Substitute for Raised H.B. No. 6355
Session Year 2021


To (1) establish a risk protection order and to expand upon the list of persons who may be complainants for purposes of issuance of a risk warrant; (2) require the Judicial Branch to develop and make available a form and explanatory materials to persons applying for a risk protection order; (3) disqualify persons subject to a standing risk protection order from possessing firearms or ammunition; and (4) penalize any such possession.

Introduced by:
Judiciary Committee

 New today  2-4 days old  5 days & older

Co-sponsors for Amendment LCO:

Bill History

 Date Action Taken
 6/24/2021Signed by the Governor
 6/10/2021Transmitted by Secretary of the State to Governor
 6/10/2021Transmitted to the Secretary of State
 6/9/2021(LCO)Public Act 21-67
 6/4/2021In Concurrence
 6/4/2021Senate Passed as Amended by House Amendment Schedule A
 6/4/2021Senate Adopted House Amendment Schedule A
 5/14/2021(LCO)File Number 689
 5/14/2021Senate Calendar Number 441
 5/14/2021Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, Senate
 5/12/2021House Passed as Amended by House Amendment Schedule A
 5/12/2021House Adopted House Amendment Schedule A 8427
 4/22/2021(LCO)File Number 573
 4/22/2021House Calendar Number 400
 4/22/2021Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, House
 4/22/2021(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 4/16/2021(LCO)Referred to Office of Legislative Research and Office of Fiscal Analysis 04/21/21 5:00 PM
 4/7/2021(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 4/6/2021(JUD)Joint Favorable Substitute
 2/25/2021Public Hearing 03/05
 2/1/2021Referred to Joint Committee on Judiciary

Co-sponsors of HB-6355

Rep. Steven J. Stafstrom, 129th Dist.
Rep. Matt Blumenthal, 147th Dist.
Rep. Maria P. Horn, 64th Dist.
Rep. Cristin McCarthy Vahey, 133rd Dist.
Rep. Christine Palm, 36th Dist.
Sen. James J. Maroney, 14th Dist.
Sen. Will Haskell, 26th Dist.
Rep. Christine Goupil, 35th Dist.
Rep. Jillian Gilchrest, 18th Dist.
Rep. John K. Hampton, 16th Dist.
Rep. Jason Doucette, 13th Dist.
Rep. Josh Elliott, 88th Dist.
Rep. David Michel, 146th Dist.
Rep. Kenneth M Gucker, 138th Dist.
Rep. Raghib Allie-Brennan, 2nd Dist.
Rep. John-Michael Parker, 101st Dist.
Rep. Jonathan Steinberg, 136th Dist.
Rep. Bob Godfrey, 110th Dist.
Rep. Aimee Berger-Girvalo, 111th Dist.
Sen. Saud Anwar, 3rd Dist.
Rep. Stephanie Thomas, 143rd Dist.
Rep. Jennifer Leeper, 132nd Dist.
Rep. Lucy Dathan, 142nd Dist.
Sen. Christine Cohen, 12th Dist.
Rep. Bobby G. Gibson, 15th Dist.
Rep. Stephen R Meskers, 150th Dist.
Rep. Edwin Vargas, 6th Dist.
Rep. Juan R. Candelaria, 95th Dist.
Rep. Anthony L. Nolan, 39th Dist.
Rep. Joshua M. Hall, 7th Dist.
Rep. Caroline Simmons, 144th Dist.
Sen. Derek Slap, 5th Dist.
Rep. Matthew Ritter, 1st Dist.
Sen. Alex Kasser, 36th Dist.
Rep. Patricia A. Dillon, 92nd Dist.
Rep. Anne M. Hughes, 135th Dist.
Rep. Mary Welander, 114th Dist.
Sen. Bob Duff, 25th Dist.
Rep. Robin E. Comey, 102nd Dist.
Sen. Rick Lopes, 6th Dist.
Rep. John "Jack" F. Hennessy, 127th Dist.
Rep. Dorinda Borer, 115th Dist.
Rep. Frank Smith, 118th Dist.
Rep. Michael A. Winkler, 56th Dist.
Rep. Eleni Kavros DeGraw, 17th Dist.
Sen. Marilyn V. Moore, 22nd Dist.
Rep. Mary M. Mushinsky, 85th Dist.
Rep. Tammy R. Exum, 19th Dist.
Rep. Gary A. Turco, 27th Dist.

NOTE: Please direct all inquiries regarding the status of bills to the Office of the House Clerk and/or Senate Clerks' Office.