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Issue  

List the states that require retailers to return a gift card’s remaining cash value to the cardholder, 

including the statutory maximum amount they must return. 

 

This report updates the information contained in OLR Report 2015-R-0095. 

 

Summary 

Thirteen states require retailers to provide a cash refund, up to a certain amount, for a gift card’s 

remaining value (see Table 1 below). The maximum amounts that these states require retailers to 

redeem for cash range from $0.99 in Rhode Island and Vermont to $9.99 in California, with the 

most common amount being $4.99 (six states). 

 

Table 1: States with Gift Card “Cash-Back” Laws 

State Maximum Amount 

California (Cal. Civ. Code § 1749.5(b)(2)) $9.99 

Colorado (Colo. Rev. Stat. § 6-1-722(b)(2)) 5.00 

Connecticut (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 42-461(c)) 2.99 

Hawaii (Haw. Rev. Stat. § 481B-13(c))* 4.99 

Maine (Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 33, § 1953(G)(5)) 4.99 

Massachusetts (Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 200A, § 5D) 5.00 

Montana (Mont. Code Ann. § 30-14-108(4)) 4.99 

New Jersey (N.J. Stat. Ann. § 56:8-110(c)) 4.99 

Oregon (Or. Rev. Stat. § 646A.276(1)(d)) 4.99 
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State Maximum Amount 

Rhode Island (R.I. Gen. Laws § 6-13-12(a)) 0.99 

Texas (Tex. Bus. & Com. Code Ann. § 604.152) 2.49 

Vermont (Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 8, § 2704) 0.99 

Washington (Wash. Rev. Code § 19.240.020(3)) 4.99 

*Will take effect January 1, 2020 
Primary source: National Conference of State Legislatures, State Laws regarding Gift Cards and Gift Certificates, 
December 19, 2018  

 

Exemptions may apply, depending on the state. For example, many states require a gift card to be 

partially redeemed before a customer can request a refund. And other states exempt certain types 

of cards; Maine, for example, exempts prepaid telephone service cards, cards with an initial value 

of $5.00 or less, cards provided as a promotion or refund for goods returned without a receipt, and 

prefunded bank cards. 
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