Substitute for Raised H.B. No. 5403
Session Year 2016


To increase the fines for failure to yield to a pedestrian in a crosswalk and failure to exercise due care to avoid colliding with a pedestrian or cyclist and to provide that such payments for such violations result in a remittance to the municipality in which the violation occurred.

Introduced by:
Judiciary Committee

 New today  2-4 days old  5 days & older

Co-sponsors for Amendment LCO:

Bill History

 Date Action Taken
 5/26/2016Signed by the Governor
 5/16/2016Transmitted by Secretary of the State to Governor
 5/16/2016Transmitted to the Secretary of State
 5/10/2016(LCO)Public Act 16-54
 5/3/2016On Consent Calendar / In Concurrence
 5/3/2016Senate Passed
 4/25/2016Senate Calendar Number 504
 4/25/2016Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, Senate
 4/21/2016House Passed
 4/21/2016Amendment Withdrawn, House Amendment Schedule A 4278
 4/12/2016Tabled for the Calendar, House
 4/12/2016No New File by Committee on Transportation
 4/12/2016(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 4/12/2016(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 4/12/2016(TRA)Joint Favorable
 4/5/2016Referred by House to Committee on Transportation
 3/29/2016(LCO)File Number 238
 3/29/2016House Calendar Number 181
 3/29/2016Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, House
 3/29/2016(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/21/2016(LCO)Referred to Office of Legislative Research and Office of Fiscal Analysis 03/29/16 10:00 AM
 3/14/2016(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/11/2016(JUD)Joint Favorable
 2/26/2016Public Hearing 03/02
 2/24/2016Referred to Joint Committee on Judiciary

Co-sponsors of HB-5403

Rep. Cristin McCarthy Vahey, 133rd Dist.
Sen. Beth Bye, 5th Dist.
Rep. Steven Stafstrom, 129th Dist.
Rep. Mitch Bolinsky, 106th Dist.
Rep. Christopher Rosario, 128th Dist.
Rep. Terry B. Adams, 146th Dist.
Rep. Angel Arce, 4th Dist.
Rep. Roland J. Lemar, 96th Dist.
Sen. Edwin A. Gomes, 23rd Dist.
Rep. Ezequiel Santiago, 130th Dist.
Rep. Mary M. Mushinsky, 85th Dist.
Rep. William Aman, 14th Dist.
Rep. Kurt Vail, 52nd Dist.
Rep. David Alexander, 58th Dist.
Rep. William Tong, 147th Dist.
Rep. James Albis, 99th Dist.
Rep. John "Jack" F. Hennessy, 127th Dist.
Rep. David Arconti, 109th Dist.
Rep. Diana S. Urban, 43rd Dist.
Rep. Roberta B. Willis, 64th Dist.
Rep. Sam Belsito, 53rd Dist.
Rep. Gayle J. Mulligan, 55th Dist.
Rep. Janice R. Giegler, 138th Dist.
Rep. Michelle L. Cook, 65th Dist.
Rep. Stephen G. Harding, 107th Dist.
Rep. Livvy R. Floren, 149th Dist.
Rep. Charlie L. Stallworth, 126th Dist.
Rep. Pam Staneski, 119th Dist.
Rep. Prasad Srinivasan, 31st Dist.
Rep. Stephen D. Dargan, 115th Dist.
Rep. Terrie Wood, 141st Dist.
Rep. Noreen S. Kokoruda, 101st Dist.
Rep. Juan R. Candelaria, 95th Dist.
Rep. Elizabeth A. Boukus, 22nd Dist.
Rep. John K. Hampton, 16th Dist.
Rep. John H. Frey, 111th Dist.
Rep. Catherine F. Abercrombie, 83rd Dist.
Rep. Daniel J. Fox, 148th Dist.
Rep. Cecilia Buck-Taylor, 67th Dist.
Rep. Patricia Billie Miller, 145th Dist.
Rep. Al Adinolfi, 103rd Dist.
Rep. Ben McGorty, 122nd Dist.
Rep. Brenda L. Kupchick, 132nd Dist.
Rep. Richard A. Smith, 108th Dist.
Rep. Laura Devlin, 134th Dist.
Sen. Eric D. Coleman, 2nd Dist.
Sen. Joseph J. Crisco, 17th Dist.
Sen. Carlo Leone, 27th Dist.
Sen. Martin M. Looney, 11th Dist.
Sen. Marilyn Moore, 22nd Dist.
Rep. Joseph C. Serra, 33rd Dist.

NOTE: Please direct all inquiries regarding the status of bills to the Office of the House Clerk and/or Senate Clerks' Office.