Substitute for Raised S.B. No. 1014
Session Year 2009


To prohibit school authorities from suspending or expelling students for the content of electronic correspondence transmitted off school grounds and using personal equipment or devices when such correspondence does not pose a threat to students, personnel or the school.

Introduced by:
Education Committee

 New today  2-4 days old  5 days & older

*NOTE: Add to My Bills and Add Notes are cookie-based functions. If device cookies are cleaned, this information will be lost.

*NOTE: Add to My Bills and Add Notes are cookie-based functions. Browser must accept cookies from to function. If browser cookies are cleaned, bills will be lost.

Co-sponsors for Amendment LCO:

Bill History

 Date Action Taken
 7/8/2009Signed by the Governor
 6/26/2009Transmitted to the Secretary of State
 6/25/2009(LCO)Public Act 09-241
 6/3/2009In Concurrence
 6/3/2009House Passed as Amended by Senate Amendment Schedule A
 6/3/2009House Ruled House Amendment Not Germane, House Amendment Schedule A 9180
 6/3/2009House Adopted Senate Amendment Schedule A
 5/27/2009House Calendar Number 685
 5/27/2009Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, House
 5/27/2009Rules Suspended, Transmitted to the House
 5/27/2009Senate Passed as Amended by Senate Amendment Schedule A
 5/27/2009Amendment Withdrawn, Senate Amendment Schedule B 7215
 5/27/2009Senate Adopted Senate Amendment Schedule A 7944
 4/15/2009(LCO)File Number 648
 4/15/2009Senate Calendar Number 430
 4/15/2009Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, Senate
 4/15/2009(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 4/8/2009(LCO)Referred to Office of Legislative Research and Office of Fiscal Analysis 04/14/09 5:00 PM
 4/2/2009(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 4/1/2009(ED)Joint Favorable Substitute
 3/5/2009Public Hearing 03/09
 2/25/2009Referred to Joint Committee on Education

Co-sponsors of SB-1014

Rep. Auden Grogins, 129th Dist.
Sen. Mary Ann Handley, 4th Dist.
Sen. Andrew W. Roraback, 30th Dist.
Rep. Peggy Sayers, 60th Dist.
Rep. Jason Rojas, 9th Dist.
Rep. Hector L. Robles, 6th Dist.
Rep. Larry B. Butler, 72nd Dist.
Rep. Tom Reynolds, 42nd Dist.
Rep. Patricia B. Miller, 145th Dist.
Rep. Marie Lopez Kirkley-Bey, 5th Dist.
Rep. John C. Geragosian, 25th Dist.
Rep. Ernest Hewett, 39th Dist.
Rep. Susan M. Johnson, 49th Dist.
Rep. Kelvin Roldan, 4th Dist.
Rep. Elizabeth A. Boukus, 22nd Dist.
Rep. Lile R. Gibbons, 150th Dist.
Rep. Livvy R. Floren, 149th Dist.
Rep. Mary M. Mushinsky, 85th Dist.
Rep. Elissa T. Wright, 41st Dist.
Rep. Andrew M. Fleischmann, 18th Dist.
Rep. Kenneth P. Green, 1st Dist.
Sen. Andrea L. Stillman, 20th Dist.
Sen. Joseph J. Crisco, 17th Dist.
Sen. Martin M. Looney, 11th Dist.
Rep. Joseph C. Serra, 33rd Dist.
Sen. Anthony J. Musto, 22nd Dist.
Sen. Toni Nathaniel Harp, 10th Dist.

NOTE: Please direct all inquiries regarding the status of bills to the Office of the House Clerk and/or Senate Clerks' Office.