Connecticut Commission on Children: An Agency of the Connecticut General Assembly
The Connecticut Commission on Children
dancing kids logo General Assembly logo 18-20 Trinity Street
Hartford, Connecticut 06106-1591

Phone: (860) 240-0290  | Fax: (860) 240-0248 | E-mail

Big Hopes, Big Challenges: Connecticut Children and the 2012 Legislative Session

Tuesday, November 15, 2011, Legislative Office Building, Hartford

Commission meeting

From back to front: Commission on Children Chair Dr. M. Alex Geertsma; Department of Public Health Commissioner Dr. Jewell Mullen; Commission members Valeri Whitmer, Barbara J. Ruhe, and Donald R. Green; Department of Social Services Project Director Sylvia Gafford-Alexander; and Commission members Alison Hilding and Jordan E,. Grossman.

Overview | CT-N video | Presenters


When the General Assembly convenes on February 8, 2012, it will face no shortage of issues impacting children. The recession is driving up child poverty and youth unemployment. The competition for jobs is making success in education more important than ever. Connecticut's persistent literacy gap is drawing renewed attention and ideas. Obesity is putting children at risk for serious diseases and driving up health care costs. And coordinated early care and home visitation are taking center stage in efforts to integrate the delivery of services. With all this in mind, the Commission invited key lawmakers, agency commissioners, and other policy leaders to discuss their vision and priorities for the coming year.

CT-N video

Length: 2 hours, 5 minutes. You may also watch on the CT-N website and order DVDs there.


Dr. Jewell Mullen
Department of Public Health (DPH)

Jeanne Milstein
Child Advocate

Gary Holder-Winfield
State Representative, New Haven
Chair, Black and Puerto Rican Caucus

Anne Foley
Senior Policy Advisor
Office of Policy and Management (OPM)

Beth Bye
State Senator, West Hartford
Co-Chair, Higher Education & Employment Advancement Committee

Diana Urban
State Representative, North Stonington
Co-Chair, Select Committee on Children

Janice Gruendel
Deputy Commissioner
Department of Children and Families (DCF)

Karen Jarmoc
Interim Executive Director
Connecticut Coalition Against Domestic Violence

Jessica Sager
Executive Director
All Our Kin Inc.


Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Flickr Follow us on YouTube Follow our RSS feed
CT-N logo ConneCTkids