Substitute for Raised S.B. No. 1054
Session Year 2015


To define dyslexia, require an employee of the Department of Education to be responsible for providing information and assistance to the public relating to dyslexia, include specific programmatic requirements for teacher preparation courses relating to dyslexia and include dyslexia instruction as part of the in-service training for educators.

Introduced by:
Education Committee

 New today  2-4 days old  5 days & older

*NOTE: Add to My Bills and Add Notes are cookie-based functions. If device cookies are cleaned, this information will be lost.

*NOTE: Add to My Bills and Add Notes are cookie-based functions. Browser must accept cookies from to function. If browser cookies are cleaned, bills will be lost.

Co-sponsors for Amendment LCO:

Bill History

 Date Action Taken
 6/23/2015Signed by the Governor
 6/11/2015Transmitted by Secretary of the State to Governor
 6/11/2015Transmitted to the Secretary of State
 6/8/2015(LCO)Public Act 15-97
 5/27/2015In Concurrence
 5/27/2015House Passed as Amended by Senate Amendment Schedule A
 5/27/2015House Adopted Senate Amendment Schedule A
 5/21/2015House Calendar Number 598
 5/21/2015Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, House
 5/19/2015On Consent Calendar
 5/19/2015Senate Passed as Amended by Senate Amendment Schedule A
 5/14/2015Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, Senate
 5/14/2015No New File by Committee on Higher Education and Employment Advancement
 5/13/2015(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 5/13/2015(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 5/13/2015(HED)Joint Favorable
 5/6/2015Referred by Senate to Committee on Higher Education and Employment Advancement
 5/6/2015Senate Adopted Senate Amendment Schedule A 6866
 4/7/2015(LCO)File Number 498
 4/7/2015Senate Calendar Number 291
 4/7/2015Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, Senate
 4/7/2015(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/30/2015(LCO)Referred to Office of Legislative Research and Office of Fiscal Analysis 04/07/15 10:00 AM
 3/20/2015(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/18/2015(ED)Joint Favorable Substitute
 3/6/2015Public Hearing 03/11
 3/5/2015Referred to Joint Committee on Education

Co-sponsors of SB-1054

Rep. Noreen S. Kokoruda, 101st Dist.
Sen. Catherine A. Osten, 19th Dist.
Rep. Linda A. Orange, 48th Dist.
Sen. Kevin D. Witkos, 8th Dist.
Rep. Michelle L. Cook, 65th Dist.
Rep. Pam Staneski, 119th Dist.
Rep. Jeffrey J. Berger, 73rd Dist.
Sen. John A. Kissel, 7th Dist.
Rep. Gary Byron, 27th Dist.
Rep. Vincent J. Candelora, 86th Dist.
Rep. Gayle J. Mulligan, 55th Dist.
Rep. Anthony J. D'Amelio, 71st Dist.
Rep. David Zoni, 81st Dist.
Rep. Bill Simanski, 62nd Dist.
Rep. Brenda L. Kupchick, 132nd Dist.
Rep. Selim G. Noujaim, 74th Dist.
Rep. David Alexander, 58th Dist.
Rep. Kim Rose, 118th Dist.
Rep. Jason Rojas, 9th Dist.
Rep. David W. Kiner, 59th Dist.
Rep. Sam Belsito, 53rd Dist.
Rep. Kevin Ryan, 139th Dist.
Sen. Art Linares, 33rd Dist.
Sen. Leonard A. Fasano, 34th Dist.
Rep. Gregory Haddad, 54th Dist.
Rep. Mitch Bolinsky, 106th Dist.
Rep. Robert C. Sampson, 80th Dist.
Rep. Terrie Wood, 141st Dist.
Rep. Roberta B. Willis, 64th Dist.
Sen. Ted Kennedy, 12th Dist.
Sen. Anthony Guglielmo, 35th Dist.
Rep. Gail Lavielle, 143rd Dist.
Rep. Cristin McCarthy Vahey, 133rd Dist.
Rep. Russell A. Morin, 28th Dist.
Rep. Fred Wilms, 142nd Dist.
Rep. John K. Hampton, 16th Dist.
Rep. Daniel S. Rovero, 51st Dist.
Rep. Rick Lopes, 24th Dist.
Rep. Dan Carter, 2nd Dist.
Rep. Ed Jutila, 37th Dist.
Rep. Laura Devlin, 134th Dist.
Rep. John H. Frey, 111th Dist.
Rep. David Rutigliano, 123rd Dist.
Sen. Steve Cassano, 4th Dist.
Sen. Joseph J. Crisco, 17th Dist.
Sen. Toni Boucher, 26th Dist.
Sen. Henri Martin, 31st Dist.
Sen. Mae Flexer, 29th Dist.
Sen. Danté Bartolomeo, 13th Dist.
Sen. Timothy D. Larson, 3rd Dist.
Rep. Mike France, 42nd Dist.
Rep. Bruce V. Morris, 140th Dist.
Rep. Brian Becker, 19th Dist.
Rep. James Albis, 99th Dist.
Sen. Terry B. Gerratana, 6th Dist.
Rep. Laura R. Hoydick, 120th Dist.
Rep. Susan M. Johnson, 49th Dist.
Rep. Christine Randall, 44th Dist.
Rep. Melissa H. Ziobron, 34th Dist.
Sen. Paul M. Formica, 20th Dist.
Sen. Clark J. Chapin, 30th Dist.
Rep. Kelly J.S. Luxenberg, 12th Dist.
Rep. David A. Baram, 15th Dist.
Sen. Michael A. McLachlan, 24th Dist.
Sen. L. Scott Frantz, 36th Dist.
Sen. Tony Hwang, 28th Dist.
Rep. Patricia Billie Miller, 145th Dist.
Rep. Mary M. Mushinsky, 85th Dist.
Sen. Joan V. Hartley, 15th Dist.
Rep. Craig A. Miner, 66th Dist.
Rep. Brandon L. McGee, 5th Dist.
Rep. Fred Camillo, 151st Dist.
Rep. Mary G. Fritz, 90th Dist.
Rep. Elizabeth A. Boukus, 22nd Dist.
Rep. Theresa W. Conroy, 105th Dist.
Rep. Henry J. Genga, 10th Dist.
Rep. Terry B. Adams, 146th Dist.
Rep. Ernest Hewett, 39th Dist.
Rep. Robyn A. Porter, 94th Dist.
Rep. Emmett D. Riley, 46th Dist.
Rep. Stephen G. Harding, 107th Dist.
Rep. Devin R. Carney, 23rd Dist.
Rep. Lezlye Zupkus, 89th Dist.
Rep. Christie M. Carpino, 32nd Dist.
Rep. Kathleen M. McCarty, 38th Dist.
Rep. Tami Zawistowski, 61st Dist.
Rep. Jesse MacLachlan, 35th Dist.
Rep. Mike Bocchino, 150th Dist.
Rep. Rosa C. Rebimbas, 70th Dist.
Rep. Patricia A. Dillon, 92nd Dist.
Rep. Hilda E. Santiago, 84th Dist.
Rep. Janice R. Giegler, 138th Dist.
Rep. Dave W. Yaccarino, 87th Dist.
Rep. Cecilia Buck-Taylor, 67th Dist.
Sen. Marilyn Moore, 22nd Dist.
Sen. Paul R. Doyle, 9th Dist.
Sen. Martin M. Looney, 11th Dist.
Sen. Beth Bye, 5th Dist.
Sen. Andrew M. Maynard, 18th Dist.
Rep. Whit Betts, 78th Dist.
Sen. Carlo Leone, 27th Dist.
Sen. Eric D. Coleman, 2nd Dist.
Rep. Philip J. Miller, 36th Dist.
Rep. Joseph C. Serra, 33rd Dist.
Rep. Caroline Simmons, 144th Dist.
Rep. Jeff Currey, 11th Dist.
Rep. Joe Aresimowicz, 30th Dist.

NOTE: Please direct all inquiries regarding the status of bills to the Office of the House Clerk and/or Senate Clerks' Office.