Other States laws/regulations;

OLR Research Report

The Connecticut General Assembly


October 27, 1995 95-R-1323


FROM: Susan Goranson, Principal Analyst

RE: Maine's Wolf Hybrid Law

You asked for information on Maine's wolf hybrid law.

Maine passed a law regulating wolf hybrids in 1995 (Maine PL 1995 c. 409). The law defines wolf hybrids and requires them to be licensed. The law defines a wolf hybrid as any canine that results from the interbreeding of a dog and wolf regardless of how many generations have passed since the interbreeding occurred. There are potential problems deciding what canines are wolf hybrids using this definition because many dogs may have some wolf lineage in their distant past, according to John Kelley of the Maine Office of Policy and Legal Analysis. In practice he believes a canine will be called a wolf hybrid only if there is specific crossbreeding with wolves.

The law requires wolf hybrids to be licensed once they are six months of age or older. The license fee is the same as for dogs, $7.50 a year, unless the animal is sterilized in which case the fee is $4. As with dogs, wolf hybrid owners with a pack or collection of animals may apply for a kennel license in lieu of individually licensing every animal.

Wolf hybrids are not required to be vaccinated for rabies. The vaccination requirement was originally in the bill, according to Kelley, but was taken out since those working on the bill were not sure that the rabies vaccine protected wolf hybrids from rabies. They felt that if the vaccine was required it would give people a false sense of protection from the disease.