H.B. No. 5434
Session Year 2017


To enter Connecticut into the Agreement Among the States to Elect the President by National Popular Vote, thereby committing the state's votes in the Electoral College to the presidential candidate that wins the popular vote nationally, regardless of whether such presidential candidate wins the popular vote within the state.

Introduced by:
Government Administration and Elections Committee

 New today  2-4 days old  5 days & older

Co-sponsors for Amendment LCO:

Bill History

 Date Action Taken
 5/18/2017Bill Passed Temporary
 4/11/2017(LCO)File Number 487
 4/11/2017House Calendar Number 328
 4/11/2017Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, House
 4/11/2017(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 4/5/2017(LCO)Referred to Office of Legislative Research and Office of Fiscal Analysis 04/10/17 5:00 PM
 3/28/2017(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/24/2017(GAE)Joint Favorable
 3/13/2017Referred to Joint Committee on Government Administration and Elections
 3/10/2017Drafted by Committee
 3/6/2017(GAE)Vote to Draft
 2/17/2017Public Hearing 02/22
 1/27/2017(GAE)Reserved for Subject Matter Public Hearing
 1/11/2017Referred to Joint Committee on Government Administration and Elections

Co-sponsors of HB-5434

Rep. Matthew Lesser, 100th Dist.
Rep. James M. Albis, 99th Dist.
Rep. Liz Linehan, 103rd Dist.
Rep. Gregory Haddad, 54th Dist.
Rep. Josh Elliott, 88th Dist.
Sen. Gary A. Winfield, 10th Dist.
Rep. Michael D'Agostino, 91st Dist.
Rep. John "Jack" F. Hennessy, 127th Dist.
Sen. Mae Flexer, 29th Dist.
Rep. Robyn A. Porter, 94th Dist.
Rep. Bob Godfrey, 110th Dist.
Rep. Susan M. Johnson, 49th Dist.
Rep. Diana S. Urban, 43rd Dist.
Rep. Michael A. DiMassa, 116th Dist.
Rep. Michael Winkler, 56th Dist.
Sen. Beth Bye, 5th Dist.
Rep. Juan R. Candelaria, 95th Dist.
Rep. John K. Hampton, 16th Dist.
Rep. Joseph P. Gresko, 121st Dist.
Rep. Kim Rose, 118th Dist.
Rep. Peter A. Tercyak, 26th Dist.
Rep. Jonathan Steinberg, 136th Dist.
Rep. Larry B. Butler, 72nd Dist.
Rep. Roland J. Lemar, 96th Dist.
Rep. Ezequiel Santiago, 130th Dist.
Rep. Christine Conley, 40th Dist.
Rep. Cristin McCarthy Vahey, 133rd Dist.
Rep. Michelle L. Cook, 65th Dist.
Rep. Steven J. Stafstrom, 129th Dist.
Rep. Chris Soto, 39th Dist.
Rep. Derek Slap, 19th Dist.
Rep. Joe de la Cruz, 41st Dist.
Sen. Steve Cassano, 4th Dist.
Rep. Mary M. Mushinsky, 85th Dist.
Rep. Linda A. Orange, 48th Dist.
Rep. Kevin Ryan, 139th Dist.
Sen. Terry B. Gerratana, 6th Dist.
Rep. Dorinda Borer, 115th Dist.
Rep. Chris Perone, 137th Dist.
Rep. Edwin Vargas, 6th Dist.
Rep. Charlie L. Stallworth, 126th Dist.
Rep. Kelly J. Juleson-Scopino, 12th Dist.
Rep. Brandon L. McGee, 5th Dist.
Sen. Martin M. Looney, 11th Dist.
Sen. Bob Duff, 25th Dist.
Rep. Rick Lopes, 24th Dist.
Rep. Angel Arce, 4th Dist.
Rep. Henry J. Genga, 10th Dist.
Rep. Andrew M. Fleischmann, 18th Dist.
Rep. David A. Baram, 15th Dist.
Rep. Toni E. Walker, 93rd Dist.
Rep. Hilda E. Santiago, 84th Dist.
Sen. Catherine A. Osten, 19th Dist.
Rep. Mike Demicco, 21st Dist.
Sen. Marilyn V. Moore, 22nd Dist.
Sen. John W. Fonfara, 1st Dist.
Rep. Emil Altobello, 82nd Dist.
Sen. Edwin A. Gomes, 23rd Dist.
Rep. Jason Rojas, 9th Dist.
Rep. Matthew Ritter, 1st Dist.
Rep. Andre F. Baker, 124th Dist.
Rep. Caroline Simmons, 144th Dist.
Rep. Patricia Billie Miller, 145th Dist.
Rep. Joshua Malik Hall, 7th Dist.
Sen. Douglas McCrory, 2nd Dist.
Rep. Geraldo C. Reyes, 75th Dist.
Rep. Russell A. Morin, 28th Dist.
Rep. Alphonse Paolillo, 97th Dist.

NOTE: Please direct all inquiries regarding the status of bills to the Office of the House Clerk and/or Senate Clerks' Office.