
Night Adjournment Rules for Legislative Sessions 
(Revised 10/22/04) 

 
Session Dates 

State FT/PT 
2004 2005 

Chamber End Time/Time Limit Override or Exception (s) Cite 

Colorado   PT 1/7 –
5/5 

1/12-
5/11 

Senate 6 pm If the Senate or a committee of the whole 
is in session, the session continues until a 
motion to adjourn is adopted, but no 
action can be taken on any motion for 
final passage of a bill or resolution on a 
second or third reading unless the 
motion was first made prior to 6 pm. 

Sen. 
Rule 1 

Maine PT 1/7 – 
1/30 & 
2/3 – 
4/30 

12/1/04- 
6/15/05 

Senate 9 pm Affirmative vote of 2/3 of members 
present and voting. 

Senate 
Rule 
514 

Senate 8 pm Roll call vote of majority of members 
present and voting  

Senate 
Rule 
38A 

Massachusetts   FT Legislature meets
throughout the year 

House 9 pm or midnight - 
No session may start earlier 

than 10 AM. 

House may not meet after 9 pm unless 
the rule is suspended by a vote of a 
majority of members present and voting.  
Vote must be taken by roll call.  
House may not meet after 12 AM 
without the unanimous consent of 
members present. 

House 
Rule 1A 

Michigan FT Legislature meets 
throughout the year 

House & 
Senate 

Midnight None Joint 
Rule 27 

 1



Session Dates 
State FT/PT 

2004 2005 
Chamber End Time/Time Limit Override or Exception (s) Cite 

Senate Midnight - No session may be 
held between 12AM and 8 

AM. 

Senate may remain in session (1) to 
complete action on measure on which 
debate began before midnight, (2) to act 
on a measure considered in connection 
with a message of necessity from the 
governor, or (3) upon a majority vote of 
all elected Senators 

Senate 
Rule 5, 
Part 2 

New York FT Legislature meets 
throughout the year 

House Midnight – No session may 
run more than 8 hours 

(excluding time spent in 
recess or standing at ease) 
and no session may occur 
between 12 AM and 6 AM 

House may remain in session to (1) 
complete action on measures being 
debated, (2) act on a measure considered 
in connection with a message of 
necessity from the governor, or (3) upon 
a majority vote of all elected House 
members 

House 
Rule 2, 
Part 2 

No. Carolina PT 5/10 – 
early 
July 

1/26 – 
early July 

House 10 pm None House 
Rule 1 

Oregon  PT No
regular 
session 

1/10 - 
early July 

House (1) The House shall not meet 
for more than 12 hours on 
any session day including 
recesses. (2) When the 12-

hour period has elapsed, the 
House must adjourn for at 

least 8 hours. 

A majority of House members present 
may vote to suspend the 12 hour 
provision 

House 
Rule 
3.08 

Senate 11 pm. None Senate 
Rule 3.5 

Rhode Island PT 1/6 – 
6/25 

1/4 – late 
June 

House 10 pm None House 
Rule 57 
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Washington    PT 1/12 –
3/11 

1/10 – 
4/24 

Senate 10 pm. - Senate must recess 
for 90 minutes for lunch and 

90 minutes for dinner. 

Rule may suspended by a majority Senate 
Rule 15 
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