Substitute for Raised S.B. No. 989
Session Year 2021


To combat online harassment, including that motivated by hate, by (1) extending the crime of stalking in the first degree to specifically include certain hate-based motivations, (2) extending the crime of second-degree stalking to include certain electronic disclosures of personal identifiable information without consent and establishing a civil action for victims of such crime, and (3) extending the crime of second-degree harassment to include more electronic forms of communication.

Introduced by:
Judiciary Committee

 New today  2-4 days old  5 days & older

Co-sponsors for Amendment LCO:

Bill History

 Date Action Taken
 6/16/2021Signed by the Governor
 6/10/2021Transmitted by Secretary of the State to Governor
 6/10/2021Transmitted to the Secretary of State
 6/9/2021(LCO)Public Act 21-56
 6/3/2021In Concurrence
 6/3/2021House Passed as Amended by Senate Amendment Schedule A
 6/3/2021House Adopted Senate Amendment Schedule A
 5/21/2021House Calendar Number 537
 5/21/2021Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, House
 5/20/2021On Consent Calendar
 5/20/2021Senate Passed as Amended by Senate Amendment Schedule A
 5/20/2021Senate Adopted Senate Amendment Schedule A 8244
 4/26/2021(LCO)File Number 612
 4/26/2021Senate Calendar Number 351
 4/26/2021Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, Senate
 4/26/2021(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 4/19/2021(LCO)Referred to Office of Legislative Research and Office of Fiscal Analysis 04/26/21 10:00 AM
 4/9/2021(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 4/8/2021(JUD)Joint Favorable Substitute
 3/5/2021Public Hearing 03/10
 3/4/2021Referred to Joint Committee on Judiciary

Co-sponsors of SB-989

Rep. William A. Petit, 22nd Dist.
Rep. Jonathan Steinberg, 136th Dist.
Rep. Tammy R. Exum, 19th Dist.
Sen. Alex Kasser, 36th Dist.
Rep. Bobby G. Gibson, 15th Dist.
Rep. Craig C. Fishbein, 90th Dist.
Rep. Kimberly Fiorello, 149th Dist.
Rep. Patricia A. Dillon, 92nd Dist.
Rep. Harry Arora, 151st Dist.
Rep. Kenneth M Gucker, 138th Dist.
Sen. Heather S. Somers, 18th Dist.
Sen. John A. Kissel, 7th Dist.
Sen. Eric C. Berthel, 32nd Dist.
Sen. Kevin C. Kelly, 21st Dist.
Sen. Kevin C. Kelly, 21st Dist.
Sen. Tony Hwang, 28th Dist.
Rep. Tom Delnicki, 14th Dist.
Rep. Holly H. Cheeseman, 37th Dist.
Rep. Donna Veach, 30th Dist.
Rep. Jaime S. Foster, 57th Dist.
Rep. Ben McGorty, 122nd Dist.
Rep. Whit Betts, 78th Dist.
Rep. Gregory Haddad, 54th Dist.
Rep. Terrie E. Wood, 141st Dist.
Rep. Irene M. Haines, 34th Dist.
Rep. Quentin W. Phipps, 100th Dist.
Rep. Eleni Kavros DeGraw, 17th Dist.
Rep. Larry B. Butler, 72nd Dist.
Rep. Chris Perone, 137th Dist.
Rep. Dave W. Yaccarino, 87th Dist.
Rep. Liz Linehan, 103rd Dist.
Rep. Hilda E. Santiago, 84th Dist.
Rep. Amy Morrin Bello, 28th Dist.
Rep. Maria P. Horn, 64th Dist.
Rep. Stephanie Thomas, 143rd Dist.
Rep. Gary A. Turco, 27th Dist.
Sen. Paul M. Formica, 20th Dist.
Sen. Rob Sampson, 16th Dist.
Rep. John-Michael Parker, 101st Dist.
Rep. Laura M. Devlin, 134th Dist.

NOTE: Please direct all inquiries regarding the status of bills to the Office of the House Clerk and/or Senate Clerks' Office.