Substitute for Raised H.B. No. 7299
Session Year 2017


To change the standard of fear required for the stalking statutes, include suffocation in the strangulation statutes, delete the requirement that the contents of a restraining order forwarded to law enforcement include the applicant's affidavit, amend the violations of conditions of release statute to provide for an enhanced penalty and amend presentence investigation statutes to prohibit the waiver of such investigation in the case of a family violence crime.

Introduced by:
Judiciary Committee

 New today  2-4 days old  5 days & older

Co-sponsors for Amendment LCO:

Bill History

 Date Action Taken
 6/6/2017Signed by the Governor
 5/31/2017Transmitted by Secretary of the State to Governor
 5/31/2017Transmitted to the Secretary of State
 5/30/2017(LCO)Public Act 17-31
 5/25/2017On Consent Calendar / In Concurrence
 5/25/2017Senate Passed as Amended by House Amendment Schedule A
 5/25/2017Senate Adopted House Amendment Schedule A
 5/12/2017(LCO)File Number 759
 5/12/2017Senate Calendar Number 451
 5/12/2017Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, Senate
 5/10/2017House Passed as Amended by House Amendment Schedule A
 5/10/2017House Adopted House Amendment Schedule A 6881
 4/24/2017(LCO)File Number 692
 4/24/2017House Calendar Number 452
 4/24/2017Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, House
 4/24/2017(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 4/17/2017(LCO)Referred to Office of Legislative Research and Office of Fiscal Analysis 04/24/17 10:00 AM
 4/6/2017(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 4/4/2017(JUD)Joint Favorable Substitute
 3/20/2017Public Hearing 03/24
 3/17/2017Referred to Joint Committee on Judiciary

Co-sponsors of HB-7299

Rep. Robert C. Sampson, 80th Dist.
Rep. John Fusco, 81st Dist.
Rep. Gary Byron, 27th Dist.
Rep. Kathleen M. McCarty, 38th Dist.
Rep. Linda M. Gentile, 104th Dist.
Rep. Mike France, 42nd Dist.
Rep. William A. Petit, 22nd Dist.
Rep. Bruce V. Morris, 140th Dist.
Rep. John K. Hampton, 16th Dist.
Rep. David A. Baram, 15th Dist.
Rep. Livvy R. Floren, 149th Dist.
Rep. Pam Staneski, 119th Dist.
Rep. Doug Dubitsky, 47th Dist.
Rep. Devin R. Carney, 23rd Dist.
Rep. Prasad Srinivasan, 31st Dist.
Rep. Gail Lavielle, 143rd Dist.
Rep. Patricia Billie Miller, 145th Dist.
Rep. Emmett D. Riley, 46th Dist.
Rep. John H. Frey, 111th Dist.
Rep. Stephen G. Harding, 107th Dist.
Sen. George S. Logan, 17th Dist.
Rep. Michael Ferguson, 138th Dist.
Rep. Sam Belsito, 53rd Dist.
Rep. Joe Polletta, 68th Dist.
Rep. Joseph C. Serra, 33rd Dist.
Rep. Derek Slap, 19th Dist.

NOTE: Please direct all inquiries regarding the status of bills to the Office of the House Clerk and/or Senate Clerks' Office.