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Issue 

Summarize Connecticut’s law on passing a stopped school bus (i.e., stop arm law) and provide (1) 

the current penalties, (2) a history of penalty increases since 1980, and (3) proposals to increase 

the penalty since its last increase.  

 

This report updates OLR Report 2019-R-0199.  

 

Summary 

Connecticut’s stop arm law generally requires drivers to (1) stop 

their vehicles at least 10 feet from the front or rear of a school bus 

that is displaying its flashing red signal lights and (2) remain there 

until the bus no longer displays the lights.  

 

Any person who violates this law faces a $450 fine for the first 

offense. For each subsequent offense, a violator faces a fine of 

$500 to $1,000, up to 30 days in jail, or both. These penalties have 

changed only twice since 1980, most recently in 2011. Since then, 

we identified only one bill proposing to increase the penalties. The legislature also recently enacted 

a law allowing municipalities to establish municipal-level stop arm violations and enforce them with 

video monitoring systems (i.e., stop arm cameras); municipalities that do so must set a $250 fine 

for violations. 

“Stop Arm” Laws 

The act of illegally 

passing a stopped school 

bus with red lights 

flashing is commonly 

known as a “stop-arm 

violation.” This refers to 

the stop-sign shaped 

“arm” that extends from 

the left side of the bus 

when the red lights are 

activated. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:OLRequest@cga.ct.gov
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2019/rpt/pdf/2019-R-0199.pdf
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Connecticut Law 

By law, when a driver approaches a school bus displaying its flashing red signal lights, he or she 

must immediately stop his or her vehicle at least 10 feet from the front or rear of the bus and 

remain stopped until the bus no longer displays its red signal lights, unless otherwise directed by a 

traffic officer. At intersections, drivers are generally prohibited from turning toward a school bus 

that is receiving or discharging passengers. However, drivers on public roads with at least two lanes 

for traffic separated by a safety island or physical barrier may drive without stopping when meeting 

or passing a school bus that is on the opposite side of the island or barrier (CGS § 14-279, as 

amended by PA 24-107, § 1).  

 

As with other traffic laws, police officers may enforce this law upon observing a violation. The law 

also provides authority for enforcing violations that bus drivers observe. Specifically, the law 

requires a police officer to issue a written warning or citation to a vehicle owner after receiving a 

report from a bus driver that he or she observed the owner’s vehicle illegally passing a school bus. 

The report must specify the (1) license plate number, color, and vehicle type and (2) date, 

approximate time, and location of the violation (CGS § 14-279(c), as amended by PA 24-107, § 1).  

 

State law also allows municipalities to install video monitoring systems (i.e., stop arm cameras) on 

school buses to enhance enforcement (CGS § 14-279a, as amended by PA 24-107, §§ 2-5). 

Legislation enacted in 2024 (PA 24-107) made a number of changes to these provisions, such as 

(1) sunsetting the current statutory authorization, generally by July 1, 2026, and (2) replacing that 

authorization with a similar one that expressly allows municipalities to adopt ordinances that 

establish a municipal-level stop arm violation and authorize the use of stop arm cameras to enforce 

the stop arm law.  

 

Penalties 

Current Penalties 

Any person who violates Connecticut’s stop arm law faces a $450 fine for the first offense. For 

each subsequent offense, a violator faces a fine of $500 to $1,000, up to 30 days imprisonment, 

or both (CGS § 14-279(b)). The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) also assesses four points 

against a person’s driver’s license each time he or she is convicted of illegally passing a school bus. 

However, as is the case with most other traffic violations, if a person pays their ticket without 

appearing in court (i.e., a nolo contendere, or no contest, plea) no points are assessed against his 

or her driver’s license. DMV suspends a driver’s license after a person receives more than 10 

points (CGS § 51-164n(c); Conn. Agencies Regs., § 14-137a-5 et seq.). 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm#sec_14-279
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=SB00420&which_year=2024
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm#sec_14-279
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=SB00420&which_year=2024
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm#sec_14-279a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=SB00420&which_year=2024
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=SB00420&which_year=2024
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm#sec_14-279
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_881b.htm#sec_51-164n
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Browse/RCSA/Title_14Subtitle_14-137a/
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The law requires the state to remit 80% of the fines collected from violators to the municipalities in 

which the violations occur (plus the additional $25 municipal surcharge that each first offense 

violator is subject to). The state must distribute the remaining fine revenue into the Special 

Transportation Fund (12% of the total) and the General Fund (8% of the total) (CGS § 51-56a(d) & 

(e)).  

 

Municipalities that adopt ordinances establishing a municipal stop arm violation and authorizing 

enforcement with stop arm cameras must also, among other things, (1) establish a $250 fine for 

violations and (2) require funds from the fines to be used for improving public safety in the 

municipality, compensating the municipality’s private system vendor (if any), or both (PA 24-107, § 

4). 

 

Penalty History 

The penalties for state violations of the stop arm law have changed only twice since 1980. PA 80-

245 established penalties of (1) a $100 to $500 fine for first offenses and (2) a $500 to $1,000 

fine, up to 30 days imprisonment, or both for subsequent offenses. PA 11-255 set the fine for a 

first offense at $450, while the penalties for subsequent offenses remained unchanged. 

 

Proposed Changes 

We identified only one proposal to change the stop arm violation penalties since they were last 

changed in 2011. Proposed Senate Bill 67 (2019) proposed increasing the penalties to (1) a 

$1,000 fine and a 60-day license suspension for a first offense and (2) a $2,000 fine and a six-

month license suspension for subsequent offenses. The bill was referred to the Transportation 

Committee, but it did not receive a public hearing. 

 

SM:co 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_873.htm#sec_51-56a
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_873.htm#sec_51-56a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=SB00420&which_year=2024
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2011&bill_num=255
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=67
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