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Issue  

This report briefly summarizes Connecticut’s pet shop laws. 

 

Summary 

Connecticut law authorizes pet shops to sell dogs and cats, subject to certain requirements, such 

as licensure, abiding by veterinary and health and safety requirements, and inspection by the 

Department of Agriculture (DoAg). These requirements are summarized below. 

 

Pet Shop Laws 

License Required 

State law defines a “pet shop” as a place at which animals not born and raised on the premises are 

kept to be sold to the public (CGS § 22-327(9)). No one may operate a pet shop without a license 

from DoAg (CGS § 22-344(b)). DoAg will issue a license to an applicant upon written application 

and payment of a $400 fee if the applicant complies with (1) municipal zoning regulations and (2) 

DoAg regulations concerning sanitation, disease, humane treatment, and public safety. Licenses 

are renewable biennially. 

 

Other Requirements 

State law also places certain other requirements on pet shops. Table 1 summarizes these 

requirements. 
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Table 1: Pet Shop Requirements 

 

Citation 

CGS § 

Summary Penalty 

22-344e No one may procure a dog or cat for resale unless the person (1) holds a pet 

shop license or (2) resells the dog to a law enforcement agency or military 

branch of the government 

Class B 

misdemeanor 

22-344b Before offering a dog or cat for sale, and then every 15 days until the animal is 

sold, a pet shop licensee must have it examined by a Connecticut-licensed 

veterinarian and pet shops must maintain records of the veterinary services for 

each dog or cat offered for sale 

Up to a $500 fine 

22-344d(a) Pet shops must post a sign on the cage of each dog offered for sale with the 

dog’s breed, where the dog was born, and any identification number on the 

official veterinary inspection certificate from the state of origin 

Up to a $250 fine 

22-354 For each dog sold or offered for sale, a pet shop licensee must have a 

certificate of origin identifying the name and address or the breeder and the 

person or entity that sold the dog to the pet shop 

Up to a $1,000 

fine per day of 

violation 

22-354 A pet shop licensee cannot purchase a dog or cat for resale from a breeder or 

other person or entity located outside of this state (1) that does not possess a 

current license from the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and any 

applicable state agency or (2) who committed certain violations of USDA pet 

dealer regulations 

Up to a $1,000 

fine per day of 

violation 

22-344d(c) Each pet shop must post the USDA inspection report from the prior two-year 

period for the breeder of any dog offered for sale 

Up to a $250 fine 

22-344d(b) Pet shops must post a sign that (a) includes DoAg’s telephone number for filing 

complaints about diseased or disabled animals offered for sale and (b) contains 

specific language about the type of information available on all puppies for sale 

(e.g., date and state of birth, breed, sex, the date the pet shop received the 

puppy, veterinary treatment received) 

Up to a $250 fine 

22-344a Euthanasia by a pet shop of a warm-blooded animal offered for sale but not 

sold or transferred to another owner must be by lethal injection of sodium 

pentobarbital administered by a Connecticut-licensed veterinarian or someone 

he or she supervises 

License 

revocation 
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Pet Lemon Law 

Under Connecticut’s “pet lemon law,” pet shop licensees must reimburse a customer for 

veterinarian expenses incurred for a dog or cat that within (1) 20 days after sale, becomes ill or 

dies of an illness that existed at the time of sale or (2) six months after sale, is diagnosed with a 

congenital defect adversely affecting the animal’s health. The law limits reimbursement to (1) the 

animal’s purchase price if it was bought for $500 or more or (2) $500 if it was bought for less than 

$500.  

 

Alternatively, the pet shop licensee must replace the animal or refund the purchase price when (1) 

in the case of illness or congenital defect, the owner returns the cat or dog with a certificate from a 

veterinarian stating that the condition or defect existed at the time of sale or (2) in the case of 

death, the owner provides a certificate from a veterinarian stating that the dog or cat died from 

such a condition or defect that existed at the time of sale (CGS § 22-344b(b)). 

 

The law allows customers to seek help from DoAg if a licensee fails to follow the law (CGS § 22-

344b(b)(1)). Licensees who violate the pet lemon law are subject to a fine of up to $500 (CGS § 22-

344b(c)). 

 

The law also requires pet shop licensees who sell dogs and cats to post a statement of these rights 

in a readily visible location at the shop and provide a copy to the purchaser at the time of sale. 

Licensees who violate this requirement are subject to a fine of up to $250 (CGS § 22-344b(b)(2)).  

 

DoAg Inspection 

By law, the DoAg commissioner may inspect a pet shop at any time. If, in his judgment, it is not 

being maintained in a sanitary and humane manner or in a manner that protects public safety, or if 

he finds that contagious, infectious, or communicable disease or other unsatisfactory conditions 

exist, he may (1) fine the pet shop up to $500 for each affected animal, (2) issue orders to correct 

the conditions, and (3) quarantine the premises and animals. If the pet shop owner fails to comply 

with the commissioner’s orders or the applicable state laws or regulations, the commissioner may 

revoke or suspend the pet shop’s license (CGS § 22-344(g)). 
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