Substitute for Raised H.B. No. 5871
Session Year 2008


To require school boards and unions to bargain over the compensation, hours and duties of teachers who train and evaluate student teachers or serve as mentors and assessors of beginning teachers under the beginning educator support and training program (BEST), suspend the BEST program for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2009, and to create a task force to develop a plan to replace the BEST program with a mentor assistance program.

Introduced by:
Education Committee

 New today  2-4 days old  5 days & older

*NOTE: Add to My Bills and Add Notes are cookie-based functions. If device cookies are cleaned, this information will be lost.

*NOTE: Add to My Bills and Add Notes are cookie-based functions. Browser must accept cookies from to function. If browser cookies are cleaned, bills will be lost.

Co-sponsors for Amendment LCO:

Bill History

 Date Action Taken
 6/2/2008Signed by the Governor
 5/19/2008Transmitted to the Secretary of State
 5/15/2008(LCO)Public Act 08-107
 5/6/2008On Consent Calendar / In Concurrence
 5/6/2008Senate Passed as Amended by House Amendment Schedule A
 5/6/2008Senate Adopted House Amendment Schedule A
 4/28/2008(LCO)File Number 750
 4/28/2008Senate Calendar Number 487
 4/28/2008Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, Senate
 4/24/2008House Passed as Amended by House Amendment Schedule A
 4/24/2008House Adopted House Amendment Schedule A 4755
 4/7/2008(LCO)File Number 497
 4/7/2008House Calendar Number 299
 4/7/2008Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, House
 4/7/2008(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/31/2008(LCO)Referred to Office of Legislative Research and Office of Fiscal Analysis 04/07/08 10:00 AM
 3/19/2008(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/17/2008(ED)Joint Favorable Substitute
 3/6/2008Public Hearing 03/10
 3/5/2008Referred to Joint Committee on Education

Co-sponsors of HB-5871

Sen. Anthony Guglielmo, 35th Dist.
Rep. Richard Roy, 119th Dist.
Rep. Peggy Sayers, 60th Dist.
Rep. Robert W. Megna, 97th Dist.
Sen. Edith G. Prague, 19th Dist.
Rep. Gail K. Hamm, 34th Dist.
Sen. John A. Kissel, 7th Dist.
Rep. DebraLee Hovey, 112th Dist.
Rep. Jeffrey J. Berger, 73rd Dist.
Rep. Tom F. Christiano, 134th Dist.
Rep. Linda Schofield, 16th Dist.
Rep. Beth Bye, 19th Dist.
Rep. Al Adinolfi, 103rd Dist.
Rep. Anthony J. D'Amelio, 71st Dist.
Rep. Selim G. Noujaim, 74th Dist.
Rep. Marilyn Giuliano, 23rd Dist.
Rep. Sandy H. Nafis, 27th Dist.
Rep. Joseph J. Taborsak, 109th Dist.
Rep. Chris Perone, 137th Dist.
Rep. Jim Shapiro, 144th Dist.
Rep. Roberta B. Willis, 64th Dist.
Rep. William Aman, 14th Dist.
Rep. Russell A. Morin, 28th Dist.
Rep. Joan A. Lewis, 8th Dist.
Rep. Carlo Leone, 148th Dist.
Rep. Marie Lopez Kirkley-Bey, 5th Dist.
Rep. Elizabeth B. Ritter, 38th Dist.
Rep. Elissa T. Wright, 41st Dist.
Rep. Robert T. Keeley, 129th Dist.
Rep. Louis P. Esposito, 116th Dist.
Sen. Andrew J. McDonald, 27th Dist.
Rep. Pamela Z. Sawyer, 55th Dist.
Sen. Sam S.F. Caligiuri, 16th Dist.
Rep. Julia B. Wasserman, 106th Dist.
Rep. David K. Labriola, 131st Dist.
Sen. Andrew W. Roraback, 30th Dist.
Rep. Jason Perillo, 113th Dist.
Sen. Robert J. Kane, 32nd Dist.
Sen. Joseph J. Crisco, 17th Dist.
Sen. Toni Nathaniel Harp, 10th Dist.
Sen. Edwin A. Gomes, 23rd Dist.
Sen. Mary Ann Handley, 4th Dist.
Sen. Donald J. DeFronzo, 6th Dist.
Sen. Andrew M. Maynard, 18th Dist.
Sen. Andrea L. Stillman, 20th Dist.
Sen. Thomas A. Colapietro, 31st Dist.
Sen. Edward Meyer, 12th Dist.
Sen. Joan V. Hartley, 15th Dist.
Rep. Mary M. Mushinsky, 85th Dist.
Sen. John W. Fonfara, 1st Dist.
Sen. Eric D. Coleman, 2nd Dist.
Sen. John McKinney, 28th Dist.
Rep. Andrew M. Fleischmann, 18th Dist.

NOTE: Please direct all inquiries regarding the status of bills to the Office of the House Clerk and/or Senate Clerks' Office.