Substitute for Raised H.B. No. 5621
Session Year 2016


To revise the duties and composition of the trafficking in persons council; require state's attorneys and municipal chiefs of police to provide data and information concerning human trafficking prosecutions and investigations to the General Assembly; require that the Commissioner of Children and Families and the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection develop a training program to raise awareness of incidents of human trafficking, institute reforms that are designed to prevent human trafficking at hotels, motels and similar lodgings; raise the age for a person to be convicted as a prostitute; eliminate the requirement that a person knew the victim was under eighteen years of age or was a victim of coercion or human trafficking in order to be convicted of a class C felony for patronizing a prostitute; create mandatory fines for patronizing a prostitute and require such fines be used to fund investigations of prostitution and human trafficking; raise the age of a minor for purposes of enticing a minor to engage in prostitution; expand requirement for display of notice concerning services available to victims of human trafficking; and amend forfeiture requirements related to prostitution.

Introduced by:
Judiciary Committee

 New today  2-4 days old  5 days & older

Co-sponsors for Amendment LCO:

Bill History

 Date Action Taken
 6/1/2016Signed by the Governor
 5/18/2016Transmitted by Secretary of the State to Governor
 5/18/2016Transmitted to the Secretary of State
 5/13/2016(LCO)Public Act 16-71
 5/3/2016On Consent Calendar / In Concurrence
 5/3/2016Senate Passed as Amended by House Amendment Schedule A
 5/3/2016Senate Adopted House Amendment Schedule A
 4/28/2016(LCO)File Number 757
 4/28/2016Senate Calendar Number 534
 4/28/2016Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, Senate
 4/27/2016Immediate Transmittal to the Senate
 4/27/2016House Passed as Amended by House Amendment Schedule A
 4/27/2016House Adopted House Amendment Schedule A 5225
 4/4/2016(LCO)File Number 425
 4/4/2016House Calendar Number 290
 4/4/2016Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, House
 4/4/2016(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/28/2016(LCO)Referred to Office of Legislative Research and Office of Fiscal Analysis 04/04/16 10:00 AM
 3/17/2016(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/16/2016(JUD)Joint Favorable Substitute
 3/10/2016Public Hearing 03/14
 3/9/2016Referred to Joint Committee on Judiciary

Co-sponsors of HB-5621

Sen. Catherine A. Osten, 19th Dist.
Rep. Angel Arce, 4th Dist.
Rep. Kevin Ryan, 139th Dist.
Rep. Christopher Rosario, 128th Dist.
Rep. Matthew Ritter, 1st Dist.
Rep. Ezequiel Santiago, 130th Dist.
Rep. Douglas McCrory, 7th Dist.
Rep. Edwin Vargas, 6th Dist.
Rep. Charlie L. Stallworth, 126th Dist.
Rep. Elizabeth A. Boukus, 22nd Dist.
Rep. Caroline Simmons, 144th Dist.
Rep. Gregory Haddad, 54th Dist.
Rep. Larry B. Butler, 72nd Dist.
Rep. Hilda E. Santiago, 84th Dist.
Rep. Devin R. Carney, 23rd Dist.
Rep. David Zoni, 81st Dist.
Rep. Bruce V. Morris, 140th Dist.
Rep. Lezlye Zupkus, 89th Dist.
Rep. Dave W. Yaccarino, 87th Dist.
Rep. Russell A. Morin, 28th Dist.
Rep. Jonathan Steinberg, 136th Dist.
Rep. J.P. Sredzinski, 112th Dist.
Rep. Fred Wilms, 142nd Dist.
Rep. Bob Godfrey, 110th Dist.
Rep. Stephen D. Dargan, 115th Dist.
Rep. Catherine F. Abercrombie, 83rd Dist.
Rep. Brandon L. McGee, 5th Dist.
Rep. John E. Piscopo, 76th Dist.
Rep. Robert C. Sampson, 80th Dist.
Rep. David W. Kiner, 59th Dist.
Rep. Peggy Sayers, 60th Dist.
Rep. Emil Altobello, 82nd Dist.
Rep. Jeffrey J. Berger, 73rd Dist.
Rep. Kim Rose, 118th Dist.
Rep. Patricia Billie Miller, 145th Dist.
Rep. Diana S. Urban, 43rd Dist.
Rep. John K. Hampton, 16th Dist.
Rep. Linda M. Gentile, 104th Dist.
Rep. David A. Baram, 15th Dist.
Rep. Lonnie Reed, 102nd Dist.
Rep. Juan R. Candelaria, 95th Dist.
Rep. Whit Betts, 78th Dist.
Rep. Robert Sanchez, 25th Dist.
Rep. Gayle J. Mulligan, 55th Dist.
Rep. Terry B. Adams, 146th Dist.
Rep. Paul Brycki, 45th Dist.
Rep. Tim Ackert, 8th Dist.
Rep. Eric C. Berthel, 68th Dist.
Rep. Laura R. Hoydick, 120th Dist.
Rep. Susan M. Johnson, 49th Dist.
Rep. Joseph P. Gresko, 121st Dist.
Rep. Charles J. Ferraro, 117th Dist.
Rep. Mark Tweedie, 13th Dist.
Rep. Prasad Srinivasan, 31st Dist.
Rep. Doug Dubitsky, 47th Dist.
Rep. Cara Christine Pavalock-D'Amato, 77th Dist.
Rep. Christie M. Carpino, 32nd Dist.
Rep. Jesse MacLachlan, 35th Dist.
Rep. Laura Devlin, 134th Dist.
Rep. Pam Staneski, 119th Dist.
Rep. Christopher Davis, 57th Dist.
Rep. Vincent J. Candelora, 86th Dist.
Rep. Kathleen M. McCarty, 38th Dist.
Rep. Brenda L. Kupchick, 132nd Dist.
Rep. William Tong, 147th Dist.
Rep. Stephen G. Harding, 107th Dist.
Rep. Gary Byron, 27th Dist.
Rep. Michelle L. Cook, 65th Dist.
Rep. Themis Klarides, 114th Dist.
Rep. Dan Carter, 2nd Dist.
Rep. Terrie Wood, 141st Dist.
Rep. Noreen S. Kokoruda, 101st Dist.
Rep. Andrew M. Fleischmann, 18th Dist.
Rep. Linda A. Orange, 48th Dist.
Rep. Livvy R. Floren, 149th Dist.
Rep. Mike France, 42nd Dist.
Rep. Minnie Gonzalez, 3rd Dist.
Rep. John T. Shaban, 135th Dist.
Rep. Craig A. Miner, 66th Dist.
Rep. Al Adinolfi, 103rd Dist.
Rep. Cristin McCarthy Vahey, 133rd Dist.
Rep. John H. Frey, 111th Dist.
Sen. Terry B. Gerratana, 6th Dist.
Sen. Robert J. Kane, 32nd Dist.
Sen. Henri Martin, 31st Dist.
Sen. Art Linares, 33rd Dist.
Rep. Cecilia Buck-Taylor, 67th Dist.
Sen. Eric D. Coleman, 2nd Dist.
Sen. Joseph J. Crisco, 17th Dist.
Sen. Carlo Leone, 27th Dist.
Sen. Martin M. Looney, 11th Dist.
Sen. Steve Cassano, 4th Dist.
Sen. Marilyn Moore, 22nd Dist.
Sen. Michael A. McLachlan, 24th Dist.
Sen. John A. Kissel, 7th Dist.
Sen. Kevin C. Kelly, 21st Dist.
Rep. Joseph C. Serra, 33rd Dist.
Rep. Jeff Currey, 11th Dist.

NOTE: Please direct all inquiries regarding the status of bills to the Office of the House Clerk and/or Senate Clerks' Office.