Office of the House Clerk


Speakers of the House of Representatives
of Connecticut Since 1819



Party Affiliations: O= No Party, R= Republican, D=Democrat, U= Union, W=Whig, F=Federalist, A=American

David Plant Stratford, O 1819-20
Elisha Phelps Simsbury, O 1821
Seth P. Beers Litchfield, O 1822-23
Ralph I. Ingersoll New Haven, O 1824
Samuel A. Foot Cheshire, R 1825-26
Ebenezer Young Killingly, O 1827-28
Elisha Phelps Simsbury, O 1829
Henry W. Edwards New Haven, D 1830
Martin Welles Wethersfield, O 1831-32
Samuel Ingham Saybrook, O 1833
Roger Huntington Norwich, O 1834
William L. Storrs Middletown, O 1834
Samuel Ingham Saybrook, O 1835
Chauncey F. Cleveland Hampton, D 1835-36
Stillman K. Wightman Middletown, O 1837
William W. Boardman New Haven, W 1838-39
Charles J. McCurdy Lyme, O 1840-41
Stillman K. Wightman Middletown, O 1842
Noyes Billings New London, O 1843
Charles J. McCurdy Lyme, O 1844
William W. Boardman New Haven, W 1845
Cyrus H. Beardslee Monroe, D 1846
LaFayette S. Foster Norwich, W 1847-48
John C. Lewis Plymouth, F 1849
Origen S. Seymour Litchfield, D 1850
Samuel Ingham Saybrook, D 1851
Charles B. Phelps Woodbury, D 1852
William W. Eaton Hartford, D 1853
LaFayette S. Foster Norwich, W 1854
Green Kendrick Waterbury, W 1854
Austin Baldwin Middletown, A 1855
Green Kendrick Waterbury, W 1856
Eliphalet A. Bulkeley Hartford, D 1857
Alfred A. Burnham Windham, R 1858
Oliver H. Perry Fairfield, R 1859-60
Augustus Brandegee New London, R 1861
Henry C. Deming Hartford, D 1861
Josiah M. Carter Norwalk, R 1862
Chauncey F. Cleveland Hampton, R 1863
John S. Rice Farmington, U 1864
Eleazer K. Foster New Haven, R 1865
David Gallup Plainfield, U 1866
John T. Wait Norwich, U 1867
Charles Ives East Haven, R 1868
Orville H. Platt Meriden, R 1869
LaFayette S. Foster Norwich, U 1870
Alfred A. Burnham Windham, R 1870
Edwin H. Bugbee Killingly, R 1871
Amos S. Treat Woodbridge, R 1872
William W. Eaton Hartford, D 1873
Tilton E. Doolittle New Haven, D 1874
Charles Durand Derby, R 1875
Thomas M. Waller New London, D 1876
Lynde Harrison Guilford, R 1877
Charles H. Briscoe Enfield, R 1878
Dexter R. Wright New Haven, R 1879
Dwight Marcy Vernon, R 1880
William C. Case Granby, R 1881
John M. Hall Windham, R 1882
Charles H. Pine Derby, R 1883
Henry B. Harrison New Haven, R 1884
William Edgar Simonds Canton, R 1885
John A. Tibbits New London, R 1886
Heusted W. R. Holt Greenwich, R 1887
John H. Perry Fairfield, R 1889
Allen W. Paige Huntington, R 1891
Isaac W. Brooks Torrington, R 1893
Samuel Fessenden Stamford, R 1895
Joseph L. Barbour Hartford, R 1897
Frank B. Brandegee New London, R 1899
John H. Light Norwalk, R 1901
Michael Kenealy Stamford, R 1903
Marcus H. Holcomb Southington, R 1905
John Q. Tilson New Haven, R 1907
Elmore S. Banks Fairfield, R 1909
Frederick A. Scott Plymouth, R 1911
Morris C. Webster Harwinton, R 1913
Frank E. Healy Windsor Locks, R 1915,17
James F. Walsh Greenwich, R 1919
Frederick W. Huxford Stamford, R 1921
Leonard J. Nickerson Cornwall, R 1923
Elbert L. Darbie Killingly, R 1925
John H. Hill Shelton, R 1927
Samuel A. Eddy North Canaan, R 1929
Howard W. Alcorn Suffield, R 1931
Willia Hanna Bethel, R 1933,35
J. Mortimer Bell Salisbury, R 1937
Walter Howe Litchfield, R 1939
Hugh Meade Alcorn, Jr. Suffield, R 1941
Harold E. Mitchell West Hartford, R 1943
E. Lea Marsh, Jr. Old Lyme, R 1945
Frederick H. Holbrook Madison, R 1947
John R. Thim Hamden, R 1949
Mansfield D. Sprague New Canaan, R 1951
Arthur E. B. Tanner Woodbury, R 1953
W. Sheffield Cowles Farmington, R 1955
Nelson C. L. Brown, II Groton, R 1957
William J. O'Brian, Jr. Portland, D 1959
Anthony E. Wallace Simsbury, R 1961
J. Tyler Patterson, Jr. Old Lyme, R 1963,65
Robert J. Testo Bridgeport, D 1967
William R. Ratchford Danbury, D 1969-72
Francis J. Collins Brookfield Center, R 1973-74
James J. Kennelly Hartford, D 1975-78
Ernest N. Abate Stamford, D 1979-82
Irving J. Stolberg New Haven, D 1983-84
R.E. Van Norstrand Darien, R 1985-86
Irving J. Stolberg New Haven, D 1987-88
Richard J. Balducci Newington, D 1989-92
Thomas D. Ritter Hartford, D 1993-98
Moira K. Lyons Stamford, D 1999-04
James A. Amann Milford, D 2005-08
Christopher G. Donovan Meriden, D 2009-12



[Home] [Members] [Publications] [Process] [Staff] [Gallery] [Search] [Links] [Site Map]