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During the 2008 regular 

session, the legislature enacted 
many laws that affect 
businesses. Some affect a broad 
range of businesses while others 
affect specific types, such as 
manufacturing and filmmaking. 
This report summarizes those 
laws in lay terms, but we 
encourage you to read the acts 
that specifically interest you.  
You can obtain them online at 
www.cga.ct.gov or from the 
Connecticut State Library or the 
House Clerk’s Office.  A detailed 
analysis of all 2008 laws will be 
available this fall when OLR 
publishes its Public Act Summary 
book.  In the meantime, you can 
review completed analyses by 
visiting our web page 
(www.cga.state.ct.us/olr).  

 
BUSINESS LAW AND PRACTICE 

 
Confidentiality of Social 
Security Numbers 

 
The legislature required 

anyone possessing personal 
information about another 
person to safeguard it and the 
computer files containing it and 
subjects violators to a civil 
penalty of $500 for each 
violation, up to $50,000 per 
event.  

(sHB 5686, effective October 
1, 2008) 

 

Release, Sale, and Accuracy of 
Conviction Information 

 
By law, consumer reporting 

agencies must comply with 
certain statutory procedures 
when providing employment 
related reports that include 
arrest and conviction records.  
The legislature eliminated the 
requirement that these agencies 
verify these records with the 
Judicial Department and instead 
imposed a new procedure that 
applies to anyone who purchases 
conviction data from that 
department. The procedure 
requires purchasers periodically 
to buy data updates and correct 
their records accordingly.  

(PA 08-53, effective May 1, 
2008)   

.  
Child Product Safety 

 
The legislature established 

limits for lead in children's 
products.  With certain 
exceptions, it made children's 
products that fail to comply with 
the limits banned hazardous 
substances. It also prohibited the 
sale of toys or other articles 
marketed for children under age 
16 that contain asbestos.   

The legislature also required 
retailers and other businesses 
selling a banned hazardous 
substance to complete a 
certificate of disposition to 
account for its disposal and post  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/
http://www.cga.state.ct.us/olr
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notices when the Department of 
Consumer Protection designates 
an article as a banned hazardous 
substance. 

(PA 08-106, effective October 
1, 2008) 

 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT  

 
“Connecticut Grown” Program 

 
The legislature expanded the 

“Connecticut Grown” program to 
include all farm products that 
have a traceable origin in 
Connecticut.  

(PA 08-13, upon passage)  
 
Insurance Reinvestment Act  

 
A new law limits Insurance 

Reinvestment Act tax credits to 
investments made in insurance 
and reinsurance carriers; 
insurance agencies and 
brokerages; claim adjusting, 
third-party administration, 
advisory, and rate making 
services, and other specified 
insurance related activities.  

(PA 08-82, effective October 1, 
2008). 

 
Sports Advisory Board 

 
The legislature authorized the 

creation of a new board to advise 
it and the Culture and Tourism 
Commission about how to 
support the state’s sports 
industry.  

(PA 08-89, effective upon 
passage) 

 

Film Tax Credits 
 
A new law applies the film tax 

credits to 2006 insurance 
premium taxpayers.  Under prior 
law, the credit applied against 
the corporation tax for income 
years starting on or after 
January 1, 2006 and against the 
insurance premium tax for 
income years starting on or after 
January 1, 2007. The credits 
equal 30% of the expenses 
incurred in Connecticut 
exceeding $50,000.   

(PA 08-142, effective upon 
passage) 

 
FINANCE, INSURANCE AND 
REAL ESTATE  

 
Captive Insurance Companies 

 
A new law permits a captive 

insurance company to be 
licensed and domiciled (have its 
principal place of business) in 
Connecticut to transact life, 
health, and commercial risk 
insurance and annuity business 
if it meets specified requirements 
concerning formation, capital 
and surplus, local office 
presence, ability to meet policy 
obligations, payment of certain 
fees and premium taxes, and 
annual reporting, among other 
things. 

(PA 08-127, effective January 
1, 2009) 
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Insurance Department Fines 
 
The legislature increased fines 

the insurance commissioner may 
assess against insurance 
companies, related companies, 
and people for violating 
Connecticut’s insurance laws. 

(PA 08-178, effective October 
1, 2008) 

 
Banking  

 
A new law allows the banking 

commissioner to, under certain 
circumstances, approve 
temporary offices or other 
facilities to provide banking and 
credit union services to the 
customers of certain state and 
foreign banks or credit unions 
affected by an emergency.  It 
allows the commissioner to waive 
or suspend statutory or 
regulatory requirements for up to 
90 days in order to further rapid 
service restoration after an 
emergency. 

Among other things, the new 
law also requires (1) that certain 
licensees surrender their licenses 
within 15 days if they stop doing 
business in this state and (2) 
limited liability companies 
provide information about their 
members when applying for 
certain licenses. 

(PA 08-199, effective October 
1, 2008) 
 
Mortgage Crisis Job Training 
 

The legislature established a 
mortgage crisis job training 
program to provide rapid, 

customized employment services, 
job training, repair training, and 
job placement assistance to 
borrowers who are unemployed, 
underemployed, or in need of a 
second job.  Borrowers are 
eligible if they are at least 60 
days delinquent on their 
mortgages and are referred by 
their Connecticut Housing 
Finance Authority lender, or 
demonstrate an imminent need 
to increase earnings in order to 
avoid delinquency or foreclosure. 

(PA 08-141, effective July 1, 
2008) 

 
GOVERNMENT PROCUREMENT 

 
On-Line Procurement 

 
The legislature allowed state 

contracting agencies to award 
contracts for goods or supplies 
through a “reverse auction,” an 
online bidding process in which 
qualified bidders and proposers 
anonymously submit bids or 
proposals to provide goods or 
supplies pursuant to an 
invitation to bid or request for 
proposals.  Agencies can use this 
method if it would benefit them 
and ensure a competitive 
contract award.  

(PA 08-141, effective upon 
passage)  
 
 Bid Preferences 

 
A new law requires state 

agencies to adjust the lowest 
qualified bid submitted by an 
out-of-state business that 
receives a bid preference in its 
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home state.  Agencies must do 
this by adding a percentage 
increase equal to any preference 
the business receives in its home 
state. If an in-state business 
subsequently becomes the lowest 
qualified bidder, the agency must 
award the contract to that 
business if it agrees to meet the 
original lowest responsible 
qualified bid.    

(PA 08-154, effective October 
1, 2009) 

 
Architectural or Construction 
Management Services on 
School Construction Projects 

 
The legislature established a 

separate process by which local 
school districts must award 
contracts for architectural or 
construction management 
services on projects receiving 
state school construction grants. 

(PA 08-169, effective July 1, 
2008) 

 
HEALTH CARE  

 
Special Health Care Plans for 
Small Employers 

 
The legislature made several 

changes to laws concerning the 
offer and sale of health insurance 
plans to small employers to 
resolve inconsistencies between 
state and federal law. 

(PA 08-33, effective upon 
passage) 
 

Group Health Insurance Policy 
Coverage 

 
A new law expands the 

benefits payable under a group 
health insurance policy for 
treatment received in a 
residential treatment facility. 

(PA 08-125, effective January 
1, 2009) 
 
Health Care Partnership 

 
A new law allows 

municipalities, certain municipal 
service contractors, nonprofit 
organizations, and small 
businesses to join the state 
employee health insurance plan 
for current and retired state 
employees.  

(PA 08-183, effective 
September 1, 2008 for most 
provisions) 

 
Insurance Coverage for Autism 
Spectrum Disorder Therapies 

 
A new law requires certain 

group and individual health 
insurance policies delivered, 
issued, renewed, amended, or 
continued in Connecticut on or 
after January 1, 2009 to cover 
physical, speech, and 
occupational therapy services 
provided to treat autism 
spectrum disorders if the policies 
cover these services for other 
diseases and conditions. 

(PA 08-132, effective January 
1, 2009) 
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Dependent Children Coverage 
 
Among other things, a new 

law revises the criteria for 
determining when a child loses 
coverage under a private health 
insurance policy that the 
legislature enacted in 2007 and 
made effective January 1, 2009. 

(PA 08-147, effective January 
1, 2009) 

 
LABOR 

 
Unemployment Benefits for 
Military Spouses 
 

A new law makes permanent a 
military spouse’s eligibility for 
unemployment compensation if 
he or she voluntarily leaves a job 
to accompany a spouse who 
must to relocate for active-duty 
service in the U.S. Armed Forces.   

(PA 08-40, effective July 1, 
2008)  

 
Minimum Wage Increase 

 
The legislature raised the 

state minimum hourly wage from 
$7.65 to $8.00, beginning 
January 1, 2009, and to $8.25 
beginning January 1, 2010.  

(PA 08-92, effective October 1, 
2008 (Vetoed))  

 
Minors in the Workplace 
  

The legislature reauthorized 
15-year-olds to work as baggers, 
cashiers, or stock clerks in retail 
businesses under the same 
conditions that applied before a 

prior authorization expired in 
2007.   

(PA 08-108, upon passage)  
 

Minimum Wage Tip Credit 
 
Effective January 1, 2009, the 

legislature increased the 
minimum wage tip credit for 
hotel and restaurant employers 
from 8.2% to 11% for bartenders 
and from 29.3% to 31% for 
waiters, waitresses, and other 
service workers.   

(PA 08-113, effective October 
1, 2008) 

 
Electronic Unemployment 
Compensation Tax Payments 

 
Starting with the first 

calendar quarter of 2009, a new 
law requires electronic payment 
of unemployment compensation 
taxes or payments in lieu of these 
taxes.  

(PA 08-60, effective October 1, 
2008)  
 
Employment Regulation Law 
Violations 

 
A new law imposes the same 

$300 civil penalty on employment 
regulation law violations that 
currently applies to wage and 
workers’ compensation law 
violations.  

(PA 08-75, effective upon 
passage) 
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Construction Safety 
 
Among other things, the 

legislature extended construction 
safety requirements to all 
qualifying public works projects, 
including sewage and water 
treatment plants, site work, road 
and bridge work, parking lots, 
drainage systems, and other 
public projects. These 
requirements apply to repair and 
renovations projects costing 
$100,000 or more and new 
construction projects costing 
$400,000 or more.  

(PA 08-83, effective January 
1, 2009)  
 
Jurors 

 
A new law defines a day’s 

work for jury duty.  It specifies 
that an employee who serves 
eight hours of jury duty in a day 
is considered to have a worked a 
legal day’s work and prohibits 
the employer from requiring the 
employee to work more than 
eight hours. Violations constitute 
criminal contempt subject up to 
30 days in prison, a fine of up to 
$500, or both.  

(PA 08-103, October 1, 2008) 
 

Automatic Enrollment in 
Retirement Plans 

 
The legislature permitted an 

employer to withhold a portion of 
an employee’s wages and invest it 
in an automatic enrollment 
retirement plan under certain 
conditions. The law allows 
employers to deduct a certain 

percentage of an employee's 
salary to invest in an automatic 
retirement plan unless the 
employee opts out of the plan or 
chooses to make contributions in 
a different amount.  It specifies 
that the employer or other plan 
official who makes investment 
decisions on behalf of a 
participating employee is not 
liable for such decisions if certain 
requirements are met. 

(PA 08-118, effective October 
1, 2008) 

 
Permanent Labor Law 
Enforcement Commission 

 
A new law establishes a 

permanent commission to 
address the problem of employers 
that misclassify employees to 
avoid complying with state and 
federal labor, employment, and 
tax laws. The commission’s 
members include the labor 
commissioner and the attorney 
general.  

(PA 08-156, effective July 1, 
2008) 

 
LAND USE AND ENVIRONMENT  

 
Recycling Covered Electronic 
Device 

 
A new law changes the way 

televisions manufacturers are 
billed for their share of recycled 
televisions and delays, by six 
months, the implementation of 
the state’s recycling program. 

(PA 08-35, October 1, 2008 
for the billing changes and July 
1, 2008 for the implementation 
delay) 
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Global Warming 

 
A new law mandates 

reduction in state green gas 
emissions and makes changes 
designed to help the state achieve 
these reductions.   

(PA 08-98, effective October 1, 
2008) 
 
Environmental Justice 
Communities  

 
A new law identifies 

“environmental justice 
communities” and requires 
applicants seeking state approval 
for electric generating, waste 
treatment, and other similar 
facilities to engage the public and 
consult with municipal officials 
in these communities.   

(PA 08-94, effective January 
1, 2009) 

 
Open Space Land Donations 

 
A new law extends the carry-

forward period for unused 
corporation tax credits for 
donating open space land from 
15 to 25 years. 

(PA 08-179, effective July 1, 
2008) 

 
TAXES AND FEES 

 
Continuation of Water Liens 

 
The legislature extended, from 

one to two years, the time that a 
lien for delinquent municipal 
water rates and charges runs 
before it must be continued by 

filing a certificate with the town 
clerk in the same way as a tax 
lien.  

(PA 08-43, effective October 1, 
2008) 

 
JR:ts 


