Substitute for Raised H.B. No. 7196
Session Year 2017


To: (1) Revise the criteria used to determine if the parties to a dissolution of marriage action may avail themselves of a nonadversarial dissolution of marriage in such a way as to allow greater participation in the nonadversarial process; (2) revise court procedures associated with nonadversarial dissolution of marriage, and (3) permit the entry of a default judgment for certain dissolution and legal separation matters.

Introduced by:
Judiciary Committee

 New today  2-4 days old  5 days & older

*NOTE: Add to My Bills and Add Notes are cookie-based functions. If device cookies are cleaned, this information will be lost.

*NOTE: Add to My Bills and Add Notes are cookie-based functions. Browser must accept cookies from to function. If browser cookies are cleaned, bills will be lost.

Co-sponsors for Amendment LCO:

Bill History

 Date Action Taken
 6/13/2017Signed by the Governor
 6/7/2017Transmitted by Secretary of the State to Governor
 6/7/2017Transmitted to the Secretary of State
 6/6/2017(LCO)Public Act 17-47
 5/31/2017On Consent Calendar / In Concurrence
 5/31/2017Senate Passed
 5/12/2017Senate Calendar Number 450
 5/12/2017Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, Senate
 5/10/2017House Passed
 4/20/2017(LCO)File Number 657
 4/20/2017House Calendar Number 421
 4/20/2017Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, House
 4/20/2017(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 4/13/2017(LCO)Referred to Office of Legislative Research and Office of Fiscal Analysis 04/19/17 5:00 PM
 4/4/2017(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 4/3/2017(JUD)Joint Favorable Substitute
 3/2/2017Public Hearing 03/06
 2/27/2017Referred to Joint Committee on Judiciary

Co-sponsors of HB-7196

Rep. Bruce V. Morris, 140th Dist.
Rep. Noreen S. Kokoruda, 101st Dist.
Rep. David A. Baram, 15th Dist.
Rep. Livvy R. Floren, 149th Dist.
Rep. Fred Wilms, 142nd Dist.
Rep. Arthur J. O'Neill, 69th Dist.
Rep. Michelle L. Cook, 65th Dist.
Rep. Emmett D. Riley, 46th Dist.
Rep. Joseph C. Serra, 33rd Dist.
Rep. Hilda E. Santiago, 84th Dist.
Sen. Martin M. Looney, 11th Dist.
Sen. Paul R. Doyle, 9th Dist.

NOTE: Please direct all inquiries regarding the status of bills to the Office of the House Clerk and/or Senate Clerks' Office.