Raised H.B. No. 6578
Session Year 2009


To replace the death penalty with a penalty of life imprisonment without the possibility of release for certain murders committed on or after the effective date of this act.

Introduced by:
Judiciary Committee

 New today  2-4 days old  5 days & older

Co-sponsors for Amendment LCO:

Bill History

 Date Action Taken
 6/5/2009Vetoed by the Governor
 6/4/2009Transmitted to the Secretary of State
 6/1/2009(LCO)Public Act 09-107
 5/21/2009In Concurrence
 5/21/2009Senate Passed
 5/21/2009Senate Rejected Senate Amendment Schedule E 7775
 5/21/2009Senate Rejected Senate Amendment Schedule D 7795
 5/21/2009Senate Rejected Senate Amendment Schedule C 7788
 5/21/2009Senate Rejected Senate Amendment Schedule B 7783
 5/21/2009Senate Rejected Senate Amendment Schedule A 7773
 5/15/2009Senate Calendar Number 661
 5/15/2009Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, Senate
 5/13/2009House Passed
 5/13/2009House Rejected House Amendment Schedule A 7170
 4/20/2009(LCO)File Number 726
 4/20/2009House Calendar Number 479
 4/20/2009Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, House
 4/20/2009(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 4/13/2009(LCO)Referred to Office of Legislative Research and Office of Fiscal Analysis 04/20/09 10:00 AM
 4/2/2009(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/31/2009(JUD)Joint Favorable
 2/26/2009Public Hearing 03/04
 2/25/2009Referred to Joint Committee on Judiciary

Co-sponsors of HB-6578

Rep. Jason Rojas, 9th Dist.
Sen. Martin M. Looney, 11th Dist.
Rep. Gary A. Holder-Winfield, 94th Dist.
Rep. Minnie Gonzalez, 3rd Dist.
Rep. Jason W. Bartlett, 2nd Dist.
Rep. Toni E. Walker, 93rd Dist.
Rep. Patricia B. Miller, 145th Dist.
Rep. Mae Flexer, 44th Dist.
Rep. Ernest Hewett, 39th Dist.
Rep. Douglas McCrory, 7th Dist.
Rep. Beth Bye, 19th Dist.
Rep. Peter A. Tercyak, 26th Dist.
Rep. Bruce V. Morris, 140th Dist.
Rep. Maryanne Hornish, 62nd Dist.
Rep. Elissa T. Wright, 41st Dist.
Rep. Charles D. Clemons, 124th Dist.
Rep. Juan R. Candelaria, 95th Dist.
Sen. Andrea L. Stillman, 20th Dist.
Sen. Edward Meyer, 12th Dist.
Rep. Denise W. Merrill, 54th Dist.
Rep. Marie Lopez Kirkley-Bey, 5th Dist.
Sen. Mary Ann Handley, 4th Dist.
Sen. Edwin A. Gomes, 23rd Dist.
Sen. Toni Nathaniel Harp, 10th Dist.
Rep. Peggy Reeves, 143rd Dist.
Rep. Jack F. Hennessy, 127th Dist.
Sen. Andrew J. McDonald, 27th Dist.
Rep. Timothy D. Larson, 11th Dist.
Sen. Edith G. Prague, 19th Dist.

NOTE: Please direct all inquiries regarding the status of bills to the Office of the House Clerk and/or Senate Clerks' Office.