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NOTICE TO READERS 

 
 
This report provides brief highlights of public and special acts 

affecting seniors enacted during the 2003 regular and the June 30 and 
September 8 special sessions.  At the end of each summary we indicate 
the public act (PA) number and, where applicable, include the special 
session’s designation (June 30 or September 8).  To assist the reader, we 
provide below the frequently used informal titles of the budget-related 
legislation: 

 
• PA 03-2, passed in February of the regular session, is the “budget 

deficit reduction act” or the “FY 2003 budget revision act;” 
 
• PA 03-1, June 30 Special Session, is the new biennial budget act 

for FYs 2003-04 and 2004-05; and 
 

• PA 03-3, June 30 Special Session, is the Department of Social 
Services and Public Health budget implementer act. 

 
Not all provisions of the acts are included here.  Complete summaries 

of all 2003 public acts passed will be available in the fall when OLR’s 
Public Act Summary book is published; some are already on OLR’s 
webpage: http://www.cga.state.ct.us/olr/publicactsummaries.asp. 

 
Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest 

them from the Connecticut State Library, the House Clerk’s Office, or the 
General Assembly’s website: http: //www. cga. state. ct. us/default. asp. 

 

http://www.cga.state.ct.us/olr/publicactsummaries.asp
http://www.cga.state.ct.us/default.asp
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MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
 
ConnPACE Changes  

 
Asset Test. A new law 

imposes an asset test on 
participants in the Connecticut 
Pharmaceutical Assistance 
Contract to the Elderly and 
Disabled (ConnPACE) Program.  
It sets the “available” asset limit 
at  $100,000 for single 
participants and $125,000 for 
married couples.  Available 
assets are those that are 
considered available under the 
Connecticut Home Care Program 
for Elders (basically liquid assets, 
with exclusions for the value of a 
home and certain other property) 
(PA 03-3, § 58, June 30 Special 
Session, effective October 1, 
2003). 

Estate Recovery.  The same 
act also allows the state to 
recoup from the estates of 
deceased ConnPACE participants 
the money it paid to help them 
with their prescription expenses.  
It applies to deaths on or after 
September 1, 2003 and allows 
recoupment only of ConnPACE 
benefits the deceased person 
actually received on or after July 
1, 2003 (PA 03-3, § 59, June 30 
Special Session, effective upon 
passage). 
     Copay and Annual Fee 
Increase.  Another new law 
increases copayments for all 
ConnPACE participants to  
 

$16.25 per prescription.  The 
copayments were previously  $12 
or $15 per prescription 
depending on participants’ 
income or enrollment date.  The 
act also increases the program’s 
annual fee from $25 to $30 and 
codifies its current income limits, 
which are $20,300 for single 
people and $27,500 for married 
couples, adjusted annually for 
inflation (PA 03-2, §§ 14 and 15, 
effective upon passage). 

 
HUSKY A and Seniors 

 
  Low-income seniors who are 
guardians or relative caretakers 
for their grandchildren or other 
related children and thus qualify 
for HUSKY Plan A (the Medicaid 
portion of the HUSKY children’s 
health insurance program, which 
also covers low-income parents 
and other caretakers related to 
the children) will be subjected to 
the same copay and premium 
cost sharing requirements as 
other parents and children 
participating in HUSKY A. 

Special session legislation 
requires the managed care plan 
for HUSKY A participants to (1) 
be substantially similar to the 
state employee “Non-Gatekeeper 
Point-of Enrollment (POE) Plan.”  
For FYs 2003-04 and 2004-05, 
the act sets a maximum $3 
copayment for HUSKY A medical 
services and a $1.50 cap for 
prescription drugs.  In addition, 
it requires monthly cost sharing 
as follows: families with incomes 
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between 50% and 100% of the 
FPL must pay $10 per person per 
month, with a $25 maximum per 
family; families with income 
between 100% and 185% of the 
federal poverty level must pay 
$20 per person, per month, with 
a $50 monthly cap.  Under the 
act, HUSKY A participants who 
are not enrolled in managed care 
must be assessed similar co-
payments and cost sharing 
requirements.  DSS can deny 
coverage or discontinue HUSKY A 
eligibility when a recipient falls 
two months behind in premium 
payments.  The act requires the 
DSS commissioner to amend the 
state’s Medicaid plan and to seek 
any necessary waivers to carry 
out these provisions (PA 03-3, 
June 30 Special Session, §§ 72, 
effective October 1, 2003, and 
73, effective upon passage).  

 
Other Medicaid Copayments 

 
 In the regular session, the 

legislature required the DSS 
commissioner to impose a $1 
copayment on Medicaid 
recipients for (1)  each outpatient 
medical service by an enrolled 
Medicaid provider to a non-
managed care Medicaid recipient 
(low-income elderly and people 
with disabilities), as permitted 
under federal law and (2) each 
drug prescription at the time it is 
filled.  The commissioner may 
modify the prescription copay 
requirement for certain people 
who receive less than a 30-day 
supply and may exempt 
institutional residents from the 

copay, to the degree permitted 
under federal law (PA 03-2, § 9, 
effective upon passage).  

A June 30 Special Session act 
repealed these provisions (PA 03-
3, § 96, effective upon passage), 
but a subsequent September 8 
Special Session act reinstates 
them and, as of October 1, 2003, 
increases the copays to $1.50 for 
prescriptions and a maximum of  
$3 for outpatient medical 
services (PA 03-1, September 8 
Special Session, § 11, effective 
upon passage). 

 
Prescription Denial for Copay 
Failure 

 
A new law requires the DSS 

commissioner, by September 30, 
2003, to submit a Medicaid state 
plan amendment to the federal 
government to allow pharmacies 
to refuse to fill Medicaid 
prescriptions for beneficiaries 
who continuously fail to pay co-
payments in spite of their ability 
to do so. Federal regulations 
otherwise prohibit Medicaid 
providers from denying services 
to Medicaid-eligible people who 
are unable to pay the cost 
sharing requirements.  
“Continuous failure” is failure to 
make required co-payments (1) 
within six months from when a 
prescription is filled or (2) on six 
or more prescriptions filled in 
any six-month period.  The 
amendment must allow for the 
beneficiary to resume receiving 
drug benefits once he pays all of 
his outstanding co-payments. 
Prescriptions for psychotropic 
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drugs are not subject to this 
change (PA 03-3, § 69, June 30 
Special Session, effective upon 
passage). 
 
DSS Preferred Drug List and 
Medicaid Pharmaceutical and 
Therapeutics Committee 

 
 The FY 2002-03 budget 
revision act, passed in late 
February, requires DSS to adopt 
a preferred drug list for its 
medical assistance programs by 
July 1, 2003 in consultation with 
the Medicaid Pharmaceutical and 
Therapeutics Committee (PA 03-
2, Sec. 19, effective upon 
passage).   A subsequent act 
specifies that the preferred drug 
list is for use in the Medicaid, 
ConnPACE, and State-
Administered General Assistance 
(SAGA) programs.  For FY 2003-
04, the act limits the list to three 
classes of drugs, including 
proton pump inhibitors and two 
other classes determined by the 
DSS commissioner.  It requires 
the commissioner to notify the 
Human Services and 
Appropriations committees of the 
drug classes chosen by January 
1, 2004. 

The latter act also changes the 
composition of the Medicaid 
Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics 
Committee by specifically 
requiring certain types of doctors 
to be on it and adding members 
to it, bringing the total to 14. It 
allows the committee, on an ad 
hoc basis, to ask other state 
agencies or interested parties to 
participate in its deliberations.  It 

requires the DSS commissioner, 
or her designee, to convene the 
committee following the 
governor’s appointments. 

By law, one of the committee’s 
functions is to make 
recommendations to DSS 
regarding the prior authorization 
of prescribed drugs.  The act 
specifies that these 
recommendations must be in 
accordance with the prior 
authorization plan already 
developed and implemented 
under existing law (PA 03-3, § 
83, June 30 Special Session, 
effective upon passage). 

Most Cost-Efficient 
Prescription Dosage 

 
An act requires a pharmacist, 

when filling prescriptions under 
Medicaid, ConnPACE, 
Connecticut AIDS drug 
assistance, or SAGA, to use the 
most cost-efficient dosage, 
consistent with the prescribing 
practitioner’s instructions unless 
he receives permission to do 
otherwise under the state’s new 
prior authorization plan (PA 03-
3, § 82, June 30 Special Session, 
effective upon passage). 
 
Brand Name Prior 
Authorization And Generic 
Substitution 

 
Existing law generally requires 

prior authorization for 
pharmacists to dispense brand 
name drugs under Medicaid, 
SAGA, General Assistance (GA), 
or ConnPACE if a chemically 
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equivalent generic drug is 
available.  PA 03-2 Sec. 52 
clarified that prior authorization 
for the brand name applies only 
when the generic substitute is 
available at a lower cost.  A later 
new act further clarified this rule 
by specifying instead that the 
pharmacist must dispense the 
brand name drug in cases where 
it is less costly than the generic 
when factoring in manufacturers’ 
rebates (PA 03-3, § 84, June 
Special Session, effective upon 
passage). 

Medicaid Long-Term Care 
Transfer Of Assets Changes 

 
A new law makes several 

statutory changes related to the 
effects of transfers of assets on 
Medicaid coverage of long-term 
care in preparation for federal 
approval of Connecticut’s 
Medicaid waiver request in this 
area.  These changes apparently 
will not have a practical effect 
until the waiver, which the state 
submitted in 2002, is approved.  
The waiver approval would 
change the start date of penalties 
for inappropriate asset transfers 
by people applying for Medicaid 
to pay their nursing home costs 
from the date the transfers 
occurred to the date the person 
otherwise would become eligible 
for Medicaid.  The waiver would 
also change the look-back period 
from three years to five years for 
real estate transfers and exempt 
small amounts of transfers from 
the look-back and penalties.  
This act: 

1. specifies that any asset 
transfer resulting in a 
penalty period will be 
presumed to be intended 
to enable the transferor to 
obtain Medicaid coverage 
and allows rebuttal of this 
presumption only by clear 
and convincing contrary 
evidence (a “penalty 
period” is a period of time 
during which Medicaid will 
not cover care because 
assets were inappropriately 
transferred); 

2. specifies that such 
transfers that result in 
penalty periods also create 
a “debt” that the transferor 
or transferee owes DSS in 
a sum equal to  assistance 
DSS gave to or on behalf of 
the transferor on or after 
the transfer date, up to the 
assets’ fair market value 
on that date, and 
authorizes DSS and 
Department of 
Administrative Services 
commissioners and the 
attorney general to seek 
administrative, legal, or 
equitable relief as provided 
in other statutes or 
common law; 

3. allows the DSS 
commissioner to grant a 
nursing home financial 
relief if it establishes that 
it (a) is experiencing severe 
financial hardship because 
of the new asset transfer 
penalty period and (b) has 
made every effort legally 
permissible to recover the 
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transferred funds owed to 
it; 

4. prohibits a nursing home 
from requesting financial 
relief until the patient has 
been in the home for at 
least 90 days without 
payment and, if DSS 
agrees to grant the relief by 
providing Medicaid 
payments, requires DSS, 
by all means available 
under state and federal 
law, to recoup the money 
from the patient and the 
transferee; 

5. allows the commissioner to 
waive the penalty period if 
the transferor (a) suffers 
from dementia when he 
applies for Medicaid and 
cannot explain the 
transfers, (b) suffered from 
dementia at the time of the 
transfer, or (c) was 
exploited into making the 
transfer (waiving the 
penalty period does not 
prohibit establishing a debt 
as described above); 

6. extends the look-back 
period for real estate 
transfers from three to five 
years, except for transfers 
that are exempt under DSS 
regulations (this longer 
look-back period can only 
take effect if the federal 
government approves 
Connecticut’s Medicaid 
waiver application; 
transfers that do not 
involve real property 
remain subject to the 
current look-back period 

contained in federal law, 
which is three years 
generally and five for 
establishment of trusts); 

7. allows the commissioner to 
establish threshold limits 
for total annual transfers 
allowed during the look-
back period without 
resulting in a penalty 
period; and 

8. allows the commissioner to 
implement policies and 
procedures needed  to 
carry out changes  while 
still in the process of 
adopting regulations   (PA 
03-3, § 62, June 30 
Special Session, effective 
upon passage). 

  
Diversion Of Income From 
Institutionalized Spouse On 
Medicaid   

 
New legislation requires 

someone in a nursing home who 
is applying for Medicaid and has 
a spouse living in the community 
to divert the maximum allowable 
income to the community spouse 
to raise his or her income to the 
federally required minimum 
monthly needs allowance.  The 
act requires this income 
diversion to occur before the 
community spouse is allowed to 
retain assets above the federally 
mandated community spouse 
protected asset amount (this 
concept is called “income first”) 
(PA 03-3, § 63, June 30 Special 
Session, effective upon passage).  
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ANNUITIES AND ESTATE 
RECOVERY OF PUBLIC 
ASSISTANCE  
 

For estate recovery purposes 
under various public assistance 
programs, including Medicaid 
and ConnPACE, a new law 
makes all annuity sums due to 
anyone after the death of a public 
assistance recipient part of the 
deceased’s estate and 
consequently accessible to the 
state for repayment of public 
assistance benefits, if the 
annuity contract was purchased 
with the public assistance 
recipient’s assets. It makes the 
annuity beneficiary solely liable 
to the state for repayment of 
public assistance granted to the 
deceased person up to the 
amount of the payments the 
annuity beneficiary received.  The 
act applies to annuity sums due 
on or after July 1, 2003 (PA 03-
3, § 59, June 30 Special Session, 
effective upon passage).  

SAGA AND GA MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE 
REORGANIZATION AND CASH 
ASSISTANCE REDUCTIONS 

 
The following changes could 

affect some poor seniors who are 
not eligible for Medicare or 
Medicaid.  They mostly do not 
affect seniors over age 65, whose 
health care is generally covered 
by the federal Medicare program, 
supplemented by health 
insurance from their employers 
after they retire or by private 
Medigap insurance, or by 

Medicaid for those who meet 
income and asset guidelines. 

The State-Administered 
General Assistance (SAGA) 
program covers mostly single 
people without children, who are 
very poor and unable to work 
because of short- or long-term 
health problems but who do not 
(or not yet) qualify for Medicaid.  
This program covers all the 
towns in Connecticut, except 
Norwich, which until now has 
run its own General Assistance 
(GA) program.  Both SAGA and 
GA have cash assistance and 
medical components, and some 
people qualify only for medical 
benefits. 

In the recent special session, 
the legislature reduced the SAGA 
cash assistance amounts and 
reorganized the SAGA medical 
assistance component.  Starting 
October 1, 2003, SAGA recipients 
seeking medical care (which was 
previously fee-for-service) will be 
assigned to receive their primary 
health care and pharmacy 
services through “federally 
qualified health centers” or other 
providers with whom DSS 
contracts.  They will continue to 
be eligible for hospital services.  

The legislation also eliminates 
state reimbursement for the 
Norwich GA medical program as 
of October 1, 2003 and for the 
cash program as of March 1, 
2004.  Current Norwich GA 
recipients will be eligible to apply 
for the state SAGA program (PA 
03-3, § 42-49, June 30 Special 
Session, effective upon passage). 
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The act also increases the 
prescription copay from $1 to 
$1.50 in SAGA and GA, but 
eliminates the $1 copay for 
outpatient medical services 
which PA 03-2, § 18, had earlier 
required (PA 03-3, § 43, June 30 
Special Session, effective upon 
passage).  

 
NURSING HOMES 

Nursing Home Fire Sprinklers 
Required 

 
A new law requires all nursing 

homes to have automatic fire 
sprinkler systems approved by 
the state fire marshal on each 
floor by July 1, 2005.  It requires 
each home’s owner or authorized 
agent, by July 1, 2004, to (1) 
submit plans for installing such 
a system, signed and sealed by a 
licensed professional engineer, to 
the local fire marshal and 
building official or to the state 
fire marshal and (2) apply for a 
building permit to install the 
system. 

The act subjects anyone 
failing to install the required 
systems to a civil penalty of up to 
$1,000 for each day the violation 
continues and requires the 
attorney general, at the state fire 
marshal’s request, to begin a civil 
action to recover the penalty.  
This applies to nursing homes as 
well as other buildings that 
must, by law, already have such 
sprinkler systems.   

The act also requires the 
Connecticut Health and 
Educational Facilities Authority 

(CHEFA) to develop a plan for 
planning for and financing 
installation of automatic fire 
sprinklers in nursing homes.  
CHEFA must do this in 
conjunction with the Department 
of Public Safety, DSS, and DPH.  
The plan must be submitted to 
the governor and the Public 
Safety, Human Services, and 
Public Health committees by 
February 1, 2004. (PA 03-3, §§ 
11 & 92, June 30 Special 
Session, effective upon passage) 

Nursing Home Inspections 
     A new law (1) prohibits prior 
disclosure of when DPH will 
conduct nursing home 
inspections and (2) requires the 
inspections to be conducted 
randomly (PA 03-92, effective 
upon passage). 
 
Waiting Lists 

 
A new act allows a nursing 

home to admit an applicant 
seeking to transfer from a 
nursing home that is closing 
without regard to the order of the 
home’s waiting list, regardless of 
other statutory provisions (PA 
03-3, § 74, June 30 Special 
Session, effective upon passage). 

 
Nursing Home Receivers  

 
A new law requires a court, in 
appointing a nursing home 
receiver, to choose only a 
responsible individual (1) whose 
name the DSS and DPH 
commissioners propose and (2) 
who is a Connecticut-licensed 
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nursing home administrator with 
substantial experience in 
operating Connecticut nursing 
homes.  The DSS commissioner 
must adopt regulations governing 
qualifications for proposed 
receivers by July 1, 2004.   
Under prior law, the court could 
choose any responsible 
individual except a state 
employee, the failing nursing 
home’s owner or administrator, 
or any other person with a 
financial interest in it.  The act 
continues to prohibit these 
individuals from acting as a 
receiver for a nursing home.  It 
also  prohibits any receiver from 
having a financial interest in the 
home either currently or for five 
years after the receivership ends 
(PA 03-3, § 76, June 30 Special 
Session, effective upon passage). 

The same new act requires a 
nursing home receiver, within 90 
days after his appointment, to: 

1. determine whether the 
facility can continue to 
operate, provide adequate 
care, and comply with 
federal and state law 
within the limits of state 
payments, income from 
self-pay residents, 
Medicare payments, and 
other current income; 

2. report his determination to 
the court; and 

3. seek facility purchase 
proposals. 

If the receiver decides that the 
facility cannot continue to 
operate in substantial 
compliance with these 
requirements, he must request 

an immediate court order to close 
it and must arrange for the 
residents’ orderly transfer under 
existing laws, unless he expects 
the facility’s transfer to a 
qualified purchaser within 90 
days. If this transfer is not 
completed within 180 days after 
the receiver’s appointment, the 
receiver must go ahead and ask 
for a court order to close the 
facility and arrange for the 
residents’ transfer.  The act also 
eliminates a requirement that 
nursing homes that are ordered 
closed by the Superior Court 
notify DSS and request 
permission for the closure, but it 
still requires them to notify the 
Office of the Long-Term Care 
Ombudsman (PA 03-3, §§ 77, 78, 
June 30 Special Session, effective 
upon passage). 

Nursing Home Rate Increase 
 
The legislature has scheduled 

a 1% rate increase for Medicaid 
payments to nursing homes on 
January 1, 2005 and provided 
some limited rate flexibility for 
homes that have been in 
receivership and are 
subsequently sold (PA 03-3, § 
50, June 30 Special Session, 
effective upon passage). 

 
Improving Nursing Home 
Pharmacy Care 

 
     A new law requires the DSS 
commissioner annually to update 
and expand the list of drugs 
included in the Nursing Home 
Drug Return Program beginning 
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by June 30, 2003.  It requires the 
list to include the 50 drugs with 
the highest average wholesale 
price that meet the program’s 
requirements. DSS must do this 
in consultation with the 
Pharmacy Review Panel, which 
advises DSS on the operation of 
its pharmacy benefit programs, 
including cost savings initiatives. 
     The act also allows the 
commissioner, within available 
appropriations, to reimburse 
pharmacies or pharmacists for 
services they provide to residents 
in long-term care facilities, 
(including nursing homes, rest 
homes, residential care homes, 
residential facilities for people 
with mental retardation, and 
facilities served by assisted living 
services agencies).  These 
payments can be in addition to 
other reimbursements and 
dispensing fees already allowed 
under the state’s medical 
assistance programs, if the 
pharmacy services improve the 
residents’ quality of care and 
save the state money.  The 
services may include emergency 
and delivery services for all 
medications, including 
intravenous therapy, 24 hours a 
day, seven days a week  (PA 03-
116, effective upon passage for 
the drug return program 
provisions and July 1, 2003 for 
the pharmacy service 
reimbursements). 
 

 
 
 
 

Pharmacist/Physician 
Collaborative Practice  

 
     Pharmacists working in 
nursing homes will be able to 
establish collaborative 
agreements with physicians to 
manage patients’ drug therapy 
under a new law. Existing law 
allows physicians and hospital 
pharmacists to enter into such 
agreements for hospital 
inpatients.  The agreements must 
be based on written protocols 
and approved by the institution.  
They can authorize a pharmacist 
to implement, modify, or 
discontinue a drug therapy the 
physician prescribes.  The 
pharmacist can also order 
associated lab tests and 
administer drugs.  Under the act, 
the nursing home that employs 
the pharmacist must determine 
that he is competent to 
participate in each agreement 
(PA 03-164, effective October 1, 
2003).   
 
Nursing Home Temperatures 

 A new law requires DPH to 
adopt regulations on minimum 
and maximum temperatures for 
areas in nursing homes and rest 
homes. They may be based on 
standards set by national public 
or private entities after research 
into appropriate temperature 
settings to ensure residents' 
health and safety. DPH must 
make these recommendations 
available to nursing homes, rest 
homes, and the public and post 
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them on its website (PA 03-272, 
effective October 1, 2003). 

Chronic Disease Hospital and 
Nursing Home Pilot 

 
 By July 1, 2004, a new law 
requires DSS to implement, 
within available Medicaid 
funding, a pilot project in Greater 
Hartford with a chronic disease 
hospital colocated with a skilled 
nursing facility that has the 
facilities, medical staff, and all 
personnel needed for diagnosis, 
care, and treatment of chronic or 
geriatric mental conditions 
requiring prolonged hospital or 
restorative care.  It defines 
“chronic disease hospital” for this 
purpose as a long-term hospital 
with the same facilities, medical 
staff, and personnel as is 
required for the skilled nursing 
facility (PA 03-3, § 87, June 30 
Special Session, effective upon 
passage). 

 
Long Term Care Facilities in 
Hospitals 

 
 Under a new act, the Office of 
Health Care Access (OHCA), in 
consultation with DPH and DSS, 
can authorize up to four 
demonstration projects allowing 
chronic disease hospitals to 
establish and operate new long-
term acute care hospitals or 
satellite facilities.  The projects’ 
purpose is to study service 
quality, patient outcomes, and 
cost-effectiveness of using such 
hospitals or facilities.  The 
demonstration must be designed 

to serve people who need long-
term hospitalization in an acute 
care setting, need 24-hour on-
site physician availability, and 
are not suited for a skilled 
nursing facility.  Interested 
chronic disease hospitals can 
apply to OHCA by January 1, 
2005 for a certificate of need (PA 
03-275, effective October 1, 
2003) 
 
HOME HEALTH SERVICES FEE 
SCHEDULE AND PSYCHIATRIC 
NURSE VISITS 

 
PA 03-2 requires the DSS 

schedule of fees it pays for 
various home health services in 
its medical assistance programs 
to include a fee for a nurse who 
makes a home visit solely to 
administer medications. It allows 
such medication administration 
to include blood pressure checks, 
glucometer readings, pulse rate 
checks, and similar health status 
indicators. The fee must include 
administration of medications 
while the nurse is present, pre-
pouring additional doses for the 
client to self-administer later, 
and teaching self-administration. 
The act explicitly prohibits DSS 
from paying for medication 
administration when other 
nursing services are provided at 
the same visit. It allows DSS to 
establish prior authorization 
requirements for this service. It 
requires the DSS commissioner, 
before implementing the fee 
change, to consult with the 
Public Health and Human 
Services committee chairmen.  
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A subsequent special session 
act specifies that the fee schedule 
for nurse medication 
administration visits must 
include rates for psychiatric 
nurse visits.  It also requires 
these rates to be established after 
the DSS commissioner consults 
with the chairmen of the 
Appropriations Committee and 
submits the rates to the 
chairmen for their review and 
comment.  It requires the rates to 
take effect by January 1, 2004 
(PA 03-6, June 30 Special 
Session, §§ 197 & 198, effective 
upon passage) 

OTHER MEDICAL ISSUES 

Stroke Prevention 

     A new special act requires 
DPH to develop, by June 30, 
2004, a comprehensive heart 
disease and stroke prevention 
plan. This plan must include (1) 
public health policy strategies 
effective in preventing and 
controlling stroke risks, based on 
available research, and (2) 
methods of increasing awareness 
of stroke symptoms.   DPH must 
report on the plan to the Public 
Health Committee by January 1, 
2005 (SA 03-14, effective  upon 
passage). 

Pharmacy Prescription Drug 
Error Reporting Program 
 
     A new law specifies that 
records collected or maintained 
under the prescription drug error 
reporting program do not have to 

be disclosed for six months from 
the date the records were 
created. Also, these records are 
not subject to subpoena, 
discovery, or introduction into 
evidence in any judicial 
proceeding except as otherwise 
specifically provided by law (PA 
03-164, effective October 1, 
2003).   

 
Medicaid Disease Management 
Initiative  

 
     New legislation requires the 
DSS commissioner to design and 
implement a case enhancement 
and disease management 
initiative to create an integrated 
and systematic approach for 
managing health care needs of 
high cost Medicaid recipients.  It 
allows DSS to do this by 
contracting with an entity that 
has an established and 
demonstrated capability in 
disease management initiative 
design and implementation (PA 
03-3, § 51, June 30 Special 
Session, effective upon passage). 

INSURANCE 

Group Health Insurance 
Extensions For Early Retirees 

 
     A new law requires group 
health insurance plans to give 
people who leave their jobs, take 
a leave of absence, or reduce 
their hours because they become 
eligible to receive Social Security 
benefits an option to continue 
coverage under the group plan.  
This coverage must continue for 
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the employee and his dependents 
until midnight of the day 
preceding his eligibility for 
Medicare.  Prior law required 
only an 18-month extension for 
any kind of employment 
termination, leave of absence, or 
reduction in hours. Under federal 
law, people can retire with a 
reduced Social Security benefit at 
age 62, but they are not eligible 
for Medicare until age 65, unless 
they are disabled. This change 
does not apply to employers who 
self-insure (PA 03-77, effective 
October 1, 2003). 
 
Health Insurance for Personal 
Care Assistants 

 
     New legislation gives personal 
care assistants (PCAs) hired 
directly by elderly or disabled 
people under certain state 
programs an opportunity to buy 
health insurance through a plan 
run by the state comptroller.   
Specifically, it allows the 
comptroller to provide coverage 
under the Municipal Employees’ 
Health Insurance Plan (MEHIP) 
for members of a PCA 
association.  The association 
must be composed of  PCAs 
employed by participants in the 
Connecticut Home Care Program 
for the Elderly, Personal Care 
Assistance Program (for people 
with physical disabilities), 
independent living centers (for 
people with mental or physical 
disabilities), or the Acquired 
Brain Injury Program.  
     For PCAs to participate in 
MEHIP, the following 

requirements apply: (1) 
participation is voluntary, (2) the 
state does not pay administrative 
costs, and (3) no employees can 
can be refused entry to the plan 
because of past or future health 
care costs or claim experience.  
The comptroller can offer the 
association insurance that is 
either fully underwritten or on a 
risk-pool basis (PA 03-3, §§ 31 & 
32, June 30 Special Session, 
effective upon passage). 
 
SSP BENEFIT FREEZE AND 
PERSONAL NEEDS 
ALLOWANCE 
 

     Legislation in 2002 
increased the personal needs 
allowance for recipients of the 
State Supplement Program (SSP), 
who can be poor elderly or 
disabled people.  The legislature 
set the one-time increase at one-
half the percentage increase in 
the January 2003 annual cost-
of-living increase in the federal 
Supplemental Security Income 
(SSI) program.  But legislation 
this year eliminated that 
scheduled increase in the 
personal needs allowance (PA 03-
2, § 56, effective upon passage). 

Instead, a recent special 
session act continues the freeze 
on the adult payment standard 
(need standard) in SSP for the 
next two fiscal years. But it 
authorizes the DSS 
commissioner to increase the 
personal needs allowance 
component of the standard as 
necessary to meet federal 
maintenance of effort 
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requirements (PA 03-3, § 61, 
June 30 Special Session, effective 
upon passage). 
 
FOOD STAMPS 
 
Standard Utility Allowance 
 
     A new law requires the  DSS 
commissioner, with federal 
approval, to mandate use of a 
standard utility allowance in 
calculating the excess shelter 
deduction for applicants’ 
eligibility for the federal Food 
Stamp program, which the state 
administers and which provides 
supplemental food benefits for 
poor people, including seniors.  
The utility allowance is added to 
other shelter costs and amounts 
above 50% of applicants’ income 
(“excess shelter costs”) after 
certain other deductions are 
subtracted from income.  
Previously, state regulations gave 
people a choice of using their 
actual utility costs or a standard 
allowance (PA 03-36, effective 
October 1, 2003). 

 
Program Simplification and 
Improved Accuracy 
 
     Another act allows the DSS 
commissioner, in accordance 
with federal law, to implement a 
policy to simplify the Food Stamp 
program’s administration and 
increase its payment accuracy 
(PA 03-3, § 75, June 30 Special 
Session, effective upon passage). 
 
 
 

ABUSE PROTECTION 
 
Elder Abuse Crimes and 
Reporting 

 
This act creates new crimes 

and penalties for repeated acts or 
omissions that injure an elderly, 
blind, disabled, or mentally 
retarded person. It directs the 
appropriate state's attorney or 
assistant state's attorney to 
report convictions to DPH when 
the abuser has an occupational 
license issued by DPH, and 
permits DPH to suspend or 
revoke the license or take other 
disciplinary action based on this 
information. Depending on the 
particular circumstances, the 
acts and omissions identified as 
criminal abuse under the act 
may constitute misdemeanor or 
felony offenses under current 
law.  
 The act makes intentionally 
failing to report elder abuse a 
crime rather than a violation, 
and shortens, from five days to 
three, the time that mandated 
elder abuse reporters have to 
notify the DSS commissioner 
about a suspected abuse case. It 
also authorizes legal remedies for 
anyone subjected to 
discrimination or retaliation for, 
in good faith, (1) reporting elder 
abuse or (2) complaining to DSS 
about a nursing, board-and-care, 
or similar adult care home. 
     It specifies that an elderly 
person's refusal of treatment for 
religious reasons is not of itself 
grounds for implementing 
protective services through DSS's 
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Elderly Protective Services Unit 
(PA 03-267, effective  October 1, 
2003). 

 
Office of Protection and 
Advocacy Powers 

 
     The Office of Protection and 
Advocacy protects and advocates 
for people with disabilities of all 
ages, including disabled seniors. 
To comply with eligibility 
requirements for federal funds, 
this act authorizes the Office 
director to ensure that all aspects 
of the agency’s operations 
conform to federal protection and 
advocacy requirements for 
program independence and 
authority.  To achieve this goal, 
the director may: 

1. maintain structural 
independence from other 
agencies that provide 
services to people with 
disabilities; 

2. pursue legal and 
administrative remedies 
on behalf of people with 
disabilities; 

3. investigate allegations of 
abuse and neglect of 
people with disabilities 
who are receiving care, 
treatment, or services; 

4. have access (a) to people 
who are living in facilities 
or are clients of service 
systems and (b) with 
appropriate consent, to 
their care, treatment, or 
services records; 

5. educate policy makers, 
consumers, and the public 
about issues affecting 

people with disabilities; 
6. reach out to members of 

traditionally underserved 
populations; and 

7. develop an annual 
statement of priorities and 
objectives and solicit 
public comment and input 
on this process (PA 03-88, 
effective October 1, 2003). 

TAXES 
 

Inheritance Taxes 
 
Temporary Contingent 

Estate Tax.  The special session 
budget act imposes a contingent 
tax, payable in lieu of the regular 
estate tax, on estates valued at 
over $1 million of people who die 
between July 1, 2004 and 
January 1, 2005.  For these 
estates, the Connecticut estate 
tax will be 1.3 times the full 
maximum federal estate tax 
credit, excluding the 75% federal 
credit reduction applicable in 
2004.  The act requires estates 
subject to the tax to file returns 
and pay within six months after 
the death date instead of within 
nine months after, as under the 
regular estate tax. 

Under the act, if, by July 1, 
2004, the Office of Policy and 
Management secretary certifies 
that the state will receive $110 
million or more in extra federal 
assistance for FY 2004-5, the 
contingent estate tax will not 
take effect (PA 03-1, §§  59, 502, 
June 30 Special Session, effective 
upon passage). 
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Succession Tax Phase-Out 
Delay.  The special session 
budget act delays each remaining 
step of the phase-out of the 
succession tax by two years.  
This tax was previously 
scheduled for elimination as of 
January 1, 2004 for estates that  
pass either to collateral 
descendants, such as brothers, 
sisters, nephews, and nieces 
(Class B heirs) and as of January 
1, 2006 for other, more remote, 
heirs (Class C heirs). The act 
delays elimination for Class B 
heirs to January 1, 2006 and for 
Class C heirs to January 1, 
2008. Amounts that the 
surviving spouse or immediate 
family such as parents and 
children inherit are exempt from 
this tax. 

The act increases the tax on 
estates of those who die between 
March 1, 2003 and December 31, 
2004 that exceed certain values.  
It does so by applying to such 
estates the tax rates that were in 
effect in 2002, thus reversing a 
rate reduction that took effect 
January 1, 2003  (PA 03-1, § 94, 
June 30 Special Session, effective 
upon passage). 

Gift Tax Phase-Out Delay 

 The special session budget act 
delays by two years the 
remaining steps of the phase-out 
of the tax on gifts between 
$25,000 and $1 million, thus 
maintaining the current gift tax 
rates until January 1, 2006. 
Under the act, the phase-out 
resumes on that date and runs 

until January 1, 2010. The 
phase-out was previously 
scheduled to run from January 
1, 2004 to January 1, 2008 (PA 
03-1, § 99, June 30 Special 
Session, effective upon passage 
and applicable starting on or 
after January 2003).  

$1,000 Disabled Property Tax 
Exemption Suspended 

 
For the October 1, 2002 and 

2003 assessment years, a new 
act suspends (1) a mandatory 
local property tax exemption for 
up to $1,000 worth of property 
owned by a permanently and 
totally disabled state resident 
and (2) state reimbursements to 
towns for lost revenues 
attributable to the exemption.  
The act restores the exemption 
and the state reimbursement for 
the October 1, 2004 and 
subsequent assessment years. To 
receive the exemption, a property 
owner must be eligible for Social 
Security or other comparable 
federal, state, or local 
government disability benefits 
(PA 03-6, June 30 Special 
Session, §§ 40 & 41, effective 
upon passage and applicable to 
assessment years beginning on 
or after October 1, 2002). 

 
Social Security and Railroad 
Retirement Benefits 

 
This act eliminates 

overlapping deductions for Social 
Security and Tier I Railroad 
Retirement benefits under the 
state income tax. When 
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calculating Connecticut adjusted 
gross income (AGI) for state 
income tax purposes, the law 
allows a taxpayer to subtract 
certain types of income included 
in his federal AGI.  Among the 
allowable deductions are (1) Tier I 
Railroad Retirement benefits and 
(2) for single filers with federal 
AGIs under $50,000 and joint 
filers with federal AGIs under 
$60,000, Social Security benefits. 
This act limits the deduction for 
Railroad Retirement benefits to 
the amount not subtracted under 
the Social Security deduction (PA 
03-225, § 13, effective upon 
passage and applicable to tax 
years starting on or after 
January 1, 2003). 

RETIRED TEACHERS 
 

A new law, among other 
changes related to the Teachers' 
Retirement Board (TRB), changes 
the current post retirement 
earnings limit for re-employed 
retired teachers and eliminates it 
for up to two years for those 
teaching in designated subject 
shortage areas.  Starting July 1, 
2005, the act also increases 
retirees’ premium copayment for 
coverage under the state health 
insurance plan for retired 
teachers from 25% to one-third of 
the basic plan premium.  As 
under prior law, retired teachers 
choosing optional state plans 
must also pay the difference in 
the premium between the basic 
and optional plans (PA 03-232, 
effective July 1, 2003, but July 1, 
2005 for the premium increase). 

KINSHIP FOSTER CARE 
  
 This act requires the 
Department of Children and 
Families (DCF) to tell a relative 
how to become licensed as a 
foster parent when it determines 
that it is in the child’s best 
interests to place him in foster 
care with a relative. The act 
requires DCF to do so by 
establishing a kinship foster care 
program within available 
appropriations (PA 03-42, 
effective October 1, 2003). 
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