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To the Reader 
 
During the 2004 regular and special sessions, the legislature enacted 

laws that affect the business community.  Some have a broad effect while 
others affect only specific types of businesses, such as manufacturing. 
This report summarizes those laws in lay terms without interpreting 
them.  For this reason, we encourage you to read the laws that interest 
you.  You can obtain them from the Connecticut State Library or the 
House Clerk’s Office.  A detailed OLR analyses of all the 2004 laws will be 
available in the early fall when OLR publishes its Public Act Summary 
book.  In the meantime, you can view completed analyses by visiting our 
web page (www.cga.state.ct.us/olr).  

http://www.cga.state.ct.us/olr
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BANKS, FINANCE, AND 
INSURANCE 
 
Life and Health Insurance 
Guaranty Association Act 
Coverage  

 
The coverage maximum under 

the Connecticut Life and Health 
Insurance Guaranty Association 
Act is now $500,000 for both life 
insurance death benefits and life 
insurance and annuities net cash 
surrender and net cash 
withdrawal values. The Class A 
$150-per-calendar-year “member 
insurer” cap on non-pro-rata 
assessments is eliminated. (PA 
04-17, effective October 1, 2004) 

 
Corporate-Owned Life 
Insurance  

 
An employer or a trustee of a 

trust, other than a voluntary 
employees’ beneficiary 
association, can now purchase 
life insurance on employees or 
retirees for whom it provides life, 
health, disability, retirement, or 
similar benefits. These entities 
must first obtain the employee’s 
or retiree’s consent. (PA 04-24, 
effective October 1, 2004) 
 
Wigs for Cancer Patients 

 
A new law requires specified 

types of health insurance policies 
to provide at least $350 of 
coverage per year for wigs 
licensed oncologists prescribe for 

patients who lose hair because of 
chemotherapy. (PA 04-34, 
effective October 1, 2004) 
 
Connecticut Uniform 
Securities Act 

 
The legislature’s changes to 

the Connecticut Uniform 
Securities Act include:  

1. removing provisions 
allowing investment 
advisers registered with 
the Securities and 
Exchange Commission to 
avoid certain application, 
notification, and fee 
requirements applicable to 
Connecticut investment 
advisers;  

2. setting a $ 50 per agent 
fee for transferring broker-
dealer or investment 
adviser agents from one 
broker-dealer or 
investment adviser to 
another;  

3. making several fees 
nonrefundable; and 

4. extending the statute of 
limitations for certain 
actions related to 
misrepresentation and 
fraud in investment 
advisory services.  

(PA 04-45, effective October 1, 
2004).  

 
Stop-Loss Policies  

 
Stop-loss policies can no 

longer be issued or delivered in 
Connecticut unless a copy of the 
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policy is first submitted to the 
Insurance Department for review 
and approval. (PA 04-49, 
effective October 1, 2004)  

 
Off-Label Cancer Drugs  

 
A new law requires HMO 

plans delivered, issued for 
delivery, or renewed in 
Connecticut covering FDA-
approved cancer prescription 
drugs to also cover “off-label use” 
of those drugs (i.e., drugs used to 
treat a type of cancer not 
included in the medication’s 
labeling). (PA 04-49, effective 
October 1, 2004) 

 
Waiving Pre-Licensing 
Examination Requirements  

 
The insurance commissioner 

can now waive pre-licensing 
examination requirements for (1) 
property and casualty insurance 
and life and accident insurance 
producers who meet specified 
criteria. (PA 04-77, effective 
October 1, 2004) 
 
Property Casualty Insurance 
Loss Containment 

 
People who do repair or 

remediation work under a 
personal or commercial risk 
insurance policy claim must now 
give the insured written notice of 
the work to be completed and the 
estimated total price before 
beginning any work. But they do 
not have to do so for repairs 
made to cars covered by an 
automobile liability policy or 

done according to applicable law 
by registered home improvement 
contractors. (PA 04-108, effective 
October 1, 2004) 

 
Disclosing Dental 
Reimbursement Information 

 
Insurance companies must 

now disclose the estimated policy 
reimbursement for specific dental 
procedure codes ordered or 
recommended by a dentist. They 
must do so when an insured or a 
licensed dentist acting on an 
insured’s behalf requests it. This 
requirement applies to policies 
delivered, issued for delivery, 
renewed, amended, or continued 
on or after October 1, 2004 that 
cover inpatient or outpatient 
dental services only. (PA 04-125, 
effective October 1, 2004) 

 
Terrorism Coverage 

 
A new law allows commercial 

risk insurers to exclude coverage 
for terrorism, which the 
insurance commissioner must 
define, from standard fire 
insurance policies delivered, 
issued for delivery, or renewed in 
Connecticut beginning July 1, 
2004. They can do this for direct 
or indirect loss from terrorism 
only (1) if the premiums charged 
for the policy reflect projected 
savings from the exclusion and 
(2) until the federal terrorism 
insurance program expires (PA 
04-140, effective July 1, 2004)  
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Provider Lists 
 
Managed care organizations 

(MCOs) must now, among other 
things, include professional 
counselors in provider lists 
issued to enrollees, give them 60 
days prior notice of contract 
termination, and permit 
counselors to tell enrollees how 
the MCO compensates them. (PA 
04-125, effective October 1, 
2004) 
 
Small Employer Health Plans  

 
A new law sets conditions 

under which the administrative 
savings resulting from 
administering an association 
group plan or a health plan 
arranged by the state comptroller 
may be considered when 
determining small employer 
premium rates. (PA 04-163, 
effective July 1, 2004) 

 
Medically Necessary Formulas 

 
Specified types of health 

insurance policies must now 
cover amino acid modified 
preparations and low protein 
modified food products 
prescribed for cystic fibrosis; 
medically necessary specialized 
formula for children up to age 
eight; and preparations, food 
products, and specialized 
formulas on the same basis as 
other outpatient prescription 
drugs. (PA 04-173, effective 
October 1, 2004) 

 

Miscellaneous Changes  
 
A new law:  
1. permits the sale of 

federally qualified health 
savings accounts (HSAs) 
in Connecticut by 
exempting specified 
individual and group high-
deductible health plans 
used to establish them 
from the $ 50 deductible 
limit on home health care 
coverage;  

2. extends the Connecticut 
Insurance Guaranty 
Association Act for 
property and casualty 
insurance to the legal 
successor of the insolvent 
insurer following a merger; 
and   

3. revises the definition of 
"control" under the 
acquisition of controlling 
interest provisions. (PA 
04-174, effective October 
1, 2004, except for the 
sections concerning HSAs, 
which take effect upon 
passage)  

BUSINESS LAW  
 
Documents of Title  

 
The legislature changed the 

Uniform Commercial Code’s 
Article 7 provisions governing 
warehouse receipts, bills of 
lading, and other documents of 
title. The changes including 
allowing electronic documents of 
title and subjecting them to the  
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rules governing tangible 
documents.  (PA 04-64, effective 
October 1, 2004) 

 
Gasoline Prices  

 
A new law prohibits gasoline 

and motor fuel refiners and 
distributors from requiring or 
coercing franchisees (which can 
be either distributors or retailers) 
to sell gasoline at a specific price 
or in a specific price range. (PA 
04-70, effective October 1, 2004) 
 
Mergers and Dissolutions  

 
Domestic corporations can 

now merge with more than one 
corporation or other entity and 
limited partnerships can merge 
with foreign as well as domestic 
limited partnerships and limited 
liability companies.  Nonstock 
corporations dissolved by their 
boards without member approval 
must now reflect that fact in the 
certificate of dissolution filed 
with the state.  (PA 04-99, 
effective upon passage)  
 
Limited Liability Companies  
 

A new law allows groups 
comprising licensed doctors and 
surgeons, occupational 
therapists, social workers, and 
alcohol and drug counselors to 
form LLCs and requires the 
members to meet specified 
requirements. LLCs formed by 
alcohol and drug counselors 
must be a mixed type. (PA 04-
175, effective October 1, 2004)  

 
Construction Contracts  

 
The legislature:  
1. extended the construction 

contract law that 
previously applied only to 
work done on commercial 
and industrial buildings to 
all types of private sector 
construction work and to 
nonprofit corporations,  

2. mandated the use of 
statutory default payment 
schedule provisions, 

3. gave subcontractors the 
right to sue owners for 
payment, and  

4. specified that the 
exemption from the law for 
United States government 
contracts includes 
contracts funded or 
insured by the 
Department of Housing 
and Urban Development.  

(PA 04-202, effective October 1, 
2004) 

 
Treasurer’s Sale of Unclaimed 
Property 

 
The treasurer can now 

liquidate all types of unclaimed 
property as soon as she receives 
it and immediately liquidate 
unclaimed securities she 
currently holds. A person who 
claims an abandoned business 
ownership share before the end 
of the three-year waiting period 
can no longer receive the greater 
of the sales proceeds or the 
securities’ market value when he 
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made the claim. (PA 04-216, 
effective upon passage).  

 
Filing Names of Business 
Entities  

 
A new law requires that 

domestic corporations, limited 
partnerships, LLCs, and 
domestic and foreign limited 
liability partnership (LLP) to 
distinguish themselves in the 
secretary of the state’s records 
from other recorded entities 
doing business in the state. (PA 
04-240, effective October 1, 
2004) 

 
Agents to Receive Process  

 
More types of entities can now 

act as agents to receive process 
for domestic and foreign stock 
and nonstock corporations, 
limited partnerships, LLCs, LLPs, 
and statutory trusts.  (PA 04-
240, effective October 1, 2004) 

 
Limited Liability Company 
Interim Change Notices 

 
LLCs must now file an interim 

notice when they replace a 
manager or member who was 
named in their most recent 
annual report.  They must do 
this if the replacement occurred 
no later than 30 days preceding 
the month during which the 
company’s next annual report is 
due.  (PA 04-240, effective 
October 1, 2004) 

CONSUMERS  
 
Income Tax Refunds  

 
A new law requires refund 

anticipation loan facilitators to 
disclose certain facts when a 
borrower applies for the loan and 
subjects violators to a criminal 
penalty and civil liability. (PA 04-
170, effective October 1, 2004) 

 
Appealing Health Care 
Determinations  

 
Enrollees can now appeal 

claim denials based on medial 
necessity to the insurance 
commissioner for up to 30 days 
after the denial.  They can do so 
only if they exhausted the MCO’s 
or the utilization review 
company’s internal mechanisms 
(PA 04-157, effective October 1, 
2004) 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT  
 
Manufacturing Machinery and 
Equipment Property Tax 
Exemption 

 
Businesses applying for the 

five-year, 100% property tax 
exemption for new and newly 
acquired manufacturing 
machinery and equipment must 
now show that they listed this 
property on their federal tax 
return as five- or seven-year 
property. (PA 04-72, effective 
upon passage)  
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The legislature changed some 
of the deadlines for appealing 
decisions regarding a business’ 
eligibility for this and the 
enterprise zone property tax 
exemption. (PA 04-2, May 
Special Session, effective July 1, 
2004 and applicable to 
certifications occurring on or 
after July 1, 2001)  

 
Connecticut Development 
Authority (CDA) 

 
A new law allows CDA to issue 

bonds on behalf of towns for 
cleaning up contaminated 
properties and restoring them to 
productive uses and makes it 
easier for CDA to finance projects 
that redeveloped deteriorated, tax 
delinquent properties (PA 04-
106, effective upon passage) 
Another new law lets CDA to 
invest the proceeds from its 
bonds and use them fund more 
types of projects. (PA 04-193, 
effective upon passage) 

 
Research and Development 
Tax Credit Refunds  

 
The legislature made 

companies paying the alternative 
capital base corporation tax 
permanently eligible for the 65% 
refund of R&D tax credits the 
companies could not use. (PA 
04-235, effective upon passage 
and applicable to income years 
starting on or after January 1, 
2002)   
  

Industry Clusters  
 
The legislature authorized the 

use of Manufacturing Assistance 
Act funds to support industry 
clusters and up to $ 5 million in 
bonds for a manufacturing 
competitiveness grant program. 
(PA 04-1, May Special Session, 
effective July 1, 2004)  

ENERGY  
 
Call Before You Dig 

 
A new law increases, from 

$10,000 to $40,000, the 
maximum civil penalty for 
violating the call before you dig 
laws, which govern excavations 
near utility lines. It also imposes 
a $1,000 maximum penalty on 
utilities for failing to mark 
properly the location of 
underground facilities or meeting 
the regulatory deadlines for doing 
so unless they can show that the 
failure was not due to gross 
negligence and caused no 
property damage or personal 
injury. (PA 04-43, effective 
October 1, 2004) 
 
Direct Billing and Collection 
Services 

 
The Department of Public 

Utility Control (DPUC) must 
adopt regulations by January 1, 
2005 that allow competitive 
electric suppliers to provide 
direct billing and collection 
services for commercial and 
industrial customers who (1) 
choose this option and (2) have a 
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demand meter or whose peak 
demand is at least 500 kilowatts.  
Suppliers cannot disconnect or 
otherwise terminate the physical 
delivery of electricity to these 
customers. (PA 04-86, effective 
October 1, 2004) 

 
Energy Efficiency Standards 
for Certain Products 

 
The Department of Public 

Utility Control must adopt 
regulations setting energy 
efficiency standards for a variety 
of products that provide heat, 
cooling, and lighting. (PA 04-85, 
effective July 1, 2004)  

 
Telecommunications Antennas 

 
Starting April 1, 2005, each 

telecommunications services 
provider must tell the Siting 
Council the location of antenna 
arrays that are not on towers but 
are used to provide cellular and 
personal communication services 
in Connecticut. The council may 
use this information only to 
prepare a statewide coverage 
plan. (PA 04-226, effective upon 
passage) 

HEALTH CARE 
 

Connecticut Health and 
Educational Facilities 
Authority Bonds  

 
A new law expands the 

Connecticut Health and 
Educational Facilities Authority’s 
(CHEFA) ability to (1) refinance or 
restructure existing nursing 

home project bonds and (2) 
refinance or restructure, or retire 
bonds issued on a pool or group 
obligation basis for projects with 
several participating nursing 
homes. (PA 04-167, effective 
upon passage) 
 
Pharmacies   

 
2004 changes to the 

ConnPACE program include:  
1. limiting pharmacies’ 

participation to those that 
accept all Medicare-
approved discount cards 
designated for use in 
conjunction with the 
program,  

2. allowing the DSS 
commissioner to require a 
participating pharmacy to 
accept a Medicare-
endorsed discount card if 
that is required under 
federal law, and 

3. requiring pharmacies to 
make reasonable efforts to 
determine if a client is 
entitled to the $600 
subsidy under the 
discount card, as it must 
for other types of 
insurance  

(PA 04-6, effective upon 
passage).  

A new law reduces the 
pharmacy dispensing fee for 
medical assistance programs 
from $3.30 to $3.15 per 
prescription (PA 04-258, effective 
July 1, 2004).  Another new law 
exempts prescription drugs  
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under the SAGA program from 
the fee. (PA 04-2, May Special 
Session, effective July 1, 2004) 

 
Outpatient Surgical Facilities 

 
The legislature changed the 

definition of outpatient surgical 
facility, required the Public 
Health Department to license 
certain facilities, and set 
conditions under which they 
must obtain a certificate of need. 
(PA 04-249, July 1, 2004)  
 
Hospitals, Nursing Homes, and 
Residential Care Homes  

 
The legislature changed the 

law governing the sale of 
nonprofit hospitals to for profit 
entities by modifying the 
conditions under which the 
attorney general and the Office of 
Health Care Access must 
disapprove a proposed sale.  It 
also changed the penalty for 
nursing homes that fail to return 
unused drugs under the drug 
return program. (PA 04-258, 
effective July 1, 2004)  

The legislature authorized 
CHEFA Facilities Authority to:  

1. finance health care 
institution equipment 
purchases; 

2. establish a three-year 
demonstration program to 
help nonprofit hospitals 
provide medical 
malpractice insurance 
coverage to their 
physicians and surgeons 
through captive insurers; 
and  

3. provide hospitals with 
access to leases for 
equipment needed to 
digitize patient records. (PA 
04-1, May Special Session, 
effective upon passage) 

 
Hospital Inpatient Rates 

 
The legislature extended the 

freeze on inflationary 
adjustments for inpatient 
hospital rates through March 31, 
2008. (PA 04-2, May Special 
Session, effective July 1, 2004) 

LABOR  
 
Workers’ Compensation 
Payments 

 
A new law gives employers up 

to 20 days instead of 10 to 
compensate workers for injuries 
under a compensation 
commissioner award or voluntary 
agreement or from the Second 
Injury Fund. (PA 04-47, effective 
upon passage)  

 
Unemployment Compensation  

 
The Labor Department can 

now charge 1% interest per 
month on fraudulent 
unemployment compensation 
overpayments, and employers 
must pay a $25 fee if they miss 
the deadline for filing their 
quarterly wage report. The 
minimum forfeiture penalty in 
fraudulent claim cases is reduced 
to one week of unemployment 
benefits instead of two. (PA 04-
60, effective July 1, 2004, except 
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that the interest can be charged 
only for fraudulent overpayments 
made on or after July 1, 2005) 

 
Hotel and Restaurant 
Gratuities  

 
The legislature made 

permanent the hotel and 
restaurant tip credit, which 
allows employers to pay 
employees and bartenders less 
than the minimum wage as long 
as tips they receive make up the 
difference. (PA 04-68, effective 
January 1, 2005) 
 
Family And Medical Leave For 
Organ Donation 

 
Employees can now take 

family and medical leave to 
donate organs or bone marrow. 
(PA 04-95, effective October 1, 
2004) 
 
Debarment Reform  

 
General contractors working 

on municipal or state public 
works projects are now barred 
from awarding work on these 
projects to subcontractors who 
violated the prevailing wage law. 
(PA 04-102, effective October 1, 
2004) 
 
Personnel Files Act 
Enforcement  

 
The labor commissioner can 

now subpoena people and 
records to investigate complaints 
about employee personnel and 
medical records under the 

Personnel Files Act.  He cannot 
disclose the records under the 
Freedom of Information Act. (PA 
04-178, effective October 1, 
2004) 
 
Compromise Offers for 
Unemployment Compensation 
Overpayments  

 
A new law sets conditions 

under which the labor 
commissioner can make or 
consider a compromise offer for 
overpayment of unemployment 
compensation taxes. (PA 04-179, 
effective July 1, 2004) 
 
Unemployment Benefits for 
Social Security Pensioners 

 
A new law eliminates the 

unemployment compensation 
benefit reduction for Social 
Security pensioners, thus 
allowing them to receive full all 
unemployment benefits and 
Social Security pensions. It also 
changes the conditions under 
which an employee can be 
disqualified from receiving 
unemployment compensation 
benefits. Lastly, the law allows 
lump sum worker compensation 
settlements if the parties agree 
and the Workers’ Compensation 
commissioner approves. (PA 04-
214, effective October 1, 2004, 
except the workers’ 
compensation provision takes 
effect upon passage)  
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Second Injury Fund  
 
The legislature allowed certain 

employer mutual associations to 
make payments owed to the 
Second Injury Fund for five years 
without any penalties or interest. 
It also changed, starting January 
1, 2005, the way these 
associations are assessed for 
fund payments. (PA 04-229, 
effective October 1, 2004) 

 
Hospital Overtime Limits  

 
A new law limits the 

circumstances under which 
hospitals can require registered 
and licensed practical nurses 
and nurses’ aides to work 
overtime. (PA 04-242, effective 
October 1, 2005) 

LAND USE AND ENVIRONMENT  
 
Commercial Fishing  

 
Commercial fishing reporting 

requirements now extend to 
anyone, other than the final 
consumer, who (1) purchases, 
ships, consigns, transfers, 
transports, barters, accepts, or 
packs certain species directly 
from a commercial fisherman for 
resale or (2) any commercial 
fisherman who sells, ships, 
consigns, transfers, or barters 
his catch of certain species to 
anyone other than a seafood 
dealer.  Commercial fishermen 
must also report on more species 
they land.  (PA 04-97, effective 
upon passage) 

 
Posting Land Contamination 
Notices  

 
A new law requires people and 

businesses who own 
contaminated parcels to post a 
notice to that effect on the parcel 
and at their business locations 
no later than five days after an 
event that increases the 
likelihood that people will be 
exposed to known contaminants. 
Owners that fail to do so must 
pay a $100 civil penalty for each 
day they fail to comply.  (PA 04-
134, effective October 1, 2004) 
 
Farm Preservation  

 
The agriculture commissioner 

must establish and administer 
programs that allow grocery 
stores, schools, and restaurants 
to qualify for economic 
development funds if they use 
certain percentages of 
Connecticut grown or produced 
farm products.  The 
administrative services 
commissioner must now give 
preference to certain Connecticut 
farm products if they compare 
favorably with those from other 
states. (PA 04-222, effective July 
1, 2004, except for the 
Connecticut Farm Fresh 
programs, which are effective 
upon passage) 
 
Transmission Lines  

 
Applications for electric or gas 

transmission lines and electric 
substations must now address 
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how the electromagnetic fields 
they produce affect the 
environment, and the Siting 
Council must make findings 
about these effects when it acts 
on an application. Transmission 
lines with a minimum 345 
kilovolts capacity located near 
homes and apartments should be 
buried unless the applicant can 
show that doing so would not be 
technologically feasible.  (PA 04-
246, effective upon passage)  
 
Climate Change  

 
A new law requires the state 

to reduce greenhouse gas 
emissions and the Governor’s 
Steering Committee on Climate 
Change to develop plans to help 
achieve the goal. (PA 04-252, 
effective October 1, 2004)  

MOTOR VEHICLES AND 
TRANSPORTATION  

 
Transportation Laws  

 
The legislature:  
1. expanded the 

transportation 
commissioner's authority 
to make agreements with 
public utilities governing 
the longitudinal use of 
highway rights-of-way to 
include all state highways, 
not just state limited-
access highways (effective 
upon passage) and  

2. allowed him to issue 
overlength permits to 
vehicles carrying divisible 
loads that, in the 

aggregate, do not exceed 
53 feet in length (effective 
October 1, 2004). (PA 04-
143)  

 
Motor Vehicle Law Revisions  

 
A new law:   
1. increases the registration 

period for taxicabs, livery 
service vehicles, and 
service buses from one to 
two years;  

2. requires the motor 
vehicles commissioner to 
allow marine dealers to 
submit applications and 
documents for vessel 
registrations to DMV 
electronically;  

3. exempts certain 
businesses that auction 
construction equipment 
from motor vehicle dealer 
licensure and auction 
permit requirements;  

4. reduces the license period 
for commercial drivers' 
licenses from six to four 
years and makes related 
fee changes including an 
increase in the fee for 
original licenses;  

5. defines a major loss of 
utility service for purposes 
of the exemption from 
state and federal 
maximum hours of driving 
and on-duty time for 
drivers of utility company 
vehicles providing 
emergency relief; and  

6. establishes requirements 
for new and used car 
dealers who offer optional 
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component-part-marking 
services to vehicle 
purchasers with respect to 
specifying the charges on 
the sales order, filing 
charges for such services 
with the commissioner, 
charging only the filed 
rates, and related 
procedures. (PA 04-199, 
effective July 1, 2004)  

 
Commercial Driver’s License   

 
The legislature made many 

changes to the laws governing 
issuing, qualifying for, and 
holding a commercial driver's 
license to conform them to the 
federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Improvement Act of 1999. It also 
made many changes that 
conformed the state law 
regarding drivers of vehicles 
transporting hazardous materials 
to the federal USA Patriot Act. 
(PA 04-217, effective January 1, 
2005 for most changes) 

TAXES AND FEES 
 
Pass-Through Entity Income 
Tax Filings  

 
A new law tightens the filing 

requirements for people who pay 
taxes on income they derive from 
S corporations and other entities 
that pass their tax liabilities on 
to their shareholders, partners, 
and beneficiaries. It also 
standardizes the filing and tax 
payment requirements for these 
different “pass-through entities.” 
(PA 04-216, effective upon 

passage and applicable to tax 
years starting on or after 
January 1, 2004) 
 
Property Taxes 

 
The legislature allowed towns 

required to revalue real estate in 
2003, 2004, or 2005 to wait until 
2006, if their legislative bodies’ 
approve. Subsequent 
revaluations must be made every 
five years thereafter. The 
legislature extended the 
revaluation cycle from every four 
years to every five years (PA 04-
2, May Special Session, effective 
upon passage and applicable to 
assessment years starting on or 
after October 1, 2003). It also 
required towns to conducted 
physical revaluations every 10, 
rather than every 12, years (PA 
04-2, May Special Session, 
effective October 1, 2003 and 
applicable to assessment years 
starting on or after that date).  

A new law establishes rules 
for determining the town where a 
motor vehicle or snowmobile’s 
owner must pay property taxes. 
The rule, which applies to 
registered and unregistered 
vehicles, requires the owner to 
pay taxes in the town where the 
vehicle most frequently leaves 
from and returns to or remains 
during the normal course of its 
operation. Additional rules apply 
to vehicles that do not meet this 
frequency test. (PA 04-228, 
effective upon passage and 
applicable to any assessment 
year)  
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Sales Tax  
 
Beginning July 1, 2004, 

retailers with sales in two or 
more towns must report on their 
quarterly sales tax return (1) the 
town where each taxable sale 
occurred and (2) the amount of 
sales tax it collected in each 
town. (PA 04-2, May Special 
Session, effective upon passage) 

The legislature restored the 
annual exemption for clothing 
and footwear costing less than 
$300 sold during the fourth week 
of August. (PA 04-218, effective 
July 1, 2004 and applicable to 
sales on or after that date) 
 
Gasohol Tax Increase 

 
As of July 1, 2004, the motor 

fuel tax on gasohol goes up from 
24 to 25 cents per gallon. (PA 04-
2 May Special Session, effective 
upon passage)  

 
Real Estate Conveyance Tax  

 
A new law sets conditions 

exempting employers and 
relocation companies from paying 
the real estate conveyance tax 
when they resell residential 
property acquired through 
employee relocations.  (PA 04-
154, effective July 1, 2004 and 
applicable to conveyances on or 
after that date)  
 

Utility Company Tax 
Exemption  

 
Under a new law, gas 

companies now pay no gross 
earnings taxes on the gas they 
sell to existing combined cycle 
generating plants meeting 
specified criteria. Gas sales to 
cogeneration plants providing 
electricity or steam for 
manufacturing are also exempted 
if they are located on the 
manufacturer’s premises. The 
exemption applies even if the 
manufacturer does not own the 
plant. (PA 04-180, effective upon 
passage)  
 
Motor Vehicle Fee Increases  

 
The legislature increased the 

fees for: 
1. temporary registration for 

vehicles used to transport 
passengers for hire, from 
$6 per day to $25 for 
vehicles under 6,000 
pounds and $46 for 
vehicles over that weight; 

2. duplicate of a license to 
operate a commercial 
driving school, from $7 to 
$20; 

3. commercial driving 
instructor’s license, from 
$10.75 to $50; and  

4. special use registration, 
from $10 to $20. (PA 04-
182, effective July 1, 
2004) 

 



   
September 24, 2010 Page 19 of 20 2004-R-0442 

 

Tax Administration  
 
The legislature: 
1. expanded the revenue 

services commissioner’s 
power to investigate cases 
involving motor vehicle fuel 
and motor carrier road 
taxes (effective upon 
passage); 

2. established a Connecticut 
income tax withholding 
payment schedule that is 
different from the federal 
schedule (effective January 
1, 2005 and applicable to 
wages and nonpayroll 
amounts paid on or after 
that date); 

3. eliminated the 
commissioner’s authority 
to require cigarette dealers 
and distributors to file 
customer information and 
the penalty for 
noncompliance (effective 
upon passage); 

4. eliminated a maximum 
penalty imposed on these 
dealers and distributors for 
failing to file certain 
reports (effective upon 
passage); and  

5. eliminated the license 
required for harvesting 
oysters and the quarterly 
assessment on harvested 
oysters (effective upon 
passage and applicable to 
calendar quarters starting 
on or after July 1, 2004). 
(PA 04-201) 

 

 
Health Care Premium Tax  

 
Health care centers must now 

pay the 1.75% premiums tax 
only on the next direct 
subscriber charge they receive on 
policies or contracts the 
insurance commissioner 
approves. (PA 04-218, effective 
upon passage and applicable to 
income years starting on or after 
January 1, 2005) 

REAL ESTATE  
 

Disclosing Nonmaterial Facts  
 
A new law prohibits lawsuits 

against a real estate owner, his 
agent, or any agent of the 
transferee for failing to disclose 
certain specified “nonmaterial 
facts” about a property to the 
transferee. It also eliminates the 
ban against suits brought for 
failing to disclose that a property 
was psychologically impacted. 
(PA 04-39, effective October 1, 
2004) 

 
Commercial Brokerage 
Agreements  

 
A new law sets conditions and 

requirements under which real 
estate brokers and salespeople 
licensed by other states, but not 
Connecticut can handle 
commercial real estate 
transactions here. It prohibits 
the out-of-state broker or 
salesperson from touring  
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Connecticut commercial real 
estate with a prospective buyer. 
(PA 04-83, effective October 1, 
2004) 
 
Real Estate Broker Liens  

 
A real estate broker or his 

authorized agent can now sign a 
claim for lien, and a broker can 
also claim a lien if he is unable to 
give the notice to the prospective 
buyer or tenant because, after 
due diligence and reasonable 
effort, he cannot learn his 
identity. (PA 04-131, effective 
October 1, 2004) 

WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT  
 
Office of Workforce 
Competitiveness (OWC) 

 
A new law requires the OWC 

to offer grants to colleges and 
universities and technology-
based industries that collaborate 
on developing educational 
programs in emerging 
interdisciplinary technology fields 
and related issues. (PA 04-212, 
effective July 1, 2005 for the 
grant program and July 1, 2004 
for the coordination requirement)    
 

 Allied Health Workforce 
 
The legislature established a 

17-member board to identify and 
assess allied health workforce 
needs and required it annually to 
report its findings and 
recommendations to several 
legislative committees beginning 
January 1, 2006. (PA 04-220, 
effective October 1, 2004) 

The legislature appropriated 
funds to increase the number of 
regional community-technical 
college faculty qualified to teach 
or train students to become 
registered nurses.  The colleges 
must do this in collaboration 
with hospitals and other health 
care institutions and secure 
private funding. (PA 04-253, 
effective July 1, 2004) The 
legislature also authorized grants 
to colleges and universities that 
work with hospitals on 
establishing or expanding 
nursing education programs. (PA 
04-196, effective upon passage) 
 
 
JR:ro  

 
 


