
Testimony submitted by Rozanne Gates, Westport, CT 
 
I support the following and urge you to pass the legislative proposals submitted by CT Againast 
Gun Violence as follows: 
 
Connecticut Against Gun Violence proposes legislation in Connecticut that will: 
 
1      Strengthen the assault weapons ban by requiring that all weapons having military features 
be banned and that existing weapons defined as assault weapons be destroyed, turned in to law 
enforcement or removed from the state. 
2      Ban large capacity ammunition magazines of more than 7 rounds and that existing 
magazines of more than 7 rounds be destroyed, turned in to law enforcement, or removed from 
the state. New York State has just adopted law that established the 7-round limit.  
3      Require permits and universal background checks on ALL sales and transfers of guns, 
including long guns. 
4      Require registration of handguns with annual renewal. Require: annual fee and annual 
background check for all handguns owned; require that the owner stipulate that the guns are still 
in their possession or explain how the gun was transferred to another person; require safety 
inspection every three years. 
5      Make gun owners liable for negligent storage if any person gains access to firearms and 
injures himself or another person or causes damage to property. The violation would be a Class 
D felony. 
6      Ban the right of way for transportation of firearms and ammunition bought over the 
Internet. 
7      Tax ammunition sales and require a license/permit to purchase any gun or ammunition. 
8      Restrict handgun sales to one gun/month. 
 
 
In Australia, the government protected its citizens from guns.  Here is how they did it: 
 
1.  In order to purchase a semi-automatic pistol, you have to prove that not only do you 
know how to use and safely store, clean and dismantle the gun (this is your Firearms Awareness 
Certificate – only available through authorized examiners), but you must also prove that you are 
a member of a SSAA (Sports Shooters Association of Australia) club and are a regular 
participant in competition over an extended period of time, as well as continue to maintain your 
membership and participation in competition. 
 
2.  If you are applying to store the weapon on your home premises, then you must install an 
approved firearms safe. This needs to be connected to two independent and immovable surfaces 
(so it needs to be bolted to the floor and a wall, or two walls forming a corner). Furthermore, you 
must also have a second firearms’ safe for storing the firing-pin (these MUST be stored 
separately from the weapon) and a THIRD location to store ammunition. The police then inspect 
your premises and safes to ensure they meet requirements. You must then provide photographs at 
the time of attendance for the police to certify and sign off on, to attach to your application. 
 
3.  Once the application is received, it takes a minimum of 28 days to be approved.  



 
4.  Once the application is approved, there is a FURTHER 28 days to “cool-off.” After this, 
the applicant must notify the police that they want to continue the purchase and application. 
 
5.  A year later (including 3-6 months for participation / competition, 3-6 months for 
inspections, applications, etc.) you are granted your license and can complete the purchase of 
your weapon. 
 
6.  During this time the weapon is stored with the firearm’s dealer. Firearm’s dealers are 
only able to hold a certain number of weapons on hand at any one time, regardless of whether 
they are held for customers or for general sale, so having too many weapons on hold creates 
stock level problems for them. As a result, firearm’s dealers themselves are becoming reluctant 
to hold weapons, resulting in applications without Firearms Serviceability Certificate, creating a 
further reason to deny the application for the license. 
 
7.  Once you’ve gone through all of that, you can collect your weapon. 
 
8.  Once you become a registered firearms owner, you have effectively given the police due 
reason to inspect your property at any time with no notice to ensure that your weapons are being 
stored correctly and that your participation in competition / work / etc. is valid. Every single 
round of ammunition you purchase must be recorded against your firearms license. The firearms 
dealers supply this information to the police so that they can see real data on who is purchasing 
what quantities of what type of ammunition. If your purchasing changes (large increases or 
decreases, or large irregularities between purchase dates), then the police will pay you a visit. 
 
 
 
Since 1996, not one mass murder has occurred in Australia.  If we could make that statement, the 
children at Sandy Hook Elementary School would still be alive, as would all the other innocent 
victims of mass murders. It is your responsibility to protect the lives of the citizens of this State.  
Do your job. 
 
 
 


