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2009-R-0394 
 

TRANSPORTATION 
 
 

This report summarizes acts affecting transportation the legislature 
passed during the 2009 regular and special sessions. The report does not 
include acts that were vetoed unless the veto was overridden.  

 
We did not summarize all provisions of each act. Consequently, we 

encourage readers to obtain full texts of the acts that interest them 
online at www.cga.ct.gov or from the Connecticut State Library or the 
House Clerk’s Office. A detailed analysis of all 2009 laws will be available 
when OLR publishes its public act summary book. Completed analyses 
are currently at our webpage (www.cga.state.ct.us/olr). 

 
AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE 

 
Underinsured Motorist Conversion Coverage and Recovering of 
Collision Deductibles  

 
PA 09-72 requires new automobile liability insurance policies to 

disclose the availability of, premium for, and description of underinsured 
motorist conversion coverage. It also requires insurers subrogating 
claims to (1) seek to recover any collision deductible the insured paid, 
unless the insured requests that it not be included in the subrogation 
demand, and (2) share subrogation recoveries with the insured on a 
proportionate basis. 

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2010  

http://search.cga.state.ct.us/dl2009/rpt/Reports/www.cga.ct.gov
http://www.cga.state.ct.us/olr
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Mid-Term Automobile Insurance Policy Cancelation Fees  

 
PA 09-98 prohibits an insurer that renews, amends, or endorses a 

private passenger automobile insurance policy in Connecticut from 
charging the insured more than $100 for canceling the policy before the 
policy term ends.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 
 

Disclosure of Automobile Liability Insurance Policy Limits  
 
PA 09-240 requires an automobile liability insurer to disclose the 

limits that apply under a policy it issued within 30 days after receiving a 
written request for disclosure. The request must be made by, or on 
behalf of, a person alleging bodily injury or death resulting from a 
collision involving a person the insurer’s private passenger automobile 
policy covers. The act requires that a letter from an attorney licensed to 
practice in Connecticut or an affidavit from the person alleging to have 
suffered injury as a result of the accident accompany a written request 
for the policy limits and include specified information.  

 
The insurer’s disclosure must be in writing and indicate all coverage 

the insurer provides to the insured, including any applicable umbrella or 
excess liability insurance.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009  
 

AVIATION 
 

Bradley Enterprise Fund 
 
PA 09-7, September Special Session, requires the Transportation 

and Public Safety departments to enter into a memorandum of 
understanding by December 1, 2009 to use the Bradley Enterprise Fund 
to pay all associated costs incurred by state police officers to provide 
security at Bradley Airport.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
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Tweed-New Haven Airport Authority 

 
PA 09-7, September Special Session, increases the membership of 

the Tweed-New Haven Airport Authority from 14 to 15 and revises the 
number of members appointed by each of the three appointing 
authorities.  

 
Currently, the authority consists of 14 members with nine appointed 

by the mayor of New Haven, two appointed by the mayor of East Haven, 
and three appointed by the South Central Regional Council of 
Governments. The act decreases the New Haven mayor's appointments 
from nine to eight, increases the East Haven mayor's appointments from 
two to five, and decreases the regional council's appointments from three 
to two. The act also designates the 13 members appointed by the two 
mayors as special directors vested with the additional powers set forth in 
the authority's bylaws.  

 
The act also prohibits the Tweed-New Haven Airport Authority from 

extending the paved runway length of Runway 2-20 past its existing 
5,600 feet.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  
 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 

Programs and Activities of the Department of Transportation  
 
PA 09-186 makes numerous changes to laws governing the 

operations of the Department of Transportation (DOT). Among other 
things, it: 

 
1. modifies how DOT must advertise for consultant services;  
 
2. prohibits DOT from starting any phase of the Stamford 

Transportation Center parking garage demolition project unless it 
makes alternative parking spaces available nearby;  

 
3. requires DOT to study the feasibility of providing commuter bus 

service to the Bridgeport train station;  
 

4. prohibits a town from terminating, reorganizing, or modifying a 
port authority or port district without the DOT commissioner's 
written consent;  
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5. requires DOT to (a) develop a plan to implement zero-emission 

buses throughout the state and identify locations for hydrogen 
refueling stations and (b) analyze the potential impact of 
establishing electronic tolls in Connecticut;  

 
6. establishes a mediation process for a type of property sold by DOT 

because it is no longer necessary for highway purposes;  
 

7. exempts certain types of wheelchair accessible taxi vehicles from 
DOT regulations on accessibility; 

 
8. exempts wreckers towing vehicles in certain situations from 

maximum length and gross weight limits; 
 

9. designates commemorative or memorial names for 17 road 
segments and 12 bridges, designates informational signs for eight 
destinations, and modifies or changes several other memorial 
names; and 

 
10. requires DOT to adopt regulations for designating “control cities” 

on interstate highways.  
  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Various  

 
State/Municipal Relations  

 
PA 09-190 requires the transportation, environmental protection, and 

public health commissioners and the State Traffic Commission, within 
60 days after receiving a formal petition, application, or request for a 
permit from a municipality that must be submitted to these officials, to 
conduct a preliminary review solely to determine whether the submission 
is acceptable for filing. The official must notify the municipality of the 
results of the review. The act does not preclude the officials from 
requesting additional information after sending this notice. The officials 
must do their review within available appropriations. The act takes 
priority over laws requiring other procedures.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 
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DRIVER LICENSING 
 
PA 09-187 makes a number of changes to driver licensing laws. It 

postpones for two years, until July 1, 2011, the requirement that the 
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) commissioner conduct a vision 
screening for drivers’ license renewal applicants on every other license 
renewal.  

 
Prior law required payment of a $40 fee for a driver’s license 

examination. It also permitted the commissioner to charge $15 in 
advance for scheduling a license examination appointment which he had 
to apply toward the $40 fee if the appointment was kept. The act (1) 
eliminates the authority for the $15 advance appointment fee and (2) 
makes it clear that the $40 examination fee covers all phases of the 
examination process (vision screening, knowledge test, and road test). It 
also specifies that the examination fee must be paid in the manner the 
commissioner directs and that any applicant who fails the examination, 
or any part of the examination, must pay an additional $40 to retake it.  

 
By law, before the commissioner can issue a learner’s permit to 

anyone under age 18, the applicant must pass a vision screening and a 
knowledge test on the motor vehicle laws and rules of the road. 
Previously, it also permitted the commissioner to administer a second 
knowledge test before issuing a driver’s license to anyone under age 18. 
The act makes this second knowledge test prior to licensure mandatory. 
It permits the commissioner to authorize licensed driving instruction 
schools in good standing and secondary school driver education 
programs to administer the second test as part of the eight-hour safe 
driving practices course required for everyone under age 18 and certify to 
the commissioner, under oath, that the test was administered.  

 
The act specifies that the fee for the eight-hour course must be $125 

(as previously authorized by DMV regulation), but if the knowledge test is 
administered as part of the course it permits a fee of up to $150. It 
permits the commissioner to adopt regulations for the administration 
and certification of the knowledge test.  

 
The act also makes anyone under age 18 convicted of driving without 

having obtained a license ineligible to receive a license for at least one 
year, presumably from the date of the conviction.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Various 
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EMISSIONS INSPECTION PROGRAM 

 
PA 09-187 increases, from 30 to 60 days, the period someone whose 

vehicle has failed an emissions inspection has to get the vehicle repaired 
and re-inspected.  

 
The act also requires the Department of Environmental Protection 

(DEP), in consultation with DMV, to evaluate whether the present 
emission inspection system could be replaced when the current contract 
expires by a system that exclusively uses on-board diagnostic 
information systems and remain in compliance with federal Clean Air Act 
requirements. DEP must complete the evaluation and provide it to the 
DMV commissioner at least six months before he enters into a negotiated 
agreement for a successor system.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009 for the deadline extension, upon 

passage for the remaining provisions  
 

HANDICAPPED PARKING CREDENTIALS 
 
By law, anyone who is blind or who has disabilities that limit or 

impair the ability to walk may apply for special license plates, a 
removable windshield placard, or both that grant special parking 
privileges for the recipient. Display of these plates or a placard permits 
the holder to use specially designated parking spaces. Windshield 
placards are issued for both permanent and temporary disabilities.  

 
PA 09-187 establishes several new requirements for issuing and 

using the windshield placards and special plates. Among other things, it:  
 
1. requires anyone issued a placard on or after January 1, 2010 to 

have either a driver’s license or a DMV-issued non-driver photo 
identification card;  

 
2. permits issuance of a placard to the parent or guardian of any 

blind or disabled person if that person cannot request or complete 
an application;  

 
3. authorizes the Board of Education and Services for the Blind to 

certify blindness (previously only ophthalmologists and 
optometrists could do this);  
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4. requires the DMV commissioner to develop a procedure for 

renewing existing placards that may be implemented over a multi-
year period;  

 
5. requires placards to be returned to the commissioner when the 

recipient moves to another state or dies (special license plates 
must already be returned under these circumstances);  

 
6. establishes a $500 fine for using a placard or special license plate 

issued to a dead person;  
 

7. requires the commissioner to check periodically the Department of 
Public Health's state death registration and cancel any placard 
issued to someone identified as deceased;  

 
8. prohibits anyone from being issued special license plates for more 

than two motor vehicles; and  
 

9. requires the commissioner to evaluate alternative enforcement 
methods and certain other issues related to the handicapped 
parking laws and submit recommendations to the Transportation 
Committee.  

 
The act permits the DOT commissioner to adopt regulations for 

issuing placards to people who, due to hardship, do not hold or cannot 
get a driver's license or non-driver identification card. It also requires 
him to maintain a record of each placard he issues to any such person. 

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
 

MISCELLANEOUS 
 

Vehicle Repossession 
 

By law, when a buyer defaults on a retail installment contract or 
installment loan contract, the contract holder can repossess the goods if 
the contract expressly allows him or her to do so. PA 09-189 prohibits a 
retail buyer's Chapter 7 or 11 bankruptcy petition filing or bankruptcy 
debtor status from being considered a default under the contract or 
grounds for repossession of the vehicle.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 
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Assessment of Antique Vehicles 

 
The law caps the assessed value of an antique, rare, or special 

interest motor vehicle for municipal property tax purposes at $500. 
Under PA 09-187, the local tax assessor may require owners of these 
vehicles to provide reasonable documentation that the vehicle is an 
antique, rare, or special interest motor vehicle as defined in the law. 
However, if the vehicle has been issued the special license plate for such 
vehicles, the owner cannot be required to provide the additional 
documentation.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 
 

Video Devices in Motor Vehicles 
 
PA 09-187 broadens the exceptions to the prohibition on a television 

screen or other similar device that may be installed in a motor vehicle 
where it may be visible to the driver or otherwise interfere with the safe 
operation or control of the vehicle. Under prior law, devices meeting 
certain criteria that were installed by the motor vehicle manufacturer 
were exempt from this general prohibition.  

 
The act (1) revises some of these exceptions and adds others and (2) 

eliminates the restriction that they must be installed by a vehicle 
manufacturer, thus permitting aftermarket installation and use of 
devices that qualify.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 
 

Staffing of Danbury Truck Weigh Station 
 
Prior law established minimum staffing levels for the truck weighing 

facilities located in Greenwich, Danbury, and Union as well as for use of 
portable scales at other than the permanent locations. The Department 
of Public Safety is primarily responsible for operations in Greenwich and 
Danbury and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is primarily 
responsible for operations in Union. PA 09-7, September Special 
Session, increases the minimum number of work shifts at the Danbury 
facility from three to six per week and makes DMV responsible for 
providing the three additional shifts.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: September 1, 2010  
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Elimination of Office of Ombudsman for Property Rights  

 
PA 09-7, September Special Session, eliminates the Office of 

Ombudsman for Property Rights, which under current law must, among 
other things:  

 
1. assist DOT and other public agencies in applying eminent domain 

law and analyzing actions with potential eminent domain 
implications, on request;  

 
2. assist property owners, on request, concerning eminent domain 

procedures; and 
 

3. mediate disputes between private property owners and public 
agencies concerning eminent domain or relocation assistance and 
hire an independent real estate appraiser to assist in mediation, 
within available appropriations.  

 
The act also repeals the law that requires a public agency seeking to 

acquire property by eminent domain to: (1) make a reasonable effort to 
negotiate with the property owner for the purchase of the property before 
beginning an eminent domain action, and (2) within a specified period: 
(a) advise the property owner of his services and the availability of 
mediation; (b) provide the ombudsman's name, address, and telephone 
number; and (c) give the owner a written statement explaining that oral 
representations or promises made during the negotiation process are not 
binding on the agency.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
 

Work Zone Safety Training 
 
PA 09-187 specifies that the State Police, the Police Officer Standards 

and Training Council, and each municipal police department “be 
encouraged” to provide in each basic or review police training program 
they conduct or administer training on highway work zone safety. The 
act requires the Highway Work Zone Safety Advisory Council to develop a 
program curriculum and make it available to and recommend it to the 
various training entities.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 
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Route 11 Greenway Authority Commission  

 
PA 09-97 explicitly authorizes the Route 11 Greenway Authority 

Commission to enter into covenants or agreements with landowners to 
purchase options to acquire, by purchase or other means, land or 
interests in land.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009 
 

REGULATION OF TRANSPORTATION RELATED FIRMS 
 

Automobile Manufacturers, Distributors, Franchises and 
Dealerships  

 
PA 09-50 revises the laws governing motor vehicle manufacturers, 

distributors, and dealers, and the franchise agreements between them 
that affect, among other things, compensation for parts and labor in 
connection with pre-delivery preparation and warranty service. They also 
affect franchise and other agreements between a manufacturer or 
distributer and a dealer. 

 
Finally, the act (1) prohibits any agreement between a manufacturer 

or distributer and a dealer, rather than only the franchise agreement or a 
waiver, from superseding the statutory provisions for notice and setting 
standards for determining when good cause exists for terminating, 
canceling, or not renewing a franchise agreement; (2) requires the 
franchise agreement to remain in full force if a franchisee has challenged 
the termination, cancellation, or non-renewal in court, and (3) allows the 
franchisee to retain all rights and remedies under the agreement, 
including the right to sell or transfer ownership interest, until a final 
court determination and any appeal of that decision. Prior law limited 
this latter requirement to not more than six months following the final 
court determination.  

 
PA 09-187 keeps motor home manufacturers, distributors, and 

dealers under the laws as they existed before this act's passage.  
 
EFFECTIVE DATE (both acts): Upon passage 
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Motor Vehicle Repairs 
 
PA 09-237 prohibits an auto insurer, and its agents and adjusters, 

from (1) requiring an insured to use a specific repair shop to perform 
auto repairs or (2) stating that repair work will be delayed or not 
guaranteed if the insured has repairs performed at a motor vehicle repair 
shop that is not participating in the insurer’s vehicle repair program.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 
 

Motor Carrier Operating with Suspended or Revoked Registration 
 
PA 09-187 prohibits a motor carrier from operating or knowingly 

permitting operation of any motor vehicle whose registration has been 
suspended or revoked by the commissioner or any federal agency acting 
pursuant to federal law. For a first offense, the act prescribes a fine of 
$500 to $1,000, imprisonment for up to 90 days, or both. The penalty for 
any subsequent violation is a fine of $1,000 to $2,000, imprisonment for 
up to one year, or both.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009  
 

Auxiliary Power or Idle Reduction Technology Units 
 
PA 09-187 permits the owner of a commercial motor vehicle with an 

auxiliary power or idle reduction technology unit to apply to the DMV 
commissioner for a weight tolerance exemption from state gross, axle, 
tandem, and bridge formula weight limits. The exemption allows 
operation of the vehicle with a tolerance for the actual weight of the 
auxiliary power unit, up to 400 pounds. The act defines an “auxiliary 
power unit or idle reduction technology unit” as an integrated system, 
other than the vehicle's engine, that provides heat, air conditioning, 
engine warming, electric components, or power to do the work for the 
which the vehicle is designed.  

 
To qualify for the weight exemption, the vehicle owner may be 

required to (1) produce a written certification of the unit's weight and (2) 
show by written certification or actual demonstration that it is fully 
functional at all times. The exemption may be granted by any official or 
law enforcement officer authorized to enforce the state's maximum motor 
vehicle weight laws.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 
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Wreckers’ Disposal of Motorized Personal Property 

 
PA 09-187 establishes a procedure for wreckers who tow or remove 

motorized personal property at the direction of a police officer to dispose 
of the property after certain requirements are met. It defines “motorized 
personal property” to include mini-motorcycles (“pocket bikes”), dirt 
bikes, snowmobiles, or other types of motorized personal property.  

 
It requires the licensed wrecker who removes the property for the 

police officer to store it in a suitable place. The wrecker operator or 
licensee that owns the wrecker must give written notice by certified mail 
to the property owner within 48 hours of the removal, if the owner is 
known. The notice must specify that the property has been taken and 
where it is being stored. The entity that removed the property has a lien 
upon it for removal and storage charges. If the property owner does not 
claim it, or the owner is not known, the tower may sell or dispose of it 
after 30 days, subject to any statutory or regulatory requirements that 
apply to the sale or disposal of such property.  

 
A first violation of these requirements is designated as an infraction 

with a fine of $35 to $50. The penalty for subsequent violations is a $50 
to $100 fine, imprisonment for up to 30 days, or both.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 

 
Lien on Stored Motor Vehicles 

 
By law, the owner of a self-service storage facility has a lien upon any 

personal property left in the facility by a renter who defaults on a rental 
agreement. The lien is for any rent, labor, or other valid charges in 
relation to the property; valid expenses incurred in its preservation; and 
reasonable costs for its sale or other disposition. The facility owner must 
follow certain specific procedures for, among other things, notifying the 
defaulting property owner, advertising the sale of the property, disposing 
of sale proceeds, and redeeming the property.  

 
PA 09-187 expands the meaning of personal property to explicitly 

include motor vehicles left in the facility by a defaulting renter and 
establishes specific notice requirements relative to such vehicles.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2010 
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Motor Vehicle Manufacturer’s Licenses  

 
PA 09-187 (1) establishes a $250 late fee for a motor vehicle 

manufacturer who fails to renew its license on time and (2) prohibits the 
commissioner from renewing a license if more than 45 days have passed 
since it expired.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009 
 

PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION  
 

Funding 
 
PA 09-2, September Special Session, authorizes special tax 

obligation (STO) bonds to DOT for transportation-related capital projects. 
Among other things, it authorizes $250 million in FY 10 for rail 
maintenance facilities and $40 million in FY 10 and FY 11 for bus and 
rail facilities and equipment, including rights-of-way, other property 
acquisition, and related projects. 

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage for the FY 10 authorizations and 

July 1, 2010 for the FY 11 authorizations, 
 
Legislative Review of State Rail Plan 

 
PA 09-2, September Special Session, requires the state rail plan to 

be reviewed by the Transportation and Finance, Revenue and Bonding 
committees before DOT submits it to the federal government as required 
under federal law. DOT must submit the plan to these committees at 
least 60 days before submitting it to the federal government. The 
committees must hold a joint hearing on the plan within 30 days after 
receiving it. And, within 14 days after the hearing, they must advise DOT 
about any suggested modifications to the plan.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009  
 

Rail Freight  
 
PA 09-2, September Special Session, requires the DOT 

commissioner to offer rail or track material to freight railroad companies 
for upgrading state-owned rights-of-way. It requires him to do so before 
directly or indirectly selling, transferring, or otherwise disposing of this  
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property. He must also offer any remaining rail or track material to these 
companies for upgrading other rails located in Connecticut. If a company 
accepts the offer, the commissioner must transfer the rail or track 
material to the company’s designated material site and charge the 
company for doing so.  

 
A 2007 act authorized up to $10 million in bonds to the DOT to 

provide competitive matching grants for commercial freight rail lines 
operating in Connecticut. Recipients must use the grants to improve, 
repair, and modernize existing rails, rail beds, and related facilities.  

 
This act eliminates the requirement that the grants be matching grant 

and requires the program to include grants for 100% of amounts needed 
for improving, repairing or modernizing state-owned rights of way and 
grants for 70% of amounts needed to modernize, repair, or improve 
privately owned rail lines. The act authorizes the DOT commissioner to 
waive the 30% grant match for privately owned rail lines if the work is 
shown to increase rail freight traffic.  

 
The act also requires the commissioner to give preference to grants for 

freight rail projects (1) on DOT’s list of projects eligible for funding under 
the 2009 federal stimulus act, (2) that improve at-grade crossings to 
eliminate hazards or increase safety, and (3) that connect to major freight 
generators.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 
 

Railroad Crossing Study 
 
PA 09-2, September Special Session, requires the DOT 

commissioner to report to the legislature every three years on any 
railroad crossing at grade, beginning October 1, 2009. He must submit 
the reports to the Transportation and Finance, Revenue and Bonding 
Committees.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 
 

ROADS AND HIGHWAYS 
 

Finance 
 
PA 09-2, September Special Session, authorizes special tax 

obligation (STO) bonds to the DOT for transportation-related capital 
projects. Among other things, the act authorizes: 
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1. $13 million in FY 10 and FY 11 for the interstate highway 
program; 

 
2. $42.5 million in FY 10 and $44 million in FY for the intrastate 

highway program; 
 

3. $32.3 million in FY 10 and $33 million in FY 11 for state bridge 
improvement, rehabilitation, and replacement; 

 
4. $30 million in FY 10 for the fix-it-first road repair programs: 

and  
 

5. $30 million in FY 11 for projects of local and regional 
significance. 

 
The act also authorizes up to $68.9 million in STO bonds for use by 

the DOT's Bureau of Engineering and Highway Operations for capital 
resurfacing and related road reconstruction projects for FY 11. It 
authorizes up to $22 million in STO bonds each year for FY 10 and FY 11 
for town road aid grants to municipalities.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Various 
 
PA 09-3, June Special Session, allows the state to issue special tax 

obligation bonds to make payments to towns under the Town Aid Road 
Program. Under current law, the state appropriates funding for the 
program.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
 
PA 09-2, transfers to the General Fund for FY 09 (1) $28 million from 

the Local Bridge Revolving Fund - loan program and (2) $4 million from 
the Transportation Strategy Board Fund projects account. 

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: April 1, 2009  
  

Planning Approval for Local Projects 
 
PA 09-92 specifies the type of infrastructure project a municipality 

may implement without first requesting the planning commission’s (or 
combined planning and zoning commission’s) recommendations. By law, 
a municipal agency or legislative body cannot start a proposed  
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infrastructure or public works project without seeking the commission’s 
recommendations. But the law also exempts them from having to do so 
when maintaining or repairing existing property or public ways. The act 
extends this exemption to road resurfacing projects.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009 
 

RULES OF THE ROAD 
 

Drunk Driving 
 

PA 09-187 broadens the scope of the law that prohibits someone 
under age 21 from operating a motor vehicle on a highway with a blood-
alcohol level of .02% or more to apply anywhere, including on private 
property, rather than just on a highway, and makes several other related 
changes to the drunk driving laws. The act also decreases, from .08% to 
.04%, the presumptive level for determining if a commercial motor vehicle 
driver is operating with an elevated blood alcohol level for both the 
criminal offense and the administrative suspension law. 

 
By law, someone whose driver’s license has been suspended, with 

some exceptions, may apply to DMV for a special driving permit that 
allows him or her to drive to and from a work place or in connection with 
performing employment functions. The act expands the permit program 
to provide for driving to and from an accredited higher education 
institution where the person is enrolled. It requires the applicant for an 
education driving permit to provide DMV with a schedule of the times 
and location of all classes or other required educational activities 
attended and requires the institution's registrar to attest to the schedule.  

 
Finally, the act permits those who have had their licenses 

permanently revoked for a third conviction for drunk driving before 
October 1, 1999 to use the same process for restoring their ability to 
drive after six years that is already afforded to those whose revocations 
occurred on or after October 1, 1999. Under this process, once at least 
six years has passed since the revocation, the person may request a DMV 
hearing to reverse or reduce the revocation. The person must provide 
satisfactory evidence that a reversal or reduction will not endanger pubic 
safety and must meet other requirements, such as successful completion 
of an alcohol education and treatment program. If granted relief, the 
person must, as a condition of driving, operate only vehicles equipped 
with an approved ignition interlock device from the date the relief is 
granted until 10 years have passed from the revocation date.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Various 
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Eluding Police Officers  

 
PA 09-191 increases the penalties for someone who, in order to elude 

a police officer, increases his or her driving speed after an officer in a 
police vehicle signals to stop by using an audible signal or flashing lights 
from a class D felony to a class C felony for (1) a first offense that causes 
death or serious physical injury and (2) a second offense, regardless of 
whether it causes physical injury. By law, unchanged by the act, a first 
offense that does not cause death or serious injury is a class A 
misdemeanor.  

 
The act makes assault of public transit personnel a class C felony, the 

same penalty as for assault of public safety and emergency medical 
personnel. A person commits this crime by assaulting a public transit 
employee who is performing his or her duties, with intent to prevent the 
employee from performing them, by causing injury, or engaging in 
certain other behavior to the employee. Under prior law, assaults were 
punishable, depending on the conduct, by penalties ranging from a class 
A misdemeanor to a class A felony.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 
 

Establishing a “Move Over” Law  
 
PA 09-121 requires a motorist approaching one or more stationary 

emergency vehicles located on the travel lane, breakdown lane, or 
shoulder of a highway with three or more travel lanes to (1) immediately 
slow to a reasonable speed below the posted speed limit and (2) if 
traveling in the lane adjacent to the location of the emergency vehicle, 
move over one lane, unless this would be unreasonable or unsafe.  

 
For these requirements to apply, the emergency vehicle must have 

flashing lights activated. Under the act, an “emergency vehicle” includes 
a vehicle:  

 
1. operated by a member of an emergency medical service 

organization responding to an emergency call;  
 
2. operated by a fire department or by an officer of the department 

responding to a fire or other emergency;  
 

3. operated by a sworn member of the State Police or an organized 
local police department;  
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4. that is a maintenance vehicle; or 

 
5. that is a licensed wrecker.  
 
A violation of these requirements is an infraction, unless the violation 

results in the injury or death of the emergency vehicle operator, in which 
case the fines are a maximum of $2,500 and $10,000 respectively.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 
 
PA 09-187 expands this provision to include vehicles driven by 

additional types of police officers including (1) any member of a law 
enforcement unit who performs police duties, for example, DMV 
inspectors designated to enforce motor vehicle laws; (2) appointed 
constables who perform criminal law enforcement duties; and (3) certain 
special policemen appointed to enforce laws on state property, investigate 
public assistance fraud, and policemen for utility and transportation 
companies.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 
 

Impounding Vehicles Used For Illegal Street Racing 
 
By law, no one may operate a motor vehicle on a pubic highway for a 

wager, a race, or to make a speed record. Violators are subject to a fine of 
$75 to $600, up to one year imprisonment, or both for a first offense and 
a $100 to $1,000 fine, up to one year imprisonment, or both for any 
subsequent offense. In addition to these penalties, PA 09-120 permits 
the court to (1) order the motor vehicle the person used to be impounded 
for up to 30 days if it is registered to the offender or (2) if the vehicle is 
registered to someone else, fine the offender up to $2,000 for a first 
offense and up to $3,000 for any subsequent offense. The act makes an 
impounded vehicle’s owner responsible for all fees or costs resulting from 
the impoundment.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009 
 

Use of Cell Phones while Driving by Members of the Military 
 

PA 09-54 permits U.S. Armed Forces members, while performing their 
official duties, to talk on a hand-held cellular telephone or using a mobile 
electronic device while driving a military vehicle on a highway. State law  
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defines the “armed forces” as the U.S. Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Coast 
Guard, and Air Force and their reserve components, including the 
Connecticut National Guard performing duty under Title 32 of federal 
law. 

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  

 
“Blocking the Box”  

 
PA 09-171 allows a municipality to adopt an ordinance designating 

intersections where a motor vehicle may not enter if the space on the 
opposite side of the intersection is too small to allow the vehicle to cross 
without obstructing the passage of other vehicles or pedestrians. This 
applies even if the traffic light permits the motor vehicle to proceed. But 
it does not apply to entering an intersection to make a turn or to tractor-
trailers.  

 
The act requires the municipality to (1) post signs that blocking the 

intersection is prohibited and violators can be fined and (2) use white 
paint to mark the intersection's boundaries and the area within it with 
parallel diagonal lines, using lines at least one foot wide.  

 
The act makes a violation an infraction.  
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 
 

Golf Carts on Highways 
 
PA 09-187 authorizes any local traffic authority to permit the 

operation of golf carts, during daylight hours, on any road under its 
jurisdiction. A golf cart must be equipped with an operable horn meeting 
the requirements of state law and a flag positioned to help other drivers 
see the golf cart. The traffic authority must limit their operation to roads 
with a posted speed limit of 25 miles per hour or less. The golf cart 
operator must carry a valid Connecticut driver’s license. The act 
authorizes the DMV commissioner to establish insurance requirements 
for golf carts by regulation. Violations of these requirements are 
designated as infractions.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
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SPECIAL TRANSPORTATION FUND 

 
Transfers to the Special Transportation Fund 

 
PA 09-1 transfers $1,166,440 from the local emergency relief account 

and $287,000 from the insurance recoveries account to Special 
Transportation Fund revenue for FY 09.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
 
PA 09-3, June Special Session, requires the comptroller to transfer 

the following amounts from the General Fund to the Special 
Transportation Fund: (1) $72 million for FY 10 and (2) $117.5 million for 
FY 11 and each fiscal year thereafter.  

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
 

KM:ts 


