1634 Wethersfield founded by colonists from Massachusetts.
1634 First English settlers arrive in Windsor.
1636 Thomas Hooker and company journey from Newtown (Cambridge), Massachusetts, to found Hartford and build the first Meeting House on the spot where the Old State House now stands.

Illustration of Hartford Colony's first Meeting House   
1638 New Haven Colony established by John Davenport and Theophilus Eaton.
1639 Fundamental Orders of Connecticut adopted by Freemen of Hartford, Wethersfield and Windsor; John Haynes chosen first Governor.
1643 Connecticut joins in forming the New England Confederation.
1650 Code of Laws drawn up by Roger Ludlow and adopted by legislature.
1662 John Winthrop, Jr. obtains a Charter for the Colony of Connecticut.
1662 Two representatives elected from each town.
1665 Union of New Haven Colony and the Connecticut Colony completed.
1687 Edmund Andros assumes rule over Connecticut; Charter Oak episode occurs.
1689 Connecticut resumes government under Charter.
1701 Collegiate School authorized by General Assembly.
1717 First New Haven State House erected on the Green.
1717 Collegiate School moves to New Haven; renamed Yale the next year.
1763 Brick State House erected on New Haven Green.
1774 Connecticut officially extends jurisdiction over Susquehanna Company area in Northern Pennsylvania.
1774 Silas Deane, Eliphalet Dyer, and Roger Sherman represent Connecticut at First Continental Congress.
1776 Samuel Huntington, Roger Sherman, William Williams and Oliver Wolcott sign the Declaration of Independence; large majority of Connecticut people under Governor Jonathan Trumbull support the Declaration.
1781 Generals George Washington and comte de Rochambeau confer at Webb House in Wethersfield.
1784 Earliest Connecticut cities incorporated--Hartford, Middletown, New Haven, New London and Norwich.
1784 Connecticut relinquishes Westmoreland area to Pennsylvania.
1784 Gradual Emancipation Act passed providing for emancipation at age of twenty-five of all African- Americans born after March 1784. In 1797 the age was lowered to 21.
1785 First Register and Manual published.
1787 Oliver Ellsworth, William Samuel Johnson and Roger Sherman serve as Connecticut's representatives at Philadelphia Constitutional Convention.
1788 Convention at Hartford approves Federal Constitution by 128-40 vote.
1789 Oliver Ellsworth and William Samuel Johnson begin service as first United States Senators from Connecticut.
1793-96 Old State House, Hartford, erected; designed by Charles Bulfinch.
1814 Hartford Convention held in Old State House.
1817 Federalists defeated by reformers in political revolution.
1818 New Constitution adopted by convention in Hartford and approved by voters; ends system of established church.
1827 "New" State House erected on New Haven Green; Ithiel Town, architect.
1839-41 The Amistad legal case heard before the U.S. Supreme Court.
1843 Civil rights of Jews protected through act guaranteeing equal privileges with Christians in forming religious societies.
1860 Lincoln speaks in several Connecticut cities.
1861-65 Approximately 55,000 men serve in Union Army; William Buckingham serves as wartime governor.
1880 New Capitol building in Hartford completed; Richard M. Upjohn, architect.

Vintage photo of the chamber of the House of Representatives   
1901 First American state law regulating automobile speeds.
1902 Constitutional Convention held; proposed new Constitution defeated in a statewide referendum.
1905 General Assembly adopts public accommodations act ordering full and equal service in all places of public accommodation.
1931 New State Office Building completed in Hartford.
1943 General Assembly establishes Inter-Racial Commission, recognized as the nation's first statutory civil rights agency.
1947 Fair Employment Practices Act adopted outlawing job discrimination.
1959 General Assembly votes to abolish county government (effective 1960); also to abolish local justice courts and establish district courts.
1961 New state circuit court system goes into effect.
1964 U.S Supreme Court reapportionment decision, Reynolds v. Sims. This case led to the Constitutional Convention of 1965.
1965 Current Connecticut Constitution ratified. One person one vote. Proportional representation begins.
1966 First elections held for reapportioned General Assembly under new Constitution.
1966 Constance Baker Motley of New Haven, first African-American woman appointed to be a federal judge.
1970 Legislature meets every year.
1972 Under constitutional amendment adopted in 1970, General Assembly holds first annual session since 1886.
1974 Former State Representative Ella Grasso becomes first female Governor in U.S. history elected in her own right.
1978 Common pleas and Juvenile Courts become part of the Superior Court.
1982 Appellate Court created by Constitutional Amendment (Effective July 1, 1983.)
1988 Legislative Office Building constructed and renovation of the State Capitol completed.
1990 Eunice S. Groark, first woman elected Lieutenant Governor in Connecticut.
1991 State Income Tax passes.
1995-97 First time in history where all of the newly elected state executive officers had previously served as members of the Connecticut House at one time.
1995-97 President of Poland and recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize, Lech Walesa, addresses the Joint Convention of the State Legislature.
1997 Thomas D. Ritter elected to unprecedented third term as Speaker.
1999 Moira K. Lyons becomes first woman to serve as Speaker of the House.
2001 Reapportionment Commission creates five Congressional districts due to national population shifts identified in the 2000 census.
2005 Connecticut first state to adopt civil unions for same-sex couples without being directed to do so by a court.
2006 M. Jodi Rell becomes Connecticut's second female Governor elected in her own right.