Substitute for S.B. No. 426
Session Year 2015


To protect employee privacy by barring employers or potential employers from (1) requesting or requiring employees or potential employees to provide passwords or usernames to their personal online accounts as a condition of employment, and (2) requesting or requiring employees or potential employees to invite the employer or potential employer to join their personal online account network.

Introduced by:
Labor and Public Employees Committee

 New today  2-4 days old  5 days & older

Co-sponsors for Amendment LCO:

Bill History

 Date Action Taken
 5/19/2015Signed by the Governor
 5/14/2015Transmitted by Secretary of the State to Governor
 5/14/2015Transmitted to the Secretary of State
 5/11/2015(LCO)Public Act 15-6
 5/6/2015In Concurrence
 5/6/2015House Passed
 4/24/2015House Calendar Number 477
 4/24/2015Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, House
 4/22/2015Senate Passed
 3/30/2015(LCO)File Number 292
 3/30/2015Senate Calendar Number 225
 3/30/2015Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, Senate
 3/30/2015(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/23/2015(LCO)Referred to Office of Legislative Research and Office of Fiscal Analysis 03/30/15 10:00 AM
 3/16/2015(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/12/2015(LAB)Joint Favorable Substitute
 2/27/2015Public Hearing 03/05
 2/13/2015Referred to Joint Committee on Labor and Public Employees
 2/11/2015Drafted by Committee
 2/5/2015(LAB)Vote to Draft
 1/22/2015Referred to Joint Committee on Labor and Public Employees

Co-sponsors of SB-426

Sen. Martin M. Looney, 11th Dist.
Sen. Bob Duff, 25th Dist.
Sen. Danté Bartolomeo, 13th Dist.
Sen. Steve Cassano, 4th Dist.
Sen. Eric D. Coleman, 2nd Dist.
Sen. Joseph J. Crisco, 17th Dist.
Sen. Timothy D. Larson, 3rd Dist.
Sen. Carlo Leone, 27th Dist.
Sen. Marilyn Moore, 22nd Dist.
Sen. Catherine A. Osten, 19th Dist.
Sen. Gary A. Winfield, 10th Dist.
Rep. Terry B. Adams, 146th Dist.
Rep. David Arconti, 109th Dist.
Sen. Terry B. Gerratana, 6th Dist.
Rep. James Albis, 99th Dist.
Rep. Cecilia Buck-Taylor, 67th Dist.
Rep. Louis P. Esposito, 116th Dist.
Rep. Patricia Billie Miller, 145th Dist.
Rep. Andre F. Baker, 124th Dist.
Rep. Theresa W. Conroy, 105th Dist.
Rep. Daniel S. Rovero, 51st Dist.
Rep. Bob Godfrey, 110th Dist.
Sen. Andrew M. Maynard, 18th Dist.
Sen. Edwin A. Gomes, 23rd Dist.
Sen. Gayle S. Slossberg, 14th Dist.
Sen. Paul R. Doyle, 9th Dist.
Sen. Mae Flexer, 29th Dist.

NOTE: Please direct all inquiries regarding the status of bills to the Office of the House Clerk and/or Senate Clerks' Office.