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NOTICE TO READERS 

 
This report provides brief highlights of the 2000 public acts affecting 

health professions. Not all provisions of the acts are included. Readers 
are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest them from the 
Connecticut State Library or the House Clerk's office. Highlights of the 
Revised FY 01 Budget is available from the Office of Fiscal Analysis. 
Complete summaries of all public acts passed during the 2000 session 
will be available in early fall when OLR's Public Act Summary book is 
published, and some are now available on the OLR website. 
 
This is a revision of OLR Report 2000-R-0604, originally issued June 2, 
2000, to reflect actions taken by the General Assembly during the June 
19 Special Session.
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ATHLETIC TRAINERS 
 
A new law requires the 

Department of Public Health 
(DPH) to license athletic trainers. 
Previously, athletic trainers 
certified by the National Athletic 
Trainer Associations (NATA) 
could practice in Connecticut.  

Under this law, licensed 
athletic trainers can work only 
with people who belong to sports 
teams or who participate in 
sports or recreation activities at 
least three times a week and then 
only to treat injuries they sustain 
in those activities. 

The law establishes two 
classes of trainers, those who 
practice under a physician’s 
orders and those who do not. The 
latter can perform initial 
evaluations and provide 
temporary help, but they must 
immediately refer an injured 
athlete to certain providers. The 
former can treat injured athletes 
for up to four days and then, if 
the symptoms do not improve, 
must refer them to a provider. 

The law establishes 
educational requirements for 
licensure, allows certain people 
to be licensed without 
examination, and allows others 
to practice without a license. It 
sets the fee for an initial license 
at $150, and renewals at $100. 
(PA 00-226, effective October 1, 
2000 or when the DPH 
commissioner publishes notice in 
the Connecticut Law Journal that 
he is implementing the law’s 
licensing provisions, whichever is 
later) 

DENTISTS/DENTAL 
COVERAGE 

 
Outpatient Coverage 

 
Existing law requires 

individual and group health 
insurance policies to cover 
general anesthesia, nursing, and 
related hospital services provided 
in conjunction with inpatient 
dental services if certain 
conditions are met.  A new law 
extends this coverage 
requirement to outpatient or one-
day dental services that meet the 
same conditions.  These are: (1) 
the anesthesia, nursing, and 
related services are deemed 
medically necessary by the 
treating dentist or oral surgeon 
and the patient’s primary care 
physician according to the health 
insurance policy’s requirements 
for prior authorization of services 
and (2) the patient is either (a) a 
child under age four with a 
dental condition or significant 
complexity requiring that certain 
procedures be done in a hospital 
as determined by a licensed 
dentist, in conjunction with a 
licensed primary care physician 
specialist or (b) a person with a 
developmental disability, as 
determined by a physician 
specializing in primary care, that 
places him at serious risk.  (PA 
00-135, effective upon passage) 

 
Pilot Dental Program 

 
 A new law requires the DPH 

and Department of Social 
Services (DSS) commissioners 



 5  
 

and the chief executive officer of 
the University of Connecticut 
(UConn) Health Center to 
establish a pilot program for 
delivering dental services to 
children in low-income families 
in two regions of the state. The 
program must provide for the 
design and implementation of a 
“model integrated system” of 
children’s dental care, including 
disease prevention, service 
intervention, and measurable 
outcomes. (PA 00-2, June 
Special Session, effective July 1, 
2000) 

 
Dental Advisory Council 

  
A new law establishes a 10-

member Dental Advisory Council 
to examine dental care access for 
Medicaid recipients.  The council 
must:  

1. review the fees that 
Medicaid pays for dental 
services to determine their 
adequacy and recommend 
adjustments to these fees 
based on experience and 
access to dental services 
and dental utilization as 
reflected in federal 
utilization reports; 

2. monitor the effects of 
Medicaid dental fee 
increases on the number of 
people eligible for Medicaid 
who obtain these services 
and the number of 
participating providers; 

3. recommend dental service 
capacity assessments; 

4. identify private foundation 
support for public or 

nonprofit health care 
entities providing dental 
services; 

5. evaluate dental care pilot 
programs; 

6. enhance public and 
medical community 
awareness of dental access 
issues; and  

7.  recommend ways to 
expand access and 
increase utilization, 
including, at a minimum, 
state utilization goals.  

The council is composed of 
the DSS and DPH commissioners 
and the dean of the UCONN 
School of Dentistry, or their 
designees, and representatives 
from the following:  

1. a mobile dental clinic, 
whom the governor 
appoints; 

2. the Connecticut State 
Dental Association, whom 
the House Speaker 
appoints; 

3. a managed care company, 
whom the Senate President 
Pro Tem appoints; 

4. the Connecticut Dental 
Hygiene Association, whom 
the Senate majority leader 
appoints; 

5. the Children’s Health 
Council, whom the House 
minority leader appoints; 

6. a community health center 
or school-based health 
center, whom the House 
majority leader appoints;  

7. and a faculty member or 
administrator of a dental 
hygiene school located in 
Connecticut, whom the 
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Senate minority leader 
appoints.  

The council must submit an 
interim report of its analysis and 
recommendations to the Public 
Health and Human Services 
committees by April 15, 2001. A 
final report is due by January 1, 
2002.  (PA 00-2, June Special 
Session, effective July 1, 2000) 

EMERGENCY MEDICAL 
SERVICES 

 
EMS System 

 
The legislature made a 

number of changes in the 
emergency medical services 
(EMS) system including: 

1. requiring licensed and 
certified ambulance 
services and EMS-related 
entities to submit specific 
data to DPH on a quarterly 
basis, requiring DPH to 
prepare an annual report 
based on it, and allowing 
DPH to penalize those not 
submitting data; 

2. requiring each public 
safety answering point 
(PSAP) to submit 
information quarterly to 
the Office of State-Wide 
Emergency Telecom-
munications on EMS calls 
received and requiring the 
office to provide DPH with 
this information annually; 

3. requiring each PSAP, by 
July 1, 2004, to provide 
emergency medical 
dispatch (EMD) or arrange 
for its provision by a public 

or private safety agency or 
regional telecom-
munications center, for 9-
1-1 calls the PSAP receives 
that require EMS; 

4. requiring the emergency 
telecommunications office 
to provide or approve an 
EMD training course and 
to assist PSAPs or center 
with EMD training; 

5. providing funding through 
the enhanced emergency 9-
1-1 program funding 
mechanism for DPH data 
collection and certain EMD 
costs; 

6. requiring (a) DPH to 
develop EMS system 
outcome measures, (b) 
each municipality to 
establish a local EMS plan, 
and (c) the Office of 
Emergency Medical 
Services to develop model 
local EMS plans; 

7. allowing any municipality 
to petition the DPH 
commissioner to remove a 
primary service responder 
not meeting certain 
performance standards 
and requiring DPH to 
develop a primary service 
assignment pilot program; 
and 

8. requiring DPH to adopt 
regulations addressing 
procedures and conditions 
for filing rate increase 
requests and to study an 
expedited approval or 
waiver process for 
additional EMS vehicles 
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and locations. (PA 00-151, 
effective July 1, 2000) 

 
Paramedics 

 
Another new law restricts 

licensed paramedics’ scope of 
practice to those activities 
authorized in DPH regulations 
governing emergency medicine.  
By law, those activities must be 
performed under the supervision, 
control, and responsibility of a 
licensed physician.  Paramedics 
operating within this scope of 
practice are exempt from the 
prohibition against practicing 
medicine without a physician’s 
license.  Prior law permitted 
paramedics to practice 
paramedicine outside the 
emergency medical system under 
a doctor’s supervision.  

This law allows paramedics to 
administer controlled substances 
(e.g., morphine, demerol, and 
valium) under a licensed 
physician’s written protocols or 
standing orders.  Prior law 
required them to be in 
simultaneous communication 
with a supervising doctor when 
administering these drugs.  
Finally, it specifies that 
paramedics do not have to be in 
simultaneous communication 
with a supervising doctor to use 
an automatic external 
defibrillator.  (PA 00-47, effective 
October 1, 2000) 

 
Administration Of Epinephrine 

 
A new law allows an EMT to 

administer epinephrine using 

automatic prefilled cartridge 
injectors or similar automatic 
injectable equipment if he has 
been trained to do so according 
to national standards recognized 
by DPH.  Epinephrine must be 
administered according to written 
protocols and standing orders of 
a licensed physician serving as 
an emergency department 
director. 

It requires all EMTs to receive 
this training and requires all 
licensed or certified ambulances 
to have epinephrine in such 
injectors or equipment for 
administration. 

This law defines EMT, for 
these purposes, as (1) any class 
of EMT certified under DPH 
regulations including EMT-
intermediate and (2) any licensed 
paramedic. Epinephrine is used 
therapeutically as a 
vasoconstrictor, a cardiac 
stimulant, and to relax 
bronchioles.  It is used to check 
local hemorrhage and to relieve 
asthmatic attacks.  (PA 00-135, 
effective January 1, 2001) 

 
Certification Regulations 
 
Prior law required DPH to 

adopt regulations on statewide 
standardization or certification 
for “emergency medical 
technician–intermediate.”  A new 
law instead requires regulations 
on state-wide certification 
standardization for each class of 
(1) emergency medical 
technicians (EMTs), including 
paramedics; (2) EMS instructors; 
and (3) medical response 
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technicians.  (PA 00-135, 
effective upon passage) 

HOSPITAL STAFF 
 
Legislation exempts a parent 

of a newborn from criminal 
liability for abandonment or risk 
of injury to a minor if he 
voluntarily leaves a baby with 
designated hospital emergency 
room nursing staff.  A parent can 
leave a baby anonymously, but 
the act permits the hospital staff 
to give him a numbered bracelet 
that can serve as identification if, 
in the future, he wishes to be 
reunified with the child.  The 
Department of Children and 
Families (DCF) assumes custody 
of a baby left under these 
circumstances. A court must 
approve a parent’s attempt to 
reunify. (PA 00-207, effective 
October 1, 2000) 

HYPERTRICHOLOGISTS 
 
A new law requires 

hypertrichologists seeking license 
renewal to participate in 
continuing education. DPH must 
adopt regulations (1) defining 
basic requirements for 
continuing education, (2) 
specifying qualifying programs, 
(3) establishing a control and 
reporting system, and (4) 
providing for a waiver of 
continuing education for good 
cause.  (PA 00-135, effective 
upon passage) 

MARITAL AND FAMILY 
THERAPISTS 

 
Legislation requires licensed 

marital and family therapists to 
participate in continuing 
education and provide DPH with 
satisfactory evidence of such 
participation in order to renew 
their licenses.  DPH must adopt 
regulations  (1) defining basic 
requirements for continuing 
education, (2) specifying 
qualifying programs, (3) 
establishing a control and 
reporting system, and (4) 
providing for a waiver of 
continuing education for good 
cause. (PA 00-135, effective upon 
passage) 

MENTAL RETARDATION 
WORKERS 

 
Existing law requires the 

Department of Mental 
Retardation (DMR) to create and 
maintain a registry of people 
terminated or separated from 
employment because of 
substantiated abuse or neglect of 
a DMR client.  It applies to 
people employed by DMR or by 
an agency, organization, or 
individual licensed or funded by 
DMR. A new law directs DMR to 
notify these employers at least 
semiannually of the names, 
addresses, and Social Security 
numbers of people placed on the 
registry and the type of abuse or 
neglect.   

It also allows, rather than 
requires, DMR to respond to 
initial inquiries about whether a 
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person has been separated or 
terminated from employment by 
using telephone voice mail or 
other automated response.  (PA 
00-37, effective upon passage) 

NATUREOPATHY 
 
A new law allows a state-

approved natureopathic medicine 
college or program to include in 
its curriculum the didactic and 
clinical training necessary for it 
to qualify for Council on 
Naturopathic Medical Education 
accreditation.  This can include 
training outside of the scope of 
naturopathy practice. 

The act allows the program’s 
students and licensed faculty 
members to do all procedures 
that are part of the program’s 
curriculum if (1) they are 
incidental to the course of study 
and (2) the students are under 
the direct supervision of a faculty 
member who is licensed to 
perform such procedures in the 
state. (PA 00-52, effective 
October 1, 2000) 

NURSES 
 

Nurse Staffing 
 
A new law directs DPH to 

undertake a number of activities 
concerning nursing in 
Connecticut.  It must: 

1. develop a single, uniform 
method for collecting and 
analyzing standardized 
data on the linkage 
between nurse staffing 
levels and the qualify of 

acute, long-term, and 
home care, including 
patient outcomes; 

2. conduct an ongoing study 
of the relationship between 
nurse staffing patterns in 
hospitals and quality of 
health care, including 
patient outcomes; 

3. obtain relevant licensure 
and demographic data that 
may be available from 
other state agencies and 
make it available to the 
public in a standardized 
form; and 

4. collaborate with hospitals 
and the nursing profession 
concerning the collection of 
standardized data on 
patient care outcomes at 
hospitals and make it 
available to the public in a 
report card format. (PA 00-
216, effective October 1, 
2000) 

 
Nursing Shortage 

 
That same new law also 

requires DPH to study the 
nursing shortage in the state.  
The study must address (1) the 
causes of the shortage and 
recommendations for its 
alleviation; (2) make 
recommendations for 
implementing methods of 
collecting uniform data on nurse-
to-patient ratios in hospitals, 
nursing homes, and home health 
agencies, including the feasibility 
of getting the data from other 
state and federal agencies; and 
(3) make recommendations for 
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supplementing nursing care in 
response to the shortage, 
including recommendations on 
the feasibility of developing 
criteria for the certification, 
training, and supervision of 
medication technicians in long-
term care facilities. 

The commissioner must 
report his findings and 
recommendations to the Public 
Health Committee by December 
31, 2000.   (PA 00-216, effective 
upon passage) 

 
APRNs 

 
A new law permits advanced 

practice registered nurses 
(APRNs) to issue emergency 
certificates authorizing people 
with mental illness to be taken to 
a general hospital for 
examination (see section on 
“Social Workers” for more detail).  
(PA 00-147, effective October 1, 
2000) 

 
Under existing law, APRNs 

providing direct patient care 
services must have professional 
liability insurance or other 
indemnity against professional 
malpractice liability.  The act 
exempts from this requirement 
any APRN maintaining current 
certification from the American 
Association of Nurse Anesthetists 
and providing services under a 
physician’s direction. (PA 00-
135, effective upon passage) 

 
Under that same new law, an 

APRN licensee must be “eligible” 
for a registered nurse (RN) 

license instead of “maintaining” 
such a license. (PA 00-135, 
effective upon passage) 

NURSE’S AIDES 
 

Nurse’s Aide Training 
 
A new law increases training 

for nurse’s aides from 75 to 100 
hours and requires the extra 25 
hours to cover specialized 
training in understanding and 
responding to challenging 
behaviors related to physical, 
psychiatric, psychological, and 
cognitive disorders. (These kinds 
of disorders can be caused by 
Alzheimer’s disease, senile 
dementia, or other diseases that 
disproportionately affect seniors.)  
But it lets trainees enrolled in a 
training program before October 
1, 2000 complete the program as 
it existed when they enrolled, 
regardless of changes the DPH 
commissioner makes to 
implement these new 
requirements. (PA 00-59, 
effective October 1, 2000) 

PEDIATRIC ASTHMA 
 
A new law directs DPH, in 

consultation with the 
Department of Social Services 
(DSS), to establish a pilot 
program for early identification 
and treatment of pediatric 
asthma.  The program is subject 
to available appropriations.  DPH 
must make grants-in-aid for 
projects in two towns to identity, 
screen, and refer children with 
asthma for treatment.  The 
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projects must work cooperatively 
with maternal and child health 
providers such as local health 
departments, community health 
centers, Healthy Start, and 
Healthy Families to target for 
early asthma identification (1) 
children who were born 
prematurely, (2) premature 
infants, or (3) pregnant women at 
risk of premature delivery.  

The projects can use private 
resources through public-private 
partnerships to establish public 
awareness programs and 
outreach initiatives targeting 
urban areas to encourage early 
screening of children with 
asthma risks. 

DPH must evaluate the pilot 
program and report to the Public 
Health, Human Services, and 
Appropriations committees by 
October 1, 2001.  (PA 00-216, 
effective July 1, 2000) 

PHARMACY 
 

Temporary Permits 
 
A new law allows the 

Department of Consumer 
Protection (DCP), when 
authorized by the Pharmacy 
Commission, to issue a 
temporary permit to practice 
pharmacy to someone who: 

1. is licensed in good 
standing in another state 
or jurisdiction that grants 
reciprocal privileges to 
Connecticut pharmacists,  

2. has applied to the 
Pharmacy Commission for 
a license based on the fact 

he is licensed in another 
jurisdiction, and 

3. has no actions pending 
against him by another 
jurisdiction’s pharmacy 
board or commission. 

It requires a temporary permit 
holder to work under the direct 
supervision of a licensed 
pharmacist. The permit expires 
when the pharmacist receives a 
Connecticut license or three 
months from the date the permit 
is issued, whichever is sooner. 
The permit fee is $100. An 
individual may obtain only one 
temporary permit, but the 
Pharmacy Commission may, in 
its discretion, authorize a three-
month extension.  (PA 00-182, 
effective October 1, 2000) 

 
Expiration Dates on 
Prescription Drugs 

 
Existing law requires 

pharmacists to include on each 
prescription container’s label a 
prominently printed expiration 
date that can be read and 
understood by the ordinary 
individual. A new law requires 
that the date be based on the 
manufacturer’s recommended 
conditions of use and storage 
rather than on customary 
conditions of purchase, use, and 
storage based on the 
manufacturer’s recommended 
guidelines. (PA 00-182, effective 
October 1, 2000) 

 
Controlled Substance 

Practitioner Registration 
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By law, medical practitioners 
who distribute, administer, or 
dispense controlled substances 
must register with DCP. A new 
law requires them to register 
annually rather than biennially 
and reduces the renewal fee from 
$25 to $10.  (PA 00-182, 
effective October 1, 2000) 

 
Reimbursement Formula for 

Hemophilia Drugs 
   
A new law sets the maximum 

that the state will pay for Factor 
VIII pharmaceuticals (drugs used 
to treat Hemophilia A) in the 
Medicaid, General Assistance 
(GA), state-administered GA 
(SAGA) and ConnPACE programs 
at the actual acquisition cost 
plus 8%. DSS currently pays 
pharmacies the estimated 
acquisition cost for these drugs, 
which is the average wholesale 
price minus 12% plus a 
dispensing fee for each 
prescription. This law permits 
the DSS commissioner to 
designate specific suppliers from 
which pharmacists must order 
these drugs; the supplier bills 
DSS directly. If the commissioner 
designates such suppliers, she 
must pay the dispensing 
pharmacy a handling fee equal to 
the 8%.  (PA 00-2, June Special 
Session, effective July 1, 2000) 

 
Generic Substitutions 

  
Under a new law, health care 

professionals prescribing brand 
name (i.e., non-generic) drugs for 
Medicaid, GA, SAGA, and 

ConnPACE recipients must 
specify to pharmacists why the 
brand name drug is medically 
necessary.  The prescriber may 
do this in writing, by telephone, 
or electronically.  Existing law, 
unchanged by this law, requires 
prescribers who do not want 
pharmacists to substitute 
chemically equivalent generics to 
hand-write on Medicaid 
recipients’ prescriptions “Brand 
Medically Necessary.”  If they 
phone in the prescription, they 
must send the pharmacist a 
handwritten certification within 
10 days.  The act extends these 
requirements to prescriptions for 
SAGA, GA and ConnPACE 
recipients.  

The act makes a similar 
change to the law permitting 
pharmacists to dispense generic 
drugs.  They must currently 
substitute generics for medical 
assistance participants unless 
the prescription contains the 
handwritten phrase “No 
Substitution” or for Medicaid 
recipients, “Brand Medically 
Necessary.”  

The act also requires DSS to 
establish a procedure requiring 
pharmacists to get prior approval 
to initially dispense a brand 
name drug when there is a 
chemically equivalent generic 
substitute.   

It requires DSS to hire an 
independent pharmacy 
consultant under an 
“administrative services only” 
contract to act on its behalf to 
make approval decisions.  It 
specifies that the prior approval 



 13  
 

procedure can only be required 
for initial prescriptions, and it 
deems requests for approval 
granted if the consultant does 
not either grant or deny them 
within two hours. It permits 
pharmacists denied 
reimbursement for failing to 
substitute a generic to appeal to 
DSS.  

The act requires prescribers to 
disclose to DSS or its pharmacy 
consultant, on request, the 
reason why a brand name drug 
product and dosage form is 
medically necessary compared to 
a chemically equivalent generic 
product.  It requires DSS to 
establish a procedure for 
practitioners to appeal its 
determination that generic 
substitution is required for a 
Medicaid, GA, SAGA, or 
ConnPACE prescription.  (PA 00-
2, June Special Session, 
effective July 1, 2000) 

 
Prior Authorization for 

Prescription Drugs 
 
A new law permits DSS to 

establish a prior authorization 
plan for some prescription drugs 
covered under the Medicaid, GA, 
SAGA, and ConnPACE programs.  
It applies to (1) initial 
prescriptions for drugs costing 
$500 or more for a 30-day supply 
and (2) any early refill request.  It 
requires DSS to develop a 
procedure by which prior 
authorizations are obtained from 
an independent pharmacy 
consultant acting on behalf of 
DSS under an administrative 

services only contract.  It deems 
an authorization granted if a 
request is not denied within two 
hours of after DSS receives it.    

DSS must also establish a 
plan to increase cost 
effectiveness or enhance access 
to a particular prescription drug.  
The plan may designate suppliers 
from which pharmacies must 
order certain drugs and require 
the suppliers to deliver the drug 
to the pharmacy and submit 
their bills to DSS.  DSS must pay 
the dispensing pharmacy a 
handling fee for each prescription 
it fills.  The fee cannot exceed 
400% of the dispensing fee DSS 
pays pharmacists under the 
Medicaid program (This fee was 
$4.10, but the act reduces it to 
$3.60 on July 1, 2000.)  The act 
also permits DSS to review 
utilization patterns and establish 
a schedule of maximum 
quantities of “oral dosage units” 
(medication taken by mouth) to 
be dispensed at one time to 
Medicaid, SAGA, and GA 
program participants.  (PA 00-2, 
June Special Session, effective 
July 1, 2000) 

 
Return of Prescriptions By 

Nursing Homes 
 
A new law requires long-term 

care facilities to return to the 
pharmacy, for repackaging and 
reimbursement to DSS, drugs 
that were dispensed to a patient 
but not used if they are:  

1. prescription drugs but not 
controlled substances,  
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2. sealed in individually 
packaged units,  

3. returned to the vendor 
pharmacy for redispensing 
during the product’s 
recommended shelf life, 
and determined to be of 
acceptable integrity by a 
licensed pharmacist,  

4. in single-dose sealed 
containers approved by the 
federal Food and Drug 
Administration (FDA) if 
they are oral or parenteral 
products,  

5. in FDA-approved units-of-
use containers if they are 
topical or inhalant drug 
products, or  

6. in multiple-dose sealed 
FDA-approved containers 
from which no doses have 
been withdrawn if 
parenteral medications.  

The act prohibits returning 
drugs dispensed in a bulk 
dispensing container.  

If the drugs are packaged in 
the manufacturer’s unit-dose 
packages, they must be returned 
for redispensing and 
reimbursement to DSS if they 
can be redispensed for use before 
the expiration date, if any, stated 
on the package. If they are 
repackaged in the 
manufacturer’s unit-dose or 
multiple-dose blister packs, they 
must be returned if (1) the 
package clearly indicates (a) the 
date of repackaging, (b) the 
drug’s lot number, and (c) the 
product’s expiration date; (2) 90 
or fewer days have elapsed since 
the drug was repackaged; and (3) 

the pharmacy keeps a 
repackaging log in the case of 
drugs that are repackaged before 
needed. 

The act requires long-term 
care facilities to establish 
procedures for returning drugs to 
the pharmacy from which they 
were purchased.  It requires the 
Department of Consumer 
Protection commissioner, in 
consultation with DSS, to adopt 
implementing regulations 
concerned with the repackaging 
and labeling of returned drugs. It 
allows him to implement the 
program through January 1, 
2002, while in the process of 
adopting the regulations, 
provided he publishes notice in 
the Connecticut Law Journal 
within 20 days of 
implementation.   

The act (1) requires DSS to 
reimburse the pharmacy for the 
reasonable cost of services 
incurred in operating such a 
program, as the commissioner 
determines and (2) allows it to 
establish procedures for 
reimbursing non-Medicaid 
payors for returned products, if 
feasible. (PA 00-2, June Special 
Session, effective July 1, 2000) 

  
Pharmacy Review Board Panel 

 
A new law adds two 

representatives of pharmacies 
serving long-term care facilities 
to the DSS pharmacy review 
panel.  This panel advises DSS in 
the operation of its pharmacy 
benefits programs.  (PA 00-2, 
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June Special Session, effective 
July 1, 2000) 

PHYSICAL THERAPIST 
ASSISTANTS 

 
A new law requires DPH to 

license physical therapy 
assistants (PTAs).  Previously, 
PTAs had to register with the 
department.  This law establishes 
educational requirements for 
licensure, allows certain people 
to be licensed without 
examination, and permits others 
to practice without a license.  A 
PTA must pay $150 to take the 
licensing exam or to obtain a 
license without an exam and 
must pay a $30 annual 
professional services fee.  PTAs 
must work on referral from a 
physician, physician assistant, 
podiatrist, natureopath, 
chiropractor, dentist, or APRN 
licensed in Connecticut or 
bordering state whose licensing 
requirements meet Connecticut 
standards.  (PA 00-226, effective 
October 1, 2000 or when the DPH 
commissioner publishes notice in 
the Connecticut Law Journal that 
he is implementing the law’s 
licensing provisions, whichever is 
later) 

PHYSICIANS 
 
Existing law requires 

managed care organizations to 
obtain information from active 
Connecticut physicians who 
practice in the relevant specialty 
area before implementing new 
medical protocols or 

substantially altering existing 
ones.  This law was amended to 
specify that “medical protocol” 
includes drug formularies or lists 
of covered drugs.  (PA 00-216, 
effective July 1, 2000) 

 
Beginning January 1, 2001, a 

new law requires certain 
individual and group health 
insurance policies that are 
delivered, issued for delivery, 
renewed, amended, or continued 
in Connecticut to provide access 
to pain management specialists 
and coverage for pain 
management treatment ordered 
by such specialists.  Coverage 
includes the use of whatever 
means a specialist finds 
necessary to (1) make a diagnosis 
and (2) develop a treatment plan, 
including the use of medications 
and procedures.  It defines “pain” 
to mean a localized sensation of 
severe discomfort, distress, or 
suffering, and it defines “pain 
management specialist” as a 
physician credentialed by the 
American Academy of Pain 
Management or a board-certified 
anesthesiologist, neurologist, 
oncologist, or radiation oncologist 
with additional training in pain 
management. 

The requirement applies to 
hospital and medical service 
plans offered by HMOs and 
health insurance policies that 
offer the following types of 
coverage: (1) basic hospital 
expense, (2) basic medical-
surgical expense, (3) major 
medical expense, (4) limited 
benefit expense, and (5) hospital 
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or medical expense.  (PA 00-216, 
effective January 1, 2000) 

PHYSICIANS ASSISTANTS 
 

Prescriptive Authority 
 
A new law expands the 

prescriptive authority of 
physicians assistants (PAs). 

Currently, PAs can prescribe 
Schedule II through V controlled 
substances, but prescribing 
Schedules II and III is limited to 
short-term hospital settings. This 
law expands PAs’ prescriptive 
authority by allowing them to (1) 
prescribe Schedule IV and V 
controlled substances in all 
settings; (2) renew prescriptions 
for Schedule II and III controlled 
substances in outpatient 
settings; and (3) prescribe 
Schedule II and III to an 
inpatient in a short-term 
hospital, chronic disease 
hospital, emergency room 
satellite of a general hospital, or 
in a chronic and convalescent 
nursing home after a physician’s 
admission evaluation. 

As under current law, the PA’s 
supervising physician must 
cosign the prescription order for 
a Schedule II or III controlled 
substance within 24 hours.  (PA 
00-205, effective October 1, 2000) 

 
Medical Hearing Panels 

 
Under prior law, the public 

health commissioner had to 
establish a list of 16 individuals 
who could serve as members of 
medical hearing panels in 

conjunction with the state 
Medical Examining Board.  The 
legislature increased the number 
to 18 by (1) requiring that one of 
the panel members be a licensed 
PA and (2) increasing public 
members from eight to nine.  The 
remaining eight members must 
be licensed physicians in the 
state, with at least one being a 
graduate of an American 
Osteopathic Association 
accredited medical education 
program.  (PA 00-205, effective 
October 1, 2000) 

PHYSICAL RESTRAINTS 
 
Existing law prohibits anyone 

who cares for or supervises 
people in state-operated or -
licensed institutions from using 
involuntary physical restraint on 
a person, except in an emergency 
or as necessary to transport 
someone under the jurisdiction of 
the Department of Mental Health 
and Addiction Services’ (DMHAS) 
Whiting Forensic Division.    

A new law expands the 
permitted use of mechanical 
restraints when transporting 
people to include those in the 
criminal justice system who are 
committed to or receiving 
services from DMHAS.  It applies 
to people:  

1. committed to DMHAS who 
face a criminal charge and 
have not posted bail or 
bond, 

2. whose competency to stand 
trial must be examined, 

3. ordered to undergo a 
presentence psychiatric 
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exam after conviction for  
serious felonies and violent 
sex offenses, 

4. who are inmates in a 
Department of Correction 
facility and need 
confinement in a 
psychiatric hospital, and 

5. who were found not guilty 
by reason of insanity and 
are under the jurisdiction 
of the Psychiatric Review 
Board. 

Each use of restraints must 
be documented in the person’s 
medical record.  The 
documentation must (1) state the 
reason the restraint was used, 
including the person’s clinical 
condition, the risk of his fleeing, 
and the danger he posed to the 
public and (2) describe the 
nature of the restraint and how 
long it lasted.  (PA 00-55, 
effective October 1, 2000) 

PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS 
 

Privileged Communications 
 
A new law, with several 

specified exceptions, makes 
confidential and not subject to 
disclosure, communications 
between a patient and his 
licensed professional counselor 
or between the patient’s family 
and the counselor.  The patient 
or his authorized representative 
may, however, give the counselor 
written consent to disclose the 
information.  This consent may 
be withdrawn at any time, but 
withdrawal has no effect on 
information already disclosed. 

It defines “authorized 
representative” as (1) a person 
the patient authorizes to assert 
the information’s confidentiality, 
(2) a deceased patient’s personal 
representative or next of kin, (3) 
an incompetent patient’s court-
appointed guardian or 
conservator, or (4) the 
incompetent patient’s nearest 
relative who may act until a 
guardian or conservator is 
appointed. 

Professional counselors do not 
need consent to disclose a 
patient’s diagnosis and 
treatment: 

1. in court-ordered mental 
health assessment cases if 
the patient knew that his 
communications would 
not be confidential and if 
the disclosure is limited to 
issues about his mental 
health; 

2. in civil proceedings where 
the patient or, in the event 
of his death, someone 
representing him or his 
beneficiary introduces the 
patient’s mental health 
into evidence and the 
judge finds that the 
interest in disclosure 
outweighs the privilege; 

3. when statutorily 
mandated to do so; 

4. if they believe in good faith 
that failure to disclose 
would present a clear and 
present danger to 
someone’s health or 
safety; 

5. if they believe in good faith 
that a patient poses a risk 
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of imminent personal 
injury to himself or to 
others or their property; 

6. if they know, or in good 
faith suspect, that a child, 
elderly adult, or disabled 
or  incompetent person is 
being abused; or 

7. when making a claim to 
collect fees for services 
rendered. 

When trying to collect fees, 
counselors may disclose to a 
collection agency the patient’s 
name and address and the 
amount he owes.  The counselor 
must give the patient at least 30 
days advance written notice of 
the disclosure.  If a dispute 
arises or additional information 
is needed to substantiate the 
claim, the counselor may disclose 
(1) that the patient was receiving 
professional counseling, and (2) 
the dates and types of service.  
(PA 00-190, effective October 1, 
2000) 

 
Reimbursement for Mental 

Health Services  
 
By law, certain health care 

providers must be reimbursed 
under individual and group 
health insurance policies for 
mental or nervous condition 
diagnosis and treatment services.  
Providers include (1) licensed 
physicians or psychologists; (2) 
licensed clinical social workers 
who pass the clinical exam and 
complete at least 2,000 hours of 
post-master’s social work in a 
tax-exempt nonprofit, municipal, 
state or federal agency, or a DPH-

licensed institution; (3) social 
workers certified as independent 
before October 1, l990; (4) 
licensed marital and family 
therapists who complete at least 
2,000 hours of post-master’s 
work experience in a tax-exempt 
nonprofit, municipal, state, or 
federal agency or a DPH-licensed 
institution; (5) marital and family 
therapists certified before 
October 1, l992; and (6) licensed 
or certified alcohol and drug 
counselors. 

A new law adds licensed 
professional counselors to the list 
of providers who must be 
reimbursed for such services.  
Licensed professional counselors 
can receive reimbursement when 
they provide services in a 
residential treatment facility or 
provide outpatient services in a 
(1) nonprofit community mental 
health center, (2) licensed 
nonprofit adult psychiatric clinic 
operated by an accredited 
hospital, or (3) residential 
treatment facility. By law, 
services must be within the scope 
of the license issued to the 
center, clinic, or facility. (PA 00-
135, effective upon passage) 

 
Licensure Requirements 

 
An amendment to the law on 

licensure of professional 
counselors allows an applicant 
for a license to meet alternative 
requirements.  Instead of 
completing graduate semester 
hours at a regionally accredited 
higher education institution or 
receiving a degree from a 
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regionally accredited institution, 
or both, the act allows a person 
to apply for licensure if he (1) 
earned a master’s degree in 
sociology before 1971; (2) passed 
the National Counselor 
Examination before July 1, 1999; 
and (3) continuously worked as a 
supervisor of the practicioners 
listed above for a minimum of 15 
years immediately before 
applying. This alternative is 
available for 30 days after the act 
takes effect.  (PA 00-1, June 
Special Session, effective upon 
passage) 

PROVIDER PARTICIPATION IN 
AGENCY ACTIVITIES 

 
Legislation allows DPH, DMR, 

the Department of Mental Health 
and Addiction Services (DMHAS), 
and the Office of Health Care 
Access to invite any provider to 
participate in any informal 
policy-making committee, task 
force, work group, or other ad 
hoc committee it establishes.  
Such participation is not deemed 
lobbying under the act. A 
“provider” is any independent 
contractor or private agency 
under contract with a 
department to provide services.  
(PA 00-135, effective upon 
passage) 

PSYCHOLOGISTS 
 
An amendment to the law on 

licensure of psychologists 
requires the Board of Examiners 
of Psychologists to approve the 
educational program of a license 

applicant who (1) graduated from 
an institution in another state 
whose graduates can take the 
state psychology licensing exam 
in that state (2) passed the 
national psychology exam before 
January 1, 1996, (3) has been 
licensed to practice in that state 
for at least 5 years, (4) is a 
currently a practicing doctoral-
level psychologist licensed in that 
state and has practiced there for 
at least 5 years, and (5) has had 
no disciplinary action anywhere.  
This provision expires 30 days 
from the act’s passage.  (PA 00-
216, effective upon passage) 

SOCIAL WORKERS 
 
A new law permits certain 

licensed clinical social workers 
(LCSWs) and advanced practice 
registered nurses (APRNs) to 
issue emergency certificates 
authorizing people with mental 
illness to be taken to a general 
hospital for examination.  To do 
this, they must reasonably 
believe, based on direct 
evaluation, that the person (1) 
has a psychiatric disability, (2) is 
dangerous to himself or others or 
gravely disabled, and (3) needs 
immediate care and treatment.  
The person must be examined 
within 24 hours and released 
within 72 hours unless he is 
committed to a psychiatric 
facility.  Existing law permits 
police officers and psychologists 
to issue emergency certificates 
authorizing such exams under 
these conditions. 
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The act applies to LCSWs and 
APRNs who, as members of 
mobile crisis teams, jail diversion 
programs, or assertive case 
management programs operated 
by, or under contract with, 
DMHAS, have received at least 
eight hours of specialized 
training in conducting the kind of 
direct evaluations the act 
prescribes. 

It requires the DHMAS 
commissioner to collect 
statistical and demographic data 
on emergency certificates issued 
by LCSWs and APRNs.  (PA 00-
147, effective October 1, 2000) 
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