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NOTICE TO READERS 
 
 
This report provides brief highlights of new laws affecting insurance 

enacted during the 2010 regular session.  Each summary indicates the 
public act (PA) number and effective date. 

 
Not all provisions of the acts are included here.  Complete summaries 

of all 2010 public acts will be available when OLR publishes its Public 
Act Summary book; some are already on OLR’s website 
(www.cga.ct.gov/olr/OLRPASums.asp). 

 
Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest 

them from the Connecticut State Library, House Clerks Office, or General 
Assembly’s website (www.cga.ct.gov/). 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/OLRPASums.asp
http://www.cga.ct.gov/
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DISABILITY INSURANCE 
 

Long-Term Disability Offsets 
 
PA 10-65 requires each 

insurer that issues group long-
term disability (LTD) policies in 
Connecticut that contain an 
offset to disclose specified 
information to the policyholder, 
including an example of how the 
offset works. An offset is a policy 
provision that reduces the 
amount of benefits available 
under the policy if benefits are 
also available from other sources 
(e.g., Social Security). The act 
requires each policyholder to 
provide the disclosed information 
to each individual eligible for LTD 
benefits. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 
2011 

 
HEALTH INSURANCE 

 
Claims Denial Data Reporting 

 
PA 10-19 adds claims denial 

data for the prior calendar year 
to the information that managed 
care organizations must report to 
the insurance commissioner 
annually by May 1. The act 
requires the commissioner to 
post the claims denial 
information on the Insurance 
Department's website and 
include it in the Consumer 
Report Card on Health Insurance 
Carriers in Connecticut, which 
the department publishes 
annually by October 15.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 
2010, except the consumer 
report card provision is effective 
January 1, 2011.  

 
Claims Denial Disclosure 

 
PA 10-24 requires health 

insurers who deny coverage of a 
requested service because it is 
not medically necessary or a 
covered benefit to notify the 
insureds that they may contact 
the Office of the Healthcare 
Advocate if they believe the 
information is incorrect. Insurers 
must provide the insured with 
contact information for the 
healthcare advocate’s office.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 
2011 

 
COBRA Extension 

 
PA 10-13 extends the period 

for which certain people and 
their dependents may continue 
group health insurance under 
the state’s “mini-COBRA” law 
from 18 to 30 months. To qualify 
for continued coverage, the 
person must have experienced a 
specified qualifying event, 
including a layoff, reduced hours, 
leave of absence, or termination 
of employment for other than 
death or gross misconduct. The 
act applies to people who are 
already continuing coverage due  
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to those qualifying events and 
people who elect to do so on and 
after the act’s passage. 

The act requires each insurer 
and HMO that has issued a 
group health insurance policy 
subject to the continuation 
requirements, in conjunction 
with their group policyholders, to 
provide notice of the extended 
coverage period to affected people 
within 60 days of the act’s 
passage. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon 
passage 

 
Connecticut Clearinghouse 

 
PA 10-4 establishes the 

Connecticut Clearinghouse, from 
which individuals and small 
employers may obtain 
information about health 
insurance policies and health 
care available in Connecticut. It 
requires the Health Reinsurance 
Association to administer the 
clearinghouse. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 
2010 

 
Health Care Provider 
Contracts 

 
The law allows entities that 

contract with health care 
providers (i.e., “contracting 
entities”) to give third parties 
(i.e., “covered entities”) access to 
the providers’ services, rates, or 
fees under certain conditions. PA 
10-59 makes a violation of the 
law an unfair or deceptive 
insurance practice. It also (1) 
requires a contracting entity to 

update routinely and at least 
every 90 days its list of covered 
entities, which must be available 
to providers by law; (2) 
establishes requirements for a 
covered entity that subsequently 
gives others access to a 
provider’s services, rates, or fees; 
and (3) permits a health care 
provider to file legal actions 
against contracting and covered 
entities. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 
1, 2010 

 
Joint Purchasing of Health 
Insurance 

 
PA 10-174 permits two or 

more municipalities or local or 
regional boards of education to 
enter into a written agreement to 
act as a single entity to provide 
medical or health care benefits 
for their employees. 

The agreement is subject to 
the conditions of any union 
contract the municipality or 
board has with its employees. 
Also, the act requires the 
legislative body of a municipality 
to approve the agreement when 
certain conditions exist between 
the municipality and board of 
education.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2010 

 
Joint Purchasing of 
Prescription Drugs 

 
PA 10-131 requires the 

comptroller to offer nonstate 
public employers the option to 
purchase prescription drugs 
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through the state’s bulk 
purchasing authority for their 
employers’ employees, employees’ 
dependents, or retirees.  

It also permits two or more 
nonstate public employers to join 
together to purchase prescription 
drugs. 

The act defines “nonstate 
public employer” as (1) a 
municipality or other state 
political subdivision, including a 
board of education, quasi-public 
agency, or public library or (2) 
the Teachers’ Retirement Board. 

The act authorizes the 
comptroller to offer a nonstate 
public employer participating in 
the prescription drug purchasing 
program the option of purchasing 
stop-loss coverage from an 
insurer at a rate she negotiates. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon 
passage 

 
Oral Chemotherapy 

 
PA 10-63 requires health 

insurance policies that cover 
intravenously and orally 
administered anticancer 
medications prescribed by a 
licensed practitioner with 
prescribing authority to cover the 
oral medication on at least as 
favorable a basis as the 
intravenous medication. It 
prohibits insurers from 
reclassifying anticancer 
medications or increasing a 
patient’s out-of-pocket costs for 
the medications as a way to 
comply. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 
2011 

Policy Information Disclosure 
 
PA 10-163 requires an 

insurer to disclose to a municipal 
employer certain information 
about its group insurance policy. 
It defines “employer” as a town; 
city; borough; or school, taxing, 
or fire district that has more than 
50 employees. The information 
relates to services used, claims 
and premiums paid, and the 
number of people covered under 
the policy. The act requires an 
employer to use information it 
receives only for the purposes of 
obtaining competitive quotes for 
group insurance or to promote 
wellness initiatives for 
employees.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon 
passage 

 
School-Based Health Center 

 
PA 10-118 requires each 

Connecticut-licensed health 
insurer, at the request of a 
school-based health center, to 
offer to contract with the center 
to reimburse covered health 
services to the insurer’s 
enrollees. The offer must be  
made on terms and conditions 
similar to contracts offered to 
other health care providers. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon 
passage 

 
Small Employer Plans 

 
PA 10-4 makes changes in 

the laws related to small 
employer health insurance plans. 
It redefines “small employer” and 
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“eligible employee.” By doing so, 
it broadens the scope of certain 
laws by including part-time 
employees working at least 20 
hours a week and limits the laws 
by excluding seasonal employees. 

The act requires an insurer or 
producer marketing small 
employer group health insurance 
plans to offer a small employer, 
upon its request, a premium 
quote for covering employees 
working at least 30 or 20 hours a 
week. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 
2011 

 
PROPERTY AND CASUALTY 
INSURANCE 

 
Accident Prevention Course 

 
By law, a driver age 60 or 

older is eligible for an automobile 
insurance premium discount for 
successfully completing an 
accident prevention course 
approved by the Department of 
Motor Vehicles (DMV). PA 10-53 
requires the course to be four 
hours long. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 
1, 2010 

 
Automobile Insurance 

 
PA 10-7 (§§ 1, 5-8) makes 

numerous changes in laws 
relating to automobile insurance. 
Specifically, it: 

1. requires an auto insurer to 
allocate certain expenses 
on a “flat dollar basis” 
when determining policy 
rates; 

2. requires auto insurance 
rating plans that use 
territorial classifications to 
assign a weight of 75% to 
individual loss costs and 
25% to state wide average 
loss costs; 

3. requires the insurance 
commissioner to adopt 
regulations regarding 
underwriting and rating 
auto insurance policies; 

4. requires an insurer that 
cancels an auto insurance 
policy in accordance with 
law to give written 
cancellation notice to any 
lienholder listed in the 
insurer’s records as having 
a legal interest in the 
motor vehicle; 

5. requires a person whose 
vehicle has been 
impounded for not having 
the required registration to 
present a valid registration 
and current auto 
insurance identification 
card to regain possession 
of the vehicle;  

6. allows an auto insurer to 
use any publicly available 
auto industry source 
approved by the 
commissioner to determine 
a totaled vehicle’s retail 
value; and 

7. requires an auto insurer to 
give a claimant details on 
how it calculated a totaled 
vehicle’s loss value, 
including how to dispute 
the settlement through the 
Insurance Department. 
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EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 
2011, except for the provisions 
regarding impounded vehicles 
and notices to lienholders of auto 
policy cancellations, which are 
effective October 1, 2010. 

 
Credit History 

 
PA 10-7 (§§ 2-4) codifies and 

amends the Insurance 
Department’s guidelines on how 
insurers can use a person’s 
credit history when underwriting 
or rating a personal risk 
insurance policy (e.g., 
homeowners or automobile).   

The act permits an insurer to 
use a “financial history 
measurement program” only 
when underwriting or developing 
rates for new policies. It prohibits 
an insurer from using credit 
history when renewing a policy, 
unless (1) the policyholder asks 
or (2) using the program reduces 
the insured’s premium under the 
insurer’s filed rates and rules. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 
2011 

 
Information on Totaled 
Vehicles 

 
The law imposes requirements 

on insurance companies that 
take possession of a motor 
vehicle with a Connecticut title 
that has been declared a total 
loss and which the company 
offers for sale. The requirements 
include attaching to the title a 
copy of the appraiser’s damage 
report. Prior law required 
insurance companies to send a 

copy to DMV. PA 10-110 (§ 9) 
allows the commissioner to 
discontinue this requirement if 
salvage information that federal 
law requires the insurance 
company to report to the 
National Motor Vehicle Title 
Information System is regularly 
available to DMV. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2010 

 
Motor Carrier Transportation 
Contracts 

 
PA 10-110 (§ 25) makes void 

and unenforceable any provision, 
clause, covenant, or agreement in 
a “motor carrier transportation 
contract” that indemnifies, 
defends, or holds harmless an 
indemnitee from or against 
liability for loss or damage 
caused by his or her negligence 
or intentional acts or omissions. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 
2010 

 
Public Adjusters 

 
PA 10-79 redefines a “public 

adjuster” to specify the range of 
services one is allowed to 
perform. The act defines it as a 
person or company that, on 
behalf of an insured person and 
for compensation or anything of 
value, (1) prepares, documents, 
and submits a first-party 
property claim to an insurance 
company for loss or damage 
covered under an insurance 
policy or (2) negotiates, adjusts, 
or effects a claim settlement. 
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The act prohibits a public 
adjuster from soliciting an 
insured person between 8:00 
p.m. and 8:00 a.m. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2010 

 
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 
INSURANCE 

 
Employee Misclassification 

 
By law, any employer who 

either misrepresents the number 
of its employees or casts them as 
independent contractors to 
defraud or deceive an insurance 
company in order to pay lower 
workers' compensation insurance 
is (1) guilty of a class D felony, (2) 
subject to a stop work order, and 
(3) liable to the Labor 
Department for a $300 civil 
penalty. PA 10-12 applies the 
same penalty to an employer who 
defrauds or deceives the state in 
the same way. The act also 
increases the civil penalty for this  
violation by specifying that each 
day of the violation constitutes a 
separate offense. 

The act specifies that any 
employer who is fully insured for 
workers’ compensation and fails 
to pay the required state 
assessments for the Workers’ 
Compensation Commission and 
the Second Injury Fund is guilty 
of a class D felony and subject to 
a stop work order.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2010 

 

Evidence of Workers’ 
Compensation Insurance 

 
PA 10-9 (§ 9) gives applicants 

for an initial Department of 
Consumer Protection license or 
permit the option of providing, as 
proof that they have workers 
compensation insurance, the 
name of the insurer, insurance 
policy number, effective dates of 
coverage, and a certification that 
the information is truthful and 
accurate.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon 
passage 

 
Firefighters and Police 
Officers 

 
Under PA 10-37, a paid 

municipal or volunteer firefighter, 
municipal police officer, 
constable, or volunteer 
ambulance service member is 
eligible for workers compensation 
benefits for the following diseases 
if they arise out of and are in the 
course of employment: hepatitis, 
meningococcal meningitis, 
tuberculosis, Kahler’s Disease 
(multiple myeloma), non-
Hodgkin’s lymphoma, prostate 
cancer, or testicular cancer. As 
with all workers’ compensation 
claims, the disease must result 
in death or temporary or 
permanent total or partial 
disability in order for a claimant 
to be eligible for benefits. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2010 
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Second Injury Fund 
 
PA 10-11 specifies that the 

penalty for overdue Second 
Injury Fund assessments from 
employers or insurers is 15% of 
the assessment or $50, 
whichever is greater. The fund, 
administered by the state 
treasurer, provides workers' 
compensation coverage to 
workers whose employers failed 
to provide it.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon 
passage 

 
MISCELLANEOUS 

 
Minor and Technical Changes 
to the Insurance Statutes 

 
PA 10-5 makes changes in 

various insurance statutes. It: 
1. broadens the applicability 

of several health insurance 
benefits; 

2. makes the insurance 
commissioner the agent to 
receive legal service of 
process for captive 
insurance companies 
domiciled in Connecticut if 
a registered agent cannot 
be found with reasonable 
diligence at the registered 
office; 

3. requires all Connecticut-
domiciled captive insurers 
to file a certificate of 
general good and articles of 
incorporation, if applicable, 
with the secretary of the 
state; and 

4. makes other minor, 
technical, and conforming 
changes. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon 
passage, except for the provisions 
extending the applicability of 
certain insurance benefit 
requirements, which are effective 
January 1, 2011. 

 
Service of Process 

 
PA 10-178 allows an officer of 

any precinct to serve the attorney 
general or insurance 
commissioner with any process 
permitted by law to be served on 
them. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 
2010 
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