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NOTICE TO READERS

This report provides brief highlights of public and special acts
affecting children enacted during the 2004 regular and special sessions.

Not all provisions of the acts are included; readers are encouraged to
obtain the full text of acts that interest them from the Connecticut State
Library, the House Clerk's office, or the General Assembly's website (http:
/[ /www. cga. state. ct. us/default. asp). Complete summaries of all public
acts passed in 2004 will be available in the fall when OLR's Public Act
Summary book is published; some are now available on the OLR website
(http: //www. cga. state. ct. us/olr/publicactsummaries. asp)

All acts summarized here are effective October 1, 2004, unless
otherwise noted
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ABUSED AND NEGLECTED
CHILDREN

Short-Term Foster Care for
Adolescents

It is often difficult to find
foster care for adolescents. This
year, the legislature gave the
Department of Children and
Families (DCF) a new tool to use
in its efforts. It allowed the
agency to place an abused or
neglected child age 14 or older in
the home of anyone age 21 or
older even though the person is
not a licensed foster parent. DCF
can do so for up to 90 days
under the same conditions that it
can place a child with an
unlicensed relative. The new law
terms the people who accept
children under these
circumstances “special study
foster parents.”

Before placing a child with a
special study foster parent, DCF
must (1) determine it is in the
child’s best interest, (2) conduct
a satisfactory home visit, and (3)
complete a basic assessment of
the family. The special study
parent must also attest that
neither he nor any adult in the
household has been arrested or
convicted of a felony against a
person; risk of injury to, or
impairing the morals of, a minor;
or possessing, using, or selling a
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controlled substance. A special
study foster parent who accepts
a child for over 90 days must
become licensed as a foster
parent (PA 04-88, effective upon
passage).

Supportive Housing

This year’s budget added over
$2 million for DCF’s supportive
housing program, which provides
Section 8 housing vouchers and
intensive case management to
families with a parent recovering
from substance abuse (PA 04-
216, effective July 1, 2004).

Reports on Neglected Children
in DCF Custody

A new law requires DCF to
notify the legal guardian and
attorney of any child committed
to it as a delinquent within 10
days of receiving a report that the
child has been neglected. The law
already requires DCF to do this
in abuse cases. This act also (1)
changes the deadline for DCF to
notify these parties if it
substantiates an abuse report
from 10 days after the report is
received to 10 days after it is
substantiated and (2) applies this
deadline to neglect reports (PA
04-48).

Terminating Parents’ Rights

The legislature shortened,
from 30 to 20 days, the period
within which a court must hold a
hearing on a petition to terminate
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parental rights when a parent
consents to the termination. And
it shortened to 20 days the time
for appealing probate court
orders granting such petitions
(PA 04-128).

DAY CARE AND EARLY
CHILDHOOD EDUCATION

Child Care Subsidies

Connecticut’s recent budget
problems constricted its ability to
help people pay for childcare.
This year, the legislature
required the Department of
Social Services (DSS) to open
enrollment for its Care for Kids
subsidy program and administer
it within available budgetary
resources. It added working
families whose Temporary Family
Assistance (TFA) was
discontinued less than five years
before they apply for a subsidy to
those groups that DSS must give
priority for subsidies. And it
created a statutory requirement
for DSS to give priority to TFA
recipients who are working or
engaged in Jobs First
employment activities; DSS
regulations already placed these
families first in line for subsidies.
Working parents whose cash
benefits were discontinued within
six months of applying for child
care, teen parents, low-income
working families, and certain
others also receive priority (PA
04-258, effective July 1, 2004).
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School Readiness Staff
Qualifications and Grants

Quality staff are the key to
quality early childhood
education. A new law increases,
from nine to 12, the minimum
number of early childhood
education or child development
credits required for school
readiness staff who hold a
credential from an organization
approved by the education
commissioner. The increase
begins July 1, 2005. The act
also expands the qualifications of
people who may serve as school
readiness staff to include:

1. certified early childhood or
special education teachers
and

2. anyone with an associate’s
or bachelor’s degree who
has the required minimum
number of credits (that is,
nine credits until June 30,
2005 and 12 credits after
that), rather than a major,
in early childhood
education or child
development, (PA 04-15,
effective July 1, 2004).

Financing Early Education

Three new laws address
funding for school readiness and
other early childhood education
programs. One allows the
Connecticut Health and
Education Facilities Authority to
lend funds to towns, school
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boards, regional educational
service centers, and qualified
nonprofit organizations to enable
them to acquire, build, improve,
furnish, or equip a facility for
providing educational programs
for three- and four-year olds.
These programs include school
readiness and Head Start
programs (SB 801, May Special
Session).

Another (1) raises, from 50 to
70%, the amount of unused non-
competitive school readiness
grant funds the State
Department of Education (SDE)
can reallocate, instead of let
lapse, to create new program
slots and allows it to use the
remaining funds for professional
development; (2) increases, to
$6,400 from $5,891, the
maximum per child
reimbursement for the SDE
school readiness component of a
school readiness provider’s
program; and (3) increases the
maximum school readiness
program competitive grant by
$7,000 per priority school (PA
04-215, effective July 1, 2004).

The third new law extends the
school readiness competitive
grant program to Ashford,
Chaplin, Griswold, Sprague,
Sterling, and Thompson. These
towns are among the 28 poorest
in the state but are not
considered priority school
districts (PA 04-254, effective
July 1, 2004).
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HEALTH AND SAFETY
Medicaid Restoration

This year’s budget repealed
several cost-saving measures the
legislature imposed in 2003 on
families receiving Medicaid
assistance. It repealed required
co-payments for medical services
($3 maximum), prescriptions
($1.50) and monthly premiums
(set by each participating HMO).
It also repealed provisions that
required DSS to (1) seek federal
approval to allow pharmacies to
deny prescriptions to Medicaid
recipients who continuously fail
to pay their co-payments and (2)
run the Medicaid managed care
program (HUSKY A) in a way that
would make it substantially
similar to the “non-gatekeeper
point of enrollment plan” offered
to state employees (PA 04-216
and PA 04-258, effective July 1,
2004).

Insurance Coverage for
Nutritional Formula

Some children with inherited
metabolic disorders need special
food products and preparations,
and the law requires health
insurance policies to cover the
costs of such products and
preparations. A new law extends
coverage to amino acid modified
preparations and low-protein
modified food products
prescribed for treating cystic
fibrosis. It also requires health
insurance policies to cover (1)
medically necessary formula for
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children up to age eight, instead
of age three, and (2) food
products, preparations, and
specialized formulas on the same
basis as other outpatient
prescription drugs (PA 04-173).

Insurance for Adoptive Parents

The legislature has recently
enacted several laws to
encourage people to adopt foster
children. This year it passed one
that allows people who adopt
children from DCF custody to
purchase group health insurance
for themselves and their
dependents through the state.
They remain eligible for coverage
until the adopted child turns age
18 or, if he has not completed
high school, until he turns age
21. Parents who choose this
option must pay the full
premium cost (PA 04-53).

Medically Fragile Children

The General Assembly
approved $3 million in bonds this
year for a pilot project to provide
affordable housing and support
services to families with children
who have serious, chronic
medical conditions that require
ongoing, significant health care
services. The DCF commissioner
must collaborate with several
other agency heads to develop
the project (SB 801 and SB 803,
May Special Session).
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Underage Drinking

The legislature gave bars and
package stores a new defense
against the charge that they sold
liquor to minors. It allowed
liquor permittees, and their
agents and employees, to take a
picture of prospective purchasers
whose age they question and
make a photocopy of their
driver’s license or non-driver
photo identity card as a condition
of selling alcohol to them. If a
permittee, agent, or employee is
prosecuted for selling or giving
liquor to a minor, the new law
makes it an affirmative defense
that the individual did so in good
faith and in reasonable reliance
on the identification the minor
provided. It also limits how
information taken from the
photograph and photocopy may
be used (PA 04-230).

Background Checks for School
Personnel

A new law requires (1) nurses
who provide health services in a
public or private school to submit
to criminal background checks
even if they are not directly
employed by the local school
board or private school and (2)
regional education service
centers to arrange for
fingerprinting school personnel if
a State Board of Education-
approved academy or a special
education facility asks them to
(PA 04-181, effective on
passage).
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Norwich School-Based Health
Clinic

The legislature appropriated
$75,000 in FY 2004-05 to the
Department of Public Health
(DPH) for a school-based health
clinic in Norwich. (PA 04-258,
effective July 1, 2004)

JUSTICE SYSTEM
Crimes Against Children

Child Pornography. A new
act enhances penalties for
offenses involving child
pornography and using the
Internet to entice minors to
engage in sexual activity. Among
other provisions, it:

1. increases, from one to
three, the number of
pictures a person must
possess to be convicted of
importing child
pornography and increases
criminal penalties for this
crime;

2. creates graduated offense
levels and penalties based
on the amount of child
pornography possessed,;

3. requires sentences of
people convicted of child
pornography and
enticement offenses to
include between 10 and 35
years of probation, rather
than up to five years as
under prior law;
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4. bars people charged with
(a) second- or third-degree
possession of child
pornography or (b) enticing
a minor, from the pretrial
Accelerated Rehabilitation
program; and

5. requires people convicted
of enticement (including
those convicted before the
act’s effective date) and the
newly created child
pornography possession
offenses to register as sex
offenders and submit DNA
samples for 10 years.

(PA 04-139, effective October
1, 2004, except for the increased
criminal classification for
enticement crimes, which is
effective July 1, 2004)

Sexual Assaults on
Children. Children are
particularly vulnerable to adults
who they trust by virtue of the
work they do with them. The
General Assembly recognized the
harm caused when this trust is
violated by making it second- or
fourth-degree sexual assault for
anyone age 20 or older to have
sexual intercourse or sexual
contact, respectively, with a
person under age 18 if the
adult’s status in a program or
activity gives him power,
authority, or supervision over a
child participating in it.
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Second-degree sexual assault
is a class C felony unless the
victim is under age 16 in which
case it is a class B felony. A
class C felony is punishable by
up to 10 years’ imprisonment, up
to a $10,000 fine, or both. A
class B felony is punishable by
up to 20 years’ imprisonment, up
to a $15,000 fine, or both. Nine
months of the prison term cannot
be reduced or suspended.

Fourth-degree sexual assault
is a class A misdemeanor unless
the victim is under age 16 in
which case it is a class D felony.
A class A misdemeanor is
punishable by up to one year in
prison, a $2,000 fine, or both. A
class D felony is punishable by
up to five years’ imprisonment,
up to a $5,000 fine, or both (PA
04-130).

Juvenile Justice

Girls in the Juvenile Justice
System. Two new laws address
issues involving girls in the
juvenile justice system. One
requires the DCF commissioner
to plan for developing a
continuum of community-based
services designed to prevent the
incarceration of female status
offenders and delinquents. The
plan must include intervention
and substance abuse programs,
monitoring and treatment plans,
and mental health treatment.
The commissioner must consult
with the Judicial Department,
other state agencies, and
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community-based service
providers and submit the plan to
several legislative committees by
January 1, 2005. (SA 04-5,
effective July 1, 2004)

The other act prohibits DCF
from placing girls in the
Connecticut Juvenile Training
School, mandating that the
school house boys only. It
directs DCF to transfer any girls
currently housed there to
another appropriate facility
within 90 days. (PA 04-152,
effective on passage)

Child Sex Offenders. A new
law permits criminal courts to
transfer cases involving 14- and
15-year-olds accused of having
sexual intercourse with a victim
under age 13, a class A felony,
back to juvenile court. Under
prior law, these offenders were
automatically transferred to the
regular criminal court and tried
as adults if they were 14 or 15 at
the time of the offense. If
convicted, they had to serve at
least 10 years at an adult prison
if the victim was under age 10, or
at least five years if the victim
was between age 10 and 12. An
offender adjudicated in juvenile
court must be committed to DCF
for up to four years, with the
possibility of one 18-month
extension if the court finds this is
in his or the community’s best
interest.
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The act applies only to those
cases in which the prosecutor
files a transfer motion. This
motion must be filed within 10
working days of the child’s
arraignment, and the court must
hold a hearing and issue its
decision within 10 days of the
filing (PA 04-148)

Juveniles in Adult Court.
For those 14- and 15- year-olds
accused of crimes for which they
can be tried as adults, a new law
requires courts to hold private
proceedings concerning their
cases in areas away from adult
criminal proceedings until their
transfers from juvenile court are
final (PA 04-127).

Adjudicated Youth in DCF
Care. In order to better track
youths after they are
adjudicated, the legislature this
year required DCF to report
annually on the number, by
gender and age, of adjudicated
16- and 17-year olds in its
custody; where they are housed
and the status of facilities being
constructed or prepared to house
them; and the number, age, and
gender of those who have
escaped from custody and the
number of police reports filed
about them. The first report is
due to the Children’s Committee
by June 1, 2004 (PA 04-89,
effective on passage).
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Probate Court

The legislature is trying a new
way to divert children from the
child-welfare system by
identifying children and families
in need of supports in local
probate courts before they
become a neglect or abuse case.
To test this idea, it created a New
Haven-region pilot probate court
for children’s matters. These
involve guardianship,
termination of parental rights,
adoption, paternity,
emancipation, and voluntary
commitment of mentally ill
children to DCF. The probate
court administrator must use
available resources, including the
Probate Court Administration
Fund, to establish and fund the
program. He must appoint a
regional administrative judge,
locate an appropriate facility, and
establish policies and
procedures. The administrative
judge and other participating
judges will hear children’s
matters on a separate docket.
Each probate judge in the pilot
region can choose whether to
participate. The probate court
administrator must report his
recommendations to the
Judiciary Committee by January
3, 2007 (PA 04-159, effective on
passage).

Child Support

A new law (1) lengthens never-
married parents’ child support
obligations under some
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circumstances, (2) increases
Judicial Department support
enforcement services officers’
independent authority, (3)
creates a mechanism to suspend
or modify child support orders
when a court places a child with
a different guardian or custodian,
and (4) allows family support
magistrates to issue habeas
corpus writs to secure the
testimony of incarcerated parents
in court (PA 04-100, effective
October 1, 2004, except the
guardianship transfer provisions,
which are effective on passage).

SOCIAL SERVICES
Child Poverty

An estimated 85,000
Connecticut children (10%) live
in poverty, including 41% of
Hartford’s children and 33% of
New Haven’s. The General
Assembly began to address this
problem by establishing a Child
Poverty Council to develop a plan
to reduce the number of children
living in poverty in Connecticut
by 50% by July 1, 2014. The
plan must (1) identify root causes
of child poverty, (2) analyze
poverty’s effects on children and
families and its costs to
government, (3) inventory
programs that address child
poverty, and (4) contain
procedures and priorities for
implementing strategies to
achieve the 50% reduction. The
council is composed of legislative
leaders, executive agency heads,
and other state officials. It must
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submit its plan to various
legislative committees by
January 1, 2005 and then report
annually on its implementation
until 2015 (PA 04-238, effective
on passage).

Nurturing Families

The Children’s Trust Fund’s
Nurturing Families program
identifies first-time parents
whose demographic
characteristics, such as the
mother's youth, low income, or
history of abuse or neglect, place
the newborn at risk of poor
childhood outcomes, including
maltreatment and then provides
personal support and links to
community services. Recognizing
the value of this program, the
legislature acted to expand it in
Hartford by appropriating nearly
$900,000 in FY 2004-05 (PA 04-
216 and PA 04-258, effective
July 1, 2004).

This year’s budget (PA 04-
216) also restored $275,000 for
the Children’s Trust Fund
Kinship Fund, which helps
support grandparents and other
relatives who take in and care for
family members’ children.

Legal Immigrants

The legislature this year
reopened state-funded legal
immigrant programs to new
applicants who are excluded from
federal programs. These
programs include solely state-
funded Temporary Family
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Assistance, state-funded medical
assistance (equivalent to
Medicaid or HUSKY B, as
appropriate), and state-funded
food assistance equivalent to the
federal Food Stamp Program.
The programs had been closed to
new applicants since June 30,
2003 (PA 04-258, effective July
1, 2004).

Mental Health Services for
Children of Military Reservists

Children of armed forces
reservists called to active duty in
Iraq can face emotionally difficult
times coping with a parent’s
absence. Recognizing this, the
legislature created a mechanism
to provide them some help if they
have nowhere else to turn. It
required the Department of
Mental Health and Addiction
Services and DCF to collaborate
to provide behavioral health
services to dependents of active
duty reservists who are not
eligible for coverage through the
Defense Department or for whom
no Defense Department coverage
is available (PA 04-258, effective
July 1, 2004).

DCF Children Placed Outside
of Connecticut

DCF continues to place many
children in facilities in other
states because Connecticut does
not have programs that address
their particular needs. In order
to assure that they continue to
receive appropriate care, the
legislature required the DCF
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commissioner to ensure that a
DCF representative personally
visits each child placed in an
out-of-state residential facility
every two months to assess his or
her well-being (PA 04-258,
effective July 1, 2004).

STUDENTS

Childhood Nutrition In
Schools, Recess And Lunch
Breaks

Obesity among children and
adults is a growing national
health issue. The General
Assembly addressed the problem
among children this year by
requiring local and regional
school boards to (1) provide all
full-day students with a
minimum 20-minute daily lunch
break and (2) include a daily
period of physical exercise for
most students in kindergarten
through grade five. (Students
requiring special education can
have a different exercise schedule
if their planning and placement
team develops one.) This new law
also requires school boards to
make nutritious food and drinks,
such as low-fat milk and other
dairy products, water, 100% fruit
juices, and fresh and dried fruit,
available for purchase whenever
students can purchase drinks in
school or whenever they can buy
food during the regular school
day (PA 04-224, effective July 1,
2004).
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Educational Technology
Programs

Students in more Connecticut
schools may soon have laptop
Internet connectivity and
networking capability as a result
of a new law that allows school
districts to use SDE educational
technology grants for wireless
connectivity, as well as
traditional wiring, computers,
and software. This act also shifts
primary responsibility for
developing (1) a statewide teacher
and administrator competency
standard for the use of
technology for teaching and (2) a
statewide plan for achieving this
standard from the Commission
for Educational Technology to
SDE (PA 04-57, effective July 1,
2004).

International Education

Connecticut students need to
be prepared to act in a world of
global information flow and
cultural contact. In 2001, the
legislature established an
International Education Advisory
Committee to explore,
investigate, and compile
information on international
educational opportunities and
related curriculum materials.
This year it expanded the
committee’s duties by requiring it
to (1) develop criteria and
guidelines for international
studies programs, as well as
partnership programs between
Connecticut public schools and
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foreign schools and (2) submit
them to SBE for review and
approval. It also authorized SBE
to recognize international
education and sister-school
partnership programs (PA 04-
153, effective July 1, 2004).

Students with Mental
Retardation

This year’s budget added
nearly $4 million in FY 2004-05
to help students with mental
retardation make the transition
from school to adulthood. The
Department of Mental
Retardation will use the funds to
provide day programs and other
community-based support
services (PA 04-216, effective
July 1, 2004).

Medication Administration in
Schools

A new law makes statutory
the requirement that school
boards adopt written policies and
procedures for administering
medication in schools and
requires the local school medical
adviser or other qualified
physician rather than the DPH to
approve them (PA 04-181,
effective July 1, 2004).

SS:ts

2004-R-0446



	NOTICE TO READERS

