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NOTICE TO READERS 
 
This report provides brief highlights of new laws (public acts) affecting 

seniors enacted during the 2005 regular and June special sessions.  At 
the end of each summary we indicate the public act (PA) number.  A 
number of the changes were made as part of several large acts that are 
commonly known as “the budget act” (PA 05-251, formerly HB 6940), the 
“DSS/DPH Implementer” (PA 05-280, formerly HB 7000), the “OPM 
Implementer” (PA 05-3, June Special Session, formerly HB 7502), and 
the “transportation bonding act” (PA 05-4, June Special Session, formerly 
SB 2000). 

 
Not all provisions of the acts are included here.  Complete summaries 

of all 2005 public acts will be available in the fall when OLR’s Public Act 
Summary book is published; some are already on OLR’s webpage:  
http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/OLRPASumsER.asp 

 
Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest 

them from the Connecticut State Library, the House Clerk’s Office, or the 
General Assembly’s website: http://www.cga.ct.gov/ 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/OLRPASumsER.asp
http://www.cga.ct.gov/
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PRESCRIPTION DRUGS 

 
State Response To Federal 
Medicare Part D Prescription 
Plans  
 

A new state law makes a 
number of changes in 
prescription coverage for the 
Connecticut Pharmaceutical 
Assistance Contract to the 
Elderly and Disabled (ConnPACE) 
and dually eligible Medicare-
Medicaid participants in 
response to the upcoming 
permanent federal Medicare Part 
D prescription program.  These 
changes will affect participants 
once the federal program starts 
in January 2006. 

Federal Part D allows 
Medicare beneficiaries to enroll in 
private prescription plans that 
must offer at least a specified 
“standard” benefit package.  
People with low incomes and 
assets and those eligible for both 
Medicare and Medicaid (the 
“dually eligible”) will receive extra 
federal help with deductibles, 
premiums, copays, and coverage.  
The plans only cover prescription 
drugs designated or treated as  
“Medicare Part D covered drugs” 
and, to some extent, they can 
choose which of these they will 
put on their formularies. 

 
ConnPACE.  PA 05-280 

requires ConnPACE participants 
to (1) enroll in a Part D plan 
(enrollment can begin in 

November but benefits start in 
January); (2) disclose their 
income and assets to the 
Department of Social Services 
(DSS) to determine their 
eligibility for the extra federal 
help; and (3) appoint the DSS 
commissioner as their authorized 
representative to enroll them in a 
plan if they do not choose one in 
time and represent them in Part 
D appeals. 

It coordinates ConnPACE 
benefits with Part D so that 
participants do not pay more 
than ConnPACE’s $30 annual 
registration fee and $16.25 per-
prescription copayment for drugs 
that are (1) preferred drugs on 
their plan’s formulary or (2) not 
designated a Part D covered 
drug.  ConnPACE participants 
may pay less than the $16.25 
copay if their federal copays are 
lower.  But they may have to pay 
the difference between DSS’s 
payment and the price of a drug 
that is on the formulary but not a 
preferred drug.  DSS generally 
will pay nothing for Part D 
covered drugs that are not on a 
plan’s formulary.  But under a 
federal exception procedure, if 
the client or DSS appeals and 
wins, the plans and DSS could 
treat and pay for drugs not on 
the formulary as though they 
were on it. 

DSS will pay ConnPACE 
participants’ Part D monthly 
premiums.  It will cover drugs to 
the same extent as otherwise 
during the federal deductible 
period and the gap in the 
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“standard” benefit.  The standard 
benefit, after a $250 annual 
deductible, pays 75% of the drug 
costs up to $2,250 and then pays 
nothing  (the gap) until total drug 
costs reach $5,100, after which it 
generally pays 95%. 

   
Medicare-Medicaid Dually 

Eligible.  Consistent with the 
federal law, dual eligibles will no 
longer receive Medicaid benefits 
for Part D covered drugs, even if 
they are not on the plan’s 
formulary.  For drugs on a 
formulary, Medicare copays for 
this group will be $1 to $5 
depending on income and drug 
type (generic, preferred, or other).  
Participants will not have to pay 
premiums or deductibles and will 
not be subject to the coverage 
gap.  Medicaid continues to cover 
their drugs that are not Part D 
covered drugs.  Dually eligible 
nursing home residents will not 
have copays. 
(PA 05-280, effective July 1, 
2005). 
 
ConnPACE Replacement 
Prescriptions Copay  
 

New legislation subjects 
replacement prescriptions to the 
usual ConnPACE copay 
(generally up to $16.25).  Last 
year, PA 04-104 allowed 
ConnPACE participants to obtain 
replacements for lost, destroyed, 
or stolen prescription drugs up to 
twice a year and exempted them 
from the copay requirement.  
This act continues the authority 
for the program to provide 

replacements, but removes the 
copay exemption for them.  DSS 
had not yet implemented the 
exemption. 
(PA 05-280, effective July 1, 
2005) 
 
Prior Authorization (PA) for 
Prescription Drugs in DSS 
Drug Assistance Programs  
 

The act changes the frequency 
of PA in DSS’ Medicaid, State-
Administered General Assistance 
(SAGA) and ConnPACE drug 
assistance programs.  It makes 
PA for a brand name drug valid 
for one year from the date the 
prescription is first filled.  And it 
eliminates DSS’s authority to 
require PA for drugs costing $500 
or more for a 30-day supply.  

By law, DSS must generally 
require PA for brand name drugs 
when a chemically-equivalent 
substitute is available and for 
early refills of drugs covered by its 
drug assistance programs cover.  
Under prior law, PA was required 
only for the initial prescription.  
But the PA plan, which prior law 
established but the act eliminates, 
was developed to carry out PA and 
applied a more narrow 
interpretation.  It essentially said 
that PA lasted for the lifetime of 
the therapy unless another 
chemically equivalent generic was 
subsequently approved by the 
Food and Drug Administration.  
And for non-maintenance drugs, 
the plan required PA every six 
months.  Prescriptions for less 
than a 15-day supply are never 
subject to PA.  
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(PA 05-280, effective on passage, 
but July 1, 2005 for the one-year 
PA validity) 
 
Preferred Drug Lists 

 
The act allows, rather than 

requires, DSS to adopt preferred 
drug lists for Medicaid,  
ConnPACE, and SAGA in 
consultation with the Medicaid 
Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics 
Committee.  It also removes 
“Medicaid” from the committee’s 
name to be consistent with its 
broader responsibilities and 
requires the committee to include 
physicians with broader 
experience serving recipients of 
medical assistance, instead of 
just the Medicaid program.  
Prescriptions for drugs not on the 
lists need PA except for mental 
health-related and antiretroviral 
drugs.  The act specifies that this 
exemption applies to classes of 
antiretroviral drugs.  PA for a 
drug not on the preferred drug 
list, if granted, will be valid for 
one year from the date the 
prescription is first filled.   
(PA 05-280, effective July 1, 
2005) 
 
Pharmacy Outreach Program 

 
This act establishes the 

Pharmacy Outreach Program 
administered by participating 
manufacturers.   The program is 
to (1) help qualified state 
residents obtain reduced or no-
cost medicine from participating 
manufacturers and (2) educate 
residents about programs 

available in Connecticut relating 
to such medicine, through, 
among other means, a statewide 
toll-free telephone number.  The 
act requires DSS to oversee the 
program.  (The program is not 
aimed specifically at seniors but 
may be of interest to them.) 
(PA 05-269, effective on passage) 
 
Prescription Drug 
Reimportation Study 

 
The act sets up a working 

group to study whether the state 
should contract for development 
of a prescription drug purchasing 
program or enter into an existing 
program that allows Connecticut 
residents to purchase drugs 
through pharmacies in Canada 
or other countries.  The group 
includes the public health, 
consumer protection, and DSS 
commissioners;, the Public 
Health Committee chairmen; the 
attorney general, an Office of 
Policy and Management (OPM) 
representative, and any other 
person the health commissioner 
and Public Health Committee 
chairmen deem necessary.  Its 
reporting deadline is January 1, 
2006.  The study must assess 
various safety, quality, 
affordability, and legal issues, as 
well as examine and make 
recommendations concerning the 
parameters of a request for 
proposal to implement such a 
program.  
(PA 05-280, effective upon 
passage; PA 05-3, June Special 
Session, effective July 1, 2005) 
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DEPARTMENT ON AGING 
REESTABLISHMENT 

 
This act reestablishes a 

Department on Aging on January 
1, 2007.  Connecticut had such a 
department from 1969 to 1993, 
when it was disbanded and most 
of its functions were merged into 
DSS.  The act also creates a task 
force to make further 
recommendations on revising the 
statutes to implement the 
change.   
(PA 05-280, effective January 1, 
2007 for creation of the 
department and July 1, 2005 for 
the task force) 

COMMISSION ON AGING MOVE  

Another act moves the 
independent Commission on 
Aging to the legislative branch for 
administrative purposes only.  It 
was previously located in DSS for 
such purposes.  The commission 
advocates for elderly people, 
conducts public hearings, issues 
various reports, disseminates 
information, and makes 
recommendations on elderly 
issues.  The legislature 
established the commission in 
1993 when it disbanded the 
former Department on Aging and 
folded its program functions into 
the Division of Elderly Services in 
DSS. 

The act adds the chairmen 
and ranking members of the 
Select Committee on Aging as ex 
officio non-voting commission 
members and six new voting 

members, appointed by 
legislative leaders.  It also: 

1. requires the commission’s 
chairperson to be elected 
from among its members 
instead of selected by the 
governor; 

2. requires the commission 
to meet regularly with 
state agency 
representatives to review 
and comment on their 
policies and procedures 
concerning the elderly; 

3. requires the commission 
to review and comment on 
the budget of DSS’s Unit 
on Aging instead of its 
Division of Elderly 
Services (which was 
recently subsumed under 
a larger Bureau of Aging, 
Community, and Social 
Work Services); and  

4. allows the commission to 
enter into contracts. 

(PA 05-77, effective July 1, 2005) 

LONG-TERM CARE POLICY 

Long-Term Care Policy 
Statement 

 
This act requires the state’s 

long-term care plan and policy, 
developed by the Long-Term Care 
Planning Committee, to provide 
that people who need long-term 
care can choose to receive it in 
the least restrictive, appropriate 
setting.  This is consistent with a 
1999 U.S. Supreme Court 
decision that ruled states cannot 
discriminate against people with 
disabilities by offering them long-
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term care services only in 
institutions when they could be 
served in the community, given 
state resources and other 
citizens' long-term care needs 
(Olmstead v. L.C. , 119 S. Ct. 
2176).   

The interagency Long-Term 
Care Planning Committee, 
created in 1998, studies  issues 
related to long-term care for the 
elderly and people with 
disabilities.  The committee must 
issue a long-term care plan every 
three years; it completed the 
most recent one in 2004.  By law, 
the plan is a guide for state 
agencies’ programs serving 
people who need long-term care.  
(PA 05-14, effective October 1, 
2005)   
 
Duties of a Conservator Who 
Places A Ward In A Long-Term 
Care Institution  
 

This act requires a 
conservator to file a report with 
the probate court that appointed 
him when he determines it is 
necessary to place his ward in a 
long-term care institution (a 
skilled nursing facility or 
intermediate care facility).  The 
report must state: 

1. the basis for the 
conservator’s decision; 

2. what community 
resources have been 
considered, including 
those offered through area 
aging agencies; the 
departments of Social 
Services, Mental Health 
and Addiction Services, 

and Mental Retardation; 
the Office of Protection 
and Advocacy for Persons 
with Disabilities; 
independent living 
centers; residential care 
homes; and congregate or 
subsidized housing;  and 

3. why the ward’s physical, 
mental, and psychosocial 
needs cannot be met in a 
less restrictive and more 
integrated environment.   

The act requires the 
conservator to place the ward 
before filing the report if the 
placement results from the 
ward’s discharge from a hospital 
or if irreparable injury to his 
mental or physical health or 
financial or legal affairs would 
result from filing the report 
before placement.  In these 
circumstances, the conservator 
must (1) file the report within five 
days after making the placement 
and (2) include a statement 
about the hospital discharge or a 
description of the irreparable 
injury that placement averted.  In 
other circumstances, the 
conservator must file the report 
before making the placement. 

In either case, the act requires 
notice and an opportunity for a 
hearing within 30 days (the court 
can also hold such a hearing 
even without a request).  If the 
court then decides the ward’s 
needs can be met in a less 
restrictive and more integrated 
setting within his resources, 
either through his estate or 
private or public assistance, it 
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must order him placed and 
maintained in such a setting. 
(PA 05-155, effective October 1, 
2005) 

 
Temporary Conservators 
 

Another act limits temporary 
conservators’ powers.  It restricts 
the probate court's authority to 
appoint them and requires it to 
hold a hearing within 72 hours of 
making an ex parte (without 
advance notice and a hearing) 
appointment.  

Restricting Power To 
Relocate Ward. The act allows 
temporary conservators to 
relocate their wards only after 
attending a court hearing and 
obtaining a court ruling that the 
relocation is necessary, except for 
nursing home placements.  They 
may place wards in nursing 
homes when necessary, under 
generally the same conditions 
and with the same reporting 
requirements described above for 
permanent conservators. 

Conditions of Appointment.  
By law, interested parties may 
apply to the probate court, 
accompanied by medical 
documentation, to place people 
unable to take care of their own 
financial or health care needs 
under conservatorship.  
Temporary conservators are 
appointed in cases involving 
potential irreparable harm.  The 
act adds a condition that the risk of 
irreparable harm must be immediate.  
It requires the probate court to limit 
the temporary conservator's powers 

to the circumstances that gave rise to 
the application and to make specific 
findings to justify these limitations. 
In doing so, it must consider (1) the 
present and previously expressed 
wishes of the ward; (2) previous 
appointments of attorneys-in-fact, 
health care agents, or other 
fiduciaries; (3) other support services 
available to the ward; and (4) other 
relevant evidence.  Temporary 
conservators serve for up to 60 
days or until a permanent 
conservator is appointed, 
whichever occurs first.  

Ex Parte Appointments.  By 
law, probate courts may appoint 
a temporary conservator without 
prior notice to the ward and 
without appointing him legal 
counsel (ex parte).  The act 
restricts this procedure to 
situations where the court 
decides the delay resulting from 
giving notice and appointing the 
counsel would cause immediate 
and irreparable injury to the 
ward's physical health or 
financial or legal affairs.  On the 
appointment decree, the court 
must specifically state the injury 
that formed the basis for its 
decision and give reasons why it 
did not require a hearing with 
appointed counsel.  

When the court makes an ex 
parte appointment, the act 
requires it to hold a hearing 
within 72 hours, excluding 
weekends and holidays, with 
appropriate hearing notice.  After 
the hearing, the act requires, 
rather than allows, the court to 
confirm or revoke the 
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conservator's appointment.  It 
also permits the court to modify 
the conservator's assigned 
duties, responsibilities, or 
powers. 
(PA 05-154, effective on passage) 

MEDICAID CHANGES 

Repeal of Medicaid Long-Term 
Care Transfer of Assets Waiver 
Request 
 

The act repeals a 2000 law 
that directed the DSS 
commissioner to seek a federal 
Medicaid waiver to allow her to 
make the start date later for 
long-term care asset transfer 
penalties and other provisions 
related to the waiver.  DSS 
submitted the waiver request in 
2002, but it was never approved 
and the governor announced 
recently that she would withdraw 
the request. 

These penalties apply when 
people transfer assets for less 
than fair market value solely to 
qualify for Medicaid long-term 
care within 36 months before 
applying.  Under federal law, the 
penalty period (i.e., period of 
Medicaid ineligibility) starts from 
the date the asset is transferred. 
Under the 2000 law, if the waiver 
had been approved, the penalty 
period would have started on the 
date the applicant was 
determined otherwise eligible for 
Medicaid. 

The act also repeals 
provisions related to the waiver 
that would have allowed the 
commissioner to (1) increase the 

look-back period for home 
property transfers from three 
years to five years and (2) 
establish asset thresholds below 
which DSS would not scrutinize 
transfers.  
(PA 05-209, effective on passage; 
PA 05-280, effective on passage) 
 
Prior Authorization for 
Chronic Disease Hospital 
Stays 
 

This act requires the DSS 
commissioner to establish PA 
procedures for admissions and 
lengths of stay for Medicaid–
eligible individuals who might 
require care in chronic disease 
hospitals.  
(PA 05-209, effective July 1, 
2005) 
 
Disease Management Program 
 

The same act permits, instead 
of requires, the DSS 
commissioner to design a care 
enhancement and disease 
management initiative for high-
cost Medicaid recipients and 
implement it if she determines 
that it will be cost-effective.  The 
commissioner has not yet 
implemented a program.   
(PA 05-209, effective July 1, 
2005)  

NURSING HOMES 

Nursing Home Provider Tax 
 
The act imposes a provider tax 

(also called a “nursing home 
resident user fee”) on the state’s 
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nursing homes.  It directs the 
DSS commissioner to file an 
amendment to the Medicaid State 
Plan to implement the fee and 
seek a federal Medicaid waiver to 
enable her to exempt continuing 
care retirement communities 
from the fee and charge certain 
homes a lower fee.  

It increases rates the state 
pays in FY 06 to nursing homes, 
intermediate care facilities for 
people with mental retardation 
(ICF-MR), home health care 
agencies, home care agencies, 
personal care attendants, assisted 
living services agencies, residential 
care homes, and various private 
providers in DMHAS, DMR, 
Judicial Department, and DCF 
grant funded programs — all 
contingent on the nursing home 
fee’s implementation and the 
availability of federal Medicaid 
matching funds.  
(PA 05-251, effective July 1, 
2005; PA 05-280, effective July 
1, 2005) 
 
Fire Sprinklers in Nursing 
Homes 

 
This act extends the deadline 

for nursing homes to install 
automatic fire extinguishing 
systems, expands reporting 
requirements, and adds employee 
fire training requirements.  
Under prior law, each nursing 
home had to have such a system 
approved by the state fire 
marshal on each floor by July 1, 
2005.  The act extends the 
deadline to July 31, 2006, 

specifies that the system should 
be complete, and requires it to be 
installed throughout the home 
instead of on each floor.  It 
requires the Connecticut Health 
and Educational Facilities 
Authority (CHEFA) to create and 
administer a loan program to 
help pay for the installation cost. 
(PA 05-187, effective on passage, 
except the CHEFA requirements 
take effect July 1, 2005; PA 05-
272, effective on passage) 

 
Strike Contingency Plans 
 

By law, when a health care 
institution receives a strike 
notice from a labor organization 
representing its employees, the 
institution must file a strike 
contingency plan with the 
Department of Public Health 
(DPH) commissioner. This act 
requires the plan to be filed no 
later than five days before the 
scheduled strike, rather than 
immediately after receiving a 
strike notice.  

The act allows the 
commissioner to issue a 
summary order to any nursing 
home failing to file a contingency 
plan by the deadline.  The order 
must require the home to 
immediately file a plan complying 
with the act and DPH 
regulations.  A home can be 
subject to a civil penalty of up to 
$10,000 for each day of 
noncompliance.  

The act requires the 
commissioner to adopt 
regulations (1) establishing strike 
contingency plan requirements, 
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including requiring the plan to 
document that the institution 
has arranged for adequate 
staffing and security, food, 
pharmaceuticals, and other 
essential supplies and services to 
meet patients' needs if there is a 
strike and (2) for imposing the 
civil penalty on a nursing home.  
(PA 05-172, effective October 1, 
2005) 

HOME AND COMMUNITY-
BASED CARE 
 
Asset Cap Increase For State-
Funded Home Care Program  

 
Starting April 1, 2007, asset 

limits will increase for seniors in 
the state-funded side of the 
Connecticut Home Care Program 
for Elders (CHCPE).  These limits 
are currently $19,020 for an 
individual and $28,530 for a 
couple, which respectively, 
represent 100% and 150% of the 
minimum federal “community 
spouse protected amount” (CSPA) 
of assets that a Medicaid-eligible 
nursing home resident's spouse 
living in the community can 
keep.  

The act increases these caps 
to 150% and 200% of the CSPA.  
The increase would result in new 
asset limits of $28,530 for single 
people and $38,040 for married 
couples if it were in effect in 
2005.  But since the federal 
government adjusts the CSPAs 
annually for inflation, the limits 
will likely be somewhat higher by 
2007, when the change takes 
effect. 

The CHCPE provides home- 
and community-based care to 
seniors age 65 and over who 
would otherwise be at risk of 
going to a nursing home, meet 
certain financial conditions, and 
have incomes too high for regular 
Medicaid in the community.  The 
program has a Medicaid waiver-
funded portion and a solely state-
funded portion with different 
asset limits. 
(PA 05-280, effective July 1, 
2005) 
 
Elderly Personal Care 
Assistance Pilots 
Consolidation and Expansion 

 
This act increases, from 100 

to 150, the number of seniors 
who may participate in the state-
funded Personal Care Assistance 
(PCA) pilot program created in 
2004, but not yet implemented. 
And it repeals a PCA pilot 
established in 2000 for seniors 
either (1) transitioning off the 
state’s Medicaid waiver PCA 
program for younger adults with 
disabilities or (2) eligible for 
CHCPE but unable to access 
adequate home care services. 
(The DSS commissioner had 
administratively expanded that 
pilot from 50 to 100 people in 
2004.)  People in the repealed 
pilot will become part of the new, 
less restrictive, 150-person pilot. 

 Under the new pilot, 
participants will still have to be 
age 65 or older and meet the 
CHCPE eligibility requirements.  
But the program will not be 
restricted to those aging out of 
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the Medicaid program for 
younger disabled people or 
otherwise unable to find 
adequate home care.  And family 
members other than spouses will 
be allowed to serve as the PCA. 
The commissioner must 
determine that such services are 
cost-effective.  
(PA-209, effective on passage) 
 
Home Health Services Prior 
Authorization 
 

The act requires the DSS 
commissioner to establish PA 
procedures in the Medicaid 
program for home health services 
involving more than two weekly 
skilled nursing visits.  PA will not 
be required more than once a 
month unless there are changes. 
(PA 05-280, effective July 1, 
2005) 

 
Nursing Oversight of Patients 
Receiving Home Health Care 
 

New legislation directs that 
any state regulations defining 
minimum service quality 
standards for home health care 
agencies and homemaker-home 
health aide agencies require a 
registered nurse (RN) to visit and 
assess each patient receiving 
homemaker-home health aide 
services at least once every 60 
days, consistent with federal 
guidelines.  The RN must 
complete the assessment while 
the aide is providing services in 
the patient’s home.  Current 
state regulations require a more 
frequent assessment (at least 

every four weeks), but do not 
specify that the assessment must 
be done by an RN, or that it must 
be done at the home while the 
aide is there.   
(PA 05-64, effective on passage) 
  
Nursing Home Diversion or 
Discharge Medicaid Waiver  
 

The act requires the DSS and 
Department of Mental Health and 
Addiction Services (DMHAS) 
commissioners to convene a task 
force by July 1, 2005 to develop a 
feasibility plan to obtain a federal 
waiver to create a Medicaid-
financed home and community-
based pilot program to help 
adults with severe and persistent 
psychiatric disabilities who are 
diverted or discharged from 
nursing homes.  The program 
can include housing assistance.  
The task force must report to the 
governor and General Assembly 
by January 1, 2006. 
(PA 05-280, effective on passage) 

TRANSPORTATION 

Municipal Dial-a-Ride Grants 
 
New legislation provides $5 

million out of transportation 
strategy bonds in both FY 06 and 
FY 07 for the municipal demand 
responsive (dial-a-ride) matching 
grant program for and those age 
60 and over and the disabled, 
which was established by the 
legislature in 1999 but never 
implemented for lack of funding. 
The program will allocate 
matching grants to 
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municipalities based on a 
formula with two equal factors: 
the municipality's relative share 
of the state's elderly population 
and its size compared to the total 
area of the state.  Municipalities 
must apply for the grants 
through a regional planning 
organization or transit district 
and must collaborate on service 
design to determine how to use 
the funding most effectively. 
(PA 05-4, June Special Session, 
effective July 1, 2005).  
 
Seed Money for Elderly 
Community-Based Regional 
Transportation Systems 

 
Another act requires DSS, as 

its budget permits, to provide 
$25,000 grants each in FY 06 to 
up to four towns with 
populations of at least 25,000 or 
nonprofit organizations located in 
them.  The grants are seed 
money for planning and 
developing financially self-
sustaining, community-based 
regional transportation systems 
that, through a combination of 
private donations and user fees, 
provide rides in passenger cars 
for seniors who can no longer 
drive.  Before receiving the grant, 
the town or entity must show 
that it has raised at least 
$25,000 in matching private 
funds.  The town must work 
cooperatively to develop the 
system with the regional 
planning agency of which it is a 
member. 

Under the act, a grantee 
must, to the extent practicable, 
model its community-based 
system on the “ITNAmerica” 
model.  ITNAmerica is a national 
nonprofit organization planning 
to replicate in other locations a 
model first developed by the 
Independent Transportation 
Network (ITN) in the Portland, 
Maine, area.  ITN obtains its 
operating funds through 
memberships in the organization; 
riders’ fares; and support from 
individuals, community 
businesses, and private 
foundations.  It uses a 
combination of volunteers and 
paid drivers to provide on-
demand, unrestricted 
transportation to seniors in 
passenger automobiles.     
(PA 05-280, effective on passage) 

HOUSING 

Elderly And Disabled Housing 
Issues  
 

New legislation addresses 
concerns about elderly and non-
elderly disabled people living in 
state-assisted elderly housing 
projects.  It requires (1) state 
social service agencies to assist 
local housing authorities to 
identify and access their services 
and (2) several agencies to 
develop plans detailing their 
outreach efforts, available 
services, and crisis intervention 
activities.  The act also requires a 
comprehensive assessment of 
rental assistance needs for state-
assisted elderly and disabled 
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housing projects and a 
comprehensive inventory of all 
state and federally assisted 
housing in the state. 

It also requires a number of 
reports to legislative committees, 
including one by February 1, 
2006 from the Department of 
Economic Development (DECD) 
to the Legislative Program Review 
and Investigations Committee.  
The report must describe DECD’s 
progress in a number of areas, 
such as revising the elderly and 
disabled housing operating 
manual, providing specified 
training to housing authorities, 
addressing security issues, 
reassessing resident service 
coordinators’ qualifications and 
duties at these housing projects, 
and planning for a statewide 
manager position for the resident 
service coordinator program in 
elderly and disabled housing. 
(PA 05-239, effective upon 
passage, except the requirement 
for the assisted housing 
inventory takes effect July 1, 
2005.) 
 
Resident Service Coordinators’ 
Training and Responsibilities  

 
This act expands and 

redefines the responsibilities of 
resident service coordinators 
(RSCs) in state-assisted elderly 
housing projects.  The act adds 
to RSCs' responsibilities the 
requirements that they (1) 
organize meetings and plan 
activities to promote residents’ 
socialization; (2) help orient new 
residents; and (3) establish and 

maintain relationships with 
community service providers, 
including linking residents to 
appropriate services.  It also 
requires them to (1) facilitate 
conflict resolution between 
residents, including between 
elderly and younger disabled 
residents, and (2) assist in 
problem solving.  DECD will 
convene monthly in-service 
training and information sharing 
meetings for them that cover 
information on the health care 
needs of seniors and people with 
disabilities, mediation and 
conflict resolution, and local and 
regional service resources.   

 
Supportive Housing  

 
Another act requires the 

Department of Mental Health and 
Addiction Services (DMHAS) 
commissioner to provide for up to 
500 additional units of 
affordable, supportive housing 
for people with mental illness.  
Such housing would be an 
alternative for people with mental 
illness or substance abuse 
problems who otherwise qualify 
for elderly housing.  These units 
are a second, “Next Steps,” phase 
of the Supportive Housing 
Initiative.  The first phase was 
instituted in 2001 to create 650 
units. 

Like the first phase, the Next 
Steps Initiative is funded through 
mortgages, tax credits, and 
grants from the Connecticut 
Housing Finance Authority and 
DECD; DSS rent subsidies; and 
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grants from various state 
agencies for support services.    

Under the act, Next Steps 
housing is for: 

1. people or families affected 
by psychiatric disabilities, 
chemical dependency, or 
both who are homeless or 
at risk of homelessness; 

2. families who are eligible 
for TFA; 

3. 18- to 23-year olds who 
are homeless or at risk of 
homelessness because 
they are transitioning out 
of foster care or other 
residential programs; and 

4. community-supervised 
offenders with serious 
mental health needs who 
are under Judicial Branch 
or the Correction 
Department jurisdiction. 

All of the units developed 
under the act must be 
permanent and can house 
individuals and families with or 
without special needs.   
(PA 05-280, effective July 1, 
2005, PA 05-3, June Special 
Session, effective July 1, 2005)  

CASH ASSISTANCE 

State Supplement Program 
(SSP) 

 
New legislation continues the 

current freeze on benefit 
payments for the State 
Supplement Program (SSP) for 
FYs 06 and 07, but, in 
calculating benefits, allows the 
pass-through of the annual 
federal Supplemental Security 

Income (SSI) cost-of-living (COLA) 
increase starting January 1, 
2006.  It does this by raising the 
SSP unearned income disregard 
(for example, $183 for people 
living in the community) by the 
federal COLA amount.  
Previously, SSP payments were 
reduced by whatever SSI COLAs 
beneficiaries received.  The SSP 
program, run by DSS, generally 
supplements cash assistance 
received under the SSI program.  
The amount of state aid is based 
on the person’s total needs, using 
DSS standards.  This amount is 
then compared to the individual’s 
income, and the difference after 
deductions are taken is the 
benefit.  
(PA 05-243, effective on passage; 
PA 05-280, effective July 1, 
2005.) 

INSURANCE 

Nutmeg Health Partnership 
Insurance Plan Study  

 
This act requires the 

Insurance and Real Estate 
Committee to study creation of a 
“Nutmeg Health Partnership 
Insurance Plan,” a public-private 
partnership to (1) increase the 
number of residents with health 
insurance, (2) provide broader 
health care access, and (3) make 
health care more affordable.  By 
February 1, 2006, the committee 
must develop a plan to achieve 
these goals and report to the 
General Assembly on its details 
and legislation to implement it.  
This program is not specifically 
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aimed at seniors, but it could 
help seniors who are not yet 
eligible for Medicare (age 65).  
(PA 05-280, effective July 1, 
2005) 

 
Medicare Supplement Policies 

 
This act revises state Medicare 

supplement policy requirements 
to reflect changes that take effect 
January 1, 2006 as a result of 
the 2003 federal law that creates 
Medicare Part D prescription 
drug coverage for seniors. 

A Medicare supplement policy 
(also referred to as “Medigap”) is 
a health insurance policy that 
covers some of the health care 
costs that Medicare does not 
cover.  Currently, there are 10 
standard Medicare supplement 
policies called plans “A” through 
“J.” Plan A covers only basic 
benefits.  Plans B through J offer 
additional benefits, with Plan J 
offering the most.  The federal 
law creates two new plans: K and 
L.  Plan K will cover 50% of the 
cost-sharing required under 
Medicare Parts A and B and limit 
out-of-pocket expenses to 
$4,000, adjusted annually for 
inflation.  Plan L will cover 75% 
of the cost-sharing and limit out-
of-pocket expenses to $2,000.  
The state act makes conforming 
changes. 

The federal law also prohibits 
private insurers from selling  new 
Medicare supplement plans with 
drug coverage (plans H, I, or J) 
after January 1, 2006.  If a 
person enrolls in such a 
Medicare supplement policy by 

December 31, 2005, he can keep 
it with the drug coverage if he 
does not enroll in Part D.  If he 
enrolls in Part D, he can keep the 
supplement policy but without 
the drug coverage.    

PA 05-20 prohibits an insurer 
from considering a person’s age, 
gender, claim history, or medical 
condition when deciding to 
accept or reject an application for 
coverage under a Medicare 
supplement policy, except for 
plans H, I, and J issued before 
January 2006, which can 
consider claims history and 
medical condition.  

It also removes insurers’ 
authority to consider claims 
history and medical condition 
when setting rates for plans H, I, 
and J.  In effect, this requires 
“community rating” for all 
Medicare supplement plans, 
since the others already had to 
use this method.  (Community 
rating uses a uniform rate for all 
enrollees, regardless of their 
claims history or medical 
condition.)  
(PA 05-20, effective July 1, 2005) 
 
Protecting Seniors In Annuity 
Transactions 
 

This act requires the 
insurance commissioner to adopt 
regulations to establish (1) 
standards for selling to, or 
exchanging annuities with, 
senior consumers (age 65 or 
older) and (2) procedures for 
making annuity sales or 
exchange recommendations to 
them.  In the case of a purchase 
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by more than one person, the 
purchaser is considered a senior 
consumer if one of them is age 
65 or older. 

By law, “annuities” are 
agreements to make periodic 
payments where all or some of 
the payments depend on a 
person’s continued life or a 
specified number of years.  
(PA 05-57, effective on passage) 
 
Coverage for Comprehensive 
Breast Ultrasounds 
 

This act requires individual 
and group health insurance 
policies to cover a physician-
recommended comprehensive 
ultrasound screening of an entire 
breast or breasts for a woman 
classified in certain categories on 
the American College of 
Radiology’s Breast Imaging 
Reporting and Database System 
(BI-RADS), subject to any policy 
provisions applicable to other 
covered services. 
(PA 05-69 effective October 1, 
2005) 

A related act requires the 
Department of Public Health to 
review when breast cancer 
screening should be done using 
comprehensive ultrasound 
screening or mammogram 
examination and make best 
practices recommendations by 
January 1, 2006. 
(PA 05-272, effective October 1, 
2005) 

 

Extended Reporting Period 
Coverage Under Medical 
Malpractice Insurance Policies 

 
This act requires that under 

certain circumstances, 
professional liability insurance 
policies issued on a claims-made 
basis provide coverage for prior 
acts and unlimited extended 
reporting period coverage without 
additional charge to insured.  
The requirement applies if, while 
an insured is covered under the 
policy, (1) the insurer stops 
offering the policy in Connecticut 
for any reason and the insured is 
over the age of 55 and has been 
insured by the insurer for the 
seven consecutive years 
immediately preceding the 
discontinuance or (2) the insured 
dies, becomes permanently 
disabled and unable to carry out 
his or her practice, or retires 
permanently from practice. 
“Claims-made policy” means an 
insurance policy or a policy 
endorsement that covers liability 
for injury or damage the insured 
is legally obligated to pay arising 
out of incidents, acts, or 
omissions, as long as the claim is 
first made during the policy 
period or any extended reporting 
period.  The act applies to 
policies delivered, issued for 
delivery, or renewed in 
Connecticut on or after October 
1, 2005, to a physician or 
surgeon, advanced practice 
registered nurse, physician 
assistant, or hospital. 
(PA 05-103, effective October 1, 
2005) 
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TAXES 

Estate, Succession, And Gift 
Taxes 

 
The budget act eliminates the 

succession tax and gift taxes 
immediately instead of over 
several more years as required by 
prior law and replaces them with 
a uniform tax on transfers of 
Connecticut taxable gifts and 
estates that exceed a combined 
lifetime total of $2 million.  
Connecticut’s prior estate tax 
was effectively eliminated as of 
January 1, 2005 by a 2001 
federal law. 

The new transfer tax applies 
to: 

1. estates of people who die 
on or after January 1, 
2005 if (a) the estate’s 
taxable value exceeds $2 
million and (b) the person 
was either a Connecticut 
resident when he died or 
owned Connecticut real or 
personal property;  

2. gifts above the federal gift 
tax threshold (currently 
$11,000 per year, per 
recipient) made on or after 
January 1, 2005 that, in 
the aggregate over the 
donor’s life, exceed $2 
million; and  

3. a person’s estate, if the 
combined value of all the 
Connecticut taxable gifts 
he made after January 1, 
2005 and his taxable 
estate exceeds $2 million. 

A qualifying life income 
interest in property passing to a 

surviving spouse is not taxed 
until the spouse dies.  The act 
requires a Connecticut estate tax 
return to be filed for all estates, 
regardless of gross value, if the 
decedent (1) died on or after 
January 1, 2005 and (2) was a 
Connecticut resident or owned 
real or personal property in the 
state when he died.  
(PA 05-251, effective on passage.  
The new transfer tax applies to 
gifts made, and to estates of 
people who die, on or after 
January 1, 2005; the gift tax 
repeal applies to calendar years 
beginning on or after January 1, 
2005; and the succession tax 
repeal applies to estates of those 
who die on or after January 1, 
2005.) 

 
Maximum Property Tax Credit 

 
The budget act delays a 

scheduled increase in the 
maximum property tax credit 
against the income tax.  Instead 
of increasing to a maximum of 
$500 starting with the 2005 tax 
year, the act maintains the 
maximum credit at $350 through 
the 2005 tax year, and then 
increases it to $400. 
(PA 05-251, effective on passage 
and applicable to tax years 
starting on or after January 1, 
2005) 
 
Half of Military Retirement 
Income Exempt from State 
Income Tax 

 
The budget act exempts 50% 

of military retirement income 
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from state income tax starting 
with the 2008 tax year.  The 
exemption applies to federal 
retirement pay for retired 
members of the U.S. Army, Navy, 
Air Force, Marines, Coast Guard, 
and Army and Air National 
Guard.   
(PA 05-251, effective on passage 
and applicable to income years 
starting on or after January 1, 
2008)  

TEACHERS’ RETIREMENT 
BENEFITS 

 
 Participants in TRS Health 
Benefit Plans Required to be 
Medicare Part A Participants 

 
This act requires those 

receiving health benefits through 
plans offered by the Teachers’ 
Retirement Board (TRB) to be 
enrolled in, rather than just 
eligible for, Medicare Part A.  By 
law, the TRB must offer one or 
more health coverage plans to 
members of the Teachers’ 
Retirement System (TRS) 
receiving retirement or disability 
benefits from the system; their 
spouses or surviving spouses; 
and to their disabled dependents, 
if there is no spouse or surviving 
spouse.  Medicare Part A offers 
coverage for hospital stays and 
some other services. 
(PA 05-98, effective July 1, 2005) 

 

TRS Participation For 
Teachers and Professionals 
Employed By Children's Center 
Successor Organizations 

 
The act allows teachers and 

other certified professionals who 
work at the Children’s Center’s 
successor organizations to 
participate in the state TRS and 
to receive credit for their service 
with the successor organization.  
Teaching service at the 
Children’s Center itself is already 
covered by the TRS. 

The Children’s Center is a 
private agency in Hamden that 
offers residential and day 
programs for children with 
combinations of emotional and 
behavioral problems, learning 
disabilities, histories of physical 
or sexual abuse, or substance 
abuse and family dysfunctions.  
It operates Whitney Hall School, 
a state-accredited special 
education facility. 
(PA 05-99, effective July 1, 2005) 

MISCELLANEOUS 

Hospital Patients' Rights 
 
This act requires hospitals to 

notify each patient in writing, 
upon the patient's admission, of 
his specific rights under the 
hospital's conditions of 
participation in Medicare.  
Notification can be made to his 
guardian or representative.  The 
notice must also inform the 
patient on how to complain, 
including how to contact DPH.  
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(PA 05-128, effective October 1, 
2005) 
 
Senior Citizens’ Bingo 
 

This act increases, from $5 to 
$20, the maximum value of the 
prize or prizes that senior citizen 
organizations may award for 
senior citizens’ recreational 
bingo.  
(PA 05-11, effective on passage) 
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