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“Stop Arm” Laws 

According to the National 

Highway Traffic Safety 

Administration, the act of 

illegally passing a 

stopped school bus with 

red lights flashing is 

commonly known as a 

"stop-arm violation." This 

refers to the stop-sign 

shaped "arm" that 

extends from the left side 

of the bus when the red 

lights are activated. 
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Issue  

Summarize Connecticut’s law on passing a stopped school bus (i.e., stop arm law) and provide (1) 

the current penalties, (2) a history of penalty increases since 1980, and (3) proposals to increase 

the penalty since its last increase.  

 

Summary 

Connecticut’s stop arm law generally requires drivers to (1) stop 

their vehicles at least 10 feet from the front or rear of a school bus 

that is displaying its flashing red signal lights and (2) remain there 

until the bus no longer displays the lights.  

 

Any person who violates this law faces a $450 fine for the first 

offense. For each subsequent offense, a violator faces a fine of 

$500 to $1,000, up to 30 days in jail, or both. (For a comparison of 

Connecticut’s penalties to those in other states, see OLR Report 

2019-R-0198.) These penalties have changed only twice since 

1980, most recently in 2011. Since then, there has been only one 

bill proposing to increase the penalties. 

 

Connecticut Law 

By law, when a driver approaches a school bus displaying its flashing red signal lights, he or she 

must immediately stop his or her vehicle at least 10 feet from the front or rear of the bus and 
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remain stopped until the bus no longer displays its red signal lights, unless otherwise directed by a 

traffic officer (CGS § 14-279). At intersections, drivers are generally prohibited from turning toward 

a school bus that is receiving or discharging passengers.  

 

Under the law, police must issue a written warning or a summons to the owner of a vehicle who 

illegally passes a school bus “upon a written report from any school bus operator…specifying the 

license plate number, color and type of any vehicle observed by such operator or recorded by a 

camera affixed to such school bus.” The driver's report must also note the date, approximate time, 

and location of the violation (CGS § 14-283(j)).  

 

State law also allows municipalities to install video monitoring systems on school buses to enhance 

enforcement (CGS § 14-279a). More information on the law governing these systems is available in 

OLR report 2018-R-0289. 

 

Penalties 

Current Penalties 

Any person who violates Connecticut’s stop arm law faces a $450 fine for the first offense. For 

each subsequent offense, a violator faces a fine of $500 to $1,000, up to 30 days imprisonment, 

or both (CGS § 14-279(b)). The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) also assesses four points 

against a motorist’s driver’s license each time he or she is convicted of illegally passing a school 

bus. DMV suspends a driver’s license after a person receives more than 10 points (Conn. Agencies 

Reg., § 14-137a-5, et seq). 

 

The law requires the state to remit 80% of the fines collected from violators to the municipalities in 

which the violations occur. The state must distribute the remaining fine revenue into the Special 

Transportation Fund (12% of the total) and the General Fund (8% of the total) (CGS § 51-56a(e)).  

 

Penalty History 

The penalties for violating the stop arm law have changed only twice since 1980. PA 80-245 

established penalties of (1) a $100 to $500 fine for first offenses and (2) a $500 to $1,000 fine, 

up to 30 days imprisonment, or both for subsequent offenses. PA 11-255 set the fine for a first 

offense at $450, while the penalties for subsequent offenses remained unchanged. 

 

Proposed Changes 

We identified only one proposal to change the stop arm violation penalties since they were last 

changed in 2011. Proposed Senate Bill 67 (2019) proposed increasing the penalties to (1) a 
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$1,000 fine and a 60-day license suspension for a first offense and (2) a $2,000 and six-month 

license suspension for subsequent offenses. The bill was referred to the Transportation Committee, 

but it did not receive a public hearing. 

 

 

HP:kl 


	hit15
	hit17
	hit18
	hit16
	hit19
	hit20
	hit21

