
 

www.cga.ct.gov/olr 

OLRequest@cga.ct.gov 

 

Connecticut General Assembly 

Office of Legislative Research 

Stephanie A. D’Ambrose, Director 

(860) 240-8400 

Room 5300 

 Legislative Office Building 
 

Animal Cruelty Case 

Outcomes 

OLR Report 2019-R-0154 

summarizes the case 

outcomes, from 2008 to 

2018, for charges brought 

under the primary animal 

cruelty statute (CGS § 53-

247). 

Good Samaritan Law 
The law provides an 

affirmative defense against 

civil damages or criminal 

penalties for entering another 

person's passenger motor 

vehicle to rescue an animal 

under certain circumstances 

(CGS § 52-557u, as amended 

by PA 18-164, § 16). 

 

 

Connecticut's Animal Cruelty Laws and 

Recent Legislation 
  

By: Michelle Kirby, Senior Legislative Attorney 

September 13, 2019 | 2019-R-0196 

 

 

Issue  

Summarize Connecticut’s animal cruelty laws and related legislation in recent years. This report 

updates and expands OLR Report 2018-R-0215. 

 

Summary 

Connecticut law prohibits many abusive behaviors toward 

animals and provides different penalties based on the severity 

of the abuse and the abuser's intent.   

 

Connecticut’s primary animal cruelty statute is comprised of 

five distinct crimes: cruelty to animals, malicious or intentional 

cruelty to animals, knowingly engaging in the exhibition of 

animal fighting, and intentionally injuring or killing police 

animals or dogs in volunteer canine service and rescue teams 

(CGS § 53-247). Other animal cruelty laws address the sale or 

treatment of animals unable to work; cruelty to poultry; sale or 

gift of dyed fowl or rabbits; use of animals, reptiles, and birds; 

docking of horses' tails; and transportation of animals on 

railroads. 

 

Animal cruelty violators face maximum prison terms ranging 

from 30 days to 10 years, fines ranging from $200 to $10,000, or both.   

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:OLRequest@cga.ct.gov
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2019/rpt/pdf/2019-R-0154.pdf
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_945.htm#sec_53-247
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_945.htm#sec_53-247
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_925.htm#sec_52-557u
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=164
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2018/rpt/pdf/2018-R-0215.pdf
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_945.htm#sec_53-247
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We identified at least 29 bills proposed in the past five years related to animal cruelty. They 

addressed topics such as providing immunity from liability for rescuing certain animals, increasing 

the penalty for certain offenses, establishing an animal abuse registry, prohibiting accelerated 

rehabilitation for animal abusers, providing animal advocates in courtrooms, and prohibiting 

convicted animal abusers from adopting animals. Five of these bills were enacted into law and one 

was vetoed. 

 

Primary Animal Cruelty Law 

Cruelty to Animals 

CGS § 53-247(a) prohibits people from overdriving, overloading, overworking, torturing, depriving of 

sustenance, mutilating, cruelly beating or killing, or unjustifiably injuring any animal. The law 

prohibits a person who impounds or confines an animal from (1) failing to provide it with proper 

care; (2) neglecting to cage or restrain it from injuring itself or another animal; or (3) failing to 

provide it with wholesome air, food, and water.  

 

The statute also bans unjustifiably administering or exposing a domestic animal to any poisonous 

or noxious drug or substance intending the animal to take it. Individuals who have custody of an 

animal may not treat it cruelly; fail to provide it with proper food, drink, or shelter; abandon it; or 

carry or cause it to be carried in a cruel manner. Fighting with or baiting, harassing, or worrying an 

animal to make it perform for amusement, diversion, or exhibition is also prohibited.  

 

A first violation of any of the above provisions is punishable by up to one year in prison, a fine of up 

to $1,000, or both. Each subsequent offense is a class D felony, punishable by up to five years in 

prison, a fine of up to $5,000, both.  

 

Malicious or Intentional Cruelty to Animals 

Under CGS § 53-247(b), it is a class D felony for a first offense, and class C felony for subsequent 

offenses, to maliciously and intentionally maim, mutilate, torture, wound, or kill an animal. This law 

does not apply to: 

1. licensed veterinarians following accepted practice standards; 

2. persons following approved slaughter methods; 

3. students, employees, or persons performing medical research and associated with a 

hospital, educational institution, or laboratory; and 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_945.htm#sec_53-247
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_945.htm#sec_53-247
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4. persons abiding by generally accepted agricultural practices or lawfully engaged in taking 

wildlife.  

 

A class C felony is punishable one to 10 years in prison, a fine of up to $10,000, or both. 

 

Engaging in Exhibition of Animal Fighting 

Under CGS § 53-247(c), it is a class D felony to knowingly commit any of the following actions: 

1. own, possess, keep, or train an animal engaged in fighting for amusement or gain; 

2. possess, keep, or train an animal to fight in an exhibition for amusement or gain; 

3. allow any of the above mentioned acts to occur on premises under one's control; 

4. act as a judge or spectator at such an exhibition; or 

5. bet or wage on the outcome of an exhibition. 

 

Intentionally Injuring or Killing Police Animals or Dogs in Volunteer 

Canine Service and Rescue Teams 

Under CGS § 53-247(d), intentionally injuring (1) an animal performing its duties under a peace 

officer's supervision or (2) a dog performing its duties as a member of a volunteer canine search 

and rescue team is a class D felony. And under CGS § 53-247(e), intentionally killing such an 

animal is punishable by up to 10 years in prison, a fine of up to $10,000, or both. 

 

Other Animal Cruelty Laws 

Sale or Treatment of Animals Unable to Work 

CGS § 53-248 prohibits: 

1. selling, offering to sell, trading, or giving away a horse to be worked that could not be worked 

in Connecticut without violating the animal cruelty laws described above and 

2. leading, riding, or driving an animal on a public highway except to take the animal to a 

suitable place for its humane keeping or killing or for medical or surgical treatment. 

 

Violators are subject to up to six months in prison, a fine of up to $200, or both. 

 

Cruelty to Poultry 

Under CGS § 53-249, any container used to transport, ship, or hold live poultry for sale must be (1) 

in a sanitary condition and (2) constructed to provide sufficient ventilation and warmth. When the 

live poultry is in the container, it must receive reasonable care required to prevent unnecessary 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_945.htm#sec_53-247
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_945.htm#sec_53-247
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_945.htm#sec_53-247
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_945.htm#sec_53-248
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_945.htm#sec_53-249
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suffering. Violating this statute is a class D misdemeanor, punishable by up to 30 days in prison, 

fines up to $250, or both. 

 

Sale or Gift of Dyed Fowl or Rabbits 

Under CGS § 53-249a anyone who sells, offers for sale at retail, or gives away live chickens, 

ducklings, other fowl, or rabbits that have been dyed, colored, or otherwise given an artificial color, 

must be fined up to $150. 

 

Use of Animals, Reptiles, and Birds 

Under CGS § 53-250, it is a class D misdemeanor for anyone to: 

1. use an animal, reptile, or bird to solicit alms, collection, contribution, subscription, donation, 

or payment of money;  

2. use an animal or bird as a prize or award in a game or device;  

3. exhibit a wild animal to attract business; or  

4. own, keep, or have an animal, reptile, or bird in his or her custody for any of these purposes.  

 

This does not apply to the use of animals in exhibitions by an educational institution, in a zoological 

garden, or in connection with a theatrical exhibition or circus. It also does not apply to the use of an 

animal in a cow-chip raffle. 

 

Docking of Horses' Tails 

CGS § 53-251 prohibits anyone, except registered veterinarians, from: 

1. cutting the bone of the tail of any horse for the purpose of docking the tail (i.e., cutting the 

tail very short); 

2. cutting the muscles or tendons of a horse’s tail, or otherwise operating upon it in any 

manner for the purpose or with the effect of altering the tail’s natural carriage;   

3. causing or knowingly allowing such cutting or operation to be done on premises of which he 

or she is the owner, lessee, proprietor, or user; or  

4. assisting in or being present at such cutting or operation. 

 

Violators are subject to up to one year in prison, a fine of up to $300, or both. 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_945.htm#sec_53-249a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_945.htm#sec_53-250
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_945.htm#sec_53-251
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Transportation of Animals on Railroads 

CGS § 53-252 prohibits railroad companies, in transporting animals, from confining them in cars 

for more than 28 consecutive hours without unloading  the animals for food, water, and rest, for at 

least five consecutive hours, unless prevented by storm or other accidental cause. The law makes 

an exception for situations in which the animals are being transported in cars in which they have 

proper food, water, space, and the opportunity to rest. Violators are subject to a fine up to $500.  

 

Related Legislative Measures from 2015 to 2019 

Table 1 summarizes animal cruelty-related legislative measures taken over the last five years and 

provides each bill’s disposition.  

 

Table 1: Animal Cruelty-Related Legislative Measures from 2015 to 2019 

Bill/Public Act Number Description Died/Enacted/Vetoed 

PA 19-82 Bans the practice of pet leasing, with the exception of specified animals (e.g., show 

animals) 

Enacted 

SB 470 (2019) Would have prohibited persons convicted of animal abuse from adopting animals Died in committee 

HB 5362 (2019) Would have increased, from D felony to a C felony, the penalty for intentionally 

injuring a police animal or dog in a volunteer canine search and rescue team 

Died in committee 

HB 5589 (2019) Would have prohibited individuals previously convicted of animal abuse from 

adopting another animal 

Died in committee 

HB 6008 (2019) Would have prohibited any individual convicted of animal abuse from adopting an 

animal 

Died in committee 

HB 6298 (2019 Would have restricted the use of accelerated rehabilitation in animal cruelty cases Died in committee 

HB 6310 (2019) Would have required a showing of good cause in order to invoke a pretrial program 

for accelerated rehabilitation on behalf of a person charged with intentional animal 

abuse 

Died in committee 

HB 6642 (2019) Would have prohibited individuals convicted of animal abuse from adopting animals Died in committee 

PA 18-164, § 16 Under certain circumstances, provides an affirmative defense against civil damages 

or criminal penalties to a person who enters a vehicle to remove an animal 

Enacted 

(CGS § 52-557u) 

PA 18-156 Would have required the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection 

to create and maintain a central record system (i.e., registry) of individuals 

convicted or found not guilty by reason of mental disease or defect of certain animal 

abuse crimes 

Vetoed 

SB 241 (2018) Would have increased, to a class C felony, the criminal penalty for intentionally 

injuring (1) an animal performing its duties under a peace officer’s supervision or (2) 

a dog performing its duties as a member of a volunteer canine search and rescue 

team 

Died in the House 

HB 5572 (2018) Would have prohibited someone charged with certain animal abuse offenses from 

participating in accelerated rehabilitation unless good cause is shown and based 

upon the prosecutor’s statements in open court 

Died in the Senate 

SB 130 (2017) Would have (1) required a 5% surcharge on the total adoption fee for any animal Died in the Senate 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_945.htm#sec_53-252
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=82
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=470
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=5362
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=5589
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=6008
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=6298
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=6310
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=6642
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=164
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_925.htm#sec_52-557u
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2018&bill_num=156
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2018&bill_num=241
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2018&bill_num=5572
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=130
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Bill/Public Act Number Description Died/Enacted/Vetoed 

adopted from a municipal dog pound, animal shelter, or animal adoption or rescue 

organization in Connecticut and (2) the Department of Agriculture commissioner to 

deposit the surcharge fees into the animal abuse cost recovery account and use the 

fees to fund the Second Chance Large Animal Rehabilitation Program  

SB 602 (2017) Would have reestablished the Task Force to Study the Humane Treatment of 

Animals in Municipal and Regional Shelters 

Died in the House 

HB 5423 (2017) Would have established a searchable database of animal abusers that can be 

accessed by law enforcement officials and the public 

Died in committee 

HB 5501 (2017) Would have required the establishment of an animal abuser registry Died in committee 

HB 5978 (2017) Would have (1) created an animal cruelty offender registry to be administered by 

the Judicial Department, that would be maintained for two years for first-time 

offenders and five years for repeat offenders; (2) required breeders and sellers of 

cats and dogs to check the registry before selling or transferring an animal; and (3) 

provided that refusal to sell or transfer to an offender on the registry would be 

legally justified 

Died in committee 

HB 5988 (2017) Would have provided immunity from liability for a person who rescues an animal 

from a hot car 

Died in committee 

PA 16-30 Allows judges to appoint volunteers, from a list of attorneys and law students 

provided by the agriculture commissioner, to advocate for the interests of justice in 

certain proceedings involving animals 

Enacted 

(CGS § 54-86n) 

PA 16-96 Increased the penalty for a subsequent offense of malicious and intentional animal 

cruelty by classifying it as a class C felony, instead of a class D felony 

Enacted 

(CGS § 53-247(b)) 

SB 228 (2016) Would have allowed a court to award up to $7,500 in damages to an owner of a 

service dog that someone unlawfully and intentionally kills or injures  

Died in the House 

SB 415 (2016) Would have made a person charged with animal cruelty involving malicious or 

intentional maiming, mutilating, torturing, wounding, or killing an animal ineligible for 

(1) accelerated rehabilitation or (2) the pretrial supervised diversionary program for 

people with psychiatric disabilities and certain veterans with mental health 

conditions 

Died in the Senate 

PA 15-201 Among other things, requires public and private higher education institutions, under 

certain circumstances, to offer any cat or dog on which they conducted research or 

testing to an animal adoption or rescue organization for adoption. 

Enacted 

SB 44 (2015) Would have prohibited individuals charged with committing animal abuse from 

using accelerated rehabilitation to avoid prosecution and clear their record 

Died in committee 

SB 361 (2015) Would have increased the penalty for maliciously and intentionally maiming, 

mutilating, torturing, wounding, or killing an animal (a class D felony) to: 

 1st offense - up to seven years in prison, a fine of up to $5,000, or both 

 subsequent offense -  a class C felony, punishable by one to 10 years in 

prison, a fine of up to $10,000, or both  

Died in the House 

SB 1128 (2015) Would have prevented individuals charged with committing animal abuse from 

using accelerated rehabilitation 

Died in committee 

HB 5149 (2015) Would have established a searchable database of convicted animal abusers which 

could be accessed by law enforcement officials 

Died in committee 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=602
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=5423
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=5501
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=5978
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=5988
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2016&bill_num=30
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_961.htm#sec_54-86n
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2016&bill_num=96
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_945.htm#sec_53-247
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2016&bill_num=228
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2016&bill_num=415
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2015&bill_num=201
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2015&bill_num=44
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2015&bill_num=361
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2015&bill_num=1128
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2015&bill_num=5149
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Bill/Public Act Number Description Died/Enacted/Vetoed 

HB 5688 (2015) Would have prohibited anyone from tethering or confining any gestating sow, egg-

laying hen, or calf raised for veal, on a farm, for all or the majority of any day, in a 

manner that would prevent the animal from (1) lying down, standing up, and fully 

extending its limbs and (2) turning around freely 

Died in committee 

HB 5698 (2015) Would have established and animal abuse registry and required individuals 

convicted of animal abuse in Connecticut  to register 

Died in committee 

HB 5725 (2015) Would have banned ban the use of gestation crates for sows in Connecticut Died in committee 

 

 

MK:kl 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2015&bill_num=5688
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2015&bill_num=5698
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2015&bill_num=5725

