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NOTICE TO READERS 
 

This report provides highlights of new laws (public acts) affecting 
health care services enacted during the 2009 regular and special 
sessions. Each summary indicates the public act (PA) number and 
effective date. The report does not cover special acts. 

 
Not all provisions of the acts are included. Complete summaries of all 

2009 public acts will be available in the fall when OLR’s Public Act 
Summary book is published; most are already on OLR’s webpage: 
http://www.cga.state.ct.us/olr/publicactsummaries.asp. 

 
Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest 

them from the Connecticut State library, the House Clerk’s Office, or the 
General Assembly’s website: http://www.cga.state.ct.us/default.asp. 

http://www.cga.state.ct.us/olr/publicactsummaries.asp
http://www.cga.state.ct.us/default.asp
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ALZHEIMER’S RESPITE CARE 

The State-Wide Respite Care 
Program provides respite care for 
people with Alzheimer’s disease 
or related disorders, regardless of 
age, who are not enrolled in the 
Connecticut Homecare Program 
for Elders (CHCPE). PA 09-75 
increases, from $30,000 to 
$41,000, the program’s annual 
income limit and increases the 
allowable asset limit from 
$80,000 to $109,000. Beginning 
July 1, 2009, the act requires the 
Department of Social Services 
(DSS) commissioner annually to 
increase the income and asset 
limits to reflect Social Security 
cost of living adjustments.  

The act requires the 
commissioner to adopt 
regulations allowing program 
participants who demonstrate a 
need for additional services to 
receive up to $7,500 for respite 
care services. Prior law limited 
respite care services to $3,500 
annually.  

The act also adds personal 
care assistant (PCA) services to 
the list of respite care services 
the program provides. Respite 
care services provide short-term 
relief for family members caring 
for an individual with Alzheimer’s 
or related diseases. They include 
homemaker services, adult day 
care, short-term medical facility 
care, home-health care, and 
companion services.  

This takes effect July 1, 2009. 

AMBULANCE TRANSPORT 

PA 09-16 permits only 
licensed or certified ambulance 
and rescue services to transport 
patients on stretchers in motor 
vehicles. The Department of 
Public Health (DPH) licenses 
commercial ambulance and 
rescue services and issues 
certificates to volunteer and 
municipal ambulance services. 
By law, anyone who willfully 
violates an emergency medical 
services law can be fined up to 
$250, imprisoned for up to three 
months, or both.  

The act requires any 
ambulance used to transport 
patients between hospitals to 
meet state regulatory 
requirements for basic 
ambulance service, including 
those concerning medically 
necessary supplies and services. 
These regulations require, among 
other things, one medical 
response technician and one 
emergency medical technician in 
the ambulance, the latter of 
whom must attend the patient at 
all times.  

The act permits a licensed 
registered nurse, advanced 
practice registered nurse, 
physician assistant, or 
respiratory care practitioner to 
supplement the ambulance 
transport if he or she has current 
training and certification (1) in 
pediatric or adult advance life 
support or (2) from the American 
Academy of Pediatrics’ neonatal 
resuscitation program, as 
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appropriate and based on the 
patient’s condition.  

This takes effect upon passage 
for interhospital transport; 
October 1, 2009 for stretcher 
transport.  

ANATOMIC PATHOLOGY 

PA 09-232 requires direct 
billing to the patient or insurer 
by a clinical laboratory 
performing anatomic pathology 
services. It prohibits any entity 
other than a physician, clinical 
laboratory, or a “referring clinical 
laboratory,” from directly or 
indirectly charging, billing, or 
seeking payment for pathology 
services unless the physician or 
lab personally performed or 
directly supervised the service 
according to federal standards 
governing clinical labs. Patients 
and third party payors are not 
required to reimburse providers 
for charges or claims that violate 
the act’s prohibitions. 

The act allows clinical and 
referring labs to seek payment 
only from a patient, hospital, 
responsible insurer of a third 
party payor, or a government 
agency or the agency’s public or 
private agent. It states that it is 
not to be construed to prohibit a 
clinical lab from billing a 
referring lab for specimens 
transferred for histologic (tissue) 
or cygtologic (cell) processing or 
for consultations. 

The act defines “referring 
clinical laboratory” as a lab that 
refers a patient specimen for 
consultation or anatomic 

pathology services. The definition 
excludes a physician’s or 
physician group’s lab that takes 
a patient specimen and does not 
perform the professional 
diagnostic component of the 
anatomic pathology services 
involved. It defines "anatomic 
pathology services" as the gross 
and microscopic examination 
and histologic and cytologic 
processing of human specimens, 
including histopathology or 
surgical pathology, 
cytopathology, hematology, 
subcellular or molecular 
pathology, or blood banking 
service performed by a 
pathologist. 

This takes effect July 1, 2009. 

ASTHMATIC INHALERS AND 
EPIPENS 

 
PA 09-155 requires, rather 

than allows, the State Education 
Department to adopt regulations 
governing medication 
administration by school 
personnel and student self-
medication. It specifies that the 
latter must address students 
using asthmatic inhalers and 
epipens. It adds licensed athletic 
trainers employed by a school 
board to those personnel 
permitted to administer 
medication to students under the 
general supervision of a school 
nurse.  
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The act also requires school 
boards to make their plans for 
managing students with life-
threatening food allergies 
publicly available on the Internet 
or otherwise.  

This takes effect August 15, 
2009. 

AUTISM 

PA 09-115 requires a group 
health insurance policy to cover 
the diagnosis of autism spectrum 
disorders and expands the 
requirements on insurers to 
cover treatment of these 
disorders. It requires insurers to 
cover behavioral therapy for a 
child age 14 or younger and 
certain prescription drugs and 
psychiatric and psychological 
services for insureds with 
autism. The act permits a policy 
to set a certain annual dollar 
maximum for behavioral therapy 
coverage.  

Prior law required a group 
health insurance policy to cover 
physical, speech, and 
occupational therapy services 
provided to treat autism to the 
same extent that it covers them 
for other diseases and 
conditions. The act removes that 
limitation, but specifies different 
conditions for covering the 
therapies.  

The act authorizes an insurer, 
HMO, hospital or medical service 
corporation, or fraternal benefit 
society to review an autism 
treatment plan’s outpatient 
services in accordance with its 
utilization review requirements, 

but not more often than once 
every six months, unless the 
insured’s licensed physician, 
psychologist, or clinical social 
worker agrees a more frequent 
review is necessary or changes 
the insured’s treatment plan.  

The act provides that it is not 
to be interpreted as limiting or 
affecting (1) other covered 
benefits under the policy, the 
state mental and nervous 
condition insurance law, and the 
birth-to three coverage law; (2) a 
board of education’s obligation to 
provide services to an autistic 
student under an individualized 
education program in accordance 
with law; or (3) any obligation 
imposed on a public school by 
the federal Individual with 
Disabilities Education Act.  

The act also provides that it 
must not be interpreted to 
require a group health insurance 
policy to reimburse special 
education and related services 
provided to an insured under 
state law that requires boards of 
education to provide special 
education programs and services 
unless state or federal law 
requires otherwise.  

By law, each violation of the 
act is subject to a fine of up to 
$1,000. The insurance 
commissioner may also revoke an 
out-of-state insurer’s license for 
violating the act.  

This takes effect January 1, 
2010. 
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AUTOMATIC EXTERNAL 
DEFIBRILLATORS 

 
PA 09-94 requires a school 

board to have at each school in 
its jurisdiction, if funding is 
available, (1) an automatic 
external defibrillator (AED) and 
(2) school staff trained in its use 
and in cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation. The act allows 
school boards to accept donated 
AEDs under certain conditions. It 
also allows boards to accept gifts, 
donations, and grants for AED 
acquisition and staff training 
costs.  

It also requires each school to 
develop emergency action 
response plans for the 
appropriate use of school 
personnel to respond to 
individuals experiencing sudden 
cardiac arrest or similar life-
threatening emergencies.  

This takes effect July 1, 2009. 
PA 09-59 provides immunity 

in a lawsuit for damages for acts 
arising out of a person’s or 
entity’s negligence in providing or 
maintaining an AED. Existing 
law already provides immunity 
for those rendering assistance.  

The act specifies that 
immunity does not apply to 
gross, willful, or wanton 
negligence.  

This takes effect October 1, 
2009. 

BIRTH-TO-THREE  

PA 09-3, September Special 
Session (§§ 44-46) increases the 
fee certain families must pay to 

participate in the Birth-to-Three 
program and eliminates the two 
months of service following 
enrollment that, by regulation, 
were previously provided without 
a fee.  It requires the Department 
of Developmental Services (DDS) 
to increase the fees by 60%.  It 
also requires DDS to base the 
fees on the state’s, as well as 
parents’, financial resources and 
periodically to revise its fee 
schedule.  

The law requires DDS to 
charge a fee for families with 
gross incomes over $45,000 and 
permits it to charge parents with 
lower incomes. But it may not 
charge any family whose child is 
eligible for Medicaid. DDS 
maintains two sliding scale fee 
schedules, one for families with 
health insurance and one for 
uninsured families, based on 
income and family size. Fees 
currently range from $15 a 
month for a family with three or 
fewer children and no insurance 
to $310 a month for a family with 
six or more children and 
insurance whose income is over 
$175,000. DDS regulations 
require the State Interagency 
Birth-to-Three Coordinating 
Council to review and make 
recommendations to DDS about 
the fee schedule at least every 
three years.  

The law requires group and 
individual health insurance 
policies to cover Birth-to-Three 
services. The act doubles the 
maximum annual coverage to 
$6,400 per child and the 
aggregate, lifetime benefit to 
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$19,200. It applies to individual 
and group health insurance 
policies delivered, issued, 
renewed, amended, or continued 
in Connecticut that cover (1) 
basic hospital expenses; (2) basic 
medical-surgical expenses; (3) 
major medical expenses; and (4) 
hospital or medical services, 
including coverage under an 
HMO plan.  Due to federal law 
(ERISA), state insurance benefits 
mandates do not apply to self-
insured benefits plans. 

This takes effect upon 
passage. 

 
CHILDREN-STATE FUNDED 
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

 
PA 09-66 expands eligibility 

for state-funded medical 
assistance to include children 
under the Department of 
Developmental Services’ (DDS) 
voluntary services program who 
are not receiving, have not yet 
qualified for, or are ineligible for 
Medicaid. It also extends these 
benefits to any child under the 
Department of Children and 
Families (DCF) commissioner’s 
supervision who is ineligible for 
Medicaid, not just those ineligible 
because of institutional status. 
By law, children under DCF care 
who are not receiving or have not 
yet qualified for Medicaid are also 
eligible.  

The act requires the DDS 
commissioner, to the extent 
practicable, to apply on behalf of 
a child, or help a child in the 
program qualify for, Medicaid. 
The law already requires the DCF 

commissioner to do this on 
behalf of children under her 
supervision.  

This takes effect July 1, 2009. 

CONNPACE PLUS 

More low-income seniors and 
people with disabilities are 
eligible to participate in the 
federal Medicare Savings 
Program (MSP) under a new law 
(PA 09-2) that effectively extends 
the program to people with 
incomes as high as the 
ConnPACE limits ($ 25,100 for 
individuals and $ 33,800 for 
married couples in 2009). The 
Department of Social Services 
(DSS) pays for MSP participants’ 
Medicare Part A or Part B 
premiums, or both. And 
qualifying for MSP also qualifies 
people for another federal 
program that pays some or all of 
their Medicare Part D drug 
benefit premium and any Part D 
“doughnut hole” charges. 
Participants also pay lower co-
payments for each prescription.  

This takes effect April 1, 2009. 

CONTACT LENSES 

PA 09-58 allows licensed (1) 
optometrists authorized to 
practice advanced optometric 
care to acquire, prescribe, 
dispense, and charge for contact 
lenses containing ocular agents-T 
and (2) prescribing physicians 
and surgeons to dispense and 
sell contact lenses that contain a 
drug. “Physician,” under the act, 
does not include a homeopathic 
physician.  
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The act specifies that 
optometrists, physicians, and 
surgeons dispensing or selling 
contact lenses containing ocular 
agents-T or drugs do not have to 
meet requirements of existing law 
on packaging and labeling of 
drug containers.  

This takes effect October 1, 
2009. 

CYSTIC FIBROSIS 

PA 09-20 requires all health 
care institutions caring for 
newborn infants to test them for 
cystic fibrosis, unless, as allowed 
by law, their parents object on 
religious grounds. It requires the 
testing to be done as soon as is 
medically appropriate.  

Under the act, the cystic 
fibrosis test is in addition to, but 
separate from, DPH’s newborn 
screening program for genetic 
diseases and metabolic disorders. 
That program, in addition to the 
initial screening test, directs 
parents of identified infants to 
appropriate counseling and 
treatment.  

This takes effect October 1, 
2009. 

EPIDERMOLYSIS BULLOSA 

PA 09-51 requires certain 
insurance policies to cover 
wound care supplies that are 
medically necessary to treat 
epidermolysis bullosa and 
administered under a physician’s 
direction.  

The act applies to individual 
and group health insurance 
policies delivered, issued, 

renewed, amended, or continued 
in Connecticut on and after 
January 1, 2010 that cover (1) 
basic hospital expenses; (2) basic 
medical-surgical expenses; (3) 
major medical expenses; and (4) 
hospital or medical services, 
including coverage under an 
HMO plan.  

Due to federal law (ERISA), 
state insurance benefit mandates 
do not apply to self-insured 
benefit plans.  

Epidermolysis bullosa (EB) 
refers to a group of rare skin 
diseases characterized by 
recurring blisters and open 
sores.   

This takes effect January 1, 
2010. 

HEALTH INFORMATION 
TECHNOLOGY 

 
Existing law required DPH to 

contract for the development of a 
statewide health information 
technology (HIT) plan. PA 09-232 
requires DPH to submit the plan 
to the Public Health Committee 
by July 1, 2009. By law, the plan 
must include (1) standards and 
protocols for health information 
exchange; (2) standards to 
facilitate the development of a 
statewide, integrated electronic 
health information system for 
use by state-funded health care 
providers and institutions; and 
(3) pilot programs for health 
information exchange, including 
costs and funding sources.  

This act also designates DPH 
as the state’s lead health 
information exchange 
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organization beginning July 1, 
2009. It requires DPH to seek 
private and federal funds, 
including those available through 
the federal American Recovery 
and Reinvestment Act, for the 
initial development of a statewide 
health information exchange. 
DPH can use any private or 
federal funds it receives to 
establish health information 
technology (HIT) pilot programs 
and grant programs. DPH must 
(1) assist with implementation 
and periodic revisions of the HIT 
plan after its initial submittal, 
including implementing an 
integrated statewide electronic 
health information infrastructure 
for sharing electronic health 
information among health care 
facilities, health care 
professionals, public and private 
payors, and patients and (2) 
develop privacy standards and 
protocols for sharing this 
information. These standards 
and protocols must be at least as 
stringent as the “standards for 
privacy of individually identifiable 
health information” established 
under the federal Health 
Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act. They must 
require that individually 
identifiable health information be 
secure and access to it traceable 
by electronic audit trail. 

The act also establishes a 12-
member health information 
technology and exchange 
advisory committee. 

This takes effect October 1, 
2009. 

HIV TESTING 

PA 09-133 revises the law on 
consent for HIV-related testing. 
Specifically, it:  

1. eliminates the requirement 
for separate, written or oral 
consent for HIV testing and 
instead allows general 
consent for the 
performance of medical 
procedures or tests to 
suffice;  

2. reaffirms that HIV testing 
is voluntary and that the 
patient can choose not to 
be tested;  

3. eliminates a prior 
requirement for extensive 
pre-test counseling for all 
HIV tests;  

4. adds a requirement that an 
HIV test subject, when he 
or she receives a test 
result, be informed about 
medical services and local 
or community-based 
HIV/AIDS support services 
agencies; and  

5. provides that a medical 
practitioner cannot be held 
liable for ordering an HIV 
test under general consent 
provisions.  

This takes effect July 1, 2009. 

HOSPITAL-ACQUIRED 
CONDITIONS 

 
PA 09-206 prohibits hospitals 

and outpatient surgical facilities 
from seeking payment for any 
increased costs they incur as a 
direct result of a hospital-
acquired condition identified as 
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nonpayable by Medicare 
according to federal law. This 
applies regardless of the patient’s 
insurance status or sources of 
payment (including self-pay) 
except as otherwise provided by 
federal law or PA 09-2, § 8.  

That state law requires the 
DSS commissioner to amend the 
Medicaid state plan to indicate 
that the approved inpatient 
hospital rates it pays for 
Medicaid-eligible patients are not 
applicable to hospital-acquired 
conditions that the Medicare 
program identifies as 
“nonpayable” (also referred to as 
“never events”) in accordance 
with a 2005 federal law to ensure 
that hospitals are not paid for 
these conditions.  

Under this act, “hospital” 
means an acute care hospital 
subject to the federal inpatient 
prospective payment system. An 
“outpatient surgical facility” is an 
entity, individual, firm, 
partnership, corporation, limited 
liability company, or association, 
other than a hospital, providing 
surgical services or diagnostic 
procedures for human health 
conditions that include use of 
moderate or deep sedation, 
moderate or deep analgesia or 
general anesthesia, as these 
levels are defined by the 
American Society of 
Anesthesiologists or by other 
professional or accrediting entity 
recognized by DPH.  

This takes effect January 1, 
2010. 

IMAGING SERVICES 

PA 09-206 prohibits specified 
health care providers from 
charging patients, insurers, or 
other responsible third-party 
payors for performing the 
“technical components” of CAT 
scans, PET scans, and MRIs if 
they, or someone under their 
direct supervision, did not 
actually perform the service. The 
prohibition applies to physicians, 
chiropractors, podiatrists, 
naturopaths, and optometrists.  

Under the act, radiological 
facilities and imaging centers 
must directly bill the patient or 
third party payor for their 
services. They cannot bill the 
practitioner who requested the 
service.  

This takes effect October 1, 
2009. 

LYME DISEASE 

Beginning July 1, 2009, PA 
09-128 allows a licensed 
physician to prescribe, 
administer, or dispense long-
term antibiotic therapy to a 
patient for a therapeutic purpose 
that eliminates the infection or 
controls the patient’s symptoms 
if (1) a clinical diagnosis is made 
that the patient has Lyme 
disease or has symptoms 
consistent with such a diagnosis 
and (2) the physician documents 
the diagnosis and treatment in 
the patient’s medical record.  

Also beginning July 1, 2009, 
the act prohibits (1) DPH from 
initiating disciplinary action 
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against a physician and (2) the 
Connecticut Medical Examining 
Board from taking disciplinary 
action solely because the 
physician prescribed, 
administered, or dispensed long-
term antibiotic therapy to a 
patient clinically diagnosed with 
Lyme disease. The physician 
must document the clinical 
diagnosis and treatment in the 
patient’s record.  

The act specifies that, subject 
to the limits on discipline of 
physicians treating Lyme disease 
established by the act, it does not 
limit the ability of the 
Connecticut Medical Examining 
Board to take disciplinary action 
for other reasons against 
physicians, including entering 
into a consent order, for 
violations of existing law 
concerning their practice of 
medicine.  

This takes effect July 1, 2009. 

MAMMOGRAPHY 

PA 09-41 requires all 
mammography reports (i.e., 
written results of a mammogram) 
given to a patient on and after 
October 1, 2009 to include 
information about breast density 
based on the American College of 
Radiology’s Breast Imaging 
Reporting and Data System 
(BIRADS). When applicable, the 
report must include the following 
notice:  

“If your mammogram 
demonstrates that you have 
dense breast tissue, which could 
hide small abnormalities, you 

might benefit from 
supplementary screening tests, 
which can include a breast 
ultrasound screening or a breast 
MRI examination, or both, 
depending on your individual 
risk factors. A report of your 
mammography results, which 
contains information about your 
breast density, has been sent to 
your physician’s office and you 
should contact your physician if 
you have any questions or 
concerns about this report.” 

This takes effect October 1, 
2009. 

PRESCRIPTION EYE DROPS 

PA 09-136 prohibits certain 
health insurance policies that 
provide prescription eye drop 
coverage from denying coverage 
for prescription renewals when 
(1) the refill is requested by the 
insured less than 30 days from 
either (a) the date the original 
prescription was given to the 
insured or (b) the last date the 
prescription refill was given to 
the insured, whichever is later, 
and (2) the prescribing physician 
indicates on the original 
prescription that additional 
quantities are needed and the 
refill request does not exceed this 
amount.  

The act applies to individual 
and group health insurance 
policies delivered, issued, 
renewed, amended, or continued 
in Connecticut on or after 
January 1, 2010 that cover (1) 
basic hospital expenses; (2) basic 
medical-surgical expenses; (3) 
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major medical expenses; and (4) 
hospital or medical services, 
including coverage under an 
HMO plan.  

Due to federal law (ERISA), 
state insurance benefit mandates 
do not apply to self-insured 
benefit plans.  

This takes effect January 1, 
2010. 

SUSTINET 

PA 09-148 establishes a nine-
member SustiNet Health 
Partnership board of directors 
that must make legislative 
recommendations, by January 1, 
2011, on the details and 
implementation of the “SustiNet 
Plan,” a self-insured health care 
delivery plan. The act specifies 
that these recommendations 
must address:  

1. establishment of a public 
authority or other entity 
with the power to contract 
with insurers and health 
care providers, develop 
health care infrastructure 
(“medical homes”), set 
reimbursement rates, 
create advisory 
committees, and encourage 
the use of health 
information technology;  

2. provisions for the phased-
in offering of the SustiNet 
Plan to state employees 
and retirees, HUSKY A and 
B beneficiaries, people 
without employer 
sponsored insurance (ESI), 
people with unaffordable 

ESI, small and large 
employers, and others;  

3. guidelines for development 
of a model benefits 
package; and  

4. public outreach and 
methods of identifying 
uninsured citizens.  

The board must establish a 
number of separate committees 
to address and make 
recommendations concerning 
health information technology, 
medical homes, clinical care and 
safety guidelines, and preventive 
care and improved health 
outcomes. The act also 
establishes an independent 
information clearinghouse to 
provide employers, consumers, 
and the general public with 
information about SustiNet and 
private health care plans.  

Finally, the act creates task 
forces addressing obesity, 
tobacco usage, and the health 
care workforce.  

This takes effect July 1, 2009, 
except that the sections on 
identifying uninsured adults and 
children and Medicaid and public 
education outreach take effect 
July 1, 2011, and the three task 
forces take effect upon passage.  

PA 09-3, September Special 
Session (§ 43) increases 
membership on the SustiNet 
Health Partnership board of 
directors from nine to eleven by 
adding (1) an individual with 
expertise in either the reduction 
of racial, ethnic, cultural and 
linguistic inequities in health 
care or multi-cultural 
competency in the health care 
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workforce, appointed by the 
Healthcare Advocate and (2) an 
individual appointed by the 
Comptroller. 

This takes effect upon 
passage. 

TUBERCULOSIS TREATMENT 

Under existing law, 
individuals with tuberculosis (TB) 
who require medical care 
provided by (1) a state chronic 
disease hospital, (2) a private 
hospital or clinic, or (3) a 
physician or other provider, must 
be seen without regard to the 
patient’s financial condition.  The 
cost of the care and treatment of 
such patients is computed based 
on a number of statutory 
provisions. The state pays these 
costs if DPH deems them 
appropriate for TB treatment. 

PA-09-3, September Special 
Session (§§ 51-52) specifically 
authorizes the DPH 
commissioner to consider 
available third-party sources for 
payment of TB treatment when 
determining whether to pay for it.  
By law, if the patient is (1) a 
veteran and the TB or suspected 
TB for which the veteran has 
been hospitalized or treated is a 
service-connected disability 
entitling him to medical benefits 
or (2) eligible for medical benefits 
under the workers’ compensation 
law or under any private or 
public medical insurance or 
payment plan, then the patient 
or the patient or the patient’s 
obligor is liable for the cost of the 
care to the extent of such 

available benefits.  The cost of 
such care must be determined 
according to the existing 
statutory process by which the 
comptroller annually determines 
the per capita per diem cost for 
the support of persons in 
humane institutions. 

The act authorizes DPH and 
DSS to exchange patient 
information they hold to 
determine if any patient needing 
or receiving TB treatment is 
eligible for Medicaid benefits. 

This takes effect upon 
passage. 

ULTRASOUNDS 

PA 09-125 prohibits anyone 
from performing an obstetrical 
ultrasound procedure unless it is 
(1) for a medical or diagnostic 
purpose and (2) ordered by a 
licensed health care provider 
acting within the scope of his or 
her practice.  

This takes effect July 1, 2009. 

UMBILICAL CORD BLOOD 

PA 09-232 requires doctors 
and other health care providers 
who provide pregnancy-related 
care for women during their third 
trimester to provide the women 
with timely, relevant, and 
appropriate information about 
umbilical cord blood and cord 
blood banks. The information 
must be sufficient to allow 
women to make informed choices 
about banking or donating their 
child’s cord blood. 

This takes effect July 1, 2009. 
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VETERANS 

PA 09-10 requires the 
Department of Mental Health and 
Addiction Services to work with 
the state Veterans’ Affairs (VA) 
Department, not just the 
Department of Children and 
Families, to provide transitional 
behavioral health services for 
members of any reserve 
component of the U. S. Armed 
Forces (and their dependents) 
called to active duty in Operation 
Enduring Freedom (Afghanistan) 
or Operation Iraqi Freedom.  

By law, the services are 
provided to veterans when no 
Department of Defense (DOD) 
coverage is available for such 
services or the veteran is not 
eligible for them. They must 
continue until an approved 
application is received from the 
federal VA and coverage is 
available.  

This takes effect upon 
passage. 
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