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NOTICE TO READERS 

 
 
 
This report provides highlights of new laws affecting taxes enacted 

during the 2011 regular and special legislative sessions. It does not 
include vetoed acts. 

 
Not all provisions of the acts are included here. Complete summaries 

of all 2011 public acts passed will be available when OLR’s Public Act 
Summary book is published; most are already available on OLR’s 
webpage: http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/OLRPASums.asp 

 
Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest 

them from the Connecticut State Library, the House Clerk’s Office, or the 
General Assembly’s website: http://www.cga.ct.gov. 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/OLRPASums.asp
http://www.cga.ct.gov/
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CORPORATION TAX 
 

Surcharge 
 
A new law imposes a 20% 

corporation tax surcharge for the 
2012 and 2013 income years.  
The surcharge applies to 
companies that have more than 
$250 in corporation tax liability 
and either (1) have at least $100 
million in annual gross income in 
those years or (2) file combined 
or unitary returns. 

(PA 11-6, effective upon 
passage and applicable to income 
years starting on or after that 
date) 
 
Credit Limit 

 
For the 2011 and 2012 

income years, an act allows 
companies that add new 
employees to use tax credits to 
reduce their annual corporation 
tax liability beyond the 70% limit 
set in law.  The additional offset 
equals $6,000 times the 
company’s average net monthly 
increase in employees, up to 
100% of its total tax liability. 

(PA 11-6, effective upon 
passage and applicable to income 
years starting on or after 
January 1, 2011) 

 
Economic Nexus 

 
A new law (1) requires a 

company to meet both, rather 
than one, of the existing criteria 
to have economic nexus in 
Connecticut and thus be liable 
for corporation tax and (2) 

exempts certain foreign 
corporations from economic 
nexus in conformity with the 
Department of Revenue Services’ 
(DRS) current policy. 

(PA 11-61, effective upon 
passage and applicable to income 
years starting on or after 
January 1, 2011) 
 
New Manufacturing 
Reinvestment Account 
 

A new law requires the 
Department of Economic and 
Community Development (DECD) 
commissioner to establish a 
program under which small 
manufacturers with 50 or fewer 
employees can defer corporation 
business taxes on the money 
they save for training, developing, 
and expanding their workforce or 
purchasing machinery, 
equipment, or facilities.  

(PA 11-140, effective July 1, 
2011 and applicable to income 
years starting on or after that 
date) 

 
INCOME TAX 

 
Rate Increase  

 
New legislation increases the 

marginal income tax rates for 
those with taxable incomes over 
(1) $100,000 for joint filers, (2) 
$50,000 for single filers and 
married people filing separately, 
and (3) $80,000 for heads of 
household. It also phases out the 
lowest (3%) income tax bracket 
for taxpayers over certain 
adjusted gross income thresholds 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=140&which_year=2011
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and imposes a “recapture 
provision” to eliminate the 
benefits taxpayers with higher 
incomes receive from having a 
portion of their income taxed at 
lower marginal rates.  

The DRS commissioner must 
issue new withholding tables 
applicable for the 2011 tax year 
as soon as possible.  Those 
paying estimated taxes must 
adjust their September 2011 
payment to reflect the changes. 

(PA 11-6, effective upon 
passage and applicable to tax 
years starting on or after 
January 1, 2011) 

 
Earned Income Tax Credit 

 
A new law establishes a 

refundable state earned income 
tax credit equal to 25% of the 
federal credit and, to the extent 
allowed under federal law, 
specifies that the refund is not 
counted in determining eligibility 
for or the amount of aid under 
any need-based state or federal 
program.   

(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 
11-1, June Special Session, 
effective upon passage and 
applicable to tax years starting 
on or after January 1, 2011) 

 
Property Tax Credit Reduction 

 
A new law reduces, from $500 

to $300, the maximum property 
tax credit against the personal 
income tax and phases out the 
credit at a steeper rate, thus 
reducing the number of 
taxpayers eligible for the credit. 

(PA 11-6, effective upon 
passage and applicable to tax 
years starting on or after 
January 1, 2011) 

 
INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX 

 
Nonadmitted Insurance 
Premium Tax 

 
In accordance with the 2010 

federal Nonadmitted and 
Reinsurance Reform Act (NRRA), 
an act limits the policies subject 
to the state’s 4% tax on gross 
premiums charged by 
nonadmitted insurers on 
insurance policies procured 
independently or through 
licensed surplus lines brokers.  

 It also (1) modifies how 
individuals and brokers must 
pay the tax, (2) allows the DRS 
and insurance commissioners to 
enter into an agreement with 
other states regarding the 
allocation of premium taxes 
among the states in cases where 
the policy covers multiple states, 
(3) exempts certain commercial 
purchasers from certain filing 
requirements, and (4) modifies 
the penalty and interest due on 
unpaid tax payments. 

(PA 11-61, effective upon 
passage and applicable to 
nonadmitted insurance coverage 
procured, continued, or renewed 
on or after July 1, 2011) 
 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://cga.ct.gov/2011/ACT/PA/2011PA-00001-R00HB-06701SS1-PA.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/2011/ACT/PA/2011PA-00001-R00HB-06701SS1-PA.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
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Credit Limit 
 
A new law lowers, from 70% to 

30%, the amount by which an 
insurer can reduce its annual 
insurance premium tax liability 
through tax credits.  It exempts 
from this 30% limit insurance 
reinvestment fund and digital 
animation tax credits. 

It also establishes the 
maximum tax liability that an 
insurer can offset in 2011 and 
2012 by claiming one or more 
types of credits and specifies the 
order in which these credit types 
must be claimed. 

(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 
11-61, effective upon passage 
and applicable to calendar years 
starting on or after January 1, 
2011) 

 
MISCELLANEOUS TAX 
CHANGES 

 
Admissions Tax Exemptions 

 
An act eliminates exemptions 

from the 10% admissions tax for 
various facilities and events, 
including the Hartford Civic 
Center, New Britain Stadium, 
and Connecticut Convention 
Center. 

(PA 11-6, effective January 1, 
2012 and applicable to charges 
imposed on or after that date) 

 
Alcoholic Beverages Tax  

 
A new law increases the excise 

tax on alcoholic beverages (e.g., 
beer, wine, liquor) by 20%.  It 
requires sellers to pay an 

additional one-time tax on the 
alcoholic beverages in their 
inventories as of the opening of 
business on July 1, 2011.  The 
tax on inventory is payable by 
August 15, 2011. 

(PA 11-6, effective upon 
passage and applicable to sales 
on or after July 1, 2011) 
 
Cigarette and Tobacco 
Products Taxes 

 
An act increases the tax on (1) 

cigarettes from $3 to $3.40 per 
pack, (2) snuff tobacco from 55 
cents to $1 per ounce, and (3) all 
other tobacco products from 
27.5% to 50% of the wholesale 
price.  It caps the tax on cigars at 
50 cents each.   

It also imposes a one-time 
inventory tax of 40 cents per 
pack on cigarettes in a dealer’s 
inventory as of the opening of 
business on July 1, 2011.  The 
inventory tax is payable by 
August 15, 2011. 

(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 
11-61, effective July 1, 2011 and 
applicable to sales on or after 
that date) 
 
Diesel Fuels Tax  

 
An act increases the base tax 

on diesel fuel from 26 cents to 29 
centers per gallon.  It imposes a 
three-cent inventory tax on each 
gallon of diesel that licensed 
sellers had in inventory as of 
either the close of business or 
11:59 p.m. on June 30, 2011,  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
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whichever was earlier.  Dealers 
must pay the inventory tax by 
August 1, 2011. 

(PA 11-6, effective July 1, 
2011, except the inventory tax is 
effective upon passage) 

 
Electric Generation Tax 

 
A new law imposes a 

temporary tax on electric 
generation facilities of ¼ of a cent 
per net kilowatt hour of 
electricity generated and 
uploaded into the regional bulk 
power grid at Connecticut 
facilities.  The tax applies to all 
electricity except that generated 
(1) by a resources recovery 
facility, (2) by customer-side 
distributed resources, or (3) 
through use of a fuel cell or 
alternative energy system, such 
as a solar or wind system. The 
tax expires on June 30, 2013. 

(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 
11-61, effective July 1, 2011) 
 
Estate and Gift Taxes 

 
A new law lowers the estate 

and gift tax threshold from $3.5 
million to $2 million and extends 
the existing 7.2% rate to estates 
and gifts valued at between $2 
million and $3.5 million.  It 
makes a conforming change in 
requirements for (1) filing estate 
tax returns with the probate 
court and (2) releasing estate tax 
liens.  It also validates probate 
court lien release certificates 
issued and recorded in town 
records where the property is 
located before May 4, 2011 (the 

new law’s effective date) for 
estates of those who died on or 
after January 1, 2011, and 
whose Connecticut taxable 
estates were valued at between 
$2 million and $3.5 million. 

(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 
11-61, effective upon passage, 
and applicable to deaths 
occurring and gifts made on or 
after January 1, 2011) 
 
Hospital Tax 

 
An act establishes a new 

quarterly tax on hospital “net 
patient revenue.”  Net patient 
revenue is the amount of accrued 
payments a hospital earns for 
providing inpatient and 
outpatient services.  The amount 
of the tax is the maximum 
allowed by federal law (up to 5% 
through September 30, 2011 and 
6% as of October 1, 2011).  The 
new law requires hospitals to file 
the returns and pay the taxes 
electronically. 

(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 
11-44 and PA 11-61, effective 
July 1, 2011 and applicable to 
calendar quarters starting on or 
after that date) 

 
Real Estate Conveyance Tax 

 
A new law (1) increases the 

state real estate conveyance tax 
rates by 0.25% and (2) makes 
permanent the 0.25% base 
municipal real estate conveyance 
tax, previously scheduled to 
expire on June 30, 2011. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
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(PA 11-6, effective July 1, 
2011 and applicable to 
conveyances occurring on or 
after that date) 

 
PROPERTY TAX 

 
Truck and MME Property Tax 
Exemptions  
 

Beginning with the October 1, 
2011 assessment year, a new law 
exempts all eligible 
manufacturing machinery and 
equipment (MME) from local 
property taxes regardless of when 
it was purchased or acquired. 
This property was previously 
exempt under three separate 
programs for MME purchased or 
acquired (1) on or before October 
1, 2006, (2) between October 2, 
2006 and October 1, 2011, and 
(3) on or after October 1, 2011.  

(PA 11-61, effective July 1, 
2011 and applicable to 
assessment years starting on or 
after October 1, 2011) 
 
Manufacturing Transition 
Grants 

 
A new law eliminates the 

payments in lieu of taxes 
(PILOTs) for MME and 
commercial trucks for 
assessment years that begin on 
or after October 1, 2011.  To 
mitigate the loss of the PILOTs, 
the act requires the state to 
distribute “manufacturing 
transition grants” to 
municipalities.  The grants must 
equal the PILOT grant amounts 
each municipality received in FY 

11.  The act allocates a portion of 
the sales, luxury, and state 
conveyance tax to fund these 
grants.   

The state must distribute any 
remaining funds to 
municipalities as follows: 50% on 
a per capita basis and 50% 
according to an existing property 
tax relief formula. 
(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 11-
61, effective July 1, 2011) 

 
Ten Mill Program 

 
A new law allows an owner of 

forest land enrolled in the state’s 
“10 mill program” to convert to 
the state’s forest preservation 
program (“490 program”) without 
penalty if the land’s sale or 
donation to a nonprofit land 
preservation organization or a 
permanent conservation 
easement on the land occurs 
before the conversion. 

It also specifies that 
woodlands retaining a 10 mill 
classification on their 50th-year 
revaluation will be assessed at a 
tax rate not to exceed the similar 
properties classified as 
“forestland” under the 490 
program. 

(PA 11-198, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Telecommunications 
Companies 

 
A new law allows municipal 

tax collectors to bill 
telecommunications companies 
for half the personal property 
taxes due in 2011 before they 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=198&which_year=2011
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would otherwise be due.  It 
allows them to mail or deliver the 
bill in two installments, the first 
one before the July 1, 2011 due 
date and the second on or after 
that date. The first installment 
must equal half the company's 
2010 assessment multiplied by 
the municipality's mill rate for FY 
11. The second installment must 
equal the other half of the 2010 
assessment multiplied by the 
municipality's FY 12 mill rate.  

The act subjects 
telecommunications companies 
to generally applicable property 
tax collection laws for 
assessment years beginning on 
or after October 1, 2011. 

(PA 11-1, effective upon 
passage) 
 
Municipal Tax Bills 
 

An act allows local tax 
collectors to send property tax 
bills and statements by email, as 
long as the (1) taxpayer consents 
in writing to receive them 
electronically and (2) community 
imposing the tax (a) posts its 
email address on its website and 
(b) establishes procedures to 
ensure that any such taxpayer 
receives the bill and statement 
and is provided the community's 
return email address.  

(PA 11-185, effective October 
1, 2011, and applicable to 
assessment years starting on or 
after October 1, 2011) 

 
Optional Property Tax 
Incentives for Rehabilitation 
Areas 

 
A new law allows 

municipalities to defer an 
increased property tax 
assessment on property located 
in a designated rehabilitation 
area if the property is a 
brownfield site and the owner 
agrees to build a new common 
interest community or mixed-use 
or commercial structure on it.  
Municipalities can already defer 
an assessment increase on 
property located in a designated 
rehabilitation area if the owner 
agrees to rehabilitate the 
property or build new multifamily 
rental or cooperative housing on 
it.  

(PA 11-96, effective October 1, 
2011) 
 
Personal Property 
Declarations 
 

New legislation allows owners 
of taxable personal property to 
electronically sign and file their 
annual personal property 
declarations with municipal 
assessors for property tax 
purposes.  They can do so as 
long as the municipality (1) has 
the technological capability to 
accept electronic signatures and 
(2) agrees to accept electronic 
signatures. 

It also allows assessors to 
send blank declaration forms to 
nonresident property owners 
electronically, as long as the 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6292&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=185&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=96&which_year=2011&SUBMIT1.x=16&SUBMIT1.y=9
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taxpayer has made a written 
request to receive the electronic 
forms. Assessors must mail or 
electronically send the blank 
declaration forms at least 30 
days before the filing deadline, 
rather than 15 days before as 
required under prior law.  

(PA 11-69, effective October 1, 
2011 and applicable to 
assessment years beginning on 
or after that date) 
 
Interest Waiver for Certain 
U.S. Armed Forces Members 

 
A new law (1) expands, to 

those serving in Afghanistan, an 
existing property tax interest 
waiver for certain U.S. armed 
forces members called to active 
service in Iraq and (2) authorizes 
municipalities' legislative bodies 
to vote to waive property tax 
interest for certain U.S. armed 
forces members who have been 
called to active service outside 
the state.  

(PA 11-62, effective October 1, 
2011, and applicable to 
assessment years beginning on 
or after that date) 
 
Revaluation Delays 
 

An act allows Cromwell, East 
Windsor, Orange, Farmington, 
Stamford, and Windham to delay 
a revaluation until the 2012 
assessment year with the 
approval of their respective 
legislative bodies.  The 
subsequent revaluation must  

recommence at the point in the 
schedule that the municipality 
was following prior to the delay. 

(PA 11-239, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Filing Deadline Waivers 

 
An act allows taxpayers in 

certain towns to receive property 
tax exemptions even through 
they missed the statutory 
deadlines for the exemptions.  
The exemptions are for 
manufacturing machinery and 
equipment, commercial trucks, 
and nonprofit organization 
property. 

(PA 11-239, effective upon 
passage)   
 
Hartford Property Tax 
Program 
 

A new law requires Hartford to 
make annual adjustments to the 
assessment ratios for residential 
and apartment property, as long 
as the assessment ratio for any 
property class does not exceed 
70%.  It also allows voters in 
Hartford to petition for a 
referendum on any budget that 
increases the tax levy by more 
than 2.6% over that for the prior 
fiscal year. 

(PA 11-212, effective upon 
passage) 
 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=69&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=62&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=212&which_year=2011
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SALES TAX 
 

Rate Increase 
 
New legislation increases the 

general sales and use tax rate 
from 6% to 6.35% and the hotel 
tax rate from 12% to 15%.  It 
maintains the existing lower 
rates for sales of (1) motor 
vehicles to active duty U.S. 
military members stationed in 
Connecticut (4.5%) and (2) 
computer and data processing 
services (1%). 

(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 
11-61, effective July 1, 2011 and 
applicable to (1) sales on or after 
that date and (2) sales of services 
billed to customers for any period 
that includes that date) 

 
Luxury Goods  

 
An act imposes a 7% sales 

and use tax on the full sales 
price of passenger cars, boats, 
jewelry, clothing, and footwear 
costing more than:  

1. $50,000 for motor vehicles, 
with certain exceptions; 

2. $100,000 for boats; 
3. $5,000 for jewelry (real or 

imitation); and 
4. $1,000 for clothing, 

footwear, handbags, 
luggage, umbrellas, 
wallets, and watches. 

(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 
11-61, effective July 1, 2011 and 
applicable to (1) sales on or after 
that date and (2) sales of services 
billed to customers for any period 
that includes that date) 

 
Rental Car Surcharge 

 
An act imposes an additional 

3% sales and use tax (9.35% 
total) on short-term car rentals 
(30 days or less).   

(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 
11-61, effective July 1, 2011 and 
applicable to (1) sales on or after 
that date and (2) sales of services 
billed to customers for any period 
that includes that date) 
 
Exemptions Eliminated 

 
The legislature eliminated 

sales tax exemptions for the 
following goods and services: 

1. hazardous waste 
containment and removal, 

2. valet parking at any 
airport, 

3. yoga instruction at a yoga 
studio, 

4. clothing and footwear 
costing less than $50, 

5. nonprescription drugs and 
medicine, 

6. cloth or fabric for 
noncommercial sewing, 

7. yarn, and 
8. smoking cessation 

products. 
(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 

11-61, effective July 1, 2011 and 
applicable to sales on or after 
that date) 
 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
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New Taxable Services 
 
New legislation extends the 

sales tax to the following 
services: 

1. motor vehicle storage, 
towing, and road services; 

2. packing and crating; 
3. intrastate transportation 

with a driver (with certain 
exclusions); 

4. pet grooming, boarding, 
and obedience classes; 

5. cosmetic medical 
procedures, excluding 
reconstructive surgery; 

6. manicure, pedicure, and 
other nail services; and 

7. spa services  
(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 

11-61, effective July 1, 2011 and 
applicable to sales on or after 
that date) 

 
Exemption for Used Motor 
Vehicles Containing Tax-
Exempt Special Equipment 

 
A new law exempts from sales 

and use tax any part of the sale 
price of a vehicle that has special 
equipment for the exclusive use 
of a person with physical 
disabilities already installed, if 
the vehicle is sold to such a 
person. 

(PA 11-61, effective upon 
passage and applicable to all 
open tax periods) 

 

Sales Tax Collection by 
Remote Sellers 

 
New legislation requires 

certain remote sellers, including 
such online retailers as 
Amazon.com and Overstock.com, 
who have no physical presence in 
Connecticut to collect sales tax 
on their taxable sales in the 
state. The requirement applies to 
retailers who make more than 
$2,000 worth of sales in the state 
through certain agreements with 
Connecticut residents.  The 
agreements must provide that, in 
return for the resident referring 
potential customers to the 
retailer, he or she will receive a 
commission or other 
compensation from that retailer. 

(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 
11-61, effective upon passage 
and applicable to sales occurring 
on or after May 4, 2011) 

 
SPECIAL TAXING DISTRICTS 

 
Ferry Service 

 
An act expands the list of 

purposes for which residents 
may vote to establish special 
taxing districts to include 
providing ferry service.  The law 
already allows them to establish 
districts providing a wide range 
of public services and 
infrastructure. 

(PA 11-61, effective upon 
passage) 
 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1239&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
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Improvement Districts in 
Windsor 

 
New legislation allows voters 

in Windsor to form special taxing 
districts to finance roads, sewers, 
and other infrastructure for new 
development and pay for the 
services needed to support them.  
The districts are to be named the 
Great Pond Improvement District 
and Millbrook Green 
Improvement District. The 
act delineates the districts’ 
geographic boundaries, but the 
districts come into existence only 
if the voters approve their 
formation.  

(SA 11-8, effective July 1, 
2011) 

 
TAX ADMINISTRATION AND 
ENFORCEMENT 

 
Reciprocal Tax Refund 
Agreements with Other States 

 
An act eliminates certain 

notice and certification 
requirements when the DRS 
commissioner withholds a 
taxpayer's Connecticut tax 
refund at the request of another 
state where the taxpayer owes 
taxes.  Specifically, it eliminates 
the requirement that the other 
state include a detailed 
statement showing the tax, 
interest, and penalty for each 
taxable period in its request for 
taxes owed.   

Prior law also required the 
DRS commissioner to notify the 
taxpayer whenever he receives 
such a request. The new law 

requires him to do so only if the 
taxpayer is otherwise entitled to 
a Connecticut tax refund. It also 
eliminates a requirement that the 
commissioner include a copy of 
the other state's certification with 
the notice.  

(PA 11-61, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Estimated Corporation Tax 
Overpayments 

 
A new law gives a company 

that overpays its estimated 
corporation tax for the year the 
option to apply the overpayment 
to its estimated tax payments in 
the following year instead of 
receiving a refund.  (DRS policy 
already allows companies to do 
this.)  It requires the excess to be 
applied to the first installment 
due in the next income year and 
to any subsequent installments 
in the order they are due. 

(PA 11-61, effective October 1, 
2011, and applicable to 
estimated corporation tax 
payments for income years 
starting on or after January 1, 
2012) 
 
Electronic Funds Transfer 
Requirements for Withholding 
Taxes 

 
A new law allows the DRS 

commissioner to require payers 
that withhold Connecticut 
income tax from nonpayroll 
amounts to pay the withholding 
tax to DRS electronically on the 
same basis as employers. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Special+Act&bill_num=8&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
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(PA 11-61, effective July 1, 
2011 and applicable to tax 
periods ending on or after that 
date) 

 
Successor Liability for 
Withholding Taxes 

 
An act requires a successor 

who buys a business or its entire 
stock from an employer to 
withhold enough funds from the 
purchase price to cover any 
withholding tax due until the 
employer produces either a DRS 
receipt for the tax payment or a 
DRS certificate that no taxes are 
due. 

(PA 11-61, effective July 1, 
2011 and applicable to sales of 
businesses and stock occurring 
on or after that date) 

 
Withholding Tax Deficiency 
Assessment Deadline 

 
An act extends from three to 

six years the deadline for DRS to 
send a tax deficiency assessment 
notice to any employer or pass-
through entity that omits from its 
withholding tax return more than 
25% of includable adjusted gross 
income withheld from employee 
wages or payments to 
nonresident members, 
respectively.  

(PA 11-61, effective upon 
passage and applicable to tax 
years starting on or after 
January 1, 2011) 

 

Penalty for Failing to Pay 
Taxes Electronically 

 
A new law establishes 

maximum penalties on taxpayers 
who, for the first or second time, 
fail to make tax payments 
electronically when required to 
do so. By law, the DRS 
commissioner may require 
taxpayers and employers to pay 
taxes by electronic funds transfer 
if they have (1) $4,000 or more in 
annual tax liability or (2) more 
than $2,000 in annual 
withholding tax payments.  

(PA 11-61, upon passage and 
applicable to tax periods starting 
on or after January 1, 2012) 
 
Waiver of Electronic Filing 
Requirements 

 
An act allows the DRS 

commissioner to waive electronic 
tax filing or payment 
requirements if he finds, based 
on information a waiver applicant 
provides, that it would be an 
undue hardship for a taxpayer to 
comply with the requirement.   

(PA 11-145, effective October 
1, 2011 and applicable to tax 
periods starting on or after that 
date) 

 
Illegal Use of Dyed Diesel Fuel 
 

Federal law exempts diesel 
fuel used for certain non-highway 
purposes from federal fuel taxes 
and requires exempt diesel fuel 
to be dyed red so it can be 
identified.  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=145&which_year=2011
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A new law imposes a fine of 
up to $1,000 on anyone who 
uses dyed diesel fuel in a motor 
vehicle, other than a passenger 
or combined passenger-
commercial vehicle, on a public 
highway.  It imposes the same 
penalty on anyone who refuses to 
allow an authorized DRS or other 
state official to inspect such a 
vehicle's fuel tank upon request.  

(PA 11-61, effective July 1, 
2011) 
 
Cigarette Tax Violations 

 
An act reduces penalties for 

certain cigarette dealers who 
continue to sell cigarettes or 
taxed tobacco products after 
their licenses expire.  Under prior 
law, the penalty for each knowing 
violation was a fine of up to 
$500, up to three months in jail, 
or both.  The act reduces the 
penalty to an infraction, with a 
$90 fine, for any cigarette dealer 
who operates for no more than 
90 days after his or her license 
expires. 

An act also reduces penalties 
for certain cigarette dealers who 
possess cigarettes that do not 
have required Connecticut tax 
stamps. Under prior law, the 
penalty for any knowing violation 
was a fine of up to $1,000, up to 
one year in jail, or both. Under 
the act, if it is the dealer's first 
violation and he or she possesses 
no more than 600 unstamped 
cigarettes, the penalty is reduced 
to an infraction, with a $90 fine.  

(PA 11-61, effective July 1, 
2011) 

 
Tax Security Requirements for 
Nonresident Contractors 
 

A new law revamps the tax 
security requirements for 
nonresident contractors doing 
work in the state.  Among other 
things, it requires (1) DRS, upon 
request, to verify whether 
nonresident contracts and 
subcontractors are in compliance 
with applicable registration, 
filing, and bond requirements 
and (2) general contractors, 
rather than customers, to hold 
back a portion of the contract 
price from their subcontractors 
to provide security for tax 
payment. 

(PA 11-61, effective October 1, 
2011) 
 
TAX CREDITS AND 
INCENTIVES 

 
First Five Program 
 

A new law creates the “First 
Five Program” providing 
substantial financial assistance 
for business projects creating at 
least 200 jobs and developing 
facilities within certain 
timeframes. The assistance 
includes up to 100% funding 
under the Manufacturing 
Assistance Act and business tax 
credits. The program can fund up 
to five projects per year in FY 12 
and FY 13.  

(PA 11-86, effective July 1, 
2011)  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6652&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=86&which_year=2011
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Insurance Reinvestment Fund 
Program 
 

An act authorizes taxpayers to 
transfer insurance reinvestment 
fund program tax credits to an 
affiliated business or entity.  
Under this program, eligible 
taxpayers receive insurance 
premium, corporation, and 
personal income tax credits for 
investing in insurance 
businesses through a state-
certified insurance reinvestment 
fund.   

(PA 11-140, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Extension of Economic 
Development Incentives 

 
A new law extends several 

economic development incentives 
that were previously targeted to 
enterprise zones and targeted 
investment communities (TIC) to 
more types of businesses.  It 
extends the incentives (which 
include certain property tax 
exemptions, corporation tax 
credits, and job creation grants) 
to a range of businesses, 
including those within a DECD-
designated industry cluster and 
economic-base businesses. 

It also requires the DECD 
commissioner to adopt 
regulations for certifying whether 
service businesses qualify for 
enterprise zone or TIC incentives. 

(PA 11-140, effective July 1, 
2011) 

 

Neighborhood Assistance Act 
(NAA) Tax Credits 

 
A new law changes the NAA, 

which provides business tax 
credits to companies that invest 
in certain municipally approved 
community activities and 
programs, by (1) extending NAA 
eligibility to companies subject to 
the state’s business entity tax, (2) 
increasing the total amount of 
credits a company can claim per 
year, and (3) eliminating 
charitable contribution 
requirements. 

(PA 11-140, effective October 
1, 2011) 

 
Enterprise Zone Tax Benefits 
in Plainville 

 
A new law extends enterprise 

zone tax benefits to certain 
businesses and commercial 
properties in sections of 
Plainville. 

(PA 11-140, effective July 1, 
2011) 

 
Learn Here, Live Here Program 

 
An act authorizes a new 

program that provides incentives 
to students enrolled in 
Connecticut colleges and 
universities to remain in the 
state after graduation. Under the 
program, DRS segregates eligible 
graduates’ income tax payments 
to into an account for up to 10 
years, which graduates can then 
use to purchase their first homes 
here. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=140&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=140&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=140&which_year=2011
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=140&which_year=2011
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(PA 11-140, effective July 1, 
2011) 
 
Historic Preservation Tax 
Credits 

 
New legislation (1) expands 

the range of eligible property and 
eligible reuses under the state’s 
historic preservation tax credit 
programs, (2) makes several 
programmatic and procedural 
changes in the programs, and (3) 
transfers their administration 
from the Connecticut 
Commission on Culture and 
Tourism to DECD. 

(PA 11-148, effective July 1, 
2011 and applicable to income 
years beginning on or after that 
date) 

 
Tax Incentives for Aerospace 
and Defense Plants 

 
An act extends certain 

business tax incentives to 
aerospace and defense plant 
facilities that were vacant as of 
its effective date and previously 
employed at least 800 people. 

(PA 11-61, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Film Production Tax Credit 
 

A new law limits the 
percentage of a film production 
tax credit companies may 
transfer in one income year to (1) 
50% of any credit allowed for the 
2011 income year and (2) 25% of 
any credit allowed for the 2012 
and or any subsequent income 
year.  

It exempts from the transfer 
limitations (1) those by 
companies subject to the 
corporation or insurance 
premium tax, (2) those by 
companies not subject to the 
corporation or insurance 
premium tax if they own, directly 
or indirectly, at least 50% of 
another entity subject to the 
business entity tax, and (3) 
credits issued for any production 
that the DECD commissioner 
determines is created in whole or 
significant part in a “qualified 
production facility.” 

It also retroactively increases, 
from 25% to 50%, the minimum 
share of principal photography 
days a production company must 
spend in the state on or after 
January 1, 2010 to qualify for a 
film production tax credit.  By 
law, a production company can 
also qualify for a credit if it 
spends at least (1) 50% or (2) $1 
million of its post-production 
costs in Connecticut on or after 
January 1, 2010. 

(PA 11-6, as amended by PA 
11-61, effective upon passage 
and applicable to income years 
beginning on or after January 1, 
2011, except for the exemption 
for companies not subject to the 
corporation and insurance 
premium tax, which is effective 
July 1, 2011) 
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Job Creation Tax Credit Limit 
 
A new law increases the total 

amount of business tax credits 
available for creating new jobs, 
from $11 to $20 million.  The cap 
applies to three programs 
authorizing such credits: the Job 
Creation, Small Business Job 
Creation, and Vocational 
Rehabilitation Job Creation 
programs.   

(PA 11-6 and PA 11-86, 
effective July 1, 2011) 
 
Urban and Industrial Site 
Reinvestment Tax Credits 
 

Business taxpayers investing 
in certain business development 
projects may qualify for both 
state Urban and Industrial Sites 
Reinvestment tax credits and 
federal New Markets tax credits. 
A new law aligns some of the 
rules for the state tax credits 
with the federal ones for projects 
receiving investments eligible for 
both credits. It requires these 
projects to meet the state and 
federal eligibility criteria and 
subjects them to the federal rules 
for recapturing (i.e., repaying) tax 
credits.  

(PA 11-78, effective July 1, 
2011) 

 
RP:ts 
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