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NOTICE TO READERS 
 
This report provides brief highlights of public and special acts 

affecting health professions enacted during the 2002 regular and special 
sessions.   

 
Not all provisions of the acts are included; readers are encouraged to 

obtain the full text of acts that interest them from the Connecticut State 
Library, the House Clerk's office, or the General Assembly’s website 
(http://www.cga.state.ct.us/default.asp). Complete summaries of all 
public acts passed during the 2002 regular session will be available in 
early fall when OLR's Public Act Summary book is published, and some 
are now available on the OLR website 
(http://www.cga.state.ct.us/olr/publicactsummaries.asp) 
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ALCOHOL AND DRUG 
COUNSELORS 

 
PA 02-75 requires alcohol and 

drug counselors (substance abuse 
counselors) employed by the 
Department of Correction (DOC) to 
be licensed or certified, depending 
on when they are hired.  This does 
not apply to trainees or student 
interns.  The law previously 
exempted all state-employed alcohol 
and drug counselors from licensure 
and certification. 

Under the act, anyone DOC hires 
on or after October 1, 2002 as a 
substance abuse counselor or 
supervisor must be a licensed or 
certified alcohol and drug counselor.  
Those counselors or supervisors 
already employed by DOC before 
October 1, 2002 have five years to 
become licensed or certified (until 
October 1, 2007).  Anyone employed 
by DOC on or after October 1, 2007 
also must be licensed or certified.  
This act takes effect October 1, 
2002. 

CHIROPRACTORS 
 
A new law authorizes DPH to 

license as a chiropractor, within 30 
days of the bill’s effective date, a 
person who has (1) graduated from 
an accredited chiropractic school 
approved by the state chiropractic 
board with DPH consent, (2) current 
licensure in at least two other 
states, (3) has practiced chiropractic 
for at least 20 years, and (4) served 
as dean of an approved chiropractic 
school in a Connecticut college or 
university for at least five 
consecutive years and as a clinical  

sciences professor during the same 
period.  (HB 6004, May 9 Special 
Session, effective upon passage) 

COLLABORATIVE PRACTICE-
PHYSICIANS AND PHARMACISTS 

 
A new law permits physicians 

and hospital pharmacists to enter 
collaborative agreements to manage 
the drug therapy of individuals 
receiving inpatient hospital services.  
The agreements must be based on 
written protocols and approved by 
the hospital.  They can authorize a 
pharmacist to implement, modify, or 
discontinue a drug therapy the 
physician prescribes for the patient.  
He can also order associated lab 
tests and administer drugs.  All 
treatments must be based on a 
written protocol specific to each 
patient. 

The act allows the public health 
commissioner, in consultation with 
the consumer protection 
commissioner, to adopt regulations 
governing the minimum content of 
these collaborative agreements, the 
written protocols, and any other 
areas necessary to carry out the 
act’s purpose.  (PA 02-41, effective 
October 1, 2002) 

CREMATORIES 
 
A new law requires DPH to 

inspect crematories annually and 
issue and renew inspection 
certificates.  It sets a $250 
certificate renewal fee.  By law, DPH 
must also approve plans for new 
crematories and inspect and 
approve them before they can begin 
operating.  The initial inspection 
and approval fee is $1,000. 

The act requires DPH to issue an 
inspection certificate when it first 



   
August 29, 2002 Page 6 of 14 2002-R-0735 (Health Professions) 

 

approves a crematory’s operation.  It 
requires the certificate holder (which 
could be a funeral home, public 
agency, or independent operator) to 
apply annually in writing to renew 
the certificate.  The application must 
be submitted by July 1 and be 
accompanied by a $250 fee.  The 
renewal is good for one year unless 
subsequently revoked or suspended. 

The act requires DPH to inspect 
the crematory after it receives the 
renewal application.  The 
inspections can be conducted by 
someone DPH designates or by a 
representative of the DPH 
commissioner.  The crematory must 
be open for inspection at all times; 
DPH may inspect whenever it deems 
advisable. 

If DPH’s inspection finds a 
crematory’s condition is detrimental 
to public health, the act requires it 
to notify the applicant or crematory 
operator of his right to a hearing 
pursuant to DPH regulations.  If the 
commissioner finds cause at the 
hearing to do so, he may revoke, 
suspend, or refuse to renew an 
inspection certificate.  A person 
aggrieved by the commissioner’s 
finding or action may appeal to 
Superior Court.  (PA 02-67, effective 
October 1, 2002) 

DENTISTS AND DENTAL 
PRACTICIONERS 

 
Connecticut passed legislation in 

the 2002 session addressing 
mercury and dental amalgam. PA 
02-90 bans, as of July 1, 2003 the 
use of mercury amalgam by 
vocational dental education or 
training schools unless the school 
has developed and implemented a 
DEP-approved plan to use best 
management practices to prevent 
improper discharges and to properly 

handle, recycle, or dispose of waste 
elemental mercury and amalgam. 
Such a plan also must teach 
students about mercury hazards 
and best management practices.  

PA 02-90 also requires anyone 
who offers for sale, distributes for 
promotional purposes, or provides 
elemental mercury to a dental 
practitioner to provide a federally 
prescribed Material Safety Data 
Sheet (MSDS). Starting July 1, 
2003, such practitioners must (1) 
use the mercury only for dental 
purposes; (2) store, use, and handle 
exposure to such mercury according 
to ADA guidelines, state, and federal 
law, and any applicable best 
management practices the state 
adopts; and (3) dispose of the 
elemental mercury according to 
state and federal law. 

This act takes effect July 1, 
2002. 

DOCUMENTS AFFECTING 
HEALTH CARE DECISION-
MAKING 

 
PA 02-105 requires people to 

honor documents executed by one 
adult designating another adult to 
make certain decisions on the 
maker’s behalf and giving the 
designee limited rights or 
responsibilities.  These documents 
must be recognized: 

1. in psychiatric hospitals, 
when informed consent for 
medical treatment is required 
from someone other than the 
patient; 

2. in nursing homes, when 
private visitation and room 
transfer decisions are made; 

3. in health care settings, when 
medical personnel (a) need 
information about a patient’s 
wishes from people other 
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than the patient or (b) plan to 
withdraw life support; and 

4. in the workplace, when an 
employee receives an 
emergency telephone call. 

This act takes effect October 1, 
2002 

ELIMINATION OF CERTAIN 
HEALTH CARE COVERAGE 

 
PA 02-7, May 9 Special Session, 

eliminates coverage in the State-
Administered General Assistance 
(SAGA) and town General Assistance 
programs (Norwich only) for eye 
care, optical hardware, optometry, 
podiatry, chiropractors, and 
naturopaths. It also eliminates 
home health coverage in the SAGA 
and GA medical programs. 

This act also requires the DSS 
commissioner to amend the 
Medicaid state plan to implement 
provisions in PA 02-1, May 9 Special 
Session, concerning elimination of 
Medicaid optional services. This 
takes effect upon passage. 

EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES 
(EMS) 

 
Health Insurance Coverage for 
Ambulance Services 

 
PA 02-124 eliminates the $500 

maximum ambulance service benefit 
required in certain individual and 
group health insurance policies and 
instead makes the cap the 
maximum allowable rate established 
by DPH.  It also expands ambulance 
coverage for group policyholders. 

The act requires individual, as 
well as group policies that cover 
ambulance services, to pay 
ambulance service providers 
directly, if the service is an 
emergency and (1) it complies with 

the act and (2) is not paid from 
another source.  It also adds health 
care centers, including HMOs and 
other entities, to the list of providers 
that are exempt from the direct 
payment requirement if the centers 
or other entities have a direct 
payment contract with the service.  
Under prior law, only transactions 
between ambulance service 
providers and insurers, hospitals or 
medical service corporations were 
eligible for the exemption. 

The act requires only that group 
policy coverage for ambulance 
services be medically necessary.  
Under prior law, coverage was 
required (1) in emergencies and (2) 
when the insured was admitted as 
an inpatient. 

The act applies to individual and 
group policies that pay (1) basic 
hospital expense, (2) basic medical-
surgical expenses, (3) major medical 
expenses, (4) accident-only 
expenses, (5) hospital or medical 
expenses, and (6) hospital and 
medical expense covered by HMOs.  
It also applies to individual limited 
benefit policies. 

This act takes effect October 1, 
2002. 

 
EMS Service Rates 

 
A new law requires the DPH 

commissioner to establish 
ambulance rates for (1) “advanced 
life support (ALS) assessment,” (2) 
“specialty care transport (SCT),” and 
(3) “intra-municipality mileage.”  An 
ALS assessment is performed by an 
ALS crew (EMT-Intermediate or 
paramedics) as part of an emergency 
response because the patient’s 
reported condition when the 
ambulance was dispatched was 
such that only the crew was 
qualified to perform the assessment.  
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The ALS assessment does not 
necessarily lead to a determination 
that the patient needs ALS service.  
Specialty care transport moves a 
critically injured or ill patient 
between facilities by ambulance 
while providing him with medically 
necessary supplies and services 
beyond the scope of an EMT-
Paramedic.  It is required when the 
patient’s condition requires care 
that must be provided by specialized 
health professionals (e.g., nurses or 
individuals with respiratory or 
cardiovascular training).  Intra-
municipality mileage covers 
ambulance rides whose pickup and 
final destination points are both 
within the same town.  These rates 
must equal: 

1. for an ALS assessment, the 
ambulance service’s base rate 
plus its established 
ALS/Paramedic surcharge, 

2. for SCT, 225% of the 
ambulance service’s base rate 
for SCT, and 

3. for intra-municipality 
mileage, the number of miles 
a Medicare recipient is 
transported times the 
ambulance service’s intra-
municipality mileage rate. 

These rates remain in effect until 
the commissioner establishes a new 
rate schedule. 

The act also changes the 
inflation index against which the 
commissioner must measure 
emergency medical service rate 
increase requests.  It requires him 
to use the Medical Care Services 
Consumer Price Index rather that 
the National Health Care Inflation 
Rate Index.  By law, requested rate 
increases below the inflation index 
are deemed approved; entities 
submitting requests above the 

inflation index must submit detailed 
financial information. 

(PA 02-7, May 9 Special Session, 
effective upon passage). 

HEALTH CARE FACILITY 
ADMINISTRATORS-VOTING 
OPPORTUNITIES FOR RESIDENTS 

 
A new law requires 

administrators of certain 
institutions, residential facilities for 
people with mental retardation, and 
community residences to use their 
best efforts to notify probate court-
appointed conservators and 
guardians when voting or voter 
registration opportunities are 
presented to their facility residents. 
The act permits the administrators 
to give the same notice to people 
with a power of attorney for a 
resident. The notification 
requirement does not apply when a 
member of the resident’s immediate 
family gives him an absentee ballot 
application or takes him to a polling 
place to vote. 

The act permits the resident’s 
guardian or conservator to file a 
petition asking the probate court to 
determine the resident’s competency 
to vote.  The court must conduct a 
hearing on the petition no later than 
15 days after it is filed.  These 
hearings must be given priority. (PA 
02-83, effective October 1, 2002) 

HEALTH PROFESSIONALS IN THE 
ARMED FORCES 

 
A new law requires DPH to renew 

licenses, certificates, permits, and 
registrations that become void while 
their holders are serving on active 
duty in the armed forces.  The 
individual must submit an 
application form and other 
documents DPH requires.  DPH 
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must renew the license, certificate, 
permit, or registration within six 
months of the person’s discharge, if 
he completes any continuing 
education or refresher coursed that 
may be required of other renewal 
applicants.  (The act seems to 
presume that individuals must 
submit applications within six 
months of discharge).  DPH cannot 
renew the license of anyone facing 
disciplinary action or an unresolved 
complaint.  (The act does not 
address DPH treatment of a 
certificate, permit, or registration in 
this situation).  And the act does not 
apply to National Guard members or 
reservists who are on active duty for 
regularly scheduled annual training 
that is not part of a mobilization. 

The act applies to emergency 
medical personnel; hospitals and 
various healthcare institutions; and 
various health care professionals 
including physicians, dentists, 
homeopaths, naturopaths, 
physician assistants, chiropractors, 
podiatrists, physical and 
occupational therapists, 
radiographers and radiographic 
technologists, nurses, dental 
hygienists, opticians and 
optometrists, pharmacists, marital 
and massage therapists, 
veterinarians, embalmers and 
funeral directors, barbers, 
hairdressers, subsurface sewage 
disposal system installers, 
sanitarians, hearing instrument 
specialists, speech pathologists, 
asbestos contractors and 
consultants, and lead abatement 
contractors, consultants, and 
workers.  (PA 02-7, May 9 Special 
Session, effective upon passage) 

HOME HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS 
 
PA 02-7, May 9 Special Session, 

allows DSS to impose sanctions on 
home health care providers serving 
dually eligible clients who fail to 
properly make Medicare claims. This 
takes effect upon passage. 

LOCAL HEALTH DIRECTORS  
 
PA 02-102 sets conditions under 

which a local health director, 
regardless of DPH regulations, can 
permit use of a well or installation of 
a replacement well for a single 
family home within 200 feet of a 
public water supply. 

This takes effect October 1, 
2002. 

MANDATED CHILD ABUSE 
REPORTERS 

 
PA 02-138 makes numerous 

changes to the mandated reporter 
statutes.  It adds to the list of those 
who must report abuse or neglect to 
DCF or the police: juvenile and 
adult probation and parole officers, 
school coaches, emergency medical 
services providers, licensed 
professional counselors, certified 
substance alcohol and drug abuse 
counselors, child care providers in 
licensed group day care homes, DCF 
employees, and DPH employees who 
license child day care facilities and 
youth camps. 

The act reduces, from 24 to 12 
hours, (1) the maximum time that 
mandated reporters have to orally 
report suspected cases of abuse or 
neglect to DCF or the police and (2) 
the time DCF has after receiving a 
report of sexual or serious abuse to 
notify the police and prosecutors.  It 
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also broadens the circumstances 
under which reports must be made 
to include cases where the reporter 
has reasonable cause to suspect or 
believe a child has been placed in 
imminent risk of serious harm by 
anyone, not just those responsible 
for the child's health, welfare, or 
care. 

This act takes effect October 1, 
2002. 

MEDICAL EXAMINER 
 
By law, anyone with a legitimate 

interest in copies of the Office of 
Medical Examiners’ records, 
including autopsy reports, may 
obtain them upon conditions the 
Commission on Medicolegal 
Investigations establishes.  Requests 
from these interested parties, 
including next of kin, an attorney 
acting on behalf of an estate, or 
insurance agent, must be in writing. 

PA 02-137 permits anyone 
access to the chief medical 
examiner’s reports, autopsies, and 
other scientific findings related to a 
person who was in state custody at 
the time of death.  The provision 
applies to those in the custody of 
the commissioners of correction 
(confined to a correctional 
institutions, facility, or community 
residence), children and families, or 
mental retardation. 

This act takes effect October 1, 
2002. 

MEDICAL GAS AND VACUUM 
SYSTEM INSTALLATION AND 
MAINTENANCE 

 
A new law requires anyone 

performing medical gas and vacuum 
systems work to obtain a medical 
gas and vacuum systems certificate 
from the Department of Consumer 

Protection (DCP).  DCP may issue 
the certificate, upon the 
authorization of the Plumbing and 
Piping Work Board or Heating, 
Piping and Cooling Work Board, 
whichever is applicable.  The 
certificate costs $25 and must be 
renewed annually. 

The act defines medical gas and 
vacuum systems work as “the work 
and practice, materials, 
instrumentation and fixtures used 
in the construction, installation, 
alteration, extension, removal, 
repair, maintenance or renovation of 
gas and vacuum systems and 
equipment used solely to transport 
gases for medical purposes and to 
remove liquids, air-gases, or solids 
from such systems.” 

(PA 02-92, effective July 1, 2003) 

NURSING HOMES-PREVENTION 
OF INFLUENZA AND PNEUMONIA 

 
PA 02-10 requires the public 

health commissioner to adopt 
regulations for the prevention of 
influenza and pneumococcal disease 
in nursing homes.  The regulations 
must assure that each nursing 
home patient is immunized annually 
against influenza, and against 
pneumonia according to 
recommendations of the National 
Advisory Committee on 
Immunization.  The regulations 
must also provide appropriate 
exemptions for patients (1) for whom 
immunization is medically 
contraindicated or (2) who object on 
religious grounds. 

The act takes effect October 1, 
2002. 



   
August 29, 2002 Page 11 of 14 2002-R-0735 (Health Professions) 

 

PATIENT RECORD DISCLOSURE—
DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL 
HEALTH AND ADDICTION 
SERVICES (DMHAS) 

 
PA 02-9 allows clinical staff in 

DMHAS facilities and in DHMAS-
funded crisis intervention programs 
to disclose the records of a patient 
they have treated to other such staff 
who ask for them in order to refer 
the patient for treatment.  Records 
maintained at DMHAS facilities and 
DMHAS-funded crisis intervention 
programs can be disclosed, but only 
if the staff in possession of them 
determines disclosure would help 
the referral process and only to the 
extent allowed by federal and state 
law.  Prior law allowed such 
disclosures, under the same 
conditions, just for diagnosis and 
treatment purposes.   

This act takes effect October 1, 
2002. 

PHARMACISTS AND PHARMACY 
 

Collaborative Practice—
Physicians and Pharmacists 

 
(See PA 02-41, p. 5) 

 
ConnPACE 

 
PA 02-7, May 9 Special Session, 

requires pharmacists to collect 
higher co-payments from certain 
ConnPACE participants. This takes 
effect September 1, 2002. 

 
Continuing Education 

 
PA 02-48 adds a requirement 

relating to pharmacist continuing 
education. The law requires 
pharmacists to obtain at least 15 
hours of continuing education each 

year, at least five of which must be 
obtained by attending a live 
presentation. The act requires that 
at least one of the five live hours be 
on pharmacy or drug law. This takes 
effect October 1, 2002.  

 
Dispensing Fees 

 
PA 02-7, May 9 Special Session, 

eliminates a requirement that the 
DSS commissioner pay pharmacies 
a dispensing fee of 50 cents for 
substituting a generic product for a 
brand-name drug prescribed under 
the Medicaid program. The act 
requires the DSS commissioner to 
implement the recently approved 
“prior authorization” plan for brand-
name prescriptions for which a 
chemically equivalent generic is 
available. The act also prohibits a 
pharmacist from dispensing less 
than a 15-day supply of an initial 
brand name maintenance drug for 
which there is a chemically 
equivalent generic substitute with 
DSS’s prior authorization. This 
prohibition does not apply to 
atypical antipsychotic drugs that the 
patient is already taking when the 
pharmacist receives the 
prescription. This takes effect upon 
passage. 

PA 02-1, May 9 Special Session, 
decreases the dispensing fee DSS 
pays pharmacists for filling 
prescriptions for ConnPACE, 
Medicaid, and other DSS drug 
dispensing programs from $4.10 to 
$3.85 per prescription. This takes 
effect July 1, 2002.  

 
Licensure 

 
PA 02-82 specifies that to receive 

a pharmacist’s license, an individual 
must have earned a degree from a 
college or school of pharmacy that 
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was an entry-level professional 
pharmacy degree when he 
graduated. This takes effect October 
1, 2002. 

 
Mail Order 

 
PA 02-1, May 9 Special Session, 

allows the DSS commissioner to do 
mail order for all department 
pharmacy assistance programs. This 
takes effect July 1, 2002. 

 
Medicaid Pharmaceutical and 
Therapeutics Committee—
Preferred Drug List 

 
PA 02-1, May 9 Special Session, 

establishes an 11-member Medicaid 
Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics 
Committee that can recommend a 
preferred drug list. Five physicians 
and five pharmacists must be on the 
committee. This takes effect July 1, 
2002.  

 
Prescription Errors 

 
A new law requires the consumer 

protection commissioner to adopt 
regulations requiring pharmacies to 
establish quality assurance 
programs designed to detect, 
identify, and prevent prescription 
errors. The act defines a 
“prescription error” as a clinically 
significant act or omission relating 
to the dispensing of a drug that 
results, or may reasonably be 
expected to result, in a patient’s 
injury or death. In addition, the act 
requires each pharmacy to (1) post 
signs and include notices on 
receipts or in prescription packaging 
informing consumers of a way to 
report prescription errors and (2) 
keep records about prescription 
errors. (PA 02-48, effective October 
1, 2002) 

Purchasing Initiative 
 
PA 02-1, May 9 Special Session, 

allows DSS to implement a 
pharmacy purchasing initiative by 
contracting with an established 
entity that has access to low-cost 
drugs.  This takes effect July 1, 
2002. 

PHYSICIANS 
 

Collaborative Practice 
 
(see PA 02-41, p. 5) 
 

Reimbursement for Medicare-
Medicaid Dually Eligible 

 
A new law requires the DSS 

commissioner, starting April 1, 2003 
and within available Medicaid 
appropriations, to grant a rate 
increase to physicians who provide 
services to clients who are eligible 
for both Medicare and Medicaid 
(“dually eligible” clients). (PA 02-7, 
May 9 Special Session, effective 
upon passage) 

PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS 
 
A new law provides four 

alternatives to professional 
counselor licensure. It authorizes 
DPH to license as a professional 
counselor, within 30 days of the 
act’s effective date, a person who 
has: 

1. (a) earned a master’s degree 
in education from an 
accredited college or 
university, (b) completed at 
least 70 credit hours at an 
accredited college or 
university leading to a 
clinical psychology degree, (c) 
practiced professional 
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counseling for at least 10 of 
the 15 years immediately 
before applying for licensure, 
and (d) passed a DPH-
prescribed test; 

2. (a) earned a master’s degree 
in counseling from an 
accredited college or 
university before 1986 and 
(b) practiced professional 
counseling for at least 15 
years immediately before 
applying for licensure; 

3. (a) earned a master’s degree 
in education or community 
leadership, (b) passed the 
National Board of Certified 
Counselors national 
counselor exam before 
December 31, 2001, and (c) 
practiced professional 
counseling for at least 10 of 
the 12 years immediately 
before applying for licensure; 
and 

4. (a) earned a master’s degree 
in education before 1975 
with a major in psychological 
counseling from an 
accredited college or 
university, (b) passed the 
National Association of 
Mental Health Counselors 
exam, (c) obtained current 
certification from the 
association, and (d) practiced 
professional counseling for at 
least 10 of the 20 years 
immediately before applying 
for licensure. 

(PA 02-7, May 9 Special Session, 
effective upon passage) 

QUALITY OF CARE/ADVERSE 
EVENT REPORTING 

 
A new law (PA 02-125) requires 

DPH to establish a quality of care 
program for health care facilities. 
DPH must develop a health care 
quality performance measurement 
and reporting system initially 
applicable to the state’s hospitals. 
Other health care facilities come 
under the quality program in later 
years as it develops. An advisory 
committee, chaired by the DPH 
commissioner, advises the program. 

The law directs DPH to produce 
a report that compares the state’s 
hospitals based on quality 
performance measures. The act 
requires all hospitals to implement 
performance improvement plans. 
These plans must be submitted 
annually to DPH as a condition of 
licensure, beginning June 30, 2003. 

The law allows DPH to seek and 
apply for funding to implement the 
quality of care program provisions. 
These provisions must be 
implemented upon receiving this 
funding. 

The law requires hospitals and 
outpatient surgical facilities to 
report adverse events to DPH. An 
“adverse event” is an injury caused 
by or associated with medical 
management that results in death or 
measurable disability. This law 
takes effect October 1, 2002, except 
July 1, 2002, for the adverse event 
reporting provisions. 

SCREENING NEWBORNS FOR 
GENETIC PROBLEMS 

 
A new law requires DPH to 

purchase two tandem mass 
spectrometers—new technology that 
allows testing for as many as 20 
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metabolic disorders. It requires 
testing for amino acid, organic acid, 
and fatty oxidation disorders and, 
specifically, MCAD and LCHAD 
deficiencies. These will be added to 
the eight inborn disorders, such as 
sickle cell anemia and 
phenylketonuria (PKU), for which 
the state currently tests newborns. 
The new act also sets a $28 
minimum fee that DPH must charge 
hospitals for the tests and follow-up 
tracking. (PA 02-113, effective July 
1, 2002 for the mass spectrometer 
purchases; October 1, 2002, for the 
fee increase and testing changes.) 

TUBERCULOSIS TESTING OF 
INMATES 

 
PA 02-63 requires anyone 

committed to the custody of the 
Department of Correction (DOC) 
commissioner and in custody for at 
least five consecutive days to 
undergo a tuberculosis test to 
determine if he has active TB or 
latent TB infection. A person testing 
positive for active or infectious TB is 
subject to existing law concerning 
treatment plans; responsibility for 
treatment costs; reporting to and by 
public health officials; adequate 
instruction and necessary 
precautions by attending physicians 
and local health officials; and 
tuberculosis control requirements 
and procedures, including 
emergency commitment. 

Anyone testing positive for latent 
TB infection must be medically 
evaluated for infectious TB and then 
offered treatment for latent TB 
infection as recommended by the 
National Centers for Disease Control 
and Prevention (CDC). The act 
appears to require treatment to be 
offered only if it can be completed 

before the person is released from 
custody. 

The law requires certain DOC 
facility officials to ensure that 
inmates are tested, screened, and 
treated for TB. It also requires DOC 
to establish a TB infection control 
committee. 

The law requires any inmates 
found to have evidence of infectious 
TB to be isolated from any public 
contact until he has been treated 
and is no longer infected. It also 
requires notifying visitors or 
employees who may have been 
exposed to infectious TB by an 
inmate and encouraging them to be 
evaluated.  

This act takes effect October 1, 
2002. 
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