Topic:
CRIME; ANIMALS;
Location:
ANIMALS - LEGISLATION;
Scope:
Connecticut laws/regulations;

OLR Research Report


Connecticut General Assembly



OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH

January 21, 1998 98-R-0141

TO:

FROM: Veronica Rose, Principal Analyst

RE: Penalties for Cruelty to Police Animals

You asked the penalty for cruelty to police animals in Connecticut and some other states.

Table 1 shows the penalty in 15 randomly selected states. Cruelty to police animals is an unclassified crime in four of these states, including Connecticut. In most of the other states it is classified as a misdemeanor or felony, with prison terms as high as 10 years in Alabama and Washington.

Table 1: Penalty for Cruelty to Police Animals in 15 Randomly Selected States

State

Crime

Penalty

Alabama

Intentionally, knowingly, recklessly or with criminal negligence kill a peace officer's dog (Ala. Code 13A-11-15)

C felony—1 to 10 years imprisonment (Ala. Code 13A-5-6); up to $5,000 fine (Ala. Code 13A-5-11)

Arkansas

Without just cause, purposely kill or injure law enforcement animal (Ark. Code Ann. 5-54-126)

D felony—Up to 6 years imprisonment (Ark. Code Ann 5-4-401); up to $10,000 fine (Ark. Code Ann. 5-4-201)

Connecticut

Intentionally kill police animal (CGS 53-247 (d))

Unclassified crime—Up to five years imprisonment; up to $5,000 fine (CGS 53-247 (d))

Florida

Without cause, knowingly and willfully inflict great bodily harm, permanent disability, or death upon police dog or horse (Fla. Stat. Ann. 843.19)

Third degree felony—Up to 5 years imprisonment (Fla. Stat. Ann. 775.082); up to $5,000 fine (Fla. Stat. Ann. 775.083)

Illinois

Willful or maliciously torture, mutilate, injure, disable, poison, or kill any dog used by a law enforcement agency (Ill. Stat. Ann. 70/4.04)

B misdemeanor—Up to 6 months imprisonment; (Ill. Stat. Ann. 5/5-8-3); up to $500 fine (Ill. Stat. Ann. 5/5-9-1)

Indiana

Strike, torment, injure, or otherwise mistreat or interfere with the actions of a law enforcement animal (Ind. Code Ann. 35-46-3-11)

A misdemeanor—Up to 1 year imprisonment; up to $5,000 fine (Ind. Code Ann. 35-50-3-2)

Iowa

Willfully or maliciously torment or strike police dog (Iowa code Ann. 717B.9)

Serious misdemeanor —Up to 1 year imprison-ment; $1,000 fine (Iowa Code Ann. 903.1)

 

Willfully, knowingly, or maliciously torture or kill police dog (Iowa Code Ann. 717B.9)

D felony—Up to five years imprisonment; up to $7,500 fine (Iowa Code Ann. 902.9)

Maine

Intentionally kill, mutilate, or permanently disable dog certified for law enforcement use (Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit. 17-A 752-B)

C crime—Up to 5 years imprisonment; up to $10,000 fine (Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit. 17-A 1252 and 1301)

 

Torment, beat, injure, or temporarily disable dog certified for law enforcement use (Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit. 17-A 752-B)

D crime—Up to 1 year imprisonment; up to $5,000 fine (Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit. 17-A 1252 and 1301)

Massachusetts

Willfully torture, torment, beat, kick, strike, mutilate, injure, or otherwise mistreat police dog or horse (Mass. Gen. Laws Ch. 272 77A)

Unclassified crime—Up to 2 years imprison-ment; $100 to $500 fine (Mass. Gen. Laws Ch. 272 77)

Minnesota

Intentionally harm a police horse (Minn. Stat. Ann. 609.597)

Unclassified crime—Up to 2 years imprison-ment; up to $4,000 fine (Minn. Stat. Ann. 609.597)

 

Without just cause, intentionally cause the death of a police dog (Minn. Stat. Ann. 609.596)

Felony—Up to 2 years imprisonment; up to $5,000 fine (Minn. Stat. Ann. 609.596)

 

Without just cause, intentionally cause substantial or great bodily harm to a police dog (Minn. Stat. Ann. 609.596)

Gross misdemeanor—Up to 1 year imprison-ment; up to $3,000 fine (Minn. Stat. Ann. 609.0341)

Table 1 (Continued)

State

Crime

Penalty

Montana

Purposely or knowingly shoot, kill, or otherwise injure a police dog (Mont. Code Ann. 45-8-209)

Unclassified crime—Up to 1 year imprison-ment; up to $5,000 fine (Mont. Code Ann. 45-8-209)

New Hampshire

Willfully cause the death of a law enforcement dog or horse (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. 644:8d)

B felony—Up to 7 years imprisonment; up to $4,000 fine (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. 651.2)

 

Willfully torture, mutilate, or injure, or otherwise mistreat law enforcement dog or horse (N. H. Rev. Stat. Ann. 644:8d)

Misdemeanor—Up to I year imprisonment; up to $2,000 fine (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. 651.2)

Rhode Island

Willfully torture, beat, mutilate, or disable police dog or horse (RI Gen. Laws 4-1-30)

Unclassified crime—Up to 1 year impriso-nment; $100 to $500 fine (RI Gen. Laws 4-1-30)

South Carolina

Willfully or maliciously torture, mutilate, injure, disable, poison, or kill a law enforcement dog or horse (S.C. Code Ann. 47-3-620)

Misdemeanor—Up to 1 year imprisonment; $2,000 to $5,000 fine (S. C Code Ann 47-3-630)

Washington

Willfully harm a police dog (Wash. Rev. Code Ann. 9A.76.200)

Class C felony—Up to 10 years imprisonment; up to $20,000 fine (Wash. Rev. Code Ann. 9.92.010)


VR:lc