Substitute for Raised H.B. No. 5235
Session Year 2010


To require insurers and other entities, in the event of a denial based on the reason that the requested service is not a covered benefit, to mail to an insured a copy of the applicable provision of the policy or certificate governing such decision, and to include in such mailing a notice with the contact information of the Insurance Department and the Office of the Healthcare Advocate.

Introduced by:
Insurance and Real Estate Committee

 New today  2-4 days old  5 days & older

Co-sponsors for Amendment LCO:

Bill History

 Date Action Taken
 5/5/2010Signed by the Governor
 4/30/2010Transmitted to the Secretary of State
 4/29/2010(LCO)Public Act 10-24
 4/22/2010On Consent Calendar / In Concurrence
 4/22/2010Senate Passed
 4/16/2010Senate Calendar Number 418
 4/16/2010Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, Senate
 4/14/2010House Passed
 3/30/2010(LCO)File Number 217
 3/30/2010House Calendar Number 131
 3/30/2010Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, House
 3/30/2010(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/23/2010(LCO)Referred to Office of Legislative Research and Office of Fiscal Analysis 03/29/10 5:00 PM
 3/17/2010(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/16/2010(INS)Joint Favorable Substitute
 2/19/2010Public Hearing 02/25
 2/17/2010Referred to Joint Committee on Insurance and Real Estate

Co-sponsors of HB-5235

Rep. Patricia A. Dillon, 92nd Dist.
Rep. Theresa W. Conroy, 105th Dist.
Rep. Susan M. Johnson, 49th Dist.
Rep. William Aman, 14th Dist.
Rep. David A. Baram, 15th Dist.
Rep. Joan A. Lewis, 8th Dist.
Rep. Lawrence G. Miller, 122nd Dist.
Rep. Livvy R. Floren, 149th Dist.
Rep. Melissa M. Olson, 46th Dist.
Rep. John (Jack) F. Hennessy, 127th Dist.
Rep. Christopher A. Wright, 77th Dist.
Rep. Catherine F. Abercrombie, 83rd Dist.
Rep. Michelle L. Cook, 65th Dist.
Rep. Toni E. Walker, 93rd Dist.
Rep. Barbara L. Lambert, 118th Dist.
Rep. Bruce Zalaski, 81st Dist.
Rep. Timothy B. LeGeyt, 17th Dist.
Rep. Joseph J. Taborsak, 109th Dist.
Rep. Jim Shapiro, 144th Dist.
Rep. Kathleen M. Tallarita, 58th Dist.
Rep. Mae M. Flexer, 44th Dist.
Rep. Joe Aresimowicz, 30th Dist.
Rep. Marie Lopez Kirkley-Bey, 5th Dist.
Rep. Andrew M. Fleischmann, 18th Dist.
Sen. Toni Nathaniel Harp, 10th Dist.
Sen. Thomas A. Colapietro, 31st Dist.
Sen. Donald J. DeFronzo, 6th Dist.
Sen. Edward Meyer, 12th Dist.
Sen. Joseph J. Crisco, 17th Dist.
Sen. Anthony J. Musto, 22nd Dist.
Rep. Elizabeth H. Esty, 103rd Dist.

NOTE: Please direct all inquiries regarding the status of bills to the Office of the House Clerk and/or Senate Clerks' Office.