There are two explanations for the three grapevines in the center of the shield. One theory is that they represent the first three towns in Connecticut - Hartford, Wethersfield and Windsor. Another interpretation is that the vines stand for the three colonies or settlements - New Haven, Saybrook and Connecticut (Hartford), which by 1665 had merged to form the Connecticut of that time.


Courtesy of the League of Women Voters of Connecticut, Inc.

The State Motto written in Latin - "Qui Transtulit Sustinet" - translates to "He who transplanted still sustains".