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NOTICE TO READERS 

 
In its 2001 regular session and June Special Session, the General 
Assembly enacted new laws and changed existing programs of particular 
interest to Connecticut's businesses. This report provides brief highlights 
of acts that affect the business community generally and those that affect 
specific industries, such as insurance companies, heating-oil dealers, 
and financial services companies. We do not discuss any of the bond 
authorizations found in PA 01-7 or any acts that direct funds to an 
individual project. 
 
These summaries are in lay terms and are not intended to be legal 
interpretations. We encourage readers to obtain the full text of acts that 
interest them from the Connecticut State Library or the House Clerk's 
Office. Complete summaries of all public acts passed during the 2001 
session will be available in early fall when OLR's Public Act Summary 
book is published or via our web page (www.cga.state.ct.us/olr). 
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BUSINESS FILING 
REQUIREMENTS 
 
Amnesty for Foreign Limited 
Liability Companies and 
Foreign Corporations 
 

This act allows out-of-state 
limited liability companies (LLCs) 
and corporations doing business 
in Connecticut without, 
respectively, a registration 
certificate or certificate of 
authority to register or get a 
certificate without being subject 
to the monthly penalty for failing 
to do so.  The penalty is $165 for 
each month or part of a month. 
(PA 01-81, effective July 1, 2001) 
 
Filing Requirements for 
Limited Liability Companies 
 

Under prior law, LLC 
organizers had to file with the 
secretary of the state the original 
signed copy of any document, 
including articles of organization, 
required by law to be filed.  In 
lieu of the original, this act 
permits the secretary to allow 
LLC organizers to (1) file and sign 
these documents electronically or 
(2) file copies of them. (PA 01-
188, effective October 1, 2001) 
 
COMMERCIAL TRANSACTIONS 
 
Secured Transactions 
 

This act deals with security 
interests created by contracts in 
personal property or fixtures that 
secure payment or other 

performance that the debtor is 
obligated to make.  Property 
subject to the security interest is 
collateral.  An example is when 
someone buys furniture and the 
seller keeps an interest in the 
furniture as collateral until the 
buyer pays the entire purchase 
price. 

The act retains the basic 
structure of prior law but 
expands its scope, adds certain 
types of personal property 
collateral excluded from prior 
law, modifies some definitions, 
and adds new definitions. As 
under prior law, the act sets out 
the requirements for a security 
interest to attach to the collateral 
(the moment when the security 
interest becomes enforceable).  It 
also delineates the requirements 
for perfecting a security interest 
and priority among security 
interests when more than one 
party has an interest in a piece of 
collateral. (PA 01-132, effective 
October 1, 2001) 
 
CONSUMER PROTECTION 
 
Protecting Purchasers of Home 
Heating Oil 
 

This act requires all retail 
home heating-oil dealers to: 
 

1. register each year with the 
Department of Consumer 
Protection (DCP) starting 
October 1, 2001; 

2. have at least $1 million of 
insurance coverage for 
potential environmental 
damage resulting from fuel 



oil spills they cause; and 
3. put in writing any home 

heating-oil contracts that 
offer a guaranteed-price 
plan, and clearly disclose 
their terms or conditions. 

The act also (1) allows DCP to 
revoke or suspend the 
registration of retail home 
heating-oil dealers; (2) makes 
violating the act an unfair trade 
practice; and (3) authorizes the 
DCP commissioner to adopt 
implementing regulations, 
including regulations regarding 
license suspension or revocation 
administrative hearings. (PA 01-
46, effective July 1, 2001) 
 
Abusive Home Loan Lending 
Prevention 
 

This act requires lenders to 
make certain disclosures to 
prospective borrowers seeking 
high-cost home loans, including 
the interest rate and the 
consequences of mortgaging a 
home.  It prohibits lenders from 
including certain loan provisions 
or from taking certain actions 
with respect to such loans, like 
charging unwarranted or 
excessive fees or providing 
incomplete information.   

The act prohibits lenders from 
charging a fee for the first payoff 
statement requested each year, 
except when it is delivered on an 
expedited basis under an 
agreement with the borrower.  
(PA 01-34, effective October 1, 
2001) 
 

Requiring Landlords to 
Provide a Receipt for Cash 
Payments 
 

This act requires landlords to 
provide written receipts for cash 
rent payments. Prior law required 
such receipts only if the tenant 
asked for them. (PA 01-44, 
effective October 1, 2001) 
 
Disclosure of Cigarette 
Dealers’ Names 
 

This act allows the revenue 
services commissioner to disclose 
each licensed cigarette dealer’s 
name and where the dealer may 
sell cigarettes. Under prior law, 
the information was confidential. 

The act also makes it clear 
that cigarette manufacturers not 
participating in the tobacco 
master settlement agreement 
must make escrow fund 
payments by April 15 of the year 
following the sale year for 
cigarettes sold in Connecticut.  
(PA 01-2, effective upon passage) 

Penalty for Selling Loose 
Cigarettes 

 

This act allows the revenue 
services commissioner to impose 
a civil penalty on cigarette 
dealers and distributors who sell 
cigarettes in any form other than 
in sealed packages of 20 or more.  
The penalty is $50 for a first 
offense, $250 for a second, and 
$500 for a third or subsequent 
offense.  The fine is in addition to 
existing penalties. (PA 01-6, 
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June Special Session (JSS), 
effective July 1, 2001). 
 
Minors Prohibited from “Point 
and Shoot” Video Games – 
VETOED 
 

This act would have required 
the DCP commissioner to fine 
business owners who allow 
minors to play video games with 
“violent point and shoot video 
simulators.” Fines would have 
been up to $1,000 for each 
violation, and the attorney 
general could have filed suit to 
collect them. (PA 01-54) 
 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 
 
Financing Brownfield 
Remediation and Information 
Technology 
 

This act allows the 
Connecticut Development 
Authority (CDA) or its 
subsidiaries to issue bonds on 
behalf of towns for information 
technology and brownfield 
remediation projects. CDA and 
its subsidiaries can approve 
projects for financing until June 
30, 2005. CDA, its subsidiaries, 
or the towns are liable for these 
bonds, which can be repaid with 
the project's income and revenue, 
including incremental property 
tax revenue and payments in lieu 
of taxes. (PA 01-179, effective 
October 1, 2001) 
 
 
 
 

Extending CDA's Tax 
Incremental Financing 
Program 
 

This act extends CDA's Tax 
Increment Financing Program for 
four years, through July 1, 2005. 
Under this program, CDA can 
issue bonds to finance a project if 
it can generate enough 
incremental sales, admission, 
and dues tax revenue to repay 
the debt service on the bonds. 
The act also extends the time 
period during which CDA can 
issue bonds for the proposed 
Steel Point project in Bridgeport 
for two years, until January 1, 
2005. The bonds cannot exceed 
$120 million or 20% of the 
projected costs. (PA 01-210, 
effective July 1, 2001) 
 
Urban and Industrial Sites 
Reinvestment Program  
 

Under this act, taxpayers 
investing any amount in eligible 
environmental remediation and 
urban site reinvestment projects 
through community development 
entities (CDEs) qualify for state 
business tax credits. The CDE 
must have been created to 
receive federal “new markets tax 
credits” in exchange for investing 
in community development 
projects.  (The credits were 
authorized under the 
Consolidated Appropriations Act 
of 2001, Pub. L. No. 106-554, 
Sec. 121).  By law, taxpayers can 
also qualify for credits if they 
invest funds directly in an 
eligible project or through a 
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state-registered fund.  (PA 01-9, 
JSS, effective July 1, 2001) 
 
Privatized Public Records 
 

This act subjects the records 
and meetings of businesses, 
organizations, and individuals to 
Freedom of Information Act 
(FOIA) requirements on 
disclosure and openness if these 
entities are deemed the 
functional equivalent of a public 
agency. The act does not define 
"functional equivalence" or 
establish standards for 
determining it, but the state 
Supreme Court established 
standards in Board of Trustees of 
Woodstock Academy et al. v. 
Freedom of Information 
Commission et al. (PA 01-16, 
effective October 1, 2001)  
 
Penalties for False Statements 
on Financial Assistance 
Applications 
 

Under this act, quasi-public 
agencies must require anyone 
who requests financial assistance 
from them to sign the application 
or other document the agencies 
use to make their decisions 
under the statutory penalty of 
false statement. The penalty is 
imprisonment for up to one year, 
a maximum $2,000 fine, or both.  

The act applies to the 
following agencies: CDA, 
Connecticut Innovations, Inc., 
Connecticut Housing Authority, 
Health and Educational Facilities 
Authority, Connecticut Higher 
Education Supplemental Loan 
Authority, Connecticut Resource 

Recovery Authority, Connecticut 
Hazardous Waste Management 
Service, Connecticut Coastline 
Port Authority, Capital City 
Economic Development 
Authority, and the Connecticut 
Lottery Corporation. (PA 01-184, 
effective October 1, 2001) 
  
Industrial Classification 
Systems  
 

This act makes uniform the 
criteria under which businesses 
in specific classes of two different 
national classification systems 
qualify for enterprise zone 
benefits. Under current law, 
businesses in specified Standard 
Industrial Classification (SIC) 
groups must demonstrate a 
strong performance in exporting 
goods or services in order to 
qualify for benefits, while 
businesses in specified North 
American Industrial 
Classification System (NAICS) 
groups do not. The act places the 
former requirement on 
businesses in the specified 
NAICS groups. (PA 01-6, JSS, 
effective July 1, 2001) 
 
EMPLOYEE AND WORKFORCE 
DEVELOPMENT 
 
Information Technology Loan 
Reimbursement Program  
 

This act restricts the state’s 
pilot High Technology Student 
Loan Reimbursement Program to 
students who meet eligibility 
requirements for the pilot 
Information Technology 
Scholarship Program, that is, 
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those who enrolled in an 
information technology-related 
degree or certificate program at a 
Connecticut public or private 
higher education institution 
during FY 2000-01. 

It allows students to receive 
reimbursements if they are 
employed (1) by any state 
company, not just an electronic 
commerce or information-
technology-intensive company 
registered or otherwise qualified 
by the Department of Economic 
and Community Development 
(DECD) and (2) in any 
information-technology-related 
job, not just an information-
technology-intensive occupation 
as verified by the DECD 
commissioner and identified in 
the Connecticut Employment and 
Training Commission’s (CETC) 
strategic plan.  (PA 01-1, JSS, 
effective July 1, 2001) 
 
Performance Measures for 
Workforce Development 
Boards 
 

This act requires regional 
workforce development boards to 
submit annual reports to the 
Office of Workforce 
Competitiveness (OWC) 
beginning October 1, 2001, 
detailing how workforce 
programs and activities funded 
by monies distributed to and 
overseen by them are performing. 
The reports must identify: (1) 
providers and their performance; 
(2) program costs and activities; 
(3) occupational skill types; (4) 
the number, gender, and race of 
people participating in and 

completing the programs and 
activities; (5) the number, gender, 
and race of people entering 
unsubsidized employment after 
completing a program or activity, 
and (6) the number and earnings 
of those who remain in such 
employment six months later. 
(PA 01-97, effective October 1, 
2001) 
 
Vocational-Technical (V-T) 
School Business Outreach 
 

This act requires each V-T 
school director to meet with 
business community members in 
the school's geographic area to 
develop a plan to assess 
workforce needs and modify the 
school's curriculum to address 
the needs. (PA 01-173, effective 
July 1, 2001) 
 
Strategies and Programs for IT 
Workforce Needs 
 

This act creates programs and 
strategies to address 
Connecticut's information 
technology (IT) and workforce 
needs. It requires CETC to 
suggest to the General 
Assembly's Workforce 
Development Committee ways to 
(1) form a compact to identify 
areas of IT skills development, (2) 
fund and operate a Digital 
Strategic Fund (DSF), and (3) use 
DSF money to address the 
"digital divide" (the disparity 
between those with access to 
technology and those without). It 
also requires DECD to create a 
campaign to make electronic and 
IT businesses more visible. 
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Finally, OWC, certain agency 
commissioners and education 
leaders, the Office of Policy and 
Management (OPM) secretary, 
and representatives of the 
economic clusters must evaluate 
programs at the community-
technical colleges and vocational-
technical schools and 
recommend ways to improve 
them to better meet the needs of 
business and industry. (PA 01-
193, effective July 1, 2001) 
 
Career Ladder Programs for 
Critical Employment Areas 
 

This act requires the OWC, 
with the Department of Labor's 
(DOL) assistance, to submit 
annual reports to the governor 
and various legislative 
committees. The reports must 
include DOL's forecast of 
workforce shortages in 
occupations in the state for the 
next two- and five-year periods. It 
must also recommend ways to 
generate enough workers to meet 
identified workforce needs. (PA 
01-170, effective October 1, 
2001) 
 
New Requirements for 
Employment One-Stop Centers 
 

This act requires each one-
stop job center to include a local 
community action agency and an 
opportunities industrialization 
center as one-stop partners, 
subject to the approval of the 
regional workforce development 
board and the local area's chief 
elected officials. "Local areas" are 
the local workforce investment 

areas designated under the 
federal Workforce Investment 
Act. The act requires each one-
stop center to give eligible people 
using it access to these partners' 
programs and activities. These 
new partners are in addition to 
the current federally required 
partners. (PA 01-146, effective 
October 1, 2001) 
 
EMPLOYEES: RIGHTS, HEALTH 
INSURANCE, AND WORKERS’ 
COMPENSATION 
 
Time to Appeal Workers' 
Compensation Decisions 
 

This act increases, from 10 to 
20 days, the time that a party 
has to appeal to the Workers’ 
Compensation Review Board 
regarding a workers’ 
compensation commissioner’s: 

 
1. award; 
2. decision on a motion; 
3. order requiring an 

employee’s prior employer 
or its insurer who is found 
liable for part of the 
employee’s compensation 
to reimburse an initially 
liable employer or insurer; 

4. decision in an occupational 
lung disease claim; 

5. decision on whether an 
employee’s injury is a 
permanent vocational 
disability; and 

6. decision imposing a 
penalty on an employer, 
insurer, or party for certain 
violations of the Workers’ 
Compensation Act. (PA 01-
22, effective October 1, 
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2001) 
 
Mental Disability and Marital 
Status Discrimination 
 

This act makes it illegal to 
discriminate based on marital 
status or mental disability in 
state vocational guidance, job 
training, counseling, education, 
and apprenticeship programs, 
among others. Under the act, a 
person has a mental disability if 
he has a record of, or is regarded 
as having, one or more mental 
disorders as defined in the most 
recent edition of the American 
Psychiatric Association's 
"Diagnostic and Statistical 
Manual of Mental Disorders" 
(known as the "DSM-IV"). (PA 01-
28, effective October 1, 2001) 
 
Breastfeeding in the 
Workplace 
 

This act allows employees to 
express breast milk or breastfeed 
at their workplace during their 
meal or break period.  It requires 
employers to make reasonable 
efforts to provide a room or other 
location close to the work area 
(other than a toilet stall) for the 
employee to express her milk in 
private. The act covers all 
employers, including the state 
and municipalities. “Reasonable 
efforts” are those that do not 
impose significant difficulty or 
expense taking into account the 
business’ size, financial 
resources, and operational 
nature and structure. 

The act also prohibits 
employers from discriminating 

against employees who choose to 
express milk or breastfeed at 
work.  (PA 01-182, effective 
October 1, 2001) 
 
Prohibiting Immigrant Labor 
Employment Exploitation 
 

This act requires the labor 
commissioner to produce printed 
material on the rights of 
immigrant laborers or those who 
lack proficiency in English.  The 
material must be in Spanish and 
French, and the commissioner 
can include other languages 
spoken by immigrant laborers.  
The material must address rights 
under state law on state 
contracts (such as hours and 
wages in public works contracts), 
wages, and unemployment 
compensation.  The 
commissioner must provide the 
information to anyone who 
applies for unemployment 
compensation benefits or wants 
to enforce compliance with the 
wage and state contract laws. He 
must prevent people from 
illegally taking advantage of 
immigrant and other laborers 
because of lack of information 
about their rights, their credulity, 
or their lack of proficiency in 
English. (PA 01-147, effective 
October 1, 2001) 
 
Workers’ Compensation 
Commission Assessment 
 

For FY 2001-02 and FY 2002-
03, the act increases the 
maximum annual employer 
assessment for the Workers’ 
Compensation Commission 
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(WCC) budget from 4% to 4.5% of 
employers’ workers’ 
compensation expenses for the 
prior year.  It lowers the cap back 
to 4% for FY 2003-04 and 
thereafter.  Under prior law, the 
cap was 5% for FY 2000-01 and 
4% for FY 2001-02 and 
thereafter. 

By law, the WCC budget is 
financed through a special 
assessment that the state 
treasurer levies on private-sector 
employers and those towns that 
do not insure their workers’ 
compensation liability through 
an interlocal risk management 
agency. Each employer’s 
assessment is based on its 
workers’ compensation-related 
expenses in the previous 
calendar year, up to the 
established cap. (PA 01-9, JSS, 
effective July 1, 2001) 
 
Employer Retention of 
Employee Medical Records 
 

This act extends the time an 
employer must keep a former 
employee’s medical records from 
one to three years after the 
employee’s termination. (PA 01-
55, effective October 1, 2001) 
 
Willful Misconduct in 
Unemployment Compensation  
 

By law, employees fired for 
willful misconduct are ineligible 
for unemployment compensation.  
Previously, a claimant fired for 
willful misconduct based on 
absence could be denied benefits 
if he was absent “without notice” 
on three separate instances 

within 18 months.  This act 
requires instead that such 
absences be either without good 
cause or without notice to the 
employer that the employee could 
reasonably have provided under 
the circumstances. (PA 01-37, 
effective October 1, 2001) 
 
Direct Payment of Prescription 
Medication for Workers’ 
Compensation Claimants 
 

This act requires employers, 
their workers’ compensation 
insurers, or any other entity 
acting on behalf of the employer 
or insurer to pay pharmacists 
directly for prescriptions related 
to employees’ work-related 
injuries. It requires employers 
that provide workers’ 
compensation medical benefits 
through a managed care plan to 
identify all participating 
pharmacies. 

The act also specifically 
requires employers that become 
aware of an employee’s work-
related injury to provide whatever 
prescription drugs a physician or 
surgeon deems necessary.  
Employers are already required 
to provide whatever "medical and 
surgical aid or hospital and 
nursing service a physician or 
surgeon deems necessary.”  That 
requirement has been interpreted 
to include prescription drugs. (PA 
01-85, effective January 1, 2002) 
 
Mileage Reimbursement for 
Workers’ Compensation 
Claimants 
 

This act increases, from 15 
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cents to the federal mileage 
reimbursement rate (currently 
34.5 cents), the amount per mile 
employers must reimburse 
workers’ compensation recipients 
when they use their own vehicles 
to go to and from medical 
appointments. (PA 01-33, 
effective October 1, 2001) 
 
Appeals for Disputed Second 
Injury Fund Assessments 
 

This act allows employers, or 
private insurance carriers or 
interlocal risk management 
agencies acting on behalf of 
employers, to appeal the state 
treasurer’s decisions about 
Second Injury Fund assessments 
to Superior Court.  It also allows 
the attorney general, at the 
treasurer’s request, to get an 
injunction requiring employers or 
insurers or interlocal risk 
management agencies acting on 
their behalf to comply with the 
fund’s reporting requirements.  
(PA 01-40, effective October 1, 
2001)   
 
ENERGY 
 
Forecast of Electric Supply 
and Demand 
 

This act expands the types of 
entities that must provide 
forecasts to the Connecticut 
Siting Council regarding electric 
supply and demand, but it 
reduces the forecast period from 
20 to 10 years.  Under prior law, 
the reporting requirement 
applied to any entity that 
generates electric power in the 

state, other than certain 
nonutility generators.  (By law, 
entities that buy power from the 
nonutility generators must 
provide information regarding 
them.)  

The act requires the nonutility 
generators to report. But it limits 
the requirement to generators 
(utility and nonutility) with more 
than one megawatt of capacity. 
(Commercial power plants 
generally have a capacity of 
several hundred megawatts.)  
The act also extends the 
reporting requirement to any 
entity that transmits or 
distributes power. (PA 01-144, 
effective October 1, 2001) 
 
ENVIRONMENT 
 
Changes to the Transfer Act 
 

This act extensively amends 
the Transfer Act, which regulates 
the sale or other transfer of (1) 
property where hazardous waste 
was generated or processed and 
(2) dry cleaners and certain other 
businesses. It changes the 
definition of “establishments” 
under the Transfer Act to, among 
other things, include properties 
where off-site generated waste is 
processed and adds an 
exemption for waste produced by 
the remediation of contaminated 
sediment or groundwater. (PA 
01-204, effective October 1, 
2001)  
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Regulating Hazardous 
Substances 
 

This act specifies that federal 
regulations governing hazardous 
waste will replace parallel state 
regulations either (1) by July 1, 
2002, or (2) when the state 
environmental protection 
commissioner adopts the 
regulations (To do this he must 
publish notice of his intention to 
adopt the federal regulations by 
January 1, 2002 and must 
submit them to the secretary of 
the state by June 30, 2002). (PA 
01-204, effective October 1, 
2001)  
 
Moratorium on Asphalt Plants 
 

This act extends, from July 1, 
2001 to July 1, 2004, the 
moratorium on the 
environmental protection 
commissioner granting permits 
for asphalt plants. But it allows 
him to issue permits that will 
improve the environmental 
performance of an existing plant. 
It also allows him to issue 
permits for replacement plants, 
so long as they improve 
environmental performance or 
improve air quality. (PA 01-204, 
effective October 1, 2001)  
 
Water Diversion Reporting 
Requirements 
 

This act requires companies, 
municipalities, and other entities 
that withdraw substantial 
amounts of water from wells or 
surface waters to inform DEP 

about their water diversions. It 
has different reporting 
requirements for entities that (1) 
registered their diversions with 
DEP before July 1, 1983 as 
required by law; (2) were eligible 
to register but did not do so; and 
(3) were not eligible to register 
and therefore were required to 
obtain a DEP permit for their 
diversions, but failed to do so. 
The reporting requirements for 
registrants do not apply to fossil 
fuel power plants that meet 
certain conditions.  

An entity that fails to file the 
data required by the act may be 
subject to civil penalties. The 
data must be reported by July 1, 
2002. (PA 01-202, effective upon 
passage) 
 
Water Utility Penalty Appeals 
and Provision of Educational 
Material 
 

This act requires water 
utilities to notify local health 
directors when they appeal a civil 
penalty imposed by the 
Department of Public Health 
(DPH). It entitles the directors to 
participate in administrative 
proceedings and judicial appeals 
regarding these violations.  This 
provision applies to any privately 
or publicly owned water utility 
that serves two or more 
consumers (premises) or 25 or 
more individuals on a regular 
basis. 

The act requires DPH to 
develop, within available 
resources and in consultation 
with water suppliers, educational 
material on the sources and 
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health effects of lead and copper.  
The act requires any utility that 
serves 250 or more consumers or 
1,000 or more individuals to 
provide their residential 
customers with this material 
annually, without charge, 
starting July 1, 2002. (PA 01-
185, effective October 1, 2001) 
 
Water Planning Council 
Created 
 

This act establishes the Water 
Planning Council to address 
issues involving water 
companies, water resources, and 
the future of the state’s drinking 
water supply. The council 
consists of the chairperson of the 
Public Utility Control Authority, 
the public health and 
environmental protection 
commissioners, and the OPM 
secretary, or their designees. The 
act requires the council to study 
specified issues in consultation 
with representatives of water 
companies, municipalities, 
environmental and agricultural 
groups, and other water users. 

The council must report its 
preliminary findings and 
proposed legislation by January 
1, 2002 to several legislative 
committees, and submit its final 
recommendations to them by 
January 1, 2003. (PA 01-177, 
effective October 1, 2001) 
 
Protection of Connecticut’s 
Aquaculture Industry 
 

In this act, the legislature 
finds that the state’s aquaculture 
is an integral part of its 

environmental resources and 
provides an irreplaceable 
economic and recreational asset 
to its citizens.  The act declares 
that it is state policy to protect 
the state’s aquaculture resources 
to the maximum reasonable 
extent. It requires the 
Connecticut Siting Council, when 
considering the environmental 
impact of building or modifying 
energy and telecommunications 
facilities, to determine whether 
they conflict with state policies 
regarding aquaculture. (PA 01-
120, effective July 1, 2001) 
 
Permitting Fishing Pound Nets 
 

This act requires additional 
procedural steps before the DEP 
commissioner can authorize the 
erection of a pound net, fish weir, 
or similar fishing structure that 
was not used before the act 
passed.  A pound net is a fish 
trap that uses a long net to direct 
fish through a check valve into 
an enclosure. 

Under prior law, the 
commissioner could use an 
expedited process to issue 
certificate of permission for a 
range of activities.  The act 
prohibits him from issuing 
certificates for the above fishing 
structures.  Instead, it allows 
him to issue a permit for such 
structures only under the law 
that governs the placement of 
structures in navigable, tidal, 
and coastal waters. Unlike the 
certificate of permission, this 
permit requires the applicant to 
publish a newspaper notice and 
notify various public officials and 
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others.  (PA 01-98, effective upon 
passage) 
 
Clean Air Standards for Power 
Plants – VETOED 
 

Recently adopted Department 
of Environmental Protection 
(DEP) regulations impose tighter 
air emission standards on the 
state’s older fossil fuel power 
plants.  This act would have 
eliminated emissions credit 
trading as a way for these plants 
to meet the regulation’s stage two 
sulfur dioxide standards as of 
December 31, 2004, 
approximately two years after the 
standard goes into effect under 
the regulations. But it would 
have added another option (a 
tonnage cap) as of this date. It 
would require plant owners to 
submit a plan to DEP by July 1, 
2002, showing how they would 
comply with the standards and 
indicating if they would use the 
tonnage option. 

The act would allow, and in 
certain cases require, DEP to 
suspend the stage two standards 
if there is a shortfall in electricity 
supply. The act would supersede 
a provision in the regulations 
that allows the DEP 
commissioner to waive the 
standards for a plant that 
normally meets them by burning 
low sulfur fuel if he finds there is 
an emergency shortage in the 
supply of such fuel. (PA 01-107) 
 
 
 
 

INSURANCE AND REAL 
ESTATE 
 
Real Estate Appraisers and 
Nonresident Applicants 
 

The law recognizes four 
appraiser-licensing 
classifications: certified, limited, 
licensed, and provisional. 
Beginning September 30, 2003, 
this act eliminates the licensed 
appraiser classification and 
prohibits issuing or renewing this 
license beginning October 1, 
2003. 

The act specifies that a person 
licensed in another state as a 
real estate appraiser or real 
estate broker or salesperson may 
be licensed in Connecticut 
without examination on a 
reciprocal basis. (PA 01-100, 
effective October 1, 2001)  
 
CLHIGA Act Revisions 
 

This act revises the laws 
governing the Connecticut Life 
and Health Insurance Guaranty 
Association (CLHIGA) to identify 
(1) who and what types of policies 
and contracts are covered and (2) 
the circumstances under which 
coverage is afforded insurers who 
become financially impaired or 
insolvent. It updates the statutes 
by (1) covering new life insurance 
products with investment 
features; (2) modifying coverage 
limitations, restrictions, and 
exclusions; (3) simplifying the 
provisions that trigger coverage; 
and (4) broadening the 
association’s authority. 
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Specifically, the act:  
1. changes the criteria that 

determine which owners, 
payees, beneficiaries, and 
assignees of unallocated 
and structured settlement 
annuities are covered and 
adds certain types of 
funding agreements and 
annuities to the list of 
covered products;  

2. adds rules for determining 
people covered in different 
states to avoid duplicate 
coverage and which state’s 
statute to use to determine 
the existence and limits of 
coverage; and 

3. sets limits on coverage of 
rate of return in life 
insurance products with 
equity-index features and 
excludes coverage for 
certain claims. (PA 01-67, 
effective October 1, 2001)   

 
Surety Requirements for 
Certain Government Projects 
 

By law, any state or municipal 
construction contract worth over 
$50,000 must require the 
contractor to furnish a bond to 
guarantee payment to 
subcontractors providing labor or 
material. The requirement 
applies to contracts for 
constructing, altering, or 
repairing state or municipal 
buildings or public work projects. 

This act prohibits contracts 
for constructing, altering, or 
repairing state or municipal 
buildings or public work projects, 
or contracting officers, from 
requiring a bond from a specific 

surety, agent, broker, or 
producer. (PA 01-21, effective 
October 1, 2001) 
 
Real Estate Brokers and 
Business Organizations 
 

This act adds real estate 
brokers and insurance producers 
to the list of professions that may 
offer their services through a 
professional service corporation 
or limited liability company. By 
law, people licensed to offer the 
same professional service to the 
public may form and become 
shareholders of a for-profit 
professional corporation or form 
a limited liability company to 
offer such services. (PA 01-157, 
effective October 1, 2001)  
 
Licensing of Insurance 
Producers 
 

This act revises the licensing 
requirements for individuals and 
businesses seeking to sell 
insurance in Connecticut and 
satisfies federal Financial 
Modernization Act of 1999 
requirements. It eliminates 
barriers to licensing nonresident 
insurance producers here by 
establishing reciprocity with 
other states and requiring the 
use of a uniform application 
form. It revises the requirements 
and qualifications to obtain a 
resident license, adds to the list 
of people exempt from licensing, 
and expands the grounds for 
disqualifying individuals from 
obtaining or maintaining a 
license. 

The act also (1) revises the 
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process of appointing producers 
that act on behalf of an insurer; 
(2) adds certain producer 
reporting requirements; (3) 
exempts bail bond and title 
insurance from its provisions; 
and (4) makes several other 
changes.  (PA 01-113, effective 
September 1, 2002)  
 
Commission Agreements for 
Real Estate Brokers 
 

This act permits a real estate 
broker who enters into a 
commission agreement with a 
landlord or tenant in a 
commercial lease transaction to 
enforce the agreement against 
the landlord, tenant, or any of 
their grantees, successors, and 
assignees after the property’s 
sale, transfer, assignment, or 
other disposition. 

The act requires the broker to 
provide “notice of commission 
rights” in a certain form, 
recorded in the land records 
within a specified period, and 
signed by the broker or his 
authorized agent. It also requires 
that certain conditions be 
satisfied before a notice of 
commission rights is binding on 
any landlord, or tenant, or their 
grantees, successors, or 
assignees after disposition of the 
property. (PA 01-88, effective 
October 1, 2001) 
 
LAND USE 
 
Mediation of Appeals of 
Planning and Zoning 
Commission Decisions 
 

This act allows parties to 
resolve disputes involving land-
use decisions or locally cited 
violations of state dumping laws 
through mediation instead of 
litigation. They can do this for 
appeals from decisions of zoning 
commissions, planning 
commissions, combined planning 
and zoning commissions, zoning 
boards of appeals, historic 
district commissions, and the 
Connecticut and Niantic rivers 
gateway commissions. 

A party must first file an 
appeal to Superior Court before 
mediation can be tried. All 
parties must agree to the 
mediation, but a party can 
withdraw from it at any time. (PA 
01-47, October 1, 2001) 
 
TAX CHANGES: EXEMPTIONS, 
ABATEMENTS, CREDITS, AND 
OTHER CHANGES 
 
Alternative Fuel Exemptions 
 

Alternative-Fuels Sales Tax 
— This act extends for six 
months, from January 1, 2002 to 
June 30, 2002, the sales and use 
tax exemptions for: 
 

1. new vehicles running 
exclusively on natural gas 
or electricity;  

2. new vehicles running 
exclusively on propane, if 
they meet federal or state 
emission standards under 
the federal Clean Air Act;  

3. equipment used to convert 
vehicles to run exclusively 
on natural gas, electricity, 
or propane or to run on 
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one of those fuels and any 
other fuel; and  

4. equipment used in, or as 
part of, a compressed 
natural gas filling or 
electric recharging station 
for alternative-fuel 
vehicles.  (PA 01-6, JSS, 
effective July 1, 2001) 

 
Propane Gas Used in Motor 

Vehicles – The act temporarily 
reinstates an exemption from the 
petroleum products gross 
earnings tax for earnings from 
the sale of propane for use in 
gas-powered vehicles.  The 
exemption applies to first sales in 
the state during FY 2001-02 by 
petroleum products refiners and 
distributors.  The previous 
exemption expired December 31, 
1999.  

The act also extends for six 
months, from January 1, 2002 to 
June 30, 2002, the expiration of 
an exemption from the utility 
gross earnings tax for income 
from sales of propane for use in 
gas-powered vehicles. The 
exemption applies to private and 
municipal gas utilities. (PA 01-6, 
JSS, effective July 1, 2001) 
 
Property Tax Abatements, 
Fixed Assessments And 
Exemptions 
 

Fixed Assessments on New 
Power Plants —The act allows 
any municipality to treat a power 
plant that completes 
construction after July 1, 1998 
as though the plant were located 
in an enterprise zone and used 
for commercial or retail 

purposes.  It thus allows the 
municipality’s legislative body to 
fix the property taxes and 
assessments on the plant’s real 
and personal property both 
during and after the construction 
period. This may occur despite 
the enterprise zone law’s 
requirement that towns fix 
property taxes and assessments 
only after the property is 
improved. (PA 01-9, JSS, 
effective July 1, 2001) 
 

Standardizing Property Tax 
Abatement Schedules — This 
act standardizes the schedule 
under which towns may abate 
the property taxes for different 
types of real estate projects and 
personal property in a 
manufacturing facility. The 
schedule bases the abatement 
amount and time period on 
minimum threshold values a 
property must meet. Besides 
standardizing the schedule, the 
act reduces one of the threshold 
values and changes the 
abatement amount from a fixed 
rate to a ceiling. (PA 01-125, 
effective October 1, 2001, except 
non-property tax provisions 
effective upon passage.) 
 

Exemption Administrative 
Review Process — This act 
creates a uniform procedure 
through which people and 
businesses (i.e., claimants) can 
appeal decisions made by the 
OPM secretary affecting their 
eligibility for benefits under 
several state-funded, locally 
administered property tax 
exemption and relief programs.  
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It applies to programs 
reimbursing towns for tax 
exemptions for commercial 
vehicles and manufacturing 
facilities, machinery, and 
equipment.  It requires claimants 
to ask the OPM secretary to 
reconsider a decision before they 
can request a hearing.  Prior law 
allowed them to request a 
hearing when first notified about 
changes affecting their benefits.  
(PA 01-6, JSS, effective July 1, 
2001) 
 

Exemption Provisions for 
Manufacturing Machinery and 
Equipment — This act makes 
the following changes related to 
property taxes on manufacturing 
machinery and equipment: 
 

1. gives companies 
manufacturing 
pharmaceutical, medicinal 
chemical, and botanical 
products an extra five 
years to continue receiving 
the 80% property tax 
exemption on machinery 
and equipment installed in 
a manufacturing facility. 
These companies qualify 
for the extension if (A) they 
employ at least 1,000 new 
people and (B) the 
economic development 
commissioner approves a 
five-year extension for the 
facility’s real property;  

2. defines “related business” 
in order to determine what 
machinery and equipment 
are not eligible for the 
exemption for new and 
newly acquired machinery 

and equipment when they 
are transferred from one 
business to its related 
business. Under the act 
related business includes 
(A) a corporation, LLC, 
partnership, association, or 
trust the taxpayer controls; 
(B) such an entity, or an 
individual, that controls 
the taxpayer; (C) an entity 
controlled by an individual 
or entity the taxpayer 
controls; or (D) a member 
of the same controlled 
group as the taxpayer. (PA 
01-6, JSS, effective July 1, 
2001) 

 
Farm Machinery Exemption 

— By law, towns must exempt 
farm machinery worth $100,000 
or less, other than motor 
vehicles, from property taxes.  
This act allows town legislative 
bodies to exempt farm machinery 
worth up to an additional 
$100,000. (PA 01-6, JSS, 
effective July 1, 2001, applicable 
to assessment years beginning 
October 1, 2001.) 
 
Sales Tax Exemptions 
 

Fuel Cell Technology 
Exemption — This act 
eliminates the sales and use tax 
on material, tools, fuel, 
machinery, and equipment 
purchased for use or 
consumption at, or stored by, 
fuel-cell manufacturing facilities.  
It defines “fuel cell” as a device 
that directly or indirectly 
produces electricity from 
hydrogen or hydrocarbon fuel 

July 26, 2001 Page 20 of 23 2001-R-0536 

 



through a noncombustive, 
electro-chemical process.  (PA 
01-6, JSS, effective July 1, 2001) 
 
Tax Credits 
 

HMO HUSKY Tax Credit 
Increase — The act increases the 
tax credit for HMOs providing 
health coverage for children 
under the HUSKY programs from 
$55 to $73.50 per child.  The 
credit counts against the HMOs’ 
net direct subscriber tax and 
applies to income years starting 
on and after January 1, 2001. 
(PA 01-6, JSS, effective July 1, 
2001, applicable to income years 
beginning January 1, 2001.) 
 

Tax Credit For Computer 
Equipment Provided To Higher 
Education Institutions — A 
new act doubles, from $2 million 
to $4 million, the total sales and 
use tax credit a certain qualified 
company may take against taxes 
owed for computer equipment. 
The credit amount equals the 
resources the company provides 
to a Connecticut college or 
university for buildings and 
classrooms, computer 
equipment, or computer 
programs used for business 
instruction related to workforce 
development or electronic 
commerce.  Under prior law and 
the act, to be eligible, a company 
must (1) be selected by the 
commissioner of higher 
education and (2) have a permit 
to pay sales tax directly to the 
revenue services commissioner.  
(PA 01-6, JSS, effective July 1, 
2003) 

 
R&D Tax Credit Cash 

Refunds — The act changes how 
the state accounts for payments 
to companies for their unused 
research and development (R&D) 
tax credits. Under the act, the 
payments are considered 
refunds, but the taxpayer 
receives the same amount as 
under prior law. By law, a 
qualifying company that is 
unable to take advantage of R&D 
tax credits in any year because it 
has no tax liability for that year 
can either carry the credit 
forward or exchange it for a cash 
payment of 65% of the amount of 
the credit. (PA 01-6, JSS, 
effective July 1, 2001) 
 

Insurance Reinvestment 
Fund Tax Credits and Credit 
Repayment Exemptions — This 
act eliminates premium, 
corporation, and personal income 
tax credits for investments in 
Connecticut-based insurance 
companies made after December 
31, 2015 through state-registered 
investment funds.  As under 
current law, investments must be 
made through funds formed on 
or after July 1, 2000.  

By law, an investor must 
repay tax credits for investments 
in Connecticut-based insurance 
companies if the company fails to 
employ at least 25% of its total 
workforce in new jobs in 
Connecticut.  The act also allows 
investors to continue to receive 
credits and exempts them from 
repayment requirements even if 
the share of the insurer’s 
Connecticut workforce employed 
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in new jobs falls below 25% of its 
total workforce, as long as it 
maintains the same regular, full-
time employment levels in 
Connecticut while the credit 
applies. (PA 01-6, JSS, effective 
July 1, 2001) 
 

Insurance Guaranty Fund 
Credit Refunds and Transfers 
— This act revises the refund 
provisions of PA 00-170 that 
allow insurance companies to 
take credits against premium tax 
for assessments paid to the 
Connecticut Insurance Guaranty 
Association (CIGA) and the 
Connecticut Life and Health 
Insurance Guaranty Association 
(CLHIGA).  PA 00-170 requires 
insurers to take credits over five 
years at 20% of the assessment 
per year and to repay credits if 
either guaranty association 
refunds the assessment.   

The act makes several 
changes.  Instead of requiring an 
insurer to pay the state 100% of 
any refund, it requires repayment 
only for the credits the insurer 
has already taken.  It prohibits 
an insurer from taking a credit 
for any part of an assessment 
that has already been refunded. 
And it applies the 1% per month 
interest penalty if insurers fail to 
repay credits after a CLIGA 
refund within 45, rather than 30, 
days after the association mails 
the refund.  

PA 00-170 allows insurers to 
transfer guaranty association 
credits to affiliates.  This act 
states that such a transfer does 
not affect the insurer’s obligation 

to repay credits when it receives 
a refund. It also specifies that a 
transferee can only use the 
transferred credits to offset its 
own premium tax liability.  (PA 
01-6, JSS, effective July 1, 2001, 
transfer provisions applicable to 
calendar years beginning 
January 1, 2001.) 
 
Other Incentives and Changes 
 

Single-Factor 
Apportionment for Financial 
Services Companies — The law 
generally requires financial 
services companies to use 
receipts as the single factor in 
apportioning net income for the 
state corporation tax.  This act 
imposes a deadline by which a 
multi-state financial services 
company must petition the 
revenue services commissioner to 
be either included or excluded 
from the requirement.  The 
petition deadline is 60 days 
before the due date, including 
extensions, of the return to 
which the petition applies.  The 
commissioner must grant or 
deny the petition before the due 
date. (PA 01-6, JSS, effective 
July 1, 2001, applicable to 
income years beginning January 
1, 2001 for petitions filed 
beginning October 1, 2001.) 
 

Corporation Tax Returns — 
This act changes the due date for 
corporation tax returns from the 
first day of the fourth month 
after the end of the company’s 
income year to the first day of the 
month after its federal return for 
the same year is due, excluding 
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extensions.  For companies that 
do not have to file a federal 
return, the act establishes the 
first day of the month after the 
end of its income year as the 
filing deadline. 

By law, when the DRS 
commissioner grants an 
extension for filing a final 
corporation tax return, the 
company must pay the tax 
shown on its tentative return.  If 
the difference between that 
amount and the amount shown 
on its final return is 10% or less 
and the company pays the final 
amount when it files its final 
return, there is no penalty.  The 
act specifies that, in order to 
avoid a penalty, a taxpayer must 
submit its final return and 
payment by the extended due 
date. (PA 01-6, JSS, effective 
July 1, 2001, applicable to 
income years beginning January 
1, 2001.) 
  

Corporation Tax Returns 
for Affiliated Companies — 
This act requires the deadline for 
affiliated companies to petition 
DRS to use an alternate method 
of determining their combined 
tax to be counted back from any 
extension of the due date for 
their combined return.  As under 
current law, the deadline is 60 
days before the return’s due date.  
(PA 01-6, JSS, effective July 1, 
2001, applicable to income years 
beginning January 1, 2001 for 
petitions filed beginning October 
1, 2001.) 
 

Petroleum Products Tax 
Threshold — This act reduces 
the threshold for a company that 
is not a petroleum refiner or 
distributor to pay the petroleum 
products tax from more than 
$100,000 worth of petroleum 
products imports per quarter to 
more than $3,000.  The tax is 
payable on the consideration the 
company gives for the petroleum 
products it imports that exceed 
the threshold. (PA 01-6, JSS, 
effective July 1, 2001, applicable 
to quarterly periods beginning 
October 1, 2001.) 
 

Electronic Tax Payments — 
Under this act, a tax payment 
made voluntarily by electronic 
funds transfer is considered 
timely if the transfer is initiated 
on or before the due date, even if 
the funds are not credited to the 
DRS-designated bank account 
until later. (PA 01-6, JSS, 
effective July 1, 2001, applicable 
to payments required to be made 
beginning July 1, 2001.)   
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