets are not sufficient to pay them;  

6. corrects a reference to the insurance 
commissioner by replacing it with 
“commissioner” to refer to the economic and 
community development commissioner for 
purposes of tax credit administration under the 
Connecticut Insurance Reinvestment Fund; and 

7. requires utilization review companies to 
separately report to the insurance 
commissioner utilization review decisions 
related to mental or nervous conditions. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001  
 
BACKGROUND 

 
Utilization Review 

 
“Utilization review” is a process that evaluates the 

medical necessity, appropriateness, and efficiency of the 
use of medical services, procedures, and facilities. By 
law, utilization review companies must annually report 
to the insurance commissioner the number of decisions 
it makes denying certification for an admission, service, 
procedure, or hospital stay extension and the outcome of 
appeals. 
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PA 01-157—HB 6980 
Insurance and Real Estate Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT ADDING REAL ESTATE BROKERS TO 
THE LIST OF PROFESSIONAL SERVICE 
CORPORATIONS AND PROFESSIONAL 
SERVICE LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANIES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act adds real estate brokers and 
insurance producers to the list of professions that may 
offer their services through a professional service 
corporation or limited liability company. 

By law, people licensed to offer the same 
professional service to the public may form and become 
shareholders of a for-profit professional corporation or 
form a limited liability company to offer such services. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001  
 
 
PA 01-174—SB 1060 
Insurance and Real Estate Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING INSURANCE DATA 
REPORTING REQUIREMENTS, SMALL 
EMPLOYER HEALTH PLAN AVAILABILITY, 
AND LICENSING REQUIREMENTS FOR 
INDIVIDUALS WHO MAKE FINAL 
UTILIZATION REVIEW DETERMINATIONS 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires insurers, including 
HMOs, to offer all small employers (including small 
employers consisting of one member) every group 
health insurance plan it offers to the small employer 
market unless it adversely affects the insurer’s financial 
condition.  

The act requires (1) final utilization review 
decisions not to certify an admission, service, 
procedure, or extension of a hospital stay and (2) any 
review that upholds such decisions to be made by 
medical professionals who act under the authority of 
licensees that hold a current Connecticut license. The 
requirement applies to all types of health claim-related 
utilization review decisions except workers’ 
compensation claims. 

The act revises some insurance company reporting 
requirements, eliminates several obsolete ones, and 
makes minor technical changes to the insurance statutes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001 
 
SMALL EMPLOYER HEALTH PLANS 

 
The act requires insurers and HMOs to offer all 

small employers, including those consisting of one 

member, small employer health insurance plans, except 
association-type group plans, as a condition of 
transacting business in the state unless the insurance 
commissioner finds that compliance would impaired 
their financial condition.  

 
LICENSING REQUIREMENT 

 
The act imposes a requirement on doctors, nurses, 

and other licensed health care professionals who (1) 
make final utilization review decisions not to certify an 
admission, service, procedure, or extension of a stay or 
(2) review and uphold such decisions. It requires them 
to conduct such reviews under the authority of a doctor, 
nurse, or other licensed professional who possesses a 
current Connecticut license from the Department of 
Public Health.  
 
INSURANCE COMPANY REPORTING 
REQUIREMENTS 

 
The act reduces the contents of the insurance 

commissioner’s annual rate review report to the 
Insurance and Real Estate Committee. The report 
indicates the number and type of rate reviews the 
Division of Rate Review conducted for the prior 
calendar year and the percentage change in rates for 
each line of coverage. The act eliminates the 
requirement to report the number of times the division 
suspected a filed rate violated statutory standards and 
the basis for this finding. The division resolves most 
rate-filing compliance issues without a formal hearing 
and finding. 

The act authorizes the commissioner to require 
commercial insurers to provide underwriting and claims 
experience on any class of business she designates 
without first giving notice and an opportunity for a 
hearing. It eliminates the methodology that insurers 
must use to calculate and report loss and loss adjustment 
expenses, incurred expenses, and the entire reporting of 
(1) underwriting gains or losses, (2) investment and net 
income, and (3) federal taxes. It allows a licensed rating 
or advisory organization to submit the annual report on 
behalf of an insurer. 

Finally, the act eliminates a commercial multi-peril, 
general liability, and auto insurer’s filing for 
establishing a relationship between aggregate premiums 
charged to premiums produced from modified rates 
filed. 
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PA 01-3—HB 6537 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONFIRMING AND ADOPTING 
VOLUMES 1 TO 13, INCLUSIVE, OF THE 
GENERAL STATUTES, REVISED TO 2001 
 
SUMMARY:  This act formally adopts, ratifies, 
confirms, and enacts the General Statutes revised to 
January 1, 2001. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 
 
 
PA 01-4—sHB 6539 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING VALIDATION OF 
CERTAIN MARRIAGES 
 
SUMMARY: This act validates all marriages 
performed between May 12, 1999 and April 27, 2001 
that would have been valid except that they were (1) 
performed by justices of the peace who did not have 
valid certificates of qualification or (2) not performed in 
the towns that issued the marriage licenses. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 
 
 
PA 01-7—SB 997 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE 
ADMINISTRATION OF OATHS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act allows the commissioner of 
correction or his designee to administer oaths. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-8—SB 1000 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING DAMAGE TO 
ELECTRONIC MONITORING EQUIPMENT 
 
SUMMARY: This act makes it a class D felony (see 
Table on Penalties) to intentionally damage electronic 
monitoring equipment owned or leased by the state or 
its agents and required as a condition of community 
release.   

Under prior law, the penalty depended on the 
amount of damage as follows: more than $1,500, class 
D felony; more than $250 but less than $1,500, class A 
misdemeanor; and $250 or less, class B misdemeanor.  

The penalty applies if (1) the person has no reasonable 
basis to believe he has a right to cause the damage and 
(2) the damage interrupts the equipment’s ability to 
function.   

It is already a class D felony to intentionally 
damage electronic monitoring equipment owned or 
leased by the state or its agents and required as a 
condition of probation, conditional discharge, or pretrial 
release. 

Community release is an option for inmates 
sentenced to a prison terms of two years or less.  The 
correction commissioner may release them to approved 
community programs after they have served half their 
sentence, reduced by good time credits. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-11—sHB 5042 
Judiciary Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
AN ACT RESTORING VOTING RIGHTS OF 
CONVICTED FELONS WHO ARE ON 
PROBATION 
 
SUMMARY:  With one exception, this act enables 
felons on probation to vote and run for public office.  It 
does so by limiting a person’s disenfranchisement to the 
period during which he is committed to (1) the 
Department of Correction (DOC) confinement in a 
correctional institution, facility, or community residence 
or placed on parole; (2) a federal prison; or (3) the 
custody of the chief correctional official of another state 
or county of another state.  A person who is released 
from prison after serving time for an elections-related 
felony conviction cannot get his rights back until he is 
discharged from parole or probation. 

The act requires the DOC commissioner, instead of 
the Judicial Department, to send the secretary of the 
state lists of felons whose voting rights should be 
forfeited and those eligible to have their rights restored. 
It establishes a new procedure for restoring the voting 
rights of felons who were confined to the 
commissioner’s custody.  

It requires the Office of Adult Probation to use 
available appropriations to inform people on probation 
on January 1, 2002 of their right to become voters and 
of the new restoration procedures. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  January 1, 2002 
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FORFEITURE OF VOTING RIGHTS AND 
PRIVILEGES 

 
Applicability 

 
Under existing law, felons forfeit their electoral 

rights and privileges while serving their sentences, 
which may include parole and probation. The act limits 
the law’s application to felons imprisoned in a federal 
prison, a state or out-of-state correctional institution or 
facility, or a community residence. 

 
Procedure 

 
The act requires the DOC commissioner, instead of 

the Judicial Department, to send the secretary of the 
state a list by the 15th of each month, of all convicted 
felons committed to his custody during the preceding 
calendar month.   

As with the Judicial Department’s list, the DOC 
commissioner’s list must include each inmate’s name, 
birth date, address, date of conviction, and crime.  The 
secretary gives the list to the registrar of the towns 
where (1) each felon lived when he was convicted and 
(2) the secretary believes the felon was registered to 
vote.  The registrars must compare the list with the voter 
registry list and, after written notice to the felon’s last 
known address, erase his name from the voting list. 

 
RESTORATION OF VOTING RIGHTS AND 
PRIVILEGES 

 
Under the act, felons who have not been convicted 

of elections-related crimes may have their voting rights 
restored when they are released from the DOC 
commissioner’s custody.    

If, upon release, the person resides in the town 
where he was registered to vote, the town’s registrar 
must restore his voting privilege upon satisfactory proof 
that he was released from prison and completed any 
parole.  The DOC commissioner must give a release 
certificate to inmates who complete their term of 
incarceration and any parole. 

If the person was not registered to vote when he 
was convicted or moves to a different town upon 
release, he must prove he (1) is qualified to vote, (2) 
was released from prison, and (3) has completed any 
parole.   

Felons who are placed on probation after being 
confined in a federal or out-of-state correctional 
institution remain eligible to have their rights restored 
only after submitting proof that they paid all court-
ordered fines related to the conviction and were 
discharged from confinement or parole, whichever 

applies. 
 

LIST OF PEOPLE ELIGIBLE TO HAVE THEIR 
VOTING RIGHTS RESTORED 

 
The act requires the DOC commissioner, on the 15th 

of each month, to send the secretary of the state a list of 
all felons released from his custody during the 
preceding calendar month.  The list must include the 
same information as the list required upon conviction 
(i.e., each inmate’s name, birth date, address, date of 
conviction, and crime).  The secretary must send the list 
to the registrar of (1) each inmate’s town of residence at 
conviction and (2) the town where she believes he was 
registered to vote. 

By law, the commissioner must inform felons in his 
custody of their right to have, and the procedure for 
having, their voting privileges restored.  The act 
eliminates a requirement that the parole board provide 
such information.  
 
 
PA 01-13—SB 1383 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING A PLEA OF NOLO 
CONTENDERE CONDITIONAL ON THE RIGHT 
TO TAKE AN APPEAL 
 
SUMMARY: This act broadens the circumstances 
under which a criminal defendant may enter a 
conditional  “nolo contendere” (no contest) plea and 
immediately appeal a judge’s adverse evidentiary 
ruling.  But it also appears to restrict the circumstances 
under which judges can accept such pleas.   

Under the act, before a trial starts, a defendant may 
enter a conditional plea and appeal immediately if the 
judge (1) denies a motion to suppress evidence or to 
dismiss and (2) determines that his ruling is dispositive 
(i.e., controls the outcome) of the case.  Previously, 
defendants could take such actions only when the judge 
denied motions to (1) dismiss or (2) suppress evidence 
the defendant claimed was obtained as a result of an 
illegal search and seizure or involuntary confession.  

The act permits immediate appeals when the court 
refuses to suppress evidence that the defendant claims 
should be excluded for other reasons, such as wiretap 
law violations or prosecutorial misconduct.  But the 
effect of restricting this procedure to “dispositive” 
rulings is unclear, since an existing court rule permits 
judges to accept conditional pleas where their ruling has 
a “significant impact” on the case’s outcome.   
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
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PA 01-15—HB 6538 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE ADMISSIBILITY 
OF RECORDS AND REPORTS OF CERTAIN 
EXPERT WITNESSES AS BUSINESS ENTRIES 
 
SUMMARY: This act allows signed reports and bills of 
certain health care professionals to be introduced as 
business entry evidence without calling the professional 
to testify in all civil actions, rather than only personal 
injury, child support, and family relations matters.   
Such evidence is used to establish the type and cost of 
treatment a party received.     

The act applies to cases pending on and after 
October 1, 2001 and covers the same health providers as 
existing law: treating physicians, dentists, physical 
therapists, podiatrists, psychologists, emergency 
medical technicians, and optometrists. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-16—sSB 1107 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING ACCELERATED 
REHABILITATION 
 
SUMMARY: This act permits a court to grant 
accelerated rehabilitation to people accused of first-
degree larceny as long as the crime did not involve the 
use or threat to use physical force against a person. This 
offense is a class B felony (see Table on Penalties). By 
law, people accused of other class B felonies are not 
eligible. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 

 
BACKGROUND 

 
First-Degree Larceny 
 

A person commits this offense when he commits 
larceny and (1) the property or service is obtained by 
extortion, (2) the value of the property exceeds $10,000, 
(3) the property consists of a motor vehicle worth more 
than $10,000, or (4) the property is obtained by 
defrauding a government agency and is worth more than 
$2,000.  A person commits larceny when, with intent to 
deprive another of property or to appropriate it to 
himself or a third person, he wrongfully takes, obtains, 
or withholds such property from an owner. 

 
 
 

Accelerated Rehabilitation 
 

Accelerated rehabilitation (AR) is a pretrial 
diversion program for people accused of offenses "not 
of a serious nature." People accused of class A and B 
felonies are not eligible. People accused of class C 
felonies are only eligible for "good cause." 

People are also ineligible for the program if they (1) 
were previously convicted of a crime or certain motor 
vehicle violations, (2) are eligible for the pretrial drug 
education program or participated in it previously, or (3) 
are accused of a family violence offense and are eligible 
for the pretrial family violence education program or 
participated in it previously.  

In addition to the above, the court must believe that 
the defendant will probably not offend again. The 
defendant must notify the crime victim that he is 
applying for AR, and the victim must have an 
opportunity to say whether the court should grant it. 
Otherwise, the court has complete discretion in deciding 
whether to place someone in the program. 

AR participants waive their rights to a speedy trial. 
The court places them under the supervision of the 
Office of Adult Probation for up to two years. If a 
participant completes the program successfully, the 
court must dismiss the charges against him and erase his 
record. If the participant violates a program condition, 
he must be brought to trial on the original charge. 
 
 
PA 01-20—HB 6834 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE COMPOSITION OF 
THE DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION 
 
SUMMARY: This act establishes a uniform definition 
for a “correctional institution,” “state prison,” 
“community correctional center,” and “jail” thereby 
eliminating different categories of correctional facilities. 
The terms mean a correctional facility administered by 
the Department of Correction (DOC) commissioner. 

The act updates the names in the statutory list of 
DOC facilities and makes technical changes, including 
moving the list from Title 1 (Provisions of General 
Application) to Title 18 (Correctional Institutions and 
Department of Correction). 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
UPDATED NAMES OF DOC FACILITIES  

 
The act adds to the list of DOC facilities (1) the 

community enforcement offices in Bridgeport, Hartford, 
New Haven, Norwich, and Waterbury and (2) new 
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facilities, such as MacDougall and Walker in Suffield.  
It deletes closed DOC facilities, such as the Jennings 
Road, Morgan Street, and Union Avenue detention 
centers.  It changes the statutory references to some 
facilities to reflect their new names.  These include the 
Northeast Correctional Institution, renamed the Donald 
T. Bergin Correctional Institution; the Somers 
Correctional Institution, renamed the Osborn 
Correctional Institution; and the Niantic Women’s 
Institution, renamed the York Correctional Institution. 
 
 
PA 01-22—sSB 1112 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE WORKERS' 
COMPENSATION REVIEW BOARD 
 
SUMMARY:  This act increases, from 10 to 20 days, 
the time that a party has to appeal to the Workers’ 
Compensation Review Board from a workers’ 
compensation commissioner’s: 

1. award; 
2. decision on a motion; 
3. order requiring an employee’s prior employer 

or its insurer who is found liable for part of the 
employee’s compensation to reimburse an 
initially liable employer or insurer; 

4. decision in an occupational lung disease claim; 
5. decision on whether an employee’s injury is a 

permanent vocational disability; and 
6. decision imposing a penalty on an employer, 

insurer, or party for certain violations of the 
Workers’ Compensation Act. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 

APPEALS FROM DECISIONS IMPOSING 
PENALTIES 

 
The act increases the appeals period for decisions 

of workers’ compensation commissioners imposing a 
penalty on: 

1. an employer for failing to provide insurance 
coverage or welfare plan payments to 
employees eligible for or receiving workers’ 
compensation benefits, 

2. an employer or insurer for undue delay in 
adjusting or paying benefits due to fault or 
neglect, 

3. a party who unreasonably and without good 
cause delays completing a hearing, 

4. an employer who does not comply with certain 
insurance requirements, and 

5. an employer failing to transfer an employee to 
suitable work during treatment or 
rehabilitation. 

 
 
PA 01-25—sSB 1050 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING ASSAULT OF 
PROSECUTORS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act extends the enhanced penalty 
that exists for assaults on public safety and emergency 
medical personnel to assaults on prosecutors.  It makes 
it a class C felony (see Table on Penalties) to assault a 
prosecutor, intending to intimidate, harass, or retaliate 
against him because of his performance of his official 
duties.  Like the assault on public safety and emergency 
medical personnel, the assault on prosecutors must 
cause physical injury.  Under prior law, this crime was a 
simple assault (class A misdemeanor).  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-28—sSB 1053 
Judiciary Committee 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE DEFINITION OF 
MENTAL DISABILITY AND THE CODE OF 
FAIR PRACTICES 
 
SUMMARY: This act adds marital status, mental 
disability, and learning disability as prohibited bases for 
discrimination in those state employment, services, and 
program laws that did not already include them.  It 
defines “mental disability” and applies it to those laws 
and to existing laws prohibiting such discrimination by 
private employers, labor unions, employment agencies, 
and public accommodations providers.   

Finally, the act directs state agencies to comply 
with the federal Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) 
in their provision of services, programs, and activities 
when the federal law affords people with disabilities 
greater rights and protections than state law does. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
UNIFORMITY IN STATE LAW 

 
The act makes marital status and mental disability 

prohibited reasons for discrimination in state (1) 
employment; (2) services; (3) recruitment and job 
referral programs; (4) licensing; (5) education, 
counseling, vocational guidance, job training, and 



JUDICIARY COMMITTEE  105 

 
2001 OLR PA Summary Book 

apprenticeship programs; and (6) assistance programs.  
It also prohibits state licensing agencies from 
discriminating against people with learning disabilities.  
These laws already prohibit discrimination based on 
race, color, religion, sex, age, national origin, ancestry, 
mental retardation, learning disability (in all but 
licensing), and physical disability.   

 
MENTAL DISABILITY DEFINITION 

 
Under the act, a person has a mental disability if he 

has a record of, or is regarded as having, one or more 
mental disorders as defined in the most recent edition of 
the American Psychiatric Association’s “Diagnostic and 
Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders” (known as the 
“DSM-IV”). That manual lists approximately 400 
disorders of varying degrees of severity.  Prior law did 
not define mental disability. 
 
 
PA 01-32—sSB 1357 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING WITNESS FEES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act expands the costs a prevailing 
party in a civil action can recover from the losing party.  
It allows the prevailing party to recover (1) reasonable 
fees for dentists; physicians; chiropractors; podiatrists; 
natureopaths; optometrists; registered, licensed 
practical, and advanced practice registered nurses; and 
real estate appraisers who provide expert testimony in a 
deposition and (2) the costs of recording, videotaping, 
transcribing, and presenting the deposition if it is used 
in lieu of live testimony.  Under prior law, a prevailing 
party could recover a fee for these experts, except 
advance practice registered nurses, only if they testified 
in person.   

The act permits prevailing parties to recover a fee 
for advance practice registered nurses who provide 
personal testimony as they may currently do for the 
other experts listed above. 

The act requires the court to establish reasonable 
fees for the testimony provided in these depositions just 
as it currently does for experts who appear in person.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-35—sHB 6947 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE ADVISEMENT TO 
CRIME VICTIMS OF THEIR CONSTITUTIONAL 
RIGHTS 

SUMMARY:  This act requires Superior Court judges 
to advise crime victims with cases pending before the 
court of so-called “crime victims’ constitutional rights” 
daily at the start of arraignment.  These rights are 
enumerated in Article 29 of the state constitution. 

The act specifies that the advisement is to ensure 
that victims coming before the court know their rights.   
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
ADVISEMENT 
 

The advisement must be in the following form: 
“If you are a victim of a crime with a case pending 

before this court, you are advised that you have the right 
to: 

1. be treated fairly and with respect throughout 
the criminal justice process; 

2. timely disposition of the criminal case; 
3. be protected from the accused; 
4. be notified of and attend court proceedings; 
5. speak with the prosecutor; 
6. object or support any plea agreement; 
7. make a statement to the court before the court 

accepts a plea agreement and at sentencing; 
8. restitution; and 
9. information about the arrest, conviction, 

sentence, imprisonment, and release of the 
accused.” 

 
 
PA 01-36—sHB 6660 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING AIR BAG FRAUD 
 
SUMMARY:  This act establishes a specific larceny 
category called “air bag fraud.” People commit this 
offense when, with intent to defraud, they obtain money 
or other property from someone for knowingly 
installing or reinstalling any object instead of an airbag 
designed according to federal safety requirements, and 
proper for the make, model, and year of the vehicle, as 
part of the vehicle inflatable restraint system. The 
penalty for this offense varies from a class C 
misdemeanor to a class B felony, depending on the 
amount charged for the airbag. For example, if the 
amount charged was between $1,000 and $5,000, the 
penalty would be a class D felony punishable by a 
prison term of up to five years, a fine of up to $5,000, or 
both. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
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BACKGROUND 
 

Airbag Standards 
 
The Code of Federal Regulations specifies airbag 

and other performance standards to protect vehicle 
occupants in crashes (49 CFR 571.208). 
 
Larceny Defined 

 
Someone commits larceny when, with intent to 

deprive someone of his money or other property or to 
appropriate it to himself or a third person, he wrongfully 
takes, obtains, or withholds it from the owner. 

 
Larceny Penalties 

 
There are six different classifications of larceny 

based on the value of the property illegally obtained.  
 

Degree of 
Larceny 

Amount of 
Property 
Involved Classification 

 
 

Prison 

 
 

Fine 

First degree Over $10,000 Class B felony 

Up to 20 years Up to $15,000 

Second 
degree Over $5,000 Class C felony 

 
Up to 10 years 

 
Up to $10,000 

Third degree Over $1,000 Class D felony 

 
Up to 5 years 

 
Up to $5,000 

Fourth 
degree Over $500 

Class A 
misdemeanor 

 
Up to 1 year 

 
Up to $2,000 

Fifth degree Over $250 
Class B 
misdemeanor 

 
Up to 6 months 

 
Up to $1,000 

Sixth degree $250 or less 
Class C 
misdemeanor 

 
Up to 3 months 

 
Up to $500 

 
In addition, certain other defined offenses, such as 

defrauding a public community and extortion, are 
classified in one of these degrees of larceny without 
regard to the value of the property obtained. 

 
Related Larceny Crimes 

 
A person commits the specific larceny crime of 

obtaining property by false pretense when, by any false 
token, pretense, or device, he obtains someone’s 
property, with intent to defraud him or any other person. 

A person commits the specific larceny crime of 
obtaining property by false promise, when, pursuant to a 
scheme to defraud, he obtains someone’s property by 
means of a representation that he or a third person will 
engage in particular conduct, and when he does not 

intend to engage in such conduct or does not believe 
that the third person intends to engage in such conduct. 
 
 
PA 01-38—HB 5307 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT AUTHORIZING THE REMOVAL OF 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS FROM 
DOCUMENTS TO BE RECORDED ON THE 
LAND RECORDS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act allows anyone whose Social 
Security number is on a document that is to be recorded 
on a municipality’s land records to remove or obliterate 
it before the document is recorded. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-41—sHB 6535 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING INDEMNIFICATION OF 
COURT APPOINTED HEALTH CARE 
GUARDIANS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires the state to indemnify 
court-appointed health care guardians to the same extent 
and under the same conditions as state officers and 
employees. Health care guardians are licensed health 
care providers with specialized training in treating 
people with psychiatric disabilities.  The court appoints 
them to represent the health care interests of criminal 
defendants when determining whether to order 
involuntary medication to make them competent to 
stand trial. 

The attorney general (AG) must defend a guardian 
under the same conditions as he would defend state 
officers and employees.  Specifically, the act requires 
him to defend the guardian in any civil action or 
proceeding, unless he decides, based on his 
investigation, that it would be inappropriate, and 
notifies the guardian in writing. 

The act requires the state to pay a guardian’s legal 
costs and fees under the same conditions that apply to 
state officers and employees.  

Finally, it specifies that claims against these 
guardians do not have to be brought to the claims 
commissioner. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
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INDEMNIFICATION OF HEALTH CARE 
GUARDIANS 

 
Under the act, the state must indemnify any court-

appointed health care guardian from financial loss and 
expense arising out of any claim or suit alleging 
negligence or other act or omission resulting in damage 
or injury.  The state’s duty applies only if a guardian 
was acting in the discharge of his duties and his acts or 
omissions were not wanton, reckless, or malicious. 

 
GUARDIAN’S LEGAL FEES AND COSTS 

 
The state must pay a guardian’s legal costs and fees 

only when (1) the AG states in writing that the state will 
not provide an attorney and (2) the guardian is then 
found to have acted in the discharge of his duties or in 
the scope of his employment, and not wantonly, 
recklessly, or maliciously. 

The state may pay the guardian’s legal fees and 
costs only after the final disposition of the lawsuit or 
claim and only in an amount the AG determines is 
reasonable. 
 
 
PA 01-51—SB 998 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE STORAGE OF 
WEAPONS BY THE DEPARTMENT OF 
CORRECTION 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires the Department of 
Correction (DOC) to store its firearms, ammunition, or 
deadly weapons in any secure location on DOC 
property, instead of in a secure location on the grounds 
of a correctional facility with a security rating of three 
or higher.  In practice, DOC gives each of its 
correctional facilities a security rating from one to five, 
with five having the highest security. 

The act requires the DOC commissioner to adopt 
implementing regulations, which must include a 
definition of “secure location.” 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-53—sSB 1049 
Judiciary Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING STATE AGENCY 
AFFIRMATIVE ACTION PLANS AND 
DIVERSITY TRAINING 
 

SUMMARY:  This act requires state agencies, boards, 
or commissions with 20 or fewer full-time employees to 
file their affirmative action plans every two years with 
the Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities 
(CHRO).  Prior law required them to file semiannually 
unless CHRO permitted them to file annually.  The act 
requires CHRO to adopt regulations to include a 
schedule for the biennial filings.    

The act also (1) extends the deadline for state 
agencies to complete diversity training and education 
for all their employees from January 1, 2001, to July 1, 
2002; (2) specifies that any employee who works more 
than 20 hours per week must be trained; and (3) requires 
that state agencies submit information in the affirmative 
action plans they submit to CHRO demonstrating that 
they complied with the diversity training requirement. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-54—sSB 119 (VETOED) 
Judiciary Committee 
General Law Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING VIDEO GAMES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires the consumer protection 
commissioner to fine business owners who allow 
minors to play video games with “violent point and 
shoot video simulators.”  These devices allow players to 
shoot simulated firearms at human targets depicted on 
video screens. 

The act applies to owners of for-profit businesses 
providing these games for entertainment.  Fines may be 
up to $1,000 for each violation, and the attorney general 
may file suit to collect them. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 

 
 
PA 01-59—SB 1187 
Judiciary Committee 
Transportation Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING EMERGENCY 
VEHICLES 
 
SUMMARY: This act classifies Department of 
Correction (DOC) vehicles operated by DOC officers in 
the course of their employment and responding to 
emergency calls as emergency vehicles.  By doing so, it 
allows them to: 

1. park or let the vehicles stand in a manner that 
would normally violate the law,  

2. go through red lights and past stop signs after 
slowing down,  
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3. exceed the speed limit as long as it does not 
endanger life or property, and 

4. disregard laws on traffic direction and turning.   
The operator must drive with due regard for the 

safety of people and property.  The vehicle must use a 
siren or similar device and flashing or revolving lights 
that meet certain standards.  A motor vehicle operator in 
the immediate area of an approaching emergency 
vehicle using a siren and flashing lights must pull over 
to the right-hand edge of the road until the emergency 
vehicle has passed. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Emergency Vehicles 

 
By law, emergency vehicles are also: 
1. ambulances or emergency medical service 

organization vehicles responding to emergency 
calls, 

2. vehicles used by a fire department or its 
officers on the way to a fire or responding to 
emergency calls, and 

3. police vehicles operated by police officers or 
Department of Motor Vehicles’ inspectors 
answering emergency calls or pursuing fleeing 
law violators. 

 
 
PA 01-63—sSB 999 
Judiciary Committee 
Transportation Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE USE OF A 
CERTIFICATE OF IDENTIFICATION FROM 
THE DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION TO 
OBTAIN AN IDENTITY CARD 
 
SUMMARY:  This act limits the forms of identification 
the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can accept 
from identity card applicants.  Previously, it could 
accept either birth or Department of Correction (DOC) 
identification certificates.  Under the act, it may not 
accept an identification certificate unless DOC has 
authorized its use for this purpose. 

DMV issues identity cards to applicants who do not 
have valid driver’s licenses.  They bear the person’s 
photograph, signature, height, sex, and eye color. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
 
 

PA 01-68—sSB 1052 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE PRINCIPAL AND 
INCOME ACT 
 
SUMMARY: This act makes certain changes relating to 
fiduciary decisions under the Connecticut Principal and 
Income Act (CPIA), which establishes rules for 
fiduciaries administering trusts.  The rules relate to 
allocating property between principal and income and 
between income and remainder beneficiaries (income 
beneficiaries generally receive funds during the life of a 
trust and remainder beneficiaries receive the remainder 
of a trust’s funds when it terminates).  CPIA gives 
fiduciaries certain discretionary powers including the 
power to adjust between principal and income under 
certain circumstances.  

The act prohibits a court from changing a 
fiduciary’s decision to exercise a discretionary power 
under the CPIA unless the decision was an abuse of the 
fiduciary’s discretion.  It prohibits a court from finding 
an abuse of discretion merely because the court would 
have exercised the discretion in a different manner or 
not exercised the discretion. 

The act applies to fiduciary decisions including: 
1. whether and to what extent to transfer an 

amount between principal and income under 
the trustee’s power to adjust and  

2. determinations of which factors are relevant to 
the trust and its beneficiaries, the extent that 
the factors are relevant, and the weight (if any) 
given to them when deciding whether and to 
what extent to exercise the power to adjust. 

The act provides rules for the court to remedy a 
fiduciary’s abuse of discretion and a procedure for a 
fiduciary to petition the court for a determination of 
whether a proposed exercise or non-exercise of 
discretion would be an abuse of discretion. 

Prior law prohibited a trustee from using his power 
to adjust if it would not significantly increase the funds 
actually available to the income beneficiary  
(accounting for funds available from sources other than 
the trust).  The act limits this restriction to adjustments 
allocating principal to income. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
REMEDIES 

 
Under the act, if the court finds that a fiduciary 

abused his discretion, it can restore the income and 
remainder beneficiaries to the position they would have 
been in if not for the fiduciary’s abuse of discretion.   
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The act provides the following rules. 
1. If a beneficiary did not receive a distribution or 

received one that was too small, the court can 
require the fiduciary to distribute from the trust 
an amount that will restore the beneficiary in 
whole or part to his appropriate position. 

2. If a beneficiary received a distribution that was 
too large, the court can require the fiduciary to 
withhold an amount from future distributions 
or require the beneficiary to return some or all 
of the distribution to the trust in order to restore 
beneficiaries, the trust, or both to their 
appropriate positions. 

3. When the court cannot restore beneficiaries, 
the trust, or both to the position they would 
have been in if not for the fiduciary’s abuse of 
discretion, the court can require the fiduciary to 
pay beneficiaries, the trust, or both from its 
own funds. 

 
FIDUCIARY REQUESTS TO COURTS 

 
The act allows a fiduciary to petition the court that 

has jurisdiction over a particular trust or estate for a 
determination of whether a proposed exercise or non-
exercise of a discretionary power would be an abuse of 
discretion.   

The act places the burden of showing that the 
fiduciary’s proposal will be an abuse of discretion on a 
beneficiary who challenges it if the fiduciary’s petition 
sufficiently informs the beneficiaries of (1) the reasons 
for the proposal, (2) the facts that the fiduciary relies on, 
and (3) how the income and remainder beneficiaries will 
be affected.  

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Fiduciaries and the Power to Adjust under the CPIA 

 
Under the CPIA, a fiduciary exercising the power 

to adjust or a discretionary power must administer the 
trust or estate impartially, based on what is fair and 
reasonable to all beneficiaries.  He must favor one or 
more beneficiaries if and to the extent the trust or will 
clearly shows that he can or must do so.  The CPIA 
presumes that a determination in accordance with its 
provisions is fair and reasonable to all. 

The CPIA allows a trustee to adjust the funds he 
receives between principal and income under certain 
circumstances. He must (1) manage the trust’s assets as 
a prudent investor (investing for total return as provided 
in the Prudent Investor Act), (2) follow the trust’s terms 
and the CPIA’s allocation rules, and (3) believe he 
cannot produce a fair and reasonable result for all 

beneficiaries without making an adjustment.  Trustees 
must consider certain factors and all factors relevant to 
the trust and its beneficiaries in deciding whether and to 
what extent to adjust between principal and income.  
 
 
PA 01-69—sSB 1057 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING BENEFICIARY 
INTERESTS IN TRUST MATTERS 
 
SUMMARY:  By law, in proceedings involving trusts 
and trustees’ fiscal affairs, courts appoint a guardian ad 
litem to represent the interests of unborn, minor, or 
incompetent people and bind them to the outcome of the 
proceedings.  (A guardian ad litem is a person, often an 
attorney, the court appoints to represent someone’s 
interest during a legal proceeding.)  

This act authorizes people in the trust-related 
matters to represent the interests of and bind a minor, an 
incapacitated or unborn person, or someone whose 
identity or location is unknown and not reasonably 
ascertainable if (1) they have a substantially identical 
interest with respect to the particular question or 
dispute, (2) there is no conflict of interest between the 
representative and the person being represented, and (3) 
they are not otherwise represented. 

The act specifies circumstances under which these 
people’s interests can be represented by conservators, 
guardians, agents, trustees, executors, administrators, 
and parents. 

Notice to a person authorized by the act to represent 
someone has the same effect as notice to the person 
being represented himself.  The representative’s consent 
is binding on the represented person unless the person 
objects before the  consent would otherwise have 
become effective. 

The act allows a court to appoint a guardian ad 
litem to represent a minor, incapacitated, or unborn 
person, someone whose identity or location is unknown, 
or others authorized to be represented by the act if it 
determines that his interest is not represented or that the 
representation may be inadequate. It allows a guardian 
ad litem to (1) act on behalf of the person represented 
concerning any trust-related matter the act covers, 
whether or not a judicial proceeding is pending, and (2) 
consider general benefits accruing to the living 
members of the represented individual’s family when 
making decisions. The act continues to authorize the 
court to appoint a guardian ad litem to represent several 
people or interests. 
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The act specifies that it does not authorize someone 
who is not a licensed attorney to serve as legal counsel 
in a trust matter. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
TRUST MATTERS  

 
The act covers the following trust-related matters:  
1. any property or property interest held in trust, 
2. legal proceedings against or by a trust or the 

trustee, 
3. proceedings to interpret any document creating 

a trust or other instrument under which a 
trustee holds property, 

4. accountings of any trustee, and 
5. any matters concerning the administration of a 

trust. 
The act applies to all judicial proceedings and all 

nonjudicial settlements, agreements, or acts related to 
these trust matters. 

 
CONSERVATORS, GUARDIANS, AGENTS, 
TRUSTEES, EXECUTORS, AND PARENTS 

 
With respect to trust-related matters, the act 

authorizes: 
1. a court-appointed conservator or guardian of 

the estate to represent and bind the estate he 
controls; 

2. a court-appointed conservator or guardian of 
the person to represent and bind the ward if a 
conservator or guardian of the ward’s estate 
has not been appointed; 

3. an authorized agent to represent and bind the 
principal; 

4. a trustee to represent and bind the trust’s 
beneficiaries; 

5. an executor or administrator of a decedent’s 
estate to represent and bind people interested in 
the estate; and 

6. a parent to represent and bind his minor or 
unborn child unless a guardian has been 
appointed for the child.  

It appears that prior law already authorized these 
representations. 

The act grants this authority only to the extent there 
is no conflict of interest either between the 
representative and the person represented or among 
those represented concerning a particular question or 
dispute. 

 
 
 
 

POWER OF APPOINTMENT 
 
With respect to trust matters, the act requires the 

sole holder or all co-holders of any power of 
appointment, whether or not they can currently exercise 
the power, to represent potential appointees.  It also 
requires the sole holder or all co-holders of a power of 
revocation or a general power of appointment to 
represent those who obtain property when the holder 
does not exercise the power.  These requirements only 
apply to the extent there is no conflict of interest 
between the holder of a power of appointment and the 
people represented with respect to the particular 
question or dispute. 

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Power of Appointment 

 
A power of appointment is the authority a property 

owner (donor) gives to someone (donee) to designate or 
reappoint the person or people who are to receive the 
property upon the donor’s or donee’s death or at some 
other time. 

 
Authority to Appoint Guardian Ad Litem 

 
The law authorizes the Superior or Probate Court to 

appoint a guardian ad litem for any minor, incompetent, 
undetermined, or unborn person in any matter before it 
if it appears to the court that they have or may have an 
interest in the proceeding. The appointment is not 
mandatory but is within the court’s sound discretion. 
The law allows the court to appoint one guardian for 
two or more people. 
 
 
PA 01-71—sSB 1108 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING OFFERS OF 
JUDGMENT 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires a plaintiff or defendant 
making an offer of judgment to do so at least 30 days 
before trial.  In cases based on contract or seeking 
money damages, the plaintiff or defendant can make an 
offer of judgment, offering to settle the claim for a 
certain amount of money. 

The act also increases, from 30 to 60 days, the time 
that a defendant has after being notified to accept a 
plaintiff’s offer of judgment.  But this conflicts with a 
court rule that requires a defendant to accept within 30 
days.  As under current law and court rule, the 
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acceptance must occur before a verdict.  The act does 
not change the 10 days that a plaintiff has after notice to 
accept a defendant’s offer. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
Plaintiff’s Offer of Judgment 

 
If the defendant accepts a plaintiff’s offer of 

judgment, the court clerk enters judgment on the 
stipulation.  If he does not accept the offer and the 
plaintiff wins an equal or greater amount at trial, the 
court must add 12% annual interest to the amount.  The 
court can also award reasonable attorney’s fees up to 
$350. 

 
Defendant’s Offer of Judgment 

 
If the plaintiff accepts a defendant’s offer of 

judgment, the court clerk enters judgment against the 
defendant for the amount named in the offer and for 
costs accrued up to the time the defendant gave notice 
of the offer to the plaintiff.  If the plaintiff does not 
accept the offer and he recovers less than the amount in 
the offer, he cannot recover costs accruing after 
receiving notice of the offer and he must pay the costs 
accrued by the defendant after notice (this can include 
reasonable attorney’s fees up to $350). 
 
 
PA 01-72—sSB 1418 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT AUTHORIZING JUDGE TRIAL 
REFEREES TO ISSUE WARRANTS AND OTHER 
CRIMINAL PROCESS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act gives judge trial referees the 
same authority as a Superior Court judge to issue search 
warrants.  It also gives judge trial referees, if 
specifically designated by the chief justice for this 
purpose, the same authority as a Superior Court judge in 
criminal cases to administer justice and issue: 

1. arrest warrants (and set conditions of release), 
2. subpoenas for witnesses, 
3. a capias (order to take someone into custody) 

for a witness or defendant who does not appear 
in court, and 

4. all other criminal process. 
Judges who retire at the mandatory retirement age 

of 70 can become state referees and may be specifically 
designated as judge trial referees by the chief justice.  
They can hear criminal and civil cases and juvenile 

matters on referral from the Superior Court. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-74—sHB 5399 
Judiciary Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING RECORDING 
ASSIGNMENT OF MORTGAGE 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires that whenever a 
mortgage assignment or other transfer of an interest in a 
mortgage is recorded on the land records, the town clerk 
must enter the property owner’s name in the grantor 
index for the transaction. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
Grantor/Grantee Index 

 
Each town clerk keeps an index, in alphabetical 

order, to help people conducting a title search of a 
parcel of land.  The index has two parts.  One is the 
grantor index, which lists all transactions where 
someone (grantor) conveyed an interest in land.  The 
other is the grantee index, which lists all transactions 
where someone acquired an interest in land.   

When a landowner obtains a mortgage he is 
considered a grantor because he conveys his interest in 
his land to the lender as security for the loan, and his 
name is listed alphabetically in the grantor index.  The 
lender is considered a grantee because it receives an 
interest in the land in exchange for the money it lends 
and its name is recorded alphabetically in the grantee 
section. 
 
 
PA 01-78—sHB 6656 
Judiciary Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING CREDIT FOR 
PRESENTENCE CONFINEMENT IN A POLICE 
OR COURTHOUSE LOCKUP 
 
SUMMARY:  This act gives a person sentenced for an 
offense on or after October 1, 2001 credit toward his 
prison sentence for time spent before sentencing 
confined in a police station or courthouse lockup 
because he could not obtain or was denied bail.  The 
person must request the credit at sentencing, and the 
court, on request, must indicate on the mittimus (court 
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order to take a person into custody) the number of days 
a person spent in presentence confinement.  A person 
receives one day of credit for each day of presentence 
confinement.   

The act presumes that a person was confined in a 
police station or courthouse lockup because he could not 
obtain or was denied bail if he is confined in a 
correctional facility on October 1, 2001 for an offense 
for which he was sentenced before that date.  The act 
gives him a one-day credit toward his sentence but 
allows the court to order otherwise. 

If a person is sentenced to prison for a first 
conviction of driving under the influence of alcohol or 
drugs, the act cannot reduce his sentence below the 
mandatory minimum of 48 consecutive hours in prison. 

By law, a person already receives credit towards his 
sentence and fine for time confined prior to sentencing 
in a community correctional center or correctional 
institution under a mittimus or because he could not 
obtain or was denied bail.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-81—HB 6898 
Judiciary Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING AN AMNESTY 
PROGRAM FOR FOREIGN LIMITED 
LIABILITY COMPANIES AND FOREIGN 
CORPORATIONS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act allows out-of-state (1) limited 
liability companies (LLCs) doing business in 
Connecticut without a registration certificate to register 
without being subject to the monthly penalty for failing 
to do so and (2) corporations doing business in 
Connecticut without a certificate of authority to get a 
certificate without being subject to the monthly penalty 
for failing to do so.  The penalty is $165 for each month 
or part of a month.   

To qualify for the waiver, an LLC or corporation 
must come forward voluntarily between July 1, 2001 
and July 1, 2002.  By law, an LLC or corporation is 
exempt from the penalty if it registers with the secretary 
of the state within 90 days after it starts transacting 
business in the state. 

The amnesty program does not affect liability for 
fees, taxes, and penalties and interest on them that the 
company or corporation owes for doing business in 
Connecticut.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
 

PA 01-82—sHB 6983 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE LIABILITY OF 
LANDOWNERS WHO PERMIT THE 
HARVESTING OF FRUIT AND VEGETABLES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act gives a landowner immunity 
from civil liability for injuries sustained by people he 
invites or permits on his land, without charge, to harvest 
fruits or vegetables, when the injuries arise from their 
use of the land or harvesting. The immunity applies only 
if the people are harvesting on behalf of a nonprofit 
organization or corporation for its own use or for 
distribution to other nonprofit organizations or 
corporations. It does not apply to: 

1. injuries caused by the owner’s failure to warn 
of a dangerous hidden hazard he knows about, 

2. an owner to whom the Department of Revenue 
Services has issued a farmer sales tax 
exemption permit for public harvesting of 
agricultural products, or 

3. an owner who operates an agricultural 
operation to which the public is invited and 
charged for produce harvested and removed 
from the land. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 

BACKGROUND 
 
Under common law (judge-made law), a landowner 

owes the following duties to people who come onto his 
land for the purpose for which it is held open to the 
public: 

1. not to cause harm intentionally; 
2. to inspect the premises for dangerous 

conditions; 
3. to erect any safeguards necessary to render the 

premises reasonably safe; 
4. either to warn people entering of any known 

dangerous non-apparent conditions or activities 
or make such conditions or activities 
reasonably safe; and 

5. to watch out for people who come onto the 
land, if he is involved in a dangerous activity. 

Under common law, landowners are liable for 
injuries caused by their breach of one or more of these 
duties. 
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PA 01-83—sHB 7012 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING DISORDERLY 
CONDUCT AND BURGLARY 
 
SUMMARY: This act creates two new crimes, 
enhancing existing penalties for offenses committed 
against victims inside dwellings.   

It extends the crime of second-degree burglary to 
people who unlawfully enter dwellings intending to 
commit a crime when someone (such as a resident) who 
is not participating in the crime is present.  Prior law 
covered night-time entries only, but applied whether or 
not anyone was in the home.  All day-time entries were 
third-degree offenses. 

Second-degree burglary is a class C felony; third-
degree burglary is a class D felony (see Table on 
Penalties). 

The act also extends the crime of disorderly 
conduct to people who commit simple trespass (illegally 
come onto property, without intending to harm) and 
observe someone inside a dwelling.  Previously, this 
was an infraction.  The act gives “dwelling” the same 
meaning it has in the burglary statutes (i.e., a building 
usually occupied by a person lodging there at night).  
The observation must occur without the observed 
person’s consent or knowledge (1) while he is not in 
plain view and (2) under circumstances where he has a 
reasonable expectation of privacy.  The act exempts 
casual or cursory observations.  

Disorderly conduct is a class C misdemeanor.  The 
fine for simple trespass is $77. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-84—sHB 7028 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT MAKING TECHNICAL AND OTHER 
CHANGES TO CERTAIN JUDICIARY-RELATED 
STATUTES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act makes minor changes in the 
laws related to (1) the secretary of the state’s service of 
process fees; (2) second-degree assault against elderly, 
blind, disabled, pregnant, or mentally retarded people; 
and (3) weapons possession at schools and school-
sponsored activities.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
 
 
 

SERVICE OF PROCESS FEES  
 
The act specifies that plaintiffs must pay a $25 fee 

when they serve legal process on the secretary of the 
state as the designated agent of an out-of-state surviving 
or resulting trust or other business entity created by the 
merger or consolidation of a statutory trust.  This is the 
same amount set under other statutes authorizing service 
on the secretary as an entity’s designated agent.  Prior 
law required the fee but did not specify an amount.  
 
ASSAULT OF AN ELDERLY, BLIND, DISABLED, 
PREGNANT, OR MENTALLY RETARDED PERSON  

 
The act establishes a mandatory minimum penalty 

when a non-retarded person commits second-degree 
larceny by taking money or property away from a 
person with retardation.  Under prior law, this was a 
class C felony (see Table on Penalties).  The act instead 
makes this offense a form of second-degree assault on 
an elderly, blind, disabled, pregnant, or mentally 
retarded person—a class D felony requiring a prison 
sentence of at least two years.  However, by reducing 
the penalty from a class C to a class D felony, the act 
also reduces the maximum sentence from 10 to five 
years. 

People convicted of this crime may be disqualified 
from driving school buses and working in positions that 
involve direct contact with vulnerable populations. 

 
WEAPONS POSSESSION ON SCHOOL GROUNDS  

 
The act exempts anyone who lawfully possesses a 

firearm for use in a school-sponsored activity from the 
crime of weapons possession on school grounds.  By 
law, people commit this crime when they possess 
firearms or dangerous weapons on school property or at 
school-sponsored activities (those a board of education 
sponsors or authorizes, held on school property or 
elsewhere) knowing that they are not licensed or 
privileged to do so.  But people who lawfully have guns 
on school property for use in a school-sponsored 
activity (such as a school’s rifle club) are exempt.  It 
was unclear under prior law whether such people were 
exempt when the activity was held off campus. 
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PA 01-91—sSB 1047 
Judiciary Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Human Services Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING CHILD SUPPORT 
ENFORCEMENT 
 
SUMMARY:  This act increases the powers of child 
support enforcement officers by allowing them to: 

1. order people to attend the Superior Court’s 
Family Support Magistrate Division (FSMD) 
child support modification hearings; 

2. hold and distribute performance bonds (money 
a judge or family support magistrate orders 
people at risk of not complying with child 
support orders to pay into an escrow account) 
to a child’s custodian when a liable person fails 
to pay child support; and 

3. serve income-withholding orders upon 
employers by first-class mail, rather than by 
personal service or certified mail only. 

Finally, the act changes the name of the Judicial 
Department’s “Support Enforcement Division” to 
“Support Enforcement Services” and makes conforming 
changes to the child support statutes.  This unit provides 
clerical, administrative, and other nonjudicial support to 
the FSMD. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
EXPANDED POWERS OF SUPPORT 
ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS 

 
Support enforcement officers are authorized by law 

to supervise the payment of family support magistrate 
child or spousal support orders.  They can initiate child 
support modification hearings if, after reviewing a case, 
they find that a support order substantially deviates from 
the state’s child support guidelines.  The act allows 
them to review a non-welfare case when a child’s 
custodian, not just the parents, makes a request.  It also 
permits support officers to sign the order (called a 
summons) directing people to attend these hearings.  
Previously, they had to get an assistant court clerk’s 
signature. 

Finally, the act authorizes Support Enforcement 
Services to hold and distribute performance bonds.  The 
Department of Social Services’ Bureau of Child Support 
Enforcement (BCSE) was the only entity that could do 
this under prior law.   

 
 
 
 

BACKGROUND 
 

Family Support Magistrate Division 
 
By law, the Superior Court’s FSMD has 

jurisdiction over child support cases in which (1) the 
child is receiving, or has received, cash or foster care 
assistance or (2) where a child’s parent or guardian has 
paid a fee and asked BCSE for help collecting support.  
It is also the tribunal designated by state law to handle 
interstate family support cases. 
 
 
PA 01-95—sHB 6583 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING RECONSIDERATION 
REQUESTS AND THE REOPENING OF 
MATTERS BY THE COMMISSION ON HUMAN 
RIGHTS AND OPPORTUNITIES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act authorizes the executive director 
of the Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities 
(CHRO) to permit people whose discrimination 
complaints have been dismissed without a full 
investigation, and who ask permission, to go directly to 
court, even if their request to CHRO to reconsider the 
dismissal has been granted or denied or is pending.   

If CHRO grants or denies the reconsideration 
request, the act requires that the complainant ask for 
permission to go to court within 15 days after he 
receives the notice about his reconsideration request.  
The act requires that the complainant file the lawsuit 
within 90 days after he receives CHRO’s permission to 
do so.  Under prior law, CHRO could allow such people 
to go directly to court only if they had not asked for 
reconsideration of the dismissal.  CHRO relinquishes its 
jurisdiction to do investigations once it gives the 
complainant permission to go to court.  

The act also establishes standards for reopening a 
closed CHRO matter.  These include: (1) discovery of a 
material mistake of fact or law; (2) the finding is 
arbitrary or capricious; (3) the finding is clearly 
erroneous in view of reliable, probative, and substantial 
evidence on the whole record; and (4) discovery of new 
evidence that materially affects the merits of the case 
and which, for good reasons, was not presented during 
the investigation. 

The act requires that requests to CHRO to reopen a 
case be in writing.  By law, CHRO may reopen a case 
when asked to do so by a complainant or respondent for 
good cause shown, in the interest of justice. CHRO may 
also reopen a case on its own initiative, whenever 
justice requires it.  
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EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 

BACKGROUND 
 

Dismissal Without Full Investigation 
 
By law, CHRO may dismiss a complaint without a 

full investigation if (1) the executive director or her 
designee determines the accused person is exempt from 
the anti-discrimination laws or (2) the case does not 
state a claim for relief, is frivolous on its face, or has no 
reasonable possibility that an investigation will result in 
a reasonable cause finding. 
 
Reconsideration of Dismissals 

 
A request for reconsideration must be made within 

15 days from the date CHRO dismissed it. CHRO’s 
executive director must reconsider or reject the request 
within 90 days from the date CHRO dismissed the 
complaint. 
 
 
PA 01-99—sSB 1160 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING MANDATORY 
MINIMUM SENTENCES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act allows judges to impose less 
than the law’s mandatory minimum sentence on some 
drug felons.  They can do so when no one was hurt 
during the crime and the defendant (1) did not use or 
attempt or threaten to use physical force;  (2) was 
unarmed; and (3) did not use, threaten to use, or suggest 
that he had a deadly weapon (such as a gun or knife) or 
other instrument that could cause death or serious 
injury. 

Defendants must show good cause and can invoke 
the act’s provisions only once. Judges must state at 
sentencing hearings their reasons for (1) imposing the 
sentence and (2) departing from the mandatory 
minimum. 

The act covers:   
1. manufacture or sale of drugs and related crimes 

by a person who is not drug-dependent; 
2. manufacture or sale of drugs within 1,500 feet 

of elementary or high schools, public housing, 
or day care centers; 

3. use, possession, or delivery of drug 
paraphernalia within 1,500 feet of a school by a 
non-student; and  

4. drug possession within 1,500 feet of a school. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 

PA 01-114—sSB 419 
Judiciary Committee 
Banks Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE REMOVAL OF A 
FIDUCIARY 
 
SUMMARY:  This act allows the probate court to 
remove a fiduciary if: 

1. lack of cooperation among cofiduciaries 
substantially impairs the administration of the 
estate; 

2. the court determines that removal best serves 
the beneficiaries’ interests because of the 
unfitness, unwillingness, or persistent failure of 
the fiduciary to administer the estate 
effectively;  

3. there has been a substantial change of 
circumstances; or 

4. all beneficiaries request removal and the court 
finds that (a) removal best serves the interests 
and is consistent with the material purposes of 
their governing instrument and (b) a suitable 
cofiduciary or successor fiduciary is available. 

A probate court may already remove a fiduciary 
who becomes incapable of executing his trust, neglects 
to perform his duties, wastes the estate, or does not 
furnish any additional or substitute probate bond the 
court orders. 

The act prohibits a probate court from removing (1) 
a successor corporate fiduciary in a way that 
discriminates against state banks or national banks or 
(2) a consolidated state bank, “national banking 
association,” or any “receiving state bank or national 
banking association” solely because it is a successor 
fiduciary. (Apparently the term “national banking 
association” means a national bank regulated by the 
federal Office of the Comptroller of the Currency.) A 
“successor fiduciary” is a corporate fiduciary (often a 
bank) that is substituted for another corporate fiduciary 
because of the (1) merger or consolidation of corporate 
fiduciaries, (2) acquisition of the stock or assets of a 
corporate fiduciary, or (3) a corporate fiduciary’s 
transfer of all or a part of its trust and fiduciary business 
to another corporate fiduciary. (The act does not define 
a “receiving state bank or national banking association,” 
but apparently this is a bank that receives trust or 
fiduciary business from another corporate fiduciary.) 

As under prior law, the act allows the court, after 
notice and a hearing, to remove a fiduciary on its own 
motion or on the application and complaint of either the 
surety on the fiduciary’s probate bond or anyone 
interested in the estate. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
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PA 01-121—sHB 7013 
Judiciary Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
Legislative Management Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING CRIME PREVENTION 
AND A STATE PREVENTION COUNCIL 
 
SUMMARY: This act creates a State Prevention 
Council to (1) create a prevention framework for the 
state, (2) recommend a comprehensive statewide 
prevention plan, (3) better coordinate existing and future 
state agency prevention expenditures, and (4) increase 
fiscal accountability.  The council consists of eight 
agency heads or their designees and other agency 
representatives that the council decides to include. 

The act defines “prevention” as policies and 
programs that (1) promote healthy, safe, and productive 
lives and (2) reduce the likelihood of crime, violence, 
substance abuse, illness, academic failure, and other 
socially destructive behaviors. 

The act requires the council to: 
1. submit a report to the Office of Policy and 

Management (OPM) secretary and the 
Appropriations Committee by July 1, 2002, 
identifying appropriations for prevention 
services in each involved agency’s budget for 
the previous fiscal year; 

2. recommend a comprehensive statewide 
prevention plan to the OPM secretary and the 
General Assembly by December 1, 2002; and 

3. submit its recommendations on expanding the 
council (including the use of potential 
benchmarks) or terminating it to the OPM 
secretary and Appropriations Committee by 
July 1, 2004. 

It also requires the governor to include a prevention 
report in his budget document for the biennial budget 
covering July 1, 2003 to June 30, 2005. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 

 
STATE PREVENTION COUNCIL 

 
Members 

 
The act makes the following people, or their 

designees, members of the council: 
1. the OPM secretary (he or his designee serves 

as chairman); 
2. the social services, children and families, 

public health, mental health and addiction 
services, education, and mental retardation 
commissioners; and 

3. the chief court administrator. 
The council can include other agency 

representatives that it deems appropriate. 
 

Statewide Prevention Plan 
 
The council must recommend a comprehensive 

statewide prevention plan to the OPM secretary and the 
General Assembly by December 1, 2002.  The plan can 
include: 

1. recommendations to develop and coordinate 
prevention services and training among 
agencies,  

2. identification of the plan’s prevention services 
that are research-based programs (programs 
rigorously evaluated that are effective or 
represent best practices), and 

3. any findings on the effectiveness of prevention 
programs using outcome measures identified 
by the council. 

 
GOVERNOR’S BUDGET 

 
The act requires the governor to include a 

prevention report in his budget document for the FY 
2003-05 biennial budget.  The report must detail his 
recommendation for prevention services appropriations 
for each council agency for each fiscal year of the 
biennium.  It must show for each agency or its 
subdivisions: 

1. a list of programs providing prevention 
services, 

2. actual prevention services expenditures by 
program for FY 2002-03, 

3. estimated prevention services expenditures for 
FY 2003-04, and 

4. identified research-based prevention services 
programs. 

The governor’s budget must also include a 
summary of prevention services by agency identifying 
the total expenditure for prevention services in the 
budget. 
 
 
PA 01-127—sSB 1055 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE PROBATE 
STATUTES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act makes a number of unrelated 
changes in the probate statutes.  Specifically, it: 

1. eliminates the requirement that an executor or 
administrator file a “return of sale” with the 
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probate court after selling a decedent’s 
property (a “return of sale” is a document 
showing that property was sold or mortgaged 
and the sales price or mortgage amount); 

2. permits probate court to notify the Veterans 
Affairs’ Department or the Veterans’ Home 
and Hospital of conservator application 
hearings by regular, rather than certified, mail; 

3. permits probate judges to waive bond 
requirements for fiduciaries handling small 
estates; and 

4. changes the probate judge compensation 
formula, potentially increasing some judges’ 
salaries. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 

WAIVER OF BOARD REQUIREMENTS  
 
The act allows a probate court judge to waive the 

requirement that a fiduciary obtain a bond to secure the 
faithful performance of his duties if the estate assets are 
less than $20,000 or the value of the estate that the 
fiduciary has access to and authority over is less than 
$10,000. (Under existing probate court rules, in 
appropriate circumstances, the court can limit the 
fiduciary’s access or authority over certain estate assets 
as an alternative to a bond.)  

 
PROBATE JUDGES’ COMPENSATION 

 
Under prior law, a probate judge’s annual salary 

could not exceed his average annual salary for the prior 
three years. The act allows the judge’s salary to be 
higher by placing the limit at the greater of (1) the three-
year average figure or (2) the amount that results from 
multiplying the court’s annual weighted workload by 
$15.  By law, a probate court judge’s salary may not 
exceed 75% of the annual salary of a Superior Court 
judge.  (A Superior Court judge currently earns 
$116,000.) 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
Executor and Administrator 

 
An executor is the person designated in a will to 

administer the deceased person’s estate in accordance 
with the will.  An administrator is the person the probate 
court appoints to administer a decedent’s estate when 
there is no will or the named executor is unwilling or 
unable to serve. 

 
 
 

Annual Weighted Workload 
 
The law requires the probate court administrator, by 

regulation, to assess a weight, from one to five, for each 
type of case the probate court handles, based on 
complexity. For example, under current regulations, a 
name change has a weight of one, and civil commitment 
of someone with mental illness or termination of 
parental rights each has a weight of five. A probate 
court’s annual weighted workload is calculated by 
multiplying the number of cases a court handles in each 
category during a calendar year by their assessed 
weights.   
 
 
PA 01-129—sSB 1048 
Judiciary Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING COSTS OF 
INCARCERATION 
 
SUMMARY:  This act allows the state to collect money 
inmates owe for the cost of their incarceration from 
their estates after their deaths or from money or 
property they obtain through lawsuits or inheritance.  
The act makes the state's claim a lien against lawsuit or 
inheritance proceeds and allows the state to collect up to 
the total cost of the incarceration or 50% of the property 
or money obtained, whichever is less.  It gives the lien 
against lawsuit proceeds and the state's claim against a 
deceased person's estate priority over other claims with 
certain exceptions. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

 
LAWSUIT PROCEEDS 

 
Under the act, whenever a person who owes the 

state money for the cost of his incarceration wins a 
lawsuit judgment, the state's claim is a lien against the 
proceeds.  The maximum amount of the claim is the full 
cost of the inmate's incarceration or 50% of the 
proceeds, minus certain expenses, whichever is less.   

The incarceration lien has priority over all other 
claims, including any state lien for repayment of public 
assistance, except:  

1. child support obligations the state can collect in 
public assistance repayments from a person’s 
lawsuit proceeds (by law these funds must first 
reimburse Medicaid for coverage related to 
injuries that were the basis of the lawsuit); 

2. expenses of the lawsuit, including attorney's 
fees;  
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3. hospitalization costs connected with the lawsuit 
not paid by insurance or other benefits; 

4. physicians' fees associated with the 
hospitalization that the state has not paid for 
and that insurance or other benefits do not 
cover; 

5. court-ordered restitution or compensation to a 
crime victim; and 

6. payment of a civil judgment to a crime victim.   
The act makes the proceeds assignable to the state.  

The lien requires the inmate's attorney to pay the 
Department of Correction (DOC) commissioner or his 
designee from the proceeds.  But, if the attorney gives 
the commissioner or his designee written notice of a 
settlement or judgment that requests the lien amount and 
the commissioner or his designee does not provide it 
within 45 days, the attorney can distribute the proceeds 
to the inmate and is not liable to the state. 

 
INHERITANCE 

 
When a person who owes the state money for the 

cost of his incarceration inherits property or money, the 
state’s claim is a lien against the inheritance for the total 
cost of his incarceration or 50% of the inheritance, 
whichever is less.  There is no reduction in this amount.  
The act directs the probate court to accept any lien 
notice that the DOC commissioner or his designee files 
and, to the extent the estate has not already been paid 
out, order the estate distributed accordingly. 

 
DEATH OF PERSON OWING COSTS OF 
INCARCERATION 

 
Under the act, when someone who owes the state 

money for the cost of his incarceration dies, the state 
has a lien against his estate up to the total cost of his 
incarceration to the extent the estate is not needed to 
support his surviving spouse, parent, or dependent 
children.  The act gives the lien priority over all other 
unsecured claims, including public assistance liens, 
except for (1) child support obligations the state can 
collect in public assistance repayments; (2) up to $375 
for the expenses of his last sickness; (3) state payments 
of up to $1,200 for funeral and burial expenses to a 
person who received state supplement or temporary 
family assistance; (4) court-ordered restitution or 
compensation to a crime victim;  (5) payment of a civil 
judgment to a crime victim; and (6) administrative 
expenses, including probate taxes and fees and fiduciary 
fees up to certain limits.  If the estate has paid any 
amount exceeding these limits, the act requires the 
person who received it to repay the estate and allows the 
state to recover the amount, with interest at the legal 

rate (8%), by civil suit.  If the deceased inmate has a 
prepaid funeral arrangement, the funeral and burial 
exception amount must be reduced by the amount of the 
arrangement.  

The act allows priority for fiduciary fees, based on 
the value of the estate, only up to certain limits.  It 
allows 5% for the first $2,000; 4% for the next $8,000; 
and 3% for the remainder.  The act authorizes the 
probate court, after a hearing with a 10-day notice to the 
DOC commissioner, to authorize payment above these 
levels for extraordinary services.  

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Inmate Liability for Costs of Incarceration 

 
By law, the DOC commissioner must adopt 

regulations to assess inmates for the costs of their 
incarceration.  The regulations require the 
commissioner, as of October 1, 1997, to charge inmates 
for the costs of their use of various services and 
programs.  An inmate is a person confined or formerly 
confined in a correctional facility under a sentence 
imposed by a Connecticut state court.  The regulations 
define the per-inmate, per-day cost of incarceration at 
DOC facilities as the amount computed using the same 
accounting procedures the comptroller uses to calculate 
such costs for state humane institutions.  The 
regulations also make inmates responsible for the costs 
of certain services and programs such as sick calls; 
dental procedures; eyeglasses; elective and vocational 
educational programs; extended family visits; and lab 
tests to detect illegal drugs, if the results are positive. 
 
 
PA 01-131—sSB 1420 
Judiciary Committee 
Public Health Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING DISPOSITION OF 
REMAINS OF DECEASED PERSONS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act creates a procedure for adults to 
authorize cremation of their remains.  The Public Health 
Department must authorize a form for this purpose, and 
funeral directors and others can reasonably rely on 
authorizations after making good faith efforts to notify 
interested parties.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
REQUIRED INFORMATION 

 
The person authorizing cremation (the maker) must 

sign and date the form, and two witnesses must attest in 
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writing that he was of sound mind when he signed it.  
The maker must also include the name, home address, 
and phone number of his spouse, or if there is none, his 
next of kin or other person he has designated to take 
custody of his remains.  This person's status must be 
acknowledged in writing. 

 
PROCEDURE AFTER DEATH 

 
After the maker’s death, the person he designated 

on the form must be notified, presumably by the funeral 
director, of the planned cremation during the legally 
required 48-hour waiting period.  If this person is 
unavailable, the director must ask a probate court judge 
to give custody and control of the remains to some 
suitable person. 

Under the act, a funeral director may obtain a 
cremation certificate and permit and cremate the body in 
good faith reliance on a cremation authorization if (1) a 
good faith effort has been made to notify the spouse, 
next of kin, or designated custodian or (2) a probate 
court has issued an order.  His reasonable decisions and 
actions that are warranted under the circumstances 
cannot be challenged. 
 
EXCLUDED INDIVIDUALS 

 
The act excludes disposing of the bodies of 

executed criminals or people whose relatives or 
representatives do not claim them.  And it specifies that 
it does not affect the powers and duties of the chief 
medical examiner to conduct autopsies, investigate and 
report the causes of death, and dispose of remains after 
his work is done. 

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Legal Custody Of Remains 

 
By law, a dead person’s body belongs to his 

surviving spouse or, if there is none, to his next of kin or 
some other custodian he has designated in writing. 
These people are not bound by instructions he may have 
left about how to dispose of his body. When a 
disagreement arises, relatives or designated custodians 
can ask probate court judges to decide who is best fit to 
make the decision.  
 
 
PA 01-132—sSB 1226 
Judiciary Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
 

AN ACT ADOPTING REVISED ARTICLE 9 OF 
THE UNIFORM COMMERCIAL CODE 
CONCERNING SECURED TRANSACTIONS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act deals with security interests 
created by contracts in personal property or fixtures that 
secure payment or other performance that the debtor is 
obligated to make.  Property subject to the security 
interest is collateral.  An example is when someone 
buys furniture and the seller keeps an interest in the 
furniture as collateral until the buyer pays the entire 
purchase price. 

The act retains the basic structure of prior law but 
expands its scope, adds certain types of personal 
property collateral, modifies some definitions, and adds 
new definitions. 

As under prior law, the act sets out the 
requirements for a security interest to attach to the 
collateral (the moment when the security interest 
becomes enforceable).  It also sets out the requirements 
for perfecting a security interest and priority among 
security interests when more than one party has an 
interest in a piece of collateral.  Perfecting a security 
interest allows the secured party’s interest to prevail 
over a creditor who gets a lien from a court.  It also 
gives a secured party priority over another person who 
later takes a security interest in the collateral.  
Depending on the circumstances and the specific 
collateral, perfection occurs by possessing or controlling 
the collateral or filing a financing statement.   

The act alters the location for filing some financing 
statements to perfect a security interest, adds other 
methods of perfection for certain types of collateral, and 
adds rules on priorities and enforcing security interests.  
It also includes transition rules that allow security 
interests to remain enforceable for one year after the act 
becomes effective (longer in certain circumstances) if 
they do not meet the act’s requirements.  Secured parties 
can act to continue the enforceability of these security 
interests. 

The act also alters the definition of buyer in the 
ordinary course that applies generally throughout the 
commercial code unless another specific definition 
applies. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
PARTIES 

 
The act alters the definition of debtor.  Under prior 

law, a debtor either owed payment or performance of 
the obligation secured by the collateral or he owned the 
collateral.  Under the act, a debtor is a person with a 
property interest (but not a security interest or lien) in 
the collateral.  As under prior law, the definition 
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includes a seller of accounts or chattel paper; and the act 
adds a seller of payment intangibles and promissory 
notes, a person with a property interest in collateral 
subject to an agricultural lien, and a consignee. 

The act defines an “obligor” as the person who 
owes the secured obligation. 

As under prior law, a secured party is a person in 
whose favor a security interest is granted.  This includes 
a buyer of accounts or chattel paper; and the act adds a 
buyer of payment intangibles and promissory notes, a 
person holding an agricultural lien, and a consignor.  
The act specifies that when a secured party acts as a 
representative for holders of secured obligations, the 
representative may include any trustee, agent, or 
collateral agent rather than just trustees or others as 
under prior law. 

 
TRANSACTIONS 

 
As under prior law, the act applies to transactions 

creating security interests regardless of the form of the 
transaction.  The act adds consignments to the list of 
transactions subject to the law, but not small or 
consumer consignments.  The act expands the scope of 
prior law by adding the following types of personal 
property collateral: 

1. agricultural liens (nonconsensual liens on farm 
products), 

2. security interests granted by another state or 
foreign government if no state or foreign 
statute governs them, 

3. sales of payment intangibles and promissory 
notes, 

4. commercial tort claims (but the act retains the 
exclusion of noncommercial tort claims such as 
personal injury claims), and 

5. assignments of rights under written and 
electronic letters of credit. 

The act modifies the definition of certain types of 
personal property collateral.  It generally excludes 
assignments of insurance claims as under prior law but 
includes assignments of insurance claims (as original 
collateral) related to health care goods and services 
provision.  It retains the exclusion of assignments of 
deposit accounts in consumer transactions but includes 
assignments of commercial deposit accounts.  It 
excludes from its coverage security interests in deposit 
accounts titled or clearly identified as payroll or trust 
accounts. 

As under prior law, other federal, state, or common 
law can give a secured party a security interest in types 
of property excluded from the act’s coverage. 

 
 

TYPES OF COLLATERAL 
 
The act generally retains the collateral 

classifications of prior law, but it modifies some and 
adds others. 

 
Goods 

 
As under prior law, goods are things that are 

movable, including fixtures (goods so related to real 
estate that an interest in them arises under real estate 
law) but not including money, documents, instruments, 
investment property, accounts, chattel paper and general 
intangibles, and minerals before extraction.  The act also 
excludes deposit accounts and letter of credit rights.  It 
includes software embedded in goods. 

As under prior law, there are four subcategories of 
goods:  consumer goods, inventory, farm products, and 
equipment.  The act alters the definition of farm 
products by eliminating the requirement that the debtor 
be a farmer and possess the goods and instead requiring 
only that the products be farm products and the debtor 
engage in farming with respect to the goods.  It also 
includes aquatic farming operations and aquatic goods 
within the definition.  As under prior law, equipment is 
defined as goods that do not fit the other categories. 

 
Other Semi-Intangibles 

 
Semi-intangibles include instruments, documents 

like warehouse receipts, and investment property.  An 
instrument is a negotiable instrument or a writing 
showing a right to payment of money that is transferred 
by delivery with necessary endorsements or assignments 
in the ordinary course of business (not including leases 
or investment property).  The act specifies that this 
definition does not include a credit card slip.  Under the 
act, a promissory note is an instrument defined as a 
promise to pay (but not instruments with an order to pay 
or acknowledgement of receipt of funds by a bank).   

Chattel paper is a writing with a monetary 
obligation and security interest in specific goods or a 
lease of them (such as when a customer buys goods and 
signs a note that gives the dealer an interest in the goods 
securing payment of the purchase price).  The act allows 
use of electronic records and divides the category of 
chattel paper into electronic chattel paper and tangible 
chattel paper.   

The act removes the requirement that a letter of 
credit be written, thereby allowing electronic letters of 
credit. 
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Other Intangibles 
 
Prior law provided that intangibles that are not 

investment property are categorized as accounts or 
general intangibles.  The act adds categories for deposit 
accounts and commercial tort claims.   

Accounts.  The act broadens the definition of 
accounts to include certain rights to payment that prior 
law categorized as general intangibles.  Under prior law, 
an account was any right to payment for goods sold or 
leased or services rendered that was not evidenced by an 
instrument or chattel paper (regardless of whether it was 
earned by performance).  The act expands the definition 
to include a right to payment for real property sold, 
intellectual property licensed, a suretyship obligation, an 
insurance policy, and use of a credit card.  It also adds 
health-care insurance receivables (an interest in or claim 
under an insurance policy that is a right to payment for 
health care goods or services provided). 

Deposit Account.  Under the act, a deposit account 
is a demand, time, savings, passbook, or similar bank 
account.  It does not include investment property or an 
account evidenced by an instrument.   

Commercial Tort Claim.  The act adds commercial 
tort claims, defined as an organization’s tort claim or an 
individual’s tort claim arising from his business if it 
does not include damages for death or personal injury.     

General Intangibles.  As under prior law, general 
intangibles are any types of property not defined.  
Because the act adds new definitions of property, it 
limits the scope of this category.  Under the act, it 
includes two subcategories. 

1. A payment intangible is a general intangible 
where the obligor’s principal obligation is to 
pay money. 

2. Software is a computer program and related 
supporting information, but not software 
embedded in goods. 

 
ATTACHMENT 

 
A security interest becomes enforceable against the 

debtor when it attaches.  A security interest attaches if 
(1) the secured party gives value; (2) the debtor has 
rights in the collateral; and (3) the secured party 
possesses the collateral, controls the collateral if it is 
investment property, or the debtor signs a security 
agreement with a description of the collateral.  A debtor 
can only grant a security interest in collateral to the 
extent he has rights in it and a secured party cannot 
enjoy rights in collateral greater than those the debtor 
holds.  The act adds that the power of the debtor to 
transfer the collateral is sufficient to satisfy this 
requirement. 

The act modifies the requirements on possession 
and control of collateral and security agreements.   

 
Possession 

 
The act allows possession through a third party who 

possesses the collateral if the third party possesses it by 
agreement of the debtor and the third party 
acknowledges in a signed or authenticated writing or 
other record that he holds it for the secured party.  But a 
certificated security (e.g., a stock certificate) in 
registered form must be delivered to the secured party. 

 
Control 

 
As under prior law, a secured party can perfect its 

security interest in investment property by control.  The 
act expands use of this method to deposit accounts, 
electronic chattel paper, and letter of credit rights. 

 
Security Agreement 

 
A security agreement is an agreement granting a 

security interest.  Under the act, the debtor must 
authenticate it.  Authentication is signing, using a 
symbol, or using encryption or a similar process on a 
record when a person has the intent to identify himself 
and adopt or accept a record.  As under prior law, the 
security agreement must reasonably identify the 
collateral.  The act specifies that the agreement can 
identify collateral by specific listing, category, type, 
quantity, or formula.  But stating “all the debtor’s 
assets” is insufficient in a security agreement (although 
it is sufficient in a financing statement).  A description 
by type alone is insufficient for commercial tort claims, 
security entitlements, securities accounts, commodity 
accounts, or consumer transactions.  As under prior law, 
an agreement must include a description of the land if 
the collateral is timber to be cut. 

A security agreement can contain a clause that it 
applies to property acquired after the agreement is 
effective.  Under the act, a security interest in a 
commercial tort claim attaches only to a tort claim 
existing at the time the security agreement is signed or 
authenticated.  The security interest will not attach to an 
after-acquired commercial tort claim. 
 
PERFECTION 

 
A perfected security interest is an attached security 

interest that will generally prevail over a creditor who is 
using the courts to obtain a lien on the collateral.  
Depending on the type of collateral, a security interest is 
perfected (1) when a secured party files a financing 
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statement in the appropriate office, (2) when a secured 
party takes possession or control of the collateral, or (3) 
automatically on attachment.   

 
Perfection by Filing 

 
The act allows a secured party to perfect its security 

interest in instruments by filing in addition to 
possession.  It also requires filing rather than automatic 
perfection for a beneficiary’s interest in a common law 
trust and it requires filing for investment property.   

The act allows the filing of an initial financing 
statement or an amendment adding collateral or a debtor 
if the debtor authorizes it in an authenticated record.  A 
security agreement provides authorization for filing an 
initial financing statement for the collateral it covers and 
proceeds from it.  A person can also file a financing 
statement if he has an effective agricultural lien 
covering the collateral. 

Under the act, to be effective, a financing statement 
must include the debtor’s name, name of the secured 
party or its representative, and the collateral covered by 
the statement.  The act eliminates the requirement that 
the debtor’s address and the secured party’s address be 
included.  It also eliminates the ability of a security 
agreement copy to be a financing statement when it 
meets the other requirements.  The act adds that, unlike 
in a security agreement, an “all assets” description of 
the collateral is sufficient in a financing statement.  As 
under prior law, the act requires additional information, 
such as a description of the real estate involved, in the 
financing statement when the collateral is timber to be 
cut, as-extracted collateral, or fixtures.  It no longer 
requires a description of the real estate for financing 
statements covering crops.   

As under prior law, the statement can be effective if 
it contains minor errors, as long as they are not seriously 
misleading.  The act provides that the debtor’s name is 
essential but it is sufficient if the name would locate the 
financing statements using the filing offices’ standard 
search. 

As under prior law, the act requires filing in the 
secretary of the state’s office.  Filing in the local real 
estate recording office is also required for as-extracted 
collateral, timber to be cut, and fixtures. 

The act allows filing by any means prescribed by 
regulation.  Under the act, the office can refuse to accept 
a filing if (1) the means of communicating it are not 
authorized; (2) it does not include the entire filing fee; 
(3) it fails to include the debtor’s address, whether the 
debtor is a person or an organization, or a debtor 
organization’s type and jurisdiction; (4) the office is 
unable to index it for certain reasons; (5) there is no 
name or address when adding a secured party of record; 

(6) there is no name or address of an assignee when 
indicating an assignment; or (7) it is not filed in the 
appropriate time frame (for a continuation statement).  
If the office accepts the filing anyway, the statement is 
valid as long as it meets the minimum filing 
requirements.  If the office rejects the filing, it must, as 
provided by regulation, tell the person the reason for it 
and the time it would have been filed.  The secretary’s 
office must notify him within five days.  If the office 
rejects the filing for a reason other than the specified 
ones, the filing is effective except against someone who 
buys the collateral for value reasonably relying on the 
absence of a record in the files. 

The act requires the office to place amendments, 
assignments, and continuation statements relating to an 
initial filing on the records in a way that links them to 
the initial filing.  Misfiling a record does not alter its 
effectiveness. 

Under the act, a debtor who believes a filing record 
concerning him is inaccurate or wrongfully filed can file 
a correction statement describing the disputed 
information.  The statement must state the reasonable 
basis for his belief that the record is inaccurate or 
wrongfully filed and how to cure any inaccuracy.  This 
statement becomes part of the filing record but not does 
impair the effectiveness of the initial financing 
statement or other filed record.  The act allows other 
civil and criminal laws to address claims of misuse. 

The act provides rules for filing and retrieving 
records at the secretary’s office. 

Expiration of Financing Statements.  As under prior 
law, the validity of a filing generally ends after five 
years.  The act gives an initial financing statement 
connected with a manufactured home transaction a 30-
year duration.  A secured party must file a continuation 
statement within six months prior to a statement 
expiring.  As under prior law, a security interest 
becomes unperfected when a statement lapses and is 
deemed to have never been perfected against a 
purchaser or lien creditor before the lapse.  Under the 
act, it is deemed to have never been perfected against a 
purchaser for value and the act eliminates the provision 
for lien creditors.   

The act also prohibits the filing office from deleting 
its records on a filing statement until at least one year 
after the statement lapses. 

 
Perfection by Possession 

 
As under prior law, a secured party must perfect a 

security interest in money by possession.  The act 
allows perfection of instruments by filing as well as 
possession.   
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Prior law required a secured party to perfect a 
security interest in rights to proceeds of a written letter 
of credit by possession of the letter of credit.  Under the 
act, possession is no longer effective.  A security 
interest in a letter of credit right that is a supporting 
obligation is automatically perfected if the security 
interest in the related collateral is perfected.  Otherwise, 
the security interest must be perfected by control.  A 
secured party has control by receiving an assignment if 
it has the issuer’s or nominated person’s consent. 

As under prior law, a security interest in chattel 
paper can be perfected by filing or possession but the 
act limits the option of perfection by possession to 
tangible chattel paper.  The act defines “electronic 
chattel paper” as chattel paper evidenced by a record of 
information stored in an electronic medium, and it 
allows perfection of a security interest in it by control as 
well as filing. 

A secured party can perfect a security interest in 
collateral that is in the possession of a third party 
“bailee” by notice to the third party.  The act requires a 
third party possessing collateral (other than goods 
covered by a document of title) to authenticate a record 
acknowledging that he holds the collateral for the 
secured party. 

 
Perfection by Control 

 
As under prior law, a secured party can perfect a 

security interest in investment property by control.  The 
act also allows a secured party to perfect by control a 
security interest in deposit accounts, electronic chattel 
paper, and letter of credit rights. 

Deposit Accounts.  The act allows perfection of a 
security interest in deposit accounts only by control.  A 
secured party has control if it is the depository bank, the 
deposit account is in its name, or the depository bank 
enters an agreement with the secured party to comply 
with the secured party’s instructions about funds 
without further consent from the debtor.  The depository 
bank is automatically in control of deposit accounts in 
the bank. 

Electronic Chattel Paper.  The act allows 
perfection of a security interest in electronic chattel 
paper by control or filing.  A secured party has control if 
there is only one authoritative or identifiable copy of the 
electronic record of the chattel paper, the copy identifies 
the secured party and its interest, the copy is 
communicated to and maintained by the secured party 
or its custodian, the copy is readily identifiable as the 
authoritative copy, and there are controls in place for 
revising the copy. 

Letter of Credit Rights.  Under the act, a secured 
party must perfect a security interest in a letter of credit 

by control when the right is not a supporting obligation 
for other collateral in which the secured party has a 
perfected security interest.  A secured party has control 
if the issuer or nominated person consents to assignment 
of proceeds of the letter of credit. 

 
Automatic Perfection 

 
For certain types of personal property, perfection 

occurs automatically when attachment occurs.  As under 
prior law, automatic perfection occurs wi th: 

1. purchase money security interests (PMSI) (see 
below) in consumer goods, 

2. assignment of accounts that do not alone or in 
conjunction with other assignments to the same 
person transfer a significant part of the 
assignor’s outstanding accounts, 

3. certain security interests of collecting banks 
and certain security interests under the law on 
the sale of goods, 

4. security interests in investment property 
created by a securities intermediary or 
commodity intermediary, 

5. security interests in instruments, 
6. certificated securities and negotiable 

documents (temporarily perfected), and 
7. security interests in proceeds (temporarily 

perfected). 
The act adds several other forms of property: 
1. sales of payment intangibles and promissory 

notes, 
2. a security assignment of payment intangibles 

that do not alone or in conjunction with other 
assignments to the same person transfer a 
significant portion of accounts or payment 
intangibles to the assignor, 

3. assignment of health care insurance receivables 
to the health care provider, and  

4. a security interest in documents presented 
under a letter of credit. 

Temporary Automatic Perfection.  Security 
interests in certificated securities, negotiable 
instruments, and proceeds enjoy automatic perfection 
only temporarily.  The act reduces the temporary 
automatic perfection period for certificated securities 
and negotiable documents from 21 to 20 days and 
expands the period from 10 to 20 days for proceeds (if 
the security interest in the original collateral was 
perfected). 

Supporting Obligations.  A supporting obligation is 
a letter of credit right or secondary obligation (such as a 
guaranty) that supports the payment or performance of 
an account, chattel paper, document, general intangible, 
instrument, or investment property.  The act allows 
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automatic attachment and perfection of a security 
interest in the supporting obligation when the security 
interest in the related collateral is perfected. 

 
Other Means of Perfection 

 
As under prior law, the act provides that other 

statutes, regulations, or treaties that provide means of 
perfection and compliance are the equivalent of 
perfection. 

 
PRIORITY 

 
Priority rules rank the interests of secured parties 

and other claimants in a particular piece of collateral.  A 
lien creditor is a creditor with a lien on the debtor’s 
property obtained by judicial process (including a 
bankruptcy trustee).  A perfected secured party prevails 
over a lien creditor if the security interest was perfected 
at or before the time the lien arises.  The act adds the 
requirement that the lien must arise before the secured 
party files a financing statement covering the collateral 
in order for the lien to prevail over an unperfected 
secured party.   

As under prior law, the first secured party to file a 
financing statement or perfect its interest has priority 
(the “first-to-file-or-perfect” rule).  If all of the security 
interests are unperfected, the first to attach has priority.  
The act specifies that a perfected security interest 
prevails over an unperfected security interest in the 
collateral. 

 
Purchase Money Secured Interests (PMSI) 

 
PMSI is a security interest in collateral that is either 

taken by the supplier of that collateral to finance the 
purchase price or is a security interest given to a third 
party lender in the collateral purchased wi th the lender’s 
loan.  As under prior law, a secured party can have 
PMSI in goods.  The act also permits it in software that 
is sold or licensed with goods if it is principally for use 
with the goods.  Holders of a perfected PMSI rank 
ahead of any security interest that would otherwise have 
priority under the first-to-file-or-perfect rule.   

If the security interest involves inventory collateral, 
the act permits cross-collateralization of purchase-
money inventory advances.  This allows a supplier or 
lender who sends successive shipments of inventory 
collateral to a party to have a PMSI in all of the goods 
for their total cost. 

The act provides rules for PMSI in farm products 
livestock like those for inventory but the PMSI has 
priority in all proceeds of the collateral and certain 
products of the collateral. 

Under the act, if a supplier and lender are both 
secured parties claiming a PMSI in the same collateral, 
the supplier prevails.  A PMSI in a commercial 
transaction does not lose its status because it secures 
non-PMSI obligations, is secured by non-purchase-
money collateral, or is renewed or financed. 

For transactions other than a consumer goods 
transaction in which payment is made to an obligation 
that is in part PMSI, the act applies the payment by any 
reasonable method agreed to by the parties.  But if there 
is no agreement, the payment is applied as the obligor 
intended if he made his intention clear at or before 
making payment.  If there is no agreement or clear 
intention of the obligor, then the payment is first applied 
to obligations that are not secured and then to the PMSI 
obligations in the order in which they were incurred.   

In a consumer goods transaction, the payment is 
first applied to any PMSI in property.  If there are 
multiple items purchased on different dates, the first 
item purchased is the first paid for and the lowest priced 
item purchased on a specific day is the first item paid 
for. 

The act’s rules on the status of PMSI and burdens 
of proof for non-consumer goods transactions do not 
apply to consumer goods transactions and the act 
prohibits a court from inferring any limitations on the 
proper rules for consumer goods transactions.  It 
specifies that the courts can continue to apply 
established approaches and can apply the principles of 
law used for similar consumer transactions in similar 
goods, such as the retail installment sales financing 
laws. 

 
Consignors 

 
The act applies to all consignments except 

consumer and small value consignments.  They are 
treated like PMSI and consignors must comply with 
those rules to obtain priority.  The act allows other law 
to determine the rights of consignors against consignees 
and third parties. 

 
Buyers 

 
As under prior law, customers who buy a debtor’s 

goods in the ordinary course of business are free of a 
security interest in them created by the seller even if 
they know of it.  The act provides that a buyer of 
collateral from a secured party who possesses the 
collateral cannot take free of the secured party’s interest 
as a buyer in the ordinary course.  It also provides 
similar rules for lessees and nonexclusive licensees in 
the ordinary course.   
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Under the act, someone buying goods for consumer 
use can take them free of a security interest if the buyer: 

1. buys from a seller who bought the goods for 
consumer use,  

2. did not know of the security interest,  
3. paid value for the goods, and  
4. buys them before a financing statement 

covering the goods is filed (this requirement 
does not apply if the original purchase price 
was $3,500 or less).  

A buyer in the ordinary course is someone who 
buys goods in good faith in the ordinary course from 
someone in the business of selling those goods and buys 
them without knowledge that the sale violates another 
person’s rights in the goods.  The act requires the sale to 
occur with the seller’s usual or customary practices or 
those of the seller’s kind of business.  It also adds that 
only a buyer that takes or has the right to take 
possession can be a buyer in the ordinary course.  This 
definition applies generally throughout the commercial 
code unless another specific definition applies. 

As under prior law, when a debtor sells collateral 
out of the ordinary course of business and a secured 
party holding a perfected security interest does not 
authorize it, the security interest generally continues.  If 
the security interest is unperfected and the buyer gives 
value without knowledge of the security interest, the 
buyer’s interest generally prevails over the secured 
party’s unperfected security interest.  The act clarifies 
that the buyer is not subject to the secured party’s 
security interest. 

 
Instruments 

 
As under prior law, the act allows a secured party to 

perfect a security interest in an instrument by filing as 
well as possession.  Under the act, a security interest in 
an instrument perfected by filing is subordinate to the 
security interest of another secured party or purchaser 
who possesses the instrument for value, in good faith, 
and without knowledge that it violated the rights of the 
secured party by filing.  As under prior law, a holder in 
due course of a negotiable instrument has priority over 
an earlier secured party to the extent provided by law. 

 
Chattel Paper 

 
As under prior law, an ordinary course purchaser 

for new value of chattel paper who takes possession (or 
control as allowed by the act for electronic chattel 
paper) has priority over a security interest perfected 
only by filing if he did not know it was subject to the 
secured party’s security interest.  The act adds that the 
purchaser must not know that the purchase violated the 

secured party’s rights.  Under the act, if the security 
interest is indicated on the chattel paper, the purchaser 
knows the purchase will violate the secured party’s 
rights. 

An ordinary course new value purchaser of chattel 
paper taking possession (or controlling electronic chattel 
paper) has priority over a security interest claimed 
“merely as proceeds” by an existing secured party even 
if the purchaser knew of it but did not know that the 
secured party’s rights were being violated or, under the 
act, the interest was not indicated on the chattel paper. 

The act defines “new value” as additional money or 
other specific consideration.  But the holder of a PMSI 
in inventory is deemed to give new value for chattel 
paper constituting the new proceeds of the inventory. 

 
Investment Property 

 
As under prior law, a security interest in investment 

property perfected by control is superior to one 
perfected by filing even if filing occurred first.  If 
competing interests are perfected by control, the act 
ranks them in priority of time rather than equally, as 
prior law did.  As under prior law, a security interest 
perfected by control in favor of the debtor’s securities 
intermediary has priority over a security interest 
perfected by filing or control.  As under prior law, a 
secured party’s possession under a security agreement 
of a registered security certificate without any necessary 
endorsements has a security interest superior to an 
interest of another perfected by filing. 

 
Deposit Accounts 

 
Unlike prior law, the act applies to commercial 

deposit accounts.  Under the act, a security interest 
perfected by control is superior to one perfected by 
another method and if competing interests are perfected 
by control they rank in priority of time.  A security 
interest perfected by control in favor of the debtor’s 
depository bank and its right of recoupment or set-off is 
superior to a security interest of a competing secured 
party unless it is perfected by control or by becoming 
the depository bank’s customer on the deposit account.  
A transferee of funds from a deposit account in which 
the secured party has a security interest takes free of that 
interest unless the transferee colludes with the debtor to 
violate the rights of the secured party. 

 
Letter of Credit Rights 

 
The act allows automatic perfection of a security 

interest in a letter of credit right that is a supporting 
obligation and permits perfection of a letter of credit 
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right by control.  Under the act, a letter of credit right 
perfected by control is superior to a security interest 
perfected as a supporting obligation.  Competing 
interests perfected by control are ranked in priority of 
time.  A security interest in a letter of credit right is 
subordinate to the rights of a transferee beneficiary or 
nominated person under letter of credit law. 

 
Proceeds 

 
Proceeds are whatever is received on the sale, 

exchange, collection, or other disposition of collateral.  
The act expands the definition of proceeds to include 
rentals for the lease of goods and licensing royalties.  It 
specifies that proceeds include whatever is distributed 
on account of collateral.  It also provides that claims 
arising from loss, defect, nonconformity, or interference 
with the collateral and insurance proceeds resulting 
from the collateral are proceeds.  As under prior law, on 
sale, exchange, or other disposition of collateral, a 
secured party’s security interest continues in any 
identifiable proceeds.  The act permits any method that 
the law permits to trace cash proceeds when they are 
commingled with other property. 

Under prior law, the perfection of the security 
interest in proceeds continued for 10 days before the 
secured party might need to take additional steps to 
continue the perfection.  The act expands this period to 
20 days and the time limit does not apply to identifiable 
cash proceeds.  As under prior law, a secured party’s 
priority in proceeds generally relates back to the date of 
priority in its security interest in the original collateral.   

A secured party with an inventory PMSI that has 
priority over an earlier filed secured party has priority in 
proceeds of the inventory in certain circumstances.  As 
under prior law, the inventory PMSI has priority if the 
proceeds are identifiable cash proceeds received by the 
debtor on or before delivery of the inventory to the 
buyer.  The act also gives priority to the secured party 
with PMSI if the proceeds are instruments, chattel 
paper, or proceeds of chattel paper that it possesses or 
otherwise perfects.  A transferee of money takes free of 
the security interest unless the transferee colluded with 
the debtor to violate the secured party’s rights. 

Under the act, a perfected possessory or control 
security interest in a deposit account, investment 
property, letter of credit right, chattel paper, instrument, 
or negotiable document has priority over a security 
interest perfected by an earlier filing in certain 
circumstances.  In these cases, the secured party also 
has priority in cash proceeds of the collateral or 
proceeds that are the same type as the original collateral 
or are an account relating to the collateral.  The first-to-
file-or-perfect priority rule applies to priority in 

proceeds but, under the act, first-to-file applies when (1) 
the secured party has a perfected security interest in a 
deposit account, investment property, letter of credit 
right, chattel paper, instrument, or negotiable document 
by a method other than filing; (2) that security interest 
has priority over a security interest in the same 
collateral perfected by filing; and (3) the proceeds are 
not cash proceeds or a deposit account, investment 
property, letter of credit right, chattel paper, instrument, 
or negotiable instrument.   

The act eliminates special proceeds rules that 
applied when the debtor was insolvent.  It also deletes 
special rules for returned or repossessed goods.   

 
Sellers 

 
An unpaid seller without a perfected PMSI in goods 

sold to a debtor usually does not prevail over a secured 
party of the debtor who holds a perfected security 
interest in the goods.  But under the act, an unpaid seller 
with a possessory PMSI in the goods has priority over a 
secured party of the debtor who holds a perfected 
security interest in the goods. 

 
Fixtures 

 
The act applies the same general rules to fixtures as 

prior law.  A PMSI in goods that become fixtures 
generally prevails over an existing interest of a 
competing real estate claimant if a fixture filing (filing 
in the local real estate recording office as well as the 
secretary’s office) is made within a certain period after 
the goods become fixtures.  The act extends the period 
to file from 10 to 20 days.  The act also adds a rule 
giving a secured party with a security interest in a 
manufactured home priority over a competing real 
estate claimant if the security interest was perfected in a 
manufactured home transaction under the certificate of 
title statute. 

 
Crops 

 
Under the act, a perfected security interest in crops 

has priority over the interest of an owner or mortgagee 
of real estate if the debtor is the owner or is in 
possession of the real estate.  The act eliminates the 
provision in prior law that a security interest has priority 
over an earlier perfected security interest to the extent it 
secures an obligation due more than six months before 
the crops become growing crops, even if it had 
knowledge of the earlier security interest if the secured 
party gave new value to enable the debtor to produce 
crops during the production season and it was given not 
more than three months before the crops become 
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growing crops. 
 

Accessions 
 
Accession occurs when goods physically unite with 

other goods but the identity of the original goods is not 
lost.  The act deletes the priority rules for accessions in 
prior law.  But it provides that the interest in the overall 
collateral perfected under a certificate of title statute has 
priority over a security interest in an accession.  It also 
provides that a secured party who removes an accession 
from other goods must promptly pay the holder of a 
security interest or lien or owner of the goods to repair 
any physical injury to the goods.  This does not include 
a decrease in value caused by removing the goods or 
having to replace them.  A person (other than the 
debtor) can refuse to allow removal of the goods until 
given adequate assurances of reimbursement. 

 
Commingled Goods 

 
As under prior law, if two secured parties have 

perfected security interests in goods that are 
commingled with each other so that they can no longer 
be identified and neither has a prior security interest in 
the other’s goods, then both have a security interest 
attached to the new product.  Under the act, each party’s 
security interest is equal to the proportion that the value 
of his collateral bore to the sum of the values of both 
parties’ collateral when they were commingled. 

 
Filing Problems 

 
Unlike prior law, if the filing office improperly 

rejects a financing statement, the act makes the security 
interest subordinate to the interest of a subsequent 
purchaser who gives value in reliance on the filing 
office’s clean record.   

Under the act, if a secured party files a financing 
statement with incorrect information, the secured 
party’s interest is subordinate to a later perfected 
secured party who gave value and relied on the incorrect 
information.  A purchaser can also take the collateral 
free of the earlier interest if he gives value in reliance on 
the incorrect information. 

 
THIRD PARTIES 
 
Account Debtors 

 
An account debtor is someone obligated on an 

account, chattel paper, or general intangible.  The act 
provides that a person obligated to pay on a negotiable 
instrument is not an account debtor. 

Claims And Set-Offs.  Where there is a contract 
between the debtor and the account debtor creating the 
secured party’s security interest in an account, chattel 
paper, or general intangible, the account debtor can 
assert a claim or defense against the secured party 
arising from the contract.  The account debtor can also 
assert a claim or defense on any other obligation of the 
debtor to the account debtor except for those from other 
obligations after the account debtor is notified of the 
security interest.  The act clarifies that in commercial 
transactions, claims or defenses of an account debtor 
can be asserted only to reduce the amount owed.  The 
act’s rules are subject to any consumer laws and it 
provides that a consumer account debtor has the benefit 
of certain notices required to be written on an account, 
general intangible, or chattel paper even if they are not 
stated.  Under the act, obligations of insurers under 
health care insurance receivables are governed by other 
law. 

Agreements Not To Assert Claims Or Defenses.  
The act allows all account debtors, rather than just 
consumer account debtors under prior law, who are 
buying or leasing goods, to agree generally not to assert 
personal claims or defenses against an assignee subject 
to any contrary consumer law. 

Assignments.  As under prior law, an account 
debtor must pay a person who is assigned (the assignee) 
an account, chattel paper, or general intangible on 
notification of the assignment and direction to pay the 
assignee.  As under prior law, an account debtor can 
require reasonable evidence of the assignment.  Under 
the act, an account debtor can elect not to pay an 
assignee if a payment intangible agreement restricts 
payments to third parties or if the account debtor would 
have to make multiple payments or pay multiple parties.   

The act clarifies that the (1) account debtor cannot 
discharge his obligation by paying the assignor after 
receiving notice and (2) payment to the assignor before 
notification or to the assignee after notification 
discharges the obligation.  It also requires an assignor 
who receives payment after notification to return the 
payment to the account debtor or send it to the assignee. 

As under prior law, legal restrictions on 
assignments are generally prohibited.  Clauses 
restricting the creation or enforcement of a security 
interest in an account or general intangible are 
ineffective.  The act also applies this rule to payments 
under chattel paper and promissory notes.  It also 
prohibits a restriction that prevents attachment, 
perfection, or enforcement of a security interest in 
accounts or chattel paper.  And a clause or rule relating 
to any general intangible is ineffective if it prevents a 
security interest from attaching or becoming perfected, 
as long as the rights of the account debtor or other party 
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imposing the anti-assignment clause or rule are not 
disturbed.  The security interest can attach and be 
perfected but the secured party cannot enforce it without 
the consent of the account debtor or other party.   

The act’s provisions on restricting assignments 
supersede other statutes unless a statute refers 
specifically to the sections of this act and states that it 
prevails. 

The act excludes from its assignment provisions the 
following types of property:  (1) health care insurance 
receivables, (2) lottery winnings, (3) structured 
settlements, (4) workers’ compensation, and (5) certain 
federal provisions. 

The act similarly prohibits clauses restricting 
assignments in lease agreements.  But such a clause is 
effective to the extent there is a transfer of the right of 
possession or use of the goods or a delegation of a 
material performance of either party to the lease.  A 
security interest in the lessor’s interest is not a material 
impairment unless enforcement of the security interest 
results in delegating material performance of the lessor. 

 
Depository Banks 

 
Under the act, a depository bank has no obligation 

to deal with a secured party about a deposit account 
unless the secured party controls the deposit account.  
Also, the depository bank has no obligation to enter into 
a control agreement with the secured party relating to 
the deposit account even if the debtor customer requests 
it.  But a secured party can get control by putting the 
account in its name. 

 
Letter of Credit Issuers 

 
Under the act, a clause in a letter of credit 

restricting its transfer does not prevent attachment or 
perfection of a security interest in it that is a supporting 
obligation, as long as the rights of the issuer or 
nominated person are not disturbed. 

 
RIGHTS AND DUTIES 

 
As under prior law, the parties can set standards for 

complying with a debtor’s or obligor’s rights and a 
secured party’s duties if they are not manifestly 
unreasonable.  But the act prohibits these standards 
from being unreasonable in a consumer transaction. 

 
Reasonable Care 

 
A secured party possessing collateral generally 

must use reasonable care to preserve it.  As under prior 
law, a secured party can repledge collateral it possesses.  

Under prior law, the secured party could not do so if it 
impaired the debtor’s right to redeem the collateral but 
the act eliminates this prohibition.  The act also permits 
a repledge when the secured party controls the 
collateral.  Under the act, a non-consumer debtor can 
agree to change these provisions.  Also under the act, 
the secured party’s duties do not apply when he is a 
buyer of accounts, chattel paper, payment intangibles, 
promissory notes, or is a consignor unless (in the case of 
the duty of reasonable care) the buyer or consignor has 
recourse against the debtor or secondary obligor based 
on a credit or other default of the account debtor or 
obligor on the collateral. 

If the secured party possesses the collateral, the act 
places the risk of accidental loss or damage, to the 
extent there is no effective insurance coverage, on the 
secured party rather than the debtor. 

 
Duty to Account 

 
The act gives the debtor the right to request an 

accounting of the unpaid security obligations. 
 

Duty to Terminate or Release 
 
The law requires a secured party to file a 

termination statement when the secured obligation is 
paid and there is no further commitment to extend credit 
if the financing statement covers consumer goods.  If it 
does not cover consumer goods, the debtor must request 
filing or a copy to file.  The secured party is liable to the 
debtor for any loss due to its failure to respond.  If the 
secured party does not file the termination statement, it 
can be filed with the debtor’s authorization.  The act 
provides similar provisions for release of control of 
collateral and releasing account debtors from 
obligations to make payments to the secured party.   

 
Unknown Parties 

 
Under the act, a secured party does not owe a duty 

to (1) an unknown debtor or obligor or (2) a secured 
party or lienholder who filed a financing statement 
against the debtor, if the secured party does not know 
the debtor.  A secured party owes a duty to a debtor or 
obligor only if the secured party knows that a person is 
a debtor or obligor and knows how to communicate 
with him.  The secured party’s knowledge is determined 
based on his good faith obligations.  The act also 
prevents liability to these unknown people.   
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Type of Transaction 
 
Under the act, a secured party is not liable if he 

reasonably believes (based on reasonable reliance on a 
debtor’s representations about the collateral’s use or 
acquisition, or an obligor’s representations about the 
purpose of the secured obligation) that a transaction is 
not a consumer or consumer goods transaction when in 
fact it is.   

The act specifies that a secured party is only liable 
once for any one secured obligation under the special 
damages provision that applies to consumer goods 
transactions. 

 
CHOICE OF LAW IN MULTIPLE STATE 
TRANSACTIONS 

 
As under prior law, a provision of a security 

agreement choosing which law to apply is usually 
respected for issues of contractual rights and obligations 
of the debtor and secured party as long as the secured 
transaction bears a reasonable relation to the jurisdiction 
whose law is chosen.  Under the act, the choice of a 
jurisdiction’s law does not need a reasonable relation to 
the transaction when it involves a depository bank and a 
deposit account.   

Parties cannot contractually vary the choice of law 
rules dealing with perfection and priority of the security 
interest. 

 
Perfection 

 
Under prior law, the determination of which 

jurisdiction’s law applied to a security interest depended 
on the type of collateral involved.  The act changes 
these rules and expands them to include rules for certain 
types of collateral.   

The act eliminates the general rule that the 
governing law is the law of the jurisdiction where the 
collateral is located when the last event occurs on which 
the assertion of perfection or non-perfection is based.  
Under the act, the general rule is that the law of the 
jurisdiction where the debtor is located governs whether 
perfection takes place.  It includes the following rules to 
determine where the debtor is located:  (1) an individual 
debtor is located at his residence, (2) a debtor that is a 
registered organization is located in its state of 
organization, (3) an organization is located at its place 
of business or its chief executive office if it has more 
than one place of business, and (4) a foreign debtor is 
located in the District of Columbia if there is no public 
filing system that enables a secured party to prevail over 
a subsequent lien creditor. 

 

The act establishes several specific rules. 
1. For possessory security interests and security 

interests in fixtures and timber to be cut, the 
law of the jurisdiction where the collateral is 
located governs perfection. 

2. When ownership of goods is shown by a 
certificate of title and the secured party’s 
security interest must be noted on the 
certificate, the law of the issuing jurisdiction 
governs perfection.  But if the titled goods are 
inventory, the law of the debtor’s location 
applies. 

3. For agricultural liens, the law of the 
jurisdiction where the farm products are 
located governs perfection. 

4. For investment property, the law of the 
jurisdiction where the debtor is located governs 
whether a security interest is perfected by filing 
and certain types of automatic perfection.  If 
perfection is not claimed by filing, whether 
perfection occurred is determined by the law 
(a) where the security certificate is located, (b) 
of the issuer’s jurisdiction for an uncertificated 
security, (c) of the securities intermediary’s 
jurisdiction for a security entitlement or 
securities account, and (d) of the commodity 
intermediary’s jurisdiction for commodity 
contracts or accounts. 

5. For deposit accounts, the law of the depository 
bank’s jurisdiction governs whether perfection 
of a security interest in a deposit account takes 
place (unless an agreement provides otherwise 
or  indicates the account is maintained at a 
particular office in a jurisdiction). 

6. For letter of credit rights, the law of the 
jurisdiction of the issuer or nominated person 
generally applies.  If the jurisdiction is not in 
the United States, then the law of the debtor’s 
location governs. 

The act deletes specific provisions for mobile goods 
and PMSI in goods that the parties understand will be 
kept in another jurisdiction. 

Under the act, the effect of perfection, non-
perfection, or priority is governed by the same law that 
determines whether perfection occurs for most types of 
collateral.  But the act provides exceptions to the rule.  
The court must look to the jurisdiction: 

1. where the collateral is located for negotiable 
documents, goods, instruments, money, or 
tangible chattel paper; 

2. where the security certificate is located for 
certficated securities; 

3. where the issuer is located for uncertificated 
securities; and 
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4. where the securities or commodity 
intermediary is located for security 
entitlements, commodity contracts, securities 
accounts, and commodities accounts. 

 
POST-FILING CHANGES 

 
A secured party must file a new financing statement 

within four months of a debtor changing his name if the 
change makes an existing financing statement seriously 
misleading.  If the secured party does not file a new 
statement, its interest in assets acquired by the debtor 
after the four-month period is unperfected.  The act 
allows the secured party to amend an existing financing 
statement rather than file a new one. 

The act also eliminates the rule that a secured party 
must perfect its security interest by filing a new 
financing statement within four months of the collateral 
moving out-of-state. 

 
Debtors Transferring Collateral 

 
Under the act, if a secured party has a perfected 

security interest in collateral by filing in the debtor’s 
jurisdiction and the collateral is transferred to a new 
debtor in another jurisdiction, the secured party has one 
year to file a financing statement in the new location to 
maintain the perfected security interest. 

A debtor (transferor) can transfer collateral that is 
subject to a perfected security interest to another party 
(transferee) who creates a security interest in another 
secured party.  Under the act, the transferor’s security 
interest prevails regardless of time of filing or 
perfection. 

Under the act, when a transferee becomes generally 
liable for debts of the transferor, the transferee is bound 
by the original security agreement for existing and after-
acquired collateral.  The security interest generally 
remains effective as to the collateral transferred to the 
transferee and after-acquired property.  A filing that 
would have perfected the security interest with the 
transferor generally perfects that interest in goods held 
by a transferee.  The secured party of the original debtor 
(the transferor) must perfect his security interest by 
filing in the jurisdiction of the new debtor (the 
transferee) within one year if it is a different 
jurisdiction. 

If the change in debtors is seriously misleading, the 
financing statement remains perfected only for property 
acquired within four months and becomes ineffective 
unless an initial filing statement with the new debtor’s 
name is filed.  

 
 

Titled Goods 
 
By law, a secured party can perfect a security 

interest in titled goods by noting the interest on the title 
certificate.  Under prior law, a security interest 
continued for four months if a debtor in another 
jurisdiction obtained the title certificate without a 
notation of the security interest if the original certificate 
was not surrendered.  But the security interest could be 
subordinated to the interest of an innocent buyer (who is 
not in the business of selling those type of goods).   

Under the act, the security interest remains 
perfected as long as the security interest would have 
remained perfected if the goods had not been covered 
by the new title certificate.  But the interest is 
unperfected against a purchaser of the goods for value 
unless the secured party repossesses the goods during 
the four-month period.  An innocent buyer (other than a 
dealer) who buys the goods within the four-month 
period relying on the clean title certificate takes the 
goods without the security interest.  An innocent 
secured party has priority over the earlier security 
interest if it extends credit relying on the clean title 
certificate, takes a security interest in the goods, and 
perfects its interest. 

 
ENFORCEMENT 

 
After a debtor defaults, a secured party has the right 

to repossess the collateral.  The secured party can sell 
the collateral and apply the proceeds to satisfy the debt 
or retain it to satisfy the debt without going to court.  
The secured party can collect the collateral from 
account debtors and people obligated on the 
instruments.  The secured party can also use court 
procedures to foreclose.  If the secured party does not 
follow the laws on enforcement, it can be liable to the 
debtor and other interested parties for damages.   

As under prior law, the secured party’s remedies 
after default are cumulative.  The act specifies that they 
can be exercised simultaneously but other law can 
prohibit this in a consumer transaction. 

As under prior law, default is determined by the 
security agreement.  But the act specifies that default 
under an agricultural lien occurs when the secured party 
has the right to enforce the lien. 

Under the act, the enforcement provisions do not 
apply to consignors or buyers of accounts, chattel paper, 
payment intangibles, or promissory notes. 

 
Collection 

 
As under prior law, a secured party can collect 

payments directly from account debtors and people 
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obligated on instruments by notifying them to pay the 
secured party directly.  Under the act, a secured party 
that is an assignee of an obligation secured by a real 
estate mortgage has the right to become the mortgagee 
of record on the debtor’s default in order to foreclose 
nonjudicially on the mortgage (if nonjudicial 
foreclosure is allowed by the law).  Under the act, a 
secured party with a security interest in a deposit 
account that it maintains can apply funds in the deposit 
account to the secured debt.  If there is a control 
agreement, the secured party can instruct the depository 
bank to pay the balance to the secured party.  It also 
allows a secured party to deduct its collection expenses 
from collections made in a commercially reasonable 
manner. 

 
Repossession and Sale of the Collateral 

 
A secured party can take possession or control of 

the collateral if it will not be a breach of the peace.  A 
secured party can then sell or dispose of collateral by a 
public or private sale and apply the proceeds to satisfy 
the secured debt (the sale or disposal must be 
commercially reasonable and the debtor cannot waive 
this requirement).  As under prior law, the secured party 
must send the debtor and certain other people 
reasonable notice of the time and place of sale unless 
the collateral is perishable, threatens to speedily decline 
in value, or is a type customarily sold on a recognized 
market (after default, the debtor may waive the right to 
notice).  The act also requires the secured party, in 
commercial cases, to notify superior interests.  The sale 
generally discharges all subordinate interests in the 
collateral.   

Under the act, a secured party can dispose of 
collateral by license, can disclaim or modify disposition 
warranties, and must provide disposition notification 
(when required) to all lien holders of the collateral that 
are disclosed on searching the recording office within 
certain time limits.  The act provides that 10 days’ 
notice is considered reasonable in commercial 
transactions.  The act specifies that a secured party 
automatically gives title warranties unless disclaimed. 

Fixtures.  As under prior law, a secured party who 
has priority over owners and others with interest in the 
real property can remove collateral that is a fixture.  The 
secured party must reimburse an owner or other party 
for physical injury caused by removal.  The act allows 
the debtor to seek reimbursement for repairs. 

Electronic Self-Help.  The act defines electronic 
self-help as using electronic means to exercise the 
secured party’s rights after default under the security 
agreement to (1) take possession of the collateral and 
(2) without removing it, render equipment unusable and 

dispose of collateral on a debtor’s premises as allowed 
by the act.  This includes using electronic means to 
locate the collateral.  “Electronic” includes electrical, 
digital, magnetic, or wireless optical electromagnetic 
properties or similar capabilities.   

The act allows a secured party to use electronic 
self-help if the debtor agrees to a term authorizing it and 
requiring notice.  The secured party must give notice (1) 
that it will use electronic self-help no sooner than 15 
days later, (2) stating the nature of the claimed breach, 
and (3) stating the name, title, address, and phone 
number of the secured party’s representative that the 
debtor can contact about the security interest. 

The act allows a debtor to recover direct and 
incidental damages and consequential damages (even if 
prohibited by the security agreement) for a secured 
party’s wrongful use of electronic self-help. 

The act prohibits a secured party from using 
electronic self-help if he has reason to know that it will 
cause substantial injury or harm to public health or 
safety or grave harm to the public interest that 
substantially affects third parties not involved in the 
dispute. 

 
Retention of the Collateral in Satisfaction of the Debt 

 
A secured party that possesses the collateral can 

retain it to satisfy the debt if written notice is sent to the 
debtor and others who must receive notice and the 
secured party does not receive a written objection with 
21 days.  A secured party must dispose of the collateral 
if someone objects to retention and a secured party 
cannot retain certain consumer goods when a significant 
portion of the purchase price has already been paid 
unless the debtor renounces his rights in writing.   

Under the act, a secured party in a commercial 
transaction can retain the collateral in satisfaction of the 
secured debt even if it does not possess it.  Under the 
act, the notice of retention from the secured party must 
be authenticated rather than written and the period for 
objection is 20 instead of 21 days.  But nothing prevents 
a consumer in a consumer goods transaction from 
proving by means other than an authenticated record 
that a secured party agreed to accept the collateral in full 
satisfaction.  Under the act, the secured party can retain 
the collateral in partial satisfaction in a commercial 
transaction but not consumer transactions.  Full or 
partial satisfaction requires the debtor’s consent in an 
authenticated record after default.  Under the act, the 
secured party is not deemed to have retained collateral 
in satisfaction unless it takes all the steps required by 
the act.   
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Application of Noncash Proceeds 
 
Under the act, if a secured party receives non-cash 

proceeds by collection or disposing of the collateral, it 
may value them and apply them to the debt in a 
commercially reasonable manner.  The secured party 
can collect or dispose of them until converted to cash to 
apply to the debt.  The parties can provide the method of 
applying them if the method is not manifestly 
unreasonable. 

 
Surplus or Deficiency 

 
In consumer goods transactions where the debtor is 

entitled to a surplus or an obligor is liable for a 
deficiency, the act requires the secured party to send an 
explanation no later than the time it pays a surplus or 
first makes a written attempt to collect a deficiency.  
The explanation must include the amount of surplus or 
deficiency, the method of calculation, and certain details 
of the calculation.  The secured party must send an 
explanation within 14 days of receiving an authenticated 
request for one after disposition.  An explanation that 
substantially complies with the requirements is 
sufficient even if it includes minor errors that are not 
seriously misleading.  

Sale of Accounts, Chattel Paper, Payment 
Ingangibles, or Promissory Notes.  In certain cases, the 
secured party is not required to pay the debtor any 
surplus in the collection or disposition of collateral and 
the debtor is not liable for any deficiency.  Under prior 
law, this applied to secured transactions involving a sale 
of accounts or chattel paper.  The act expands this list to 
include a sale of payment intangibles or promissory 
notes.  As under prior law, the parties can agree 
otherwise. 

 
Non-Compliance 

 
As under prior law, the secured party is generally 

liable to the debtor for any loss caused by the secured 
party’s failure to comply with the enforcement 
provisions.  Under the act, if a secured party forecloses 
improperly and brings a deficiency action against the 
debtor in a commercial transaction, the value of the 
collateral is presumed to be equal to the entire debt 
unless the secured party can show otherwise (as under 
caselaw).  The act allows the courts to determine the 
proper rules to apply to consumer transactions and they 
may not infer anything from the act’s rules and can 
continue to apply established approaches.  The act 
specifies that the courts can apply principles of existing 
law including laws for determining a deficiency or 
surplus that apply in consumer transactions in similar 

goods such as under the retail installment sales 
financing laws.  The determination of a deficiency or 
surplus in a consumer transaction is subject to the 
court’s determination of the proper rule. 

 
Disposition Notices 

 
The law requires reasonable authenticated notice 

before disposing of collateral.  The act specifies, except 
in consumer goods transactions, notification of 
disposition is sufficient if it (1) describes the debtor, 
secured party, and collateral; (2) states the method of 
disposition; (3) states that the debtor is entitled to an 
accounting of the unpaid debt and the charge (if any) for 
the accounting; and (4) the time and place of public 
disposition or the time after which any other disposition 
is to be made.  No particular phrasing is required.  It is a 
question of fact whether a notice lacking any of these 
items is sufficient.  The notice is sufficient if it 
substantially includes the required information and it is 
sufficient even if it contains information not required 
and minor errors that are not seriously misleading. 

Under the act, for consumer goods transactions, a 
notice of disposition must include (1) all the information 
required for non-consumer goods transactions, (2) a 
description of any liability for a deficiency, (3) a 
telephone number to find out what must be paid to the 
secured party to redeem the collateral, and (4) a 
telephone number or address for additional information 
about the disposition and secured obligation.  No 
particular phrasing is required. 

Under the act, disposition notices must be given to 
guarantors and other secondary obligors and they can 
only waive the right to notification after default.  But a 
secured party is not liable for failing to provide notice to 
someone unknown to him. 

 
Insider Dispositions for Low Value 

 
Under the act, if a secured party, a person related to 

him, or a secondary obligor, acquires collateral at a 
foreclosure sale at a price significantly below the range 
of proceeds that would come from a disposition to an 
unrelated person, any deficiency is adjusted for the 
higher amount that an unrelated purchaser would have 
paid. 

 
Consumer Provisions 

 
Under the act, notice to a consumer debtor 10 days 

before disposing of the collateral is not by itself 
reasonable notice.  The act also requires a secured party 
to explain to a consumer debtor the calculation of any 
deficiency claim before demanding payment.  Under the 
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act, in consumer transactions, a secured party cannot 
retain collateral that the debtor does not possess and 
cannot retain collateral only in partial satisfaction of the 
secured debt.  Also under the act, a consumer debtor 
cannot waive the right of redemption. 

 
Damages 

 
As under prior law, a person can seek damages 

caused by a secured party’s noncompliance.  The act 
expands this provision to cover noncompliance with any 
of the act’s requirements (such as a secured party’s 
duties when possessing the collateral). 

In addition to damages, the act provides a $500 
penalty when (1) a secured party fails to release control 
of certain collateral when required to do so, (2) a 
secured party who is an assignee fails to inform the 
account debtor that he is no longer obligated to pay the 
secured party, (3) a person files an initial financing 
statement or amendment adding collateral or a debtor 
when not authorized to do so, (4) a secured party does 
not follow the act’s provisions on termination 
statements, and (5) a secured party fails to send an 
explanation to a debtor or consumer obligor in a 
consumer goods transaction after default about a surplus 
or deficiency. 

As under prior law, the act sets minimum damages 
when a secured party violates the provisions on default 
in consumer transactions.  The act exempts from these 
damage provisions the failure of a secured party to 
explain the calculation of the surplus or deficiency as 
required by the act. 

 
Assignment of Mortgage Notes 

 
If on default the secured party is allowed to non-

judicially foreclose on a mortgage note but cannot do so 
because the assignment of the mortgage to him is not 
recorded, the act allows the secured party to record the 
security agreement in the appropriate office with an 
affidavit certifying default.  The act does not create a 
right to nonjudicial foreclosure if it does not otherwise 
exist. 

 
Transfer Statements 

 
Under the act, a transfer statement is a record 

authenticated by the secured party that (1) the debtor 
defaulted on an obligation secured by certain collateral, 
(2) the secured party exercised remedies against the 
collateral, and (3) a transferee has acquired the debtor’s 
rights to the collateral.  The statement must include the 
names and addresses of the secured party, debtor, and 
transferee. 

The transfer statement allows a transferee to obtain 
record or legal title to the collateral.  If presented with 
the filing fee to the official or office that maintains the 
system, the official or office must accept the transfer 
statement, amend its records, and if necessary issue a 
new certificate of title in the transferee’s name. 

The act specifies that this is not in itself a 
disposition of collateral and does not relieve the secured 
party of its duties. 

 
GOOD FAITH 

 
As under prior law, good faith is defined as honesty 

in fact.  But the act expands the definition to include the 
observance of reasonable commercial standards of fair 
dealing. 

 
TRANSITION RULES 

 
The act becomes effective on October 1, 2001, and 

applies to all transactions, security interests, and other 
liens within its scope including those created before 
October 1, 2001.  The act does not apply to litigation 
pending on October 1, 2001.  The act includes 
transitional provisions to continue the validity of 
security interests even if they do not meet the act’s 
requirements.  Secured parties must meet certain 
deadlines to continue the validity of their interests. 

The act establishes rules to determine the priority of 
conflicting claims to collateral but it preserves priorities 
established before October 1, 2001.  If priority for a 
security interest is based on the filing of a financing 
statement before October 1, 2001 and the statement is 
effective under the act but not prior law, priority does 
not relate back to the filing date but is effective on 
October 1, 2001. 

The act contains a number of transition rules. 
1. Transactions and liens not within the scope of 

prior law that are validly created before 
October 1, 2001 remain valid and can be 
enforced after October 1, 2001 under prior law 
or under the act’s provisions. 

2. A security interest that is enforceable and 
perfected under prior law before October 1, 
2001 continues without need for further action 
if it satisfies the act’s requirements for 
attachment and perfection.  If it does not meet 
the act’s requirements, the security interest 
continues perfected for one year after October 
1, 2001 and will only be enforceable and 
perfected after that date if it satisfies the act’s 
requirements for attachment and perfection 
during that period.  (See below for rules on 
filing financing statements.)  
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3. If a security interest created before October 1, 
2001 is enforceable but unperfected under prior 
law, the security interest remains enforceable 
but unperfected for one year after October 1, 
2001.  The security interest remains effective if 
it satisfies the act’s rules within the one-year 
period.  The security interest is perfected when 
it meets the act’s perfection requirements. 

4. In some cases, if a secured party takes action 
(other then filing) to perfect a security interest 
that satisfies prior law before October 1, 2001, 
it can attach to collateral after October 1, 2001, 
but the security interest will not satisfy the 
act’s requirements.  In these cases, a security 
interest that attaches during the one-year period 
after October 1, 2001 is perfected but becomes 
unperfected as to the collateral and all after-
acquired collateral at the end of that period 
unless the security interest meets the act’s 
requirements for attachment and perfection. 

 
Filing 

 
The act includes several specific transition rules for 

filing financing statements. 
1. A financing statement filed before October 1, 

2001 that meets the act’s requirements for 
perfection by filing perfects the security 
interest.  Even if the filing is ineffective under 
prior law, it becomes effective under the act 
and perfection dates to October 1, 2001.  But a 
continuation statement filed to continue the 
perfection of a security interest must meet the 
act’s requirements for initial financing 
statements. 

2. A financing statement filed before October 1, 
2001 that complies with prior law but not the 
act’s requirements is effective until June 30, 
2006 or until it lapses (whichever is earlier). 

3. After October 1, 2001, a secured party must 
file an initial financing statement rather than a 
continuation statement to continue the 
effectiveness of a financing statement filed 
before then unless the act (a) does not require a 
change in the applicable filing office, (b) the 
continuation statement meets the act’s 
requirements for filing a continuation 
statement, and (c) the pre-October 1, 2001 
financing statement and continuation statement 
taken together satisfy the act’s requirements for 
an initial financing statement. 

4. A financing statement filed in the proper 
jurisdiction under prior law but the wrong 
jurisdiction under the act is ineffective if it is 

filed after October 1, 2001.  To continue the 
effectiveness of a financing statement filed 
before that date, the act requires the secured 
party to (a) file an initial financing statement in 
the jurisdiction required by the act; (b) comply 
with the act’s requirements for financing 
statements; (c) specifically identify the pre-
October 1, 2001 financing statement by 
indicating the prior filing office, the date and 
number of the financing statement, and most 
recent continuation statement filed on it; and 
(d) indicate that the previous financing 
statement remains effective.  The new initial 
financing statement can be filed anytime. 

 
Amendments 

 
Under the act, new financing statements must 

include amendments to cover the act’s changes in 
terminology and collateral categories.  The amendments 
must satisfy the act’s requirements for financing 
statements.  The act no longer requires the debtor’s 
signature but requires his authorization in an 
authenticated record or a security agreement. 

Under the act, an amendment refers to a change in 
the financing statement that (1) adds or deletes collateral 
in it, (2) continues or terminates it, or (3) amends 
information in it.  Under the act, amendments filed after 
October 1, 2001 to financing statements filed before that 
date are effective only if they follow the law of the 
jurisdiction governing perfection, except in certain 
circumstances for filing termination statements.   

The act lists specific methods for amendments after 
October 1, 2001.   

1. If the pre-October 1, 2001 financing statement 
is on file in the office required by the act’s 
provisions, then the secured party files an 
amendment there. 

2. If the pre-October 1, 2001 financing statement 
is on file in a location other than the office 
required by the act, the secured party (a) files 
an amendment to the new initial financing 
statement with or after filing it in the new 
location required by the act or (b) files an 
initial financing statement in the location 
required by the act with the amendment 
information.   

The act allows a secured party to file an amendment 
to terminate the effectiveness of a pre-October 1, 2001 
financing statement in the office where the financing 
statement is filed. 

The act allows a secured party to file an initial 
financing statement or a continuation statement if the 
secured party of record authorizes it and it is required to 
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perfect or continue the perfection of a security interest 
or to continue the effectiveness of a pre-October 1, 2001 
financing statement. 

 
FILING OFFICE REQUIREMENTS 

 
In making information on financing statements 

available, the act allows the filing office to use any 
medium, but it must issue a written certificate if 
requested.  The secretary of the state’s office must 
respond to requests for information and 
acknowledgment of filing as required by its regulations 
but no later than five business days from receiving the 
request.  As under prior law, a person can request 
information on whether there are any financing 
statements filed on a debtor.  The act allows a request 
for the information in each financing statement but the 
filing office is not required to transcribe information 
otherwise available about the collateral. 

Under the act, the fees charged by the secretary’s 
office remain the same but the act adds a $25 fee for 
responding to a request for information as well as 
issuing a certificate concerning whether a financing 
statement names a debtor or an assignment.  The act 
requires a $20 fee for photographic or electronic copies 
of financing statements or amendments and an 
additional $5 for certification and an official seal.  
Under prior law, the fee was $5 plus $4 for every page 
after three pages. 

The act excuses delay by the filing office beyond a 
time limit if the office exercises reasonable diligence 
under the circumstances or there is an interruption of 
communication or computer facilities, war, emergency 
conditions, failure of equipment, or other circumstances 
beyond the office’s control. 

The act requires the secretary’s office to offer to 
sell or license filing records to the public in bulk on a 
nonexclusive basis in every medium available to the 
filing office at least monthly. 
 
OTHER CHANGES 

 
Sale of Goods 

 
The law allows buyers or sellers to assign their 

rights unless it materially changes the duty of the other 
party, materially increases the burden or risk imposed 
by the contract, or materially impairs the chance of 
obtaining return performance.  The act specifies that 
creation of a security interest is not a material change 
unless enforcement of the security interest delegates 
material performance to the seller.  In that case, the 
security interest remains effective but the seller is liable 
to the buyer for damages caused by delegation that the 

buyer could not reasonably prevent and a court can 
grant relief including canceling the contract or 
preventing enforcement of the security interest. 

By law, a buyer who paid at least part of the price 
for identified goods can recover them when the seller 
becomes insolvent in certain circumstances.  The act 
adds this right to recover goods for consumer goods 
when the seller repudiates the contract or fails to deliver 
the goods. 

The law also gives a buyer a right to a legal action 
to recover identified goods when replacement goods are 
reasonably unavailable.  The act specifies that the 
buyer’s right for consumer goods vests when the goods 
are identified to the contract. 

 
Letter of Credit Law 

 
The act gives the issuer of a letter of credit or a 

nominated person an automatically perfected security 
interest in a document presented to him under the letter 
of credit to the extent he gave value for it.  A security 
agreement is not required.  The document can be 
presented in any medium.  The security interest has 
priority over a conflicting security interest if the 
document is (1) in a written or tangible medium; (2) not 
a certificated security, chattel paper, document of title, 
instrument, or letter of credit; and (3) not in the debtor’s 
possession. 

 
Investment Securities Law 

 
By law, a purchaser has control of a security 

entitlement if he is the entitlement holder or if the 
security intermediary agrees to act on the purchaser’s 
entitlement orders.  The act also gives a purchaser 
control if another person has control but acknowledges 
that it does so for the purchaser. 

By law, one method of delivery of a certificated 
security to a purchaser is when a security intermediary, 
acting for the purchaser, acquires possession of a 
registered security certificate that is specially endorsed 
to the purchaser.  The act adds that it cannot be 
endorsed to the securities intermediary or in blank.  The 
act also adds that it can be delivered when the securities 
certificate is registered in the purchaser’s name or 
payable to the purchaser. 

The act no longer requires delivery in order for a 
purchaser of a certificated or uncertificated security to 
acquire all the rights in the security that the transferor 
had the power to transfer.   

The act provides priority rules (similar to those in 
the act for priority in investment property) that apply to 
a security entitlement when multiple non-secured party 
purchasers have control but do not specify their rights 
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by agreement.  If a securities intermediary is a 
purchaser, it has priority over the interest of another 
purchaser who has control.  Under prior law, there was a 
pro-rata rule for these cases. 

 
Other Statutes 

 
By law, a judgment lien (other than a consumer 

judgment) can be placed on nonexempt personal 
property in which a security interest could be perfected 
by filing with the secretary’s office.  Exempt property 
includes necessary apparel, bedding, and foodstuffs; 
health and disability insurance payments; and court-
approved payments for child support.  The person 
creates the lien by filing a judgment lien certificate with 
the office.  The act specifies that the person can file with 
the office as if the debtor were located in this state.  But 
if the debtor is not located in this state, the judgment 
lien is effective only for the debtor’s tangible personal 
property in this state.   

For failure to pay certain taxes, the state can have a 
lien against goods owned by a person in the state.  The 
lien is filed using the secured transactions’ filing 
system.  The act specifies that the lien is filed as if the 
debtor is located in this state.  The act adds the same 
rule to the notice of lien under the municipal personal 
property tax lien statute and provisions relating to 
pledges to or by the Connecticut Development 
Authority to secure its bonds or notes by filing a 
financing statement with respect to the security interest 
created by the pledge.  

The act also makes conforming changes. 
 
 
PA 01-133—sHB 5400 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING DEATH OF A TENANT 
 
SUMMARY:  This act gives landlords an alternative to 
bringing an eviction action to regain possession of a 
dwelling unit after the only tenant living there dies.  
Landlords who follow the act’s provisions are protected 
against an action for entering a dwelling unit without 
consent. 

When the only tenant living in a dwelling unit dies, 
the act authorizes the landlord to notify the tenant’s next 
of kin of (1) his death and (2) the landlord’s intentions 
regarding the tenant’s personal belongings if the next of 
kin fails to reclaim them within a specified period.  The 
act requires all landlords who follow its provisions to 
file an affidavit in probate court regarding the deceased 
tenant and his personal belongings.   

 

The act authorizes a landlord who follows its 
provisions to dispose of the tenant’s property if (1) no 
relative appears to claim it or (2) no one asks the 
probate court to take any action on the deceased tenant’s 
will within the time specified in the notice.  

The act specifies that it does not relieve a landlord 
of the duty to comply with the landlord and tenant laws, 
other than the law regarding security deposits, when he 
knows or should reasonably know that the dwelling unit 
has not been abandoned.  Under existing law, a security 
deposit, minus any deductions for damages, belongs to 
the tenant who paid it or, in the event of death, the 
tenant’s estate. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 

 
NOTICE TO NEXT OF KIN 

 
When a landlord has complied with a lease that 

includes the tenant’s death as a ground for termination, 
the act permits him to send a notice to the last-known 
address of the next of kin upon the death of the sole 
tenant in a dwelling unit.  He must send the notice by 
regular and certified mail, return receipt requested. The 
notice must be in clear and simple language and include 
the landlord’s telephone number and address.  It must 
state that the (1) tenant has died, (2) landlord intends to 
remove his belongings from the dwelling unit and re-
rent the premises, and (3) next of kin has 60 days to 
reclaim the belongings or the landlord will dispose of 
them. 
 
PROBATE COURT AFFIDAVIT 

 
The act requires landlords to file an affidavit with 

the probate court when the sole tenant in a dwelling unit 
dies. The affidavit must include the deceased tenant’s 
name and address, the date he died, the terms of his 
lease, and the names and addresses of any known next 
of kin.  

If the court receives a request to determine the 
validity of a will or appoint an administrator of a 
decedent’s estate within 55 days of the date the affidavit 
is filed, it must immediately notify the landlord.  A 
landlord who receives this notice cannot dispose of the 
tenant’s property or re-rent the dwelling unit as 
indicated above.   

 
LANDLORD’S REMOVAL OF DECEASED 
TENANT’S PROPERTY 

 
A landlord must inventory the belongings left in a 

dwelling unit by a deceased tenant no earlier than 30 
days after the date he files the affidavit and file a copy 
of the inventory with the court.  The landlord must leave 
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the tenant’s belongings in place for at least 15 days after 
the date he takes the inventory.  After 15 days, he can 
store the belongings, and after 30 days the state marshal 
can put them on the adjacent sidewalk, street, or 
highway. 
 
 
PA 01-135—sHB 6126 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING MODIFICATION OF 
CERTAIN DIVORCE AGREEMENTS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act permits Superior Court judges to 
modify, rather than only enforce, divorcing parties’ 
written agreements for the care, education, maintenance, 
or support of children over age 18.  The support covered 
by these agreements is often referred to as “post-
majority support.” 

It applies to agreements made on and after July 1, 
2001, that have been incorporated in or made part of 
divorce decrees.  The act specifies that existing criteria 
and procedures governing modifications apply, 
including the requirement that the party seeking the 
modification show a substantial change in 
circumstances.   

The act also allows judges to order one party to a 
divorce to maintain life insurance for the other party or 
the couple’s minor child unless their divorce decree 
precludes modification.  Courts may already include in 
divorce decrees an order directing one party to designate 
the other as beneficiary of his life insurance policy as a 
means of securing alimony payment obligations.  It is 
unclear under the act whether the person ordered to 
maintain life insurance in a modification proceeding 
must purchase a policy insuring his ex-spouse or child 
or designate them as beneficiaries of his own policy. 

It is also unclear whether the substantial change in 
circumstances criteria governing other divorce decree 
modifications applies to modifications of orders to 
maintain life insurance. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-142—sHB 6652 
Judiciary Committee 
Human Services Committee 
Education Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING REVISIONS TO THE 
CHILD PROTECTION LAWS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act makes many changes in the 
child protection laws, several of which are required to 

bring Connecticut into conformity with the federal 
funding requirements of the Adoption and Safe Families 
Act. It: 

1. shortens “trigger” dates for court permanency 
plan review hearings and requires yearly 
hearings for non-delinquent children in the 
Department of Children and Families’ (DCF’s) 
custody;  

2. establishes preferences among permanency 
options for these children; 

3. eliminates the requirement that DCF obtain 
court orders to extend the commitment of an 
abused and neglected child beyond 12 months 
and instead requires the agency to prove at 
each yearly permanency hearing that a child 
should remain in its custody; 

4. makes “clear and convincing evidence” the 
standard for terminating reunification efforts at 
permanency hearings and permits a judge to 
rely on previous rulings that such efforts are 
inappropriate; 

5. requires the court to determine at each 
permanency hearing whether DCF has made 
reasonable efforts to achieve a permanent 
living arrangement for the child; 

6. modifies the rights of foster parents to 
participate in permanency plan, placement,  
and commitment revocation proceedings; 

7. requires a court to hold an evidentiary hearing 
when any party in an abuse or neglect 
proceeding requests a ruling on whether efforts 
to reunify parents and children should 
continue, adds additional misconduct by the 
parent as grounds for terminating such efforts, 
and raises the level of proof to clear and 
convincing evidence; 

8. restores relative caregiver licensing 
requirements and exceptions mandated by PA 
01-70 but repealed as of October 1, 2001 by 
PA 01-159 (thus negating the latter act’s legal 
effect); 

9. requires DCF, on request, to provide copies of 
otherwise confidential records regarding a 
child or his parent to any party in an abuse or 
neglect or termination of parental rights 
proceeding when the child’s custody is at issue; 

10. permits DCF to use its photo-listing service to 
recruit adoptive parents for children whose 
court-approved permanency plan specifies the 
goal of adoption, but eliminates its statutory 
authority to conduct an adoption assessment 
and child-specific recruitment for these 
children (PA 01-02, June Special Session 
restores this authority, in effect leaving prior 
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law unchanged); 
11. requires the regulations implementing DCF’s 

child abuse registry to include an appeals 
process for people challenging their inclusion 
in the registry; 

12. requires DCF to notify, and provide its 
investigatory records to, state licensing or 
certification agencies whenever it determines 
that a licensed or certified school employee or 
staff member of a facility caring for children 
has abused a child; and 

13. requires probate court applications to commit 
children with mental illness to include the 
name, address, and phone number of the 
child’s attorney, if one has been appointed to 
represent him in an abuse or neglect 
proceeding. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
SHORTENED “TRIGGER” DATES FOR 
PLACEMENT HEARINGS 

 
Federal funding rules require state foster care 

agencies to get court review and approval of 
permanency plans within one year of a child’s first entry 
into the foster care system, and at least yearly thereafter.  
Under the act, DCF must file motions for review of 
permanency plans within nine months of taking custody 
under a voluntary placement agreement, emergency 
removal from the home, or court order, whichever is 
earliest.  The court must hold hearings within 90 days of 
the filing.  DCF must file subsequent motions within 
nine months of the plan approval hearing, and the court 
must hear these motions within 90 days.  The combined 
effect of these deadlines is to complete permanency plan 
reviews for all of these children at least every 12 
months. 

Under prior law, DCF made such filings only for 
abused and neglected children.  It had to file the first 
motion by the earlier of 10 months after a court finding 
of abuse or neglect or 12 months after removing a child 
from his home on an emergency basis.  Court hearings 
had to be held within 60 days.  Subsequent yearly 
review hearings were triggered by DCF filing motions 
10 months after every permanency hearing.  But the law 
exempted from yearly review cases in which (1) the 
court had approved a permanency plan for placement in 
long-term foster care with an identified person or 
independent living program or (2) DCF had filed a 
petition to terminate parental rights or a probate court 
motion to transfer guardianship.  The act shortens to 
nine months the trigger dates and eliminates the 
exceptions. 

 

PERMANENCY PLAN PRIORITIES AND 
CONTESTED HEARINGS 

 
Preferred Options 

 
As required by federal funding rules, the act 

establishes a preference for one of the following 
permanency goals already in the law: (1) revocation of 
commitment and placement with a parent or guardian, 
with or without protective supervision; (2) transfer of 
guardianship; (3) adoption; or (4) long-term foster care 
with a licensed or certified relative caregiver. 

By law, permanency goals can also include placing 
the child or youth in an independent living program and 
long-term foster care with an identified foster parent 
(not necessarily a relative).  Under the act, the court 
cannot approve these or any other “planned permanent 
living arrangements” unless DCF establishes a 
compelling reason why one of the preferred placements 
is not in the child’s best interest.  This is consistent with 
federal guidelines. 

The act makes the health and safety of an abused or 
neglected child the paramount concern in formulating a 
permanency plan, another federal requirement.  As 
under existing law, courts must approve plans that are in 
the child’s best interest and consider the child’s need for 
permanency. 
 
Participation of Children, Parents, and Foster Parents 

 
The act requires any party opposing the 

commissioner’s permanency plan or the maintenance or 
revocation of a DCF commitment to file a motion with 
the court within 30 days of DCF’s filing its motion for a 
permanency plan review hearing.  When the plan is 
contested, the court must allow parties to introduce 
evidence at the hearing.  The act specifies that DCF has 
the burden of proving that the child’s commitment 
should be maintained. 

The act eliminates “standing” of a child’s foster 
parents in matters concerning the child’s placement or 
revocation of commitment, and instead gives them the 
right to be heard.  It also eliminates the “standing” of 
recent foster parents to comment at abuse and neglect 
proceedings, including permanency hearings, on the 
best interests of a child who had been in their care for at 
least six months.  Instead, they have the right to be 
heard and to comment on the child’s best interests.  

 
COURT REUNIFICATION HEARINGS 

 
The act requires courts handling abuse and neglect 

cases to hold evidentiary hearings within 30 days of any 
party’s request for a ruling on whether DCF must 
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continue its efforts to reunify a child in its custody with 
a parent. 

The act also adds the following as parental actions 
(“aggravating factors”) that may serve as the basis for a 
judge’s decision that further reunification efforts are 
inappropriate:  

1. deliberately killing, attempting to kill, or 
seriously injuring another one of their children 
(previously, only such actions against the 
child’s siblings were covered) or 

2. voluntarily surrendering to emergency room 
nurses, within 30 days of birth, the child who is 
the subject of the reunification efforts. 

Other aggravating factors in existing law include 
parental abandonment, sexual molestation, or severe 
physical abuse of the child; involuntary termination of 
rights to another child; and some sexual assault 
convictions. 

The act requires proof of all aggravating factors by 
clear and convincing evidence.  

Under prior law, only DCF could initiate such 
proceedings. There was no evidentiary hearing 
requirement, heightened standard of proof, or time limit 
within which the court had to act.   
 
PHOTO-LISTING 

 
The act permits courts to order DCF to use its 

photo-listing service to recruit adoptive parents for 
children whose permanency plan includes the goal of 
adoption, even if they cannot yet be adopted.  
Previously, DCF had to wait until parental rights were 
terminated.  Under the act, the listing cannot occur until 
30 days after the court’s approval of the plan.  By law, 
the judge must determine that photo-listing is in the 
child’s best interest, and children over age 12 must 
consent.   

 
REGULATIONS 

 
The act requires DCF to add to its child abuse 

registry implementing regulations a process for hearing 
challenges to the information it contains. The agency’s 
regulations currently govern the use and operation of the 
registry but contain no procedure for handling claims 
that the agency incorrectly included a person in the 
registry. In practice, DCF holds administrative hearings 
to resolve these challenges. 

By law, violators of DCF’s abuse registry 
regulations must be fined up to $1,000 or imprisoned for 
up to one year.  
 
 
 

BACKGROUND 
 

Adoption and Safe Families Act (ASFA) 
 
ASFA (PL 105-89) amended Title IV-E of the 

Social Security Act, the primary federal funding source 
for state foster care and adoption assistance programs.  
It sets eligibility requirements that states must meet to 
qualify for federal matching funds.  It also mandates 
periodic federal review of each state’s success in 
arranging permanent placements for children in foster 
care, including by reunification with their parents, legal 
guardianship, or adoption.  Federal officials can assess 
penalties against or withhold funds from non-compliant 
states. 

 
Related Acts 

 
Beginning July 1, 2001, PA 01-70 (which PA 01-

159 repeals on October 1, 2001) permits children to 
remain in the care of certified relatives.  It also permits 
DCF to waive some foster-care licensing procedures or 
standards for other relatives on a case-by-case basis.  
PA 01-142, which also goes into effect on October 1, 
2001, has the same requirements as the repealed portion 
of PA 01-70, thus making PA 01-70’s provisions 
permanent. 

PA 01-2 (June Special Session) requires 
permanency planning for delinquent children and youths 
and serious juvenile offenders in DCF custody.  It also 
restores the agency’s statutory authority to conduct 
adoption assessments and recruit adoptive parents for 
abused, neglected, and voluntarily placed children when 
adoption is the permanency plan goal, which this act 
had eliminated. 
 
 
PA 01-147—sHB 6657 
Judiciary Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
 
AN ACT PROHIBITING EMPLOYMENT 
EXPLOITATION OF IMMIGRANT LABOR 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires the labor commissioner 
to produce printed material on the rights of immigrant 
laborers or those who lack proficiency in English.  The 
material must be in Spanish and French, and the 
commissioner can include other languages spoken by 
primary groups of immigrant laborers in the state.  The 
material must address rights under state law on state 
contracts (such as hours and wages in public works 
contracts), wages, and unemployment compensation.  
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The commissioner must provide the information to 
anyone who applies for unemployment compensation 
benefits or wants to enforce compliance with the wage 
and state contract laws.  He must make the information 
available to the public within available appropriations.  
He must prevent people from illegally taking advantage 
of immigrant and other laborers because of lack of 
information about their rights, their credulity, or their 
lack of proficiency in English. 

The act allows the commissioner to appoint special 
agents to inform non-English speaking laborers, rather 
than just alien laborers, of their contract rights under 
state law and to prohibit someone from illegally taking 
advantage of them because of their lack of proficiency 
in English.  The agents must be familiar with the 
language of these laborers.  By law, the commissioner 
can appoint these special agents as needed; they receive 
the same pay as other department agents. The act 
eliminates the $300 total annual limit on expenses for 
these special agents. 

The act makes anyone who violates any of the 
employment regulation laws on hours and employee 
protection liable to the Labor Department for a $300 
civil penalty for each violation.  By law, someone is 
liable for this penalty for violating the provisions on 
state contracts, wages, and certain types of fraud or 
deception of insurance companies under the Workers’ 
Compensation Act.  The amounts collected are credited 
to the department and can be used for enforcement.  The 
act allows the department to use the funds to enforce the 
act’s provisions on immigrant and non-English speaking 
laborers and the laws on hours and protection of 
employees. 

By law, employers are prohibited from discharging, 
penalizing, or discriminating against an employee 
because of claims, proceedings, testimony, or rights he 
exercised on behalf of himself or others under the 
unemployment compensation system.  An employee 
who is the target of this action can complain to the labor 
commissioner, who can, after a hearing, award 
appropriate relief, including an order for the employer 
to rehire or reinstate the employee and pay him back 
wages, benefits, and reasonable attorney’s fees and 
costs.  The act allows the commissioner to request the 
attorney general to bring an action in Superior Court for 
an injunction to require compliance with his award, 
decision, or judgment. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PA 01-148—sHB 6589 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING JUVENILE MATTERS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act: 

1. requires Superior Court judges to appoint 
guardians ad litem (people who represent a 
child’s best interests) in all abuse and neglect 
cases, rather than only those they deem 
appropriate; 

2. eliminates a requirement that the child’s 
attorney and guardian ad litem be different 
people, specifies criteria when separate 
representation is required, and directs courts to 
appoint as attorneys and guardians ad litem 
only people knowledgeable about abuse and 
neglect matters; 

3. gives the Department of Children and Families 
and parties adversely affected by a Superior 
Court’s final decision terminating parental 
rights, the right to an expedited Appellate 
Court hearing and directs that court to render a 
final decision as soon as practicable once it 
receives the certified trial record; and  

4. eliminates a requirement that the juvenile court 
serve a summons and copy of an emancipation 
petition on the person who filed it. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
ATTORNEYS AND GUARDIANS AD LITEM 

 
The act requires the attorney appointed to represent 

a child in a neglect proceeding to also act as the child’s 
guardian ad litem, in most cases.  It specifies that his 
primary role must be to advocate for the child's position 
in accordance with the Rules of Professional Conduct.  
(Among other things, the rules direct attorneys to abide 
by a client’s decisions concerning the objectives of 
representation.) The court must appoint a separate 
guardian ad litem when the child’s wishes conflict with 
what his attorney believes is in his best interests. This 
person need not be a lawyer. 

If the court appoints a separate guardian ad litem, 
the person previously serving in both capacities can 
continue to serve as attorney, unless the court for good 
cause appoints another person to do so.  But he cannot 
serve solely as the guardian ad litem.   

By law, the court must pay the attorney’s and 
guardian’s fees if the family cannot afford them. 
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EMANCIPATION PETITION SERVICE 
 
Any 16- or 17-year-old living in Connecticut or his 

parent or guardian may petition either the juvenile or 
probate court for emancipation (i.e., an order giving the 
child the legal rights of an adult and relieving his 
parents or guardian of their obligations to support and 
supervise him).  Under prior law, courts had to serve a 
copy of the petition and a summons or notice to appear 
on both the affected child and his parents or guardian.  
Under the act, the juvenile court need not serve the 
person who filed the court petition. 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
Adoption and Safe Families Act of 1997 

 
Among other things, the federal Adoption and Safe 

Families Act requires states to appoint guardians ad 
litem to make court recommendations about a child’s 
best interests in all abuse and neglect cases (42 USC § 
5106a(b)(2)(A)(ix)).  The federal Administration on 
Children and Families may reduce federal funding or 
take other measures against states that fail to do so. 
 
 
PA 01-149—HB 5843 
Judiciary Committee 
Human Services Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING INTERVENTION BY 
SIBLINGS IN COURT AND HEARINGS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires juvenile court judges to 
hold hearings when brothers or sisters of an abused or 
neglected child in the Department of Children and 
Families’ (DCF) custody ask (file a motion) to be heard 
concerning visitation with, or placement of, that child.   
It directs judges to consider the best interests of all 
siblings affected by the determination when awarding 
visitation or modifying DCF placements.  

The act also requires DCF to grant a sibling’s 
motion to be heard on visitation and placement issues at 
administrative treatment plan hearings.  In practice, 
DCF makes most visitation and placement decisions at 
these hearings.  Under prior law, hearing officers had 
discretion to grant or deny such requests. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PA 01-151—sSB 1161 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE DEATH PENALTY 
 
SUMMARY:  This act: 

1. adds as an aggravating factor that the jury or 
judge considers when deciding whether to 
sentence a person to the death penalty or life 
imprisonment without release, that the 
defendant murdered a law enforcement officer 
or certain other people in certain 
circumstances; 

2. prohibits imposing a death sentence on a 
defendant with mental retardation; 

3. creates a Commission on the Death Penalty to 
study the imposition of the death penalty in 
Connecticut; and 

4. changes the scope of the capital felony statute 
by (a) including murder of a conservation or 
special conservation officer appointed by the 
environmental protection commissioner who 
was acting within the scope of his duties and 
(b) eliminating the illegal sale of cocaine, 
heroin, or methadone for financial gain to a 
person who dies as a direct result of using the 
drug. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
AGGRAVATING FACTORS 

 
By law, after a person is convicted of a capital 

felony, the judge or jury considering whether the court 
should impose the death penalty must determine, and 
state in a special verdict, whether aggravating factors 
outweigh mitigating factors. If the mitigating factors 
outweigh the aggravating factors or are of equal weight, 
the court must sentence the defendant to life 
imprisonment without the possibility of release.  If the 
aggravating factors outweigh mitigating factors, the 
sentence is death.  

Under prior law, the only aggravating factors that 
the judge or jury could consider were that the defendant: 

1. committed the offense while committing or 
attempting to commit a felony, or while fleeing 
from the actual or attempted commission of a 
felony, and had previously been convicted of 
the same felony; 

2. had been convicted of at least two prior state or 
federal offenses committed on different 
occasions, each of which involved serious 
bodily injury and had a maximum penalty of at 
least one year imprisonment; 

3. committed the offense knowingly creating a 
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grave risk of death to another person in 
addition to the victim; 

4. committed the offense in an especially heinous, 
cruel, or depraved manner; 

5. procured someone else to commit the offense 
by paying or promising to pay anything of 
monetary value; 

6. committed the offense in return for payment or 
the expectation of payment; or 

7. committed the offense with an assault weapon. 
The act adds as an aggravating factor that the 

defendant murdered one of the following people while 
they were acting within the scope of their duties:  a 
police officer, inspector of the Division of Criminal 
Justice, state marshal exercising his statutory authority, 
judicial marshal performing his duties, constable 
performing law enforcement duties, special policeman, 
conservation or special conservation officer appointed 
by the environmental protection commissioner, 
Department of Correction (DOC) employee or person 
providing services on behalf of DOC when acting 
within the scope of his employment in a correctional 
facility and when the perpetrator is confined to the 
facility, or firefighter.  In addition, for it to be an 
aggravating factor to kill one of these people, the 
defendant must commit the murder to (1) avoid arrest 
for, or prevent detection of, a criminal act; (2) hamper 
or prevent the victim from carrying out an act within the 
scope of his official duties; or (3) retaliate against the 
victim for performing his official duties. 

 
DEATH SENTENCE FOR A PERSON WITH 
MENTAL RETARDATION 

 
The act prohibits imposing a death sentence on a 

defendant if the jury or court (if there is no jury) finds in 
a special verdict that the defendant was mentally 
retarded at the time of the offense. It defines "mental 
retardation" as a significantly sub-average general 
intellectual functioning existing concurrently with 
deficits in adaptive behavior and manifested during the 
developmental period.  "General intellectual 
functioning" means the results obtained by assessment 
with one or more of the standardized individually 
administered general intelligence tests developed for 
that purpose and administered by someone formally 
trained in test administration.  "Significantly sub-
average" is an intelligence quotient more than two 
standard deviations below the mean for the test.  
"Adaptive behavior" is the effectiveness or degree to 
which an individual meets the standards of personal 
independence and social responsibility expected for his 
age and cultural group.  "Developmental period" is the 
time between birth and the 18th birthday. 

COMMISSION ON THE DEATH PENALTY 
 

Members 
 
The act creates a nine-member Commission on the 

Death Penalty.  It consists of two members appointed by 
the governor and one member each appointed by the: 

1. chief justice, 
2. Senate president pro tempore, 
3. House speaker, 
4. Senate and House majority leaders, and 
5. Senate and House minority leaders. 
Vacancies are filled by the person who made the 

original appointment.  The governor appoints a 
chairman from the members. 

 
Study 

 
The act requires the commission to examine: 
1. whether the administration of the death penalty 

in Connecticut meets constitutional principles 
and requirements of fairness, justice, equality, 
and due process; 

2. the costs to the state of imposing a death 
sentence and life imprisonment without the 
possibility of release and a comparison of their 
costs; 

3. whether there is a disparity in the decision to 
charge, prosecute, and sentence someone for a 
capital felony based on the (a) defendant’s or 
victim’s race, ethnicity, gender, religion, sexual 
orientation, age, or socioeconomic status or (b) 
judicial district where the offense occurred; 

4. the training and experience of prosecutors and 
defense counsel in capital cases at trial, 
appellate, and post-conviction levels; 

5. the process for appellate and post-conviction 
review of death sentences; 

6. the delay in appellate and post-conviction 
review of death sentences, the delay between 
imposing and executing a death sentence, and 
the reasons for these delays; 

7. procedures for granting a reprieve, stay of 
execution, or commutation of the death 
penalty; 

8. the extent to which the governor is authorized 
to grant a reprieve or stay of execution of the 
death penalty and whether he should be given 
that power; 

9. safeguards in place or that should be in place to 
ensure that innocent people are not executed; 

10. the extent that victim impact statements 
(statements prepared by a victim advocate for 
the court files that can be read in court before 
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imposing a sentence) affect the sentence 
imposed on a defendant convicted of a capital 
felony; 

11. any studies by other states and the federal 
government on administering the death 
penalty; and 

12. emotional and financial effects that delay 
between imposing a death sentence and 
carrying out the execution have on the family 
of a murder victim. 

The commission must also make recommendations 
on financial resources needed by the Judicial Branch, 
Division of Criminal Justice, Division of Public 
Defender Services, Department of Correction, and 
Board of Pardons to ensure that there are no 
unnecessary delays in prosecuting, defending, and 
appealing capital cases. 

The commission must report its findings and 
recommendations, including any recommendations for 
legislation and appropriations, to the General Assembly 
by January 8, 2003. 

 
CAPITAL FELONY 

 
A person convicted of a capital felony can be 

sentenced to the death penalty or life imprisonment 
without the possibility of release.  The act changes the 
scope of the capital felony statute by (1) including 
murder of a conservation or special conservation officer 
appointed by the environmental protection 
commissioner while the victim was acting within the 
scope of his duties and (2) eliminating the illegal sale of 
cocaine, heroin, or methadone for financial gain to a 
person who dies as a direct result of using the drug. 

As under prior law, it is also a capital felony if a 
person: 

1. murders, while the victim was acting within the 
scope of his duties, a police officer, inspector 
of the Division of Criminal Justice, state 
marshal exercising his statutory authority, 
judicial marshal performing his duties, 
constable performing law enforcement duties, 
special policeman, DOC employee or person 
providing services on behalf of DOC when 
acting within the scope of his employment in a 
correctional facility and when the perpetrator is 
confined to the facility, or firefighter; 

2. murders for pay or hires someone to murder; 
3. murders and was previously convicted of 

intentional murder or murder while a felony 
was committed; 

4. murders while sentenced to life imprisonment; 
5. murders a kidnapped person and is the 

kidnapper; 

6. murders while committing first-degree sexual 
assault; 

7. murders two or more people at the same time 
or in the course of a single transaction; or 

8. murders a person under age 16. 
 

BACKGROUND 
 

Prohibitions on Imposing a Death Sentence 
 
By law, a defendant cannot receive the death 

penalty if: 
1. he was under age 18 at the time of the crime; 
2. his mental capacity or ability to conform his 

conduct to the requirements of law was 
significantly impaired at the time of the crime 
(but not so impaired as to constitute a defense); 

3. he was guilty of a capital felony only as an 
accessory and had relatively minor 
participation; or 

4. he could not reasonably have foreseen that his 
conduct, in the course of committing the crime 
he was convicted of, would cause or create a 
grave risk of causing someone's death. 

 
 
PA 01-152—HB 5850 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING PEREMPTORY 
CHALLENGES IN A CIVIL ACTION 
 
SUMMARY:  This act precludes judges presiding over 
civil jury selections from assigning one side more than 
twice the total number of peremptory challenges they 
give the other side.  Parties use these challenges to 
excuse potential jurors without having to give a reason. 

Previously, each party (not each side) could 
peremptorily challenge three potential jurors.  When a 
trial was likely to last a long time, the court could direct 
that two or more alternate jurors be added to the jury.  
In such a case, each party could peremptorily challenge 
four potential jurors.   

By law, when several plaintiffs or defendants have 
substantially similar interests, known as “unity of 
interest,” the court may treat them as a single party and 
limit them to a total of three peremptory challenges, or 
four if alternates are also selected.  The act directs 
judges to find that parties represented by the same 
attorney or law firm have a unity of interest.  It also 
establishes a presumption that there is a unity of interest 
among parties who have not filed cross claims or 
reapportionment complaints (i.e., have not claimed that 
their potential liability should be reduced because of 
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other parties’ legal responsibilities).   
Judges assigned to unity of interest cases may 

permit additional peremptory challenges and specify 
whether they must be exercised individually or jointly.  
They retain this authority under the act, but must ensure 
that they assign neither side more than twice the number 
of challenges they assign the other. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 

 
NUMBER OF PEREMPTORY CHALLENGES 

 
The act has no effect on the number of challenges 

in a case where no unity of interest exists among the 
parties and the number of defendants and plaintiffs is 
the same.  But, for example, in a case with one plaintiff 
and five defendants, none of whom have a unity of 
interest, the act appears to require the court to assign the 
defendants no more than six peremptory challenges 
(twice the plaintiff’s three challenges).  Under prior law, 
each defendant would be entitled to three challenges, for 
a total of 15.  

The reverse would be true in a case with five 
plaintiffs suing a single defendant. 
 
 
PA 01-159—sHB 6967 
Judiciary Committee 
Human Services Committee 
Public Safety Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING ADOPTION OF 
CHILDREN IN STATE FOSTER CARE 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires more frequent tracking 
of children who may be adopted.  It requires those 
having custody of a child who is free for adoption 
(usually the Department of Children and Families 
(DCF)) to file court reports every three, rather than 
every six, months.  The act permits courts to hold 
hearings whenever a report is filed.  It also requires 
them to hold permanency plan hearings within one year 
of one another, rather than one year after parental rights 
have been terminated, if this results in an earlier hearing 
date. 

The act directs DCF’s photo-listing service to check 
every three months, rather than twice a year, on the 
progress toward adoption of photo-listed and registered 
children. 

By law, DCF may place abused and neglected 
children in the homes of certified relative caregivers 
under some conditions, and may waive some foster care 
licensing standards and procedures under others. The act 
requires all relative caregivers to be licensed as foster 

parents.  (But PA 01-142, which like this act goes into 
effect on October 1, 2001, repeals this.)  It also specifies 
procedures for criminal background and child abuse 
registry checks for foster care license holders and 
applicants and post-adoption services that DCF may 
offer.   

Finally, the act adds reducing the time between 
termination of parental rights and adoption as a reason 
for concurrent permanency planning.  Concurrent 
planning requires DCF to develop permanent placement 
alternatives when it is still possible, but appears 
unlikely, that the child and parent will reunify. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
CASE PLAN REPORTS AND COURT HEARINGS 

 
By law, when a Superior Court terminates the 

parental rights of a child, DCF or the child’s appointed 
guardian must report to the court within 30 days with a 
case plan setting measurable objectives and time 
schedules for finalizing adoption.  The act imposes the 
same 30-day deadline on case plan filings in probate 
court.  (The previous deadline was 90 days.)  It reduces, 
from every six to every three months, the deadline for 
filing subsequent progress reports in both courts. It 
permits the juvenile or probate court that terminated 
parental rights to hold a hearing whenever a report is 
filed.  It maintains the requirement that the Superior 
Court review plans yearly, but specifies that, if holding 
a hearing within one year of the most recent 
permanency plan hearing would result in an earlier 
hearing date, that event must trigger the annual review.  
The act extends the same rule to probate court reviews, 
which were on a 15-month initial review cycle.  

 
It also requires the courts to determine at these 

hearings whether DCF has made reasonable efforts to 
achieve the child’s permanency plan. 
 
PHOTO-LISTING UPDATES 

 
The act requires DCF’s photo-listing service to 

check every three months, rather than twice yearly, the 
status and progress toward adoption of listed children 
about whom it has received inquiries from potential 
adoptive parents. It also requires it to check periodically 
on the progress of children registered as being free for 
adoption but not photo-listed because they had been 
placed in a pre-adoptive home at the time of 
registration.  The service must already do this for 
children not photo-listed because of an adoptive 
placement. 
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ELIMINATING CERTIFICATION OF RELATIVE 
CAREGIVERS 

 
The act eliminates DCF’s authority to place abused 

and neglected children with unlicensed relatives, instead 
requiring them to have foster parent licenses.  Licensing 
is required for the state to claim federal funding. Before 
July 1, 2001, DCF could place children with relatives 
for short periods, and had to certify them if they were to 
care for children for more than 45 days (PA 01-70 
lengthens this period to 90 days). Among other things, 
certified relatives are not required to complete the 
training and evaluation program required of foster 
parent license applicants and their housing arrangements 
are not subject to all of the standards that are imposed 
on foster parents. 
 
BACKGROUND CHECKS 

 
By regulation, DCF will not place foster children 

with a person who has been convicted of, or lives in a 
household with, a person who has been convicted of (1) 
any felony against a person; (2) injury, risk of injury, or 
impairing the morals of a minor; or (3) possession, use, 
or sale of any controlled substance. 

The act specifies that if DCF conducts a criminal 
history records check, it must arrange for fingerprinting 
or conduct any other type of positive identification 
required by the State Police Bureau of Identification or 
the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). 

The fingerprints and other positive identifying 
information must be forwarded to the State Police 
Bureau of Identification, which must conduct a state 
criminal history records check and submit the 
fingerprints or other identifying information to the FBI 
for a national criminal history records check.  DCF must 
also determine whether the applicant or licensee’s name 
appears on the state child abuse registry. 

By law, foster parent license applicants must 
submit to criminal background checks.  DCF also 
requires this of all adults (age 18 or older) living with 
them. 

 
POST-ADOPTION SERVICES 

 
The act specifies that post-adoption counseling and 

referral services for adoptees and adoptive families for 
whom DCF provided services before the adoption 
include (1) assigning a mentor to a family, (2) training 
after licensing, (3) support groups, (4) behavioral 
management counseling, (5) therapeutic respite care, (6) 
referrals to community providers, (7) a telephone help 
line, and (8) training for public and private mental 
health professionals in post-adoption issues. 

BACKGROUND 
 

Federal Laws 
 

Adoption and Safe Families Act (ASFA). ASFA (PL  
105-89) amended Title IV-E of the Social Security Act, 
the primary federal funding source for state foster care 
and adoption assistance programs.  It sets eligibility 
requirements that states must meet to qualify for federal 
matching funds.  It also mandates periodic federal 
review of each state’s success in arranging permanent 
placements for children in foster care, including by 
reunification with their parents, legal guardianship, or 
adoption.  Federal officials can assess penalties against 
,or withhold funds from, non-compliant states. 

PL 92-544.  Under this law, the FBI can comply 
with a state’s request for national criminal records 
checks only if the state law:  

1. authorizes it, 
2. requires fingerprinting of the applicant, 
3. expressly or by implication authorizes use of 

FBI records for screening the applicant, 
4. is not against public policy, and 
5. specifically identifies the category of 

applicants or licensees for which FBI checks 
are authorized. 

 
Related Acts 

 
Beginning July 1, 2001, PA 01-70 (which this act 

repeals on October 1, 2001) permits children to remain 
in the care of certified relatives.  It also permits DCF to 
waive some foster-care licensing procedures or 
standards for other relatives on a case-by-case basis. 

PA 01-142 restores the repealed provisions of PA 
01-70 effective October 1, 2001, in effect making PA 
01-70’s relative caregiver provisions permanent. 

PA 01-175 creates a uniform criminal records 
check procedure and mandates its use when any state 
statute requires such checks. 
 
 
PA 01-167—sHB 6895 
Judiciary Committee 
Legislative Management Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING DECISIONS OF THE 
CLAIMS COMMISSIONER 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires the claims 
commissioner to report to the General Assembly within 
five days after it convenes the 2002 regular session, on 
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all claims he has not disposed of within three years after 
they were filed with him.  The requirement does not 
apply to claims where the parties have agreed to an 
extension of time. 

The act requires the commissioner to report to the 
General Assembly within five days after it convenes the 
2003 regular session, and each regular session 
thereafter, on all claims that he has not disposed of 
within two years after they were filed with him.  This 
requirement does not apply to claims where the parties 
have agreed to, or the General Assembly has granted, an 
extension. The commissioner must notify all people 
whose claims are included in these reports that the 
General Assembly will consider them at its next regular 
session. 

The act authorizes the General Assembly to take 
the following actions regarding any claim included in a 
report: (1) grant the commissioner an extension of time, 
(2) grant or deny an award, or (3) permit the claimant to 
sue the state. 

The act gives claims by (1) people over age 64 or 
who reach age 65 while their claim is pending, (2) 
executors and administrators of decedents’ estates, and 
(3) terminally ill people priority for assignment for 
hearing before the commissioner. “Terminally ill” 
means the final stage of an incurable or irreversible 
medical condition which will result in death within a 
relatively short time, in the opinion of the attending 
physician. 

The act requires the commissioner to notify a 
claimant that he is submitting his claim to the General 
Assembly and that the General Assembly will accept, 
alter, or reject the commissioner's recommendation. 

The act makes evidence that the claims 
commissioner or General Assembly authorized the 
claimant to sue inadmissible in the lawsuit as evidence 
of the state's liability. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
Claims Commission Law 

 
The law requires those who seek permission to sue 

the state to go to the claims commissioner unless their 
case falls within the following exceptions: (1) claims for 
the periodic payment of disability, pensions, retirement, 
or other employment benefits; (2) claims that the law 
allows to go directly to court; (3) claims for which an 
administrative hearing procedure is established by law; 
(4) requests by political subdivisions for the payments 
of grants in lieu of taxes; and (5) claims for tax refunds. 

The commissioner can approve the immediate 
payment of “just claims” up to $7,500.  “Just claims” are 

those that in equity and justice the state should pay, as 
long as it caused the damage or injury or received a 
benefit.  The commissioner must report to the General 
Assembly on all such claims. 

Anyone who filed a claim for more than $7,500 but is 
awarded $7,500 or less and wishes to protest the award, 
can waive immediate payment and have his claim 
submitted directly to the General Assembly.  He must file 
this waiver with the commissioner within 10 days after he 
receives a copy of the order approving immediate 
payment.  These claims are then handled like claims over 
$7,500. 
 
Claims in Excess of $7,500 
 

If he recommends paying or rejecting claims over 
$7,500, the commissioner must submit the 
recommendation to the General Assembly within five 
days after it convenes or at such other times as the Senate 
president pro tempore and House speaker desire.  He must 
include a copy of his findings and the hearing record of 
each claim he reports.  The General Assembly may accept 
or alter the recommendation or reject it and grant or deny 
the claimant permission to sue the state. 
 
Authorizations of Lawsuits Against the State 
 

The General Assembly or the commissioner can 
authorize a claimant to sue the state when they deem it just 
and equitable and when the claim, in their opinion, 
presents an issue of law or fact under which the state, were 
it a private person, could be liable.  In such situations, the 
state waives its immunity from liability and all defenses 
that might arise from the governmental nature of the 
activity complained of.  The state’s rights and liability in 
these lawsuits are the same as those of private persons in 
similar circumstances. 

The lawsuit must be filed within one year after it was 
authorized.  It must be tried to the court without a jury. 
 
 
PA 01-186—sSB 1058 
Judiciary Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING COURT OPERATIONS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act makes numerous changes to 
various laws dealing with Superior Court operations. 
Specifically, it: 

1. authorizes the court, when deciding child 
custody or visitation issues, to order either or 
both parents and the child to participate in 
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counseling and drug or alcohol screening if it is 
in the child's best interest; 

2. increases, from $15,000 to $100,000, the 
maximum amount the comptroller can pay 
without a referee’s approval to a landowner 
whose property the transportation 
commissioner has taken by eminent domain for 
state highway purposes (PA 01-105 makes the 
same change); 

3. gives Judicial Department contractors and 
authorized agents access to the department’s 
records (employees already have this access), 
authorizes department employees, contractors, 
and agents to disclose information contained in 
these records to the extent necessary to perform 
their duties; and specifies that this access and 
authority include erased records; 

4. establishes time frames for law enforcement 
authorities to comply with court orders to 
return seized property to owners or to 
otherwise dispose of it and gives them more 
time to file papers with the court indicating that 
they have complied; 

5. requires that a bail bond be automatically 
terminated and released when (a) a criminal 
defendant is admitted to the pretrial school 
violence program or (b) the court suspends the 
prosecution of someone in any case involving 
handgun transfers to prohibited people or a 
violation of the transfer procedures, if it finds 
the violation is not serious, the accused will 
probably not offend again, and he has not 
previously violated the law; 

6. gives an additional $1,000 a year to each 
Superior Court judge who is designated a chief 
administrative judge for administrative appeals, 
the judicial marshal service, or judge trial 
referees; 

7. increases the mileage fees in criminal cases for 
material witnesses ordered by a court to attend 
and testify from 10 cents a mile to the amount 
established by the administrative services 
commissioner with the Office of Policy and 
Management secretary’s approval (currently 
34.5 cents per mile); 

8. allows judge trial referees, instead of requiring 
trial referees, in an appeal by the owner to the 
Superior Court, to review the amount offered 
by a redevelopment agency or other agencies 
that want to obtain property by eminent domain 
and requires that the owner, instead of the 
court, notify the redevelopment agency of the 
appeal; 

 

9. authorizes the judgment creditor in a small 
claims case, instead of the court clerk, to send 
interrogatories to the appropriate people or 
institutions (A judgment creditor is someone 
owed money under a judgment entered in his 
favor. Interrogatories are used to locate money 
or other assets to satisfy the judgment.); 

10. allows, instead of requires, the court to appoint 
a judge trial referee to reassess damages or 
benefits when property owners go to court to 
challenge the Department of Transportation 
(DOT) commissioner's assessment of special 
damages or special benefits for taking property 
by eminent domain; 

11. adds additional requirements concerning the 
disclosure of a child's address in proceedings 
under the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction 
Act; 

12.  prohibits a public agency from disclosing, 
under the Freedom of Information Act, the 
residential address of a Public Defender 
Services Division social worker or Judicial 
Branch employee; 

13. applies the rules on forfeiting bail bonds with 
surety to bonds posted by someone other than a 
bail bondsman;   

14. shortens the time period tenants have to deposit 
with the court clerk an amount equal to the last 
agreed upon rent in court proceedings alleging 
the landlord has not performed his statutory 
duties; and 

15. specifies that in connection with prepared 
agreements from the resale of an nonprofit 
hospital to a for-profit entity, it is the Superior 
Court for the judicial district where the hospital 
is located that selects the parties who are to 
receive the fair market value of the hospitals 
assets. 

Finally, the act makes technical changes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 

 
COMPTROLLER PAYMENT 

 
By law, a land owner may file with the court clerk a 

written acceptance of the assessment of damage and 
benefits established by the DOT when it takes his 
property by eminent domain.  The clerk must then 
notify the comptroller and commissioner of the 
acceptance. 

The act allows the comptroller, when the amount to 
be paid the landowner, minus any benefits to him, is less 
than $100,000 instead of less than $15,000, to pay the 
landowner without a referee’s approval that the amount 
is reasonable. 
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RETURN OF SEIZED PROPERTY  
 

The act gives law enforcement personnel and 
agencies 90 days to comply with a court order to return 
seized property to the owner or otherwise dispose of it 
before they are in criminal contempt of court.  Prior law 
required courts to give them six months to return 
property but did not specify a time frame for complying 
with an order to otherwise dispose of it.  By law, the 
penalty for a violation is a fine of up to $100.  The act 
also gives them 72 hours from the time the property is 
returned or otherwise disposed of pursuant to a court 
order to file a “return of compliance” form with the 
court indicating the property was returned or disposed 
of.  Prior law required that the form be filed when the 
official complied with the order. 
 
DISCLOSURE OF CHILD'S ADDRESS  
 

By law, if a party in a proceeding under the 
Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Act alleges that the 
health, safety, or liberty of a parent or child would be 
jeopardized by disclosing the child's address, the 
address must not be disclosed to the other party or the 
public unless the court determines that disclosure is in 
the interest of justice.   

The act requires that the allegation be stated under 
oath.  It also requires that the allegation (1) provide 
obvious notice to the court clerk that the allegation is 
being made; (2) not contain location information that 
poses the risk unless the court orders it; (3) identify in 
writing, documents previously filed with the court that 
contain location information that poses the risk; and (4) 
provide the clerk with a mailing address that may be 
disclosed to the public if the party making the allegation 
does not have a lawyer when the allegation is made.  
Except as otherwise provided by court rule, "obvious 
notice" means notice as provided on a form prescribed 
by the Office of the Chief Court Administrator or a 
notice to the court clerk that appears in the bottom 
margin of the filed document's first page. 
 
FORFEITING BAIL BOND  
 

The act applies the rules on forfeiting bail bonds 
with surety to bonds posted by someone other than a 
bail bondsman who (1) deposits money equal to the 
bond or (2) pledges real property with equity equal to 
the bond.  

Under the act, when the court orders such bonds 
forfeited because an accused person failed to appear in 
court, the court must: 

1. issue a rearrest warrant or capias (an order to 
take someone into custody) for the accused, 

2. give written notice that the accused failed to 
appear to the person who gave cash bail or 
pledged real estate, and 

3. stay forfeiture of the bond for six months. 
Under the act, if the accused returns to custody 

within six months of the forfeiture order (1) the bond is 
automatically terminated, (2) the person who gave cash 
or pledged real estate is released from his obligation, 
and (3) the court can order new conditions of release for 
the accused as provided by law. 

The act gives the court discretion to vacate the 
forfeiture of the bond if the accused voluntarily returns 
to court within five days of the court’s forfeiture order 
and the court finds that the failure to appear was not 
willful.  A stay of execution of forfeiture does not 
prevent issuing a rearrest warrant or capias. 

 
TENANT DEPOSITS OF LAST AGREED UPON 
RENT  

 
By law, any tenant who claims his landlord has not 

performed his statutory duties may file a complaint in 
Superior Court to seek relief.  The act requires that the 
tenant deposit an amount equal to the last agreed-upon 
rent with the court clerk wi thin nine instead of 10 days 
after the rent is due.  In the case of a week-to-week 
tenancy, the act requires it to be deposited within four 
instead of 10 days after the rent is due. 

 
RESALE OF NON-PROFIT HOSPITALS  

 
By law, the attorney general can disapprove a 

proposed agreement for the resale of a nonprofit 
hospital to a for-profit entity as not in the public interest 
if he determines that one or more conditions exist.  The 
act specifies that, in connection with one of those 
conditions, it is the Superior Court for the judicial 
district where the nonprofit hospital is located that 
selects the person or people to receive an amount equal 
to the fair market value of the hospital’s assets. 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Erased Records 

 
Police, court, and prosecutorial records must be 

erased when (1) a criminal case is dismissed or nolled, 
(2) a defendant is acquitted or granted an absolute 
pardon, or (3) the crime for which he was convicted is 
decriminalized.  Juvenile delinquency records and 
records of children who are members of families with 
service needs must be erased after (1) the child is 
discharged from Superior Court’s supervision or the 
Department of Children and Families’ custody; (2) two 
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to four years, depending on the seriousness of the case, 
have passed and no other juvenile proceedings have 
been instituted against the child; and (3) the child is at 
least 16 years old. 

Erased records may not be disclosed, except under 
limited circumstances, but they are generally not 
physically destroyed unless the defendant requests it.  
Records erased due to decriminalization of a crime must 
be destroyed automatically. 

The law allows erased records to be disclosed to 
crime victims or their representatives if they make a 
written request to the court indicating that they have 
filed or intend to file a lawsuit as a result of the crime.  
The court may only grant requests received within one 
year after the date of the disposition of the criminal 
case. 
 
 
PA 01-188—sSB 1316 
Judiciary Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE FILING OF 
DOCUMENTS BY LIMITED LIABILITY 
COMPANIES WITH THE SECRETARY OF THE 
STATE 
 
SUMMARY: Under prior law, limited liability 
company (LLC) organizers had to file with the secretary 
of the state the original signed copy of any document, 
including their articles of organization, required by law 
to be filed with her.  In lieu of the original, this act 
permits the secretary of the state to allow LLC 
organizers to (1) file and sign these documents 
electronically or (2) file copies of them. The secretary 
must be able to retain, retrieve, and reproduce any 
documents filed electronically. She must have good 
cause for allowing copies in lieu of original documents.  
Under the act, the copies have the same force and effect 
as the original documents. 

The act also requires domestic and foreign LLC 
organizers to file the name and residential and business 
addresses of a company member or manager with the 
secretary of the state.  Domestic LLCs must file the 
name and addresses at the time of formation and in each 
annual report.  Foreign LLCs must file them when they 
register to transact business in the state. 

The secretary may, for good cause, accept just a 
business address.  Good cause includes a showing that 
public disclosure of the residential address could expose 
the manager or member to a significant personal 
security risk.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 

PA 01-195—sSB 1046 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE REVISOR'S 
CORRECTIONS TO THE GENERAL STATUTES 
AND CERTAIN PUBLIC ACTS 
 
SUMMARY: This act makes various changes to 
conform to the constitutional amendment and 
conforming legislation eliminating sheriffs, deputy 
sheriffs, and special deputy sheriffs.   

It makes municipal officers liable for the penalty 
for illegally discharging gasoline either willfully or with 
criminal negligence.  The penalty is up to $50,000 per 
day for each violation, up to three years in prison, or 
both, and for subsequent convictions up to $100,000 per 
day for each violation, up to 10 years in prison, or both.  
The act eliminates liability for municipalities for this 
penalty.  By law, municipalities are still liable for a civil 
penalty for violating the water pollution control laws.  
The penalty is up to $25,000 for each violation.  These 
changes conform to changes made to similar penalties 
for violating water pollution laws and certain other 
environmental protection provisions in PA 00-19. 

Under PA 01-46, home heating oil dealers offering 
plumbing and heating work must employ only 
individuals or subcontractors licensed by the 
Department of Consumer Protection to perform this 
work and must display license numbers on commercial 
vehicles, advertisements, and business documents.  This 
act requires the license number of subcontractors and 
employees, rather than subcontractors and employers, to 
be consistent with the other provisions of PA 01-46. 

PA 01-174 requires doctors, nurses, and other 
licensed health care professionals to have a current 
Connecticut license or act under the authority of a 
practitioner or doctor who does so in order to make 
certain final utilization review decisions or review those 
decisions and uphold them.  This act excludes claims 
under the workers’ compensation act from these 
provisions. 

The act also makes technical changes to the statutes 
and three public acts (PA 01-43, PA 01-96, PA 01-87).  
It also repeals a few obsolete statutes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage, except that 
technical changes to PA 01-87 are effective on October 
1, 2001. 
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PA 01-196—sHB 6536 
Judiciary Committee 
Banks Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING EXECUTION UPON 
FUNDS IN BANK ACCOUNTS WHICH ARE 
EXEMPT FROM EXECUTION 
 
SUMMARY:  By law, a creditor may obtain a court-
ordered judgment against someone who owes him 
money (debtor).  The creditor may execute or serve an 
order on any banking institution (banks, savings and 
loans, and credit unions, hereafter “bank”) where the 
debtor has an account. Unless the debtor claims that 
money in the account is exempt from execution, the 
bank must release funds, up to the amount of the 
judgment, to the creditor. 

This act requires banks served with these orders to 
(1) leave $800 in the debtor’s account (or the entire 
account balance if less than $800) if they recently 
received by electronic direct deposit “readily 
identifiable” exempt federal veterans’ or Social Security 
benefits and (2) give the debtor access to the money.  
Banks can depart from this requirement if directed by 
any other law or court order, and creditors can obtain 
court hearings if they reasonably believe that 
nonexempt funds have been withheld. 

The act specifies that the requirement that banks 
leave this minimum amount in these accounts does not 
alter (1) the exempt status of funds that federal or state 
laws exempt from execution, (2) the account holder’s 
right to claim exemptions, or (3) the bank’s other rights 
or obligations with respect to the funds in these 
accounts.  It permits a bank to notify the creditor that 
funds remain in the debtor’s account as a result of the 
act’s requirements and makes this notice prima facie 
evidence at court hearings that the funds are exempt. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  January 1, 2002 
 
BANK LIABILITY TO CREDITORS AND 
ACCOUNT HOLDERS 

 
When a creditor serves an order on the debtor’s 

bank, the act requires the bank to ignore $800 in the 
debtor’s account (or the entire account balance if less 
than $800) if a readily identifiable exempt federal 
benefit was directly deposited electronically within the 
past 30 days.  It makes banks that exclude this money in 
good faith or do so by mistake, exempt from liability to 
creditors for doing so.  Under prior law, banks that 
failed or refused to release nonexempt funds to creditors 
became liable to them for the full amount withheld.  

The act requires a bank to refund or waive all of its 
charges or fees, including dishonored check fees, 

overdraft fees or minimum balance service charges, and 
legal process fees for account holders from whose 
accounts it improperly paid exempt money to a creditor.  
Prior law limited a bank’s liability to account holders to 
the amount improperly paid out. 

The act also appears to expand banks’ immunity in 
execution matters by immunizing them from liability for 
bona fide errors that occur despite their having 
reasonable procedures to prevent them.  Under prior 
law, only their good faith actions or omissions were 
immunized. 

 
EX PARTE COURT PROCEDURES AND COURT 
HEARINGS 

 
Under the act, creditors can ask courts, on an ex 

parte basis (without giving advance notice to the debtor 
or the bank) to schedule hearings when they reasonably 
believe that any of the funds a bank withheld pursuant 
to the act are not exempt.  A creditor must present a 
sworn affidavit to a Superior Court judge specifically 
describing the factual basis for its belief.  If the judge 
finds that the creditor’s belief is reasonable, he must 
authorize the creditor to submit a written application for 
a hearing.  The court clerk must schedule the hearing 
and give written notice to both the creditor and debtor.  
The creditor must also promptly send the debtor a copy 
of its application and supporting affidavit. 

At the hearing, the creditor must prove the amount 
of funds in an account that are not exempt. 

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Bank and Creditor Obligations 

 
By law, creditors cannot attach or seize exempt 

funds to satisfy a court judgment.  But they may apply 
to a court clerk for an order directing a bank to pay over 
funds in a debtor’s account. 

Banks served with such orders must remove funds 
from the account up to the amount of the judgment and 
mail the account holder notice and a form he must 
return to the bank if he claims that any of the removed 
funds are exempt.  

When the debtor claims an exemption, the bank 
must notify the Superior Court and continue to hold the 
funds for the earlier of 45 days or until a court issues a 
disposition order for the disputed funds.  If the debtor 
does not return the claim form to the bank within 15 
days of the date of mailing, the bank pays over the funds 
to the creditor on request. 
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PA 01-199—sHB 6890 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING BUSINESS 
CORPORATIONS AND NONSTOCK 
CORPORATIONS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act makes numerous changes to the 
laws governing stock and nonstock corporations.  These 
changes affect: 

1. electronic signatures; 
2. corporation documents filed with the secretary 

of the state; 
3. staggered terms for directors; 
4. board of director actions taken without a 

meeting; 
5. functions of board of director committees; 
6. selection, duties, resignation, and removal of 

corporate officers; 
7. indemnification of directors;  
8. directors and shareholders rights to copy 

corporate records; and 
9. notice to shareholders or members. 
The act also eliminates the duty of stock 

corporations to notify missing shareholders of their 
actions and meetings under certain circumstances.  

The law gives shareholders the right to dissent from 
certain corporate actions, including consolidations, 
mergers, reorganizations, or amendments to certificates 
of incorporation that affect their rights materially and 
adversely.  It also gives them the right to obtain 
payment for the fair value of their shares following such 
actions. The act retains these rights but calls them 
appraisal rights instead of dissenter’s rights.  It narrows 
the situations where appraisal and payment of fair value 
are required by restricting prior categories and creating 
a new exception for stocks that have a ready and reliable 
market for sale (i.e., a market exception).  It also 
establishes more detailed rules to govern these rights.  

The act also allows a corporation’s articles of 
incorporation to eliminate or limit appraisal rights for 
holders of one or more series or classes of preferred 
shares. 

Finally, the act makes several technical changes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
ELECTRONIC SIGNATURES  

 
The act explicitly allows electronic signatures to 

satisfy the requirement for a signature in the stock and 
nonstock corporation laws.  

 
 
 

DOCUMENTS FILED WITH THE SECRETARY OF 
STATE  
 
Filing Format 

 
The act requires corporation documents transmitted 

electronically to the secretary of the state to be in a 
format that can be retrieved or reproduced in 
typewritten or printed form.  If a document is filed in 
typewritten or printed form, the act authorizes the 
secretary of the state to require that one exact or 
conformed copy be delivered with it.   

 
Correcting Filed Documents   

 
The act allows corporations to correct documents 

filed with the secretary of the state if the electronic 
transmission was defective.  Under prior law, a 
document was corrected by preparing and delivering to 
the secretary of state a certificate of correction that 
specified either the (1) incorrect statement and the 
reason it was incorrect or (2) way the execution was 
defective and corrects the statement or execution.  The 
act instead requires that the certificate specify the 
inaccuracy or defect to be corrected and correct it. 

 
STAGGERED TERMS FOR DIRECTORS  

 
By law, corporations may stagger the terms of their 

directors by dividing the total number of directors into 
two to five groups.  Each group must contain about the 
same percentage of the total, to the extent possible.  The 
act allows corporations that permit cumulative voting to 
provide for staggered terms even if fewer than three 
directors are in each group.   

 
BOARD ACTION WITHOUT MEETING 

 
Under prior law, unless the certificate of 

corporation or bylaws provided otherwise, a board of 
directors could take action without a meeting if (1) the 
action was taken by all the members, (2) each director 
signed a written consent describing the action taken, and 
(3) the consent documents were included in the 
corporate minutes or records.  The act eliminates the 
requirement that the consent documents be included in 
the corporate minutes or records.  Instead, it requires 
delivery of the documents to the corporation.  Also, the 
act makes the action effective on delivery to the 
corporation of all signed consent documents instead of 
when the last director signed the consent document.  As 
under prior law, the consent documents may specify a 
different effective date. 
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The act allows a director to withdraw his consent 
by a signed revocation delivered to the corporation 
before consent documents signed by all the directors are 
delivered. 

 
COMMITTEES  

 
The act authorizes board of director committees 

consisting of one board member.  It allows committees 
to authorize or approve distributions according to a 
formula or method or within limits the board of 
directors establishes. 

 
By eliminating statutory prohibitions, the act allows 

committees to: 
1. amend the corporation’s certificate of 

incorporation under the same conditions as the 
board; 

2. approve a merger plan not requiring 
shareholder approval; 

3. authorize or approve the reacquisition of shares 
without a formula or method the board 
establishes; and 

4. (a) authorize or approve the issuance of, sale 
of, or contract for the sale of shares or (b) 
determine the designation and relative rights, 
preferences, and limitations of a class or series 
of shares without the board’s explicit authority. 

The act authorizes the board to appoint directors as 
alternate members of any committee to replace absent or 
disqualified members.  It authorizes committee 
members, by the unanimous vote of qualified members 
present at a meeting, to appoint another director to act 
for a disqualified or absent member.  The committee can 
do so only if authorized by the certificate of 
incorporation, bylaws, or resolution that created it. 

 
CORPORATE OFFICERS  

 
Election of Officers 

 
The act authorizes the board of directors of a stock 

corporation to elect people to fill corporate offices, and 
it requires the board of a nonstock corporation to elect 
them unless the bylaws provide otherwise.  

It requires the bylaws or board to assign an officer 
to maintain records the law requires corporations to 
keep.  These include minutes of shareholder and board 
meetings, actions taken by shareholders or the board 
without a meeting, and actions taken by board 
committees. 

 
 
 

Resignation and Removal of Officers   
 
By law, a corporate officer may resign by 

delivering a notice to the corporation.  The act specifies 
that when a resignation notice specifies an effective 
time, the board or officer who appointed the resigning 
officer may fill the pending vacancy before the effective 
date.  Prior law allowed only the board to do so.  The 
act authorizes the removal of a corporate officer by (1) 
the officer who appointed him or by his successor 
unless the bylaws provide otherwise or (2) any other 
officer authorized to do so by the board or bylaws.   

 
INDEMNIFICATION OF DIRECTORS 

 
Determination and Authorization 
 

By law, under certain circumstances, corporations 
may indemnify directors for losses and expenses they 
incur in any threatened, pending, or completed lawsuit 
or other proceeding against them in their capacity as 
directors, even if they were not completely successful 
on the merits.  Under the act, when special legal counsel 
determines that indemnification is permissible because 
of the circumstances, the actual authorization to 
indemnify must be made by a majority vote of the entire 
board, including members who are not disinterested.  

By law, a “disinterested” board member is one who 
is not a party to the lawsuit or other legal proceeding in 
question and does not have a financial, family, 
professional, or employment relationship with the 
director whose indemnification is the subject of the 
vote. 

The act specifies that when a corporation obligates 
itself in advance to indemnify a director to the fullest 
extent the law permits, it does not have to subsequently 
approve indemnification for a particular legal 
proceeding, as long as it determines that indemnification 
is permissible.  By law, a corporation may obligate itself 
to indemnify directors in its certificate of incorporation 
or bylaws, or by resolution the board or shareholders 
adopt.  
 
Reports of Indemnification to Shareholders or Members 

 
The act eliminates the duty of corporations to report 

the indemnification of and advances for expenses for 
directors to shareholders or members with or before 
notice of the next shareholders’ or members’ meeting.  
This duty applied in connection with lawsuits filed by 
shareholders or members in the name of the corporation 
(derivative lawsuits). 
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RIGHT TO COPY CORPORATE RECORDS  
  
Shareholders or Members 

 
The act specifies that (1) a shareholder’s or 

member’s right to copy corporate records includes the 
right to receive copies electronically if available and the 
shareholder or member asks to receive them this way 
and (2) if a corporation complies with a shareholder’s or 
member’s request to inspect the record of shareholders 
or members by providing him with a list compiled in 
response to the request, it must be at the corporation’s 
expense. 
 
Directors  
 

The act gives corporate directors the right to inspect 
and copy corporation books, records, and documents at 
any reasonable time if inspecting and copying them 
relates reasonably to their duties as directors.  It 
specifies that a director may not do such copying and 
inspecting for any other purpose or in a way that would 
violate a duty to the corporation.  A director refused this 
right may apply to Superior Court.  

The court may order inspection and copying at the 
corporation’s expense unless the corporation establishes 
that the director is not entitled to do so.  The Superior 
Court for the judicial district where the corporation’s 
principal office is located has jurisdiction.  If the 
corporation does not have a principal office in 
Connecticut, the Superior Court for the judicial district 
where its registered office is located has jurisdiction.  
The act requires the court to handle the matter on an 
expedited basis.  The court may protect the corporation 
from undue burden or expense, and it may prohibit the 
director from using information in a way that would 
violate a duty to the corporation.  It may also order the 
corporation to reimburse the director for his application 
costs, including reasonable counsel fees. 

  
NOTICE TO SHAREHOLDERS  

 
The act eliminates the statutory duty of 

corporations to give notice to shareholders if: 
1. notice of two consecutive annual meetings and 

all notices of meetings during the period 
between these two annual meetings were sent 
to the shareholder at the address shown on the 
corporation’s records and they were returned as 
undeliverable or 

2. all (at least two) payments of dividends on 
securities during a 12-month period or two 
consecutive dividend payments during a period 
of more than 12 months were sent to the 

shareholder at the address shown on the 
corporation’s records and were returned as 
undeliverable. 

If the shareholder delivers to the corporation a 
written notice with his current address, the statutory 
requirements for notice again apply. 

 
APPRAISAL RIGHTS   

 
Market Exception to Appraisal Rights  

 
The act makes appraisal rights unavailable for 

holders of shares that (1) are listed (a) on the New York 
Stock Exchange or the American Stock Exchange or 
designated as a National Market System security or (b) 
on an interdealer quotation system by the National 
Association of Securities Dealers, Inc. or (2) have at 
least 2,000 shareholders and the outstanding shares of 
each class or series have a market value of $20 million 
or more, not counting the value of shares held by the 
corporation’s subsidiaries, senior executives, directors, 
and beneficial shareholders owning more than 10% of 
the shares. 

Whether this exception applies is determined as of 
either (1) the date selected to determine the shareholders 
entitled to receive notice of, and to vote at, the 
shareholders meeting to decide upon the corporate 
action requiring appraisal rights or (2) the day before 
the effective date of the corporate action if there is no 
shareholder’s meeting.  But this exception does not 
apply and appraisal rights are available for any 
shareholder required by the corporate action to accept 
for their shares anything other than (1) cash or (2) 
shares of any corporation or any other ownership 
interest of any other entity that satisfies the market 
exception to appraisal under the act. 

 
Market Exception-Conflict of Interest Transactions 

 
The market exception to appraisal rights does not 

apply and appraisal rights are available for shareholders 
where the corporate action is by a person or his affiliate 
who: 

1. directly or indirectly, has or had the power to 
cause the appointment or election of at least 
25% of the corporation’s board of directors at 
any time during the one-year period 
immediately before the board approved the 
corporate action requiring appraisal rights or 

2. is or was the beneficial owner of at least 20% 
of the corporation’s voting power at any time 
during the one-year period right before the 
board approved the corporate action requiring 
appraisal rights. 
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The 20% share cannot include any shares acquired 
(1) under an offer for all voting shares if the offer was 
made within that one-year period and (2) for 
consideration of the same kind and of a value equal to 
or less than that paid in connection with the corporate 
action creating the appraisal rights. 

The act defines “beneficial owner” as anyone who, 
directly or indirectly, through any means other than a 
revocable proxy, has or shares the power to vote or to 
direct the voting of, shares.  But the act specifies that a 
member of a National Securities Exchange is not a 
beneficial owner of securities he holds for someone else 
merely because the member is the record holder, if the 
exchange’s rules prevent him from voting without 
instruction on contested matters or matters that may 
affect substantially the rights or privileges of the holders 
of the securities to be voted.   

The act defines “affiliate” as a person who directly 
or indirectly through one or more intermediaries 
controls, is controlled by, or is under common control 
with another person or is a senior executive of an 
affiliate. “Senior executives” include the chief executive 
officer, chief operating officer, chief financial officer, 
and anyone in charge of a principal business unit or 
function.  

The market exception also does not apply and 
appraisal rights are available if any corporate shares or 
assets are being acquired or converted pursuant to a 
corporate action by a person or his affiliate who (1) is, 
or during the one-year period right before the board 
approved the corporate action requiring appraisal rights 
was, a senior executive or director of the corporation or 
a senior executive of the corporation’s affiliate and (2) 
will receive, as a result of the corporate action, a 
financial benefit not generally available to other 
shareholders. 

A financial benefit does not count, and the market 
exception applies, when:  

1. the benefits consist of employment, consulting, 
retirement, or similar benefits established 
separately and not as part of or in 
contemplation of the corporate action in 
question;  

2. these benefits established in contemplation of, 
or as part of, the corporate action (a) are not 
more favorable than those existing before the 
corporate action or (b) if more favorable, have 
been approved on behalf of the corporation by 
directors meeting the standard of independence 
and in the same manner as is provided for 
conflicting interest transactions generally under 
the law; or  

3. a corporate director becomes a director of 
another corporation or one of its affiliates as a 

result of the second entity’s acquisition of the 
corporation and the acquiring entity gives him 
the same rights and benefits as its other 
directors have. 

 
Elimination of Appraisal Rights for Preferred Shares  

 
The act allows a corporation’s certificate of 

incorporation as originally filed or amended to limit or 
eliminate appraisal rights for any class or series of 
preferred shares.  But any such amendment does not 
apply to any corporate action that becomes effective 
within one year of the amendment’s effective date, if the 
action would otherwise affect appraisal rights. 
Elimination of Appraisal Rights in Mergers  

The act eliminates appraisal rights in the case of a 
merger for shares of any class or series that remain 
outstanding after the merger. It also eliminates appraisal 
rights where a corporation’s certificate of incorporation 
requires shareholder approval, but the law does not. 

The act also eliminates appraisal rights for 
shareholders of corporations where shares will be 
acquired by another corporation under a share exchange 
for any shares of any class or series of shares that are 
not exchanged.   

 
Sale or Exchange of All Corporate Property by Lease 

 
The act includes appraisal rights where the 

disposition of all or most property is by lease other than 
in the usual and regular course of business.  Prior law 
did not explicitly trigger this right where the disposition 
was by lease. 

 
Appraisal Rights-Certificate of Incorporation  

 
The act requires that for an amendment to a 

certificate of incorporation to trigger appraisal rights, it 
must be for a class or series of shares.  It also eliminates 
appraisal rights for an amendment to a certificate of 
incorporation that affects the rights of a person’s shares 
materially and adversely because it: 

1. changes or abolishes a preferential right of the 
shares; 

2. creates, changes, or abolishes a redemption 
right, including a right relating to a sinking 
fund to redeem or repurchase shares; 

3. changes or abolishes a shareholder’s 
preemptive right to acquire shares of other 
securities; or 

4. excludes or limits the right of shareholders to 
vote on any matter or to cumulative voting, 
other than a limitation by dilution by issuing 
shares or other securities with similar voting 
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rights. 
Under prior law, a shareholder had dissenter’s 

rights if an amendment reduced his shares to a fraction 
of a share, if the fractional share was to be acquired for 
cash by the corporation.  The act instead makes 
appraisal rights apply if an amendment reduces the 
number of shares of a class or series to a fraction of a 
share, if the corporation has the obligation or right to 
repurchase the fractional share. 

Under prior law, dissenter’s rights apply with 
respect to any other corporate action taken pursuant to a 
shareholder’s vote to the extent the certificate of 
incorporation, bylaws, or board resolution provides that 
voting or nonvoting shareholders were entitled to 
dissent and obtain payment.  The act instead limits 
appraisal rights to any other amendment to the 
certificate of incorporation, merger, share exchange, or 
disposition of assets to the extent provided by the 
certificate of incorporation, bylaws, or board resolution.   
 
Record Shareholders 

 
The act authorizes a record shareholder (a person in 

whose name shares are registered, such as a broker) to 
assert appraisal rights for fewer than all the shares 
registered in his name.  He may do so only if he notifies 
the corporation in writing of the name and address of 
each beneficial shareholder on whose behalf he asserts 
appraisal rights.  

Prior law allowed the record shareholder to assert 
disserters’ rights for all the shares the beneficial 
shareholder owned or for which he had the power to 
direct the vote.  The act instead allows him to do so for 
shares of any class or series held on behalf of a 
beneficial shareholder.  Thus, he may do so for one 
class or series and not be forced to do so for shares held 
in a different class or series. 

 
Beneficial Shareholders  

 
The act allows beneficial shareholders to assert 

appraisal rights just as prior law allows them to assert 
dissenter’s rights.  But the act gives them more time to 
submit to the corporation the record shareholder’s 
written consent.  Under prior law, they had to submit the 
written consent by the date they asserted their 
dissenter’s rights.  The act instead allows them to 
submit it by the date the corporation sets for getting 
back from shareholders asserting appraisal rights the 
appraisal notice and form it sent to them. 

 
 
 
 

Notice of Appraisal Rights 
 
Under the act, if a proposed corporate action 

described by the act as creating appraisal rights will be 
submitted to a vote at a shareholder’s meeting, the 
meeting notice must state that the shareholders are, are 
not, or may be entitled to assert appraisal rights.  If the 
corporation concludes that appraisal rights are, or may 
be available, it must include with the notice to 
shareholders entitled to exercise them a copy of the law 
relating to appraisal rights.  This is the same as prior 
law’s requirements relating to dissenter’s rights, but 
prior law did not require that the notice indicate the 
corporation’s conclusion that the shareholders do not 
have these rights. 

Under the act, a beneficial shareholder who informs 
the corporation in writing of his intention to demand 
payment for his shares may not cause or permit to be 
voted any shares of the class or series in question at the 
shareholder’s meeting concerning the issue that required 
appraisal rights.   

 
Notice To Those Demanding Appraisal Rights and 
Form to be Used 

 
The act, as well as prior law, requires the 

corporation to provide shareholders with certain 
information and a form to exercise their right to demand 
payment.  The act specifies that the corporation may not 
send the notice to those demanding appraisal rights 
before the corporate action in question becomes 
effective.  It imposes additional requirements for the 
form the corporations must send to affected 
shareholders.  Specifically, it must also: 

1. require the shareholder to certify that he did 
not vote for the corporate transaction in 
question; 

2. state the corporation’s estimate of the value of 
the shares; 

3. specify a date by which the corporation must 
receive the form, which may not be less than 
40 nor more than 60 days after it sent the 
notice and form to the shareholders, and 
specify that shareholders waive their right to 
payment unless the corporation receives the 
form by this specified date; 

4. state that if requested in writing, it will provide 
to the requester, within 10 days after the date it 
specifies to receive the form, the number of 
shareholders who returned the form on time 
and the total number of shares these 
shareholders own; and 

 
 



156                                   JUDICIARY COMMITTEE 

 
2001 OLR PA Summary Book 

5. specify the date by which a shareholder who 
wishes to withdraw his request for payment 
must do so, which  must be within 20 days 
after the date the corporation sets for receiving 
notices from shareholders. 

 
Duty to Demand Payments for Shares and Right to 
Withdraw 
 

As under prior law, a shareholder who receives this 
notice from the corporation must certify certain 
information and return the form to the corporation by 
the required date in order to retain his right to demand 
payment from the corporation. 

The act permits a shareholder who has complied to 
decline to exercise his rights and to withdraw from the 
appraisal process by notifying the corporation in writing 
by the date the corporation specified for withdrawal in 
the notice it sent to the shareholder.  A shareholder who 
does not withdraw by this date may withdraw 
subsequently only with the corporation’s written 
consent.  

As under prior law, a shareholder who does not 
sign and return the form as required loses his right to 
force the corporation to pay him for his shares.   

Payment.  Prior law required a corporation to pay 
the amount it estimated as the fair market value of the 
shares as soon as it took the proposed corporate action 
or when it received a payment demand from the 
shareholder.  The act instead requires it to pay this 
amount within 30 days after the return date indicated on 
the form it sent the shareholder.  The act specifies 
payment in cash.  

As under prior law, statements and information 
must accompany the payment.  The act requires that this 
include a statement that if the shareholder does not 
demand further payments by a certain date, he is 
deemed to have accepted the payment as full 
satisfaction for his claim.  
 
Shares Acquired After Public Announcement 

 
Both prior law and the act allow a corporation to 

treat beneficial shareholders who acquired their shares 
after the public announcement of the corporate 
transaction was made differently from those who 
acquired them before.  The act establishes a timeframe 
for corporate action and imposes a duty on the 
corporation to give these shareholders a notice 
containing certain information within 30 days after the 
date it set for receiving the form it sent all shareholders 
who might be entitled to appraisal rights.   

 
 

The form must notify shareholders (1) of the 
corporation’s estimate of the fair value of their shares 
(same as prior law), (2) that they may accept this 
amount plus interest in full satisfaction of their demands 
or demand an amount they believe constitutes fair value, 
(3) that those wishing to accept the offer must notify the 
corporation within 30 days after receiving the offer, and 
(4) that those shareholders who do not satisfy the act’s 
requirements for demanding appraisal rights will be 
deemed to have accepted the corporation’s offer. 

The form must also be accompanied by financial 
statements of the corporation that issued the shares.  
These consist of the balance sheet as of the end of a 
fiscal year before the date of the proposed payments, an 
income statement for that year, a statement of changes 
in shareholders’ equity for that year, and the latest 
available interim financial statements, if any. The act 
requires the corporation to pay in cash the amount it 
offered (1) within 10 days after the shareholder accepts 
the offer in full satisfaction of his demands and (2) 
within 40 days after sending this notice to those who did 
not satisfy the requirements for demanding appraisal 
rights. 

 
Court Action 

 
With minor changes, the act establishes essentially 

the same procedure for dissatisfied shareholders to go to 
court as contained in prior law.  It eliminates the right to 
a jury trial.  If the corporation is a foreign corporation 
(organized under another state’s laws), the court case 
may be filed in the Superior Court for the judicial 
district where the principal office of the Connecticut 
corporation it merged with was located at the time of the 
transaction that created the appraisal rights.  As under 
prior law, the case may also be filed where the 
Connecticut corporation’s registered office is located.  
The act specifies that the location at the particular 
registered office is determined at the time of the 
transaction that created the appraisal rights. 

 
Court Costs and Counsel Fees  

 
The act authorizes shareholders to sue the 

corporation directly for an amount it failed to pay them 
as required by the act.  It gives successful shareholders 
the right to recover all costs and expenses of such a 
lawsuit, including counsel fees, from the corporation. 
 
 
 
 
 
 



JUDICIARY COMMITTEE  157 

 
2001 OLR PA Summary Book 

PA 01-201—HB 6892 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING VICTIM IMPACT 
PANELS 
 
SUMMARY: This act authorizes courts to order people 
convicted of driving under the influence of drugs or 
alcohol (DUI) to participate in a victim impact program 
as a condition of probation or participation in the 
pretrial alcohol education program.  If ordered by the 
court, potential participants in the pretrial alcohol 
education program must agree to participate in at least 
one victim impact program. 

The act requires the victim impact program to 
provide a nonconfrontational forum for offenders and 
victims of drug- and alcohol-related offenses to share 
the impact offenses have had on their lives.  The 
program must be (1) approved by the Judicial 
Department’s Court Support Services Division and (2) 
conducted by a nonprofit organization that advocates on 
behalf of DUI accident victims. The organization can 
charge a program fee of up to $25 for court-ordered 
participants. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
Pretrial Alcohol Education Program 

 
This program is available to people charged with 

DUI who have not been previously convicted of this or 
several related crimes.  If the person successfully 
completes the program, the court can dismiss the charge 
but the driver’s participation in the program remains a part 
of his driving record and in the record of the Bail 
Commission (which determines whether a driver is 
eligible for the program) for seven years. 
 
 
PA 01-203—sHB 6586 
Judiciary Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING JUDGE TRIAL 
REFEREES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act allows the Superior Court to 
refer cases resulting from a party’s demand for a trial 
after an arbitrator’s decision to designated judge trial 
referees for jury trials without the parties’ consent.  
Under prior law, a judge trial referee could preside in a 
civil jury case only if both parties consented.  These 
arbitration cases are civil actions referred by courts to 

arbitration where (1) a party requested a jury trial, (2) 
the pleadings are closed, and (3) the judgment is 
reasonably expected to be less than $50,000.  The act 
specifies that the judge trial referee can issue a 
judgment that exceeds $50,000 in these cases. 

The act requires the chief justice to designate judge 
trial referees who can hear the arbitration cases and 
publish a list of them by October 1 annually.  The law 
authorizes judge trial referees to exercise the powers of 
the Superior Court for trial, judgment, and appeal when 
a case is referred to them.   

The act also alters the date when the 20-day period 
to demand a trial after an arbitrator’s decision begins.  
Under the act, the period starts the date the arbitrator’s 
decision is postmarked by the U.S. mail rather than the 
day it is filed. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001   
 
BACKGROUND 

 
Judge Trial Referees 

 
A judge or senior judge who reaches age 70 

becomes a state referee for the remainder of his term 
and can be appointed as a state referee for subsequent 
terms.  The chief justice can designate a state referee as 
a judge trial referee.  A judge trial referee can hear 
criminal and civil cases and juvenile matters on referral 
from the Superior Court. 
 
 
PA 01-211—sHB 7007 
Judiciary Committee 
Public Safety Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING CRIME VICTIMS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act gives crime victims greater 
access to the criminal justice system and makes other 
changes regarding criminal law.  Specifically, it: 

1. requires the Office of Victim Services (OVS) 
and the Department of Correction (DOC) to 
notify crime victims who ask (a) when a sexual 
offender asks to be exempt from sexual 
offender registration or to restrict public 
dissemination of his registration information 
and (b) when an inmate requests a sentence 
reduction or review or early release; 

2. permits all victims, instead of just victims of 
class A, B, and C felonies and certain other 
specified crimes, to appear and make a 
statement before the court, Board of Pardons, 
or Board of Parole; 
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3. extends eligibility for youthful offender (YO) 
status to people charged with a sexual offense 
involving consensual sexual intercourse or 
contact between the youth and a person 
between ages 13 and 16; 

4. upon the victim’s request, requires courts to 
impose financial restitution as a part of the 
sentence of offenders convicted of a crime 
involving injury to another person or damage 
to or loss of property; 

5. eliminates the juvenile court’s authority to 
order partial restitution in cases involving 
personal injury or property damage, thus, 
allowing it to order only full or no restitution; 

6. waives various filing fees for attorneys in the 
Office of the Victim Advocate;  

7. authorizes the victim advocate to file a limited 
special appearance to advocate for all of the 
legal rights of crime victims, instead of just six 
of the 10 rights delineated in the state 
constitution’s amendment on crime victims’ 
rights;  

8. allows a victim compensation commissioner to 
use a portion of any victim compensation he 
orders paid to a crime victim to make payments 
directly to health care providers who provide 
services to the victim; 

9. prohibits courts from granting convicted 
murderers child visitation rights unless the 
child desires it; 

10. authorizes the immediate families of dead 
people to complain about a prosecutor’s 
decision not to prosecute;  

11. stays, until after the criminal proceedings, 
certain civil action brought by a criminal 
defendant against a crime victim; and 

12. expressly authorizes the court to order the 
Department of Public Safety (DPS) to restrict 
dissemination of sex offender registration 
information to law enforcement purposes only 
if it finds that broader dissemination is not 
required for public safety. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
CRIME VICTIM NOTIFICATION  

 
The act allows crime victims and inmates’ 

immediate family members to file with OVS or DOC, 
instead of just OVS, a request for notification whenever 
an inmate applies for early release or sentence review or 
reduction.  It also allows them to ask either agency to 
notify them when a sexual offender applies for 
exemption from the registration requirement or seeks to 
limit dissemination of such information.  DOC, like 

OVS, must keep confidential notification requests filed 
by certain minor victims. 

The act requires any sexual offender who applies 
for exemption from the registration requirement or 
petitions to limit dissemination of such information to 
notify OVS and DOC on a form prescribed by the chief 
court administrator.   

It requires inmates who apply for a sentence 
reduction or review or early release other than a 
furlough to notify DOC of the request in the same way 
they currently notify OVS.  The court cannot consider 
the requests if the offenders or inmates have not 
provided notice and included proof of it with the 
application or petition. 

The act requires OVS, DOC, or both to notify by 
certified mail any crime victim who has requested it.  
The notice must contain the nature of request, the 
address and telephone number of the court that received 
the request, and the date and place of any hearing or 
session scheduled on the request.  OVS and DOC must 
use a prescribed form to notify the board, agency, or 
court that received the request of its compliance with 
the notice requirement. The court must consider any 
information or statement the victim provides before 
granting or denying the exemption application or 
petition to limit dissemination. 

The act authorizes the boards of pardon and parole, 
sentencing courts, and the sentencing review division to 
allow DOC, like OVS, direct access to their records. 
 
Confinement or Discharge Hearings 

 
The act extends to all crime victims, rather than just 

victims of class A, B, or C felonies, the right to notice 
of any hearing on whether a criminal defendant who 
was found not guilty by reason of mental defect or 
disease should be confined to or discharged from the 
Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services.  
As under existing law, the court (1) has to send a notice 
only if the victim has requested it and (2) must provide 
the victim the opportunity to make a statement. 
“Victim” includes the legal representative of a crime 
victim and a deceased victim’s immediate family 
member. 

 
Pardon and Parole Hearings 

 
The act extends to all crime victims, rather than just 

a select few, the right to make a statement at a (1) Board 
of Pardons’ hearing to release, pardon, or commute the 
sentence of a convicted offender or (2) parole eligibility 
hearing.  Prior law applied only to victims of class A, B, 
and C felonies; second-degree assault with a firearm; 
second-degree assault with a firearm of an elderly, 
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blind, disabled, pregnant, or mentally retarded person; 
third-degree sexual assault with a firearm; third-degree 
burglary with a firearm; or criminal use of a firearm or 
electronic defense weapon. 

By law, when the Board of Pardons is prepared to 
grant the request of an offender who used or attempted 
or threatened to use physical force against another while 
committing a crime, it must make reasonable efforts to 
notify the victim and allow him to appear and make a 
statement.  The act also requires the board to notify 
victims of crimes that resulted in physical or serious 
physical injury to or the death of another person. 

 
Sentencing Hearings 

 
The act makes statutory law consistent with the 

state constitution by extending to all victims the right to 
make a statement to the court at sentencing and before a 
plea agreement is accepted.  Under prior statutory law, 
only victims of A, B, and C felonies; third-degree 
sexual assault; or third-degree sexual assault with a 
firearm had this right.   

 
RESTITUTION 
 

The act requires the courts to order criminal 
defendants to make financial restitution to crime victims 
in those cases where the victim requests it and where the 
court, on its own, finds that a crime caused a victim 
personal injury or property damage or loss.  Under prior 
law, the court could order restitution if the crime 
resulted in physical injury to another person or property 
damage or loss.  The act requires the court to determine 
the terms of financial restitution by considering the 
factors it previously considered to determine if 
restitution was appropriate, plus the financial burden 
and impact on the victim.  It requires the court to state 
on the record its findings on each of the factors. 

The act requires the court order for restitution to 
specify the (1) amount of damages for injury or property 
loss, (2) actual expenses incurred to treat personal 
injuries, and (3) lost wages.  The order must direct that a 
certified copy of it be delivered by certified mail to the 
victim and advise him that the order is enforceable as a 
civil judgment. 
 
FEE EXEMPTION FOR THE VICTIM ADVOCATE  

 
The act exempts the Office of the Victim Advocate 

from the duty to pay (1) jury fees; (2) court fees; (3) 
fees to open, set aside, modify, extend, or reargue a 
judgment; (4) an application fee to execute a judgment 
or garnish wages; or (5) fees associated with the appeal 
of a family support magistrate’s decision.  The Office of 

Consumer Counsel, Department of Revenue Services, 
Board of Labor Relations, and Office of Protection and 
Advocacy for Persons with Disabilities are currently 
exempt from these fees. 

 
DUTIES OF THE VICTIM ADVOCATE 

 
The act authorizes the victim advocate to file a 

limited special appearance to advocate for all of the 
legal rights of crime victims.  Under prior law, he had 
this authority only with respect to victims’ right to: 

1. information about the arrest, conviction, 
sentence, imprisonment, and release of the 
accused; 

2. attend all criminal proceedings, unless the 
court determines that their impending trial 
testimony would be materially affected if they 
heard other testimony; 

3. object to or support any plea agreement entered 
into by the accused and the prosecution and 
make a statement to the court before any plea 
agreement is accepted; 

4. make a statement to the court at sentencing; 
5. restitution that is enforceable as any other 

cause of action or as provided by law; and 
6. notice of court proceedings. 

 
YOUTHFUL OFFENDER STATUS 

 
The act allows a court to grant YO status to youths 

aged 16 through 17 who are charged with a sexual 
offense involving consensual sexual intercourse or 
contact between the youth and a person ages 13 to 16.  
YO status allows the court to erase the criminal records 
of first-time youthful offenders who successfully 
complete a court-imposed sentence, such as probation or 
community service.  A youth is ineligible if he 
committed a class A felony or sexual assault crime, was 
previously granted YO or accelerated rehabilitation, or 
was previously convicted of a felony or adjudged a 
serious juvenile offender or serious juvenile repeat 
offender. 
 
CONVICTED MURDERERS AND CHILD 
VISITATION 

 
By law, courts cannot grant child visitation rights to 

a parent convicted of murdering the child’s other parent, 
unless the child desires it.  The act extends the 
prohibition to anyone convicted of murder.  
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COMPLAINTS ABOUT DECISIONS TO 
PROSECUTE 
 

Whenever there is an investigation into the cause or 
circumstances of a death and a prosecutor decides not to 
prosecute anyone for it, the act permits the deceased 
person’s immediate family to file a written complaint 
with the chief state’s attorney or the Criminal Justice 
Commission.  Within 30 days after receiving the 
complaint, the chief state’s attorney or the commission 
chairperson must send a written response informing the 
family member of any action he has taken or intends to 
take regarding the matter. 
 
ACTIONS AGAINST CRIME VICTIMS 

 
The act requires courts to delay, until after criminal 

proceedings, actions by a criminal defendant against a 
crime victim based on the victim’s exercise or intended 
exercise of his (1) constitutional rights to freedom or 
speech, religion, assembly, or press, or (2) crime victims 
state constitutional or statutory rights.  The crime 
victim’s must request the delay. 

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Applications for Exemption from Sexual Offender 
Registration 

 
By law, a court may exempt the following 

offenders from sexual offender registration if it finds 
that registration is not required for public safety:  

1. someone under age 19 who is convicted of 
second-degree sexual assault for having sexual 
intercourse with someone between age 13 and 
16, and  

2. someone convicted of fourth-degree sexual 
assault for having sexual contact with someone 
without her consent. 

 
Petitions for Restrictions on Dissemination of 
Registration Information  
 

With one exception, the offenders who may petition 
the court are those convicted between October 1, 1988 
and June 30, 1999 of: 

1. having sexual intercourse with a victim 
between age 13 and 16 when the offender is 
more than two years older than the victim and 
under age 19 (one type of second-degree sexual 
assault); 

2. subjecting someone to sexual contact without 
his or her consent; 

3. engaging in any of the offenses requiring 
registration with a victim under age 18 whom 
they cannot marry (incest); and 

4. sexual assault in a spousal or cohabiting 
relationship. 

Offenders may also petition if they were convicted 
between October 1, 1988 and September 30, 1998 of 
any offense requiring registration when the offender (a) 
served no jail or prison time, (b) has not been 
subsequently convicted of an offense requiring 
registration, and (c) has registered with DPS as required 
under the registration law. 
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PA 01-29—sSB 1392 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING PRIVACY RIGHTS FOR 
STATE EMPLOYEES 
 
SUMMARY: This act, with limited exceptions, 
prohibits an employee assistance program (EAP) from 
disclosing information or records about a state 
employee’s voluntary participation in a program without 
his prior written consent.  It also prohibits anyone from 
requiring state employees to release information 
concerning or confirming their voluntary participation 
in a state-sponsored or authorized EAP.  A state 
employee is any full-time or part-time classified or 
unclassified employee in the executive, legislative, or 
judicial branch and any employee of a quasi-public 
agency. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001  

 
EXCEPTIONS 

 
EAPs may release information verifying a state 

employee’s date of employment, position, and salary 
without his prior written consent.  They may also 
disclose information without consent 

1. to a third party that maintains or prepares 
employment-related services for the employer;  

2. pursuant to lawfully issued administrative or 
judicial orders (including search warrants and 
subpoenas) or in response to a government 
audit or the investigation or defense of 
personnel-related complaints against the 
employer;  

3. pursuant to a law enforcement agency’s request 
for the employee’s home address and dates of 
attendance at work;  

4. in response to an apparent medical emergency 
or to the employee’s physician about a medical 
condition of which the employee may not be 
aware;  

5. to comply with federal, state, or local laws or 
regulations; or  

6. pursuant to the terms of a collective bargaining 
agreement.    

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PA 01-31—SB 1116 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE ADVISORY 
BOARD OF THE SECOND INJURY FUND 
SUMMARY:  This act allows the Second Injury Fund’s 
advisory board to approve an action by a majority of its 
members present and voting, as long as at least four 
members are present and voting.  Prior law required an 
affirmative vote of six of the board’s eight members or 
their designees.  The board advises the state treasurer on 
the fund’s operations and finances. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-33—sHB 5861 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE MILEAGE 
REIMBURSEMENT RATE FOR WORKERS’ 
COMPENSATION CLAIMANTS 
 
SUMMARY: This act increases, from 15 cents to the 
federal mileage reimbursement rate (currently 34.5 
cents), the amount per mile employers must reimburse 
workers’ compensation recipients when they use their 
own vehicles to go to and from medical appointments.      
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-37—HB 6775 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT CLARIFYING THE DEFINITION OF 
WILLFUL MISCONDUCT UNDER THE 
UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION ACT 
 
SUMMARY: By law, employees fired for willful 
misconduct are ineligible for unemployment 
compensation.  Previously, a claimant fired for willful 
misconduct based on absence could be denied benefits if 
he was absent “without notice” on three separate 
instances within 18 months.  This act requires instead 
that such absences either be without good cause or 
without notice to the employer that the employee could 
reasonably have provided under the circumstances. 

It also makes a technical change. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
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PA 01-40—sHB 6860 
Labor and Public Employees  Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT ESTABLISHING REMEDIES TO 
ADJUDICATE DISPUTED SECOND INJURY 
FUND ASSESSMENTS 
 
SUMMARY: This act allows employers, or private 
insurance carriers or interlocal risk management 
agencies acting on behalf of employers, to appeal the 
state treasurer’s decisions about Second Injury Fund 
assessments to Superior Court. It also allows the 
attorney general, at the treasurer’s request, to get an 
injunction requiring these entities to comply with the 
fund’s reporting requirements. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Interlocal Risk Management Agencies 
 
 State law authorizes interlocal risk management 
agencies and allows them, among other things, to 
administer plans to reduce public entities’ risk of loss 
for workers’ compensation liability. 
 
Second Injury Fund 

 
 The Second Injury Fund is a state-run workers’ 
compensation fund financed by state employers and 
operated by the state treasurer. Among other things, the 
fund pays or contributes to workers’ compensation 
benefits for workers with preexisting disabilities who 
were reinjured before July 1, 1995, whose employers 
are uninsured, or who worked more than one job when 
they were injured. 
 
Reporting Requirements 

 Employers and private insurance carriers and 
interlocal risk management agencies acting on behalf of 
employers must submit reports annually on April 1 to 
the treasurer about payments made in the preceding 
year. The insurance carriers and agencies must also 
submit reports each April 1 to the treasurer on the total 
standard earned premium collected in the preceding 
year and the projections for the current calendar year. 
Second Injury Fund assessments are based on paid 
losses and standard premiums. 
 
 
 

PA 01-42—sHB 6557 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
 
AN ACT MAKING TECHNICAL REVISIONS TO 
CERTAIN LABOR STATUTES 
 
SUMMARY: This act eliminates the requirement that 
the Department of Labor (DOL) issue regulations 
freezing until January 1, 2003, the minimum hourly 
wage for tipped hotel and restaurant industry 
employees, other than bartenders, at $4.74 and for 
bartenders at $6.15.  But it establishes a new tip credit 
amount that may be deducted from the minimum wage 
of bartenders who customarily and regularly receive tips 
and people employed in the hotel and restaurant 
industry.  As a result, the minimum hourly wage 
employers must pay these employees is $6.15 and 
$4.74, respectively until January 1, 2003.    

The act also sets a January 31 deadline for the 
Connecticut Employment and Training Commission to 
submit its annual report to the governor and the 
legislature concerning the state’s progress in achieving 
the performance measures developed in response to the 
Workforce Investment Act of 1998.     
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 
 
TIP CREDIT  

 
Connecticut law requires employers to pay a 

minimum hourly wage (currently, $6.40) to employees.  
However, under certain conditions, some employers 
may take a credit toward the minimum wage.      

This act requires DOL to creates a tip credit for 
hotel and restaurant industry employees of 26% during 
2001 and 29.3% during 2002, except for bartenders who 
customarily and regularly receive tips. For these 
bartenders, the credit is 3.9% during 2001 and 8.2% 
during 2002. As a result, restaurant and hotel industry 
employees (except bartenders who customarily and 
regularly receive tips) receive $4.74 per hour (plus any 
tips) in 2001 and 2002.  Bartenders who customarily 
and regularly receive tips get $6.15 per hour (plus tips) 
in 2001 and 2002.    
 
 
PA 01-55—SB 332 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING EMPLOYER 
RETENTION OF EMPLOYEE MEDICAL 
RECORDS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act extends the time an employer 
must keep a former employee’s medical records from 
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one year to three years after the employee was 
terminated.    
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-80—sHB 6859 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT ENHANCING BENEFITS IN THE 
POLICE OFFICER AND FIREFIGHTER'S 
SURVIVORS BENEFIT FUND AND THE 
MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT 
SYSTEM 
 
SUMMARY:  This act makes several changes in the 
Municipal Employees’ Retirement Fund B (MERF).  
Specifically, it:  

1. reduces the vesting period from 10 to five 
continuous years; 

2. increases the  monthly MERF benefit 
beginning January 1, 2002, for employees 
eligible to receive Social Security;   

3. allows employees who take voluntary 
retirement to begin receiving a cost of living 
adjustment (COLA) on the first July 1 after 
their retirement instead of after turning age 
65; 

4. changes the COLA percentage and formula 
for those retiring on or after January 1, 2002 
and gives a temporary COLA to those who 
retire before that date and are not 65 years old;   

5. allows municipalities to pay employee 
contributions on a pre-tax basis beginning 
January 1, 2002; and  

6. eliminates obsolete language.  
The act allows towns to participate, by contract, in 

the state’s deferred compensation program under terms 
and conditions the comptroller sets.    

It raises by 20% the monthly benefits from the 
Policemen and Firemen Survivors’ Benefit Fund. The 
fund pays benefits to the surviving spouses and eligible 
dependents of municipal police officers and firefighters.     

Finally, it allows judges who elect to withdraw 
from the State Employees Retirement Fund (SERS) to 
receive interest on their refunded SERS contributions 
beginning with refunds processed on and after January 
1, 2001.    
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
 

MERF 
 
Vesting  
 

The act reduces the vesting period from 10 to five 
years of continuous service.   To correspond, it also 
excludes from membership those police officers and 
firefighters who would reach compulsory retirement age 
after fewer than five years rather than 10 years of 
continuous service.      
 
Benefit Formula 

 
The act changes the MERF benefit formula to 

increase benefits to employees eligible for Social 
Security.  Previously, the benefit was 1 1/6% of final 
average pay (FAP) up to a Social Security earnings base 
(maximum of $80,400 for 2001) plus 2% of FAP over 
the Social Security earnings base multiplied by years of 
service.   The new benefit is 1 1/2% of FAP up to a 
breakpoint ($32,400 for 2001) plus 2% of the member’s 
FAP in excess of the breakpoint multiplied by years of 
service and fractions thereof.    

For example, suppose an employee receiving Social 
Security retired with 30 years of service, a FAP of 
$40,000, a Social Security earnings base of $35,000, 
and no optional form of retirement income.  Under the 
previous formula, his MERF benefit would be: 
[(1.167% x $35,000) + (2.0% x $5,000)] x 30 = 
$15,253.50.  Under the new formula, his MERF benefit 
would be [(1.5% x $32,400) + (2.0% x $7,600)] x 30 = 
$19,140.       
 
COLA  

 
Under prior law, MERF members who took regular 

retirement received an annual 3% to 5% COLA based 
on an actuarial determination of the annual yield on the 
MERF in excess of 6%.  The annual COLAs began on 
the first July 1 following the retiree’s 65th birthday.      

The act creates a new COLA formula for future 
retirees.  Members taking regular retirement on or after 
January 1, 2002, begin receiving a COLA on the first 
July 1 following their retirement date, even if they are 
younger than age 65.  The COLA ranges from 2.5% to 
6% based on the following formula: 60% of any annual 
increase in the previous year’s consumer price index 
(CPI) up to 6% plus 75% of any CPI increase over 6%.    

Members who take regular retirement before 
January 1, 2002, and before they turn 65 receive a 
temporary COLA beginning July 1, 2002 until they 
reach age 65.  For these retirees, the COLA is 2.5% 
annually until the first July 1 following their 65th 
birthday.  On that July 1, the COLA reverts to the pre-
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January 1, 2002 COLA (3% to 5% based on an annual 
actuarial determination).   

The COLA changes do not affect disability retirees. 
 

Pre-Tax Contributions  
 
The act allows municipalities to “pick up” 

members’ contributions for compensation earned on and 
after January 1, 2002.  Those contributions are treated 
as employer contributions for tax purposes.  The 
employer may pick up the contribution by reducing the 
member’s pay, offsetting the contribution against a 
future salary increase, or a combination of the two 
methods.  The state Retirement Commission must 
prescribe how municipalities can elect to treat employee 
contributions in this manner.       
 
POLICEMEN AND FIREMEN SURVIVORS’ 
BENEFIT FUND   

 
Some towns participate by local ordinance in the 

Policemen and Firemen Survivors’ Benefit Fund, which 
the State Retirement Commission administers. 
Participating officers contribute 1% of their pay to the 
fund. Benefits are payable when a participant dies. 

The act increases the monthly benefit payable to the 
surviving spouses of fund members from 25% to 30% 
of the deceased member’s compensation.  It also 
increases the amount of additional benefits available to 
those surviving spouses with dependent children from 
12.5% to 15% for one child and from 25% to 30% for 
two or more children.   

If there is no surviving spouse or if the spouse 
remarries, benefits are payable to dependent children 
until they reach age 18.  The act increases the amounts 
payable to such children from 25% to 30% for one child 
and from 37.5% to 45% for two or more children. 

If no spouse or dependent child survives, benefits 
are payable to dependent parents. The act increases the 
amount payable to such parents from 25% to 30%.    
 
 
PA 01-85—sSB 1008 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
Insurance and Real Estate Committee 
Public Health Committee 
 
AN ACT REQUIRING DIRECT PAYMENT OF 
PRESCRIPTION MEDICATION FOR WORKERS' 
COMPENSATION CLAIMANTS 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires employers, their 
workers’ compensation insurers, or any other entity 
acting on behalf of the employer or insurer to pay 

pharmacists directly for prescriptions related to 
employees’ work-related injuries.   

It requires employers that provide workers’ 
compensation medical benefits through a managed care 
plan to identify all participating pharmacies. 

The act also specifically requires employers that 
become aware of an employee’s work-related injury to 
provide whatever prescription drugs a physician or 
surgeon deems necessary.  Employers are already 
required to provide whatever "medical and surgical aid 
or hospital and nursing service" a physician or surgeon 
deems necessary. That requirement has been interpreted 
to include prescription drugs. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  January 1, 2002 
 
 
PA 01-103—sSB 1034 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT ESTABLISHING COLLECTIVE 
BARGAINING RIGHTS FOR DEPARTMENT OF 
CORRECTION OFFICERS 
 
SUMMARY: This act gives Department of Correction 
(DOC) employees at or above the level of lieutenant the 
right to organize and bargain collectively, unless they 
perform certain managerial functions or are confidential 
employees (employees that have access to confidential 
information used in collective bargaining).  The act 
prohibits the State Board of Labor Relations from 
approving any bargaining unit that includes both DOC 
employees at or above the level of lieutenant and below 
this level.  By law, the board determines the 
appropriateness of a state employee bargaining unit 
when the union seeking to represent the employee group 
petitions the board to certify it as the exclusive 
bargaining representative.   
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
MANAGERIAL EMPLOYEES    
 

By law, some state employees, including 
managerial and confidential employees, do not have the 
right to organize and bargain collectively.  Most 
managerial employees are defined by the duties they 
perform.  But, under prior law, DOC employees at or 
above the level of lieutenant were considered 
managerial employees regardless of their duties. 

Under the act, DOC employees at or above the 
level of lieutenant qualify as managerial employees only 
if their principal functions include at least two of the 
following:  
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1. directing a facility or subunit of a major 
agency division or working as a member of 
an agency head’s staff;  

2. developing, implementing, and evaluating 
goals and objectives consistent with the 
agency’s mission and policy;  

3. participating in formulating agency policy; 
and  

4. having a major role in administering 
collective bargaining agreements or major 
personnel decisions, including staffing, 
hiring, firing, evaluating, promoting, and 
training employees.  

These are the same criteria currently used to 
determine whether state employees, other than those 
working in higher education, qualify as managers.   
 
 
PA 01-162—sSB 1389 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING DEPENDENTS OF 
DECEASED WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
RECIPIENTS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act eliminates the “waiting period” 
for all dependents of deceased workers’ compensation 
recipients.  Previously, the waiting period was 
eliminated for most such dependents.    

It requires that benefits due dependents because of 
the elimination of the “waiting period” be paid 
retroactively to the date of the worker’s death.  It also 
requires the Second Injury Fund to reimburse employers 
or insurers for these benefits.     
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  
 
WAITING PERIOD 

 
Before October 1, 1978, if a workers’ compensation 

recipient died more than two years after the date of his 
injury or the first manifestation of an occupational 
disease, his dependents had to wait a period equal to the 
time he received compensation before they could 
receive death benefits.  For example, if a worker 
received total disability benefits for five years and then 
died, his dependents had to wait five years to receive 
death benefits.   

The legislature repealed this “waiting period” on 
October 1, 1978. But, since a workers’ compensation 
claimant’s substantive rights to benefits are governed by 
the law as it existed on the date of his injury, the repeal 
affected only those injured on or after October 1, 1978. 

Subsequently, the waiting period was eliminated for 
dependents of workers injured (1) on or after January 1, 
1974, and who died by November 1, 1991 and (2) 
before January 1, 1952, and who died after October 1, 
1991.     

The act eliminates the waiting period for 
dependents of deceased workers injured (1) before 
January 1, 1952, and who died on or before October 1, 
1991; (2) between January 1, 1952 and December 31, 
1973 (regardless of when they died); and (3) between 
January 1, 1974 and September 30, 1978, and who died 
after November 1, 1991. 
 
 
PA 01-168—sSB 1068 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING A POLICY FOR 
ENVIRONMENTALLY PREFERABLE 
PURCHASES BY STATE AGENCIES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires the Department of 
Administrative Services (DAS) to promote state 
agencies’ use of recycled products and of products, 
services, or practices that are less harmful to human 
health and the environment than comparable products, 
services, or practices.     

It requires DAS to compute the fuel efficiency of 
new state-owned cars and light trucks by averaging their 
highway mileage ratings, rather than requiring that each 
vehicle attain a certain rating, and it lowers the fuel 
efficiency required of state cars purchased after October 
1, 2001.  It also requires DAS to increase the number of 
state vehicles that run on alternative fuels and eliminates 
an obsolete requirement that at least 10% of the vehicles 
purchased in 1993 and 1994 for non-law enforcement 
purposes be powered by natural gas or electricity.     

Finally, the act increases, from 10% to 30%, the 
percentage of fiber material in recycled white paper 
used in the manufacture of state lottery tickets and tax 
return forms that must come from post-consumer 
recovered paper.   
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001   

 
ENVIRONMENTALLY PREFERABLE ACTIONS 

 
The act requires DAS, within available 

appropriations, to:  
1. designate environmentally preferable products 

(which include both recycled and recyclable 
products) and establish minimum standards 
and specifications for their procurement and 
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use;  
2. include the use of environmentally preferable 

products and services as a criterion to be 
considered in multiple criteria bids or requests 
for proposals, where feasible; and 

3. consider the use of environmentally preferable 
business practices when reviewing a bidder’s 
performance or business operation. 

The act defines “environmentally preferable” 
products, services, or practices as those that do less 
harm to human health and the environment than 
competing products, services, or practices that serve the 
same purpose.   

In designating environmentally preferable products, 
DAS must consider the raw material acquisition, 
production, manufacturing, packaging, distribution, 
reuse, operation, maintenance, or disposal aspects of the 
product.   

The act specifies that the above procedures are not 
regulations and are therefore not subject to the 
regulation-making process.   

The act also requires DAS, within available 
appropriations, to:   

1. develop and maintain information about 
environmentally preferable products and 
services and recycled products; 

2. help state agencies implement procedures for 
procuring and using environmentally 
preferable products and services and provide 
them with information about their use; and  

3. monitor the agencies’ use of these products and 
services.   

 
STATE CARS AND LIGHT DUTY TRUCKS   

 
The act changes the way the state determines 

highway mileage for its motor vehicle fleet by requiring 
DAS to average the highway mileage rating of cars and 
trucks in the fleet.  Prior law required each state car or 
truck to meet a specific mileage requirement.   

The act requires that cars and light duty trucks 
purchased for the state’s motor vehicle fleet beginning 
October 1, 2001 average 35 miles per gallon in highway 
driving.  This increases to 40 miles per gallon for 
vehicles purchased on or after January 1, 2003.  Prior 
law required every state car purchased after January 1, 
2000 to have a mileage rating of 45 miles per gallon in 
highway driving, and every truck to have a rating of 35 
miles per gallon.  (The mileage exemption for certain 
vehicles, such as police cars, is unchanged.)   

The act requires DAS to comply with federal 
requirements mandating that states increase the number 
of their motor vehicles that operate on alternative fuels.  
(For example, federal regulations require alternative 

fuel cars to comprise half the 2000 model-year light 
duty motor vehicles, and 75% of the 2001 model-year 
light duty motor vehicles, purchased for state fleets.) 

The act specifies that these alternative fuel vehicles 
run on natural gas, electricity, or another system 
acceptable to the U.S. Department of Energy that 
operates on fuel available in Connecticut.   

 
BACKGROUND 
 
Post-consumer Material   

 
Post-consumer material refers to material discarded 

after serving its intended use as a consumer item.  It is 
part of the broader category of recovered material or 
waste material diverted from solid waste disposal.   

 
Light Duty Motor Vehicles  

 
Federal regulations define a light duty motor 

vehicle as a truck or vehicle with a gross weight of 
8,500 pounds or less (10 C.F.R. 490.2).   
 
 
PA 01-182—sHB 5656 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING BREASTFEEDING IN 
THE WORKPLACE 
 
SUMMARY:  This act allows employees to express 
breast milk or breastfeed at their workplace during their 
meal or break period.  It requires employers to make 
reasonable efforts to provide a room or other location 
close to the work area (other than a toilet stall) for the 
employee to express her milk in private.   

The act covers all employers, including the state 
and municipalities.  “Reasonable efforts” are those that 
do not impose significant difficulty or expense, taking 
into account factors such as the business’ size, financial 
resources, and operational nature and structure. 

The act also prohibits employers from 
discriminating against employees who choose to express 
milk or breastfeed at work.   
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
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PA 01-189—sSB 1394 (VETOED) 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING PROCEDURES FOR 
STATE EMPLOYEE COLLECTIVE 
BARGAINING 
 
SUMMARY: This act changes numerous state 
employee collective bargaining procedures.  
Specifically it: 

1. increases the time during which parties may 
begin negotiating a new contract from 180 to 
330 days before the existing contract expires 
(negotiations must still start at least 150 days 
before the existing contract expires),  

2. allows parties to begin arbitration 60, rather 
than 90, days after negotiations begin,  

3. eliminates an arbitrator’s authority to waive 
deadlines imposed on him,   

4. limits an arbitrator’s authority to continue a 
hearing more than 30 days after it has begun to 
cases where good cause is shown,   

5. allows motions to vacate or modify any issue 
in an arbitrator’s award filed in Superior Court, 

6. changes the reasons a judge may vacate or 
modify an award, and  

7. allows arbitration on issues subject to 
collective bargaining even when the State 
Board of Labor Relations is deciding whether 
other issues are subject to collective 
bargaining.    

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 

MOTIONS TO VACATE OR MODIFY  
 
Under the act, motions to vacate or modify an 

arbitrator’s decision concerning any issue in an award 
may be filed in Superior Court.  Such motions must 
identify the specific issue or issues in dispute.  Any 
arbitrator decisions on issues not subject to the motion 
are final and binding upon the parties.   

The court, after a hearing, may vacate or modify the 
arbitration award if:  

1. the decision has been obtained by corruption, 
fraud, or undue means; 

2. the arbitrator was partial or corrupt; 
3. the arbitrator erroneously refused to postpone a 

hearing or hear pertinent and material evidence 
or prejudiced a party’s rights; or  

 
 
 

4. the arbitrator exceeded his power or 
improperly executed his power in such a way 
that a mutual, final, and definitive award was 
not made.    

Under prior law, a judge could vacate or modify an 
arbitrator’s award if a party’s substantial rights were 
prejudiced because the award: (1) violated the 
constitution; (2) went beyond the arbitrator’s authority; 
(3) was made by illegal procedures; (4) was affected by 
some other legal error; (5) was clearly erroneous in 
view of the reliable, probative, and substantial evidence 
of the whole record; or (6) was arbitrary or capricious or 
characterized by abuse or clearly unwarranted exercise 
of discretion.     

 
ARBITRATOR TIME LIMITS  

 
Under prior law, all of the time frames in 

negotiation and impasse resolution procedures could be 
waived by agreement of the parties or by an arbitrator’s 
request.  The act permits the time requirements imposed 
on an arbitrator to be waived only by agreement of the 
parties; those imposed upon the parties can be waived 
only by agreement of the parties or an arbitrator ruling.      
 
PROCEDURES WHEN THERE IS A DISPUTE 
ABOUT WHETHER AN ISSUE IS SUBJECT TO 
COLLECTIVE BARGAINING   

 
Previously, when a dispute came before the State 

Board of Labor Relations about whether an issue was a 
mandatory or nonmandatory subject of collective 
bargaining, issues that were not involved in the dispute 
could not be submitted to arbitration until the board 
ruled on the dispute unless both parties agreed.  The act 
eliminates that prohibition and allows issues that are not 
involved in the dispute to proceed to arbitration.  If an 
arbitration award is rendered before the board’s 
decision, and the board subsequently finds that one or 
more of the issues before it is subject to bargaining, the 
issues are treated in the same manner as supplemental 
understandings or awards.   
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PA 01-206—sHB 6931 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
Human Services Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING EDUCATION AND 
EQUITABLE WAGES FOR EARLY CHILDHOOD 
EDUCATION PROFESSIONALS 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires the Department of 
Social Services (DSS) to develop, within available 
funds, initiatives to increase the amount of 
compensation paid to child day care providers to further 
their education.  The initiatives must include (1) pay 
incentives for workers at centers receiving state or 
federal funds to further their education and (2) support 
for the labor commissioner’s establishment and 
implementation of a child care worker apprenticeship 
program administered jointly by labor and management 
trustees.  DSS must evaluate the effectiveness of any 
such initiatives in improving staff retention rates and the 
quality of education and care provided to children.    
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001   
 
 
PA 01-208—sHB 6886 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
Public Safety Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING ELIGIBILITY FOR 
HAZARDOUS DUTY DISABILITY 
COMPENSATION BENEFITS AND PORTAL-TO-
PORTAL WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 
BENEFITS 
 
SUMMARY: This act allows certain state employees 
injured while responding to an emergency or code at a 
correctional institution to collect hazardous duty 
benefits if the injury is the direct result of the special 
hazards inherent in their duties.  Under prior law, these 
employees could only collect the benefits when such 
injuries came directly from an assault in the line of duty 
or (1) while making an arrest; (2) actually performing 
police, guard, fire, inspection, prosecution, public 
defender, or courthouse duties; or (3) attending or 
restraining an inmate of a state institution. 

It also requires the Department of Correction or its 
workers’ compensation carrier to make retroactive death 
benefit payments to the dependents of any employee 
who was injured traveling from home to work or from 
work to home on or after July 1, 2000 and who died 
before July 16, 2000.  The Second Injury Fund must 

reimburse the department or its carrier. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage for the death 
benefit and October 1, 2001 for the hazardous duty 
benefits.    

 
BACKGROUND 
 
Hazardous Duty Benefits  

 
State employees in hazardous duty positions 

receive special benefits if they are totally disabled due 
to a job-related injury.  The employees receive 100% of 
their base salary for up to five years, including normal 
salary increases.  At the end of five years, if the 
employee is still totally disabled, the benefit drops to 
50% of base pay, except for state police officers who 
can receive 65% if they agree in writing to forego other 
disability retirement and workers’ compensation 
benefits. 
 
Hazardous Duty Positions 

 
State personnel considered to have hazardous duty 

positions include: (1) state police officers; (2) 
correctional institution employees; (3) employees of 
institutions that treat people with mental disorders; (4) 
full-time enforcement officers of the Board of Parole, 
Office of Adult Probation, the departments of 
environmental protection, motor vehicles, public works, 
and of the Department of Consumer Protection who 
carry out duties under the Liquor Control Act; (5) 
employees of the Division of Criminal Justice, Division 
of Public Defender Services, and Judicial Department; 
(6) juvenile probation officers and employees of 
juvenile detention homes; (7) members of the police or 
fire security force at the University of Connecticut or 
Bradley International Airport; (8) members of the State 
Capitol Police or special police officers appointed for 
the State Capitol, Legislative Office Building, and any 
other area under the control of the Joint Committee on 
Legislative Management; and (9) public defenders, 
state’s attorneys, and inspectors.   
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PA 01-47—sSB 1037 
Planning and Development Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING MEDIATION OF 
APPEALS OF DECISIONS OF PLANNING AND 
ZONING COMMISSIONS 
 
SUMMARY: This act allows parties to resolve disputes 
involving land use decisions or locally cited violations 
of state dumping laws through mediation instead of 
litigation. A party must first file an appeal to Superior 
Court before mediation can be tried. The parties must 
comply with the act’s requirements for starting, 
conducting, and concluding a mediation, which must be 
conducted by an impartial third party using generally 
accepted mediation principles. All must agree to the 
mediation, but a party can withdraw from it at any time. 

The mediator can ask anyone to participate in the 
process needed to resolve the dispute. The court cannot 
require the mediator to testify if the mediation fails and 
the appeal resumes. Nor can it admit the contents of the 
mediation sessions as evidence. The mediator must 
report the mediation’s results to the court.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
APPLICABILITY 

 
The act allows the parties involved in two types of 

appeals to resolve the dispute through mediation instead 
of litigation. They can do this for appeals from decisions 
of zoning commissions, planning commissions, 
combined planning and zoning commissions, zoning 
boards of appeals, historic district commissions, and the 
Connecticut and Niantic rivers gateway commissions. 
They can also try mediation for appeals from local 
decisions enforcing stream and channel encroachment 
ordinances and state dumping laws.  

The parties to the decision can try to resolve it 
through mediation if they all agree to do so; other 
parties must petition the court if they want to be 
included in the mediation.  These include parties 
owning land within 100 feet of land involved in the 
decision and others who can prove to the court that they 
were aggrieved by the decision.  All of the parties to the 
appeal must agree to the mediation before the process 
can begin.  They must share its cost equally.   

 
NOTICE REQUIREMENTS 

 
The parties can agree to try mediation any time 

after the appeal is filed in Superior Court. They must 
notify the court about their intention and publish a 
newspaper notice to that effect within 15 days after 

notifying the court.  Other aggrieved parties must obtain 
the court’s permission in order to join the mediation.  
They must do so within seven days after the newspaper 
notice is published. The court has seven days to decide, 
and its decision cannot be appealed. 
 
MEDIATION DEADLINE 

 
The parties must begin mediating on the same day 

they notify the court that they intend to try this option. 
Their agreement stays the appeal once the mediation 
begins. The appeal resumes if they stop mediation. They 
must finish mediation within 180 days after they 
notified the court.  

The parties can extend the deadline for another 180 
days if they all agree to do so but must get the court’s 
approval for a subsequent extension. Any party to the 
mediation can request the extension; any party can also 
ask the court not to grant it. The court can set any 
deadline for a subsequent extension after the first 180-
day extension has elapsed. Any party can end the 
mediation by withdrawing from it.  
  
MEDIATOR POWERS AND DUTIES 

 
The mediator can ask anyone he believes is needed 

to resolve the issue to participate in the mediation. 
Potential participants include intervenors, people who 
own land abutting the land that is the subject of the 
appeal, representatives of government agencies not 
involved in the mediation, and other people significantly 
involved in the issue being mediated.  

Within 15 days after the mediation ends, the 
mediator must report to the court about the process and 
its outcome. His report becomes part of the court’s 
record if the mediation failed to resolve the issue. 
 
 
PA 01-52—sHB 6609 
Planning and Development Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE TIME FOR THE 
FILING OF SUBDIVISION PLANS 
 
SUMMARY: This act imposes a deadline, instead of a 
30-day waiting period, on planning commissions to 
deliver approved subdivision plans to applicants. The 
deadline is the later of 30 days after either (1) the 
deadline for appealing a commission decision or (2) the 
date that a survey map and plan modified under the 
commission’s approval, and filed with the town clerk, 
are delivered to the commission. In the case of an 
appeal, the deadline is the later of 30 days after either 
(1) the conclusion of the appeal in the applicant’s favor 
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or (2) the date that a modified survey map and plan are 
delivered to the commission. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-110—sHB 6604 
Planning and Development Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE TIME TO APPEAL 
NOTICES OF ZONING DECISIONS 
 
SUMMARY: This act shortens, from two years to one, 
the time period to file certain land-use commission 
appeals on improper notification grounds. Appeals can 
address failure to comply with the notification 
requirements of any general statute, special act, 
ordinance, or regulation that governs the content, 
giving, mailing, publishing, filing, or recording of any 
notice about a hearing or a commission action. As under 
prior law, the time period for such appeals begins the 
day after the date of the decision or action, not after the 
date of the notification. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
BOARDS, COMMISSIONS, AND OFFICERS 
AFFECTED 

 
The notification appeal applies to the following 

municipal commissions or boards: (1) zoning, (2) 
planning, (3) combined planning and zoning, and (4) 
zoning board of appeals. It also applies to chief 
municipal elected officials, or their designees, when 
holding a hearing on illegal littering or dumping. 
 
 
PA 01-117—SB 1040 
Planning and Development Committee 
 
AN ACT AUTHORIZING MUNICIPALITIES TO 
JOINTLY PERFORM MUNICIPAL FUNCTIONS 
 
SUMMARY: This act gives two or more towns blanket 
authority to perform jointly any function any statute, 
special act, charter, or home-rule ordinance allows them 
to perform individually. It requires each participant to 
approve any joint agreement in the same manner it 
approves ordinances or, if the participant does not 
approve ordinances, in the manner it approves budgets. 
The terms of each agreement must include (1) a process 
for withdrawal and (2) a requirement that the approving 
body review the agreement at least once every five 
years to assess whether it improves the functions it 
addresses. The act applies to towns, cities, boroughs, 

consolidated towns and cities, consolidated towns and 
boroughs, and service districts (such as fire districts, 
sewer districts, beach associations, and improvement 
associations), but not school districts. 

Existing law allows municipalities and service 
districts to perform specified functions jointly through 
interlocal agreements. The act does not supersede this 
law but creates another avenue for similar agreements. 
By law, municipalities can also make agreements to 
share real and personal property tax revenue. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
Interlocal Agreements 

 
The law provides a process for towns and other 

municipal bodies to enter into interlocal agreements 
with towns within or outside Connecticut. It restricts 
these agreements to a specific, but long, list of 
municipal functions and services. The proposed 
agreement must be submitted to the local legislative 
bodies, which must each hold at least one hearing on the 
proposal, consider changes, and approve or reject the 
final proposal. The law requires the agreements to 
address, among other issues: (1) maximum duration, (2) 
employee indemnification, and (3) dispute settlement. 

 
Municipal Tax Revenue Sharing 

 
By law, two or more chief elected municipal 

officials may initiate a process to agree to share real and 
personal property tax revenue. The agreement (1) must 
be negotiated, with an opportunity for public 
participation, and adopted by each participating 
municipality’s legislative body; (2) must contain 
provisions for amending, terminating, and withdrawing 
from it; and (3) may include what tax revenue will be 
shared and how it will be collected and shared. 
Municipalities may enter into these agreements 
notwithstanding provisions of other state laws, charters, 
or home rule ordinances.  
 
 
PA 01-125—HB 6255 
Planning and Development Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE THRESHOLD FOR 
INCENTIVES FOR IMPROVEMENTS TO REAL 
AND PERSONAL PROPERTY AND THE 
ASSESSMENT OF AN ELECTRIC GENERATION 
FACILITY 
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SUMMARY: This act standardizes the schedule under 
which towns may abate (decrease or eliminate) the 
property taxes for different types of real estate projects 
and personal property in a manufacturing facility.  The 
schedule bases the abatement amount and time period 
on minimum threshold values a property must meet. 
Besides standardizing the schedule, the act reduces one 
of the threshold values and changes the abatement 
amount from a fixed rate to a ceiling.     

The act accelerates the rate at which electric 
companies must compensate towns out of the systems 
benefit charge for property taxes they lose as a direct 
result of electric restruc turing.  It requires companies to 
pay this compensation and their regular tax assessment 
in two installments.  The law specifies the process by 
which the towns must calculate the compensation 
amount and the Office of Policy and Management 
(OPM) secretary must review and certify that amount. 
The act also accelerates the schedule by which OPM 
must do this.   
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage, except the 
provisions regarding property tax abatements take effect 
October 1, 2001. 
 
PROPERTY TAX ABATMENTS  
 
Minimum Values for Real Estate Abatements 

 
The law fixes the amount and period during which 

towns’ legislative bodies may abate taxes for different 
types of real estate construction projects based on a 
project’s value. Table 1 lists the minimum value of an 
improvement that qualified a project for an abatement 
under prior law, the maximum abatement period, and 
the maximum abatement amount.  

 
Table 1: Minimum Value, Maximum Abatement 

Period, and Abated Amount for Real Estate Projects 
Under Prior Law 

 
Minimum 

Value Abatement Period Abatement 
Amount 

$3 million 7 years 100% 
$500,000 2 years 100% 
$100,000 3 years 50% 
$100,000 3 years 20% 
$500,000 3 years 30% 
$3 million 5 years to 7 ears 20% 
$5 million 7 years 30% 
 
The act eliminates several thresholds, which has the 

twin effect of standardizing the abatement amount and 
time period for projects within certain thresholds while 
limiting the range of abatement options and time periods 
towns have with respect to these projects.  By 

eliminating the:   
1. 30%, seven-year abatement for projects over 

$5 million, the act leaves towns with the single 
option of granting them the seven-year, 100% 
abatement available for projects over $3 
million;  

2. 20%, five- to seven-year abatement for projects 
between $3 million and $5 million, the act 
leaves towns with the option of granting them 
the 100%, seven-year abatement for projects 
over $3 million; and    

3. 30%, three-year abatement for projects 
between $500,000 and $3 million, the act 
leaves towns with the option of granting them 
the 100%, two-year abatement for projects over 
$500,000. 

The act eliminates the 20%, three-year abatement 
for projects between $100,000 and $500,000. But these 
projects could qualify for larger abatement under 
another change the act makes, which is discussed below.  

 
Lower Thresholds for Real Estate and Personal 
Property 

 
The act makes two changes to one of the thresholds 

for real estate projects. Prior law allowed towns to 
provide a flat 50%, three-year abatement for projects 
between $100,000 to $500,000.  The act allows  towns to 
set the abatement for up to 50% of the project’s value 
and lowers the minimum threshold from $100,000 to 
$25,000.  This change, combined with the elimination 
of the 20%, three-year abatement for projects in the 
$100,000 to $500,000 range, gives towns the option of 
setting the abatement at any amount up to 50% of the 
project’s value.   

The act makes a similar change with respect to the 
abatement towns can grant to manufacturers on any 
personal property in a manufacturing facility that 
increases the assessed value for all of the personal 
property in the facility. As Table 2 shows, 
manufacturers qualified for a 50%, three-year abatement 
under prior law if the total assessed value increased by 
$100,000.  The act allows towns to set the abatement for 
up to 50% and lowers the minimum threshold from 
$100,000 to $25,000.   

 
Table 2: Minimum Value, Maximum Abatement 

Period, and Abated Amount for Personal Property 
in a Manufacturing Facility Under Prior Law 
 

Minimum Value Abatement 
Period 

Abatement 
Amount 

$3 million 7 years 100% 
$500,000 2 years 100% 
$100,000 3 years 50% 
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Under another law, manufacturers qualify for a 
100% exemption for newly acquired manufacturing 
machinery and equipment.  The exemption is good for 
five years, and the state fully reimburses towns for the 
revenue loss.     

 
REIMBURSEMENTS RELATED TO ELECTRIC 
RESTRUCTURING 

 
The act accelerates the rate at which electric 

companies must compensate towns for some property 
tax revenue they lose as a result of electric restructuring. 
The law requires the companies to reimburse towns 
from the system benefit charge, which consumers pay. It 
specifies how tax assessors must calculate the 
reimbursement amount and the rate at which towns must 
be paid. The act increases, from 90% to 100%, the 
amount by which the companies must compensate 
towns for revenues lost during the first year. The 
compensation rate for the subsequent years remains at 
10% per year for 10 years. 

 
The act pushes up the deadline by which OPM must 

review the assessors’ calculations.  The law requires tax 
assessors to calculate the amount for each assessment 
year, which runs from October 1 to September 30. They 
must certify the amount for a given assessment year by 
June 15.  Prior law gave OPM until December 1 to 
notify towns if it changes the amount.  The act requires 
OPM to do this sooner, by July 1.  It also pushes up the 
deadline by which OPM must certify the amount to the 
DPUC from December 1 to July 15.  

The act requires the companies to pay their regular 
assessment and the compensation in two installments, 
the last of which predates the December 31 deadline 
specified under prior law.  Companies must pay this 
amount within five business days after they paid their 
property taxes, but not before July 15. They must pay 
the other half of the regular assessment and 
compensation amounts by January 31.  The act also 
makes a conforming change. 

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Eligible Real Estate Projects 

 
The following types of projects qualify for property 

tax abatements: office; retail; permanent residential; 
transient residential; manufacturing; warehouse, storage, 
or distribution; structured multilevel parking use 
connected to a mass transit system; information 
technology; and recreation and transportation facilities. 
 
 

PA 01-128—SB 774 
Planning and Development Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING MUNICIPAL BLIGHT 
ORDINANCES AND THE POWER OF A 
MUNICIPALITY TO APPOINT A RECEIVER OF 
RENTS 
 
SUMMARY: This act authorizes municipalities to 
make and enforce property maintenance regulations that 
must include standards to determine neglect. The law 
allows municipalities to make regulations preventing 
housing blight and to impose fines from $10 to $100 a 
day for each violation. The act authorizes the same level 
of daily fines for each violation of property maintenance 
regulations. By law, if a municipality chooses to impose 
fines, it must adopt a citation hearing procedure 
authorized by statute.  

By law, municipal legislative bodies can appoint a 
person or committee (i.e., an authority) to act for the 
municipality in dealing with landlords whose property is 
declared a nuisance. The act allows, rather than 
requires, these authorities to seek rent receivership 
action against a property owner. It also gives 
municipalities discretion whether to pay for remedying 
or removing the nuisance causing the action. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
RENT RECEIVERS 

 
Whenever a municipally appointed authority found 

a landlord did not (1) keep his property habitable or 
comply with statutory duties imposed on landlords or 
(2) comply with a municipal order to remedy or remove 
a public nuisance or comply with health and safety 
standards, prior law required it to apply to Superior 
Court for an order requiring the property owner to prove 
why a rent receiver should not be appointed. The act 
gives the authority the option of seeking a court-
appointed receiver in such cases. By law, when 
appointed by the court, a receiver can collect rents, take 
steps to resolve the nuisance, and evict tenants. 

 
Under prior law, if the income from the property in 

receivership did not cover the cost of resolving the 
nuisance or hazard, the municipality had to advance the 
necessary funds to the receiver to cover such costs, and 
it had to place a lien on the property. Under the act, the 
municipality can provide funds to resolve the nuisance 
but is not required to do so. 
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PA 01-136—sHB 6271 
Planning and Development Committee 
Environment Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING NOISE REGULATION 
OF THE UCONN STADIUM AT RENTSCHLER 
FIELD IN EAST HARTFORD 
 
SUMMARY: This act subjects the University of 
Connecticut (UConn) football stadium facility in East 
Hartford to local noise ordinances. It applies to the 
stadium, related parking facilities, project construction, 
and site preparation, but not to UConn sporting events. 
It requires noise enforcement to be based on scientific 
measurements. By law, before any noise ordinance can 
go into effect it must (1) be consistent with state 
standards for stationary noise sources and (2) be 
approved by the environmental protection 
commissioner. 

The football stadium facility is still exempted from 
all other municipal laws, ordinances, and regulations.  

The act also makes all activities at the stadium 
facility, including UConn sporting events, subject to 
state noise regulation by repealing a provision that made 
facility activities exempt from the noise pollution 
control statute.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-158—sHB 6994 
Planning and Development Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
Transportation Committee 
Joint Committee on Legislative Management 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING MUNICIPAL FISCAL 
DISPARITIES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act establishes a process to identify 
and help municipalities with (1) high mill rates, (2) low 
per-capita grand lists, (3) low median household 
incomes, and (4) declining populations. Annually, 
beginning September 15, 2001, the Office of Policy and 
Management (OPM) secretary must prepare a list of 
towns that meet all four criteria.  

Once a town is identified, the act delineates steps 
the state and other towns must take to address its fiscal 
capacity.  Within 30 days, the governor must convene a 
meeting of the chief elected officials of all the towns in 
the region where the affected town is located.  These 
officials must develop recommendations, including 
intertown collaboration and action, to address the 
town’s fiscal problems. By December 31 of the year the 
town is identified, they must submit the 

recommendations to the governor and the Planning and 
Development Committee; by December 31 of the 
second year, OPM, in consultation with town officials, 
must prepare a specific implementation strategy that 
addresses the town’s fiscal capacity. The strategy must 
be updated every year until the town no longer meets 
the act’s criteria. The act requires OPM to provide the 
towns with the necessary staff and resources, within 
available funds, to (1) develop the initial 
recommendations, and (2) implement the strategy. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
CRITERIA FOR INCLUSION 

 
Under the act, the OPM secretary must prepare an 

annual list of towns that have: 
1. an equalized mill rate 50% above the average 

of its region’s towns, 
2. an adjusted equalized net grand list per capita 

(AENGLC) that is 40% below the average of 
its region’s towns, 

3. a median household income that is 30% less 
than the average of its region’s towns, and  

4. a decrease in population in the year of the latest 
equalized mill rate compared with the average 
population of the previous five years. 

Region means the planning region as defined by 
OPM, as authorized in statute. The state has 15 regional 
planning agencies. The population for each town means 
the most recent Department of Public Health estimate. 

 
REGIONAL PLANNING MEETING 

 
Municipal Chief Elected Officials 

 
If a town does not have a chief elected official 

when a regional meeting is planned, its legislative body 
must choose one of its members by majority vote to 
represent the town at the meeting. The act deems this 
designee as the town’s chief elected official for 
purposes of the meeting. 

 
Meeting Notification 

 
The governor must notify all necessary chief 

elected officials about meetings by certified mail, return 
receipt requested. Any chief elected official receiving 
notice must participate in the process. 
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PA 01-161—sSB 1216 
Planning and Development Committee 
Education Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Human Services Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING ZONING 
REQUIREMENTS FOR RESIDENCES FOR 
CHILDREN WITH MENTAL OR PHYSICAL 
DISABILITIES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires local zoning regulations 
to treat as single-family homes Department of Children 
and Families (DCF)-licensed residences housing up to 
six mentally or physically disabled children (not 
defined) and necessary staff. The law already requires 
this treatment for Department of Mental Retardation 
(DMR)-licensed residences housing up to six mentally 
retarded people and necessary staff.   

The act permits any resident of a town hosting a 
DCF-licensed residential facility to petition the DCF 
commissioner to revoke the facility’s license for 
violations of applicable statutes or regulations. The 
resident must get the approval of the town’s legislative 
body before filing the petition. 

Under the act, DCF-licenses residential facilities 
cannot be located within 1,000 feet of each other or 
DMR-licensed residences, unless the local zoning 
commission approves.  DMR-licensed residences are 
also subject to this restriction. 

The act also specifies that it does not change the 
existing law relative to special education funding 
responsibilities for DCF- and DMR-placed children. 
Generally, the child’s original school district must pay 
for special education and related services. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-178—sSB 302 
Planning and Development Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING PROPERTY TAX 
COLLECTION 
 
SUMMARY: This act increases, from $5 to $25, the 
amount of property taxes that are due that towns’ 
legislative bodies can waive.  It specifies that they can 
waive the tax before its due date, which reflects current 
practice.   
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001 and applicable to 
assessment years beginning on or after that date.  
 
 

PA 01-197—sHB 6716 
Planning and Development Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Commerce Committee 
Transportation Committee 
Environment Committee 
 
AN ACT REVISING THE PROCESS FOR 
ADOPTION OF MUNICIPAL PLANS OF 
CONSERVATION AND DEVELOPMENT 
 
SUMMARY:  This act recodifies the statutes governing 
the form and content of local plans of conservation and 
development, making few substantive changes.  It 
extends to all towns (1) the requirement that planning 
commissions consider cluster development and regional 
plans of development and (2) the authority to 
recommend ways to preserve and conserve traprock and 
other ridgelines.  It also requires towns contiguous to 
Long Island Sound to make their plans consistent with 
the state’s Coastal Management Program.      

The act makes several changes in the process for 
adopting or amending a plan.  The changes apply to 
plans adopted after July 1, 2001 and amendments to 
those plans.  The act allows planning commissions to 
appoint special committees to develop 
recommendations and adds steps to the process, 
including a requirement to submit proposed plans and 
amendments to the town’s legislative body for approval. 
Commissions can still adopt a plan the legislative body 
rejects, but must do so by a two-thirds vote.   

The act requires commissions to prepare or amend 
their plans at least once every 10 years and hold public 
hearings on proposed plans or amendments. It also 
requires them to review and maintain the plans 
regularly; prior law required the reviews at least once 
every 10 years.  

The act allows towns to use local capital 
improvement project grants to cover the cost of 
preparing or revising a plan if the legislative body 
endorsed it within 180 days after the commission 
adopted it. Towns can use the grants for this purpose 
only once during a 10-calendar year period.  

The act adds the environmental protection 
commissioner to the list of state officials towns must 
notify when they go more than 10 years without 
reviewing their plans. 

It explicitly allows commissions to prepare 
neighborhood and district plans at any time. The act also 
makes technical changes.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2001 and applicable to 
plans and plan amendments adopted after this date.  
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PLAN’S PURPOSE AND CONTENT 
 
The act makes substantive changes to the purpose 

and content of plans of conservation and development. 
It requires all commissions to consider using cluster 
development when preparing or amending plans. Under 
prior law, this requirement applied only to towns where 
over 20% of the land is identified as undeveloped in the 
State Plan of Conservation and Development. Cluster 
developments generally place buildings closer together 
than in conventional developments in order to leave 
more land as open space. 

The act allows all commissions to recommend ways 
to conserve and preserve traprock and other ridgelines. 
Under prior law, only commissions in towns with 
identified traprock ridgelines could make these 
recommendations.   

 
PLAN ADOPTION AND AMENDMENT PROCESS 
 
Special Committees  

 
The act allows commissions to appoint special 

committees to develop recommendations for the plan.  
The committees may include residents and members of 
zoning commissions, inland wetland agencies, 
recreation commissions, school boards, finance boards, 
and redevelopment commissions. They can also include 
members of boards dealing with public works or other 
municipal functions.  The committees must consider the 
same factors the commission considers when it prepares 
the plan.  

The committees may accept information from any 
source or request advice from any person or 
organization.  They may hold informational meetings 
and inform residents about the planning process.  

 
Review and Comments Prior to Public Hearing 

 
The act requires a commission to submit proposed 

plans and amendments to the town’s legislative body 
and the region’s planning agency at least 65 days before 
the public hearing the commission must hold on 
adopting the proposed plan or amendments. The act 
allows the legislative body to hold its own hearings on 
the proposed plan or amendments and submit comments 
to the commission prior to their hearing. The legislative 
body tacitly approves the plan if it makes no comments.    

The regional planning agency must report its 
comments at or before the hearing. Any comments it 
makes are advisory.  The agency tacitly approves the 
plan if it makes no comments.    

 
 

The act explicitly allows commissions to review 
and amend proposed plans and amendments before 
scheduling the hearing.       

By law, commissions must publish notices about 
the hearing and file copies of proposed plans and 
amendments with town clerks and other specified 
municipal offices. They adopt them by a single 
resolution or successive resolutions. They must specify 
the effective dates of the plan or amendments and 
publish newspaper notices to that effect.  
 
Plan Adoption 

 
The act implies that the legislative body must act on 

the proposed plan and amendments after the 
commission’s hearing.  It requires the commission to 
approve them by a two-thirds vote of all members if the 
legislative body did not endorse the plan or 
amendments.   

 
Legislative Body Endorsement 

 
Legislative bodies may hold hearings on the plans 

after the planning commission adopts them.  They may 
also adopt resolutions endorsing the adopted plan.  

 
STATE NOTIFICATION 

 
The act adds the environmental protection 

commissioner to the list of state officials towns must 
notify if they go more than 10 years without reviewing 
their plans.  Chief elected officials already have to 
notify the Office of Policy and Management secretary 
and the transportation and economic and community 
development commissioners.  Local agencies already 
have to notify these officials each time they apply to 
them for funds. 

 
NEIGHBORHOOD AND DISTRICT PLANS 

 
The act specifies that commissions can prepare 

these plans any time. The law allows them to prepare 
and adopt plans to redevelop and improve districts or 
neighborhoods facing special problems or declining 
property values. The act also allows commissions to 
prepare these plans when these areas face special 
opportunities.   
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PA 01-1—sSB 6574 
Public Health Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE CERTIFICATION 
OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICE 
PERSONNEL 
 
SUMMARY: This act gives emergency medical service 
(EMS) personnel whose certification expires after 
December 31, 2000 a 90-day grace period during which 
they can continue to perform their EMS duties while 
meeting Department of Public Health (DPH) 
recertification requirements.  The certificate is void 
when the 90 days end.  

The act establishes three different recertification 
requirements for EMS personnel whose certification has 
expired, depending on how long it has been since their 
certification lapsed.  These apply to emergency medical 
technicians (EMT), EMT-intermediates, medical 
response technicians, and EMS instructors. 

1. If a person’s certification expired less than one 
year before he applies for reinstatement, he 
must meet the recertification training 
requirements specified in DPH regulations. 

2. If a person’s certification has lapsed for more 
than one but less than three years from the date 
he applies for reinstatement, he must complete 
the training requirements for recertification and 
pass the test required for initial certification. 

3. If a person’s certification has lapsed for three 
or more years from the date he applies for 
reinstatement, he must complete all the training 
and examination requirements for initial 
certification.  

Current DPH regulations require personnel whose 
certificates have lapsed to meet initial certification 
requirements regardless of the time elapsed since their 
certificates expired. 

Finally, the act requires DPH to adopt regulations 
governing issuing, renewing, reinstating, and 
recertifying EMS personnel licenses and certifications.  
DPH was previously authorized only to adopt 
regulations governing statewide certification standards 
for EMS personnel and for recertifying EMS personnel 
who have completed six years of continuous service.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
DPH Recertification Requirements for EMS Personnel  

 
DPH regulations governing recertification require 

(1) medical response technicians to complete at least 15 
hours of refresher training, (2) EMTs to complete at 

least 25 hours of refresher training or pass the initial 
certification exam, (3) EMT-intermediates to complete 
at least 25 hours of refresher training and 23 hours of 
continuing education, and (4) EMS instructors to 
complete at least 50 contact hours of continuing 
education.  The training includes both written and 
practical testing.  These requirements must be 
completed every two years until an individual has been 
certified for seven years, after which they must be 
completed every three years (Conn. Agency Regs. 19a-
179-16a, effective December 29, 2000). 
 
 
PA 01-18—HB 6575 
Public Health Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING RECEIVERSHIP OF 
RESIDENTIAL FACILITIES FOR MENTALLY 
RETARDED PERSONS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act specifies that, for purposes of 
receivership of a residential facility for mentally 
retarded persons, the facility includes staffing and other 
program resources associated with the facility.  

By law, the commissioner of the Department of 
Mental Retardation (DMR) or the director of the Office 
of Protection and Advocacy for Persons with 
Disabilities can file an application in Superior Court for 
appointment of a receiver for a residential facility for 
mentally retarded persons. A resident of a facility or his 
legally liable relative, conservator, or guardian can file a 
written complaint with the DMR commissioner 
specifying conditions at the facility that warrant a 
receivership application.  If DMR fails to resolve the 
complaint within 45 days of receiving it, or seven days 
in the case of a facility that intends to close, the person 
filing the complaint can apply to the court for a receiver 
to be appointed.  The court must notify the attorney 
general of the application. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-23—sSB 122 
Public Health Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE RETURN OF 
REGISTRATION OR DEPOSIT FEES BY DAY 
CARE CENTERS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires child day care centers 
(those caring for 13 or more children) that take a 
registration fee or deposit to put a child on a waiting list 
to return it in full if the child is not enrolled within six 
months.  The parent or other person who made the 
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deposit must ask for the refund in writing. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-27—SB 1026 
Public Health Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE USE OF 
DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH AND 
ADDICTION SERVICES FACILITIES BY SELF 
HELP GROUPS 
 
SUMMARY: This act authorizes the Department of 
Mental Health and Addiction Services (DMHAS) 
commissioner to allow self-help groups to use 
department facilities and services.  Previously, only 
municipalities and nonprofit community organizations 
were afforded this opportunity.  The act defines a “self-
help group” as a group of volunteers, approved by the 
commissioner, offering peer support to each other in 
recovering from addiction.  The self-help group, like 
municipalities and nonprofits, must provide DMHAS 
with proof of financial responsibility to satisfy any 
damage claims for physical injury or property damage 
while the group is using department facilities.  DMHAS 
is not liable for any damage or injury incurred on 
department property while it is being used by self-help 
groups. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-50—sSB 1024 
Public Health Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING ACCREDITATION FOR 
MAGNETIC RESONANCE IMAGING 
EQUIPMENT, SERVICES AND PERSONNEL 
AND FOR OFFICES AND UNLICENSED 
FACILITIES WHERE CERTAIN LEVELS OF 
ANESTHESIA ARE ADMINISTERED 
 
SUMMARY: This act establishes accreditation 
requirements for (1) health care practitioners and groups 
using or replacing magnetic resonance imaging 
equipment (MRI) or providing MRI services and (2) 
certain unlicensed health care facilities where various 
levels of anesthesia and sedation are administered.  

First, the act requires a licensed practitioner or 
practitioner group to get MRI accreditation from the 
American College of Radiology for all equipment, 
services, and personnel involved with its MRI activities 
by January 1, 2002 or 18 months after the date when it 
first conducts MRI activities, whichever is later.  After 

that time, no MRI activity can be performed without 
accreditation.  The practitioner or group must keep 
evidence of the accreditation at the facility where the 
MRI equipment is used or service is provided.  It must 
be available for inspection, upon request, by the 
Department of Public Health (DPH).  

Second, the act establishes accreditation 
requirements for unlicensed health care facilities (e.g. 
physician’s offices) where certain levels of anesthesia 
are administered.  Health care practitioners or 
practitioner groups operating unlicensed facilities must 
meet at least one of four specified accreditation 
standards before using moderate or deep 
sedation/analgesia or general anesthesia.  The standards 
are those established by (1) Medicare, (2) the 
Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care, 
(3) the American Association for Accreditation of 
Ambulatory Surgery Facilities, or (4) the Joint 
Commission on the Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations.  Dentists with DPH-issued permits to use 
general anesthesia or conscious sedation are exempt 
from these requirements. Accreditation is required by 
January 1, 2002, or 18 months after the date on which 
such anesthesia is first administered at the facility, 
whichever is later.  After that time, such anesthesia 
cannot be used without accreditation.  The practitioner 
or group must keep evidence of its accreditation at the 
office and make it available, upon request, to DPH. 

The act specifies that it does not relieve licensed 
practitioners, practitioner groups, or health care 
facilities and institutions from applicable state licensure 
and certificate of need requirements.   

It allows the Medical Examining Board to restrict, 
suspend, or revoke a physician’s license or take other 
disciplinary action against a physician (1) engaging in 
activities requiring accreditation without having such 
accreditation or (2) failing to provide accreditation 
evidence to DPH upon request. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-57—SB 1031 
Public Health Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE LICENSING OF 
MENTAL HEALTH FACILITIES 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires the Department of 
Public Health to license mental health outpatient 
treatment facilities that treat persons age 16 and older 
who are receiving services from the Department of 
Mental Health and Addiction Services.  The act also 
makes technical changes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
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PA 01-64—SB 1028 
Public Health Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE PROVISION OF 
HOUSING AND SUPPORT SERVICES BY THE 
DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH AND 
ADDICTION SERVICES 
 
SUMMARY: This act allows the Department of Mental 
Health and Addiction Services to sign a lease or other 
rental agreement for private housing on behalf of one of 
its clients.  The department must first determine that the 
client is unable to rent or lease the residence on his own.  
The rent or lease agreement cannot exceed the fair 
market price for the area in which the residence is 
located. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001  
 
 
PA 01-86—SB 1119 
Public Health Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE LICENSING OF 
PSYCHOLOGISTS 
 
SUMMARY: This act allows the Department of Public 
Health (DPH) to issue a psychologist’s license by 
endorsement to a person having a current certificate of 
professional qualification from the Association of State 
and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB). 

While the act does not define “licensure by 
endorsement,” it generally means that the state can grant 
a practitioner licensed in another state a license to 
practice in this state if his professional credentials 
satisfy the state’s licensing requirements.  Existing law 
allows DPH to license as a psychologist an applicant 
who is a currently practicing and competent practitioner 
with a license from another state with standards 
substantially equivalent to Connecticut’s.  The act gives 
DPH the option of accepting the ASPPB certificate. 

By law, DPH can require the applicant to provide 
satisfactory evidence that he understands Connecticut 
law on psychology practice. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
ASPPB 

 
ASPPB is an alliance of state, territorial, and 

provincial boards responsible for the licensure and 
certification of psychologists throughout the United 
States and Canada.  ASPPB maintains programs to 

assist state psychology boards in handling licensure 
applications from individuals already licensed to 
practice in another state or jurisdiction.  One of these is 
the “certificate of professional qualification” (CPQ). 
ASPPB issues CPQs to psychologists licensed in the 
U.S. or Canada who meet standards of educational 
preparation, supervised experience, and examination 
performance and who have practiced for a minimum of 
five years and have no history of disciplinary action.   
 
 
PA 01-90—sSB 1027 
Public Health Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE SUBSTANCE 
ABUSE REVOLVING LOAN FUND AND A 
TRAUMATIC BRAIN INJURY REGISTRY 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires the Department of 
Public Health (DPH) to establish a registry of traumatic 
brain injury (TBI) patients.  It also eases some of the 
repayment requirements for Department of Mental 
Health and Addiction Services’ (DMHAS) substance 
abuse revolving loans. 

The act requires the DPH commissioner to define in 
regulations the type of data that hospitals must make 
available to the TBI registry.  DPH and authorized 
researchers can use the registry data, but they cannot 
disclose any personally identifiable information about a 
TBI patient without the written consent of the patient or 
someone legally authorized to act for him.  The act 
exempts registry data from Freedom of Information Act 
disclosures.  DPH regulations must specify who may 
use the registry and how it can be used.  The act allows 
the commissioner to contract with a nonprofit TBI 
association to implement and administer the registry. 

The act allows, instead of requires, DMHAS to 
assess a delinquency penalty against nonprofit 
organizations that borrowed money from it to establish 
group homes.  It allows DMHAS to assess less than the 
currently required 5% penalty. And it changes the base 
on which the penalty is assessed from any payment 
more than 15 days overdue to delinquencies of over six 
months.  It requires DMHAS to apply loan repayments 
in the following order: to (1) the current installment due, 
(2) interest due, and (3) the oldest outstanding principal.  
Finally, it requires the statutory loan terms (up to $4,000 
for up to two years), interest requirements (up to 6%), 
and penalties to be included in the loan agreement and 
in any contract for loan administration. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
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PA 01-93—sHB 5675 
Public Health Committee 
Education Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING MENINGITIS 
INFORMATION AND VACCINATIONS FOR 
COLLEGE STUDENTS 
 
SUMMARY:  Beginning with the 2002-03 academic 
year, this act requires all public and private colleges and 
universities in the state to require all students who live 
in on-campus housing to be vaccinated against 
meningitis, with two exceptions.  These are if (1) a 
doctor certifies that a student’s physical condition 
contraindicates vaccination or (2) a student presents a 
statement that vaccination is against his religious 
beliefs. 

The act also requires each public and private 
college and university to (1) inform all prospective 
students before they matriculate about meningitis and 
the vaccine’s availability and benefits and (2) develop 
procedures for receiving and keeping records of 
students’ vaccination status. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-94—sHB 5882 
Public Health Committee 
Education Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE REGULATION OF 
YOUTH CAMPS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act: 

1. exempts classroom-based summer instructional 
programs from having to be licensed as youth 
camps in certain circumstances, 

2. exempts college facilities used by camps from 
annual safety inspection requirements in 
certain circumstances, and 

3. allows required school physical examinations 
to satisfy camp physical exam requirements. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
CLASSROOM-BASED PROGRAMS 

 
The act exempts classroom-based summer 

instructional programs that are not operated by schools 
from licensing by the Department of Public Health 
(DPH) if they do not conduct any activities that could 
pose a health risk or hazard to the children enrolled in 
them.  The law already exempts schools that operate 
summer education programs from licensing. 

FACILITY SAFETY INSPECTION 
 
The act exempts from DPH’s annual camp facility 

safety inspection college dorms, classrooms, athletic 
facilities, and other buildings as long as the college has 
had them inspected within a time period that satisfies 
DPH. 

 
PHYSICAL EXAMS 

 
DPH regulations require camps to have on file a 

physical examination or health status certification for 
each camper dated within 36 months of the child’s 
arrival at camp.  The act requires those regulations to 
permit the use of required school physicals for this 
purpose, subject to conditions of timeliness the 
commissioner believes appropriate. 

By law, schools must require children to have a 
health assessment before they enroll in school and in 
either sixth or seventh grade and in either 10th or 11th 
grade.  The assessments must include a physical 
examination; immunization updates; and, depending on 
the child’s age, vision, hearing, speech, dental, and 
posture screenings. 
 
 
PA 01-108—sHB 6461 
Public Health Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
Legislative Management Committee 
 
AN ACT ESTABLISHING A CAMP HARKNESS 
ADVISORY COMMITTEE 
 
SUMMARY:  This act establishes an 11-member Camp 
Harkness Advisory Committee to advise the mental 
retardation commissioner on health and safety issues 
concerning camp users.  The committee must promote 
communications about camp services and develop 
recommendations for the commissioner on the camp’s 
use. 

The committee must submit an annual report on the 
camp’s status to the Public Health Committee, with the 
first report due October 1, 2002. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2001 

 
COMMITTEE MEMBERS 

 
Committee members include: 
1. the Camp Harkness director, who serves ex 

officio; 
2. one member each representing the 

Southeastern Connecticut Association for the 
Retarded and Southbury Training School, 
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appointed by the governor; 
3. one consumer representing residential campers 

and one member representing parents or 
guardians of camp users, appointed by the 
governor; 

4. one member representing parents or guardians 
of camp users, appointed by the Senate 
president pro tempore; 

5. one consumer from the Family Support 
Council, appointed by the House speaker; 

6. one member representing the Waterford board 
of selectmen, appointed by the House majority 
leader; 

7. one member representing the camp’s booster 
club, appointed by the Senate majority leader; 

8. one member representing the Connecticut 
Institute for the Blind and Oak Hill School, 
appointed by the House minority leader; and 

9. one member representing the United Cerebral 
Palsy Association, appointed by the Senate 
minority leader. 

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Camp Harkness 

 
Camp Harkness is a 102-acre parcel in Waterford 

originally part of the Harkness family estate.  The 
property was willed to the state and donated for “public 
health.”  The Department of Mental Retardation has 
administrative responsibility for the camp. 

Currently, the Association for Retarded Citizens of 
New London County, Southbury Training School, the 
Connecticut Institute for the Blind, and the United 
Cerebral Palsy Association run summer programs at the 
camp.  The camp is open year-round to pass-holders 
(individuals and organizations serving people with 
disabilities) for day and overnight use. 
 
 
PA 01-109—sSB 175 
Public Health Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING ELECTROLOGISTS 
AND THE SPINAL CORD INJURY RESEARCH 
BOARD 
 
SUMMARY: This act substitutes the terms 
“electrologists” and “electrology” for 
“hypertrichologists” and “hypertrichology” throughout 
the statutes licensing the practice of hypertrichology.  
Hypertrichology, called “electrology” under the act, is 
the permanent removal of superfluous hair by electrical 
or other methods approved by the Department of Public 

Health (DPH).  The Board of Examiners of 
Hypertrichologists is renamed the Board of Examiners 
of Electrologists.  The act makes no substantive changes 
regarding the practice of electrology or the licensure of 
electrologists by DPH. 

The act also continues the Spinal Cord Injury 
Research Board, established by SA 99-13, which was 
scheduled to terminate on October 1, 2001. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001 for the 
electrology provisions; upon passage for the spinal cord 
injury board. 
 
 
PA 01-111—SB 694 
Public Health Committee 
Insurance and Real Estate Committee 
 
AN ACT DEFINING HEALTH CARE PROVIDER 
FOR PURPOSES OF PROMPT PAYMENT OF 
HEALTH INSURANCE CLAIMS 
 
SUMMARY:  By law, insurers must pay claims within 
45 days of receiving a health care provider’s request for 
payment filed according to the insurer’s practices.  If the 
information needed to process the claim is deficient, the 
insurer must (1) send written notice to the provider of 
all alleged deficient information needed to process the 
claim within 30 days after the insurer receives the claim 
and (2) pay within 30 days after receiving the requested 
information. 

This act specifies that "health care provider," for 
purposes of prompt claims payment, includes physicians 
and surgeons, chiropractors, naturopaths, podiatrists, 
athletic trainers, physical therapists, occupational 
therapists, alcohol and drug counselors, radiographers 
and radiologic technicians, midwives, nurses, nurse’s 
aides, dentists, dental hygienists, optometrists, opticians, 
respiratory care practitioners, pharmacists, 
psychologists, marital and family therapists, clinical 
social workers, massage therapists, dietician-
nutritionists, acupuncturists, and professional 
counselors.  The act also includes licensed health care 
institutions such as hospitals; residential care homes; 
health care facilities for the handicapped; nursing 
homes; rest homes; home health care agencies; 
homemaker-home health aide agencies; mental health 
facilities; substance abuse treatment facilities; student 
infirmaries; facilities providing services for the 
prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of human health 
conditions; and residential facilities for the mentally 
retarded and certified by Medicaid as intermediate care 
facilities for the mentally retarded. 

By law, insurers failing to make payments within 
the required times must pay the claimant the claim 
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amount plus 15% annual interest.  Failure to make these 
timely payments is also, under the law, an unfair 
method of competition or an unfair and deceptive act or 
practice in the insurance business and subjects the 
violator to penalties, including (1) a stop order, (2) 
monetary penalties, or (3) license surrender.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001   
 
 
PA 01-122—sHB 5426 
Public Health Committee 
Public Safety Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING AUTOPSY 
ARRANGEMENTS AND STANDARDIZED 
INFORMED AUTOPSY CONSENT 
 
SUMMARY:  Unless the Chief Medical Examiner’s 
Office performs it, the law prohibits a physician from 
performing an autopsy without the consent of the person 
who assumes custody of the body.  Beginning January 
1, 2002, this act requires that consent be documented 
and witnessed according to minimum requirements for 
an informed consent form the Department of Public 
Health (DPH) commissioner develops in consultation 
with the chief medical examiner.   

DPH’s minimum requirements must also provide 
for (1) giving the deceased’s family, friend, or other 
person he designates in writing before a notary or court 
officer to assume custody of his body an opportunity to 
limit the autopsy or express concerns about it and (2) 
clearly naming the institution and department that will 
perform the autopsy. They must contain procedures for 
communicating this information orally. The act 
specifies that these minimum requirements are not state 
regulations. 

Prior law allowed the consenting person to require 
a physician who is not affiliated with the institution 
where a person died to perform or attend the autopsy.  
The act, instead, allows that person to arrange for an 
autopsy to be performed in any institution that routinely 
performs autopsies and by any physician qualified to do 
so at that institution.  It makes this person responsible 
for paying for the autopsy and associated services.   

The act requires institutions that perform autopsies 
to include this information in their patient’s bill of rights 
and all written descriptions of their autopsy policy.  A 
copy of the patient’s bill of rights must be given to the 
person assuming custody of the body before he signs an 
autopsy consent form.  The information must be in a 
language that person understands.  DPH’s minimum 
requirements for an informed autopsy consent form 
must include procedures for the person receiving these 
documents to acknowledge receipt in writing or orally. 

The act subjects anyone who fails to provide the 
proper information for consent and, potentially, anyone 
who fails to pay a nonaffiliated physician, to a fine of up 
to $500. 

The act specifies that, after December 31, 2001, 
consent can be communicated in person; by mail, 
telephone, or courier; or electronically, as long as it is 
witnessed and documented.  Previously, consent could 
be given in writing or by telegram or telephone, and it 
did not need to be witnessed.  If it was given by 
telephone, the physician had to keep a record of it for at 
least three years.  The act eliminates this requirement 
for telephone consents after December 31, 2001. 

Finally, the act adds a person the deceased 
designated in writing before a court officer to the list of 
people who can consent to an autopsy. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-124—sHB 5701 
Public Health Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
Human Services Committee 
Education Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING RECOMMENDATIONS 
FOR AND REFUSALS OF THE USE OF 
PSYCHOTROPIC DRUGS BY CHILDREN AND 
UTILIZATION REVIEW DETERMINATIONS 
RELATED TO MENTAL AND NERVOUS 
CONDITIONS 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires local and regional 
school boards to adopt and implement policies 
prohibiting school personnel from recommending that a 
child use psychotropic drugs.  It specifies that it does 
not prohibit (1) school medical staff from 
recommending appropriate evaluation of a student by a 
medical practitioner and (2) school personnel from 
consulting with the medical practitioner with the 
consent of the child’s parents or guardian. 

The act also specifies that a parent’s refusal to 
administer or consent to administration of psychotropic 
drugs to a child does not, by itself, constitute grounds 
for (1) the Department of Children and Families (DCF) 
to take the child into custody or (2) a court to order that 
the child be taken into DCF custody, unless that refusal 
results in the child’s abuse or neglect. 

Finally, the act requires utilization review 
companies, when making determinations related to 
mental or nervous conditions, to report them separately 
from all other reported determinations.  By law, 
utilization review companies must annually file with the 
insurance commissioner the number of determinations 
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not to certify an admission, service, procedure, or stay 
extension and the outcome of appealed determinations.  
“Utilization review” is a process to evaluate the 
necessity, appropriateness, and efficiency of the use of 
medical services, procedures, and facilities.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-140—HB 6573 
Public Health Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE RIGHTS OF 
PERSONS UNDER SUPERVISION OF THE 
COMMISSIONER OF MENTAL RETARDATION 
AND GUARDIANSHIP OF PERSONS WITH 
MENTAL RETARDATION 
 
SUMMARY: This act makes a number of changes 
affecting the services, treatments, program needs, 
placements, and transfers for persons with mental 
retardation and those who can make decisions for them. 

The act specifies that a plenary or limited guardian 
of a mentally retarded person, and where appropriate, 
the person, is the primary decision maker concerning his 
well being. 

It also allows the parent, guardian, conservator, or 
other legal representative of a mentally retarded person 
to object to determinations by the Department of Mental 
Retardation (DMR) concerning certain medications, 
procedures, and placements. 

The act makes changes to the existing notice 
process for transferring a mentally retarded person from 
one facility to another.  It also requires notice when 
DMR transfers a person between residential units within 
the training school or mental retardation region. 

The act makes it clear that the director, who under 
existing law can consent to necessary emergency 
surgery, is the regional or training school director who 
has custody and control of a resident of a DMR facility.  
This applies when there is not enough time to obtain 
consent from the resident, his parent, or guardian. The 
act also makes technical changes. 

Finally, the act requires the DMR commissioner to 
conduct a study of guardianship law concerning people 
with mental retardation. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001  
 
PRIMARY DECISION MAKERS 

 
The act specifies that a plenary or limited guardian 

of a mentally retarded person, and to the extent possible 
the person, is the primary decision maker concerning 
the person's program needs and other policies and 

practices affecting his well being, within the limits of 
the authority granted by the probate court.  The limited 
guardian is the primary decision maker only for those 
duties assigned him by the court.   

The act requires the plenary or limited guardian to 
consult with the person and appropriate family 
members, where possible, when making decisions.  
Such decisions cannot conflict with the legal rights of a 
mentally retarded person to humane and dignified care 
and treatment. 

These decision-making provisions must be included 
in any court order appointing a plenary or limited 
guardian. 

 
OBJECTIONS TO CERTAIN TREATMENT AND 
PLACEMENT 

 
The act allows the parent, guardian, conservator, or 

other legal representative of a mentally retarded person 
or the person himself to object to (1) DMR's proposed 
approval of a program that includes behavior modifying 
medications or aversive procedures or (2) a proposed 
DMR determination that community placement is 
inappropriate. 

DMR must give written notice of its proposed 
approval or determination to the parent, guardian, 
conservator, or other legal representative, or the person 
himself at least 10 days before making it.  If there is an 
objection, DMR must hold a hearing. No hearing is 
required if DMR withdraws the proposed approval or 
determination. 

 
TRANSFER OF INDIVIDUALS 

 
The law allows DMR to transfer persons with 

mental retardation from one institution to another when 
necessary and desirable for the person's welfare.  
"Institution" includes both public and state-supported 
private institutions.  The person and his parent, 
guardian, conservator, or other legal representative must 
get written notice of their right to request a hearing at 
least 10 days before the proposed transfer, except for 
emergency transfers.  The act clarifies that the notice is 
of the person's right to object to the transfer.  If an 
objection is made, DMR must hold a hearing. No 
hearing is required if DMR withdraws the proposed 
transfer. 

In case of emergency transfer, the law requires that 
notice be given within 10 days after the transfer.  The 
act clarifies that the notice must advise the recipient of 
his right to a hearing.  The act also makes it clear that a 
person can ask for a transfer. 
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GUARDIANSHIP STUDY 
 
The act requires the DMR commissioner to study 

the law on guardianship of persons with mental 
retardation.  He must collaborate with (1) the probate 
court administrator and the director of the Office of 
Protection and Advocacy for Persons wi th Disabilities 
or their designees and (2) one representative each from 
the Association for Retarded Citizens of Connecticut 
and the Friends of Retarded Citizens of Connecticut.  
He must submit his findings and recommendations to 
the Public Health Committee by January 1, 2003. 
 
 
PA 01-145—sHB 6941 
Public Health Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING PLANS FOR THE 
REMEDIATION OF MEDICAL AND SURGICAL 
ERRORS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires each licensed hospital 
to make available to the Department of Public Health, 
upon request, a copy of its medical and surgical error 
remediation plan required by the Joint Commission on 
the Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations.  The 
commission is an independent, not-for-profit 
organization that evaluates and accredits health care 
organizations, including hospitals, in the United States.   
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-154—sHB 6610 
Public Health Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT IMPOSING A MORATORIUM 
CONCERNING CERTAIN STATE PROPERTY 
USED FOR RESIDENTIAL PURPOSES BY 
PERSONS WITH MENTAL RETARDATION OR 
PSYCHIATRIC DISABILITIES AND 
CONCERNING THE PLACEMENT OF CERTAIN 
CLIENTS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL 
RETARDATION 
 
SUMMARY:  This act imposes a limited moratorium 
on the conveyance of state-owned property that is or has 
been used recently to house people with mental 
retardation or psychiatric disabilities.  The moratorium 
lasts until July 6, 2004 or until the General Assembly 
approves department of Mental Retardation (DMR) and 
Mental Health and Addiction Services (DHMAS) plans 

to address waiting list and service needs issues, 
whichever is earlier.  The act creates a separate, 
nonlapsing General Fund account to receive any 
proceeds from the sale, lease, or transfer of Fairfield 
Hills and Norwich hospitals and any regional centers.  
The fund can be used only for site acquisition, capital 
development, and infrastructure costs needed to provide 
services to people with mental retardation and 
psychiatric disabilities. 

The act requires the DMR commissioner to adopt 
regulations to establish and implement policy for 
placing and caring for clients the department determines 
pose a serious threat to others.  It also requires the 
commissioner, in consultation with the public works 
commissioner, to evaluate the feasibility and 
appropriateness of using state-owned property of 12 or 
more acres for a facility to place up to 15 clients DMR 
determines cannot appropriately be placed in the 
community.  The commissioner must report his findings 
and recommendations, including the criteria and 
standards used to evaluate the properties, to the Public 
Health Committee by February 1, 2002. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

 
MORATORIUM 

 
The act prohibits the state from selling, leasing, or 

otherwise transferring (or having any of these 
transactions performed on its behalf) real property it 
owns and uses, or has used within the past 10 years, for 
housing people with mental retardation, psychiatric 
disabilities, or substance abuse.  The prohibition lasts 
until July 6, 2004 or until the General Assembly 
approves both a DMR plan to eliminate all emergency 
and priority one waiting list categories and a DMHAS 
plan to meet needs identified in the July 2000 report of 
the Governor’s Blue Ribbon Commission on Mental 
Health, whichever occurs first.    (A person with a DMR 
emergency category designation needs residential 
supports immediately.  A person with a priority one 
status needs residential service within one year.)  

The moratorium applies only to state-operated, 
community-based residential facilities, boarding homes, 
group homes, or halfway houses, occupied by people 
with mental retardation, psychiatric disabilities, or 
alcohol or drug dependency.  But the act allows the state 
to lease these properties during the moratorium if their 
use remains the same.  

 
SEPARATE GENERAL FUND ACCOUNT 

 
The act creates a nonlapsing General Fund account 

to hold (1) the proceeds from the sale, lease, or transfer 
after January 1, 2001 of all or any part of the Fairfield 
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Hills and Norwich hospitals and any regional center and 
(2) any other money the law requires deposited for the 
act’s purposes.  The fund can be used only for site 
acquisition, capital development, and infrastructure 
costs needed to provide services to people with mental 
retardation and psychiatric disabilities and only after the 
General Assembly appropriates money from the fund.  
Investment earnings on the fund’s balance must be 
credited to the fund. 
 
DMR FORENSIC CLIENTS 

 
The regulations  the DMR commissioner must adopt 

concerning the placement and care of clients that pose a 
threat must include criteria and factors to be considered 
in: 

1. evaluating and placing these clients; 
2. siting residential facilities for them; 
3. giving notice, if any, to the community in 

which they will be placed; 
4. determining appropriate levels of security and 

supervision; and  
5. providing appropriate programs and quality of 

life within the least restrictive environment. 
The regulations cannot permit siting more than one 

facility in a single town. 
 
 
PA 01-163—sHB 6569 
Public Health Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
General Law Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING VITAL RECORDS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act makes a number of substantive 
and technical changes in the statutes on vital records, 
affecting both the Department of Public Health (DPH) 
and local registrars of vital statistics.  It: (1) specifies 
that vital records include fetal death certificates in 
addition to birth, marriage, and death certificates and 
makes the necessary conforming changes; (2) allows 
DPH and local registrars to transmit and register vital 
records electronically and defines terms to address vital 
records in both electronic and paper format; (3) makes a 
number of changes concerning birth certificates 
addressing access, confidentiality, data usage, copies, 
paternity acknowledgments, name changes, and 
adoption; (4) allows certain people to access Social 
Security numbers on marriage licenses and death 
certificates; (5) allows funeral directors and embalmers 
licensed in states with reciprocal agreements with 
Connecticut to undertake a number of activities here; (6) 

requires DPH to develop uniform procedures 
concerning vital records and modifies its regulatory 
authority; (7) clarifies how DPH must administer the 
state system of registration of births, marriages, deaths, 
and fetal deaths; (8) standardizes the fees for vital 
records, including setting the same $2 fee for recording 
fetal deaths as for other vital records; and (9) eliminates 
outdated or contradictory provisions. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2001 

 
DUTIES OF REGISTRARS OF VITAL STATISTICS 
 
Record Keeping  

 
Prior law included a number of procedures that 

registrars must follow in recording, filing, indexing, and 
binding in book form the vital statistics accumulated.  
This act eliminates these particular procedures and 
instead directs each registrar to keep records according 
to regulations the DPH commissioner adopts.  Any 
certified copy of a vital record must include all 
information DPH requires. 

The act requires each registrar to keep records on 
fetal deaths in addition to marriages, births, and deaths 
and eliminates a requirement to keep such records in 
“books.”  Under prior law a registrar had to amend or 
correct certificates when he discovered errors on their 
face.  The act requires him to correct birth, marriage, 
death, and fetal death certificates whenever he finds 
transcribing, typographical, or clerical errors. 

Under the act, when the registrar corrects a 
certificate, he must forward an authenticated copy of the 
corrected certificate, within 10 days, to DPH and any 
other registrar having a copy of the certificate.  The 
registrar must keep sufficient documentation, as 
prescribed by DPH, to support the correction and must 
ensure its confidentiality. The date of correction and a 
summary of the evidence supporting it must be part of 
the record.  The certificate cannot be marked 
“amended” unless an amendment is made as provided 
by law.  “Amendment,” under the act, means to (1) 
change or enter new information on a birth, marriage, 
death, or fetal death certificate more than one year after 
the date of the vital event recorded in it, in order to 
accurately reflect the facts existing at the time the event 
was recorded; (2) create a replacement certificate of 
birth for matters relating to parentage or gender change; 
or (3) change a certificate to reflect changed facts since 
the time it was prepared, including a legal name change 
or modification in cause of death.   

The act changes from the seventh to the 15th day of 
each month the date the registrar must send DPH an 
authenticated copy of each certificate of birth, marriage, 
and death he receives for the preceding month and 
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extends this requirement to fetal deaths. 
 

Official Seal  
 
By law, the registrar of vital statistics in each town 

uses an official seal to authenticate certificates and 
copies of records.  The act specifies that only the 
registrar or his authorized agent can possess the official 
seal or any facsimile. 

 
Filling Out and Signing Certificates  

 
The act subjects fetal death certificates to the 

current requirements for filling out and signing birth, 
marriage, and death certificates.  It provides that if a 
certificate is in electronic format, it must be 
authenticated by DPH’s electronic vital records system 
(EVRS).   

 
Indexes  

 
The law requires registrars to keep alphabetically 

arranged indexes of the name of each person whose 
birth, marriage, or death they record.  The act applies 
this to fetal deaths and requires that the registrar keep 
separate indexes for each type of vital event. 

 
Transmitting Records  

 
The act requires the registrar to record on each 

certificate the date it was received, by writing on the 
certificate or through electronic means.  It allows the 
registrar from the town where a child was born to access 
electronically birth data for a child to make corrections 
and amendments as requested by the parents, the 
reporting hospital, or DPH, excluding amendments 
concerning parentage and gender change (only DPH can 
change these).  Amendments to vital records made by 
the registrar in the town of occurrence must be made 
according to law (see below).  

Prior law required the registrar to send DPH, by the 
seventh day of the month, an attested copy of each death 
certificate he received for the preceding calendar month 
or a notification that he received none. By the 15th of the 
month, he had to do the same for birth and marriage 
certificates.  The act instead requires him to send an 
“authenticated” copy of each birth, marriage, death, or 
fetal death certificate to DPH by the 15th day of the 
month or a notification that none was received.  
“Authenticated,” under the act, means to affirm a 
record’s integrity by affixing the official seal to a paper 
record or, in the case of an electronic format, the user 
identification, password, or other means of 
electronically identifying the record’s creator, as 

approved by DPH. 
The act requires that copies of certificates sent to 

DPH be complete, in addition to the current 
requirements that they be plain and legible. DPH must 
request a complete or legible copy from the registrar. 

 
COPIES OF CERTIFICATES FILED IN ANOTHER 
TOWN  

 
The law requires the registrar in a town where a 

birth, marriage, or death certificate is filed to make a 
certified copy of it and send it to the registrar of another 
town when it appears that the child’s mother, either 
party to the marriage, or the deceased resided in that 
town.  The act adds a fetal death certificate to this list 
and requires that the transmitted copy of any certificate 
be authenticated and include all information on the 
certificate.   

The act specifies that a registrar with access to an 
EVRS can use it to meet the certificate filing 
requirements. But if the town of residence does not have 
access to an EVRS, the registrar of the town where the 
vital event occurred must manually transmit the 
authenticated copy to the other town. 

Under the act, a registrar with authorized access to 
DPH’s EVRS can use it to view, print, and issue 
certificates to authorized individuals.  But only the 
registrar of the town where the vital event occurred or 
DPH can correct or amend the certificates. 

 
FILING REQUIREMENTS FOR BIRTH 
CERTIFICATES  

 
The act allows a registrar to file a birth certificate 

by manual or electronic means.  It eliminates a 
requirement that, after three years, DPH destroy the 
confidential medical and statistical data on birth 
certificates.  The act allows local health directors access 
to medical and confidential birth data recorded in the 
town and records related to mothers who were residents 
of the town at the time of birth.  It also allows hospitals 
to use birth certificate and confidential data they 
generate internally for statistical, health, and quality-
assurance purposes.  

By law, when a birth occurs in an institution or en 
route to it, the person in charge of the institution must 
complete the certificate, get the required signatures, and 
file it with the registrar of the town where the birth 
occurred. (An institution is a public or private facility 
providing inpatient medical, surgical, or diagnostic care 
or nursing, custodial, or domiciliary care.) This must be 
done within 10 days of the birth.  The act instead 
requires the institution head to (1) obtain all available 
data required by the certificate; (2) prepare it; and (3) 
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certify either by signature or electronic process 
approved by DPH that the child was born alive at the 
place, time, and date stated.  It requires, in addition to 
the physician in attendance at the birth, that the 
physician, institution, or other person providing prenatal 
care provide the medical information required by the 
certificate. 

 
RESTRICTIONS ON BIRTH CERTIFICATE 
CONTENT  

 
The law allows recording information on whether a 

child was born in or out of wedlock and the mother’s 
marital status on a confidential portion of the birth 
certificate.  Under prior law, the name of the father was 
entered on the birth certificate when a voluntary 
acknowledgment or adjudication of paternity was filed 
in DPH’s paternity registry.  The act instead allows such 
an entry on the birth certificate after an 
acknowledgment of paternity is completed at a hospital, 
or at a town in the case of a home birth, and transmitted 
to DPH. 

The act requires that, as of January 1, 2002, each 
birth certificate contain the name of the birth mother, 
except if a court orders otherwise. 

The act requires DPH to file in its paternity registry 
all post-birth acknowledgments or adjudications of 
paternity it receives.  DPH must enter the father’s name 
on the birth record or certificate, if no paternity is 
already recorded on it.  If another father’s information is 
already recorded on the certificate, it cannot be removed 
unless DPH receives a court order finding that (1) the 
person recorded on the birth certificate is not the child’s 
father or (2) a person other than the one recorded is the 
child’s father.   

 
RESTRICTIONS ON EXAMINING BIRTH 
CERTIFICATES AND RECORDS  

 
Existing law allows access to an original or copy of 

any birth certificate or birth record by: (1) the person, if 
over 18, whose birth is recorded; (2) his parent, 
guardian, or grandparent, if a minor; (3) his children or 
spouse; (4) the chief executive officer of the 
municipality or his authorized agent; (5) the local health 
director or his agent; (6) lawyers; (7) title examiners; 
and (8) genealogical associations.   

The act requires DPH and registrars to restrict 
access of birth and fetal death records and certificates 
less than 100 years old to those listed above.  It also 
adds to those with access: (1) the grandchildren of the 
individual, (2) agents of a state or federal agency as 
approved by DPH, and (3) researchers approved by 
DPH.  The act prohibits release of confidential files on 

paternity, adoption, gender change, or gestational 
agreements, or information in those files, to any party, 
including those listed above, without a court order 
except to the Bureau of Child Support Enforcement.  It 
does not condition parental, grandparent, or guardian 
access on the person being a minor.  The act also 
specifies that, for genealogical associations to have 
access, they must be incorporated or authorized by the 
secretary of the state.  Attorneys and title examiners can 
obtain the certificate only if they represent the 
individual or his child, parent, spouse, or guardian.  For 
a local health director to have access, he must be from 
the town where the birth or fetal death occurred or 
where the mother resided at the time of the event. 

The act prohibits anyone, except those listed above, 
from examining or receiving a copy of any birth or fetal 
death certificate, record, or information, or disclosing 
anything found in one, except with a court order.  The 
act prohibits disclosing information in the “information 
for medical and health use only” or the “information for 
statistical purposes only” section of a certificate, other 
than Social Security numbers and parental race and 
ethnicity information recorded in the “administrative 
purposes” section of a birth or fetal death certificate, 
unless specifically authorized by DPH for statistical or 
research purposes.  The confidential information, other 
than the excluded information noted above, is not 
subject to subpoena or court order and is not admissible 
in court or any other tribunal under the act.   

The act allows the registrar of the town where the 
birth or fetal death occurred or where the mother resided 
at the time of the event, or DPH, to issue a certified 
copy of a birth or fetal death certificate which is in 
paper form in the custody of the registrar.  A registrar 
with authorized access to DPH’s EVRS can issue a 
certified copy of the electronically filed certificate.  The 
paper or electronic certificate must be issued upon 
written request of an eligible party (see above).  DPH 
and registrars may only issue certified copies of birth or 
fetal death certificates for events occurring less than 100 
years before the request.   

 
OBTAINING COPIES OF VITAL RECORDS  

 
Purchases of Records 

 
Prior law allowed anyone age 18 or older to 

purchase certified copies of marriage and death records 
and copies of birth records that are at least 100 years old 
that are in the custody of any registrar.  This act also 
allows purchase of uncertified marriage and death 
records and copies of fetal death records, all subject to 
the 100 year rule.  The act specifically excludes 
genealogical society members from access to 
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confidential files on gender change, gestational 
agreements, and paternity.  The act also allows DPH to 
issue uncertified copies of (1) death certificates for 
deaths occurring less than 100 years ago and (2) birth, 
marriage, death, and fetal death certificates occurring at 
least 100 years ago to researchers and state and federal 
agencies approved by DPH. 

 
Marriage Licenses  

 
The act requires that the Social Security numbers of 

the bride and groom be recorded in the “administrative 
purposes” section of all marriage licenses and 
applications for them.  All parties specified on a license 
(bride, groom, officiator of the marriage, town clerk, 
registrar, and others authorized by DPH) have access to 
the Social Security numbers.  Any other person, 
researcher, or state or federal agency requesting a 
certified or uncertified copy of a marriage license must 
be given a copy with the Social Security numbers 
removed or redacted or with the administrative purposes 
section omitted. 

The act eliminates a provision law allowing for 
public examination of a marriage license application 
until the license is issued and it eliminates “occupation” 
from the license application. 

 
Deaths  

 
The act requires recording in the “administrative 

purposes” section of a death certificate the Social 
Security number, occupation, business, race, Hispanic 
origin if applicable, and educational level of the 
deceased (if known) for deaths occurring after 
December 31, 2001.  All parties listed on the certificate 
have access to the Social Security numbers on both the 
original and certified copy of the death certificate.  
(These include the informant, licensed funeral director, 
embalmer, conservator, spouse, physician, town clerk, 
and others authorized by DPH.)  Others requesting a 
certified or uncertified copy for a death occurring after 
July 1, 1997 must be given it with the Social Security 
numbers removed or redacted, or with the 
administrative purposes section omitted. 
 
CERTIFICATION OF BIRTH REGISTRATION  

 
The act adds the grandparent, guardian, and the 

adult child of the birth subject to those who can obtain a 
certification of birth registration (“wallet size” birth 
certificates). It allows DPH to prescribe additional 
identifying information for inclusion on the registration. 

 
 

The registrar of any town with access to a DPH-
authorized EVRS can use that system to issue a 
certification of birth registration. 

 
BIRTH CERTIFICATES OF ADOPTED PERSONS  

 
The law requires DPH to prepare a new birth 

certificate after someone is adopted.  The act prohibits 
issuing a new certificate if the court decreeing the 
adoption; the adoptive parents; or the adopted person, if 
over 14, so requests. Anyone seeking to examine or get 
a copy of the original birth record or certificate must 
first get a written order from the probate court judge 
from the district in which the adopted person was 
adopted or born.  After receiving the court order, the 
registrar of the town in which the birth was recorded or 
DPH may (1) issue a certified copy of the original 
certificate with a notation that the original birth 
certificate has been superseded by a replacement 
certificate on file or (2) permit the examination of the 
record.   

 
CERTIFICATION OF BIRTH REGISTRATION OF 
PEOPLE ADOPTED FROM ANOTHER STATE OR 
NATION  

 
The act lowers from 18 to 16 the age at which a 

person born outside of the state or country and adopted 
by state residents can obtain a certification of birth 
registration. 

 
BELATED BIRTH REGISTRATIONS  

 
The act requires a registrar to provide DPH with a 

copy of a certificate for a belated registration of birth. 
 

ILLEGAL ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATES  
 
The law prohibits anyone other than a registrar or 

DPH from issuing an original or certified copy of a 
birth, death, fetal death, or marriage certificate.  This act 
extends this prohibition to uncertified copies of such 
certificates. 
 
OUT-OF-STATE FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

 
The act allows licensed funeral directors or 

embalmers from another state who comply with DPH 
reciprocal agreements to complete a death certificate 
when they are in charge of the burial.   

The law allows licensed embalmers and funeral 
directors to remove a dead person’s body from one town 
to another or to another state.  The act also allows 
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licensed embalmers and funeral directors from another 
state who comply with a reciprocal agreement with 
DPH to remove bodies from one town to another or to 
another state.  It allows these out-of-state embalmers 
and directors to sign a Connecticut death certificate.   

The act allows embalmers and funeral directors 
licensed in states with reciprocal agreements with DPH 
to temporarily remove a body for preparation for burial 
or cremation.  The act eliminates a requirement that the 
body must be returned within 24 hours to the 
Connecticut town where the death occurred unless a 
permit for permanent removal is obtained. 

 
DPH AUTHORITY AND RESPONSIBILITIES  

 
By law, DPH must adopt regulations on methods of 

recording, preserving, indexing, and amending vital 
records.  The act specifies that the regulations must also 
address reporting, issuing, maintaining, and correcting 
the records.  It also directs the department to develop 
uniform procedures concerning vital records.  

 
Amendments to Certificates  

 
The act specifies that only the DPH commissioner 

can amend birth certificates to reflect changes 
concerning parentage or gender change.  Amendments 
related to such changes must result in a replacement 
certificate that supersedes the original and must not 
reveal the original language changed by the amendment. 
Under the act, any amendment made by a local registrar 
must follow DPH regulations and uniform procedures.   

DPH and registrars must maintain sufficient 
documentation, as determined by DPH, to support 
amendments and ensure the confidentiality of the 
documentation.  The amendment date and a summary of 
the evidence submitted supporting the amendment must 
be endorsed on, or made part of, the record, and the 
original certificate must be marked “Amended,” except 
for amendments due to parentage or gender change.   

A registrar amending a certificate must forward the 
amended certificate within 10 days to DPH and to any 
registrar having a copy of the certificate.  DPH must 
forward any certificate it amends, including changes due 
to parentage or gender, to the registrars affected, who in 
turn must amend their records.  

An amended certificate supersedes the original and 
must be marked “Amended,” except for changes due to 
parentage and gender.  The original certificate, in the 
case of parentage or gender change, must be physically 
or electronically sealed and kept in a confidential file by 
DPH and the registrar affected.  It can be unsealed for 
viewing or issuance only by court order.  The amended 
certificate becomes the public record. 

Amendments –Paternity  
 
By law, DPH must include on, or amend, a birth 

certificate to reflect an acknowledgment of paternity in 
a case of a child born out of wedlock.  The act specifies 
that if another father is listed on the birth certificate, 
DPH cannot remove or replace that name unless it is 
given a court order meeting the requirements specified 
above. As under existing law, these amended birth 
certificates must not be marked “Amended.” 

 
Name Change  

 
The act gives DPH the authority to change the 

child’s name, if requested, when paternity is rescinded.  
Only the father’s name could be removed from the birth 
certificate when paternity was rescinded under prior 
law. 

Under the act, when a parent requests amendment 
of the child’s birth certificate to reflect a new mother’s 
name because the name on the original is fictitious, the 
parent must get a court order declaring the putative 
mother to be the child’s mother.  DPH must amend the 
birth certificate after receiving the court order. 

The act also permits the local registrar in the town 
of occurrence to amend the birth certificate to reflect a 
person’s court-ordered name change and requires him to 
follow DPH methods.  
 
 
PA 01-171—sSB 325 
Public Health Committee 
Insurance and Real Estate Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING HEALTH INSURANCE 
COVERAGE FOR CANCER CLINICAL TRIALS, 
HEARING AIDS FOR CHILDREN AGE TWELVE 
AND YOUNGER, PAP SMEAR TESTS, 
COLORECTAL CANCER SCREENING AND 
MAMMOGRAMS, PSYCHOTROPIC DRUG 
AVAILABILITY AND MEDICAID COVERAGE 
FOR MAMMOGRAMS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act: 

1. requires certain group and individual health 
insurance policies to cover routine patient care 
costs associated with cancer clinical trials for 
treatment or  palliation and Phase III trials for 
prevention that involve therapeutic 
intervention;   

2. prohibits the use of drug formularies, lists of 
covered drugs, or other restrictions on 
obtaining prescription drugs for mental health 
treatment; 
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3. expands coverage of mammograms by certain 
individual and group health insurers by 
requiring coverage of an annual mammogram 
beginning at age 40 instead of 50; 

4. requires health insurers to cover pap smear 
tests conducted as part of primary and 
preventive services that participating in-
network obstetrician-gynecologists must by 
law provide female enrollees who choose to 
have direct access to such providers; 

5. requires certain individual and group health 
insurance policies to cover colorectal cancer 
screening, including (a) an annual fecal occult 
blood test and (b) a colonoscopy, flexible 
sigmoidoscopy, or radiologic imaging; and  

6. requires certain group and individual health 
insurance policies to provide limited coverage 
for hearing aids for children. 

The cancer clinical trial, hearing aid, and colerectal 
screening coverage requirements apply to hospital and 
medical coverage offered by HMOs and policies that 
pay for (1) basic hospital expenses, (2) basic medical-
surgical expenses, (3) major medical expenses, and (4) 
hospital or medical services.  Mammogram coverage 
requirements for individual policies also apply to 
accident only and limited benefit health coverage.  
Coverage applies to policies delivered, issued for 
delivery, renewed, amended, or continued in the state on 
or after October 1, 2001, except for cancer clinical trial 
coverage, which applies to such policies beginning 
January 1, 2002. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001, except the 
cancer clinical trials provisions take effect January 1, 
2002. 
 
CLINICAL TRIALS 
 
Trial Eligibility 

 
The act applies to trials conducted under an 

independent, peer-review protocol approved by (1) one 
of the National Institutes of Health, (2) a National 
Cancer Institute-affiliated cooperative group, (3) the 
Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as part of an 
investigational new drug or device exemption, or (4) the 
U.S. Defense or Veterans' Affairs departments.  It does 
not require coverage for a trial a single institution 
conducts solely under the approval of an institutional 
review board or for any trial that is no longer approved 
by one of the entities listed above.  A cancer prevention 
trial must be a Phase III trial, involve therapeutic 
intervention, and be conducted at several institutions. 
 
 

Patient Eligibility 
 
To determine a person’s eligibility for coverage, the 

act allows the insurer, HMO, or third party plan 
administrator to ask the person or the entity seeking 
coverage for: 

1. satisfactory evidence that the person meets all 
patient selection criteria for the trial; 

2. clinical or pre-clinical data that show credibly 
that the person’s likely benefit from the trial 
corresponds to the risks of participating; 

3. evidence that the person has given appropriate 
informed consent;  

4. copies of medical records, test results, 
protocols, or other clinical information the 
doctor or institution seeking to enroll the 
person used; 

5. a summary of anticipated routine patient care 
costs above the costs of standard treatment; 

6. information from the doctor or institution 
concerning items, including routine patient 
care costs, that could be reimbursed by 
someone else, including the entity sponsoring 
the trial; and 

7. any other information they may reasonably 
require to review the request for coverage. 

The HMO or insurer must ask for this additional 
information within five business days of receiving a 
request for coverage from a person or doctor seeking to 
enroll the person. 

The act specifies that it does not require an insurer 
or HMO to cover routine costs that can be reimbursed 
by a party other than the insurer (but not other than the 
HMO), including the trial’s sponsor. 
 
Applying for Coverage 
 

The act requires the Insurance Department to 
develop a standardized form that all providers, 
hospitals, and institutions must submit to an insurer or 
HMO when they want to enroll a person in a cancer 
clinical trial.  The department must cooperate with the 
Connecticut Oncology Association, the American 
Cancer Society, the Connecticut Association of Health 
Plans, and Anthem Blue Cross of Connecticut, Inc. in 
developing the form. 

An insurer or HMO cannot use any other form 
unless the insurance commissioner finds its policies 
provide coverage substantially equivalent to the act’s 
requirements. 

The act gives an insurer or HMO five business days 
to approve or deny coverage from the time it receives 
the department-developed form and supporting 
eligibility information it asks for.  If it uses independent 
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experts to review requests for clinical trial cost 
coverage, it has 10 business days.  Requests for 
coverage for Phase III prevention trials must be decided 
within 14 business days. 

The insured, or a provider with the insured’s 
written consent, can appeal to the insurance 
commissioner using the existing statutory mechanism 
when an insurer or HMO denies coverage on grounds of 
medical necessity.  This mechanism requires the  
commissioner to assign the appeal to an independent 
entity.  The act requires her to ensure this entity does 
not have a conflict of interest regarding the clinical trial.   

The act requires the commissioner to adopt 
regulations implementing its requirements for forms, 
timelines for reviewing applications, and appeals of 
coverage denials. 

 
Covered Costs 

 
The act defines “routine patient care costs” as 

coverage (1) for medically necessary services resulting 
from the treatment provided in the trial that would be 
covered even if they were not provided in a trial and (2) 
as “routine patient care costs” incurred in  providing 
FDA-approved “off-label use” drugs and devices.  
Medically necessary services include physicians’ 
services, diagnostic and lab tests, hospitalization, or 
other services provided during the trials for a condition 
or a complication related to the condition, that are 
consistent with the usual and customary standard of care 
and would be covered if the person were not in the trial.  
An “off-label use” drug is one the FDA has approved to 
treat a cancer other than the type for which it is being 
prescribed.  It must be recognized by one of several 
national groups for treatment of the specific cancer for 
which it is being prescribed. 

The act specifically excludes the following from 
routine care costs: 

1. investigational drugs and devices the FDA has 
not approved for any use; 

2. non-healthcare services a participant may need 
because of the trial; 

3. facility, ancillary, and professional services and 
drugs for which the clinical trial receives 
funding; 

4. services that are inconsistent with widely 
accepted and established national or regional 
standards of care for a particular diagnosis or 
that are performed specifically to meet the 
trial’s requirements;  

5. costs that would not be covered by the trial 
participant’s insurance policy for 
noninvestigational treatment, including items 
excluded under the policy; and 

6. transportation, lodging, food, and other 
expenses connected with the participant or the 
participant’s family traveling to and from a 
trial facility. 

The act subjects eligible routine care costs to the 
terms, conditions, restrictions, exclusions, and 
limitations (including limitations on out-of network 
care) of the insured's health care contract.  It permits the 
insurer or HMO to require that network providers and 
institutions perform routine tests or services conducted 
under the trial protocol. 

 
Provider Billing And Payment  

 
Under the act, providers, hospitals, and institutions 

that provide services as part of a clinical trial approved 
for coverage may not bill the insurer, HMO, or patient 
for any facility, ancillary, or professional services or 
costs that are not routine patient care costs or for any 
other service or product paid for by the trial sponsor.  
They cannot bill the insured person for any routine 
patient care service whether or not they are part of the 
insurer’s or HMO’s network.  But they may charge a 
deductible or copayment if that is part of the insured’s 
policy. 

The act requires an insurer or HMO that covers out-
of-network care to pay these providers, hospitals, and 
institutions the lesser of (1) the lowest contracted daily, 
fee schedule, or case rate it pays its Connecticut 
network providers for similar services or (2) the billed 
charges.  These providers cannot collect more than the 
total paid by these payers and the insured through his 
deductible and copayment.  They must deem this 
amount to be payment in full. 

Providers, hospitals, and institutions can appeal a 
health plan’s denial of payment for services only to the 
extent permitted by the insurer’s or HMO’s contract 
with them.  (The meaning of “health plan” in this 
context is unclear.) 
 
Exemption For Coverage Equivalency 
 

An insurer or HMO that covers care in cancer 
clinical trials must submit its policies to the Insurance 
Department. It is exempt from the act’s requirements if 
the department certifies that its routine patient care cost 
coverage is substantially equivalent to those 
requirements.  If it is exempted, it must submit annual 
written reports to the department that it has not changed 
a certified policy.  If it changes a policy, it must 
resubmit it for recertification. 

If the department finds a policy not to be 
substantially equivalent, the insurer or HMO must 
follow the act’s requirements until the department 
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certifies the policy. 
 

PROHIBITION ON DRUG FORMULARIES 
 
The act prohibits the use of drug formularies, lists 

of covered drugs, or other restrictions on obtaining 
prescription drugs for mental health treatment.  This 
prohibition applies to mental health benefits provided 
under state law, with state funds, or to state employees.  
Under the act, the mental health benefit cannot (1) limit 
the availability of prescription drugs that are the most 
therapeutically indicated pharmaceutical treatment with 
the least probability of adverse side effects or (2) 
require using prescription drugs that are not the most 
effective therapeutically indicated pharmaceutical 
treatment with the least probability of side effects. 

The act specifies physicians still have the authority 
to prescribe a drug that is not the most recent 
pharmaceutical treatment.  It also specifies that it should 
not be construed to prohibit (1) different copays among 
pharmaceutical treatments or (2) utilization review. 

 
MAMMOGRAM COVERAGE 

 
The act expands coverage of mammograms by 

certain individual and group health insurers by requiring 
coverage of an annual mammogram beginning at age 40 
instead of 50.  Prior law required a mammogram every 
two years for women age 40 to 49, or more frequently if 
recommended by a physician, and an annual 
mammogram for women age 50 and older.   

The act directs the Department of Social Services 
commissioner to amend the state Medicaid plan, to the 
extent allowed by federal law, to provide mammogram 
coverage to Medicaid-eligible women equivalent to that 
outlined above. 

 
PAP SMEAR COVERAGE 

 
The act requires health insurers to cover pap smear 

tests conducted as part of primary and preventive 
obstetric and gynecologic services that participating in-
network obstetrician-gynecologists must by law provide 
female enrollees who choose to have direct-access to 
such providers.  Beginning October 1, 2001, the test 
must be covered in individual and group accident only, 
limited benefit, health care center, and hospital or 
medical service plans, and in health insurance policies 
covering (1) basic hospital expenses, (2) basic medical-
surgical expenses, and (3) major medical expenses. 

 
 
 
 

COLORECTAL SCREENING COVERAGE 
 
The act requires individual and group health 

insurance policies to cover colorectal cancer screening, 
including (1) an annual fecal occult blood test and (2) a 
colonoscopy, flexible sigmoidoscopy, or radiologic 
imaging.  Coverage is subject to the same terms and 
conditions that apply to other policy benefits. 

The act requires administration of a colonoscopy, 
flexible sigmoidoscopy, or radiologic imaging in 
accordance with the American College of 
Gastroenterology's recommendations after consultation 
with the American Cancer Society with respect to age, 
family history, and test frequency. 

 
HEARING AID COVERAGE 

 
Beginning October 1, 2001, this act requires 

individual and group health insurance policies to cover 
hearing aids for children under age 13 as durable 
medical equipment.  It allows the policies to limit 
coverage to $1,000 in a two-year period.   

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Clinical Trials 

 
The National Cancer Institute identifies four types 

of clinical trials and three phases.  Treatment trials test 
new drugs, approaches to surgery, methods (like gene 
therapy), and combinations of these.  Prevention trials 
test new approaches to prevent cancer in the first place 
or its reoccurrence.  Quality of life or supportive care 
trials (probably what the act refers to as palliation trials) 
explore ways to improve comfort and quality of life for 
cancer patients.  Screening trials test ways to find 
cancer, especially in its early stages. 

Phase I trials are small and evaluate how a new 
drug should be given (e.g., orally or by injection).  
Phase II trials test a new drug's safety and begin to 
evaluate how well it works.  Phase III trials compare a 
new drug or surgical procedure to the current standard 
of treatment.  They usually enroll large numbers of 
people who are assigned randomly to treatment and 
control groups. 
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PA 01-194—sHB 6070 
Public Health Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
Environment Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING CERTAIN STATE REAL 
PROPERTY TRANSACTIONS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act: 

1. requires the Department of Environmental 
Protection (DEP) to convey property to East 
Windsor for open space and recreation; 

2. allows the public works commissioner to grant 
a sewer easement in Cheshire; 

3. exempts the Bridgeport Housing Authority 
(BHA) from a restriction on the disposition of 
the Pequonock Gardens housing project; 

4. expands the allowable use of property the 
Department of Transportation (DOT) conveyed 
to Trumbull to permit the construction of a 
telecommunications facility, despite a 1989 
quit claim deed restricting the land’s use to a 
park; 

5. amends three sections of SA 01-6, An Act 
Concerning the Conveyance of Certain Parcels 
of State Land, related to a name change and 
conveyances; and  

6. makes a technical change. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 
 
NEW CONVEYANCE 

 
The act requires DEP to convey to the town of East 

Windsor 18 acres that must be used for open space and 
recreational purposes.  The conveyance is subject to the 
State Properties Review Board’s (SPRB) approval and 
must be made at a cost equal to the administrative cost 
of the conveyance.  The property reverts to the state if 
the town fails to use it for the stated purpose or leases or 
sells it. 

 
EASEMENT 

 
The act authorizes the public works commissioner 

to grant an easement for a sanitary sewer connection 
with access and right-of-way to the town of Cheshire on 
land used by the Department of Mental Retardation 
(DMR).  SPRB and DMR must approve and Cheshire 
must pay the administrative cost of granting the 
easement. 

 
 
 
 

PEQUONOCK GARDENS 
 
The act exempts BHA from having to obtain the 

economic and community development commissioner’s 
approval to sell, lease, transfer, or demolish the 
Pequonock Gardens project for purposes other than 
providing low- and moderate-income housing.  The law 
already exempted BHA from this requirement with 
respect to phase I of the Father Panik project and the 
New Haven Housing Authority with respect to the Elm 
Haven project. 

 
SA 01-6 CHANGES 

 
The act corrects a misspelling of the renamed 

Naromiyocknowhusunkatankshunk Brook in Sherman.  
It removes a requirement for SPRB approval for the sale 
of land in Norfolk to private individuals, and it permits 
the state to repurchase the property at the sale price if 
the state needs it for expanding Route 44.  Finally, the 
act allows Danbury and the Board of Trustees for the 
Connecticut State University System (CSU) to correct 
property descriptions for the parcels exchanged through 
the legislation already passed. 

  
BACKGROUND 

 
Related Act 

 
SA 01-6 authorizes a number of new conveyances, 

revises provisions and conditions on existing property 
conveyances, renames the Morrissey Brook in Sherman, 
and establishes the property exchange between CSU and 
Danbury. 
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PA 01-45—sHB 6642 
Public Safety Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING TRAINING OF CASINO 
PERSONNEL FOR EMPLOYMENT 
 
SUMMARY: This act allows the Mohegans, like the 
Mashantucket Pequots, to train people on gambling 
devices off the reservation for employment at the 
casino. It specifically allows the tribe or its agent to 
have and use the devices to conduct training off the 
reservation so long as (1) the federal Indian Gaming 
Regulatory Act (IGRA) permits their use on the 
reservation and (2) no money is paid to anyone “as a 
result of the operation” of the device during training. 
The act also allows people in training to use the devices 
during training. 

The act allows the tribes to test gambling devices 
off the reservations under the same restrictions that 
apply to training.  It requires them to notify the Division 
of Special Revenue when they intend to have and use 
the devices for off-reservation testing. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
Gambling Devices on Reservations 

 
By law it is a misdemeanor to engage in gambling, 

or to knowingly own, possess, buy, rent, store, repair, or 
transport gambling devices.  But under IGRA, 
Connecticut must permit gambling on Indian 
reservations provided certain federal statutory 
requirements are met. Because federal law supercedes 
conflicting state law, the state’s prohibitions on 
gambling and gambling devices do not apply to a casino 
school on a reservation. 
 
 
PA 01-58—SB 1097 
Public Safety Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE MEETING 
SCHEDULE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES 
FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS' 
AFFAIRS 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires the veterans’ affairs 
board of trustees to meet, at a minimum, quarterly, 
instead of monthly, thus potentially reducing the 
frequency of its meetings.  
 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-104—sSB 1403 
Public Safety Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
Banks Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING ADMISSIBILITY OF 
EVIDENCE OF STOLEN VEHICLES AND 
SEIZED CURRENCY 
 
SUMMARY: This act eliminates law enforcement 
agencies’ authority to deposit seized cash in a safe 
deposit box in a state bank.  Instead, it requires them to 
keep or return seized, stolen cash, following existing 
procedures governing seized property; and it creates a 
procedure for keeping, banking, or returning seized cash 
that was not stolen. (The act does not include any 
provision for banking seized, stolen cash.)  

The act applies the same trial rules to the cash that 
currently apply to seized, stolen property returned to its 
owner. Under these rules, (1) courts must admit the 
identity, description, or value of the cash as secondary 
evidence (i.e., in lieu of the actual cash) in criminal 
trials and (2) defendants may attack the weight of the 
evidence, but not its admissibility, by showing that it is 
secondary. 

The act requires courts to admit a picture of a 
recovered stolen motor vehicle and a sworn affidavit 
attesting to its identification number as sufficient 
evidence of its identity. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 

 
DISPOSITION OF SEIZED CURRENCY 

 
By law, law enforcement agencies may seize 

property, including cash, in connection with a criminal 
arrest or pursuant to a search warrant without an arrest.  
The act eliminates their authority to deposit seized cash 
in a safe deposit box in a state bank. It requires agencies 
to return or hold seized, stolen cash following the 
existing procedures governing seized, stolen property; 
and it creates a separate procedure for returning and 
holding seized cash that was not stolen.  

 
Stolen Cash 

 
The act requires any law enforcement agency that 

seizes stolen cash to notify the owner on a form 
prescribed by the Office of the Chief Court 
Administrator of the whereabouts of the cash and his 
right to claim it.  The agency must do this within 10 
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days of the seizure or 10 days of learning the owner’s 
identity.  The notice must include a form for the owner 
to use to file a claim for the cash.  The agency must 
forward the owner’s claim to the clerk of the court for 
the geographical area where the crime allegedly took 
place. The clerk must notify the defendant of the claim. 

The court must order the cash returned within 30 
days of the filing; except that for good cause, it may 
order the cash held for a time it sets.  

 
Seized Cash That Was Not Stolen 

 
Under the act, when law enforcement agencies 

seize cash that is not stolen, they have 10 days to notify 
the defendant (if the seizure was connected to a criminal 
arrest) or anyone with an interest in the premises where 
the currency was seized (if seizure was pursuant to a 
warrant without an arrest) of his right to a Superior 
Court disposition hearing on the cash.  The party has 30 
days to request the hearing.   

After the hearing, the court may order that the law 
enforcement agency put the cash in a bank account in 
the state after taking reasonable measures to preserve it 
as evidence. If no hearing is requested, the law 
enforcement agency may deposit the cash in the account 
after taking measures to preserve it as evidence. The 
bank account must be in the agency’s name and hold 
evidentiary funds. 

For good cause, the court may order seized cash 
retained for a period it sets. 

 
Special Bank Account For Seized Cash That Was Not 
Stolen 

 
Under the act, an account must be established in the 

agency’s name specifically for holding seized cash that 
was not stolen.  Money can be removed from this 
account only by a court order directed to the bank.  
Withdrawal must be in the form of a check to the law 
enforcement agency or to a payee named in the court 
order.  

Banks do not have to separate cash deposited in the 
account. The act specifies that it does not prohibit them 
from charging a fee for maintaining and administering 
the account and reviewing court orders.  
 
 
PA 01-123—SB 1254 
Public Safety Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING REVISIONS TO 
STATUTES GOVERNING THE MILITARY 
DEPARTMENT 
 

SUMMARY:  This act raises the Connecticut National 
Guard adjutant general’s rank from major general to 
lieutenant general.  (The former wears two stars; the 
latter, three.) It conforms the law to practice by giving 
the adjutant general the duty to (1) conduct internal 
audits and investigations, (2) organize and coordinate 
the organized militia’s participation in military and civic 
ceremonies, and (3) organize and coordinate inaugural 
activities. The organized militia consists of the 
governor’s guards, state guard, and other military forces 
the governor, as commander-in-chief, designates. 

The act changes the name of the uniformed firing 
squad that performs at veterans’ funerals to “honor 
guard detail.”  It also makes technical changes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-130—SB 1402 
Public Safety Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING ASSAULT WEAPONS, A 
SINGLE STATE HANDGUN PERMIT, A 
FIREARMS EVIDENCE DATABANK AND 
RESTRAINING AND PROTECTIVE ORDERS IN 
FIREARMS CASES 
 
SUMMARY: This act expands the definition of assault 
weapons to include semiautomatic firearms with certain 
characteristics, banning any made after September 12, 
1994 with those characteristics. With exceptions, it also 
bans .50-caliber armor-piercing and incendiary bullets.  

The act also (1) requires the Department of Public 
Safety (DPS) to establish a firearms evidence databank 
to store ballistic data (discharged ammunition and the 
unique markings or impressions each gun leaves on 
bullets and bullet casings) that can be used to search for 
matching gun fingerprints, (2) creates a single gun 
permit system by abolishing the local permit to carry 
handguns and makes other changes to the gun laws, (3) 
tightens the controls over people possessing guns in 
family violence situations, and (4) makes technical and 
conforming changes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
ASSAULT WEAPONS 

 
Prior law designated as assault weapons and, with 

some exceptions, made it illegal to sell, transport, or 
possess, any: 

 
 



PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE  197 

 
2001 OLR PA Summary Book 

1. on a specific list of semiautomatic firearms; 
2. selective-fire firearm capable of fully 

automatic, semi-automatic, or burst fire at the 
user’s option; and  

3. part or combination of parts in one person’s 
possession either designed or intended to 
convert a firearm into an assault weapon or 
from which one may be assembled rapidly. 

People who owned any of the above-designated 
weapons before October 1, 1993 can keep them under 
certain circumstances. They can sell, transfer, or 
relinquish them only under specified, limited 
circumstances.  

The act adds the following to weapons designated 
as assault weapons—allowing the transfer and 
(implicitly) the possession of those manufactured before 
September 13, 1994:  

1. semiautomatic rifles that can accept a 
detachable magazine if they have any two of 
the following features: (a) a folding or 
telescoping stock, (b) a pistol grip that 
protrudes conspicuously beneath the action of 
the weapon, (c) a bayonet mount, (d) a flash 
suppressor or threaded barrel designed to 
accommodate a flash suppressor, or (e) a 
grenade launcher; 

2. semiautomatic pistols that can accept a 
detachable magazine if they have any two of 
the following features: (a) an ammunition 
magazine that attaches to the pistol outside of 
the pistol grip; (b) a threaded barrel that can 
accept a barrel extender, flash suppressor, 
forward handgrip, or silencer; (c) a shroud 
attached to, or partially or completely 
encircling, the barrel that permits the shooter to 
hold the firearm with the nontrigger hand 
without being burned; (d) a manufactured 
weight of 50 ounces or more when unloaded; 
and (e)  a semiautomatic version of an 
automatic firearm;  

3. semiautomatic shotguns with any two of the 
following features: (a) a folding or telescoping 
stock, (b) a pistol grip protruding 
conspicuously beneath the action of the 
weapon, (c) a fixed magazine capacity over 
five rounds, and (d) the ability to accept a 
detachable magazine; and 

4. part or parts in one person’s possession either 
designed or intended to convert any firearm 
into one of the newly covered assault weapons 
or from which one may be assembled rapidly.  

The act bans any of the newly designated assault 
weapons manufactured after September 12, 1994. It 
allows the transfer and possession of those legally 

manufactured before September 13, 1994 by stipulating 
that it must not be construed to limit their transfer or 
require their registration.  Existing law has a certificate 
of possession requirement (discussed below) but not a 
registration requirement for assault weapons.  It is 
unclear whether “registration” refers to the certificate of 
possession requirement.  (On September 13, 1994, 
Congress enacted the Violent Crime Control and Law 
Enforcement Act, making it unlawful, with exceptions, 
to make, transfer, or possess any of these newly 
designated semiautomatic assault weapons.  This federal 
law, which does not apply to weapons lawfully 
possessed on or before its enactment, is repealed, 
effective September 13, 2004.) 
 
ARMOR-PIERCING BULLETS 

 
The act makes it a crime knowingly to distribute or 

give away; bring into the state; or keep, offer, or expose 
for sale .50-caliber armor-piercing or incendiary bullets. 
A first violation is a class A misdemeanor; any 
subsequent violation is a class D felony (see Table on 
Penalties).  

The act defines “armor-piercing .50-caliber bullet” 
as any .50-caliber bullet designed for, held out by the 
manufacturer or distributor as, or generally recognized 
to be capable of penetrating armor or bulletproof glass. 
They include such bullets commonly designated as “M2 
Armor-Piercing” or “AP,” “M8 Armor-Piercing 
Incendiary” or “API,” “M20 Armor-Piercing Incendiary 
Tracer” or “APIT,” “M903 Caliber .50 Saboted Light 
Armor Penetrator” or “SLAP,” or “M962 Saboted Light 
Armor Penetrator Tracer” or “SLAPT.”  

The act defines “incendiary .50-caliber bullet” as 
any .50-caliber bullet designed for, held out by the 
manufacturer or distributor as, or generally recognized 
as having the specialized capability to ignite upon 
impact. They include bullets commonly designated as 
“M1 Incendiary,” “M23 Incendiary,” “M8 Armor-
Piercing Incendiary” or “API,” or “M20 Armor-Piercing 
Tracer” or “APIT.”   

The act exempts: 
1. ammunition sales to DPS, police departments, 

the Department of Correction (DOC), or the 
Connecticut or U.S. military or navy for their 
official duties; 

2. disposition of ammunition by estate executors 
or administrators as authorized by probate 
court; and 

3. ammunition transfers by bequest or intestate 
succession.  
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Suspension of Prosecution for Minor Violations 
 
The act allows the court to suspend prosecution for 

minor violations of the incendiary and armor-piercing 
bullet provisions if it finds that the violator (1) will 
probably not offend again and (2) has never been 
convicted or had a prosecution suspended before for 
violating these provisions. For suspension to occur, the 
violator must state that he understands the 
consequences, agree to the temporary suspension 
(tolling) of any statute of limitations, and waive his right 
to a speedy trial. 

By law, when a court suspends prosecution, it must 
put the violator on probation for up to two years and 
may impose other conditions.  It must terminate the 
suspension if the accused violates the conditions. It 
must dismiss the charges if it finds that the accused 
completes probation successfully and requests dismissal 
and may dismiss the charges without such a request 
after it receives a report from the Office of Adult 
Probation. A dismissal requires erasure of the charges. 
A court’s decision to deny a motion to dismiss or 
terminate a suspension is final for appeal purposes. 
 
FIREARMS EVIDENCE DATABANK 

 
Databank’s Purpose 

 
The act requires the DPS Division of Scientific 

Services to establish a firearms evidence databank to 
store data collected from test firing handguns. It defines 
“test fire” as a discharged cartridge case or bullet, or 
fragment of either, collected after a handgun is fired and 
containing sufficient microscopic characteristics to 
compare to other discharged ammunition or to 
determine the handgun from which it was fired. It 
defines “handgun” as any gun capable of firing rim-fire 
or center-fire ammunition and designed or built to be 
fired with one hand.  

The databank is a computer-based system that scans 
and stores images of handgun test fires so they can be 
retrieved and compared to other test fire images and 
other evidence in a case. DPS forensic science 
laboratory personnel must enter in the databank, 
according to procedures in regulations the act requires 
the commissioner to adopt, test fire evidence submitted 
to them or that they collect from handguns submitted to 
them. DPS may (1) use the database to search for 
matching gun fingerprints, (2) share databank 
information with in-state and out-of-state law 
enforcement agencies, and (3) participate in a national 
firearms evidence databank program. If DPS conducts 
any search at a police department’s request as part of the 
investigation of a criminal case, it must report the 

results. It must store for future searches any test fire 
image not matched by a databank search.  

 
Local Police Role 

 
With exceptions, the act requires police 

departments to give the laboratory all handguns that 
come into their custody as found property, for 
destruction, or as the result of a criminal investigation 
before they return or destroy them. The laboratory must 
test fire and collect ballistic data from a gun within 60 
days of getting it. It must label the data with the gun 
manufacturer’s name; gun type and serial number; date 
of the test; and the name of the person who collected the 
discharged cartridge case, bullet, or fragment. 

DPS may allow a police department firearms 
section that complies with the commissioner’s 
guidelines and regulations for operating a databank to 
(1) collect ballistic data from handguns that come into 
its custody and set up a remote terminal to enter test fire 
images directly into the DPS databank and (2) search 
the databank. 

Starting October 1, 2001, police departments must 
collect test fire data from handguns before they issue 
them to employees, and by April 1, 2002 they must 
collect data from those they have already issued. They 
may ask the State Police to help them conduct the tests. 
They must (1) submit to the DPS laboratory the ballistic 
data from each test in a sealed tamper-evident package 
along with two intact cartridges of the same type of 
ammunition used in the test and (2) except for the date 
of the test fire, label the package with the same 
information that the laboratory must include.  

 
CREATION OF SINGLE GUN PERMIT SYSTEM 

 
Under prior law, anyone wanting to carry a 

handgun had to get a local (town) permit. The local 
permit allowed him to carry the gun in that town. A 
separate DPS (state) permit was required to carry the 
gun statewide. Both permits were valid for five years, 
but as long as the state permit remained valid, the local 
permit did not have to be renewed. 

The act establishes a two-step, one-permit system 
by (1) eliminating the local permit—terminating 
renewals on October 1, 2001—and (2) requiring anyone 
wanting to carry a handgun to get the DPS state permit. 
It uses the same officials and maintains many of the 
elements of the prior system. Under the act, the local 
official issues a nonrenewable, 60-day temporary state 
permit, which is a prerequisite for the five-year state 
permit that DPS issues. The temporary state permit, 
unlike the prior local permit, is valid statewide. 
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Permit Application, Issuance, and Revocation 
 
Temporary State Permit.  The act requires 

Connecticut residents to apply for gun permits to the 
local official who previously issued local permits (the 
police chief, or if there is none, the borough warden or 
first selectman). This official may issue a temporary 
state permit after following basically the same process 
that he used for issuing local permits. 

As with prior permit applicants, the temporary state 
permit applicant must complete an application, 
providing information on himself and his criminal 
record, and submit to fingerprinting, unless the official 
is satisfied it was done already. The official must 
determine that the applicant wants to use guns for 
lawful purposes and investigate his suitability to carry 
them.  

The act conforms the law to past local permit-
issuing practice by requiring the official, within five 
business days of taking the fingerprints, to send them to 
DPS for forwarding to the FBI with a request for a 
national criminal history records check. Prior law 
required the official to send the fingerprints directly to 
the FBI. DPS must send the local official a copy of the 
FBI response. 

In a process paralleling the one that existed for 
local permits, the act (1) gives the official eight weeks 
to approve or deny the application and, if he does not 
get the FBI response in eight weeks, he must inform the 
applicant of the delay in writing; (2) requires him to 
issue or deny the application within one week after he 
gets the FBI response; and (3) allows him to issue the 
permit before getting the response. When he issues the 
permit, he must send the original application to the DPS 
commissioner. He must also send him (at some 
unspecified time) a copy showing whether he denied or 
approved the permit request. 

Permit-Issuing Criteria.  As in the case of state and 
local permits, the local official cannot issue a temporary 
state permit to anyone who fails to meet the criteria in 
law.  He can issue a permit before he receives the FBI 
background check, but not to anyone whom he believes 
is a convicted felon or is otherwise barred from getting a 
permit to possess handguns under state or federal law.  
Prior law applied the prohibition only to people believed 
to be convicted felons. 

Five-Year State Permit.  The act allows the 
commissioner to issue the state permit to a person 
holding a temporary state permit. Within 60 days after 
getting the temporary permit, the applicant must go to a 
location the commissioner designates. The 
commissioner has eight weeks from the time he gets a 
temporary permit application to inform the applicant in 
writing that he has (1) denied or not approved his five-

year permit application or (2) not received the FBI 
response.   

The act eliminates the commissioner’s discretion to 
issue the five-year state permit before getting the FBI 
response, and it bars him from issuing the permit to an 
applicant denied a temporary permit. When he issues 
the permit, he must send a record (instead of a copy of 
the permit) to the local official who issued the 
temporary permit and keep records of all applications. 

The act allows, rather than requires, the 
commissioner to investigate first-time permit applicants, 
and it conforms the law to practice by requiring him 
also to investigate people renewing permits. It 
eliminates the description of the nature of this 
investigation.  

Permit-Revocation Criteria. The act allows the 
commissioner to revoke the temporary state permit for 
cause, upon conviction for a felony or specified 
misdemeanors, or when any event occurs that would 
have disqualified the applicant from getting the permit 
under state law. These are the same grounds on which 
he can revoke the five-year permit.  If grounds for 
denial become known after an applicant gets a permit, 
the commissioner must revoke it immediately, 
following the act’s procedures.  He can base the 
revocation on his own investigation or on any law 
enforcement agency’s request. 

Upon revocation, the permittee must surrender his 
permit to the commissioner within five days of 
notification in writing. By law, failure to surrender a 
permit is a class C misdemeanor  (see Table on 
Penalties). 

 
Applications From Out-Of-State Residents 

 
Out-of-state residents licensed or permitted to carry 

guns in another state must apply directly to the 
commissioner for permits and are subject to the 
provisions governing resident applicants.  The 
commissioner acts as the local official with regard to 
these applicants; in this case, it appears that he must 
conduct the investigations and issue temporary permits. 

 
Gun Permit Fees 

 
Under prior law, the fee for the local and state gun 

permit was $35 each. The act eliminates the local fee 
and increases the state fee to $70. It gives $35 of the fee 
to DPS and $35 to the local official issuing the 
temporary state permit, the same amount they received 
under prior law. In the case of nonresidents who must 
apply directly to DPS, it appears the entire $70 goes to 
DPS. The act requires applicants to pay an additional 
amount for the required FBI criminal background check 



200                          PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE 

 
2001 OLR PA Summary Book 

(currently $24). Under prior practice, the permit-issuing 
authority paid for this investigation. 

The local authority must send the fingerprints and 
money for the background check to the commissioner 
within five business days of getting an application. He 
must send $35 to DPS when he approves the 
application.  

The act makes any portion of the fee used for the 
national background check nonrefundable. Under prior 
law, the entire fee was refundable if the permit was not 
issued or renewed. 

The act retains the $35 fee for permit renewals. 
 

Notification Requirements for Expired Permits 
 
The act eliminates a requirement for the local 

official to notify anyone with a local permit at least 90 
days before the permit expires. It eliminates the 
additional 90-day grace period for such permits. 
 
MISCELLANEOUS CHANGES TO GUN LAWS 
 

The act conforms the law to practice by explicitly 
requiring people to be at least age 21 to get a gun permit 
(the same age for getting an eligibility certificate to 
obtain handguns); (2) requires law enforcement 
authorities to confiscate illegal gun permits and send 
them immediately to the DPS commissioner, who may 
revoke them on his own investigation or at the 
authorities’ request; and (3) makes it clear that when a 
handgun is being carried in a vehicle that does not have 
a compartment separate from the passenger 
compartment, the gun must be kept in a locked 
container other than the glove compartment or console. 
 
CRIMINAL POSSESSION OF A FIREARM OR 
ELECTRONIC DEFENSE WEAPON  
 

By law, a family violence offender cannot possess 
handguns if he knows he is subject to (1) a firearms 
seizure order issued by the court after notice and the 
opportunity for a hearing or (2) a restraining or 
protective order, issued after notice and an opportunity 
to be heard, for using, attempting to use, or threatening 
to use physical force against someone. If he was issued 
a permit to carry guns or an eligibility certificate to 
acquire them, the issuing authority must revoke it. 
Failure to surrender a permit or eligibility certificate 
within five days of notification is a class C 
misdemeanor.  He must also transfer any handgun he 
possesses to the DPS commissioner within two business 
days of becoming subject to the order. If he fails to do 
so, he is guilty of criminal possession of a handgun—a 
class D felony.  

The act creates a parallel provision for other guns 
such as long guns. Specifically, it makes it criminal 
possession of a firearm or electronic defense weapon (a 
class D felony) for the family violence offender to 
possess any of these weapons knowing that he is subject 
to any of the above-mentioned orders.  

The act requires restraining order applications to 
have a space for applicants to indicate, at their 
discretion, whether the person subject to the order has a 
gun permit or any guns. 

The act requires local family violence intervention 
units’ family relations officers (courts refer family 
violence offenders to them for counseling and other 
services) to tell the court and prosecutors if a family 
violence victim has indicated that an offender has a gun 
permit or any guns.  The requirement creates an 
exception to existing law, which generally requires 
family relations officers to keep information they 
receive from victims confidential. 

The act requires the DPS commissioner, chief 
state’s attorney, and Connecticut Police Chiefs 
Association to work together to update the protocol they 
developed to ensure that people who become ineligible 
to possess handguns either transfer them to someone 
eligible or surrender them to the commissioner.   

 
Law Enforcement Officers Who Must Receive Orders 

 
Under prior law, the court had to send a certified 

copy of any restraining or protective order to “the 
appropriate” law enforcement agency. The act requires 
it to send (1) copies of the restraining orders to the law 
enforcement agency in the town where the (a) 
restraining order applicant lives and, if requested, works 
and  (b) family violence offender lives, if different from 
the applicant and (2) copies of the protective orders to 
the law enforcement agency in the town where the (a) 
domestic violence lives and, if requested, works and (b) 
offender lives if this is different from the victim’s town. 
The court must send the orders within 48 hours after 
they are issued.   
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Assault Weapons Ban 

 
With some exceptions, it is a class C felony, with a 

mandatory, minimum two-year sentence to distribute, 
transport, or bring into the state, keep for sale, offer or 
expose for sale, or give an assault weapon. An 
additional mandatory, minimum six-year sentence 
applies for anyone convicted of selling, transferring, or 
giving the weapon to a minor under age 18. 
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With some exceptions, it is a class D felony with a 
mandatory, minimum one-year sentence to possess an 
assault weapon without a certificate of possession. It is a 
class A misdemeanor if the violator can prove he 
possessed the weapon legally before October 1, 1993 
and has otherwise complied with the conditions for legal 
possession.  

Exemptions from Ban on Transferring Assault 
Weapons. The law exempts from the ban on sale or 
transfer of assault weapons:  

1. sales to police departments, the DOC and DPS, 
and the Connecticut and U.S. military and navy 
for official use;  

2. transfer by bequest or intestate succession of 
any assault weapon for which a certificate of 
possession was issued;  

3. disposition by probate court, provided the law 
otherwise permits it; and 

4. temporary transfer of any assault weapon for 
which a certificate was issued for purposes of 
transporting it to an approved out-of-state 
shooting competition or exhibition, display, or 
educational project about guns.   

Exemptions from Ban on Possession of Assault 
Weapons.  The law exempts from the ban on possession 
of assault weapons:  

1. anyone who lawfully possessed a weapon 
before October 1, 1993 and applied by October 
1, 1994 for a certificate of possession;  

2. employees or members of police departments, 
the DOC and DPS, and the Connecticut and 
U.S. military and navy for use in official 
duties, and sworn members of these agencies 
who possess and use these weapons when on 
duty and in the scope of their duties; 

3. an estate executor or administrator under 
certain circumstances; and 

4. anyone who arranges in advance to relinquish a 
weapon to DPS. 

Conditions Under Which Gun Dealers May 
Transfer Assault Weapons. Licensed gun dealers may 
(1) transport assault weapons between dealers or out of 
state, display them at gun shows licensed by state or 
local government entities, or sell them to out-of-state 
residents; (2) accept them for servicing or repair from 
anyone with a certificate for them; and (3) transfer them 
for servicing to a federally licensed gunsmith employed 
by, or under contract to, them for gunsmithing services. 

Certificate of Possession for Assault Weapons. The 
original 1993 assault weapons act allowed people who 
possessed assault weapons before October 1, 1993 to 
keep them if they applied for DPS certificates of 
possession for them before July 1, 1994. A 1994 act 
extended the application deadline to October 1, 1994. 

The certificate allows the owner of the weapon to 
possess it:  

1. at his residence, business, on his property, or 
on someone else’s property with permission;  

2. at a target range to practice target shooting or 
licensed shooting club; 

3. while attending a sanctioned exhibition, 
display, or educational project about guns; or  

4. while transporting it between any of the places 
mentioned or to a licensed dealer for servicing 
or repair.  

The owner cannot sell the weapon in-state except to 
a licensed gun dealer or otherwise transfer it except by 
bequest or intestate succession or to DPS or a police 
department.  

Anyone who inherits an assault weapon for which a 
certificate was issued has 90 days to apply for a new 
certificate, sell the gun to a licensed gun dealer, make it 
permanently inoperable, or take it out of state. Anyone, 
other than a member of the military or navy, who moves 
into Connecticut in lawful possession of an assault 
weapon has 90 days to render it permanently inoperable, 
sell it to a licensed gun dealer, or remove it from the 
state.  A member of the military or navy transferred to 
Connecticut after October 1, 1994 in lawful possession 
of an assault weapon has 90 days to apply for a 
certificate of possession. 

Certificate of Transfer for Assault Weapons. When 
an owner sells or transfers an assault weapon to a gun 
dealer, the dealer must complete a certificate of transfer 
with specified information on the gun and seller or 
transferor and send it to DPS, which must keep all the 
certificates in a file.  

Assault Weapons Crimes and Penalties.  The law 
requires a mandatory, minimum eight-year sentence for 
anyone who uses, threatens to use, displays, or purports 
to have an assault weapon while committing a class A, 
B, or C felony. This is in addition and consecutive to 
any imprisonment for the felony. 

The use of an assault weapon in a crime punishable 
by death is an aggravating circumstance justifying the 
death penalty. 

It is illegal for anyone to (1) carry a concealed, 
loaded assault weapon or (2) knowingly have in a 
vehicle he operates, owns, or occupies (a) a loaded 
assault weapon or (b) an unloaded assault weapon that 
is not in the trunk or in a case or container inaccessible 
to the vehicle's occupants. A violation carries a $500 
fine, imprisonment for up to three years, or both.  

Theft of Assault Weapon Must be Reported.  The 
law requires an assault weapon’s lawful owner to report 
its theft to a law enforcement agency within 72 hours 
after he discovers or should have discovered the theft. 
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Manufacture of Assault Weapons Allowed. The law 
stipulates that its provisions should not be construed to 
prohibit manufacturers of assault weapons in 
Connecticut from manufacturing or transporting them 
for out-of-state sale or sales to agencies such as DOC, 
which are not prohibited from buying them. 
 
People Who Cannot Get a Gun Permit Under State Law 

 
Under state law, a person cannot get a permit to 

carry handguns if he: 
1. has failed to complete successfully a DPS-

approved handgun safety and use course; 
2. was convicted of a serious juvenile offense; 
3. was discharged from custody within the last 20 

years after having been found not guilty of a 
crime by reason of mental disease or defect; 

4. was committed involuntarily to a psychiatric 
hospital in the last 12 months; 

5. is subject to a restraining or protective court 
order in a case involving the use, attempted 
use, or threatened use of physical force against 
someone else; 

6. is subject to a gun seizure order issued after 
notice and hearing; 

7. is an illegal alien; or 
8. was convicted of a felony or other specified, 

mostly violent misdemeanors. 
 

People Who Cannot Possess Guns Under Federal Law 
 
Federal law prohibits people from possessing guns 

on some of the same grounds that state law prohibits 
them from getting gun permits. The following are 
additional to those covered in state law:  

1. fugitives from justice, 
2. anyone who uses illegally or is addicted to any 

controlled substance,   
3. anyone dishonorably discharged from the 

armed forces, 
4. anyone who has renounced his U.S. 

citizenship, or  
5. anyone ever convicted of a misdemeanor crime 

of domestic violence. 
 
FBI Fee for Background Checks 

 
When the FBI instituted its $24 charge for criminal 

record checks, some towns required applicants to pay 
this fee. The Superior Court ruled that this exceeded 
their authority.  It said legislative action—not unilateral 
action by a town or city—was necessary to change the 
gun permit fee structure and application process (Town 
of Farmington, et al. vs. Board of Firearms Permit 

Examiners, CV 95-0550258S, Judicial District of 
Hartford—New Britain, Feb. 13, 1996). 
 
Related Act 
 
PA 01-175 slightly modifies the criminal record check 
procedure and mandates its use when any state statute 
requires such checks. 
 
 
PA 01-192—sHB 6285 
Public Safety Committee 
Transportation Committee 
Public Health Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE USE OF FLASHING 
WHITE HEAD LAMPS, FAILURE TO YIELD TO 
EMERGENCY VEHICLES, AND DUTY TO STOP 
FOR STOPPED SCHOOL BUSSES 
 
SUMMARY: This act allows any vehicle operated by a 
volunteer emergency medical technician or member of a 
volunteer fire department or company to use flashing 
white headlamps on the way to a medical emergency or 
fire scene. The vehicle operator must get written 
authorization from the town’s chief law enforcement 
officer and may use the headlamps only in the town or 
“from a personal residence or place of employment” if 
located in an adjoining town. The authorization may be 
revoked for violation. 

The act increases, from $50 to $200, the maximum 
fine for willfully or negligently obstructing or impeding 
an emergency vehicle responding to an emergency.  
(The possible prison term, which the act does not 
change, is a maximum of seven days.)  The act allows a 
police officer to issue a written warning or summons to 
a vehicle owner when he gets a signed affidavit about a 
violation from an emergency vehicle operator.  The 
affidavit must state the (1) vehicle’s license plate 
number, color, and type and (2) date, approximate time, 
and place where the violation occurred.  The provision 
applies to ambulance or emergency medical service 
organization vehicles responding to emergency calls or 
taking a patient to a hospital, fire department vehicles 
responding to a fire or emergency, and police vehicles 
responding to an emergency or pursuing fleeing 
suspects. 

The act also expressly requires emergency vehicles 
to stop at least 10 feet from a school bus displaying 
flashing red signal lights and to remain there until the 
lights are turned off.  The provision applies to fire 
department and police vehicles, public service company 
or municipal department ambulances, or emergency 
vehicles designated or authorized by the motor vehicles 
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commissioner. The act also makes technical changes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Use of Flashing Head Lamps 

 
By law, the following may use flashing white 

headlamps on their way to an emergency:  (1) local fire 
marshals and local emergency management directors 
and  (2) ambulances and vehicles being operated by the 
chief executive officer of an emergency medical service 
organization.  Every January, the chief executive of 
these organizations must provide the Department of 
Motor Vehicles (DMV) commissioner with his name 
and address and the registration number plates of 
vehicles that will use flashing white headlamps. 
 
Flashing Lights 

 
Another law, which this act does not change, 

generally prohibits flashing lights on vehicles other than 
school buses, except to indicate a turn and, in certain 
designated colors, on:  

1. vehicles used by volunteer or civil 
preparedness fire companies, 

2. certain emergency and maintenance vehicles 
(with a DMV permit), 

3. overweight or oversize vehicles with 
Department of Transportation permits or their 
escort vehicles,  

4. vehicles used by rural mail carriers, 
5. vehicles for 15 or fewer handicapped students 

when the vehicles stop to pick up or let off 
students, 

6. stationary vehicles at a fire scene, 
7. rescue vehicles, 
8. ambulances, 
9. vehicles used by local fire marshals or directors 

of emergency management, 
10. vehicles used by chief executive officers of 

emergency medical service organizations, and 
11. vehicles used by members of volunteer 

ambulance associations or companies. 
The law also allows motorists to use flashing lights 

in certain contexts where they are traveling slowly or 
disabled and stopped in areas that can create a hazard. 
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PA 01-24—sSB 289 
Transportation Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING REFLECTORIZED 
SAFETY NUMBER PLATES ON MOTOR 
VEHICLES AND SAFETY INSPECTIONS 
CONDUCTED ON CERTAIN MOTOR VEHICLES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act gives the motor vehicle 
commissioner the discretion to require the safety 
inspections previously required for 10-year or older 
vehicles before registration or title transfer. It requires 
him to conduct a study on the feasibility of performing 
these inspections in conjunction with vehicle exhaust 
emissions inspections  required by law.  He must report 
his findings and recommendations to the Transportation 
Committee by February 15, 2002. 

The act also explicitly requires someone who owns 
or leases a motor vehicle for which the Department of 
Motor Vehicles (DMV) has issued a new set of fully 
reflectorized license plates to display them according to 
the requirements of the law for vehicles with two 
license plates.  This means they must be displayed in a 
conspicuous place on the front and the rear of the 
vehicle and the registration validation sticker must be on 
the rear plate, or wherever else the commissioner may 
designate for its display.  The act makes violations of 
the display requirements for fully reflectorized plates an 
infraction.     

A 1999 law required DMV to issue fully 
reflectorized plates for all new and renewal registrations 
it issues on and after January 1, 2000.  DMV began 
issuing the replacement plates for renewals in 
September 2000, but the law did not explicitly require 
recipients to use them to replace the partially 
reflectorized “white-on-blue” plates.   
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage, except the 
provision on display of the new reflectorized license 
plates is effective October 1, 2001.   
 
SAFETY INSPECTIONS 

 
Previously, a safety inspection was required for any 

vehicle that is 10 or more years old and changing 
ownership (whether brought in from another state or 
already registered in Connecticut).  The commissioner 
could not register these vehicles until they had 
undergone the required safety inspection.   

The act allows the commissioner to register these 
vehicles without an inspection should he so choose.  It 
also allows him to (1) approve any licensed dealer or 
repairer meeting his requirements to perform safety 
inspections on 10-year-old or older vehicles that are not 
antique, rare, or special interest or modified antique 

vehicles and (2) authorize the dealer or repairer to 
charge up to $15 for each inspection. 

The act allows any dealer or repairer authorized to 
conduct safety inspections to provide written 
certification, in a prescribed form and manner, that any 
vehicle “in its inventory” complies with safety and 
equipment standards, and it allows the commissioner to 
accept this as evidence of compliance with statutory 
requirements.   

Mandatory inspections are still required for (1) 
vehicles that have been totaled and subsequently rebuilt 
for sale or use;  (2) antique, rare, or special interest 
vehicles (25 years old or older, preserved for its historic 
interest, and not altered from original manufacturer 
specifications) or “modified” antique vehicles (25 years 
old or more and modified for safe road use); and (3) 
“composite” vehicles (assembled from parts of other 
vehicles).  These  vehicles may   only  be inspected at 
DMV offices or any official emissions inspection 
station the commissioner authorizes to conduct safety 
inspections. 
 
 
PA 01-75—sHB 5916 
Transportation Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING CONSIDERATION OF 
ENVIRONMENTAL REMEDIATION COSTS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires consideration of 
environment remediation costs in assessing fair-market 
value in all Department of Transportation (DOT) 
condemnation proceedings. 

The act also requires a state trial referee making a 
final assessment of damages pursuant to a property 
owner’s appeal of a DOT damages award for property it 
acquired through condemnation to consider any required 
environmental remediation by the DOT along with other 
relevant evidence of the property’s fair-market value.  It 
requires the referee to make a separate finding for 
remediation costs and entitles the property owner to a 
set-off of these costs in any pending or subsequent legal 
action against him to recover environmental remediation 
costs. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
DOT Property Acquisition Through Condemnation 

 
DOT has a separate statutory authority to acquire 

property through eminent domain.  If it requires 
someone’s property for transportation purposes and 
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cannot reach a voluntary purchase agreement with the 
owner, it can take the property through this special 
condemnation process.  DOT must file a certificate of 
taking with the court that identifies the property and 
assesses the damages due the property owner as a result.  
Once the certificate is filed, title to the property passes 
to the state.  The former property owner cannot 
challenge the taking; but, if aggrieved by the damages 
assessed, he has six months to appeal to the Superior 
Court for a reassessment. Once an appeal is properly 
filed, the court must appoint a trial referee to perform 
the reassessment.    
 
 
PA 01-105—sHB 5914 
Transportation Committee 
Public Safety Committee 
Judiciary Committee 
 
AN ACT REVISING CERTAIN 
TRANSPORTATION LAWS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act: 

1. establishes the Airport Rescue and Fire 
Fighting Unit at Bradley International Airport 
as the fire department with jurisdiction within 
the airport for aircraft and structural fire 
protection and emergency medical services, 
and specifically excludes it from the 
jurisdiction of any town; 

2. authorizes the Bradley fire chief or Bradley 
fire officer in charge to control and direct 
emergency activities at a fire or emergency at 
the airport; 

3. allows the Department of Transportation 
(DOT) commissioner to designate the 
Hartford-New Britain Busway project as a 
total cost basis or “design-build” project; 

4. allows DOT to replace the Hales Road 
highway bridge (#03852) over the railroad 
tracks in Westport with a new bridge at a 
minimum clearance over the tracks of 18 feet, 
five inches, instead of the statutorily required 
minimum clearance for bridges over 
electrified railroad tracks of 22 feet, six 
inches; 

5. requires, within 30 calendar days, DOT to 
issue someone who for at least one year holds 
a DOT permit for intrastate operation of motor 
vehicles in livery service and applies, up to 
two additional vehicle permits each year 
without a hearing or written notice to other 
affected parties about the application that the 
law requires, provided all the applicant’s 

existing permits are registered and in use and 
there are no outstanding violations or matters 
pending adjudication against him; 

6. conforms two laws to changes previously 
made by the legislature in related laws;  

7. names the building designated as the new 
terminal at Bradley International Airport the 
“Robert F. Juliano Terminal Building”; 

8. designates memorial or commemorative 
names for 13 state highway segments and 
seven state bridges; 

9. requires signs to be placed on I-84 
(presumably by the DOT commissioner since 
by law no one else can legally place signs on a 
state highway right-of-way) eastbound before 
exit 39 and westbound before exit 40 
designating the location of the “Holy Family 
Passionist Retreat Center”; 

10. requires any printed advertisement concerning 
a household goods carrier to conspicuously 
show its state DOT certificate number and 
federal DOT permit or registration number; 
and 

11. makes various technical changes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001, except for the 
bridge clearance waiver, household goods carrier 
advertisement, I-84 retreat center sign, and the naming 
provisions, which are effective upon passage. 
 
FIRE JURISDICTION AT BRADLEY 
INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT 

 
The act gives the fire chief of the airport fire 

department or any member of the department serving as 
officer-in-charge when the company is responding to or 
operating at a fire, service call, or other emergency at 
the airport the power to (1) control and direct 
emergency activities at the scene; (2) order someone to 
leave a building, aircraft, or place in the vicinity of the 
fire in order to protect him from injury; and (3) do all 
other things the law allows a municipal fire chief or 
officer-in-charge to do at a fire scene. 

In establishing jurisdiction for the Bradley Fire and 
Rescue Unit and giving it these powers, the act gives it, 
rather than the first municipal fire department 
responding to a fire on airport property, jurisdiction 
over how the fire or emergency scene must be managed. 

   
HARTFORD-NEW BRITAIN BUSWAY PROJECT 

 
The act authorizes the commissioner to designate 

the proposed Hartford-New Britain Busway project as a 
total-cost-basis project.  This is also commonly referred 
to as a “design-build” project.  If it is so designated, the 
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commissioner may enter into a single contract with a 
private developer that includes project elements such as 
engineering, design, and construction.  Under normal 
competitive bidding requirements, these project 
elements are usually bid separately. 

Any such total-cost contract must be based on 
competitive proposals.  The commissioner must give 
notice of the project and project specifications at least 
once through advertising in a newspaper with 
substantial circulation in the Hartford-New Britain area. 
The contract award must be based on the developers’ 
qualifications, the technical merits of their proposals, 
and cost.   

The commissioner must determine the criteria, 
requirements, and conditions for the proposals and 
award, and he has sole responsibility for all other 
contract aspects.  If applicable, the contract must clearly 
state the developer’s responsibilities to deliver a 
completed and acceptable project on a date certain and 
the maximum project cost. 

 
CONFORMING CHANGES 

 
In prior years, the legislature changed two laws, 

one raising the threshold for DOT property purchases 
that require approval of a state referee from $15,000 to 
$100,000 and the other changing minimum sightline 
requirements at rail-highway grade crossings.  The act 
conforms the related statute governing payment of the 
damages for property acquired through condemnation to 
the higher threshold for state referee approval 
previously applied to purchase acquisitions. (PA 01-186 
makes the same change.) With respect to grade crossing 
sight lines, it changes several other statutes to make 
them consistent with one another.   

 
ROAD AND BRIDGE NAMINGS 
 

The act names 13 state highway segments and 
seven state highway bridges as follows: 

1. State Road 543 in Wethersfield running north 
from Route 314 to the Hartford town line as 
the “Vartan Mamigonian Memorial 
Highway”; 

2. Route 20 in East Granby running east from the 
Granby town line to the junction of SSR 401 
as the “Connecticut Air National Guard 
Memorial Highway”; 

3. Route 10 in Simsbury running north from the 
intersection of Route 167 to the Granby town 
line as the “Simsbury Veterans Memorial 
Highway”; 

4. I-91 running north from the Meriden-
Middletown town line to the Cromwell-

Middletown town line as the “Sergeant 
George Ross Dingwall Memorial Highway”; 

5. Route 5 in Wallingford as the “American 
Legion Shaw-Sinon Post 73 Memorial 
Highway”; 

6. Route 176 in Newington running north from 
the intersection of Routes 5 and 15 to Route 
175 as the “Patricia M. Genova Memorial 
Highway”; 

7. Route 71 in Meriden running north from the I-
691 overpass to the Meriden town line as the 
“State Trooper Joseph M. Stoba Memorial 
Highway”; 

8. Route 207 in Franklin running east as the 
“Paul Henry Bienvenue Memorial Highway”; 

9. Route 1 in Branford as the “Branford Fire 
Department Memorial Highway”; 

10. Route 146 in Branford as the “Edward Ramos 
Memorial Highway”; 

11. Route 624 in Waterford and New London 
running east from I-95 eastbound to Route 1 
eastbound as the “American Ex-Prisoners of 
War Memorial Highway”; 

12. Route 302 in Newtown running east from the 
Danbury town line to Route 25 as the “Second 
Company Governor’s Horse Guard Memorial 
Highway”; 

13. I-91 running north from the intersection with 
I-95 to the North Haven-New Haven town line 
as the “Second Company Governor’s Foot 
Guard Memorial Highway”; 

14. Bridge No. 1460 on I-91 running north in 
Wethersfield over Wethersfield Cove as the 
“Veterans of the Battle of the Bulge Memorial 
Highway”; 

15. Bridge No. 5337 on Route 175 in Newington 
running east over Mill Brook as the “Andrew 
J. McCusker Memorial Bridge”; 

16. Bridge No. 1628 on Prospect Avenue in 
Hartford passing over SR 598 as the “Major 
John Caldwell Memorial Bridge”; 

17. Bridge No. 1629 on Columbus Boulevard in 
Hartford passing over SR 598 as the “Major 
Thomas Y. Seymour Memorial Bridge”; 

18. Bridge No. 4236 on Route 175 in Newington 
over the Amtrak railroad tracks as the 
“Lieutenant James T. Hall Memorial Bridge”;  

19. Bridge No. 3162 on West Street in Rocky Hill 
running east and passing over I-91 as the 
“John L. Levitow Memorial Bridge”; and 

20. Bridge No. 6277 on I-291 in Manchester 
running east and passing over the Tolland 
Turnpike as the “Jules M. Hollander 
Memorial Bridge.” 
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PA 01-134—sHB 5449 
Transportation Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
Energy and Technology Committee 
 
AN ACT REQUIRING ENERGY EFFICIENT 
ROADWAY LIGHTS 
 
SUMMARY: By law, road lighting bought with state 
funds must be designed to maximize energy 
conservation, minimize light pollution, and meet other 
criteria. The transportation commissioner may waive 
these requirements under certain circumstances.  This 
act extends nearly identical requirements to (1) lighting 
bought with municipal funds and (2) lighting installed 
by a utility company when municipal funds pay its 
operating costs. It allows municipal chief elected 
officials to waive the requirements.  Municipal funds 
include bond revenue and any money a municipality 
appropriates or allocates. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
OUTDOOR LIGHTING 

 
The act requires municipalities to comply with the 

requirements for lighting state roads whenever they use 
municipal funds to install or replace permanent lighting 
on municipal roads.  Public utilities must meet these 
requirements when they install or replace such lighting 
if municipal funds pay their operating costs. The 
requirements are that the (1) lighting be designed to 
maximize energy conservation and minimize light 
pollution, glare, and light trespass (light shining onto 
other people’s property) and (2) lighting level must be 
the minimum needed for the intended purpose.  

By law, state-funded lights on all state primary 
highways must have a full-cutoff luminaire if the light’s 
output exceeds 1,800 lumens.  (A full-cutoff luminaire 
prevents light from shining above the lamp.)  Such 
lighting on secondary and special service highways 
must be equipped with this device under most 
circumstances.  The act requires this device on all 
municipally funded lighting with this output on all 
municipal roads.   

The law allows the commissioner or his designee to 
waive this requirement if he determines that a waiver is 
necessary and requires that he consider design safety, 
costs, and other factors in making his decision.  The act 
allows chief elected officials or their designees to waive 
the requirement with respect to municipal roads under 
the same procedure with regard to municipally installed 
lighting.  The chief elected official or his designee can 
waive the requirement for utility-installed lighting, if the 
company applies for a waiver 30 days before the 

installation and the official determines the waiver is 
necessary.  

By law, permanent lighting cannot be installed or 
replaced on state highways unless the commissioner or 
his designee determines that alternative methods, such 
as installing reflective road markings or reducing the 
speed limit on the road, cannot accomplish the same 
ends as the lighting.  The act extends this limitation to 
municipally funded lighting installed by the 
municipality, making the chief elected official or his 
designee responsible for determining if alternative 
methods cannot achieve the same ends as the lighting. 

The act also allows the Office of Policy and 
Management secretary to exempt municipal lighting 
from all of the above requirements under the same 
conditions as he already can for state lighting. 
 
 
PA 01-143—HB 6778 
Transportation Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE CONNECTICUT 
COASTLINE PORT AUTHORITY 
 
SUMMARY: This act (1) expands the responsibility of 
the Connecticut Coastline Port Authority to perform its 
statutorily defined activities to promote the economic 
development of all ports, harbors, and navigable tidal 
rivers in the state’s municipalities instead of only the 
three deepwater ports in Bridgeport, New Haven, and 
New London and (2) renames it the Connecticut Port 
Authority.   

The act also expands the definition of port facilities 
that the Bridgeport and New London port authorities 
may operate and maintain to include facilities outside 
the districts’ geographic boundaries that benefit the 
district.  Previously, port facilities had to be physically 
located within district boundaries.  

Finally, the act requires the authority’s executive 
director to notify the appropriate appointing authority in 
writing that a vacancy has occurred on the board of 
directors.  The authority’s board consists of the 
transportation and economic development 
commissioners; six members appointed by the governor; 
six members appointed, one each, by the House speaker, 
Senate president pro tempore, and House and Senate 
majority and minority leaders; and one nonvoting 
representative from each of the three deepwater ports 
appointed by designated local officials. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
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PA 01-191—HB 6297 
Transportation Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING REGISTRATION 
STICKERS ON MOTOR VEHICLES AND 
CONCERNING SPECIAL NUMBER PLATES 
AND IDENTIFICATION CARDS FOR DISABLED 
VETERANS WHO HAVE TRAUMATIC BRAIN 
INJURY 
 
SUMMARY: This act allows registration validation 
stickers to contain in addition to the registration 
expiration date the law already requires, the letters and 
numbers corresponding to the ones on the license plate.  
By law, registration validation stickers must be 
displayed on the vehicle’s license plate or plates, or can 
be placed elsewhere on the vehicle if the commissioner 
directs it. 

The act also extends special parking privileges to 
disabled veterans who served in time of war, as defined 
by law, and sustained service-connected traumatic brain 
injury certified by the Veteran’s Administration (VA).  
Previously these privileges were available only if a 
veteran was blind, paraplegic, hemiplegic, or had lost 
the use of, or had amputated all or part of one or both 
arms or legs as a result of his war service as certified by 
the VA.  This special privilege allows such disabled 
veterans to park without penalty for overtime parking as 
long as they do not leave their vehicle at any one 
location for more than 24 hours.  An eligible veteran 
receives special license plates and an identification card 
that a surviving spouse may keep until death or 
remarriage.     
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
 
PA 01-198—sHB 6522 
Transportation Committee 
Public Safety Committee 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING A SPECIAL LICENSE 
PLATE HONORING STATE TROOPERS, 
MUNICIPAL POLICE OFFICERS AND OTHER 
STATE AND MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES KILLED 
IN THE LINE OF DUTY 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires the motor vehicle 
commissioner to issue a special registration and license 
plate set memorializing police officers and other state 
and municipal employees killed in the line of duty.  
They must be issued for any vehicle the requestor owns 
or leases for at least one year.  The commissioner must 

charge a fee for the plates, in addition to the normal 
registration fee, that covers the cost to produce them. 
The registration and plates are subject to normal 
expiration and renewal requirements.   

The commissioner must create a committee to 
approve the plate design.  The committee must include a 
representative of Concerns of Police Survivors, Inc., the 
Connecticut State Police Union, the Connecticut 
Council of Police, and the Connecticut Conference of 
Municipalities. 

The first 1,000 such plates must be reserved for the 
spouses, parents, or children of state troopers killed in 
the line of duty or for municipal police officers. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
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PA 01-97—sHB 6864 
Select Committee on Workforce Development 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
Government Administration and Elections Committee 
 
AN ACT REQUIRING REGIONAL WORKFORCE 
DEVELOPMENT BOARDS TO SUBMIT ANNUAL 
PERFORMANCE MEASURES TO THE OFFICE 
OF WORKFORCE COMPETITIVENESS 
 
SUMMARY:  Beginning October 1, 2002, this act 
requires regional workforce development boards to 
submit annual reports to the Office of Workforce 
Competitiveness detailing how workforce development 
programs and activities funded by money distributed by 
the boards are performing.  The reports must include (1) 
the identity of providers and their performance; (2) 
program costs and activities; (3) the number, gender, 
and race of program participants; (4) occupational skill 
types; (5) the number, gender, and race of people who 
complete the programs and activities and enter 
unsubsidized employment after doing so; and (6) the 
number and earnings of those who remain in such 
employment six months later.     
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Regional Workforce Development Boards 

 
The federal Workforce Investment Act of 1998 

(WIA) requires states to establish local workforce 
development boards.  Connecticut’s boards are called 
regional workforce development boards.  They are 
responsible for workforce development activities in 
their geographic area, including developing workforce 
plans, selecting program providers, overseeing 
programs, negotiating performance measures, 
establishing worker training education committees, and 
promoting private sector involvement.    
 
 
PA 01-146—sHB 6867 
Select Committee on Workforce Development 
Human Services Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
Planning and Development Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING ONE-STOP CENTERS 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires each one-stop job center 
to include a local community action agency and an 
opportunities industrialization center (OIC) as one-stop 

partners, subject to the approval of the regional 
workforce development board (RWDB) and the chief 
elected officials of the local workforce investment areas 
designated under the federal Workforce Investment Act 
of 1998 (WIA).  The act requires the one-stop center to 
give eligible people using it access to these entities’ 
programs and activities.  These new partners are in 
addition to the current federally required partners. 

The act also requires at least one Department of 
Social Services (DSS) representative to be onsite at each 
one-stop center to give people using the center 
assistance or information about the department’s 
services and programs. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
One-Stop Centers 

 
Connecticut’s statewide system of one-stop job 

centers (called “Connecticut Works Centers”) offers 
workers, students, and employers comprehensive 
workforce development assistance. The centers offer job 
seekers (including people moving from welfare to work 
under the state’s Jobs First program) counseling, skills 
training, and job search assistance.  They also provide 
businesses with recruiting services, employee job 
training, and related support. 

WIA (PL 105-220, 29 U.S.C. § 2801 et seq.) 
requires each local workforce investment area, as 
designated by the governor, to have a one-stop center, 
which can be supplemented by a network of affiliated 
sites.  RWDBs select one-stop operators through a 
competitive process or designate a consortium to 
administer them. 

Federal law requires certain federally funded 
programs to participate as partners in the one-stop 
centers and allows states to add others.  The required 
partners include such entities as WIA-authorized job 
training services, vocational rehabilitation programs, 
adult education and literacy programs, welfare-to-work 
programs, senior community service employment 
programs, vocational education programs, and state 
unemployment compensation programs (29 U.S.C. § 
2841 (b) and 20 C.F.R. § 662.200). 

 
Opportunities Industrialization Centers (OICs) 

 
OICs are private, nonprofit entities that provide job 

training and related services or job opportunity 
programs for economically disadvantaged, unemployed, 
and underemployed people. (Section 29 of PA 01-2, JSS 
transfers the administration of grants for OICs from 
DSS to the Department of Labor.) 



212                                                    SELECT COMMITTEE ON WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT 

 
2001 OLR PA Summary Book 

PA 01-156—HB 6868 
Select Committee on Workforce Development 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING STANDARDIZATION 
OF REGIONAL WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT 
BOARD CONTRACTS 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires the labor commissioner 
to adopt regulations establishing standard provisions 
that must be included in contracts entered into by 
regional workforce development boards (RWDBs) for 
education, employment, or job training activities funded 
by state or federal monies.  The commissioner must 
consult with the Connecticut Employment and Training 
Commission and the RWDBs in adopting the 
regulations.    
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Regional Workforce Development Boards  

 
The federal Workforce Investment Act of 1998 

(WIA) requires states to establish local workforce 
development boards.  Connecticut’s local workforce 
development boards are called RWDBs.  RWDBs are 
responsible for workforce development activities in 
their geographic areas, including developing workforce 
plans, selecting program providers, overseeing 
programs, negotiating performance measures, 
establishing worker training education committees, and 
promoting private-sector involvement.    
 
 
PA 01-165—sSB 1366 
Select Committee on Workforce Development 
Education Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING AN ARTICULATION 
AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE CONSTITUENT 
UNITS OF THE STATE SYSTEM OF HIGHER 
EDUCATION 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires the Advisory Council 
on Student Transfer and Articulation (ACSTA) to 
develop a plan for coordinating the creation of 
articulation agreements in specific areas among public 
institutions of secondary and higher education, and 
report its progress to the General Assembly.  
Articulation agreements are written arrangements 
among educational institutions to ensure students a 
successful transition between them.  The ACSTA must 

develop the plan by July 1, 2002 and implement it by 
July 1, 2004. 

The act also requires the boards of trustees of the 
public and private colleges and universities to plan and 
implement articulation agreements for students pursuing 
degrees in nursing.  The boards must develop a plan by 
July 1, 2002 and implement it by July 1, 2004. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

 
ACSTA’S PUBLIC SECONDARY AND HIGHER 
EDUCATION PLAN 

 
The act requires ACSTA to develop a plan to 

ensure that: 
1. there are articulation agreements in the areas of 

business, nursing, allied health, and such other 
professional and preprofessional programs as 
ACSTA selects between all the vocational-
technical (V-T) schools, the community-
technical colleges (CTCs), and high school 
programs in the regions of the state where 
these institutions are located; 

2. there are system-to-system articulation 
agreements in the areas of business, nursing, 
allied health, and other professional and 
preprofessional programs between the CTCs, 
Connecticut State University (CSU), and the 
University of Connecticut (UConn); and 

3. the articulation agreements include academic 
programs at the public colleges and universities 
that the labor commissioner and the Office of 
Workforce Competitiveness have identified as 
addressing a workforce shortage area.   

The act requires ACSTA, in consultation with the 
state departments of education and higher education and 
the boards of trustees of the public colleges and 
universities, to report to the Education and Workforce 
Development committees, by July 1, 2002 and annually 
thereafter, on all articulation agreements involving 
institutions of higher education and any progress made 
toward establishing new agreements.   

 
BOARD OF TRUSTEES’ NURSING PLAN 

 
The act requires the boards of trustees for the 

CTCs, CSU, UConn, Charter Oak State College, the 
Bridgeport Hospital School of Nursing, and the state’s 
independent colleges to develop a plan to ensure that 
there are articulation agreements between the nursing 
programs to assist nurses in advancing their education 
and nursing credentials.   
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BACKGROUND 
 

Advisory Council on Student Transfer and Articulation 
 
The statutes require the higher education 

commissioner, in consultation with the Higher 
Education Coordinating Council, to establish an 
ACSTA.  ACSTA is made up of the chief academic 
officers of each constituent unit, teaching faculty, 
institutional transfer coordinators, and students of the 
public colleges and universities, as well as two 
representatives of independent colleges and universities 
who serve as nonvoting ex-officio members.  The 
commissioner convenes and chairs the council.  ACSTA 
considers various issues and procedures associated with 
student transfer and articulation agreements.  ACSTA 
must annually report on its activities to the Governor 
and the Education Committee. 
 
 
PA 01-170—sSB 1370 
Select Committee on Workforce Development 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
Education Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Legislative Management Committee 
 
AN ACT ESTABLISHING CAREER LADDER 
PROGRAMS FOR CRITICAL EMPLOYMENT 
AREAS AND REQUIRING A REVIEW OF 
APPRENTICESHIP HIRING RATIOS 
 
SUMMARY: This act requires the Office of Workforce 
Competitiveness (OWC), with the Department of 
Labor’s (DOL) assistance, to submit an annual report to 
the governor and the Labor, Education, Commerce, and 
Workforce Development committees.  The report must 
include DOL’s forecast of state occupational workforce 
shortages for the next two- and five-year periods.  It 
must also recommend (1) ways to generate enough 
workers to meet the workforce needs DOL identifies, 
including scholarship, school-to-career, and internship 
programs and (2) methods secondary and higher 
education systems and private industry can use to 
address these needs.  The first report is due by October 
1, 2002.   

The act requires the education and higher education 
commissioners, in consultation with OWC and the 
constituent units o f public higher education, to establish, 
by September 1, 2003, career ladder programs for high 
school students who want to pursue careers in 
occupations that OWC’s first annual report projects will 
have workforce shortages in the next five years. 

 

The act requires DOL to report to the Workforce 
Development Committee by January 1, 2002 on its 
efforts to (1) simplify the process for requesting an 
exemption from apprenticeship hiring ratios,  (2) create 
an application form that can be revised and used for 
future requests, (3) reduce the time it takes to review 
and approve or disapprove such requests, and (4) 
establish a system to track apprentices in registered 
apprentice programs.   

The act requires the State Apprenticeship Council 
to review existing apprenticeship hiring ratios and 
report any proposed changes to the Workforce 
Development Committee by January 1, 2002.   

Finally, the act replaces the deputy labor 
commissioner on the State Apprenticeship Council with 
the labor commissioner and eliminates a requirement 
that the council submit an annual report to the 
commissioner.  The council must instead prepare a 
report for the commissioner to include in his report to 
the governor.    
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2001 
 
BACKGROUND 

 
Office of Workforce Competitiveness 

 
OWC is the governor’s principal workforce 

development policy advisor, and it acts as a liaison 
between the governor and other government entities for 
workforce development matters.  OWC coordinates the 
state’s implementation of the federal Workforce 
Investment Act of 1998 and establishes related methods 
and procedures.  It also coordinates state agencies’ 
workforce development activities. OWC is within the 
Office of Policy and Management for administrative 
purposes.   

 
Connecticut State Apprenticeship Council 
 

The State Apprenticeship Council’s duties include 
adopting standards for apprenticeship programs, 
formulating policies regarding programs, and advising 
the labor commissioner on work training standards for 
apprentices.      
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PA 01-193—sSB 1375 
Select Committee on Workforce Development 
Education Committee 
Appropriations Committee 
Commerce Committee 
Labor and Public Employees Committee 
Legislative Management Committee 
 
AN ACT IMPLEMENTING THE CONNECTICUT 
EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING 
COMMISSION'S RECOMMENDATIONS 
CONCERNING CONNECTICUT'S 
INFORMATION AND TECHNOLOGY 
WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT NEEDS 
 
SUMMARY:  This act creates programs and strategies 
to address Connecticut’s information technology and 
workforce needs.  It requires the Connecticut 
Employment and Training Commission (CETC) to 
suggest to the Workforce Development Committee 
ways to (1) form a digital compact to identify areas of 
information technology skills development, (2) fund and 
operate a Digital Strategic Fund (DSF), and (3) use DSF 
money to address the digital divide.  It also (1) requires 
the Department of Economic and Community 
Development (DECD) to create a campaign to make 
electronic and information technology businesses more 
visible, (2) requires the State Department of Education 
(SDE) to establish an information technology pilot 
program, and (3) directs SDE to encourage the 
establishment of a new interdistrict magnet school with 
a curriculum emphasizing information technology.  

The act requires the Office of Workforce 
Competitiveness (OWC), the Department of Higher 
Education (DHE), and the public colleges and 
universities to create information technology 
proficiency and credential pilot programs.  It also 
requires them to create an information technology 
internship and work-study pilot program.  Finally, 
OWC, certain agency commissioners and education 
leaders, the secretary of the Office of Policy and 
Management (OPM), and members of the economic 
clusters must evaluate programs at the community-
technical colleges (CTCs) and the vocational-technical 
(V-T) schools and recommend ways to improve them to 
meet the needs of business and industry.    
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
DIGITAL AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY 
STRATEGIES 

 
CETC must submit a report to the Workforce 

Development Committee by January 1, 2002, that 
makes specific recommendations for: 

1. forming a statewide digital compact for 
industry, education, labor, and government to 
integrate into the educational and workforce 
systems areas of information technology skills 
development that industry identifies; 

2. funding and operating a DSF to give 
discretionary funding to improve connections 
between industries and specific educational and 
training institutions; and 

3. addressing the “digital divide” (the disparity 
between those with access to technology and 
those without) by directing part of the DSF’s 
money to specific groups and communities that 
are traditionally underrepresented in the field 
of information technology. 

 
ELECTRONIC BUSINESS AND INFORMATION 
TECHNOLOGY CAMPAIGN 

 
The act requires DECD, in consultation with OWC, 

to coordinate a statewide campaign to increase the 
visibility of Connecticut’s leading business strengths 
and new or emerging information technology businesses 
by January 1, 2002.  It must do so within available 
appropriations. 

 
INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY CAREER PILOT 
PROGRAM 

 
The act requires SDE to establish, within available 

appropriations for FYs 2001-02 through 2003-04 and in 
cooperation with OWC, a pilot program that encourages 
K-12 students to pursue careers in information 
technology.  By September 28, 2001, the education 
commissioner, in cooperation with OWC, must establish 
written participation guidelines and submit them to 
CETC.  He must also submit a status report on the 
program to CETC and the Education, Appropriations, 
and Workforce Development committees by January 1, 
2002. 
 
INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY PROFICIENCY 
PILOT PROGRAM 

 
The act requires OWC, in consultation with DHE, 

to establish, within available appropriations for FYs 
2001-02 and 2002-03, a two-year pilot program to 
encourage public and private colleges and universities 
to provide enrolled students the opportunity to show 
prospective employers their technology and problem-
solving skills by allowing students to prepare for and 
take assessment exams, such as the Tek.Xam, at the 
institutions.  By September 28, 2001, OWC must 
establish, in consultation with DHE’s commissioner, 
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UConn’s board of trustees, the CTCs, the Connecticut 
State University (CSU) system, and at least three private 
colleges or universities, written participation guidelines 
for the program.  OWC must also submit a status report 
on the program to the Education, Appropriations, and 
Workforce Development committees by January 1, 
2002. 

 
INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY CREDENTIAL 
PILOT PROGRAM 

 
The act requires OWC to establish, within available 

appropriations for FY 2001-02 and in consultation with 
DHE, UConn’s board of trustees, the CTCs, and CSU, a 
pilot program to help non-information technology 
workers who show ability in information technology to 
earn an information technology credential or degree at 
one of Connecticut’s public colleges or universities.  By 
September 28, 2001, OWC must establish, in 
consultation with the same entities, written participation 
guidelines for the program.  OWC must also submit a 
status report on the program to the Education, 
Appropriations, and Workforce Development 
committees and the CETC by January 1, 2002. 

 
VOCATIONAL-TECHNICAL SCHOOL AND 
COMMUNITY COLLEGE PROGRAMS 

 
The act requires OWC; the commissioners of 

Labor, Economic and Community Development, 
Education, and Social Services; the secretary of OPM; 
and the CTCs’ chancellor, in consultation with the 
superintendent of the V-T schools and one member of 
industry from each “economic cluster” (group of 
industries the DECD links together because of 
customer, supplier, or other relationships) to: 

1. review, evaluate, and recommend 
improvements for certificate and degree 
programs at the V-T schools and CTCs to 
make sure they meet business and industry’s 
employment needs and 

2. develop ways to strengthen ties between skill 
standards for education and training and 
business and industry’s employment needs. 

The act requires the education commissioner to 
report annually, beginning January 1, 2002, to the 
Education, Commerce, Labor, and Workforce 
Development committees on (1) the CTCs and V-T 
schools’ implementation of any recommended programs 
or strategies to strengthen the linkage between their 
certificate and degree programs and business and 
industry’s employment needs and (2) any V-T school or 
CTC certificate or degree program that does not meet 
current industry standards. 

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY INTERNSHIP AND 
WORK-STUDY PILOT PROGRAM 

 
The act requires OWC to establish, within available 

appropriations and in cooperation with DHE, UConn’s 
board of trustees, the CTCs, and CSU, a pilot program 
to provide information technology internships and 
cooperative work-study programs at the public colleges 
and universities.  By September 28, 2001, OWC must 
establish, in consultation with the same entities, written 
participation guidelines for the program.  OWC must 
also submit a status report on the program to the CETC 
and the Education, Appropriations, and Workforce 
Development committees by January 1, 2002. 

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Office of Workforce Competitiveness 

 
OWC is the governor’s principal workforce 

development policy advisor, and it acts as a liaison 
between the governor and other government entities for 
workforce development matters.  It coordinates the 
state’s implementation of the federal Workforce 
Investment Act of 1998 and establishes related methods 
and procedures.  It also coordinates state agencies’ 
workforce development activities. OWC is within the 
Office of Policy and Management for administrative 
purposes.   
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PA 01-1, June Special Session—HB 7502 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING EXPENDITURES FOR 
THE PROGRAMS AND SERVICES OF THE 
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 
 
SUMMARY:  This act makes many changes in state 
education grant programs and funding.  It: 

1. establishes a formula for distributing $75 
million over the 2001-03 biennium to towns 
affected by the Education Cost Sharing (ECS) 
cap, establishes minimum ECS grants for all 
towns for FYs 2001-02 and 2002-03, extends 
the existing ECS foundation for two years, and 
exempts Waterbury from the ECS minimum 
expenditure requirement under certain 
conditions; 

2. increases the state’s share of the funding for 
high-cost special education students starting in 
FY 2002-03; 

3. makes several changes in the state’s public 
school choice program to limit mandatory 
participation to four regions and restricts 
enrollment to ensure diversity; 

4. expands the alternate route to teacher 
certification program and establishes other 
alternative certification programs to address 
teacher shortages; 

5. revises the minority teacher incentive program 
to allow eligible students to receive grants for 
graduate study; 

6. makes various changes in the school readiness 
program, including establishing minimum 
grants and expanding permitted uses for quality 
enhancement grants, program goals and 
standards, and staff professional development 
requirements; 

7. requires teacher training and professional 
development in reading and the content of 
early and remedial reading programs funded by 
the early reading success grant to be aligned 
with the state Early Reading Success Panel’s 
recommendations; 

8. establishes a facility renovation grant for 
eligible charter schools and allows the 
education commissioner to reallocate unused 
charter school per-student grant appropriations 
to other interdistrict programs; 

9. establishes a distribution formula for 
supplemental funding for interdistrict magnet 
schools operated by regional education service 
centers (RESCs); 

 

 
10. establishes a competitive safe-learning grant to 

help districts address students’ aggressive 
behavior and bullying; 

11. exempts grants to priority districts for school 
readiness, early reading success, summer 
school, and extended school hours, as well as 
priority school district grants, from the state 
spending cap and specifies funding levels for 
each grant for FYs 2001-02 and 2002-03; 

12. establishes minimum grants for certain 
transitional school districts for FYs 2001-02 
and 2002-03, eliminates the flat $250,000-per-
district grant to such districts, and requires 
grants to be distributed within available 
appropriations; 

13. makes permanent accountability grants to 
schools needing improvement designated by 
the commissioner and requires the 
commissioner to designate the schools every 
three, rather than every two, years; 

14. increases minimum education technology 
grants to all towns and establishes a new 
competitive basic technology grant program; 

15. doubles the bonus to priority districts for 
constructing facilities for all-day kindergarten 
programs or to reduce class sizes in early 
grades and exempts a Plainfield project from a 
school construction grant refund requirement if 
it meets certain conditions; 

16. temporarily freezes a criterion used to 
determine minimum reimbursements to certain 
school districts for the cost of providing health 
services to private school students; 

17. expands the types of companies and jobs that 
are eligible for information technology workers 
in the student loan reimbursement program 

18. allocates money for training Hartford residents 
in the duties of board of education members; 

19. requires unaccredited YMCA day care 
programs to develop plans to become 
accredited if they receive state grants for 
capital projects to expand their facilities; 

20. allows a Waterbury program to use money 
from adult education grants for technical 
training through the end of FY 2002-03; 

21. establishes a deadline for the Teachers’ 
Retirement Board actuary to complete his 
biennial cost estimates for the Teachers’ 
Retirement System; and 

22. makes other minor changes in education 
funding and grant programs.  

EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
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ECS GRANTS (§§ 1-4) 
 
Grants to Capped Towns 
 

The act gives each town affected by the ECS 
formula cap a proportional share of $25 million for FY 
2001-02 and of $50 million in FY 2002-03.  Each 
town’s share is based on the difference between its 
capped grant and its “target aid” (what its grant, 
excluding any density supplements, would be without 
the cap). Until FY 2003-04, the ECS cap limits a town’s 
annual ECS grant increase to a maximum of 6% based 
on wealth.  
 
Minimum Grant Increase for All Towns 
 

For FY 2001-02, the act gives every town, whether 
or not it is capped, a grant equal to at least its FY 2000-
01 grant (excluding any density supplement) plus 
1.68%.  For FY 2002-03, every town must receive at 
least its FY 2000-01 grant (excluding density 
supplements) plus 1.2%.   
 
Foundation Level 
 
 The act extends the existing ECS foundation of 
$5,891 per “need student” (enrollment weighted for 
poverty and educational need) through FY 2002-03. 
 
Minimum Expenditure Requirement for Waterbury (§ 
50)  

 
The act exempts half of any savings from 

Waterbury’s teacher contract negotiations from the ECS 
minimum expenditure requirement for FYs 2001-02 and 
2002-03.  It allows the city to use half the savings for 
noneducational purposes if (1) overall education 
spending increases from the prior fiscal year and (2) the 
board of education keeps the other half to pay for 
classroom supplies and other nonpersonnel education 
costs. 
 
SPECIAL EDUCATION FUNDING (§ 5) 
 

Starting July 1, 2002, the act reduces a local school 
district’s maximum share of the funding for high-cost 
special education placements from five to four-and-a-
half times its average per-pupil expenditure for the 
preceding fiscal year. The state is responsible for all 
costs exceeding that amount. 
 
 
 
 

OPEN CHOICE PROGRAM (§§ 29 & 30) 
 
Participation 
 

The act makes several changes in the public school 
interdistrict Open Choice Program. Starting in the 2001-
02 school year, it limits mandatory participation to the 
Bridgeport, Hartford, New Haven, and New London 
regions instead of requiring all 14 priority district 
regions to participate.  It makes participation voluntary 
for the 10 remaining priority districts (Bristol, Danbury, 
East Hartford, Meriden, New Britain, Norwalk, Putnam, 
Stamford, Waterbury, and Windham) and delays the 
start of the voluntary program in those districts until 
September 2003.  Under prior law, the program was to 
start in New Britain, New London, Waterbury, and 
Windham in September 2000 and in the remaining 
priority districts in September 2001. 

 
Enrollment Restrictions 
 

Under the act, the percentage of white students 
from Bridgeport, Hartford, New Haven, and New 
London who leave to attend school in other districts as 
part of the program cannot be greater than the 
percentage of white students enrolled in public schools 
in those districts in the preceding school year.  The 
RESCs operating the program for the four regions must 
comply with these enrollment restrictions when making 
program participation decisions and in administering 
any lottery for available program spaces.  

For priority districts participating voluntarily, the 
act allows transfers “in” only; that is, the act allows 
students from outside a participating priority district to 
transfer to schools in that district but not students from 
the district to transfer out.  Students transferring in may 
do so only if they bring racial, ethnic, and economic 
diversity to the districts.   

The act requires the program admission policies to 
comply with both these racial and ethnic enrollment 
restrictions and a state law that prohibits discrimination 
in public school programs and activities on the basis of 
race, color, sex, religion, national origin, or sexual 
orientation. 
  
New London Program 
 

The act gives students from New London who 
participated in the program in the 2000-01 school year 
the right to continue in their new districts until they 
graduate from high school.  It requires the funding for 
the maximum $2,000 per-student state grant to the 
receiving districts and the maximum $1,200 per-student 
transportation grant for these students to be paid from 
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the interdistrict cooperative grant program rather than 
the Open Choice Program.  The interdistrict cooperative 
grants for these students are to be paid to the RESC 
operating the New London program. 
 
RESC Funding 
 

The act allows the State Department of Education 
(SDE) to provide planning grants in FY 2002-03 to help 
RESCs in the areas around the districts that choose to 
participate in the voluntary program plan to operate it. It 
requires SDE to provide an annual grant in an 
unspecified amount instead of $175,000 to RESCs in 
areas where the program is operating.   
 
TEACHER SHORTAGE  
 
Expanded Alternate Route To Certification Program (§§ 
6 & 49) 
 

The act requires the Department of Higher 
Education (DHE), within available appropriations and 
with the education commissioner’s approval, to expand 
its summer and weekend and evening alternate route to 
certification (ARC) programs.  DHE must use the 
additional weekend and evening program spaces for 
participants seeking certification in subject shortage 
areas identified by the education commissioner.   

The act allocates $200,000 of DHE’s budget 
appropriation for higher education and health initiatives 
for a grant to expand the summer ARC program. (PA 
01-9, June Special Session, amends this act to allow 
DHE to use the money to expand any of its ARC 
programs, not just the summer one.) 

The act also requires DHE to collaborate with SDE 
to develop (1) regional ARC programs targeted to 
subject shortage areas and (2) an ARC program for 
former teachers whose certificates have expired but who 
wish to return to teaching. 
 
Cross-Endorsement Program (§ 7) 
 

The act requires SDE, in cooperation with DHE, to 
establish, within available appropriations, (1) an 
accelerated cross-endorsement program in subject 
shortage areas identified by the education commissioner 
to allow certified teachers to add new endorsements to 
their certificates and (2) a program for formerly certified 
teachers to regain their certification. 
 
 
 
 
 

MINORITY TEACHERS  
 
Minority Teacher Incentive Program (§ 8)  
 

The act expands the Minority Teacher Incentive 
Program to allow a student who enters a teacher 
preparation program in his senior year of college to 
receive grants for both that year and his first year of 
graduate school.  Under prior law, a student who 
entered in his senior year could receive a grant only for 
one year, while students who entered as juniors could 
receive grants for two years.  

The act continues to limit grants to two years and 
allows a student to receive a grant for graduate school 
only if he received a grant for one year as an 
undergraduate.  The maximum grant is still $5,000 per 
year. 
 
RESC Diversity Activities (§ 31)  
 

The act requires RESCs to support (1) regional 
efforts to recruit and retain minority educators and (2) 
data collection on school district efforts to reduce racial, 
ethnic, and economic isolation. 
 
SCHOOL READINESS PROGRAM 
 
Program Grants (§ §12 & 13) 
 
 The act establishes a minimum grant of $150,000 
for priority and former priority districts while 
maintaining the requirement that no such district receive 
a grant that is lower than its previous year’s grant. It 
increases, from 10% to 50%, the percentage of a priority 
school district’s grant SDE can reallocate to other 
priority districts if the district fails to submit a plan to 
spend its entire grant by January 1.   
 The act sets a $25,000 minimum on the amount of 
its state school readiness grant a town that does not 
contribute local funds to the program may use for early 
childhood education coordination, administration, and 
program evaluation.  Under prior law, these towns could 
use up to 5% but no more than $50,000 of their grant for 
such purposes. The act allows them to use up to 5% or 
$25,000, whichever is greater.  It retains the $50,000 
maximum. 

It allows towns, for the first three years in which 
they receive a school readiness grant, to use it, with the 
commissioner’s approval, to prepare a facility or staff to 
operate a program.  It also requires the commissioner to 
reduce grants for the first three years accordingly if he 
approves a program that operates for less than 180 days 
or 450 hours per year.  Under prior law, authorization 
for these two provisions expired on June 30, 2001. 
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Quality Enhancement Grants (§ 16) 
 
The act expands the ways school readiness and day 

care providers may spend supplemental quality 
enhancement grants available from the Department of 
Social Services (DSS) to include: 

1. helping program directors and administrators 
get training, 

2. providing health consultants and information 
on needed access to speech and language 
therapists, 

3. training in how to prevent injury and illness, 
and  

4. complying with national safety standards. 
 
Program Goals and Standards (§§ 10 & 11) 
 

The act expands the goals of the school readiness 
program to include improving coordination between 
school readiness programs and child-care services. It 
also allows the SDE to include pre-literacy development 
as part of its curriculum standards for school readiness 
programs.   
 
Staff Professional Development (§ 14) 
 

The act requires school readiness programs to have 
plans for incorporating appropriate pre-literacy practices 
and for teacher training in those practices. It also 
requires each program’s plans for staff professional 
development to include training (1) in developing 
children’s pre-literacy skills and (2) designed to assure 
respect for racial and ethnic diversity. 

 
Regional School Readiness Councils (§§11 & 15) 

 
The act allows a town that is a priority or former 

priority school district applying for a state school 
readiness grant to either convene a local school 
readiness council or establish a regional one, rather than 
only the former, and it requires the superintendent of 
schools and the town chief executive officer to consult 
with either a regional or local school readiness council, 
as appropriate, rather than only with a local council, in 
developing the grant spending plan. 
 
EARLY READING SUCCESS PROGRAM 
 
Priority District Professional Development in Reading 
(§ 18) 

 
The act expands professional development 

requirements for elementary school personnel in priority 
districts. 

Under prior law, by July 1, 2001, priority school 
districts had to develop and implement three-year plans 
to train school librarians, elementary school principals, 
and at least 70% of their K-3 teachers in reading 
instruction.  By October 1, 2001, the act requires the 
districts to revise their plans to provide for school-
based, in-service training in reading instruction over 
five years for all of the following elementary school 
personnel: librarians, principals, reading specialists, 
special education teachers, speech and language 
specialists, and K-3 classroom teachers.  The plan must 
(1) use, rather than simply be consistent with, the 
school-based training model the state Early Reading 
Success Panel developed and (2) require the district  to 
designate a new or existing employee as a school-based 
content specialist coordinator.  
 
Early Reading Success Institute (§§ 17, 19 & 20) 

 
The act requires the SDE’s Early Reading Success 

Institute teacher training curriculum to incorporate the 
reading panel’s findings on comprehensive reading 
instruction.  The institute’s curriculum must include: 

1. instructional strategies adaptable to student 
needs; 

2. early screening and ongoing assessments to 
determine which students need more help; 

3. teaching oral language competencies, including 
awareness of sounds in spoken words 
(phonological awareness), vocabulary, 
listening comprehension, and grammar; 

4. systematic teaching of how to identify written 
words, including instruction that emphasizes 
the correspondence between letters and 
spelling and word sounds (phonics) and the 
ability to break words down into individual 
sounds and blend sounds into a spoken word 
(phonemic awareness); and 

5. teaching reading comprehension, including 
using context to determine meaning. 

It requires SDE to: 
1. oversee curriculum development for the Early 

Reading Success Institute, 
2. establish qualifications for teacher training 

providers, 
3. recommend how to align the State Board of 

Education’s (SBE) reading competency 
standards for grades 1 through 3 with the 
reading panel’s research, 

4. specify the knowledge and skills a person 
needs to be certified as an elementary teacher 
or a reading specialist, and 



 2001 JUNE SPECIAL SESSION 221 

 
2001 OLR PA Summary Book 

5. examine curriculum module designs and 
teacher training implementation based on the 
reading panel’s report. 

The commissioner must report on these actions to 
the Education Committee by February 1, 2002. 

The commissioner must also, within available 
appropriations, hire a contractor to independently 
evaluate teacher training in early reading success and 
the curriculum modules formulated by the reading panel 
and used in the institute. 

 
Full-Day Kindergarten and Intensive Early Reading 
Programs In Priority Districts (§ 21) 

 
The act requires priority districts seeking funding 

for full-day kindergarten programs under the early 
reading success grant program to include in their plans 
information on how the kindergarten and school 
readiness programs will be coordinated to provide 
information on a child’s transition from preschool to 
kindergarten, including information on preschool 
records. Plans must already include information on 
coordinating before- and after-school care for children 
in the kindergarten programs.   

It also requires the kindergarten programs to refer 
eligible children without health insurance to the state’s 
HUSKY Program, which subsidizes health coverage for 
low-income children. 

Finally, it requires priority district proposals for 
intensive early reading programs to incorporate the 
following findings of the reading panel: 

1. skills required for early reading success, 
2. critical indicators for teacher intervention, and  
3. the components of a high-quality early reading 

curriculum. 
District proposals must align performance 

indicators and teacher training with the reading panel’s 
findings. 
 
Remedial Reading Programs (§ 22) 

 
The act requires each school in a priority district to 

provide a reading program for any 1st, 2nd, or 3rd graders 
whose reading is found to be substantially deficient and 
requires the program to incorporate the reading panel’s 
findings.  Under prior law, schools only had to notify 
the student’s parents of the deficiency and establish a 
personal reading plan for him.  The act requires the 
personal reading plans maintained for 3rd graders 
promoted to the 4th grade despite being substantially 
deficient in reading to incorporate the panel’s findings. 
 
 
 

Longitudinal Study of Early Reading Success Programs 
(§ 23) 
 

The act delays by one year, from January 1, 2001 to 
January 1, 2002, the deadline for the commissioner’s 
report to the Education Committee on a longitudinal 
study of children’s educational progress during and after 
their participation in early reading programs funded by 
early reading success grants. 
 
Teacher Education Program Study (§§ 6 & 25) 
 

The act requires the education and higher education 
commissioners to provide, within available 
appropriations, for a study of colleges’ and universities’ 
teacher education programs on reading instruction.  The 
commissioners must evaluate the programs and how 
they are implementing the reading panel’s findings and 
report the results of the study and any recommended 
revisions in teacher preparation programs to the 
Education Committee by January 1, 2002. It eliminates 
a requirement that the Board of Governors of Higher 
Education continue a 1965 study and evaluation of 
teacher training programs.  
 
CHARTER SCHOOLS 
 
Renovation Grants (§ 28) 
 

For FYs 2001-02 and 2002-03, the act requires the 
education commissioner to establish, within available 
appropriations and bond authorizations, grants to help 
state charter schools whose charters were renewed in the 
preceding fiscal year, to finance: 

1. facility renovation, construction, purchase, 
extension, replacement, or major alteration;  

2. (a) replacing windows, doors, boilers, and 
other heating and ventilation system 
components, internal communication systems, 
lockers, and ceilings, (b) upgrading restrooms, 
(c) replacing and upgrading lighting, and (d) 
installing security equipment; and 

3. repaying debt from prior school building 
projects.  

The maximum grant is $500,000 per school and 
schools may receive no more than one grant. A charter 
school governing authority must apply for grants when 
and how the education commissioner prescribes. 
 
Per-Student Grant Reallocation (§ 27) 
 

The state gives state charter schools an annual grant 
of $7,000 per student.  In FYs 2001-02 and 2002-03, the 
act requires the education commissioner to determine, 
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by October 15, whether the number of students enrolled 
in state charter schools is fewer than the number for 
whom funds were appropriated.  If so, instead of lapsing 
any excess funds, the act requires the commissioner to 
use the money for (1) interdistrict cooperative grants, 
(2) the Open Choice Program, or (3) interdistrict magnet 
school operating grants.  
 
INTERDISTRICT MAGNET SCHOOL 
SUPPLEMENTAL GRANTS (§§ 48 & 53) 

 
The act revises the allocation of the state 

supplemental grants for RESC-operated interdistrict 
magnet schools in the 2001-03 budget (SA 01-1, June 
Special Session (JSS)). It allocates (1) at least $600,000 
for each magnet school opening in FY 2001-02 and 
initially enrolling more than 100 full-time-equivalent 
students, (2) at least $250,000 for each school that 
operated under a RESC’s jurisdiction for the first time 
or expanded to a new location in FY 2000-01, and (3) 
an amount the education commissioner determines for 
the remaining schools operating in FY 2001-02. 
 
SAFE LEARNING GRANT (§ 32) 

 
The act requires the SDE to establish a competitive 

grant program, within available appropriations, to help 
school districts in: 

1. developing safe school environments where 
children can learn without fear of physical or 
verbal harm or intimidation; 

2. developing activities encouraging respect for 
each student; 

3. reducing early youth aggression; 
4. establishing student conflict and intervention 

policies and strategies; 
5. eliminating student bullying; 
6. extending safe environments to extra-curricular 

activities; 
7. providing after-school programs that include 

(a) criteria for student participation, (b) leisure 
activities that help social and cognitive 
development, (c) safe environments, (d) staff 
trained and skilled in child development, (e) 
specific strategies and interventions for 
children with academic weaknesses to improve 
academic performance and reduce social 
promotion, (f) family involvement and 
assessment of transportation needs for families 
that use the programs, and (g) program 
evaluation; and 

8. developing crisis and violence prevention 
polices and strategies to make schools safe. 

 

Local school boards may apply for grants when and 
how the education commissioner prescribes. 

The act allows SDE to accept private donations for 
the program’s purposes as long as they do not limit the 
scope of the grants.  Finally, it allows SDE to carry over 
unspent appropriations for the program to use in the 
next fiscal year for similar purposes. 
 
PRIORITY SCHOOL DISTRICT GRANTS 

 
Spending Cap Exemption (§ 33) 
 

The act incorporates the priority school district 
parts of the school readiness, early reading success, 
summer school, and extended school hours grants into 
the priority district grant program, thus excluding those 
portions of the appropriations for these grants from the 
state spending cap. By law, current or increased 
expenditures for grants to distressed municipalities are 
exempt from the spending cap, provided the grants were 
in effect as of July 1, 1991.  The priority school district 
grant program was first established as a pilot in 1984 
and made permanent in 1987. 
 
Grant Allocation (§ 46) 
 

The act retains the existing grant distribution 
formulas for the individual grants and requires SDE to 
use the following amounts from its priority school 
district appropriation for the following: 
 

Grant Program FY 2001-02 FY 2002-03 
School Readiness $37,419,838 $37,426,317 
Early Reading 
Success 

18,319,897 18,328,147 

Extended School 
Day 

3,108,991 3,110,294 

Priority District 
Summer School 

2,700,000 2,700,000 

Priority School 
District 

20,725,625 20,057,500 

 
Grant Phase-Out and Phase-In (§ 42) 

 
By law, starting in FY 2001-02, when a district no 

longer qualifies as a priority school district, its priority 
district grant is phased out over three years at the rate of 
25%, 50%, and 75%, respectively, of the difference 
between its final priority district grant and the 
transitional district grant.  The act requires districts to 
receive a grant of at least $250,000 in each year of the 
phase-out. 
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It also delays by two years, from FY 2001-02 to FY 
2003-04, the implementation of a required two-year 
phase-in of priority district grants for districts that 
qualify for them for the first time. 
 
2001-03 Budget Changes (§ 45) 

 
The act reduces the amount for priority school 

district grants appropriated in the 2001-03 budget (SA 
01-1, JSS) by $1.62 million in each fiscal year.  It 
increases the appropriation for early childhood 
programs by $10,500 and the appropriation for early 
reading success programs by $1.53 million in each year. 
It appropriates an additional $79,718 for FY 2001-02 
and $79,751 for FY 2002-03 to SDE for the extended 
school hours and support programs.  
 
TRANSITIONAL SCHOOL DISTRICT GRANTS (§§ 
43 & 47) 
  

For FYs 2001-02 and 2002-03, the budget act (SA 
01-1, JSS) requires the transitional school district grant 
appropriation to be divided equally among transitional 
school districts that receive less than $250,000 in 
additional ECS aid because of the ECS cap phase-out.  
This act expands the allocation to include former 
transitional districts receiving transitional district phase-
out grants, if they also receive less than $250,000 in 
additional ECS aid because of the ECS cap phase-out. 

The act also requires the SBE to distribute 
transitional school district grants within available 
appropriations, instead of requiring each eligible school 
district to always receive a flat $250,000 per year. 

 
SCHOOL ACCOUNTABILITY  
 
Grants for Schools in Need of Improvement (§ 37) 

 
The act makes permanent the grants to local and 

regional boards of education with one or more schools 
on the most recent list of schools in need of 
improvement.  It adds a requirement that plans for 
spending grant funds include actions that are necessary 
for the school to be accredited. 
 
Lists of Schools and Improvement Plans (§ 36) 
 

The act delays, from October 1, 2001 to February 1, 
2003, the date by which the education commissioner 
must issue a new list of elementary and middle schools 
in need of improvement and requires the commissioner 
to issue subsequent lists every three, rather than every 
two, years thereafter.  It also delays the date when 
superintendents of districts with schools on the new list 

must begin meeting with the education commissioner to 
discuss how to improve school performance from 
January 1, 2002 to April 1, 2003, and requires the 
meetings to be held every three, instead of every two, 
years thereafter. 
 The act requires schools to submit their 
improvement plans to the SDE as well as to the local or 
regional board of education.  It requires the plans to 
include criteria for measuring progress and the SDE to 
provide comments to the local board on the plan before 
the board approves it.   
 
EDUCATION TECHNOLOGY GRANTS (§ 44) 

 
The act increases minimum education technology 

grants for the 113 poorest towns from $10,000 to 
$30,000 each and for the 56 wealthiest towns from 
$10,000 to $15,000 each.  As under prior law, 
vocational-technical schools receive $100,000, charter 
schools receive $50,000, and the SDE retains up to 1% 
to administer the program.  Any remaining funds must 
be distributed based on enrollment among priority and 
transitional school districts and districts in the 85 
poorest towns.  
 
BASIC TECHNOLOGY GRANTS (§ 52) 
 

The act transfers $200,000 of the Department of 
Information Technology’s budget appropriation for CT 
Technology Initiatives to SDE.  SDE must use the 
money to establish a competitive grant program for 
local school boards in FY 2001-02 for basic technology 
programs to improve communications. 
 
SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION  
 
Kindergarten and Class Size Reduction Bonus (§ 24) 
 

The act doubles the school construction 
reimbursement bonus, from an additional 5% to an 
additional 10%, for any part of an elementary school 
building project in a priority school or priority district to 
be used primarily for a full-day kindergarten program or 
to reduce K-3 class sizes to no more than 18 students.  
By law, to be eligible for the higher reimbursement, a 
school board must (1) include the project in its early 
reading success grant plan, (2) use the money for a 
particular full-day kindergarten or smaller class funded 
by the grant, and (3) show SDE that the building project 
is cost-efficient and the best choice for meeting the need 
for more space.  The project must also meet all the 
regular school construction project requirements. 
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Grant Refund Exemption for Plainfield (§ 38) 
 
By law, the state amortizes school construction 

grants for projects costing less than $2 million over 10 
years and those for larger projects over 20 years. If, 
during the amortization period, a school district 
abandons or otherwise redirects the school project to a 
non-public-school use, it must refund the unamortized 
grant balance to the state. This act exempts Plainfield 
from the refund requirement even if it does not use 
Plainfield High School as a public school for at least 10 
years after completing a code violation and heating, 
ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) project, as 
long as it uses the building for some other public use. 
 
GRANT FOR HEALTH SERVICES TO PRIVATE 
SCHOOL CHILDREN (§ 9) 
 

By law, school districts must provide the same 
health services to students who attend private nonprofit 
schools in their towns as they do to public school 
students, if a majority of the students at the private 
school are Connecticut residents.  The state reimburses 
towns for between 10% and 90% of the cost of these 
services, depending on wealth. Districts where children 
on welfare are more than 1% of total population get a 
minimum 80% reimbursement.  For FYs 2001-02 and 
2002-03, for purposes of determining eligibility for the 
80% reimbursement, this act freezes the count of 
children on welfare at the number on Temporary Family 
Assistance for FY 1996-97.  
 
INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY LOAN 
REIMBURSEMENT PROGRAM (§ 40) 

 
The act restricts the state’s pilot High Technology 

Student Loan Reimbursement Program to those who 
meet eligibility requirements for the pilot Information 
Technology Scholarship Program; that is, those who 
enrolled in an information technology-related degree or 
certificate program at a Connecticut public or private 
higher education institution during FY 2000-01. It also 
allows the DHE to establish additional eligibility 
requirements.  

It allows students to receive student loan 
reimbursements if they are employed (1) by any state 
company, not just an electronic commerce or 
information-technology-intensive company registered or 
otherwise qualified by the Department of Economic and 
Community Development (DECD) and (2) in any 
information-technology-related job, not just an 
information-technology-intensive occupation as verified 
by the DECD commissioner and identified in the 
Connecticut Employment and Training Commission’s 

strategic plan.  Under the act, students must be so 
employed only at the time they apply for 
reimbursements, not when they made the loan payments 
for which they are requesting reimbursement.  The act 
also allows reimbursements for any qualifying student 
loan, not just those made in the previous tax year. 

The act requires that a person receiving the 
reimbursement have majored and received a degree or 
terminal certificate in an information-technology-related 
field from any college or university in this state instead 
of anywhere.  It retains the requirement that the person 
also be newly employed in the state on or after January 
1, 2001.   
 
HARTFORD BOARD OF EDUCATION TRAINING 
(§ 34) 
 

The act requires all money the 2001-03 budget act  
(SA 01-1, June Special Session) appropriates for 
Supplemental Education Aid for Hartford and 
Waterbury, as well as all ECS grant increases towns 
receive for FYs 2001-02 and 2002-03, to be used for 
education.  But Hartford must use up to $100,000 of the 
amount it receives to contract for training in the duties 
of board of education members.  Half of the  $100,000 
must be carried over and spent in FY 2002-03.  (PA 01-
9 JSS eliminates the provision concerning use of ECS 
grant increases, which is already existing law.) 

 
YMCA DAY CARE PROGRAMS (§ 35) 

 
The act requires unaccredited YMCA day care 

programs that receive DSS facility expansion grants for 
FY 2001-02 to develop plans to become accredited.  
Programs with a preschool component must plan to be 
accredited by the National Association for the 
Education of Young Children; programs with no 
preschool component must plan to be accredited by an 
organization the DSS commissioner approves.  
Programs must report their accreditation status to DSS 
by June 30, 2002. 
 
FUNDING FOR WATERBURY TECHNICAL 
TRAINING PROGRAM (§ 51) 

 
For FYs 2001-02 and 2002-03, the act exempts 

WACE Technical Training Center in Waterbury from 
adult education grant requirements and allows it to 
spend up to $300,000 of the money it receives from the 
grant for technical training.   
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TEACHERS’ RETIREMENT SYSTEM COST 
ESTIMATE (§ 41) 

 
Starting in 2002, the act establishes December 1 as 

the deadline for the Teachers’ Retirement Board’s 
actuary to complete his biennial determination of the 
retirement system’s current service and unfunded 
accrued liability. 
 
YOUTH SERVICE BUREAU FUNDING TRANSFER 
(§ 53) 

 
The act repeals a provision of the 1999 budget act 

that transferred $30,000 from SDE’s appropriation for 
adult education and $50,000 from its appropriation for 
family resource centers to its youth service bureau 
appropriation.   
 
SPECAL EDUCATION GRANT PAYMENT 
SCHEDULE (§ 39)  
 

The act changes the schedule for state grants to 
school districts for special education costs for children 
placed by state agencies or residing on state property 
and any special education costs that exceed a district’s 
maximum contribution. It delays the filing deadline for 
districts to submit claims for additional children not 
included in their initial December 1 filing with SDE 
from February 1 to March 1.  It also requires the state to 
pay the final 25% of the costs in May rather than April. 
These changes conform to changes enacted in PA 01-
173. 
 
 
PA 01-2, June Special Session—HB 7503 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE EXPENDITURES 
OF THE DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act implements the Department of 
Social Services (DSS) budget for the biennium 
beginning July 1, 2001 and ending June 30, 2003.  

The act: 
1. increases the Connecticut Pharmaceutical 

Contract to the Elderly and Disabled 
(ConnPACE) program’s income limits; 

2. revises the state’s system of care for providing 
behavioral health services to children, renames 
it Connecticut Community KidCare, and makes 
related changes; 

3. (a) limits to three the number of six-month 
extensions most Temporary Family Assistance 
(TFA) families can have; (b) caps benefits for 

all time-limited families  at 60 months, with 
one exception; (c) increases penalties for 
noncompliance with the program’s work 
requirements; (d) creates a transportation 
program to take recipients to jobs in eastern 
Connecticut; and (e) makes other related 
changes; 

4. prohibits legal immigrants from applying for 
certain cash assistance benefits as of July 2, 
2001 and for the state-funded food stamp 
program after June 30, 2002 (but PA 01-9, 
June Special Session delays the July 2 cut-off 
date for cash assistance and keeps these and 
other  programs for immigrants open for new 
applicants through June 30, 2002); 

5. continues to freeze benefit levels in the TFA, 
Aid to Families with Dependent Children 
(AFDC) (small control group), State-
Administered General Assistance  (SAGA), 
general assistance (GA), and State Supplement 
programs from July 1, 2001 through June 30, 
2003; and 

6. tightens asset transfer rules for Medicaid 
eligibility for long-term care and limits the 
probate courts’ authority to make exceptions to 
these rules. 

The act also provides Medicaid coverage for 
women diagnosed with breast or cervical cancer under 
an existing national screening program.  It requires 
several state agencies to collaborate in preparing a plan 
for the state to purchase employer-sponsored health 
insurance for lower-income adults and children.  But it 
eliminates coverage for nonemergency medical 
transportation under the SAGA and GA programs.  

The act makes a number of changes concerning 
nursing homes, such as (1) increasing rates, (2) giving 
the DSS commissioner an option to provide future rate 
relief to enhance staffing, and (3) extending the 
moratorium on new nursing home beds to 2007.  It also 
expands assisted living demonstration programs in 
federally funded senior housing and extends a 
Connecticut Home Care Program for Elders (CHCPE) 
pilot.  

The act adjusts Medicaid rates for a number of 
other health care institutions, such as chronic disease 
hospitals and residential care homes. It allows DSS to 
use a primary care case management model for 
delivering medical benefits and subjects managed care 
organizations participating in the state’s Medicaid 
managed care program to new accountability measures. 
It allows Medicaid to pay for used durable medical 
equipment and expands locations where a dental 
hygienist can work without a dentist’s supervision.  
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The act transfers administration of opportunities 
industrialization center (OIC) grants and individual 
performance contracts from DSS to the Department of 
Labor (DOL), and makes changes in the Security 
Deposit Guarantee Program. 

The act makes a number of changes concerning 
permanency planning and residential facility placements 
for children in Department of Children and Families 
(DCF) custody, background checks for certain child 
care facilities, and child support enforcement orders.  It 
also creates a parent trust fund to benefit children by 
encouraging their parents’ community involvement. 

Finally, the act makes a number of minor and 
technical changes concerning various health and welfare 
programs. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage, except (1) the 
provisions concerning ConnPACE expansion, KidCare 
revisions and changes related to advisory committees, 
Medicaid long-term care eligibility and limitations on 
probate court powers, nursing home rate increases and 
other changes affecting nursing homes, rates for chronic 
disease hospitals with a high proportion of long-term 
ventilator patients, residential care home rates, the rate 
increase for group homes, TFA work requirements for 
minor parents, primary care case management, dental 
hygienists, exit interviews for people leaving TFA, TFA 
treatment of income rules, child placements in 
residential facilities, child support enforcement orders, 
the transfer of OIC grants and individual performance 
contracts from DSS to DOL, town GA program audits, 
the CHCPE pilot, assisted living, cost-of-living freezes 
in public assistance programs, SAGA and GA 
nonemergency medical transportation coverage, and 
interpreters for the deaf are effective July 1, 2001 and 
(2) provisions concerning the 60-month TFA benefit 
limit and extension limits, penalties for noncompliance 
with TFA work requirements, TFA child support 
disregards and diversion assistance, nursing home 
staffing level enhancements, Medicaid managed care 
dental and behavioral health subcontractors, the 
Security Deposit Guarantee Program, DCF background 
checks, the Parent Trust Fund, and DCF permanency 
planning are effective October 1, 2001. (A few of these 
were later changed by PA 01-9, June Special Session.) 
health care 

 
ConnPACE Expansion (§ 22, effective July 1, 2001) 

 
The act increases the income limits in the 

ConnPACE program from the current $15,100 and 
$18,100 for single and married applicants, respectively, 
to $20,000 and $27,100, beginning April 1, 2002. But if 
DSS receives a federal waiver for federal financial 
participation, the act requires these limits to rise to 

$25,800 and $34,800, respectively, effective July 1, 
2002. It permits the DSS commissioner to accept 
applications from people who will qualify under the 
April 1 limits beginning January 1, 2002. The law, 
which the act does not change, requires the DSS 
commissioner to adjust the income limits each year by 
inflationary increases in the Social Security program. 
 
Medicaid Long-Term Care Eligibility 
 
PROBATE COURT POWER REGARDING 
MEDICAID ELIGIBILITY (§§ 5-6, EFFECTIVE 
JULY 1, 2001). THE ACT MAKES DSS THE SOLE 
AGENCY TO DETERMINE ELIGIBILITY FOR 
ASSISTANCE AND SERVICES UNDER ANY DSS-
ADMINISTERED PROGRAMS AND LIMITS THE 
PROBATE COURT’S POWERS IN SEVERAL 
WAYS. 
 

It requires (1) anyone filing a probate court 
application for spousal support in a conservatorship 
proceeding to certify to the court that he has sent the 
DSS commissioner a copy of the application and 
accompanying attachments by regular mail and (2) the 
court to notify the commissioner at least 15 business 
days before the hearing.  The act gives the 
commissioner or her designee the right to appear and to 
present the commissioner’s position in person or in 
writing. The court’s final order must be sent to the 
commissioner within seven business days. 

The act further prohibits any probate court from 
approving a spousal support order for a community 
spouse unless (1) it provides notice as required above 
and (2) the order is consistent with state and federal law.  
The “community spouse” is the one who remains at 
home when the other spouse enters a nursing home 
(CHCPE) and applies for Medicaid. 

Prior law gave probate judges limited authority to 
approve a conservator’s application to award 
community spouses income or property exceeding the 
value that DSS had determined was allowable under 
Medicaid program rules.  They could do this when the 
spouse needed more income or property to (1) avoid 
significant financial duress or (2) generate income. 

The act eliminates the court’s authority to award 
more property than DSS allows.  It also makes avoiding 
financial duress the only circumstance under which a 
support order can exceed DSS’ allowable income limit. 

Medicaid available assets (§ 3, effective July 1, 
2001). The act specifies that, for purposes of 
determining Medicaid eligibility (as, for example, when 
someone applies for Medicaid coverage of nursing 
home, home care, or other long-term care services), an 
“available asset” is one that (1) is actually available to 
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the applicant or (2) the applicant has the legal right, 
authority, or power to obtain or to have applied for his 
general or medical support.  Under the act, if a trust’s 
terms provide for an applicant’s support, a trustee’s 
refusal to distribute trust funds does not make the trust’s 
assets unavailable.  But if the applicant or his spouse 
wholly or partially funds the trust or similar instrument, 
the act requires the funds’ availability to be determined 
according to federal law (42 U.S.C. § 1396p). The act 
exempts special needs trusts that parents set up for 
mentally retarded or disabled children from these 
provisions. 

The act also limits allowable asset transfers in 
exchange for other valuable consideration to those 
where the consideration received is at least as valuable 
as the transferred asset.  (DSS regulations do not assign 
a value to “other valuable consideration.”) 

Under federal and state Medicaid law, there is 
already a three-year “look back” period for most kinds 
of asset transfers, and five years for trust transfers.  
When a nursing home resident applies for Medicaid, 
DSS looks back from the application date and, if the 
person has transferred assets for less than their fair 
market value, delays coverage using a formula that 
takes into account the asset’s uncompensated value and 
the average cost of nursing home care.  The laws allow 
some transfers within the look back period, such as 
those for other valuable consideration. 

Penalties for illegal transfers of assets (§ 4, 
effective July 1, 2001). The act requires the DSS 
commissioner to seek a waiver of federal Medicaid law, 
in accordance with the state law governing legislative 
oversight of such waivers. The waiver must require the 
penalty period for illegal asset transfers to start when a 
nursing home resident is otherwise approved for 
Medicaid rather than when she makes the transfer. By 
law, DSS must submit a copy of any waiver request to 
the Appropriations and Human Services committees 
before submitting it to the federal government.   

Under the existing rule, some nursing home 
residents can avoid the transfer penalty by delaying their 
Medicaid applications until the penalty period has 
expired.  The change applies only to transfers made 
after the waiver becomes effective.  

 
Breast and Cervical Cancer Treatment Program (§ 7, 
effective upon passage) 
 

The act requires the DSS commissioner to provide 
Medicaid coverage to certain women diagnosed with 
breast or cervical cancer and to seek a waiver to get 
federal money.  To be eligible, the women must have 
been screened under the Centers for Disease Control 
and Prevention’s National Breast and Cervical Cancer 

Early Detection Program and need treatment, including 
treatment for related precancerous conditions (see 
BACKGROUND).  Prior law allowed, but did not 
require, the commissioner to seek a federal waiver or 
amend the state Medicaid plan to gain federal 
reimbursement for treating these women. 

To qualify for Medicaid under this special program, 
a woman (1) must be under age 65, a Connecticut 
resident, and a U.S. citizen or qualified alien and (2) 
cannot have other insurance that covers the treatment or 
be eligible under any mandatory Medicaid eligibility 
group.  The act requires Medicaid coverage for this 
specific group of women regardless of their available 
income and assets.  (Other Medicaid applicants must 
meet various income and asset limits.)  

The act requires the DSS commissioner to grant 
eligible women assistance for up to three months before 
the month in which they applied if they were otherwise 
eligible during that time.  They remain eligible until 
treatment is finished or they no longer meet the 
eligibility criteria specified above.  The act also requires 
the commissioner to establish procedures for granting 
presumptive eligibility to ensure applicants’ prompt 
access to services.  

The act requires the commissioner to implement 
policies and procedures needed to carry out its 
provisions while she is still in the process of adopting 
them as regulations.  She must publish a notice of intent 
to adopt the regulations in the Connecticut Law Journal 
within 20 days of implementing the policies and 
procedures.  By law, she must also publish a notice of 
the proposed regulations at least 30 days before 
adopting them. The act makes the provisional policies 
and procedures valid until the final regulations take 
effect. 
 
Employer-Sponsored Health Insurance (§ 26, effective 
upon passage) 

 
The act requires DSS, in collaboration with the 

offices of Health Care Access and Policy and 
Management (OPM), to prepare a plan for purchasing 
employer-sponsored health insurance for adults or 
children. The plan must be submitted to the Human 
Services, Public Health, Insurance, and Appropriations 
committees by March 1, 2002.  

The plan may include recommending such things as 
(1) a sliding scale of co-premium subsidies for 
employees, their spouses, or children with family 
incomes up to 300% of the federal poverty level; (2) 
minimum benefit standards for participating employer-
sponsored health plans; (3) the fiscal impact on state 
spending, including anticipated reductions in other 
health-related expenditures; (4) maximizing federal 
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State Children’s Health Insurance Program allocations 
and Medicaid reimbursement; (5) a review of the 
potential for appropriate co-premium subsidies during 
unemployment periods; (6) strategies to address the 
service “wraparound” for eligible recipients (this 
presumably  means how the state would fill in coverage 
gaps); (7) infrastructure and resource requirements  for 
implementing the program; (8) assessing the impact  of 
applying the co-premium subsidy plan to HUSKY 
enrollees; and (9) a timeline to ensure the program starts 
by January 1, 2003. 

 
Nursing Homes 

 
Staffing Levels (§§ 1-2, effective October 1, 2001). 

For FYs 2002-03 and 2003-04, the act allows the DSS 
commissioner, within available appropriations, to 
provide rate relief to enhance staffing in nursing homes. 
The act requires that priority for such available funding 
be given to those facilities whose staffing ratios fall 
below the following levels: 

1.  for the first year, two daily hours of care per 
patient from nurse’s aides, ¾ hour from 
registered and licensed nurses, and 2 ¾ hours 
total care and 

2.   for the second year, two daily hours of care per 
patient from nurse’s aides, one hour from 
registered and licensed nurses, and three hours 
total care.  

These are, respectively, the minimum and preferred 
staffing levels suggested by phase 1 of a study 
sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services. 

The act covers both chronic and convalescent 
nursing homes (CCNHs), which provide skilled nursing 
care, and rest homes with nursing supervision (RHNSs), 
which provide intermediate care. By law, CCNH and 
RHNS minimum staffing requirements are set by state 
regulation.  The number of nurse and nurse’s aide staff 
required under the regulations depends on whether the 
nursing home is a CCNH or an RHNS. Most of the 
nursing home beds in the state are in CCNHs.  The 
regulations permit RHNSs to provide fewer nurse-to-
resident hours than CCNHs (see BACKGROUND). 

Rates (§ 52, effective upon passage). The act 
changes for the next two years the way Medicaid rates 
for nursing homes are adjusted for inflation, and 
eliminates the adjustment thereafter. It increases the 
rates by 2.5% in FY 2001-02, and by 2% in FY 2002-
03. Under prior law, the rates for FY 2001-02 and every 
succeeding year were to be inflated by as much as the 
Consumer Price Index increase. 

The act requires DSS to add fair rent increases to 
any other increases that she establishes for nursing 

homes that have undergone a material change in 
circumstances related to fair rent. Under prior law, the 
commissioner could exclude fair rent from a home’s 
overall rate increase maximum.  

The daily Medicaid rate DSS pays nursing homes 
factors in a number of cost components.  One such 
component is the fair rent allowance, which is really the 
home’s costs associated with renting or owning the 
property, except the land costs.  DSS calculates this 
allowance to yield a constant amount each year in lieu 
of interest and depreciation on the  property.  It does this 
by amortizing the base value of the property over its 
remaining useful life and applying a rate of return 
(ROR) on the base value.  State law limits the ROR to 
11%.  Nonprofit homes receive the lower of the fair rent 
allowance or actual interest and depreciation. 

Certificates of Need (CONs)—Moratorium (§ 53, 
effective July 1, 2001). The act extends the CON 
moratorium on new nursing home beds from June 30, 
2002 to June 30, 2007.  By law, there are certain 
exceptions to the moratorium, including one that allows 
DSS to grant CONs when beds are being relocated from 
one facility to another and certain other conditions are 
met, such as ensuring that there will be no adverse 
effect on the availability of beds in an area of need.  

CONs—Bed Conversions—RHNS to CCNH (§ 54, 
effective July 1, 2001). For the period between July 1, 
2001 and June 30, 2007, the act permits RHNS nursing 
home beds that are under common ownership with 
CCNH (higher level of care) beds in the same or 
immediately adjacent buildings to be converted to 
CCNH beds, in accordance with the CON requirements. 
The conversions cannot cost the state more than 12% of 
the amount it previously paid to the home for both care 
levels. Conversions of RHNS beds in freestanding 
facilities and beds that are transferred to another 
licensed and certified nursing home are allowed during 
this period subject to the CON law’s limitations, and are 
not subject to this limit; nor are conversions for which 
homes have applied for CONs on or before May 1, 
2001. 

The act requires the DSS commissioner to adopt 
regulations by December 31, 2001 to implement these 
provisions. 

CONs—Determining Need (§ 63, effective July 1, 
2001). By law, nursing home beds associated with 
continuing care retirement communities (CCRCs) are 
not subject to the moratorium. The DSS commissioner 
must determine, among other things, whether there is a 
clear public need for the new beds. The act requires the 
commissioner, in making determinations of public need, 
to consider only the need for beds for current and 
prospective residents of the CCRC.  
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Under prior law, the commissioner could not grant 
requests for additional nursing home beds unless there 
was a demonstrated need in the towns within 20 miles 
of the town where the beds were to be located. Under 
the act, the DSS commissioner, when considering 
whether there is a clear public need to relocate these 
beds, must consider whether there is a need within a 15-
mile radius of the town where the beds will be located. 
The act makes no provision for the commissioner to 
look at bed need in the area when the beds are new. 

Under prior law, bed need had to be projected no 
more than five years into the future at 97.5% occupancy 
using the latest official population projections by town 
and age, as published by OPM and the latest available 
Department of Public Health (DPH) nursing home 
utilization statistics by age cohort. The act requires bed 
need to be based on the recent occupancy percentage of 
area nursing facilities as well as projected bed need, as 
described above. It requires that the utilization rate 
statistics be statewide. And it allows the DSS 
commissioner to also consider area-specific utilization 
and reductions in utilization rates to account for the 
increased use of less-institutional alternatives (e.g., 
home care).  

Nursing Home Bed Holds (§§ 64-65, effective July 
1, 2001).  The act modifies the circumstances under 
which a nursing home must hold the bed of a Medicaid 
resident who goes to the hospital or on home leave. 

Prior law required a nursing home to hold a 
Medicaid resident’s bed for at least 15 days if the 
resident was hospitalized, unless the home documented 
that it had objective information from the hospital that 
the resident would not return to the home at the same 
level of care within that 15 days.  Under prior law, 
Medicaid paid for the bed for up to seven days if the 
home documented that it (1) had no more than three 
vacant beds or 3% of its beds vacant, whichever was 
greater, at the resident’s level of care and (2) contacted 
the hospital and had no information that the person 
would not return to the same care level within 15 days.  
If these same conditions existed on the seventh day, 
Medicaid paid for another eight days.  In addition, 
Medicaid paid for up to 21 home leave days if the home 
had a vacancy rate of not more than four beds or 4% at 
the resident’s level. 

The act removes the requirements that (1) the 
resident must be expected to return to the same level of 
care in order for the home to be required to hold the bed 
and (2) vacancy rates must be calculated based on beds 
available at the same level of care that the resident was 
at when he left.  It also makes a number of conforming 
changes. 
 
 

Other Rate Increases 
 
Freestanding Chronic Disease and Psychiatric 

Hospital Rates (§ 11, effective upon passage). The act 
changes for the next two years how the Medicaid rate 
paid to such hospitals is adjusted for inflation and 
eliminates this increase in subsequent years. For the rate 
year beginning July 1, 2001, the act increases by 2.5% 
the Medicaid rate for freestanding chronic disease and 
psychiatric hospitals. For the following rate year, the 
increase is 2%.  For the rate year 2000-01, rates 
increased by 3%. 

The act removes a provision that requires rates to 
be increased each year, beginning with rate year 2001-
02, based on the Medicare market basket of goods, with 
the wage portion adjusted for the Hartford area. By law, 
DSS sets these rates, which generally must be based on 
the lower of the facility’s reasonable costs or the lowest 
charge to the general public for semi-private services, 
unless the commissioner determines a greater amount is 
required because a facility treats a disproportionately 
high number of indigent patients. 

Rates for Chronic Disease Hospitals Caring for 
Ventilator-Dependent Patients (§ 66, effective July 1, 
2001). Regardless of the act’s provisions related to 
Medicaid rates for chronic disease hospitals, the act 
increases the Medicaid reimbursement for chronic 
disease hospitals that serve a high proportion of long-
term ventilator patients.  It requires DSS to pay these 
hospitals the rate it pays the highest paid hospital, rather 
than the rate it would normally pay (cost-based).  This 
provision applies to all chronic disease hospitals that 
had more than an average of 15% of their FY 2000-01 
inpatient days paid by DSS. The act defines a long-term 
ventilator patient as any patient at one of these hospitals 
on a ventilator for at least 60 days in any consecutive 
12-month period. (But PA 01-9, June Special Session 
instead allows DSS to pay these hospitals up to an 
additional $300,000 per year on top of their daily rate.)  

Residential Care Home (RCH) Rate Relief (§ 38, 
effective July 1, 2001). The act increases state financial 
support to RCHs through adjustments in their State 
Supplement Program (SSP) rates. For the rate year 
beginning on July 1, 2001, it increases the allowable 
base salary for administrators in homes with 60 or fewer 
beds from $30,000 to $37,000. By law, these base 
salaries are adjusted each year for inflation. It requires 
DSS to base rates on this higher salary, even if the RCH 
did not spend this money in the 2000 cost report period, 
upon which the 2001-02 rate is based.  

It also increases the inflation adjustment by 1% for 
the RCH’s dietary, laundry, housekeeping, and related 
wage costs, beginning with the rate year 2001-02 (see 
BACKGROUND).  
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Rates for Intermediate Care Facilities for People 
with Mental Retardation (ICF-MR) (§ 62, effective July 
1, 2001).  For FY 2001-02, the act requires DSS to 
increase the inflation adjustment for ICF-MR (private 
group homes) rates to update allowable FY 2000-01 
costs to include a 3.5% inflation factor. In the following 
year, the inflation factor is 1.5%.  

 
Managed Care 
 

Primary Care Case Management (PCCM) (§ 20, 
effective July 1, 2001).  The act authorizes the DSS 
commissioner to implement a mandatory program of 
PCCM to provide medical assistance to State 
Administered General Assistance and General 
Assistance (Norwich only) recipients. It permits the 
commissioner to enter into contracts for medical 
services and program management to implement the 
program.  PCCM is generally recognized as a system of 
health care in which an assigned primary care provider 
coordinates the health care services for beneficiaries and 
is paid an additional fee for providing this service. 

Medicaid Managed Care—Dental and Behavioral 
Health Subcontractors’ Accountability (§ 23, effective 
October 1, 2001).  The act assigns managed care 
organizations (MCOs) that enter into Medicaid managed 
care contracts on or after October 1, 2001 to serve 
children in the HUSKY program (either Part A or B) 
primary responsibility for ensuring that their behavioral 
health and dental subcontractors adhere to the contract 
between DSS and the MCO, including providing timely 
payments to providers and interest payments. It requires 
each MCO to submit to DSS a claims aging inventory 
report that includes data on all services paid by the 
subcontractors, in accordance with the terms of the 
MCO’s contract with DSS. 

The act requires DSS, either at the initial contract 
or during a renewal, to require that the MCO “impose” a 
performance bond, letter of credit, statement of financial 
reserves, or payment withhold requirements for these 
subcontractors.  The amount of any such guarantee that 
DSS requires under a contract with the MCO must be 
sufficient to assure the settlement of provider claims in 
the event the contract between the MCO and the 
subcontractor is terminated.  

The act also requires the MCO, at these junctures, 
to negotiate and enter into a contract termination 
agreement with these subcontractors. The agreement 
must include, at a minimum, provisions concerning 
financial responsibility for the final settlement of 
provider claims and data reporting to DSS.  The MCO 
must submit reports to DSS, at times DSS determines, 
concerning payments made from performance bonds or 
payment withholds, the timeliness of claim payments to 

providers, and the payment of interest to them. 
The act requires MCOs to submit a plan for 

resolving any outstanding claims submitted by providers 
to a previous behavioral health or dental subcontractor 
before DSS will approve a contract between the MCO 
and a subcontractor.  The plan must comply with the 
terms of the contract between DSS and the MCO and 
must include a claims aging inventory report. 
 
SAGA and GA Nonemergency Medical Transportation 
(§§ 59–60, effective July 1, 2001, changed to August 1, 
2001 by PA 01-9, June Special Session) 

 
The act ends coverage for nonemergency medical 

transportation under the State-Administered General 
Assistance (SAGA) and town general assistance (GA) 
medical programs.  Norwich is the only town that still 
administers its own town general assistance program. It 
also ends GA coverage for eyeglasses (but PA 01-9, 
June Special Session restores it). 
 
Assisted Living (§§ 36-37, effective July 1, 2001)  

 
The act doubles, from two to four, the number of 

federally funded elderly housing developments where 
the economic and community development 
commissioner can establish assisted living 
demonstration programs.  For the program, it allows 
multiple properties with overlapping board membership 
or ownership to be considered as a single applicant. 

Under prior law, the commissioner had to establish 
such programs in two federally funded elderly housing 
developments, one in Section 202 housing and the other 
in Section 236 housing.  The act instead allows the 
commissioner to establish the programs in up to four 
such developments and leaves to his discretion the 
number that must be Section 202 or 236.  (The Section 
202 program provides low-interest federal loans for 
elderly and handicapped elderly housing construction.  
Section 236 provides rental and cooperative housing 
subsidies and mortgage insurance on rental units for 
lower-income families.) 

The act also removes a deadline that previously 
allowed the assisted living demonstration project in 
state-funded affordable housing to accept applications 
from developers only until June 8, 2001. (The program 
allows up to 300 subsidized dwelling units in five 
locations in the state.  Originally, five developers were 
approved, but one has since withdrawn.  The 
Department of Economic and Community Development 
will issue a new request for proposals.) (See 
BACKGROUND.) 
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Connecticut Home Care Program for Elders 
(CHCPE)—Pilot for People with Excess Income (§ 31, 
effective July 1, 2001) 

 
Previously, the CHCPE pilot had to sunset by the 

earlier of the start of Medicaid coverage for these 
individuals or July 1, 2001. The act eliminates any 
reference to a date, thus continuing the pilot until 
Medicaid coverage is available. (This program is for up 
to 10 people whose monthly income exceeds the home 
care program limits by up to $100.)  
 
USED DURABLE MEDICAL EQUIPMENT (§ 8, 
EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE) 
 

The act requires the DSS commissioner to seek a 
federal waiver to cover used, instead of only new, 
durable medical equipment under the Medicaid 
program.  This equipment includes items such as 
wheelchairs, hospital beds, walkers, crutches, or canes. 

 
Dental Hygienists (§ 21, effective July 1, 2001) 

 
The law allows a dental hygienist with at least two 

years’ experience to work without a dentist's 
supervision in public health facilities.  The act expands 
the definition of “public health facilities” to include a 
preschool operated by a local board of education or a 
Head Start program, in addition to community health 
centers, group homes, and schools, which were already 
covered. 

 
Medicare Part B Premium Payments (§ 9, effective 
upon passage) 
 

The act requires DSS, for FY 2001-02, to pay the 
Medicare Part B premiums for people eligible for both 
Medicaid and Medicare from funds deposited in a 
nonlapsing account created for this purpose. The 
account will contain revenue received from the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services for the 
portion designated for such premiums.  It further 
requires DSS to continue such payments until it 
contracts with the federal government to administer the 
Medicare Part B Buy-in Program. (PA 01-9, June 
Special Session modified these provisions to include 
any applicable buy-in cost instead of only Medicare Part 
B premiums.) 
 
Repeals Concerning Hospital Disproportionate Share 
Payments (§ 67, effective upon passage) 

 
The act repeals a section of statute dealing with 

children’s general hospitals and disproportionate share 

settlements and adjustments and a section detailing how 
the DSS commissioner must apply hospitals’ tax 
liability to calculate hospital disproportionate share 
payments.  (But PA 01-9, June Special Session (§ 130) 
reinstates these provisions.) 
KidCare (§§ 42-51, effective July 1, 2001) 

 
Connecticut Community KidCare Principles 
 

The act requires KidCare to provide a 
comprehensive benefit package of behavioral health 
specialty services.  It must do this within available 
funds.  KidCare services must be integrated with the 
primary behavioral health services the HUSKY Plan 
must continue to provide. The act permits HUSKY to 
provide additional behavioral health services at DSS’ 
discretion.  

The act requires KidCare to include: 
1. a comprehensive program with a flexible 

package of benefits that includes clinically 
necessary and appropriate home- and 
community-based treatment and 
comprehensive support services in the least 
restrictive setting; 

2. integrated agency funding to support the 
benefit package; 

3. a system of care model that (a) bases service 
planning on the needs of the client and his 
family and (b) emphasizes early identification, 
prevention, and treatment; 

4. community-based planning and service 
delivery; 

5. services and supports that link children from 
birth through early childhood to the “early 
childhood community” and that promote 
emotional wellness; 

6. a focus on the legal rights of clients and their 
families and provision of training, support, 
and family advocacy services; 

7. assurances that no child or youth (16-, 17-, 
and 18-year olds) will be disenrolled or 
inappropriately discharged due to his or her 
behavioral health care needs;  

8. identification of seriously emotionally 
disturbed youths who need education, 
employment, housing, and community living 
services to transition into adulthood; 

9. comprehensive training in children and youth 
behavioral health for agency and system staff 
and interested parents and guardians;  

10. an efficient balance of local participation and 
statewide administration; 
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11. accountability for quality, access, and cost and 
a system to measure performance on quality 
and access issues;  

12. assurances of timely claims payment; and 
13. elimination of the major gaps in services and 

the barriers to accessing services. 
 

Eligibility for KidCare Services  
 

The act modifies the behavioral health criteria that a 
child or youth must meet to be eligible for KidCare 
services, potentially enlarging the pool of participants.  
Under prior law, a child or youth had to (1) be 
“seriously emotionally disturbed,” (2) meet clinical and 
functional criteria the DCF and DSS commissioners set; 
and (3) be eligible to receive HUSKY A, B, or Plus 
behavioral health services or DCF voluntary services.  
A child is seriously emotionally disturbed if he (1) has a 
diagnosable mental, behavioral, or emotional disorder 
according to a standard psychiatric manual (called the 
DSM) and (2) exhibits behaviors that are not a 
temporary response to stress and that substantially 
interfere with his ability to function in the home, school, 
or community. 

The act expands eligibility to children in DCF 
custody but limits it for HUSKY B-eligible children to 
those whose families have incomes at or below 300% of 
the federal poverty level (the federally subsidized 
portion of HUSKY B).  The act opens participation to 
children with “behavioral health needs,” not just those 
with serious emotional disturbance.  These are children 
with a mental disorder that is defined in the DSM, but 
who are not necessarily functionally impaired.  Services 
provided through community collaboratives (see below) 
are limited to children with “complex behavioral service 
needs,” that is, those who need specialized, coordinated 
services.  

It also extends eligibility by redefining the term 
“youth” to include 18-year-olds. This conforms to 
HUSKY age eligibility.  This change also applies to 
DCF’s voluntary services program, its child guidance 
clinic and extended day treatment grant programs, the 
rights of youths placed or treated under DCF direction, 
the development and review of treatment plans for 
youths under DCF supervision and their right to appeal 
those plans, and to the jurisdiction of DCF’s Unified 
School District #2. 
 
State Administration 
 

As with the current system, DCF and DSS jointly 
administer KidCare. Prior law required the 
commissioners, by October 1, 2000, to develop a 
memorandum of understanding (MOU) covering system 

administration, fiscal and program guidelines, and 
outcome measures and evaluation.  It allowed them to 
begin a pilot project in July 2000 to implement the 
effort.   

The act requires the commissioners, within 
available appropriations, either to provide or arrange for 
the administrative services necessary to operate the 
KidCare system.  It eliminates the requirement that the 
MOU include combined agency funding, and it specifies 
that DSS is responsible for administering the HUSKY B 
portion of the program.  It adds a requirement for these 
agencies to assure that care and funding is coordinated 
among all responsible state agencies and that federal 
reimbursement and revenue is maximized.  It adds the 
education and public health commissioners to those 
with whom DSS and DCF must consult to accomplish 
these ends.  The Mental Health and Addiction Services 
(DMHAS) and Mental Retardation departments are 
already included. 

The act permits the DSS commissioner to amend 
the state Medicaid plan to make it easier to claim 
reimbursement for services rendered at “private 
nonmedical institutions.”  These are places like 
residential treatment facilities for children that, while 
not HMOs or health care centers, provide medical care 
through contracts with providers and receive capitation 
payments for their Medicaid-eligible residents.  The act 
allows the commissioner to implement policies and 
procedures to provide reimbursement for these 
facilities’ services while she adopts implementing 
regulations.  She must publish notice of her intent to 
adopt the regulations within 20 days of implementing 
the policies and procedures, which remain valid until 
the regulations are adopted. 

It also allows the DSS and DCF commissioners to 
apply for amendments to federal waivers in addition to 
the waivers themselves, for which they can already 
apply.  
 
Local and Regional Administration 
 

Under prior law, a family with a child whose 
mental illness or serious emotional disturbance required 
treatment in a placement outside his home or put him at 
risk of such a placement could convene a “child-
specific” team of family, friends, professionals, and 
others to implement a system of care plan for the child.  
The team designated a coordinator to make decisions to 
implement this plan.  Services were provided through 
community-based “local systems of care.”  Regional 
case review committees determined the children at 
placement risk, helped families form teams, and 
developed individual plans if the team could not.  A 
state-level coordinated care committee consulted with 
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the DCF commissioner to make findings and 
recommendations for programs for at-risk children. 

The act retains child-specific teams, but revises 
their nature, replaces local systems of care with 
“community collaboratives,” creates regional “lead 
service agencies” to manage care, and eliminates the 
case review and coordinated care committees.   

Child-Specific Teams. The act broadens the type of 
children and youth for whom teams can be developed to 
those with complex behavioral health service needs.  
These are individuals who need specialized, coordinated 
behavioral health services, but who are not necessarily 
placed or at risk of being placed out of their homes.  
The act specifies that it should not be construed as an 
entitlement to particular services for anyone with a 
diagnosable mental disorder who is not otherwise 
eligible to receive services from the state or under any 
other law.  This proscription currently applies to those at 
placement risk. 

Under the act, the community collaborative (see 
below) forms the team with the family’s consent.  It 
does this as part of its service coordination function. 

The team apparently develops an individual service 
plan for the child or youth.  Under prior law, the DCF 
commissioner was responsible for this.  The act lists the 
following elements that a plan can include: 

1. an individual needs assessment,  
2. identification of services currently being 

provided and those needed, 
3. identification of opportunities for parents and 

emancipated minors to participate, 
4. a reintegration plan when out-of-home 

placement is made or recommended; 
5. criteria for evaluating the plan’s effectiveness 

and appropriateness, and 
6. ways to coordinate this plan with any 

educational services the child or youth 
receives. 

The parents, guardian, youth, or emancipated minor 
must approve the plan in writing.  The act requires the 
plan to be reviewed (1) at least every six months or (2) 
when the parent makes a reasonable request for a review 
due to changed circumstances. 

Family Involvement.  The act specifies that the 
teams must provide the family with a chance to 
participate in all aspects of assessment, planning, and 
implementation of services.  It requires the team 
coordinator (if the parent or guardian, the youth, or the 
child, if he is emancipated, agree) to (1) compile all 
assessments and evaluations completed before the 
service plan is prepared that identify the child’s or 
youth’s service needs and (2) make referrals to 
community agencies and resources according to the 
plan.  These parties must also consent to the care 

coordinator’s plan implementation decisions.  Under 
prior law, the entire team had to consent.  

The law allows the DCF commissioner to adopt 
regulations to implement these provisions.  The act 
requires her to consult with the DSS commissioner in 
doing so. 

Community Collaboratives.  The act replaces the 
existing local systems of care with community 
collaboratives, sets membership requirements for them, 
and establishes a process for their formation.  The 
collaboratives continue to perform the same functions as 
the local systems of care.  They (1) assess local service 
needs, (2) establish performance measures, (3) specify 
the number of people requiring services, (4) identify the 
number of people who are receiving community-based 
and residential services by type and frequency, (5) 
review discharge summaries, and (6) evaluate 
themselves annually. 

In addition to these functions, the act requires each 
collaborative to (1) participate in DCF regional advisory 
councils, (2) provide outreach to community resources 
and public education and support, (3) coordinate 
behavioral health services by forming child-specific 
teams, (4) conduct community assessments to identify 
service gaps and barriers, and (5) identify priority areas 
for state and lead service agency (see below) 
investments. 

The act requires each collaborative to contain, at a 
minimum, representatives from school boards, special 
education programs, town governments, youth service 
bureaus, local social services and health departments, 
private child-serving organizations, and a substantial 
number of parents of children and youth with behavioral 
health needs.  Within these requirements, each 
collaborative can determine the number and type of 
representatives to ensure that its membership is 
appropriately balanced.  The chief elected official of 
each town the collaborative serves can designate a 
member to represent the town.  The collaboratives 
establish their own governance structures.  They must 
also identify or establish a fiscal agent. 

Lead Service Agencies.  The act requires DCF’s 
regional offices, within available appropriations, to 
contract with lead service agencies to coordinate care 
for all KidCare enrollees in their catchment areas, 
including those with complex service needs.  The lead 
agencies must hire or subcontract for care coordinators 
to help families establish and implement the individual 
service plans for their children and to improve clinical 
outcomes and cost effectiveness.  They must offer 
parents a choice of providers to perform authorized 
services. 

Family Support and Advocacy Groups.  The act 
permits the DCF commissioner, within available 
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appropriations, to provide funds to help establish an 
organization to (1) provide family-to-family support and 
advocates, (2) help families who ask in developing 
service plans for their children, and (3) encourage 
families to participate actively in treatment and KidCare 
planning.  The organization must have chapters in each 
DCF region.  It must assure that families help develop 
and implement their children’s service plans, whether or 
not these plans are part of a child-specific team process.  
It must also assure that families have input into 
developing and implementing policy and planning for 
KidCare and its implementation and evaluation. 

 
KidCare Evaluation 
 

The act requires the DCF and DSS commissioners 
to establish KidCare performance measures in the 
following areas: finance, administration, use, client 
satisfaction, quality, and access.  Within available 
funding, they must design and conduct a five-year 
evaluation using an independent evaluator.  The 
evaluation must assess (1) outcomes for individual 
participants and their families; (2) the overall 
effectiveness of the program’s early phases (as a guide 
to future expansion); and (3) the benefits, costs, and 
avoided costs it achieved.  The evaluation can, at a 
minimum, look at (1) use of out-of-home placements; 
(2) the extent to which system-of-care principles were 
followed; (3) school attendance and delinquency 
recidivism rates; (4) client satisfaction; (5) KidCare’s 
coordination with juvenile justice, child protection, 
education, and adult behavioral health systems; and (6) 
the quality of transition services to adult systems. 

Prior law required the memorandum of 
understanding the commissioners were required to draft 
to develop fiscal and programmatic outcome measures 
and an evaluation plan. 

The act also requires the DCF commissioner, 
within available appropriations, to offer training to 
anyone involved with KidCare, including child care, 
school, and appropriate Judicial Department employees.  
The training must be based on culturally appropriate, 
competency-based curricula DCF develops that include 
best practices for the care of children and youth with 
behavioral health needs or at risk of having them.  
 
Reports 

 
The act requires the commissioners to make several 

reports to legislative committees on KidCare’s 
implementation status.  

System Recommendation Report. The first report is 
due March 1, 2002.  It must report on KidCare’s 
implementation and: 

1. recommend the appropriate number of lead 
service agencies; 

2. describe procedures for access to and 
protection of confidential medical records; 

3. evaluate a hold harmless provision for funding 
child guidance clinics; 

4. establish ways to continuously evaluate and 
improve the service delivery system, including 
evaluation of individual programs and service 
and research on outcomes; 

5. specify finance, administration, clinical 
process, and clinical outcome performance 
measures; 

6. report on the implementation of staff and 
provider training; 

7. recommend, in consultation with DMHAS, 
appropriate transition services and the 
mechanisms needed to achieve transition; 

8. establish (a) procedures to compile baseline 
data and conduct needs assessments and (b) the 
design and cost of a longitudinal study; 

9. determine the nature of support for developing 
and financing an independent family support 
organization; 

10. list the resources the Education, Public Health, 
and Judicial departments identify that could be 
committed to integrated KidCare funding; 

11. outline an integrated grievance process for all 
children enrolled in KidCare regardless of 
whether they were originally enrolled in 
HUSKY or DCF’s voluntary services program; 

12. recommend a conflict resolution mechanism 
the various responsible agencies can use; and  

13. recommend a process for adopting a five-year 
plan that includes public input and a timeline 
for fully implementing KidCare by July 1, 
2003. 

This report goes to the Appropriations, Public Health, 
Education, and Human Services committees.  

Quarterly Status Reports. The act also requires the 
commissioners to report quarterly on KidCare’s 
implementation to the Human Services, Education, and 
Public Health committees.  The first report is due 
October 1, 2002. 

Annual Measurement Reports.  The act requires the 
commissioners to report annually on various 
performance measures.  The first report is due by 
January 1, 2004.  It goes to the Human Services, 
Education, and Public Health committees.  It must 
contain: 

1. the number, ages, gender, and race of children 
and youth in in- and out-of-state residential 
facilities and in nonresidential treatment; 
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2. total annual public spending on in- and out-of-
state placements, its sources, and the average 
cost per client for these placements; 

3. total annual public spending on nonresidential 
treatment by type, its sources, and the average 
cost per client; 

4. average length of stay in in- and out-of-state 
residential placements; 

5. the ratio of children and youth in out-of-home 
placements to the total number in each region; 
and 

6. spending in each reporting period.  
 

DCF Advisory Committees 
 

The act alters the membership on two existing DCF 
advisory committees, the State Advisory Council on 
Children and Families and the Children’s Behavioral 
Health Advisory Committee, which advises the council. 

State Advisory Council on Children and Families. 
The act adds two members to this 15-member 
committee and requires at least nine members to be 
parents or family members of children who have 
received or are receiving behavioral health, child 
welfare, or juvenile services.  The act also specifies that 
no more than half of the members may be in private 
practice or paid by a public or private agency that 
provides mental health, substance abuse, child abuse 
prevention and treatment, child welfare, or juvenile 
services.  By law, the committee must contain at least 
five child care professionals, a child psychiatrist, and an 
attorney; the balance must be drawn from young people, 
parents, and others interested in services to children and 
youth.   

The act sets committee members’ terms at two 
years.  The law limits members to two terms. 

Children’s Behavioral Health Advisory Committee.  
The act increases, from 16 to 17, the number of 
members of this 32-member committee who must be (a) 
parents or relatives of a child who has or had serious 
emotional disturbance or (b) people who were seriously 
emotionally disturbed as children.  It limits to no more 
than 50% the number who can receive income from a 
private practice in behavioral health or from a public or 
private agency that delivers such services.  It bars these 
public members from serving more than two 
consecutive two-year terms and allows them to be paid 
for their expenses.   

It also specifies that the eight agency heads on the 
committee are ex-officio members and the appointed 
representatives are public members. (PA 01-19 and PA 
01-9, June Special Session add the executive director of 
the Office of Protection and Advocacy for Persons with 
Disabilities or his designee to the committee.) 

WELFARE 
 
Temporary Family Assistance (TFA) 
 

60-Month Benefit Limit and Extension Limits (§ 12, 
effective October 1, 2001).  State law generally limits 
TFA benefits to most families with children (non-
exempt families) to 21 months.  But under prior law, 
DSS had to extend indefinitely benefits for people who 
made a good faith effort to comply with the program’s 
requirements, but could not earn enough or were 
prevented from working.  
The act limits to three the number of six-month 
extensions that families subject to the 21-month time 
limit may have. But the DSS commissioner may grant 
additional extensions in any of the following 
circumstances:  

1. the adults in the family cannot work because of 
domestic violence or another reason beyond 
their control; 

2.  the adults have two or more substantiated 
barriers to employment, such as the lack of 
available child care; substance abuse, 
addiction, or severe mental or physical health 
problems; one or more severe learning 
disabilities; domestic violence; or a child with 
a serious physical or behavioral health 
problem; 

3.  the adults are working at least 35 hours per 
week, are earning at least the minimum wage, 
but continue to earn less than the family’s TFA 
benefit; or 

4. the adults are working less than 35 hours either 
because they have a documented medical 
problem or they must care for a disabled 
member of the household, but in either case 
work as much as their condition or care-giving 
responsibilities allow. 

 The above provisions notwithstanding, the act 
prohibits the DSS commissioner from providing any 
further TFA benefits to families that are subject to the 
21-month time limit and have received more than 60 
months of benefits since October 1, 1996. But families 
that experience domestic violence that precludes the 
adults from earning income that is at least equal to the 
family TFA benefit are not subject to this limit.  
 The act counts as a month towards the 60-month 
limit (1) any assistance received during a month, even if 
only a day, and (2) a month during which the family 
received TFA from another state, in accordance with 
federal law. (But PA 01-9, June Special Session also 
counts benefits received from another territory, instead 
of only a state.) 
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 The federal Temporary Assistance to Needy 
Families (TANF) law generally limits the use of block 
grants for payment of cash benefits to 60 months, but 
allows up to 20% of the caseload to be exempt from 
these time limits. State law exempts from the 21-month 
limit a number of families, including those where the 
caretaker relative is elderly or incapacitated.  

Exit Interviews for People Leaving TFA (§ 61, 
effective July 1, 2001).  The act requires the DSS 
commissioner to give exit interviews to families leaving 
the TFA rolls because they have reached the 60-month 
limit. By law, she must give these interviews to families 
subject to the 21-month limit. The interview informs 
families of services for which they may continue to 
qualify, including food stamps and Medicaid.  

TFA Treatment of Income Rules for Families Living 
in Subsidized Housing (§ 58, effective July 1, 2001).  
The act eliminates a reference to “fill-the-gap” 
budgeting, a system of paying a higher benefit level to 
welfare recipients who work, in the law that requires 
DSS to count as income 8% of the TFA standard (need 
or payment) for families living in subsidized housing.  
Previously, DSS applied this methodology when 
calculating cash benefits for a small number of families 
in the waiver control group and those families not 
subject to the time limits. With the change, all families 
living in subsidized housing will have 8% of their TFA 
benefit counted as income when the benefit amount is 
determined. (DSS is apparently eliminating fill-the-gap 
budgeting altogether via regulations.) 

Penalties for Noncompliance with Work 
Requirements (§ 14, effective October 1, 2001).  The act 
increases the penalty that applies when a member of a 
family receiving TFA fails, without good cause, to 
comply with the work, education, or training 
requirements of the program.  Previously, DSS reduced 
the benefits by 20% for three months for an initial 
violation.  The act increases this to 25%. The federal 
law that provides much of the funding for the TFA 
programs requires states to impose, at a minimum, a pro 
rata sanction on a family that fails to comply with the 
work requirements. (DSS has interpreted this to mean a 
benefit reduction equaling the non-compliant adult’s 
share of the family’s TFA benefit.) A 25% reduction 
would presumably be more reflective of a pro rata share.  
The act does not affect the penalties for subsequent 
violations (a 35% reduction for the second, and 
elimination of benefits for third and subsequent non-
compliance incidents). 

If only one member of the family is eligible for 
TFA (e.g., a pregnant woman or parent of a child 
receiving Supplemental Security Income), the act 
requires a full sanction (non-payment of benefits) for 
three consecutive months for each non-compliance. 

The act also requires DSS to terminate the benefits 
for non-exempt families if a family member fails, 
without good cause, to attend any scheduled assessment 
appointment or interview related to establishing an 
employment services plan. DSS must reinstate these 
benefits if the individual attends a later-scheduled 
appointment or interview within 30 days from the time 
DSS notifies the family of the benefit termination. The 
act allows someone whose family’s benefits are 
terminated for this reason to reapply to DSS at any time. 
DSS must also terminate benefits for mandatory 
Employment Services participants who, without good 
cause, fail to comply with the Employment Services 
requirements during a six-month benefit extension. 

Exceptions to Work Requirements for Minor 
Parents with Young Infants (§ 13, effective July 1, 2001 
changed to October 1, 2001 by PA 01-9, June Special 
Session).  The act prohibits an unmarried minor parent 
who does not have a high school diploma and who has a 
child who is at least 12 weeks old in her care, from 
receiving TFA benefits unless she is participating in 
educational activities directed toward attaining a high 
school diploma or its equivalent. Under current state 
regulations, these women are exempt from the state’s 
Employment Services requirements if they are attending 
school.  If they are not in school, they are subject to the 
Employment Services requirements.  Non-compliance 
with those requirements can result in a reduction in the 
TFA benefit (see above).  (PA 01-9, June Special 
Session makes it clear that minor parents who have the 
equivalent of a high school diploma do not have to 
participate in education activities.)  

Child Support Disregard (§ 15, effective October 1, 
2001).  The act requires the DSS commissioner to 
disregard the first $50, instead of $100, per month of 
income attributable to child support that the family 
receives when determining both TFA eligibility and 
benefit levels. But she must count this money when 
determining eligibility for a six-month extension. 
Federal TANF law does not require states to have child 
support disregards, but requires states that have them to 
reimburse the federal government 50% of the amount 
that is disregarded. 

Diversion Assistance (§ 16, effective October 1, 
2001). By law, DSS must offer immediate assistance to 
divert certain families who are applying for monthly 
TFA benefits from the program. These families must be 
TFA-eligible, demonstrate a short-term need that cannot 
be met with current or anticipated family resources, and 
not need monthly benefits if provided a service or short-
term benefit. The amount of diversion assistance cannot 
be more than the cash assistance equivalent of three 
months of TFA benefits and DSS counts it the same as 
three months of cash assistance when calculating a 
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family’s 21-month TFA limit.  The act limits this 
diversion assistance to families determined eligible for 
TFA at their initial assessment, rather than at some later 
date. 
 By law, the DSS commissioner must establish a 
simplified eligibility determination process for 
diversion. The act requires her to also establish an 
expedited procedure to deliver diversion benefits. By 
law, DSS must provide these benefits within 15 
calendar days after receiving a signed application. 

Eastern Connecticut Transportation Access Project 
(§ 41, effective upon passage). The act establishes an 
Eastern Connecticut Transportation Access Project, 
within available appropriations, to provide 
transportation to jobs in eastern Connecticut for people 
living in the Greater Hartford, Greater New Haven, and 
Eastern Connecticut regional service areas. 

The act requires that funding for the project must be 
spent through the Transportation Employment 
Independence Program and its collaborative planning 
and oversight process. The funding is contingent on 
receiving matching funds or in-kind services from 
private employers.   A portion of the funds (40% to 
50%) must go to the Greater Hartford area, and the 
Greater New Haven and the Eastern areas must get 20% 
to 30% each.  The three areas’ facilitators must jointly 
prioritize funding levels between minimum and 
maximum levels. 

Five such regional service areas, designated by 
OPM, provide interagency planning and coordination of 
services related to health and human services programs. 

 
Immigrants (§§ 17-19, effective upon passage) 

 
The act prohibits the DSS commissioner from 

accepting new applications from legal immigrants who 
are barred from federally funded programs for: 

1. solely state-funded cash assistance under TFA 
and SAGA as of July 2, 2001 (but PA 01-9, 
June Special Session prohibits new 
applications only after June 30, 2002) and 

2. the state-funded food stamp program after June 
30, 2002.  

The act applies to those “qualified aliens’’ whom 
federal law makes ineligible for federally funded public 
assistance programs, other aliens legally residing in the 
United States, and those whom the Immigration and 
Naturalization Service (INS) had classified as 
“permanently residing under color of law” (PRUCOL) 
(see BACKGROUND).   

Prior law would have ended eligibility on July 1, 
2001 for TFA and SAGA cash assistance for those who 
entered the United States on or after August 22, 1996, 
and were ineligible for federally funded programs.  The 

act removes this sunset provision, but limits 
participation to those enrolled before July 2, 2001.  
(However, PA 01-9, June Special Session subsequently 
continued these and a number of other immigrant public 
assistance programs, but cut off new applications for all 
of them after June 30, 2002, with certain exceptions.) 
The act removes a reference in the statute to assistance 
under the federal waiver for the demonstration program 
entitled “Reach for Jobs First,” which expires 
September 30, 2001. 
 
Security Deposit Guarantee and Grant Program (§ 32, 
effective October 1, 2001)  

 
By law, DSS, within available appropriations, must 

provide security deposit guarantees, and can also offer a 
limited number of security deposit grants, to people 
residing in emergency shelters or other emergency 
housing, as well as to people who cannot remain in 
permanent housing due to a number of circumstances 
beyond their control.  The act adds situations in which 
the person has been served a notice to quit in an eviction 
action. Under prior law, guarantees were available only 
after a court-entered eviction judgment. 

The act permits the guarantee amount to be the 
equivalent of up to two months’ rent in all instances. 
Under prior law, the guarantee could not exceed the 
equivalent of one month’s rent, except in cases where 
there was a documented showing of financial need. 

The act allows people to receive subsequent 
guarantees without the DSS commissioner’s approval, if 
they are requested or provided at least 18 months after 
the first guarantee. If someone makes a second request 
within 18 months of the first, the commissioner’s 
approval must be obtained first. Under prior law, the 
commissioner had to give her express approval for all 
subsequent guarantees. 

By law, when someone receives a subsequent 
guarantee, the guarantee amount must be reduced by 
either the amount (1) DSS had to pay (for guarantees) or  
(2) a landlord kept (for security deposit grant) due to 
damages caused by the tenant.  The act requires 
reductions only when DSS grants the subsequent 
guarantee within 18 months after paying a claim on a 
prior guarantee. For guarantees granted later, no 
reductions are taken. The act also requires DSS to give 
the person an opportunity for a fair hearing to contest 
whether such a reduction should occur.  Previously, 
there was no right to hearing.  

Security deposit grants can be provided on a case-
by-case basis and only after the DSS commissioner has 
determined that emergency circumstances exist that 
threaten the health, safety, or welfare of a child who is 
living with the person.  The grants cannot exceed the 
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equivalent of one month’s rent. Under the act, any DSS 
account, rather than just its Safety Net account, may be 
the funding source. 

The act also allows DSS to provide a one-month 
security deposit grant in combination with a one-month 
security deposit guarantee. (The state security deposit 
law limits what landlords can demand in security 
deposits to two months’ rent.) 

Finally, the act permits the commissioner to 
contract with one or more emergency shelters to issue 
the guarantees. Until October 1, 2000, the law permitted 
DSS to contract with DSS-funded shelters to issue 
security deposit grants, but it was silent on whether DSS 
could contract for the guarantees.  

 
Transfers of Functions from DSS to DOL (§§ 29, 57, 
and 68, effective July 1, 2001)  

 
The act transfers administration of grants for 

opportunities industrialization centers (OICs) from DSS 
to the Department of Labor (DOL).  But the OIC 
programs must involve the DSS commissioner in their 
planning.  Under prior law, DSS administered the grant 
program and DOL had to be involved in the planning.  

OICs are private, nonprofit entities that provide job 
training and related services or job opportunity 
programs for economically disadvantaged, unemployed, 
and underemployed people. 

The act transfers administration of the Safety Net 
program’s individual performance contracts for families 
at risk of losing their TFA benefits from DSS to DOL. 
 
AFDC Recoveries (§ 10, effective upon passage) 
 

Starting in FY 2001-02, the act allows DSS, with 
OPM’s approval, to credit the federal share of 
recoveries or overpayments under the AFDC program to 
a nonlapsing account in the General Fund and to pay the 
federal share out of that nonlapsing account. (By law, 
DSS must make reasonable efforts to recoup funds it 
has paid out under AFDC and return to the federal 
government its proportional share.)  (PA 01-9, June 
Special Session allows DSS to follow the same 
procedure for federal TANF recoveries and 
overpayments.) 
 

Audit of Town GA Programs (§ 30, effective July 1, 
2001) 

 
The act gives the DSS commissioner discretion to 

audit town GA programs rather than requiring it.   
child welfare and support 

 
 

DCF Permanency Planning (§§ 33-34, effective 
October 1, 2001)  
 

The act restores DCF’s discretion to conduct a 
thorough adoption assessment and child- specific 
recruitment when adoption is a goal in a foster child’s 
court-approved permanency plan. (PA 01-142 removed 
DCF’s statutory authority to do this.)  

The act requires DCF to develop permanency plans 
and juvenile courts to hold hearings to review them 
yearly while a child is in DCF custody as a result of a 
delinquency adjudication. It specifies that courts must 
(1) approve permanency plans that are in the child’s 
best interest and consider his need for permanency and 
(2) determine at each hearing whether DCF has made 
reasonable efforts to achieve the permanency plan. 

It also reduces, from 18 to 12 months, the length of 
time between court reviews of the need to continue or 
extend a serious juvenile offender’s commitment.  (By 
law, these offenders may be committed to DCF for up to 
four years, and their commitments can be extended if 
doing so is in the best interest of the child or 
community.)  Commitment reviews for children 
adjudicated for less serious crimes remain on an 18-
month cycle. 

Under the act, DCF must file its plan in court at 
least 60 days before each hearing.  By law, the child and 
his parents or guardians must get at least 14 days’ 
advance notice of the hearing date. Prior law did not 
require the agency to develop permanency plans for 
these children, although it had to do so for abuse and 
neglect commitments and, beginning October 1, 2001, 
for children voluntarily committed to the agency. 

The act establishes a preference for one of the 
following permanency plan goals: (1) revocation of 
commitment and placement with a parent or guardian, 
(2) transfer of guardianship, (3) permanent placement 
with a relative, or (4) adoption.  If DCF can show a 
compelling reason why one of these goals would not be 
in a child’s best interest, the court may approve another 
type of “planned permanent living arrangement.”  This 
can include placing the child in an independent living 
program (typically, programs for older youth 
transitioning out of the foster care system).  These are 
the same permanency goals as the law requires for 
abused or neglected and voluntarily committed children. 
 
Placements of Children in Residential Facilities (§ 25, 
effective July 1, 2001, but changed to October 1, 2001 
by PA 01-9, June Special Session) 

 
The act requires any state agency that places 

children up to age 18 (up to 21 for full-time students) in 
a residential facility to enter into a written agreement 
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with the facility when the child is placed. The 
agreement must establish clear standards for the child’s 
care and treatment, which, at a minimum, must include 
monthly written reports concerning the care and 
treatment, addressed to the case worker overseeing the 
child’s placement. These reports must also lay out goals 
and expectations for the specific child’s treatment and 
progress. The agreement must require the facility to 
report promptly to the agency allegations of abuse or 
neglect against the child or any other child in the 
facility.  The placing agency must ensure that the 
facility initiates a discharge plan within two weeks of a 
child’s placement therein.  

 
Parent Trust Fund (§§ 39-40, effective October 1, 2001) 

 
The act creates a “Parent Trust Fund” to pay for 

programs aimed at improving children’s health, safety, 
and education through parents’ community 
involvement.  The programs must (1) train parents in 
civic leadership skills and (2) support increased, 
sustained parental engagement in community affairs.  
The DCF commissioner can receive federal or private 
money for the fund from grants, bequests, and gifts.  
The fund can also receive money directed to it through 
the existing Children’s Trust Fund.  The act requires the 
Children’s Trust Fund Council to include information 
on the Parent Trust Fund in its annual report to specified 
legislative committees.   

 
DCF Background Checks (§ 35, effective October 1, 
2001) 

 
The act applies state and national criminal history 

record check procedures established in PA 01-175 
(which DCF requires for licensing as a child care 
facility, such as a foster care home or residential 
treatment facility) to any person identified on the license 
application in addition to the applicant.  Generally, only 
licensed people or entities can care for or board a child 
in DCF’s custody. 

 
Child Support Enforcement Orders (§§ 27-28, effective 
July 1, 2001) 

 
The act specifies that Superior Court judges and 

family support magistrates cannot hold an employer in 
contempt for failing to honor a wage withholding order 
unless it was served personally or by certified mail. 

The act also authorizes Superior Court support 
enforcement officers and DSS Bureau of Child Support 
Enforcement investigators and officers to serve income 
withholding orders by first class mail instead of only in 
person or by certified mail. (PA 01-91 (superseded by 

this act) allows such first class service only by support 
enforcement officers.)  But employers who fail to honor 
such first class mail withholding orders cannot be held 
in contempt of court. 
 
MISCELLANEOUS 

 
Interpreters for the Deaf (§ 24, effective July 1, 2001)  

 
The act loosens the requirements for interpreters for 

the deaf providing services in medical settings by 
allowing them to provide services if they hold a “Level 
IV” instead of “Level V” certification from the National 
Association for the Deaf. (Alternative credentials 
remain unchanged under the act.) (A 1998 state law 
required the certification to rise from Level IV to Level 
V, effective July 1, 2001.) By law, medical settings 
include medical-related situations, including mental 
health treatment, psychology evaluations, and 
appointments for treatments requiring the presence of a 
doctor or nurse, among other things. 

The act also exempts interpreters who provide 
interpreting services in educational settings from new 
credentialing requirements until July 1, 2003. By law, 
anyone providing interpreter services, regardless of the 
setting, must register with the Commission on the Deaf 
and Hearing Impaired. But beginning July 1, 2001, they 
must also meet certain credentialing requirements, such 
as passing the National Registry of Interpreters for the 
Deaf written generalist test and hold a Level III 
certification provided by the National Association for 
the Deaf, among other things. The act defines an 
educational setting as a school or other educational 
institution, including elementary, high school, and post-
graduation schools where interpretive services are 
provided to students. 

 
BACKGROUND 

 
Related Federal Law—CDC National Breast and 
Cervical Cancer Early Detection Program 

 
Federal law established the screening program in 

1996.  It is administered at the federal level by CDC and 
in Connecticut by the Department of Public Health.  
Under the program, low-income women without health 
insurance are eligible for free mammograms, Pap tests, 
and other diagnostic procedures for detecting breast or 
cervical cancer.  The screening program serves women 
whose incomes are at or below 200% of the federal 
poverty level if they have no health insurance or their 
insurance excludes routine Pap tests and mammograms. 

In October 2000, Congress passed the Breast and 
Cervical Cancer Prevention and Treatment Act (PL 106-
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354), which gives states the option of providing 
Medicaid coverage to women who went through the 
screening program and were diagnosed as having breast 
or cervical cancer. The new law also allows states to 
implement presumptive Medicaid eligibility for these 
women.  “Presumptive eligibility” means the state 
enrolls certain people provisionally in Medicaid for a 
limited time until full Medicaid applications are filed 
and processed, based on a Medicaid provider’s 
determination that the person is likely to qualify for 
Medicaid. 

 
Connecticut Minimum Nurse Staffing Standards for 
Nursing Homes 

 
CCNH RHNS Direct Care 

Personnel 7 a.m to 
 9 p.m. 

9 p.m. to 
7 a.m. 

7 a.m. to 
 9 p.m. 

9 p.m. to 
 7 a.m. 

Licensed 
Nursing 
Personnel 

.47 hpp* 
(28 min.) 

.17 hpp 
(10 min.) 

.23 hpp 
(14 min.) 

.08 hpp 
(5 min.) 

Total Nurses 
and Nurse 
Aide 
Personnel 

1.40 hpp 
(1 hr. 24 
min.) 

.50 hpp 
(30 min.) 

.70 hpp 
(42 min.) 

.17 hpp 
(10 min.) 

*hpp: hours per patient 
Source: CT Regulations Section 19-13D8t. 

 
DSS Managed Care 

 
DSS currently serves HUSKY and certain Medicaid 

recipients using a managed care system.  DSS has 
contracts with managed care plans, which are 
responsible for ensuring that the recipients receive all of 
the services the rules of each program require. The plans 
use subcontractors to provide behavioral health and 
dental services.  

The plans choose the providers they wish to use, 
and a beneficiary may not use a provider who is not on a 
plan’s provider list. Most plans require prior approval 
before a beneficiary can see a specialist, and they can 
limit the frequency and scope of the services. DSS pays 
the plans a monthly capitated rate, which must cover all 
of the medical services required during that month.   

 
Assisted Living 

 
Assisted living is an emerging care model that 

provides health care and other assistance primarily to 
elderly people who may not need or want nursing home 
care, yet need some help with things like dressing, 
walking, eating, bathing, errands, and chores.  
Typically, privately-funded assisted living services are 
provided in managed residential communities where the 
elderly person has his own apartment, receives three 
meals a day in a common dining room, and shares some 

services with other tenants.  
 
Related Assisted Living Law 

 
Legislation in 1998 and 1999 required DSS, in 

cooperation with the Department of Economic and 
Community Development and the Connecticut Housing 
Finance Authority, to establish an assisted living 
demonstration project for moderate- and lower-income 
people living in state-subsidized affordable housing.  
Eligible residents must be at least age 65, at risk for 
being unnecessarily placed in a nursing home, and be 
eligible for the Connecticut Home Care Program for 
Elders.  The project can include up to 300 units.  
Facilities have already been selected for this project, 
some of which are expected to be in operation in the 
second half of 2002.  Legislation in 2000 allowed state-
funded elderly congregate housing facilities to offer 
assisted living services and allowed the Connecticut 
Home Care Program to pay for these services for 
eligible individuals in these congregate facilities, the 
five assisted living demonstration facilities, and other 
such projects established under state law. 

 
Federal Welfare Reform Law’s Effects on Legal 
Immigrants 

 
The 1996 federal welfare reform law (PL 104-193, 

8 U.S.C. §§ 1601, et seq.) barred aliens who are not 
“qualified aliens” as defined in federal law (8 U.S.C. § 
1641) from most federally funded public assistance 
programs. Even qualified aliens who enter the U.S. 
legally as permanent residents after the law’s effective 
date, August 22, 1996, cannot receive federally funded 
public assistance for their first five years here (8 U.S.C. 
§ 1613(a)).  But the federal law makes some exceptions. 
It allows qualified aliens who are refugees or have been 
granted asylum and certain other disadvantaged groups 
to qualify for assistance immediately for up to either 
five or seven years, depending on the program. Also, 
permanent resident aliens who have worked here for 10 
years and those who are veterans of, or on active duty 
with, the U.S. armed forces and their spouses and 
children have no time restrictions on their eligibility.  
All qualified aliens admitted into this country before 
August 22, 1996 remain eligible for federally funded 
assistance programs. 

Federal law permits states to enact laws setting up 
separate state-funded programs for legal immigrants.  In 
1997, Connecticut established two-year, state-funded 
cash, medical assistance, and home care programs for 
qualified aliens and other lawfully residing immigrant 
aliens.  In 1999, the legislature extended these programs 
until July 1, 2001. In 2000, it also made people who 
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formerly held “permanently residing under color of 
law” (PRUCOL) immigration status eligible for these 
state-funded programs. Prior to federal immigration 
reform, the Immigration and Naturalization Service 
assigned PRUCOL status to noncitizens without 
permanent resident status whom the agency chose not to 
deport.  Because INS now classifies many who had this 
status as “non-immigrants,” some were ineligible for 
state assistance before the 2000 change. 

In 1998, Connecticut established a permanent state-
funded food stamp program for legal immigrants barred 
from the federal program. 
 
 
PA 01-3, June Special Session—HB 7504 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING HOSPITAL RATES AND 
DISPROPORTIONATE SHARE PAYMENTS 
 
SUMMARY: This act increases Medicaid rates paid to 
hospitals and restructures the state hospital 
disproportionate share (DSH) program, which provides 
extra Medicaid payments to hospitals with a large 
number of indigent and low-income patients for whose 
care they are not fully compensated.  It also creates a 
new DSH program aimed at helping hospitals in 
distressed municipalities with populations over 70,000.  
The act allows the state to adjust DSH payments to 
Yale-New Haven Hospital for claims arising out of 
certain incorrect payments for prior years.  It also makes 
several minor, conforming, and technical changes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2001 
 
HOSPITAL OUTPATIENT RATES 
 

The act requires the Department of Social Services’ 
(DSS) Medicaid fee schedule for outpatient hospital 
services to increase by 10.5% for the rate period 
beginning July 1, 2001.  (But PA 01-9, June Special 
Session, § 119 applies the rate increase to the rate 
period beginning July 1, 2000, effective June 1, 2001.)  
The law, unaffected by the act except for the specified 
rate period, otherwise requires the DSS commissioner to 
adjust this fee schedule annually to reflect necessary 
cost increases. 

The act removes requirements that (1) the 
established Medicaid rate for a hospital outpatient clinic 
visit not exceed 116% of the combined average 
Medicaid fee for general practitioner and specialist 
office visits and (2) these rates increase annually by no 
more than the change in the consumer price index for 
medical care.   And it removes the commissioner’s 
authority, under certain circumstances, to pay such 

outpatient clinics up to 175% of the combined average 
fee. 
 
HOSPITAL INPATIENT RATES 

 
The act increases Medicaid hospital inpatient rates 

by changing the way DSS calculates them.  Previously, 
state regulations required the rate to be calculated using 
the same formula that Medicare used to calculate 
allowable costs per discharge in a base year (1982), 
updated annually by a Medicare adjustment factor. The 
result became the “target rate,” also known as the 
“target amount,” which could be further adjusted by a 
federally required adjustment (up to 10% more).  The 
hospitals calculated their actual allowable costs for the 
year and if those were more than the adjusted target 
amount, Medicaid paid them only the adjusted target 
amount.   

The act requires the commissioner, effective July 1, 
2001, to establish inpatient rates generally in accordance 
with these same regulations as they would have applied 
to the rate period beginning October 1, 2000.  But she 
must update the target amount per discharge to 62.5% of 
the actual allowable cost per discharge based on the 
1999 cost report filing, if that is higher than the target 
amount for the October 1, 2000 rate period plus the 
extra federal adjustment.   If a hospital’s rate increases 
as a result of this new calculation, it cannot receive the 
federal adjustment.  And for the rate periods starting 
October 1, 2001 and 2002, the act prohibits DSS from 
applying an annual adjustment factor to the target 
amount.  (PA 01-9, June Special Session, § 120 makes 
this provision effective June 1, 2001.)   
 
DISPROPORTIONATE SHARE PAYMENTS 
 

DSS makes “disproportionate share” (DSH) 
Medicaid payments to hospitals with high volumes of 
indigent and uninsured patients.  Such hospitals 
generally lose money because of low Medicaid 
reimbursement rates and their inability to collect from 
indigent and uninsured patients.  (These charity, under-
reimbursed, or uncollectible costs are known as 
"uncompensated care" costs.)   

Previously, private hospitals paid a 5.75% hospital 
sales tax on patient care services to fund the DSH 
program (PA 01-6, June Special Session, suspends this 
tax for two years from July 1, 2001 to June 30, 2003).  
DSS made DSH payments to the hospitals based on its 
estimate of total statewide uncompensated care for that 
year and a prediction of what each participating 
hospital's proportionate share would be.  After the end 
of the hospital fiscal year, which runs from October 1 to 
September 30, DSS made adjustments known as final 
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settlements based on actual uncompensated care.  PA 
99-279 eliminated these year-end final settlements for 
hospital fiscal years after 1999 and based the DSH 
payments on actual audited data from the fiscal year two 
years before the current one. 

The act prohibits negative adjustments for the 
quarter ending September 30, 2001 to any DSH 
payments for purposes of implementing the last quarter 
of the DSH final settlement for hospital fiscal year 
1999.  But hospitals with positive adjustments for that 
quarter must receive their payments from state 
appropriations. 

The act makes it clear that DSH payments are made 
only to short-term, nongovernmental, acute care general 
hospitals (chronic disease hospitals, stand-alone 
children’s hospitals, government acute care hospitals, 
and hospitals other than short-term acute care hospitals 
do not receive DSH payments).  The act also removes a 
reference to the now-suspended 5.75% hospital tax. 
 
SHORT-TERM HOSPITALS IN DISTRESSED 
MUNICIPALITIES 

 
For FYs 2001-02 and 2002–03, the act allows DSS, 

within available funds, to make DSH payments to short-
term hospitals in distressed municipalities with more 
than 70,000 people.  The DSS commissioner must 
determine this payment for each hospital based on the 
ratio of its Medicaid fee-for-service inpatient discharges 
to the total of such discharges for all hospitals in the 
program for the most recently filed cost report period.  
The act specifies that no such payments can be made to 
a chidren’s hospital. 
 
SPECIFIC FUNDING FOR THREE HOSPITALS 

 
The act also requires DSS to pay specific amounts 

from funds appropriated for hospital finance 
restructuring for FYs 2001-02 and 2002-03 as follows: 

 
Hartford Hospital   $3,412,244 
Saint Francis Hospital   $2,709,583 
Stamford Hospital  $2,485,860 

 
YALE-NEW HAVEN HOSPITAL CORRECTIONS 

 
The act allows DSS, within available appropriations 

and with approval from the Office of Health Care 
Access (OHCA) and the Office of Policy and 
Management (OPM), to pay final settlement amounts 
for claims arising out of incorrect payments to Yale-
New Haven Hospital for the fiscal quarter ending 
September 30, 1998, the 1999 hospital fiscal year, or 
both.  If an over- or underpayment resulted from the 

hospital’s reporting incorrect information and statistics 
to OHCA, the act requires OHCA to recompute the 
payments for those time periods and offset any 
underpayments by overpayments.  The act requires 
Yale-New Haven to submit all information and 
documentation that OHCA determines is needed to 
finally determine the amounts due.  Before any funds 
can be released, the hospital must submit a written 
release in a form satisfactory to the OPM secretary.  The 
release must provide for settlement of any and all claims 
that have or could have been brought challenging 
payment amounts for those periods.  The act specifies 
that this provision does not relieve the hospital from 
settlements or adjustments for any other time periods.  
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Related Acts 
 

PA 01-6, June Special Session, suspends the 5.75% 
sales and use tax on hospital patient care services for 
two years from July 1, 2001 to June 30, 2003. 

SA 01-1, June Special Session, includes $10 
million to fund the rate increases for FY 2001-02 and 
another $10 million for FY 2002-03. 

PA 01-9, June Special Session, § 32 requires 
crediting to the Hospital Assistance Program account 
any federal financial participation funds the state 
receives for DSH payments to hospitals for the final 
quarter’s DSH settlement for hospital fiscal year 1999 
under PA 01-3, June Special Session.  Federal funds 
deposited in that account during FY 2001-02 will 
continue to be available to be spent in FY 2002-03.  It 
further requires DSS to distribute whatever remains in 
the account to Yale-New Haven Hospital during FY 
2002-03. Sections 119 and 120, respectively, apply the 
outpatient hospital Medicaid rate increase to the rate 
period beginning July 1, 2000, effective June 1, 2001 
and make the inpatient increase effective June 1, 2001 
instead of July 1, 2001.  Section 130 reinstates two 
statutes repealed in PA 01-2, June Special Session.  One 
deals with children’s general hospitals and prior DSH 
settlements and adjustments, and the other details how 
the DSS commissioner must apply hospitals’ tax 
liability to calculate DSH payments to hospitals. 
 
 
PA 01-4, June Special Session—HB 7505 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE 
IMPLEMENTATION OF EXPENDITURES FOR 
VARIOUS STATE HEALTH PROGRAMS AND 
SERVICES AND MAKING TECHNICAL AND 
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OTHER CHANGES TO CERTAIN PUBLIC 
HEALTH AND RELATED STATUTES 
 
SUMMARY:  This act requires the Department of 
Public Health (DPH) to establish a comprehensive 
statewide asthma plan and asthma monitoring system.  
It also requires all children, beginning with the 2003-04 
school year, to have a chronic disease assessment that 
includes asthma before they enroll in public school and 
at certain other grade levels.  The act requires that 
preferred provider network (PPN) filings be made with 
the Department of Insurance instead of the Office of 
Health Care Access (OHCA).  The act requires all 
entities responsible for payment under an insurance 
policy, not just insurers, to make timely payments to 
health care providers. 

The act allows parents to administer medications to 
their children on school grounds.  It also requires DPH 
to adopt regulations by October 1, 2002, requiring child 
day care centers to have employees trained in 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). 

The act eliminates DPH’s nail technicians licensure 
program, which was never implemented. 

The act also addresses (1) use of automatic external 
defibrillators by certain persons; (2) emergency medical 
service rates; (3) gynecologic cancer informational 
materials; (4) chlamydia education and testing; (5) 
liability for HIV testing; (6) hospitals’ uncompensated 
care and disproportionate share payments, as well as 
hospitals’ debt collection standards; (7) safe needles; (8) 
the Department of Mental Retardation (DMR) and 
Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services 
(DMHAS) property transfer moratorium; (9) historic 
structures and the Connecticut Environmental Policy 
Act; (10) youth camp licensure; (11) use of certain lands 
for golf courses; (12) a Connecticut River interceptor 
sewer project; (13) marriage validation; (14) operation 
of certain crematories; (15) community health center 
grants; (16) the Tobacco and Health Trust Fund Board; 
(17) salon inspections; (18) residential treatment facility 
discharge plans; (19) the state loan repayment program 
for primary care clinicians; (20) Developmental 
Disabilities Advisory Commission membership; (21) 
promotion of public health; (22) alternative licensure 
routes for a variety of health professions; (23) 
continuing education for professional counselors; and 
(24) occupational therapy services in nursing homes. 

The act clarifies that "hearing aid dealers" are now 
known as "hearing instrument specialists." Finally, the 
act makes a number of technical changes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: The act takes effect July 1, 2001, 
except that the following provisions take effect October 
1, 2001: (1) youth camp original license denials, (2) 
professional counselor continuing education, (3) PPN 

transfer from OHCA to the Insurance Department, (4) 
defibrillators, (5) DPH’s responsibilities concerning an 
asthma monitoring system, (6) timely payments, (7) 
salon inspections, (8) residential treatment facility 
discharge plan, (9) loan repayment program, (10) 
Developmental Disability Advisory Commission 
membership, and (11) CPR in day care centers.  The 
child asthma assessment requirement takes effect July 1, 
2002.   

Two sections concerning nail technicians and 
technical changes to DPH’s responsibilities for various 
health professions take effect the later of July 1, 2001 or 
when DPH publishes notice that it is implementing 
physical therapist assistant and athletic trainers 
licensure. 
 
ASTHMA ASSESSMENTS 
 

Beginning with the 2003-04 school year, the act 
requires all children to have a chronic disease 
assessment, which includes asthma, before they enroll 
in public school, in 6th or 7th, and in 10th or 11th grades 
as part of the health assessments already required at 
those times.  The assessment must include public 
health-related screening questions for parents to answer 
and other screening questions for providers.  The act 
adds licensed naturopaths and chiropractors to the 
practitioners who can perform all required school health 
assessments.  (PA 01-9, June Special Session eliminates 
this provision).  

Beginning in February 2004, this act requires each 
school board to report annually to DPH and the local 
health director the asthma data obtained through these 
assessments, including pupil demographics, for the 
district and each of its schools.  It requires DPH to 
report to the Public Health and Education committees 
every three years, beginning October 1, 2004, on the 
distributions and trends the data show. 

The act also requires the DPH commissioner to 
establish, by January 2003, an asthma monitoring 
system and use it to estimate annually the incidence and 
distribution of asthma in the state, breaking it down by 
demographic characteristics.  The system must include 
annual school surveys and reports made to health care 
providers.  It may include prescription data.  He must 
report this information annually to the Public Health 
Committee beginning October 1, 2003.  Under the act, 
DPH in conjunction with local health directors, must 
establish a comprehensive statewide asthma plan.  By 
October 1, 2002, the department must develop a "model 
case definition" of asthma. 

For FYs 2001-02 and 2002-03, PA 01-9, June 
Special Session transfers $300,00 from the Tobacco and 
Health Trust Fund to DPH to implement the asthma 
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monitoring system and comprehensive statewide asthma 
plan that this act directs the department to establish. 

 
PREFERRED PROVIDER NETWORKS 

 
By law, a preferred provider network (PPN) 

operating or seeking to operate in the state must meet 
annual filing and notice requirements that address the 
PPN’s business standing, responsible officers and 
owners, service areas, affiliated hospitals, and 
participating providers.  The act requires a PPN to file 
with the Department of Insurance (DOI) instead of the 
Office of Health Care Access (OHCA).  All filing and 
notice requirements remain the same (see 
BACKGROUND). 

The act retains the current definition of PPN, as an 
arrangement in which health care providers make 
agreements with a person who establishes, operates, or 
underwrites the arrangement and payments for services 
rendered.  It includes a provider-sponsored network or 
independent practice association offering network 
services.  It does not include a workers’ compensation 
preferred provider organization established pursuant to 
state regulation.  It also does not include an arrangement 
relating only to health care services offered to people 
covered by self-insured plans established pursuant to 
ERISA (the federal Employee Retirement Income 
Security Act of 1974).   
 
TIMELY PAYMENTS 

 
The act requires all entities responsible for payment 

under an insurance policy, not just insurers, to make 
timely payments to health care providers. 

By law, insurers must pay claims within 45 days of 
receiving the claimant’s proof of loss form or the health 
provider’s request for payment filed according to the 
insurer’s practices.  If the information needed to process 
the claim is deficient, the insurer must (1) within 30 
days after it receives the claim for payment, notify the 
claimant or provider in writing of all alleged deficient 
information needed to process the claim and (2) pay 
within 30 days after receiving the requested 
information.  Insurers failing to make payment within 
the specified time period must pay the claimant or 
provider the claim amount plus 15% annual interest. 

Failure to make these timely payments is also an 
unfair method of competition or an unfair and deceptive 
act or practice in the insurance business and subjects the 
violator to penalties.  Such penalties include (1) 
ordering the party to stop, (2) paying monetary 
penalties, or (3) surrendering a license. 

The act subjects any entity responsible for payment 
to a provider to these prompt payment processes, 

deadlines, and penalties.  (PA 01-111 specifies those 
health care providers to which this timely payment 
requirement applies.) 
 
AUTOMATIC EXTERNAL DEFIBRILLATORS 

 
Under existing law, anyone operating a 

cardiopulmonary resuscitator or any one trained in CPR 
or in the use of an automatic external defibrillator 
(AED) in accordance with American Red Cross or 
American Heart Association standards who renders 
emergency assistance is not liable for injuries resulting 
from negligent acts or omissions if he acted (1) 
voluntarily, (2) gratuitously, and (3) not in the ordinary 
course of his employment or practice. 

The act specifies that paid or volunteer fire fighters 
or police officers, ski patrol members, lifeguards, 
conservation officers, patrol and special police officers 
of the Department of Environmental Protection (DEP), 
or emergency medical service (EMS) personnel who 
have been trained to use an AED in accordance with 
American Red Cross or American Heart Association 
standards are not subject to additional requirements 
except recertification in order to use such a defibrillator. 

 
EMS RATES 

 
Prior law required the DPH commissioner, through 

the Office of Emergency Medical Services, to set 
maximum allowable rates for all levels of emergency 
medical services.  The act deems approved by the 
commissioner rate increases not exceeding the National 
Health Care Inflation Rate Index, as published by the 
federal Department of Labor for the prior year, if they 
are properly filed with DPH.  DPH regulations must 
require those seeking a rate increase in excess of the 
inflation index to provide DPH with detailed financial 
information. 

 
GYNECOLOGIC CANCERS 

 
The act transfers $25,000 of the amount 

appropriated in the budget act to DPH for breast and 
cervical cancer detection for FY 2001-02 to produce 
educational materials on gynecologic cancer. 

The act directs DPH to develop an informational 
pamphlet on gynecologic cancers such as cervical, 
ovarian, and uterine cancer.  It must contain 
standardized information in plain language on the 
cancers including (1) signs and symptoms, (2) risk 
factors, (3) benefits of early detection through 
diagnostic testing, (4) treatment options, and (5) other 
information DPH finds necessary.  DPH must prepare 
multilingual versions of the pamphlet and make the 
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pamphlets available to hospitals, physicians, and other 
health care providers for patients’ use.   

 
CHLAMYDIA 

 
The act transfer $219,000 appropriated in the 

budget act to DPH for breast and cervical cancer 
detection and treatment for FY 2001-02 for chlamydia 
education and testing in school-based health centers, 
community health centers, and community health vans. 

 
HIV TESTING LIABILITY 

 
The act prohibits any cause of action for civil 

assault, civil battery, invasion of privacy, or failure to 
get informed consent against an acute care general 
hospital or any other provider responsible for 
administering an HIV test on a newborn infant or 
pregnant woman based on the claim that the test was 
done without consent.  But it does not relieve a person 
from liability for negligence (1) in administering the 
test, (2) in reporting or distributing test results, (3) 
related to counseling about treatment, or (4) in the 
treatment of the patient.  The act specifies that it does 
not eliminate or limit any defense to a cause of action 
alleged against a hospital or provider. 

 
UNCOMPENSATED CARE AND 
DISPROPORTIONATE SHARE PAYMENTS 
 

The act specifies that uncompensated care or 
disproportionate share payments may not be made to 
any hospital unless the Office of Policy and 
Management (OPM) certifies that the hospital has made 
reasonable efforts to provide uncompensated care. 
 
HOSPITAL DEBT COLLECTION 
 

The act directs OHCA to adopt regulations 
establishing uniform debt collection standards for 
hospitals. 
 
NEEDLESTICKS 
 

The act exempts the UConn School of Dental 
Medicine and its dental clinic from the law requiring 
health care facilities or institutions with public 
employees to use only safe needle devices until 
manufacturers design and make needles with self-
contained secondary precautionary-type sheathing 
devices for dental medicine. 
 
 
 

MORATORIUM ON TRANSFER OF DMR AND 
DMHAS PROPERTY 
 

The act amends PA 01-154 to permit the transfer to 
DMR or DMHAS of properties covered under the act’s 
three-year moratorium if they continue to be used to 
house people with mental illness, mental retardation, or 
alcohol or drug dependency. 
 
HISTORIC STRUCTURES 
 

The act specifies that the Connecticut 
Environmental Policy Act’s provisions concerning 
historic structures and landmarks do not apply to any 
property or structure first listed in the state register of 
historic places during March 2001 if the owner (1) gives 
the director of the Connecticut Historical Commission 
and the state historic preservation officer a written, 
notarized objection to listing the property on the register 
that certifies the person’s ownership of it and (2) does 
not make a notarized withdrawal of the objection. 
 
YOUTH CAMPS 
 

The act specifies that an applicant for an original 
youth camp license may not appeal a decision by DPH 
denying the license. 
 
MUNICIPAL GOLF COURSE 
 

The act allows any municipality owning land 
purchased in January 1999 (1) previously used for 
agricultural purposes and (2) that is watershed land or 
located next to watershed land to use it for a golf course 
under certain conditions.  The golf course must (1) be 
municipally-owned and (2) be designed, constructed, 
and operated using best management practices as 
recommended by the DEP, including integrated pest 
management and above-ground storage of chemicals 
and fuels.  The golf course manager must file an annual 
report with (1) any water company owned by the 
municipality, (2) any water company drawing water 
from the watershed, (3) the DEP, and (4) the 
municipality.  The report must describe the best 
management practices used in the golf course operation 
including a description of the type and amounts of 
pesticides and herbicides used and other information 
DEP or the water company requests.  The report must 
be available to the public. 
 
SEWER PROJECT 
 

The act specifies that a state environmental impact 
evaluation is not required for the Connecticut River 
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interceptor sewer project. 
 
MARRIAGE 
 

The act allows federal judges and judges from other 
states authorized to marry people in their jurisdictions to 
perform marriages in Connecticut. 
 
CREMATORY 
 

By law, any crematory not operating on October 1, 
1998 cannot be located within 500 feet of any residence 
or land used for residential purposes that is not owned 
by the crematory owner.  The act exempts from this 
prohibition any state resident or corporation issued an 
air quality permit before October 1, 1998. 
 
COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTER GRANTS 
 

The act specifies that for FYs 2001-02 and 2002-
03, grants to community health centers to support health 
center infrastructure services to uninsured people or 
expansion projects must be in the same proportion to the 
grants made for FYs 2000-01 and 2001-02, respectively.  
If any portion of the grant is not needed by a center, the 
differential must be distributed among all the other 
community health centers based on their share of total 
funding. 
 
TOBACCO AND HEALTH TRUST FUND BOARD 
 

The act requires the board of trustees of the 
Tobacco and Health Trust Fund to meet at least 
bimonthly.  By January 1 annually, it must report on the 
board’s activities to the Public Health and 
Appropriations committees.  Each trustee must approve 
the report. 
 
SALONS 
 

The act requires local directors of health to inspect 
all barber, hairdressing, and nail salons annually 
concerning their sanitary conditions.  The local health 
director is authorized to collect a fee up to $100 per 
salon, which must be used to cover the cost of the 
inspection. 

 
RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT FACILITY 
DISCHARGE PLANS 

 
The act requires any state-funded, licensed 

treatment facility providing adult mental health or 
substance abuse treatment services to prepare discharge 
plans for its clients before their release.  The discharge 

plan must include housing referrals.  DMHAS can adopt 
regulations to implement this requirement. 
 
STATE LOAN REPAYMENT PROGRAM 

 
The act adds dental hygienists and registered nurses 

to those eligible for the state loan repayment program 
for primary care clinicians.  It also substitutes advance 
practice registered nurses for nurse practitioners as 
program-eligible clinicians. 

 
ADVISORY COMMISSION ON DEVELOPMENTAL 
DISABILITIES 

 
The act revises the membership of the Advisory 

Commission on Services and Supports for Persons with 
Developmental Disabilities.  It increases membership 
from 27 to 30 by adding the directors or their designees 
of (1) the Office of Protection and Advocacy for Person 
swith Disabilities, (2) the Council on Developmental 
Disabilities, and (3) the Bureau of Rehabilitation 
Services of the Department of Social Services. 

 
PROMOTION OF PUBLIC HEALTH STUDY 

 
The act requires DPH, in consultation with each 

municipal and district health director, to report by 
February 1, 2002, to the Public Health and 
Appropriations committees on their activities promoting 
public health.  The report must include plans by DPH or 
local health directors to adopt national standards, 
including those of the National Centers for Disease 
Control. 

 
PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS 
 
Professional Counselor in a Hospital – No License 
Required 

 
The act specifies that a professional counselor 

license is not required for a person with a master’s 
degree in a health or human services-related field 
performing counseling services in a hospital under the 
supervision of a physician, psychologist, advanced 
practice registered nurse, mental and family therapist, 
clinical social worker, or professional counselor. 

 
Continuing Education 

 
When applying for license renewal, the act requires 

licensed counselors to provide satisfactory evidence to 
the DPH commissioner of participation in continuing 
education programs.  DPH must adopt regulations that 
(1) define basic continuing education program 
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requirements, (2) delineate qualifying programs, (3) 
establish a control and reporting system, and (4) allow 
continuing education waivers for good cause. 
 
Alternative Licensure 

 
The act provides an alternative route to licensure 

for certain professional counselors.  Before December 
30, 2001, DPH can license an applicant who: (1) has at 
least a 30-hour master’s degree, sixth-year degree, or 
doctoral degree from a regionally accredited higher 
education institution with a social work, marriage and 
family therapy, counseling, psychology, or forensic 
psychology major; (2) practiced professional counseling 
for at least two years of the five years immediately 
before license application; and (3) passed a DPH-
prescribed examination. 

The act also authorizes DPH to license as a 
professional counselor, by July 30, 2001, a person who 
has (1) earned a master’s degree in counselor education 
before 1980, (2) practiced professional counseling for at 
least 10 years immediately before applying for 
licensure, (3) current certification by the American 
Nurses Association as a psychiatric nurse, and (4) 
passed the national clinical mental health counseling 
exam. 

It also allows DPH to license as a professional 
counselor by the same deadline a person who has (1) a 
master’s degree in school psychology from a regionally 
accredited institution, (2) worked as a professional 
counselor for at least 10 years immediately before 
applying, and (3) passed a DPH-prescribed exam. 

 
ALTERNATIVE LICENSURE FOR CERTAIN 
HEALTH PROFESSIONS 
 
Acupuncture 

 
The act authorizes DPH to license as an 

acupuncturist, by July 30, 2001, a person who has (1) 
passed the National Commission for the Certification of 
Acupuncturists written examination by test or 
credentials review, (2) successfully completed the 
practical examination of point location skills offered by 
the national commission, and (3) successfully 
completed the clean needle technique course offered by 
the Council of Colleges of Acupuncture and Oriental 
Medicine. 

 
Chiropractor 

 
The act authorizes DPH to license as a chiropractor, 

by July 30, 2001, a person who has (1) graduated from 
an accredited chiropractic school approved by the state 

chiropractic board with the consent of DPH; (2) 
successfully completed parts 1, 2, and 3 and the 
physiotherapy portion of the National Board of 
Chiropractic Examiners exam; (3) current licensure in 
another state and no disciplinary history; and (4) 
practiced for at least 20 years, at least one of which was 
within the previous two.  Anyone licensed in this 
manner must successfully complete the practical 
examination requirement before his license expires.  If 
not, the individual cannot renew his license. 

 
Marital and Family Therapist  

 
The act authorizes DPH to license, as a marital and 

family therapist, by July 30, 2001, a person who has (1) 
earned a master’s degree in counseling and guidance 
before 1980, (2) passed the licensing exam for marital 
and family therapy before 2000, (3) current licensure in 
another state, (4) current clinical membership in the 
American Association of Marriage and Family Therapy, 
and (5) no disciplinary history. 

 
Massage Therapist 

 
The act establishes an additional alternative 

licensure route for certain out-of-state massage therapist 
license applicants.  These applicants must have 
graduated from a massage therapy school with at least a 
500 classroom-hour program with the instructor present.  
When they graduated, the school must have been 
accredited by either (1) an agency recognized by the 
U.S. Department of Education or by a state board of 
postsecondary technical trade and business schools or 
(2) the Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation.  
The applicant must also successfully complete the 
National Certification Examination for Therapeutic 
Massage and Bodywork. 

 
OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY 

 
The act requires the Department of Social Services 

commissioner, in consultation with DPH, to study the 
cost and savings related to requiring occupational 
therapy services in nursing facilities.  The commissioner 
must submit the report to the Human Services, Public 
Health, Insurance and Real Estate, and Appropriations 
committees by February 1, 2002. 

 
RN REPEAL 

 
The act repeals a provision of law requiring DPH to 

reinstate, without conditions, a registered nurse whose 
license is void for failure to pay the annual license fee in 
1998 or 1999 upon application and payment of fees. 
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BACKGROUND 
 

PPNs 
 
Filing Requirements. Under the act, networks must 

file with the insurance commissioner, instead of OHCA, 
before enrolling any members.  All networks must 
annually update their filings by July 1. 

Each filing must include the identity of any 
company controlling the operation of the network, a 
description of the company’s participation and, where 
applicable, (1) a certificate from the secretary of the 
state on the company’s sound business standing; (2) a 
copy of the company’s balance sheet for the most 
recently concluded fiscal year, including the name and 
address of any accountant that helped prepare it; (3) a 
list of the names, official positions, and occupations of 
the company’s board of directors and the officers 
responsible for the company’s activities related to the 
network; (4) a list of the company’s principal owners; 
(5) if it is an out -of-state company, a certificate of good 
standing from that state; (6) the identity, address, and 
current relationship of any related or predecessor 
company; and (7) a report on any suspension, sanction, 
or other disciplinary action against the company, either 
in Connecticut or out-of-state. 

The filing must also provide a general description 
of the network, including its geographical service area; 
the hospitals in the network; primary care and specialty 
physicians, other contracting providers and the 
percentage of each group’s capacity to accept new 
patients; and the person to whom applications to 
participate can be made. 

Notice . Any person developing a PPN or expanding 
one into a new county must put a notice of intent in at 
least one newspaper in the service area where it operates 
or will operate.  The notice must include the medical 
specialties included in the network, the name and 
address of the person to whom applications can be made 
for participation in the networks, and a time frame for 
application.  PPNs must acknowledge applications in 
writing and consider them in a timely manner. 

Provider Selection and Termination Criteria. The 
act requires PPNs to file with the insurance 
commissioner, instead of OHCA, their general criteria 
for selection or termination of providers.  This 
information must be available to providers upon request.  
Disclosure of the criteria is not required if the network 
deems it to be of a proprietary or competitive nature, 
with disclosure harming its business standing.  Under 
the law, the network may not reject or terminate a 
provider based on quality and cost-effectiveness factors 
if the network uses criteria not properly filed, until the 
provider has been informed of the criteria his practice 

fails to meet.  The act requires limited network preferred 
providers to inform applicants for enrolment if they do 
not reimburse for services obtained outside the network.  
The insurance commissioner must adopt regulations. 
 
 
PA 01-5, June Special Session—HB 7506  
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT IMPLEMENTING THE 
RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE 
TRANSPORTATION STRATEGY BOARD 
 
SUMMARY:  This act establishes a 15-member 
Connecticut Transportation Strategy Board (CTSB) 
composed of five state commissioners and appointees of 
the governor and legislative leaders. The commission’s 
purpose is to propose a transportation strategy to the 
legislature for its approval.  In developing its strategy, 
the board must take into account several specific factors 
and considerations.  The transportation strategy must be 
designed to stimulate sustainable economic growth and 
enhance the quality of life of state residents; improve 
the mobility of people and goods; enhance connectivity 
to the regional, national, and global economies; and 
enhance the safety and security of the transportation 
network. The board must submit its initial strategy to 
the legislature by January 15, 2002 and update or revise 
it on December 15, 2002 and at least every two years, as 
necessary. 

The act organizes the state into five “transportation 
investment areas” (TIAs), each of which has a 
representative on the board.  Each TIA must prepare an 
initial TIA corridor plan and submit it to the CTSB by 
November 15, 2001, to be followed by a full corridor 
plan on November 15, 2002, and every two years 
thereafter.  The CTSB must review each TIA corridor 
plan and may incorporate all or part of the plans into the 
statewide strategy it develops.  

The CTSB must (1) monitor implementation of the 
strategy by prioritizing transportation projects and their 
implementation processes, and (2) make 
recommendations to the transportation commissioner, 
governor, and General Assembly.  The CTSB must also 
annually review the Department of Transportation’s 
(DOT) proposed operating and capital budgets as they 
relate to implementation of the strategy and make 
recommendations.   

The economic and community development 
commissioner, and certain others, must use impact 
statements to indicate for the CTSB whether new state 
projects that seek funds or involve new construction 
conform to the transportation strategy.  The economic 
development commissioner must collaborate with 
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municipalities to promote and market areas of retail 
sales and services around transportation terminals. 

The act designates the $50 million appropriated to 
the DOT for FY 2000-01 in the budget act for specific 
projects, programs, studies, and initiatives.  Project 
work must commence on or after July 1, 2001.  The 
CTSB may use up to $500,000 of this appropriation 
annually in FY 2001-02 and FY 2002-03 for 
administrative and consulting services. 

The act creates a seven-member board of directors 
for Bradley International Airport that must include a 
member of the CTSB.  It abolishes the Bradley 
International Airport Advisory Commission and 
replaces it with the Bradley International Community 
Advisory Board.  A member of the community advisory 
board must sit on the Bradley Board of Directors.  
Among other things, the Bradley Board of Directors 
must advocate for the airport’s interests, ensure that its 
potential as a state and regional economic development 
resource is fully realized, and assure that the airport has 
an appropriate mission statement and strategic goals that 
are regularly assessed. 

The act makes several changes in laws governing 
the issuance, repayment, and use of bonds issued for 
Bradley projects.   

The act designates both the CTSB and the Bradley 
Board of Directors as public agencies for purposes of 
compliance with the Freedom of Information Act and as 
quasi-public agencies for purposes of compliance with 
the code of ethics for public officials.  

EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage, except the 
provision establishing the Bradley Board of Directors 
(but not those delineating its responsibilities or related 
provisions) is effective July 1, 2001    
 
TRANSPORTATION INVESTMENT AREAS  

 
The act organizes the state into five TIAs and 

designates the towns to be included in each TIA, along 
with the highways, bridges, waterways, ports, and 
airports in these towns. Many towns are included in 
more than one TIA. TIAs are organized roughly along 
geographic boundaries of combinations of regional 
planning areas, but there are exceptions. 
 
Coastal Corridor TIA 
 

The Coastal Corridor TIA includes: 
 

Ansonia Easton  New Milford  Stamford 
Beacon Falls Fairfield Newtown Stratford 
Bethany Greenwich North Branford Thomaston 
Bethel Guilford North Haven Trumbull 
Bethlehem Hamden Norwalk Wallingford 
Branford Madison Orange  Waterbury 

Bridgeport Meriden  Oxford Watertown 
Bridgewater Middlebury Prospect West Haven 
Brookfield Milford Redding Weston 
Cheshire Monroe Ridgefield Westport 
Danbury Naugatuck Seymour Wilton 
Darien New Canaan Shelton Wolcott 
Derby New Fairfield Sherman Woodbridge 
East Haven New Haven Southbury Woodbury 

 
I-84 Corridor TIA 

 
The I-84 Corridor TIA includes:  

 
Andover Ansonia Avon Barkhamsted 
Beacon Falls Berlin Bethel Bethlehem 
Bloomfield Bolton Bridgewater Bristol 
Brookfield Burlington Canaan Canton 
Cheshire Colebrook Cornwall Danbury 
Derby East Granby East Hartford East Windsor 
Ellington Enfield Farmington Glastonbury 
Goshen Granby Hartford Hartland 
Harwinton Hebron Kent Litchfield 
Manchester Marlborough Middlebury Morris 
Naugatuck New Britain New Fairfield New Hartford 
New Milford Newington Newtown Norfolk 
North Canaan Oxford Plainville Plymouth 
Prospect Redding Ridgefield Rocky Hill 
Roxbury Salisbury Seymour Sharon 
Shelton Sherman Simsbury Somers 
South Windsor Southbury Southington Stafford 
Suffield Thomaston Tolland Torrington 
Union Vernon Warren Washington 
Waterbury Watertown West Hartford Wethersfield 
Winchester Windsor Windsor Locks Wolcott 
Woodbury    

 
I-91 Corridor TIA 
 

The I-91 Corridor TIA includes:  
 

Andover Avon Berlin Bethany 
Bloomfield Bolton Branford Bristol 
Burlington Canton Chester Clinton 
Cromwell Deep River Durham East Granby 
East Haddam East Hampton East Hartford East Haven 
East Windsor Ellington Enfield Essex 
Farmington Glastonbury Granby Guilford 
Haddam Hamden Hartford Hebron 
Killingworth Lyme Madison Manchester 
Marlborough Meriden Middlefield Middletown 
Milford New Britain New Haven Newington 
North Branford North Haven Old Lyme Old Saybrook 
Orange Plainville Plymouth Portland 
Rocky Hill Simsbury Somers South Windsor 
Southington Suffield Tolland Vernon 
Wallingford West Hartford West Haven Westbrook 
Wethersfield Windsor Windsor Locks Woodbridge 
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I-395 Corridor TIA 
 

The I-395 Corridor TIA includes:  
 

Ashford Franklin New London Stafford 
Bozrah Griswold North Stonington Sterling 
Brooklyn Groton Norwich Stonington 
Canterbury Hampton Plainfield Thompson 
Chaplin Killingly Pomfret Union 
Colchester Lebanon Preston Voluntown 
Columbia Ledyard Putnam Waterford 
Coventry Lisbon Salem Willington 
East Lyme Mansfield Scotland Windham 
Eastford Montville Sprague Woodstock 

 
Southeast Corridor TIA 
 

The Southeast Corridor TIA includes: 
 

Bozrah Franklin Montville Salem 
Chester Griswold New London Sprague 
Clinton Groton North Stonington Stonington 
Colchester Killingworth Norwich Voluntown 
Deep River Ledyard Old Lyme Waterford 
East Lyme Lisbon Old Saybrook Westbrook 
Essex Lyme Preston  

 
TIA Functions and Responsibilities 

 
The local regional planning agencies in each TIA 

must select those who will participate in the TIA 
processes and activities. Participants must come from, 
but are not limited to, businesses, labor unions, trade 
associations, environmental interest groups, and other 
interest groups the planning agency believes would be 
valuable in developing the TIA transportation plan.  The 
local planning agencies must determine the processes 
the TIA will use in carrying out its responsibilities.  For 
these purposes, each TIA must report to the local 
planning agencies’ chief executive officers.  The CTSB 
must assist agencies that request it. 

By August 1, 2001, the planning agency chief 
executives must issue notice of a TIA organizational 
meeting to begin the process of creating the TIA’s 
transportation plan and to make recommendations for 
nominating a TIA representative to the CTSB.  Each 
TIA must submit an initial TIA corridor plan to the 
CTSB by November 15, 2001.  It must provide a full 
TIA corridor plan to the CTSB by November 15, 2002 
and every two years thereafter.   The absence of a TIA 
corridor plan as required by the bill does not preclude 
the CTSB from proposing its transportation strategy. 
 

 

TRANSPORTATION STRATEGY BOARD  
 

Membership and Appointment  
 

The CTSB consists of 15 members: (1) the 
commissioners of transportation, environmental 
protection, public safety, and economic and community 
development; (2) the secretary of the Office of Policy 
and Management (OPM); (3) one representative from 
each of the five TIAs; and (4) five appointees from the 
private sector that have expertise in transportation, 
business, finance, or law.  

The five private-sector and five TIA members are 
appointed as follows and will serve initial terms 
expiring on the dates indicated below: 
 

Member Appointing Authority Initial Term 
Expiration 

Private Sector Member Governor 6/30/2005 
Private Sector Member Senate president 6/30/2004 
Private Sector Member House speaker 6/30/2003 
Private Sector Member Senate minority leader 6/30/2003 
Private Sector Member House minority leader 6/30/2002 
I-91 Corridor TIA Senate president 6/30/2003 
Coastal Corridor TIA House speaker 6/30/2004 
I-395 Coastal Corridor 
TIA 

Senate majority leader 6/30/2005 

I-84 Corridor TIA House majority leader 6/30/2005 
Southeast Corridor TIA Transportation Comm. 

Co-chairpersons 
6/30/2002 

 
The governor’s private-sector appointee must serve 

as the CTSB chairperson.  Each TIA must submit a list 
of three nominees for consideration by the appropriate 
appointing authority of people who (1) live within the 
TIA; (2) are selected by the regional planning agency 
board chairpersons in consultation with TIA 
participants; and (3) have significant experience in, and 
knowledge of, state, regional, and local governmental 
processes.  Each nomination list must include at least 
one chief elected official of a town in the TIA. 

Once appointees’ initial terms expire, all 
subsequent appointees serve four-year terms.  No 
member may serve more than two consecutive terms.  A 
vacancy for an appointed member must be filled by the 
appointing authority for the remainder of the term. 

The CTSB may create subcommittees and appoint 
its members to them as it deems appropriate.  Ten 
members must be present to constitute a quorum.  
Members may not be compensated for their service. 

The board may issue guidelines for coordinating 
and organizating of the TIAs.  The guidelines do not 
constitute agency regulations under state law. 

DOT, OPM, and Department of Economic and 
Community Development (DECD) staff must provide 
staff assistance to the CTSB. With the OPM secretary’s 
approval, the CTSB may hire consultants within 
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available appropriations to help carry out its functions. 
The consultants must be procured through the DOT. 

The CTSB terminates as of July 1, 2006 unless the 
General Assembly reestablishes it.  

 
Developing the State Transportation Strategy  
 

In developing and revising its transportation 
strategy, the CTSB must take into account: 

1. strategic concerns of moving people and 
goods; 

2. technical and modal options for addressing 
these concerns, including rail, road, air, and 
water; 

3. the relationship of these concerns and options 
to sustainable economic growth, environmental 
quality, urban development, open space and its 
preservation, employment access, and public 
safety; 

4. transportation’s role as a cornerstone of the 
state’s economic development and quality of 
life and thus its link to other state policies, 
including land use planning, environmental 
quality, urban vitality, and access to jobs and 
services; 

5. state connections to regional, national, and 
international economies and the critical role of 
mobility in sustaining economic growth; 

6. the benefits of leveraging current transportation 
assets and infrastructure, especially in urban 
centers, and reducing automobile-oriented 
demands; 

7. integrating brownfield remediation, affordable 
housing, and employment access as a result of 
a transportation strategy; 

8. the need to engage (a) local planning agencies 
and other relevant constituencies in developing 
the strategy and (b) representatives of the 
state’s major transportation assets and the 
transportation industry  to help ensure the 
strategy is integrated and multi-modal; 

9. technology available to expand capacity, 
enhance safety, provide information, and 
access funding alternatives; 

10. the need to fully explore sources and methods 
for funding infrastructure investments and 
annual operating and maintenance costs, and 
the regulations that apply to spending state and 
federal funds; 

11. the development of measures, methods, and 
standards essential to determining customer 
needs and to evaluating the return on 
transportation investments and project 
priorities; 

12. the importance of the state being a leader in the 
northeast in developing and advocating a 
regional transportation strategy; 

13. the need for expeditious analysis and decision-
making within the existing statutory and 
regulatory framework and for identifying 
necessary changes to this framework; 

14. the development, renovation, and expansion of 
Bradley International Airport;  

15. the State Plan of Conservation and 
Development; and  

16. the need to (a) clearly define the role of private 
companies, public agencies, and institutions, 
including the role of financial incentives; (b) 
encourage and support employees to use public 
transportation and provide them with 
appropriate alternatives to their work times and 
places such as telecommuting and flexible 
work hours; (c) develop effective delivery of 
goods in and through the state, and (d) 
encourage different sectors to participate in 
state initiatives. 

 
Transportation Strategy Objectives  

 
The transportation strategy the CTSB designs must: 
1. stimulate sustainable economic growth and 

enhanced quality of life and develop and 
continuously upgrade analytical tools to show 
the link between transportation and public 
benefits; 

2. make it easy for people and goods to move in 
the state and TIAs by reducing traffic 
congestion, enabling inter-corridor movement, 
and providing access to employment and 
essential services; 

3. connect the regional, national, and global 
economies through (a) improved access to the 
surrounding states and economies and (b) 
expanded modal choices for passengers and 
freight by developing an airport system that 
stimulates growth, linking state and 
international rail grids, developing water-borne 
alternatives, and assuring workable freight 
access to New York and New Jersey ports and 
the North American Free Trade Agreement 
(NAFTA) trade corridor; and 

4. adequately maintain infrastructure and 
equipment and enforce safe operations and 
system use by customers and operators. 
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Evaluation Criteria and Other Considerations  
 
The CTSB must evaluate specific tactics and 

approaches in the strategy to determine if they: 
1. focus on the people using transportation 

systems by involving them in planning and 
market research, creating effective interfaces 
with other systems, and developing 
“intelligent” transportation systems; 

2. respond to general business and industry 
cluster needs and support state urban 
development strategies; 

3. improve air quality, minimize impacts on 
wetlands and open space by directing 
development to areas of the state with the 
infrastructure to support it, and reduce energy 
consumption; 

4. encourage intermodal links and usage wherever 
possible and transportation systems 
management from a multi-modal perspective; 
and 

5. build upon natural economic and service areas, 
enhancing connectivity of population centers 
and implementing strategic priorities through 
the TIAs. 

The CTSB must include in the strategy the criteria 
by which it and the DOT will evaluate and prioritize 
current and proposed transportation projects.  It also 
must identify in the strategy the tools and measures it 
intends to use to assess transportation system 
performance and analyze the value of projects proposed 
to implement the strategy, including their overall value 
to the state as a public investment. 

The strategy must include a projection of the 
required investments in capital and operating costs over 
the succeeding 10 years and the recommended sources 
of these funds.  It must also distinguish between 
operations and maintenance and investment costs based 
on the strategy and evaluated against its goals, provision 
of additional benefits that are both tangible and 
attainable, inclusion of a range of transportation modes 
to gain public support, maximum outreach to the 
community in each TIA, and response to widely 
perceived needs. 

 
Review of TIA Corridor Plans for Inclusion in the 
Strategy  

 
The CTSB must review each TIA corridor plan and 

may incorporate all or part of the plans in its strategy.  
In developing and revising the strategy, the CTSB may 
(1) hold public hearings; (2) consult and cooperate with 
government, corporate, and organization officials; (3) 
request and receive assistance from other governmental 

entities; and (4) to the extent it deems appropriate, use 
and incorporate in the strategy any existing long-range 
plan, report, or survey developed by a public or private 
entity. 

DOT must keep the strategy and its revisions on file 
as a public record. 

 
Submission of the Transportation Strategy  

 
The CTSB must submit an initial strategy and 

preliminary cost projections to implement it over the 
first 10 years to the governor and legislature by January 
15, 2002.  The strategy is subject to the General 
Assembly’s approval.  The CTSB must submit a status 
report on strategy implementation, including any 
revisions it may need, to the Transportation Committee 
on June 30, 2002 and on every December 31st and June 
30th thereafter.  The status report must also include the 
quarterly reports it receives from the DECD 
commissioner with respect to DECD’s project activities 
and their relationship to the transportation strategy.  The 
CTSB must update or revise the strategy on December 
15, 2002 and every two years thereafter, if necessary, 
and submit an implementation report to the governor 
and legislature.  Strategy updates and revisions are also 
subject to legislative approval. 

The CTSB must monitor strategy implementation 
by prioritizing transportation projects and processes 
necessary to implement them for the purposes of 
proposed legislative approval.  It also must review 
annual DOT capital and operating budgets as they relate 
to implementing the strategy and make 
recommendations to the governor, commissioner, and 
legislature. 

The CTSB must consult with members and 
appropriate staff of the Connecticut congressional 
delegation and with U.S. Department of Transportation 
staff concerning federal transportation funding and 
initiatives. 

 
Economic Development Initiatives  

 
The DECD commissioner and the executive 

directors of the Connecticut Development Authority 
(CDA) and Connecticut Innovations, Inc. (CII) must 
submit to the CTSB an impact statement for each 
project that is new to the state or involves new 
construction and seeks funding from them. The 
statement must summarize whether or not the project 
conforms to the strategy the CTSB submits to the 
legislature.   

By July 1, 2002, and quarterly thereafter, the 
DECD commissioner must update the board on all 
project activities that occurred in the quarter. 
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The act requires the DECD commissioner, in 
consultation with the DOT commissioner, to collaborate 
with cities and towns to promote and market areas of 
retail sales and services around rail, bus, airport, and 
port terminals.  The commissioner may use the services 
of the Connecticut Economic Resource Center and any 
other entity he finds necessary. 

 
TRANSPORTATION PROJECT APPROPRIATIONS  

 
The act designates the $50 million appropriated to 

the DOT from the General Fund for FY 2000-01 in the 
budget act (SA 01-1, June Special Session) for 
expenditure on the following projects, programs, 
studies, and initiatives, and for administrative and 
consulting services: 

1. the Jobs Access program for later evening bus 
service, route extensions, and customized 
paratransit services for residents of Bridgeport, 
Hartford, New Haven, and Waterbury; 

2. expanding commuter parking lot capacity; 
3. marketing the employer-sponsored pretax 

commuter benefit program known as  “Deduct-
A-Ride;” 

4. a design study of an Orange/West Haven rail 
station with parking for 1,000 commuters; 

5. a site selection study for expanding capacity of 
New Haven rail line maintenance facilities and 
purchasing land for a new rail service 
maintenance facility; 

6. expanding bus services connecting with rail 
services in the Coastal Corridor TIA; 

7. improving and enhancing the state’s Accident 
Clearance Policy to minimize accidents on I-95 
and the Merritt Parkway and enhancing truck 
inspection station operating hours; 

8. analyzing and recommending the 
appropriateness of peak-hour on-ramp closures 
on I-95 in the Coastal Corridor TIA, including 
how they would alleviate traffic congestion; 

9. partnering with Amtrak, Metro-North, and rail 
labor unions to allow Shoreline East commuter 
trains to run through New Haven to Bridgeport, 
Stamford, and Greenwich for a two-year trial 
period; 

10. partnering with Amtrak to provide additional 
peak-period train service for a two-year trial 
period for the purpose of promoting monthly 
tickets and service from Connecticut to Penn 
Station in New York City; 

11. expanding Fairfield County inter-regional 
service through the purchase of 10 new buses 
and additional local bus service; 

12. additional operating funds to expand bus 
service for western Connecticut commuters to 
utilize Metro-North’s Upper Harlem Line to 
commute to White Plains and New York City; 

13. developing (a) operational and fiscal plans for 
expanding local and regional bus services in 
coordination with rail and ferry schedules to 
serve area attractions and (b) a single ticket 
fare structure for such services in the Southeast 
Corridor TIA; 

14. a study to refine the traffic and transportation 
needs and modal options of the Southeast 
Corridor TIA; 

15. expanding express commuter bus service in the 
Hartford area; 

16. continuing the efforts of the Capitol Region 
Council of Governments to support the 
Hartford-New Britain Busway Project; 

17. studying the infrastructure costs and operating 
characteristics of rail commuter services from 
New Haven to Springfield, Massachusetts, 
including Bradley International Airport; 

18. safety and operational improvements to I-84 
interchanges from Danbury to Newtown; 

19. a safety and capacity study of Route 8 from 
Seymour to Waterbury; 

20. funding a high-speed ferry from Bridgeport to 
Stamford and New York;  

21. implementing a demonstration project for a 
feeder freight barge service in Long Island 
Sound between the port facilities of New York 
and New Jersey and Bridgeport and New 
Haven harbors; and 

22. other specific strategic transportation 
improvements. 

Project work must commence on or after July 1, 
2001.  The appropriation is available for expenditure 
through June 30, 2003. 

The CTSB may use up to $500,000 of this 
appropriation in each of the next two fiscal years (FYs 
2001-02 and 2002-03) for administrative and consulting 
services. 
 
BRADLEY INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT BOARD 
OF DIRECTORS 
 
Board of Directors  

 
The act creates a seven-member board of directors 

for Bradley International Airport consisting of the 
transportation commissioner, the DECD commissioner, 
a CTSB representative appointed by the House speaker, 
a Bradley International Community Advisory Board 
representative (which the act also creates) appointed by 
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the House minority leader, and three private-sector 
members. The governor must appoint one of the private-
sector members, who serves as the board chairman with 
an initial term through June 30, 2005.  The Senate 
president and Senate minority leader each must appoint 
one of the other two members who also serve initially 
until June 30, 2005.  Subsequent terms for all appointed 
members must be for four years. 

The board’s appointed members must be senior 
business leaders or executives who have corporate or 
institutional management experience.  They must also 
have expertise and experience in one or more of the 
following disciplines: financial planning, budgeting and 
assessment, marketing, master planning, strategic 
planning, or transportation management.  Board 
members, who serve without compensation, must be 
sworn to the constitutional oath of office. 

Any member who misses three consecutive board 
meetings must be considered to have resigned.  The 
board must elect a vice-chairperson from among the 
appointed members. Five members constitute a quorum 
and board actions may be taken by a majority vote of its 
members present. 

 
Bradley Board of Directors’ Responsibilities  
 

The act requires the Bradley Board of Directors to: 
(1) develop an organizational and management 
structure, in consultation with the transportation 
commissioner, that will best accomplish the goals of 
Bradley International Airport; (2) approve the airport’s 
annual capital and operating budget; (3) cooperate with 
the CTSB; (4) advocate for the airport’s interests and 
ensure its potential as an economic development 
resource for the state and region; (5) assure that an 
appropriate mission statement and set of strategic goals 
are established for the airport and that progress is 
regularly assessed; (6) approve the Bradley International 
Airport master plan; (7) establish and review policies 
and plans for marketing the airport and determining the 
best use of airport property; (8) make sure appropriate 
independent expertise is available for advising it, 
particularly on strategy and marketing, and select 
consultants as necessary for purposes related to strategy 
and marketing, pursuant to procedures it establishes; (9) 
ensure customer service standards, performance targets, 
and performance assessment systems are established for 
the airport enterprise; (10) approve  community 
relations policies and ensure that  the Bradley 
International Community Advisory Board operates 
effectively so that community comment and information 
is regularly and fully considered in airport-related 
decisions; (11) create a code of conduct for its members 
consistent with the State Code of Ethics for Public 

Officials; (12) report annually to the governor and 
legislature; (13) establish procedures to review 
significant contracts relating to airport operation, other 
than collective bargaining agreements, prior to their 
approval, such procedures to require completion of the 
board’s review not more than 10 business days after 
their receipt; and (14) adopt rules to conduct its 
business.  The rules cannot be considered state agency 
regulations. 

The Bradley board is located for administrative 
purposes within the DOT, which must conduct its 
administrative functions.  Administrative costs and costs 
for any consultants the board recommends to advise it 
and that DOT retains may be reimbursed from the 
Bradley Airport Enterprise Fund.  Consultants 
recommended by the board and retained by the DOT for 
this purpose must report to the board rather than the 
DOT.  The act exempts the selection and engagement 
process for these consultants from the statutes 
governing selection of DOT consultants and state 
agency personal service agreements.   

 
Bradley International Community Advisory Board  
 

The act creates a Bradley International Community 
Advisory Board and abolishes the Bradley International 
Airport Commission.  The community advisory board 
consists of the chief elected officials of East Granby, 
Suffield, Windsor, and Windsor Locks.  The advisory 
board must work with the airport administration and 
issue semi-annual reports to the Bradley board of 
directors.  It must also use the board of directors as a 
resource to support its development initiatives. 

The community advisory board must (1) provide a 
regular vehicle for communications between airport 
administrators and nearby towns on issues of concern to 
residents, such as noise and traffic, and (2) advise the 
board of directors on land use, transportation, planning, 
zoning, and economic development issues on land 
surrounding or close to the airport.  In carrying out the 
latter function, the community board must appoint a 
subcommittee made up of each town’s manager or 
planner and representatives from regional organizations 
including the Capital Region Council of Governments, 
Greater Hartford Growth Council, Springfield Regional 
Planning Agency, and DECD.  The subcommittee must 
work to develop new business around the airport and 
report regularly to the community advisory board on its 
activities. 

Members of both the community advisory board 
and its development subcommittee must comply with 
the Code of Ethics for Public Officials. 
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Bonding for Bradley International Airport Projects  
 
The act removes the aggregate bonding cap of $294 

million for airport-related projects.  It also specifies that 
some or all of the revenue the airport generates can be 
used to repay the bonds.  It requires revenue generated 
from passenger facility charges (PFCs) to be used to 
repay bonds, to the extent federal law allows.  PFCs are 
federally authorized levies airport operators can impose 
on passengers to raise additional revenue for specific, 
federally approved, projects and time periods. 

The act authorizes the Bradley Board of Directors 
to appoint a finance or other committee consisting of 
one or more of its officers or employees to serve as its 
authorized delegate in connection with bond issuance. 

The act specifically authorizes the state treasurer to 
enter into standby bond purchase and other additional 
kinds of agreements related to obtaining any credit or 
liquidity facilities as well as covenants to better secure 
the bonds or maintain tax exemptions on bond interest.  
The treasurer is also authorized to enter into a trust of 
indenture with a lender.  She may also designate 
whether or not bonds or notes issued for Bradley 
projects are federal income tax-exempt. The act 
specifies that the interest on bonds or notes must be 
included in computations of any excise or franchise tax.  
The act also makes several procedural changes in the 
process for issuing the bonds for Bradley projects. 

Finally, the act officially designates the Bradley 
Enterprise Fund as a separate nonlapsing enterprise 
fund.  
 
 
PA 01-6, June Special Session—SB 2001 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING VARIOUS TAXES AND 
OTHER PROVISIONS RELATED TO REVENUES 
OF THE STATE 
 
SUMMARY:  This act makes many changes in various 
tax laws as well as several statutory changes to 
implement the FY 2001-03 state budget.  Among other 
things, it:  

1. exempts hospital patient care services from the 
sales and use tax until July 1, 2003; 

2. increases a tax credit for HMOs that provide 
health coverage under the HUSKY A, HUSKY 
B, or HUSKY Plus programs for low-income 
children and their parents; 

3. reduces the state’s reimbursement to 
municipalities for lost revenue from property 
tax exemptions for new machinery and 
equipment and trucks; 

4. extends various tax exemptions for fuel cell 
manufacturing material and equipment and 
alternative fuel vehicles; 

5. changes the basis for taxing cell phone service 
to comply with federal law, starting August 2, 
2002; 

6. caps funding for tourism districts for two years 
and diverts hotel tax revenue to fund specified 
tourist attractions; 

7. allows municipalities to double the property 
tax exemption for farm machinery;  

8. imposes a civil fine on cigarette dealers and 
distributors who sell loose cigarettes; and 

9. makes drivers’ licenses valid for six, rather 
than four, years (a provision later modified in 
PA 01-9, June Special Session). 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2001 unless noted below. 
 
SALES AND USE TAX  
 
Exemptions  
 
 Patient Care Services (§§ 1-3). The act suspends 
the 5.75% sales and use tax on hospital patient care 
services for two years, from July 1, 2001 through June 
30, 2003. 
 Parking Facilities (§ 1). The act expands a sales and 
use tax exemption for parking in municipally operated 
railroad parking facilities located in areas designated 
under the federal Clean Air Act as having the worst 
ozone air pollution (primarily fairfield county) to include 
those that are state-owned or operated on and after April 
1, 2000.  

Fuel Cell Manufacturing Materials (§ 18). The act 
eliminates the sales and use tax on material, tools, fuel, 
machinery, and equipment bought for use, consumption, 
or storage by fuel cell manufacturing facilities.  Under 
the act,  (1) a “fuel cell” is a device that produces 
electricity directly or indirectly from hydrogen or 
hydrocarbon fuel through an electro-chemical process, 
rather than by burning; (2) a “fuel cell manufacturing 
facility” is a factory where fuel cell parts or components 
are manufactured, overhauled, or rebuilt; and (3) 
“machinery and equipment” is tangible personal 
property installed in a fuel-cell manufacturer’s facility 
and used largely to produce fuel cells. 

Alternative Fuel Vehicles (§ 22). The act extends 
for six months, from January 1, 2002 to June 30, 2002, 
the expiration dates of sales and use tax exemptions for: 

1. new vehicles that run exclusively on natural 
gas or electricity;  

2. new vehicles that run  exclusively on propane, 
if they meet federal or state emission standards 
under the Clean Air Act; 
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3. equipment used to convert vehicles to run 
exclusively on natural gas, electricity, or 
propane, or to run on one of those fuels and 
any other fuel; and 

4. equipment used in, or as part of, a compressed 
natural gas filling or electric recharging station 
for alternative-fuel vehicles. 

Caskets for Cremation (§ 61). The act expands the 
existing sales tax exemption for burial caskets to cover 
caskets used for cremation, regardless of who sells them 
and how much they cost.  Property that funeral homes 
use in preparing for and conducting burials and 
cremations was already exempt, up to a maximum of 
$2,500 per funeral. 

Indian Tribes and Affiliated Businesses (§ 30). The 
act extends a sales tax exemption that already applied to 
certain services rendered between affiliated businesses 
to the same services rendered between federally 
recognized Indian tribes and their affiliated businesses.  
The exemption covers transactions between a tribe and a 
business it controls and between two or more businesses 
the tribe controls.  The exemption applies to such 
taxable services as computer and data processing, 
management consulting, business analysis, and 
telecommunications and cable television services. 

This provision takes effect October 1, 2001 and 
applies to sales made on and after that date. 
       
 Internet Access Service (§ 65). The act eliminates 
the use tax on Internet access service as of July 1, 2001.  
The law already eliminated the sales tax on Internet 
access service as of the same date. 
 
Cell Phone Service (§ 71) 

 
Basis for Applying Tax. The act changes the criteria 

for determining when the Connecticut sales tax applies 
to cellular mobile phone and related services, starting 
with service rendered after August 1, 2002.  On or 
before that date, under existing law, a completed cell 
phone call is taxable by Connecticut if the first cell site 
used to transmit it is in this state.  After that date, under 
the act, all charges for cell phone service billed by or for 
a customer’s home service provider are taxable if the 
street address where the customer’s cell phone usage 
primarily occurs (“place of primary use”) is in 
Connecticut.  The home service provider is the company 
that contracts with the customer to provide the cell 
phone service.  

The change conforms state law to the federal 
Mobile Telecommunications Sourcing Act, which as of 
August 1, 2002, bars a state or local government from 
taxing cell phone service if the customer’s place of 

primary use is not within its taxing jurisdiction (PL 106-
274, 4 U.S.C. §§ 116-126).  

The act maintains the existing taxing basis for all 
service rendered before August 2, 2002. It also states 
that, if a court’s final judgment on the merits of the 
federal law substantially limits or invalidates its 
essential elements and the judgment cannot be appealed, 
its taxing scheme is invalid as of the date of the final 
judgment.  In such a situation, the basis for the tax 
reverts to the existing law. 

Home Service Provider and Place of Primary Use. 
Under federal law and the act, the home service 
provider is responsible for obtaining and maintaining a 
record of each customer’s place of primary use.  The 
provider may rely in good faith on the address the 
customer gives it and may continue to use any address it 
has for the customer in any service contract in effect on 
July 28, 2002, unless the Department of Revenue 
Services (DRS) commissioner notifies it of a different 
address.  Before notifying the provider, DRS must give 
the customer a chance to prove the address he gave the 
provider is his place of primary use. 

Electronic Database.  Federal law and this act 
allow DRS to give service providers an electronic 
database that meets certain technological standards and 
shows the street addresses within the state so the 
providers may determine the correct taxing jurisdictions 
for their customers.  If DRS does not provide a 
database, the home service provider is not responsible 
for tax mistakes as long as it uses nine-digit zip codes to 
assign addresses to taxing jurisdictions and tries 
diligently to assign addresses to the correct jurisdictions. 

Customer Appeals. A customer who believes his 
tax rate or his assigned tax jurisdiction is wrong must 
notify his provider in writing. He must include his 
correct primary use address, the name and account 
number for which he is requesting the correction, and 
any other information the provider reasonably requires.  
The provider must review its records within 60 days.  If 
it finds a mistake, it must correct it and refund any tax 
overpayment.  If it finds no mistake, it must give the 
customer a written explanation. 

The provider’s liability for erroneous tax payment 
refunds applies for two years from the date of the 
customer’s written notice of overpayment.  A customer 
who is not satisfied and who exhausts the provider’s 
appeal procedures may file for a refund with DRS 
within three years of the last overpayment. 

Taxable and Nontaxable Services. The act allows 
nontaxable service to be taxed unless the provider can 
reasonably separate the nontaxable service using its 
regular books and records. A customer cannot rely on 
service not being taxed unless (1) the charges for 
nontaxable service are stated separately or (2) the 
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provider decides, after receiving a written request from 
a customer in whatever form it requires, to provide 
verifiable data from its regular records that identifies 
nontaxable charges. 

These changes apply to customer bills issued after 
August 1, 2002, which is the first day of the month 
beginning more than two years after the enactment of 
PL 106-252. 
 
Security Requirements for Out-Of-State Contractors (§ 
45)  
 
 The act gives a person who hires an out-of-state 
contractor more time to post security with DRS to 
guarantee payment of sales tax on property to be used in 
fulfilling the contract.  By law, the person hiring the 
contractor must post the security if the contractor does 
not.  For contracts lasting longer than 90 days, the act 
extends the deadline from 30 to 90 days after the 
contract starts.  For shorter contracts, the act extends the 
deadline from 30 to 45 days after the contract starts. 

 
BUSINESS TAX CREDITS 
 
HMO HUSKY Tax Credit (§ 4) 
 

The act increases the tax credit for HMOs 
providing health coverage under the HUSKY A, 
HUSKY B, or HUSKY Plus programs from $55 to 
$73.50 per patient per month.  The credit counts against 
the HMOs’ net direct subscriber tax and applies to 
income years starting on and after January 1, 2001.  As 
under prior law, the credit is multiplied by the number 
of patients the HMO covers on the first of each month 
and divided by 12.  

 
Computer Equipment Provided to Higher Education 
Institutions (§ 19) 

  
Beginning July 1, 2003, the act doubles, from $2 

million to $4 million, the aggregate credit a qualifying 
company may take against sales and use taxes owed for 
certain computer equipment. The credit equals the 
resources the company provides to a Connecticut 
college or university for buildings and classrooms, 
computer equipment, or computer programs used for 
business instruction related to workforce development 
or electronic commerce.   

By law, to qualify for a credit, a company must (1) 
be selected by the commissioner of higher education 
and (2) have a permit to pay sales tax directly to the 
DRS commissioner rather than through a vendor.  The 
computer equipment against which the credit applies 
must be bought on or after July 1, 2000 for use in 

electronic commerce in the state.  
 
Insurance Reinvestment Fund Tax Credits  
 

Expiration Date (§ 39). The act eliminates 
premium, corporation, and personal income tax credits 
for investments in Connecticut-based insurance 
companies made after December 31, 2015 through state-
registered investment funds.  As under prior law, 
investments must be made through funds formed on or 
before July 1, 2000. 

Eligibility Criteria (§ 72). By law, for an investor to 
be eligible for tax credits, the insurance company 
invested in must employ at least 25% of its total 
workforce in new jobs in Connecticut.  If the business 
fails to maintain the 25% level at any time during a year 
for which the investor claims a credit, the credit is 
disallowed. This act allows an investor to retain the 
credit if the insurance company fails to meet the 
employment threshold because it is liquidated or 
reorganized in a bankruptcy proceeding or in a 
proceeding instituted to liquidate, rehabilitate, conserve, 
or reorganize it under state insurance laws.  Prior law 
only allowed an investor to keep the credit if the 
company did not meet the threshold because it was 
dissolved in such proceedings. 

Repayment Exemption (§§ 80 & 81). By law, an 
investor must repay any tax credits he receives for any 
year in which the company fails to employ at least 25% 
of its total workforce in new jobs in Connecticut.  The 
act allows investors to continue receiving credits and 
exempts them from repayment requirements even if the 
share of the insurer’s Connecticut workforce employed 
in new jobs falls below 25% of its total workforce, as 
long as it maintains the same regular, permanent, full-
time employment levels in Connecticut while the credit 
applies.  This exemption applies to any investment fund, 
regardless of when it was formed. 
 
HOTEL TAX REVENUE OFFSETS (§§ 5 & 6) 
 
Cap on Allocations to Tourism Districts 
 

By law, the DRS commissioner must (1) segregate 
a percentage of the 12% tax on gross revenue from 
room rentals in hotels and lodging houses and (2) 
distribute the segregated revenue to the state’s 11 
tourism districts according to a statutory formula. (Part 
of the amounts distributed to the Hartford, New Haven, 
Stamford, Norwalk, and Bridgeport districts are 
allocated to specific entities.)  For FYs 2001-02 and 
2002-03, the act caps the total amount allocated to 
tourism districts at FY 2000-01 levels.   

  



258 2001 JUNE SPECIAL SESSION 

 
2001 OLR PA Summary Book 

Exclusions from Cap 
 
The act exempts the specified percentages of hotel 

tax revenue raised in certain towns that the law requires 
to be devoted to certain entities (see Table 1) from the 
cap on allocations to tourism districts. 

 
Table 1: Statutory Allocations Exempted from Cap 

City To Allocation 
Hartford Capital City Economic 

Development Authority  
90% 

 Greater Hartford Arts 
Council  

10% 

New 
Haven 

New Haven Coliseum 
Authority  

75% 

Stamford Stamford Center for the 
Arts  

75% 

Norwalk Maritime Center  75% 
Bridgeport Greater Fairfield Tourism 

District  
(to market Bridgeport 
attractions) 

75% 

 
Annual Revenue Diversions 

 
Starting in FY 2001-02, the act requires the 

commissioner to divert enough hotel tax revenues 
annually to fund the following: 

 
Table 2: Annual Revenue Diversions 

To FYs Purpose Annual amt. 

Freedom Trail - plaques and 
other site markings for 
underground railroad and 
related sites. 

$40,000 
Historical 
Commission  

2001-02 
and after 

Historical Resource 
Inventory $30,000 

Department of 
Economic and 
Community 
Development 

2001-02 
and after Publicize the Freedom Trail $50,000 

Arts 
Commission 

2001-02 
and after 

Promote and publicize the 
Impressionists Arts Trail 

$50,000 

Central Tourism 
Account 

2001-02 
and after 

Regular operations $500,000 

2001-02 Regular operations $400,000  
 Film, Video and 

Media Office 2002-03 
and after 

Regular operations $412,000 

2001-02 $658,898  
 Department of 

Transportation  2002-03 
and after 

Rocky Hill and Chester and 
Hadlyme ferries 

$688,202 

 
Balance to General Fund 

 
For the FYs 2001-02 and 2002-03, the act requires 

any hotel tax revenue over and above the amounts it 

allocates to go to the General Fund. 
 

Miscellaneous Changes 
 
The act eliminates a requirement that hotel tax 

revenue from rooms added to existing hotels in Hartford 
on or after May 2, 2000 be shared by the Greater 
Hartford Arts Council and the Capital City Economic 
Development Authority.  The council and the authority 
continue to share revenue from any new hotels 
established in Hartford on or after that date. It also 
makes technical changes and deletes obsolete language. 

 
OTHER REVENUE OFFSET AND NET FUNDING 
PROVISIONS  
 
Refunds of State Payments  (§§ 7 -10) 

 
The act requires refunds of state payments other 

than taxes to be paid out of the fund to which the 
payment was originally credited instead of out of an 
appropriation to the comptroller. It also requires the 
revenue estimates included in the biennial budget act to 
be reduced by estimated refunds of such overpayments, 
as they already must be by estimated tax refunds. 
 
R&D Tax Credit Refunds (§ 11) 

 
The act gives companies credit refunds instead of 

cash payments for unused corporation tax credits for 
research and development (R&D) expenses. A 
qualifying company that cannot take advantage of R&D 
tax credits in any year because it has no tax liability can 
either carry the credit forward or, under prior law, could 
exchange it for a cash payment of 65% of the amount of 
the credit.  The act changes the cash payment into a 
credit refund in the same amount.   

Businesses must apply to the revenue services 
commissioner for the credit refunds as they formerly did 
for cash payments.  Under the act, late R&D credit 
refund payments are not subject to the monthly 0.66% 
interest payable on late tax refunds. 

 
Riverview Hospital Payments (§ 12) 

 
Starting with FY 2001-02, the act requires revenue 

the Department of Administrative Services receives 
from Medicaid managed care plans for services 
performed at Riverview Hospital to be deposited in the 
General Fund and credited to a nonlapsing account in 
the Department of Social Services (DSS), to be used to 
pay Medicaid claims.  Riverview Hospital is a 
children’s mental health facility run by the Department 
of Children and Families.   
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Medicaid Payments for Special Education-Related 
Services in Schools (§ 13) 

  
Starting with FY 2001-02, the act requires all 

federal matching funds that DSS receives for special 
education-related services rendered in schools to be 
deposited in the General Fund and credited to a 
nonlapsing account in DSS, 60% of which is to be used 
to pay towns where the schools are located and the rest 
to pay Medicaid claims. 

DSS formerly paid for these services out of a grant 
established in DSS, with an annual appropriation of 
60% of federal reimbursements.  In turn, the total 
revenue the state received for these claims was 
deposited in the General Fund. 

 
Indirect Indian Tribe Regulatory Costs (§ 15) 

 
By law, state agencies must turn over to the 

treasurer for deposit in the General Fund any indirect 
costs they recover that were originally paid by the 
General Fund. The act exempts state agency overhead 
charges for state regulatory and law enforcement costs 
attributable to the activities of the Mashantucket Pequot 
and Mohegan tribes and recovered through assessments 
on the tribes. 

 
PROPERTY TAX 

 
State Reimbursement for Property Tax Exemptions for 
Machinery and Equipment and Trucks (§ 57) 

 
The act reduces, from 100% to 80%, the state 

reimbursement to municipalities for revenue they lose 
as a result of mandatory five-year property tax 
exemptions for: 

1. new or newly acquired machinery and 
equipment;  

2. new commercial trucks and vehicles used in 
combination with them that weigh more than 
26,000 pounds and are used exclusively for 
carrying freight in inter- or intrastate 
commerce; and  

3. all new commercial trucks and vehicles used in 
combination with them that weigh more than 
55,000 pounds.   

The reduction in the reimbursement rate applies to 
machinery, equipment, and trucks first approved for 
exemptions on or after October 1, 2000. 

 
Exemptions 

 
Extension for Certain Manufacturers (§ 17). The 

act gives companies manufacturing pharmaceutical, 

medicinal chemical, and botanical products an extra five 
years to continue receiving an 80% property tax 
exemption on machinery and equipment installed in a 
manufacturing facility. These companies qualify for the 
extension if (1) they employ at least 1,000 new people 
and (2) the Department of Economic and Community 
Development (DECD) commissioner approves a five-
year extension for the facility’s real property.    

By law, most manufacturers and specified service 
firms qualify for a five-year, 80% abatement on 
facilities they develop or acquire in an enterprise zone 
or other designated area and the machinery and 
equipment installed in these facilities.  The state 
reimburses towns for some of the revenue loss.   

Manufacturing Machinery and Equipment 
Exemption—“Related Business” (§ 83).  By law, 
property is not eligible for the tax exemption for new 
and newly acquired manufacturing machinery and 
equipment that is merely transferred from one business 
to its affiliate or a related business. This act defines a 
“related business” for purposes of the exclusion as (1) a 
corporation, limited liability company, partnership, 
association, or trust the taxpayer controls; (2) such an 
entity, or an individual, that controls the taxpayer; (3) an 
entity controlled by an individual or entity the taxpayer 
controls; or (4) a member of the same controlled group 
as the taxpayer.   

Under the act, “control” means directly or 
indirectly owning at least 50% of the combined voting 
power of all classes of a corporation’s voting stock or at 
least 50% of the beneficial interest in the principal or 
income of a trust.  The act applies certain federal criteria 
to determine who is the constructive owner of corporate 
stock, interests in a partnership or association, and 
beneficial interest in trust principal or income.  Those 
criteria require (1) stock owned directly or indirectly by 
or for a corporation, partnership, estate, or trust to be 
considered as owned proportionately by or for its 
shareholders, partners, or beneficiaries and (2) stock 
owned directly or indirectly by or for an individual’s 
family (whole or half-siblings, spouse, ancestors, and 
lineal descendants) to be considered as owned by the 
individual (26 U.S.C. § 267(c)). 

Farm Machinery (§ 82). By law, towns must 
exempt farm machinery worth $100,000 or less, other 
than motor vehicles, from property taxes.  The act gives 
town legislative bodies the option to exempt farm 
machinery worth up to an additional $100,000. Farmers 
must qualify and apply for the optional exemption in the 
same way they do for the mandatory exemption. This 
provision applies to assessment years beginning October 
1, 2001. 
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Credit, Exemption, and Rental Rebate Administrative 
Review Process (§§ 46-55) 
 
 Covered Programs . The act creates a uniform 
procedure for people and businesses (i.e., claimants) to 
appeal decisions by the Office of Policy and Management 
(OPM) secretary affecting their eligibility for benefits 
under several state-reimbursed property tax exemption 
and relief programs.  It applies to tax exemptions granted 
to commercial vehicles and manufacturing facilities, 
machinery, and equipment and to programs extending tax 
credits and rebates to veterans, people with disabilities, 
and elderly and disabled homeowners and renters.   

The new procedure replaces prior processes for 
appealing OPM decisions regarding these benefits but 
incorporates many elements of the old procedure for 
appealing decisions regarding exemptions for 
commercial vehicles and manufacturing machinery and 
equipment.   

OPM Secretary’s Authority. The act explicitly 
allows the secretary to take certain actions that could 
trigger an appeal. He can review applications for 
benefits and deny reimbursement to towns if the 
property or the claimant is ineligible.  He can modify 
the amount of the benefit approved by the tax assessor 
or other municipal official if it is mathematically 
incorrect, unsupported by the application, or fails to 
conform to the law or if he needs more information to 
justify approval. 

Preliminary Decision and Notice. The secretary 
must notify the person or the business claiming a benefit 
when he modifies the benefit amount or makes a 
preliminary decision that they do not qualify.  He must 
send the notice by first class mail to the address on the 
application unless the claimant notified him in writing 
to send correspondence about the benefit to another 
name or address. The notice date is the date the claimant 
receives it.  

The secretary must send a copy of the preliminary 
notice to the assessor or the municipal official who 
approved the claimant’s application. The notice must 
plainly explain the reasons for the secretary’s actions, 
give the name and telephone number of the person in 
OPM who can answer questions about the notice, 
specify any additional information the secretary needs 
to approve the benefit, and specify the process for 
asking the secretary to reconsider his decision.  

Reconsideration. The claimant has 30 business days 
from when he receives the notice to ask the secretary to 
reconsider his decision for any factual reason.  He must 
explain in writing why he wants the secretary to 
reconsider and provide any additional information or 
documentation the secretary requested in the notice. The 
secretary can extend the 30-day deadline if the claimant 

proves he requested the additional information and 
documentation from another government agency or for 
other good cause. Within 30 business days after 
receiving the claimant’s request and the information, the 
secretary must reconsider his decision and notify the 
claimant in writing about the results. 

Hearing. The claimant can request a hearing if he is 
still aggrieved after the secretary reconsiders his 
decision. He must request the hearing in writing within 
30 business days after the secretary’s notice, stating 
why the secretary should not deny or modify the benefit.  

The secretary has 30 business days from when he 
receives the request to decide whether to hold the 
hearing and notify the claimant in writing about his 
decision. If he denies the request, he must state his 
reasons.  If he approves, he must notify the claimant in 
writing and schedule a hearing within 30 business days.  
The notice must also indicate the hearing date, time, and 
place.  The secretary may hold the hearing in the 
judicial district where the claimant lives or his property 
is located. 

The secretary has up to 30 business days after the 
hearing to decide the issue and notify the claimant and 
the assessor or municipal official who approved the 
benefit.  He must notify the claimant and appropriate 
local officials about his final decision before the 
statutory deadline for certifying the benefit amount to 
the comptroller. 

Appeal to Superior Court. The claimant can appeal 
to Superior Court if the secretary rejects his request for 
a hearing or if the secretary’s final decision after the 
hearing aggrieves him.  In either case, he must do so 
within 30 business days of the decision. He can appeal 
to the court in the judicial district where he lives or his 
property is located.  The claimant must include with the 
appeal a citation to the secretary to appear in court and 
serve the citation on the secretary like a summons in a 
civil action.  The appeal does not stop the town from 
collecting taxes on the claimant’s property.  
The claimant must provide a bond or other surety to the 
state to insure that he will go through with the appeal 
and comply with the court’s orders and decrees. The 
court must treat the appeal as a preferred case and grant 
equitable relief. It can impose court costs on the 
claimant if it denies the appeal, and double or triple 
costs on the claimant if the appeal is without probable 
cause. It cannot impose costs on the state. 

Changing the Grand List. Assessors must decide if 
they need to increase the taxable grand list after the 
secretary first notifies them that he denied or modified a 
benefit. The act gives them up to 90 days after the 
preliminary notice to do this and notify the tax collector 
about it. The tax collector must send a new bill within 
30 days. The claimant has up to 30 days after receiving 
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this bill to pay the tax. Otherwise he must pay the 
statutory interest penalty.  

An assessor must hold off taking these actions if the 
secretary notifies him that he has agreed to a hearing on 
the claimant’s application. In this case, he must wait 
until the secretary sends him the notice of final 
determination.   

Additional Veterans’ Exemption Program (§ 47).  
The act requires the secretary to review each application 
for benefits under this program and allows claimants to 
appeal directly to him when he makes decisions 
affecting their exemptions. Under prior law, they could 
appeal to the secretary an assessor’s decision affecting 
their applications but not a decision the secretary made 
after auditing the town’s claim for reimbursement.  

Claimants can still appeal the assessor’s decision to 
the town’s board of assessment appeals.  Prior law gave 
them the option of appealing the assessor’s decision 
after he completed the grand list or appealing to the 
board in February.  Under the act, claimants can appeal 
to the secretary after he acts on a town’s claim for 
reimbursement in July. 

Totally Disabled Person’s Property Tax Exemption 
(§ 48). The act eliminates the towns’ right to appeal the 
secretary’s decisions on their claims for state 
reimbursement for these exemptions and allows 
individuals and businesses to appeal a decision the 
secretary makes regarding their exemption. Prior law 
provided no procedure for claimants’ appeals.   

Machinery and Equipment and Commercial 
Vehicles Tax Exemptions (§ 49). The act changes the 
hearing requirements for these exemptions. It requires 
claimants to ask the secretary to reconsider a decision 
before they can request a hearing instead of when the 
secretary first notifies them about changes affecting 
their benefits.  

The act gives a claimant up to 30 business days, 
instead of a month, to request the hearing and requires 
the secretary to reconsider a decision before the 
claimant can request a hearing. It imposes deadlines by 
which the secretary must decide whether to hold the 
hearing and, if he chooses to, when to hold it.  The act 
reduces the time he has to make a decision from 60 days 
to 30 business days after the hearing.     

Elderly Tax Freeze Program (§§ 50 & 51). The act 
eliminates the one-year prison term for making a false 
statement or failing to disclose information under the 
tax freeze program, but retains the fine, which can be up 
to $500.  The law also requires people to refund tax 
freeze benefits if they fail to disclose all matters relating 
to the benefit or make false statements with the intent to 
defraud. (PA 01-9, June Special Session, requires the 
refund to be made to the town or the state, as 
appropriate.) 

The act eliminates a claimant’s right to appeal to 
the secretary an assessor’s decision affecting his benefit 
and a town’s right to appeal decisions the secretary 
makes after reviewing their reimbursement claims.  (PA 
01-9, June Special Session, restores claimants’ appeal 
rights.) 

It gives the claimant up to 30 business days instead 
of 30 days to request the hearing and allows the 
secretary to decide whether to hold a hearing rather than 
requiring him to hold it.  It imposes deadlines by which 
the secretary must decide whether to hold the hearing 
and, if he chooses to, when to hold it.  It requires the 
secretary to decide the matter within 30 business days, 
instead of 60 days, of the hearing and specifies how the 
claimant may appeal the decision to Superior Court. 

The act gives assessors 10 days to review, approve, 
and submit to the secretary applications for elderly tax 
freeze benefits submitted by people to whom he granted 
an extension.  By law, eligible homeowners must apply 
for the benefits between February 1 and May 15 each 
year and those needing an extension must ask the 
secretary by August 15.   

Elderly and Disabled Circuit Breaker and Rental 
Rebate Programs (§§ 52 & 53). The act sets uniform 
conditions under which the secretary can extend the 
deadline for submitting applications under the circuit 
breaker and rental rebate programs for elderly and 
totally disabled homeowners and renters. It allows the 
secretary to extend the deadline for submitting rental 
rebate applications for people who a doctor certifies as 
having been ill or incapacitated because of extenuating 
circumstances.  The secretary could already extend the 
deadline for good cause. 

It also allows him to extend the deadline for 
submitting applications under the homeowner program 
for good cause instead of only for applicants certified by 
a doctor as having been ill or incapacitated because of 
extenuating circumstances.       

It drops the 60-day deadline by which the secretary 
must review certificates for rental rebates and notify 
assessors and claimants about errors; gives a claimant 
30 business days, instead of 30 days, to ask the secretary 
to reconsider his decision; and shortens from 60 days to 
30 business days the secretary’s deadline for acting on 
the claimant’s request.   

If the claimant requests a hearing, the act requires 
him to state why the secretary should not deny him the 
rebate.  It allows, rather than requires, the secretary to 
hold a hearing on the request.  If he agrees to the 
hearing, he must schedule it within 30 business days 
after notifying the claimant. And he must render a 
decision within 30 days after the hearing. Prior law only 
required the secretary to notify the claimant at least 15 
days before the hearing.  The act does not explicitly 
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allow the secretary to subpoena witnesses and 
administer oaths at the hearing.  

The act specifies how a claimant may appeal the 
secretary’s decision to Superior Court and eliminates a 
claimant’s right to appeal assessors’ decisions to the 
OPM secretary. (PA 01-9, June Special Session, 
reinstates this right.) 

It eliminates a one-year prison term for making 
false statements to obtain a rebate but retains the fine of 
up to $500.  It also drops the one-year deadline by 
which the secretary must review certificates for circuit 
breaker tax credits and notify assessors and claimants 
about any errors he finds and makes the same changes 
as it makes to the rental rebate program.   

Exemptions for Manufacturing Facilities and 
Machinery and Equipment (§ 55). The act allows 
businesses receiving these exemptions to appeal the 
secretary’s decisions that could affect them. It 
eliminates a town’s right to appeal the secretary’s 
decision denying reimbursement of the tax exemptions 
granted under this program.  

 
Payment in Lieu of Taxes (PILOT) Program 

 
Program Notices (§ 58). The act specifies the 

means by which the OPM secretary must notify 
municipalities regarding PILOT property reevaluations 
and reduces the time within which municipalities must 
appeal reevaluation decisions to Superior Court. It also 
requires towns to provide the secretary with an assessed 
valuation for Indian reservation land and makes it clear 
that PILOT grants apply only to the real property of 
municipally owned airports. 

By law, the secretary must notify a municipality (1) 
when he intends to reevaluate its valuation of state-
owned property, Indian reservation land, or municipally 
owned airports eligible for PILOT grants and (2) of his 
decision on its appeal of such a reevaluation. The act 
requires the secretary to send these notices by registered 
or certified mail. It requires a municipality to appeal the 
secretary’s decision on a reevaluation to Superior Court 
within 10 days, rather than two weeks, of receiving the 
notice. It also makes technical changes. 

Payment Adjustment Cutoff (§ 59). The act moves 
the cutoff date for including adjustments based on 
reevaluations in PILOT payments. Under prior law, 
adjustments based on reevaluations made before 
September 1 had to be included in the September 30 

grant payment. The act moves the cutoff date back one 
month and requires the September 30 payment to reflect 
only adjustments made up to August 1.  Subsequent 
adjustments must be held over until the next payment.   

Payments for Private Higher Education Institutions 
(§ 60). The act eliminates the January 1 deadline for the 

OPM secretary to determine each municipality’s PILOT 
grant for tax-exempt property owned by private 
colleges, general and chronic disease hospitals, and 
certain urgent care facilities. It also spells out the types 
of private college property eligible for PILOT grants. 

It requires eligible property to not only be owned 
by, but also be used as, a private nonprofit institution of 
higher learning.  It also specifies that an educational 
institution offer, or accept transfer of, college-level 
credit and be either licensed or accredited by the Board 
of Governors of Higher Education to offer degrees, or 
meet the following conditions: 

1. be established in Connecticut, 
2. have degree-granting authority and its home 

campus here, 
3. not be part of the state public higher education 

system, and 
4. not have the primary function of preparing 

students for a religious vocation. 
(All these changes relating to deadlines and higher 
education and hospital property were eliminated in PA 
01-9, June Special Session.) 
 
PETROLEUM PRODUCTS TAX  
 
Exemption for Propane Gas Used in Motor Vehicles (§ 
20) 
 

The act temporarily reinstates an exemption from 
the petroleum products gross earnings tax for earnings 
from the sale of propane for use in gas-powered 
vehicles.  The new exemption applies to petroleum 
products refiners’ and distributors’ first sales in the state 
during FY 2001-02.  The previous exemption expired 
on December 31, 1999.   
 
Tax Threshold for Non-Refiners and Non-Distributors 
(§ 31) 
 

The act reduces the quarterly import threshold for a 
company that is not a petroleum refiner or distributor to 
pay the petroleum products tax.  Under the act, such a 
company must pay if it imports more than $3,000, rather 
than $100,000, worth of petroleum products per quarter 
into the state. By law, the tax is payable on the 
consideration the company gives for the petroleum 
products it imports that exceed the threshold. The new 
threshold applies to quarterly periods beginning October 
1, 2001. 
 
Fisheries Account Allocation (§ 16) 

 
For FY 2002-03, the act requires the DRS 

commissioner to deposit $1 million in petroleum 
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products gross earnings tax revenues directly in the 
Conservation Fund for allocation to the fisheries 
account for recreational fishing purposes.  Under prior 
law, all of the revenue went to the Special 
Transportation Fund. The $1 million allocation is in 
addition to the $2.05 million allocated to the fisheries 
account annually from revenue generated by sale of 
motor fuel by distributors to boat yards, marinas, and 
similar facilities. 
 
CIGARETTES AND TOBACCO PRODUCTS  
 
Penalty For Selling Loose Cigarettes (§ 44) 
 

The act allows the DRS commissioner, after a 
hearing, to impose a civil penalty on cigarette dealers 
and distributors who sell cigarettes in any form other 
than in sealed packages of 20 or more.  The penalty is 
$50 for a first offense, $250 for a second, and $500 for a 
third or subsequent offense.  The fine is in addition to 
existing penalties, including suspension or revocation of 
the dealer’s or distributor’s license to sell cigarettes. 

A dealer or distributor may appeal the 
commissioner’s decision to impose the fine to Superior 
Court according to the same procedures for appealing 
other cigarette licensing and tax decisions. 
 
Tax Stamps (§ 27) 
 

The act updates language concerning the types of 
stamps DRS can sell to cigarette dealers and distributors 
to put on cigarette packages to show they have paid the 
cigarette tax. It eliminates references to impressions by 
metering machines and substitutes heat-applied decals.  
DRS has been allowed to use decals since 1993. The 
changes take effect January 1, 2002. 
 
“Roll Your Own” Tobacco (§§ 27 & 28) 
 

Effective January 1, 2002, the act applies the 
cigarette tax, instead of the tobacco products tax, to 
“roll your own” tobacco, with each .09 ounces of such 
tobacco counting as one cigarette.  The cigarette tax is 
25 mills per cigarette ($.50 for each pack of 20).  The 
tobacco products tax is 20% of the wholesale price.  
Under the act, “roll your own” tobacco is tobacco that, 
by its appearance, type, label, or package, is suitable 
and likely to be bought and sold for making cigarettes.  

 
Snuff Tobacco (§§ 28 & 29) 

 
By law, snuff tobacco is taxed by weight rather 

than wholesale price.  Effective January 1, 2002, the act 
requires covered snuff tobacco to have the words 

“snuff” or “snuff flour,” the federal tax designation 
“Tax Class M,” or both,  printed on the package.  
 
PERSONAL INCOME TAX 
 
Lottery Winnings (§ 37) 

 
The act imposes the Connecticut income tax on a 

nonresident’s winnings of more than $5,000 in a lottery 
run by the Connecticut Lottery Corporation.  By making 
this change, the act has the simultaneous effect of giving 
a Connecticut resident who wins more than $5,000 in 
another state’s lottery a credit against his Connecticut 
income tax for any income taxes he must pay in the 
other state on his winnings.  The change applies to 
taxable years beginning January 1, 2001. 
 
Definition of Adjusted Gross Income (§§ 35 & 36) 

 
The act specifies that the starting point for 

determining a taxpayer’s Connecticut adjusted gross 
income for state income tax purposes is the federal 
adjusted gross income he reported on his federal return. 
The Connecticut Supreme Court held, under prior law, 
that a taxpayer could adjust his adjusted gross income to 
account for federal deductions in a prior year that 
produced no corresponding Connecticut tax benefit to 
him in that year (Berkley v. Galvin, 253 Conn. 761 
(2000)).  This act makes it clear that the only 
permissible adjustments to Connecticut adjusted gross 
income are those specified in state law. The provision 
applies to all open tax periods. 

 
 

Trusts and Estates (§ 68) 
 
The act makes Connecticut income tax credits that 

apply to residents and part-year residents for income tax 
payments to other states also apply to resident trusts and 
estates and part-year resident trusts, respectively. 

 
MOTOR VEHICLE FEES 
 
Six-Year Drivers’ Licenses (§§ 74-78) 

 
The act (1) makes motorcycle and motor vehicle 

operators licenses valid for six rather than four years, 
but maintains the option for people age 65 or older to 
request a two-year license; (2) increases license fees by 
amounts proportionate with the longer license periods; 
(3) makes associated changes; and (4) removes obsolete 
language. (PA 01-9, June Special Session, modifies 
these provisions to require licenses to be renewed every 
four or six years according to a schedule set by the 
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motor vehicle commissioner and makes associated 
changes.) 

 
Clean Air Registration Assessment (§ 79) 

 
The act (1) increases the clean air assessment fee on 

motor vehicle registration renewals; (2) applies the 
increased fee to new as well as renewal registrations; 
and (3) splits the fee revenue between the Special 
Transportation Fund (57.5%) and the Clean Air Act 
account (42.5%), instead of allocating it all to the latter. 
The act increases the fee from $4 to $10 for vehicles 
with two-year registration periods and to $5 for vehicles 
with one-year registrations, including those for anyone 
age 65 or more who elects to register his vehicle for one 
year instead of two.   

The Clean Air Act account is a special nonlapsing 
General Fund account used to pay state agency costs for 
implementing requirements of the federal Clean Air Act 
that are not otherwise covered by fees the environmental 
protection commissioner collects from owners or 
operators of air pollution sources. 

 
EMERGENCY SPILL RESPONSE ACCOUNT 
TRANSFER (§ 14) 

 
The act transfers the Emergency Spill Response 

account from the General Fund to the Environmental 
Quality Fund as of July 1, 2001 and allows the 
transferred money to be used starting on that date. (The 
account funds various activities in connection with 
petroleum and hazardous waste spills.) It repeals a 
provision that allowed up to $1 million of the amount 
appropriated to the General Fund account to be carried 
over from year-to-year. 

The act requires the environmental protection 
commissioner to submit an annual operating budget for 
the account to the OPM secretary.  The budget must 
cover funded programs and include an estimate of the 
revenue from all sources to pay its estimated 
expenditure for the fiscal year. The secretary must 
approve the budget, including any changes he and the 
commissioner agree to, by June 1 annually. 

 
UTILITY TAX EXEMPTION FOR PROPANE GAS 
USED IN MOTOR VEHICLES (§ 21) 
 

The act extends for six months, from January 1, 
2002 to June 30, 2002, the expiration of an exemption 
from the utility gross earnings tax for income private 
and municipal gas companies earn from selling propane 
for gas-powered vehicles.  The act exempts such income 
earned in any taxable quarter prior to June 30, 2002. 

 

CORPORATION TAX 
 

Apportionment Petitions (§ 24) 
 
The law requires multi-state financial services 

companies to use receipts as the single factor in 
apportioning their net income for the state corporation 
tax.  The act imposes a deadline by which a company 
may submit a written petition to the DRS commissioner 
proving that the requirement does not apply to it.  The 
petition deadline is 60 days before the due date, 
including extensions, of the return to which the petition 
applies.  The commissioner must grant or deny the 
petition before the due date. The change applies to 
income years beginning January 1, 2001 with respect to 
petitions filed beginning October 1, 2001. 

 
Filing and Payment Deadlines (§ 25) 

 
The act changes the due date for corporation tax 

returns from the first day of the fourth month after the 
end of the company’s income year to the first day of the 
month after the due date of its federal return for the 
same year, excluding extensions.  For companies that do 
not have to file a federal return, the act establishes the 
first day of the month after the end of its income year as 
the filing deadline. 

By law, when the DRS commissioner grants an 
extension for filing a final corporation tax return, the 
company must pay the tax shown on its tentative return.  
If the difference between that amount and the amount 
shown on its final return is 10% or less and the 
company pays the final amount when it files its final 
return, there is no penalty.  This act specifies that, in 
order to avoid a penalty, a taxpayer must submit its final 
return and payment by the extended due date. 

The act also removes obsolete references to 
corporation tax filing deadlines for S corporations, 
which are no longer subject to the corporation tax.  
These provisions apply to income years beginning 
January 1, 2001. 

 
Returns for Affiliated Companies (§ 26) 

 
The act requires the deadline for affiliated 

companies to petition DRS to use an alternate method of 
determining their combined tax to be counted back from 
any extension of the due date for their combined return.  
As under prior law, the deadline is 60 days prior to the 
return’s due date. This provision applies to income 
years beginning January 1, 2001 with respect to 
petitions filed beginning October 1, 2001. 
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DRS PROCEDURES 
 
Taxpayer Names and Addresses (§ 23) 

 
The act allows the DRS commissioner to publish 

taxpayers’ names and towns or postal districts in order 
to notify them that they are entitled to refunds, if he has 
not been able to locate them after a reasonable time and 
effort.  Such taxpayer information was formerly 
confidential.  
 
Notice and Consent for Certain Property Transfers (§ 
84) 

 
The act eliminates both remaining requirements 

that the DRS commissioner receive notice of, and 
consent to, transfers of a decedent’s property and the 
penalty for failure to comply. Under prior law, the 
requirements applied to certain transfers of a decedent’s 
property subject to the succession tax. Failure to comply 
resulted in a penalty of triple the tax due.  Transfers of 
money in a joint account to the surviving account holder 
or in a trust account to the account beneficiary; 
payments under a retirement or pension plan, trust, or 
contract receivable after death to the beneficiary; and 
property transfers to a surviving spouse were already 
exempt. (PA 01-9, June Special Session, also eliminates 
these requirements.) 
 
Neighborhood Assistance Act Program Lists (§ 32) 

 
The act gives a municipality an extra 15 days, from 

July 1 to July 16, to submit to the DRS commissioner its 
annual list of programs to which businesses may make 
donations eligible for business tax credits under the 
Neighborhood Assistance Act.  If the municipality 
submits its list after July 1, it must (1) explain why it 
failed to send the list in by July 1 and (2) prove that it 
held the required public hearing on the list and that its 
local legislative body approved it by July 1. 
 
Electronic Tax Payments and Document Filing (§§ 33 
& 34) 

 
Under the act, a tax payment made voluntarily by 

electronic funds transfer is considered timely if the 
transfer is initiated on or before the due date, even if the 
funds are not credited to the DRS-designated bank 
account until later. This change applies to payments 
required to be made beginning July 1, 2001.  

The act also authorizes the DRS commissioner to 
allow a person to file optional documents with DRS by 
computer or by any new technology that may be 
developed as long as the person and the DRS 

commissioner agree that DRS may send documents and 
notices to the person by the same means.   

 
HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERATOR 
ASSESSMENTS (§§ 38 & 69) 

 
The act transfers responsibility for apportioning and 

assessing hazardous waste generators for the 
Connecticut Siting Council’s annual expenses from the 
DRS commissioner to the council.  It requires the 
council rather than the commissioner to deposit the 
payments with the state treasurer.  The act also 
eliminates the requirement that the expenses be 
apportioned according to each generator’s share of total 
hazardous waste generated and that generators submit 
quarterly returns.  Instead, it leaves the apportionment 
method and the payment schedule to the council’s 
discretion. 

Finally, the act expressly limits the assessment 
exemption for state agency and political subdivisions to 
Connecticut state agencies and political subdivisions.  
 
PREMIUM TAX CREDITS FOR INSURANCE 
GUARANTY FUND ASSESSMENTS 
 
Assessment Refunds (§§ 40 & 42) 

 
By law, insurance companies may take credits 

against their premium tax liability for assessments paid 
to the Connecticut Insurance Guaranty Association 
(CIGA) and the Connecticut Life and Health Insurance 
Guaranty Association (CLHIGA).  They must take the 
credits over five years at 20% of the assessment per year 
and repay credits if either guaranty association refunds 
the assessment.   

Under the act, instead of having to repay the state 
100% of any credits when it receives a refund, the 
insurer must repay only the credits it has already taken.  
It prohibits an insurer from taking a credit for any part 
of an assessment that has already been refunded. And it 
applies the 1% per month interest penalty if insurers fail 
to repay credits after a CLHIGA refund within 45, 
rather than 30, days after the association mails the 
refund. 

The act requires CIGA to notify the DRS 
commissioner not just that it has made a refund, but also 
of the names and addresses of the insurers that received 
them, the refund amounts, and the date they were made.  
It subjects insurers who fail to repay credits within 45 
days after a CIGA refund is mailed to the 1% per month 
interest penalty. These enhanced notice requirements 
and interest penalties match those the law already 
applies to CLHIGA refunds. 
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Credit Transfers (§§ 41 & 43) 
 
By law, insurers may transfer guaranty association 

credits to affiliates.  The act states that such a transfer 
does not affect the insurer’s obligation to repay credits 
when it receives a refund. It also specifies that a 
transferee can use the transferred credits only to offset 
its own premium tax liability.   

Finally, the act prohibits transferees from taking 
advantage of the credits unless the insurer, the affiliate, 
and any subsequent transferors and transferees file 
information concerning the transfer with DRS by the 
due date of the premium tax return on which the 
transferor would have taken the credit.  It requires DRS 
to provide forms for the filings. 

These transfer changes apply to calendar years 
beginning January 1, 2001. 
 
INDUSTRIAL CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM (§§ 62 & 
63) 
 

The act makes uniform the criteria under which 
businesses in specific classes of two different national 
classification systems qualify for enterprise zone 
benefits. Under prior law, businesses in specified 
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) groups had to 
demonstrate a strong performance in exporting goods or 
services in order to qualify for benefits, while 
businesses in specified North American Industrial 
Classification System (NAICS) groups did not. The act 
extends the export performance requirement to 
businesses in the specified NAICS groups. (The NAICS 
is a new classification system that is replacing the SIC.) 

The act also gives the DECD commissioner 
discretion to award enterprise zone benefit eligibility 
certificates to manufacturers based on whether they 
meet all the eligibility criteria instead of directing him 
to award them to companies in specified classifications 
regardless of whether they show strong export 
performance.  
 
BONDS SECURED BY GRANTS IN LIEU OF 
TAXES (§ 73) 

 
The act expands the capacity of the Connecticut 

Development Authority or its subsidiaries to issue 
bonds on behalf of towns under PA 01-179.  That act 
allows them to finance information technology and 
brownfield remediation projects by issuing bonds 
secured by incremental property tax revenues or state 
grants in lieu of property taxes. But it limits the total 
amount of bonds secured by the latter to an amount that 
does not generate more than $1 million in debt service.  
This act specifies that the debt service limit is $1 million 

per state fiscal year.    
 
 
PA 01-7, June Special Session—SB 2002 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT INCREASING CERTAIN BOND 
AUTHORIZATIONS FOR CAPITAL 
IMPROVEMENTS AND CONCERNING 
UNEXPENDED BOND PROCEEDS 
 
SUMMARY: This act authorizes $481 million in 
general obligation (GO) bonds in FY 2001-02 and $731 
million in FY 2002-03 for economic development, town 
and school capital improvements, water pollution 
control, workers’ compensation liability, and other 
purposes.  This total includes $40 million for a new 
small town economic assistance program and $53 
million to transfer some state workers’ compensation 
claims to a third party.  The act also authorizes $81 
million in Clean Water Fund revenue bonds in FY 
2001-02 and $158 million in FY 2002-03.  And it 
reduces the bond authorization for school construction 
interest subsidy grants by $23 million to $121 million. 

The act: 
1. reallocates private activity bonding authority 

and transfers the functions of the Private 
Activity Bond Commission to the State Bond 
Commission, 

2. establishes a process for reporting on and 
reallocating unexpended bond allotments after 
a bond-financed project is completed, 

3. provides for the conveyance of certain water 
company property to the state and the Nature 
Conservancy, 

4. creates a new affordable housing program 
using existing bond funds to provide financial 
assistance to a wide range of projects, 

5. “fast tracks” a project to develop a juvenile 
facility for girls, 

6. requires the state to credit to a debt retirement 
reserve account all payments it receives to 
settle lawsuits related to financing backed by a 
special capital reserve fund, 

7. allows bond funds authorized to construct the 
convention center at Adriaen's Landing also to 
be used for constructing related parking 
facilities, 

8. raises from $10 million to $20 million the cap 
on funding that state economic development 
agencies can provide for a biotechnology 
project without legislative approval, 

9. opens computer assisted mass appraisal grants 
to more towns,  
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10. allows state agencies to use the Capital 
Equipment Purchase Fund to buy data 
processing equipment costing less than $1,000 
per unit if it has a useful life of at least five 
years, and 

11. makes vineyard and winery development 
eligible for Manufacturing Assistance Act 
funding. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
INCREASED BOND AUTHORIZATIONS  

 
The act increases the following GO and revenue 

bond authorizations: 
 

Increase 
(million $) 

Purpose Agency Old 
Authoriza

-tion 
(million $) 

New 
Authoriza

-tion 
(million $) 

FY 
02 

FY 
03 

Economic 
and 
Community 
Develop-
ment 
(DECD) 

77.3 81.3 2 2 Urban 
Action 

Policy & 
Mgt. (OPM) 

545.3 825.3 140 140 

Manufact-
uring 
Assistance 

DECD 465.3 525.3 30 30 

Capital 
Equipment 
Purchase 
Fund 

OPM 189.5 227.5 21 17 

Local 
Capital 
Improve-
ments 

OPM 410 470 30 30 

School 
Construc-
tion 
Principal 
Payments 

Education 2,565.360 2,158.360 143 450 

Farm Land 
Preserva-
tion 

Agriculture 83.750 87.750 2 2 

Clean Water 
Fund GO 
bonds 

Environ-
mental 
Protection 
(DEP) 

717.830 797.830 40 40 

Clean Water 
Fund 
Revenue 
Bonds 

DEP 999.4 1,238.4 81 158 

 
SMALL TOWN ECONOMIC ASSISTANCE 
PROGRAM 

 
The act authorizes $20 million in bonds in both FYs 

2001-02 and 2002-03 for a new program of economic 

assistance to certain small towns.  OPM administers the 
program.  Towns can receive grants of up to $500,000 a 
year if (1) their population is under 30,000, (2) they are 
not designated as a distressed municipality or a public 
investment community, and (3) the State Plan of 
Conservation and Development does not show them as 
having an urban center.  They can use the grants for the 
same activities as larger communities can currently use 
Urban Action grants.  These include: 

1. economic development projects such as (a) 
constructing or rehabilitating commercial, 
industrial, or mixed-use structures and (b) 
constructing, reconstructing, or repairing roads, 
access ways, and other site improvements; 

2. urban transit; 
3. recreation and solid waste disposal projects;  
4. social service-related projects, including day 

care centers, elderly centers, domestic violence 
and emergency homeless shelters, 
multipurpose human resource centers, and food 
distribution facilities; 

5. housing projects; 
6. pilot historic preservation and redevelopment 

programs that leverage private funds; and 
7. other kinds of urban development projects 

involving economic and community 
development, transportation, environmental 
protection, public safety, children and families 
and social service programs, and library 
renovation and improvement. 

The act allows towns with more than 30,000 people 
that meet all the other eligibility criteria above to apply 
for up to $500,000 in Urban Action funds during FYs 
2001-02 and 2002-03. 
 
TRANSFER OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 
LIABILITY  

 
The act authorizes the administrative services 

commissioner to transfer some disabled state 
employees’ workers’ compensation claims to an 
independent third party (i.e., an insurer) as part of a loss 
portfolio arrangement program.  It permits her to 
transfer approved claims that require payment of 
medical and future indemnity benefits.  It authorizes 
$53 million in 10-year GO bonds in FY 2001-02 to 
finance the transfer. 

The loss portfolio arrangement program must make 
the independent third party responsible for managing 
and administering the claims liability it assumes in 
accordance with state workers’ compensation law. 
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PRIVATE ACTIVITY BONDS  
 
The act changes the statutory allocation of private 

activity bonds, which are revenue bonds towns and state 
quasi-public agencies issue for the benefit of private 
borrowers.  The federal government caps the total 
amount of such bonds that can be issued annually by 
entities in each state.  The act: 

1. increases the Connecticut Housing Finance 
Authority’s allocation from 40% of the cap to 
60%; 

2. reduces the Connecticut Development 
Authority’s allocation from 32% of the cap to 
15% in 2001 and 12.5% in 2002 and thereafter; 
and 

3. merges the allocation for towns and political 
subdivisions (previously 18% of the cap) and 
contingencies (previously 10%), adds the 
Connecticut Higher Education Supplemental 
Loan Authority to the entities that can issue 
bonds under this allocation, and sets this 
category’s allocation at 25% in 2001 and 
27.5% in 2002 and thereafter. 

The act eliminates the Private Activity Bond 
Commission and transfers its authority over these bonds 
to the State Bond Commission.  This means that when 
the General Assembly is not in session, the Bond 
Commission will be able to reallocate bonding authority 
for that year if it determines doing so is in the state’s 
best interests.  The Private Activity Bond Commission 
consisted of the governor, treasurer, OPM secretary, and 
12 legislators. 
 
UNEXPENDED BOND ALLOTMENTS  

 
The act establishes a process for reporting on and 

reallocating unexpended bond allotments after a bond-
financed project is completed.  It requires the chief 
administrative officer of the department, institution, or 
agency responsible for any bond-funded, Public Works 
Department-administered construction project (thus 
excluding legislative, Judicial Department, 
transportation-related, and UConn projects) estimated to 
cost over $10,000 to report the following information to 
the Bond Commission: (1) the project’s actual or 
estimated cost, (2) the amount held in retainage and the 
reason for it, and (3) the amount of the unspent bond 
allotment. This report must be made within 90 days 
after the project is completed or accepted.  By January 
1, 2002 and annually thereafter, these agency 
administrative officers must also report this information 
to the chairmen of the Finance, Revenue and Bonding 
Committee. 

 

The report can contain a recommendation to the 
OPM secretary on how to use the unspent money, and 
the secretary and governor can forward this 
recommendation to the General Assembly during its 
next regular session.  If no recommendation is made or 
if a recommendation is not referred,  (1) the Bond 
Commission can transfer the funds to the General Fund 
or contingency reserve fund for the act that authorized 
the funds or (2) the secretary can authorize spending the 
money to address conditions in state facilities that the 
public works commissioner declares constitute an 
emergency.  

 
KELDA LAND  

 
The act requires the environmental protection 

commissioner to approve the terms and conditions of 
any contract between him; the Nature Conservancy; and 
BHC Company, Aquarion, or Kelda Group to protect 
open space by buying land or land interests from the 
companies.  (PA 01-01, June Special Session specifies 
some of those terms and conditions.)  It requires any 
land the state purchases under such a contract to be 
preserved perpetually and kept predominately in its 
natural and open condition.  But recreation consistent 
with protecting natural resources is permitted. 

The act allows the companies to ask a court to 
enforce whatever contractual rights they have in and to 
land or interests in land they reserve as part of their 
property conveyances.  This is in addition to their right 
to bring a claim against the state to the claims 
commissioner.  It authorizes DEP and the state to fulfill 
their contractual obligations. 

The act makes the state’s right to acquire land from 
these companies superior to the right of another water 
company or a town to buy the land or a town to take it 
by eminent domain.  It supersedes another law that 
gives water companies and towns priority over the state.   

The law generally prohibits the sale, lease, 
assignment, or change of use of class I or II water 
company land without a Department of Public Health 
(DPH) permit.  The act allows the DPH commissioner 
to use his existing authority to issue one or more permits 
for the sale of the companies’ class II land to the Nature 
Conservancy and for the sale or assignment of interests 
in class I and II land to the DEP or the conservancy.  
Under this authority, whoever purchases the land must 
agree to maintain it according to law and the permit’s 
conditions and cannot subsequently convey the property 
without getting another permit.  The act allows the 
Department of Public Utility Control (DPUC) to accept 
the companies’ applications to sell or assign their land 
before DPH grants the permits, but it cannot give final 
approval to the sale until the permits are issued.  And it 
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exempts the companies from the requirement to notify 
DPUC before a sale. 

 
AFFORDABLE HOUSING  

 
The act creates a new program through which the 

DECD commissioner may provide financial assistance 
to a wide range of affordable housing projects.  (SA 01-
02, June Special Session allows him to use existing state 
bond authorizations for this program.)  It authorizes him 
to adopt regulations as necessary to carry out the new 
program. 

 
Eligible Projects  

 
The act defines "affordable housing" as housing 

that costs individuals or families with annual incomes at 
or below the area median income for the town where the 
housing is located 30% or less of that income.  The U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development 
determines the area median incomes. 

Affordable housing projects include (1) acquisition, 
construction, rehabilitation, repair, and maintenance of 
residential or mixed-use structures and related 
infrastructure and facilities intended to serve affordable 
housing residents (such as a community room, laundry, 
or day care area) and (2) demolition, renovation, or 
redevelopment of vacant buildings or related 
infrastructure.  

 
Eligible Applicants 

 
Eligible applicants are (1) nonprofit corporations or 

agencies; (2) municipalities; (3) housing authorities; (4) 
for-profit corporations the DECD commissioner 
approves to develop or operate affordable housing; (5) 
commissioner-approved partnerships, limited liability 
companies, joint ventures, sole proprietorships, trusts, or 
associations that develop or operate affordable housing; 
or (6) any combination of the above. 

 
Applications, Funding Criteria, and Approval 

 
The commissioner must determine the application 

form and can assess an application fee of up to $250.  
When determining whether to fund a project, he may 
consider its (1) ability to further racial and economic 
integration, including expanding multifamily rental 
housing in suburban and rural settings; (2) ability to 
meet the housing needs of the lowest income 
populations; (3) ability to revitalize urban 
neighborhoods, including expanding home ownership 
and increasing multifamily rehabilitation in the central 
cities; (4) ability to provide supportive housing options 

for people with special needs or who are at risk of 
becoming homeless; (5) impact on the local 
neighborhood, region, and the state; (6) short-term and 
long-term benefits; (7) impact on affordable housing 
needs of the neighborhood, community, municipality, 
and region; (8) feasibility; (9) potential for leveraging 
other public and private investments; (10) potential for 
timely implementation; (11) relative need; (12) 
underlying financial support from the applicant, except 
in the case of a nonprofit entity or a housing authority; 
and (13) potential to advance the act's public purposes. 

The act requires the commissioner to review and 
approve a proposed project’s site and its estimated total 
development budget, including the amount and type of 
aid from nonstate sources.  He can look at any other 
factors he determines necessary or appropriate to protect 
the state’s interests. 

The commissioner must determine that the funded 
costs are necessary and reasonable.  The Bond 
Commission must give preliminary approval to commit 
bond proceeds, and the governor's approval is necessary 
when the funding source is other than bonds.  The 
assistance can cover the costs of planning, 
implementing, and completing a project.  It can take the 
form of grants, loans, loan guarantees, deferred loans, or 
any combination of these. 
 
Safeguards  

 
Terms and Conditions.  The act authorizes the 

commissioner to determine under what terms and 
conditions he will grant the assistance to protect the 
state's interests.  These may include each or a 
combination of the following: (1) a requirement that 
funds also come from other sources, including public, 
private, nonprofit, or for-profit organizations; (2) 
participation interests; (3) subsidy recapture provisions; 
and (4) resale and prepayment, job retention, residency, 
use, and affordability restrictions.  The commissioner 
must determine how compliance with the terms and 
conditions will be met, documented, and secured. 

Amending Agreements.  The commissioner may 
take all reasonable steps to protect the state’s 
obligations and interests.  These include (1) amending 
any contract or agreement if amendments are allowed 
under the agreement or (2) purchasing or redeeming any 
property (pursuant to foreclosure proceedings, 
bankruptcy proceedings, or other court action) on which 
DECD holds a mortgage, lien, or other interest. 

Audits and Investigations.  The act authorizes the 
commissioner to request, audit, and investigate the 
accuracy and completeness of eligible applicants' 
reports, books, records, and any other financial or 
project-related information.  It specifies that requested 
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information can include, without limitation, resident or 
employment information, financial and operating 
statements, and audits. 

 
“FAST TRACK” FOR GIRLS’ JUVENILE JUSTICE 
FACILITY 

 
The act exempts a project to develop a separate 

Department of Children and Families (DCF) facility for 
girls from a variety of state laws and regulations 
governing such things as how state property is 
conveyed, DEP regulation, consistency with various 
state plans, energy life-cycle analysis, State Traffic 
Commission review, inland wetland and public water 
supply oversight, and demolition of buildings.  It also 
establishes contracting procedures that the Department 
of Public Works (DPW) commissioner must follow 
when consulting on or awarding the contract for the 
project.  The act does this by making this project part of 
the Connecticut Juvenile Training School project, which 
previously received these exemptions in PA 99-26.  

The girls’ facility project includes acquiring land or 
buildings and designing, constructing or reconstructing, 
improving, or equipping the facility.   

 
SETTLEMENT PAYMENTS ON STATE-BACKED 
BONDS 

 
The act requires the state to credit to a debt 

retirement reserve account all payments it receives to 
settle lawsuits related to financing backed by a special 
capital reserve fund (SCRF).  Credited amounts must be 
available to the treasurer to prevent a draw on the 
SCRF.  The statutes authorize SCRFs to back bonds 
issued, among other purposes, by various quasi-public 
authorities, for UConn 2000 projects, and to finance 
debt in Bridgeport and Waterbury. 

 
BIOTECHNOLOGY FINANCING  

 
The act raises from $10 million to $20 million the 

cap on funding that DECD, Connecticut Innovations, 
Inc., and the Connecticut Development Authority can 
provide for a commercial biotechnology project over a 
two-year period without legislative approval.  The $10 
million cap remains in effect for all other business 
projects. 

 
COMPUTER-ASSISTED MASS APPRAISAL 
(CAMA) GRANTS  

 
The act allows towns that conducted property 

revaluations before January 1, 1987 or after December 
31, 1996 to apply for and receive CAMA grants, 

including the additional 10% grant, if they did so 
without postponing or extending the revaluation date.  
The act specifies that these towns can receive the grants 
only once. 

 
AID FOR WINERIES  

 
The act permits businesses creating or developing 

vineyards or wineries to receive DECD financing 
through the Manufacturing Assistance Act.  It adds 
cultivation of real property as a project that can receive 
such financing. 
 
 
PA 01-8, June Special Session—SB 2005 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING COMMUNITY MENTAL 
HEALTH STRATEGIC INVESTMENT 
 
SUMMARY: This act creates a Mental Health Strategic 
Investment Fund comprising subaccounts for new or 
expanded mental health facilities and community-based 
services and supportive housing.  The act capitalizes the 
Fund with $40 million in FY 2000-01 surplus funds and 
$5 million in FY 2001-02 appropriations.  A 
Community Mental Health Strategy board develops 
strategic and financial plans to guide disbursements 
from the fund, which may go to state agencies, the 
Connecticut Housing Finance Authority (CHFA), or 
other entities with which the board contracts.  

The act establishes a supportive housing pilots 
initiative to provide up to 650 units of affordable 
housing and support services to people with special 
needs, such as mental illness, chronic chemical 
dependency, homelessness, or risk of homelessness.  It 
authorizes $10 million in bond funds for the Department 
of Economic and Community Development (DECD) to 
use for initiative-funded projects and requires CHFA to 
set aside $1 million a year in tax credits for them. 

The act establishes a Pretrial Account in the 
General Fund, where fees from the Department of 
Mental Health and Addiction Services (DMHAS) drug 
and alcohol education programs and $600,000 in FY 
2001 surplus funds appropriated in SA 01-1, June 
Special Session must be deposited.  The account must 
be used to operate these programs.  It is a separate, 
nonlapsing account that can be carried forward, and 
earnings on account investments must be credited to it. 

The act requires the DMHAS and Department of 
Social Services (DSS) to study the implementation of 
adult rehabilitation services under Medicaid and permits 
the DSS commissioner to amend the state Medicaid plan 
to cover such services private providers supply to 
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DMHAS clients.  It also requires DMHAS and DSS to 
study the advisability of their entering into an 
interagency agreement under which DMHAS would 
provide clinical management of behavioral health 
services.   
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
STRATEGIC INVESTMENT FUND 
  
Eligible Population and Uses 

 
The act creates a Community Mental Health 

Strategic Investment Fund in DMHAS to finance new 
and expanded existing clinical and nonclinical 
community mental health services, related mental health 
services, and supportive housing for people with mental 
illness, including (1) offenders supervised in the 
community by executive and judicial branch agencies, 
(2) people who are homeless or at risk of homelessness 
and their families, and (3) children and youth who are 
not under Department of Children and Families (DCF) 
care.  The fund is set up as an account in the General 
Fund.  It is separate from all other funds; its investment 
earnings are credited to it; and it does not lapse.   

The strategic investment fund is divided into two 
subaccounts.   

1. A community services restoration subaccount 
finances new or expanded mental health 
facilities and services.  These can include rent 
subsidies; case management; assertive 
community treatment teams; intensive 
residential programs; specialized treatment 
programs; hospital outpatient behavioral 
health services; regional independent living 
grants; multicultural services; training, 
technical assistance, and evaluation; and 
grants to nonprofit providers for home- and 
community-based services for the early 
detection, diagnosis, and treatment of mental 
illness and emotional disturbance in children 
and youth from birth through their transition 
to adult services. 

2. A supportive housing pilots initiative 
subaccount can be used to finance up to 650 
additional supportive housing units.  

 
Fund Capitalization 

 
The act transfers $40 million of FY 2000-01 

surplus funds the budget act (SA 01-1, June Special 
Session) appropriates to DMHAS for the fund to the 
restoration subaccount ($25 million) and the supportive 
housing enhancement subaccount ($15 million).  These 
funds can be carried forward into FY 2001-02 and 

2002-03.  The act transfers to the restoration subaccount 
$5 million appropriated to two other DMHAS accounts 
in FY 2001-02.  And it gives the DMHAS 
commissioner discretion to use $650,000 appropriated 
to its managed service system account in FYs 2001-02 
and 2002-03 for hospital-based mental health programs. 

 
COMMUNITY MENTAL HEALTH STRATEGY 
BOARD 

 
The board consists of 21 members, 14 of whom are 

voting members.  The DMHAS commissioner serves as 
chairman.  The governor, Senate president pro tempore, 
House speaker, and Senate and House minority leaders 
each appoint two voting members.  The House and 
Senate majority leaders each appoint one.  The DCF 
commissioner is also a voting member.  These members 
are not paid but may be reimbursed for their expenses.  
The nonvoting members are the Office of Policy and 
Management (OPM) secretary; the commissioners of 
DECD, education, correction, public health, and social 
services; and the chief court administrator.  All 
nonvoting members can designate someone to serve in 
their place. 

The act requires all initial appointments to be made 
by September 1, 2001; the DMHAS commissioner must 
convene the first meeting by September 15.  It requires 
DMHAS, within available funds, to provide the board 
with staff and administrative support.   

 
STRATEGIC INVESTMENT FUND 
EXPENDITURES 

 
The act requires the board annually to adopt a 

strategic plan and a financial assistance plan.  The 
strategic plan must be consistent with other state mental 
health services plans.  The board must adopt its first 
plans by January 1, 2002.  The act requires the 
nonvoting board members and the DMHAS and DCF 
commissioners to provide information the board asks 
for, including needs assessments, program reviews, and 
revenue and expense data.  They can also recommend 
expenditures at the board’s request. 

At least once a year, the voting members must 
approve disbursements and commitments from the fund 
by a majority vote.  These must be consistent with its 
strategic plan.  The DMHAS commissioner may make 
the disbursements.  They can go to (1) state agencies the 
board designates or CHFA and (2) other entities with 
which the board asks the commissioner to contract 
following a request for proposal process that it conducts 
in conjunction with other state agencies or CHFA.  It 
can also assign undesignated revenue among the 
subaccounts as it determines appropriate.  
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The board must report to the governor and 
legislature by February 1 each year on its prior fiscal 
year’s disbursements.  The report must also evaluate the 
effectiveness and outcomes of each program or service 
that received funding in expanding access to quality, 
appropriate community-based mental health care. 

 
SUPPORTIVE HOUSING PILOTS INITIATIVE 

 
The act establishes a supportive housing pilots 

initiative to provide up to 650 units of affordable 
housing and support services to people who are 
homeless or at risk of homelessness and their families 
and to offenders under executive or judicial branch 
community supervision with serious mental health 
needs.  It authorizes $10 million in state general 
obligation bonds for DECD to use to implement the 
initiative.  The housing can be permanent or 
transitional; permanent housing can include individuals 
and families with or without special needs.  

The act requires the DMHAS commissioner and 
OPM secretary to enter into a memorandum of 
understanding with the DSS and DECD commissioners 
and CHFA by January 1, 2002.  That memorandum 
must provide for: 

1. submission of a collaborative plan and 
timetables for creating up to 650 supported 
units, up to 300 of which can be new; 

2. an option for DSS to provide project-based 
rent subsidy certificates; 

3. CHFA and DECD to offer viable financing 
through grants, mortgages, and tax credits, 
including capitalized operating reserves, to 
construct up to 300 new units; 

4. DMHAS to provide annual grants for 
supportive services during the term of any 
mortgage; 

5. a plan for  private and federal predevelopment 
financing and for grants and loans from 
nonstate sources generated by federal and 
state tax credits and federal project-based rent 
subsidies; and 

6. CHFA, by July 1, 2002, to issue a request for 
proposals (RFP) for participation in the 
initiative.  The RFP process can give priority 
to applicants that include organizations that 
DMHAS, following a request for 
qualifications process, deems qualified to 
provide services. 

The act requires CHFA to review and underwrite 
projects developed under this initiative.  It requires 
CHFA to set aside $1 million each year of its $5 million 
in low- and moderate-income housing tax credits for 
supportive housing pilots initiative projects.  If the set-

aside credits are not used by November 1, they become 
available for any eligible housing. 

The DMHAS and DECD commissioners and 
CHFA must submit interim and final reports on the 
initiative to the Public Health; Human Services; 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding; and Appropriations 
committees.  The interim report is due by January 1, 
2004.  The final report is due by January 1, 2006 and 
must show the number and location of the units created, 
the number of individuals served, the number and type 
of services offered, and an estimate of costs avoided as 
a direct result of the initiative. 

 
MEDICAID REHABILITATION SERVICES OPTION  

 
The act requires DMHAS and DSS to study 

implementing Medicaid coverage of adult rehabilitation 
services.  They must develop an implementation plan, 
describe its effect on existing services, and analyze its 
costs and benefits.  They must include this in a report to 
the governor and Public Health, Human Services, and 
Appropriations committees.  

The report is due by February 1, 2002.  Once this 
report is completed, the act requires the DSS 
commissioner to take necessary action to amend the 
state Medicaid plan to cover adult rehabilitation services 
private providers supply to DMHAS clients under a 
contract with the department.  Any federal 
reimbursement for these services during FYs 2001-02 
and 2002-03 must be credited to the community mental 
health restoration subaccount and used for that 
subaccount’s purposes. 

 
DMHAS CLINICAL MANAGEMENT SERVICES 
STUDY 

 
The act also requires DMHAS and DSS to study the 

advisability of their entering into an interagency 
agreement under which DMHAS would provide clinical 
management of behavioral health services.  Clinical 
management would include review and authorization of 
services, quality assurance and improvement initiatives, 
and case management for Medicaid-enrolled elderly, 
blind, and disabled adults, to the extent permitted by 
federal law.  The agencies must report their findings and 
recommendations to the governor and Public Health, 
Human Services, and Appropriations committees by 
February 1, 2002. 
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PA 01-09, June Special Session—HB 7507 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE EXPENDITURES 
OF THE OFFICE OF POLICY AND 
MANAGEMENT 
 
SUMMARY: This act: 

1. redesigns part of and makes several changes in 
the centralized system for conducting motor 
vehicle exhaust emissions inspections; 

2. keeps solely state-funded welfare programs 
open for legal immigrants who are barred from 
federally funded programs and adds $2 million 
to the state’s biennial budget for this purpose, 
but prohibits new applications after June 30, 
2002; 

3. requires the Department of Correction (DOC) 
commissioner to contract for ombudsman 
services to receive, investigate, and propose 
resolution of inmates’ complaints and to 
recommend policy revisions to the department; 

4. establishes a program under which state 
correctional institutions must return specified 
unused drugs to vendor pharmacies for re-
dispensing and reimbursement to DOC; 

5. substantially revises the Department of 
Environmental Protection (DEP) program that 
provides financial assistance for the removal or 
replacement of residential underground oil 
tanks; 

6. authorizes a state business tax credit for 
taxpayers investing any amount in eligible 
environmental remediation and urban site 
reinvestment projects through community 
development entities; and 

7. alters the responsibilities of the State Marshal 
Commission and creates a state marshal 
account. 

In addition, the act makes many unrelated changes 
in a variety of statutes and in public and special acts 
previously enacted in the 2001 regular and special 
sessions.  The changes, other than those that are 
technical, are described below in the order they appear 
in the act. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2001 
 
EDUCATIONAL TECHNOLOGY FUND (§ 1) 
 

The act changes the name of the Educational 
Technology Fund to “Educational Technology 
Account.”  The fund contains private donations to 
supplement appropriations for the state’s educational 
technology and related activities. 

COLLECTIVE BARGAINING COSTS FOR BOARD 
OF EDUCATION AND SERVICES FOR THE BLIND 
(BESB) PAYROLL EMPLOYEES (§ 2) 
 
 The act requires any increased costs associated with 
the BESB Industries Division “360” payroll employees’ 
collective bargaining agreement to be funded with 
General Fund money transferred from the Reserve for 
Salary Adjustment Account. The transferred amounts 
must agree with the cost estimate for implementing the 
agreement prepared by the employer’s bargaining 
representative (typically the Office of Policy and 
Management (OPM)) and filed with the House and 
Senate clerks.  
 
STATE PLAN OF CONSERVATION AND 
DEVELOPMENT (§§ 3 & 4) 
 

The act delays the deadline for OPM to revise the 
State Plan of Conservation and Development from 
March 1, 2002 to March 1, 2003.  It also delays the 
deadline for submitting a draft of the revised plan to the 
General Assembly from September 1, 2001 to 
September 1, 2002.  The law requires OPM to revise the 
plan every five years. 
 
HUMAN RIGHTS REFEREES (§ 5) 

 
Beginning July 1, 2001, the act reduces the number 

of human rights referees from seven to five, while 
permitting all current referees to serve out their terms.  
Referees hear and decide discrimination cases brought 
by the Commission on Human Rights and 
Opportunities.   
 
STATE-WIDE CENTRALIZED VOTER 
REGISTRATION SYSTEM (§ 6) 
 

The act requires the secretary of the state to pay up 
to $700,000 of the annual costs incurred in FYs 2001-02 
and 2002-03 to implement the state-wide centralized 
voter registration system from the commercial recording 
account.  This separate nonlapsing account was 
formerly used only to pay for administering the 
Commercial Recording Division of the Secretary of the 
State’s Office. 
 
SHERIFFS’ SALARIES (§ 7) 

 
The act reduces county sheriffs’ salaries to $1 per 

year beginning July 1, 2001.  By law, the statutory 
salary is full compensation for the sheriff’s duties.  
Under prior law, a sheriff’s salary was either $35,000 or 
$37,000, depending on the county. 
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RESTRAINING ORDERS, REGULATIONS, AND 
STATE MARSHAL COMMISSION PLACEMENT IN 
THE DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE 
SERVICES (§ 8) 

 
The State Marshal Commission fills vacancies in 

state marshal positions, establishes professional 
standards for marshals, and periodically reviews and 
audits their records and accounts. The act requires the 
commission to consult with the State Marshals Advisory 
Board when establishing professional standards, 
including training requirements and minimum fees for 
execution and service of process.  It also specifies that 
the commission must adopt regulations (1) to establish 
these requirements and fees and (2) for the application 
and investigation requirements for filling state marshal 
vacancies.  The state marshals elect the 24-member 
advisory board. 

The act requires the commission to equitably assign 
the service of restraining orders to state marshals in 
each county and ensure that the orders are served 
expeditiously.  It makes failure to accept service of a 
restraining order or failing to expeditiously serve it 
without good cause grounds for a hearing to remove a 
marshal.  By law, the commission can remove a state 
marshal for cause, after notice and hearing.   

The act places the commission in the Department of 
Administrative Services (DAS) for administrative 
purposes only. Under prior law, the commission was an 
autonomous body within the Judicial Department for 
fiscal and budgetary purposes only. 

 
APPOINTMENT OF STATE MARSHALS (§ 9) 

 
The act requires the commission to appoint as state 

marshals individuals who: 
1. were deputy sheriffs or special deputy sheriffs 

of a corporation on or after May 31, 1995 
(under a law repealed last year, a county sheriff 
could appoint special deputy sheriffs, who had 
all of a deputy sheriff’s powers except for 
service of civil process on application of a 
corporation),  

2. served in that position for at least four years,  
3. applied to the commission by July 31, 2001, 

and 
4. submitted an initial application dated on or 

before June 30, 2000.   
For purposes of these appointments, the act allows 

the commission to appoint more state marshals than are 
otherwise allowed by statute.  It specifies that 
information in the Connecticut State Register and 
Manual is evidence of service as a deputy sheriff.  A 
person applying under this provision and found 

ineligible can appeal to the Superior Court in the 
Hartford Judicial District. 

 
FEES AND THE STATE MARSHAL COMMISSION 
ACCOUNT (§§ 10 & 11) 

 
The act creates a separate, nonlapsing state marshal 

account in the General Fund.  By October 1 each year, 
starting October 1, 2001, it requires state marshals to 
pay an annual $250 fee. Starting July 1, 2001, it 
imposes an additional $5 fee on anyone filing a civil 
action (except small claims) in Superior Court.  These 
funds are deposited in the General Fund. 

Under the act, the first $250,000 collected each 
fiscal year from the state marshals’ fee is credited to the 
state marshal account for the commission’s operating 
expenses.  For FY 2001-02, the next $110,000 collected 
must be transferred to the Judicial Department for the 
operating expenses of the Commission on Racial and 
Ethnic Disparity.  The next $230,000 is transferred to 
OPM for purposes of the report on traffic stop data (see 
§ 128 below). 

The act requires the OPM secretary to review and 
approve or disapprove the commission’s annual budget 
until July 1, 2006. 
 
SERVICE OF EXECUTIONS BY LEVYING 
OFFICERS (§ 12) 

 
By law, an entity that is owed money (creditor) can 

get a court order (execution) directing a bank to remove 
and pay it money from the debtor’s account.  Executions 
are served by levying officers (usually state marshals or 
support enforcement services investigators) on banks or 
branch offices located within their jurisdiction.  The act 
permits a levying officer who has served an initial 
execution on one such bank within seven days of receipt 
to also serve it on other banks or branches where the 
debtor has accounts.  He must do this within 45 days of 
receiving the execution. 
 
ENERGY CONSERVATION PROJECTS IN STATE 
BUILDINGS (§ 13) 

 
By law, 0.3 cents for each kilowatt-hour of 

electricity sold at retail in the state goes into the Energy 
Conservation and Load Management funds of the two 
electric utilities. The Department of Public Utility 
Control (DPUC) regulates expenditures from the funds. 
The act requires DPUC to authorize the funds to 
disburse $1 million per month in calendar year 2002, 
with the amount disbursed being proportionate to the 
amount each fund receives. The money must go into a 
nonlapsing Department of Public Works (DPW) account 
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in the General Fund and be used for energy 
conservation projects in state buildings. 

 
NOTICE OF WHOLESALE OIL AND PROPANE 
PRICES (§ 14) 

 
The act eliminates requirements that fuel oil and 

propane gas wholesalers give their customers and OPM 
24 hours’ notice of their per-gallon prices. Under prior 
law, an initial failure to provide notice was subject to a 
fine of up to $100; subsequent violations were subject to 
a fine of up to $500. 
 
KELDA LANDS USE RESTRICTIONS (§ 15) 
 

PA 01-7, June Special Session requires the DEP 
commissioner to approve the terms and conditions of 
any contract among (1) the commissioner; (2) the 
Nature Conservancy; and (3) BHC Company, Aquarion, 
or Kelda Group to protect open space by buying land or 
land interests from the companies.  This act specifies 
some of those terms and conditions. 

The act requires the contract must provide for filing 
restrictions and easements on the land records in the 
town where the land is located to perpetually preserve 
the land in its natural state in order to protect natural 
resources and public water supplies.  The easements and 
restrictions may allow only (1) recreation that does not 
require intensive development and (2) improvements 
and activities needed for land and natural resources 
management and safe and drinkable water. The 
restrictions must also (1) be in favor of the state acting 
through the DEP commissioner, (2) require the property 
to be available for public recreation not requiring 
intensive development, and (3) allow the state to install 
permanent fixtures needed for authorized recreation. 
 
HIGH SHERIFF’S APPLICATION TO BE STATE 
MARSHAL (§ 16) 

 
The act allows any high sheriff to apply, not later 

than October 1, 2001, to the State Marshal Commission 
to be a state marshal.  The individual must resign as 
high sheriff by the time he is appointed and he cannot 
be a state marshal and state employee at the same time.  
The commission can make these appointments 
regardless of statutory limits on the number of state 
marshals in each county. 
 
DPUC CONSULTANTS (§§ 17 & 18) 

 
The act reinstates, until December 31, 2005, the 

DPUC’s authority to hire consultants to help it develop 
and implement the public education program established 

as part of the law restructuring the electric industry to 
permit competition. By law, the costs for these 
consultants are recovered in the systems benefits charge 
which appears on every retail electric bill. 
 
INDIAN TRIBES AND THE UNEMPLOYMENT 
COMPENSATION SYSTEM (§§ 19–21) 
 

The act makes state law conform to new federal 
requirements by changing the way the Mashantucket 
Pequot and Mohegan Indian tribes, their subdivisions, 
subsidiaries, and any businesses wholly owned by them 
are treated for purposes of unemployment 
compensation.  In 2000, federal law was amended to 
exclude services performed by employees of those 
tribes from the Federal Unemployment Tax Act 
(FUTA).  This act requires most tribe employees who 
are excluded from federal coverage to be covered under 
the state unemployment compensation system effective 
December 21, 2000.  It also gives the tribes the same 
option as state and local governments to pay for their 
unemployment compensation liability by reimbursing 
the unemployment fund dollar-for-dollar for benefits to 
their former employees rather than through 
contributions (taxes).    

 
Exclusions  
 

The act excludes the following service performed 
by tribe employees from state unemployment 
compensation coverage: (1) as an elected official; (2) as 
a member of a legislative or judicial body; (3) in 
temporary service in natural emergencies; (4) in major 
nontenured policymaking or advisory positions;  (5) in 
policymaking positions that do not normally require 
more than eight hours of work a week; (6) in positions 
in rehabilitative programs for employees with reduced 
earning capacity; (7) as a recipient of such rehabilitative 
programs; (8) as part of an unemployment work-relief 
or work-training program financed, at least in part, by a 
tribe; or (9) as a recipient of such unemployment 
programs.  Excluding such service from coverage means 
employees cannot collect benefits based on it.     

 
Payments  
 

Under the act, a tribe that chooses to make 
contributions must make them in the same manner as all 
other contributing employers.  Similarly, a tribe that 
chooses to make reimbursement payments must be 
billed in the same manner as other reimbursing 
employers.   

The act permits the tribes to make reimbursements 
as a whole, by unit, or by a combination of units.  If a 
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tribe fails to make a reimbursement within 90 days of 
receiving a bill, it loses the reimbursement option in the 
following year unless it makes full payment or pays 
according to a schedule approved by the labor 
commissioner before contribution rates for the next year 
are computed.  A tribe that loses its reimbursement 
option must be reinstated if, after one year, it has made 
all of its contributions on time and has no outstanding 
unemployment debts.    

If the labor commissioner exhausts all available 
collection procedures and the tribe has still not made all 
of its payments, the commissioner may exclude the tribe 
from the state unemployment compensation system. He 
may reinstate a tribe once it has paid all outstanding 
debts.  The commissioner must notify the Internal 
Revenue Service and the U.S. Department of Labor of 
(1) a tribe’s failure to make payments within 90 days of 
a final delinquency notice and (2) any termination or 
reinstatement of coverage.   

The commissioner may require a tribe that elects to 
make reimbursement payments to, within 60 days after 
its election, either execute and file a surety bond 
approved by him or deposit a certain amount of money 
or securities with him on the same basis as other 
reimbursing employers.   

Notices to tribes about delinquencies must include 
information that failure to make payments within the 
prescribed time will (1) subject the tribe to federal 
unemployment compensation tax, (2) cause it to lose the 
option of making payments instead of contributions, and 
(3) exclude it from state coverage.   
 
WATERBURY PERFORMING ARTS MAGNET 
SCHOOL (§ 22) 
 

Regardless of the Waterbury City Charter and state 
education laws, the act establishes a seven-member 
committee to oversee development of the Interdistrict 
Magnet School for the Performing Arts in Waterbury in 
conformity with an overall plan for the city’s 
Downtown Arts and Education Cluster. The committee 
consists of three members each from the Waterbury 
Board of Education and Naugatuck Valley Development 
Corporation and one from the Waterbury Parking 
Authority.  The act exempts the school project from 
regular school construction requirements and requires 
only that it be (1) built within the limits of state fiscal 
authorizations and (2) designed to provide an 
interdistrict education program for a racially, ethnically, 
and economically diverse student body. 

The act requires the Naugatuck Valley 
Development Corporation to apply for the state school 
construction grant authorized for the school in 2000 and 
to act as the applicant for all other school construction 

grant requirements.  It allows the corporation to make 
and receive state school construction grant payments 
and decide about and fund construction and change 
orders, with the approval of the state financial oversight 
board for Waterbury. 
 
NEW AUTOMOBILE WARRANTIES ACCOUNT (§§ 
23 & 24) 
 

The act creates a separate, nonlapsing General Fund 
account to pay for the new car lemon law program and 
funds it with a $3 surcharge on each new passenger 
vehicle and motorcycle sold in Connecticut. Licensed 
new motor vehicle and motorcycle dealers must collect 
the surcharge. Money from this "New Automobile 
Warranties Account" must be allocated to the 
Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) for the 
operation of the lemon law program.  The new car 
lemon law established a consumer’s right to a refund or 
replacement vehicle if a manufacturer or its 
representative cannot make a new vehicle live up to its 
warranty after a reasonable number of repair attempts, 
and the defect substantially impairs the vehicle’s use, 
safety, or value. 
 
CORRECTIONAL INSTITUTIONS’ PHARMACY 
SERVICES (§§ 25-27) 
 

The act sets conditions under which state 
correctional institutions must return specified unused 
drugs to vendor pharmacies for re-dispensing and 
reimbursement to DOC.  The department must establish 
procedures for returning the unused drug products to the 
pharmacies and must reimburse the vendor pharmacies 
for the reasonable cost incurred in operating the 
program, as determined by the DOC commissioner.   

The act exempts from the definition of drug 
wholesalers retail pharmacies that supply limited 
amounts of non-controlled drugs or controlled 
substances for emergency use to the medical director of 
a state correctional institution. Retail pharmacies that 
supply these drugs to chronic and convalescent nursing 
homes and rest homes were already exempt.  The act 
allows retail pharmacies to distribute certain controlled 
substances to a correctional institution’s medical 
director for use as emergency stock.  The law already 
allowed them to distribute these substances to chronic 
and convalescent nursing homes and rest homes. 

DOC must establish procedures for the return of 
unused drug products to the pharmacy from which they 
were purchased. 

Except for drugs dispensed in a bulk-dispensing 
container, which may not be returned, the act requires 
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the return to vendor pharmacies, for repackaging and 
reimbursement, of unused drug products that are: 

1. prescription drugs that are not controlled 
substances, 

2. sealed in individual packages, 
3. returned to the vendor pharmacy within the 

recommended period of shelf life for re-
dispensing, 

4. determined to be of acceptable integrity by a 
licensed pharmacist, 

5. oral and parenteral (taken by injection) drugs in 
single-dose sealed containers approved by the 
U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), 

6. topical or inhalant drugs in FDA-approved 
units-of-use containers, or 

7. parenteral drugs in FDA-approved multiple-
dose sealed containers from which no doses 
have been withdrawn. 

 Drugs meeting these criteria must also meet 
specified packaging standards before they can be 
returned. 
 If drugs are packaged in the manufacturer’s unit-
dose packages, they must be returned to the vendor 
pharmacy if they can be re-dispensed for use before the 
expiration date, if any, stated on the package. 

If drugs are repackaged in the manufacturer’s unit-
dose or multiple-dose blister packs, they must be 
returned to the vendor pharmacy if (1) the repackaged 
drug clearly indicates the date of repackaging, lot 
number, and expiration date; (2) 90 days or less have 
elapsed from the date of repackaging; and (3) the 
pharmacy keeps a repackaging log for drugs that are 
repackaged before they are needed. 

The act requires the DCP commissioner, in 
consultation with DOC, to adopt regulations governing 
the repackaging and labeling of returned drug products.  
Until January 1, 2003, DCP must implement policies 
and procedures needed to carry out the act while 
adopting the policies and procedures in regulation form. 
Within 20 days of implementing the policies and 
procedures, he must give notice of intent to adopt the 
regulations in the Connecticut Law Journal. 

 
FEDERAL BLOCK GRANT APPROVAL PROCESS 
(§ 28) 
 

The act requires the Appropriations Committee and 
committees of cognizance to hold a public hearing on 
the governor’s recommended allocations for federal 
block grants and sets a 15-day deadline for them to do 
so.  By law, the committees must submit their approval 
or changes within 30 days of receiving the governor’s 
recommendations from the House speaker and Senate 
president pro tempore. 

 
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION COMMISSION 
ASSESSMENT (§ 29) 
 

For FYs 2001-02 and 2002-03, the act increases the 
maximum annual employer assessment for the Workers’ 
Compensation Commission’s (WCC) budget from 4% 
to 4.5% of employers’ workers’ compensation expenses 
for the prior year.  It lowers the cap back to 4% for FY 
2003-04 and thereafter.  Under prior law, the cap was 
5% for FY 2000-01 and 4% for FY 2001-02 and 
thereafter. 

By law, the General Fund does not support the 
WCC budget.  Rather, it is financed through a special 
assessment by the state treasurer on private-sector 
employers and those towns that do not insure their 
workers’ compensation liability through an interlocal 
risk-management agency.  Each employer’s assessment 
is based on its workers’ compensation-related expenses 
in the previous calendar year, up to the established cap.  
The WCC administers the workers’ compensation 
system.    
 
HOME INSPECTORS LICENSING (§§ 30 & 31) 
 
 Under prior law as amended by PA 01-116, in 
addition to paying a fee, non-exempt applicants for a 
home inspector license must have (1) completed high 
school or its equivalent, (2) passed a competency 
examination, (3) earned a home inspector intern permit, 
and (4) performed at least 100 home inspections.  This 
act reduces, from 100 to 10, the number of home 
inspections that an applicant must conduct under the 
direct supervision of a licensed inspector.  The 
remaining number may be done under indirect 
supervision.  The act explicitly adds the provision that 
the inspections be performed in accordance with DCP 
rules and regulations. 
 
DISPROPORTIONATE SHARE PAYMENTS TO 
HOSPITALS (§§ 32 & 130)  
 

The act requires crediting to the Hospital 
Assistance Program account any federal financial 
participation funds the state receives for 
disproportionate share (DSH) payments to hospitals for 
the final quarter’s DSH settlement for hospital fiscal 
year 1999 under PA 01-3, June Special Session. This 
account is used to reconcile DSH over- and 
underpayments.  Under the act, federal funds deposited 
in that account during FY 2001-02 will not lapse and 
will continue to be available to be spent in FY 2002-03.  
The act further requires the Department of Social 
Services (DSS) to distribute whatever remains in the 
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account to Yale-New Haven Hospital during FY 2002-
03. (PA 01-3, June Special Session, restructured the 
DSH program, which provides extra Medicaid payments 
to hospitals that have a disproportionate number of 
patients for whose care the hospitals are not 
compensated. It increased both in- and out-patient 
hospital Medicaid rates and created a new DSH program 
aimed at helping hospitals in distressed municipalities 
with populations over 70,000.)  

It also reinstates two statutes repealed in PA 01-2, 
June Special Session. One deals with children’s general 
hospitals and prior disproportionate share settlements 
and adjustments and the other details how the DSS 
commissioner must apply hospitals’ tax liability to 
calculate DSH payments to hospitals. 
 
BOND FUNDS FOR URBAN HOMEOWNERSHIP 
PROGRAM (§ 33)  
 
 The act allows the Department of Economic and 
Community Development (DECD) to use an existing 
bond authorization to grant up to $5 million to the 
Connecticut Housing Finance Authority (CHFA) for an 
urban homeownership program instead of using it for 
CHFA’s Residential Mortgage Refinancing Guarantee 
Program.  It also allows CHFA to use the grant funds to 
cover the administrative cost of running the 
homeownership program.    
 
DIVISION OF SPECIAL REVENUE (DSR) 
GAMBLING IMPACT STUDY (§ 34)  
  
The act requires DSR to conduct its statutorily required 
gambling impact studies at minimum seven-year, 
instead of minimum five-year, intervals, thus potentially 
reducing the frequency of the studies. By law, the 
division can conduct the studies more frequently if it 
thinks necessary. The studies must look at existing 
legalized gambling in the state and the desirability of 
changing or maintaining current levels. The last study 
was in 1997 and cost $288,846. 
 
NONLAPSING ACCOUNT FOR BESB VENDOR 
REVENUES (§ 35) 
 
 The act authorizes BESB to maintain a separate, 
nonlapsing account (and to accrue interest on it) for 
income derived from vending machines in state- or 
locally-owned or leased buildings. It must use this 
account for (1) paying fringe benefits, training, and 
support for vending facility operators and (2) 
entrepreneurial and independent living training and 
equipment for blind or visually impaired children or 
blind adults. By law, state and local authorities must 

permit BESB to provide vending machines and other 
retail vending services in these buildings when they 
determine that these operations are desirable. 
 Under prior law, BESB could maintain a savings 
account, which could accrue interest, for “non-state” 
vending machine income and use it to pay the fringe 
benefits of vending facility operators. The act allows 
this account instead not to lapse, and specifies that its 
income comes from vending machines BESB operates 
on federal property, instead of non-state property. In 
practice, BESB has maintained a single account for all 
vending machine revenue for some time. Most of this 
revenue comes from state and local vending sales.  
 The act authorizes BESB to also disburse state and 
local vending machine income to student or client 
activity funds, as defined in state law. But it appears that 
these funds could not come from the act’s nonlapsing 
account since spending on this type of activity is not one 
of the purposes for which the act authorizes 
disbursements from the account. The law defines 
“activity fund” as any fund operated in any state 
educational institution or welfare or medical agency for 
the benefit of their employees or students, including so-
called clients’ funds in state hospitals.  
 
RESIDENTIAL UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANK 
REMOVAL PROGRAM (§§ 36-40) 

 
The act substantially amends the DEP program that 

provides money for certain costs incurred in connection 
with removing or replacing residential underground oil 
tanks, thus, in effect, creating a new program for 
projects that start on or after July 1, 2001. 

Under the existing program, a DEP-registered 
contractor must conduct the remediation in order for the 
costs to be reimbursable.  The contractor is responsible 
for paying the costs of the remediation (other than a 
deductible paid by the homeowner) and seeking 
reimbursement from the board that administers the 
program. The act limits the existing program to projects 
where work began before July 1, 2001.  (However, 
another section limits contractor reimbursement to 
projects completed by this date.) The act requires 
contractors to submit their applications by December 1, 
2001 to be eligible for reimbursement for such projects.  

Starting July 1, 2001, the act makes homeowners 
eligible for reimbursement of the costs they incur, thus 
implicitly requiring them to pay the costs of projects 
that start on or after this date. It requires that such 
projects be completed by December 1, 2001.   

Under the new program, the homeowner, rather 
than the contractor, must apply to the board that 
administers the program for reimbursement. The 
application must be submitted by December 31, 2001.  
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The act generally subjects applications filed by 
homeowners to the same review as applications filed by 
contractors. But it requires the homeowner, as a 
condition of eligibility for this program, to comply with 
the law's requirements under a separate program. That 
program requires a homeowner to (1) provide for the 
removal or replacement of his underground tank by 
January 1, 2002 and (2) notify DEP of the completion of 
these steps, in order to gain immunity from liability to 
the state for oil spills. 

Under the new program, homeowners whose 
adjusted gross income (AGI) is above $50,000 must pay 
larger deductibles than under the existing program (see 
Table 1). For homeowners with incomes below $50,000, 
the deductible remains $500. The act makes 
homeowners with AGIs over $500,000 ineligible.  
 

Table 1: Deductible Under the Oil Storage Tank 
Program 

AGI Deductible 

$50,000 to $100,000 $ 2,000 
$100,000 to $150,000 $ 4,000 
$150,000 to $200,000 $ 5,000 
$200,000 to $250,000 $ 7,500 
$250,000 to $500,000 $10,000 

 
The act requires the homeowner to apply to DEP 

before signing a contract with the registered contractor. 
The application form must include (1) the owner's name 
and Social Security number, (2) a verification that the 
tank serves his primary home, (3) a verification of his 
AGI, and (4) the name of the contractor who will 
complete the remediation. It bars contractors and their 
subcontractors from accepting payment for costs that 
are eligible for reimbursement until they have provided 
the homeowner with the information needed to apply to 
DEP.  

DEP must notify the homeowner within 30 days of 
receiving the application whether he is eligible, whether 
funds are available under the program, and the 
deductible the homeowner must pay.  

Under the new program, a contractor must 
immediately notify DEP if he determines there has been 
any spill from the tank. Under the existing program, he 
must provide notice only if the estimated remediation 
costs are more than $5,000. Under the act, DEP may 
revoke a contractor’s registration for failing to provide 
notice under the new program.  Under the existing 
program, the board can deny reimbursement to a 
contractor who does not comply with the notice 
requirement. Under the existing program, but not the 
new program, DEP or a DEP-licensed environmental 
professional must inspect the site when the estimated 
remediation cost is more than $10,000.   

The act caps reimbursements to homeowners at 
$157 per ton of contaminated soil removed, as full 
payment for all eligible costs. If no contaminated soil is 
removed, the reimbursement is based on guidelines 
adopted by the board under existing law.  

By law, the existing program is funded from a sub-
account in the Environmental Quality Fund. The act 
allows the subaccount to be used to reimburse 
homeowners under the new program, and authorizes the 
board to make the reimbursements. It explicitly limits 
reimbursement to contractors and homeowners to the 
availability of money in the subaccount. 

DEP has another program that covers 
nonresidential underground storage tanks. The act 
increases the amount annually allocated to DEP for its 
administrative costs for this program from $1,150,000 
to $2 million. 
 
TREATMENT OF CERTAIN STATE COSTS PAID 
BY INDIAN TRIBES (§ 41) 
 

The law requires state agencies to turn over to the 
treasurer for deposit in the General Fund any indirect 
costs they recover that were originally paid by the 
General Fund. PA 01-6, June Special Session exempts 
“overhead charges” for state regulatory and law 
enforcement costs collected through assessments on the 
Mashantucket Pequot and Mohegan tribes.  This act 
applies the exemption to “surcharges,” rather than 
overhead charges, for such costs. 

 
MOTOR VEHICLE EMISSIONS INSPECTION 
PROGRAM (§ 42-46) 
 

The act makes several changes in the current 
centralized system for conducting exhaust emissions 
inspections on most motor vehicles in the state.  The 
most significant changes involve a redesign of part of 
the program by (1) giving the Department of Motor 
Vehicles (DMV) commissioner the discretion to provide 
for on-board diagnostic (OBD) testing for 1996 model 
year and newer vehicles in DMV program regulations 
and (2) allowing all vehicles to be tested either at 
facilities operated by an independent contractor under 
contract to the state or at licensed motor vehicle dealers 
or repairers DMV approves for conducting such tests.   

Specifically, the act: 
1. allows the commissioner to appoint any 

licensed motor vehicle dealer or repairer to 
conduct emissions inspections, if it meets the 
qualifications, requirements, and conditions he 
establishes; 
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2. allows any independent contractor the 
commissioner may select to run a system of 
official inspection stations, in addition to 
conducting testing at its own facilities, to (a) 
contract directly with any motor vehicle dealer 
(but not a repairer) approved to conduct 
emissions tests to provide the testing services 
at the dealer’s location and (b) operate 
inspection stations at suitable locations owned 
or operated by others, including retail business 
establishments, with adequate facilities to 
accommodate and perform inspections; 

3. allows the commissioner to enter into one or 
more personal service agreements with any 
qualified person or business in order to provide 
for the management and oversight of the 
independent contractor-run emissions 
inspection facilities and to establish and 
maintain the necessary electronic data capture 
and reporting systems for these and for dealers 
and repairers authorized to conduct 
inspections; 

4. makes the emissions testing exemption for 
vehicles during their first four model years 
effective with the 2000 through 2003 models 
and requires DMV program regulations to 
incorporate the exemption by July 1, 2002 
instead of October 1, 2002; 

5. beginning July 1, 2002, requires the 
commissioner to charge a $40 fee for any 
newly registered motor vehicle and for the 
registration of any vehicle eligible for the four-
model-year test exemption that has not 
previously been registered in Connecticut, in 
addition to all other fees required by law to be 
deposited in the Special Transportation Fund 
(STF); 

6. requires $1.625 million to be transferred from 
the STF to the Emissions Enterprise Fund 
beginning on July 1, 2001 and every October, 
January, April, and July thereafter; and 

7. allows the commissioner to make an agreement 
or agreements with one or more nonprofit 
associations or organizations representing the 
interests of Connecticut dealers or repairers to 
assist in specific aspects of  implementing 
dealer- or repairer-based emissions testing, and 
exempts this agreement process from numerous 
state laws governing state purchasing and 
contracting; DPW jurisdiction over real 
property, construction and alteration of state 
buildings; and OPM jurisdiction over 
budgeting and appropriations and state 
planning. 

Dealer- and Repairer-Based Emissions Inspections 
 
The act authorizes the commissioner to appoint any 

licensed dealer or repairer he determines to be qualified 
to conduct emissions inspections in a designated area of 
his licensed premises.  Any such dealer or repairer must 
sign an agreement acknowledging that he understands 
the laws and regulations governing inspections, the 
necessity for complying with DMV administrative and 
technical directives and advisories, and that failure to 
comply with any of these constitutes grounds for 
suspension or revocation of authority to do inspections. 

Inspections must be conducted on any vehicle 
presented for inspection during normal and posted hours 
of operation.  The dealer or repairer may charge no 
more than $20 for a biennial inspection or reinspection 
of a 1996 model year or newer vehicle. (The more 
general provision that appears intended to give dealers 
and repairers a more general authority to charge $20 for 
all inspections contains an incorrect internal statutory 
reference to a provision that does not refer to inspection 
fees.  Thus it appears that the only explicit authority to 
charge the $20 fee the act provides is for 1996 and 
newer vehicles.)  

A written vehicle inspection report must be 
provided to the vehicle operator when the inspection is 
completed. It must contain the information and 
certification the commissioner prescribes.  A dealer or 
repairer with inspection authority must provide one free 
reinspection to any vehicle it has previously inspected 
and which failed the inspection, provided the vehicle is 
presented for reinspection within 30 days following the 
first inspection.  If the 30th day occurs on a day the 
facility is closed, the period extends until the next day it 
is open for business. 

To be appointed to conduct inspections, a dealer or 
repairer must employ one or more certified emissions 
inspectors and repair technicians.  These employees 
must conduct all the inspection and related repair work 
and must meet the training and certification 
requirements specified in federal and DMV regulations. 

The commissioner may suspend or revoke a 
dealer’s or repairer’s inspection authority if the licensee 
fails to comply with the act, regulations adopted 
pursuant to the act, or DMV directives or advisories.  
The commissioner must issue regulations establishing 
qualifications for receiving inspection authority, 
inspection standards and procedures, reporting 
requirements, and inspector and technician training and 
certification requirements. 
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Independent Contractor Operations 
 

The act makes the prior requirement that the 
commissioner enter into one or more negotiated 
inspection agreements with an independent contractor or 
contractors for the purpose of providing a system of 
official emissions inspection stations discretionary 
instead of mandatory.    

In addition to operating its own test facilities, the 
act allows any contractor retained to operate the official 
inspection station system to conduct inspections at one 
or more dealer locations DMV authorizes to conduct 
inspections.  It does not similarly allow contractor 
operations at repairer facilities that may be authorized to 
do inspections. 

An inspection facility on a licensed dealer’s 
premises must get prior DMV approval to operate.  The 
contractor and licensee must follow the operational 
procedures and requirements as may be prescribed in 
the contract the DMV enters with the contractor for the 
statewide inspection system and DMV regulations.   

The state cannot be a party to, nor assume or incur 
any liability under, any agreement between the 
independent contractor and any dealer in furtherance of 
their arrangement.  The state’s contract with the 
independent contractor must indemnify the state with 
respect to the operation of any such facility located in a 
dealership to the same extent that applied to the official 
emissions inspection stations. 

 
Contracts for System Oversight 

 
The act allows the commissioner to enter into one 

or more personal service agreements with any qualified 
person or business in order to provide for the 
management and oversight of the independent 
contractor-run emissions inspection facilities and to 
establish and maintain the necessary electronic data 
capture and reporting systems for these and for dealers 
and repairers authorized to conduct inspections.  Any 
such agreements are subject to the statutory 
requirements applicable to personal service agreements.  

Any contractor retained for these purposes must, at 
least, be responsible for (1) reviewing and analyzing 
data from inspections performed and recommending to 
the commissioner improvements in the quality and 
integrity of the data; (2) providing program information 
and standards to inspection facilities and locations; (3) 
providing to the commissioner regular reports, 
assessments, and recommendations to maintain or 
improve the effectiveness, efficiency, quality, and 
integrity of inspection operations; and (4) identifying 
measures to enhance public convenience and 
compliance with inspection requirements.  A contractor 

retained for these purposes may not be licensed as or 
have any financial interest in any firm engaged in the 
business of selling or repairing motor vehicles or be a 
provider of emissions inspection equipment or facilities 
to the state.      

 
DMV Implementation Agreement with Trade 
Association  
 

The act allows the commissioner to make an 
agreement or agreements with one or more nonprofit 
associations or organizations that represent the interests 
of Connecticut motor vehicle dealers or repairers.  The 
purpose of any such agreement must be to (1) facilitate 
the designation of dealers and repairers to conduct the 
emissions inspections the act allows; (2) establish and 
maintain necessary electronic data capture and reporting 
systems for all emissions inspection activities; (3) assist 
in providing the technical training, education, and 
certification of inspectors and repair technicians; (4) 
enhance communications with licensees authorized to 
conduct inspections and with vehicle owners subject to 
inspection requirements; and (5) provide any additional 
services or administrative assistance the commissioner 
requests.   

The agreement cannot require the state to purchase 
any asset or assume any unfunded liability. 

 
Four-Model-Year Exemption for Newer Vehicles 

 
Previously, DMV regulations, by October 1, 2002, 

had to include an inspection exemption for every motor 
vehicle during the first four model years from its 
manufacture.  The exemption lapsed if federal officials 
found that it caused the state to violate applicable 
environmental or transportation planning requirements. 

The act moves the implementation date for the 
exemption regulation up to no later than July 1, 2002 
and specifies that it must begin with 2003 model year 
vehicles and earlier.  This means that the initial set of 
exempt vehicles will be 2000-2003 models, followed 
the next year by 2001-2004 models, and so on. 

The act allows the commissioner to design a 
windshield sticker for all vehicles that are exempt from 
emissions inspections.  In the case of vehicles under the 
four-year exemption, the sticker must be issued and 
have the date on which the vehicle is no longer exempt 
and must be presented for inspection.  The sticker must 
be displayed on the windshield.  

 
$40 Initial Registration Fee 
 

The act requires the commissioner to charge a one-
time $40 fee, in addition to all other required 
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registration fees, upon registration of (1) each new 
motor vehicle subject to emissions inspection 
requirements and (2) each motor vehicle that is four 
model-years old or newer that has not been previously 
registered in Connecticut.  The money from this fee 
must go into the STF.    

 
DRIVER’S LICENSES AND VISION SCREENING 
REQUIREMENTS (§§ 47-51) 

 
The act delays the beginning of vision screening for 

driver’s license renewals from July 1, 2001 to July 1, 
2003.  These screenings, when implemented, must, by 
law, apply to every other license renewal.  The act also 
requires DMV regulations for licensing people with 
health problems to specify the vision standards that are 
necessary to safely drive.  It also allows the 
commissioner to require someone who has not 
previously held a Connecticut driver’s license, or who 
has not operated a motor vehicle within the preceding 
two years, to pass a vision screening before being issued 
a Connecticut license. 

The act modifies a provision of PA 01-6, June 
Special Session that requires driver and motorcycle 
operator licenses to be renewed for six rather than four 
years.  Instead, it requires them to be renewed for either 
four or six years according to a schedule the 
commissioner determines, and makes conforming 
changes related to the license fees. 

 
DEALER-ISSUED TEMPORARY AND TRANSFER 
REGISTRATIONS (§§ 52 & 53) 

 
By law, the DMV commissioner can appoint any 

motor vehicle dealers he deems qualified to issue 
temporary new or transfer registrations for certain 
passenger vehicles, motorcycles, campers, camp trailers, 
and trucks up to 26,000 pounds gross weight.  
Previously, these dealers had to pay $10 for a book of 
25 new registration forms and $5 for each book of 25 
temporary transfer forms.  The act increases these fees 
to $10 for each individual form.  It allows the 
commissioner to require any dealer approved to issue 
these types of registrations to file each application for a 
permanent registration by electronic transmission of an 
electronic record if he determines that the dealer, on 
average, files 25 or more such applications a month. 
Any such dealer may still file the permanent registration 
application in person at a DMV branch office, but 
would be paying more to do so due to the act’s higher 
fee for the application documents.   

 
 
 

POSTPONEMENT OF DMV COLLECTION OF 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS (§ 54) 

 
The act delays, from October 1, 2001 to July 1, 

2003, the requirement that the commissioner begin 
collecting Social Security numbers or federal employer 
identification numbers before issuing new or renewal 
vehicle registrations and delays, from February 1, 2002 
to February 1, 2004, the related requirement that he 
forward this information to the Department of Revenue 
Services.  By law, these numbers, or the reasons they 
are unavailable, must be collected and forwarded to the 
revenue services commissioner for the purpose of 
establishing the identification of those affected by the 
taxes the commissioner administers. 
 
COURTHOUSE SECURITY (§ 55) 

 
By law, the Judicial Department is responsible for 

courthouse security.  The department must employ 
judicial marshals to perform this function and can 
establish standards and training to ensure court security. 

The act specifies that “courthouse security” and 
“court security” include providing security services to 
any judicial or state agency facility under a written 
agreement when (1) the facility is next to a courthouse 
and (2) the chief court administrator determines that the 
security requirements of the facilities are mutual and 
best served by the judicial marshals’ security services 
based on the facilities’ proximity and design. 

 
ENTREPRENEURIAL TRAINING PROGRAM (§ 56) 

 
The act allows the DECD commissioner to 

establish, within available appropriations, a program to 
train and prepare former welfare recipients, ex-
offenders, and high school dropouts for self-
employment and entrepreneurial opportunities.  Welfare 
recipients receiving Temporary Family Assistance, Aid 
to Families with Dependent Children, Town General 
Assistance, and State Administered General Assistance 
can participate. In establishing the program, the 
commissioner must consult with the labor and social 
services commissioners and may adopt regulations. 
 
MATCHING FUNDS FOR BOUNDLESS 
PLAYGROUNDS (§ 57) 
 

The act requires OPM to make $1 million in grants 
before June 30, 2002 available to Boundless 
Playgrounds to provide challenge grants and technical 
services to towns, school districts, or nonprofit agencies 
that develop universally accessible playgrounds for 
children of all abilities. The funds must be used to buy 
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and install surface materials and equipment and for 
project management, playground design, and quality 
control.  But challenge grant funds may be used only for 
purchasing and installing the surface materials and 
equipment. The grantees must match each state dollar 
with $1 of non-state funds.   

 
SMALL CLAIMS VENUES (§§ 58 & 59) 

 
The act permits the chief court administrator to 

change where some small claims matters (i.e., 
streamlined proceedings involving claims valued at less 
than $3,500) are filed and heard. Under prior law, they 
had to be filed in Superior Courts he designated within 
the boundaries of the judicial district where (1) the 
plaintiff lives, (2) the defendant lives or does business, 
or (3) where the transaction or injury occurred.  But if 
the plaintiff was a corporation or limited liability 
company, they could be filed in location (2) or (3) only.   

The act permits the administrator to designate 
courts outside judicial district boundaries in cases where 
the plaintiff is not one of the designated business 
entities.  It also permits him to assign small claims 
hearings to any Superior Court facility he designates, 
rather than only those within the judicial district where 
they were filed or transferred. 

 
MOTOR VEHICLE CASE VENUES (§ 60) 

 
The act permits the chief court administrator to 

assign presentments of defendants in motor vehicle 
matters to Superior Courts outside the geographical area 
where the incident occurred.  (By law, judicial districts 
are sub-divided into geographical areas.) These cases 
involve violations of the criminal motor vehicle laws 
and serious infractions. 
 
LOW-LEVEL RADIOACTIVE WASTE (LLRW) 
COMPACT (§§ 61-63) 

 
Under federal law, states can enter into compacts to 

dispose of LLRW, which includes things such as 
clothing and equipment exposed to radioactivity in 
power plants.  Connecticut and New Jersey formed a 
compact under which each would be responsible for 
siting its own LLRW facility, and Connecticut passed a 
law establishing a fund to pay related expenses. The 
fund receives money from generators of LLRW in the 
state. In 2000, South Carolina joined the compact and 
agreed to dispose of all of the LLRW generated in all 
three states. 

The act transfers the money in the fund to a 
nonlapsing account for OPM to use for LLRW 
management activities and related contingencies.   

Under the act, if the Northwest Interstate Low-Level 
Radioactive Waste Commission rescinds Connecticut’s 
designation as a host for a LLRW facility, the OPM 
secretary must recommend a plan to the legislature for 
disposing of the fund and any balances owed to it. It 
eliminates a requirement for OPM to recommend 
assessments by February 1 in any year that it determines 
an assessment is not needed. 

 
APPELLATE JUDGE APPOINTMENT (§ 64)  

 
The act permits the governor to appoint a 10th 

appellate court judge when the chief justice has 
appointed a sitting judge as chief court administrator.  It 
specifies that, like the other nine members of the 
appellate court, the 10th judge is also a Superior Court 
judge appointed by the legislature, upon nomination of 
the governor, for an eight-year term.  He serves as an 
appellate judge for the remainder of the newly 
designated court administrator’s term or until the 
administrator retires, whichever comes earlier.     

When an appellate judge becomes chief court 
administrator, the act releases him from sitting on the 
appellate court.  The chief justice can override this if he 
determines the public business requires it.   

The act’s provisions apply to the appellate judge 
serving as chief court administrator on July 1, 2001, and 
all future chief court administrator appointments.  

 
ASSESSMENT FOR OFFICE OF MANAGED CARE 
OMBUDSMAN (§§ 66 & 67) 
 

The act adds the actual expenditures, including 
fringe benefits and capital equipment purchases, of the 
Managed Care Ombudsman’s office to the required 
payments that domestic insurance companies and 
hospital and medical service corporations must pay and 
deposit in the Insurance Fund, which pays the Insurance 
Department’s annual expenditures. 

By July 31, annually, the act requires the Managed 
Care Ombudsman’s office to provide each insurer and 
hospital and medical service corporation with (1) a 
statement of the amount appropriated to the office for 
the same fiscal year beginning July 1, including the state 
comptroller’s estimates for fringe benefit costs and 
capital equipment expenditures for the year; (2) a 
statement of the total premium tax imposed on them for 
business done in the state during the preceding calendar 
year; and (3) the proposed assessment for each 
company. The act specifies that the amount appropriated 
to the Managed Care Ombudsman’s office plus fringe 
benefit costs and estimated capital equipment purchases 
are the office’s actual expenditures.  
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The act prohibits an assessment against any one 
company in excess of 25% of the Managed Care 
Ombudsman’s office actual expenditures, and requires 
instead that any excess assessment be paid by all 
companies in proportion to their respective shares of 
premium taxes and other charges they must pay on 
business done in the state during the preceding calendar 
year.  

Finally, by September 1 annually, the act requires 
the Managed Care Ombudsman, after receiving 
objections to any proposed assessment, to adjust the 
assessment if he thinks it reasonable and provide each 
company with an adjusted assessment, and at the close 
of the fiscal year recalculate the proposed assessment 
using the actual expenditures of the office.  By July 31, 
the Managed Care Ombudsman must provide each 
company with a statement showing the difference 
between its respective recalculated assessment and the 
amount it previously paid. Objections to any proposed 
assessment must be made by August 31. 
 
SPENDING CAP EXEMPTION (§ 68) 

 
The act specifies that, because Hartford and 

Waterbury are designated distressed municipalities, a $9 
million FY 2001-02 budget appropriation for 
supplemental education aid for the two cities is not 
considered general budget spending for FY 2001-02, 
thus exempting it from the state spending cap. By law, 
increased expenditures for grants to distressed 
municipalities are already exempt from the spending 
cap, but only if the grants were in effect as of July 1, 
1991.   
 
FEE FOR SERVING PROCESS (§ 69) 

 
The act increases, from $20 to $30, the maximum 

fee people can charge for serving process, a summons, 
or attachments on a defendant.  The fee for serving an 
additional defendant remains $10.  By law, different 
rates apply for serving process in eviction, support 
enforcement, and certain debt collection matters and 
serving potential jurors.   
 
FUNDING TRANSFERS (§ 70) 

 
The act transfers $125,000 budgeted for FYs 2001-

02 and 2002-03 from the Department of Agriculture to 
the Agricultural Experiment Station to be used for 
wildlife fertility control instead of for the Connecticut 
Grown Product Promotion Program. 

It also transfers $150,000 in FY 2001-02 from the 
Labor Department to the Judicial Department to be used 
for the Through Any Door program instead of for 

phasing out the Community Employment Incentive 
program. 
 
PESTICIDE SPRAYING STUDY (§ 71) 
 

The act requires the Agricultural Extension Station, 
within available funds, to study aerial pesticide spraying 
and alternative ways to apply pesticides. It must report 
any findings to the Environment and Commerce 
committees. 
 
INCREASED REVENUE SHARING AID TO 
NORWICH (§ 72) 
 

The act increases Norwich’s municipal revenue 
sharing grant by $250,000 from $400,825 to $650,825.  
It does so by transferring $250,000 of a $10 million 
appropriation from the FY 2000-01 surplus to OPM for 
Arts, Recreation, and Culture grants to municipal 
revenue sharing and allocating it to increase Norwich’s 
aid. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE CHANGE (§ 73) 

 
The act makes a provision of PA 01-204 that allows 

trained lake patrolmen to use batons, effective on 
passage rather than on October 1, 2001. 
 
REPORT ON PAROLE DENIALS (§ 74) 

 
The act requires the Board of Parole, by January 15, 

2002, to report the number of prisoners eligible for 
parole after serving 50% of their sentences in prison 
(those who did not commit offenses involving violence) 
and who, by January 1, 2002, have completed 75% of 
their sentences and have not been approved for parole.  
By February 15, 2002, and by the 15th of each 
subsequent month, the board must report the number of 
eligible prisoners who completed 75% of their sentences 
in the preceding month and were not approved for 
parole. 

The board must send these reports to the OPM 
secretary and the Judiciary, Public Safety, and 
Appropriations committees. 
 
STANDARDIZED RISK ASSESSMENT (§ 75) 

 
The act requires the Department of Mental Health 

and Addiction Services (DMHAS), within available 
appropriations and in conjunction with the Board of 
Parole and the DOC, to report to the Judiciary and 
Public Health committees by February 6, 2002, 
recommendations to develop and implement a 
standardized risk assessment of people with mental 
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health needs who are eligible for parole or other 
community release programs.  DMHAS can also consult 
with representatives of public and private higher 
learning institutions. 
 
DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION OMBUDSMAN (§ 
76) 

 
The act requires the DOC commissioner, within 

available appropriations, to contract for ombudsman 
services and annually report the name of the provider or 
providers to the Judiciary Committee. Under the act, 
ombudsman services include: 

1. receiving complaints from DOC inmates 
(including those housed in other states) 
regarding DOC decisions, actions, omissions, 
policies, procedures, rules and regulations; 

2. investigating all complaints, making decisions 
on the merits, and communicating decisions to 
inmates; 

3. recommending to the DOC commissioner a 
resolution of any complaint found to have 
merit; 

4. recommending policy revisions to the DOC; 
and  

5. publishing a quarterly report of all ombudsman 
service activities. 

It requires a person in DOC’s custody to have 
reasonably tried to resolve his complaint through 
DOC’s internal grievance or appellate procedure before 
using the ombudsman’s services.   

The act makes all oral and written communications 
and related records between an inmate and the 
ombudsman or his staff confidential and not disclosable 
without the inmate’s consent. The confidentiality 
requirement includes the inmate’s identity, the details of 
the complaint, and the ombudsman’s findings and 
conclusions. But the act allows the ombudsman to 
disclose without the inmate’s consent: 

1. communications and records needed for him to 
investigate and support any recommendations 
he may make and 

2. the formal disposition of the inmate’s 
complaint when requested in writing by a court 
hearing the inmate’s application for a writ of 
habeas corpus filed after his adverse findings 
on the inmate’s complaint. 

The act requires the ombudsman to notify the DOC 
commissioner or a facility administrator of a criminal 
act or threat and the nature and target of the act or threat 
if he or a member of his staff learns of the commission 
or planned commission of a crime or a threat to 
someone’s health or safety or the security of a 
correctional facility.   

The act also requires the ombudsman to give the 
DOC commissioner all relevant oral or written 
communications if the commissioner reasonably 
believes an inmate told the ombudsman about a safety 
or security threat within the department or directed at a 
DOC employee. 
 
NEW HAVEN ALTERNATIVE INCARCERATION 
CENTER (§ 77) 

 
The act authorizes the Judicial Department, within 

available appropriations, to establish an alternative 
incarceration center in the New Haven Judicial District.  
In addition to the programs and services offered by 
alternative incarceration centers, this center must 
provide a residential and day reporting program for 
accused and convicted people with mental health needs.  
The act requires, within available appropriations, a full 
range of mental health services for program participants.  
It requires a clinical coordinator to (1) work with the 
center’s director to facilitate timely access to 
appropriate services and (2) develop a network of 
community, social, and vocational rehabilitation support 
to enhance successful program participation and long-
term community integration. 
 
REIMBURSEMENTS FOR THE COST OF MOVING 
BUILDINGS (§ 78) 
 

The act allows any program eligible to use state 
funds to demolish buildings to fund their relocation 
instead. A program can fund relocation if: 

1. the building, after renovation, will contain at 
least one dwelling unit; 

2. the cost of relocating the building is not more 
than 5% higher than the total cost of 
demolishing it; and  

3. the entity seeking the funds to relocate the 
building can show that preserving the area’s 
character by keeping the building benefits the 
town or neighborhood. 

In comparing the moving cost to the demolition 
costs, the funding agency must look at the costs of: 

1. the actual demolition; 
2. demolition preparation, including asbestos and 

other hazardous material abatement; 
3. relocating residents and utilities; 
4. remediating environmental problems after 

demolition; 
5. foundation removal; 
6. clean fill required to level the site; and 
7. other costs associated with demolition, 

including making the site suitable for 
development. 
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The act equates building relocation with building 
rehabilitation for purposes of determining state 
rehabilitation assistance for the building or the project, 
making it eligible for rehabilitation funds.  

Under the act, any building moved must meet the 
State Building Code’s rehabilitation standards.  The act 
also specifies that it does not bar state agencies from 
funding building relocation when the relocation does 
not meet the requirements it establishes.  
 
TECHNOLOGY GRANTS (§ 79) 
 

The act authorizes the Department of Information 
Technology to make grants for furthering the use of 
technology, including education in technology. 
 
CONNECTICUT INNOVATIONS, INC. (CII) 
POWERS (§ 80) 
 
 The act narrows the requirement that CII obtain 
OPM’s and the State Properties Review Board’s 
approval when engaging in a transaction involving real 
property. It requires CII to obtain approval only if 
intends to use the property for its own purposes and 
complete the transaction with state-appropriated funds 
or the proceeds of state general obligation bonds.  
 
URBAN REHABILITATION ASSESSMENT 
DEFERRAL (§ 81) 
 

The act authorizes towns participating in CHFA’s 
Urban Rehabilitation Homeownership Program (URHP) 
to provide a five-year deferral on property assessment 
increases resulting from that participation. It authorizes 
these CHFA-designated towns to approve ordinances 
that allow them to enter into agreements with property 
owners who agree to rehabilitate their property with 
URHP assistance to defer rehabilitation-related 
assessment increases for five years. The agreements 
must provide (1) that the applying owner live in the 
property for the length of the deferral; (2) for local 
building inspection and certification that the completed 
rehabilitation conforms with applicable state and local 
building, housing, and health codes; and (3) a date for 
the rehabilitation completion.  

The agreements must also provide that, if a general 
revaluation in the year the rehabilitation is completed 
results in a property assessment increase, only the 
portion of the increase resulting from the rehabilitation 
can be deferred. Furthermore, if a general revaluation 
occurs in any year after the rehabilitation is completed, 
the deferred assessment will be increased or decreased 
in proportion to the increase or decrease in the total 
property assessment. 

DESIGNATED COMMUNITY HOUSING 
DEVELOPMENT CORPORATIONS (§ 82) 
 

The act designates the following organizations as 
specially chartered community housing development 
corporations (CHDCs): 

1. Connecticut Housing Investment Fund; 
2. Co-Op Initiatives, Inc.; 
3. Greater New Haven Community Loan Fund, 

Inc.; and 
4. Nutmeg Housing Development Corporation. 
The designation allows these organizations to 

develop low- and moderate-income housing and provide 
technical assistance and management training to other 
groups developing this type of housing.  It also qualifies 
these organizations for state funds to develop low- and 
moderate-income housing, capitalize revolving loan 
funds for this purpose, make units accessible to people 
with disabilities, and provide technical assistance to 
other housing developers.  

The legislature already designated Co-Opportunity, 
Inc. and the Local Initiatives Support Corporation as 
CHDCs.  By law, any nonprofit organization qualifies 
for the designation if it was organized to develop 
housing and was designated as a CHDC by the 
governing bodies of two or more towns to apply for 
state housing funds. 

 
GRANTS TO TOWNS WITH SEWAGE SLUDGE 
INCINERATORS (§ 83) 

 
The act specifies that the $250,000 appropriation 

for each fiscal year in the current budget for OPM’s 
water treatment facility host town grant must go to the 
towns that host a plant with a sewage sludge incinerator 
(Cromwell, Hartford, Naugatuck, New Haven, and 
Waterbury), with each town receiving $50,000. 
 
PERMIT FEE FOR MOTOR VEHICLE RACING 
EVENTS (§ 84) 

 
The act decreases, from $177 to $75, the 

application fee for a DMV-issued permit for a motor 
vehicle racing event or exhibition.  By law, anyone 
operating such a race, contest, or demonstration must 
get a DMV permit and undergo an examination of the 
facility and other conditions associated with the event 
before it can be held. 

 
STUDY OF STRUCTURE-HEIGHT HAZARDS 
NEAR GENERAL AVIATION AIRPORTS (§ 85) 

 
The act requires the transportation commissioner, 

within available appropriations, to study the safety 
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hazards relating to the height of structures to be erected 
adjoining general aviation airports. He must submit his 
findings to the Transportation Committee by January 1, 
2002.   

 
PROPERTY TAXES ON NEW POWER PLANTS (§ 
86) 

 
The act allows any municipality to treat a power 

plant that completes construction after July 1, 1998, as 
though the plant were located in an enterprise zone and 
used for commercial or retail purposes.  It thus allows 
the municipality’s legislative body, either before or after 
this act takes effect, to fix the property taxes and 
assessments on the plant’s real and personal property 
both during and after the construction period. This may 
occur despite the enterprise zone law’s requirement that 
towns fix property taxes and assessments only after the 
property improvement occurs. This provision applies 
only if the taxes or assessments set by the municipality 
approximate the plant’s projected tax liability based on 
a reasonable estimate of its fair market value that the 
municipality determined using its best efforts. 
 
REBATES TO PARI-MUTUEL FACILITIES WITH 
OPERATING LOSSES (§ 87) 
 
 By law, towns where pari-mutuel facilities (horse 
and dog racing tracks, jai alai frontons, and off-track 
betting (OTB) and simulcasting facilities) are located 
receive from .25% to 2.1% of the amounts wagered at 
the facilities, depending on the type of facility, its 
location, and the town’s population.  The act allows 
such a town’s legislative body to direct the Special 
Revenue Division’s executive director to credit or 
rebate all or part of its revenue from these payments to 
the pari-mutuel facility, if he determines the facility’s 
licensee incurs a loss from operating it.  The credit or 
rebate cannot exceed the loss nor can it affect the total 
fees the authorized OTB system operator pays the state 
from its OTB activities in any fiscal year. 
 
L-CHAD DEFICIENCY (§ 88) 
   
 By February 1, 2002, the act requires the 
Department of Public Health (DPH) to report to the 
Public Health and Appropriations committees on the 
feasibility, cost, and time frames for establishing testing 
programs for L-chad and similar protein deficiencies.  
The report must include the operating costs associated 
with the program and the feasibility of including the 
cost of any testing equipment within existing resources. 

 L-chad is a genetic deficiency resulting in an 
inability to break down fatty acids as a usable energy 
source. 

 
CHILDREN’S COMFORT CARE CENTER PILOT 
PROGRAM (§ 89) 
 
 The act extends from September 30, 2001 to 
September 30, 2003, the expiration date of the Sunshine 
House, Inc. pilot program for a comfort care center for 
children with limited life expectancies and their 
families. 
 
GUILFORD AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY (§ 90) 
 

The act eliminates a $10,000 limit on the amount of 
real and personal property that the Guilford Agricultural 
Society may hold at any one time. 
 
ALTERNATE ROUTE TO TEACHER 
CERTIFICATION (ARC) PROGRAM 
APPROPRIATION (§ 91) 

 
PA 01-1, June Special Session transfers $200,000 

of the state budget appropriation for higher education 
and health initiatives to the Department of Higher 
Education (DHE) to expand the summer ARC program 
for teachers. This act allows DHE to use the money to 
expand any of its ARC programs, not just the summer 
one. 
 
CHILDREN’S BEHAVIORAL HEALTH ADVISORY 
COMMITTEE (§ 93) 
 
 The act puts the executive director of the Office of 
Protection and Advocacy for Persons with Disabilities 
back on the Children’s Behavioral Health Advisory 
Committee.  PA 01-19 had initially put him on the 
committee, but PA 01-2, June Special Session made 
other changes in that statute without taking PA 01-19 
into account. 
 
HARTFORD BOARD OF EDUCATION 
APPOINTMENTS (§ 96) 
 
 SA 01-7 establishes a partly elected, partly 
appointed Hartford board of education to manage the 
Hartford school system from December 3, 2002, when 
the state-appointed board of trustees for the system 
expires, and December 5, 2005, when an all-elected 
board of education takes control.  The transition board 
consists of four elected members and three Hartford 
voters appointed by the Hartford mayor and approved 
by the city council.  This act requires the mayor to make 
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the appointments in consultation with the governor, the 
Senate president pro tempore and majority and minority 
leaders, and the House speaker and majority and 
minority leaders. 
 
ELDERLY TAX FREEZE PROGRAM (§ 98) 
 
 PA 01-06, June Special Session requires people 
receiving tax freeze benefits to refund them if they fail 
to disclose all matters relating to the benefit or make 
false statements with the intent to defraud. This act 
specifies that they must refund the amount to the town 
or the state, as the case may be.  
 
APPEALS FROM TAX ASSESSOR DECISIONS 
REGARDING RENTAL REBATES AND TAX 
RELIEF FOR ELDERLY AND DISABLED 
HOMEOWNERS (§§ 101 & 102) 
 
 In creating a uniform procedure for appealing OPM 
decisions regarding property tax benefits, PA 01-06, 
June Special Session repealed statutes allowing 
taxpayers to appeal OPM and tax assessor decisions 
under the rental rebate and elderly and disabled tax 
relief programs.  
 This act reinstates taxpayers’ right to appeal tax 
assessors’ decisions to OPM.  It adopts the same 
timetable for registering and deciding the appeals as the 
uniform procedures: 30 business days (instead of 30 
days) to bring the appeal and 30 business days (instead 
of 60 days) to decide it. It allows taxpayers to appeal 
OPM’s decisions to Superior Court under the uniform 
procedure and makes conforming technical changes.     
 
DSS DRUG ASSISTANCE INFORMATION (§ 104) 
 
 The act requires DSS, within available 
appropriations, to make information about 
pharmaceutical company drug programs for indigent 
people available to the elderly and disabled by using the 
ConnPACE program, CHOICES health insurance health 
insurance counseling and assistance program, and 
Infoline. 
 
SCHOOL HEALTH ASSESSMENTS (§ 105) 
  
 The act eliminates a provision of PA 01-4, June 
Special Session that allowed licensed natureopaths and 
chiropractors to perform required school health 
assessments.   
 
 
 
 

MEDICARE PART B PREMIUM PAYMENTS (§ 106)  
 
 The act requires DSS, for FY 2001-02, to pay any 
applicable Medicare buy-in cost for dually eligible 
Medicaid and Medicare recipients from funds deposited 
in a nonlapsing account created for this purpose. The 
account will hold revenue received from the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services for the 
portion designated for any applicable buy-in cost.  The 
act also requires DSS to continue the payments until it 
contracts with the federal government to administer the 
Medicare Part B Buy-in Program.  PA 01-2, June 
Special Session made nearly the same change but 
referred to paying the Medicare Part B premiums 
instead of the applicable Medicare buy-in cost. 
 
GA MEDICAL PROGRAM (§ 107) 
 

The act restores town General Assistance (GA) 
medical program coverage for glasses, which PA 01-2, 
June Special Session had eliminated.  Norwich is the 
only town that still administers its own GA program.  
The others are part of the State-Administered General 
Assistance program (SAGA), which covers glasses just 
as the Medicaid program does. 
 
IMMIGRANT WELFARE AND MEDICAL 
PROGRAMS (§§ 108-112, 126 & 127)  
 

The act keeps solely state-funded welfare programs 
open for legal immigrants who are barred from federally 
funded programs but, with several exceptions, prohibits 
new applications after June 30, 2002. Under prior law, 
many of these programs would have ended July 1, 2001.  
The change applies to cash assistance under Temporary 
Family Assistance (TFA) and SAGA, town GA, state- 
funded medical assistance equivalent to Medicaid, 
SAGA medical aid, HUSKY Part B (the state’s 
children’s health insurance program), and the 
Connecticut Home Care Program for Elders. But those 
who are victims of domestic violence or have mental 
retardation are exempt from the bars on new 
applications. 

(PA 01-2, June Special Session also bars new 
applications after June 30, 2002 for the state-funded 
food stamp program, which serves legal immigrants 
who are not eligible for the federal food stamp 
program.) 

This act applies to legal immigrants and those 
whom the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) 
formerly classified us “permanently residing under color 
of law (PRUCOL).” 
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The act adds $2 million to the state’s biennial 
budget to keep the immigrant programs open until June 
30, 2002.  Up to half of the $2 million will not lapse at 
the end of FY 2001-02 and will continue to be available 
for this purpose in FY 2002-03. The budget already 
contains $1 million to continue intake for the immigrant 
food stamp program effective July 1, 2001. 

 
PILOT PAYMENTS FOR PRIVATE HIGHER 
EDUCATION INSTITUTIONS (§ 113) 

  
The act reverses the changes in payment in lieu of 

taxes (PILOT) payments for private higher education 
institutions made in PA 01-6, June Special Session and 
restores the provisions of prior law.   

PA 01-6, June Special Session eliminated the 
January 1 deadline for the OPM secretary to determine 
each municipality’s PILOT grant for tax-exempt 
property owned by private colleges, general and chronic 
disease hospitals, and certain urgent care facilities.  This 
act restores the deadline. 

PA 01-6, June Special Session spelled out the types 
of private college property eligible for PILOT grants, 
specifying that the eligible property must not only be 
owned by, but also be used as, a private nonprofit 
institution of higher learning. 

In addition, PA 01-6, June Special Session 
specified that the institution offer, or accept transfer of, 
college-level credit and be either licensed or accredited 
by the Board of Governors of Higher Education to offer 
degrees, or meet the following conditions: 

1. be established in Connecticut, 
2. have degree-granting authority and its home 

campus here, 
3. not be part of the state public higher education 

system, and 
4. not have the primary function of preparing 

students for a religious vocation. 
This act eliminates these changes and restores prior 

law, which requires the state to pay PILOT grants on 
tax-exempt real property owned by any private 
nonprofit institution that is primarily engaged in post-
secondary education.   
 
EXPANSION OF MERIDEN ENTERPRISE ZONE (§ 
114) 
 

The law sets conditions under which the DECD 
commissioner can approve the expansion of an 
enterprise zone.  This act requires him to approve 
expanding Meriden’s enterprise zone to include a 
specific parcel. People who develop or improve the 
parcel qualify for property tax abatements, corporate 
business tax credits, and job creation grants. 

FUNDING OF DPH ASTHMA ACTIVITIES (§ 115) 
  

For FYs 2001-02 and 2002-03, the act transfers 
$300,000 from the Tobacco and Health Trust Fund to 
DPH to implement the asthma monitoring system and 
comprehensive statewide asthma plan that PA 01-4, 
June Special Session directs the department to establish. 
  
VOTING TECHNOLOGY (§ 116)  
 

The act (1) establishes a commission to study 
voting technology, including absentee ballot counters 
and (2) permits towns to use new voting machines on a 
pilot basis at the November 2001 municipal election and 
allows the secretary of the state to provide grants for it.  

By January 1, 2002, the 16-member commission 
must report its findings and recommendations on 
current and alternative voting technologies to the 
secretary of the state and the Government 
Administration and Elections (GAE) Committee.  The 
report must recommend: 

1. the type or types of voting technology (other 
than punch card machines) and absentee ballot 
counting technology for use in all elections, 
primaries, and referenda held in the state and 

2. plans for installing and maintaining it and 
distributing grants to towns for that purpose 
and for providing training and public 
information related to the new voting 
equipment. 

Each of the following must appoint one 
commission member: (1) the House speaker and Senate 
president pro tempore, (2) the House and Senate 
majority and minority leaders, (3) the secretary of the 
state, and (3) the State Elections Enforcement 
Commission. 

The Registrars of Voters Association of 
Connecticut and the Connecticut Town Clerks 
Association each appoint two members who must be 
from different political parties.  The chairmen and 
ranking members of the GAE Committee or their 
designees also serve.  The committee chairmen (or their 
designees) are the chairmen of the commission.  
Appointing authorities must name their appointments by 
July 31, which is also the deadline for holding the first 
meeting.  Appointing authorities fill any commission 
vacancies.  The GAE Committee’s administrative staff 
serves as staff to the commission.   

The act allows a town to use a new type of voting 
machine or absentee ballot counter on a pilot basis in 
the November 2001 municipal election if both its 
registrars of voters request it and the secretary of the 
state approves.  The secretary may provide a grant, 
within her available appropriations, to defray the town’s 
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costs. 
 

CONNECTICUT RESOURCES RECOVERY 
AUTHORITY (CRRA) POWERS (§ 117) 

 
The act expands CRRA’s powers to allow it to 

make contracts in connection with the remediation or 
development of property it owns as of July 1, 2001. 
 
USE OF EDUCATION COST SHARING (ECS) 
GRANT INCREASES (§ 118) 
 

The act eliminates a redundant requirement in PA 
01-1, June Special Session that towns use all money 
they receive for ECS grant increases for FYs 2001-02 
and 2002-03 for education. The law already applies this 
requirement to ECS grant increases towns receive for 
any fiscal year. 

 
HOSPITAL OUTPATIENT RATES (§ 119) 
   

The act specifies that the outpatient hospital 
Medicaid rate increase required by PA 01-3, June 
Special Session is for the rate period beginning July 1, 
2000 instead of July 1, 2001 and effective June 1, 2001. 
  
HOSPITAL INPATIENT RATES (§ 120) 
  

The act makes the inpatient hospital Medicaid rate 
increase, as required under PA 01-3, June Special 
Session effective June 1, instead of July 1, 2001. 
 
DSS RATES TO FREESTANDING CHRONIC 
DISEASE HOSPITALS SERVING VENTILATOR 
DEPENDENT PATIENTS (§ 121) 
 

For FYs 2001-02 and 2002-03, the act allows the 
DSS commissioner to pay up to an additional $300,000 
annually to freestanding chronic disease hospitals to 
cover services provided to their long-term ventilator 
patients, on top of the hospital’s normal daily rate. PA 
01-2, June Special Session changes the existing rate 
formula beginning with rate year 2001-02. It requires 
the commissioner to give the rate of the highest-paid 
freestanding chronic disease hospital to any hospital 
having more than an average of 15% of its inpatient 
days used as ventilator patient days paid by DSS for the 
previous rate period, in lieu of any other rate paid. PA 
01-02, June Special Session, gives all freestanding 
chronic disease hospitals rate increases of 2.5% in FY 
2001-02 and 2% in FY 2002-03.    
 
 
 

URBAN AND INDUSTRIAL SITES 
REINVESTMENT PROGRAM (§ 122)  
 
Community Development Entities (CDEs)  
 

Under the act, taxpayers investing any amount in 
eligible environmental remediation and urban site 
reinvestment projects through CDEs qualify for state 
business tax credits. The CDE must have been created 
to receive federal “new markets tax credits” in exchange 
for investing in community development projects.  (The 
credits were authorized under the Consolidated 
Appropriations Act of 2001, PL 106-554, § 121).  Under 
prior law, taxpayers qualified for credits only if they 
invested funds directly in an eligible project or through 
a state-registered fund.  

A CDE must be a corporation, partnership, or 
limited liability company qualified to do business in the 
state on or before October 1, 2001. Its purpose must be 
to provide investment capital or financing for eligible 
projects, and it must be accountable to the residents of 
two or more designated towns through its governing 
board.  Designated towns are those where taxpayers 
investing in urban reinvestment projects qualify for 
credits. They are the 17 towns with enterprise zones, 25 
state-designated distressed municipalities (11 of which 
have enterprise zones), and the five towns with 
populations over 100,000 (all of which have enterprise 
zones).    

CDEs must register with the DECD commissioner 
in the same manner as funds, but the act explicitly states 
that a CDE does not constitute a fund. They must 
provide evidence documenting their financial 
responsibility, integrity, professional competence, and 
experience managing investment money.  They must 
also report annually to the commissioner. 

CDEs must be certified by the U.S. Treasury to 
receive federal tax credits before they can earn the state 
tax credits.  
   
Tax Credits  
 

The act allows taxpayers investing through a CDE 
to qualify for dollar-for-dollar business tax credits when 
investing in industrial or urban sites reinvestment 
projects. It specifies that they can claim the credits 
against a combination of different business taxes. 

The credit amount and the schedule for claiming 
the credits through a CDE are the same as those for 
claiming credits directly or through a fund manager. By 
law, taxpayers qualify for tax credits equal to 100% of 
the invested amount spread over 10 years from the 
investment date.  They can begin claiming the credits 
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three years after that date: 10% per year in years four 
through seven and 20% per year in the last three years.  

The act specifies that taxpayers making direct 
investments or through funds or CDEs qualify for 
credits against a combination of business taxes.  
 
PROJECT APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS AND 
ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA  
 

The act requires businesses, fund managers, and 
CDEs to project the amount of state and local tax 
revenue the proposed project will generate when they 
apply for tax credits. Prior law requires them to project 
only the amount of state revenue the project will 
generate. 

The act makes investments in urban reinvestment 
projects eligible for tax credits without requiring the 
projects to create new jobs. Under prior law, the jobs 
had to go to new hires or current employees transferred 
from other states.   
 
Recapturing Credits  
 

By law, taxpayers must recapture (i.e., repay) 
credits if the DECD commissioner revokes the project’s 
eligibility certificate. He can do this if the project fails 
to generate enough state tax revenue to cover the 
amount actually invested. Prior law imposed different 
requirements for determining the recapture amount. The 
act reconciles them.  

Prior law defined the recapture amount as that 
amount by which the generated state tax revenues 
exceeded the amount of the approved investment. But it 
also required taxpayers to recapture the credits if the 
generated revenues exceed the total value of the credits 
they claimed. The act conforms these requirements, 
basing the recapture amount on the difference between 
the total value of the credits claimed and the generated 
revenues. It also bases the recapture requirement on a 
number that varies from year to year depending on the 
schedule for claiming credits or the amount a taxpayer 
actually claims.  
 
Recapture Amounts  
 

The law requires taxpayers to repay credits based 
on the proportion of their investment to the project’s 
total investment. The act changes how a taxpayer must 
calculate his pro rata share. Under prior law, that share 
was based on a taxpayer’s share of the total amount that 
was actually invested. Under the act, the pro rata share 
is based on the total amount of the investment the 
commissioner approved for tax credits. In effect, the act 
lowers each taxpayer’s pro rata share since the amount 

approved is likely to be greater than the amount actually 
invested.  

The amount the taxpayer actually repays on his 
return is based on a schedule the law specifies.  
According to that schedule, the recapture amount 
depends on the year in which he claimed credits. If he 
must repay the credits in the first year he claimed them, 
he must repay 90% of the recapture amount.  The 
percent declines with each subsequent year: 65% in the 
second year, 50% the third, 30% the fourth, 20% the 
fifth, and 10% for the sixth through tenth years.  
 
TECHNICAL CHANGES  
 
 The act defines project in terms of a broad range of 
activities associated with redeveloping sites and 
furnishing the improved property.  

The act changes the definition of investment. Under 
prior law, investments included direct investments and 
loans made to a fund for the benefit of a taxpayer, who 
guarantees the loan.  The act specifies that investments 
include equity investments and loans, but does not 
specify the parties lending or borrowing the money. 
 
TEMPORARY ASSISTANCE FOR NEEDY 
FAMILIES (TANF) AND AFDC RECOVERIES (§ 
123) 
 

Starting in FY 2001-02, the act permits DSS, with 
OPM’s approval, to credit the federal share of 
recoveries or overpayments under the TANF program to 
a nonlapsing account in the General Fund. It can pay the 
federal share out of that account. PA 01-02, June 
Special Session authorizes the same treatment for Aid to 
Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) recoveries 
and overpayments. By law, DSS must make reasonable 
efforts to recoup funds it has paid out under both TANF 
and AFDC and return to the federal government its 
proportional, or federal, share. Congress essentially 
replaced AFDC with TANF when it passed the Personal 
Responsibility and Work Opportunities Reconciliation 
Act of 1996.   
 
TEMPORARY FAMILY ASSISTANCE (TFA) 
SANCTIONS FOR UNMARRIED TEEN PARENTS 
(§ 124) 
 

PA 01-2, June Special Session prohibits an 
unmarried minor parent who does not have a high 
school diploma and who has a child at least 12 weeks 
old in her care from receiving TFA benefits unless she 
is participating in educational activities directed towards 
attaining a high school diploma or its equivalent. This 
act makes it clear that those parents with the equivalent 
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of a high school diploma (e.g., a GED) do not have to 
participate in these activities.  
 
TFA TIME LIMITS AND ASSISTANCE RECEIVED 
OUTSIDE OF CONNECTICUT (§ 125) 

 
PA 01-2, June Special Session establishes a five-year 

maximum for TFA benefits paid to families who are 
subject to state law’s 21-month TFA time limit, but 
qualify for six-month extensions. It counts towards the 
60-month limit any month during which a family 
received TFA benefits from another state. This act instead 
counts such benefits received from another jurisdiction, 
which would appear to include other states, U.S. 
territories, and tribal nations.  But, since it appears that no 
other jurisdiction calls its welfare program “Temporary 
Family Assistance,” it is unclear whether this provision 
will have any legal effect. 
 
TRAFFIC STOP DATA REPORTS AND REVIEW (§ 
128) 

 
By law, state and local police departments must 

collect data on the race, color, ethnicity, gender, and age 
of drivers they stop and the offenses and dispositions 
involved.  The act requires them to submit, by October 
1, 2002, one more annual summary of this data to the 
chief state’s attorney.  Under prior law, their obligation 
to provide summaries ended with their October 1, 2001 
submission. (See also § 11 above.) 

The act also extends, from January 1, 2002 to 
January 1, 2003, the chief state’s attorney’s obligation 
(within appropriations) to review the prevalence and 
disposition of traffic stops and reported complaints.  By 
law, he is required to make one report of his results and 
recommendations to the governor and legislature.  The 
report is due by January 1, 2002.   

 
EFFECTIVE DATE CHANGES IN DSS 
IMPLEMENTER (§ 129) 
 

The act changes several effective dates in PA 01-2, 
June Special Session.  It delays the effective date from 
July 1 to October 1, 2001 for that act’s changes 
concerning (1) exceptions to TFA work requirements 
for parents with minor children and (2) child placements 
in residential facilities.  It delays the effective date from 
July 1 to August 1, 2001 for the elimination of SAGA 
and GA coverage for nonemergency medical 
transportation.   
 
 
 
 

REPEALED PROVISIONS (§ 130) 
 
Interlocal Agreement Revaluation Grants 
 

The act eliminates OPM grants to towns that jointly 
revalue property under an interlocal agreement. The 
grants covered the cost of hiring a state-certified 
revaluation company to revalue properties in the 
participating towns.  Grant amounts varied based on a 
town’s population, ranging from $12,500 for towns with 
fewer than 20,000 people to $30,000 for towns with 
100,000 or more people.   
 
Transfers of Property Subject to Succession Tax 
 

The act eliminates remaining requirements for the 
revenue services commissioner to be notified of, and 
consent to, transfers of a decedent’s property subject to 
the succession tax. Under prior law, failure to obtain the 
required consent resulted in a penalty of triple the tax 
due.  The following transfers were already exempt: 

1. transfers of money in a joint account to the 
surviving account holder or in a trust account 
to the account beneficiary;  

2. payments under a retirement or pension plan, 
trust, or contract receivable after death to the 
beneficiary; and 

3. property transfers to a surviving spouse. 
(PA 01-6, June Special Session also eliminates the 

notice and consent requirements and the penalty.) 
 
Bristol Resource Recovery Facility Bonds 
 

The act repeals provisions of SA 01-2, June Special 
Session that would have allowed the Bristol Resource 
Recovery Facility to refinance its outstanding debt and 
expanded the types of projects it could fund and the uses 
to which it could put its bond funds.  It also eliminates 
provisions of a 1993 special act concerning facility 
bonds. 

 
Appealing Tax Assessor Decisions Regarding Elderly 
and Disabled Property Tax Relief Benefits 
 
 The act reinstates two laws that were repealed by 
PA 01-6, June Special Session which, among other 
things, creates a uniform procedure for appealing 
decisions under different property tax exemption and 
relief programs.  The reinstated statutes allow taxpayers 
to appeal OPM and tax assessor decisions under the 
Renter Rebate and Circuit Breaker programs for the 
elderly and disabled. 

 
 



 2001 JUNE SPECIAL SESSION 293 

 
2001 OLR PA Summary Book 

BACKGROUND 
 

Federal Welfare Reform Law’s Effects on Legal 
Immigrants 
 

The 1996 federal welfare reform law (PL 104-193, 
8 U.S.C. § 1601 et seq.) barred aliens who are not 
“qualified aliens” as defined in federal law (8 U.S.C. § 
1641) from most federally funded public assistance 
programs. Even “qualified aliens” who enter the U.S. 
legally as permanent residents after the law’s effective 
date, August 22, 1996, cannot receive federally funded 
public assistance for their first five years here (8 U.S.C 
§ 1613(a)). But the federal law makes some exceptions. 
It allows qualified aliens who are refugees or have been 
granted asylum and certain other disadvantaged groups 
to qualify for assistance immediately for up to either 
five or seven years, depending on the program. Also, 
permanent resident aliens who have worked here for 10 
years and those who are veterans of, or on active duty 
with, the U.S. armed forces and their spouses and 
children have no time restrictions on eligibility. All 
qualified aliens admitted into this country before August 
22, 1996 remain eligible for federally funded assistance 
programs. 
 Federal law permits states to enact laws setting up 
separate state-funded programs for legal immigrants. In 
1997, Connecticut established two-year, state-funded 
cash, medical assistance, and home care programs for 
qualified aliens and other lawfully residing immigrant 
aliens. In 1999, the legislature extended these programs 
to July 1, 2001. In 2000, it also made people who 
formerly held PRUCOL immigration status eligible for 
those state-funded programs. Prior to federal 
immigration reform, the INS assigned PRUCOL status 
to noncitizens without permanent resident status whom 
the agency chose not to deport. Because INS now 
classifies many who had this status as “non-
immigrants,” some were ineligible for state assistance 
before the 2000 change.  
 In 1998, Connecticut established a permanent state-
funded food stamp program for legal immigrants barred 
from the federal program. 
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01-181 ............................23 
01-182 ..........................166 
01-183 ............................19 
01-184 ............................28 
01-185 ............................40 
01-186 ..........................146 
01-187 ............................63 
01-188 ..........................149 
01-189  (VETOED).....167 
01-190 ............................23 
01-191 ..........................209 
01-192 ..........................202 
01-193 ..........................214 
01-194 ..........................193 
01-195 ..........................145 
01-196 ..........................150 
01-197 ..........................174 
 
 
 
 
 

Public Act           Page No. 
 
01-198 ..........................209 
01-199 ..........................151 
01-200 ............................72 
01-201 ..........................157 
01-202 ............................56 
01-203 ..........................157 
01-204 ............................56 
01-205 ............................37 
01-206 ..........................168 
01-207 ............................83 
01-208 ..........................168 
01-209 ............................85 
01-210 ............................28 
01-211 ..........................157 
 
 01-1  June SS..............217 
 01-2  June SS..............225 
 01-3  June SS..............241 
 01-4  June SS..............242 
 01-5  June SS..............248 
 01-6  June SS..............255 
 01-7  June SS..............266 
 01-8  June SS..............270 
 01-9  June SS..............273 
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ACCOUNTANTS AND ACCOUNTING 
Bank audits, submission requirements: 
  (01-183).................................................................19 
 
 
ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATIONS 
Administrative Services, multiple- 
 criteria bids: (01-106)............................................73 
Children and Families, child abuse  
 registry content appeals: (01-142)......................137 
Children and Families, high-risk  
 newborn care: (01-190).........................................23 
Consumer Protection, home heating-oil  
 dealers, registration:  
 (01-46)....................................................................65 
Consumer Protection, returned pharmaceuticals 

procedures:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Consumer Protection, telecommunications 
  infrastructure layout technician licensing:  
 (01-164)..................................................................71 
Correction, incarceration cost assessment:  
 (01-129)................................................................117 
Correction, returned pharmaceuticals 
  procedures:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Correction, weapons storage locations:  
 (01-51)..................................................................107 
Economic and Community Development, new 

affordable housing program: 
  (01-7 June SS) ....................................................266 
Economic and Community Development, self-

employment/entrepreneurial opportunities  
 program:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Environmental Protection, alcoholic beverage 

prohibition:  
 (01-150)..................................................................50 
Environmental Protection, fossil fuel power plant 

emissions (Vetoed):  
 (01-107)..................................................................45 
Environmental Protection, hazardous  
 substances, federal regulations impact:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
Health Care Access, hospital uniform debt  
 collection standards:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Human Rights and Opportunities, affirmative  
 action plan filing schedule:  
 (01-53)..................................................................107 
Insurance, cancer clinical trial procedures:  
 (01-171)................................................................189 
Insurance, producer licensing:  
 (01-113)..................................................................95 

Labor, hotel/restaurant employee wages, tip  
 credit:  
 (01-42).................................................................162 
Labor, regional workforce development  
 board contracts:  
 (01-156) ...............................................................212 
Mental Health and Addiction Services,  
 residential treatment facilities discharge plans:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Mental Retardation, forensic client  
 placement/care:  
 (01-154) ...............................................................184 
Motor Vehicles, dealer/repairer emissions  
 inspections:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Motor Vehicles, driver license vision  
 standards:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Motor Vehicles, new vehicle emissions  
exemption:  
 (01-9 June SS).................................................. ...273 
Public Health, day care center CPR training 

requirement:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Public Health, drinking water contamination  
 notices:  
 (01-185) .................................................................40 
Public Health, drinking water copper content  
 education programs:  
 (01-185) .................................................................40 
Public Health, EMS personnel  
 licensure/certification:  
 (01-1)...................................................................177 
Public Health, EMS rates:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Public Health, professional counselor continuing 

education:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Public Health, traumatic brain injury registry:  
 (01-90).................................................................179 
Public Health, vital records  
 procedures/maintenance:  
 (01-163) ...............................................................185 
Public Health, youth camp physical exams:  
 (01-94).................................................................180 
Public Safety, firearms evidence databank:  
 (01-130) ...............................................................196 
Siting Council, forecast report filing  
 requirements:  
 (01-144) .................................................................39 
Social Services, breast/cervical cancer treatment 

program:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
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Social Services, foreign adoptee HUSKY B  
 eligibility:  
 (01-137)..................................................................81 
Social Services, rest home bed conversions:  
 (01-2 June SS)... ..................................................225 
Social Services, severely disabled persons  
 employment program:  
 (01-61)....................................................................80 
Social Services, welfare/medical assistance 

reimbursement priority:  
 (01-207)... ..............................................................83 
State Marshal Commission, training 

requirements/vacancies:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
 
 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES, DEPARTMENT 

OF 
Multiple-criteria bids authorized:  
 (01-106)..................................................................73 
Recycled products use, promotion:  
 (01-168)................................................................165 
Riverview Hospital Medicaid revenue,  
 General Fund deposit:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
State Marshal Commission, responsibilities:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
State vehicles, fuel efficiency/alternative  
 fuel use:  
 (01-168)................................................................165 
 
 
ADOPTION 
Adoptable child, court report frequency:  
 (01-159)................................................................144 
Birth certificate issuance:  
 (01-163)................................................................185 
DCF photo-listing service use:  
 (01-142)... ............................................................137 
Foreign, HUSKY B eligibility:  
 (01-137)..................................................................81 
 
 
ADULT PROBATION OFFICE 
Voting rights restoration, probationer notification:  
 (01-11)..................................................................101 
 
 
AGRICULTURE 
See also Dairies and Dairy Products 
Aquaculture industry protection:  
 (01-120)..................................................................48 
 
 

Fruit/vegetable harvesting, landowner liability:  
 (01-82).................................................................112 
Guilford Agricultural Society property value  
 limit eliminated:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
 
 
AGRICULTURE, DEPARTMENT OF 
Animal population control, veterinarian  
 certification:  
 (01-87)...................................................................44 
Dog fund administrator named:  
 (01-62)...................................................................43 
Dog license form standardization:  
 (01-87)...................................................................44 
Drugged animals, drawing contest 

disqualification/penalties:  
 (01-77)...................................................................43 
Feral cat sterilization, funding permitted:  
 (01-87)...................................................................44 
Glass eel beds report:  
 (01-115) .................................................................48 
Maintenance, repair and improvement account, 

established:  
 (01-126) .................................................................49 
Milk tanker trucks, transportation  
 permits/inspections:  
 (01-138) .................................................................49 
Pesticide application study:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Wildlife fertility control, budget transfer:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
 
 
AIR POLLUTION 
Crematories, prohibited locations:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Fossil fuel power plant emissions standards, 

modifications (Vetoed):  
 (01-107) .................................................................45 
Motor vehicles emissions program redesign:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Sewage sludge incineration plants,  
 emissions testing:  
 (01-204) .................................................................56 
 
 
AIRPORTS 
Bradley International Airport Board of Directors, 

created:  
 (01-5 June SS).....................................................248 
Bradley International Community Advisory  
 Board, created:  
 (01-5 June SS).....................................................248 
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Bradley Rescue and Firefighting Unit, created:  
 (01-105)................................................................206 
Structure-height hazard study:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
 
 
ALCOHOL AND DRUG ABUSE 
See also Driving While Intoxicated 
Residential treatment facilities, discharge plan 

requirement:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Self help groups, mental health  
 facility use:  
 (01-27)..................................................................178 
 
 
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 
Beer sales, packaging requirements:  
 (01-14)....................................................................65 
Bowling establishment permits/containers:  
 (01-17)....................................................................65 
DEP lands, prohibition procedures:  
 (01-150)..................................................................50 
Importation/disposal, permitted:  
 (01-92)....................................................................68 
Out-of-state shipper's permits, eligibility:  
 (01-60)....................................................................67 
Retailers, scan device use/restrictions:  
 (01-92)....................................................................68 
 
 
ALTERNATIVE SANCTIONS OFFICE 
Juvenile offender programs, gender specific  
 services:  
 (01-181)..................................................................23 
 
 
ANIMALS 
See also Fish and Game 
Diseases, State Veterinarian report:  
 (01-12)....................................................................43 
Dog license form, standardization:  
 (01-87)....................................................................44 
Drawing contests, drug testing:  
 (01-77)....................................................................43 
Guide dog license fee waiver:  
 (01-62)....................................................................43 
Sterilization/vaccination vouchers,  
 veterinarians:  
 (01-87)....................................................................44 
 
 
 
 

ARBITRATION 
See Collective Bargaining 
 
 
ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE 
Court-appointed health care guardians,  
 defense:  
 (01-41).................................................................106 
Second Injury Fund employer reports,  
 non-compliance injunction:  
 (01-40).................................................................162 
 
 
AUTOMOBILES 
See Motor Vehicles 
 
 
AUTOPSIES 
Informed consent procedures:  
 (01-122) ...............................................................182 
 
 
BAIL 
Bonds, forfeiture/termination/release:  
 (01-186) ...............................................................146 
 
 
BANKING, DEPARTMENT OF 
Child support collection agencies,  
 licensure:  
 (01-207) .................................................................83 
Community credit unions rating report,  
 distribution:  
 (01-9)....................................................................... 9 
Credit union community reinvestment  
 performance rating use:  
 (01-9)....................................................................... 9 
High-cost lending violation/penalties,  
 established:  
 (01-34)...................................................................11 
Investment broker/advisor, registration  
 application withdrawal:  
 (01-48)...................................................................13 
Money transmission licensure,  
 authority/responsibility:  
 (01-56)...................................................................14 
Uniform Securities Act violations,  
 restitution/notices:  
 (01-48)...................................................................13 
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BANKS AND BANKING 
See also Credit Unions; Investments; Mortgages 
Check cashing, conditions:  
 (01-175)..................................................................17 
Closure/conversion, process modified:  
 (01-183)..................................................................19 
Elder abuse investigations, confidential  
 information disclosure:  
 (01-209)..................................................................85 
Execution upon funds, minimum balance/creditor 

notification:  
 (01-196)................................................................150 
Financial records, privacy requirements:  
 (01-76)....................................................................16 
Financially troubled banks, powers:  
 (01-183)..................................................................19 
Money transmission businesses, licensing  
 requirements:  
 (01-56)....................................................................14 
Registration application withdrawal:  
 (01-48)....................................................................13 
Statutes, revised:  
 (01-10)....................................................................11 
Subsidiary office establishment, prior approval 

eliminated:  
 (01-183)..................................................................19 
Transaction fees, modified:  
 (01-183)..................................................................19 
 
 
BIDS AND BIDDING 
See Government Purchasing  
 
 
BINDING ARBITRATION 
See Collective Bargaining 
 
 
BIRTH CERTIFICATES 
Filing/content/access, modifications:  
 (01-163)................................................................185 
 
 
BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS 
See also Parole Board 
Affirmative action plan filing schedule:  
 (01-53)..................................................................107 
Apprenticeship Council, hiring ratio  
 report/membership:  
 (01-170)................................................................213 
Bradley International Airport Board of Directors, 

created:  
 (01-5 June SS) .....................................................248 
 

Bradley International Airport Commission,  
 abolished:  
 (01-5 June SS).....................................................248 
Bradley International Community Advisory  
 Board, created:  
 (01-5 June SS).....................................................248 
Camp Harkness Advisory Committee,  
 established:  
 (01-108) ...............................................................180 
Capitol Center Commission, established:  
 (01-172) .................................................................75 
Children's Behavioral Health Advisory  
 Committee, membership increased:  
 (01-19)...................................................................79 
Children's Behavioral Health Advisory  
 Committee, membership increased:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Children's Behavioral Health Advisory  
 Committee, membership restored:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Community Mental Health Strategy Board,  
 established:  
 (01-8 June SS).....................................................270 
Connecticut Coastline Port Authority, 

responsibilities/renamed:  
 (01-143) ...............................................................208 
Connecticut Educational Technology  
 Commission, duties:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
Connecticut Educational Technology  
 Commission, executive director retirement  
 options:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
Connecticut Employment and Training  
 Commission, information technology  
 workforce recommendations:  
 (01-193) ...............................................................214 
Connecticut Port Authority,  
 named/responsibilities:  
 (01-143) ...............................................................208 
Death Penalty Commission, created:  
 (01-151) ...............................................................141 
Developmental Disabilities Advisory  
 Commission, membership increased:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Education and Services for the Blind, collective 

bargaining costs: 
  (01-9 June SS)....................................................273 
Education and Services for the Blind,  
 vending machine revenue disbursements:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Electrologists Examination Board, named:  
 (01-109) ...............................................................181 
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Employment and Training Commission,  
 annual report:  
 (01-42)..................................................................162 
Hartford Board of Education, appointments:  
 (01-9 June SS)... ..................................................273 
Hartford Board of Education, training program:  
 (01-1 June SS)... ..................................................217 
Historical Commission, state historian  
 membership:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Home Inspection Licensing Board, licensure  
 refusal permitted:  
 (01-155)..................................................................70 
Hypertrichologists Examination Board,  
 renamed:  
 (01-109)................................................................181 
Illness and School Performance Task Force,  
 created:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Interdistrict Magnet School for the  
 Performing Arts in Waterbury Committee, 

established:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Long-Term Care Planning Committee, 

membership/scope expanded:  
 (01-119)....................................................................7 
Medical Examining Board, accreditation  
 disciplinary actions:  
 (01-50)..................................................................178 
Nitrogen Credit Advisory Board, creation  
 authorized:  
 (01-180)..................................................................52 
Pardons Board, crime victim statement:  
 (01-211)................................................................157 
Pardons Board, records access:  
 (01-211)................................................................157 
Prevention Council, created:  
 (01-121)................................................................116 
Private Activity Bond Commission,  
 eliminated:  
 (01-7 June SS) .....................................................266 
Regional workforce development boards,  
 annual reports:  
 (01-97)..................................................................211 
Regional workforce development boards,  
 required contract provisions:  
 (01-156)................................................................212 
School boards, graduation requirements:  
 (01-166)..................................................................31 
School boards, psychotropic drug policies:  
 (01-124)................................................................182 
School readiness councils,  
 establishment/convening:  
 (01-1 June SS)... ..................................................217 

Seafood Advisory Council, membership  
 increased:  
 (01-98)...................................................................45 
Second Injury Fund Advisory Board, voting 

modifications:  
 (01-31).................................................................174 
Siting Council, aquaculture industry  
 considerations:  
 (01-120) .................................................................48 
Special Education Advisory Council, duties:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
Spinal Cord Injury Research Board, continued:  
 (01-109) ...............................................................181 
State Academic Awards Board, sunset date  
 eliminated:  
 (01-141) .................................................................29 
State Advisory Council on Children and Families, 

membership increased:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
State Bond Commission, authority/functions  
 expanded:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
State Marshal Commission, responsibilities:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Student Transfer and Articulation Advisory  
 Council, articulation agreements:  
 (01-165) ...............................................................212 
Teachers Retirement Board, actuarial deadline:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Tobacco and Health Trust Fund Board, meeting 

requirements:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Transportation Strategy Board, established:  
 (01-5 June SS).....................................................248 
UConn/CSU Board of Trustees, student member 

qualifications:  
 (01-141) .................................................................29 
Veterans' Affairs Board of Trustees,  
 meeting schedule:  
 (01-58).................................................................195 
Voting Technology Study Commission,  
 established:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Water Planning Council, created:  
 (01-177) .................................................................40 
 
 
BONDS 
Adrien's Landing, uses expanded:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
Authorized/reduced:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
Bradley Airport projects, modifications:  
 (01-5 June SS).....................................................248 
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Bristol Resource Recovery Facility,  
 authorized: 
  (01-2 June SS)... .................................................225 
Bristol Resource Recovery Facility,  
 repealed:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
DECD supportive housing pilots initiative:  
 (01-8 June SS)... ..................................................270 
Information technology/brownfield remediation, 

authorization:  
 (01-179)..................................................................25 
Information technology/brownfield remediation, 

authorization expanded:  
 (01-6 June SS)... ..................................................255 
Private activity, statutory allocation changed:  
 (01-7 June SS)... ..................................................266 
Residential Mortgage Refinancing Guarantee  
 Program bonds, use:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Steel Point project, authorization extended:  
 (01-210)..................................................................28 
Surety, fiduciary requirements modified:  
 (01-127)................................................................116 
Surety, government construction contract  
 requirements:  
 (01-21)....................................................................87 
Surety, money transmission licensees:  
 (01-56)....................................................................14 
Tax increment financing, funding extension:  
 (01-210)..................................................................28 
Unexpended allotments, reporting/reallocation 

procedures established:  
 (01-7 June SS) .....................................................266 
 
 
BRIDGES 
Andrew J. McCusker Memorial, named:  
 (01-105)................................................................206 
Hales Road highway bridge, replacement  
 authorized:  
 (01-105)................................................................206 
John L. Levitow Memorial, named:  
 (01-105)................................................................206 
Jules M. Hollander Memorial, named:  
 (01-105)................................................................206 
Lieutenant James T. Hall Memorial, named:  
 (01-105)................................................................206 
Major John Caldwell Memorial, named:  
 (01-105)................................................................206 
Major Thomas Y. Seymour Memorial,  
 named:  
 (01-105)................................................................206 
 
 

Use by oversized prefabricated units:  
 (01-138) .................................................................49 
Veterans of the Battle of the Bulge Memorial,  
 named:  
 (01-105) ...............................................................206 
 
 
BUILDINGS AND BUILDING CODES 
See also State Buildings 
Fire sprinkler requirement:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
Historic structure/landmark provision  
 applicability:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
State demolition funds, relocation use  
 permitted:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
 
 
BUSINESS 
See also Corporations; Economic Development; 

Limited Liability Companies 
Crematories, prohibited locations:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Enterprise zone benefits,  
 qualifications/awards:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Information technology needs, higher  
 education programs evaluation:  
 (01-193) ...............................................................214 
Manufacturing, personal property tax  
 abatement schedule:  
 (01-125) ...............................................................213 
Restaurant employees, minimum wage  
 determination: 
  (01-42).................................................................162 
Transfer Act modifications:  
 (01-204) .................................................................56 
Violent video game use by minors,  
 fines (Vetoed):  
 (01-54).................................................................107 
 
 
CAPITAL PUNISHMENT 
Aggravating factors/qualifying offenses,  
 modifications:  
 (01-151) ...............................................................141 
Mentally retarded persons, prohibition:  
 (01-151) ...............................................................141 
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CHIEF MEDICAL EXAMINER, OFFICE OF THE 
Informed consent form development, autopsies:  
 (01-122)................................................................182 
 
 
CHILD ABUSE 
See also Children and Families, Department of 
Guardians ad litem required:  
 (01-148)................................................................140 
High-risk newborn caregivers, mandatory  
 reporter education/training:  
 (01-190)..................................................................23 
Registry content, appeals:  
 (01-142)................................................................137 
 
 
CHILD SUPPORT 
Collection agencies, licensure/fee limits:  
 (01-207)..................................................................83 
Enforcement officers, powers expanded:  
 (01-91)..................................................................114 
Enforcement officers, powers expanded:  
 (01-207)..................................................................83 
Enforcement orders, modifications:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Enforcement system, modifications:  
 (01-207)..................................................................83 
Liens, application of proceeds:  
 (01-207)..................................................................83 
Post majority support/life insurance:  
 (01-135)................................................................137 
 
 
CHILDREN AND FAMILIES, DEPARTMENT OF 
Abuse/neglect proceedings, confidential  
 record release:  
 (01-142)................................................................137 
Background/abuse registry checks,  
 procedures:  
 (01-159)................................................................144 
Child abuse by school personnel, licensing  
 agency notification:  
 (01-142)................................................................137 
Child abuse registry content, appeals:  
 (01-142)................................................................137 
Community-based programs, mental health  
 services:  
 (01-181)..................................................................23 
Court ordered commitment, extension  
 requirement:  
 (01-142)................................................................137 
Juvenile offender programs, gender  
 specific services:  
 (01-181)..................................................................23 

KidCare behavioral health services,  
 modifications:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Permanency plans, concurrent requirement:  
 (01-159) ...............................................................144 
Permanency plans/hearings, modifications:  
 (01-142) ...............................................................137 
Permanency plans/residential facility placements, 

modifications:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Photo-listing service, child adoption progress  
 reports:  
 (01-159) ...............................................................144 
Photo-listing service, use:  
 (01-142) ...............................................................137 
Relative caregiver licensing requirements:  
 (01-70)...................................................................80 
Serious juvenile offender school enrollment,  
 educational records transfer:  
 (01-176) .................................................................23 
Termination of parental rights appeals,  
 expedited hearing:  
 (01-148) ...............................................................140 
Visitation/placement hearings, sibling  
 intervention:  
 (01-149) ...............................................................141 
 
 
CHILDREN AND MINORS 
See also Adoption; Child Abuse; Day Care 
Adoptable, court report frequency:  
 (01-159) ...............................................................144 
Behavioral health services system renamed:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Chronic disease assessment: 
  (01-4 June SS)....................................................242 
Custody/visitation, parental counseling  
 orders:  
 (01-186) ...............................................................146 
Disabled, DCF-licensed residential facilities,  
 zoning regulations:  
 (01-161) ...............................................................100 
Emancipation petition procedure:  
 (01-148) ...............................................................140 
Female juvenile justice facility, "fast track"  
 exemption:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
Hearing aids, limited health insurance  
 coverage:  
 (01-171) ...............................................................189 
Infant formula, health insurance coverage  
 mandate:  
 (01-101) .................................................................95 
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Juvenile offender programs, gender specific  
 services:  
 (01-181)..................................................................23 
KidCare behavioral health services, 

named/eligibility/modifications:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Legal representation, guardian ad litem role:  
 (01-148)................................................................140 
Medication administration on school  
 grounds:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Permanency plans/hearings, modifications:  
 (01-142)................................................................137 
Permanency plans/residential facility  
 placements, modifications:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Psychotropic drugs, administration/ 
 recommendations:  
 (01-124)................................................................182 
Relative caregiver licensing requirements/ 
 exceptions:  
 (01-70)....................................................................80 
Relative caregivers, foster care license  
 exemption restored:  
 (01-142)................................................................137 
Relative caregivers, foster care licensing  
 exemption eliminated:  
 (01-159)................................................................144 
Serious juvenile offender educational records,  
 transfer:  
 (01-176)..................................................................23 
Sunshine House pilot program, extended:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Trust beneficiary interest, representation:  
 (01-69)..................................................................109 
Violent video game prohibition (Vetoed):  
 (01-54)..................................................................107 
Visitation, convicted murderer prohibition:  
 (01-211)................................................................157 
Visitation/placement hearings, sibling  
 intervention:  
 (01-149)................................................................141 
Youth camps, license denial appeal:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Youth camps, regulation modifications:  
 (01-94)..................................................................180 
Youth service bureau funding transfer  
 repealed:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Youth service bureaus, grant eligibility:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Youthful offender status, extended:  
 (01-211)................................................................157 
 

CIVIL PROCEDURE 
See also Crimes and Offenses; Evidence; Juries 
Animal drawing contests, drugging penalties:  
 (01-77)...................................................................43 
Arbitration cases, designated judge trial referees:  
 (01-203) ...............................................................157 
Claims Commissioner, pending matters report:  
 (01-167) ...............................................................145 
Claims procedure against health care  
 guardians:  
 (01-41).................................................................106 
Criminal defendant civil actions, stays: 
  (01-211) ..............................................................157 
Execution upon bank funds, levying officer  
 abilities:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Jury selection, peremptory challenges:  
 (01-152) ...............................................................143 
Land-use appeals, certain filing deadlines:  
 (01-110) ...............................................................213 
Offers of judgment, timeframes:  
 (01-71).................................................................110 
Open burn without permit, fines:  
 (01-150) .................................................................50 
Process service fees increased:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Recoverable court costs, expert testimony:  
 (01-32).................................................................105 
Unity of interest, juror challenges:  
 (01-152) ...............................................................143 
 
 
COLLECTIVE BARGAINING 
Correction officers' eligibility:  
 (01-103) .................................................................71 
Education and Services for the Blind, costs:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
State employee procedures, modified (Vetoed):  
 (01-189) ...............................................................167 
 
 
COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES 
See also Higher Education, Department of; University 

of Connecticut 
Accountability reports:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
Articulation agreements:  
 (01-165) ...............................................................212 
Business/industry needs, community college  
 program evaluation:  
 (01-193) ...............................................................214 
Connecticut Independent College Student  
 grant program, appropriation request:  
 (01-89)...................................................................29 



 2001 INDEX BY SUBJECT 305 

 
2001 OLR PA Summary Book 

CSU, doctoral degree authorized:  
 (01-141)..................................................................29 
CSU/UConn Board of Trustees, student  
 member qualifications:  
 (01-141)..................................................................29 
Endowment funds, state matching grants:  
 (01-141)..................................................................29 
Independent, DAS purchasing contracts:  
 (01-106)..................................................................73 
Information technology proficiency/credential  
 pilot programs, creation:  
 (01-193)................................................................214 
Meningitis vaccination requirement:  
 (01-93)..................................................................180 
Police/firefighter surviving dependent children,  
 tuition waivers:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Teacher education in reading instruction,  
 evaluation:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
UConn capital projects, DPW process  
 exemption:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
UConn Health Center, board of directors  
 created:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
 
 
CONFIDENTIALITY 
See also Freedom of Information 
Authorized agents, Judicial Branch record  
 access:  
 (01-186)................................................................146 
DCF abuse/neglect records, release:  
 (01-142)................................................................137 
DOC ombudsman communications:  
 (01-9 June SS)... ..................................................273 
Electric utility forecast report, protective orders:  
 (01-144)..................................................................39 
Family relations officer knowledge of weapons 

possession, required notification:  
 (01-130)................................................................196 
Financial institution records, disclosure:  
 (01-209)..................................................................85 
Financial records, privacy requirements:  
 (01-76)....................................................................16 
Judicial Branch employees, residential address:  
 (01-186)................................................................146 
Social security numbers, removal from land  
 records:  
 (01-38)..................................................................106 
 
 
 

State employee assistance program participation, 
disclosure prohibited:  

 (01-29).................................................................174 
Vital records information, access:  
 (01-163) ...............................................................185 
 
 
CONNECTICUT DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 
Biotechnology project funding, cap raised:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
Bonds, information technology/brownfield  
 remediation:  
 (01-179) .................................................................25 
Bonds, information technology/brownfield  
 remediation, expanded:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Fiduciary powers expanded:  
 (01-179) .................................................................25 
Pollution control equipment/transmission line 

installation, loans grants (Vetoed):  
 (01-107) .................................................................45 
Steel Point project bonds, authorization  
 extended:  
 (01-210) .................................................................28 
Subsidiaries, bond authority:  
 (01-179) .................................................................25 
Tax Increment Financing Program, project  
 funding extended:  
 (01-210) .................................................................28 
 
 
CONNECTICUT HOUSING FINANCE 

AUTHORITY 
Supportive housing pilots initiative, set aside:  
 (01-8 June SS).....................................................270 
Urban homeownership program, bond use:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
 
 
CONNECTICUT INNOVATIONS, INC. 
Biotechnology project funding, cap raised:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
Executive director, duties:  
 (01-153) .................................................................25 
Powers regarding real property:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Renewable Energy Investment Fund  
use (Vetoed):  
 (01-107) .................................................................45 
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CONNECTICUT LIFE AND HEALTH 
INSURANCE GUARANTY ASSOCIATION 

Revisions:  
 (01-67)....................................................................88 
 
 
CONNECTICUT LOTTERY CORPORATION 
Contractors, background checks required:  
 (01-175)..................................................................17 
 
CONNECTICUT RESOURCES RECOVERY 

AUTHORITY 
Property remediation/development contract  
 authority:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
 
 
CONNECTICUT SITING COUNCIL 
Hazardous waste generator assessments,  
 responsibility:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
 
 
CONNECTICUT STATE LIBRARY 
Connecticut Library Network  
 responsibilities:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Historic documentation preservation  
 account:  
 (01-79)....................................................................73 
 
 
CONNECTICUT STUDENT LOAN 

FOUNDATION 
Defaulted loans, tax refund withholding  
 procedures:  
 (01-102)..................................................................29 
Loan authority expanded:  
 (01-102)..................................................................29 
 
 
CONNECTICUT UNFAIR TRADE PRACTICES 

ACT 
Home heating-oil dealers, violations:  
 (01-46)....................................................................65 
 
 
CONSUMER PROTECTION 
See also Connecticut Unfair Trade Practices Act 
Digital price readouts:  
 (01-73)....................................................................68 
Financial records, privacy:  
 (01-76)....................................................................16 
 

CONSUMER PROTECTION, DEPARTMENT OF 
Certain occupational licenses, deadlines 

postponed/extended:  
 (01-66)...................................................................67 
Electronic retail pricing system pilot program 

participation expanded: 
  (01-43) ..................................................................65 
Home heating-oil dealers, registration/contract 

disclosures:  
 (01-46)...................................................................65 
Home improvement contractors, license 

issuance/renewal refusal:  
 (01-155) .................................................................70 
Home inspectors, competency exam:  
 (01-116) .................................................................69 
Lemon law, new automobile warranties  
 account created:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Telecommunications infrastructure layout  
 technician licensing:  
 (01-164) ...............................................................071 
Violent video game fines (Vetoed):  
 (01-54).................................................................107 
 
 
CONTRACTS AND CONTRACTORS 
See also Government Purchasing 
CRRA authority, remediation/development:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Demolition, state bid award criteria:  
 (01-172) .................................................................75 
Emissions inspection program, redesigned:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Government construction projects, surety bond 

requirements:  
 (01-21)...................................................................87 
Governmental function, FOI applicability:  
 (01-169) .................................................................74 
Guarantee payments, requirements amended:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Home heating-oil dealers, disclosures:  
 (01-46)...................................................................65 
Home improvement contractor loans, financing 

requirements:  
 (01-155) .................................................................70 
Kelda land purchase:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
Regional workforce development board,  
 standard provisions:  
 (01-156) ...............................................................212 
Subdivision plans, municipal approval  
 deadline:  
 (01-52).................................................................169 
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CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX 
Apportionment petitions, deadlines:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Environmental remediation/urban  
 reinvestment credit:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Higher education computer equipment  
 providers, credit increased:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Insurance reinvestment fund,  
 eligibility/elimination:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Low-income family health providers,  
 credit increased:  
 (01-6 June SS)... ..................................................255 
Research/development refunds, credit:  
 (01-6 June SS)... ..................................................255 
 
 
CORPORATIONS 
See also Business; Economic Development 
Electronic signature use:  
 (01-199)................................................................151 
Out-of-state, certificates of authority  
 amnesty program:  
 (01-81)..................................................................112 
Real estate brokers/insurance producers,  
 structure:  
 (01-157)................................................................100 
Shareholder appraisal rights:  
 (01-199)................................................................151 
Stock, missing shareholder notification  
 eliminated:  
 (01-199)................................................................151 
Stock/nonstock, modifications:  
 (01-199)................................................................151 
 
 
CORRECTION, DEPARTMENT OF 
See also Prisons and Prisoners 
Commissioner, oath administration:  
 (01-7)....................................................................101 
Felons voting rights lists/restoration procedure:  
 (01-11)..................................................................101 
Incarceration cost recovery:  
 (01-129)................................................................117 
Inmate complaint ombudsman required:  
 (01-9 June SS)... ..................................................273 
Officers, collective bargaining rights:  
 (01-103)..................................................................71 
Retroactive death benefit payments:  
 (01-208)................................................................168 
 
 

Sex offender registry list exemption/ 
 sentence review request,  
 victim notification:  
 (01-211) ...............................................................157 
Vehicles, emergency classification:  
 (01-59).................................................................107 
Weapons storage, secure location:  
 (01-51).................................................................107 
 
 
CORRECTIONS 
See Prisons and Prisoners 
 
 
COURTS 
See also Civil Procedure; Criminal Procedure; 

Probate Courts 
Adoptable children/permanancy plan  
 hearings:  
 (01-159) ...............................................................144 
Appellate, 10th judge appointment:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Arbitrated cases, judge trial referee referrals:  
 (01-203) ...............................................................157 
Bail bonds, forfeiture/termination/release:  
 (01-186) ...............................................................146 
Conditional nolo contendere plea, acceptance:  
 (01-13).................................................................102 
Crime victim constitutional rights, advisement:  
 (01-35).................................................................105 
Crime victim statements, authority expanded:  
 (01-211) ...............................................................157 
Custody proceedings, address nondisclosure 

justification:  
 (01-186) ...............................................................146 
DCF placement/visitation hearings,  
 sibling intervention:  
 (01-149) ...............................................................141 
Divorce agreements, modifications:  
 (01-135) ...............................................................137 
DOT damages awards, assessment  
 considerations:  
 (01-75).................................................................205 
Expert testimony by deposition, fees  
 established:  
 (01-32).................................................................105 
Financial restitution, authority modified:  
 (01-211) ...............................................................157 
Guardian ad litem appointment:  
 (01-148) ...............................................................140 
Hospital sales, asset value distribution:  
 (01-186) ...............................................................146 
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Judge trial referee appointments, eminent  
 domain cases:  
 (01-186)................................................................146 
Judge trial referees, powers:  
 (01-72)..................................................................111 
Juvenile, emancipation petition procedure:  
 (01-148)................................................................140 
Motor vehicle case venues, modifications:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Offers of judgment, time frames:  
 (01-71)..................................................................110 
Operational modifications:  
 (01-186)................................................................146 
Permanency hearings, modified:  
 (01-142)................................................................137 
Planning and zoning/historic district  
 appeals, mediation:  
 (01-47)..................................................................169 
Post-majority support modifications:  
 (01-135)................................................................137 
Reunification hearing, requirements:  
 (01-142)................................................................137 
Seized property, admissible evidence:  
 (01-104)................................................................195 
Sentencing, record access/crime victim  
 statement:  
 (01-211)................................................................157 
Sex offender registration information,  
 dissemination:  
 (01-211)................................................................157 
Small Claims, judgment creditor interrogatory 

authorization:  
 (01-186)................................................................146 
Small Claims venues, modifications:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Victim impact program, participation:  
 (01-201)................................................................157 
Youthful offender status, extended:  
 (01-211)................................................................157 
 
 
CREDIT UNIONS 
Community needs assessment requirement:  
 (01-9)........................................................................9 
Community reinvestment requirements:  
 (01-9)........................................................................9 
Financial records, privacy:  
 (01-76)....................................................................16 
Trust establishment authorized:  
 (01-6)........................................................................9 
 
 
 
 

CRIME VICTIMS 
Civil actions by criminal defendants stayed:  
 (01-211) ...............................................................157 
Compensation commissioner, health care  
 provider payments:  
 (01-211) ...............................................................157 
Constitutional rights advisement, Superior  
 Courts:  
 (01-35).................................................................105 
Criminal justice system access:  
 (01-211) ...............................................................157 
Unprosecuted death, complaint procedure:  
 (01-211) ...............................................................157 
 
 
CRIMES AND OFFENSES 
See also Capital Punishment; Criminal Procedure 
Air bag fraud, established:  
 (01-36).................................................................105 
Animal drawing contest drugging, penalties:  
 (01-77)...................................................................43 
Arboriculture violations, penalties:  
 (01-204) .................................................................56 
Armor piercing/incendiary bullet crimes, 
 established:  
 (01-130) ...............................................................196 
Assault on certain populations, minimum  
 penalty:  
 (01-84).................................................................113 
Assault on prosecutors, enhanced penalty:  
 (01-25).................................................................104 
Community release electronic monitoring  
 equipment damage, felony established:  
 (01-8)...................................................................101 
Disorderly conduct, definition expanded:  
 (01-83).................................................................113 
Drug crimes, mandatory minimum/sentencing 

exceptions:  
 (01-99).................................................................115 
Employment regulation/employee protection  
 violations, civil penalties:  
 (01-147) ...............................................................139 
Family violence offender crimes, established:  
 (01-130) ...............................................................196 
Financial assistance applications, false statement 

penalty:  
 (01-184) .................................................................28 
Gasoline discharge, negligent municipal officer  
 liability:  
 (01-195) ...............................................................145 
High-cost mortgage lender violations, penalties:  
 (01-34)...................................................................11 
Home heating-oil dealers, CUTPA violations:  
 (01-46).................................................................. .65 
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Liquor/tobacco retailer, scan device information  
 sale, penalties:  
 (01-92)....................................................................68 
Littering, fine:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
Loose cigarette sale, civil penalty:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Mohegan casino employee off-reservation  
 training, exemption:  
 (01-45)..................................................................195 
Obstructing/impeding emergency vehicle, fine 

increased:  
 (01-192)................................................................202 
Open burn without permit, fines:  
 (01-150)..................................................................50 
Pesticide application, penalties modified:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
Reflectorized license plate display failure,  
 infraction established:  
 (01-24)..................................................................205 
Second-degree burglary, definition expanded:  
 (01-83)..................................................................113 
Sport/commercial fishing violations, fines  
 increased:  
 (01-115)..................................................................48 
Telecommunications infrastructure layout  
 technician license violations, established:  
 (01-164)..................................................................71 
Transfer Act violation penalties, exemption:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
Uniform Securities Act violations, restitution:  
 (01-48)....................................................................13 
Violent video game use by minors, fines  
 (Vetoed):  
 (01-54)..................................................................107 
Water diversion reporting failure, civil  
 penalties:  
 (01-202)..................................................................56 
 
 
CRIMINAL PROCEDURE 
See also Evidence; Juries 
Accelerated rehabilitation, eligibility  
 expanded:  
 (01-16)..................................................................103 
Armor piercing/incendiary bullet possession  
 violations, prosecution suspension:  
 (01-130)................................................................196 
Assault on prosecutors, enhanced penalties:  
 (01-25)..................................................................104 
Bail bond termination/release:  
 (01-186)................................................................146 
Conditional nolo contendere plea, appeal:  
 (01-13)..................................................................102 

Death penalty sentencing, modifications:  
 (01-151) ...............................................................141 
Financial restitution determination:  
 (01-211) ...............................................................157 
Judge trial referees, powers:  
 (01-72).................................................................111 
Liquor/tobacco retailer scan device use,  
 affirmative defense:  
 (01-92)...................................................................68 
Mandatory minimum sentence, exceptions  
 authorized:  
 (01-99).................................................................115 
Material witness mileage fees:  
 (01-186)...............................................................146 
Presentence confinement credit:  
 (01-78).................................................................111 
Seized property return order violations,  
 contempt of court:  
 (01-186) ...............................................................146 
Victim constitutional rights, advisement:  
 (01-35).................................................................105 
Youthful offender status, extended:  
 (01-211) ...............................................................157 
 
 
CUTPA 
See Connecticut Unfair Trade Practices Act 
 
 
DAIRIES AND DAIRY PRODUCTS 
Cream source permits, requirement repealed:  
 (01-138) .................................................................49 
Milk tanker trucks, transportation permits/ 
 inspection:  
 (01-138) .................................................................49 
 
 
DAY CARE 
Background check requirement expanded:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Centers, registration fee/deposit return:  
 (01-23).................................................................177 
CPR training requirement:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Providers, education incentives:  
 (01-206) ...............................................................168 
Supplemental quality enhancement grants,  
 expenditures:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
YMCA facilities, accreditation:  
 (01-1 June SS).................................................... .217 
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DEATH 
Certificates, social security number access:  
 (01-163)................................................................185 
Cremation procedure:  
 (01-131)................................................................118 
Crematory, prohibited locations:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Fetal death certificates, vital records inclusion:  
 (01-163)................................................................185 
Tenant, landlord's dwelling unit repossession:  
 (01-133)................................................................136 
 
 
DEATH PENALTY 
See Capital Punishment 
 
 
DEBTOR/CREDITOR 
Child support debtor, consumer protection  
 provided:  
 (01-207)..................................................................83 
Execution upon bank funds, levying officer  
 authority:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Execution upon bank funds, minimum  
 exempt balance:  
 (01-196)................................................................150 
Home improvement contracts, financing  
 requirement:  
 (01-187)..................................................................63 
UCC secured transactions, Article 9 revision:  
 (01-132)................................................................119 
 
 
DENTISTS AND DENTISTRY 
Hygienist unsupervised activity, expanded:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Needlestick prevention device use, UConn  
 Dental School exemption:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
 
 
DISABLED PERSONS 
Boundless Playgrounds matching fund grants:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Circuit breaker/rental rebate programs,  
 modifications:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
DCF-licensed facility, zoning regulations:  
 (01-161)................................................................100 
Employment opportunities program extended:  
 (01-61)....................................................................80 
 
 

Hearing impaired children, limited hearing aid 
insurance coverage:  

 (01-171) ...............................................................189 
Interpreters for the deaf qualifications, medical 

situations:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Long-Term Care Planning Committee, scope  
 expanded:  
 (01-119) ................................................................... 7 
State agency programs/services, ADA  
 compliance:  
 (01-28).................................................................104 
Veterans, parking privileges:  
 (01-191) ...............................................................209 
 
 
DISCRIMINATION 
Breastfeeding/milk expression at work:  
 (01-182) ...............................................................166 
CHRO complaints, reconsideration/reopening 

procedure:  
 (01-95).................................................................114 
State employment/services, prohibitions  
 expanded:  
 (01-28).................................................................104 
Traffic stop data reporting requirement,  
 extended: 
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
 
 
DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED 
Victim impact program, participation:  
 (01-201) ...............................................................157 
 
 
DRUG ABUSE 
See Alcohol and Drug Abuse 
 
 
DRUGS AND MEDICINE 
See also Pharmacies and Pharmacists 
Anesthesia/sedation administration, accreditation 

required:  
 (01-50).................................................................178 
ConnPACE income limits, increased:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Hospitals, prescription drug sales to retired  
 personnel:  
 (01-65)...................................................................67 
Mental health treatment, drug formulary use:  
 (01-171) ...............................................................189 
Offenses, mandatory minimum sentencing  
 exceptions:  
 (01-99).................................................................115 
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Pharmaceutical returns, prisoners:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
School psychotropic drug policies:  
 (01-124)................................................................182 
 
 
DRUNK DRIVING 
See Driving While Intoxicated 
 
 
ECONOMIC AND COMMUNITY 

DEVELOPMENT, DEPARTMENT OF 
Biotechnology project funding, cap raised:  
 (01-7 June SS) .....................................................266 
 
 
Electronic/information technology businesses,  
 visibility campaign:  
 (01-193)................................................................214 
Initiative-funded projects:  
 (01-8 June SS) .....................................................270 
Meriden, enterprise zone expansion,  
 approved:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Pollution control equipment/transmission line 

installation, loans/grants (Vetoed):  
 (01-107)..................................................................45 
Remediation /reinvestment projects credit  
 recapture:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Self-employment/entrepreneurial opportunities 

program:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Transportation impact statements:  
 (01-5 June SS) .....................................................248 
Transportation terminals, promotion/marketing:  
 (01-5 June SS) .....................................................248 
Urban homeownership program, bond use  
 permitted:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
 
 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 
Adrien's Landing bonds, uses expanded:  
 (01-7 June SS) .....................................................266 
Biotechnology project funding cap raised:  
 (01-7 June SS) .....................................................266 
Brownfield remediation bonds authorized:  
 (01-179)..................................................................25 
Community development entities, tax credits:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Enterprise zone benefits, eligibility expanded:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
 

Fossil fuel emission standards, compliance  
 incentives (Vetoed):  
 (01-107) .................................................................45 
Gross receipts tax exemption, incentives  
 (Vetoed):  
 (01-107) .................................................................45 
Hotel tax revenue, tourist attraction funding:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Meriden, enterprise zone expansion, approved:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Statutes, revised:  
 (01-96)...................................................................25 
Tourism district funding cap modifications:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Vineyards/wineries, Manufacturing Assistance  
 Act funding:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
 
 
EDUCATION 
See also Colleges and Universities; Schools and 

School Districts; Special Education; Students; 
Teachers 

Adult, Waterbury grant expenditure:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Child care provider incentives:  
 (01-206) ...............................................................168 
Choice programs, participation/diversity 
  modifications:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
ECS grants, modifications:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
ECS minimum expenditure calculation:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
Graduation requirement, basic skills assessment:  
 (01-166) .................................................................31 
Readiness program, modifications:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Remedial, 4th grader requirements:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
Secondary, articulation agreements:  
 (01-165) ...............................................................212 
Vocational-Technical, industrial account:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
 
 
EDUCATION, DEPARTMENT OF 
Bilingual students, mastery test 

exemption/administration:  
 (01-205) .................................................................37 
Career ladder programs, workforce shortage 

occupations:  
 (01-170) ...............................................................213 
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Charter school appropriations, reallocation:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Competitive grant program established:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Degree/certificate programs, business needs  
 report:  
 (01-193)................................................................214 
Educational progress longitudinal study,  
 deadline:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Educator certification, revocation/denial:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Educators/applicants, periodic criminal history  
 checks:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Illness and school performance task force  
 creation:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Information technology magnet school creation:  
 (01-193)................................................................214 
Information technology pilot program:  
 (01-193)................................................................214 
International education opportunities, study:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Regional Education Service Center funding:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
School improvement plans, oversight:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
School lunch program participants, HUSKY 

applications:  
 (01-137)..................................................................81 
Teacher certification, cross-endorsement:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Teacher education in reading instruction,  
 evaluation:  
 (01-1 June SS)... ..................................................217 
Troops to Teachers Program, funding/ 
 participation:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Vocational-technical admission test/school 

accountability studies:  
 (01-173)... ..............................................................31 
 
 
ELDERLY PERSONS 
Assisted living demonstration programs,  
 expanded:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Circuit breaker/rental rebate programs,  
 modifications:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
ConnPACE income limits, increased:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
 

Elder abuse investigations:  
 (01-209) .................................................................85 
Home care pilot program, extended:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Tax freeze fraud, refund requirement:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
 
 
ELECTIONS 
See Voters and Voting  
 
 
ELECTRIC UTILITIES 
Biomass gasification facilities, renewable  
 resources inclusion:  
 (01-204) .................................................................56 
Forecast, required reporters expanded:  
 (01-144) .................................................................39 
Fossil fuel emissions compliance plan  
 (Vetoed): 
 (01-107) .................................................................45 
Restructuring, municipal property tax  
 reimbursement:  
 (01-125) ...............................................................213 
 
 
EMERGENCY SERVICES 
See also Firefighters and Fire Officials; Law 

Enforcement Officers 
Bradley Airport Rescue and Firefighting Unit, 

jurisdiction:  
 (01-105) ...............................................................206 
Correction Department vehicles, emergency 

classification:  
 (01-59).................................................................107 
Medical personnel, recertification:  
 (01-1)...................................................................177 
Rate increases:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
School Business flashinglights, stop required:  
 (01-192) ...............................................................202 
Volunteer personnel, flashing white headlight  
 use:  
 (01-192) ...............................................................202 
 
 
EMINENT DOMAIN 
Assessment, environmental remediation cost 

considerations:  
 (01-75).................................................................205 
Judge trial referees, review of offers/takings:  
 (01-186) ...............................................................146 
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EMPLOYMENT 
See Labor and Employment 
 
 
ENERGY 
Conservation, state building project funding:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Efficient streetlights, requirement:  
 (01-134)................................................................208 
Forecast reports, requirement expanded:  
 (01-144)..................................................................39 
 
 
ENTERPRISE ZONES 
See Economic Development 
 
 
ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION 
Aquaculture industry protection, funding:  
 (01-120)..................................................................48 
Conservation and development plans, deadline  
 delay:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Conservation/development plans,  
 requirements/powers:  
 (01-197)................................................................174 
Environmental Policy Act applicability, historic 

structures/landmarks:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Fossil fuel power plan emissions (Vetoed):  
 (01-107)..................................................................45 
Laws, modifications:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
Planning and zoning appeals, mediation:  
 (01-47)..................................................................169 
Transfer Act modifications:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
Urban site reinvestment project investment,  
 business tax credits:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
 
 
ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION, 

DEPARTMENT OF 
Alcoholic beverage prohibition, procedure:  
 (01-150)..................................................................50 
Asphalt plant permits:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
Conservation officer death, capital felony:  
 (01-151)................................................................141 
East Windsor, property conveyance:  
 (01-194)................................................................193 
 
 

Emergency spill response account annual report:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Environmental tourism cruise permits:  
 (01-150) .................................................................50 
Fish harvesting/pound net permits:  
 (01-98)...................................................................45 
Forest fire warden, commissioner  
 designation/duties:  
 (01-150) .................................................................50 
Fossil fuel power plan emissions standards  
 suspension, permitted (Vetoed):  
 (01-107) .................................................................45 
Glass eel beds report:  
 (01-115) .................................................................48 
Horseback riding trails, designation:  
 (01-150) .................................................................50 
Kelda land purchase, contract approval:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
Kelda land use restrictions:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Land records, filing information requirement:  
 (01-118) .................................................................48 
Nitrogen Credit Advisory Board, creation  
 authorized:  
 (01-180) .................................................................52 
Nitrogen credit exchange program,  
 established:  
 (01-180) .................................................................52 
Nitrogen discharge limitation, permit  
 issuance:  
 (01-180) .................................................................52 
Non-native invasive plant species,  
 control/education:  
 (01-150) .................................................................50 
Open space land acquisition/natural resource 

enhancement grants:  
 (01-204) .................................................................56 
Outdoor recreation-related services, allowed:  
 (01-150) .................................................................50 
Permits, minor modification public notices:  
 (01-204) .................................................................56 
Pollution control equipment, expedited permit  
 process (Vetoed):  
 (01-107) .................................................................45 
Special Contaminated Property Remediation and 

Insurance Fund, reporting requirements:  
 (01-204) .................................................................56 
Underground oil tank removal program revised:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Water company land preservation activities:  
 (01-204) .................................................................56 
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Water diversion operating data report form, 
development:  

 (01-202)..................................................................56 
Water diversions, authorization powers:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
Wildlife control licenses, modifications:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
 
 
ESTATES AND TRUSTS 
See also Probate Courts 
Beneficiary interests, authorized representatives:  
 (01-69)..................................................................109 
Fiduciaries, discretionary authority:  
 (01-68)..................................................................108 
Fiduciary removal:  
 (01-114)................................................................115 
Incarceration cost recovery:  
 (01-129)................................................................117 
Income tax credit applicability:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Return of sale filings, requirement eliminated:  
 (01-127)................................................................116 
Trusts in credit unions, authorized:  
 (01-6)........................................................................9 
 
 
EVICTION 
See Landlord and Tenant  
 
 
EVIDENCE 
Expert testimony fees, established/recovery:  
 (01-32)..................................................................105 
Firearms databank, established:  
 (01-130)................................................................196 
Health professional business entry evidence  
 expanded:  
 (01-15)..................................................................103 
Seized property, admissibility/disposition:  
 (01-104)................................................................195 
 
 
FIREARMS 
See Weapons 
 
 
FIREFIGHTERS AND FIRE OFFICIALS 
Airport fire officers, powers/duties:  
 (01-105)................................................................206 
Bradley Airport Rescue and Firefighting Unit,  
 created:  
 (01-105)................................................................206 
 

Forest firefighting payments:  
 (01-150) .................................................................50 
Policemen and Firemen Survivors' Benefit Fund, 

benefits increased:  
 (01-80).................................................................185 
School bus signals, required stop:  
 (01-192) ...............................................................202 
Volunteer, flashing white headlight use:  
 (01-192) ...............................................................202 
Volunteer, surviving dependent children, tuition 

waivers:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
 
 
FISH AND GAME 
See also Animals 
Aquaculture industry protection:  
 (01-120) .................................................................48 
Commercial fishing activities report, unlicensed 

individuals:  
 (01-150) .................................................................50 
Commercial licenses, moratorium/transfers/fees:  
 (01-150) .................................................................50 
Environmental tourism permits, established:  
 (01-150) .................................................................50 
Fish harvesting/pound net permits:  
 (01-98)...................................................................45 
Fisheries account, allocation:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Glass eel beds report:  
 (01-115) .................................................................48 
License reports, town clerk affidavit:  
 (01-79)...................................................................73 
Seafood Advisory Council, membership  
 increased:  
 (01-98)...................................................................45 
Sport/commercial fishing violations, fines  
 increased:  
 (01-115) .................................................................48 
Wildlife fertility control, budget transfer:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
 
 
FREEDOM OF INFORMATION 
Bradley Airport Board of Directors, compliance 

required:  
 (01-5 June SS).....................................................248 
Certain state employees, residential address  
 disclosure prohibited:  
 (01-186) ...............................................................146 
Connecticut Transportation Strategy Board,  
 compliance required:  
 (01-5 June SS).....................................................248 
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Public agency/governmental function,  
 defined:  
 (01-169)..................................................................74 
State agency foundations, technical change:  
 (01-141)..................................................................29 
Traumatic brain injury registry data, exemption:  
 (01-90)..................................................................179 
 
 
FUEL 
See Oil and Gas 
 
 
FUNERALS 
See also Death 
Out of state directors/embalmers, reciprocal 

authorization:  
 (01-163)................................................................185 
 
 
GAMBLING  
See also Connecticut Lottery Corporation 
Devices, testing/notification:  
 (01-45)..................................................................195 
Impact study, reporting interval extended:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Mohegan casino, employee training:  
 (01-45)..................................................................195 
Nonresident winnings, income tax applicability:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Pari-mutuel facility losses, municipal revenue 

redirection:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
 
 
GASOLINE 
See Oil and Gas 
 
 
GENERAL ASSEMBLY 
Federal block grant allocations, hearing  
 requirement:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Multiple-criteria bids, awards:  
 (01-106)..................................................................73 
 
 
GENERAL ASSISTANCE 
Benefits freeze continued:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Norwich, glasses coverage eliminated:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Norwich, glasses coverage restored:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 

GOVERNMENT PURCHASING 
See also Contracts and Contractors 
Construction contracts, surety bond  
 requirements:  
 (01-21)...................................................................87 
Contractor records, FOI applicability:  
 (01-169) .................................................................74 
Demolition contracts, "total cost basis" awards:  
 (01-172) .................................................................75 
Hartford-New Britain Busway project,  
 "design-build" designation permitted:  
 (01-105) ...............................................................206 
Multiple-criteria bids:  
 (01-106) .................................................................73 
Recycled product promotion:  
 (01-168) ...............................................................165 
 
 
GOVERNOR 
10th Appellate judge appointment, conditional 

authorization:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
 
 
GRANTS 
See State Aid 
 
 
GUN CONTROL 
See Weapons 
 
 
HANDICAPPED PERSONS 
See Disabled Persons 
 
 
HARBORS 
Bridgeport Port Authority, operational facilities 

expanded:  
 (01-143) ...............................................................208 
Connecticut Port Authority,  
 named/responsibilities:  
 (01-143) ...............................................................208 
New London Port Authority, operational facilities 

expanded:  
 (01-143) ...............................................................208 
 
 
HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCES 
See also Low Level Radioactive Waste 
Business/real estate, Transfer Act modifications:  
 (01-204) .................................................................56 
Federal regulations supersedence:  
 (01-204) .................................................................56 
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Pesticide application study required:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Waste generator assessments, modifications:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
 
 
HEALTH 
Asthma plan/monitoring system:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Chlamydia education/testing:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
College/university students, meningitis  
 vaccination:  
 (01-93)..................................................................180 
Gynecologic cancers, educational materials:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Protein deficiency testing programs:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Pubic health promotion study, report:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
 
 
HEALTH CARE ACCESS, OFFICE OF 
Preferred provider network filing responsibility 

transferred:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
 
 
HEALTH CARE FACILITIES 
See also Hospitals; Mental Health Facilities; Mental 

Retardation Facilities; Nursing Homes 
Community health centers, grant use:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
HIV testing, certain causes of action prohibited:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Residential mental health/substance abuse  
 treatment, discharge plan:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Unlicensed, anesthesia/sedation accreditation 

requirements: 
 (01-50)..................................................................178 
 
 
HEALTH INSURANCE 
Cancer clinical trials, coverage mandate:  
 (01-171)................................................................189 
Cancer screening coverage mandate, certain  
 tests:  
 (01-171)................................................................189 
Employer-sponsored, low-income families:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Hearing aid coverage mandate, juveniles:  
 (01-171)................................................................189 
 

HUSKY plans, eligibility/benefits:  
 (01-137) .................................................................81 
Infant formula, coverage mandate:  
 (01-101) .................................................................95 
KidCare behavioral health services, 

eligibility/modifications:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Medicare consumers guide/CHOICES,  
 consolidated:  
 (01-39)...................................................................79 
Mental health treatment, drug formulary  
 usage:  
 (01-171) ...............................................................189 
Premium tax, contract exclusion:  
 (01-30)...................................................................87 
Prompt payment, health care provider  
 defined:  
 (01-111) ...............................................................181 
Provider payments, timeliness:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Small employers, plan availability:  
 (01-174) ...............................................................100 
State health plan, eligibility expanded:  
 (01-30)...................................................................87 
Utilization review decisions, medical  
 professional requirement:  
 (01-174) ...............................................................100 
 
 
HEALTH MAINTENANCE ORGANIZATIONS 
Low income family providers, business  
 tax credit increased:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
 
 
HEALTH PROFESSIONS 
See also Dentists and Dentistry;  Nurses and Nursing; 

Pharmacies and Pharmacists 
Acupuncturist alternative licensure:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Articulation agreements:  
 (01-165) ...............................................................212 
Autopsy consent procedures:  
 (01-122) ...............................................................182 
Business entry evidence, civil actions:  
 (01-15).................................................................103 
Child abuse mandatory reporters,  
 education/training:  
 (01-190) .................................................................23 
Chiropractor alternative licensure:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Defibrillator users, certification requirements:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
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Direct payments, crime victim compensation 
commissioners:  

 (01-211)................................................................157 
Electrologists/electrology, term use:  
 (01-109)................................................................181 
EMS personnel, recertification:  
 (01-1)....................................................................177 
Health care guardians, indemnification/legal  
 costs:  
 (01-41)..................................................................106 
Health care provider, defined:  
 (01-111)................................................................181 
Hearing instrument specialists, defined:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
HIV testing, certain causes of action prohibited:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Hypertrichologists/hypertrichology, renamed:  
 (01-109)................................................................181 
Loan repayment program, eligibility expanded:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Marital and family therapist alternative licensure:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Massage therapist alternative licensure:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
MRI personnel/equipment, accreditation:  
 (01-50)..................................................................178 
Naturopaths/chiropractors, school health  
 assessments permitted:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Naturopaths/chiropractors, school health  
 assessment ability repealed:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Physician accredidation violation,  
 disciplinary action:  
 (01-50)..................................................................178 
Preferred provider network filing regulations:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Professional counselor licensing:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Psychologist licensure by endorsement:  
 (01-86)..................................................................179 
Workers' compensation claims, utilization  
 review exclusion:  
 (01-195)................................................................145 
 
 
HIGHER EDUCATION 
See Colleges and Universities 
 
 
HIGHER EDUCATION, DEPARTMENT OF 
Alternate certification modifications:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 

Career ladder programs, workforce shortage 
occupations:  

 (01-170) ...............................................................213 
Information technology proficiency/ 
 credential pilot programs, creation:  
 (01-193) ...............................................................214 
Teacher education in reading instruction  
 program, evaluation:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
 
 
HIGHWAYS AND ROADS 
American Ex-Prisoners of War Memorial,  
 named:  
 (01-105) ...............................................................206 
American Legion Shaw-Sinon Post 73 Memorial, 

named:  
 (01-105) ...............................................................206 
Branford Fire Department Memorial, named:  
 (01-105) ...............................................................206 
Connecticut Air National Guard Memorial,  
 named:  
 (01-105) ...............................................................206 
Edward Ramos Memorial, named:  
 (01-105) ...............................................................206 
Holy Family Passionist Retreat Center, sign  
 placement:  
 (01-105) ...............................................................206 
Lighting efficiency, municipal requirement:  
 (01-134) ...............................................................208 
Patricia M. Genova Memorial, named:  
 (01-105) ...............................................................206 
Paul Henry Bienvenue Memorial, named:  
 (01-105) ...............................................................206 
Project appropriations/congestion alleviation  
 study:  
 (01-5 June SS).....................................................248 
Second Company Governor's Foot Guard  
 Memorial, named:  
 (01-105) ...............................................................206 
Second Company Governor's Horse Guard  
 Memorial, named:  
 (01-105) ...............................................................206 
Sergeant George Ross Dingwall Memorial,  
 named:  
 (01-105) ...............................................................206 
Simsbury Veterans Memorial, named:  
 (01-105) ...............................................................206 
State Trooper Joseph M. Stoba Memorial,  
 named:  
 (01-105) ...............................................................206 
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Use by oversized prefabricated units:  
 (01-138)..................................................................49 
Vartan Mamigonian Memorial, named:  
 (01-105)................................................................206 
 
 
HOSPITALS 
Child abuse mandatory reporters, education/ 
 training:  
 (01-190)..................................................................23 
Children's, disproportionate share settlements, 

eliminated:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Children's, disproportionate share settlements, 

reinstated:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Chronic disease, ventilator dependent patient  
 rate:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Disproportionate share payments, restructured:  
 (01-3 June SS) .....................................................241 
Hartford/St. Francis/Stamford, DSS allocation:  
 (01-3 June SS) .....................................................241 
Inpatient Medicaid rate increase, effective date:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Medicaid rates, increased:  
 (01-3 June SS) .....................................................241 
Medicaid reimbursement rates, increased:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Outpatient Medicaid rate increase, applicable  
 period:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Patient care services, sales tax exemption:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Prescription drug sales to retired personnel:  
 (01-65)....................................................................67 
Riverview, payment refunds, General Fund  
 deposit:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Sales, asset value distribution:  
 (01-186)................................................................146 
Uncompensated care provision, OPM  
 certification:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Uniform debt collection standards development:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Yale-New Haven, DSH payment adjustments:  
 (01-3 June SS) .....................................................241 
 
 
HOUSING 
See also Landlord and Tenant 
Affordable, additional program created:  
 (01-7 June SS) .....................................................266 

Blight, municipal ordinances:  
 (01-128) ...............................................................172 
Bridgeport Housing Authority, restriction  
 exemption:  
 (01-194) ...............................................................193 
DMHAS clients, lease agreements:  
 (01-64).................................................................179 
Security deposit guarantee/grant program,  
 eligibility:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Specially chartered community housing  
 development corporations designated:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Supportive housing pilots initiatives, established:  
 (01-8 June SS).....................................................270 
Urban Rehabilitation Homeownership Program, 

assessment increase deferral:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
 
 
HUMAN RIGHTS AND OPPORTUNITIES, 

CONNECTICUT COMMISSION ON 
Complaints, reconsideration/reopening procedure:  
 (01-95).................................................................114 
Human rights referees, number reduced:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
State agency diversity program modified:  
 (01-53).................................................................107 
 
 
IMMUNITY 
See Liability 
 
 
INCOME TAX 
See Taxation 
 
 
INDIANS 
Mohegan casino, employee training:  
 (01-45).................................................................195 
Regulatory costs, state agency overhead charges:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
State unemployment compensation  
 coverage/payments:  
 (01-9 June SS).................................................... .273 
Tribes/affiliated businesses, sales tax  
 exemption extended:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
 
 
INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY 
Capital Equipment Purchase Fund, use:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
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Career development, pilot programs:  
 (01-193)................................................................214 
Community college program evaluation, 

business/industry needs:  
 (01-193)................................................................214 
Department, grant authorization:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Municipal projects, bonds authorized:  
 (01-179)..................................................................25 
Student loan reimbursement program,  
 expanded:  
(01-1 June SS) ..........................................................217 
 
 
INSURANCE 
See also Health Insurance; Medicaid 
Brokers, professional corporation/LLC option:  
 (01-157)................................................................100 
Companies, reporting requirements:  
 (01-174)................................................................100 
Connecticut Life and Health Insurance Guaranty 

Association, revisions:  
 (01-67)....................................................................88 
Life, divorce agreement requirements:  
 (01-135)................................................................137 
Medical and surgical error remediation plan, 

availability:  
 (01-145)... ............................................................184 
Motor vehicle fraud report, filing date:  
 (01-5)......................................................................87 
Premium tax credit repayments:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Producers, licensing/reciprocity:  
 (01-113)..................................................................95 
Reinvestment fund tax credits, eligibility/ 
 elimination:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Second Injury Fun assessments, appeals  
 authorized:  
 (01-40)..................................................................162 
Statutes, minor changes:  
 (01-139)..................................................................99 
Utilization review companies, report  
 modifications:  
 (01-124)................................................................182 
 
 
INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 
Cancer clinical trial enrollment form,  
 development:  
 (01-171)................................................................189 
Managed Care Ombudsman Office assessments:  
 (01-9 June SS)... ..................................................273 
 

Medicare consumers guide, submission:  
 (01-39)...................................................................79 
Preferred provider network filing responsibilities:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
 
 
INVESTMENTS 
Insurance reinvestment tax credits, modifications:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Securities/banking statutes, revised:  
 (01-10)...................................................................11 
Shareholder appraisal rights:  
 (01-199) ...............................................................151 
Uniform Securities Act, violations:  
 (01-48)...................................................................13 
 
 
JUDGES 
Appellate appointment, 10th judge permitted:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Chief administrative judges, compensation  
 increased: (01-186).............................................146 
Civil arbitration, judge trial referees designated:  
 (01-203) ...............................................................157 
Crime victim constitutional rights advisement:  
 (01-35).................................................................105 
Federal, authorized marriage officiator:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Judge trial referees, powers:  
 (01-72).................................................................111 
Nolo contendere plea, acceptance:  
 (01-13).................................................................102 
Probate, compensation formula:  
 (01-127) ...............................................................116 
Redevelopment agency eminent domain offer,  
 review:  
 (01-186) ...............................................................146 
Retirement fund withdrawal, interest:  
 (01-80).................................................................185 
 
 
JUDICIAL BRANCH 
See also Alternative Sanctions Office; Judges 
Authorized agents, records access:  
 (01-186) ...............................................................146 
Chief Court Administrator appointment,  
 10th Appellate judge authorized:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Construction projects, administration:  
 (01-172) .................................................................75 
Courthouse security, adjoining facilities:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
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Employees, residential address disclosure  
 prohibition:  
 (01-186)................................................................146 
Family relations officers, confidential  
 information disclosure:  
 (01-130)................................................................196 
New Haven alternative incarceration center  
 authorized:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Sentencing review division, records access:  
 (01-211)................................................................157 
Serious juvenile offender school enrollment,  
 educational records transfer:  
 (01-176)..................................................................23 
Support Enforcement Division, renamed:  
 (01-91)..................................................................114 
Support Enforcement Division, renamed:  
 (01-207)..................................................................83 
Support enforcement officers, powers:  
 (01-91)..................................................................114 
Support enforcement officers, powers:  
 (01-207)..................................................................83 
Support Enforcement Services, named:  
 (01-91)..................................................................114 
 
 
JURIES 
Selection, peremptory challenges:  
 (01-152)................................................................143 
 
 
JUVENILES 
See Children and Minors 
 
 
LABOR, DEPARTMENT OF 
Apprenticeship program promotion, report:  
 (01-170)... ............................................................213 
Child care providers, apprenticeship program  
 support:  
 (01-206)... ............................................................168 
Immigrant laborer rights, information/ 
 enforcement:  
 (01-147)................................................................139 
Opportunities and industrialization center grants, 

administrative responsibilities:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Through Any Door program, funds transfer:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
 
 
 
 
 

LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 
See also Collective Bargaining; Discrimination; 

Judges; Municipal Officials and Employees; 
Occupational Licensing; State Officers and 
Employees; Unemployment Compensation; Wages; 
Workers' Compensation 

Immigrant laborer exploitation prohibited:  
 (01-147) ...............................................................139 
Information technology careers, education  
 programs:  
 (01-193) ...............................................................214 
Medical records retention, former employees:  
 (01-55).................................................................162 
Mohegan casino employees, training:  
 (01-45).................................................................195 
One stop job centers, requirements:  
 (01-146) ...............................................................211 
Regional workforce development boards,  
 annual reports:  
 (01-97).................................................................211 
Second Injury Fund assessments, appeals  
 authorized:  
 (01-40).................................................................162 
Self-support reserve, notice:  
 (01-207) .................................................................83 
Severely disabled persons employment  
 program:  
 (01-61)...................................................................80 
Workers' compensation medical plans, pharmacy 

designation:  
 (01-85)...................................................................71 
Workers' compensation prescriptions, direct  
 payment:  
 (01-85)...................................................................71 
Workforce development boards, required contract 

provisions:  
 (01-156) ...............................................................212 
Workforce needs, vocational-technical school 

assessment:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
Workforce shortage occupations, career ladder 

programs:  
 (01-170) ...............................................................213 
Workforce shortage occupations, education  
 articulation agreements:  
 (01-165) ...............................................................212 
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LAND USE 
See Planning and Zoning 
 
 
LANDLORD AND TENANT 
Blight, municipal ordinances:  
 (01-128)................................................................172 
Disputes, last agreed upon rent, deposit  
 deadlines:  
 (01-186)................................................................146 
Dwelling unit repossession after tenant death:  
 (01-133)................................................................136 
Rent payments, cash receipt requirement:  
 (01-44)....................................................................77 
 
 
LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS 
See also Sheriffs 
Auxiliary, surviving dependent children, tuition 

waivers:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Firearms evidence databank,  
 searching/compliance procedures:  
 (01-130)................................................................196 
Lake patrolmen, baton/firearm use:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
Lake patrolmen, baton/firearm use effective  
 date:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Line of duty deaths, license plate  
 memorialization:  
 (01-198)................................................................209 
Obstructing/impeding emergency vehicle  
 warning, issuance permitted:  
 (01-192)................................................................202 
Policemen and Firemen Survivors'  
 Benefit Fund, benefit increase:  
 (01-80)..................................................................185 
School bus signals, required stop:  
 (01-192)................................................................202 
Seized cash, disposition procedures:  
 (01-104)................................................................195 
Seized property returns, time frames:  
 (01-186)................................................................146 
State Marshal appointments:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
State Marshal Commission responsibilities:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Traffic stop data reporting requirement, extended:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
 
 
 
 

LIABILITY 
Banks, funds exempt from execution errors:  
 (01-196) ...............................................................150 
Claims Commissioner, pending matters:  
 (01-167) ...............................................................145 
Construction/maintenance contract negligence  
 clauses:  
 (01-155) .................................................................70 
Court-appointed health care guardians,  
 indemnification:  
 (01-41).................................................................106 
Deceased tenant dwellings, landlord  
 repossession:  
 (01-133) ...............................................................136 
Fruit/vegetable harvesting, landowner  
 protections:  
 (01-82).................................................................112 
Gasoline discharge, municipal immunity:  
 (01-195) ...............................................................145 
 
 
LIBRARIES 
See Connecticut State Library 
 
 
LICENSING 
See Occupational Licensing 
 
 
LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANIES 
Document filing, electronic/photocopies  
 permitted:  
 (01-188) ...............................................................149 
Out-of-state, registration amnesty program:  
 (01-81).................................................................112 
Real estate brokers/insurance producers,  
 corporate option:  
 (01-157) ...............................................................100 
 
 
LIQUOR 
See Alcoholic Beverages 
 
 
LONG ISLAND SOUND 
Nitrogen discharge controls:  
 (01-180) .................................................................52 
 
 
LOW LEVEL RADIOACTIVE WASTE 
Compact modifications, disposal fund use:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
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MANAGED CARE OMBUDSMAN OFFICE 
Expenditures paid by Insurance Fund:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
 
 
MARRIAGE 
Authorized officiators:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Certificates, social security number access:  
 (01-163)................................................................185 
Marital status, discrimination prohibited:  
 (01-28)..................................................................104 
Validating certain marriages:  
 (01-04)..................................................................101 
 
 
MEDICAID 
Adult rehabilitation services study:  
 (01-8 June SS) .....................................................270 
Breast/cervical cancer, coverage:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Case management/accountability measures:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Husky A eligibility:  
 (01-137)..................................................................81 
Inpatient hospital rate calculation:  
 (01-3 June SS) .....................................................241 
Inpatient rate increase, effective date:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Mammogram coverage:  
 (01-171)................................................................189 
Outpatient hospital fee schedule adjustments:  
 (01-3 June SS) .....................................................241 
Outpatient rate increase, applicable period:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Rates, inflation adjustment:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Reimbursement rates increased:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Riverview Hospital revenue, allocation:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Special education payments, allocation:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
State plan, rehabilitation services amendment:  
 (01-8 June SS) .....................................................270 
Transfer of assets, rules modified:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Used durable medical equipment covered:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
 
 
 
 
 

MEDICAL PROFESSIONS 
See Health Professions 
 
 
MEDICARE 
See Health Insurance 
 
 
MENTAL HEALTH 
Community Mental Health Strategy Board,  
 established:  
 (01-8 June SS).....................................................270 
Court-appointed health care guardians,  
 indemnification:  
 (01-41).................................................................106 
DCF community-based programs, services:  
 (01-181) .................................................................23 
Disability defined/discrimination prohibited:  
 (01-28).................................................................104 
KidCare services, eligibility/modifications:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Treatment, drug formulary use prohibited:  
 (01-171) ...............................................................189 
 
 
MENTAL HEALTH AND ADDICTION 

SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF 
Adult rehabilitation services study:  
 (01-8 June SS).....................................................270 
Behavioral health service interagency  
 agreement study:  
 (01-8 June SS).....................................................270 
Clients, private housing rental agreements:  
 (01-64).................................................................179 
Facilities, use by self-help groups:  
 (01-27).................................................................178 
Mental health needs standardized risk  
 assessment report:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Substance Abuse Revolving Loan Fund, 
 repayment requirements/penalties: 
 (01-90).................................................................179 
 
 
MENTAL HEALTH FACILITIES 
Conveyance moratorium:  
 (01-154) ............................................................ ...184 
Conveyance moratorium amended:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
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Discharge plan requirement:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Outpatient, licensure required:  
 (01-57)..................................................................178 
Receivership, residential facility definition:  
 (01-18)..................................................................177 
 
 
MENTAL RETARDATION, DEPARTMENT OF 
Camp Harkness Advisory Committee,  
 established: 
 (01-108)................................................................180 
Guardianship law study:  
 (01-140)................................................................183 
Juvenile clients, facility feasibility study: 
 (01-154)................................................................184 
 
 
MENTAL RETARDATION FACILITIES 
Conveyance moratorium:  
 (01-154)................................................................184 
Conveyance moratorium amended: 
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Receivership:  
 (01-18)..................................................................177 
 
 
MENTALLY RETARDED PERSONS 
Death penalty prohibition: 
 (01-151)................................................................141 
Patients' rights, guardianship: 
 (01-140)................................................................183 
Services/guardianship, modifications: 
 (01-140)................................................................183 
 
 
MILITARY 
Honor guard detail, named:  
 (01-123)................................................................196 
National Guard adjutant general, rank/duties: 
 (01-123)................................................................196 
 
 
MORTGAGES 
High-cost home loans:  
 (01-34)....................................................................11 
Land records, recording procedures:  
 (01-74)..................................................................111 
Teacher assistance program, expanded:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
 
 
 
 

MOTOR VEHICLES 
See also Highways and Roads; Traffic Rules and 

Regulations 
Air bag fraud, larceny established: 
 (01-36).................................................................105 
Case venues, modifications:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Clean air registration assessment: 
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Correction Department, emergency classification: 
 (01-59).................................................................107 
Driver license validation time periods: 
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Driver licenses, renewal periods vision screening: 
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Emergency, stopping for school buses required: 
 (01-192) ...............................................................202 
Emissions inspection program, redesigned:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Insurance fraud reports, filing date modified: 
 (01-5).....................................................................87 
Lemon law, new automobile warranties  
 account created:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
License plates memorializing line of duty deaths:  
 (01-198) ...............................................................209 
Parking, disabled veteran privileges: 
 (01-191) ...............................................................209 
Reflectorized license plates, display: 
 (01-24).................................................................205 
Rental company lease rate calculation/disclosures, 

implementation delayed:  
 (01-200) .................................................................72 
Rental company recovery criteria:  
 (01-200) .................................................................72 
Safety inspection program, authorized inspectors: 
 (01-24).................................................................205 
State-owned, fuel efficiency/alternative fuel use: 
 (01-168) ...............................................................165 
Temporary/transfer registrations, dealer fees  
 increased:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Volunteer emergency personnel, flashing white 

headlight use:  
 (01-192) ...............................................................202 
 
 
MOTOR VEHICLES, DEPARTMENT OF 
Emissions inspection program, redesigned: 
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Identity card applicants, authorized forms of 

identification:  
 (01-63).................................................................108 
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License plates memorializing line of duty deaths:  
 (01-198)................................................................209 
Racing event permit fee, decreased:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Registration sticker, plate number inclusion: 
 (01-191)................................................................209 
Safety inspection program, authorized inspectors:  
 (01-24)..................................................................205 
Social security number collection postponed:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Temporary/transfer registrations, dealer electronic 

transmission: 
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
 
 
MUNICIPAL OFFICIALS AND EMPLOYEES 
See also Firefighters and Fire Officials; Law 

Enforcement Officers; Teachers 
Assessors, grand list changes:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Civil preparedness volunteers, tax relief  
 permitted:  
 (01-187)..................................................................63 
Health directors, salon inspections:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Health insurance, alternate plan procurement: 
 (01-30)....................................................................87 
Line of duty deaths, license plate memorializing: 
 (01-198)................................................................209 
Negligent gasoline discharge, liability/penalty:  
 (01-195)................................................................145 
Nuisance wildlife control officers, license  
 requirement:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
Retirement fund modifications: 
 (01-80)..................................................................185 
Town clerks, fish and game license reports: 
 (01-79)....................................................................73 
Town clerks, historic documents preservation  
 receipts:  
 (01-79)....................................................................73 
Town clerks, mortgage assignment recording: 
 (01-74)..................................................................111 
Vital statistics registrar, official seal possession: 
 (01-163)................................................................185 
Vital statistics registrar, records 

maintenance/transmission: 
 (01-163)................................................................185 
Water quality violations, local health director 

notice/participation:  
 (01-185)..................................................................40 
 
 
 

MUNICIPALITIES 
See also Government Purchasing; Municipal Officials 

and Employees; Planning and Zoning; Property 
Tax; Schools and School Districts 

Agricultural land use, golf course:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Bridgeport, grand list validation: 
 (01-187) .................................................................63 
Bridgeport, Steel Point project authorization  
 extended:  
 (01-210) .................................................................28 
Bridgeport Housing Authority, restriction  
 exemption:  
 (01-194) ...............................................................193 
Bridgeport Port Authority, operational 
 facilities expanded: 
 (01-143) ...............................................................208 
Cheshire, sewer easement: 
 (01-194) ...............................................................193 
Civil preparedness volunteer 
 tax abatement/exemption permitted: 
 (01-187) .................................................................63 
Community health centers,  
 chlamydia education/testing:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Computer assisted mass appraisal grants,  
 availability expanded:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
Computer assisted mass appraisal system,  
 grant eligibility:  
 (01-187) .................................................................63 
Conservation/development plans,  
 requirements/powers: 
 (01-197) ...............................................................174 
DCF-residential facility license  
 revocation petition:  
 (01-161) ...............................................................100 
Disabled person property tax exemption,  
 appeals: 
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Dog damage to domestic animals, reports: 
 (01-62)...................................................................43 
East Windsor, property conveyance: 
 (01-194) ...............................................................193 
ECS grants, minimum increased:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Education technology grants, minimum  
 increased: 
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Electric utilities, forecast report required: 
 (01-144) .................................................................39 
Enfield, delinquent tax interest refund: 
 (01-187) .................................................................63 
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Farm machinery property tax exemption,  
 increase permitted:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Fire/emergency medical jurisdiction removed,  
 Bradley Airport:  
 (01-105)................................................................206 
Fiscal disparities identification/assistance:  
 (01-158)................................................................173 
Greenwich, grand list validation:  
 (01-187)..................................................................63 
Hartford, supplemental education aid, state  
 spending cap exemption: 
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Hartford, supplemental education aid use:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Higher education facilities, PILOT reinstated: 
  (01-9 June SS) ....................................................273 
Information technology/brownfield  
 remediation bonds, authorization:  
 (01-179)..................................................................25 
Intermunicipal agreements, authority expanded: 
 (01-117)................................................................213 
Land records, certain DEP order filed: 
 (01-118)..................................................................48 
Land records, social security number removal: 
 (01-38)..................................................................106 
Machinery/equipment/trucks, property tax 

reimbursement reduced: 
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Meriden enterprise zone expansion permitted: 
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Neighborhood Assistance Act programs list, 

submission:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Neighborhood/district plans, preparation:  
 (01-197)................................................................174 
New London port authority, operational  
 facilities expanded:  
 (01-143)................................................................208 
New Milford, special town meeting actions  
 validated:  
 (01-187)..................................................................63 
Nitrogen credit equivalency calculation,  
 challenges:  
 (01-180)..................................................................52 
Noise ordinance, UConn football stadium:  
 (01-136)................................................................173 
Norwich, General Assistance glasses coverage 

eliminated: 
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Norwich, General Assistance glasses coverage  
 restored:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
 

Norwich, revenue sharing grant increased:  
 (01-9 June SS).................................................. ...273 
Oxford, tax lien filings, validation:  
 (01-187) .............................................................. ...63 
PILOT program, modifications: 
 (01-6 June SS).................................................. ...255 
Plainfield, school construction grant refund  
 exemption:  
 (01-1 June SS).................................................. ...217 
Property maintenance ordinances: 
 (01-128) ...............................................................172 
Property tax abatement schedule/amount,  
 modified: 
 (01-125) ...............................................................213 
Remediated sites, increased property 
 tax collection payments:  
 (01-204) .................................................................56 
Ridgeline preservation/conservation 
 recommendations: 
 (01-197) ...............................................................174 
School boards, basic skills graduation  
 requirements:  
 (01-166) .................................................................31 
School readiness grants, use:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Sewage sludge incinerator grants: 
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Small Town Economic Assistance Program,  
 bonds authorized:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
State deferred compensation program,  
 participation: (01-80)..........................................185 
Street lights, efficiency/pollution requirements:  
 (01-134) ...............................................................208 
Trumbull, park conveyance use modified:  
 (01-194) ...............................................................193 
Urban Rehabilitation Homeownership Program, 

assessment increase deferral:  
 (01-9 June SS).................................................. ...273 
Utilities, corporate entity authorized:  
 (01-112) .................................................................39 
Waterbury, ECS minimum expenditure  
 requirement adjustment: 
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Waterbury, supplemental education aid,  
 state spending cap exemption:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Waterbury, supplemental education aid use:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
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NATURAL GAS 
See Oil and Gas 
 
 
NOISE POLLUTION 
UConn football stadium, noise ordinance  
 compliance:  
 (01-136)................................................................173 
 
 
NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS 
Employee health plans, state procurement: 
  (01-30)...................................................................87 
Fruit/vegetable harvesting, landowner liability:  
 (01-82)..................................................................112 
Guilford Agricultural Society property value  
 limit eliminated:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Land conservation acquisition grants:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
 
 
NURSES AND NURSING 
License reinstatement repeal: 
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Workforce, education articulation agreements:  
 (01-165)................................................................212 
 
 
NURSING HOMES 
Bed hold requirements, modified: 
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Certificate of need moratorium, extended: 
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Occupational therapy services study:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Owners/operators, background checks required: 
 (01-175)..................................................................17 
Rates increased:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Rest home bed conversions permitted: 
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
 
 
OATHS 
Correction Department commissioner,  
 administration:  
 (01-7)....................................................................101 
 
 
 
 
 
 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 
See also Boards and Commissions; Health 

Professions; Teachers 
Alternative licensure option, certain health  
 professions:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Child abuse by school personnel,  
 licensing agency notification: 
 (01-142) ...............................................................137 
Contractors' licenses, deadlines: 
 (01-66)...................................................................67 
Criminal record checks, required for certain  
 licenses:  
 (01-175) .................................................................17 
Dog grooming facility licensure, renewal deadline:  
 (01-62)...................................................................43 
EMS personnel, licensure/recertification:  
 (01-1)...................................................................177 
Home improvement contractor/inspector,  
 grounds for refusal:  
 (01-155) .................................................................70 
Home inspectors, requirements modified: 
 (01-116) .................................................................69 
Home inspectors, supervision requirements:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Insurance producers, requirements/reciprocity: 
 (01-113) .................................................................95 
Journeyman's licenses, deadlines:  
 (01-66)...................................................................67 
Money transmission licensure:  
 (01-56)...................................................................14 
Municipal wildlife control licenses,  
 modifications: 
 (01-204) .................................................................56 
Nail technician licensure program, eliminated:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Nursing home operators, background checks  
 required:  
 (01-175) .................................................................17 
Psychologists, license by endorsement: 
 (01-86).................................................................179 
Real estate appraisers, license classification  
 eliminated:  
 (01-100) .................................................................94 
Real estate appraisers/brokers, nonresident  
 reciprocity:  
 (01-100) .................................................................94 
Relative caregiver, foster care license exemption 

eliminated: 
 (01-159) ...............................................................144 
Relative caregiver, foster care license exemption 

restored:  
 (01-142) ...............................................................137 
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Relative caregivers, requirements:  
 (01-70)....................................................................80 
Telecommunications infrastructure layout  
 technician, established:  
 (01-164)..................................................................71 
 
 
OIL AND GAS 
Home heating-oil dealers, registration/contract 

disclosures:  
 (01-46)....................................................................65 
Low sulfur oil, gross receipts tax  
 exemption (Vetoed):  
 (01-107)..................................................................45 
Municipal utilities, corporate entity authorized:  
 (01-112)..................................................................39 
Petroleum products tax, modifications:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Price increases, prior notification requirement  
 amended:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Propane, utility gross earnings tax exemption  
 extended:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Underground oil tank removal program revised:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
 
 
PARKS 
See State Parks and Forests 
 
 
PAROLE BOARD 
Certain applicant background checks required:  
 (01-175)..................................................................17 
Crime victim statement:  
 (01-211)................................................................157 
Denials report required:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Records access:  
 (01-211)................................................................157 
 
 
PESTICIDES 
See Hazardous Substances 
 
 
PHARMACIES AND PHARMACISTS 
Correctional institution pharmaceutical returns, 

procedures:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Direct payments, workers' compensation plans:  
 (01-85)....................................................................71 
 

PLANNING AND ZONING 
Administrative appeals, mediation:  
 (01-47).................................................................169 
Asphalt plant moratorium extended:  
 (01-204) .................................................................56 
Commissions, subdivision plan approval  
 deadline:  
 (01-52).................................................................169 
DCF-licensed residences, single family home  
 zoning designation:  
 (01-161) ...............................................................100 
Land use appeals, certain filing deadlines:  
 (01-110) ...............................................................213 
Local plans of conservation and development, 

modifications:  
 (01-197) ...............................................................174 
 
POLICE 
See Law Enforcement Officers 
 
 
POLICY AND MANAGEMENT, OFFICE OF 
Boundless Playgrounds matching fund grants:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Carbon dioxide emissions report, frequency:  
 (01-204) .................................................................56 
Computer assisted mass appraisal system, grant 

eligibility:  
 (01-187) .................................................................63 
Conservation and development plan, deadline  
 delay:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Exemption/relief program eligibility, appeals:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Interlocal agreement revaluation grants,  
 eliminated:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
LLRW management/activities, fund use:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Municipal fiscal disparities, identification/ 
 assistance program:  
 (01-158) ...............................................................173 
Oil/propane price increase, prior notification 

requirement eliminated:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
PILOT program, modifications:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Small Town Economic Assistance Program, 

administration:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
Systems benefit charge, municipal reimbursement 

calculation:  
 (01-125) ...............................................................213 
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Uncompensated care payments, certification:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Veterans' exemption program, application  
 review:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
 
 
POLLUTION 
See Air Pollution; Noise Pollution; Water Pollution 
 
 
PRISONS AND PRISONERS 
Facilities, statutory references/definitions  
 updated:  
 (01-20)..................................................................103 
Facility emergencies, responder hazardous duty 

eligibility:  
 (01-208)................................................................168 
Female juvenile justice facility, "fast-track"  
 exemption:  
 (01-7 June SS) .....................................................266 
Incarceration cost recovery:  
 (01-129)................................................................117 
Industries, state agency purchases:  
 (01-106)..................................................................73 
Inmate complaint ombudsman created:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
New Haven alternative incarceration center  
 authorized:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Pharmaceutical return program procedures:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Presentence confinement credit:  
 (01-78)..................................................................111 
Sentence reduction notifications:  
 (01-211)................................................................157 
Sexual offender registration exemption,  
 application:  
 (01-211)................................................................157 
 
 
PRIVACY 
See Confidentiality 
 
 
PROBATE COURTS 
See also Estates and Trusts 
Child commitment, application information:  
 (01-142)................................................................137 
Conservator application hearings, notification 

procedure:  
 (01-127)................................................................116 
 
 

Deceased tenant, landlord affidavit:  
 (01-133) ...............................................................136 
Elderly person examination, abuse cases:  
 (01-209) ................................................................ .85 
Fiduciaries, discretionary authority:  
 (01-68).................................................................108 
Fiduciary bond requirements modified:  
 (01-127) ...............................................................116 
Fiduciary removal:  
 (01-114) ...............................................................115 
Medicaid eligibility determination, powers  
 limited:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
 
 
PROPERTY TAX 
Abatement schedule modified:  
 (01-125) ...............................................................213 
 
 
Certain exemptions authorized/municipal 

reimbursement:  
 (01-187) .................................................................63 
Civil preparedness volunteers, tax relief  
 permitted:  
 (01-187) ................................................................ .63 
Computer assisted mass appraisal system, grant 

eligibility:  
 (01-187) ................................................................ .63 
Elderly tax freeze fraud, refund requirement:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Exemption/relief programs, appeals:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Farm machinery exemption, increase  
 permitted:  
 (01-6 June SS).................................................... .255 
Grand list validations:  
 (01-187) .................................................................63 
Machinery/equipment/trucks exemption,  
 reimbursement reduced:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Manufacturing machinery/equipment, exemption 

eligibility:  
 (01-6 June SS).................................................... .255 
Municipal tax waivers increased:  
 (01-178) ...............................................................174 
Pharmaceutical/medicinal/botanical  
 manufacturing, exemption extension:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Power plant assessments:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
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Remediated sites, municipal SCPRIF  
 payments:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
Tax relief decisions, appeal reinstated:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Urban Rehabilitation Homeownership Program, 

assessment increase deferral:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
 
 
PUBLIC EMPLOYEES 
See Municipal Officials and Employees; State Officers 

and Employees 
 
 
PUBLIC HEALTH, DEPARTMENT OF 
Asthma plan/monitoring system development:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Asthma plan/monitoring system funding:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Cremation authorization forms:  
 (01-131)................................................................118 
EMS rate increase approval:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Illness and school performance task force  
 creation:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Informed consent form development, autopsies:  
 (01-122)................................................................182 
Mental health outpatient treatment facilities,  
 licensure:  
 (01-57)..................................................................178 
Nail technician licensure program eliminated:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Protein deficiency testing programs:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Psychologists, licensure by endorsement:  
 (01-86)..................................................................179 
Public health promotion study:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Registered nurse license reinstatement repeal:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Traumatic brain injury patient registry:  
 (01-90)..................................................................179 
Vital records statistics, electronic transmission:  
 (01-163)................................................................185 
Water quality violation, notification  
 requirement:  
 (01-185)..................................................................40 
Watershed land permits, issuance: 
  (01-204).................................................................56 
 
 
 

Youth camp license denials, appeals prohibited:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Youth camp regulation, modifications:  
 (01-94).................................................................180 
 
 
PUBLIC SAFETY, DEPARTMENT OF 
Criminal record checks, request modifications/ 
 fees:  
 (01-175) .................................................................17 
Firearms evidence databank, establishment:  
 (01-130) ...............................................................196 
Handgun possession protocols, revision:  
 (01-130) ...............................................................196 
Sex offender registration information,  
 dissemination:  
 (01-211) ...............................................................157 
 
 
PUBLIC UTILITIES 
See Utilities 
 
 
PUBLIC UTILITY CONTROL, DEPARTMENT 

OF 
Electric power supply demand investigation/ 
 report (Vetoed):  
 (01-107) .................................................................45 
Electric restructuring public education, consultant  
 use:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
State building energy conservation funding:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
 
 
PUBLIC WORKS, DEPARTMENT OF 
Judicial Branch construction projects, DPW 

administration:  
 (01-172) .................................................................75 
Project consultants, selection authority:  
 (01-172) .................................................................75 
Sewer easement, Cheshire:  
 (01-194) ...............................................................193 
 
 
QUASI-PUBLIC AGENCIES 
See also specific agencies 
Financial assistance documents, signatures/false 

statements:  
 (01-184) .................................................................28 
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RAILROADS 
Transportation project appropriations:  
 (01-5 June SS) .....................................................248 
 
 
REAL ESTATE 
See also Eminent Domain 
Child support liens, application of proceeds: 
  (01-207).................................................................83 
CII, property powers:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Conservation easements, Marketable Title Act 

exemption:  
 (01-118)..................................................................48 
Conveyances, special act modified:  
 (01-194)................................................................193 
CRRA, remediation/development contract  
 powers:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
DEP conveyance to East Windsor:  
 (01-194)................................................................193 
DOT park conveyance to Trumbull,  
 telecommunications facility use:  
 (01-194)................................................................193 
Kelda land purchase, contract approval:  
 (01-7 June SS) .....................................................266 
Kelda land use restrictions:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Land records, certain DEP order filings:  
 (01-118)..................................................................48 
Land records, mortgage recording procedures:  
 (01-74)..................................................................111 
Land records, social security number removal:  
 (01-38)..................................................................106 
State, mental health/retardation facility  
 conveyance moratorium:  
 (01-154)................................................................184 
Transfer Act modifications:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
 
 
REAL ESTATE BROKERS AND SALESMEN 
Brokers, professional corporation/LLC  
 option:  
 (01-157)................................................................100 
Commercial brokerage, commission rights:  
 (01-88)....................................................................94 
Licensed appraiser classification, eliminated:  
 (01-100)..................................................................94 
Licensing, nonresident reciprocity:  
 (01-100)..................................................................94 
 
 
 

RECYCLING 
See Solid Waste Management 
 
 
RESTAURANTS 
See Business 
 
 
RETAIL TRADE 
Beer sales, packaging requirements:  
 (01-14)...................................................................65 
Digital price readouts:  
 (01-73)...................................................................68 
Electronic pricing system, pilot program  
 participation:  
 (01-43)...................................................................65 
Liquor/tobacco retailers, scan device use/ 
 restrictions:  
 (01-92)...................................................................68 
 
 
RETIREMENT AND PENSIONS 
Educational Technology Commission executive 

director, options:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
Judges retirement fund withdrawal with interest:  
 (01-80).................................................................185 
Municipal retirement fund, modifications:  
 (01-80).................................................................185 
State deferred compensation program,  
 participation:  
 (01-80).................................................................185 
Teachers Retirement Board, actuarial deadline:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
 
 
REVENUE SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF 
Cigarette dealer information, disclosure:  
 (01-2).....................................................................63 
Decedent property transfer notification/approval, 

requirements eliminated:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Electronic tax payments/document filing,  
 timeliness:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Gambling impact study, Special Revenue  
 Division report:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Income tax refund withholding, student loan  
 obligors:  
 (01-102) .................................................................29 
Petroleum products gross earnings tax revenues, 

allocation:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
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Taxpayer primary address release permitted:  
 (01-6 June SS)... ..................................................255 
Taxpayer refunds, name/address publishing  
 conditions:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
 
 
SALES AND USE TAXES 
Alternative fuel vehicles exemption,  
 extended:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Caskets for cremation, exemption:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Cellular telephone criteria, modified:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Fuel cell manufacturing materials, exemption:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Indian tribe businesses, exemption extended:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Internet access service, use tax eliminated:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Patient care services, suspended:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Railroad parking lot use, exemptions:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
 
 
SCHOOLS AND SCHOOL DISTRICTS 
Applicant reference checks, good faith effort:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Asthma data report:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Charter, facility renovation grant:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Choice program modifications:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Chronic disease assessment required:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Class size reduction/all-day kindergarten bonus, 

doubled:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Construction, bonuses/grants/natural light 

maximization:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Educator criminal history record checks,  
 required:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Fire sprinkler system, construction grant  
 requirement:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Graduation requirement, basic skills assessment:  
 (01-166)..................................................................31 
Hartford, board of education appointments:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 

Hartford Board of Education training program:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Hartford/Waterbury supplemental education  
 aid, state budget spending cap exemption:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Health centers, chlamydia education/testing:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Improvement plans, requirements:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Information technology magnet school creation:  
 (01-193) ...............................................................214 
Interdistrict cooperative programs, grant  
 eligibility:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
Interdistrict magnet school enrollment, private  
 school students:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
Interdistrict magnet school on performing arts in 

Waterbury, committee established:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Magnet, supplemental funding distribution  
 formula:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Medication administration by parent:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Plainfield, school construction grant refund  
 exemption:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Priority, remedial reading programs required:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Priority district grants, cap exemption:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Psychotropic drug policies:  
 (01-124) ...............................................................182 
Regional, member payments:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
Regional Education Service Centers, diversity  
 activities:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Safe-learning/anti-bullying grant, established:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
School readiness councils, convening/ 
 establishment:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Schools in need of improvement, grants:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Serious juvenile offenders, educational records:  
 (01-176) .................................................................23 
Special education grant modifications:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
Transition school district grants, minimum/ 
 distribution:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
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Vocational-technical, articulation agreements:  
 (01-165)................................................................212 
Vocational-technical, workforce needs  
 assessment:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Vocational-technical schools, program  
 evaluation:  
 (01-193)................................................................214 
Weapons possession, school sponsored  
 activities:  
 (01-84)..................................................................113 
 
 
SEARCH AND SEIZURE 
See Criminal Procedure 
 
 
SECRETARY OF THE STATE 
Centralized voter registration system,  
 implementation costs:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Corporation documents, electronic  
 transmission:  
 (01-199)................................................................151 
LLC documents, photocopies/electronic format 

accepted:  
 (01-188)................................................................149 
New voting machine use, approval/grants:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Service of process fee specified:  
 (01-84)..................................................................113 
 
 
SECURITIES 
See Investments 
 
 
SENTENCING 
See Criminal Procedure 
 
 
SHERIFFS 
Salaries reduced:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
State Marshal applications:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Statute references, eliminated:  
 (01-195)................................................................145 
 
 
SOCIAL SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF 
Adult rehabilitation services study:  
 (01-8 June SS) .....................................................270 
 

AFDC recoveries, credit:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Arrearage adjustment program, establishment:  
 (01-207) .................................................................83 
Behavioral health service interagency agreement  
 study:  
 (01-8 June SS).....................................................270 
Child day care providers, education incentives:  
 (01-206) ...............................................................168 
Chronic disease hospital, ventilator dependent  
 patient rate:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Drug assistance information availability:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Elder abuse investigations/subpoena authority:  
 (01-209) .................................................................85 
Employer-sponsored health insurance plan for  
 low-income families:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Hospital payments, Hartford/St. Francis/ 
 Stamford:  
 (01-3 June SS).....................................................241 
Hospital tax liability calculation, statute  
 reinstated:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
HUSKY enrollment/eligibility:  
 (01-137) .................................................................81 
KidCare behavioral health services,  
 modifications:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Medicaid case management/accountability  
 measures:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Medicaid fee schedule, increased:  
 (01-3 June SS).....................................................241 
Medicaid plan, mammogram coverage:  
 (01-171) ...............................................................189 
Medicare buy-in cost coverage:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Medicare Part B premiums, payments:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Nursing home occupational therapy services  
 study:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
One stop job centers, representative required:  
 (01-146) ...............................................................211 
Quality enhancement grant use:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
SCHIP fund use, federal waiver application:  
 (01-137) .................................................................81 
Self-support reserve, notice:  
 (01-207) .................................................................83 
Severely disabled persons employment program:  
 (01-61)...................................................................80 
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TANF/AFDC recoveries:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
TFA exit interviews required:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Town general assistance audits, discretionary:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
 
 
SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT 
Recycled product promotion:  
 (01-168)................................................................165 
Sewage sludge incinerators, emissions testing:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
Sewage sludge incinerators, municipal grants:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
 
 
SPECIAL EDUCATION 
Alternate proficiency assessment:  
 (01-205)..................................................................37 
Grant modifications:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Grant payment schedule:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Grant payment schedule, modified:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
High-cost aid increased:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Medicaid federal match, allocation:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
 
 
SPORTS 
Football stadium, noise ordinance compliance:  
 (01-136)................................................................173 
Municipal golf courses, agricultural land use:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
 
 
STATE AGENCIES 
See also specific agencies 
ADA compliance:  
 (01-28)..................................................................104 
Affirmative action plans filing schedule:  
 (01-53)..................................................................107 
Certain state employees, residential address  
 disclosure prohibition:  
 (01-186)................................................................146 
Contractors, FOI applicability:  
 (01-169)..................................................................74 
Data processing equipment purchases, Capital 

Equipment Purchase Fund use:  
 (01-7 June SS) .....................................................266 

Diversity training, deadline/mandated 
employees/compliance:  

 (01-53).................................................................107 
Foundations, FOI technical changes:  
 (01-141) .................................................................29 
Foundations, solicitation disclosures:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
Indian tribe regulatory costs, recovery:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Indian tribe regulatory costs, recovery deposit 

exemption:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Prison industry purchases, comptroller approval 

authority:  
 (01-106) .................................................................73 
Recycled product use:  
 (01-168) ...............................................................165 
Sunset law terminations, delayed:  
 (01-160) .................................................................74 
Unexpended bond allotment report:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
 
 
STATE AID 
Adult education grants, Waterbury expenditure:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Charter schools, facility renovation grant:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Community health center grant use:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Competitive basic technology grant program:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Competitive grant program established:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Connecticut Independent College Student grant 

program, appropriation request:  
 (01-89)...................................................................29 
ECS grants, minimum expenditure calculation:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
ECS grants, modifications:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Education accountability grants, permanency:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Education aid, modifications:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Education technology grants, minimum  
 increased:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Interdistrict cooperative programs, grant  
 eligibility:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
Interlocal agreement revaluation grants,  
 eliminated:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
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Matching grants, higher education  
 endowments:  
 (01-141)..................................................................29 
Municipal appraisal system development/ 
 modification, grant eligibility:  
 (01-187)..................................................................63 
Municipal property tax exemption reimbursement, 

reduced:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Municipal reimbursement for certain taxpayer 

exemptions:  
 (01-187)..................................................................63 
Natural resources enhancement grants:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
Norwich revenue sharing grant, increased:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Open space land acquisition grants:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
Opportunities and industrialization center grants, 

administration transferred:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Priority school district grants, allocation/cap  
 exemption:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Private school student health services,  
 reimbursement criteria:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Quality enhancement grants, use:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Regional Education Service Center funding:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Safe learning/anti-bullying grant, established:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
School construction grants, specific purposes:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Sewage sludge incinerator host towns, grants:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Special education cost grants, modifications:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Special education grant payment schedule:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Spending cap exemption, Hartford/Waterbury 

supplemental education aid:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Supplemental education aid, Hartford/Waterbury  
 use:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Teacher Mortgage Assistance Program,  
 expanded:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Transitional school district grants, 

minimum/distribution:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
 

Vineyards/wineries, Manufacturing  
 Assistance Act financing:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
Youth service bureaus, grant eligibility:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
 
 
STATE BUDGET 
Lawsuit proceeds, debt retirement:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
Spending cap, priority school district grant  
 exemption:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Spending cap exemption, Hartford/Waterbury 

supplemental education aid:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
 
 
STATE BUILDINGS 
Energy conservation projects, funding:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Mental health/retardation facilities, conveyance 

amended:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Mental health/retardation facilities, conveyance 

moratorium:  
 (01-154) ...............................................................184 
Robert F. Juliano Terminal Building, named:  
 (01-105) ...............................................................206 
 
 
STATE COMPTROLLER 
Health plan procurement, municipal/nonprofit 

employees:  
 (01-30)...................................................................87 
State agencies, prison industry purchases:  
 (01-106) .................................................................73 
 
 
STATE FUNDS 
Agriculture Department maintenance account, 

established:  
 (01-126) .................................................................49 
Bradley Enterprise, designation:  
 (01-5 June SS).....................................................248 
Capital Equipment Purchase, data processing  
 equipment purchases:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
Clean Water, LIS nitrogen reduction credit  
 purchase:  
 (01-180) .................................................................52 
Computer assisted mass appraisal grants,  
 availability expanded:  
 (01-7 June SS).....................................................266 
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Conservation, created:  
 (01-150)..................................................................50 
Conservation, fisheries account allocation:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Debt retirement reserve account, settlement  
 payments:  
 (01-7 June SS) .....................................................266 
Digital Strategic, creation:  
 (01-193)................................................................214 
Education and Services for the Blind  
 vending machine revenue account, created:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Educational Technology, renamed:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Emergency spill response account, transferred:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Emissions Enterprise, quarterly transfer  
 required:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Environmental Quality, underground oil  
 tank removal reimbursements:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Fairfield Hills/Norwich hospitals sale,  
 established:  
 (01-154)................................................................184 
General, Indian tribe cost reimbursement  
 deposits, modified:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Hospital Assistance Program account, credits:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Insurance, Managed Care Ombudsman Office 

expenditures:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Insurance reinvestment, tax credits, 

eligibility/elimination:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Low-Level Radioactive Waste, uses:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Mental Health Strategic Investment, created:  
 (01-8 June SS) .....................................................270 
New automobile warranties account, created:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Parent Trust, created:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
Policemen and Firemen Survivors' Benefit,  
 benefits increased:  
 (01-80)..................................................................185 
Pretrial Account, established:  
 (01-8 June SS) .....................................................270 
Refund payment source/budgetary inclusion:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Renewable Energy Investment, use (Vetoed):  
 (01-107)..................................................................45 
 

Riverview Hospital Medicaid revenue,  
 allocation:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Second Injury, assessment appeals/reporting 

compliance:  
 (01-40).................................................................162 
Second Injury, retroactive death benefit  
 reimbursement:  
 (01-162) ...............................................................212 
Special education federal match, allocation:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
State Employees Retirement, judges  
 withdrawal with interest:  
 (01-80).................................................................185 
State marshal account, created:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Steel Point project bonds, authorization  
 extended:  
 (01-210) .................................................................28 
Substance Abuse Revolving Loan, repayment 

requirements:  
 (01-90).................................................................179 
Tobacco and Health Trust, asthma program funds 

appropriation:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Vocational Education Extension, industrial  
 account permitted balance increased:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
 
 
STATE OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES 
See also specific Constitutional Officers; Judges; 

Judicial Branch; Law Enforcement Officers;  
 State Veterinarian 
Assault on prosecutors, enhanced penalty:  
 (01-25).................................................................104 
Collective bargaining procedures modified  
 (Vetoed):  
 (01-189) ...............................................................167 
Correction officers, collective bargaining  
 rights:  
 (01-103) .................................................................71 
Discrimination, protected classes expanded:  
 (01-28).................................................................104 
Educational Technology Commission executive 

director, retirement options:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
Employee assistance program, participation  
 disclosure prohibited:  
 (01-29).................................................................174 
Forest fire personnel, arrest powers eliminated:  
 (01-150) .................................................................50 
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Forest fire warden, DEP commissioner named:  
 (01-150)..................................................................50 
Forester, duties amended:  
 (01-150)..................................................................50 
Hazardous duty eligibility, expanded:  
 (01-208)................................................................168 
Historian, duties/responsibilities:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Line of duty deaths, license plate memorializing:  
 (01-198)................................................................209 
State Librarian, historic document preservation  
 receipts:  
 (01-79)....................................................................73 
 
 
STATE PARKS AND FORESTS 
Alcoholic beverage possession, prohibition:  
 (01-150)..................................................................50 
Horseback riding trails, designation:  
 (01-150)..................................................................50 
 
 
STATE TREASURER 
Dog fund administrator, removal:  
 (01-62)....................................................................43 
 
 
STATE VETERINARIAN 
Bird/animal diseases, report:  
 (01-12)....................................................................43 
 
 
STATUTES 
Banking/securities, revised:  
 (01-10)....................................................................11 
Corrections, technical changes:  
 (01-20)..................................................................103 
Economic development, technical revisions:  
 (01-96)....................................................................25 
Education, revisions:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Environmental, modified:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
Insurance, changes:  
 (01-139)..................................................................99 
Military, revisions:  
 (01-123)................................................................196 
Revision of 2001, adopted:  
 (01-3)....................................................................101 
Sheriff references, eliminated:  
 (01-195)... ............................................................145 
Technical revisions:  
 (01-26)....................................................................73 
 

Uniform Commercial Code Article 9, revised:  
 (01-132) ...............................................................119 
Utility laws, technical revisions:  
 (01-49).................................................................. .39 
 
 
STUDENTS 
Articulation agreements:  
 (01-165) ...............................................................212 
Bilingual, mastery test administration/ 
 exemption:  
 (01-205) .................................................................37 
College/university, meningitis vaccination  
 requirement:  
 (01-93).................................................................180 
Defaulted loans, income tax refund  
 withholding:  
 (01-102).................................................................29 
High Technology Student Loan Reimbursement 

Program, eligibility:  
 (01-1 June SS).....................................................217 
Information technology intern/work-study  
 pilot program creation:  
 (01-193) ...............................................................214 
Private school, interdistrict magnet school  
 enrollment:  
 (01-173) .................................................................31 
 
 
TASK FORCES 
See Boards and Commissions 
 
 
TAXATION 
See also Corporation Business Tax; Property Tax; 

Sales and Use Taxes 
Adjusted gross income, defined:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Cigarette tax stamps, statutory language  
 updated:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Electronic payments/filling, timeliness:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Exemption eligibility, OPM appeal procedure:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Gross receipts exemption, low sulfur oil  
 (Vetoed):  
 (01-107) .................................................................45 
Health care premium tax imposition,  
 exclusions:  
 (01-30)...................................................................87 
Income, modifications:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
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Insurance reinvestment tax credits, modifications:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Petroleum products, modifications:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Succession, DRS consent requirements  
 eliminated:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Tax Increment Financing program, funding  
 extension:  
 (01-210)..................................................................28 
Tobacco products, modifications:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
Utility gross earnings tax exemption extended,  
 propane sales:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
 
 
TEACHERS 
Alternate certification, appropriation  
 modifications:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Alternate certification/cross-endorsement, 

modifications:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Certification revocation requirement:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Computer education professional development 

requirements:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Continuing education exemption:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Minority Teacher Incentive Program, 

administration/promotion:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Minority teacher incentive program, graduate  
 study grants:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Mortgage assistance program expansion:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
Reading training/development, curriculum  
 content:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Retirement Board actuarial deadline:  
 (01-1 June SS) .....................................................217 
Troops to Teachers Program, funding/ 
 participation:  
 (01-173)..................................................................31 
 
 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 
Cellular telephone taxation, modifications:  
 (01-6 June SS) .....................................................255 
 
 

Infrastructure layout technician licensing,  
 established:  
 (01-164) ...............................................................071 
Internet access service, use tax eliminated:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Trumbull park conveyance/use:  
 (01-194) ...............................................................193 
 
 
TEMPORARY FAMILY ASSISTANCE 
Benefits, freeze/extension/sanctions:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Job transportation program, created:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Maximum benefit period calculation method:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Maximum benefit period established:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Recoveries permitted:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Sanctions on unmarried teens, education activities 

exemption:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
 
 
TOBACCO PRODUCTS 
Retailers, scan device use/restrictions:  
 (01-92)...................................................................68 
Settlement agreement, non-participating  
 manufacturers' escrow payments:  
 (01-2).....................................................................63 
Taxation, modifications:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
 
 
TOURISM 
See Economic Development 
 
 
TRAFFIC RULES AND REGULATIONS 
Flashing white headlight use:  
 (01-192) ...............................................................202 
Obstructing/impeding emergency vehicle,  
 warning issuance:  
 (01-192) ...............................................................202 
School bus signals, emergency vehicle stops:  
 (01-192) ...............................................................202 
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TRANSPORTATION 
See also Airports; Bridges; Harbors; Highways 
  and Roads; Motor Vehicles; Railroads 
Freight barge service, demonstration project 

implemented:  
 (01-5 June SS) .....................................................248 
Household goods carriers, advertisement  
 requirements:  
 (01-105)................................................................206 
Investment areas, defined:  
 (01-5 June SS) .....................................................248 
Mass-transit project appropriations:  
 (01-5 June SS)... ..................................................248 
Project appropriations designated:  
 (01-5 June SS) .....................................................248 
Stamford-New York high-speed ferry, funding:  
 (01-5 June SS) .....................................................248 
Strategy Board, creation/responsibilities:  
 (01-5 June SS) .....................................................248 
TFA recipients, job transportation program  
 created:  
 (01-2 June SS) .....................................................225 
 
 
TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF 
Bradley Airport Board, administrative  
 functions:  
 (01-5 June SS) .....................................................248 
Commuter incentive appropriations:  
 (01-5 June SS) .....................................................248 
Condemnation proceedings, environmental  
 remediation assessment:  
 (01-75)..................................................................205 
Hales Road highway bridge, replacement  
 authorized:  
 (01-105)................................................................206 
Hartford-New Britain Busway, "design-build" 

designation:  
 (01-105)................................................................206 
Livery permit issuance:  
 (01-105)................................................................206 
Oversized prefabricated units, highway/ 
 bridge use:  
 (01-138)..................................................................49 
Park conveyance to Trumbull,  
 telecommunications facility use:  
 (01-194)................................................................193 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

TRUSTS 
See Estates and Trusts 
 
 
UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION 
Eligibility, willful misconduct redefined:  
 (01-37).................................................................174 
Indian tribe requirements/payments:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
 
 
UNIFORM COMMERCIAL CODE 
Article 9 revised:  
 (01-132) ...............................................................119 
 
 
UNIVERSITY OF CONNECTICUT 
Dental school, needlestick prevention device use, 

exemption:  
 (01-4 June SS).....................................................242 
Football stadium, noise ordinance compliance:  
 (01-136) ...............................................................173 
 
 
UTILITIES 
See also Electric Utilities; Oil and Gas; 

Telecommunications; Water and Water Companies 
Municipal, corporate entity authorized:  
 (01-112) .................................................................39 
Technical statutory revisions:  
 (01-49)...................................................................39 
 
 
VETERANS 
Circuit breaker/rental rebate programs,  
 modifications:  
 (01-6 June SS).....................................................255 
Disabled, parking privileges:  
 (01-191) ...............................................................209 
Veterans Affairs Board of Trustees, meeting  
 schedule:  
 (01-58).................................................................195 
 
 
VICTIM ADVOCATE, OFFICE OF THE 
Filing fees, waiver:  
 (01-211) ...............................................................157 
Limited special appearances expanded:  
 (01-211) ...............................................................157 
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VICTIM SERVICES, OFFICE OF 
Sex offender registry list exemption/sentence 
  review request, victim notification:  
 (01-211)................................................................157 
 
 
VITAL RECORDS 
See Birth Certificates; Death; Marriage 
 
 
VOTERS AND VOTING 
Centralized registration system, implementation  
 costs:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Felons, voting rights restoration:  
 (01-11)..................................................................101 
Machine use, pilot program/grants:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
Study commission established:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
 
 
WAGES 
Chief administrative judges, compensation  
 increased:  
 (01-186)................................................................146 
Hotel/restaurant employees, tip credit:  
 (01-42)..................................................................162 
Sheriff salaries reduced:  
 (01-9 June SS)... ..................................................273 
 
 
WATER AND WATER COMPANIES 
Connecticut River interceptor sewer project, 

environmental impact:  
 (01-4 June SS) .....................................................242 
Diversion permits, issuing authority:  
 (01-204)..................................................................56 
Diversions, reporting requirement:  
 (01-202)..................................................................56 
East Haven Water Authority, lien continuance:  
 (01-187)..................................................................63 
Kelda land conveyance:  
 (01-7 June SS) .....................................................266 
Kelda land use restrictions:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
New Hartford Water Company, dissolution:  
 (01-185)..................................................................40 
Planning council created:  
 (01-177)..................................................................40 
Utilities, water quality violation penalties:  
 (01-185)..................................................................40 
 
 

WATER POLLUTION 
Drinking water quality violations, 

notifications/hearings:  
 (01-185) .................................................................40 
Nitrogen exchange program funding, LIS:  
 (01-180) .................................................................52 
 
 
WEAPONS 
Armor-piercing/incendiary bullets, banned:  
 (01-130) ...............................................................196 
Assault ban, definition expanded:  
 (01-130) ...............................................................196 
Correction Department, secure storage:  
 (01-51).................................................................107 
Family violence offenders, control tightened:  
 (01-130) ...............................................................196 
Firearms evidence databank, creation:  
 (01-130) ...............................................................196 
Gun permit system, consolidation:  
 (01-130) ...............................................................196 
Possession on school grounds, exemption created:  
 (01-84).................................................................113 
 
 
WELFARE 
See also General Assistance; Temporary Family 

Assistance 
AFDC/TANF recoveries:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Benefits freeze continued:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Legal immigrants, benefit prohibitions:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
Legal immigrants, state program availability:  
 (01-9 June SS).....................................................273 
Work requirements, noncompliance penalties  
 increased:  
 (01-2 June SS).....................................................225 
 
 
WILLS 
See Estates and Trusts 
 
 
WITNESSES 
Expert testimony, recoverable court costs:  
 (01-32).................................................................105 
Mileage fees, criminal cases:  
 (01-186) ...............................................................146 
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WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
Appeals to review board, time frame:  
 (01-22)..................................................................104 
Assessment, maximum increased:  
 (01-9 June SS) .....................................................273 
DAS liability transfer, loss portfolio program:  
 (01-7 June SS) .....................................................266 
Death benefits, waiting period eliminated:  
 (01-162)................................................................212 
Mileage reimbursement rate increased:  
 (01-33)..................................................................174 
Pharmacists, direct payments for prescriptions:  
 (01-85)....................................................................71 
Retroactive death benefit payments, Correction 

Department:  
 (01-208)................................................................168 
Second Injury Fund Advisory Board, voting 

modifications:  
 (01-31)..................................................................174 
Second Injury Fund assessments, appeals/ 
 reporting compliance:  
 (01-40)..................................................................162 
 
 
WORKFORCE COMPETITIVENESS, OFFICE  
 OF 
Annual report:  
 (01-170)................................................................213 
Business/industry needs, education program  
 evaluation: (01-193) ............................................214 
High school student career ladder programs, 

established:  
 (01-170)................................................................213 
Information technology internship/work- 
 study pilot program creation:  
 (01-193)................................................................214 
Information technology proficiency/credential  
 pilot programs, creation:  
 (01-193)................................................................214 
 
 
 


