
 

 

2000 
ACTS AFFECTING 

 

SENIORS 
 

Office of Legislative Research 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
Prepared for members of the 

 

Connecticut General Assembly 
 

by 
Helga Niesz, Principal Analyst 
Robin Cohen, Principal Analyst 

2000-R-0557 (Revised) 
June 27, 2000  

 



 
 
 
 
 

NOTICE TO READERS 
 
This report provides brief summaries of the 2000 session public acts 

affecting seniors. Not all provisions of the acts are included. Readers are 
encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest them from the 
Connecticut State Library or the House Clerk's office. Highlights of the 
Revised FY 01 Budget and Statutory Formula Grants to Municipalities is 
available from the Office of Fiscal Analysis. Complete summaries of all 
public acts passed during 2000 will be available in early fall when OLR's 
Public Act Summary book is published, and some are available now on 
the OLR Web site. 

 
This is a revision of prior 2000-R-0557 which dealt with acts passed 

in the regular session to reflect actions the General Assembly took during 
the June 19 Special Session (JSS). 
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SUMMARY 
 
The General Assembly passed a number of new laws affecting senior 

citizens during the 2000 regular session and the June 19 Special 
Session.  Major changes include: 

 
• Expanded eligibility for the home care program and authorization 

for the program to pay for minor home modifications and for 
assisted living services in congregate housing and certain 
demonstration programs 

 
• Authorization for assisted living services in state congregate 

housing  
 
• An increase in the rates the state pays to home health care 

agencies and adult day care centers  
 
• A pilot personal care assistance program for seniors 
 
• A directive to the Department of Social Services (DSS) to develop a 

plan to create a ConnPACE B program to provide a prescription 
drug discount to seniors and disabled people with incomes above 
the regular ConnPACE limits  

 
• More money for elderly nutrition, Alzheimer’s respite, and kinship 

care 
 
• More training for nurse’s aides; studies of nurse staffing, quality of 

care, and the nurse shortage; medical protocols; insurance 
coverage for pain management and ostomy-related items, and 
authority for insurance companies to sell combination life and 
long-term care insurance for a single premium 

 
• A six-year phaseout of the tax on gifts under $1 million; sales tax 

exemptions for certain medically related items and food, meals, 
candy, and beverages in certain institutions; and an income tax 
exemption for Holocaust reparations 

 
 

4 
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HOME CARE AND ASSISTED 
LIVING 

 
CT Home Care Program for 

Elders (CHCPE) 
 
Elimination of Gross Income 

Test.  More seniors will be 
eligible for the CHCPE as a result 
of a new law. The program’s 
gross income limit is gone; now, 
someone can qualify for 
homecare benefits if he would 
otherwise qualify for Medicaid in 
a nursing home. Under the old 
law, gross income could not 
exceed $1,536 per month.  
(People will still have to 
contribute toward their care 
costs and asset limits do not 
change.) The changes will apply 
to the program’s state-funded 
portion October 1, 2000 but 
federal approval is needed for the 
Medicaid waiver portion. 

 
New Services. The same law 

adds assisted living services and 
minor home modifications to the 
current program offerings. The 
assisted living services must be 
offered in (1) state-funded 
congregate housing and (2) other 
assisted living pilot or 
demonstration programs 
established under state law. (PA 
00-2, JSS, effective October 1, 
2000) 

 
Pilot Extension. The new law 

also extends the 10-person pilot 
program that the legislature 
approved last year, which allows 
people with incomes up to $100 
over the old limits (i.e., $1,536) 

who are otherwise eligible for 
Medicaid to qualify both for 
CHCPE services and non- home 
care services. The extension lasts 
until the earlier of when these 
services are covered by Medicaid 
or July 1, 2001. (PA 00-2, JSS, 
effective upon passage) 

 
Rate Increase in State 

Payments. The new law 
increases the rates the state pays 
to home health agencies by 2% 
for people who qualify for these 
services under CHCPE. It also 
increases the rate the state pays 
for adult day care services by 5%.   
(PA 00-2 effective July 1, 2000) 

 
 

Personal Care Assistance (PCA) 
Pilot 

 
This same new law requires 

the DSS commissioner, if funds 
are available, to establish a pilot 
PCA program to allow up to 50 
seniors (and up to 100 if the 
program is cost-effective) to hire 
their own attendant as an 
alternative to going through a 
home health care agency for 
services. The program is available 
to individuals (1) who were 
receiving PCA waiver services any 
time during the year before they 
turned 65 or (2) eligible for 
CHCPE services but unable to 
access adequate home care 
services. (PA 00-2, JSS, effective 
July 1, 2000) 
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Assisted Living 
 
The bill authorizes state-

funded congregate senior 
housing facilities to provide 
residents with assisted living 
services (paid for by the CHCPE 
program for those who qualify) 
through assisted living service 
agencies.  It allows a waiver of 
some existing regulations to 
facilitate this authorization.  It 
also requires the state to 
establish assisted living 
demonstration programs in two 
federally assisted elderly housing 
projects. (PA 00-2, JSS, effective 
October 1, 2000) 

PRESCRIPTION DRUGS 
 

ConnPACE B 
 
While it did not make any 

changes to the existing 
ConnPACE program, the 
legislature did address the issue 
of the state’s seniors’ prescription 
drug needs. A new law directs 
DSS to come up with a plan to 
establish a ConnPACE “B” 
program for people who don’t 
qualify for regular ConnPACE. 
The plan may provide for drugs 
at a reduced price to seniors, 
income limits, and an income 
exclusion for people with 
catastrophic prescription costs. 
The program will operate only if 
the costs associated with running 
it are less than the revenues that 
accrue from such things as 
manufacturer rebates and 
participant fees. If this 
requirement is met, the program 

must start by July 1, 2001. (PA 
00-2, JSS, effective July 1, 2000) 

 
Prescriptions—Prior 

Authorization and Generic 
Substitutions 

 
A new law may make it harder 

for seniors to get certain 
prescription drugs in both the 
ConnPACE and Medicaid 
programs as a result of two 
changes.  

First, it allows DSS to require 
“prior authorizations” for (1) 
initial prescriptions for 30-day 
supplies of drugs costing more 
than $500 a month and (2) early 
refill requests. An independent 
pharmacy consultant hired by 
DSS will determine whether the 
prescriptions should be filled; he 
will have two hours to get back to 
the pharmacy or the prescription 
is deemed approved. DSS can 
also review drug utilization 
patterns to establish a schedule 
of maximum quantities of oral 
drugs (taken by mouth) that can 
be dispensed at one time.  

The bill also requires health 
care professionals prescribing 
brand-name drugs for ConnPACE 
and Medicaid recipients to 
specify in writing why a generic 
cannot be dispensed. Before, 
they could simply write “Brand 
Medically Necessary” for 
Medicaid or “No Substitution” for 
the other programs and the 
brand-name would be filled. 
(Now, only “Brand Medically 
Necessary” will be written for 
these prescriptions.) And 
pharmacists will have to get DSS 
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approval to dispense these drugs. 
As with the new law’s prior 
authorization provisions, the 
pharmacy consultant has two 
hours to approve the brand-
name.  Pharmacists and 
prescribers can appeal adverse 
decisions to DSS. (PA 00-2, JSS, 
effective July 1, 2000) 

PROGRAM FUNDING 
INCREASES 

 
Elderly Nutrition 

 
Elderly nutrition programs 

received an additional $1 million. 
The extra money is to meet the 
demand for these services and 
prevent waiting lists and deficits 
caused by “overserving” in the 
congregate elderly nutrition and 
meals on wheels programs. (SA 
00-13, effective July 1, 2000) 

 
Alzheimer’s Respite 

 
The Alzheimer’s Respite Care 

Program received an additional 
$200,000 in the budget for a 
total of $1.1 million.  Family 
caregivers needing a break from 
caring for someone with 
Alzheimer’s disease or a related 
disorder have been able to get 
respite care from the state under 
this program since 1998 if they 
meet certain income and asset 
limits.  Services paid for are 
limited to $3,500 a year. (SA 00-
13, effective July 1, 2000)   

 

Kinship Care Program 
 
The budget adds $200,000 to 

a Children’s Trust Fund pilot 
program that provides small 
grants to relatives (including 
grandparents) who are appointed 
as guardians for children by a 
probate court.  The extra funding 
will expand existing programs in 
Bridgeport, New Haven, and 
Hartford and expand the project 
to probate courts in New London, 
Norwich, and Waterbury.  The 
grants range up to $500 per 
family and can be used for health 
care or extra-curricular school 
activities. (SA 00-13, effective 
July 1, 2000)  

STATE SUPPLEMENT 
TRANSFER ASSISTANCE PILOT 

 
Under a new pilot program, 

severely physically disabled 
seniors and others receiving 
State Supplement Program 
benefits will be able to receive 
higher monthly benefits if they 
live with a non-relative who helps 
them move ("transfer") to or from 
a bed, wheelchair, or other 
surface. Only people who cannot 
transfer independently in an 
emergency will qualify for the 
higher benefits. (PA 00-2, 
effective July 1, 2000) 

 

HUSKY FOR ADULTS DELAY 
AND STRICTER INCOME LIMITS 

 
A new law delays, from July 1, 

2000 to January 1, 2001, the 
planned HUSKY medical coverage 
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for uninsured parents and 
relative caregivers (who could be 
grandparents) of children 
enrolled in HUSKY Part A and 
reduces the program's family 
income limits for this adult 
coverage from 185% to 150% of 
the federal poverty level. (HB  
6002, JSS, effective July 1, 
2000) 

 
TAXES 

 
Gift Tax 

 
A new law phases out state 

tax on gifts under $1 million over 
six years starting Jan. 1, 2001. 
(PA 00-170, Sec. 8, effective 
beginning with gifts made after 
January 1, 2001) 

 
Sales Tax 

 
Two new tax laws add several 

sales tax exemptions likely to 
affect seniors more than the 
general population.  These 
include certain items used by 
invalids and handicapped people 
such as canes, medically 
necessary support hose, and 
closed circuit television 
equipment used to help visually 
impaired people read. There is 
also a new exemption for burial 
caskets (the first $2,5000 of 
personal property for burial 
services is already exempt).  (PA 
00-170, effective July 1, 2001)  
Other new sales tax exemptions 
include (1) candy, confectionary, 
and beverages sold to people in 
hospitals; residential care, 
convalescent, nursing, and rest 

homes; assisted living facilities; 
senior centers; and day care 
centers and (2) food and meals 
sold to people in assisted living 
facilities, senior centers, and day 
care centers. (PA 00-174, Sec. 9, 
effective October 1, 2000). 

 
Tax Treatment of Holocaust 

Reparations 
 
A new law exempts settlement 

payments to Holocaust victims 
from the state income tax and 
from inclusion when calculating 
eligibility for state programs 
based on need and legally liable 
relative repayment obligations 
(PA 00-82, effective upon 
passage and applicable to taxable 
years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2000) 
 

HEALTH ISSUES 
 

Nurse’s Aide Training 
  
A new law increases training 

for nurse’s aides from 75 hours 
to 100 hours and requires the 
extra 25 hours to cover 
specialized training in 
understanding and responding to 
challenging behaviors related to 
physical, psychiatric, 
psychological, and cognitive 
disorders.  (These kinds of 
disorders can be caused by 
Alzheimer’s disease, senile 
dementia, or other diseases that 
disproportionately affect seniors.)  
But it lets trainees enrolled in a 
training program before October 
1, 2000 complete the program as 
it existed when they enrolled, 
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regardless of changes the public 
health commissioner makes to 
implement these new 
requirements. (PA 00-59, 
effective October 1, 2000) 

 
Studies of Nurse Staffing, 
Quality of Care, and Nurse 

Shortage 
 
The legislature has charged 

the Department of Public Health 
with (1) developing a single, 
uniform method for collecting 
and analyzing standardized data 
concerning the linkage between 
nurse staffing levels and the 
quality of acute care, long-term 
care, and home care, including 
patient outcomes; (2) conducting 
a study of hospital nurse staffing 
patterns and the quality of care;  
(3) obtaining relevant licensure 
and demographic data from other 
state agencies and making all the 
data collected publicly available 
in a standardized format; and (4) 
collaborating with hospitals and 
the nursing profession in 
collecting the standardized data 
on patient outcomes and  making 
it publicly available in a report 
card format. (PA 00-216, Sec. 
20, effective October 1, 2000) 

 
The legislature also charged 

the public health commissioner 
with conducting a study of the 
nurse shortage in Connecticut.  
This study must examine the 
shortage’s underlying causes; 
make recommendations for 
collecting uniform data on nurse-
to-patient ratios in hospitals, 
nursing homes, and home health 

agencies; and make recom-
mendations for supplementing 
nursing care in the state in 
response to the shortage, 
including the feasibility of 
developing criteria for the 
certification, training, and 
supervision of medication 
technicians in long-term care 
facilities.  (PA 00-216, Sec. 21, 
effective upon passage) 

 
INSURANCE 

 
Managed Care Organization 

Medical Protocols 
 
A new law includes drug 

formularies or lists of covered 
drugs in the medical protocols 
that managed care organizations 
cannot alter unless they seek 
physician-input.  (PA 00-216, 
Sec. 7, effective July 1, 2000) 

 
Pain Management Insurance 

Coverage 
 
A new law requires individual 

and group health insurance 
policies that are issued, 
delivered, renewed, amended, or 
continued in the state on or after 
January 1, 2001 to provide 
access to a pain management 
specialist and to cover pain 
treatment ordered by such a 
specialist.  (PA 00-216, Sec. 18, 
19, effective January 1, 2001) 

 



 10  
 

Insurance Coverage for 
Ostomy-Related Appliances 

and Supplies 
 
A new law requires individual 

and group health insurance 
policies delivered, issued for 
delivery, renewed or continued in 
Connecticut beginning October 1, 
2000 to cover up to $1,000 a 
year of medically necessary 
ostomy-related appliances and 
supplies, including collection 
devices, irrigation equipment and 
supplies, and skin barriers and 
protectors. The requirement 
applies to policies that cover 
ostomy, colostomy, ileostomy, or 
urostomy surgery.  But such 
payments cannot be applied 
towards any durable medical 
equipment benefit maximum, nor 
can they be used to decrease 
policy benefits beyond $1,000. 
(PA 00-63, effective October 1, 
2000) 

 
Long-Term Care Insurance 

A new law allows insurers 
licensed for both life and health 
insurance in this state to offer 
policies that combine, for a single 
premium, (1) life insurance, 
endowment or pure endowment 
insurance, or a straight or 
survivorship annuity and (2) 
long-term care coverage.  It 
allows insurers that offer life 
insurance policies with long-term 
care benefits to sell them in 
conjunction with a long-term 
care benefit rider. In such cases, 
it (1) allows long-term care 
benefits under the rider to be 

paid after exhaustion of the life 
insurance policy's cash value, (2) 
prohibits the long-term care rider 
from including any elimination 
period, and (3) prohibits the life 
insurance policy from including 
an elimination period greater 
than 100 days. (PA 00-34, 
effective October 1, 2000) 

ELDERLY TRANSPORTATION 
SERVICES MUNICIPAL GRANT 

PROGRAM 

In 1999, the legislature 
created an as yet unfunded 
Department of Transportation 
(DOT)-administered municipal 
grant program that was to 
provide funds to towns applying 
for financial assistance for 
transportation services for the 
elderly and disabled. This year, 
the legislature made a procedural 
change, requiring municipalities 
to apply for the grants through 
the designated regional planning 
organizations or transit districts 
to the DOT (as they do for the 
Federal Transit Administration 
Section 5310 program, which 
currently provides capital 
equipment grants to agencies 
serving the elderly and disabled) 
rather than directly to DOT.  The 
regional planning organization or 
transit district and municipalities 
wanting to apply for funds 
allocated to the municipalities in 
the transportation service region 
must collaborate on service 
design to most effectively use 
funding. The new law gives the 
transportation commissioner 
authority to approve or 
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disapprove the method for service 
delivery.  (PA 00-148, effective 
October 1, 2000) 

RETIREMENT 
 

Municipal Employees’ Deferred 
Retirement Option 

 
A new law allows the 

Retirement Commission to 
establish a deferred retirement 
option plan and prescribe how a 
town participating in the 
Municipal Employees’ Retirement 
Fund (MERF) can adopt the plan.  
MERF members who are eligible 
for a service retirement allowance 
can participate in the plan if 
their town adopts it.  Deferred 
retirement option plans allow 
municipal employees to continue 
working when they are eligible to 
retire while their retirement 
benefits are placed in an interest-
bearing account administered by 
MERF.  Participants stop 
accruing additional retirement 
credit once they enter the plan. 
(PA 00-192, Sec. 98 effective 
July 1, 2000; supersedes PA 00-
73)  

 
Retired State Employees 
Minimum Monthly Benefit 
 
This year, the legislature 

increased the minimum monthly 
retirement income from $300 to 
$833.34 ($3,600 to $10,000 
annually) for Tier I state 
employees who have retired with 
25 years of service and for 
hazardous duty employees who 
have retired with 20 years of 

service. (PA 00-192, Sec. 99, 
effective upon passage). 

 
Teacher Retirement Benefits 

  
Under a new law, for benefits 

effective on or after January 1, 
2001, the Teacher’s Retirement 
Board (TRB) may refund the 
balance of a member’s retirement 
contributions in a lump sum to 
the deceased member’s or 
coparticipant’s estate if the last 
survivor (member or 
coparticipant) dies shortly after 
retirement without using up his 
full contribution plus credited 
interest.  The new law also 
includes amounts paid to 
members while they are on 
sabbatical in the salary used to 
figure teacher retirement 
benefits, as long as the member 
teaches full-time for five years 
after returning from the 
sabbatical.  Finally, it makes two 
exceptions that affect only a few 
people concerning disability 
benefit recalculations and filing 
deadlines. (PA 00-187, effective 
July 1, 2000) 

 
Retired Teachers’ Health 

Insurance 
 
The legislature established a 

25% premium co-share for 
members receiving health 
benefits under the TRB plan and 
eliminated the relationship 
between the subsidy for 
municipal plan coverage and the 
TRB plan premium. The new law 
also makes certain retired 
teachers eligible for an additional 
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$110 per month subsidy paid on 
the member’s behalf to the local 
board of education to subsidize 
health insurance costs. In order 
to qualify, a retired member must 
(1) be age 65, (2) not be eligible 
for Medicare Part A, (3) not be 
receiving a spousal subsidy, (4) 
have 25 years or more of full-
time service and (5) be receiving 
a monthly benefit of less than 
$1,500 as of July 1, 2000. 

The act also establishes a task 
force to study the health 
insurance benefits offered by the 
TRB and the funding of the 
teachers' retirement health 
insurance program. The task 
force is charged with making 
recommendations concerning the 
(1) long-term solvency of the 
health insurance fund; (2) 
funding method for the 
municipal subsidy and state 
plans; (3) expected future levels 
of costs to the state, active 
teachers, and retired teachers 
covered by the system; and (4) 
impact of an aging teacher 
population on the system’s ability 
to provide future benefits. The 
task force must report its 
findings and recommendations to 
the governor and the General 
Assembly by December 15, 2000.  
(PA 00-187, effective July 1, 
2000) 

 
Teacher’s Retirement Board 

Procedural Changes 
  
Under a new law, the TRB 

must credit interest earned on 
contributions to a member’s 
account based on the balance as 

of the previous June 30th instead 
of compounding interest on June 
30th every year.  Interest must be 
assessed on any mandatory 
contributions for salary the local 
school board pays but does not 
remit to the TRB before the close 
of the school year. 

The act extends the deadline 
for towns to send member 
contributions to TRB from the 
last day of the month in which 
they are made to the fifth day of 
the following month and requires 
districts to transmit elec-
tronically starting on July 1, 
2001. It imposes the 9% annual 
interest penalty on overdue funds 
sooner - starting on the fifth of 
the month following the month of 
the contribution instead of when 
the funds are one month 
overdue.  In addition, the interest 
must be compounded annually 
from the due date to the payment 
date. 

The act lengthens by one day 
the time the TRB has to mail 
retirement checks. It must mail 
the check on the next to last 
business day before the check is 
due rather than no later than 
three days before the due date.  

Finally, the act requires 
members who become eligible for 
retirement benefits beginning 
January 1, 2001 to identify a 
financial institution to which the 
TRB can electronically transmit 
payments. The TRB must 
transmit the payment on the last 
business day of each month and 
may not mail these members’ 
benefits.  (PA 00-187, effective 
July 1, 2000) 
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MISCELLANEOUS 
 
Long-Term Care Advisory 

Council 
 
Legislation added 10 members 

to the existing nine-member 
Long-Term Care Advisory 
Council, which advises the 
interagency Long-Term Care 
Planning Committee.   The 
Planning Committee, created in 
1998, coordinates long-term care 
policy development in the state 
and issues a biennial statewide 
long-term care plan. The new 
advisory council members are the 
following people or their 
designees:  the Connecticut 
Hospital Association President, 
the Connecticut Assisted Living 
Association executive director, 
the Connecticut Homecare 
Association executive director, 
the Connecticut Community 
Care, Inc. president, a 
Connecticut Association of Area 
Agencies on Aging member 
appointed by the agency, the 
Connecticut Alzheimer’s 
Association executive director, an 
Adult Day Care Association 
member appointed by the 
association, the Connecticut 
Chapter of the American College 
of Health Care Administrators 
president, the Connecticut 
Council for Persons with 
Disabilities president, and the  
Connecticut Association of 
Community Action Agencies 
president.  (PA 00-135, Sec. 20, 
effective upon passage) 

 

Recovery In Conservator Of 
Estate Matters 

 
A new law removes the 

requirement that a deceased 
person’s estate pay the 
Department of Social Services 
(DSS) conservator costs from its 
assets if DSS has acted as a 
conservator of the estate or 
person and the probate court 
approves the payment.  By law, 
the probate court can direct DSS 
to appoint a conservator for 
anyone age 60 or over who is 
found incapable of managing his 
affairs or caring for himself, 
whose liquid assets are no more 
than $1,500, and whose health 
and welfare is determined to be 
in jeopardy. The conservator of 
estate provides basic financial 
management services; the 
conservator of the person makes 
health care decisions and 
generally supervises the 
individual’s personal affairs.  (PA  
00-39, effective upon passage) 

 
Professional Counselor 

Disclosures in Elderly Abuse 
Cases 

 
With several exceptions, a new 

law makes confidential and not 
subject to disclosure, any 
communications between a 
patient and his licensed 
professional counselor or 
between the patient’s family and 
the counselor.  The patient or his 
authorized representative may, 
however, give written consent to 
disclosure by the counselor.  One 
of the several exceptions is that 
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counselors do not need consent 
to disclose a patient’s diagnosis 
and treatment if they know, or in 
good faith suspect, that a child, 
elderly adult, or disabled or 
incompetent person is being 
abused. (PA 00-190, effective 
October 1, 2000) 

 
Legal Immigrants Eligible For 

State-Funded Programs 
 
A new law makes legal 

immigrants who formerly held 
“permanently residing under 
color of law” (PRUCOL) 
immigration status eligible for 
the Connecticut Home Care 
Program for Elders (CHCPE) and 
certain other state-funded 
welfare programs.  As with 
“qualified aliens” and “other 
lawfully residing immigrant 
aliens” who were already eligible 
for these programs, the new law 
applies only to those who are 
barred from assistance programs 
that get federal funding. Prior to 
federal immigration reform, the 
Immigration and Naturalization 
Service (INS) assigned PRUCOL 
status to noncitizens without 
permanent resident status whom 
the agency chose not to deport.  
Because INS now classifies many 
who had this status as “non-
immigrants,” some apparently 
were ineligible for state assis-
tance under prior law.  (In 
practice, DSS allowed them to 
participate in its state-funded 
programs.) (PA 00-83, effective 
July 1, 2000) 

 

High School Diplomas For 
Certain WW II Veterans 

 
A new law lets local school 

boards award high school 
diplomas to World War II 
veterans who did not receive 
them because they left high 
school for military service.  A 
World War II veteran is anyone 
honorably discharged following at 
least 90 days of service in the 
U.S. Army, Navy, Marine Corps, 
Coast Guard, or Air Force (or less 
if discharged due to service-
connected disability) between 
December 7, 1941 and December 
31, 1946.  (PA 00-124, effective 
May 29, 2000) 

 
Jury Duty 

 
 A new law gives the state’s 

jury administrator authority to 
create and maintain a list of 
people to exclude from the 
process of summoning jurors.  
The list must include, among 
others, (1) people permanently 
disqualified from jury duty 
because of a disability, and (2) 
people age 70 or older who 
request not to be summoned.  
These people are already exempt 
from jury duty, but including 
them on this list ensures that 
they will not be repeatedly 
summoned.  Under this new law, 
both permanently disabled 
people and people age 70 and 
over must give the administrator 
their name, address, date of 
birth, and Social Security 
number for use in matching 
names.  A disabled person must 
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also submit a letter from a 
licensed physician stating that 
the disability is permanent and 
prevents the person from giving 
satisfactory jury service.  A 
person can rescind an exclusion 
request at any time by written 
notice to the jury administrator.  
(PA 00-116, effective September 
1, 2000) 

 
Bacon Congregate Housing 
 
Generally, state-assisted 

elderly congregate housing 
facilities are restricted to 
individuals 62 years of age and 
older. This special act makes an 
exception so that the Department 
of Economic and Community 
Development (DECD) can 
continue to make grants-in-aid 
and rent subsidy payments to 
Bacon Congregate Housing in 
Hartford and its residents. This 
change will allow the facility to 
maintain its current operations 
as some of its current residents 
are under the standard 62-year 
age limit.   (SA 00-11, effective 
upon passage) 
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