Substitute for Raised H.B. No. 7174
Session Year 2019


To: (1) Establish the "Connecticut Prescription Drug Program" and the "Connecticut prescription drug program account"; (2) require pharmaceutical manufacturers to send notice to the Insurance Commissioner regarding "pay-for-delay" agreements, and require health carriers and pharmacy benefits managers to reduce the cost of brand name prescription drugs that are the subject of such agreements; (3) require the Comptroller to offer qualified private employers the option to purchase prescription drugs for their employees, employees' dependents and retirees through the Comptroller's purchasing authority; (4) prohibit any health carrier or pharmacy benefits manager from recouping any portion of a claim that such carrier or manager has paid to a pharmacy or pharmacist; and (5) establish a task force to study drug reimportation.

Introduced by:
Insurance and Real Estate Committee

 New today  2-4 days old  5 days & older

Co-sponsors for Amendment LCO:

Bill History

 Date Action Taken
 4/2/2019(LCO)File Number 287
 4/2/2019House Calendar Number 194
 4/2/2019Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, House
 4/2/2019(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/27/2019(LCO)Referred to Office of Legislative Research and Office of Fiscal Analysis 04/01/19 5:00 PM
 3/18/2019(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/14/2019(INS)Joint Favorable
 2/22/2019Public Hearing 02/28
 2/21/2019Referred to Joint Committee on Insurance and Real Estate

Co-sponsors of HB-7174

Rep. Michael A. Winkler, 56th Dist.
Rep. Geraldo C. Reyes, 75th Dist.
Rep. Joseph P. Gresko, 121st Dist.
Rep. Ezequiel Santiago, 130th Dist.
Rep. Lucy Dathan, 142nd Dist.
Rep. Raghib Allie-Brennan, 2nd Dist.
Sen. James J. Maroney, 14th Dist.
Rep. Kara Rochelle, 104th Dist.
Sen. Martin M. Looney, 11th Dist.
Rep. Kenneth M Gucker, 138th Dist.
Rep. Joe Verrengia, 20th Dist.
Rep. Kevin Ryan, 139th Dist.
Rep. Liz Linehan, 103rd Dist.
Rep. Josh Elliott, 88th Dist.
Rep. Christine Conley, 40th Dist.
Rep. Dorinda Borer, 115th Dist.
Rep. Christine Palm, 36th Dist.
Sen. Saud Anwar, 3rd Dist.
Rep. Jane M. Garibay, 60th Dist.

NOTE: Please direct all inquiries regarding the status of bills to the Office of the House Clerk and/or Senate Clerks' Office.