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Issue  

This report compares Connecticut’s payments for funeral and burial or cremation expenses for 

indigent individuals to those in surrounding states. It also provides recent utilization and 

expenditure data and summarizes recent related legislation. It updates OLR Report 2017-R-0263. 

 

Summary 

Burial Expenses for an Indigent Person in Connecticut  

By law, when an individual dies in Connecticut and does not leave a sufficient estate to cover 

funeral and burial or cremation costs or have a legally liable relative able to cover the costs, the 

Department of Social Services (DSS) must provide a payment toward funeral and burial or 

cremation expenses. DSS must also provide this payment for recipients of certain state benefit 

programs (e.g., State Administered General Assistance, State Supplement Program, or Temporary 

Family Assistance). By law, in both cases, the maximum amount of the payment is $1,350. The law 

requires DSS to reduce this maximum payment dollar-for-dollar by certain funds from other 

sources:  

1. the amount in any revocable or irrevocable funeral fund or any prepaid funeral contract;  

2. the face value of the decedent’s life insurance policy, if any, provided the policy names a 

funeral home, cemetery, or crematory as a beneficiary;  

3. the net value of all liquid assets in the decedent’s estate; and  
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4. contributions over $3,400 towards the funeral and burial costs from all other sources, 

including friends, relatives, other persons, organizations, agencies, veteran’s programs, and 

other benefit programs (CGS §§ 17b-84 and -131 as amended by PA 19-117, §§ 312 & 

313).  

 

For individuals without a sufficient estate or a legally liable relative able to cover the costs, the law 

requires DSS to make this burial payment to the funeral director, cemetery, or crematory.  

 

Table 1 shows the number of beneficiaries, associated expenditures, and a comparison of average 

benefit costs and maximum benefit limits for FY 14 to FY 17. As shown in the table, the maximum 

benefit DSS pays has decreased multiple times over the past five years. The maximum benefit 

increased from $1,200 to $1,350 on July 1, 2019. 

 

Table 1: Indigent Funeral and Burial or Cremation Benefits: FY 14 - FY 17 

Year Number of 
Decedent 

Beneficiaries 

Total 
Expenditures 

Average Benefit 
Cost per Decedent 

Maximum 
Benefit 

FY 14 2,530 $4,297,282 $1,699 $1,800 

FY 15 2,758 $4,712,104 $1,709 $1,800 

FY 16 2,940 $3,994,488 $1,359 $1,400 

FY 17 2,586 $2,586,604 $1,000 $1,200 
Source: Department of Social Services 

 

The benefit may be used toward funeral and burial or cremation expenses; however, DSS does not 

track how the benefit is used.  

 

Related Recent Legislation  

PA 19-117, §§ 312 & 313, increased the maximum benefit payment by $150 to $1,350 starting in 

FY 20.  

 

PA 17-2 June Special Session, §§ 185 & 186, prevents DSS from subtracting the face value of a 

life insurance policy from the funeral benefit unless that policy names a funeral home, cemetery, or 

crematory as a beneficiary. It also allows the commissioner to disclose asset information to the 

funeral director, cemetery, or crematory providing services for the decedent when the payment is 

reduced due to liquid assets in the decedent's estate. 

 

PA 16-3, May Special Session, §§ 44 & 45 reduced the maximum burial benefit from $1,400 to 

$1,200 and broadened the type of deductions DSS makes from the maximum to calculate burial 

benefits.  

 

http://cgalites/current/pub/chap_319s.htm#sec_17b-84
http://cgalites/current/pub/chap_319s.htm#sec_17b-131
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=117
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=117
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1502&which_year=2017
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=502&which_year=2016
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PA 16-20 increased, from $5,400 to $8,000, the maximum allowable amount of an irrevocable 

funeral service contract. As explained above, DSS must subtract, among other things, the amount 

in any such contract from the maximum burial benefit when calculating its payment. 

 

Burial Expenses for an Indigent Person in Surrounding States 

Table 2 compares how funeral and burial expenses for indigent individuals are paid for in the New 

England states, New York, and New Jersey.  

 

Table 2: Funeral and Burial Expenses for Indigent Individuals in Surrounding States (NE, NY, & NJ) 

State Maximum Amount Paid By Restrictions Source 

Maine  The ordinance 
maximum varies by 
municipality  

Payment by the 
municipality where 
the decedent 
resided at time of 
death  

Payment is reduced by:  
1. the estate of the deceased;  
2. the financial capacity of legally 
liable relatives;  
3. any available burial benefits; and  
4. actual financial contribution from 
any other source, (e.g. friends, 
church). Available to anyone who 
dies leaving no money or assets to 
pay the burial or cremation 
expenses and who does not have a 
liable relative who is financially able 
to pay these costs. State law 
requires the funeral director to notify 
the General Assistance 
administrator prior to the burial or 
cremation or within 3 business days 
following receipt of the body, 
whichever is earlier.  

22 Me. Rev. Stat.         
§ 4313  
 
Maine Department of 
Health and Human 
Services Frequently 
Asked Questions 
 
 

Massachusetts  $1,100 paid directly 
to the funeral home  

State (Department 
of Transitional 
Assistance (DTA))  

State must deduct any assets 
available from the decedent or a 
legally liable relative and then pay 
the balance, up to $1,100, provided 
the total funeral and disposition 
expense does not exceed $3,500. 
Decedent did not need to be a 
recipient of public assistance. The 
request must be made within six 
months from the date of death.  

Mass. Gen. Laws Title 

XVII Chapter 117a § 9 
 
106 Code Mass. Regs. 
705.700 and 705.710 
 
Mass. DTA Operations 
Memo 2014-54  
 

 

 

 

 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2016&bill_num=20
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/22/title22sec4313.html
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/22/title22sec4313.html
https://www1.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/services/general-assistance/index.html#burials
https://www1.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/services/general-assistance/index.html#burials
https://www1.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/services/general-assistance/index.html#burials
https://www1.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/services/general-assistance/index.html#burials
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXVII/Chapter117a/Section9
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXVII/Chapter117a/Section9
https://www.mass.gov/files/documents/2017/09/12/106cmr705.pdf?_ga=2.109247301.1575978401.1575320445-1321983841.1575320445
https://www.mass.gov/files/documents/2017/09/12/106cmr705.pdf?_ga=2.109247301.1575978401.1575320445-1321983841.1575320445
https://www.masslegalservices.org/system/files/library/OM%202014-54.pdf
https://www.masslegalservices.org/system/files/library/OM%202014-54.pdf


2019-R-0304 December 24, 2019 Page 4 of 5 
 

Table 2 (continued) 

State Maximum Amount Paid By Restrictions Source 

New Hampshire  Amounts vary by 
municipality  

Municipality where 
the individual died. 
If the decedent 
died in a county 
nursing home, his 
or her town of 
residence is 
responsible for the 
burial costs.  

Except when an assisted person has 
arranged for a prepaid funeral, a 
funeral director or the person who 
paid for the funeral and burial or 
cremation is automatically assigned 
up to $2,000 of the decedent's total 
liquid assets, if any.  

N.H. Rev. Stat. § 165:3  
 
N.H. Rev. Stat.             
§ 165:27-a  

New Jersey  For public 
assistance 
recipients: Generally 
$2,770 for combined 
funeral and burial  
 
For all others:  
Amounts vary by 
county  
 
 

For public 
assistance 
recipients: State 
(Department of 
Human Services)  
 
For all others: The 
county where the 
decedent resided 
prior to death  

For public assistance recipients: 
Family and friends (other than 
legally liable relatives) may 
contribute to funeral and/or burial, 
subject to a cap. A deceased’s 
assets cannot supplement their 
funeral, but are collected by the 
state.  
 
For all others: The county is 
responsible for the burial if the costs 
are not covered by another state or 
federal program.  

N.J. Rev Stat  
§ 40A:9-49 
 
N.J. Rev Stat.  
§ 40A:9-49.1  
 
NJ State Funeral 
Directors Association  

New York  Amounts vary by 
municipality 

Public welfare 
district, or 
municipality where 
the decedent 
resided prior to 
death  

Expense cannot exceed amount 
fixed by the public welfare district, 
town or city. Public welfare official is 
prohibited from expending more than 
$500 for the burial of a public 
assistance recipient from assets 
transferred or assigned by or on 
behalf of the recipient. Public welfare 
official may seek recovery of 
expenses from legally liable 
relatives.  

N.Y. Soc. Serv. Law     
§ 141  

Rhode Island  $900 for funeral and 
an additional $150 
for cremation or 
$450 for burial  

State (Department 
of Human 
Services (DHS))  

Application for assistance must be 
made within 30 days of the date of 
death. To determine the amount the 
state will pay for funeral and burial or 
cremation expenses, DHS subtracts 
the deceased’s resources and 
legally liable relatives’ income, 
minus certain asset exclusions and 
income disregards; the state may 
recoup the costs if additional 
resources are discovered after the 
funeral and burial or cremation. The 
Department makes payment only to 
service providers.  

R.I. DHS Policy Manual 
§§ 218-R.I. Code R. 20-
00-3.22.1 et seq. 
 
 
 

 

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/165/165-3.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/165/165-27-a.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XII/165/165-27-a.htm
https://lis.njleg.state.nj.us/nxt/gateway.dll?f=templates&fn=default.htm&vid=Publish:10.1048/Enu
https://lis.njleg.state.nj.us/nxt/gateway.dll?f=templates&fn=default.htm&vid=Publish:10.1048/Enu
https://lis.njleg.state.nj.us/nxt/gateway.dll?f=templates&fn=default.htm&vid=Publish:10.1048/Enu
https://lis.njleg.state.nj.us/nxt/gateway.dll?f=templates&fn=default.htm&vid=Publish:10.1048/Enu
https://web.njsfda.org/public/solutions/financial-support/public-assistance
https://web.njsfda.org/public/solutions/financial-support/public-assistance
https://codes.findlaw.com/ny/social-services-law/sos-sect-141.html
https://codes.findlaw.com/ny/social-services-law/sos-sect-141.html
https://www.policy.dhs.ri.gov/pdf/218-RICR-20-00-3%20General%20Public%20Assistance%20Program/218-RICR-20-00-3%20General%20Public%20Assistance%20Program.pdf
https://www.policy.dhs.ri.gov/pdf/218-RICR-20-00-3%20General%20Public%20Assistance%20Program/218-RICR-20-00-3%20General%20Public%20Assistance%20Program.pdf
https://www.policy.dhs.ri.gov/pdf/218-RICR-20-00-3%20General%20Public%20Assistance%20Program/218-RICR-20-00-3%20General%20Public%20Assistance%20Program.pdf
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Table 2 (continued) 

State Maximum Amount Paid By Restrictions Source 

Vermont  $1,100  State (Department 
of Children and 
Families) or 
municipality  

The state pays if the decedent was 
indigent and either an honorably 
discharged veteran or receiving 
certain forms of public assistance. 
The department may approve 
eligibility 
when available resources of the 
deceased and surviving 
spouse are less than the maximum 
payment of $1,100. 

VT GA Procedures      
§ P-2690  
 
33 Vt. Stat. § 2301 

 

 

JP:kl 

https://dcf.vermont.gov/sites/dcf/files/ESD/proc/P2600/P2690.pdf
https://dcf.vermont.gov/sites/dcf/files/ESD/proc/P2600/P2690.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/33/023/02301

