Raised H.B. No. 7254
Session Year 2017


To require teachers applying for professional certification with a comprehensive special education or integrated early childhood and special education endorsement to complete a program of study in the diagnosis and remediation of reading and language arts that includes supervised practicum hours and instruction in the detection and recognition of, and evidence-based structured literacy interventions for, students with dyslexia.

Introduced by:
Education Committee

 New today  2-4 days old  5 days & older

Co-sponsors for Amendment LCO:

Bill History

 Date Action Taken
 5/16/2017Signed by the Governor
 5/10/2017Transmitted by Secretary of the State to Governor
 5/10/2017Transmitted to the Secretary of State
 5/8/2017(LCO)Public Act 17-3
 5/3/2017On Consent Calendar / In Concurrence
 5/3/2017Senate Passed
 4/21/2017Senate Calendar Number 365
 4/21/2017Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, Senate
 4/19/2017House Passed
 4/6/2017(LCO)File Number 462
 4/6/2017House Calendar Number 323
 4/6/2017Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, House
 4/6/2017(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/31/2017(LCO)Referred to Office of Legislative Research and Office of Fiscal Analysis 04/05/17 5:00 PM
 3/27/2017(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/24/2017(ED)Joint Favorable
 3/10/2017Public Hearing 03/16
 3/9/2017Referred to Joint Committee on Education

Co-sponsors of HB-7254

Rep. Terrie E. Wood, 141st Dist.
Rep. Jeff Currey, 11th Dist.
Rep. Bill Simanski, 62nd Dist.
Rep. Mitch Bolinsky, 106th Dist.
Rep. Robin Green, 55th Dist.
Rep. Greg Stokes, 58th Dist.
Rep. Vincent J. Candelora, 86th Dist.
Sen. Gary A. Winfield, 10th Dist.
Rep. Michelle L. Cook, 65th Dist.
Rep. Henry J. Genga, 10th Dist.
Rep. Susan M. Johnson, 49th Dist.
Rep. Brandon L. McGee, 5th Dist.
Rep. Caroline Simmons, 144th Dist.
Rep. Michael A. DiMassa, 116th Dist.
Rep. Kim Rose, 118th Dist.
Rep. Noreen S. Kokoruda, 101st Dist.
Rep. Daniel S. Rovero, 51st Dist.
Sen. Leonard A. Fasano, 34th Dist.
Rep. Themis Klarides, 114th Dist.
Rep. Robert C. Sampson, 80th Dist.
Rep. Gail Lavielle, 143rd Dist.
Rep. Bruce V. Morris, 140th Dist.
Sen. Catherine A. Osten, 19th Dist.
Rep. Carol Hall, 59th Dist.
Rep. Adam Dunsby, 135th Dist.
Rep. Cara Christine Pavalock-D'Amato, 77th Dist.
Rep. Joe Aresimowicz, 30th Dist.
Rep. Cristin McCarthy Vahey, 133rd Dist.
Rep. John K. Hampton, 16th Dist.
Rep. James M. Albis, 99th Dist.
Sen. Beth Bye, 5th Dist.
Sen. Anthony Guglielmo, 35th Dist.
Sen. Marilyn V. Moore, 22nd Dist.
Rep. Jason Rojas, 9th Dist.
Rep. Derek Slap, 19th Dist.
Sen. Henri Martin, 31st Dist.
Sen. Kevin D. Witkos, 8th Dist.
Rep. Sam Belsito, 53rd Dist.
Rep. Pam Staneski, 119th Dist.
Rep. Fred Camillo, 151st Dist.
Rep. Michael Ferguson, 138th Dist.
Sen. Paul M. Formica, 20th Dist.
Sen. John A. Kissel, 7th Dist.
Rep. Robyn A. Porter, 94th Dist.
Rep. Gary Byron, 27th Dist.
Rep. Tami Zawistowski, 61st Dist.
Rep. Lezlye Zupkus, 89th Dist.
Rep. Devin R. Carney, 23rd Dist.
Rep. Laura M. Devlin, 134th Dist.
Rep. William A. Petit, 22nd Dist.
Rep. Brenda L. Kupchick, 132nd Dist.
Rep. Stephen G. Harding, 107th Dist.
Rep. John Fusco, 81st Dist.
Rep. Tom O'Dea, 125th Dist.
Rep. Richard A. Smith, 108th Dist.
Rep. David A. Baram, 15th Dist.
Rep. Emmett D. Riley, 46th Dist.
Rep. Charles J. Ferraro, 117th Dist.
Rep. Scott A. Storms, 60th Dist.
Rep. Tom Delnicki, 14th Dist.
Rep. Laura R. Hoydick, 120th Dist.
Rep. David Rutigliano, 123rd Dist.
Rep. Whit Betts, 78th Dist.
Rep. Dave W. Yaccarino, 87th Dist.
Rep. Anthony J. D'Amelio, 71st Dist.
Rep. Peter A. Tercyak, 26th Dist.
Rep. Livvy R. Floren, 149th Dist.
Rep. Kathleen M. McCarty, 38th Dist.
Rep. Andrew M. Fleischmann, 18th Dist.
Rep. Patricia Billie Miller, 145th Dist.
Sen. Terry B. Gerratana, 6th Dist.
Sen. Steve Cassano, 4th Dist.
Sen. Tony Hwang, 28th Dist.
Sen. Len Suzio, 13th Dist.
Sen. Craig Miner, 30th Dist.
Rep. Dorinda Borer, 115th Dist.
Rep. Christie M. Carpino, 32nd Dist.
Sen. Michael A. McLachlan, 24th Dist.
Sen. Eric C. Berthel, 32nd Dist.
Sen. Art Linares, 33rd Dist.
Sen. Toni Boucher, 26th Dist.

NOTE: Please direct all inquiries regarding the status of bills to the Office of the House Clerk and/or Senate Clerks' Office.