
Office of Legislative Research 
Connecticut General Assembly 

 
 

 2004 ACTS AFFECTING REAL ESTATE  
 

   

 
 

 
 

  
 
 
 

By: 
Janet L. Kaminski, Associate Legislative Attorney 

 
2004-R-0547 
July 9, 2004 

 
 

 

 
Connecticut General Assembly 

Office of Legislative Research 

Mary M. Janicki, Director 
Phone (860) 240-8400 
FAX (860) 240-8881 
http://www.cga.state.ct.us/olr 

 

Room 5300 
Legislative Office Building 

Hartford, CT 06106-1591 
Olr@po.state.ct.us 

 



 
 
 

NOTICE TO READERS 
 
 
 
This report provides brief highlights of public acts affecting real estate 

enacted during the 2004 regular and special sessions.  
 
Not all provisions of the acts are included; readers are encouraged to 

obtain the full text of acts that interest them from the Connecticut State 
Library, the House Clerk’s office, or the General Assembly’s website (http: 
//www. cga. state. ct. us/default. asp). Complete summaries of all public 
acts passed in 2004 will be available in the fall when OLR’s Public Act 
Summary book is published; some are now available on the OLR website 
(http: //www. cga. state. ct. us/olr/publicactsummaries. asp) 

 
All acts summarized here are effective October 1, 2004, unless 

otherwise noted. 
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INFORMATION DISCLOSURES 

Disclosing Nonmaterial Facts  
 
A new law prohibits lawsuits 

against a real estate owner or 
agent for failing to disclose a 
“nonmaterial fact concerning real 
property”, which is a fact, set of 
facts, or circumstance 
surrounding real estate, that: (1) 
an occupant is or has been 
infected with a disease on the list 
of reportable diseases issued by 
the public health commissioner 
pursuant to law or (2) the 
property was at any time 
suspected to have been the site 
of a death or felony. The law also 
eliminates the ban against suits 
brought for failing to disclose 
that a property was 
psychologically impacted. (PA 04-
39) 

 
Nondisclosure of Tenant 
Information 

 
A new law prohibits any entity 

that buys all or a portion of a 
housing authority’s housing 
project from publicly disclosing a 
tenant’s Social Security or bank 
account number. It also prohibits 
a housing authority from 
disclosing this information to 
anyone, except the purchaser of 
a housing project that the 
housing authority owns, without 
the tenant’s permission. Violators 
can be fined up to $200. (PA 04-
119, effective upon passage) 

 
Notice of Contamination 

 
A new law requires the owner 

of a contaminated parcel of land, 
who has notified the Department 
of Environmental Protection as 
required by law, to post a notice 
of contamination in a 
conspicuous place on the 
affected property and in his place 
of business (if applicable) no later 
than five days after an activity 
begins that increases the 
likelihood of human exposure to 
known contaminants. Activities 
requiring posting include 
construction, demolition, 
significant soil disruption, or 
utilities installation. Landowners 
who fail to post the notices must 
pay a civil penalty of $100 per 
day for violations. (PA 04-134) 
 
Flood Hazard Disclosure 

 
A new law requires residential 

property condition reports to 
disclose information about flood 
hazards. These reports already 
must include information about 
lead, radon, subsurface sewage 
disposal, and other 
environmental information the 
consumer protection 
commissioner believes would 
interest buyers. By law, people 
offering residential real estate for 
sale, exchange, or lease must 
give prospective buyers the 
report before completing the 
transaction. (PA 04-144) 
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REAL ESTATE BROKERS 

 
Commercial Brokerage 
Agreements  

 
A new law sets conditions and 

requirements under which real 
estate brokers and salespeople 
licensed by other states, but not 
Connecticut, can handle 
commercial real estate 
transactions here. It also 
prohibits the out-of-state broker 
or salesperson from touring 
Connecticut commercial real 
estate with a prospective buyer. 
(PA 04-83) 

 
Real Estate Broker Liens  

 
A new law permits a real 

estate broker or his authorized 
agent, instead of just the broker, 
to sign a claim for a lien for the 
amount of his commission or 
compensation. A broker can 
claim a lien if he is unable to give 
the notice to the prospective 
buyer or tenant because, after 
due diligence and reasonable 
effort, he cannot learn his 
identity. (PA 04-131) 

 
PROPERTY INTERESTS 

 
Municipal Conservation 
Easements 

 
A new law specifies that the 

state, or any of its political 
subdivisions, may establish a 
conservation or preservation 
restriction on land it owns, in the 
same way the law already allows 

certain government bodies, 
charitable corporations, and 
trusts to establish them. (PA 04-
96, effective upon passage) 

 
Conveying Real Property to a 
Nonprofit 

 
A new law requires any deed 

or other instrument that conveys 
an interest in real estate to a 
nonprofit landholding 
organization to be signed by a 
duly authorized officer of the 
organization to indicate the 
organization’s acceptance. A 
conveyance includes a 
conservation restriction or 
easement. A violation of the law 
is an unfair or deceptive trade 
practice, punishable by a $500 
civil penalty. (PA 04-114) 
 
Recording Deeds and 
Contracts 

 
A new law (1) authorizes town 

clerks to record a certified copy of 
a deed or other instrument 
affecting real estate in their town, 
when the original was recorded 
in another town and (2) allows 
someone who has a contract to 
buy real estate to obtain a 
purchaser’s lien on it by 
recording on the land records of 
the town where the property is 
located a notice of contract 
rather than the contract itself. 
(PA 04-132) 



   
July 9, 2004 Page 6 of 8 2004-R-0547 

 

 
Condo Voting Requirements 

 
A new law clarifies certain 

voting requirements in 
condominiums and other 
common interest communities 
concerning the use of units and 
common elements. (PA 04-132) 

 
Mortgages 

 
For mortgages executed and 

recorded after September 30, 
2004, a new law increases from 
$1,000 to $5,000 the maximum 
amount a mortgagee (lender) can 
add to the mortgage debt for 
advancements for repairs, 
alterations, or improvements. (PA 
04-132) 

 
Subdivisions 

 
A new law modifies the 

exemption for lots shown on an 
approved residential subdivision 
plan from subsequent changes in 
the town’s zoning regulations or 
zoning map. It extends the 
provision to cover lots on 
approved resubdivision plans. 
Any construction on an improved 
lot covered by a plan must 
conform to zoning changes 
adopted after the lot is improved. 
A lot is considered improved once 
a building permit has been 
issued and a foundation has 
been completed under the 
permit. The requirement also 
applies if any existing structure 
on the lot is demolished. (PA 04-
210, effective upon passage) 

 
Sale of Land Next to a Water 
Supply 

 
A new law authorizes the 

public health commissioner to 
allow a water company to sell 
class I land  (land generally 
adjacent to water supplies) to a 
private nonprofit landholding 
conservation company if he does 
not permit the company to 
abandon a source it does not 
currently use or need. (PA 04-2, 
May 11 Special Session) 

 
COURT-RELATED 
REQUIREMENTS 

 
Service of Process for Land 
Use Appeals 

 
By law, service of process in 

most civil actions against a town, 
city, or borough board, 
commission, department, or 
agency is made by serving two 
copies on the town, city, or 
borough clerk. The clerk keeps 
one copy and forwards the other 
to the affected board, 
commission, department, or 
agency. A new law requires that 
service of process be made in the 
same manner for appeals to the 
Superior Court from decisions of 
a (1) municipal zoning 
commission, planning 
commission, combined planning 
and zoning commission, zoning 
board of appeals, inland  
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wetlands agency, or other land 
use board or commission or (2) a 
municipal chief elected official or 
his designee for certain littering 
or dumping violations. (PA 04-
78) 

 
Partition Actions 

 
By law, the Superior Court 

may order the sale of property 
owned by two or more people or 
entities, followed by a division of 
the proceeds, when one of the 
owners asks it to do so and the 
court determines it will promote 
the owners’ interests. A new law 
gives the court an additional 
option, allowing it to divide the 
property equitably among some 
of the owners and order the 
payment of just compensation to 
the other owner or owners who 
have only a minimal ownership 
interest in the property if it will 
better promote the owners’ 
interests. (PA 04-93) 

 
Condemnation Proceedings 

 
A new law requires the 

Department of Transportation 
(DOT) commissioner, rather than 
a Superior Court clerk, to notify 
landowners when the DOT has 
initiated condemnation 
proceedings affecting their land. 
(PA 04-127) 

 
Evictions 

 
A new law allows landlords to 

file eviction suits against week-
to-week tenants and discharged 
farm workers, servants, and 

other employees occupying 
employer-provided housing three 
days after giving them notice to 
quit the premises. (PA 04-127) 

 
New Milford Property Disputes 

 
A new law permits civil 

plaintiffs to file suit in the 
Danbury judicial district, rather 
than in Litchfield only, in cases 
in which any party resides or the 
property subject to the suit is 
located in New Milford. (PA 04-
127) 

 
TAXES 

 
Employee Relocation 
Conveyance Tax 

 
With some exceptions, a 

property seller must pay a real 
estate conveyance tax when he 
conveys the property deed to the 
buyer. This new law exempts 
employer and relocation company 
resales of residential property 
acquired through employee 
relocation plans from the tax if 
the resale occurs within six 
months after the date the 
employee conveyed the property 
to the employer or relocation 
company. (PA 04-154, effective 
July 1, 2004, and applicable to 
conveyances on or after that 
date) 
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Residences Sold for over 
$800,000 

 
By law, the state real estate 

conveyance tax rate on the sale 
of a home is 0.5% on the first 
$800,000 of the sale price and 
1% on any part of the price above 
that amount. This new law 
requires the tax to be calculated 
based on the home’s aggregate 
sale price, regardless of how 
many deeds or other documents 
the seller uses to convey it to the 
buyer. (PA 04-201, effective 
upon passage) 

 
Municipal Real Estate 
Conveyance Tax 

 
A new law (1) extends the 

expiration date of a temporary 
increase in the municipal real 
estate conveyance tax rate from 
0.11% to 0.25% from July 1, 
2004 to July 1, 2005 and (2) 
makes permanent an option 
allowing 18 towns to add 0.25% 
to the municipal tax rate. Under 
prior law, all higher rates were 
scheduled to expire on July 1, 
2004. The 18 towns are: 
Bloomfield, Bridgeport, Bristol, 
East Hartford, Groton, Hamden, 
Hartford, Meriden, Middletown, 
New Britain, New Haven, New 
London, Norwalk, Norwich, 
Southington, Stamford, 
Waterbury, and Windham. (PA 
04-216, effective upon passage) 

 
Tax Relief for Forest Owners 

 
By law, the “490 Program” 

provides farm, forest, and open-
space landowners with tax relief 
to reduce the financial pressure 
to convert their property to other 
uses. Property is assessed at its 
current use value, rather than its 
market value. A new law makes 
several changes in this tax relief 
program for owners of eligible 
forestland. For example, it 
eliminates the requirement that 
landowners apply to the state 
forester or that he render an 
opinion on the number and 
density of trees and their 
condition. Instead, it requires the 
Department of Environmental 
Protection to adopt, by June 1, 
2006, regulations setting forest 
stocking, distribution, and 
condition standards. The state 
forester can adopt interim 
standards. Under the law, land 
contiguous to a forestland tract 
owned by the same person can 
be classified as forestland only if 
it meets the new standards. (PA 
04-115, effective July 1, 2004) 
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