Topic:
VOTING;
Location:
VOTING;
Scope:
Connecticut laws/regulations;

OLR Research Report


April 13, 1998 98-R-0565

FROM: Mary M. Janicki, Principal Analyst

RE: Voter Fraud Penalties

You want to know the penalties for voter fraud in Connecticut and whether they have been recently changed.

The criminal penalty for fraudulently voting when not legally qualified or for voting more than once when qualified is a fine of $300 to $500, one to two years imprisonment, and disenfranchisement. Anyone who votes or attempts to vote by assuming the name of another is subject to a $500 fine, one year in prison, and disenfranchisement. CGS 9-360. The penalty has been the same since at least 1877 (January 1877, Ch. 146, 51).

Other types of fraudulent voting violations have stiffer penalties. Voting or refusing to vote in consideration of anything of value is punishable by a fine of up to $5,000 or up to five years imprisonment or both (CGS 9-333x and 9-333y). The same penalty applies to willfully violating the absentee voting laws, which is a class D felony (CGS 9-359).

MJ:cd